Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies

 Ba-Bl

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

BABB  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 268

BABB, Ira P., West Bloomfield, was born in Livonia, Livingston county, July 28, 1825.  His parents, Hosea and Polly (WITHERILL) BABB, came early in the century, he from Massachusetts and she from Vermont, to Livonia.  His father died in West Bloomfield in 1882, aged nearly 85 years.  Ira P., when 11 years of age, worked on a farm and then four years in Lima at a trade, carpentering and wagon making.  He came to West Bloomfield and settled at Factory Hollow nearly 40 years ago, engaged principally in building houses.  In 1848 he married Louisa A. MATTESON of Minden.  They had 6 children, of whom these survive: Araminda (Mrs. SKELLINGER of Honeoye Falls); Jennie (Mrs. TACK of Batavia); William A., at home; and Frank E., a house builder in New York, and a graduate from Cooper Union, in architecture.

 

BABBITT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 21

 

BABBITT, Charles, Gorham, (1841 - 1914) was born in Gorham, October 23, 1841, a son of Abijah, a son of Enos, who was a native of Massachusetts.  The latter was a sailor, and when a young man came and settled in Scipio.  He (Enos) married Margaret MOSHER and had seven sons and one daughter.  In 1817 he settled upon a farm in Gorham, where he died in 1855.  Mrs. BABBITT died in 1830.  Abijah was born in Scipio in 1814 (died 1888), and married Louisa CALF, (1819 - 1896), by whom he had one child, Charles.  The latter was educated in the common schools, and May 25, 1870, he married Hannah FRANCISCO,  a native of Canada, born March 31, 1850 (died 1931).  Her parents were Henry and Mary (MILLER) FRANCISCO, who had five sons and three daughters.  Mr. FRANCISCO was a native of Amsterdam, and died in Gorham in 1871.  His wife died in 1865.  (buried in Reeds Corners Cemetery).   The father of Henry, was John FRANCISCO, an early settler of Amsterdam, Yates county.  Subject and wife have had three children:  C. ALLEN, who married Maud COOK, of Gorham, and resides on the old homestead; Henry A., and Annie.  Mr. BABBITT is a Republican, and he and his family are members of the Presbyterian church. (some family members buried in the New Gorham Cemetery)

 

 

BACHMAN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg  16

 

BACHMAN, George L., Geneva, was born in Fayette, Seneca county, October 7, 1841, but when he was 5 years old his parents went West.  He was educated in the academic and common schools, and read law in Adrian, Mich., in the office of Beecher & Howell for two years, being admitted upon examination in open court in 1863.  Mr. BACHMAN practiced in Adrian from 1863 to 1876, when failing health compelled him to come East for vacation and rest with an intention at that time, however, of again returning to Michigan to practice.  Later on he opened an office in Geneva and soon established a profitable clientage, and is now regarded as one of the prominent residents of the county.  While a resident of Adrian Mr. BACHMAN was an active worker in politics, and was a member of the State Democratic Committee, also chairman of the county committee; but in Ontario county he has been content to drop active politics and devote his time solely to professional work.  Mr. BACHMAN is one of a few Ontario county lawyers who are members of the State Bar Association.  In 1866 Mr. BACHMAN married Maria SIMMS, by whom he has had 4 children, two of whom are living. 

 

 

BACKENSTOSE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 228 - 229

BACKENSTOSE, Dwight B., Geneva, son of Frederick T. and Leah (KIPP) BACKENSTOSE, was born in Benton, Yates county, December 24, 1846.  He attended the public schools of Geneva, and in 1868 graduated from the law department of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, and has practiced his profession here since that time.  He is one of the leading lawyers of Ontario county, and was elected member of assembly in 1877.  He is a republican, and takes an active part in political affairs.  In 1876 he married Lillie C., daughter of Arthur W. FOOTE, of Brooklyn, NY.

 

 

 

 

BACON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 23 - 24

 

BACON, Orrin Stebbins, Canandaigua, was born at Academy (town of Canandaigua), March 29, 1837, a son of Hiram BACON, a Free Will Baptist minister, and a native of Pennsylvania born in 1809.  He had 5 children all now living: Rev. John S. BACON, of Corning; Roxina L., widow of John BEARDSLEY, of Schuyler county; Eliza D., wife of Spencer HORTON, of Penn Yan; Daniel R., a farmer of Pulteney, Steuben county; and Orrin S.  Hiram BACON came to this section in 1828 and followed his profession until his death November 13, 1886.  Mrs. BACON died in Gorham aged 88 years.  When Orrin S. was very young his parents moved to Potter, Yates county, where he lived about 11 years and then went to Gorham.  Orrin S. was educated in the common schools and spent three winters at Dundee Academy.  From there, at the age of 17 he taught school one winter in Jerusalem, Yates county.  In 1855 he went to Victor where he followed farming one year, and then worked at the carpenter and joiner's trade one year.  For 23 years he conducted a meat market, also dealt in real estate, etc.  During the most of this time he held many of the minor town offices, and in 1879 he was nominated on the Republican ticket for sheriff and elected by a majority of 866 over Milton STAFFORD, of Victor.  At the expiration of his term in 1883 he was appointed deputy revenue collector under Henry S. PIERCE, and held this office four years.  April, 1887, he was employed by McKechnie & Co. as financial manager, in their bank in Canandaigua, an office which he has ever since held.  He is one of the directors for the Canandaigua Lake Steamboat Co., and a member of Victor Lodge, F. & A. M.  He married, September 14, 1850, Harriet E. SIMMONS, of Victor, and they have had five children: Lillian M., wife of George M. DUNLOP, a silk manufacturer of Spring Valley, Rockland county; Orrin S. BACON, Jr., connected in business with his father; Albert S., a Presbyterian minister of Niagara Falls; Lizzie, wife of Edward W. SIMMONS, of Canandaigua; and Jennie O.

 

 

BACON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 224    

BACON, Orrin S., Victor, was born in the town of Canandaigua, March 29, 1837, and was educated in the public schools and Dundee Academy.  After his education was completed he engaged in a variety of occupations.  For a number of years he conducted a meat market, and also has been a dealer in beef, cattle, horses and real estate.  He was elected collector of the town of Victor and held the position 10 years; was appointed under sheriff for three years, and was elected sheriff in the year of 1879.  January 1, 1880, he occupied the sheriff's quarters at Canandaigua, holding that position three years, and was afterward appointed deputy collector of internal revenue under H. S. PIERCE for nearly four years.  In April, 1887, he was employed by McKechnie & Company as financial manager of their private bank at Canandaigua; also of the estate of James McKECHNIE, which continues until the present time.  September 14, 1856, he married Harriet E., oldest daughter of Albert and Electa (HUBBELL) SIMONDS of Victor, and they have five children: Lillian M., Orrin S., Jr., who married Minnie GALLUP of Victor; Albert S., who is a Presbyterian minister at Niagara Falls; Lizzie S., who married Edward SIMMONS, now of Canandaigua; and Jane O., who resides with her parents.  Mr. BACON's father, Rev. Hiram BACON, was born in Tioga county, Pa., in 1808, and came to this State when a boy.  He married Mary STEBBENS, formerly of Massachusetts, and had five children.  The ancestry of the family of the paternal side is English, on the maternal side Scotch.

 

 

BAILEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 264 - 265

BAILEY, Franklin, East Bloomfield, a native of East Bloomfield, born March 25, 1812, is a son of Zadock, a son of William, a native of Leeds, England, who with three brothers came to Newport, R. I., and there owned a large tract of land where the city of Newport now stands.  William BAILEY afterwards went to Providence, where he died.  He had three sons and a daughter, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  Zadock was born in Providence, RI, in 1777, reared in Sheffield, Mass., by Rev. JUDSON, and in 1793 came to East Bloomfield.  He married Hannah MERRILLS, a native of Gorham, Litchfield county, Conn., and a daughter of Sylvester MERRILLS.  Mr. BAILEY and wife had three daughters and a son.  His death occurred in 1776.  Franklin was educated in East Bloomfield school, and at the age of twelve years he started in life for himself working on a farm.  After a short time he began working in a hotel at Lima, and remained three years, when he went to Chicago and engaged as stage driver from Niles, Mich., to Chicago for three years, and then returned to East Bloomfield.  Soon after he located at Albany and formed a partnership with Hiram Brunley, Josh Maxwell & Co., and for five years engaged in transportation on what was known as the Buffalo & Ohio Line.  Then for two years he ran a packet boat from Schenectady to Utica, and finally became general passenger agent for the New York Central and Great Western and Michigan Central Railroads, in which capacity he acted for 28 years.  In 1865 he purchased 200 acres of land in East Bloomfield, and has here since resided.  He has increased his original purchase to 352 acres, and made many improvements, so that he now owns one of the finest farms in the State.  Mr. BAILEY is a Democrat and an active politician.  He has been twice married, first in 1844 to Elizabeth S. RESTON, a native of Leeds, England, and daughter of John and Elizabeth RESTON, of Leeds, who came to Poughkeepsie, where for nine years Mr. RESTON was professor of languages.  He afterwards went to Albany and there engaged as a teacher.  He died in 1845, and his wife in 1855.  Mrs. BAILEY died April 25, 1882, at the age of 68 years.  In 1889 Mr. BAILEY married second, Mrs. Caroline T. Linkfield CARROLL, a native of Oneida county, and a daughter of Edward and Sophronia (HUSTED) LINKFIELD, the former a native of Rutland, Vt., and the latter of Oneida county.  Mr. BAILEY was one of the organizers, and for many years was warden of the Episcopal church of East Bloomfield.  He was one of three men who contributed very largely to the building of the church, and also one of the building committee.  Mrs. BAILEY was the widow of Gen. K. CARROLL, by whom she had four daughters.  Mr. CARROLL was an attorney of Camden, NY, who was in 1872 a member of the Assembly.  His children are: Ada E., wife of Frederick WAGER, an attorney of Rome; Theresa, wife of Arthur C. WOODRUFF, an attorney of Camden; Genevieve, wife of Prof. PARSELL, of Clinton Liberal Institute.  Mrs. PARSELL studied vocal music in Paris, and is now a teacher in the institute; and Grace K., an expert stenographer, who in engaged in teaching at Fort Plain.

 

 

 

BALDWIN

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pgs 385-386

Burt BALDWIN, cashier of the Ontario National Bank of Clifton Springs, New York, while young in years, has gained an amount and diversity of experience in his business career, which is frequently not attained in a life time by others. He is energetic, versatile and has a remarkable amount of executive ability, which has enabled him to think and act quickly as occasion demanded. His family has been settled in America many generations, his grandfather having been a farmer in the state of Pennsylvania.

Vincent, son of George BALDWIN, was born in the town of Chemung, Pennsylvania, August 3, 1836, died in 1905. He was successfully engaged in the hotel business for many years. He married Mary KENNEDY, who was born in Troy, Pennsylvania.

Burt, son of Vincent and Mary (KENNEDY) BALDWIN, was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, October 9, 1873. His elementary education was acquired in the public schools of his native township, and he then attended in succession the Mansfield Military School and the Genesee Western Seminary, from which latter institution he was graduated in 1893. In 1905 he came to Clifton Springs, Ontario county, New York, where he was engaged in the coal business and occupied with agricultural matters. Three years later he sold these interests in order to accept the position of cashier of the Ontario National Bank, as above mentioned. He has been prominently identified with the public interests of the community in which he lives, and served as president of the village of Clifton Springs for a term of three years. His fraternal affiliations are with Sincerity Lodge, No. 200, Free and Accepted Masons, Newark Chapter No. 117, Royal Arch Masons. Mr. BALDWIN is a man of a frank and winning manner, quick in arriving at a decision, and modest and unassuming in his demeanor. Mr. BALDWIN married December 27, 1904, Eunice May, daughter of Truman B FOX., of Clifton Springs, and they have one son, Truman Vincent. 

   

BALDWIN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  29 - 30

 

BALDWIN, George, Gorham, was born in Italy, Yates county, September 10, 1825, a son of Daniel, who was a son of Jacob BALDWIN, a native of Boston, Mass.  The latter in youth was apprenticed to a tanner and currier.  Not liking the business, at sixteen, he enlisted in the Revolutionary War, where he rose to the rank of captain.  In an early day Mr. BALDWIN came to Saratoga county, and there married Hannah, daughter of Lifelet HULL, and had three sons and four daughters, Daniel being the eldest son.  In 1804 he came to Benton, Yates county, and settled on a farm, which has been in the family ever since.  Here he lived and died.  Daniel was born May 3, 1792, in Saratoga county.  He married Annie WILSON, a native of Benton, by whom he had two sons and two daughters.  Mr. BALDWIN was in the War of 1812.  He died in Italy, Yates county, in 1849, and his wife in 1852.  George BALDWIN married, February 20, 1850, Mary TAYLOR, of Italy, born May 5, 1821.  Mr. BALDWIN has always been a farmer, and since 1866 has resided in Gorham.  He is a Republican, and has been assessor nine years, and has held other town offices.  The parents of Mrs. BALDWIN were Stephen TAYLOR, a native of Benton, born 1797, and Electa HEWITT, a native of Oppenheim, born 1802.  They had six children.  He died in Allegany county, December 11, 1858, and his wife January 20, 1888.  The father of Electa HEWITT was Randal HEWITT, who, during the Revolutionary War, was captured by the Indians.  

 

BALDWIN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 273

BALDWIN, Charles H., Canandaigua, was born in Sanford, Dutchess county, October 2, 1853, and was educated in the common schools and Pelham Institute at Poughkeepsie, and has since been engaged in farming.  In 1885 he came to Ontario county, where he remained but a short time, when he moved into Yates county and bought a farm, engaging in the cultivation of grapes, from which he has raised for over two years over fifteen tons per year.  He also leased a farm adjoining, from which he raised about the same quantity.  Mr. BALDWIN has been for the last four years a dealer in coal, and in 1892 opened a yard and office in Canandaigua, where he is prepared to furnish any quantity the trade demands.  Mr. BALDWIN married in 1874 Frances, daughter of Merritt MALLORY, a farmer groceryman of this town, and they have four children: Charles I., George E., Willis H., and Franklin S.  Mr. and Mrs. BALDWIN are members of the Vine Valley M. E. church, of which he is trustee.  He is also a member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, F. & A. M.

 

 

BARBER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 15

 

BARBER, Family, The---About the year of 1814, William BARBER and family came from Bridgeport, Vt., to the locality of Geneva, where he was a farmer and teamster.  His children were six girls and one boy.  The son, Asa H., was born in Manlius, NY, where his parents then lived in 1806.  He learned the trade of cabinet-making with William SUTTON, and soon afterward engaged in business at the location now occupied by William C. BARBER.  Asa H. began business in 1830, and there he continued until the time of his death, September 5, 1863.  He was succeeded, however, by his son William C., and the business has been maintained at this place for more than 63 years, the latter conducting only a general undertaking business, which his father had carried on in connection with his cabinet work, as was the custom of his day.  Asa H. BARBER married Abigail COWLES, by whom he had four children:  William C., Alice, who became the wife of Abraham TURCK, Harriet, and Alonzo S.  In 1849 William C. BARBER married Eliza S. STEWART, and they have six children, three only of whom are living.  Alza S., wife of William C., died in 1889.

BARDEN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 287 - 289 

The name of BARDEN, and also that of BURDEN, was originally BORDEN.  The change in spelling is due to the fact that among the early generations of families in America, there was a dearth of interest in preserving the original orthography of their surnames.  The BARDEN family of Ontario county, New York, is of the posterity of Thomas BARDEN, a settler from New England, who was undoubtedly a descendant of Richard BORDEN, an immigrant from "old England."

     ( I ) Richard BORDEN, born in the county of Kent, England, in 1601, arrived at Boston in the ship "Elizabeth and Ann" in 1635, and in 1638 became one of the founders of Portsmouth, Rhode Island, where he died in 1671.  He was a Quaker and a man of unsullied integrity, who held various public offices, including that of deputy to the general court.  His wife Joan died in Portsmouth in 1688.  Children:  Thomas, Francis, Matthew, John, mentioned below, Joseph, Sarah, Samuel Benjamin and Anne.

     ( II ) John, son of Richard BORDEN, the immigrant, was born in Portsmouth in 1640; died there in 1716.  He married Mary Earl, who died in 1734.  Children:  Richard, John, Annie, Joseph, Thomas, mentioned below, Hope, William, Benjamin and Mary.

     ( III ) Thomas, son of John and Mary ( EARL ) BORDEN, was born in Portsmouth, December 13, 1682, and was still residing there after 1721.  He married (first) Catherine HULL; married (second) Mary BRIGGS.  A complete record of his children is not at hand, but it is quite certain that he had sons:  Thomas, mentioned below, Isaac and Samuel, all of whom settled in Attleboro, Massachusetts.

     ( IV ) Thomas ( 2 ), son of Thomas, ( 1 ) BORDEN, was probably born in Portsmouth.  He was residing in Attleboro in 1756, and appears in the records as Thomas BARDEN.  He participated in the Revolutionary War and in the "Massachusetts Rolls" is credited with service as follows:  On an alarm in Rhode Island he enlisted from Attleboro, Massachusetts, September 1, 1779, as a private in Captain Joseph FRANKLIN's company, Colonel Nathan TYLER's regiment; served four months and was discharged December 31, of that year.  Re-enlisted July 28, 1780, in Captain Caleb RICHARDSON's company, Colonel Abiel MITCHELL's regiment, raised for the continental army, and was discharged October 31, of the same year.  Thomas BARDEN married Susanna RIGGS.  Children:  Susanna, Thomas, George, Otis, Eleanor, James, Sylvanus, Molly and Eunice.

     ( V ) Thomas ( 3 ), son of Thomas ( 2 ) and Susanna ( RIGGS ) BARDEN, was born in Attleboro, February 24, 1765.  In 1788-89 he disappeared permanently from his home in Attleboro, and never returned, nor was he ever heard from.  It was thought at the time that he might have gone to the then district of Maine, where many young men from Massachusetts were settling as pioneers at that time, but this supposition was never verified.  The Thomas BARDEN previously referred to as the ancestor of the Ontario county family, was, according to information at hand, born near Boston and settled in the town of Seneca in 1790.  It is therefore not unreasonable to assume that he was the identical Thomas BARDEN who disappeared from Attleboro in 1788-89, and turning westward instead of eastward found an acceptable home in the wilderness of Western New York. For a number of years Thomas BARDEN operated a saw-mill at Bellona, manufacturing lumber on quite an extensive scale, and he furnished the material for the old Geneva Hotel, which is now the Hygienic Institute of that city.  In 1795 he purchased of John McKINSTRY a farm of one hundred acres, and in 1807 he bought another 100 acre lot of Daniel SMITH, the latter being a part of what was known as the Phelps and Gorham Purchases.  Both of these farms were located in the town of Seneca.  At the breaking out of the War of 1812-15, he entered the army, holding the rank of Captain, and was killed in battle.

     ( VI ) Levi BARDEN, son of Thomas, was born in Seneca in 1798.  Upon attaining his majority he acquired possession of the homestead and became a very prosperous farmer.  The present residence was erected by him in 1839, and he otherwise improved the property, making it a valuable agricultural estate.  He died in 1876.  He married, July 17, 1828, Maria BUSH; she died at the age of 66 years.  They attended the Presbyterian church.  Children:  1. Ruby Ann, born September 7, 1829; died in 1862; married Dudley McCONNELL and had Floyd, Emma and Jennie, who reside in Jackson, Michigan.  2. Luther Calvin, born July 6, 1832; died in 1839.  3. Henry Vincent, mentioned below.

     ( VII ) Henry Vincent, son of Levi and Maria ( BUSH ) BARDEN, was born in Seneca, September 18, 1837.  After concluding his studies in the district school and at Canandaigua Academy, he assisted his father in carrying on the farm, and has devoted the active period of his life almost exclusively to that occupation, having inherited the homestead property at his father's death in 1876.  He owns 200 acres of fertile land, constituting the original estate of his grandfather, and has carried on general farming with profitable results.  Politically he acts with the republican party.  In his religious belief he is a Presbyterian.

Mr. BARDEN married, November 10, 1875, Mary A. HOFFMAN, a native of Ontario county, born September 13, 1839.  Their only child, Katherine M., born May 15, 1877, married Fred Bird JONES, of Auburn, New York, in June, 1902, and now resides in New York City.  She has two children, Vincent Barden, born in July, 1906, and Vesta P., born in July, 1908.

Mrs. BARDEN's parents were Barrett and Katherine ( NEWKIRK ) HOFFMAN, who reared a family of four children, namely:  Mary A., Joseph, Charles W., and William H. Van Berger HOFFMAN.

 

 

BARDEN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 289 - 291 

J. Jay BARDEN, who has for many years been connected with the agricultural department of the state of New York, in positions of trust and responsibility, is, in addition to these duties, recognized as one of the most progressive farmers in his section of the country.  His business occupations have been varied and extensive.

Sylvanus BARDEN, father of the above-mentioned, was born in Benton township, Yates county, New York, in 1816, and died May 15, 1905.  He followed farming all his life, and was of a quiet and retiring disposition, finding his greatest pleasures in his own home.  He married Jane HEDGES, who died in 1852.

J. Jay, son of Sylvanus and Jane ( HEDGES ) BARDEN, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, New York, May 4, 1852, and was but four weeks old when his mother died.  He was the recipient of a good education, his elementary education being acquired at the district schools and he then attended the Canandaigua Academy.  At the age of sixteen years he commenced teaching school, and occupation he followed four successive winters.  He then formed a connection with the railway mail service at the age of twenty years, and held this position for a period of five years.  During this time he had not neglected his farming interests, and in 1878 was well established as a farmer and a produce merchant, a business with which he was connected for twenty years.  At this time he became associated with the horticultural division of the agricultural department of the state, and for the past ten years has held the office of agent for the commissioner of agriculture, having full charge of Wayne, Ontario (with the exception of three townships), Yates, Livingston, Steuben, Allegheny, Cattaraugus and Chautauqua counties, which is a very responsible office and has a great deal depending upon its efficient administration.  Mr. BARDEN's farm consists of ninety acres of finely cultivated land situated in Seneca township, his dwelling house being well located and provided with all modern improvements.  Mr. BARDEN gives his farm his personal supervision, and makes a specialty of growing fruit, in which he has been eminently successful.  While not being able to spare a great deal of his time in behalf of the public interests of the township, he takes a lively interest in all that concerns the welfare of the county, state and country, and is up-to-date and well read on all matters of importance, his political allegiance being given to the Republican party.  He has been active in Grange work, serving as county deputy for eight years, and for the past three years has held the office of president of the Deputy Masters' Association of the State of New York.  He and his wife are members of the Seneca Presbyterian Church.

Mr. BARDEN married, April 14, 1877, Adelaide E., born in Flint Creek, March 31, 1856, daughter of John M. and Jane WOODS, both deceased, the former having been a farmer.  They had one child, Adelaide E. Mains, born in 1884, who died September 5, 1904.  They have adopted a child, Gladys E., born February 22, 1897, who is at present attending the high school at Penn Yan, New York, where her progress is most satisfactory.

BARKER

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878 pg. 243

John BARKER, a native of England, was a manufacturer of velvet. He came to this country and first settled in Orleans and later in Medina, New York, where he followed farming.

John (2), son of John (1) BARKER, born in England in 1801. He came with his father to the town of Phelps, Ontario county, New York, in 1815, attended school there and assisted his father on the farm. When a young man he went to New York City and engaged in general contracting. Thence he went to Lexington, Kentucky, where he was in the millinery business until after the Civil War. Returning to Phelps, he bought a farm on which he lived the rest of his life. He died there in 1874. He was a member of the Christian church. He married Mary SMITH, who died 1885. Children: John, Frank, Mary, Ida and Thomas W., mentioned below.

Thomas W., son of John (2) BARKER, was born in Lexington, Kentucky, April 4, 1850 and was educated there in the public schools. At the age of 16, after the Civil War, he came with his parents to Phelps, graduated from the high school in that town and completed his education in a commercial college in Canada and at Wesleyan College at Bloomington, Illinois. He returned to Phelps and followed farming for two years. In 1887 he was one of a company that organized the Van Vranken Company, which conducted a banking business at Clifton Springs, New York. After the death of Mr. VAN VRANKEN, Mr. BARKER managed the bank for two year then closed up its affairs. In 1904 he accepted a position as bookkeeper in John H. ROY's bank at Phelps, and continued until 1910, when he resigned.

He is a member of Newark Lodge, Free Masons; of Eagle Chapter, No. 79, Royal Arch Masons of Palmyra; of Zenobia Commandery, NO. 41, Kings of Pythias, of which he was district deputy for several terms. In politics he is a Democrat. He married in 1872, Sarah WORDEN, daughter of Luther and Sarah WORDEN. Children: Jesse W. and Ida M. 

 

BARKER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 267

BARKER, J. Albert, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, August 7, 1851, son of John, a gardener of this town, and a native of England, who came to this country in 1850.  He located in Canandaigua, where he lived until his death in 1881.  Of his five children four are living.  Our subject was educated at the common schools, then entered the store of A. S. NEWMAN, where he remained until 1885, spending 15 years there, then opened a store in his present location on Main street, where he has built up a very successful business.  He deals in all kinds of medicines, drugs, toilet articles, paints, varnishes, etc.  Mr. BARKER married in July 1877, Julia, daughter of James GLASS, a native of England, who was a gardener here, and they have one son, Willie GLASS, now in his 15th year.  Mr. BARKER is a member of the K. of P., an honorary member of the Mutual Hook & Ladder Company, and both he and his wife are members of the St. John Episcopal church.

 

BARLOW 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 271 - 272

BARLOW, Jesse, Phelps, was born at Amenia, Dutchess county, January 19, 1832, was a son of Elisha and Lucy (DARROW) BARLOW, natives of Dutchess county.  The grandfather, Hon. Elisha BARLOW, was a native of Sandwhich, Mass., who came with his father, Moses, and his grandfather, Peleg BARLOW, to Poughkeepsie in 1756, when a boy.  The Hon. Elisha BARLOW was a member of assembly during 1800 and 1802, and was also a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1821.  The ancestors were Cape Cod fisherman for several generations.  Jesse BARLOW married, March 9, 1869, Lavinia, daughter of Newton CARTER, of Connecticut.  They have one son, Howard CARTER.  In 1858 Mr. BARLOW bought a half interest in the Swift Mills in Phelps, and in 1870 bought out the remaining interest, and has been sole proprietor since that time; it going under the name of the Barlow Roller Mills, having a capacity of fifty barrels of flour per day.  The house of Deacon Moses BARLOW, in which Jesse was born, was built prior to the Revolutionary War.

 

BARLOW

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 222 

Abner BARLOW, was born in Granville, Mass., March 11, 1759.  Removed to Canandaigua in May, 1789, and that year sowed the first wheat ever put in the virgin soil of Ontario county.  Was one of the original trustees of the First Congregational Church of Canandaigua of much public spirit.  He died in the village, June 28, 1846.  

BARNARD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 13 - 14

 

BARNARD, Fitch Reed, Richmond, was born January 1, 1852.  His father, Captain Peter Pitts BARNARD, was born in Livonia in 1812, and died in 1876.  For the last forty years of his life he held 200 acres of land in this town and 70 adjoining in Livonia.  The stone house in which he lived, now occupied by his son and namesake, was built by him in 1850.  His wife was Fanny, daughter of John F. REED, and their five children were:  Ellen A., wife of M. H. RAY; Elizabeth M., wife of J. P. RAY; Franc A., wife of R. C. BEACH; Fitch R. and Peter Pitts.  He married, second, Abby Jane OLNEY (GRAY), who survives him.  She resides in Rochester.  Chauncey, father of Peter Pitts BARNARD, was a native of Connecticut, and married Nancy, daughter of Captain Peter PITTS, of Richmond, and came to Livonia, where he lived and died.  His father was Samuel, of Litchfield county, Conn.  Fitch R. was married in 1879 to Sarah J. JEROME, daughter of Myron D. JEROME, of Livonia, and they have two children.  Fannie E., born December 13, 1881, and Solon H., born December 10, 1887.  Mr. BARNARD is a Republican.  Mrs. BARNARD's father was born in this town, where Isaac B. GREEN now lives, and his father, John JEROME, married Sarah AIKEN, whose family was among the first to settle at Allen's Hill.  P. Pitts BARNARD was born November 13, 1859, and married, October 21, 1885, Clara JEROME, daughter of Samuel JEROME, of Livonia, and their children are:  Glenn H., born January 21, 1889, and P. Ray, born November 28, 1891.

 

 

 

BARNARD

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 236 

Chauncey BARNARD, son of Samuel BARNARD and Cynthia FOLES, of English descent, was born in Litchfield, Connecticut, May 9, 1784.At the age of twenty years he came on foot to the town of Livonia, where he worked by the month for Mrs. Nancy BENTON, whom he married about one year later.She was born September 18, 1774, and was a daughter of Captain Peter PITTS, the first settler in Richmond; and her husband, David BENTON, erected the first frame house in Livonia, in which the first religious meetings and the first Presbyterian church in Livonia were held.Five sons were born to them, the two youngest being twins.Mr. BENTON (s/b BARNARD) ** died April 5, 1834, and his wife passed away on the 22nd of February, 1847.He was a trusted officer in the War of 1812, and was at the burning of Buffalo.The sash worn by him at that time is now owned by his son, Peter Pitts BARNARD, the subject of this sketch, who was born January 20, 1812, in the first frame house built in Livonia.He acquired a common school education, and at the age of 12 years went to reside with his uncle at Litchfield, Connecticut, where he remained three years and returned to his native county.October 19, 1837, he untied in marriage with Fannie, daughter of John F. and Cynthia REED, of Richmond, who was born May 7, 1818.Soon after marriage they located at Conesus, and in 1839 settled in Richmond.Beginning here in a log cabin, he and his estimable wife, through honesty, industry, and economy, have succeeded in acquiring a competency of this world's goods, and are now enjoying the down-hill of life surrounded by all the attributes of a happy rural home.(A view of their residence may be seen in this work .)Their children are Ellen A., born February 18, 1840; married Mark H. RAY, of Springwater and resides in Concord, Jackson County, Michigan.Mr. RAY has served his county as school commissioner and treasurer.Elizabeth M., born February 11, 1842; married John P. RAY, and lives in Richmond.He is a farmer, a leading sheep-breeder, and stock correspondent of the agricultural press.Mrs. RAY died December 28, 1872.Frances, born September 23, 1846; marriedRichmond C. BEACH, a farmer of Richmond.Fitch R., born January 1, 1852, lives with his father.P. PITTS, a namesake of Captain Peter PITTS, born November 13, 1859, also lives with his father.Mrs. BARNARD died June 5, 1871, and her loss was severely felt by husband and children, to whom she had been a faithful helpmeet and devoted mother.She was a member of the Congregational church at Honeoye.Mr. BARNARD was married November 26, 1872, to Abbey Jane GRAY, daughter of David OLNEY, and mother of Maxwell and wife of the late George F. GRAY, who died March 18, 1869.She was born in the county of Monroe, March 14, 1823.Mrs. BARNARD is a member of the Baptist church, at Lima, and her husband of the Congregational at Honeoye.Mr. BARNARD was an anti-Mason and is now a republican.He served eight years as captain of the company commanded by his father at the burning of Buffalo.He is a strong temperance man, a liberal supporter of the gospel, kind and benevolent, and ever ready to advance the interests of friends and neighbors. 

* Where it reads that Mr. Benton died April 5, 1834, it should read Mr. Barnard died April 5, 1834. Chauncy Barnard was the second husband of Nancy Pitts Benton.     Nancys' first husband, David Benton, died in 1803.
Nancy and Chauncy were married after 1806.     Chauncy is the nephew of David Benton. 
 The above information comes from a book titled "David Benton and Nancy Pitts Their Ancestors and Descendants" collected and arranged by Edith Davenport. 
 It should also be know that the Benton, Barnard, Pitts families are descendants of John and Priscilla Alden of the Mayflower.  Thanks for  correction from George Murphey

 

BARNARD

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 197 

Daniel Dewey BARNARD, "a member of the Ontario county bar as early as 1825", was born in Berkshire county, Mass., in 1797; graduated from Williams College in 1818; was admitted to the bar in 1821; in 1826 became District Attorney of Monroe county, then recently set off from Ontario county and later served in congress and as U.S. Minister to Prussia.  He died at Albany, April 24, 1861.

 

 

BARNES

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 11 - 12

BARNES, Albert F., Farmington, was born in Farmington, May 24, 1824.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua and Macedon Academies, and followed farming.  He married twice, first in December, 1848, Sarah M. CASE, and had three children:  Marion, who died at the age of a year and a half, and another son who lived but a few days, and Carrie L., who married Lewis QUACKENBUSH of Penn Yan, now residing in Canandaigua.  Mrs. BARNES died April 3, 1875, and he married second Christiana A. ROBSON, of Hartland, Niagara county.  They had two daughters, Ethel L., who died at the age of 4 years, and one that was not named.  Stephen BARNES, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Rhode Island December 24, 1791.  He married twice, first to Charlotte ALGIER of his native place, and came here in 1810.  They had three children:  Emily, who married Clarkson ALDRICH, they had one daughter, Charlotte, who died at the age of seventeen years; Ira, married Abigail WOODBURY, they had 5 children, two sons and three daughters, Charles, Stephen, Frances, Susanna and Charlotte; Frances, married Henry REDFIELD and still lives in this town; the third child, Adaline, died when young.  Stephen BARNES married for his second wife Rachel WILBUR of Macedon, Wayne county, in the year 1822.  They had four children:  Albert T., Stephen H., who died at the age of 2 years; Edward O. S. and Charlotte M.  His mother's side was of the Friends denomination; her father, Henry WILBUR, being one of the early settlers of Friends who came from Massachusetts in the year 1792.  He was an exemplary member of the Friends Society at Farmington during a period of nearly 70 years, he having lived to the age of 94 years.  Stephen BARNES died August 18, 1865, and his wife, Rachel BARNES, 20 years later being January 14, 1885.  Mrs. BARNES's father, Kendra ROBSON, was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1803, and came to the United States with his parents and two brothers in 1820, locating in Niagara county.  The family were members of the Society of Friends, the father, Michael ROBSON, having become convinced of the truths of the gospel as held by them, when a young man and following the seas.  He was left an orphan when quite young, his father having died when he was but 3 years of age, and his mother before he was ten.  He was bound apprentice to a sea captain when he was 12 years of age and followed the seas for many years; he lived to the age of 94 years.  Kendra ROBSON married Ruth BRECKEN, who also came from England 10 years later.  They had 13 children:  James K., John B., Mary A., Elizabeth C., Rachel L., Christiana A., William D., Charles M., Eliza J., Alice S., Henry L., Francis E., and Ella T.  Twelve arrived at the age of manhood and womanhood; eight are still living.

 

BARNES    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 229

BARNES, D. Eddy, Geneva, was born on the old homestead in the southern part of Geneva August 10, 1856.  He was educated in the public schools, Canandaigua and Geneva Academies, and has always followed farming.  He has married twice; first on October 17, 1878, Caroline, second daughter of Henry and Mary HASLETT of Seneca.  Mrs. BARNES died April 29, 1891.  For his second wife on December 7, 1892, he married Harriet, only daughter of Silas and Isabella PHINNEY, of Bellona, formerly of Friendship, Allegany county.  Mr. BARNES's father, David, was born in Pennsylvania in 1798, and came with his parents here when an infant.  He was one of the oldest pioneers, with all that the term implies and he, too, was a farmer.  He married twice; first Martha SPENCER of Yates county, by whom he had a son and a daughter, both deceased.  For his second wife he married Lucy A. DORMAN of Seneca.  They had two children: D. Eddy and Ella D., who married George KELSEY and had one daughter, Lucy, who is still living.  Mrs. KELSEY died April 8, 1890.  David BARNES, father of our subject, was a colonel in the State militia, and died April 9, 1871.

  

BARNES  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 229

BARNES, William T., Geneva, was born in Seneca (now Geneva) August 15, 1817.  He was educated in the schools of his day and owns the farm on which he was born.  He is now a retired farmer.  May 9, 1858, he married Mary J., daughter of George and Dolly BARDEN of Benton, Yates county, and they have four children: Grace E., who married Edward BLACK of Bellona, and has a daughter, Maud J.; Albert W., who married Mary E. SLOAN of Yates county and has four children: Le Roy F., Mary L., Karl and Alexander; Arthur L. who married Gertrude TURNER of Yates county, they have one daughter, Bessie E.; and Fred C., who married Helen M. SCOTT of Geneva.  Mr. BARNES's father, Thomas, was born in Ireland in 1777 and came to the United States with his father when 6 years old.  He (Thomas) married Elizabeth GOUNDRY, and had 10 children who grew to maturity.  Mrs. BARNES's father, George BARDEN, was born in Massachusetts in 1788, and came to this State with his parents when 9 years old, where he married Dolly WITTER of Pennsylvania, and had 13 children.  Mr. BARNES's father was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mrs. BARNES's grandfather, Thomas BARDEN, was a soldier in the War of the Revolution.  Mr. BARNES's brother George served in the Civil War three years.  Mrs. BARNES's brother Tilson also served in the 2nd Michgan Cavalry for three years.

 

BARNES  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 266 - 267

BARNES, Washington, Geneva, was born in the town of Seneca (now Geneva) April 10, 1819.  He was educated in the schools of his day.  He afterward resided in Michigan, where he also attended school.  In early life he was a miller and farmer.  In the year of 1872 he embarked in the nursery business with all the improved varieties of a first-class nursery conducted on first-class honest business principles.  He has married twice, first August 8, 1844, Jane A. MEAD of Benton, Yates county, and they had 7 children: Joshua M., Jane A., Catherine C., Frances and Sarah A. (twins), George W., and Charles F.  Mrs. BARNES died in 1860, and he married second, October 8, 1862, Mary A. DAVIES of the town of Milo, Yates county.  Mr. BARNES's father, Thomas, was born in Ireland, and came to the United States with his parents when he was 9 years old.  He married Elizabeth GOUNDRY of the town of Milo, Yates county, and they had 12 children.  The ancestry of this family is Irish, English and Welsh. 

 

BARNES  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 267

BARNES, James W., Canandaigua, was born in Seneca in 1830, a son of John R., a farmer of that town, who lived on the farm settled by his father, James.  John R. married Maria GOUNDRY of Seneca, who bore him 10 children, of whom four sons were in the Civil War.  John R. died in 1863, aged about 72 years.  The early life of James W. was spent on the homestead.  He was educated in the common schools, after leaving which he entered the dry goods store of P. A. BUTTON at Geneva, with whom he remained, in Geneva and Canandaigua, about eight years.  He then went with Richardson & Draper, and when in 1871 Dr. DRAPER established a bank here.  Mr. BARNES went with him as cashier, which position he filled until 1890.  He then formed a co-partnership with C. N. WILLIAMS, making the banking firm Williams & Barnes, which still exists.  Mr. BARNES married in 1876 Martha, daughter of Stanton S. COBB of Canandaigua.

 

BARNES   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 269

BARNES, Hurdman, Canandaigua, was born in England, April 14, 1814, and came to this country when seventeen years of age, where he worked two or three years for William GORHAM on the farm.  He married, in England, Martha SHAW, who died June 16, 1862, aged 53 years, leaving no children.  Mr. BARNES married second, in June, 1864, Elizabeth MITCHELL, widow of William MEEKS, of Canandaigua, and they have had 5 children: Martha, Mary, Jesse, Frederick and Ellen, all of whom live at home.  Mrs. BARNES died April 14, 1884.  He took little interest in public affairs, but devoted his time and attention to his farm interests.  The homestead consists of 94 acres, in good condition, on which the principal crops are grain and fruit, with four acres of vineyard.  The home and residence of this pleasant family was erected about 1860 by Mr. BARNES, for whose memory the above is written.

 

 

BARNES

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 124 - 125 

It is a well demonstrated and often proved fact that the wealth and prosperity of a country depend in the highest measure on the success and extent of its agricultural products; these in turn are dependent upon the characteristics of the people who are chiefly and most closely identified with the cultivation of the soil.  There are a number of families who have been connected with this branch of industry and commerce for many generations, and among those who have been eminently successful in this line may be mentioned the BARNES family, of which D. Eddy BARNES is a representative in the present generation.

     ( I ) James BARNES, grandfather of D. Eddy BARNES, was a farmer in Pennsylvania, from which state he came to Geneva, Ontario county, New York, in the earliest days of the settlement of that section of the country.  He acquired a considerable tract of land, which by no means of diligent and intelligent cultivation he converted from a wilderness to fine farm land and in this condition left it to his heirs.

     ( II ) David, son of James BARNES, was an infant in his mother's arms when he came with his parents to Geneva in 1798, he being the youngest son of a large family of children.  His early life was spent on the old homestead farm, and later on a farm now owned by his son, D. Eddy BARNES, engaged in its cultivation, and he died there, in 1871.  He served for a time as a colonel in the New York State Militia.

     ( III ) D. Eddy, son of David BARNES, was born August 10, 1856, in the house in which he is residing at the present time, and which was erected in 1838, by David BARNES.  He was educated in the public schools of Canandaigua and Geneva, New York, and during his earlier years assisted his father in the cultivation of the homestead farm, which later passed into his own possession.  It is in a fine state of cultivation and consists of 150 acres of land.  The house is built of stone.  Mr. BARNES is very progressive and up-to-date in his methods of cultivation, devoting his spare hours to reading publications treating of improved methods and scientific innovations in the field of agriculture.  As soon as he has become convinced of the practicability of any of these innovations he is one of the first in that section to give it a fair and impartial trial, and if found of practical utility it is immediately adopted.  This is the foundation of his uniformly excellent crops, often in spite of adverse weather conditions.  His methods have been found so successful that they have been adopted by a number of his neighbors with a like amount of success.  In politics he favors the republican party, and he is a member of the Presbyterian church, and of the Grangers.

Mr. BARNES married (first) Caroline HASLETT, of Seneca, New York; married (second) Harriet PHINNEY, of Bellona, New York; married (third) Anna M. BOND, of Geneva, New York.  Children, by second wife:  Carrie K., born 1894; Genevieve, 1895; Elsie, 1897, deceased by 1911; Doris E., born 1900.

 

BARNUM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 15 - 16

 

BARNUM, William M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, May 7, 1852.  Ebenezer, the great-grandfather, was a native of Massachusetts, and one of his sons, Moses, was the grandfather of the subject.  He was a farmer and came to Niagara county.  He had five children, but one of whom survives, John, a farmer of Iowa.  Jedediah, father of William M., was born June 16, 1820, and came to Ontario county when a child.  When about 10 years of age he went to live with an old lady on the lake shore, with whom he remained until about 14, when he went to live with William MARTIN, and stayed with him until reaching his majority.  When about 26 years of age he married Amanda, daughter of John PENOYER, of Academy, one of the earliest settlers of that tract.  He owned at the time of his death, June 15, 1886, 275 acres.  He never took an active interest in politics, but devoted his time to the farm.  He was a strong advocate of temperance principles, and a Republican.  He had two children:  Imogene, wife of John B. HALL, and William M.  William M. has always been a resident of this farm.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and Rochester Business College, graduating in 1871.  He taught school a short time, and then came back to assist his father on the farm.  He is an active republican.  He married in 1872 Martha A., daughter of James HYDE, a farmer of Canandaigua, and they have three children:  Fred C., Edith M., and Frank J.  Mr. BARNUM is a member of Academy Grange, of which he was a charter member, and is at present overseer.  

 

 

 

BARRON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 150  

(contact Shadbolt descendant, Dianne Thomas

Prominent among the worthy citizens of Ontario County is he whose name appears at the head of this sketch.  David BARRON was born in Northumberland county, England, August 15, 1800.  In the following year he came with his parents to America and located in this town.  His advantages were fair, considering the early times, and his father being a practical farmer, David was reared to habits of industry and frugality, cardinal principals in every successful person's life. 

He worked for his parents until 25 years of age.  March 22, 1827, he married Miss Sarah SHADBOLT, daughter of Darius and Martha SHADBOLT.    She was born in Stillwater, Saratoga county, New York, December 7, 1801.  They had five children, all of whom are dead, viz: Martha, born June 3, 1828; died May 14, 1846.   George , born August 1, 1830; died July 18, 1835.  John, born October 11, 1832; died July 11, 1835.  Mary, born January 1, 1837; died September 17, 1852.  David W., born June 28, 1843; died March 2, 1844. 

In 1832, Mr. BARRON located upon his present farm of 216 acres, which is under a good state of cultivation.  He began life poor, but by hard work, economy, and the assistance of his faithful companion, has accumulated a handsome property, and is considered one of the wealthiest farmers in the town of Seneca.  He has always been a supporter of schools and churches, and the poor have found in him a friend and benefactor.  Mrs. BARRON became a member of the Presbyterian church in 1846, and her husband in 1868; both are exemplary and consistent Christians.  April 19, 1875, Mrs. B., received a fall, breaking her hip, and has since been a cripple. 

Mr. and Mrs. BARRON have now passed nearly 50 years together, and although bereft of their five children, still enjoy each other's society, and are passing the down-hill of life in peace and comfort.  (under Settlements, on pg. 146)  

David BARRON was an early settler in the eastern part of the town, coming here with his father in 1801, then but one year of age.  He was born in Northumberland, England, August 15, 1800, and still resides in the town of Seneca.   (picture of David and Sarah BARRON on pg 146a)  

 

BARRON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 270

BARRON, William J., Geneva, son of William and Ellen (BOOTH) BARRON, was born in Caledonia, May 6, 1856.  He received a common school education, and at the age of 16 years came to Geneva and learned the blacksmith's trade.  He carried on this business four years in Caledonia, four years in Geneva, and in the spring of 1890 bought the public sheds in Geneva.  In 1877 he married Ann THORNTON, of Geneva, and they have one son, David, born in 1878.  Mr. BARRON takes an active part in politics and is a staunch republican.

 

BARRON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 371 - 372

BARRON, William W., Seneca, was born on the old homestead in Seneca, November 30, 1827.  He was educated in the district schools (in the same school house his father was educated in), was reared on a farm, and learned the carpenter's trade, working at carpentry and joining for18 years.  He then resumed farming, which he follows to this date.  February 13, 1859, he married Harriet EDDINGTON, of this town, by whom he had one daughter, Margaret, who married Robert J. PLUMB of Scottsville, Monroe county, and they have two sons, Howard and Clarence.  Mrs. BARRON died March 22, 1866, and he married second, May 3, 1870, Mary J. TAYLOR of Stanstead, Lower Canada.  They had one daughter, Mabel B., who now presides over her father's household, her mother having died January 31, 1888, deeply mourned by husband, daughter and many friends.  Mr. BARRON's father, Thomas, was also born here, March 1, 1803, and February 4, 1827, married Margaret WATSON, by whom he had three children: William W., John, who is in business in Geneva, and George, who died at the age of two years.  His father, Thomas, died September 17, 1892, and his mother, March 26, 1863.  The family is of English origin on both sides.

 

BARRON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 374 - 375  

(contact Shadbolt descendant, Dianne Thomas )  

BARRON, David, Seneca, was born in Northumberland county, England, August 15, 1800, came to the United States with his parents in 1801, being less than a year old, and the family located on the turnpike road in the northeastern part of the town.  He was educated in the schools of that day, inured to hard work, and became an intelligent farmer, even into his 93rd year.  March 22, 1827, he married Sarah SHADBOLT, of Caledonia, Livingston county; they had five children: Martha, George, John, Mary, and David W., all now deceased.  His wife died February 20, 1882.  Mr. BARRON's father, William, was born at the old home in England, March 25, 1756, and married Margery WILKINSON, of Newcastle in his native county.  Their four children were: William, Mary, David, and Thomas.  The father died July 14, 1833, and the mother June 6, 1855.  David BARRON has always borne the reputation of a modest, industrious, thrifty, and honest man.

 

BARTHOLOMEW  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 246 - 247

BARTHOLOMEW, Joseph A., Naples, son of John, was born in Naples, July 21, 1851, and prepared for college at the Naples Academy.  In 1871 he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor and remained two years.  He taught school a few years in Michigan, then went into business with his father at farming and stock breeding in Hillside, Mich.  On the death of his father in 1891, he returned to Naples, where he has since resided.  His mother was Julia FRENCH, born in Naples, who died in 1890.  Mr. BARTHOLOMEW married February 24, 1883, Alice SEACORD, daughter of Absalom and Hannah SEACORD, of Naples.  In his business relations Mr. B. has always ranked "high," and was never asked, as he says, for an endorser till he began to deal with Presbyterians in Naples.

 

BAXTER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 15

 

BAXTER, Sarah A., Geneva, was born in Geneva, of English parents.  She learned the art of dressmaking and has done business on her own account for 20 years.  Her father, William BAXTER, was born in Norfolk, England, June 16, 1807.  He was an ingenious wood worker.  October 1, 1833, he married Ann THOMPSON of his native place, and came to the United States in 1836, locating in Geneva.  They had eight children:  Sophia, Elizabeth, John, Sarah A., Mary E., George, Eliza A., and William.  Her father died August 18, 1872.  

 

 

BEACH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 15

 

BEACH, Richmond C., Richmond, was born in Manchester, August 18, 1844.  His father, Orrin B. was born in that town, and his grandfather, Nathaniel, was a native of Williamstown, Mass., and came to this county at an early day.  Orrin B. married in 1842 Speedy, daughter of Daniel (3d) SHORT, and their children were:  Richmond C., Lucy L., wife of George J. RAY, born in 1850; and Orrin S., born in 1854.  Richmond C. was educated in the common schools and married in 1869 Frankie A., daughter of Peter P. BARNARD, and they have two children; Mettie L., born November 12, 1870, and Bernard R., born July 24, 1879.  In 1869 Mr. BEACH purchased 160 acres, a portion of the farm of Philip READ 2d, on lot 50, on which he has good buildings.

 

BEACH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg  17

BEACH, Levi S., a native of East Bloomfield, born November 18, 1808, is a son of Salmon BEACH, a native of Connecticut, born in 1784.  Salmon BEACH was reared as a saddle and harness maker, and followed that trade many years in East Bloomfield.  The wife of Salmon BEACH was Aresta WAID, a native of Bristol, by whom he had two sons and four daughters.  Mr. BEACH at one time held the office of county clerk.  He died in 1817, and his wife June 23, 1843.  After his father's death, Levi S. BEACH was reared by Isaac NEWTON.  He first worked by the month and later engaged in farming and stock dealing, which he followed until 1872, since which time he has lived a retired life.  In 1831 Mr. BEACH married Catherine PULVER, a native of Kinderhook, Columbia county, born August 6, 1809, and daughter of James PULVER.  Subject and wife had six children:  Charlotte A., Alice A., William S., George H., Edna A., and Adelia, of whom Charlotte and Edna only are living.  In politics Mr. BEACH was formerly a Whig, but is now a republican.  He and family are members of the M. E. Church.  Charlotte A., is the wife of Almond ROWLEY, of East Bloomfield.  

 

BEACH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 22

BEACH, Arnold W., Bristol, was born in Walworth, Wayne county, August 24, 1831, a son of Amos and Eleanor (ARNOLD) BEACH, who reared four sons and five daughters.  Mr. BEACH and wife went to Richmond, where he died in 1835.  Mrs. BEACH then married Leonard HOWARD and removed to McComb county, Mich., where she died in 1873.  Arnold W. BEACH was reared by Dr. Daniel DURGAN, and received a common school education.  February 22, 1855, he married Adeliza M. CODDING, a native of Bristol, born December 17, 1832.  She is a daughter of Deacon Stephen A. CODDING, a son of Faunce and Sallie (ANDREWS) CODDING, early settlers of Bristol.  Mr. and Mrs. CODDING had four sons and a daughter.  He died in Bristol at the age of 40, and his wife in Lockport, Ill., at the age of 80 years.  Mr. BEACH and wife have had three children: Emma C., who died at the age of three years; Hattie M., born July 28, 1865, wife of Luther J. HOWE, of Shortsville, and Stephen H., born August 14, 1874.  Mr. BEACH is a farmer, is a Republican, and has been overseer of the poor for six years.  He and wife are members of the Congregational church, of which Mr. BEACH has been a deacon six years.

 

 

 BEALS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg.59

Thomas BEALS, eminent as a banker, was born in Boston, Mass., November 13.1783; settled in Canandaigua in 1803 and resided in that village until his death, April 30, 1864.  Took charge of the Ontario savings Bank in 1832 and upon its becoming a private bank in 1855, continued as manager.  In 1814 succeeded Thaddus CHAPIN as County Treasurer and held that office for a period of 27 years consecutively.  Secretary of the Canandaigua Academy Board for nearly half a century.  Trustee of the Congregational Church society and member of the committee having charge of the erection of the church building in 1812.  Was chairman of the committee that purchased the county farm and erected the poor house, and acted as County Superintendent of the Poor for several years.  

 

BEAHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 13

 

BEAHAN, Dr. Albert L., Canandaigua, was born in Watkins, Schuyler county, April 13, 1855, a son of James BEAHAN, a farmer of that place.  The early life of our subject was spent in the town of his birth.  He was educated in Starkey Seminary, from which he graduated in 1876, and immediately entered Bellevue Hospital Medical College, from which he graduated in 1876.  After leaving school he went first to Reading Centre, where he practiced about 4 years, and then went to New York city, where he spent two winters studying on specialties.  The spring of 1884 he came to Canandaigua, opening an office on Gorham street, which he has ever since continued, having built up a lucrative practice.  In 1886 he was elected coroner on the republican ticket, and in 1889 re-elected by a largely increased majority.  Dr. BEAHAN is president of the Society of Physicians of Canandaigua, health officer of the town, and has been for six years physician of the Ontario County Almshouse.  He is a member of New York State Medical Society, the Medical Association of Central New York, Ontario County Medical Society, and Society of Physicians of the village of Canandaigua.  He married, in March, 1889, Theodora C. HOPKINS, of Canandaigua.  No children.

 

BEAHAN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 123 - 124 

Dr. Albert L. BEAHAN, an eminent physician of Canandaigua, Ontario county, New York, has attained his present distinguished position by many years of patient and unremitting toil, united with inflexible and unfaltering courage in the face of apparently insurmountable difficulties.  His noble efforts to relieve human suffering have earned for him the high esteem of his fellow citizens, and the universal good opinion of his professional brethren, this forming the best standard of judgment in such cases.  His father was James BEAHAN, of Watkins, who died in 1907, and who had been engaged in the occupation of farming during all the active years of his life.

Dr. Albert L. BEAHAN was born at Watkins, New York, April 13, 1855.  He was graduated from the Starkey Seminary, at Lakemont, New York, in 1875, then became a student at Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York, from which he was graduated in 1879.  He established himself in the practice of the medical profession at Reading Center, New York, and at the expiration of about three years entered upon a post-graduate course of study in New York City during 1883-84.  In the latter year he established himself as a physician in Canandaigua, New York, and in 1898 organized and incorporated what is now the well known Canandaigua Hospital of Physicians and Surgeons, of which Dr. BEAHAN is the president.  The hospital is owned and controlled by physicians.  Five years after its organization the hospital was increased in size, and now (1910) has a capacity of fifty beds.  Its benefits are far reaching and fully appreciated by the large number of patients who have been treated there since its inception.  In spite of the manifold demands made upon his time by the numerous and responsible duties of his profession, Dr. BEAHAN has taken an active interest in the public affairs of the community.

Dr. BEAHAN married, March 21, 1889, Theodora CROSBY, daughter of Mrs. Manetta Crosby HOPKINS, of Canandaigua.  They have no children.

 

BEAL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  30

 

BEAL, Embery J., Clifton Springs, was born in Manchester, December 19, 1834.  His grandfather, Caleb BEAL, and grandmother, Rachel Redfield BEAL emigrated to this State in the winter of 1813 from Massachusetts on a sleigh drawn by horses, an unusual occurrence (oxen being the common mean of conveyance in those days).  They stopped at Lemuel BANNISTER's in Phelps, whose wife was Caleb BEAL's sister.  There they remained until April, when they moved on a tract of land on "Hog Back Hill," in the town of Palmyra.  After a number of years they erected a large farm-house, which still stands.  Caleb BEAL during his eventful life was a man of strong personality and powerful frame.  He was for a time in the early days of the county intimately associated with six different tribes of Indians, who loved and respected him for his sterling worth, and with whom he exerted great influence.  Washington BEAL, son of Caleb BEAL, and father of Embery J. BEAL, was born in town of Conway, Mass., September 13, 1803.  He married Eliza H. HOLMES, daughter of Nathaniel HOLMES, of Manchester, and settled on a farm in said town, where he lived until his death.  He was a man of positive likes and dislikes, ever sustaining his views of right against all opposition.  He was an efficient exhorter of the M. E. Church, being much respected and esteemed.  He died in Manchester, where he first settled, after a long and useful life, on the 24th of February, 1889, at the age of 85 years, 5 months, 11 days.  Embery J. BEAL received a fair education at the public schools and at an academy in Macedon Center, Wayne county.  He married Frances J. TIFFANY, of Walworth, after which he lived with his father a few years, then settled on the farm known as the John P. SALOR farm, which he owns at this date.  They have two daughters: Josephine E., who has completed a course at the Commercial College at Elmira; and Calla E., who is attending the Brockport Normal School, fitting herself for a teacher's life.  Embery J. has followed agricultural pursuit until six years since (1886) when he retired, renting his farm to a tenant, removing first to Palmyra, and three years ago to Clifton Springs.  Mr. BEAL is a man much beloved and respected.  He is of a generous and upright character, a strong Prohibitionist in his convictions, and a faithful and loving father to his intelligent family.

 

BEAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 21

 

BEAM, D. Willard, Canadice, was born in Canadice, November 13, 1838.  At the age of eighteen years he began the carpenter's trade, and became a contractor and builder quite extensively for 23 years.  In 1873 he bought the farm known as the HEAZLETT farm, containing 120 acres.  In 1880 he bought the farm known as the Thomas DOOLITTLE farm, containing 120 acres.  He makes specialties of hops and hay, having been engaged extensively in buying and shipping of hay to the New York and New England markets.  He has a wife and two daughters: E. Allene and Georgia Lillian, and Berintha, his wife, all members of the Methodist Church.  In politics he is a Democrat, and has been assessor and supervisor of the town in which he lives.

 

BEAM  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 269

BEAM, Smith A., East Bloomfield, a native of Sodus, Wayne county, was born in 1835.  He is one of 8 children of John and Margaret (DELONG) BEAM, natives of Connecticut, who in an early day settled on a farm in Sodus, Wayne county, where Mr. BEAM died in 1885, while on a visit to his son, Smith A.  The latter was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools.  In 1861 he married Hester A. BLACK, a native of Smithfield, and daughter of Loring BLACK, and they have one child, Loring J., born August 5, 1872, in Canandaigua.  He received a common school education, and is engaged in farming.  Mr. BEAM also has an adopted daughter, Louise SETZ, whose parents were John and Barbara SETZ, of Churchville.  She is a milliner.  In 1865 Mr. BEAM went to Canandaigua, where he resided 6 years, then moved to East Bloomfield and purchased 64 acres.  This he afterwards sold, and in 1880 bought the farm now owned by the family, where Mr. BEAM remained until his death, November 12, 1892.  He was a Democrat, and he and his wife were members of the Baptist church of Canandaigua.

 

BEAN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 272 - 273

BEAN, John E., Geneva.--This widely known and esteemed attorney was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1824.  At the age of 12, he came to this country and became a resident of Sodus, in Wayne county.  There he lived for four years, and in 1841 was in the Union School at Geneva.  In 1846 he graduated from the Geneva College.  He read law with B. SLOSSON, and was admitted to all New York State courts in 1849, and has practiced at Geneva since.  In 1864 he was admitted to practice in the United States District and Circuit courts.  He has held the office of justice of the peace several terms and acted as police justice in Geneva.  In 1846 he joined the Geneva fire department.  In 1851 he received his commission as captain from Governor HUNT in the 55th Regiment of the New York militia, and in 1853 another commission from Governor SEYMOUR.  In 1856 he was elected major of 59th Regiment, 7th Division of the New York State militia, receiving his commission from Governor CLARK.  At the beginning of the Civil War, he was inspector of troops at Geneva.  In his early life he taught school several terms under a State certificate.  In 1849 he married Miss VAN VORHIS.  Shunning the life of a politician, he has devoted himself with great success to his profession.

 

 

BEAN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 98 - 103 

Charles Danford BEAN, attorney and counselor at law in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, is a member of a family that has been domiciled in New York state for several generations, and their history and that of the family seat is a more than unusually interesting one.

Maple Hill, the homestead, derives its name from the thickly-wooded land upon which the house stands, and has many historic associations.  The mansion was originally erected in 1834, and was at that time a two-story structure; successive owners added wings and rebuilt and remodeled the house, which was sheltered and extended hospitality to many distinguished guests, among them being:  Gideon LEE, General John B. MURRAY, ex-Governor Myron H. CLARK, George H. STAYNER, of New York, and the Rev. Joseph W. WALKER, of England.  The eastern front of the grounds is laid out to form a monogram of the Greek letters, Phi Kappa Psi.  The "Indian Oak," a magnificent specimen of forest growth which received its name from the fact that it was formerly a favorite meeting place of the Indians, was blown down in 1876.  The enormous trunk was removed and a granite rock placed on the site and this will be later replaced by an appropriate monument to CHIEF RED JACKET and his contemporaries.

Another forest giant on this estate has a very curious origin and interesting historic association.  At the present time (1910) it is with one exception the largest tree in the state of New York and it is more than a century old.  Its history is as follows:  During the early days of the settlement of Geneva, Ephraim LEE, a pioneer, traveled several times over the Albany and Buffalo turnpike, around the foot of Seneca Lake, westward through the village over what is now Hamilton street.  One day he reached the shores of the lake and to lessen the fatigue of walking cut himself a cane.  During the afternoon hours he reached a maple grove on the hill one mile west of the village, stuck his cane in the ground, lay down and fell asleep.  Later he awoke and hastened on his way, forgetting the cane.  He came to the same spot during his journeyings the following year and was amazed to find the cane he had carelessly placed in the ground had taken root and was covered with foliage.  It continued to thrive and in later years when the grove was cut down this tree was spared because of its history.  A former owner of Maple Hill had difficulties with the roadmaster in 1843, as the latter insisted that the tree be removed.  The owner with practical ingenuity caused the tree to be driven full of spikes from the ground upward, thus rendering the application of an axe a matter of impossibility.  Tree experts ascribe the wonderful growth, age and beauty of the tree to the presence of the iron, which exercises revivifying influences.  An accurate measurement of the tree was taken in August, 1892, which gave the height as one hundred and twenty feet, the diameter of the foliage as one hundred and fifteen feet and the circumference of the trunk as twenty-four feet.  The road on which it stands was originally an Indian trail, but was made a state road in 1794.  It stands on the north side of the street near the intersection of Hamilton street with the old Pre-emption road; the branches of the south half hang over the entire street, and several times its ample shade has been used by congregations for the holding of divine service.  To the northwest is an ancient building of gray stone which is used as a museum of relics and a fraternity chapter hall.  It has a mural tablet on the south wall.  Many interesting relics are to be found there, among them being a collection of old furniture and a Masonic desk which was made in 1799, a tablet above it giving its history.  The collection is known by the name of "The Museum of Classical Archaeology."  One of the most pleasing incidents in the history of this famous tree is the visit of General LAFAYETTE, June 8, 1825.  A letter of invitation had been sent to General LAFAYETTE by the citizens' committee of the village of Geneva and had been accepted.  On the appointed day Captain MANNING's company of artillery, Captain RUGGLE's detachment of cavalry, Captain VAN AUKEN's company of riflemen and Ensign BRIZEE's company of light infantry, together with a number of officers of neighboring regiments, all in full uniform, were stationed within a few feet of this tree in order to welcome the general.  He came from Canandaigua in a carriage drawn by six gray horses, accompanied by his son and his secretary.  When the carriage came in sight a signal gun was fired and the general was welcomed with all honors.  From that memorable day this magnificent balsam poplar has been known as the "Lafayette Tree."

Charles BEAN, father of Charles D. BEAN, was born in Holme, England, February 2, 1826, and was but ten years of age when his father decided to go to America with his family.  They sailed from Hull for Quebec, Canada, on the ship "New Harmony," Captain COOKMAN in command.  The voyage was a calm one until they were within sight of the banks of Newfoundland, when a severe storm wrecked the vessel and the passengers and crew were in the gravest danger.  They were at length taken to land from the dismantled hulk and finally reached Quebec.  They remained there but a few days, embarking on a vessel on Lake Ontario which took them to Sodus, Wayne county, New York, where young Charles made his home for a period of eight years, taking his due part in all the labors, privations and trials of those early pioneer days.  His father with other members of the family had gone on to Geneva, New York.  Opportunities for obtaining a good school education were few and far between in those days, but Mr. BEAN was intelligent and observant far beyond his years and having an earnest desire to acquire knowledge, he soon outstripped the teachers in the common or district school and when he went to Geneva in 1844, was able to take up his studies in the Geneva Academy with advantage.  Five years later he entered the employ of Chauncey ACKLEY, who was engaged in the hardware business, remaining with him for a period of 7 years.  He then went to New York, where he was actively engaged in the wholesale dry goods business for almost a quarter of a century.  He became associated with many well-known firms during this long period, among them being:  Kirtland, North & Platt; Lawrence Brothers, who have since become eminent bankers; T. J. Roberts & Company; Buckley, Murphy & Cecil, and Buckley, Welling & Company, one of the members of this firm being Police Commissioner De Witt C. WHEELER, the noted United States Indian contractor.

Mr. BEAN has always been an indefatigable worker and in order to recuperate during these trying years he spent the summer months in Prattsburg, Steuben county, New York.  This village is one of the finest of its size in the state, and his real estate interests there were extensive.  His home, which was a large and commodious colonial mansion, was noted for its open-handed hospitality, and Mr. BEAN took especial delight in country work of all kinds, it being his greatest pleasure to give his personal assistance in a part of the work.  The greater part of the brick, which has been used in the construction of the village house was made on the farm of Mr. BEAN.  When he decided to remove to Geneva he sold his house in Prattsburg.  This was in 1874, and at that time he purchased the Maple Hill estate of which mention has been made above.  In the course of time he has acquired extensive lumber holdings in the southern part of the state.  He has always taken a lively interest in the public affairs of the community in which he lived and in 1876 was elected justice of the peace.  In 1878 he was associated with a New York lawyer as an expert to hunt up evidence in an important patent suit pending in the United States court.  They were successful in their quest and this led to a settlement of the case.  Mr. BEAN joined the Masonic fraternity more than 20 years ago and has served his lodge twice as master.  At the dedication of the Masonic Temple in New York he was appointed one of the marshals by his friend Edward E. THORNE, grand master of the state.  He was a charter member of Geneva Lodge and Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, is a member of the board of trade, and of several other organizations, in all of which he takes an active interest.

Mr. BEAN married, February 29, 1860, Cloa Maria, daughter of the late Samuel DANFORD, Esq., and they have one son, Charles Danford, see forward.  He and his family went abroad in 1882 for four months.  While in Europe he visited Rev. Dr. Stephen H. TYNG, April 7, 1876 (Easter), he and his family were confirmed in St. John's Church, New York City, by Bishop POTTER, through the ministrations of Rev. W. H. COOKE, president of the Oratorio Society of New York, who had been a friend for many years prior to his death.

Charles Danford, only child of Charles and Cloa Maria (DANFORD) BEAN, were born in Marion, Wayne county, New York, 1861.  His early years were spent in New York City, where he was a pupil at St. John's Trinity Parish School and North Moore Grammar School; he also attended the Franklin Academy, of Prattsburg; and he received his preparatory education for college at the Union School, of Geneva.  He then matriculated at Hobart College, from which he was graduated in a class of eighteen.  He was one of the three chosen by the faculty to speak twice at commencement.  While attending college he was a member of the choir and several of the societies, and then accompanied his father on a pleasure trip to Europe.  Upon his return to this country he took a post-graduate course at Hobart, and about the same time commenced the study of law under the preceptorship of his uncle Major BEAN, and of Judge FOLGER.  He became a member of the Hobart Cadets and commenced the study of military tactics under the auspices of a United States officer.  He has been honored by a number of institutes of learning in recognition of his articles in various legal publications and his writings on the laws of fraternities and societies.  Syracuse University conferred upon him the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy; Allegheny College, that of Master of Arts; and the Southern Normal University College of Law has honored him with the degree of Doctor of Laws.  In 1887 he was elected justice of the peace for four years; in 1889 he was elected justice of sessions, and was reelected in 1890.  For many years he has been known as "Judge."  He has served as a delegate to several county conventions and is chairman of the general executive committee of his law class.  He is president of the Endymion Military Preparatory School Corporation, the object of which is to establish and permanently endow a military academy and boarding school which shall have especial advantages and facilities for the instruction of young men.  His business, social, fraternal and club connections are varied and numerous.  Among them may be mentioned:  Membership in the Geneva Chamber of Commerce; the Geneva Bar Association; the Geneva Equality Club; the Masonic Temple Club; the New York State Historical Association; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Geneva Lodge, No. 1054, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Umarken Grotto, V. P. E. R.  For three years he served as secretary of the board of trustees of the New York Delta Chapter of the Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity, of Geneva; is now an active member of the Phi Kappa Psi Syracuse Alumni Association; also of the Phi Kappa Psi Homestead Association and the Society of Wayne, of New York; he is ex-president of the Delphian Historical Society; was an active member of the Trinity Chapter of St. Andrew's Brotherhood, which was afterward consolidated with the Trinity Boys' Club; vice-president and president of the Young Men's Christian Association Outing Club.  For six years he served as a member of the reception committee of the Young Men's Christian Association, during a part of this time was also a member of the athletic committee, and for five years was one of the judges at the annual field day.  At the present time (1910) he is historian of the Delphian Historical Society, and treasurer of the Delta Sigma Fraternity.  In 1893 he was elected to the office of junior warden of Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons, and was reelected to the office in the following year; he was elected master of Ark Lodge in 1895, and reelected in 1896; he is a member of Geneva Chapter, No. 36, Royal Arch Masons, and of Geneva Commandery, No. 29, Knights Templar.  Mr. BEAN is unmarried and devotes all his time that is not occupied with business matters to his societies and to literary work.  He is a frequent contributor to the "Legal Gazette" and other legal publications; is the author of a history of Geneva and valuable papers on college fraternity matters.

 

BEARD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 24

 

BEARD, Maximillian C., Canandaigua, was born in Biloxi, Miss., November 27, 1864, and was educated in the University of Louisiana and at Stevens Institute of Technology at Hoboken, NJ, where he graduated in the class of 1887 with the degree of Mechanical Engineer.  Previous to entering the institute he acquired some practical knowledge of machinery, especially in the Bethlehem Iron Company shops at South Bethlehem, Pa., spending two years there and in other shops, gaining his practical education.  After leaving college he had charge of the Philadelphia office of the Welsbach Incandescent Gaslight Co. as engineer.  After leaving them he joined as partner in the business now engaged in.  He married, in 1888, Gertrude T., daughter of H. M. FINLEY, of Canandaigua, and they have one daughter, Philadelphia I.  Mr. and Mrs. BEARD are attendants of St. Joseph's Episcopal church, of which Mr. BEARD is a vestryman.  He holds the office of trustee of the Ontario Orphan Asylum.

 

BEATTIE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 92

Herbert BEATTIE, whose family has been well known in New York state for a number of generations, belongs to that class of citizens of this country, who form the bone and sinew of the entire body.  They are descended from Scotch ancestry, and have brought the sturdy bodies of that country, as well as the thrifty and practical habits of their ancestors, and combined them in the manner best adapted to the needs of their new home with the modern methods which are so rapidly introduced into agricultural pursuits in America. 

     ( I ) James BEATTIE, the immigrant ancestor of Herbert BEATTIE, was born in Scotland in 1764, and died in this country in 1840.  He was evidently a man of authority in many directions in his day, and was one of the founders of No. 9 Presbyterian Church, in 1807, served as an elder for many years, and was holding that office at the time of his death.  He married Jane GRIEVE. 

     ( II ) David, son of James and Jane (GRIEVE) BEATTIE, was born in Scotland, April 6, 1799, and died on the family homestead in Ontario county, New York.  He was but three years of age when he came to this country with his parents.  In 1828 he purchased the land, for farming purposes, which has since been considered the family homestead.  He married Dorothy, daughter of Adam TURNBULL.  Their grandson, Herbert BEATTIE, has at the present time in his possession a "peace pipe," dated 1671, which was dug up by Adam TURNBULL on the farm now owned by William TUTTLE. 

     ( III ) William, son of David and Dorothy (TURNBULL) BEATTIE, was born on the family homestead, December 16, 1830, and died there, January 14, 1893.  He was engaged in farming throughout the active years of his life, and for many years served as a trustee of the Presbyterian church, of which he and his wife were devout members.  He married, June 9, 1858, Mary E. BARNES, who was born in Yates county, New York, January 22, 1827, and died May 10, 1900. 

     ( IV ) Herbert, son of William and Mary E. (BARNES) BEATTIE, was born on the family homestead in Ontario county, New York, March 23, 1866.  For a time he attended the district school, but as the health of his father was impaired, he was frequently obliged to remain away from the school sessions, and take charge of the farm management, while still at a very early age.  This interfered with the acquisition of knowledge from books, but he has overcome this difficulty in a great measure by his keen powers of observation, and the deep thought he has given to all matters of importance since his early youth.  To a certain extent it was beneficial to him to be obliged to depend upon his own resources from earliest youth, as it strengthened his inventive faculties and executive ability, and this is, in a great measure, the foundation of his successful career as a farmer and fruit grower.  The farm consists of 120 acres, fourteen of which are devoted to orchard purposes, and the entire acreage is cultivated with the greatest care and in the most progressive manner.  Modern methods are adopted wherever practicable and the results of this course have been most satisfactory.  The dwelling house, which is commodious and comfortable, and all the outbuildings are kept in excellent condition, and it is one of the most productive farms of its size in the county.  Like his father, he has been a staunch supporter of the principles of the republican party, and has served as town assessor for two terms.  He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. BEATTIE married, September 27, 1893, Emma, born in Seneca county, New York, April 5, 1871, daughter of Matthew and Hannah SIMPSON.  Children:  Harold G., born March 27, 1896; Donald S., born June 26, 1902; and Walter S., born February 17, 1907.

 

BECKER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 25

BECKER, Marion J., Canadice, son of John F., was born in Richmond, January 24, 1854.  He was educated at the district schools and taught during 14 winters.  In 1874 he married Emma TAGUE, daughter of Joseph TAGUE, the present postmaster of Canadice, who, when a boy, came with James B. SAYRE to this town, as an adopted son of the latter.  They have three children: Maud L., born October 9, 1880; Spedee M., born January 19, 1884, and Spencer Dayton, born September 12, 1889.  Mr. BECKER owns 20 acres at the homestead, and a half interest in another farm of 90 acres and also in one of 109 acres.  He buys and sells sheep, and usually keeps on hand about 100 head.  He is a Republican, and he and his wife are Methodists.  Mrs. BECKER's father married Barbara Ann STRUBLE, and had three children.  He has been a blacksmith at Canadice 40 years.

BECKER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 217

BECKER, Philip, Geneva, was born in Bavaria, Germany, January 19, 1835, where he was educated.  He came to the United States in 1854, first locating in Brooklyn, NY, for one year, then came to Geneva, and has been in the hotel business 25 years.  He has been in his present location 21 years in the "Kirkwood."  Through polite attention to commercial men and the general public, together with efficient management it has become one of the leading hotels of the place.  February 11, 1861, he married Mary FINCK of Geneva, formerly of Rochester, and they have had five children:  John H. (deceased), Fannie L., Henry H., Edward (deceased), and Louis (deceased).  Fannie L. married James C. BEEBE, of Syracuse, and they have one daughter, Inez B.  Henry H. is in company with his father under the firm name of Philip Becker & Son.  He married Mary E. STEELE of Romulus, NY, and they had a son, Eldreth J., who died in infancy.  Philip BECKER is a member of Ark Lodge No. 33 F. & A. M.

 

BECKER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 271

BECKER, John Franklin, Canadice, was born in 1830 in Richmond.  His father, John, born in 1800, died in 1850, and was a native of Schoharie county, thence coming to Canadice, and from there to Richmond.  In 1820 he married Lurana ALLEN, and of their 9 children, W. D. and Allen live in Richmond, and John F. in Canadice.  He was always a farmer.  John F. married in 1851 Mary Adaline, daughter of Daniel SHORT 2d, of Richmond, and settled in Canadice on the Middle Road in 1864.  He had 8 children: Clara E., Marion J., Hattie M., Lana L., Speedy S., Fremont H., Spencer U. and Adda M., all deceased except Spencer U. and Marion J.  He married second in 1877 Lucinda Jane BUTLER, daughter of William BUTLER, of Canadice, and they have had 8 children, six now living: Herbert E., born in 1879; May A., born in 1880; Grove F., born in 1882; Jay F., born in 1883; Belle, born in 1888; Reid H., born in 1892.  Mr. BECKER has always been a farmer, and is a republican in politics.

 

 

BEECHER

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 497 - 498

Calvin BEECHER, the first of the line here under consideration of whom we have definite information, was born in New England, July 13, 1802, died in October, 1864.  He was a cousin of the celebrated Henry Ward BEECHER, who was a son of Lyman and Roxana (FOOTE) BEECHER, grandson of David BEECHER, and sixth in descent from John BEECHER, the first American ancestor, who came with his mother, the Widow Hannah BEECHER, to Connecticut from Kent, England, in 1638.  These ancestors were of sturdy yeoman stock, noted for their physical strength, honest, God-fearing men.  Emeline, wife of Calvin BEECHER, was born October 25, 1804, died April 21, 1859.  Children:  Julia, Isaac, Norman, Salmon, Sarah, Warren, Rollin L., and Lyman M.

     ( II ) Rollin L., son of Calvin and Emeline BEECHER, was born in Owego, New York, April 30, 1844, died February 1, 1908.  He was connected with the Northern Central Railroad of New York as general agent for forty-six years, this fact amply testifying to his integrity of character and his ability and efficiency.  He married Mary F. BRINK, born in Owego, New York, daughter of James and Ellen (SAVAGE) BRINK.  Children:  Frank R.; George R., married Gwendolyn Virginia WEINHEART, and they reside at Los Angeles, California.

     ( III ) Frank R., son of Rollin L. and Mary F. (BRINK) BEECHER, was born in Canandaigua, New York, June 18, 1866.  He obtained a practical education in the schools of the neighborhood, after which he entered upon his active career, and for about fifteen years conducted successfully an extensive lumber business in Canandaigua.  In 1894 he was appointed to the position of postmaster of Canandaigua by the late President Grover CLEVELAND, the duties of which he performed in a manner that was satisfactory to all concerned.  His life is an active and useful one, and he enjoys the respect of all with whom he is brought in contact.  He attends the Presbyterian church, and his political affiliation is with the Democratic party.  He married Winnie MILNER.  Children:  Rollin M., E. Milner, Frank R., John C.

 

BEEMAN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 122 - 123 

Henry C. BEEMAN, who has for many years been connected with the detective and police departments, and is at present chief of police for the village of Canandaigua, Ontario county, New York, is a son of Reuben BEEMAN, who was a farmer throughout the active years of his life in the town of Canandaigua, on the east shore of the lake.

Henry C. BEEMAN was born in Canandaigua, October 8, 1847.  His school education was received in Canandaigua Academy.  For many years of his life he took a personal interest in farming, and for a few years was engaged in the brokerage business.  He entered upon his career as a detective in 1872, when he filled the office of deputy sheriff and a few months later went to New York, where he was in the employ of the Pinkerton agency until 1874.  He then returned to Canandaigua and for some years was engaged in special detective work, again becoming deputy sheriff in 1877, an office he held until 1884.  He became manager of the Canandaigua Steam Boat Company in 1889, retaining this position for a period of six years.  In 1896 he was appointed chief of police for the village of Canandaigua, an office he has filled since that time to the satisfaction of all concerned.  His political affiliations have always been with the Republican party.  June 23, 1863, Mr. BEEMAN enlisted in Company C, 15th New York Cavalry, and was honorably discharged, August 23, 1865.  He was in the Custer division of Sheridan's army for the greater part of this time, participating in all the notable engagements in the Shenandoah valley, and was the youngest enlisted man who served in the ranks from Ontario county.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; the K. O. T. M.; and the Herendeen Post, Grand Army of the Republic, of Shortsville. 

Mr. BEEMAN married, December 24, 1874, Lucia, daughter of George CRANE, a farmer of South Bristol, New York.  Children:  Seth T., born December 25, 1875; Roscoe, born August 7, 1877; Grace O., born May 29, 1883.

 

BELL

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 376 - 378

 

According to tradition the ancestry of this BELL family, is Dutch.  Frederick and Anna Mary BELL ,the first settlers of this family and probably the immigrant ancestors, came among the earliest settlers to the town of Herkimer and each had 100 acres of land on the north side of river, in the Burnetsfield grant in what was afterward Herkimer village.  The family was never very numerous in the town.  Before the Revolution they followed farming as a rule.  One of the family was killed by BRANT and his Indians in an attack on the HENDERSON patent in July 1778, "an aged man", and also his son.  This may have been Frederick.  From another source we learn that a Philip BELL was killed during the Revolution.  He was of this family and either son or grandson of Frederick.  

The records are not in such shape that the family can be traced in all the details.  Jacob and George BELL fought in the Revolution, and were afterward pensioned; Frederick and William of Tryon county regiments, also fought in the Revolution.  Herkimer ws then in Tryon county.  In 1790 the heads of this family, according to the first federal census at Herkimer, were Jacob, Philip, Thomas and William.  George Henry must have been omitted or his name is misspelled.

     (II)  Captain George Henry BELL, believed to be the son of Frederick BELL, married a sister of General HERKIMER and was a man of considerable note in the Revolution.  He was well educated and wrote a neat, compact hand with much rapidity, we are told in an account of him in the old history of the Mohawk Valley.  Although not among the officers of the militia appointed in 1775, he commanded a company at the battle of Oriskany and was wounded.  In later years he was pensioned for this service.  He remained on the field with General HERKIMER until the battle was over and he took charge of the escort of the wounded commander, who was borne on a litter for 30 miles.  Captain BELL brought a gun from Oriskany, taken in a hand to hand fight with a British officer whom he killed.  The gun was kept as a memento by his family for some generations.  He served in Colonel Peter BELLINGER'S regiment from Tryon county and also in the 4th Regiment in the Revolution. (see pg 182 & 271, "New York in the Revolution").  During and after the War he was a justice of the peace.  His first commission was dated February 2, 1778 and others were dated July 8, 1784 and in 1790.  He lived on the patent granted his father and on account of Indians he had a palisade of pickets about his stone house.  We are told that his son Joseph was killed in the service and that Nicholas was also in the Revolution and was killed and scalped by the Indians and Tories about a mile from his father's house on the road over to Fort Hill.  Nicholas had a son, Colonel Joost BELL and Captain George Henry BELL had two daughters, one of whom married Henry I. WALRAD, the other to Peter WAGENER.

There was a Frederick BELL in Colonel Samuel CAMPBELL'S regiment, the First Tryon County.

     (III)   Henry BELL, descendant of Frederick BELL, was born in Herkimer, NY about 1775-80.  He married Mary DOXTADER and they came to the town of Phelps in Ontario county, to make their home, building a log house and clearing a large farm.  Children: Jonas, William, Elizabeth, who married Oliver YAGER.

     (IV)  Jonas, son of Henry BELL, was born about 1810.  He was a farmer at Phelps and a man of property and influence.  He married Miranda LUCAS.  Children: Harris, William, mentioned below, George, Charles, Elizabeth, who married Edwin A. STEVES, who was born in Manchester, NY in 1840, a musician in the 33rd NY Regiment of Volunteer Infantry in the Civil War and they had one daughter, Emma May STEVES, now deceased; Alice and Adelaide.

     (V)  William, son of Jonas BELL was born in Phelps, August 21, 1845 nad was educated there in the public schools.  At the age of 18 he became a traveling salesman and followed that business for a number of years.  He finally located in his native town nad since has followed farming with exceptional success.  In politics he is a Democrat.  he is a member of Wide Awake Grange, Patrons of Husbandry.

He married September 1871, Ann Eliza BISHOP, born in Manchester Centre, daughter of William and Eleanor BISHOP.  Children born at Phelps: Carrie Louise, August 26, 1873; Mary Elizabeth, November 17, 1874, died October 1875; William Spencer, July 27, 1876, attended public school, then Dr. Kellogg's University, Battle Creek, Michigan, and from there went to the Chicago University where he graduated in 1900 as a minister of the Brethren church.  He preached first at Waterloo, Iowa, then at Sterling, Illinois, 6 years then was in charge at Johnstown, Pa., now at Sunnyside, Washington.

 

BELLINGER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 31 - 32

 

BELLINGER, Christopher, East Bloomfield, a native of Little Falls, was born December 17, 1827, a son of John C., a native of Little Falls, whose parents were among the earliest settlers here, and whose father was killed at Little Falls while working in a stone quarry.  John C. was born in 1797, and was reared by David RICHMYRE, a blacksmith, with whom he learned that trade.  He also kept a hotel and followed farming, having fallen heir to a farm from his father.  He used to go on foot to Albany to purchase iron to bring back on flat boats up the Mohawk.  He married Mary FEETER, a native of Manheim, and daughter of Col. William FEETER, of Revolutionary fame.  He was an intimate friend of General HERKIMER, and maintained the mail service from Newport to Albany.  The government afterwards employed him to carry the mail, and for many years some one of the family acted as mail carrier.  He was a friend of Sir William JOHNSON, and was one of 40 men known as "Tryon county bull dogs," Mr. FEETER was born February 12, 1756, and his wife, Elizabeth, March 23, 1764.  They were the parents of twelve children.  John C. BELLINGER and wife had 7 sons and 2 daughters.  He died in 1881, and his wife in 1871.  Christopher received a common school education, and has always been a farmer.  In 1849 he married Christina WALRATH, a native of Herkimer county, born November 14, 1828.  She is one of 8 children of Moses and Margaret (WHITMASHER) WALRATH.  The father of Moses WALRATH was Jacob, one of the earliest settlers of the county.  Christopher and wife have had seven children: Margaret, Hiram, Moses, Jerome (deceased), Christina, Gertrude, and Hattie.  Mr. BELLINGER formerly owned 97 acres of land in the town of Columbia, which he sold, and purchased 100 acres and a saw-mill in Danube.  Here he kept a large dairy and did an extensive business in hop growing.  In 1866 he came to East Bloomfield and bought the Colonel Rochester farm of 304 acres, which he has greatly improved.  He is an active Democrat, and has been assessor and excise commissioner.

   

BEMENT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 25 - 26

BEMENT, John B., Victor, father of George S., was born in Victor, September 7, 1821.  He ran the first threshing machine that separated the grain form the straw in Ontario county, and has followed it continuously for 53 years.  He married three times; first, June 7, 1845, Margaret SEVER, and they had one son, George S.; both mother and son are deceased.  January 14, 1852, he married second Sarah E. WEBSTER, of Parma, NY; she died December 15, 1860.  He married third Mrs. Jennett (CAMP) BENSON, and they have one son, George S., born September 30, 1862.  He was educated in the public schools and is a steam thresher by occupation.  December 24, 1883, he married Ida M., daughter of Ransom I. and Merilla HILL, of Penn Yan, Yates county.  John B. BEMENT's father, Harry, was born in the State of Massachusetts in 1793, and came with his parents to this State when he was 3 years old.  He married Nancy WEBSTER, formerly of Massachusetts, and they had 9 children: Susan, Morgan, Maria, John B., Amanda, William, Emily, Ashel, and Henry.  His grandfather, Ebenezer BEMENT, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  Mrs. BEMENT's father, George S. BENSON, was born in Dutchess county in 1815, and married Naomi WARDWELL, of Cayuga county.  They had 7 children: Jennett M., Eliza J., David T., Charles H., Caroline E., Sarah M., and Julia A.  George S. is a member of Milnor Lodge No. 139 F. & A. M.  He is also highway commissioner of the town.  Mrs. BEMENT's brother, David T., was a soldier in the Civil War.

 

BEMENT 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 36

 

BEMENT, George D., Victor, was born in Victor, August 24, 1829, and went with his parents to Orleans county at the age of 10 years.  He was educated in the public schools and Albion Academy, and by occupation was a joiner and builder.  March 2, 1889, he married Mary D. BROWN of Hopewell.  Mr. BEMENT has done business in several States in the Union.  His father, Heman D., was born in Stockbridge, Mass., March 18, 1799, and in 1811 joined his father in Tioga county, residing there until 19, when he came to Victor.  He was a farmer and miller.  November 13, 1826, he married Selecta DRYER of Victor (whose family were of Holland descent, and whose mother, Lydia COBB, was of Welsh ancestry), and they had five children:  Phoebe M., George D., Mary A., Helen L. and John D.  They moved to Gaines, Orleans county, in 1839, returning to Victor in 1865.  His father died December 7, 1876, and his mother March 28, 1893, at the age of 88 years.  His grandfather, John BEMENT, was born in Stockbridge, Mass., September 3, 1776, and married Amy DEWEY in 1797.  She was born March 23, 1778, of English descent, and they had 12 children.  He was appointed justice of the peace by Gov. De Witt CLINTON in 1817.  The great-grandfather, Asa BEMENT, was born in Wethersfield, Conn., and in 1761 married Ruth O'NEIL, who was born on the water coming from Ireland, May 11, 1738.  They had eight children.  He represented Berkshire county in the Massachusetts Legislature in 1806.  Mr. BEMENT's great-great-grandfather, William BEMENT, married Phoebe MARKUM and had 4 sons.  He was a soldier in the Revolution from 1775 to 1789.  Mr. BEMENT's ancestry comprises English, French-Huguenot, Welsh, Holland and Irish.

 

 

BEMENT

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 119 - 120 

William E. BEMENT, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, was born in New England, in 1821, died in Manchester, Ontario county, New York, in 1881.  The surname is found among the earliest Puritan settlers in this country, in Enfield, Connecticut, and elsewhere, and descendants of the original BEMENT emigrants are living today in Massachusetts and Connecticut.  William E. BEMENT is probably a descendant of the branch which is connected with the early history of Deerfield and Conway, Massachusetts.  He married Laura A. NEWELL, who died in Manchester, Ontario county, New York, in 1903.  She is said to have been a descendant of Thomas NEWELL, who settled in Farmington, Connecticut, about 1640.  Children:  Murray J., referred to below; Edmond, born August 2, 1847, died September 10, 1896, married Margaret LEMUNYON; George, born August 10, 1851, died February 14, 1863, drowned by accident. 

     ( II ) Murray J., son of William E. and Laura A. (NEWELL) BEMENT, was born in Manchester, Ontario county, New York, May 20, 1844; died in Clifton Springs, in the same county, May 23, 1910.  He received his education in the public schools of Manchester, and then taught school himself for a number of years.  In 1875 he began the manufacture of cigars, a business he continued to be engaged in until his death.  In May, 1888, he settled in Clifton Springs, and took his son, Louie M. BEMENT, into partnership with him.  He was a Democrat in politics and served for one term as town clerk of Manchester, and as justice of the peace for two terms.  He was also a trustee of the village of Clifton Springs.  He was appointed postmaster of Clifton Springs by President CLEVELAND during his last administration.  From 1906 to 1910 he was president of the board of health of Clifton Springs.  He was a member of the Knights of Pythias.  He married (first), July 4, 1864, Jennie V., daughter of Peter and Abigail (NICHOLS) COOPER, of Manchester, New York, who was born there, January 12, 1846; died there, May 12, 1865.  He married (second), November 15, 1871, Sarah C. WADE.  Child, Louie M., referred to below.

     ( III ) Louie M., only child of Murray J. and Jennie V. (COOPER) BEMENT, was born in Manchester, Ontario county, New York, May 3, 1865, and is now living in Clifton Springs, in the same county.  He received his education in the schools of Manchester, and after his father had removed to Clifton Springs, he was taken into partnership with him in the cigar manufacturing business.  He is a Democrat in politics and served as village clerk of Clifton Springs for twelve years.  He was a member of the Democratic county committee for five years and of the town committee also for several years.  He is a member of Sincerity Lodge, No. 200, Free and Accepted Masons; of Newark Chapter, No. 117, Royal Arch Masons; of Zenobia Commandery, No. 41, Knights Templar; of Damascus Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and was for two years chancellor-commander of Castle Hall Lodge, No. 230, Knights of Pythias, and served as vice-chancellor and member of the Grand Lodge of State of New York, Knights of Pythias.

 

 

  BEMIS 

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 289 

James D. BEMIS, was born in Spencer, Mass., July 1, 1783; learned the printing trade in Boston and Albany.   Opened a book store in Canandaigua in 1804.  Became editor and proprietor of the Ontario Repository, and later started papers and book stores in Wayne, Livingston, Erie and Onondaga counties, winning recognition as "The Father of the Western New York Press."  He died November 2, 1857.

BENHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg  16 - 17

 

BENHAM, John H., was born on the farm he now owns in Hopewell, February 6, 1817, a son of Ebenezer 2nd, who was a son of Vincent, who came from Morristown, NJ, to Dutchess county, and finally to Canandaigua, where he and his wife lived and died.  Ebenezer 2nd  was born in Morristown, N.J., in 1787, and married Mary, daughter of John and Mary HARWOOD, of  Connecticut, and early settled in Hopewell.  Ebenezer BENHAM had two sons and five daughters.  His wife died in 1827, and Betsey ROOT became his next wife, by whom he had five daughters.  He died in 1856.   Our subject, who for many years has been one of the leading farmers of Hopewell  township, was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy.  In 1838 John married Sophia MURRAY who was born in Hopewell, December 12, 1817.  Her parents were William D. and Sophia (Russell) MURRAY, of Massachusetts, who settled in Hopewell on 1801.  Here Mr. MURRAY died in 1827, and his wife in 1869.  Mr. BENHAM and wife had these children: Emogene (deceased), Murray, Margaret (deceased), Mary, Ebenezer M., who resides on the old homestead, and Jessie F.  He married Hattie H. CASE, of Bloomfield, by whom he had three children: Florence C., John H., and W. CASE.  Ebenezer BENHAM stands at the head in New York State as a breeder of Hampshiredown sheep, having taken the first premiums in the county fairs, New York State fairs, and Western New York fairs.  He also breeds fine Jersey cattle.  J. H. BENHAM at present owns over 200 acres of land, including fine buildings.  He is a Republican and has been town clerk, justice of the peace for 8 years, was supervisor one term, and county superintendent of the poor for 9 years, and once elected by a majority of 1,200.  Mr. BENHAM and wife are members of the M. E. Church at Hopewell, of which he was one of the Board of Trustees for 30 years, has been steward, and at present is district steward.

 

BENHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 32

 

BENHAM, D. C., was born in Hopewell on the farm he now owns, August 22, 1825, a son of Thomas BENHAM, a native of Dutchess county, who came when a young man to Hopewell, and here married Eliza COE, a native of Rockland county, who came to Hopewell with her parents, Isaac and Nancy COE.  Mr. BENHAM has on his farm an Indian well built with brick brought from France.  Some of these bricks will be at the World's Fair at Chicago.  Their family consists of one son and three daughters.  He died in 1876, and his wife in 1885.  Subject was reared on a farm, and on January 24, 1854, married Mary A., daughter of John and Amy (SMITH) CRANE, who reared seven children.  Mr. CRANE was in the War of 1812.  He and wife settled in Canandaigua, where both died, he November 3, 1873, and his wife March 18, 1887.  Mr. BENHAM and wife have two sons, Charles D., who has charge of his father's fruit farm in Gorham; and James E., who resides at home.  His wife is Hattie WADSWORTH, a native of Hopewell.  Mr. BENHAM was under sheriff of Ontario county from 1876 to 1880, and on September 6, 1878, hung Charles EIGHMY, this being the first execution in Ontario county.  Mr. BENHAM is a Democrat, and a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F. & A. M., and Excelsior Chapter No. 164 R. A. M.  Mr. BENHAM has been senior deacon and scribe for a number of years.  He represented his lodge at the annul convocation at Albany, February 2 and 3, 1892.  

 

BENNETT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 14

 

BENNETT, Charles, Geneva, was born in Starkey, Yates county, January 22, 1820, and came to Geneva with his parents when an infant.  He was educated in the old Castle School, and in early life was a farmer.  He has conducted a livery and stage business for 10 years, and is now a brick manufacturer and farmer.  He has married twice, first in 1850, Elizabeth WHITE, of Geneva, who died in 1861.  In 1863 he married second, Judith TILLOTT, of Clifton Springs.  She died in 1888.  Mr. BENNETT's father, George, was born in New Jersey in 1792, and came to Western New York when a young man.  He married Sarah LUM, of Geneva, and they had 7 children:  John L., Hannah, Charles, Henry, George, Horace H. and James; all except Charles were born in Geneva.  His father resided in Yates county only one year, locating in this place in 1811.  He was a soldier of 1812 from here at Sodus Point.  His grandfather, Mathew BENNETT, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  Mr. BENNETT's father was a member of the Baptist church.  In politics Mr. BENNETT is a Democrat, and attends the North Presbyterian Church.

 

BENNETT

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 121 - 122 

Horace D. BENNETT, who, with the exception of a few years, has been engaged in agricultural pursuits throughout his life, is a member of a family which settled in America a number of generations ago, and which has been well represented in the defence of the rights and liberties of the country in every generation.

     ( I ) Matthew BENNETT, the grandfather of Horace D. BENNETT, was a native of Orange county, New York, and removed to Geneva, Ontario county, New York, in 1805, there founding the homestead of the BENNETT family.  He was a farmer and spent his life on the farm which he purchased in that section.  During the Revolutionary War he was an active participant in many of the most important engagements.

     ( II ) George, son of Matthew BENNETT, was born in Goshen, Orange county, New York, in 1794, and died in Geneva, New York, in 1876.  At the age of 18 years he enlisted as a soldier and served in the War of 1812 as a private.  His business occupation was that of farming, in which he was reasonably successful.  He married Sally, daughter of Matthew LUM, of Geneva.  Among their children were:  Horace D., see forward; Henry, served with honor in the Civil War.

     ( III ) Horace D., son of George and Sally (LUM) BENNETT, was born in the town of Geneva, Ontario county, June 29, 1828.  His education was acquired in the Geneva district school, and under private tuition in a select school during two winters.  Early in life he commenced to assist his father in the cultivation and management of the homestead farm, and in this manner has acquired a thorough mastery of all the details connected with an agricultural life.  With the exception of the years spent at school, and the time spent in the service of his country, Mr. BENNETT has centered his time and attention on the cultivation of the land he owns, and in this enterprise he has achieved a considerable amount of success.  His farm is well kept and carefully managed, business principles being observed even in the minutest details.  At the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, Mr. BENNETT was instrumental in recruiting Company D, 105th New York Infantry, and served as first lieutenant in this company, Colonel FULLER commanding.  He was in many of the important engagements of the War, among them being:  Cedar Mountain, Rappahannock Station, the second battle of Bull Run, and a number of others.  During these engagements he was in command of Company K, and after a few months Colonel FULLER resigned and Colonel CARROLL took command of the regiment.  Mr. BENNETT returned to his farm in 1862, and again took up his peaceful pursuits, with which he has since been identified.  He has been prominently identified with political matters in that section of the state, in connection with the affairs of the Republican party.  His first presidential vote was cast for John C. FREMONT, and he has never been missing from the polls since he cast his first vote.  As supervisor for the town of Geneva he has done good service for two terms.  It is owing to the vigorous measures he introduced that the time of election was changed from the spring to the fall of the year, Geneva being the first town to make the change.  He is also the father of a measure which granted Geneva a special charter of its own.  He rendered good service as town assessor for two terms; was road commissioner for several terms; a member of the board of elections for many years; delegate to the county conventions several times, and has always been a staunch supporter of the principles of his party.  He and his family are members of the North Presbyterian Church.

Mr. BENNETT married, January 25, 1854, Harriet A. JACQUES, who was born in Wayne county, New York, in 1826, and died in Geneva, February 22, 1909.  They have had children:  1. Mrs. Calvin DYE, who resides in the home of her father, and has one daughter, Catherine, wife of Charles C. DORSEY.  2. Lois M., who was graduated from the Genesee Normal School, and has been engaged in teaching for a period of twenty years; at present she is a greatly beloved teacher in the Geneva high school.

It is men of the camp of Mr. BENNETT, who render the country in which they live the home of prosperity; while striving to achieve success, this success would be welcomed only as it rests upon a foundation of truth and honor.  Deceit and duplicity are foreign to his nature and false representations are to be scorned.  Justice, rectitude and equity are the rules of his conduct, and he would tolerate no dubious measures either in private or public life.  

 

BENSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 24

BENSON, Ichabod, Victor, was born in Mendon, Monroe county, December 19, 1823, was educated in the common schools, worked at carpenter's trade several years, and in January, 1852, went to the gold fields of California; returning in 1856, he has since followed farming.  June 4, 1857, he married Mary J., daughter of Anson and Huldah (SIMONDS) LORD, and they had four children: Alonzo L., who married Sarah Caroline TUFFORD, of Canada, and has one child, Harvey L.; Cora J., who died at the age of eleven; Clara E., who married Charles K. SPELLMAN, of Pittsford; and James H., who resides at home with his parents.  Mrs. BENSON's father, Anson LORD, was born in Saratoga county, September 10, 1810, and married Huldah SIMONDS, of Henrietta, who was born February 27, 1813, and they have seven children:  Mary J., William J., James H., Matthias L., Clara B., Daniel A., and Eliza A.  Mrs. BENSON's brother, Matthias L., was taken prisoner at the battle of Gettysburg.  

 

BENSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  26 - 27

 

BENSON, Alonzo, the late, was born in Mendon, Monroe county, May 2, 1826, was educated in the district schools and was always a farmer.  March 17, 1852, he married Rhoda EATON, of Monroe county, and they had six children:  Abbie, resides at home; Clara T., who died when a child; Sarah I., who married John RECHE, of Hamilton, Canada, where they reside; Susan C., who married Noah A. BAKER; Orson J., who is at home; and Eunice, who died young.  Mr. BENSON died November 16, 1876.  His father, Alonzo, Sr., was born in Greenfield, Saratoga county, January 6, 1797.  February 10, 1820, he married Abigail JOHNSTON, formerly of Berlin, VT.  They had 12 children:  Eliza J., Alma C., Lyman W., Ichabod, Alonzo, Jr., a son who died in infancy, Harvey J., Gaylord S., Abigail I., Levantia, Orson, and Mary L.  Mrs. BENSON's father, Joel EATON, was born in Massachusetts February 2, 1800, and came with his parents to Washington county, when he was 3 years old; when 10 years of age he came to Brighton, Monroe county.  He married Permelia COLWELL, and they had 3 children.  Her people came from Scotland as early as 1620.  She died, and Mr. EATON then married Sarah SIBLEY for his second wife and by her had 11 children, making in all, 14 children.  Mrs. BENSON's great-grandfather Ebenezer EATON, was in the Revolutionary War, and her three brothers were in the Civil War.  

 

BENTLY   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 259

BENTLY, Orville, Bristol, was born in Richmond, Ontario county, July 24, 1830.  He is the youngest son of Isaac BENTLY, a son of George BENTLY, a son of Tillinghast BENTLY, whose father, James BENTLY, was the first of the family in America.  Isaac BENTLY, father of the subject, was born in Dutchess county in 1788, and went to Saratoga county with his parents.  His wife was Hannah DUBOIS who bore him 7 sons and 5 daughters.  Mr. BENTLY served in the War of 1812.  In 1816 he came to Richmond, and purchased 60 acres of land.  He held minor town offices, and with his family attended the Universalist church.  Mr. BENTLY died in 1863, and his wife in 1855.  Orville BENTLY was reared on a farm, and January 1, 1850, married in Bristol Marcia S. WHEELER, born in Livonia, Livingston county, born October 31, 1831, daughter of Sylvester WHEELER.  They have had three children: Sidney A., born September 20, 1851, and educated in East Bloomfield and Canandaigua Academies, and died in 1869; Murray S., born July 13, 1873, married May WICKHAM, daughter of William and Jenett (FRANCIS) WICKHAM, of Bristol, and is a farmer; Nettie M., born December 23, 1874, is the wife of Fred BUELL.  They have one son.  Orville BENTLY, in 1856, came to Bristol and purchased 100 acres of land, where he has since resided and carried on general farming.  He is a republican, a member of Bristol Grange, and he and family attend the Universalist church.

 

BENTLY   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 266

BENTLY, M.D., Francis E., Canandaigua, was born in Van Buren, Onondaga county, April 23, 1816, a son of Isaac BENTLY of that town.  The earliest ancestors of this family came to this country from England in 1740.  The father of our subject was born in Rhode Island, and came to Onondaga county in 1804, locating in Pompey, and in 1811 moved to the homestead where Francis B. was born.  Subject was educated at Cazenovia Seminary, and attended Geneva Medical College two seasons, graduating January 24, 1841.  He then went with his preceptor, Dr. ROOT of Memphis, with whom he practiced for three years, and then moved to Cheshire, in the town of Canandaigua, where for the last 50 years he has had a very extensive practice.  He has now retired from active work and is taking a well merited rest.  He has been a member of the Ontario County Medical Society from its organization (about 1848) and has held all the offices in the society.  He is also a member of the New York State Medical Association.  He married first June 25, 1843, Sophia BALL of Marcellus, Onondaga county.  His second marriage, December 27, 1847, was with Almira, daughter of Squire Warren BROWN of South Bristol, and they have two sons: Frank, who conducts the farm in Canandaigua, and Victor, who is a musician.

 

BERRY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 22

 

BERRY, Joseph J., Farmington, was born in Canandaigua, November 14, 1846.  He was educated in the public schools and Canandaigua Academy, and follows farming.  January 13, 1886, he married Jennie B., daughter of David and Elizabeth LORING, of Scandia, Kans.  They have two children:  Vernie E., and Merle.  Mr. BERRY's father, Richardson, was born in Ireland, and came to the United States in 1842, locating near Canandaigua.  He married, previous to his arrival here, Eliza JOHNSON, of his native place, and they afterwards bought a farm near the town of Farmington.  They had 9 children, six survived:  Esther (now Mrs. Mowry POWER, of Farmington); John C., Thomas J., William H., Joseph J., Anne E., who married Erastus HISCOCK, of Canandaigua.  Mrs. BERRY's father, David LORING, was born in the town of Canandaigua, February 1, 1816, and married Elizabeth NICHOL, formerly of Washington, Pa.  

 

 

BERRY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 230

BERRY, Michael, Canandaigua, was born in County Cork, Ireland, August 8, 1835, and came to this country in 1854, first locating at Lindsay, Canada, where he learned the trade of harness maker.  In 1866 he came to Canandaigua, and the next spring started a harness shop in Bull's block on Main street.  He was a partner of M. J. MORAN until October, 1891, when he moved into his present location in the McKechnie block on Main street, where he carries a full line of harnesses, saddlery, blankets, etc.  Mr. BERRY has always taken an active interest in politics, and is a Democrat.  He has held the office of assessor, and is prominent in the politics of the town.  He is a member of the Catholic Church of Canandaigua.  Mr. BERRY married in 1870 Lizzie HIGGINS of Canandaigua, who died two years later.

 

 

BERRY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 253

BERRY, John C., Farmington, was born in Ireland, October 25, 1840.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and was a farmer.  January 31, 1866, he married C. Maria, daughter of Jacob and Sophia BOWER, of Victor.  They have two sons: Carlton J. and Leon R.  September 4, 1862, Mr. BERRY enlisted in Company G, 148th N. Y. S. Vols., was in sixteen general engagements: Clover Hill, May 8, 1864; Swift Creek, May 12, 1864; Drury's Bluff, May 16, 1864; Port Walthall, May 26, 1864; Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864; Rowlto House, June 15, 1864; Petersburg, June 18, 1864; Mine Explosion, near Petersburg, July 30, 1864; Siege of Petersburg, for several weeks up to August 25, 1864; Fort Harrison, September 29, 1864; Fort Gilmore, September 30, 1864; Fair Oaks, October 27, 1864; Hatcher's Run, March 31, 1865; Fort Greig, April 2, 1865; Rice's Station, April 6, 1865; Appomattox, April 9, 1865.  He was honorably discharged June 22, 1865.  He received a wound by a fragment of shell at the battle of Fort Harrison, and at the battle of Fair Oaks he was the only one that escaped out of forty from being taken prisoner.

 

 

BILL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 370 - 371

BILL, Paul F., Seneca, was born near Hall's Corners, June 29, 1815.  He was educated in the district schools of his day, and has always followed farming.  He has always made memoranda of passing events on his own farm and vicinity with pleasure to himself and of much interest to others.  February 27, 1845, he married Isabelle TELFORD, and they had six children: Robert A., the attorney of Jamestown, North Dakota; Sarah J., Margaret T., Carlton F., general agent for D. M. Osborne & Company of Auburn, manufacturers of binders, mowers, etc., for the last eight years; George D. (deceased), and Charles L.  The latter is not married and is the farmer at home; Robert A. married Margaret D. MORROW, and they have one living daughter, Lucy M.; Sarah J. presides over her father's house; Margaret T. married William FISHER of Cleveland, O., and had six children: Worden F. (deceased); Ada B., Dayton B., Bessie M., Nathan R., and Benjamin H.  Carlton F. married Mary TURNBULL, and had one daughter, Anna E.; her mother died in 1885; for his second wife he married in 1892 Emily TODD of Byron, Genesee county.  Mrs. BILL died March 28, 1890.  Mr. BILL's father, Richard D., was born in Groton, New London county, Conn., November 5, 1772.  He first came to this town in 1795, by sloop from New London to Albany, then up the Mohawk by flat boat, working his passage by poling through Wood Creek and Seneca River, to Geneva on business for Captain T. ALLYN, agent of Phelps & Gorham.  In 1796 he came in here on horseback and bought by contract, of the Wadsworth Brothers at Big Tree (now Geneseo), lot No. 41 on No. 9, first range, a part of which subject now owns, though he lives on lot 39.  By his journal he kept, the distance was 334 miles in eight days.  He also came in for Captain ALLYN to collect partial payments and interest, in 1801-5-8, on horseback.  Subject's parents had five children born in Groton: Joseph A., Richard C. (died in Groton), Lucy A., Emeline E., Robert A., all now deceased.  June 9, 1796, when subject's father arrived in Geneva, the frame for the Geneva Hotel was being put up, built by Charles WILLIAMSON for the Pultney estate, which is still standing.  He married Tabitha, daughter of Robert ALLYN, born April 21, 1772, at Allyn's Point, Groton, and came to this town in 1813.  They were 24 days on the way.  They had six children: Richard C., who died in Connecticut, and four who came with them.  Joseph A., Lucy A., Emeline S., Robert A., and Paul F., born here.  His father died November 7, 1853, and his mother April 3, 1837.  His grandfather, Phineas BILL, was born at the old home in Connecticut.  The first known of the family was one John BILL, who came from England.  His son, Philip, received a grant from Queen Ann on the east side of the Thames River, near New London, Conn., with Robert ALLYN and others.  The subject is of the eighth generation on the side of both father and mother from the first immigrants from England.

 

 

 

BILSBORROW  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 228

BILSBORROW, George, Geneva, was born in Walsingham, in the county of Norfolk, England, January 15, 1807.  His boyhood days were spent near Bolton, and he came to the United States when a young man, in 1832, locating in Geneva.  He married Agnes WILKIE, of Geneva, who was born in Newton Stewart, Scotland, August 24, 1812, and came to the United States when five years old.  They had five children: Robert, who married Margaret BUCHANAN, of Leroy, NY; Elizabeth A., who married J. O. RUPERT, of Penn Yan; George W., who married Elizabeth MONAGLE, of Gorham; Agnes; and Janette, who married Oliver J. MANAGLE, of Gorham.  Mrs. BILSBORROW's father, George WILKIE, was born at the old home at Newton Stewart, Scotland, and came to the United States in 1817.  He married Janette McKANE, of Newton Stewart, and they had 10 children.  The ancestry of this family is Scotch and English.  Mrs. BILSBORROW and her daughter Agnes reside on the old homestead.  

BIRDSEYE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 21

 

BIRDSEYE, Joseph, was born in Hopewell, August 29, 1833, on the farm he now owns.  His father was Ezekiel, son of Joseph, a native of Connecticut, who came to Hopewell in 1798, and there died in 1805.  Ezekiel was born in Hopewell in 1800, on the old homestead.  He taught school for some time, but afterwards followed farming.  His first wife was Lydia CONE, by whom he had three children.  She died, and he then married Martha KELLY, a native of Honeoye, and to them were born four sons and one daughter.  Mr. BIRDSEYE died in 1875, and his wife in 1872.  Joseph was educated in the public schools, and his life has been spent in farming.  He owns 130 acres of the old BIRDSEYE homestead, and is one of the leading farmers of the town.  In 1872 he married Candis O., daughter of George BRUNDAGE, whose father was one of the first settlers of Hopewell, and they have had two children: Sarah C., and one who died in infancy.  Mr. BIRDSEYE is a Republican in politics, and he and wife are Presbyterians.

 

 

 

BIRDSEYE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 24 -25

 

BIRDSEYE, Gould, Gorham, was born in Hopewell in 1837, a son of Ezekiel.  Subject was reared on a farm, and educated in Macedon Academy.  He has always followed farming and at present owns 190 acres of land in Gorham.  In 1866 he married Emeline WYNKOOP, a native of Gorham, and born on the farm now owned by Mr. BIRDSEYE, which was formerly known as the WYNKOOP homestead.  She is a daughter of John and Elizabeth (SPAUN) WYNKOOP, he a native of Flint Creek, and she of Albany county.  They had four daughters and three sons, and four of the children are still living.  Mr. WYNKOOP died in 1866, and his wife in 1878.  The father of John WYNKOOP was Peter, who came from the east and settled at Flint Creek, where he kept a hotel, and there lived and died, and lies buried in the Sandhill cemetery. Subject and wife have had one son, John W., born September, 1868.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and is now engaged in the berry and fruit culture.  Mr. BIRDSEYE and wife are members of the M. E. Church at Emery Chapel, Hopewell, NY.  

 

 

BLACK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  28

 

BLACK, Archibald, Geneva, father of John BLACK and sisters, living one and one-half miles north of Geneva, was born in Johnstown, Fulton county, NY, March 9, 1800.  In 1801 his father with his family moved to Geneva, where they made their home.  Here Archibald and his brother John were educated in the common school.  He was a farmer.  On the 13th of October, 1825, he married Eleanor WOODEN, whose father, James WOODEN, was one of the early settlers.  They had 8 children: John, Janet, Mary, Elizabeth, Harriet A., E. Caroline, Louise and Frances.  Their grandfather, John BLACK, was born in Wigtown, Scotland, about 1755.  He married Janet NARRIN, of Wigtown, came to America, and served all through the Revolutionary War.  They had 8 children: Elizabeth, Jane, Polly, John, Barbara, Archibald, James, and one who died in infancy.  His brother William was drafted by the English.  At the battle of Saratoga they were in the opposing armies, but William deserted soon after.  Their great-grandfather was killed in Scotland by an English press gang while fighting against being deprived of his liberty.  He was a Covenanter, and his parents were among that grand company who fled for their lives before, to them, that synonym of cruelty, John GRAHAM of Claverhouse.

 

BLACK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  29

 

BLACK, Dexter J., East Bloomfield, a native of Smithfield, Madison county, was born April 5, 1842.  He is a son of Loring BLACK, whose father, John, was a native of Connecticut, and early came to Smithfield, where he lived and died.  Loring was born in Connecticut in September, 1800, and came with his parents to New York when a child.  He married Polly DEWEY, a native of Vernon, Oneida county, and a daughter of Thomas DEWEY, many years a resident of Madison county, where he died.  Loring had 8 sons and 2 daughters.  He once owned 100 acres of land in Madison county, but sold this and purchased another farm in East Bloomfield, where he spent the last 27 years of his life.  He assisted in building the Baptist church at Canandaigua.  The death of Mr. (Loring) BLACK occurred June 11, 1891, and that of his wife in 1855.  Dexter J. received an academic education, and when a young man came with his parents to East Bloomfield, where, in 1877, he married Emma A. CRANDALL, a native of Naples, and a daughter of C(alvin) Lorenzo CRANDALL, a native of South Bristol.  The latter was a son of John, a native of Connecticut, who with his wife, Catherine SWEET, and 10 children, came to South Bristol.  Here his wife died in 1854, and he in 1880.  C(alvin) Lorenzo CRANDALL was born in South Bristol in 1816, and married Elvira HERRICK, a native of Naples, and daughter of Eben and Lois (HAMMOND) HERRICK, and they had two sons and four daughters.  In 1855 he came to East Bloomfield and bought 100 acres of land, where subject now resides.  Mr. CRANDALL died in 1881, and his wife in 1883.  Dexter J. BLACK and wife had five children: Milton L., Burton L., Ada E., Frank H., and Emma P. Milton L. married Annie DALTON, of Rochester.  He is an electrician, and resides in Canandaigua.  Mr. BLACK is a Republican, and he and his wife are members of the Baptist church at Canandaigua.

 

BLACK

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg 116

M. Newton BLACK, well know as a farmer and raiser of produce for the market in Seneca, Ontario county, New York, is a member of a family which has been identified with agricultural matters for many years and traces his descent to the old colonial families. He is a grower and wholesale dealer in farm produce in Stanley, New York, and from there his goods are sent in all directions, being noted for their quality.

Moses BLACK, grandfather of M. Newton BLACK, was born in Maryland, September 29, 1789, died on his farm in Ontario county, New York, September 27, 1872.   In his early youth, he removed with his father to Pennsylvania, and about one month after his marriage he again removed, this time to a farm he purchased a mile south of Stanley, in Seneca, Ontario county, New York. He married, January 20, 1820, Mary MC MASTER of Benton, Yates county, New York, born May 30, 1802; died January 11, 1880. They had children: Aaron, see forward;, John born December 22, 1823, died August 7, 1874; Eliza Jane, July 26, 1826 died February 11, 1827, Moses Newton, September 10, 1828, died September 30, 1844; Elizabeth, June 4, 1831, died July 22, 1905; James, April 12, 1835; Mary, June 23, 1837; Nancy S., January 7, 1842, died October 14, 1844.

Aaron, eldest child of Moses and Mary (MC MASTER) BLACK, was born in Seneca, New York, September 21, 1821; died there, January 27, 1900. He followed the occupation of farming all his life. He married, December 16, 1846, Hannah Jane HIPPLE, born in Pennsylvania, May 8, 1829; died May 1888. She was three years of age when her parents settled in Seneca, New York. He and his wife were members of the Presbyterian Church.

M. Newton, son of Aaron and Hannah Jane (HIPPLE) BLACK, was born in the town of Seneca, New York, June 3, 1854. His elementary education was acquired in the public schools, and he then attended the Canandaigua Academy. Early in life he followed in the footsteps of his father as a farmer, and in 1900, when the farm came into his possession, he branched out in other directions, and established himself as a wholesale produce merchant, with which line he has since that time been successfully identified. His farm land comprises seventy-five acres, and the greatest care is displayed in the scientific cultivation of every part of it. Mr. BLACK has been an active worker in the interests of the Republican party, and he has served his town as supervisor for two years. His church affiliations are with the Presbyterian denomination.

Mr. BLACK married, October 24, 1877, Jeannette WATSON, born in the town of Seneca, October 31, 1853. Her father, Lewis WATSON, born in Scotland in 1811, died in this country, in March, 1904. He came to America in 1851, locating first in Geneva, New York, and later removed to Flint, where he worked as a blacksmith for many years. When his two sons had grown to manhood, he bought a farm on which he spent the remainder of his life, engaged in its cultivation. He married, in Scotland, Janet DUNCAN, also a native of that land, who died in 1892. One of their sons, John, is now a resident of Muskegon, Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. BLACK have had children: 1. Ella W., born July 28, 1878, graduated from the Genesee Normal School; married W.S. RIPPEY, of Brockport, New York. 2. Belle M., born December 21, 1882, graduated from the Geneva high school; married Robert E. MONAGLE, and lives in San Francisco, California.  

 

BLACK   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 367

BLACK, Hugh R., Seneca, was born on the old homestead in Geneva, August 10, 1822.  He was educated in the public schools and has always followed farming.  He came to reside in Seneca in 1861, purchasing his present farm and now pleasant home about that time.  November 5, 1857, he married Mary MILLER, of Flushing, L. I., and they have one son, William F., who was educated in the common schools and the Union School of Geneva.  He is a farmer, and has full charge of the farm, relieving his father from all care.  He married Flora, daughter of Marcus ANSLEY, of Geneva, and they have have three children: Lewis D., Hugh R., and Mary J.  Mr. BLACK's father, William M., was born in Maryland, and came to Western New York with his father when thirteen years old.  He married Isabella RIPPEY, and had four children: Hugh R., George W., Mary and John (deceased).  His father died in 1855, and his mother in 1867.  His grandfather, John RIPPEY, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  His grandfather, Hugh BLACK, when he came north, gave his slaves their freedom.  Twenty-three of them refused it and came north with the family.

 

BLACK   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 372

BLACK, James, Seneca, was born on the old homestead near Stanley, April 12, 1836.  He was educated in the public schools, is a graduate of Alfred University, and has always followed farming.  He is also an importer and breeder of Holstein cattle.  January 8, 1865, he married Carrie P. MEANS of this town.  Mr. BLACK's father, Moses, was born in Lancaster county, Pa., in October, 1789, and came here with his father in 1804, locating in Geneva about two miles northeast of Bellona Village.  He too was a farmer, and married Mary McMASTER of Yates county.  They had nine children: Three died in infancy; Elizabeth, Mary A., Newton, Aaron, John and James.  His grandfather, Aaron BLACK, came here from Maryland, where he was born, and purchased 1,000 acres of land.  When his father came to this old home there were only 6 acres cleared.  The beautiful maple grove was planted by Mr. BLACK thirty years ago.  Mrs. BLACK's father, George MEANS, was born in Pennsylvania in 1815.  He married Harriet REED, and they had 9 children, six survive: George N., Charles H., John, Jennie, Carrie P. and Augustus P.  Her father died in 1870, and her mother in 1868.  Mr. BLACK is a member of the Holstein Cattle Association.  Mr. BLACK's father, Moses, George RIPPEY and Mrs. RIPPEY returned on horseback to the old homestead in Pennsylvania on a visit.  When they came to the Susquehanna River it was much swollen, and Mrs. RIPPEY dashed into the stream while the others followed safely.  

 

BLACKMER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 18

 

BLACKMER, Myron H., Richmond, was born in Livonia, December 12, 1830, the only son.  His father was Hervey, and his grandfather was Levi, the pioneer.  The other sons of Levi (and Hannah) had no children.  Hervey married in 1830 Elizabeth, daughter of Pliny HAYES, of Bristol, a pioneer of that town.  He settled in Livonia, and had besides Myron H. (the only son in the second generation from Levi), two daughters:  Elizabeth, who married Carlton PLUMB, of Springfield, Mo., and Sarah, who married Francis G. PENNELL of this town.  He (Hervey) died August 6, 1852.  Myron H. was educated at Bloomfield and Warren Academies, and engaged in farming at Livonia, where he now owns part of the homestead.  In 1854 he married Harriet, daughter of John PENNELL, who, with his father, John, Sr., came from Massachusetts.  Mr. and Mrs. BLACKMER have had 7 children:  John, born in 1857; Frank, born in 1860; Carl, born in 1863, died in 1892; Elizabeth, born in 1868, married Spencer G. SISSON, of Bristol; Harriet A., born in 1869; Thomas and George, twins, born in 1871.  They reside on the homestead farm of John PENNELL, a part of the original purchase of John, Sr.  He is now engaged in general farming, and has 225 acres. (Levi & Hannah buried in Richmond Center Cemetery).

 

BLACKMORE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  19 - 20

 

BLACKMORE, Edward W., East Bloomfield, is a native of Rochester, born November 30, 1869.  His father, Harvey, is a son of William W. BLACKMORE, a native of Somersetshire, Eng., born in 1805, who at the age of 27 came to America.  He spent two years in Ellenville, Ulster county, and there married Maria DAVIS, of that county.  He then went to Rochester where he worked for William H. Gorsline & Son, assisting in building the Powers block, Elwood block, Erie Canal aqueduct, St. Joseph's church and Hayden block.  By his first wife (who died in 1843) Mr. BLACKMORE and had 6 children, four of whom died in infancy.  He married second Ann LONG, and died in 1884.  Harvey BLACKMORE was born January 19, 1836.  He was reared and educated in Rochester, and was an engineer for many years on the N. Y. C. R. R.  June 10, 1860, he married Mary E. WARDELL, of Rochester, a daughter of William W. WARDELL, a native of England, who came to Rochester.  Mr. BLACKMORE had four children:  William W., who resides in Indianapolis; George H., a barber of Chicago; Edward W., and Maud, wife of Charles SANFORD, of Livonia.  Mr. BLACKMORE enlisted in Company H, 140th  N. Y. Vols., and served three years.  He re-enlisted in the 54th Regiment and afterwards enlisted in Company I, 5th U. S. Artillery, stationed in Charlestown, SC.  In 1880, while at Wilkesbarre, Pa., to aid in suppressing a riot, he received a shot in the throat which in time, caused his death.  He was engaged at St. Mary's hospital when his death occurred in 1883.  His wife died in 1873.  Edward W. was educated in the Rochester schools and in Taylor's Business College, graduating from the latter in 1888.  He traveled with the Liberty Family Comedy Company two years, and then for one year engaged in the livery business.  He then traded for the farm of 85 acres, which he now owns and which is known as the "Fair Lawn Farm."  December 30, 1890, he married Nellie LIBERTY, the family being composed of Ed. LIBERTY, his wife Charlotte, and six children:  Marie, John, Tessie, Eva, Nellie and Kittie.  Mr. BLACKMORE and wife had one child, Corinne M.  He is a Republican, a member of the Farmer's Alliance of East Bloomfield, and a special correspondent for the Ontario County Journal and for The Victor Herald.

 

BLAINE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 265

BLAINE, Millard F., Geneva, son of John G. and Angeline (GAMBER) BLAINE, was born at Varick, Seneca county, March 4, 1849.  He was educated at the Genesee Conference Seminary at Ovid, and graduated from the law department of the University of Michigan in 1879, and practiced one year at Rockford, ILL.  From 1880 to 1884 he was manager of the Union Needle Company at Middleboro', Mass., and was managing partner of the Kirkwood Hotel at Geneva six years.  In 1891 he organized the Genesee Carriage Company, and is the largest stockholder.  He is trustee of the village, is a Republican, and takes an active interest and part in political affairs.  In 1872, he married Alice GIDDING, daughter of William D. GIDDING of Romulus.

 

BLAINE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 271

BLAINE, M.D., Myron De Pue, Geneva, is a son of James BLAINE who was born in Northumberland county, Pa.  His father died when he was four years of age, and five years later his mother moved to the town of Romulus, where he now resides, one of the leading farmers in Seneca county.  Our subject was born August 6, 1859.  He attended the common and select schools of Romulus, and in 1874 graduated from the State Normal School of Valparaiso, Ind., and the same year began the study of medicine with Dr. EVARTS, of Romulus.  He spent three years at the Detroit Medical College, from which he graduated in 1883.  He was for six years one of the staff of the Willard Asylum, and in 1889 located at Geneva, where he has a large practice, making a specialty of nervous diseases; was president of the Seneca County Medical Society two years.  In 1889 he married Zoa May COVERT, of Ovid, NY.

 

BLAIR

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg  30 - 31

BLAIR, Walter, was born on his present farm in Canandaigua, November 24, 1833.  His grandfather, James, was a son of William and Agnes (MAR) BLAIR.  Agnes MAR was a daughter of James MAR, only son of the Earl of Mar, of Scotland.  James MAR came to this country at the time of the Scotch rebellion.  James BLAIR was born in Massachusetts, June 1, 1755, and died February 16, 1855.  He was a soldier in the War of the Revolution, and came to Madison county in 1784, where he made his home for 50 years.  He married Mary DICK, of Massachusetts, and they had 8 children, of whom James, the father of our subject, was the third son.  James was born in Warren, Mass., October 19, 1792.  He was 8 years old when is parents moved to Madison county, where he lived until aged 20 years.  He then started for himself, locating first at East Bloomfield, then in Victor, where he conducted a mill and distillery, and in 1829, bought a farm of 136 acres in Canandaigua.  Here he died February 7, 1875.  He was an Episcopalian, and a man of great firmness and character.  He married, October 3, 1822, Sabra LYON, a native of this county, and they had 8 children, five of whom survive: Mary E., lives on the homestead; Burton H. (married Alice R. RAINSFORD), an insurance agent of Rochester; Sophia, wife of Hiram CASE, of Canandaigua; Alice A., and Walter.  The latter was educated in the common school, and became a farmer.  He has always taken an active interest in the success of the Republican party.

 

BLANCHARD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 31

 

BLANCHARD Bros-----William and George, Canandaigua, were born in Seneca, and when but boys their father moved to Canandaigua, where he engaged in butcher business, which he followed until his death.  He had 5 children, all now living.  They were educated in the common schools, and early in life began working at their father's business.  In 1869 they opened a market in Canandaigua, where they have ever since been the leaders in the meat trade in this village.  In addition to their regular trade, they handle in its season all kinds of game and green produce.  They and their families are of the Presbyterian Church.  William married in 1876 Matilda LAPAGE, of Canandaigua, and they have three children: Grace, Jessie, and James.  George A. married Ellen SCHELLINGER, of Canandaigua, and they are the parents of four children: Georgia, Mabel, Mary, and William.

 

BLAND 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 273

BLAND, the late George J., Geneva, was born in Geneva in 1818.  He was educated in the public schools and by occupation a kalsominer.  March 18, 1845, he married Mary J. ADAMS, who was born in Troy.  They have an adopted daughter, Mary A., who was born in Geneva.  She married, February 17, 1887, George W. WATKINS, who was born in Baltimore, Md.  Mr. BLAND died September 15, 1886.  He was a member of the Baptist church and the present family are members of Trinity church.  Mrs. BLAND was a co-worker with Frederick DOUGLASS in the anti-slavery cause, and is much interested in the elevation of her people, the colored race.

 

BLISS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893  pg 23

 

BLISS, Philenzo P., Bristol, was born in Kankakee county, IL., June 16, 1839.  He is a son of Philenzo P. BLISS, whose father was James BLISS, of Genesee county, NY, where he spent most of his life.  He died in Illinois in 1839.  Philenzo P. BLISS, father of subject, was born in Genesee county, October 22, 1813, and died in Kankakee county, IL, August 30, 1839.  He went to Illinois when a young man, and married Caroline A. GOODING, who was born October 10, 1816, in Bristol, a daughter of James GOODING, who was born in Bristol, July 6, 1791.  He was the third male white child born in the town of Bristol; his father was James GOODING, one of the pioneers of the county.  The subject of this sketch was reared on a farm, and educated in Rockford Academy.  He married Catherine L. TOTMAN, of Bristol, born in Jefferson county, NY, September 21, 1839.  Her father, Ward TOTMAN, removed from Jefferson county to Bristol in 1840.  Mr. BLISS and wife have had the following children:  Irene C., Winifred K., Henry W., Mabel J., Edith S., Alice C., Lester P., Gooding H., and Esther (deceased).  He removed to Bristol in 1876, and in 1882 he purchased the farm on which he now resides.  He is a republican, and is a member of the Farmer's Alliance of Bristol.  He and wife are members of the Congregational church of that place.

 

BLOSSOM

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 227 - 228 

William, son of Joseph BLOSSOM, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, was born in Amsterdam, New York, and was probably a descendant of the Cape Cod, Massachusetts, family.  A number of BLOSSOMS are mentioned in the records of Barnstable and Sandwich, and the name is associated with Wells, Vermont, through a descendant of the Cape Cod Blossoms.  William, son of Joseph BLOSSOM, was in Manchester, New York, before 1837.  He had been educated for the Presbyterian ministry, but did not enter it.  He engaged in farming in the town of Seneca township, and in 1847 he came to Port Gibson, where for a time he ran a general store and engaged in the wholesale egg and butter business.  He married (first) Magdalen POST, and (second) Polly, daughter of Eli BENHAM.  Children,  all by second marriage:  Joseph, referred to below; Delanie; Magdalen; Eli; Henry; Samuel. 

     ( II ) Joseph, son of William and Polly ( BENHAM ) BLOSSOM, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, New York, April 8, 1837, and is now living at Port Gibson.  He was brought by his father to Port Gibson, when he was 10 years of age, and received his education in the public schools of Seneca and Port Gibson.  He then for a number of years acted as clerk in his father's store, and for the last two years of his minority bought goods for a New York firm.  In 1860 he engaged in boating on the Erie canal and afterwards took up farming and speculating.  He has been a notary public for three years and was at one time a trustee for the public schools of Port Gibson, during which period he had charge of the building of the new school house and of the town hall.  He is still engaged in farming.  Mr. BLOSSOM is a member of the Maccabees.  He married Ellen, daughter of Youngs CORWIN.  Children:  1. Eudora, married Frederick FLOODMAN; she left two children, Edna and Georgia; died May 31, 1901.  2. Georgia, died January 20, 1879.  3. Frank.  4. Caroline, married Frederick LEHR; one child, Dorothy B.  5. E. Louisa, married Harris ALLERTON; no children.  6. Laurel.  Mrs. BLOSSOM is a member of the Maccabees and is commander of the local hive in Port Gibson.

 

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

 [NY History and Genealogy]