Ca - Cl
Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy. This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.
If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.
Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas. Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 280
CAIN, William, East
Bloomfield, is a native of Ontario county, born April 19, 1845,
and a son of Gideon, whose father, Thomas,
was a captain in the War of 1812.
Gideon was a native of Canajoharie, born January 24, 1819.
He was young when his father died and was obliged to assist
in supporting his mother, starting in life for himself at the
early age of 12 years. When
a young man he settled in Camden, Oneida county, and after twenty
years went to Orleans county.
His present home is in Genesee county.
He married Wealthy TIFFANY, a
native of Montgomery county, and they have had a son and a
Mr. CAIN is a Democrat,
and he and wife are members of the M. E. church of East
Bloomfield. William was reared as a farmer
and sawyer. He was
educated in the common and select schools, and at the age of 18,
started in life for himself, working first in a saw-mill and
afterwards at farming. For
8 years he kept a general store at Miller's Corners, West
Bloomfield. He went
to Orleans county when a young man, and afterwards to Genesee
county, where he remained until 1881, then went to West
Bloomfield, Ontario county, and in 1890 came to East Bloomfield,
where he has since resided. In
1892 he bought the V. G. SEARS farm
of 40 acres, and has since repaired buildings and made other
improvements. Mr. CAIN has been twice married,
first, November, 1869, to Hannah SMITH, of
Shelby, Orleans county, a daughter of William
had one son, Glenn, a student of East
1, 1891, Mrs. CAIN died, and in 1892 Mr.
CAIN married Emily (MASON) MURREL,
widow of Charles P. MURREL, and they
have had two daughters, Grace and Edith.
Grace is the wife of W. H.
WHITTEMER, a cigar packer of Binghamton, NY.
Edith is a student of East
CAIN is a Prohibitionist, but not an aspirant to office.
He and wife are members of East Bloomfield Grange No. 94,
also of Monumental Lodge No. 109, I. O. G. T.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 512 - 513
born in Albany, NY, in February, 1828.
He was one of 8 children, and by the death of both his
parents before he reached early manhood he was thrown wholly upon
his own resources. When
he was 11 years old his parents removed to the vicinity of
Rochester, where they died. In
Rochester the lad was taken from school at thirteen years of age,
and very much against his wishes was apprenticed to a man named GRAY
to learn the finishing of leather as a part of the tanner's trade.
He possessed from his early boyhood an intense desire to
obtain a good education, and in order to attain his ambition in
this direction he devoted his evening hours to the work.
His employer took him from his other work when about
fourteen and sent him out into the country to purchase hides on
commission. In this
business he was remarkably successful, and might have continued in
it to his own and his employer's gain; but he had other objects,
and with the first money he thus earned he purchased a Greek
Testament and began a course of lingual study which did not cease
wholly while he lived. After
nine months of work for Mr. GRAY, he
arranged to buy the remainder of his time as an apprentice by
paying $50 which he saved from his earnings, and giving his
father's note for the remainder, which he himself made good.
He was then 15 years old, and he came to Canandaigua and
entered the academy, giving his nights to study and his days, or
portions of them at least, to work in a tannery to pay his
expenses. At the
close of his studies in the academy he entered the law office of Hon.
E. G. LAPHAM, and in due course was admitted to the bar. Subsequently he formed a partnership with J.
P. FAUROT, which continued a few years, and after its
conclusion he practiced alone until his death.
On the 6th of May, 1857, he married Margaret,
daughter of Robert WALKER, of
Canandaigua. She still survives him.
They had no children.
Of unquestioned integrity and devoted to his
business, Mr. CALLISTER drew around
himself a large clientage. His
industry was un-intermittent, and through his foresight and
sagacity in making investments, he was enabled to accumulate a
large property. In
politics he was an unwavering Democrat; but his inclinations were
not towards public office, which he never sought.
He was supervisor of the town several years, but he
accepted the position because he thought it his duty and would
enable him to benefit the community. For several years he held the position of president of the
Ontario County National Bank, in which office his rare financial
ability rendered him a valued and efficient officer.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 202
John CALLISTER, was born in Albany, February 22, 1828; moved to Canandaigua, where he was a student at the academy and read law with Hon. Elbridge G. LAPHAM; continued the practice of his profession until his death, which occurred in Canandaigua August 23, 1888.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 231
Hopewell, was born in Little Falls, April 21, 1841.
His grandparents were early settlers of Herkimer county,
where they lived and died. His
father, John CALMAN, was born in
Herkimer county in 1806. His
father died when John was a mere child,
and the latter was bound out on a farm until 16 years of age, when
he learned the carpenter's trade.
He purchased a farm in Herkimer county, and some years later
purchased another, making 400 acres. He was one of the leading dairymen of the county.
Mr. CALMAN was a strictly
temperance man, having never tasted liquor in his life.
The wife of Mr. CALMAN was Kate
Maria SLUYTER, born in Greenbush, Rensselaer county, by whom
he had three sons and two daughters.
Mr. (John) CALMAN died in 1868,
and his wife in 1884. At
the age of 21, Menzo
engaged in farming, which he has since followed.
In 1866 he married Mary E. COUNTRYMAN,
a native of Minden, and a daughter of George
and Nancy COUNTRYMAN, early settlers of Fort Plain.
For many years Mr. COUNTRYMAN
was a dealer in boots and shoes in Fort Plain.
He and his wife both died in Stark.
Menzo and wife have one son,
Edward E. In
1869 Mr. CALMAN purchased a farm in
Hopewell and has since improved it at a cost of $6,000.
He is now one of the leading farmers of the town.
He is a republican, but has never aspired to public office.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 232
CAMMET, Smith H., Hopewell, was born in Canandaigua, June 15, 1827, a son of Jonathan CAMMET, a native of New Hampshire, born July 19, 1791. In 1816 Jonathan came to Canandaigua. In 1817 he married Elizabeth OSGOOD, a native of New Hampshire, born May 21, 1791, and they have three sons. Mr. CAMMET followed blacksmithing sixteen years in Canandaigua; he then purchased a farm of 112 acres, all of which subject now owns, and here spent the remainder of his days. His death occurred in Hopewell, February 17, 1871, and that of his wife April 28, 1853. Since three years of age subject has lived on the old homestead. He is a farmer and owns 156 acres. He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy. July 2, 1867, he married Frances M. BARHITE, a native of Cayuga county, NY, born September 15, 1845. Their children are: Watson S., Edward, Frank and Nellie. Mr. CAMMET is a Democrat in politics. He has been inspector of elections.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 260 - 261
CAMMANN, Oswald John,
born in New York in 1803. While
yet a lad he found employment in the Merchant's Bank of that city,
and by progressive steps was promoted until he became cashier of the
bank, which position he held many years and retained until 1860,
when he resigned and removed to Geneva, where he continued to reside
until his death in 1873. The
cashiership of so important a bank as was the old Merchants' was a
very prominent position, its board of directors being composed of
well known and prominent merchants, A. T.
STEWART for a long time being chairman of the board.
Mr. CAMMANN became one of the
leading financiers of the city, and his management of the affairs of
the bank was entirely satisfactory to the directors and won for him
their esteem and hearty commendation.
He married Catherine Navarre MACOMB, May
11, 1829. She was a
great-granddaughter of Philip LIVINGSTON.
They had four children: Edward, married
and died in 1867, leaving no children; Frances
T. married Robert S. ROSE, who
was the son of Robert L. ROSE, of
Allen's Hill, in the town of Richmond, and a member of Congress
1847-51. They had six
sons and one daughter. Mrs.
ROSE survives her husband and continues to reside on the old
homestead farm near Branchport, Yates county.
One of her sons, O. J. C. ROSE,
is a prominent citizen of Geneva, has been a member of the village
board of trustees, and for three consecutive years was elected a
supervisor of the town; is of the firm of Dorchester & Rose,
prominent hardware merchants, and identified with other prominent
business enterprises. The
two other children of Mr. CAMMANN, Misses
Elizabeth O. and C. Mary, continue to reside in Geneva, and
are well known and dearly beloved for the many quiet and
unostentatious acts of benevolence and charity in which they abound.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911,
Vol. II, pg. 422 - 423
The CAMMETT family,
although limited in numbers, is composed of industrious and thrifty
people, the majority of whom are engaged in tilling the soil and all
are useful, upright and eminently worthy citizens.
They are the descendants of Johnson
CAMMETT, a native of Vermont and a blacksmith by trade, who
went from the Green Mountain State to Canandaigua, New York, early
in the last century. About
the year 1829 he purchased a farm in Hopewell, New York, containing
one hundred and fifty-six acres, and he resided there until his
death, which occurred at the age of seventy years.
( II ) Samuel, son of Johnson
CAMMETT, was born in Canandaigua about the year 1826.
When he was three years old his parents moved to Hopewell,
and he grew to manhood in that town, taking kindly to the
independent though strenuous life of a farmer, and deriving a
comfortable living. He
succeeded to the ownership of the homestead farm, and at the time of
his death, which occurred September 6, 1906, he had resided there
for a period of 77 years.
In politics he was a Democrat and served upon the board of
supervisors for two terms. He
married, July 2, 1867, Frances BARHITE,
sister of Judge John A. BARHITE, of
Rochester, New York. She
was born September 15, 1845. Children:
2. Edward H., born October 25,
1872, is now residing at the homestead in Hopewell.
3. Frank, see forward.
4. Nellie, born June 13, 1878,
married Burton McIVOR, in December
( III ) Frank, third son of Samuel
and Frances (BARHITE) CAMMETT, was born in Hopewell,
September 3, 1875. Having
pursued the elementary branches of study in the district school he
entered the Canandaigua Union School and was graduated from that
well-known institution. His
agricultural training began at an early age, and he began the
activities of life fully able to weather its vicissitudes and obtain
the rewards of honest and determined effort.
April 1, 1910, he purchased a desirable farm of one hundred
acres in Geneva, and is now engaged in its cultivation, looking
forward with courage and optimism to a prosperous future.
Politically he acts with the republican party.
For fourteen years he has been a member of Stanley Lodge, No.
434, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Gorham, New York; has been a
member of the Patrons of Husbandry for six years; and in his
religious faith he is a Methodist.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 375
CAMPBELL, Thomas J., Seneca, was born in Geneva,
January 25, 1853. He
was educated in the public schools, and has followed the nursery
business most of his life. He
came to Seneca to reside in 1871.
February 15, 1878, he married Mary MURPHY, of Geneva; they
have five living children: Mary E., John, Rose, William H., and
Charles F. Mr.
CAMPBELL's father, Thomas, was born in the old country in 1820, and
came to the United States in 1846, locating at Geneva.
He married Rose McGOUGH of his native place; they had
11 children, nine now living: Mary, Elizabeth, Thomas J., Catherine,
Joseph, Julia, Alice, Agnes, and Emeline.
Mr. CAMPBELL's father died in 1875, and his mother resides at
Seneca Falls. Mr.
CAMPBELL has 17 acres of nursery stock of all varieties of
fruit trees of very choice quality.
The ancestry of this family is Scotch Irish.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 47 - 48
CARLOUGH, D. Wesley, Hopewell, was born March 10, 1830, on the farm he now owns. His father, David, was a son of Peter who lived and died in Burgess, NJ, where David was born about 1797. When 18 years of age the latter came to Hopewell. He owned a farm of 200 acres. His wife was Susannah THATCHER, a native of Conway, Mass., born October, 1803, by whom he had two sons and one daughter, all of them living. Mr. CARLOUGH's education was limited, but being a great reader he became a well informed man. He was an active church worker, and he and wife were members of the M. E. Church, and afterwards of the Wesleyan Church. They assisted in building two churches at Hopewell. Mr. CARLOUGH died in March, 1873, and his wife August 31, 1892. D. Wesley was reared on a farm and educated in Wesleyan Genesee Seminary, and at the Lyceum in Geneva. In 1852 he married Elizabeth VAN BUSKIRK, born in Hopewell, July 20, 1830, a daughter of Thomas and Rebecca (DEMOREST) VAN BUSKIRK. Mr. CARLOUGH and wife have one adopted daughter, Josephine, a graduate of the Canandaigua Female Seminary, who married Willis R. BUCK of Buffalo, a son of Elias BUCK, and nephew of Dr. BUCK of Geneva. Mr. BUCK and wife have two children: Carlough E. and Florence O. He has increased the old homestead to 360 acres. He is a republican; he has been town clerk, and has been postmaster at Hopewell Centre nearly 30 years. He is a member of Hopewell Grange No. 472.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 279
CARMODY, John, Geneva,
was born in Penn Yan, May 7, 1855, and attended the common schools
and Penn Yan Academy. He
graduated from the New York Veterinary College in 1878, and
practiced in Yates county until 1886, when he settled in Geneva, and
now has a large practice. In
1886 he married Jennie ROMAINE, and has
two children, John and Mary.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 251
Victor, was born in Dutchess county, August 10, 1802, and came with
his parents to Victor in 1811.
He was educated in the district schools and followed farming.
In 1832 he married Jane ELLIS of
Victor, and they had four children: Mary J.,
Betsey, George W., and Fannie, who died in 1852, aged 17
years. Mary J. married David
RAINSFORD, a produce dealer, and had six children: Edgar,
Frances, Platt, Norman, Julia and Herbert.
Betsey married William CAMP of
this town; George W. married Jennett
ELLIS, and died in 1875. Mrs. RAINSFORD's grandfather, Increase
CARPENTER, was born July 14, 1766.
He married Mary KINNY, and had
nine children: Merritt, Rosewell, Henry,
David, Platt, Willett, Smith, Jane and Ann.
At this writing, January 11, 1893, Mr.
CARPENTER is the oldest man in the town, being in his 91st
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 144 - 147
in 1303 and was a member of parliament in 1323.
son of John
CARPENTER, was born in 1335, and married Christina
are buried in St. Martin's Outwich, Bishopsgate street, London.
He was a chandler and probably also a gunsmith.
( III ) John ( 2 ), son of Richard
CARPENTER, was a brother of John
CARPENTER, Jr., the famous town clerk of London, whose
bequest to the city of certain funds was the foundation of the City
of London school. It
was common practice to have two sons in the same family of the same
name, even when both were living.
The younger was called Junior,
John Sr. was one of the
executors of John Jr.'s will and was
mentioned in his will as well as another brother, Robert,
who was given "one of those two silver cups with a lid which Thomas
KNOLLE gave me."
( IV ) John ( 3 ), son of John
( 2 ) CARPENTER, had a son William.
( V ) William, son of
John ( 3 ) CARPENTER, was born in 1440, died 1520, called
( VI ) James, son of William
CARPENTER, married and had a son John.
( VII ) John ( 4 ), son of James
CARPENTER married and had a son William.
( VIII ) William ( 2 ), son of John
( 4 ) CARPENTER, was born in England, 1540.
heir to his father's estate; Alexander,
born 1560, went to Leyden; William,
mentioned below; Richard.
( IX ) William ( 3 ), son of
William ( 2 ) CARPENTER, was born in England in 1576.
He was a carpenter by trade, and lived in London.
He came to America in 1638, in the ship "Bevis,"
with his son William, son's wife
Abigail and their children.
He returned to England on the return voyage.
It appears that all the family were Dissenters, and obliged
to leave London. Child,
William, mentioned below.
( X ) William ( 4 ), son of William
( 3 ) CARPENTER, was born in 1605, in England, and came to
America in 1638, in the ship "Bevis" with his family.
He settled first at Weymouth, Massachusetts, where he was
admitted a freeman, May 13, 1640.
He was representative of the town in 1641-43; constable in
1641. March 28, 1645,
he was admitted as an inhabitant of Rehoboth, Massachusetts, and
June of the same year, he was made freeman.
From 1643 to 1649 he served as proprietors' and town clerk.
The original division of lands in Rehoboth took place, June
30, 1644, and in that division the name of William
CARPENTER stands as No. 10.
He occupied many positions of trust in the town; 1645,
representative at the court at Plymouth; 1647, one of the directors,
and again in 1655. He
was a close friend of Governor BRADFORD and
was much favored by the latter in all his measures at the Plymouth
court. He owned real
estate at Paxtuxet, Rhode Island, called "The Island," and
in 1642 was appointed captain by the governor of Massachusetts and
called upon to act for the protection and ownership of the Paxtuxet
lands. He married Abigail
_____ in England; she died February 22, 1687.
He died February 7, 1659, in Rehoboth.
Children, first three born in England, next three in
Weymouth, last in Rehoboth; John, about
1628, mentioned below; William, 1631; Joseph,
1633; Hannah, April 3, 1640; Abiah,
( twin) April 9, 1643; Abigail, (
twin); Samuel, 1644.
( XI ) John ( 5 ), son of William
( 4 ) CARPENTER, was born in England about 1628, died May 3,
1695. He came from
England with his father, and when about 17, went to
several years he lived in different towns in the latter state, and
worked at his trade as carpenter.
He was in Stratford, Connecticut, in 1646, and in 1660 bought
land in Hempstead, Long Island. He was chosen townsman of Hempstead in 1663, and was made
freeman of the state of Connecticut, May, 1664.
He bought land in Jamaica, Long Island, in 1665.
In 1673 he was made captain of a company of fusileers in
Jamaica, and that same year was ordered with his company to defend
Fort James, New York, against the fleet of the Prince of Orange.
This was at the time of the recapture of New York by the
Dutch. He was a
patentee of the town of Jamaica under the "Dongan Patent"
of 1680, and the tract bought by him there was occupied by three
generations after him. He
married, (probably) Hannah HOPE.
Children, born in Jamaica: John,
1658, mentioned below; Hope, married Mary
____; William, 1662; Samuel,
1666; Solomon, 1670; Ruth,
married _____ RHODES; Ludman;
daughter, name not known, married
( XII ) John ( 6 ), son of John
( 5 ) CARPENTER, was born in Connecticut, in 1658.
His will was proved July 30, 1732.
He lived in Jamaica, and took the oath as captain of troops
there, November 22, 1703. He
married Mary _____.
Children; born at Jamaica: Nehemiah,
about 1685; John, about 1685; Solomon,
about 1685; Joseph, about 1687; Increase,
about 1688, mentioned below; Mary;
Hannah; Susanna; Phebe.
( XIII ) Increase, son of
John ( 6 ) CARPENTER, was born in Jamaica, about 1688.
He bought land in Jamaica in 1709.
He died about 1776. He
married ______ BERGM? .
Children, born at Jamaica:
William, 1740; Increase,
April, 1743; Jacob, 1745, mentioned
below; John, 1747; David,
married Mary CARPENTER; Luke;
Elizabeth, married Benjamin WIGGINS.
( XIV ) Jacob, son of Increase
CARPENTER, was born in Jamaica, in 1745, and married Widow Jane
SMITH, before her first marriage, Jane
BAYLIS. She died
May 6, 1813. He was a
farmer by occupation and died in 1819 or 1820.
Children, born in Jamaica:
below; Jacob; Nathaniel; Daniel,
married Hepsabeth HIGBEE; Benjamin,
died about 1837; Deborah, married William
LEWIS; Catharine, married Alexander
( XV ) Increase ( 2 ), son of Jacob
CARPENTER, was born July 14, 1766, according to family
records. In 1808 he
came to Victor, Ontario county, New York, and settled.
Some accounts give the date as 1811.
He was a farmer. He
married Mary KINNY.
Roswell; Henry; David, mentioned below;
Platt, born in Dutchess county August 10, 1802, married Jane
ELLIS, of Victor, and had four children Willett,
Smith, Jane and Ann.
( XVI ) David, son of Increase
( 2 ) CARPENTER, was born about 1800 in Dutchess county,
probably. He lived at
Victor, settled in Allegany county, and finally returned to Victor. He married a Miss CATOR.
Charles, Frank, Henry, Martha, Louise, Mary, James, Curtis,
( XVII ) Curtis, son of David
CARPENTER, was born in Allegany county in 1828 and came with
the family to Victor, Ontario county, in 1839. He had a common school education and learned the trade of
decorator and painter. In
religion he was a member of the Society of Friends.
He was active in town affairs, an influential republican in
politics and for two terms filled the office of collector of taxes
of Victor. He married
Minerva PAYNE, born at Farmington, December 28, 1832, and now
( 1911 ) living at Farmington, daughter of Calvin
PAYNE. Mr. CARPENTER died
May 6, 1894. Child, Frank
( XVIII ) Frank H., son of Curtis
CARPENTER, was born at East Victor, September 6, 1852, and
was educated in the public schools of Victor.
At the age of 14, he began to work for his father in the
decorating and contracting business and has continued in that
business to the present time at Victor with notable success.
In politics he is a Republican, in religion a Methodist.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 45 - 46
CARSON, Dr. Matthew R., Canandaigua, was born in Seneca, Ontario county, May 25, 1836, a son of Robert, a manufacturer of agricultural implements of Scottsville. The grandfather of subject was of French descent, and emigrated to this country about 1791 at the age of 18 years. The family settled in this country, where their descendants have always lived. The early life of Dr. CARSON was spent in Seneca, where he attended the common schools until sixteen years of age. He spent two years at Canandaigua Academy, and then attended a select school at Geneva, finishing his course in Latin and Greek, and at the same time studying medicine with Dr. BEATTIE. He afterwards spent about 5 years in Albany, where he attended the Albany Medical College, and spent one year in the hospital there. He then located in Canandaigua, where he has enjoyed a lucrative practice. He has held all the offices of the Ontario County Medical Society, also of the Society of Physicians of Canandaigua. Dr. CARSON married in 1860 Elizabeth J. OSTROM, of West Charlton, Saratoga county, and they have had 5 children: William O., a banker of Caro, Mich.; Grace Eleanor; Dr. Robert L., assistant superintendent of the Pennsylvania Training School for Feeble-Minded Children at Elwyn, Pa.; Bessie Chapin CARSON, private secretary to Dr. J. C. CARSON, of Syracuse; and Henry O., who lives at home.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 276
CARSON, George, Gorham,
a native of Gorham, was born January 8, 1850.
His father, William A., is a son
of Robert, a native of Ireland, who
came to America when 12 years of age.
He died at the home of his son Robert.
William A. was born in Seneca in 1813, and married Margaret
E. DISBROW, a native of New Jersey, by whom he had three sons
and two daughters. In 1847 he he came to Gorham and purchased the farm now owned
by subject. He died
October, 1888, and his wife a month later.
George CARSON was educated in
Rushville Union Schools. He
is a farmer and has bought and sold wool and produce for eighteen
years. He also
represents Bowks Fertilizer Company of Boston.
December 4, 1873, Mr. CARSON married
born December 3, 1850, in Middlesex, a daughter of Levi
and Harriet FOUNTAIN, of Hamilton county, and she of
Middlesex respectively. Mr.
FOUNTAIN and wife have had two sons and one daughter.
Mr. FOUNTAIN is a farmer and
grape grower and resides in Middlesex.
Mr. FOUNTAIN died in 1877.
Subject and wife have had four children: Nellie
E. (deceased), Theodore R., Emma (deceased),
and G. Alonzo.
Mr. CARSON is a republican and is a member of Stanley
Lodge No. 434 I. O. O. F.
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 296
James S. CARSON, while not a native of this country, has borne his share so bravely in defense of the rights of the Union, that all right-thinking citizens inevitably feel proud of so honorable a record. He is a native of Scotland, and from that land of thrift and wisdom brought many of the admirable traits which characterize her inhabitants. He has also been of service to his country in a number of public offices, and may with truth be considered a model citizen.
James CARSON, father of James S. CARSON, and a son of Samuel CARSON of Scotland, was born in Scotland in 1799, died in this country in 1882. He came to America in 1849 with his family and followed the occupation of farming, which he thoroughly understood. He married in Scotland, Margaret MAC DOWELL and had children: James S., see forward, Margaret, Helen, Jane, Agnes, Isabel.
James S., only son of James and Margaret (MAC DOWELL) CARSON, was born in Wigtonshire, Scotland, August 22, 1837. He came to America with his parents in 1849, landing at New York City, in which, however, they did not intend to make their home. They traveled up the Hudson river on the steamboat "Empire" which was run into and sunk, and Mr. CARSON lost his mother and sisters. The remainder of the family continued the journey to Canandaigua, Ontario county, New York, where they immediately engaged in farming. Mr. CARSON, attended the district schools and then assisted in farm labors until the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, when he enlisted in Co. B., 85th New York Volunteer Infantry, under Captain CLARK. He enlisted in January, 1863, and was advanced to the rank of corporal. April 20, 1864, he was taken prisoner and sent to the Andersonville prison, being confined there until September, when he was removed to Charleston, South Carolina, and from thence to Florence, South Carolina. From this place he made his escape, February 1865, managing to reach a United States gunboat, February 14 and was taken to Hilton Head, and from there transferred to Annapolis, Maryland. He immediately receive a furlough and returned to his home, where a notice was sent him to report at Elmira, New York, at which place he was honorably discharged, June 1, 1865. He then returned to the town of Farmington, New York, where for a time he was engaged in farming. While living in this town he took an active part in the public matters of the community, and served three terms as justice of the peace. In 1872 he removed to Nebraska, returning east at the expiration of three years. He removed to Shortsville, Ontario county, New York in 1902, where he has since that time resided. He has served as street commissioner for the village of Shortsville, and in 1909 was elected justice of the peace, an office he is filling at the present time. He is a member of the Herendeen Post, Grand Army of the Republic, and has been commander of that body 8 years. His religious affiliations are with the Methodist Episcopal church, and he is a steward and trustee of that institution.
Mr. CARSON married July 4, 1866, Mary E., daughter of Charles and Mary (MASON) JEFFREY. Children: C. Edward, born May 5, 1867; Sidney J., November 17, 1870; Henry H., September 8, 1875.
(NOTE: James S. died in 1917; Mary, 1847-1912; C. Edward 5/5/1867-19?? And was husband of (1) Cora WALKER 1867- 1924 and (2) Anna REYNOLDS 1888-1954; Henry H., 1875- 1949 and husband of Helench M. 1881-19?? And their baby born and died in 1902. Robert H. 1914-1933 (buried near Henry & Helench) are all buried in Chapel Cemetery, Farmington, NY.
of Ontario County, NY AND Its People, Pub 1911, Vol. II, pg. 361 -
James Carlton CARSON, who stands in the front rank as a
lecturer upon and specialist in mental diseases, traces his ancestry
Family tradition states that both the CARSON
and RIPPEY ancestors were of French Huguenot origin and
emigrated to Scotland during the persecutions after the Massacre of
St. Bartholomew, or, more probably, after the Revocation of the
Edict of Nantes in 1685.
From Scotland they migrated to the north of Ireland, and it
is a fact that both families were Scotch-Irish.
( I ) Robert CARSON, who was
born in Killeleagh, county Down, Ireland, October, 1769, died in
Seneca, New York, May, 1864.
He emigrated to America in 1789, landing at Wilmington,
He apprenticed himself, as was the custom of the time, to a Mr.
ARMSTRONG, in Cecil county, Maryland, and in 1800 removed to
Seneca, New York, where he purchased a large tract of land on the
west bank of Flint creek, and engaged in agricultural pursuits.
His political principles were Democratic, and he was a member
of the Protestant church.
He married, in 1800, Sarah,
daughter of Mr. ARMSTRONG to whom he
had been apprenticed.
Children: 1. Jane, married Thomas
GILLILAND, of Potter county, Pennsylvania.
Sally, married Horatio
ORTON, of Cuba, New York.
Susan, married William
SIMPSON, of Seneca, New York.
Nancy, married Thomas
W. SIMPSON, of Seneca, New York.
Robert, see forward.
William, married Eliza
FRESHONS, of Gorham, New York. 7.
Martha, married Thomas G. RIPPEY,
of Seneca, New York.
James M., married Margaret
J. GROVE, of Gorham, New York.
Mr. CARSON served for a time in
the militia during the War of 1812.
( II )
Robert ( 2 ), eldest son
and fifth child of Robert ( 1 ) and Sarah
(Armstrong) CARSON, was born in Seneca, Ontario county, New
York, May 23, 1810, and died October 6, 1883.
His occupants were varied, being those of farmer, miller and
He gave his political support to the Democratic party, and
was a member of the Presbyterian church.
He married, January 2, 1834, Rebecca
RIPPEY, who was born September 6, 1808, and died April 5,
1. Matthew RIPPEY, born May 25,
1836; is a physician, practicing in Canandaigua, Ontario county, New
York; married Elizabeth OSTROM, of
Carlton, Saratoga county, New York.
William ORTON, born December 30,
1838, died August 11, 1862.
3. Thomas Augustus, born April
27, 1843, died January 3, 1880; was a physician in Halls, New York:
married Isabell HALL, of Halls, Ontario
county, New York.
4. James CARLTON, see forward.
(RIPPEY) CARSON was the granddaughter of Captain
John RIPPEY, who was born in 1749 and died March 11, 1826.
During the Revolutionary War he was commissioned, April 5,
1778, Captain of the 6th Co., 8th Battalion, Pennsylvania
militia, Colonel Slagle's regiment.
He married, 1776, Mary ORSON.
Matthew, son of
Captain John and Mary (ORSON) RIPPEY, was born in
Pennsylvania, October 23, 1779, and died August 15, 1858.
He removed to Seneca, Ontario county, New York, in 1804.
He married Eleanor GROVE, who
was born January 12, 1783, and died January 9, 1849.
Mary, Margaret, Rebecca, mentioned
above, John, William, Thomas Grove, Susan A.
and Matthew Wilson.
( III )
Dr. James Carlton CARSON, youngest child of
Robert ( 2 ) and Rebecca (RIPPEY)
CARSON, was born in Seneca, Ontario county, New York, January
23, 1847. His
preparatory education was received in the public schools and the
Canandaigua Academy, and he then became a student at the University
of Michigan. Subsequently
he studied at the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York City,
from which he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine.
Prior to taking up his medical studies he had assisted for a
time in the cultivation of the homestead farm.
In 1870 he served as assistant physician in Brigham Hall,
Canandaigua, New York; was second assistant physician in the Willard
State Hospital, 1870-73; first assistant physician in the Willard
State Hospital, 1873-83; superintendent of the New York Institution
for the Deaf and Dumb, 1883-84; superintendent of the Syracuse State
Institution for Feeble-Minded Children, 1884, to the present time
(1911). For the past
twenty years Dr. CARSON has been a
lecturer upon mental diseases, and for the same length of time has
been associate professor of mental diseases in the Medical
Department of the Syracuse University.
He is a staunch republican, but has never aspired to holding
public office. His
fraternal affiliations are with the following organizations:
Alpha Kappa Phi (medical); the Masonic order; Citizens' and
Sedgwick Farm clubs, of Syracuse, New York; Syracuse Chapter, Sons
of the American Revolution.
and his family are members of the St. Paul's Episcopal Church of
CARSON married, at Geneva, New York, April 30, 1874, Jane
M. SMITH, born in Geneva, New York, November 3, 1852,
daughter of Thomas and Susan (CATCHPOLE) SMITH,
the former born in Kent county, England, February, 1819, died in
Geneva, New York, where he is a nurseryman; the latter, born in
Suffolk county, England, September 15, 1817; they had children:
William H., Jane M., (mentioned
above), Eliza, Louise H., Lanford (deceased),
Theodore J., and Susan.
Dr. & Mrs. CARSON have had children: 1. Thomas
Carlton, born July 8, 1877; was graduated from Yale
University in 1901 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts; he is a nurseryman
and a member of the firm of W&T Smith of Geneva, New
York. 2. Robert
Orton, born April 15, 1882, died December 3, 1886.
3. Elizabeth, born June 10,
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 42 - 43
CASE, Noadiah S., Bristol, was born January 25, 1826, in Bristol. His father was Noadiah W., a son of James, of Dighton, Mass., who came to Bristol with his brother, Jonathan J., in 1800. He (James) married Betsey HICKS and had 17 children (in all). James CASE and wife died in Bristol. Noadiah W. was born in Dighton, Mass., in 1794, and came to Bristol with his parents. He married in Hudson, NY, Hannah DAVIS, a native of that town, by whom he had a son and a daughter. When subject was about two years of age his father moved on the farm. He was captain in the State militia, and died in 1838, and his wife October 23, 1857, aged 75 years. Noadiah S. was educated in the common schools. He engaged in farming and has since followed that occupation. July 4, 1842, he married Caroline A. HUTCHENS, a native of Jerusalem, Yates county, and a daughter of John HUTCHENS. They had four children: Adelphia (deceased), John W., Charles E., and Christiana (deceased). Mr. CASE owns 200 acres of land, and follows general farming and hop raising. He is a Republican and attends and supports the Universalist Church of Bristol.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 45
CASE, Mark A., Bristol, was born in Bristol, August 16, 1842. His father was Seymour W., son of Jonathan J., who was born in Bristol and married Caroline J., daughter of George GREGG. Mr. CASE and wife had five sons and a daughter. He owned a farm of 100 acres, was a Democrat in politics and active in his party. He died January 26, 1874, and his widow resides with her son, Horace B. Mark A. was educated in the common schools of Bristol. In 1867 he married Mariette, daughter of Ephraim DUNHAM, and they have two sons: George G., born December 14, 1870; and Seymour W., born May 13, 1875. Mr. CASE has 100 acres which he purchased in 1867, and is a general farmer and hop grower, having ten acres devoted to the latter. Mr. CASE is a Democrat in politics, and was supervisor in 1889-90 and 1891. He was justice of the peace one term, and assessor one term.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 49
CASE, Billings T., Bristol, was born in Bristol, December 9, 1814, a son of Jonathan J. CASE, a son of James CASE, a native of Wales. Jonathan J. CASE was born in Dighton, Mass., in 1773, and married Lucy SIMMONS, by whom he had ten sons and four daughters. He came to Bristol in 1800, and settled 600 acres of land. He was supervisor 16 years and justice many years. He and wife were members of the Baptist Church. He died in 1855, and his wife in 1859. Billings T. CASE is a very successful farmer, and in 1839 he married Christiana HATHAWAY of Bristol, born October 26, 1820, a daughter of Elnathan HATHAWAY. To Billings T. CASE and wife have been born two daughters: Melvina L., who was educated in Canandaigua Seminary, and married Theron P. BUELL in 1862. The second daughter of Mr. CASE was Sophronia, who married John M. PHILLIPS of Bristol. She died in 1886. Mr. CASE was a republican and was assessor 15 years. He was once a Baptist but is now a Universalist. His wife is also a member of the Universalist Church. Mr. CASE was a member of the Sons of Temperance, Good Templars, and a member of Bristol Grange. He died in 1883.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 50
CASE, Billings H., a resident and native of Bristol, was born February 27, 1831. He is a son of Samuel S., a son of Jonathan J. Samuel S. was born in Dighton, Mass., December 5, 1797, and came to Bristol with his parents. He married Betsey BOLTON, a native of Massachusetts, and had three sons and three daughters. His death occurred in Bristol, July 25, 1833, and that of his wife January 27, 1864. Billings H. was educated in the common schools and is a general farmer, owning 230 acres where he resides and 160 in Nebraska. He has made a specialty of raising sheep and horses. In politics Mr. CASE is a Republican. January 1, 1862, he married Nancy N. CASE, a native of Bristol, born October 27, 1835, and a daughter of Isaiah CASE. They have had two daughters, Alice B. and Effie M., who were graduated in Genesee Normal School, and both were teachers. Alice B. married William R. ALLEN of Bristol, and they have three children: Erastus H., Rolland C., and Gordon B. Mr. CASE and family are members of the Congregational church of Bristol.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 53 - 54
CASE, Jerome J., Bristol, son of Isaiah, son of Jonathan J., was born in Bristol, November 27, 1828. Isaiah was born in Dighton, Mass., December 5, 1794, and came with his parents in early life. Later he married Rachel REED, who was born in Hartford, Conn., November 18, 1797, daughter of George and Nancy (BUSHNELL) REED. Isaiah and wife had 6 sons and 4 daughters. He owned a farm in Bristol of 225 acres. They died in the same town, he on the 17th January, 1877, and she July 7, 1882. Jerome J. was educated in the common schools and engaged in the pursuit of farming, purchasing, in 1867, a farm of 103 acres for the sum of $5,300, upon which he has made additional improvements to the amount of $3,000. On March 10, 1853, he married Lucina DUNHAM, born in Saratoga county December 27, 1832. Her parents, Ephraim and Mary (WOOD) DUNHAM, removed from that county to Bristol in the year 1834, and to them were born eleven children. Jerome J. and wife have two sons and one daughter: Horace H., Annis L., and Sidney J. Horace H. was born in Bristol, July 7, 1855. He has devoted considerable time to instrumental music, but his chief occupation is farming, hops being one of his principal crops. On October 7, 1876, he married Julia REARDON, born in Bristol, August 18, 1852, daughter of Dennis and Catharine (GORDON) REARDON, natives of Ireland. Horace H. is a member of the People's party, and has been justice of the peace for four years. He is a member of Eagle Lodge, No. 619, F. and A. M., of Honeoye, and the Farmers' Alliance of Bristol. He has one son and two daughters: Don A., born October 29, 1878; Edna, born January 11, 1887; and Lovisa, born January 6, 1889. Annis L., wife of Wm. McLEMALE, was born November 8, 1861, and resides in Canandaigua. They have one daughter, Grace, born April 14, 1890. Sidney J. was born December 18, 1864, and lives at home, being a farmer and also a violinist. Jerome J. is a member of the People's party. He and his family attend the Universalist Church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 248
CASE, Orestes, Bristol,
was born in Bristol, March 27, 1817, and is a son of Jonathan
J. CASE, mentioned elsewhere in this work.
Orestes CASE received a
common school education and has made farming his occupation. He owns 75 acres, one third of which is in hops.
Mr. CASE was one of the first
hop-growers in the county, having been engaged in that business 35
years. October 7, 1841,
he married Lucretia C. FISHER, of
Bristol, daughter of Nathaniel FISHER.
The children of Mr. CASE and
wife are: Lovice F., Herbert L., Henry O.,
Phoebe L., Frank O. and Oliver.
April 1, 1874, Mrs. CASE died,
and December 25, 1875, he married Mrs. Anna
ROUSE, by whom he has one daughter, Essie
L. Mr. CASE is a
member of the People's Party. He
has been assessor five years in succession, and was once a member of
the Good Templars, also of the Grange at Bristol. He is now a member of the Farmers' Alliance.
He was reared a Baptist, but at present he and family attend
the Universalist church at Bristol, which they assisted in building.
History of Ontario County and its People, pub. 1911, Vol II, pg 111
Edson T. CASE, an extensive dealer in live stock and wool, who has done a great deal to advance the agricultural interests of Ontario county, New York, traces his descent to the early settlers of Connecticut.
(I) Jonathan J. CASE, great-grandfather of Edson T. CASE, lived in Connecticut, at Marrudin. He married Lucy ?_____.
(II) Isaiah, son of Jonathan J. and Lucy CASE, was born in Bristol, Ontario county, New York. He was a farmer and mason by occupation., and was one of the workers on the old aqueduct at Rochester, New York. He married in Bristol, Rachel REED, and had children: Jonathan, Lucy, Jerome, Isaiah, Watson, Nancy, Andrew, Louise and Caroline.
(III) Isaiah (2), son of Isaiah (1) and Rachel (REED) CASE, was born in Bristol, New York, November 10, 1832. He followed the occupation of farming, was a Republican and a member of the Universalist church. He married, 1862, Mary, born in Bristol, daughter of Ira and Nancy (GREGG) TOTMAN, both natives of Ontario county. They had one child.
Edson T., only child of
Isaiah and Mary (TOTMAN) CASE, was born in Bristol, Ontario
county, New York, January 23, 1865.
He was a student at the Union high school, form which he was
graduated and then took a course in the Canandaigua Academy.
At an early age he engaged in farming and dealing in livestock
and wool. Too much cannot
be said of the energy, combined with integrity and a high standard,
which Mr. CASE displayed invariably in
the conduct of his business, and these measures did not fail to
produce the deserved amount of success.
Mr. CASE has accumulated a
comfortable fortune and owns a considerable amount of farm land in the
village and its vicinity. He
has been active in the interests of the Republican party, and has
served as trustee of the village of Canandaigua.
He is a member of the Methodist church, and of the Masonic
fraternity, Ontario County Grange, and is vice-president of the Mens Club of the Methodist Church.
He is also one of the directors of the Mc Kechnie Bank of
Mr. CASE married, at Canandaigua, January 28, 1885, Cora L., born in Richmond, New York, October 6, 1866, only child of Marion P. and Celestia M. (CASE) WORTHY, the former a merchant and miller, who has served as supervisor of the town of Canandaigua, and as a soldier in the Union army during the Civil War. Children: Marion I., born November 30, 1885, married Elsie MC KECHNIE, and has three children: George, Marion Shirley and Albert W.; Bertha M., (born) August 30, 1887; Clarence W., April 20, 1891; Edson E., July 26, 1899.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 277
CASKEY, Willard Doolittle,
Canadice, was born in Richmond, May 12, 1843.
His father, Henry, was born in
Starkey, Yates county, in 1813, and died in 1874.
His father, Joseph, came from New
Jersey. Henry married Margaret
CRATSLEY in 1837. She
was born in 1818, and died in 1885.
They had 7 children, one of whom
died young. The others
were: Alva J., Willard D., John H., Mary
Elizabeth, Catharine A., and Sarah A.
He (Joseph) died in
Canadice in 1874. Willard
D. was educated in the district schools.
He enlisted in 1864 in the 1st N. Y. Mounted
Rifles, and was
on detached service much of the time as sharpshooter under a roving
commission. He was
discharged at the close of the Civil War. In 1868 he married Clara KNOWLES,
who died in 1876, leaving a daughter, Minnie,
born in January, 1869. He
married second, Theodosia, sister of his
first wife (in 1878) and they have one son, Floyd
H., born in 1885. For
three years after marriage he resided in Richmond as a farmer, and
since then lived in Canadice. Since
1879 he has lived on the KNOWLES
KNOWLES grandfather, Seth KNOWLES,
was the first settler in the town of Springwater, and named that town.
He came from Massachusetts.
His son, Daniel, born in 1793,
died in 1824, came with his father and married Sally
Ann SPRING, by whom he had four children: Sally
Ann, Daniel Jr., Phoebe and Henry.
Daniel Jr., was born in 1818 in this town, and married Cynthia,
daughter of Nathan and Matilda (SPENCER) BEERS, of
this town. He had 5
children: Franklin G., a retired farmer
of Michigan; Ezra S., a farmer and
speculator of Michigan; Horace S.
(deceased); Sarah Theodisia, and Clara,
first wife of Mr. CASKEY.
Samuel SPENCER, Mrs. BEER's father,
was an early settler in the town.
Mr. CASKEY is a republican, and he
and his wife are members of the Christian church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 53
CASS, Thomas, Geneva, was born in Corning, Steuben county, June 10, 1854, and came to Geneva with his parents in 1860. He was educated in the public schools and grew up in the nursery business with his father. In 1870 he and his brother, William, embarked in the nursery business, under the firm name of W. & T. Cass. In 1890 they added floriculture to the above, doing a successful business in both lines. William was also born in Corning and came here with the family as above stated. March 9, 1881, he married Mary HORNER, of Brattleboro, Vt., and they have these children: Margaret A., Frederick F., William C., Lewis J., and Thomas H. William CASS, Sr., was born in Ireland in 1820, and married Margaret JORDAN of his native place. They came to the United States, locating first in New York city, afterwards in Corning, and then, as above stated, in Geneva. He died in 1889. His wife still survives him.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 40 - 41
CASSORT, William, Canandaigua, was born on a farm in Canandaigua July 22, 1834. The CASSORT family in this country are of French extraction. The grandfather, James, was a native of New Jersey, where David, the father of the subject, was born February 22, 1789. His boyhood was spent at his birthplace. He was educated in the common schools, and took up the occupation of farming. When he was 18 years of age he came to Ontario county, and four years later bought a farm of fifty acres, where he spent the balance of his days. He afterward added fifty acres to this. He took an active interest in politics, but was never an office seeker. He was a great reader and profound thinker, and always took an interest in church and all charitable work. He married in 1811 Sarah, daughter of Nathan PHELPS of this town, and they had 7 children, 4 of whom are living: James, a farmer of Hopewell; Charles, Frank and William, farmers of Canandaigua. Mrs. (David) CASSORT died August 10, 1834, and David married second to Emily CHAPMAN, a widow, and they had one daughter (Sarah), Mrs. Enos BOOTH, who died in 1890. Mrs. Emily CASSORT died 7 years after marriage in 1855, and he married Lucy SMITH, who died in February, 1861. David CASSORT died April 20, 1861. The whole life of our subject, William, has been spent in this town. He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and followed farming. He made his home with his father until his death, and succeeded to the old homestead. He added to that property 100 acres on the opposite side of the road, making 200 acres, which he still owns, and in 1876 he bought thirteen acres on lot 18, where he has built a beautiful residence, new buildings, etc. Mr. CASSORT has never taken any active interest in public affairs, but has devoted his whole life to the interests of his home and business. His ambition has been to become a successful farmer and an upright citizen. He married March 31, 1864, Addie, daughter of Hon. Jesse COST, a farmer of the town of Hopewell.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 281
Canandaigua, was born on a farm in Canandaigua, May 26, 1820, the
eldest son of David and Sarah (PHELPS) CASSORT.
The early life of James was spent in this town.
He was educated in the academy under Prof. Henry
HOWE, and assisted on his father's farm until 25 years of
age. He then bought a
farm of 100 acres in the west part of Hopewell, where he lived until
1876. In this time he
increased the size of the farm by purchase until it now comprises
166 acres. He still
owns and conducts this place, but considers he has done his share of
the active farming and now makes his home on Washington street in
the village. He married
in 1843 Emily Jane, daughter of Ishmael
GARDNER, a farmer of Canandaigua, and they have had one
daughter, Julia P., who married Dr.
Watson W. ARCHER of Clifton Springs.
She died in August 1869.
Mr. CASSORT has never taken any
active interest in politics, but his ambition has been to become a
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 37 - 38
CASTLE, Seth G., East Bloomfield, a native of Canandaigua, was born December 8, 1820, a son of Dyer CASTLE, whose parents were Lemuel and Marion, natives of Dutchess county. In 1787 Lemuel and wife settled in Canandaigua, and there spent the remainder of their days. Dyer CASTLE was a native of Canandaigua, and married Margaret JONES, by whom he had 3 sons and 6 daughters. The father of Mrs. CASTLE was John JONES, a native of Wales and a sea captain, who early settled in Canandaigua. Mr. CASTLE was a teamster in the War of 1812, and was once overseer of the poor. He died in Canandaigua. Seth G. CASTLE was educated in Canandaigua Academy. February 29, 1844, he married Phoebe J. GILLETT, born April 8, 1822, a daughter of Milton and Phoebe (SALISBURY) GILLETT, the former a native of Massachusetts, and the latter of Vermont. Mr. GILLETT served in the War of 1812. Mr. CASTLE and wife had one child, Margaret, wife of Henry SUTHERLAND of Canandaigua, and they had one child, Cora E., wife of Wayland F. HOPKINS of Canandaigua. To them have been born two children, Margareta and Melford. Mr. CASTLE until 1849 resided in Canandaigua. He then came to East Bloomfield and purchased 85 acres of land, on which he has made many improvements. In politics he is a republican, but has always declined office. He and family attend and support the Universalist church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 276
Geneva, son of George and Martha CATCHPOLE,
was born October 27, 1833, in England. His parents came to America when he was young, and he
received a common school education.
When a mere boy he worked in his father's machine shop and
learned the machinist's trade. At
the age of 16, he entered the lumber yard of P.
H. FIELDS, where he remained, also with their successors,
Conger and MacKay, and was foreman of the yard for 21 years.
He did much towards building up their business.
In 1870 he was employed by T. Smith & Co., and was their
superintendent three years. He
has been a member of the firm since 1867.
He married Lucy A., daughter of
L. BODLE, and they have three children: Lizzie
S., Edward A. and Llewellyn G. The
sons are now partners with their father.
Mr. CATCHPOLE was connected with
the Geneva Fire Department 39 years, retiring in 1889.
The family are members of St. Peter's Episcopal church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 281-282
Geneva, was born in England in 1804, and learned the cabinet-maker's
trade. In 1834 he came
to America and located at Geneva, where he worked at carpentry.
He was a skilled workman and was employed on special work.
He built the columns in the old Presbyterian church, and was
the inventor of a clover seed sheller and separator, which is still
in use, and he made improvements in grain threshers.
In 1842 he received a silver medal from the American
Institute for a corn stalk cutter which had a large sale and is
still in use. He was
the inventor of many other machines, and died January 2, 1889.
His wife was Mary A. HINKELTON,
and they had six children, four of whom are now living.
Alfred, son of George
and Martha CATCHPOLE, was born in England in 1829, and when
five years old his parents came to America and settled in Geneva.
He learned the machinist's trade and went to Waterloo and
worked in a machine shop and assisted in the invention of stove
machinery. He next went
to Syracuse and helped put the machinery in a large stove mill, then
went to Susquehanna and was employed in the railroad shops there for
several years. In 1860
he returned to Geneva and established a small machine shop, which he
carried on for a time. In
1864 he entered the Navy as engineer and was there until the close
of the (Civil) war.
participated in several engagements.
Returning to Geneva he commenced the manufacture of boilers
and other machinery, and in 1884 invented the celebrated Florida
boiler, and his inventions and improvements have thoroughly
revolutionized the system of steam heating.
In 1887 a stock company was formed with Pierce, Butler &
Pierce Manufacturing Company, and Mr.
CATCHPOLE as manager, which position he filled for five
years. His inventions
led to the establishment of one of the largest manufactories in
Geneva. He has several
new inventions, which will soon be on the market.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 238
James CAVANAUGH, the founder of the family at present under consideration, was born in
Dublin, Ireland, and was killed in a railroad accident at Phelps
Junction, Ontario county, New York, February 15, 1888.
At first he was destined for the Roman Catholic priesthood
and he began his studies with that end in view.
Finding, however, that he had no vocation, he ceased his
studies and took a position as bookkeeper and overseer to a large
estate. Later, he
emigrated to America and settled in Auburn, Cayuga county, New York,
where he worked for 43 years for the New York Central
railroads. He finally
settled in Phelps, Ontario county, New York, where he was for many
years a devout communicant of St. Francis church.
He married Rose BURNS, who
was born in Ireland, and died in Phelps, New York, May 28, 1889. Children: 1.
Margaret, married F. H. SPRAY.
2. Mary, married Edward
BENHAM of Clifton Springs.
3. John, living in Boston,
Massachusetts. 4. Thomas,
deceased. 5. Elizabeth,
married Charles O'CONNOR.
6. James Francis, referred to
below. Four children
died in infancy.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 503 - 505
CHAMBERLAIN, Frank O.,
The subject of this sketch was born in the town of Cohocton, Steuben
county, NY, on the 2d of April, 1830.
His boyhood was passed in attendance at the district schools
and labor on his father's farm.
Leaving home at the age of 15 years he went to Rushville,
where he continued farm work for a time and then learned the milling
business. For a few
years afterward he managed the Rushville mill and then associated
himself with Lyman LOOMIS in the livery
business. Early in life
he took an interest in politics and in 1852 was appointed postmaster
of Rushville, which office he held 8 years.
In 1860 he took the management of the Rushville hotel, where
he was engaged at the breaking out of the Civil
Believing that the government had a valid claim upon the
services of every citizen, he enlisted in September 1861, in the 8th
New York Cavalry, but after one year of active service in the field
he was forced to resign on account of ill health.
During his term of service he participated in the celebrated
retreat of General BANKS, acting at
that time as quartermaster, with the rank of major, which gives him
his familiar title.
Returning to Rushville he conducted a farm and
livery for about four years. In
1865 he removed to Canandaigua where he took the management of the
Webster House, the leading hotel of the village.
This house he successfully conducted ten years, making it one
of the popular hotels of Western New York and largely extending his
proprietor of the hotel he purchased the farm of 153 acres, on the
west shore of Canandaigua Lake, which is his present residence, and
in 1873 removed his family thereto, but conducting the hotel two
years longer. This farm
is most beautifully situated and the extensive improvements made by Mr.
CHAMBERLAIN in its buildings and otherwise make it one of the
finest country residences on the lake.
participation in politics after his removal to Canandaigua soon
brought him into public notice.
His ardent support of republican principles and his standing
in the community as a man of affairs and high character, gave him
the confidence of his fellow citizens who honored him with repeated
positions of responsibility. In
1869 he was elected supervisor of the town, and for four years he
was watchful in that body for the promotion of the welfare of the
for a term he served as under sheriff, and was chairman of the
republican County Committee during the presidential administration
of R. B. HAYES.
In 1876 he was appointed by the president as postmaster of
Canandaigua and held the office two terms.
In 1890 Mr. CHAMBERLAIN
was nominated for the lower house of the State Legislature, against
a very popular Democrat who had held the office one term; but Mr.
CHAMBERLAIN won the election by a majority of 230 votes.
At the expiration of his term in 1891 he was re-elected by a
largely increased majority of 835.
In the Assembly he was a member of the committees on
railroads and on public education, in which position he gained the
respect of his colleagues and the approbation of his constituents.
Outside of his political career Mr.
CHAMBERLAIN has long occupied a position among the foremost
of the advanced agriculturists of the western part of the State.
This fact has led to his selection for important offices and
duties in connection with the County and State Agricultural
Societies. He was for three years the president and several years
treasurer of the Ontario County Agricultural Society, and a trustee
a number of years of the State Agricultural Society, resigning the
office recently on account of ill health.
He was a conspicuous member of the committee for the
permanent location of the State fair grounds in 1889, and during the
four years ending with 1892 was treasurer of that society.
When the Canandaigua Street Railway Company was organized he
was elected its president, and resigned this office also in 1892,
with the several other positions which the condition of his health
prompted him to abandon. Mr.
CHAMBERLAIN is a prominent member of the Masonic Fraternity,
and with his family is an attendant of the Congregational church. In all of these relations of life, public and private, he has
made a record which reflects ability, integrity and honor.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 48
CHAPIN, Erastus A., West Bloomfield, was born June 18, 1844. His father, Rev. Asa CHAPIN, was a minister of the Christian denomination, and without salary. He was a native of Gilsum, NH, and first settled in Steuben county about 1823. About 1825 he came to West Bloomfield, and married a year later Cornelia SIMONS, born in 1804. Her father, Jeremiah, came here from Lynn about 1800, and died in 1805. Mr. CHAPIN died about two years ago, and his wife survives him, aged 88 years. They had 5 children: Erastus A., was educated in the common schools and Lima Seminary. In September, 1864, he enlisted in Company C, 1st N. Y. Light Artillery, known as Reynold's Battery, and was discharged from service in June, 1865, on the day he came of age. He is assessor and overseer of the poor, and is a republican. He married in 1872 Frances C., daughter of Newell D. GERRY, who in early life came to Livingston county from Vermont. They have two daughters: Lottie May and Cornelia Belle.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 215 - 216
CHAPIN, George V., Hopewell, was born in Canandaigua. Early in life, deprived by death of his father's counsel and assistance, the son through his own exertion and application, supported and educated himself, completing his studies in the Canandaigua Academy. He taught in district schools during the winter season for several years, employing the remainder of his time in attending school, and the summer vacation in farm work. He has charge of the public schools in the villages of East Bloomfield, Clifton Springs and Canandaigua, for a number of years, when, his health failing, he left school work, and for two years was engaged in the real estate and insurance business in Cleveland, Oh., and in a railroad enterprise in West Virginia. His first appearance in politics was his election, upon the Democratic ticket to the office of justice of the peace, which position he filled with so much ability that he had but one appeal taken from his decisions, and in that he was sustained by the higher court. In 1874 he returned to Ontario county, and the next year was elected school commissioner in the eastern district of that county, to which position he was twice re-elected. In 1877, though already holding a State certificate, he submitted to an examination and received the first State certificate granted to a school commissioner upon this plan, and for three years was the only commissioner in the State holding such a document. Mr. CHAPIN has been an active member of educational associations, and read papers upon important questions, particularly before the State Association of School Commissioners and City Superintendents, among which was one advocating a plan for grading of public schools, another upon commissioners' qualifications, and in behalf of that body, he presented to the Legislature of 1880, a bill requiring certain qualifications for persons to be eligible to the office of school commissioner. He was for two years vice-president, and in 1881 president of the same association. In 1870, upon his motion, and largely through his efforts, the Ontario County Teachers' Association was formed, and with the exception of his two years' absence from the county, he has been one of its ablest supporters. Mr. CHAPIN retains his place of residence at the old Capt. CHAPIN homestead in Chapinville. He has been in the general management of the North American Dredging and Improvement Co., of New York city, closing his active relations with them in 1890, and is at present associated with B. C. HOWELL in pumping out the water of Lake Angeline, Michigan. The father of George V., was Henry CHAPIN, who was one of the leading merchants in Canandaigua and died in San Francisco, September 30, 1850. He was a son of Urial, a native of Connecticut who came to Seneca Falls, where he died. His wife was a Miss PRATT, by whom he had four children: Ralph, Cornelia, and Laura. Ralph was cashier in the Utica Branch Bank in Canandaigua, and afterwards was county treasurer of Ontario county for nine years. Henry CHAPIN came to Canandaigua and married Cynthia M. CHAPIN, a native of Chapinville, NY, and daughter of Henry CHAPIN, son of General Israel CHAPIN, aid-de-camp to Gen. WASHINGTON, and the first Indian agent in Western New York. Israel CHAPIN came from Hatfield, Mass., to Canandaigua. His wife was a Miss MARSH, by whom he had the following children: Thaddeus, Israel, Henry, George, Betsey, Annie, Lois and Sallie. Israel CHAPIN Jr., was captain in the State militia. The children of Henry CHAPIN and wife were: James H., who resides on the homestead of Capt. Israel CHAPIN Jr., in Chapinville, NY; Ralph P., a builder and contractor in Jackson, Mich.; William H., deceased; and George V. resides the most of his time with his brother, Edward, who is a physician in Brooklyn, NY.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 230 - 231
CHAPIN, Robert Simons,
West Bloomfield, son of Rev. Asa CHAPIN,
was born in 1830, was educated in the district schools, and worked on
his father's farm. In
1862 he bought a farm adjoining the homestead of sixty acres, which he
sold to his brother in 1872, then buying 105 acres where he now
resides, also adjoining the homestead.
In 1872 he married Elizabeth A.,
daughter of Rev. David MILLARD, a former
pastor of the Christian Church in the village, who traveled
extensively in the East and published a book, "Millard's Arabia,
Petria and the Holy Land." Mrs.
CHAPIN died August 7, 1886, and he married second in 1887 Sarah
KYLE, of this town, born in 1861, and they have had three
children: Robert A., Reynold S., and Elizabeth
Ann. Mr. CHAPIN is
a staunch republican. August
10, 1888, he raised the first campaign pole in the county, 110 feet,
to a crowd of 1,500 people, the largest political gathering in the
town in 50 years, and also assisted in raising 15 other poles the same
season, singing 86 times in public during the campaign.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 231 - 232
Charles, Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, March 11, 1817, a son
of George, who was a son of Israel.
George was a native of Connecticut, and when young came
to Canandaigua. He
received a college education and was heir to a large amount of real
estate in Ontario and Young counties.
He married Dollie CATLIN, a native
of Connecticut, by whom he had four sons and three daughters.
He and his wife both died in Hopewell.
Charles CHAPIN married Hannah
LINCOLN, a native of Hopewell, born in 1813.
Her father, was Artemas LINCOLN,
who came with his parents, Otis and Hannah
LINCOLN from Massachusetts, and settled in New York.
Artemas married Sarah
HUNT, a native of Wyoming, Pa., by whom he had two sons and two
Eliza, wife of George
MOSS of Canandaigua, and Florence,
wife of Byron CHILDS of Hopewell.
Mr. CHAPIN also had an
adopted son, Charles, who died in the
late (Civil) war. Mr. CHAPIN lives on the farm of
80 acres which he now owns, and which is part of the LINCOLN
homestead. He is a
Democrat, and has been assessor a number of years.
Mr. CHAPIN is a member of the
Presbyterian church at Canandaigua, and the family attend and support
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 277 - 278
CHAPIN, Harry G., East
Bloomfield, was born where he now resides July 18, 1849, a son of Oliver
C. and Frances W. (SMITH) CHAPIN.
The grandfather, Heman, son of Charles,
came from Salisbury, Conn., to Bloomfield in 1796, and settled north
of the village, where he owned and improved 400 acres.
His brother Oliver came in 1790
and located where the subject now resides.
Heman was assemblyman one term.
He married Electa HUMPHREY, and
had three sons and five daughters.
Oliver C. was born in 1811 (April
26) in Bloomfield, and died April 3, 1881.
He was the owner of an orchard of 135 acres, and has taken from
it as high as 10,000 barrels, and his father was the originator of the
Northern Spy apple and the Early Joe.
He had four children: Frank S., Harry G.,
Julia E., and Charles. Harry
G. was educated in the district schools in early youth, and
graduated at Yale College, class of ' 72.
He has been serving his second term as justice, and his first
as supervisor, being a republican in politics.
He married Adaline, daughter of Joseph
W. and Nancy (LOOMIS) HOPSON.
His father was one of the organizers of Bloomfield Academy.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893. pg 280 - 281
Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, January 21, 1803, a son of Thaddeus,
a native of Worcester, Mass., where he was born September 6, 1761.
He was a son of General Israel CHAPIN,
the first Indian agent appointed by General WASHINGTON
for the Six Nations. He
was a general in the War of the Revolution.
He was the father of four sons and three daughters.
About the time of the Phelps and Gorham purchase General CHAPIN
and his four sons: Thaddeus, Israel, Henry,
and George, came to this town and took up land.
Thaddeus, father of our subject,
held a patent for 600 acres where the village of Canandaigua west of
Main street is now built. In
1821 he erected the large dwelling which has ever been the homestead
of this family. Mr.
CHAPIN remembers the Indian chief, RED
JACKET, and he and FARMER'S Brother,
the white man's friend, often visited his father's house.
Thaddeus Chapins street, where stands the residence of our
subject, was laid out by Thaddeus CHAPIN
about 1815 on his own property, and named in his honor at the
incorporation of the village. Thaddeus
CHAPIN, Sr., had seven children, of whom two are now living: Eliza
CHAPIN, of this village, and Thaddeus,
our subject. The latter
was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and in 1830 he was elected
trustee of the academy, and at the death of Judge PHELPS
was elected president, which position he has held until 1891, when
he resigned. Mr.
CHAPIN has never taken any active interest in politics, but
in early life was a supporter of the Federalist party and of late
years has been a Democrat. He
married in 1832 Rebecca, daughter of James
D. BEMIS, one of the early settlers of this town, and they
had six children, three of whom are living: Anna
M., widow of Capt. T. E. MUNSON,
who fought in the Rebellion and died in 1884;
Laura B., wife of Frank G. CLARK,
a merchant of Oxford, Chenango county; and George
B., a bookkeeper of Canandaigua.
There is but one grandchild of this family, Walter
C. MUNSON, now in his 17th year, a student of Canandaigua
and Mrs. CHAPIN celebrated their golden wedding in 1882, and Mrs.
CHAPIN died December 27, 1888.
of Ontario Co., NY,
Pub. 1911, Vol. 2, pg 352-353
settled in Roxbury, 1638 and is suppose to have come from Dartmouth,
England. In 1642 he
removed to Springfield, Massachusetts, where he became a leader in
the community and died in 1675.
An imposing statue of him by St. Gaudens, entitled The
Puritan adorns one of the public parks in Springfield.
It is thought the he may have been of Huguenot ancestry, and
his wife's name is recorded as Cicely (Cecile?).
son of Deacon Samuel and Cicely CHAPIN
was baptized in Roxbury, October 15, 1642, and died February 12,
11712. He followed in
his fathers footsteps as deacon, and a leader in the community,
and was also active in the military encounters of the time.
He married (first) July 22, 1664, Abilenah,
daughter of Samuel and Ann (PRUDEN) COLEY,
of Milford, Connecticut; (second) on May 31, 1711 to Dorothy
ROOT of Enfield.
of Japhet CHAPIN was born July 4,
1665 and died October 19, 1729.
He married on December 24, 1690 to Hannah,
daughter of Isaac and Mary (WOODFORD)
SHELDON, of Northampton. He was wounded during the French and Indian wars.
of Samuel 2nd and Hannah
(SHELDON) CHAPIN, was born May 22, 1699 and died in Ludlow,
1779. He married 1722-23 to Anna,
daughter of Jeremiah and Mary HORTON.
a son of Samuel 3rd and Anna
(HORTON) CHAPIN. He
served as lieutenant and captain in the Revolutionary
War, and when
the birth of a daughter was announced to him in camp, La
Fayette asked the privilege of sending the name of Orpha.
He married (published) May 6, 1769, Caroline
FOWLER of Springfield
of Captain Jeremiah and Caroline (FOWLER)
CHAPIN was born September 25, 1776.
She married Jonathan HART.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 285
CHAPMAN, Charles G., Gorham, was born in Windsor, Mass., June 20, 1820. His father was Ezra, son of Ezra, who lived and died in Massachusetts. Ezra, Jr., was born in Massachusetts and reared on a farm. He married Bessie TAFT, and had ten children. Mr. CHAPMAN died in Massachusetts in 1804. Charles G. was educated in the common schools, and married Selinda PIERCE, by whom he had three sons and one daughter: George W., who married Miss DINISTER and had one child; Edward at home; and Frank P. in Rochester. In 1860 Mr. CHAPMAN came to Gorham and bought a farm of 144 acres to which he afterwards added 25 acres. He is a republican and has been highway commissioner, and is a member of the Congregational church at Rushville.
of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 126
repent the diligence of their youth nor applaud their own idleness;
but the pleasure of retrospection is the memory of time well spent. It is not that J. E.
CHASE was born in Montgomery county, New York, but a
natural desire to learn how by inherent energy a man destitute of
property has finally reached a competence, and what striking points
mark a new departure destined to result in ultimate success.
The loss of a parent has generally a double significance, a
deprivation of valuable companionship and the cessation of support.
It was in this sense that Mrs. CHASE, mother of
J. E., was
left in 1818 with three small children, and dependent upon human
sympathy. Years went by
and many a privation was experience, and powerfully were the lessons
of diligence and self-denial impressed upon the character.
In the year 1839, J. E. CHASE
was united in marriage to Miss Julia
LAKE, of Essex county, New York.
Two years later he removed to Hopewell, Ontario County, and
in 1843 became a resident of Canandaigua.
A comparison of the past with the present exhibits a contrast
between a young man, just married, arriving in this county with but
three-quarters of a dollar with which to begin the battle of life,
and the present owner of a fine farm of two hundred acres of good
land free from encumbrance. Three qualities have been potent to secure this happy result,
industry, sobriety, and religion.
The early settler in Ontario, while his deprivations were
greater, had his land at nominal rates; but he who could become the
owner of a farm of 200 acres, beginning with an empty pocket
and only a hopeful mind as late as 1843, had full occasion to
illustrated that industry which, connected with abstinence from an
unhealthy and destructive stimulus, will almost invariably result in
CHASE embraced religion in early life, and has found its
consolations a great comfort under severe trials, through which his
life has passed. He can
confidently recommend a search for this wisdom, as "above
rubies", and not to be compared in value with aught temporal
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 37
CHASE, Roscoe G.,
Geneva, was born in the town of Buckfield, Oxford county, Me.,
November 3, 1837, and was the second child and eldest son of Thomas
and Esther CHASE.
His early life was spent on his father's farm, but in
November, 1862, he enlisted as private in a regiment of Maine
infantry and served about 7 months.
He then went to California, where he taught school, but after
some time returned home, and engaged in farming and growing and
dealing in nursery stock. The latter employment occasioned frequent visits to the
famous nursery regions of Ontario county, and induced him in 1872 to
move to this locality. He
began active business with about 75 acres of nursery land,
but has increased his productions to 150 acres at the present time.
Mr. CHASE is regarded as one of
the progressive, successful business men of the county, and one
interested in public as well as private enterprises.
During the summer of 1892 he caused to be drilled a mineral
well, whose valuable water is free to all who desire it for drinking
CHASE is also interested in various other business
enterprises, all of which are beneficial to Geneva village and the
locality. In 1864 Mr.
CHASE was married to Eliza E. GERRISH, by
whom he has had two children, only one of whom is living.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 38
CHEW, Alexander L., Geneva, was born at New Orleans, October 4, 1824, the seventh child of Beverly and Maria Theodora CHEW. In 1840 he entered Hobart College to take the preparatory course, and in 1841 entered on the full course, leaving college in 1843 and returning home, where he did business until 1848. In 1849 he came here and entered into the hardware business with Phineas PROUTY, which continued 13 years. He then sold his interest in the concern and kept a private bank for two or three years. In 1864, in company with Mr. PROUTY and Corydon WHEAT, he bought the entire interest of the First National Bank and became its president, with Thomas RAINES as cashier. The capital was then $50,000, but has now increased to $100,000, with a surplus of about $50,000. In 1849 Mr. CHEW married Sarah A. PROUTY, and they have seven children: four sons and three daughters.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 284
Elijah A., Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, September 24,
1816, a son of Enos, who was a son of Lebbeus,
a native of Conway, Mass., who came to Seneca in 1812.
His wife was Sarah CHILDS, and
they had three sons and five daughters.
Enos CHILDS was born in Conway,
Mass., in 1789, and when a young man came to Seneca.
He (Enos) married Dimmis
ALLIS of Hopewell. Her
father died when she was very young, and she was reared by her
grandfather, Lucius ALLIS, a prominent
man of his time, and once a member of the Legislature.
Mr. CHILDS had three sons
and two daughters. He
was a successful business man and a prominent farmer, owning 250
acres. He was a
poor-master and school commissioner a number of years.
Subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy and has always
been a farmer, early taking charge of his father's business.
In 1845 he married Mary A. POLLOCK,
a native of Arcadia, Wayne county, born November 26, 1824.
Her father, James POLLOCK, was a
native of Scotland, and came to Wayne in 1816.
His wife, Mary RIGGS, was a
native of New Jersey. Subject
has three daughters: Dimmis A., wife of
Lyman E. R. ROCKWELL, M. D., of Amemo; Sarah
L., wife of Charles POST, of
Seneca, she died November 28, 1892; and Mary
E., who resides at home.
Mr. CHILDS is a Republican and
has been assessor nine years in succession, also poor-master. He is a member of Stanley Grange.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 117 - 119
There are several distinct families of this name in
America, the descendants of different immigrants, and the original
form of spelling was CHILD.
The Ontario county family, a brief outline of whose early
history is about to be recorded, belongs to what is known as the
Barnstable branch, the posterity of Richard
CHILD, of Barnstable, Massachusetts.
( I ) Richard CHILD, born in
1624, resided in Barnstable, and married, October 15, 1649, Mary
LINNETT, of that town. He
was either a son or brother of Samuel CHILD,
who arrived in the Plymouth colony at an early date.
( II ) Richard ( 2 ) a son of Richard
and Mary (LINNETT) CHILD, was born in Barnstable, in March,
1653; died January 15, 1716. He is a mentioned in the records as an honored deacon of the
Congregational church. About
the years 1678 he married Elizabeth CROCKER,
born October 7, 1660, daughter of John
Samuel, mentioned below; Elizabeth
(died young); Thomas; Hannah; Timothy; Ebenezer; Elizabeth; James;
Mercy; Joseph, and Thankful.
( III ) Deacon Samuel CHILDS (as
he spelled the name), eldest child of Richard
and Elizabeth (CROCKER) CHILD, was born in Barnstable,
Massachusetts, November 6, 1679; died in Deerfield, Massachusetts,
March 18, 1756. He was
a blacksmith and early in life settled in Deerfield, where his
services in that capacity were highly appreciated.
As a deacon of the Congregational church and a man of
character and influence, he was much esteemed by his fellow
townsmen. He was
married (first), July 7, 1709, to Hannah
BARNARD, who died May 16, 1727; married (second), about two
years later, Experience _______, who
died May 27, 1744; married (third), June 25, 1750,
Sarah "Philip" (MATTOON) FIELD, widow of Zachariah
FIELD, of Northfield, Massachusetts.
She died March 21, 1752.
Hannah; Samuel; Asa, mentioned
below; Davis and Jonathan (twins); Ebenezer;
Elizabeth (died young); another Elizabeth and Experience.
( IV ) Asa, son of Deacon
Samuel and Hannah (BARNARD) CHILDS, was born in Deerfield,
January 3, 1715; married Rhode WRIGHT,
October 3, 1736; children:
Charity; Asa; Libbeus,
mentioned below; Samuel, and Rhode.
( V ) Libbeus, second son of Asa
and Rhode (WRIGHT) CHILDS, was born in Deerfield, October 3,
1740; married Sarah WALKER, October 4,
1767, and subsequently removed to Conway, Massachusetts.
David and Enos, born in
Deerfield; Oliver, born in Conway,
( VI ) Oliver, youngest son of Libbeus
and Sarah (WALKER) CHILDS, was born in Conway, July 27, 1783.
He settled in Seneca, New York, where he married for his
first wife, Electa, daughter of Oliver
WHITMORE, of that town; she died without issue, August 2,
1816. He married
(second) Nancy, daughter of Selah
and Huldah HART, of Seneca; she died April 30, 1831. He married (third) Betsey, daughter
of John GILBERT, of Seneca.
Children by second marriage:
below; Electa Emeline; Theron Hart; Augustus
Walstein; Edmund; Emeline; Joseph and Gilbert.
Children by his third marriage:
Bradley Alonzo; Nancy Augusta, and
Oliver Porter CHILDS.
( VII ) Benjamin, son of Oliver
and Nancy (HART) CHILDS, was born in Seneca, April 8, 1819;
died in that town, January 27, 1878.
He was a prosperous farmer, owning one hundred and seven
acres of land containing an almost inexhaustible supply of excellent
clay, suitable for the production of tile and brick, and he engaged
in the manufacture of tile, establishing an industry which proved
exceedingly beneficial to the town.
This business is now carried on by his son.
Although the tile plant demanded his close attention during a
greater part of the year, he still retained his interest in farming,
and was quite an extensive dealer in live stock.
He married, May 29, 1843, Laura,
daughter of Homer and Electa (HOTCHKISS)
SHERWOOD, of Fairfield, Vermont.
Children, all born in Phelps:
1. Homer Sherwood, born May 27,
1845; is now secretary and chief inspector of a large lumber company
in Minneapolis, Minnesota. 2.
Albert Sherwood, see forward.
3. Hattie Electa, born September
( VIII ) Albert Sherwood, second
son of Benjamin and Laura (SHERWOOD) CHILDS,
was born in Phelps, New York, September 18, 1852.
His education was concluded at Canandaigua Academy under the
direction of Professor CLARK, and he
acquired a knowledge of farming at the homestead.
He was not destined, however, to devote his energies
exclusively to tilling the soil, as, at his father's death, in 1878,
he was called upon to assume the management of the tile plant, and
accepting the responsibility he proceeded to enlarge the business,
thereby increasing its importance as a local industry.
By adopting the latest improved machinery and appliances he
now has one of the best-equipped tile plants in the state, capable
of producing twenty thousand tiles per day, and his annual output
averages upward of seven hundred thousand.
In addition to a sixty horse power engine and a seventy-five
horse power boiler, he uses tile machines built expressly for him in
Ohio, and his mills, crimpers, automatic cutting tables and other
accessories are all of the very latest design.
He also used the "Down Draft Inside Flue Kilns,"
and his dry sheds, which are 250 feet long by 24 feet wide, are amply protected by tin roofing, as are
also the other buildings on the premises.
Although making a specialty of tile he has excellent
facilities for manufacturing brick and other clay products, and as
his wares have attained a high reputation both for durability and
finish, his business is increasing.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 282
Colin D., Canandaigua, was born in Nova Scotia, August 5,
1842, and came to Ontario county in 1868, locating first at Victor,
where he followed mining for plaster stone for a year.
He then came to Canandaigua, where he has ever since been a
contractor for building and repairing sidewalk, putting in sewers
and drain pipes, etc. In
1890 Mr. CHISHOLM was elected street
superintendent, and re-elected in 1891.
He usually employs from eighteen to twenty men.
Though a republican Mr. CHISHOLM
has never been an aspirant for political office, save the one he
holds, and which he fills in an experienced and able manner.
The substantial stone sidewalks of the village have been
almost entirely laid by Mr. CHISHOLM.
He married in 1872 Nora MAHONEY, of
Victor, by whom he has four children: Frederick
E., Jennie May, Ada Belle and Colin Blaine.
They are members of the Catholic church here.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 35 -36
CHURCH, Walter S., and John B.
John B., Geneva, was born at Angelica, Allegany
county, February 15, 1834. He
was educated in New Haven, Conn., at General W. H. Russsell's
Collegiate Institute. Subsequently
he entered the Sheffield Scientific School, a department of Yale
College. By profession
he is a civil and mining engineer.
He was engaged on the original surveys of the Erie railroad,
now known as the New York, Lake Erie and Western; also on the New
York and New Haven Railroad, and on other enterprises of the day.
He was in charge of iron mines for Messrs. Cooper &
Hewitt and was for many years general manager of the Alliance Coal
Mining Company in Pottsville, Schuylkill county.
He is a member of the American Institute of Mining Engineers.
He has been twice married.
First in 1867 to Julia M. CHESTER,
of Detroit, Mich., who died in 1868, leaving one son, John
B., who died in infancy, January 19, 1891.
He married his present wife, Mary White
MORRIS, of Philadelphia, the financier of the Revolution.
They have had three children, a son and a daughter who died
in infancy, and a surviving son, Philip
In 1884 he retired from the Alliance Coal Mining Company and
made Geneva his home.
CHURCH, Walter S., was born at Angelica, Allegany county, August 31, 1832. Educated at General Russell's and the Hopkins Grammar schools, New Haven, Conn. Entered Yale College class of ' 54, but fell ill and by physician's advice joined the party the Professors Silliman and made the tour of Europe. Regaining his health, entered Dartmouth College, NH, and was graduated there in 1856 with a second brother (Benjamin S.). Choosing the profession of engineering, he began upon railroad surveys in Illinois. Then was engaged upon the hydraulic surveys of Croton Watershed, New York, and upon the reservoirs and distribution in the city. In 1861 he was promoted to the charge of the Old Croton Aqueduct Line and, just before the outbreak of the Civil War, accepted an appointment as engineer to the Peruvian government, whom he served for four years. He projected various water works, bridges and harbor improvements on the coast, and traveled extensively in the interior, part of the time with the distinguished antiquarian, E. George SQUIER, and the eminent naturalist and physicist, Sr. Don Antonio RAIMONDI, examining and measuring the old incarial temples, fortresses and aqueducts about Arequipa, Puno, Cuzo, and Lake Titicaca.
From 1866 to 1869 he was in charge of gold mines, water supplies and irrigation in California. Returning east, he was engaged on the sewerage of Washington, DC, and had ten years' practice in the mining of anthracite coal in Pennsylvania. He was then on municipal work in New York as a topographical engineer in the department of Parks and as special assistant engineer on the New Croton Aqueduct. Then he was appointed secretary and treasurer of the People's Rapid Transit Railroad Company of New York. Since 1891 he has been engaged as general consulting engineer, but has been making a specialty of gold placer mining. He is a member of the American Society of Mining Engineers and of the Engineer's Club of Philadelphia.
The Father of W. S. and John B. John B. CHURCH, Senior, was the son of Judge Philip CHURCH, of Belvidere, the first settler and a large landed proprietor of Allegany county. Jno. B. CHURCH, Senior, entered Hobart College, leaving it in his second year and entering the sophomore class at Yale College, where he was graduated. He then entered the Yale Law School and was admitted to the bar. He married Maria TRUMBULL, eldest daughter of Prof. Benjamin SILLIMAN, Senior, and abandoned the law to devote himself to the management of his landed property in Allegany county. They had nine children, viz: Walter S. and J. B. (above mentioned); Colonel Benjamin S.; Mary Trumbull, who died in 1860; Anna M., wife of Sidney E. MORSE, of New York; Harriet T.; Philip S.; Eugene, who died in 1861; and Alice, widow of Julian R. COFFIN, of Charleston, SC. Colonel Benjamin S. CHURCH is a veteran of the Civil War. For over 25 years he was resident engineer in charge of the Old Croton Aqueduct. He also designed the New Croton Aqueduct and was its chief engineer and constructor. The direct ancestors of this family of CHURCHES embraces some of the most distinguished names in the early history of the country, such as Philip SCHUYLER, Jonathan TRUMBULL, the LIVINGSTONS', VAN RENSSELAERS', VAN CORTLANDTS', etc.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 274
CHURCH, E(lihu) Chapin,
was born in Antwerp, Jefferson county, August 15, 1848.
The boyhood of our subject was spent on the farm at Antwerp,
where he received an education in the seminary.
When he was 19 he went to New Hampshire where he learned the
machinist's trade, when, his father dying, he returned to his home.
He spent two and one half years in New York in the mercantile
business, and in the spring of 1873 came to Canandaigua, where he
engaged in the insurance and real estate business, and is now the
leading insurance man of the town.
He has always been prominently identified with the Republican
party here and was president of the Young Men's Club in 1884-85.
In 1885 he was elected county treasurer by a majority of over
800, and in 1888 was re-elected, his term expiring January 1, 1892.
Mr. CHURCH was president of the
Mosher Hook & Ladder Company from 1876 to 1881, and a director of
the Canandaigua Gaslight Company for the last five years.
He is also president of the Western Improvement Company of
Dubuque, Ia. He married,
November 18, 1875, Mary A., daughter of
Captain George CHALMERS of Oswego, they
have one son and one daughter, E. Raymond and
Julia C. Mr. CHURCH is
a supporter of the Congregational church, of which his family are
members, and he is also a member of Canandaigua Lodge F. & A. M.,
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 282-283
Geneva, was born in Lower Canada, June 24, 1826, and
came with his parents to this country when six years old, where he
was educated in the common schools.
He was a farmer, and was twice married, first in November,
1847, to Electa WOODIN, of Geneva, by
whom he had two children: Henrietta,
who died in infancy, and Warren B., who
married Mary SOULE, of Waterloo, and
has two children, Roscoe A. and Kittie E.
Mrs. CHURCH died in 1853, and Mr.
CHURCH married second, September 24, 1854, Mrs.
Sarah J. CLICE, of Phelps.
She was married first to George CLICE
on February 5, 1848. He
died November 9, 1851. Mr.
CHURCH's father, James, was born
in Connecticut and came to this State in 1839. He married Ruth BLISS, and they
had three children: Eben D., Gillman and James
C. Mrs. CHURCH's
father, Edward McDOWELL, was born in
Orange county, August 10, 1788, and came here with his parents when
13 years old. He
married Margaret COOK, of Phelps, and
they had three children, two sons and a daughter: Francis
C., David and Sarah J. Mrs. CHURCH's grandfather, James
McDOWELL, was a soldier in the Revolutionary
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 69
Captain Philip CHURCH was born April 14, 1778, in Boston; was a lawyer; acted as second to his cousin, Phil HAMILTON, in the latter's fatal duel with ECKERT, on the ground at Weehawken where General (Alexander) HAMILTON, afterwards fell in his duel with Colonel (Aaron) BURR; in 1801 settled in what is now Allegany county; founded the village of Angelica, so named in honor of his mother; county Judge of Allegany county from 1807 to 1821; died at Belvidere, January 10, 1861.
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 173
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 47
CLARK, C. M., Shortsville, was born at Ingleside, Steuben county, March 7, 1850. He received an academic education, after which he followed milling and mercantile transactions for ten years. Then he moved to New Haven, Conn., and engaged in the wholesale commission business. After one year he sold out and returned to New York State, locating at Shortsville in the lumber and planing mill industry. He has served as trustee of the corporation and school, and is now president of the village. Mr. CLARK married Olive COLE of North Cohocton, and they have one son and a daughter.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 51
CLARK, Nelson W., Naples, was born in Naples, September 14, 1811, a son of Warren and Artamecia (POMEROY) CLARK of Berkshire, Mass., who came to Naples with his father, Major Benjamin CLARK in 1791. They built the first saw-mill and grist-mill in Naples, and Warren CLARK bought the first stock of goods ever in the town. Nelson is the only surviving member of his father's family, which consisted of five children. He was educated in the common schools and select schools of Naples, has held several county offices, and has been side judge, deputy sheriff, justice of the peace and U. S. revenue collector and postmaster 8 years and during the War (of 1812). He has practiced law in Ontario, Yates, Livingston, Monroe and Steuben counties. He was Colonel of an artillery regiment, comprising six companies of members from Ontario, Livingston and Steuben counties, and has been a mechanic, merchant, farmer and real estate dealer, the latter in Chicago, Missouri, Iowa and New Jersey. His grandfather Benjamin married his second wife in Naples. Her name was Thankful WATKINS, and the wedding was the first one in the town. Nelson W. lived a bachelor until 60 years old, then married (in 1871) Elizabeth B. TALCOTT of Bergen, NY. He has been one of the most active business men in the county, and is now enjoying his ripe age in overseeing his two grist-mills and one saw-mill, and other interests in Naples and vicinity and in the West. He remembers when there were more Indians than white people in Naples, and the surrounding hills were alive with the wild deer, bears and wolves.
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 402 - 404
LAWRENCE CLARK, who resides in the old colonial mansion in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, on the west shore of Seneca lake, which was owned and occupied by his family for upwards of sixty years, is one of those men who take possession of the public heart and hold it after they have departed, not by flashes of genius or brilliant services, but by kindness and the force of personal character, and by steady and persistent good conduct in all the situations and under all the trials of life. They are in sympathy with all that is useful and good in the community in which they dwell, and the community on its part cheerfully responds by extending to them respectful admiration and sincere affection.
William N. CLARK, father of the subject of this sketch, was born in the city of New York in 1794, and died in Geneva, New York, in 1867. For many hears he was in business as a druggist in his native city, and prominent in various business enterprises. He removed to Geneva in 1836, retiring from active participation in business life at this period, but retained his connection with a number of undertakings in the financial world. At one time he filled the office of president of the Farmers' Bank of Geneva. The interest he took in religious affairs was an earnest and beneficial one, and he served as deacon of the Dutch church for many years, and as elder in the same institution for more than thirty years and until his death. He was held in high esteem by all with who he came in contact, and frequently personally investigated cases which he thought worthy of assistance. In this manner he became acquainted with all classes of society, and his death caused a vacancy which was felt far and wide. He married Mary Theresa SHEIFFELIN born in New York City, 1807, died in Geneva, New York, 1886. She was a most worthy helpmeet to her husband, and was also largely interested in church and charitable matters. Among their children were: Lawrence, see forward; two daughters, who live in Geneva, and a son who resides in New York.
Lawrence, son of William and Mary (SHEIFFELIN) CLARK, was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, 1845. His education, which was an excellent one, was acquired at Walnut Hill School, of his native city, and at Hobart College, from which he was graduated with honor. This has been supplemented by private study in later years and intercourse with men of the highest intelligence and culture. In early manhood he went to New York City, where he entered the wholesale drug house of Sheiffelin & Company, and there his faithful attention to the details of the business and the ability he displayed, enabled him to rise form grade to grade and continue his association with this firm for a period of 20 years. In 1887 he returned to Geneva, where his quiet and retired disposition led him to abandon business activities, and he as since that time led a retired life in the old family mansion. He has very strong ideas on all matters of public importance, but having the courage of his conviction he does not give his undivided support to either Democratic or Republican party, preferring to have his vote, to the man he thinks best fitted for the office he has been nominated to fill. He has never married, and his religious affiliations are with Trinity Church. He is undemonstrative and unassuming in his nature, yet in a quiet but forcible manner he is a power in the society of the community in which he lives. His moral attributes are of so high an order that he has carved out for himself friends, affluence and position. His mind is generally occupied with ideas which are for the betterment of the city of his birth, and his unselfish and honorable nature lead him to further all plans which tend to alleviate the sufferings of his fellow men. His circle of friends is a large one, and the hours which are not spent in social and harmonious intercourse with them, are devoted to wide and diversified reading.
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 483 - 484
Walter A. CLARK,
in the commercial affairs of upper and central New York, is of the
second generation of the CLARK family
to be identified and at the head of manufacturing interests.
Otis G. CLARK
in Vermont in 1816, died in Troy, New York, in 1900.
He was a manufacturer of underwear, and for the last years of
his life was conspicuously connected with the traction line of Troy,
and one of its directors. He
married Amelia S. BARDWELL, born in
Massachusetts, 1820, died in 1895.
A., see forward; Warren G., a
resident of Troy, New York; J. W., a
resident of Easton, Pennsylvania.
son of Otis
G. and Amelia S. (BARDWELL) CLARK, was born in Troy, New
York, 1846, and was educated in the common and high schools of that
city. He established a
business on his own account when he was but 22 years of age,
commencing the manufacture of stoves in Troy, in association with Mr.
PHILIPS, the firm being known as Philips & Clark. This business was carried on successfully until 1885, when Mr.
CLARK removed to Geneva, New York, where the business was
incorporated, and thenceforth carried on as the Philips & Clark
Stove Company, with Mr. CLARK as
president and manager, an office he has now held for many years.
The plant employs an average of 250 men,
the output is a very large one, and the sales are made principally
in the Middle and Eastern states.
Mr. CLARK has always taken an
active interest in the public affairs of his community, has served
as supervisor of the town for a period of two years, and one term as
member of the assembly. He
is a member of Trinity Episcopal Church and of the following clubs:
Kanadasaga, Genesee Valley, Rochester, Union League of New
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 100
Myron H. CLARK,
was born in Naples, October 21, 1806. and was elected Sheriff of
Ontario county on the Whig ticket in 1837.
At close of term, engaged in the hardware business in
Canandaigua. In 1851 and again in 1853 elected State Senator.
Was an active Anti-Slavery or Seward Whig.
In 1854, elected governor of the State on the Whig-Free
Soil-Temperance ticket. Served
as U.S. Collector of Internal Revenue under President
LINCOLN. Died in Canandaigua, August 23, 1892.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 153
Noah T. CLARKE for 29 years principal of the Canandaigua academy, was born in Naples, April 8, 1817; educated in the district schools and at the Franklin and Canandaigua academies; devoted his life to reaching; succeeded Marcius WILSON as principal of Canandaigua academy in 1853 and continued at the head of that institution until 1882; president of the New York State Teachers' Association, 1875; president of the Village of Canandaigua, 1865-66. He died at Canandaigua, September 16, 1898.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 478 - 480
immigrant ancestor, was born in England, and came from London,
England, in the ship "Kent," with certain commissioners
sent out by the proprietors of New Jersey to purchase land from the
Indians and perform other duties. In March, 1678-79, he purchased the share of Hans
OELSON, one of the grantees of Marcus
HOOK, New Jersey, and settled on that place.
He was a Quaker in religion, but he took an active and
prominent part in public affairs.
He was a member of Governor MARKHAM'S
council and also of the proprietors' council.
He was justice of the Upland county and subsequently in
Chester county, Pennsylvania, presiding at the first court held in
Pennsylvania under the proprietary government.
He died in 1689, leaving a widow
married Henry REYNOLDS, November 10,
1678; Honora; William, mentioned below;
Mary, married John
BEALS in 1682.
( II ) William ( 2 ), son of
William ( I ) CLAYTON, was born about 1660, died in
Chichester, Pennsylvania, about 1727.
He married Mrs. Elizabeth
BEZER, a widow. Children:
William, died 1757,
married Mary, daughter of Walter
MARTEN, of Chichester, and had Mary,
William, Lydia, Sarah, Moses, Prudence, Patience and David; Richard;
Rachel, married Thomas HOWELL; Ambrose;
Thomas, Abel, Elizabeth, born July 12, 1685 (not mentioned in
her father's will), married Daniel DAVIS;
Edward, mentioned below.
( III ) Edward, son of William
( 2 ) CLAYTON, was born in Chichester, Pennsylvania, about
1690, died about 1760. He
married, February 25, 1713, Anna,
daughter of James WHITAKER.
He resided at Bradford on the southwest side of the village
of Marshallton, Pennsylvania. The
Friends Meeting House was built on part of his homestead.
John; Elizabeth; Hannah, married
Robert GREEN; William, born 1728, died April 16, 1814,
married Abigail, daughter of Henry
WOODWARD; Sarah, married Isaac SPACHMAN;
Susanna; Joshua, mentioned below.
( IV ) Joshua, son of Edward CLAYTON, was born about 1735 near Williamsport, Pennsylvania. He was educated in the public schools and learned the trade of millwright. He married, May 16, 1753, Martha, daughter of Aaron and Mary BAKER, of West Marlborough, and they came to reside on her father's land. Children: Aaron, born April 2, 1754, married Sarah BAILEY; Mary, married Enoch SPEAKMAN; Joshua, mentioned below; Samuel, married Ann SPEAKMAN; Hannah, married Amos SPEAKMAN; Jacob; Martha; Caleb; Rachel; Susanna and Isaac.
( V ) Joshua ( 2 ), son of Joshua
( I ) CLAYTON, was born at West Marlborough, near
Williamsport, Pennsylvania. He
was educated there in the public schools.
He learned the trade of millwright and erected many saw mills
and grist mills in various parts of Pennsylvania.
He also followed farming.
He married and among his children was William.
( VI ) William ( 3 ), son of Joshua
( 2 ) CLAYTON, was born in Pennsylvania, April 6, 1820.
He was educated in the public schools and followed farming
for an occupation. He came to New Salem, New York, with his parents when he was
18 years old. He
was a member of the Society of Friends at New Salem, and faithful
and consistent to the religion of his ancestors.
He married (first) Esther HOAG; (second)
Ellen KITLEY, of Canada.
He died in 1893. Children
of first wife: Mary
Jane, Ella, Hattie, Susie. Children
of second wife: Libby, Emily, Belle, Albert,
Mattie, Joseph, mentioned below; William,
( VIII ) Joseph, son of William
( 3 ) CLAYTON, was born at New Salem, Ontario county, New
York, May 25, 1853, and was educated there in the public schools and
at a select school of the Friends.
He worked on a farm until he was 20 years old.
He learned the trade of tanner at Proctor, Pennsylvania.
He then returned to Canandaigua and for two years conducted a
dry goods store. In
1897 he came to the town of Phelps, Ontario county, and bought the
Bigelow Planing Mill. After
two years he sold out and removed to Marion, Indiana, where he
engaged in the manufacture of oil cans for the Standard Oil Company.
After two years he sold out and during the following ten
years was in the real estate business at Marion, Indiana.
Having sold his business he went to Oklahoma and for four
years was in the oil business.
Since 1905 he has been in the real estate business in Phelps
and has also engaged in fruit growing.
He is a member of the Friends Church and of the Macabees.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 274
CLEGGETT, Benjamin F.,
Geneva, was born in Dutchess county, July 30, 1828, and came to
Rochester with his parents when but a child.
In 1836 they went to Canada, where Mr.
CLEGGETT was educated. The
family returned to Rochester in 1847.
Mr. CLEGGETT has nearly always
followed the trade of barber, and has been a resident of Geneva 35
years. He enlisted in the
Navy in 1864 and was honorably discharged in 1865, when Charles
J. FOLGER was secretary of the treasury at Washington.
Mr. CLEGGETT was messenger there,
returning home at the death of Mr. FOLGER.
He was married twice, first in Rochester, on September 5, 1849,
Frances NELL, whose brother was assistant
editor of the North Star, under the management of Hon. Frederick
DOUGLASS. They had
11 children, six of whom are living: Benjamin F.
Jr., who resides in Boston; Fannie J.,
who married Stephen F. JASPER of Boston; Mary,
who married William F. KINNEY of Geneva; Ira
(residence not known), and Lucretia, who
married John JONES of Le Roy, NY; Mrs.
CLEGGETT died March 27, 1875.
For his second wife, on November 27, 1877, he married Letitia
A. HALEY of Canandaigua, and they have had two daughters:
Alice L., and Laura B., who died in infancy.
Mr. CLEGGETT's father, David,
was born in Maryland a slave. He
escaped and gained his liberty.
Mrs. CLEGGETT's father, Aldred
HALEY, was born in Martinsburg, Va., a slave.
He too, escaped, but he returned, was recaptured, and again
remanded to slavery for a short time.
He again came to Canandaigua and married Elizabeth
BROOKS, by whom he had 7 children: Emily,
Letitia A., Alice J., Laura A., Charles A., and Helen L. (7th
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 279
CLEMENT, Maynard N.,
Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, Ontario county, October 12, 1856, a
son of Isaac, a farmer of Bristol.
The grandfather, Garrett, came
from Schoharie county among the first settlers. The early life of our subject was spent on the farm where he
worked for seven years by the month.
His first education was in the common schools, and from there
he came to Canandaigua Academy, after leaving which he taught school
for three years. In 1877
he entered the law office of Hon. Edwin HICKS,
of Canandaigua, where he read law until admitted to practice at the
bar in January, 1880. He
first bought a law library and continued an office in Victor until the
fall of the same year, when he removed the library to Canandaigua,
where he has since conducted an office.
In November, 1887, he was elected on the republican ticket to
the office of district attorney, and during his term had three very
important murder cases, all of which were convicted.
First the People vs. John KELLY,
second People vs. Frank LAMONT, and
People vs. Frank FISH.
In the latter case Mr. CLEMENT was
opposed to some of the most able counsel of the county. He was re-elected in 1890 by a majority of about 1,200,
leading his party ticket by about 200.
His second term his most important case has been the People vs.
CAMERON, a Geneva murder trial.
He was chairman of the Republican County Committee in 1885-86,
and has always taken an active interest in the republican party.
Mr. CLEMENT married in 1883
Clara FITCH, of Canandaigua, and they
have five children: Clara Tony, Emory Fitch,
Holden Metcalf, Louise Field, and Mary Florence.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 163 �164
CLINE or KLINE, immigrant ancestor of this family, came from
Holland and settled in what is now Montgomery county, New York, before
the Revolution. He was
living in 1790, according to the first federal census, and Jacob,
John, William Henrick, doubtless his sons, were also heads of
families in Montgomery county at that time.
John CLINE, son of Martus
CLINE or KLINE, was born in 1764 or 1769, died in 1829.
He had a grant from George the
Third, according to one account, of a square mile of land on the north
side of the Mohawk River. He
removed to Victor, Ontario county in 1814.
Among his children was Mark, mentioned below.
Mark, son of John
CLINE, was born at South Amsterdam, New York, June 1, 1802, and
was educated in the district schools.
He came with his parents to Victor, when hew as twelve years
old and followed farming all his active life.
He had a farm of 170 acres at Victor.
In politics he was a Whig, in religion, a Methodist. He married Betsey Ann WELLS,
born Jan 6, 1805 at Mayfield, New York.
Children: 1. Angeline, born
September 7, 1823, married Harvey HOLBROOK
and had six children; she died in 1902.
2. Nancy, August 17, 1825, married
Gilbert T. ALDRIDGE, November 10, 1846
and had 3 children, Albert C., Angeline
and a child that died in infancy.
3. Richard, mentioned below.
4. John, December 29, 1832,
married January 13, 1858, Phebe A. WILKISON,
child, Henry M., married 1st
Jennie BROOKS and 2nd, Helen
JENKINS and he died in June 1906.
I., December 23, 1836, a well to do farmer, owning 123 acres;
married 1st, September 2, 1858, Rhoda
A. NICHOLS, who died Jan 17, 1864 and had Irving,
who died aged 16 years; married 2nd, Mary
MEAD, September 10, 1868 and had one child, William
B., born 1871, now in the employ of the Eastman Kodak Company
of Rochester, New York as advertising manager.
Html by Dianne Thomas
Copyright 2002 - 2016
[NY History and Genealogy]