Co - Cu
Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy. This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.
If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.
Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas. Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 46 - 47
COATES, Irving W., Hopewell, the subject of this sketch, was born in the town of Manchester, Ontario county, November 14, 1836. He is the second son of Captain James T. J. COATES, late of the town of Hopewell, in the same county. His grandfather, James COATES, was a native of New London, Conn. When quite a young man he came to Stephentown, Rensselaer county, and married Miss Penelope NORTHRUP, the daughter of the Rev. Gideon NORTHRUP, an eloquent divine, who at that time resided in the eastern portion of the State. James COATES was one of the pioneers of settlement at what is now known as Varysburg, Wyoming county. He, in common with many others, carved out homes in the dense wilderness and endured all the hardships and dangers incident to such a life. In the War of 1812, which so soon followed the white settlement of Western New York, he was employed as a teamster to transport arms, ammunition and supplies for the use of the army of General Stephen VAN RENSSELAER, then gathering at Lewiston on the Niagara for a descent upon Canada. He would never accept any pay for his services, declaring that it was the duty of every good citizen to uphold the honor of his country in the hour of its need and danger. He had much intercourse with the Indians during the early days of settlement, and knew personally RED JACKET, FARMER's BROTHER, YOUNG KING, SENECA WHITE, and other noted chiefs of the Six Nations, who were frequent guests at his house. In 1817 he exchanged his property at Varysburg for a fine farm near Clifton Springs in the town of Manchester, where he died at the advanced age of 86 years, honored and respected. Capt. James T. J. COATES, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born at Stephentown, Rensselaer county, in 1804, and removed at a tender age with his father's family to their new home amid the hemlock forests of the Holland Purchase. On arriving at man's estate he was for many years a successful farmer of the town of Manchester, and in 1850 removed to the adjoining town of Hopewell, in the same county, purchasing the fine homestead farm now owned and occupied by his son, Irving W., where he resided until his death, July 22, 1889, aged 86 years. His estimable wife, whose maiden name was Minerva WHITNEY, daughter of Jonas WHITNEY, a worthy pioneer of the town of Hopewell, survived him but about a year, her death occurring October 31, 1890. Captain COATES was a most worthy citizen, an upright, honorable man in all his dealings and was quite successful in business. He held several offices of trust given him unsolicited by his fellow citizens, and discharged the duties of them always to his credit. He was an active officer in the early militia organizations of Ontario county, and received the commissions of first lieutenant and captain from Gov. De Witt CLINTON. For a brief period we believe he was on the staff of Col. Lester PHELPS, of Canandaigua, who commanded the old 111th Regiment N. Y. S. Militia, and who was a warm personal friend of his. Irving W. COATES, in common with most farmers' sons, received his first rudiments of education at the district school, supplemented by a course at the old Chemung Academy at Horseheads, Chemung county. In 1854 he entered the Palmyra Union Classical School at Palmyra, Wayne county, where he graduated, we believe, in 1855 with honor, having been selected to deliver the valedictory address at the close of the term. He afterwards took a special course in historical and scientific studies under private tutors. He has been a frequent contributor to many prominent papers, and enjoys the reputation of being a ready, graphic writer, and a close student of men and events. He has been for several years an earnest student of our early Indian history, and his recent contributions to the columns of the Ontario County Times on the "Castle of Onaghee" and "In the Footprints of Denonville," stamps him as an accomplished Indianologist, and a writer whose graceful pen is able to lend great interest and charm to the subjects of which he treats. Mr. COATES has been twice married, his first wife, a most estimable lady, was Miss Josephine R. SHORT, of Manchester, by whom he had left two children: Nelson, since deceased, and Heman J., who lives at the old homestead. His second wife was Mrs. Irene M. HOES, a worthy lady, daughter of Harvey KING, an old and honored resident of Manchester, and a member of one of the pioneer families of that town. Mrs. KING died March 5, 1873. Mr. COATES has one brother, James F. COATES, an esteemed citizen of Cassopolis, Cass county, Mich., and one sister, Mrs. Mary A. PARSONS of Clifton Springs.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 258
Russell B., Phelps, only child of Nahum
and Emeline (BENNETT) COBB, was born in Phelps, September 10,
the father, was born in Massachusetts, his father, George,
moving to this State when his son was a boy.
The great-grandfather of Russell B.,
was also named George COBB.
He was a soldier in the Revolutionary
army, and his ancestors
were Cape Cod people.
Russell B. married, in January, 1862, Mary, daughter of Oliver and Lucy (HOWARD) GEROW of Phelps, and they have two children: George Gerow and Lula. Mr. COBB is one of the representative citizens of the town. He has served as road commissioner for the past 9 years.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 279
COCHRAN, James, Bristol,
was born in County Down, Ireland, July 17, 1826, one of 9 children
of James and Ann (McCLURE) COCHRAN,
natives of County Down, Ireland, where James
COCHRAN, Sr., died. Mrs.
COCHRAN came to America, and died in the town of Canandaigua
in 1855. The subject
was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools of Ireland.
At the age of 21 he came to America, and starting in life
working by the month, is today one of the leading farmers of
Bristol. In 1870 he
came to Bristol and purchased a farm of 118 acres, where he has
since resided. In 1851
he married in Vermont, Bridget DENVER,
a native of County Down, Ireland, and daughter of William
and Margaret (McMILLEN) DENVER.
Mr. COCHRAN and wife have had the following children: John,
a farmer of Bristol, who married Mary A. GRACY, by whom he had nine
children; William (deceased); his wife was Ann
MURPHY, of Ireland,
by whom he had three children: Nettie (deceased),
Margaret, wife of
leaving one child, Mary, who resides with her grandparents.
Mr. COCHRAN has always been a
Mrs. COCHRAN is a member of the Catholic church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 282
CODDING, Myron Hart, West Bloomfield, was born in Bristol, February 29, 1836. His great-grandfather, George, came from Dighton, Mass., and was one of the first settlers in Bristol. The grandfather, William Thayer CODDING, was twelve years of age when his father came to Bristol. He married successively two sisters, by whom he had five sons and five daughters, of whom William Grover CODDING, the father of Myron H., was the oldest, and was born in 1803. He was a farmer and spent his life in Bristol. In 1830 he married Orpha GILLETT, of Connecticut ancestry. She died in 1850 and he in 1871. Myron H. obtained his early education at the district schools. When 22 years of age he engaged in farming in Illinois, but after five years returned to Bristol and came to this town in 1865, and on Christmas Day of that year married Adelaide, daughter of Burton HAM. Her grandfather came from New Hampshire and her grandmother from Massachusetts, and settled in East Bloomfield in an early day. Mr. and Mrs. CODDING have five children: Burton Ham [b. Jan 1874], William Grover, Ellen Emeline, Moses F. H., and Edith G.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 39
COE, Schuyler P., Geneva, son of John D. and Sophia (STONE) COE, was born October 2, 1832, in Romulus. He received a common school education and in 1852 went to Chicago as salesman in a wholesale house, remaining nine years. September 17, 1861, he enlisted in Battery B, 1st Illinois Artillery, in which he was corporal. July 12, 1864, Battery B was consolidated with Battery A, in which he acted as lieutenant 10 days. He was in Andersonville prison 60 days. After the (Civil) war he bought a farm in Seneca county and engaged in farming. He was salesman for R. G. Chase & Co., in 1871, and had an office in Baltimore one year, and Toledo, O., 5 years. In 1879 he began dealing in scrap iron, which he has since carried on.
During the (Civil) War he was in many battles and several skirmishes, among them being Belmont, November 7, 1861; Fort Donelson, February 13-15, 1862; Shiloh, April 6-7; Siege of Corinth, Arkansaw Post, January 17, 1863; Champion Hills, May 16; Siege of Vicksburg, May and June; Chattanooga, November 24-25; Resaca, May 13-15, 1864; Dallas, May 26-31; Kenesaw Mountain, June, 1864; Peach Tree Creek, July 20; Bald Hill, July 22, and was captured there and held prisoner until September 19, 1864. His father, was Judge John D. COE, who was treasurer of the Seneca County Agricultural Society 40 years.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 49 - 50
COE , John S., Canandaigua. Mr. COE is of English origin. His ancestor in America was Robert COE, born in the county of Suffolk, Eng., who together with his wife Anna and his three sons, John, Robert and Benjamin, sailed from Ipswich, Eng., in the ship "Francis," John CUTTING, master, April 10, 1634; landed in Boston in the June following, and first settled in Watertown near Boston and subsequently settled in Wethersfield county, Conn. His branch of the family settled at what is called South Farms, near Middletown, Conn., long before the Revolutionary War; and the old homestead bought by his great-grandfather, Jesse COE, when Connecticut was a colony, is still owned in the family. His grandfather, Jesse COE, emigrated to Mount Washington, Berkshire county, Mass., early and became a large landholder there, where his father, William W. COE, was born. He married Catharine VOSBURG of Columbia county in this State, and moved to Verona, Oneida county, where Mr. COE was born, and while very young his parents moved to Galen, Wayne county, where his father died when he was only six and one half years old, at which time he was thrown upon his own resources. He came to Phelps in his early teens and partially fitted for college at the Phelps Union and Classical School under the tuition of that celebrated teacher, Prof. Lewis PECK, and finished his preparatory course at the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary at Lima and subsequently graduated at Union College and also the Albany Law School. He was at one time the principal of the Clyde High School and the Phelps Union and Classical School.
He raised and commanded as captain, Company B, 111th Regt, N. Y. S. Vols. in the late Rebellion. In 1865, he went to Canandaigua and studied in the law office of Messrs. Lapham & Adams, and has practiced his profession in Canandaigua ever since. He married Miss Addie A. TITUS of Phelps in 1868 by whom he has one daughter, Mabel C., the wife of Dr. Frederick E. McCLELLAN, also of Canandaigua. Mr. COE is now serving his third term as a justice of the peace, each time being elected by large majorities. He is thoroughly devoted to his business and is noted for his energy and perseverance, and is one of the best known men in Ontario county.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 278
COE, William W.,
Canandaigua, was born in Galen, Wayne county, February 28, 1841, a
son of William W., a farmer of that
town, and a native of Berkshire county, Mass., where he was born
April 30, 1810. He
moved into New York State while a young man and located in Galen,
where he followed farming until his death, November 9, 1840.
He married Catherine VOSBURGH (who
survives him, aged 83 years), and five children, four of whom still
W. spent his early life in the town of his birth.
He was educated in Genesee Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, and his
first occupation was as clerk in J. C. ATKINS's
grocery at Clyde. He
was with him three years, then spent three years with
P. G. DENNISON in his dry goods store.
January 1, 1862, Mr. COE came to
Canandaigua and engaged in the insurance business, which has been
very successful by dint of hard work, and careful attention.
He represented three of the best companies in the country in
fire insurance, besides his life and accident company.
He is also notary public and agent for steamship tickets.
Mr. COE married March 23, 1865, Emma
P. CLARKE, of Clyde, who lived but five months.
He married second in November, 1869, Caroline, daughter of Albert
SHELDON, the merchant, and they have two children:
Iva May, and Charles Albert, now in his 15th year.
Mr. COE is a member of
Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, of which he is junior deacon.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 39
COLE, D. Merritt, Gorham, was born in Gorham, January 3, 1843, a son of George W., a son of Willard, who was a native of Massachusetts, and in 1820 came to Gorham. George W., was born in Massachusetts in 1814 and when a boy came to Gorham. His wife was Sarah Ann WHITE, also a native of Massachusetts, and they had two sons and one daughter, Geo. W., Jr., D. Merritt and Mary A., all living. G. W. COLE purchased the farm of 106 acres which D. Merritt now owns. George W. died February 1, 1892, and his wife May 1, 1886. D. Merritt was educated in the common schools and in Palmyra Academy. January 15, 1868, he married Rachel E. ROBINSON, a native of Phelps, born January 19, 1849, a daughter of Asa H., and Alvina (DOANE) ROBINSON, early settlers in Phelps. In 1870 they moved to Michigan where Mrs. ROBINSON died May 8, 1881. Mr. ROBINSON still resides there. Subject and wife have 6 children: Robinson A., Miner G., Henry T., Ernest M., Bertha A. and Mary E., all living. Mr. COLE is a Republican.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 48
COLE, George W., Gorham, was born in Gorham September 7, 1840, a son of George W. COLE. He was educated in the common schools and Rushville High School. In 1863 he married Caroline P. ALLEN of South Dansville, who died in 1865, and in 1867 Mr. COLE married Caroline P. FOSTER by whom he has two children: A. Luella, now Mrs. Chester OLMSTEAD of East Bloomfield, and Valleda C. Mr. COLE is a farmer and a breeder of Jersey cattle, and at present is agent for all papers and magazines published in the United States and in foreign countries. He is a Republican and a member of the Reed's Corners Grange. He was president of the Gorham Agricultural Society in 1887-88 and ' 89, also vice-president of same society four years and overseer of the domestic department seven years.
History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 194
Henry S. COLE, was born in Canandaigua, September 23, 1800; admitted to practice at Ontario county bar, 1821; removed to Michigan, where he became prominent in the practice of his profession and held the office of Judge of the Probate Court; died at Detroit, June 10, 1836.
History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, pub.1911, Vol. II, pg. 108-109
James J. COLLIE, who has for a number of years been
engaged in the practice of the medical profession in Geneva, Ontario
county, New York, is descended from an old family whose original
home was in Scotland, and he as inherited the habits of thrift,
determination and perseverance which characterize the natives of
that favored land. Honorable
in every relation of life and earnest in forwarding the good of his
fellow men in every possible manner, he has gained the respect and
confidence of all with whom he comes in contact.
As a physician he has won a distinct place of his own, and
the record of his daily life is filled with evidences of the esteem
in which he is held.
James COLLIE, father of Dr. James J. COLLIE, was born in Scotland and came to this country with his wife and four children, when he was 35 years of age. After giving the important subject of selecting a home due consideration, he decided upon Cattaraugus, New York, where he bought a large farm in the town of Franklinville and there made his permanent home. He followed agricultural pursuits until his death, in 1899. He married, in Scotland, Elizabeth WATSON, also a native of that land, who died in 1903.
Dr. James J. COLLIE, son of James and Elizabeth (WATSON) COLLIE, was born in Franklinville, Cattaraugus county, New York, 1866. His preparatory education was acquired in the Cattaraugus Academy, and this was followed by a complete course of study in the Long Island College Hospital, from which he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1889. His thirst for acquiring knowledge had been a predominant characteristic of his early youth, and this characteristic has never deserted him, and is in a great measure the foundation of his later success. Immediately after his graduation he established himself in the practice of his profession in the city of New York, where he met with success, but decided that a smaller city offered a better field for the development of individual and independent methods. He therefore removed to Geneva, Ontario county, New York in 1902, commencing a general practice in which his reputation was quickly established. Dr. COLLIE has applied himself with great diligence and assiduity to a study of the ills which particularly affect childhood and has made some notable observations in this field, and the success which has attended his treatment of a number of cases has been considered remarkable, not alone by the laity, but by his professional brethren; his further progress will be watched with close attention. In all probability the professional life of Dr. COLLIE will be spent entirely in Geneva.
Dr. COLLIE married in 1898, Myrtle BALCH, born in Minnesota, 1876, daughter of Andrew BALCH. The doctor is a staunch adherent of the republican party; although he can spare but little time form his numerous and responsible professional duties to devote to political matters, yet he takes a lively interest in whatever concerns the welfare of the community in which he lives. His fraternal affiliations are with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 38
COLLIER, Dr. Peter, director of the New York State Agricultural Experiment Station near Geneva, was elected to his present office in 1887, and it is of undoubted interest to the farmers of Ontario county to know something of the person who occupies this highly responsible position. Peter COLLIER was born in Chittenango, Madison county, August 17, 1835, and was the son of Jacob and Elizabeth Mary COLLIER, his father, grand and great-grandfather being practical farmers of New York State. He therefore early became familiar with farm work, and was educated in the common schools and the academic institution of his native home called the "Polytechny." From this school he graduated, and afterward entered Yale College, from which he graduated in 1861. After graduation he entered the Sheffield Scientific School at Yale College where he remained as a private student for six years, and at the same time had charge of certain classes in this school as instructor. In 1867 he became professor of chemistry in the University of Vermont, at Burlington, and later was chosen dean of the medical faculty of this university. In 1872 he was appointed secretary of the newly created Board of Agricultural and Mining at Vermont, and in connection with the work of this board, Dr. COLLIER established the first series of Farmers' Institutes ever held in the United States. In 1873 he was appointed by President GRANT as one of the 6 scientific commissioners to represent the United States at the World's Exposition at Vienna, and upon his return reported upon the subject of commercial fertilizers as shown at this exposition. In 1877 Dr. COLLIER left Vermont and went into the agricultural department at Washington, DC, having charge of the chemical division. He continued there until 1877, when he was elected to succeed Dr. STURTEVANT as director of the Experiment Station near the village of Geneva.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 38 - 39
COLLINS, George S., Victor, was born in Mendon, Monroe county, February 26, 1821. He was educated in the district school of that place, and came with his parents to Victor in the year of 1853, and has always been a farmer. November 20, 1856, he married Mariette, daughter of Jesse and Abigal RICHARDS, of Newark, Wayne county, and they have four children: Nellie L., who married Eugene L. THOMPSON, station agent at Fishers; Adelbert S., Arthur E. (1864) and A. May; Carrie B. COLLINS, deceased. The sons run the home farm, and the youngest daughter is at school. Mr. COLLINS' father, John, was born at Rutland, Vt., in the year 1791, and came with his parents to this State when a boy. January 6, 1811, he married Cynthia CHUBB, who was born at Hempstead, Conn., October 10, 1793, and they had five children: Merlin, John, Chloe, George S., and Thomas B. His grandfather, John COLLINS, was in the battle of Bennington in the Revolutionary War. Mrs. COLLINS's father, Jesse RICHARDS, was born in Hillsdale Columbia county, and married Abigal SHELDON, of Albany county, and they had 9 children: German, John S., Edward, George H. and Warren (a half brother), Paulina, Caroline, Elvira, Catherine and Mariette. Mrs. COLLINS's father was in the War of 1812. The family are members of the Universalist church of Victor.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 232
COLLINS, Cholett, East
Bloomfield, a native of East Bloomfield, was born September 22, 1830.
He is a son of Guy, whose father, Cyprian,
was a native of Connecticut, who came early to East Bloomfield, where he
died. He was a farmer and contractor of the building of the Erie
was born in East Bloomfield in 1804, and married Maria
ELLIS, a native of Schoharie county, by whom he had four sons and
a daughter. Mr.
COLLINS is a prominent man of his town.
He owned 225 acres of land, and for many years was an extensive
dealer in stock and wool. In
politics he was a Whig, but is now a Democrat.
He was supervisor two years and assessor several years. Mr. COLLINS now resides with
subject at the age of 89 years. Cholett
COLLINS was reared on a farm and received an academic education.
He is a farmer and owns 110 acres of land. He makes a specialty of breeding American Merino sheep, and
is now serving his second term as vice-president of the American Merino
Sheep Association. Mr.
COLLINS has been twice married, first in 1856, to Lucinda
B. BRACE, by whom he had two daughters: Elizabeth
and Mary. His second
wife was Anna V. McUMBER, by whom he was
married in 1871. Mr. COLLINS is a Democrat, and
has been supervisor three years. He
and family attend the Presbyterian church of East Bloomfield.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 164 �
COLLINS, immigrant ancestor, was born in England and came to
Boston in 1638. He was
a shoemaker and citizen of some prominence, a member of the
Artillery Company (the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of
Boston). He died May
29, 1670. Administration
was granted to Gideon ALLEN.
He married Susan ________.
Children: 1. Susannah, baptized
April 5, 1645, aged 3 years, twelve days; married March 25, 1662, Thomas
WALKER. 2. John,
mentioned below. 3. Thomas,
October 15, 1645.
John (2), son of John
(1) COLLINS, was born in Boston about 1644. He was also a shoemaker.
He removed in 1663 to Middletown, Connecticut, thence to
Saybrook later to Branford and Guilford.
He married first, Mary TROWBRIDGE,
who died in 1668; second, he married June 3, 1669, Mary
(Stephens) HINGNOTH, widow of Henry
HINGNOTH; and third, to Dorcas (Swain)
TAINTOR, widow of John TAINTOR.
He died at Bradford about 1704.
Children: John, born 1665, mentioned below; Robert,
1667; Mary, married ______CHAPMAN.
John (3), son of
John (2) COLLINS, was born in Connecticut in 1665, died
January 24, 1751. He
married July 23, 1691, Ann LEETE, born
August 5, 1671, died November 2, 1724, daughter of John
LEETE and granddaughter of Governor
William LEETE, descendant of a distinguished English
ancestry. Children, born in Guilford: Asa,
May 9, 1692; Mary, April 11, 1694, died
February 2, 1729; John, February 23,
1696; Timothy, February 11, 1698, died
February 19, 1698; Timothy, April 13,
1699, mentioned below; Daniel, June 13,
1701; Susanna, September 25, 1703, died
October 30, 1703; Samuel, November 2,
1704; Mercy, January 19, 1707; Oliver,
October 18, 1710; Avis, April 1, 1714.
Rev. Timothy COLLINS, son
of John (3) COLLINS, was born in
Guilford, April 13, 1699, died at Litchfield, Connecticut in 1776.
He graduated from Yale college in 1718.
He became minister of the town of Litchfield and owner of
1/16th of the town rights.
He probably was called through the influence of Deacon John
BUELL, who came from Lebanon.
He was ordained June 1723 and dismissed in 1752, after which
he practiced medicine in Litchfield the remainder of his life.
He studied medicine during his ministry.
He was chosen Justice of the peace in 1753.
He married Elizabeth HYDE,
January 16, 1723, daughter of Samuel and
Elizabeth (Calkins) HYDE of Lebanon.
Children, born in Litchfield: Oliver,
March 7, 1724; Ann, August 24, 1725; Charles,
Aug 5, 1727; Lewis, August 8, 1730,
died young; Rhoda, May 3, 1731, married
four times; Cyprian, March 4, 1733,
mentioned below; Ambrose, March 30,
1737; John, June 1. 1739.
Cyprian, son of Rev.
Timothy COLLINS, was born at Litchfield, March 4, 1733.
In July 1759, his father deeded to him 50 acres of land that
he bought, March 4, 1745, on the west side of East street.
Cyprian built his house on a lot
of four acres on the west side of East street, bought of Benoni
The house was begun by HILLS,
occupied later by Cyprian's son, Timothy
and with some additions, is still standing, and at last
accounts was owned and occupied by Franklin
BURLON, and was the oldest in the town, still in use as a
residence. He had a
large family and was an industrious and influential citizen.
He joined the church, September 18, 1808. He married January 9, 1755, Azubah
GIBBS of Litchfield, born December 13, 1734, died at Goshen,
August 24, 1823. He died January 7, 1809.
Children, born at Litchfield: Ambrose,
February 28, 1756; Triphena, August 21,
1757; Amanda, March 27,
1759; Philo, January 5, 1761; Anna,
November 21, 1762; Luranda, May or
August 28, 1764; Rhoda, January 11,
1766; Timothy, January 11, 1767; Cyprian,
November 8, 1770, mentioned below; Phebe,
January 26, 1773; Tyrannus 1775.
Cyprian (2), son of Cyprian (1) COLLINS,
was born at Litchfield, Connecticut, November 8, 1770. He was an early settler in Bloomfield, Ontario county, New
York and died there. He
was a farmer and contractor in the building of the Erie canal.
He married May 7, 1795, Huldah NORTON.
Guy, son of Cyprian
(2) COLLINS, was born in Bloomfield in 1804.
He was a prominent citizen in East Bloomfield, owning a farm
of 225 acres and was for many years an extensive dealer in cattle
and in wool. He was
also an auctioneer. In
politics he was a Whig and in later years, a Democrat, and for two
years was supervisor of the town and for several years, an assessor.
He spent his last days in the home of his son, and died in
East Bloomfield at an advanced age, August 3, 1894.
He married November 5, 1829, Maria
ELLIS, born in Schoharie county, died March 30, 1876.
Children: Cholett, born
September 22, 1830; Elizabeth, Jan 25,
1832, died Sept 19, 1882; George, mentioned
below; Daniel, March 26, 1836, died
December 12, 1895; Haraskaline,
December 16, 1839, died October 23, 1841.
George, son of Guy
COLLINS, was born at East Bloomfield, June 20, 1833.
He attended the district schools and the academy at
Bloomfield. He devoted his attention chiefly to farming, but was also an
auctioneer, and traveling salesman for the Walter A. Wood Company of
Hoosick Falls and in 1862-64, was in England for the purpose of
introducing and selling the agricultural machinery of this concern.
In politics he was a Democrat and he served several years as
postmaster. He was a
member of Victor Lodge No. 29, Free and Accepted Masons, of
Canandaigua chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of Canandaigua.
He died April 17, 1903.
He married January 5, 1860, Ann Maria
Victoria HATHAWAY, born November 12, 1838, now living at
Farmington, daughter of Perez and Hannah (Lapham)
HATHAWAY. Children of Mr. and Mrs. COLLINS:
1. Perez Hathaway, born at
Farmington, September 18, 1860, in the employ of the Pennsylvania
railroad since 1878, now agent at Newark, New York; married August
16, 1904 to Anna May SHAPPEE of
Horseheads, New York, now living at Newark, New York.
Eliza Briggs, born at
Farmington, September 23, 1867, married George
L. LOOMIS, January 15, 1896, child Harold
Frederick LOOMIS, born December 23, 1896.
3. Guy N., born at Farmington,
August 9, 1872, married August 3, 1903, Christine
HUDSON; children: George Briggs,
born January 3, 1906, and Perez Hathaway;
he is now in the employ of the United States government at
Washington in the agricultural department and in the service of the
government has investigated agricultural conditions abroad, visiting
Africa, Australia and other countries for that purpose.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People,
Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 167
D. COLLINS, head of the Collins Iron Works of Geneva, Ontario
county, New York, is a member of a family which has been connected
with the military record of the county for some generations.
Thaddeus, grandfather of Louis
D., COLLINS, served during the Revolutionary
the army at the age of sixteen years and enlisting a number of
times. He also served
during the War of 1812. He
went to Ontario county, NY in 1798, took up a tract of land and
engaged in farming.
Chaucey Brooks, son of Thaddeus
COLLINS, was born in Phelps, Ontario county, NY, 1809 and was
a farmer. He was a
member of the New York State Militia in 1831 and served as
quartermaster of the regiment commissioned by
Enos T. THROOP, John A DIX, adjutant general.
of Ontario Co, NY, Pub. 1911,
Vol. 2, pg 353
(I) John COLLINS buried in Brampton Suffolk county, England married Abigail, daughter of Thomas ROSE of Exmouth, county of Devon, England.
(II) John (2) son of John and Abigail (ROSE) COLLINS came to Boston, Massachusetts in 1634; he married Susanna _____.
(III) John (3) son of John 2 and Susanna COLLINS, married (first) Mary TROWBRIDGE, granddaughter of the founder of Guilford, Connecticut; (second) in 1659 to Mary KINGSNORTH.
(IV) John (4) son of John (3) and Mary (TROWBRIDGE) COLLINS, was born in 1665. He married in 1691 to Ann, daughter of John LEETE and granddaughter of Governor William LEETE of Connecticut.
Daniel, son of John (4) and Ann (LEETE)
COLLINS was born in 1701. He
married Lois CORNWELL.
(VI) William, son of Daniel and Lois (CORNWELL) COLLINS, married Ruth, daughter of Aaron COOK, of Wallingford.
(VII) Samuel, son of William and Ruth (COOK) COLLINS, was born in 1763 and removed with his wife Elizabeth and four children to Berkshire, Tioga county, New York. He married in 1793 to Elizabeth, daughter of Judge Nathaniel BISHOP, of Lenox, Massachusetts. Judge BISHOP was at one time chief justice of the court of sessions and later for twenty years judge of the court of common please for western Massachusetts. Children, the first four born in Lenox, the others at Berkshire: Samantha, married David WILLIAMS; Addison, married Sophronia L. BALL; Horatio, married Emily BALL; Eliza, see forward; Bishop, married Abigail BALL; Frederick married Nancy WHITE; Albert, married Mary A. RIGTLMAN.
(VIII) Eliza, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (BISHOP) COLLINS, married Theodore Ephraim HART. (see HART biography)
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 275
Canandaigua, was born in Stillwater, Saratoga county, August 2, 1858,
and when very young moved with his parents to Victor.
He attended Victor Union School, after leaving which he taught
school for several terms, and in 1877 went into the law office of E.
L. MORSE and H. O. CHESEBRO at Canandaigua, where he read law and
was admitted to the bar in October, 1881.
He acted as clerk for Mr. MORSE
while he was in New York city for one year, and the next year opened a
law office for himself. The
same year he was elected on the Democratic ticket justice of peace, and
at the expiration of his term in 1887 he was re-elected without
opposition. In 1889 he was
elected supervisor, and re-elected the next year by an increased
majority. January 19, 1892,
he was appointed by Governor FLOWER to the
office of surrogate of Ontario county, to fill the vacancy by the death
of A. C. ARMSTRONG.
In 1886 Mr. COLMEY was justice of
sessions for the county. He
has been secretary of the Democratic committee several years and is now
chairman. He married in
August, 1889, Mary B. WIDMAN, of
Canandaigua, and they had two sons, Augustine and
of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 381 -
COLMEY was born in Stillwater, Saratoga county, New York, August
2, 1858 and when three years of age removed with his parents to Victor,
Ontario county, New York.
During his early years he assisted his father in the cultivation
of the home farm, attending the district school, winters.
Possesses of an active mind and a strong determination to better
his condition, at 15 years of age he left the farm and obtained in the
village of Victor, a place where he could do chores for his board and
attend the village school.
By close application Mr.
COLMEY was able to graduate form the Victor high school in the
year 1878 and at once commenced his legal studies in the offices of Henry
O. CHESEBRO and E. M. MORSE in Canandaigua, NY.
Two years later he passed the necessary examination and was
admitted to practice law in October 1880.
COLMEY had now achieved the success for which he had been
striving so long and in the face of numerous obstacles, which had
rendered the pathway unusually rugged and difficult to travel.
The price he paid for this success was a heavy one, that of
impaired health, and for a period of 2 years he was compelled to seek
In the fall of the year 1882, he had so far regained his health
as to be able to open a law office in Victor, where he successfully
practiced law for the next 6 years.
In the spring of 1882, he was elected a justice of the peace of the town of Victor. So efficient were his services in this office that when he was named for re-election in 1886, there was no opposing candidate nominated. During the years 1886 and 1887, he was elected judge of sessions and in 1888 he was elected to represent the town of Victor, in the board of supervisors, succeeding himself the following years, the term at that time being for one year only. He removed to Canandaigua, in 1888, associated himself in a partnership with Hon. Maynard N. VLEMENT, which continued in force until Governor FLOWER, in 1892, appointed Mr. COLMEY surrogate, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Oliver ARMSTRONG. Mr. COLMEY served one year and then declined re-nomination for the office, which was tendered him. He resumed the practice of law, this time independently, and has so continued to the present time (1911). His practices is a large and lucrative one, he has been entrusted with the conduct of numerous important cases and the higher courts have given him many favorable decisions, as well as the lower ones. He is considered one of the ablest attorneys in that section of the state of New York. During the years 1890 and 1891, he served as village attorney of the village of Canandaigua, and two years later was appointed by Comptroller CAMPBELL as corporation tax commissioner, with headquarters at Buffalo. This very important office carried with it the responsibility of collecting a large amount of back corporation tax throughout central and western New York, and Mr. COLMEY held it for one year, when he retired. Upon his retirement, he was highly complimented by Comptroller ROBERTS, a member of the Republican party, for the efficient manner in which the duties of the office had been discharged while under his control. In 1904, Mr. COLMEY was appointed by General CUNNEEN one of three commissioners to inspect and report upon the constitutionality of all legislative bills, thus enabling him to study in a most thorough and practical manner, legislative methods. Mr. COLMEY has always taken an active interest in political affairs. For 12 years he was chairman of the Democratic party, Mr. COLMEY is exceedingly liberal minded in all his opinions and in numerous cases this has been evinced by the fact of the support given him by the republican papers in his campaigns for state senator and member of congress. As a public speaker he has achieved an enviable reputation. His remarks are clear and convincing, and judiciously interspersed with humorous anecdotes, which never fail to leave his audience in a cheerful and contented frame of mind. As a judge, his decisions have invariably been rendered with the utmost intelligence and conscientiousness, and few men have studied more closely the public question of the hour. Mr. COLMEY is a loving husband and a devoted father, holding firmly the idea that happy homes make a happy and prosperous country.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 166
Harlow L. COMSTOCK was born in Groton, Tompkins county, in 1821. Settled in Warsaw, Wyoming county; practiced law and was elected District attorney and County Judge of Wyoming county. In 1868, became a resident of Canandaigua, where he continued the practice of his profession in partnership with his brother-in-law, Thomas H. BENNETT, until his death, September 24, 1883.
CONE, Winfield S., Hopewell, was born December 12, 1846, in Hopewell, on the farm he now owns, a son of James L. and Edna C. (BEACH) CONE. He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and has followed farming. He inherited 100 acres of land from his grandfather, to which he has added 60 acres. January 5, 1870, he married Josephine H. MITCHELL, a native of New Jersey, born July 26, 1851. She is a daughter of Henry C. MITCHELL of Gorham. To subject and wife were born two daughters, Maud B., born June 1, 1871, and educated in Canandaigua Union School, Hattie B., born May 2, 1874, attends school in Canandaigua. Mr. CONE is a Democrat and was town clerk eleven years in succession. The family attends the M. E. church at Hopewell Centre, of which Mrs. CONE and daughter, Maud B., are members.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 227 - 228
CONE, James L.,
Hopewell. The CONE family has been
represented in America for seven generations.
Daniel CONE, the founder of
the family, came to this country about 1650, and died in 1676.
Next came Caleb 3d, Caleb 4th, Ozias 5th,
Ozias 6th, Warren, and 7th James L.
Ozias, grandfather of subject, was born in Connecticut,
May 2, 1774, and when a young man came to Hopewell, and there married Mercy,
daughter of Daniel WARREN, one of the first
settlers of Hopewell. Mr.
CONE died here in 1805. Warren
CONE was born in Hopewell, October 2, 1800.
He married Sally A., daughter of John
CASE, and they had four children: James L.,
Mary A., Caroline and Lydia. Mary
A. married E. S. SNOW; Caroline married
George JONES, and
Lydia married Charles W. BEACH. The wife (Sally)
of Warren CONE died in 1835, and Mr.
CONE married Pamelia HAWES, by whom
he had four children. His
sons, William H. and George W., are both
locomotive engineers. His
daughter Julia married Samuel
FRIEDLANDER. Mercy married
a Mr. RODGERS, and resides in Minnesota.
Mr. CONE was in early life a farmer,
but later became engineer. He
spent many years on Lake Erie. His
death occurred at Toronto, Canada, in 1863.
James L. was born in Hopewell,
December 15, 1822. When he
was 13 years old his mother died, and he began working on a farm.
He received a common school education, and in 1845 he married Edna
C. BEACH, a native of Hopewell, born on the old BEACH
homestead, May 16, 1822. Her
parents were David W. and Eliza (MURRAY) BEACH,
the former a native of Massachusetts, and the latter of Canandaigua.
Mr. BEACH came to Hopewell in 1819
and there lived until his death, April 6, 1889.
He had three daughters: Lucy A., who
married Hiram DEPUE; Laviah, who married James
W. CASE; and Edna C.
Mr. CONE and wife have had
five children: Winfield S., Electa B. (married
and lives in Clinton, IA.), Alice B.
(deceased), and James S. (deceased).
David W. resides with his
parents. He has been twice
married, first to Kate A. ARNOLD, and
second to Sarah HUNTSMAN, by whom he has
one child, William M.
Mr. CONE is a Democrat, and has been justice of the peace
for four terms, assessor three years, and highway commissioner one term.
He attends the M. E. church at Hopewell Centre.
Edna, wife of subject died
December 6, 1890.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 277
John H., Victor, was born in County Kerry, Ireland, June 25,
1842, and came with his aunt to the United States to his parents who had
preceded him here. This event took place when he was nine years old; he was a
produce dealer and commission merchant.
March 10, 1869, he married Sarah J. MURPHY,
of Fishers, and they had three children: Ida M., Adeline
B., who married George P. FOWLER, of
Fishers; and Frederick J.
The oldest daughter and the son reside at home with their mother.
Mr. CONNELLY died November 30, 1887,
from injuries received on the New York Central & Hudson River
CONNELLY carries on the old business in a thriving intelligent
manner. She is also the
postmistress at Fishers.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 53
CONNOLLY, Robert E., Phelps, was born in Phelps, April 1, 1860, one of four children living of Andrew and Julia CONNOLLY of this place. He engaged in the dry goods and grocery business in 1880 in company with E. J. Ryan. In 1888 Mr. RYAN withdrew from the firm, and since that time Mr. CONNELLY has continued the business alone. In that year he added a clothing department. He employs two men to assist him in the business, which is in a flourishing condition. He married, June 8, 1886, Mary A. SOMMERS, of Hopewell, daughter of Daniel and Mary SOMMERS. They have two children, John E., and Marie. Mr. CONNELLY was appointed postmaster at Phelps, June 13, 1893.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911,
Vol II, pg. 399 - 400
founder of the family, was born in Purtarlington, County Kings, Ireland,
June 10, 1814, died August 31, 1899 in Phelps, Ontario Co, NY.
He emigrated to Geneva, NY in 1852, and found work as a malster. Later he became an engineer on the lake for a number of
years. He was a member of
the Roman Catholic Parish of St. Francis, at Phelps.
He married Julia DUNN, who was born at Portarlington County,
Kings, Ireland, born April 14, 1814, died May 20, 1885.
Hugh, born September 5, 1842,
a government inspector of mines in Australia; John,
born March 5, 1844, died October 1, 1893; Anna, born
May 28, 1846, deceased; Ellen, born
December 11, 1850; Robert Emmet, referred
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 40
CONOVER, John, Victor, was born in Victor, April 20, 1817, was educated in the district schools and has always been a farmer. January 9, 1858, he married Elizabeth, daughter of William and Ruth TUCKER, of Penn Yan, but when married of Akron, O. They have had four children: Theodore, who married Clara MINK of Rochester, and has two children; John and Irma; Anneth, who died at the age of 9 years; Mabel and Libbie M., both reside at home with their parents. Mr. CONOVER's father came from the town of Mohawk, Montgomery county. He married Margaret BOWERS and had 9 children; two were born there, the others in Monroe and Ontario counties: Vincent, Catherine, Benjamin, Betsey, William, Mary J. and Angeline (twins), John and Hannah.
the year 1838.
Mrs. CONOVER's father, William
TUCKER, was born in Plaistow, NH, and married Ruth
CAMERON of the town of Perrinton, Monroe county. They had four children: Elizabeth,
Elisha, George and Junietta.
The family moved to Yates county, and afterwards to Ohio.
In the year of 1860 Mr. CONOVER
planted an orchard of apple trees, several acres in extent, which at
this writing is much admired, and is profitable to its owner.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 517-518
CONOVER, George Stillwell, was
born in Brooklyn, NY, November 7, 1824, a son of Peter
and Catherine CONOVER. For
a time he was engaged in mercantile trade in New York; following which,
in April, 1850, he left Brooklyn and took up his residence on a farm of
50 acres on the banks of Seneca Lake, in the town of Varick, Seneca
county; here he resided until September, 1870, when he removed to
Geneva, which place has since been his home.
While not a politician as the distinction is usually understood, Mr.
CONOVER has been more or less connected with politics, being
allied to the Democratic party. Before
leaving Brooklyn he was active in the interests of his party; in 1856,
after coming to Varick, he was elected supervisor, and was chairman of
the board; in 1872 he was trustee of the village of Geneva, and in 1873
and 1877 was elected president of the village, serving each time a term
of two years. He also
served as police justice for a brief period in 1880-81, filling a
vacancy caused by the death of the incumbent.
But it is to his active interest and painstaking
labor in local history and Indian logy that Mr.
CONOVER may attribute the high estimation and wide appreciation
in which he is held. His "Kanadesaga and Geneva" has received
unqualified encomiums from the press and leading members of historical
societies; his lectures upon early history have been well received, and
he has also rendered much valuable help to local and State historical
societies by his researches and contributions.
He compiled and edited "General Sullivan's Indian
Expedition, 1779," published by the secretary of state in 1887,
which is an accepted authority concerning that undertaking.
He is an honorary member of the Waterloo (NY) Library and
Historical Society, of the New Jersey, the Livingston County, and the
Rochester Historical Societies, and the Society of Antiquity of
Worcester, Mass.; also corresponding member of Buffalo, Oneida, and New
York Historical Societies.
So prominent has been his interest in horticulture
that Mr. Thomas MECHAN, the veteran
horticultural editor, wrote him January 24, 1891:
"The great eminence of Geneva as a horticultural centre is
mainly due to your early encouragement and influence."
For 40 years he has been a member of the Reformed
Protestant Dutch Church, deeply interested in Sunday-school work,
serving his church first as a deacon and afterwards for twenty years as
an elder, and was several times a member of the General Synod, and each
time on important committees.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 283
CONROY, James J.,
Canandaigua, was born in Ireland in July 1848, and came to this country in
1867. He first located in New York city, and in 1875 came to
Canandaigua, where he engaged as cutter for D. Shafer & Co., of this
town, remaining until 1880, when he established a business for himself on
Niagara street. In 1890 he
was joined in partnership by Joseph B. O'BRIEN,
who was with him about a year. At
that time he moved into his present fine store in the new Flannigan block,
where he carries a fine stock of clothes for his merchant tailoring
department, and a fine stock of men's furnishing goods.
The merchant tailoring department in the rear of the store employs
from four to six hands. He
married in 1882 Mary E. HARRIGAN, of East
CONROY and wife are members of the Catholic church.
Of the merchant tailors of this town none is more prominent or
bears a reputation for better work than Mr. CONROY.
He was for a year and a half in Pennsylvania and Kentucky.
of Ontario County, NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 163
the subject of this memoir, was born July 23, 1798 in Cazenovia, Madison
county, New York. She was
the daughter of Isaac and Mary B. COOK. Her mother died when she was but sixteen years old, leaving
her the rich legacy of these dying words: " Honesty is the best
policy and truth will bear its own weight."
After her mother's death, se resided at times in different places
with her older sisters. For
two years she kept house for her brother Isaac,
at Scipio, New York. October
22, 1829, she was married to Joseph B. GATES,
of Hopewell, Ontario county, New York, where the remainder of her years
were spent in the active work of farm life.
Soon after her marriage she became awakened on the subject of
religion, and was converted at a revival meeting held in the
Presbyterian church, Hopewell, conducted by Rev.
Mr. CLARY and Rev. Mr. CARPENTER.
She joined the Presbyterian church, where she remained a member
till about the year 1846, when she withdrew from that church and joined
the Wesleyan Methodist, finding this society more in accord with her
ever manifested a deep interest in the early anti-slavery discussions,
and was one of the few who remembered "those in bonds as bound with
the subject of temperance she was not less zealous, being ever bold in
her denunciation of the drunkard-maker, and at the same time manifesting
much sympathy for the unfortunate inebriate.
lived to see her children grown to manhood and womanhood, and having
seen the curse of slavery removed from our fair land, on the 5th
of September, 1869, after a brief illness, closed her earthly career in
the hope of immortality through Christ her Savior.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 291 - 293
The COOKs' are numerous
both in England and America, and while not quite as prominent as some
others in point of numbers, they are, nevertheless, a prolific race.
They are also industrious and thrifty, and not a few of them have
attained national distinction on both sides of the ocean.
The English ancestors of the family referred to in this article
were frugal and industrious farming people, a class which for ages has
constituted the chief bulwark of the British nation.
( I ) Edward COOK, born in England in
the latter part of the eighteenth century, was a prosperous yeoman, owning
a large dairy farm in Somersetshire.
He was married at Kingston, April 5, 1807, to Ann
JONES, who was born in England in 1772.
She became the mother of 15 children, twelve of whom lived to
maturity. In their old age
Edward and Ann COOK came to America.
Edward died in Texas and was buried
there, and the remains of his wife were interred in Greenwood cemetery,
Brooklyn, N. Y.
( II ) Henry, son of Edward
and Ann ( JONES ) COOK, was born in Somersetshire, England, June 5,
1818, died in Geneva, New York, January 26, 1904.
Emigrating to the United States in 1855, he was employed by his
brother for a short time at the Quaker settlement near Waterloo, New York,
whence he went to Sennett, near Auburn, New York, and obtained employment
as a farm assistant. In 1857
he returned to the Quaker settlement, where he was engaged in farm work
until 1863, where he purchased a farm of 25 acres located four miles north
of Geneva, and was thenceforward occupied in tilling the soil on his own
account. In 1882 he added to
his landed possessions by the purchase of another twenty-five acre farm
and derived a comfortable prosperity as the result of his labor. In politics he supported the Republican party, and in his
religious faith he was a Presbyterian.
He was married in 1840 to Sarah HILLMAN, who was born in England
about 12 miles from the city of Bristol, in 1818, died in Phelps, New
York, in 1876. Children, all
born in England except the youngest are:
born in 1840, died in 1852.
2. Esther Ann HILLMAN, born March 9, 1842, emigrated to America and
became a nurse and is now living at the Church Home at Geneva, New York. 3. Jane, born in 1845, married
4. William HILLMAN,
born 1847, married Hattie DADSON and has four
children: Harry, Jessie,
Edith and Florence, all of whom are married.
5. Edward, born in 1849, married
Ida STEELE; one daughter, Lena,
married Leslie LEE. 6.
Benjamin Franklin, see forward. 7.
Henry, born in 1855, married Carrie FERGUSON; children:
Howard, died in 1881; Ruby and
Amelia Russell, born in 1860, married
Thomas AVERY and resides
in Syracuse, New York; children: Burt,
born in 1886, died in 1888; Mildred, born in 1894; Russell,
born in 1900.
( III ) Benjamin Franklin, third son and sixth child of
Sarah ( HILLMAN ) COOK, was born in Bristol, England, October 18, 1852. At the age of four years he left his native land and arrived
in this country, November 20, 1856, after a voyage of six weeks.
His boyhood and youth were spent in attending the public schools
and acquiring proficiency in farming and gardening.
In 1880 he engaged in market gardening on North street, Geneva, as
a member of the firm of Munson & Cook, and upon the retirement of his
partner in 1888, on account of failing health, he became sole proprietor
of the business, which he carried on in his own name some four years.
In 1893 he entered mercantile pursuits, opening a grocery store at
the corner of Hallenbeck and Andes avenues, and he is still engaged in
that business, having built up a large and profitable trade.
He takes a lively interest in all movements relative to the growth
and prosperity of the city, and his well-known integrity and other
excellent qualities have won the respect and good will of all who known
him. In politics he is a
republican. He attends St.
Peter's Protestant Episcopal church.
was married in Auburn, New York, December
26, 1877, to Lucy A. HOWELL, born in Phelps, New York, July 26, 1857, of
English parentage. Children:
1. Willemina, born September 7, 1878, married
William J. BUCHHOLZ,
of Geneva, June 6, 1900; children:
May, born December 5, 1904; Edward Franklin, born April 5, 1906.
2. Mary Elizabeth, born October 10, 1881, unmarried, resides in
Aurora, Illinois. 3.
Eva, born March 25, 1884, employed in her father's store.
4. Leon Henry, born in Geneva, August 1, 1886, is now employed by
the New York Central Railroad Company at Syracuse.
Franklin, born in Geneva, May 15, 1889, is now a
Fern, born September 14, 1891, living at home.
7. Ruth Agnes, born January 22, 1895, was attending the Geneva high
school at the time of her death, March 1, 1911.
Rankine, born October 5, 1896, was the last child
baptized by the late Rev. Dr. RANKINE, and is now a talented musician.
Mrs. Lucy A. ( HOWELL ) COOK
is a daughter of
William HOWELL, who was born near Kent, England, in 1826, died in Phelps,
New York, April 1, 1893. Her
grandfather, Thomas ATKINS, was born in 1808, and died in North Bourne,
England, October 16, 1892. Her
grandmother, Lucy ( STAFFORD ) ATKINS, died in England, in 1841.
When a young lad William HOWELL ran away to sea, visiting as a
sailor nearly all of the import ports of the world, and survived a
shipwreck on the southern coast of Africa.
In 1855 he joined his parents in Phelps, New York, where his father
was engaged in market-gardening, and he succeeded to the business. In politics he favored the Democratic party.
His religious affiliations were with the Presbyterians.
He was married at Oaks Corners, Ontario county, November 20, 1855,
to Lucy ATKINS, born near Deal, England, August 31, 1837, died February 3,
1906. Children: 1.
Lucy A., now the wife of Benjamin F. COOK.
2. William T., born December 8, 1858, married
Mary E. NEIFIE, of
Phelps; nine children: Ina,
married C. PECK, of Lyons, New York; Mary
Etta; Charles; Jessie; Nellie;
Carrie, died aged one and one-half years; a child who died at birth;
Marjory and Cora.
Milton, born in Phelps, in 1860, married (first) Emma
DILLMAN, who died
and he married (second) Grace EIGHMEY, of Clifton Springs, New York, now
living in Richland, state of Washington.
4. Mary Elizabeth,
born in 1862, married Burt AUSTON, an
Englishman; children: Willis,
Lucy and Mabel.
Henry, born September 7, 1868, married Frances
Edna and Foster.
History of Ontario Co., NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 359 - 360
Robert George COOK, who has devoted his life
to the noble profession of medicine, is now crowned with some of its
He has followed with inflexible and unfaltering courage and ardent
and unremitting toil in the pathway trodden with such eminent success by
his famous father.
George COOK was born in Cayuga, New York, November 20, 1824, and
died June 12, 1876.
In 1847 he entered the service of the Utica State Hospital, then
under the supervision of Dr. BRIGHAM, and was
actively engaged there in the discharge of his medical duties for a period
of six years.
His next step was a sojourn for one year in England, Scotland and
France, where he made a thorough study of the methods in vogue in public
and private insane asylums.
Upon his return to this country in the fall of 1854, Dr.
COOK was again connected with the Utica State Hospital.
During the summer of the following year, Dr.
COOK, together with his brother Robert, made a tour of several
villages in western New York in order to select a suitable site for the
location of a hospital in which proper care and treatment could be given
to the insane of the private class.
At that time there had never been adequate legal measures taken to
provide for the care of the insane, and a measure to this effect was drawn
by the Hon. John C. SPENCER, at one time a
resident of Canandaigua.
This measure became the basis of later lunacy legislation in the
After conferences with the board of managers of the State Lunatic
Asylum and their legal advisers, Dr. COOK, Robert D.
COOK and William G. WAYNE purchased the site on which the
administration building now stands, and thus founded what is now the
famous and widely known Brigham Hall, the first patient being received
October 3, 1855, a fact which distinctly proves the rapidity and energy
with which the plan was put into execution.
From October, 1855, until May, 1860, the medical service and
administration was entirely performed by Dr. COOK.
These duties were shared with Dr. CHAPIN until
October, 1869, when the latter took charge of the Willard Asylum, and from
that time until his death in 1876.
Dr. COOK was again in sole charge of
Dr. COOK was elected president of the
village board of trustees in 1860, and it was owing to his vigorous
measures that a number of laws were enforced that tended greatly to the
improvement of the village conditions.
He served as supervisor of the county, was a member of the state
legislature, and president of the First National Bank.
In all these varied offices his intelligence and executive ability
were the means of furthering the objects for which he had interested
COOK married Caroline
BULL, in Seneca Falls, who was a noble and
fitting help-meet for him.
During the Civil war the news was received of the death of a
private soldier, who had been a resident of the village, and Mrs.
COOK, in discussing this incident, said that a duty had been laid
upon the women of Canandaigua to see that fitting provision was made for
the widows and orphans of the soldiers and sailors who lost their lives in
the said struggle.
As a result of her efforts in this direction an organization was
formed, the GREENLEAF property secured, and an institution for this
purpose stands at the present day at the head of Main street.
Robert George COOK, son of Dr. George and
Caroline (BULL) COOK, was born in Canandaigua, Ontario county, New
York, August 4, 1864.
His preparatory education was acquired in the Canandaigua Academy,
and in the Adams Academy, Quincy, Massachusetts.
He then matriculated at Harvard University, from which he was
graduated in 1886 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and took up his
studies in the Medical School of Columbia University, from which he was
graduated in 1889 with the degree of Doctor of Medicine.
His medical career up to the present time (1911) is as follows:
Intern at Roosevelt Hospital, New York City, 1889-90; assistant
physician at St. Lawrence State Hospital, Ogdensburg, New York.
1891-95; general practice in Rochester, New York, 1895-1908;
neurologist at St. Mary's Hospital, Rochester; consulting neurologist at
Rochester State Hospital; neurologist for the out-patient department of
the Rochester City Hospital; May 1, 1908, appointed resident physician at
Brigham Hall, an office he is filling at the present time.
His political affiliations are with the Republican party, and he
and his family are members of the Congregational church.
He is a member of the following organizations:
American Medical Association; American Medico-Psychological
Association; Medical Society, State of New York; Rochester Academy of
Medicine; Rochester Pathological Society; Hospital Medical Society of
Rochester; Roosevelt Hospital Alumni Association; Society of Physicians of
Canandaigua; University Club of Rochester.
Dr. COOK was married in Rochester, 1892, to Mary Belle, who was born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, daughter of Rev. Augustus H. STRONG, a Baptist minister, who has for many years been president of the Rochester Theological Seminary. Children: Robert STRONG, born February 11, 1895; Alan Augustus, August 17, 1896; George Elmendorf, March 10, 1898.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 284 - 286
Dr. John D. COOKE,
well known medical practitioner of Shortsville, Ontario county, New York,
although a native of Canada, traces his descent to an American family,
many generations of which lived at Hadley, Massachusetts, where they were
among the early settlers, and bravely bore their share of the hardships
and trials with which the early colonists were obliged to contend.
Dr. COOKE has inherited many of the
admirable traits which characterized these early hardy settlers, and he
has followed his career with the sturdy determination to achieve the
success which distinguished his forbears in their efforts to establish, in
this country, a land of liberty.
John COOKE, grandfather
of Dr. COOKE, was born at Hadley,
Massachusetts, the native town of his father, in 1776, and like the
majority of the settlers in those days, was engaged in agricultural
pursuits. He married Sarah
Dr. Silas W. COOKE, son
of John and Sarah ( WHITE ) COOKE, was born
at Hadley, Massachusetts, in 1816, and died in Canada, in 1884.
At the conclusion of his preparatory education, he became a student
at the Medical School in Fairfield, New York, in 1839, and was graduated
with honor from that institution. He
then removed to Norwich, Canada, where he entered upon the practice of his
profession, but subsequently removed to Paris, Canada, where he practiced
medicine with success for the long period of 40 years.
He married Mary Louise COOK, of Mount
Pleasant, Canada, who was born in Dutchess county, New York, in 1819, and
died in 1897. Their children
John D., see forward; Mary, who now
resides in the state of California.
Dr. John D., son of Dr.
Silas W. and Mary Louise ( COOK ) COOKE, was born at Paris,
Ontario, Canada, December 17, 1858. His
early education was acquired at the Woodstock Collegiate Institute, and he
then matriculated at the Trinity Medical College in Toronto, from which he
was graduated in 1879. Subsequently
he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons, in Buffalo, New York,
from which he was graduated in the class of 1881.
He immediately established himself in the practice of his
profession in the town of Shortsville, Ontario county, New York, and it
was but a short time before he had a well-established reputation as a
physician and surgeon in whom the greatest confidence might be placed.
He has not alone won the respect and confidence of those whom he
has so successfully treated, but his sympathetic manner and warm heart
have won their love, and there is no physician in the county who has a
greater number of sincere friends and well-wishers.
While a man of a social, genial disposition, his time for general
pleasures is very limited, as he spends all the time which his large and
increasing practice leaves him, in earnest study and the reading of
professional publications, holding the wise opinion that a physician must
be constantly learning, otherwise he will be unable to keep abreast of the
times in medical research. It
is owing to his constant desire to increase his knowledge that
Dr. COOKE may safely ascribe his professional success.
of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 126
person has some test, some experience, whose illustration may be a
benefit to others. A
sterling trait of character possessed by Mr.
COOLEY, combined with modesty, is self-reliance, and his
biography shows how a youth possessed of good health may lay the
foundation for the after-life of usefulness and enjoyment.
to Canandaigua bout 1790, and bought a farm of 65 acres on lot
72, now owned by J. S. HICOX.
He married Margaret, sister of Abner
BARLOW, by whom he had one child, Lyman,
who in early manhood was a teacher, and who died aged 57 years.
Mr. COOLEY again married; his
second wife was Lucina BISSEL.
He had gone upon his land, and erecting buildings, cleared off
the timber, purchase additional land, and one by one children had been
added to the family till their number was eight, two sons, six
daughters. The father died
aged 48 years, during April, 1817, and left his widow to raise
the family and conduct the farm. The
first child, a son, died in
married Marcus NORTON, and died in
married Amasa CHAPAN, then David
CASSORT and died in town. She
has children in Illinois. Minerva
married Benjamin Sheldon Jr., and
died about 1835, in Chili, Monroe county.
Ann H. married Hiram
L. COLLINS, and died at
Pittsford, Monroe county. Lydia
married Edwin A. NORTH, and
died in E. Bloomfield, about 1865.
Terrissa is the wife of Orson
WILCOX, resident of E. Bloomfield.
All have descendants in Ontario and the west.
John B. COOLEY, the only son, was born upon the old farm in the town of Canandaigua, on February 12, 1814. We have noted the father's death, and the widow left to her own resources. She rented the farm to various parties until John B., a sturdy, self-reliant lad, had reached the age of twelve years. A tenant had just left the farm and Mrs. COOLEY was prepared to engage another, when her son proposed to undertake to carry on the farm for that season. With some doubt, the mother permitted the effort, and it was successful, and for years the land was cultivated by him. All the advantages a common school could furnish were supplied, and when he reached the age of 18, he attended the academy a year, and split rails to pay his board. During this time, his brother in law, Mr. WILCOX, rented and carried on the farm. On February 18, 1836, he was untied in marriage to Adaline COOLEY, of Attica, Wyoming county, and continued his agricultural labor. His mother, who had passed her life upon the homestead, died in 1845. The son became manager of the farm of two hundred acres, upon which he lives, some 15 years before the deed was given. He has purchased fields and sold as the opportunity presented, and has now 439 acres of choice land.
the life of farmer young, and desirous of securing form his labor the
greatest possible results, Mr. COOLEY
has learned that production bears proportion to the condition of the
soil as well as to its tillage. Stone
and stump have been entirely removed, and huge cairns evidence a
laborious task completed. Lands
are kept well manured, tools are placed in shelter, and extensive sheds
and barns house stock and hold farm products.
He has engaged in a mixed husbandry, and the failure of one crop
has been atoned by the growth of another.
Sheep raising has been and is a leading employment, and with this
has been combined wheat growing. Upon
the Cooley farm five hundred fine merino sheep have grazed at one time,
and seventy acres of wheat have ripened at a single harvest.
A fine flock of two hundred choice merinos are now upon the farm;
besides there are the best breeds of swine and valuable Durham cattle.
Upon the estate one may find all kinds of farm machinery, kept
under cover and ready in condition when required for use. Assiduous in home-work, he has combined with other leading
farmers and helped to make the Ontario Agricultural Society what it is
to-day, by membership, labor, and outlay of means.
Upon the records of the society many premiums to his credit
attest the character of his products.
He is no aspirant for political preferment, and, while Democratic
in principals, is independent in action.
He joined the Methodist Episcopal church in 1832, and has
contributed of means to the church till date.
Mr. COOLEY is of genial,
social disposition, a liberal provider, and an indulgent parent.
Desirous of securing the advantages of education to his family,
he has kept his home well supplied with many newspapers, and furnished
his children opportunity to attend to the acquisition of education.
By his first wife he had eight children, seven of whom are
living. Mrs. COOLEY died on
January 28, 1853. Francis,
born February 17, 1837, and Lucian A.,
September 16, 1838, are residents upon farms near Jackson, Michigan.
Martha Ann, born April 3,
1840, May A., June 11, 1847, and Lucius,
January 31, 1849, are living at home.
John D., born May 30, 1842, is
a farmer in East Bloomfield; and Frederick S.,
born November 17, 1844, is married and resides upon and works a part of
his father's farm. Mr.
COOLEY married on July 14, 1853, Catharine
T. BENSON, who has borne him four children, three daughters and
one son. Adaline,
born July 14, 1855, died January 9, 1860; Orion
J., born November 18, 1856; Nelly D.,
June 14, 1859; and Catharine E., June
26, 1860, make the farm their home.
The examples of history and its events fraught with truth impress
the mind, but an instance taken from the rakes of the husbandman
presenting honest independence, and how it was obtained, properly
applied, is a valuable lesson.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 43 - 44
COOLEY, Augustine S., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, July 14, 1856, a son of James S. The latter was a native of this county and came here in 1851, and, in partnership with his brother, Nathaniel, began the manufacture of agricultural implements, and established a hardware business. He had two children: Hattie M., and Augustine S., who was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and after leaving school entered the store of his father, where he has always been engaged. About 1868, Nathaniel sold his interest to his brother, and the firm was "J. S. Cooley" until 1879, when it was changed to J. S. Cooley & Son; and in 1883, A. Eugene COOLEY being added to the firm, it was changed to J. S. Cooley Son & Co., and on the death of the senior member, December 20, 1889, the firm was made A. S. & A. E. Cooley, which it has continued. They carry a complete line of general hardware, together with an extensive tin and furnace shop. Mr. COOLEY married in 1883 Harriet C., daughter of Allen REED, of Canandaigua, and they have two children: Lura Esther, and James Allen. At the time of the organization of the Canandaigua Street Railway Company in 1888, Mr. COOLEY, in company with Mr. C. F. MILLIKEN, were the first to agitate the subject and to organize the company. He has held the position of treasurer and president of the company, and he was a director from the time of its formation. He was two years secretary of the Ontario County Agricultural Society, 1882-1883. He also owns a fruit farm and is largely interested in the culture of grapes and small fruits. For the last three years his attention has been given to large investments in the Indiana natural gas fields, and is a director in the Western Improvement Company, doing business at West Muncie, Ind. Mr. COOLEY has been executor of several estates, and is now acting as trustee and treasurer for other trusts.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 231
COOLEY, A. Eugene,
Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, October 21, 1844, a son of Albert
B. COOLEY, a native of this town, and a son of Lyman,
born in this town in 1792 of old New England stock.
He had seven sons. Albert
COOLEY was born in 1814, and married Achsah
GRISWOLD, by whom he had 8 children, all now living.
A. Eugene is the oldest son, and was
educated in Canandaigua Academy. In
1862 he enlisted in the 126th N. Y.
They refused to muster him in this regiment on account of his
age, and the next August he went to Rochester and enlisted in the 4th N.
Y. Heavy Artillery, serving all through the Civil
He was wounded in 1864 at Spottsylvania, was in the hospital nine
months, and was then transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps in which
he served at Point Lookout, Md., until the close of the war, mustered
out June 29, 1865. He
returned here, finished his education, and then came into the store,
becoming a partner in 1883. He
was a director of the Canandaigua Street Railway, sanitary inspector for
the Board of Health, and while serving in this capacity was efficient in
making a change in the management of affairs that was very beneficial to
the tax payers. Mr.
COOLEY married in 1875 Mary,
daughter of William K. FOSTER, former shoe
merchant of this town.
Mr. COOLEY is a member of
Albert M. Murray Post G. A. R. No. 162, and has been adjutant for two
years. He has been deacon
of the Congregational church for four years, and was secretary of the
Ontario District Y. P. S. C. E. for the two years past.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 248
Orion J., Canandaigua, was born at his present residence November
18, 1856, a son of John B. and Catherine T.
(BENSON) COOLEY. His grandfather,
John, a native of Massachusetts, was one of the first of the
family to come here to this country. He had 7 children, two sons and five daughters.
John B., father of our subject, was
the youngest son. He was
born February 12, 1814, and always made his home in this town.
He was educated at Lima Seminary, and when 22 years of age bought
a farm of 200 acres on Lot 70 in Canandaigua, where he spent the balance
of his life. In politics he
was a Democrat. He was
twice elected commissioner of highways, and was an influential member of
the Methodist church. He
died August 23, 1880. He
was twice married; his first wife, Adelaide
COOLEY, was from Attica, and they had seven children, all but one
now living: Francis M. and Lucian A., of
Michigan; Martha A. and Mary A., of
Canandaigua; Frederick S., of Bloomfield;
and Lucina J. MORSE, of Canandaigua.
Mrs. COOLEY died about 1851, and he
married second a daughter (Catherine T.) of
Joshua BENSON, of Cayuga county, and they
had four children; three survive: Eleanor D.,
wife of William CROWLEY, of Canandaigua; Catherine
E., wife of George W. ROBINSON, of
Ogdensburg; and Orion J., our subject, who
has always lived on this, the homestead farm.
He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and became a farmer.
Mr. COOLEY and family are members of
the Methodist church, and he is a staunch Democrat, also a member of
East Bloomfield Grange. He
married, December 21, 1876, Ella M.,
daughter of Levi GIFFORD, of Canandaigua,
and they are the parents of one child, John,
now in his 10th year.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 275
Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, December 25,
1862, a son of Albert B., a farmer of this
town, who was the first to introduce the Hampshiredown sheep in this
country, which were imported from England.
The whole life of our subject has been spent in this town.
He was educated in the Canandaigua Academy, and on leaving school
in November, 1879, entered the store of his uncle, James
S. COOLEY, where he has ever since remained.
In 1892 Mr. COOLEY was elected
trustee of the village. He
is a member of the Mutual Hook & Ladder Company, and of Canandaigua
Lodge No. 245, Knights of Pythias, of which he was one of the organizers
and a charter member. Mr.
COOLEY married in 1883 Carrie A.,
daughter of W. S. TOWNSEND, of Canandaigua.
He is a supporter and Mrs. COOLEY is
a member of the Methodist church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 363
COOLEY, George B.,
Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, September 4, 1863, a son of Edgar
M. COOLEY, who was born here in 1826, a son of
Lyman COOLEY, who came to this country from Massachusetts early
in the century. Lyman
COOLEY had seven sons, of whom Edgar
was next to the youngest. Edgar
M. COOLEY at his death was a commission merchant in Canandaigua.
George B. was the only child, and
was but 7 years old when his father died.
He was educated at Walworth Academy under Prof.
leaving school he taught a short time, and in 1883 entered the office of
H. M. FIELD as clerk and law student, remaining with him until
1887, when he went into the office of Box, Norton & Bushnell at
Buffalo, as managing clerk, returning here the following year to
continue his studies with H. M. FIELD.
In September, 1889, in company with Albert
B. SACKETT, established the reporting, typewriting and copying
office in the Atwater block, which they still conduct.
In March, 1892, Mr. COOLEY was
nominated on the republican ticket for town clerk, and elected without
opposition, re-elected in 1893, admitted to the bar in March, 1893.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 49
COOLIDGE, Charles, Phelps, one of two children living of Ahio and Elizabeth (EASTMAN) COOLIDGE (the mother being Mary), was born in Litchfield, Herkimer county, January 31, 1847. The father, Ahio COOLIDGE, was also born in Herkimer county, removing to Phelps in May, 1866, where he is still living at the age of 83 years. The mother, Elizabeth EASTMAN, was born in Connecticut. Her father, Benjamin, was one of the "Boston tea party" as was also Warren COOLIDGE, the grandfather. The COOLIDGE family were established in the Massachusetts colony, at an early day. Mr. COOLIDGE's farm of forty acres is used for fruit and vegetables, where he also raises seed for seedsman. For many years he has been interested in improving fruits, vegetables and poultry, of which latter he has some very fine specimens. He has also been interested in Grange matters, and was influential in the formation of the Grange in Phelps.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 50 - 51
COONS, J. P., Naples, was born in Penn Yan, Yates county, May 1, 1837, a son of Philip COONS, and moved to Naples in 1840. The subject was educated at Naples district school. At the age of 21, he commenced learning the carpenter and building trade. He worked first with R. T. PORTER of Naples, and the second year entered into partnership with him, continuing only one year when he branched out for himself and has been engaged at the business in the village since. He has never taken much interest in politics. In 1891 he was elected excise commissioner. Mr. COONS has been married three times, first to Frances VINCENT of Watkins, Schuyler county, and they have one daughter: Cora F. His second wife was Antoinette MAXFIELD, daughter of Elias MAXFIELD of Naples. His present wife was Mary J. BOWLS, daughter of James BOWLS of Naples.
of Ontario County, NY and Its People, pub.1911, Vol. II, pg. 113
America, as has
been frequently remarked, is the home of self-made men, and in no line
is this trait so apparent and so beneficial to the country at large,
as in the agricultural field. It would seem as if in this branch the
very best that is in a man is brought to the surface, for the very
freedom which surrounds these workers, enables their natural abilities
to develop to the fullest and best extent. One of the finest specimens
of this sort of manhood, is to be found in the person of Louis
A COOPER, manager of the Geneva Automobile Company, of Geneva,
Ontario county, New York.
father of Louis A. COOPER, was a
resident of Phelps, New York, where he was engaged in farming during
the active years of his life. He was born in 1815, died in 1894, and
was esteemed by all in the community for the faithful performance of
those duties, which fell to his lot. He married Elizabeth
PIERCE, born in Geneva, New York, 1836, died in 1903.
A., son of William
E. and Elizabeth (PIERCE) COOPER, was born in the town of
Phelps, Ontario county, New York, September 23, 1871. He attended the
district school at Oak Corners, then the Geneva high school, and in
all his leisure moments was obliged to assist wit the farm labors. At
an early age he was compelled to work for his own subsistence, the
work for which he seemed to be best fitted at the time being that of
farming, and to this he devoted himself. He was prudent and
economical, and by means of his thrift was enabled, in 1903, to
combine the produce business with his farming. His venture being a
successful one, he formed a connection with the Geneva Automobile
Company in 1909, becoming the manager of the company, in addition to
retaining his farming interests. Both of these ventures are in a
promising condition, and there is the best outlook for a prosperous
future. While he has taken no very active part in the political
affairs of the county, Mr. COOPER
has always been a staunch supporter of the republican party, and has
given due consideration to all matters concerning the welfare and
improvement of the community. He and his wife are members of the North
Presbyterian Church, and he is a Mason, a Knights Templar and a member
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.
married, June 20, 1894, Mabel B., born
at the Barron homestead in Geneva, New York,
September 9, 1872, daughter of William and Mary
J. (TAYLOR) BARRON, granddaughter of Thomas
BARRON, and great-grand-daughter of William
BARRON, who purchase land from the Indians, and was one of the
first settlers in Geneva. This land has now been in the possession of
the family since 1800, the farm consisting of 130, devoted principally
to the cultivation of fruit trees. The dwelling house, built of cobble
stones, was erected by his grandfather, Thomas
BARRON. William BARRON JR. was born in the town of Seneca,
Ontario county, New York, in September 1828, and died in 1908, one of
the most prominent citizens of Geneva. He was a member of the
Presbyterian Church, and a Democrat, and he married Mary
J. TAYLOR, who was born in 1829. (NOTE: William E. died
Apr 12, 1894 and buried in Oak Lawn Cemetery in Phelps. Cemetery has
dates for his wife, Elizabeth as 1831 - July 16, 1898)
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 44
Clifton Springs, was born in New Hampshire, January 30, 1834. He
received an academic education, and after farming and teaching school
for several years, enlisted in 1862, August 7, in the 126th N. Y.
Vols. He was shortly afterward detailed to do clerical work in
the office at Camp Convalescent, Va., and during the last six months
of his service was chief clerk of the Soldiers' Rest, Alexandria, VA.
After receiving his discharge at close of the Civil
War, he immediately
returned to Clifton Springs and established a boot and shoe store, to
which he shortly added groceries and glassware. His health failing he
sold out, and after a time established a coal, lumber, grain and
produce business, also became connected with the Clifton Springs
Manufacturing Company. He has held the office of president,
secretary and treasurer. This concern manufacturers anti-rusting
tinware and tin specialties, employing seventy-five hands. Mr.
COPP married Mary E. SPALSBURY,
daughter of Dr. SPALSBURY. They
have no family. Mr. COPP is a
member of the G. A. R., and steward and treasurer of the M. E. Church.
of Ontario County, NY and Its People, pub.1911, Vol. II, pg. 107
secretary and manager of the Geneva Brewing Company, appears to be one
of those fortunate individuals, the right man in the right place, if
we may judge the results he has achieved in the industry with which he
has been connected for a number of years. He has inherited, and
understands how to make the best use of, the admirable traits which
have descended to him form his English and Scotch ancestry, and to
these he as added the best that is to be found in our own country.
Both his grandfather and father were brewers and it seemed but natural
that he should adopt the same calling. He has made a thorough study of
the art, practically and scientifically, in Canada, the United Stated
and in Australia, and is considered by competent judges a master in
was born in Toronto, Canada, December 25, 1864. His school education
was a sound and practical one, fitted to the line of work he intended
to follow in later life. He was an apt student when he applied himself
to learning the art of brewing, and mastered the details with such
celerity that at the age of seventeen years he was made the manager of
a brewery in Canada; he has been connected with this industry without
intermission since that time. He has traveled all over Canada and the
United Stated, examining the different methods in use in the various
cities and establishments, and has adopted the best details of each
plant he has visited. He finally located in Ogdensburg, New York, and
in 1909 associated himself with a Geneva Brewing Company, of Geneva,
New York incorporated with a capital of $50,000 dollars. The
officers of the company are: A.M. CURTISS,
president; Coleman CURTISS,
vice-president; Charles G. CURTISS,
treasurer; and William A. CORNELL,
secretary and manager. Mr. CORNELL
personally supervises all the brewing which is done by this
corporation, and this is an enormous quantity. The water used is drawn
from the Seneca Lake through their own pipe line, and it is purified
on the premises, the plant having its own purifying apparatus. This
water is used also for the purpose of cleaning the bottles, kegs,
etc., in use by the company, thus making an absolutely sanitary and healthful
product. The company has its own malting houses in Buffalo,
New York, known as the Curtiss Malting Company, of Buffalo. The
machinery and all the apparatus used in the brewery are of the most
modern and improved design and the brewery has a daily refrigerating
capacity of thirty tons. The plant may be considered as up-to-date in
every particular, and the officers are constantly observant of every
new invention in connection with their line of business and give it a
fair and impartial trial; if it then proves practical it is
immediately installed. The entire plant covers an area of three acres
of land and every department is managed in the most systematic manner.
little time at his disposal to devote to political matters, but he
takes a reasonable interest in whatever concerns the welfare of his
town and country and gives his support to the Democratic party. His
religious affiliations are with the Episcopal Church, and he is a
member of the Masonic fraternity, the Kanadasaga Club, the Country
Club of Geneva, and the Century Club of Ogdensburg, New York. He
married in Brockville, Canada, February 11, 1903, Ada
L. BROWN, of that city, one of the first manages of the Rome,
Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad, which ran out of Ogdensburg, and
a railroad manager all his life.
of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 151 - 152
the early history of England when tribal names were used, and just
about the time that family names were adopted, certain tribes crossed
a small stream known as Corn river or creek, and upon the adoption of
names this family were called Corn-ford from the ford or said river.
As a rule English families arriving in this country at a comparatively
recent date possess but little knowledge concerning their genealogy.
The CORNFORD family, however, is an
exception and has kindly furnished its line of descent, covering a
period of nearly one hundred and fifty years.
in England, December 24, 1762, was married, April 16, 1793, to Margaret
PATTERSON, who was born February 16, 1774, died in 1854.
Their children were: 1. Mary
Ann, born February 6, 1794. 2.
Thomas, see forward. 3.
John, December 25, 1798. 4.
Margaret, June 29, 1801. 5.
Ann Elizabeth, March 10, 1804. 6.
David, September 6, 1806. 7.
Jane, June 6, 1808. 8.
William, July 10, 1810. 9.
James, March 12, 1815.
( II ) Thomas ( 2 ), eldest son of Thomas ( 1
) and Margaret ( PATTERSON ) CORNFORD, was born in England,
September 20, 1796. He married Urina
HARMER, and they came to America in 1835. In order to
show their respect and admiration for the land of their adoption, they
named their two youngest sons, who were born in this country, in honor
of two of the most illustrious figures in American history.
Children: 1. Sylvan,
born July 2, 1819. 2.
David, June 26, 1821. 3. Thomas,
April 2, 1823. 4. Mary
Ann, August 31, 1825. 5.
Margaret, October 30, 1828. 6.
Jonathan, December 19, 1830. 7. Julianna,
January 5, 1833. 8. William
H., see forward. 9. George Washington, April 22,
1838. 10. Benjamin
Franklin, June 30, 1840.
( III ) William H., fourth son of Thomas
and Urina (HARMER) CORNFORD, was born in England, September 8,
1835. He accompanied his parents to America, in early childhood,
began the activities of life as a carpenter's apprentice and having
learned that trade he followed it as a journeyman in Phelps for some
time. At the breaking-out of the Civil War
in 1861, he went to
the front with the 76th Regiment, New York Volunteers, and after
completing his first term of service he reenlisted in the 9th
Michigan Volunteers, with which he served until the close of the war.
In 1868 he removed from Phelps to the state of Michigan, locating
first in Hudson and later in Birch Run, Saginaw county, where he
settled at a pioneer farmer. The primitive log cabin in which he
had domiciled his family was subsequently burned, and returning to
Phelps in 1871, he resided there until his death, which occurred
October 3, 1909. He was a past commander of the local Grand Army
post, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married
Catharine, daughter of William
CHANDLER. Children: William H., mentioned below; Hiram E.,
Milton, Nellie, Kate, Allen R. and Mae (twins), and Edith.
( IV ) William H. ( 2 ), son of William
H. ( 1 ) and Catharine ( CHANDLER )
CORNFORD, was born in Phelps, June 15, 1859. He was
educated in the district schools and in his boyhood he shared with his
parents the hardships of a pioneer's life in Michigan. Upon his
return to Phelps he assisted his father in farming for a number of
years, and eventually pursued that calling upon his own account.
For a period of 6 years he carried on a farm upon a sharing basis.
About 1889 he removed to the village, and for the ensuing 5 years was
employed as a clerk in a dry-goods store. In 1894 he purchased
the saddlery business hitherto conducted by R. Rice and Sons, and has
ever since been engaged successfully in that line of trade. In
1901 he was appointed a justice of the peace to fill a vacancy, in
Victor, and through successive reelections has retained that office to
the present time. He is prominently identified with the
Methodist Episcopal church, and in addition to serving as trustee and
treasurer for the past ten years, he is actively interested in
forwarding its charitable and benevolent work.
married, December 12, 1878, to Miss Helen
LOVERIDGE. They have one son,
Enoch Marsh, born May 13, 1880, and is now engaged in the
business with his father.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 51
Phelps, whose ancestors are traced back to the Huguenots of France,
was born in Junius, Seneca county, February 13, 1832. His father
was also named David COSAD, and was
born in New Jersey. He died in 1886 at the age of 83 years.
His wife was Martha (YURY) COSAD.
The grandfather was Samuel COSAD of
New Jersey, who came to New York in early life, where he died at the
age of 99 years, his sister dying at 98.
David COSAD married first in 1863 Sarah
CLARK of Sodus. She died in 1874 leaving one son, Willis
G. The latter was educated at the University of Yale
where he graduated in 1888. Willis G.
COSAD studied law in the office of Judge
HALSEY of Norwich, Conn., and is now with the firm of
Cadwallader, Strong & Co. 36 Wall street, New York. Mr.
D. COSAD was again married in 1876 to Hattie,
daughter of William YOUNG of Lyons.
He came to Phelps in 1865 and bought the farm of 125 acres on which he
now lives. He makes a specialty of hop and fruit culture, having
an orchard of seven acres with 25 acres of vineyard; his new
packing-house being notable in this region for the completeness of its
appointments. He is one of the representative public-spirited
citizens of the town. He has served as supervisor of the town,
has also been elected and served as member of assembly for this
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 40
Canandaigua, was born in Manchester, Ontario county, November 21,
1831. Jacob, the grandfather,
was a native of Maryland, born in Frederick county, May 17, 1773, and
married May 20, 1802, Mary CON.
They came to Ontario county and settled in Manchester, where they had
six children, Elizabeth, Mary, Lucretia,
wife of Richard SHECKEL of Hopewell; Henry,
a resident of Rochester; and John, a
retired farmer of Clifton Springs. Jacob
died September 30, 1843. Jesse,
the oldest son, and father of our subject, was born in Manchester
November 23, 1805. He was a Whig until the division of the Whig
party, then became a Democrat. In 1854 he was elected
assemblyman to represent the eastern district, and served as a member
of several important committees. In 1869 he moved to
Canandaigua, where he died February 27, 1888. He married April
2, 1829, Cynthia Orme BAGGERLY of
Manchester, and they had two children: Addie
Cordelia, wife of William CASSORT, a
farmer of Canandaigua, and Thomas H.
The early life of the latter was spent in Hopewell. He was
educated in Canandaigua Academy and at Lima Seminary, and followed
farming in Hopewell until 1865, when he spent a year in Clifton
Springs, 2 years traveling, and settled on his present farm in 1868.
This is a farm of 190 acres on lot 104, where Mr.
COST has erected a beautiful residence and made many
improvements. He is a Democrat, and in 1881 was elected
supervisor. He has always been assessor three years. He
was for many years a director of the Ontario County National Bank
until they closed business, and has for 14 years been a trustee of the
Presbyterian church. He married, February 18, 1858, Mary
J., daughter of Gerrit DEBOW,
of Farmington. They have an adopted daughter, Ida
H., who is now attending school.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 276
Edward J., Farmington,
is a son of Jeremiah B., who was born
August 17, 1814, in Farmington. He was educated in the common
schools of his day and was a farmer until he retired. His son, Edward
J., now has charge of the farm. February 19, 1845, he
married Sally M. CHEESEBORO, of this
town. They had ten children, of whom seven survive: Mary
J., William, Edward J. and Edwin B. (twins),
Eliza A. and Louisa (twins), and Charles
T. & Almira, Jeremiah and a son
who died in infancy. Mr. COTTON's
father, Isaac, was born in New Jersey
about the year of 1785, and married Charity
B. BENNETT, of his native State, and came to this State about
the year 1811. They had 7 children:
Nathaniel, Susan, Jeremiah B., Ann, Matilda, Isaac, Leonard.
Edward J. was born on the old homestead January 8, 1845.
He was educated in the common schools and Macedon Academy, January 17,
1863, he enlisted in Co. M, 16th Heavy Artillery N. Y. S.
and was honorably discharged at the close of the
Civil war. Jeremiah B. COTTON will be 79 years old if he lives until August
17, 1893. His wife died March 12, 1881. His grandfather, Jeremiah
BENNETT, on the maternal side, was a soldier in the
Revolutionary War. Edward J. COTTON's
great-grandfather on the paternal side came from England.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 284-285
COTTRELL, William N.,
West Bloomfield, was born in 1832.
His father, George, came to
this town from Rhode Island about 1817, and married Betsey
SHEPARD, also of West Bloomfield.
Of their four children only George
Henry, born in 1829, and William N. are
George H. married Mary
A. PLYMPTON, whose father, Moses, was
born in Medway, Mass., in 1786, and came here with his wife and
ten children in 1812, and was fife-major in the
War of 1812.
William N. was educated at
Lima Seminary and has followed farming.
He was born where his brother George
now resides, and married in 1861 Ruth N.
MILLINGTON, who died nine years later, leaving two
children, Nellie S. and George D.
Mr. COTTRELL married again in 1872 Maria
E. CHAPIN, daughter of Rev. Asa
CHAPIN. He is
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 284
Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, January 10, 1834, a son of George
COUCH, who was born in Connecticut, February 24, 1793, a
native of Connecticut, who came in 1815 to Hopewell, where he
died. He went to
Ovid, Seneca county, when a young man.
He owned a boat on Cayuga Lake at one time, transporting
goods to various towns along the lake and Mohawk River.
In the War of 1812 he was a volunteer, afterwards serving
as a substitute in the artillery.
At the close of the war he took a boat load of salt on the
Oswego River and Great Lakes to Grand River, Mich., transporting
in wagons around Niagara Falls.
The Indians took his cargo up the Grand River, where he
disposed of it and returned to Ovid.
Returning to Michigan the next summer, he was taken ill and
was cured by a squaw, who told him if he would accompany her to
Pennsylvania she would show him a silver mine there.
This he refused to do, but afterwards found that such a
mine did really exist. Mr.
COUCH married Mahala NICHOLS,
of Ballston, Dutchess county, by whom he had these children: Lucinda,
born August 15, 1818; Stephen, born
October 19, 1819; Amanda, born
November 1, 1821; George, born
December 21, 1823; Eliza, born
October 23, 1829; Maria, born March
6, 1831, died October 18, 1888; and Charles,
born June 10, 1834. In
1819 Mr. COUCH came to Hopewell.
He was a carpenter by trade, following same most of his
life. He gave the land on which the church at Emery
CHAPEL was built. He
died July 23, 1880, and his wife April 27, 1873.
Charles COUCH married, March
4, 1867, Harriet WOODS, born at Flint
Creek, Seneca county, by whom he had two daughters, Lulu
M., born December 18, 1868, died March 24, 1886, and Carrie
E., born May 15, 1870.
His wife died April 20, 1877, and he married second Annie
(CASE) SHOEMAKER, daughter of Nelson
S. and Sarah (CHAPIN) CASE, of Canandaigua.
Mrs. COUCH has one son, Ray
C., by her first husband.
Mr. COUCH is a
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 283
Patrick, Geneva, was born in Ireland, about twenty miles
from Dublin, in 1815. In
1847 he emigrated to this country and settled at Geneva, where he
engaged in the produce business and afterward in the grocery
business. In 1864 he
built a large tannery on Exchange street and carried on that
business until his death, February 24, 1879.
He married Mary LAUGHRAN, and
they had six children, of whom but two are two living: Thomas
and Stephen. The
latter was born September 28, 1846, and attended the village
school. He graduated
from the Walnut Hill School, then engaged in business with his
father. He built the
Geneva Flouring Mills in 1877 and has operated them ever since.
He deals largely in wool, buying as high as 200,000 lbs.
per year. He has been
village and town assessor, is a Democrat, and takes an active part
in political affairs. He
is owner of the celebrated Geneva Spring.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 230
M. D., Nelson D., Geneva, was born in the town of Ovid,
Seneca county, January 22, 1840.
He received his early education at the Seneca Collegiate
Institute preparatory to the study of medicine.
He graduated from the Cleveland Homoeopathic Medical
College in the spring of 1862.
He first began practice in Fentonville, Mich., and in
September, 1864, came to Geneva where he entered into partnership
with Dr. H. L. EDDY, which continued
for two years. Since
that period he has continued business for himself at his present
location. He is a
member of the Ontario County Homoeopathic Medical Society, the
State State Homoeopathic Medical Society, which at its annual
meeting in Albany in February, 1891, conferred an honorary degree
upon him, called the "Regent's Degree."
He is also a member of the National Society, The American
Institute of Homoeopathy and Ophthalmologic and Otological
Society. He has held
the office of coroner for two terms, and health officer of the
village for several years, and was instrumental in having the
sewerage commission appointed whose duty it is to provide survey
plans and maps for a complete system of sewerage for the village
of Geneva. He is also
president of the People's Building and Loan Association of this
village, one of the largest doing business in this State.
He with his family attends the Baptist Church and have been
closely identified with every advance the church has made during
the past 25 years.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II. pg. 104 - 106
Dr. Jay Byington COVERT,
one of the leading physicians of Geneva, Ontario county, New York,
while still young in years, has already attained a foremost rank
in the medical profession. His
quick perception, sound judgment and thorough training, command
the respect and confidence of all who know him, and he is held in
the highest estimation by his fellow citizens.
The fact is amply evidenced in the record of his daily
life. He has devoted
his life to a noble profession, and in all professions, but more
especially in the medical, there are exalted heights to which
genius itself dares scarcely aspire, and which can only be gained
by long years of patient, arduous and unremitting toil, and
inflexible and unfaltering courage.
To this eminence Dr. COVERT
has risen, and we feel confident that this opinion will be
sustained by his professional brethren, the best standard of
Dr. Nelson B. COVERT,
father of Dr. Jay Byington COVERT,
was born in the town of Ovid, Seneca county, New York, January 22,
1840, and died at Geneva, New York, in November, 1908, at which
time he was the oldest physician in the town.
During his earlier years he attended the common schools,
and was prepared for college at the Seneca Collegiate Institution
at Ovid. He then
became a student at Cleveland Homoeopathic College, from which he
was graduated in the class of 1862.
He began the practice of his profession in Fentonville,
Michigan, but in September, 1864, he removed to Geneva, New York,
where he became associated in practice with Dr.
H. L. EDDY, the father of Dr. H. D.
association was discontinued at the expiration of two years, when
Dr. COVERT established himself in independent practice.
This he continued uninterruptedly for a long period of 45 years, and his reputation as an excellent practitioner
spread far and wide. He
was one of the leading physicians in Geneva, and was frequently
called into consultation by his colleagues.
He was always one of the prime factors to be reckoned with
in any movement to advance the standing or interests of the
medical profession in the town, and whenever a project was
suggested for the improvement of the health of the community, Dr.
COVERT was surely to be found in the van.
During the earlier days of his professional career in
Geneva, he filled the office of coroner for two terms, and for
several years was the health officer of the city. The appointment of a sewerage commission for the city was
largely owing to the personal efforts of Dr.
COVERT, the duties of this commission consisting of
providing maps and plans for a complete system of sewerage for the
town of Geneva, according to the most modern and approved methods.
In the preliminary arrangements which resulted in the
opening of the General City Hospital in 1898,
Dr. COVERT was the leading spirit, an ardent supporter of
the institution, and an indefatigable worker in its interests.
He was one of the most valuable members of the medical
staff of the hospital until the time of his death, and his loss
was a severe blow to the institution.
The name of Dr. COVERT was
familiar in professional circles throughout the United States, and
he was a member of the following named organizations:
Ontario Homoeopathic Medical Society; New York State
Homoeopathic Medical Society, which, at its annual meeting in
Albany in February, 1891, conferred upon him the honorary degree
known as the "Regents' Degree"; National Medical
Society; American Institute of Homoeopathy; Ophthalmologic and
Otological Society. Dr. COVERT
was an active worker in religious matters.
As a member of the First Baptist Church of Geneva, shortly
after coming to this town, he was chosen superintendent of the
Sunday school connected with that institution, when the entire
organization did not number more than twenty-five members.
From this small beginning he built up the present
efficiency of the congregation, and continued to fill the office
of superintendent for a period of 25 years.
When the project of erecting a new church building was
first under discussion, Dr. COVERT
devoted a large share of his time, and contributed liberally of
his means to further this enterprise, and to him, in association
with a few others, is due the credit of the completion of the
structure in 1894. He
was also especially active and interested in organizing the Covert
Family Organization, which took shape in 1875, and he was always
one of the leaders in the family reunions. He was elected the first president of this association, and
at the end of the first year of its existence, he was chosen to
fill the office of recording secretary, a position he held until
his death. As
president of the People's Building & Loan Association, a
former savings institution of Geneva, he was at the head of one of
the largest and most important institutions of its kind and of its
day in the state of New York.
It will thus be seen that the life of Dr.
COVERT was an unusually active one, and that his
enterprises were of such a nature as to add to the general health,
wealth and welfare of the community in which he lived.
Dr. Jay Byington COVERT,
worthy son of a worthy father, has been consistently following in
the path so nobly trodden by the latter.
He was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, June 18,
1875, and from his earliest years the medical profession seemed to
exert a fascination for him. After being graduated from the Geneva high school, he entered
Hobart College, from which he was graduated in 1898.
He then matriculated at the College of Physicians and
Surgeons, Columbia University, New York, and was graduated in 1902
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine.
After two years spent as resident physician in the Smith
Infirmary, Staten Island, New York, he returned to Geneva and
commenced practicing in association with his father.
His office is the one occupied by his father for so many
years, and while his attention is given to general practice, he
devotes especial attention to diseases affecting the eye, ear and
throat. Having given
special study to these branches, he has attained a high degree of
proficiency, and his services are frequently in demand by his
naturally of a social nature and genial disposition, Dr.
COVERT spends the greater part of his spare time in the
reading of professional publications, holding the opinion that a
physician's life must necessarily be one of constant study and
application if a high degree of proficiency is to be maintained
and new methods absorbed. In
addition to his private practice he is the active president of the
medical staff of the Geneva City Hospital.
On political questions he maintains independent views,
although he has never aspired to holding any public office,
preferring to give his undivided attention to his chosen
fraternal affiliations are as follows:
Theta Delta Chi of Hobart College; Benevolent and
Protective Order of Elks, No. 1054; Kanadasaga Club; University
Club of Geneva; Ontario County Medical Society; New York State
Medical Association; and the National Association for the Study
and Prevention of Tuberculosis.
He is liberal and charitable, and a man of many kindly
impulses, and these admirable traits, together with his pleasing
personality, attract people to him.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911,
Vol II, pg. 373 - 376
Among the Scotish-Irish who came to this country in
1718 and the years following in great numbers, were several of the
name, variously spelled COE, COY, COYE,
COHEE, COWEE, and the variants still exists in different
branches of the same family.
The name COEY is found in
Antrim and Down counties of Ulster, Ireland, whence the immigrants
came to this country. Although
the families are called Scotch-Irish, it is believed that the
origin of the family is really English, and that COE
is the common
English spelling in recent years.
But possibly the family belongs to the COWIE
family of Buckie, Scotland, the surname being taken from COWIE,
an ancient fishing village (pg. 390, Vol II, Hanna's
I ) Nehemiah COYE or COY (which at
first was the more common spelling), was of Scotch ancestry, and
settled in Windham county, Connecticut, probably as early as 1735.
The "History of Union" says he came from
Scotland, but it is practically certain that he came from Scotch
ancestry that had been for a few generations, at least, in the
north of Ireland.
( II ) Nehemiah Mark, son of Nehemiah
COYE, was born before 1720, doubtless in the north of
Ireland, and came with his father to Windham county, Connecticut.
He lived in Pomfret, Connecticut, removed with various
other Scotch-Irish families to Union, Connecticut, where they were
near their kindred in Brimfield, Palmer and Pelham, Massachusetts.
He bought land at Union, April 6, 1749, of Samuel
married (first) Sarah CHURCH,
(second) Mary BUCK.
was a soldier in the Revolution; Amasa,
died November 6, 1776; Archibald,
mentioned below; Abigail; Margaret; Mary,
( III ) Archibald, son of
Nehemiah Mark COYE, was born May 6, 1741, and died at
Union, April 19, 1794, aged 52 years.
He settled in Union, and became a prominent citizen and
town officer. From
this family comes the name of Coye Hill in Union.
He was a soldier in the Revolution, a
sergeant in the Union
company that turned out on the Lexington alarm under Captain Thomas
LAWSON. He married, December 25, 1760, Elizabeth,
daughter of Daniel BADGER Jr.
She died May 28, 1808, aged 66 years.
Perley, born June 28,
1861, died in the service, in the Revolution,
1776??; Levi, March 31, 1763; Luke,
mentioned below; Chloe, December 25,
1766; Rufus, November 26, 1768; Molly,
February 5, 1770; David, March 2,
1772; Irene Kinney, June 3, 1775; Abigail,
January 25, 1778; Nehemiah, March 5,
1780; Elizabeth, May 31, 1782.
( IV ) Luke, son of Archibald
COYE, was born at Union, Connecticut, January 27, 1765.
He died February 16, 1859.
He married, in 1786, Sebra CHAPMAN,
of Ashford, Connecticut. She
died in April, 1799. He
married, in the autumn following, Mercy
resided in Ashford until about 1817, when he settled in Ontario
county, New York. His
second wife's family of Rensselaerville, New York, though they
were married by Solomon WALES, Esq.,
a justice of the peace of Union, Connecticut.
A letter written to Luke COYE
by his brother Rufus, from Ashford,
Connecticut, is in the possession of Elmer
N. COYE of Naples, mentioned below.
It is dated November 5, 1796, and relates to family affairs
of that time. Luke
was then living in Ashford.
Elmer N. COYE is now living on
the Luke COYE farm, which was cleared
before 1817 in Naples, Ontario county.
( V ) Nathan H., son of Luke
COYE, was born May 22, 1817, in Naples, New York; died
April 6, 1859. He had
the homestead at South Bristol.
He married, February 24, 1842, Lydia
L. BROWN, born June 8, 1819, died June 14, 1897, daughter
of Joseph and Sarah (BROWNE) BROWN.
Her father was born in Stonington, Connecticut, September
18, 1788, and died July 17, 1875.
He lived at Bristol, New York.
Her mother was born August 10, 1794, and died at Coxsackie,
New York, November 4, 1886.
Elmer N. COYE has a
book which his great-grandfather, Luke COYE,
bought in Rensselaerville, New York, in 1799, costing forty-six
cents, containing a receipt from Israel
WALKER for one pound twelve shillings, under date of 1796.
Thomas BROWN, father of
Joseph, was born in Connecticut, April 28, 1754; married
there, June 1, 1776, Caty COOPER, and
settled at Stonington, Connecticut, where they lived until
December 1788, when they moved to Washington county, New York, and
lived until 1796. Then
they came to Herkimer county, New York, and resided until about
1830, when they moved to the north part of the state, near the
Black River; in 1834 they moved again to South Bristol, Ontario
county, New York, and lived with their sons, Warren
Joseph and Denison, one year with each.
Thomas BROWN died in
1848, his wife in 1846. The
mother of Caty (COOPER) BROWN was a
sister of Governor HANCOCK of New
BROWN was a soldier in the Revolution, in 1775, in Captain Samuel
PRENTICE'S company, enlisting May 8, 1775, discharged
December 17, 1774, (see Conn. Rev. Rolls, p. 74).
Nathan H. COYE
were members of the Christian church.
He was a farmer at South Bristol all his active life.
Children of Nathan H. and Lydia L.
Almina L., born May 3,
1843, died October 15, 1852; Sabina E.,
born January 12, 1845, died October 24, 1852;
Ella I., born September 25, 1846, died October 18, 1852;
Milo J., born August 15, 1848, died October 20, 1852;
Irene E., September 18, 1850, died October 17, 1852; Elmer
N., 1853, mentioned below; Elma E., born
October 1, 1857, died April 8, 1858.
( VI ) Elmer Nathan, son of Nathan
H. COYE, was born at South Bristol, New York, two miles
from Bristol Springs (North) Cheshire, October 22, 1853.
He attended the public schools of his native town, and was
for four terms a student in the Naples Academy.
He has devoted his energies mainly to farming on the
homestead at South Bristol, where his grandfather, Luke
COYE, first made his home.
The farm is in sight of Canandaigua Lake, and beautifully
located with respect to scenery.
Mr. COYE has made the
cultivation of grapes, berries and other fruits a specialty.
At the Pan-American Exposition at Buffalo he received a
silver medal for grapes. He
is progressive, enterprising and prosperous, keeping up with the
advance in horticulture and agriculture, and taking advantage in
good season of new methods and apparatus.
He is a staunch Republican, and is active and influential
in his party councils. He
was elected supervisor of the town of South Bristol in 1893, and
again in 1909. He has
been assessor for three terms, a period of nine years; collector
of taxes two terms; highway commissioner three years; justice of
the peace four years. He
is a member of John Hodge Lodge, No. 815, Free and Accepted
Masons; of the K. O. T. M., No. 197, of Bristol Springs, and has
been commander and record keeper of the K. O. T. M. since 1893;
and of Academy Grange, Patrons of Husbandry.
He and his family belong to the Bristol Springs Union
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 44
COYKENDALL, Charles A., Canadice, was born in Yates county, October 16, 1830. When he was 2 years of age his father, Jotham, moved with his family to this town. His grandfather, Emanuel, came from New Jersey to Yates county at an early day. Jotham was born in 1805, and married in 1826 Maria HAYNES, of Starkey, Yates county, who bore him 11 children, as follows: Lydia, born in 1828; Charles, born in 1830; Coe, born in 1833; Mary, born in 1835; Squire, born in 1836, died in 1844; Jotham, born in 1838; Arnold G., born in 1847; Sarah, born in 1841; Phila A., born in 1845; Squire, born in 1849; and Isaac W., born in 1852. Jotham was assessor for many years, and died in 1888, his wife dying four years earlier. His son Charles was educated at the district schools and remained at his father's home until after 21 years of age, then went to Ohio and worked at jobbing on a railroad and farming two years. He returned to Canadice, and in 1857 married Mary E. PULVER, daughter of Henry W. and Mary (NORTHRUP) PULVER, who were early settlers of this town, her father coming from Kinderhook, where he was a schoolmate of Martin VAN BUREN, and her mother from Saratoga county. Mr. COYKENDALL has one daughter, Flora, born March 20, 1866, wife of Dr. W. D. BECKER, Jr., both graduates of the Normal School of Geneseo, class of 1887. Dr. BECKER is also a graduate of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York. Miss COYKENDALL accepted a position as preceptress of the Union School at Livonia, where she remained three years, Dr. BECKER being in New York. They have one child, Ruth L. E. born in 1892. Mr. COYKENDALL is a farmer on the old place, owning 128 acres and farming 228. He has recently introduced Dakota spring rye, of which he has grown 449 bushels from twenty-seven bushels sown. He is a republican.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 50
COYKENDALL, Coe Haynes, Canadice, son of Jotham, was born February 20, 1833, where he now resides. He worked on the farm until he married in 1854 Caroline S. PURCELL, daughter of John and Almira (HUBBARD) PURCELL, the former born in Hunterdon county, NJ, and the latter in Washington county, NY. Mr. PURCELL settled in 1824 in Richmond, coming with his father, Benjamin, and Mrs. PURCELL came with her father, Solomon HUBBARD, in 1813 to Gorham, and later to Canadice. Mr. and Mrs. COYKENDALL have had five children: George H., born in 1856, now a farmer in Lima; Frank H., born in 1857, also a farmer; Everett E., born in 1861, a street car conductor in Rochester; Grant S., born in Michigan in 1865, resides with his parents, and John P., who was born here in 1873 and is now in school. In 1864 Mr. COYKENDALL went to Michigan, where he remained four years, then returned and settled on the old homestead which was built by his father in 1849, and has been repaired by Coe H. The latter has been highway commissioner and collector. He is a Populist in politics. He owns 150 acres of land and is engaged in general farming.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 280
COYLE, Charles M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, December 11, 1847, where he has always lived, except three years (1865-68) spent in Rochester. In 1870 he engaged in the grocery and liquor business here under the firm name of C. & P. Coyle, the latter being a cousin, who in 1877 withdrew from the firm, and Charles conducted the business alone for three years. He was then joined by Thomas P., making the firm Coyle Bros., which it still remains. In 1887 they added to their business the wholesale and retail dealing in tobacco and smokers' articles. In 1877 Mr. COYLE was elected village treasurer, and in 1890 trustee, which office he still holds.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 52
CRAFT, Silas G., Gorham, a native of Seneca, was born August 5, 1817, a son of Thomas, a native of New Pans, NY, who came to Seneca when a young man, and there married Martha GLANN, by whom he had three sons and one daughter. Mrs. CRAFT died in 1820, and he married second Derinda POLMATEER, by whom he had six children. He died in Michigan in 1870. Silas G. married December 8, 1842, Lydia W. MELLEN, a native of Massachusetts, born March 25, 1823. She was a daughter of Collister and Lucinda (DENHAM) MELLEN, natives of Massachusetts, the former born March 27, 1798. They were married, December 8, 1822, and had a son and a daughter. In 1823 they went to Gorham and settled on the farm where subject now resides. He (Collister) was assessor and superintendent of the poor 17 years. He was very liberal in all public enterprises, and died in Gorham, September 23, 1860. His wife died March 21, 1879. Lucinda DENHAM was a daughter of Cornelius and Lydia (WELLS) DENHAM, natives of Massachusetts. Mr. DENHAM died in 1829, and his wife in 1848. Subject and wife have two sons, Collister F., born November 15, 1844; and Charles B., born October 21, 1848. The former was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and July 20, 1866, married Estelle COLE, a native of Michigan, by whom he had four children: Byron L., who was educated in Canandaigua Academy and is at present a graduate of the Medical University of Buffalo, and in the practice of his profession; George H., who was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and is in the Medical University of Buffalo; Lula A., a teacher, educated in Geneseo Normal School; and Nellie, educated in Canandaigua Union School, also a teacher. Collister F. CRAFT learned the drug business in Medina, and afterwards went to Quincy, Mich., where he was in business for himself several years. He returned to Gorham, and in 1887 he engaged in the insurance business, and has been very successful. He represents the "American," of Philadelphia; "Royal," of Liverpool; and Caledonian" of Scotland; the "Aeneta Live Stock," of Glens Falls, and "Security Mutual Life Association," of Binghamton. He also deals in real estate. Mrs. CRAFT is a daughter of Lyman and Julia (SHERMAN) COLE, natives of Jefferson county, who went to Michigan in 1835, and died in Branch county, he in 1882, and his wife in 1875. They had nine sons and four daughters. Charles B. CRAFT married, August 2, 1871, Martha A. LEWIS, of Gorham, born September 9, 1850, a daughter of James G. LEWIS, son of Sylvester, who came to Gorham in 1808. He died in 1873, and his wife in 1879. James G. LEWIS was born in Gorham in 1822, and married Ellen VAN BUSUM, by whom he had one son and three daughters. Mrs. LEWIS died in 1885, and the father lives on the old homestead. Charles B. CRAFT and wife have one son, Lewis M., a farmer. In politics Mr. CRAFT is a Democrat.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 278 - 279
CRANDALL, W. D., Canandaigua,
was born in West Bloomfield, March 10, 1845, a son of Nelson,
formerly a mechanic of that town, now of Delaware county.
Nelson was born in
1809, and at the age of 21 moved into Ontario county.
He married Melissa A. WOOD, of
this county, by whom he had 6 children, four of whom are living: Mrs.
Rush CRANDALL, of Delaware county; Sheridan,
of the 85th Regiment N. Y. Volunteers
(Civil War), who was wounded at the
battle of Fair Oaks, taken prisoner, and died in prison; C.
E. CRANDALL, a lawyer of Muncie, Ind.; Fred
D. CRANDALL, of Crandall Bros.
W. D. CRANDALL was educated at
West Bloomfield and at Lima Seminary, and after leaving school
came to Canandaigua, where he went into the photographing
establishment of Marshal M. Finley & Son to learn the art.
He was with them for 15 years.
He spent two years in Jamestown, then returned to
Canandaigua and bought a half interest in the Finley gallery,
which he retained about three years, and then, in partnership with
his brother Fred, opened an
establishment for himself. Their
gallery is now located in the Hubbell block, where they make a
specialty of crayon work. He married in 1887 Julia E. JOHNSON,
of Canandaigua. Mr.
and Mrs. CRANDALL are attendants of the Presbyterian
CRANDALL was in 1888 elected as one of the village council.
of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 252
son of John and Abigail (CAMP) CRANE,
natives of Scotland, was born in Durham, Connecticut.
He moved to Hopewell in the year 1791, and settles in the
northwest part of the town, upon a farm since known as the ARCHER place.
Mr. CRANE was a self-educated and
well-cultured man for his time, and followed the avocations both of a
farmer and a school-teacher. He
taught the first school in the town of Farmington.
He was twice married: first to a Miss
BISHOP, by whom he had three children; afterwards to Grace
CLARK, and nine children were the result of this union.
He was brought up a Presbyterian, but later joined the Friends.
He took a lively interest in educational matters, and was highly
respected in the neighborhood. He
died at the residence of his son George, in South Bristol, in his 83 year.
George CRANE, son of Elam CRANE, was born in Canandaigua, in the year 1811. He moved with his father, in 1826, to the farm he now owns and occupies in South Bristol, - land which he paid for with money he earned by clearing land and chopping cordwood. Forty-eight years ago (1828) he worked by the month for Josiah CURRIER, on the Academy tract, and the following winter worked mornings and evenings for Franklin CROOKS, of South Bristol, for his board, and went to a school taught by Randall WOOD. Being of a very industrious and economical turn, his possessions rapidly increased, and he now owns one-half of the land then the property of Mr. CURRIER. He is also owner and occupant of the farm that Mr. CROOKS occupied in his boyhood. Mr. CRANE was married in 1846 to Sarah MARTIN, daughter of the late John R. MARTIN, of Canandaigua. He has devoted himself exclusively to agricultural pursuits. Having adopted the rule in early life, that whatever he undertook to do it well, he has of course, prospered. He is a giant in stature, and in his prime was the strongest man in the county. When the county was new, he purchased a side-hill plow on the opposite side of Canandaigua lake; he carried the plow a half-mile to the lake, and from the shore to his residence, two and a half miles more, only resting once; Mr. CRANE's home has always been one of plenty, one from which the hungry and homeless have never been turned away.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 41
CRANE, Oscar N., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua in 1836, a son of John, who was born in this village in 1792. His father, Elam, was one of the old pioneer school teachers of this State; he was a native of Connecticut. He located in Canandaigua one of the earliest settlers, and made his home in the later years of his life in the southern part of this town, where he died in 1845 leaving eight children, of whom John was the oldest. John always made this town his home, and the greater part of his life was spent on the farm. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and an influential man in his town. He died in this village in 1872, leaving three children of a family of six: Sidney, of Detroit, Mich.; Mary A., wife of D. C. BENHAM, of Hopewell; and Oscar N. With the exception of one year spent in Buffalo the latter years has always lived in this county. Oscar was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and after leaving school followed farming summers, and taught in the winter. In 1865 he established an office as a funeral director and dealer in burial goods in Canandaigua, which he still conducts. He is assisted by William C. BALL, a professional embalmer. Mr. CRANE married in 1850 Mary J., daughter of Thomas BENHAM of Hopewell, and they have 3 children: Ella E., a teacher of mathematics in the public school; Oscar BENHAM and Carrie C. Mr. CRANE was for 21 years in active service in the Canandaigua fire department, and for 15 consecutive years was chief of the department. He has been president of the Canandaigua Cemetery Association since its organization in 1884, and is also a member of the Board of Education. He is president of the Protective Life Insurance Association of Rochester, a Mason, and an elder of the First Presbyterian Church, of which his family are members.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 283
CRAWFORD, Joseph S., Canandaigua, was born in Yates county in 1842, a son of Captain Samuel, a native of Massachusetts, where he was born in 1808. He followed the sea for a number of years, then married Rachel PLAISTED, of English descent, and they settled first in New York, where they remained a few years, then came to Yates county, where Mr. CRAWFORD died in 1850, leaving five children, of whom Joseph S. was the only son. His early life was spent in Yates county, where he was educated in a private school under Prof. Robert MURRAY, and his first occupation was as clerk in a shoe store in Penn Yan. In 1863 he came to Canandaigua and was a clerk in the War Office, provost marshal's department, until the close of the war. He then spent two years as bookkeeper in the Canandaigua First National Bank, after which he purchased an interest in the clothing business, forming a partnership with D. SHAFER, which lasted until 1886, when Mr. SHAFER retired and Mr. CRAWFORD became sole proprietor. The store has been located at No. 4 Bank block ever since the erection of the block in 1858. Mr. CRAWFORD married in 1865 Mary K., daughter of John S. GIBSON. Mrs. CRAWFORD died in February, 1866. Mr. CRAWFORD is a Republican, and a member of St. John's Episcopal church.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 274 - 275
Geneva, was born in County Fermenaugh, Ireland, about 1835, and
came to the United States in 1872, locating in Geneva.
December 7, 1857, he married Mrs.
Mary (WIGGINS) REYNOLDS.
They had 6 children: Eliza, Elizabeth
A., James, Susan, Mary E. and Jennie.
Mrs. CREIGHTON had three children by her first
marriage: John, Margaret and Thomas.
Elizabeth married Edward
PENDLE, of Geneva, and they have one daughter, Mersible
married Charles H. PENDLE, of Geneva.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 42
CRIBB, Ira P., Canandaigua, was born in South Bristol, February 21, 1851, a son of Joseph P. CRIBB, a native of Onondaga county, born in Tully, April 28, 1816, who came with his father to Ontario county when a boy. He has always been a farmer, and for the last 20 years has lived in Naples. Joseph married Eleanor J., daughter of Richard FRANCIS, a native of Wales. They were the parents of 7 children, 5 of whom are living: Mrs. Nancy E. PARSONS, of Providence, RI; F. R. CRIBB of Naples, superintendent of pleasure resorts at Silver Lake and Lake Erie, formerly an undertaker of Naples; C. A. CRIBB, a lumber manufacturer of Smyrna, Mich.; Mrs. E. H. JOHNSON of Naples; and Ira P. The early life of Ira, was spent in South Bristol. He was educated in the common schools and at Naples Academy. In 1872 he came to Canandaigua, where he has since resided. For the last 3 years he has been in the employ of the town in the making of stone roads, and has been one of the board of commissioners in the town since 1890, and has built about twelve miles of road. Mr. CRIBB has always taken an interest in the success of the republican party, and is an active member of the Methodist Church, in which he has held numerous offices, how being trustee. He married in 1872 Emily A., daughter of Jonas WOLVERTON, who died less than three years later. He married second, Stella F., daughter of Samuel DOUGLASS, of Canandaigua, and they have one child, Fred D., now in his 13th year.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 42
CRITTENDEN, A. R., Phelps, was born in Phelps, December 17, 1824, one of 4 children of Osee and Rachael (GLOVER) CRITTENDEN. The grandfather, Osee CRITTENDEN, was born in Conway, Mass., of English descent, and came to Phelps with his family during the boyhood of his son. The ancestors of Rachael GLOVER were also Massachusetts people of English descent. A. R. CRITTENDEN married, December 19, 1846, N. A. STEWART, daughter of Daniel and Ann (PECK) STEWART. Daniel STEWART, the father, was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, April 28, 1797. Jabez, Daniel's father, was of Scotch descent; his father, Daniel, emigrated from Scotland about the year 1760, and finally settled in Brattlebro, VT., afterward removing to Deerfield, Oneida county. A. R. CRITTENDEN has one son, De Lancey S. CRITTENDEN, now of Buffalo. De Laney S. CRITTENDEN married Lillian S. FITCH, of Wolcott, March 13, 1881, having issue one son, Percy A. CRITTENDEN, born in Phelps, October 26, 1888.
CRITTENDEN, Stalham, Phelps, was born in Phelps, April 30, 1827, one of seven children of Cotton and Esther (RICE) CRITTENDEN, both of whom came to Phelps from Conway, Mass., in early life. Osee CRITTENDEN, the grandfather, came from Massachusetts also. Mr. CRITTENDEN married November 16, 1856, M. A. KNAPP, of Hopewell, daughter of John and Louisa (WARNER) KNAPP of that town. They have one son, Clarence E., who married in 1879 Grace, daughter of George W. and Adaline (HUMPHREY) VAN AUKEN. They have three children: Alice W., Mark C., and Ross. Mr. CRITTENDEN has always lived in the town, and is one of the representative citizens. He has served for 12 years continuously as assessor.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 43
CRONK, Rev. Lewis W., Victor, was born in Victor, May 24, 1819, and was educated in the common and private schools of his native town. While attending the M. E. Church meetings in 1843 he was converted, and was soon after licensed to exhort, and afterwards a local preacher until 1873, when he changed his church relationship, casting his lot with the Free Methodists, joining their conference and church at the above date, and is at present an ordained elder in that church organization. July 4, 1843, he married Angeline, daughter of Jonathan and Catherine BENSON, of Pekin, Niagara county. They have one adopted daughter, Ida BENSON, who married Philetus SKUSE, who was in the Civil war in Co. C, 111th Regiment, N. Y. S. Infantry, and they have two daughters, who are married. Mr. CRONK's father, Jeremiah, was born near Cooperstown, Otsego county, in 1787, and married Philena LEWIS of his native place, formerly of Massachusetts. They had 8 children: William, Daniel, Elizabeth, Miranda, Lewis W., Emily, Nancy J. and Mary. Mrs. CRONK's father, Jonathan BENSON, was born in Springfield, Otsego county, March 24, 1799, and married Catherine ANDERSON of his native place, and moved with his wife and two children to Niagara county in 1823. They had 6 children: Angeline, John, Elijah A., Isaac, Mary M., and Sarah A. Mr. BENSON was a preacher of the gospel from the age of maturity until his death, November 20, 1884. Mrs. CRONK's brother Isaac BENSON, was the father of their adopted daughter, Ida, and also was a soldier in the Civil War, in the band of the 148th Regiment New York Volunteers, where he lost his life. Mr. CRONK's brother, Daniel, had three sons and a son-in-law in the Civil War.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 45
CROOKS, Tompkins Abbey, Richmond, was born September 14, 1826. His grandfather, David, a native of Blanford, Mass., first came to Richmond in 1799, on his return from a prospecting tour in Ohio. Struck with the beauty of the country here in the Indian summer time, he bought the farm which he afterwards sold to Elias GILBERT, and the next February came with his wife and settled thereon. She was a grandniece of General KNOX of Revolutionary fame, and he was of Scotch descent. They had 8 children, one of whom, David K., learned milling.
His father died in 1812 from an injury received in the mill. David K. married in 1822 Sinai, daughter of John ABBEY. She was born in 1803, and died in 1890. They had two sons: Tompkins A. and John K. The latter (John K.), born in 1830, became a physician, and married Martha WHEELER for his first wife, and Carrie GRAY for his second wife, by whom he had one son, deceased. He died in 1876, and his widow resides at East Bloomfield. David K. lived most of his life where his son Tompkins now lives. When but 13 years of age he drew from the mill in Richmond, with a double ox team, 25 barrels of flour to the American army encamped at Buffalo, and on his return loaded the sleigh with munitions of 1812 war for the arsenal at Batavia. Tompkins A. CROOKS was educated at a select school at Allen's Hill and at Lima Seminary, and has followed farming all his life. He married in 1846 Helen C., daughter of Tillness BENTLEY 2d, and their only daughter, Ellen Amelie, born in 1847, is the wife of Mark LEECH, and now living almost opposite. Mr. CROOKS is a Democrat, and his wife and daughter are Episcopalians. Tillness BENTLEY 2d was born in 1792, and came from Saratoga. He married Lorada BAKER, daughter of William. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, under Major ALLEN, and was at Lundy's Lane. He had six children, of whom Mrs. CROOKS was the fourth. He was a leading spirit in the organization of the old M. E. church, which stood east of Abbey's Corners, the first services of which were held in Mr. BAKER's barn. The locality was early called Baker's Hill.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 52 - 53
CROSBY, Theodore. In the year 1813 Enoch CROSBY, with his wife and a large family of children, emigrated from Dutchess county to Ontario county and took up their abode in the town of Phelps, about one and one-half miles south of the village (then known as Vienna). Here both the pioneer and his faithful wife died, he aged 77 and his wife, 79 years. In their family were twelve children, and all of them are dead but two: Alfred, of Phelps, and Theodore, of Canandaigua. Theodore CROSBY, the subject of this sketch, was born in Dutchess county, November 7, 1802, hence, at the time of his father's removal to Phelps was a lad of 11 years. Until 22 years old, Theodore lived at home and worked on the farm, but in 1824 he started out to make his own way in life. He married Melinda, daughter of Elam CRANE, and at once moved to a farm near the city of Rochester, where he remained 5 years, then sold his farm and returned to Ontario county. One year later he bought a farm in Hopewell and there he lived until 1861, when he moved to the county seat and devotes the remainder of his active business life to dealing in cattle, sheep and general stock. In this pursuit he is still engaged, and although 91 years of age still retains all his mental faculties and enjoys business life seemingly as well as he did half a century ago. From what we have stated here it must appear that Mr. CROSBY has led a very busy life, and we may say in addition that, notwithstanding the multitude of his business transactions and operations, he has never been charged with unfairness or deceit; on the contrary, it is said by his old acquaintances and associates that his business has ever been characterized by straightforward honesty and integrity, and his success has been as well merited as it has been abundant. Mr. CROSBY married Melinda CRANE in 1825, and their married life extended throughout a period of 60 years, and until her death in 1885, at the age of 80 years. Of their children only one grew to maturity, Marietta, who became the wife of Charles HOPKINS, and now lives in Canandaigua.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 370
CROSIER, Adam, Seneca, was born at Hall's Corners, September 2, 1823. He was educated in the schools of that day and was a conductor on the New York and Erie Railroad until 1850. Since that time he has been a farmer. August 23, 1853, he married Gertrude HAUG of Battle Creek, Mich., and they have two daughters: Gertrude, who married Lewis WATSON Jr., who died August 19, 1891; she now resides with her parents; and Clara B., who married Wallace C. SQUIRE of this town. They have one daughter, Edith Christine. Mr. CROSIER's father, George, was born in Northumberland, England, in 1784, and came to the United States in 1801 with his parents, locating near Hall's Corners. He married Abigail CRAWFORD of Saratoga Springs, and they had 8 children: Jefferson, Adam, Henderson, Thomas W., George W., Elizabeth Isabella, and Mary J. His father died January 10, 1873, and his mother June 18, 1870. Mrs. CROSIER's father, George HAUG, was born in Wurtemburg, Germany, in 1796, and married Katrina BULIER of his native place, and had these children: George, Rosina, John, Christina, Michael, Caroline, Gertrude and William. The family and six children came to the United States in 1828. Her father died in 1832, and her mother resides with her, aged 96 years.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 285
CROTHERS, Oliver G., Phelps, was born in Phelps, January 12, 1819. His father, William, was born in Orange county, and came to Phelps, when 14 years of age, where he lived and died. His wife, Eunice (DUNHAM) CROTHERS, was born in Massachusetts. Oliver G. married December 11, 1861, Mary RIDLEY of Phelps, and they had three children: William L. (Mrs. Dr. J. H. HASLETT) and Mary (Mrs. William K. McCOY). The mother died in July, 1870. In 1873 he married Eunice NYE of Newark, NY, and they have one child, Nellie E. Mr. CROTHERS has been in the malting business for over 25 years and has been very successful. He is one of the influential men of the town, has served several terms as president of the corporation, and also as trustee. In 1883 he built the Crothers block, which is a credit to the village.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 240
CROTHERS, postmaster of Phelps, and who has filled a number of other public
offices, is a member of a family which has resided in the state of
New York for a number of generations.
son of William CROTHERS, was born in
Phelps, December 12, 1819. He
was engaged as a farmer until he removed to Newark in 1867, when
he established himself in the malt business in which he was
engaged until 1875, when he sold it and returned to his farm near
Phelps. Two years
later he again established a malting business with which he was
identified until his retirement in 1895.
He was active in public affairs of the communities in which
he lived. He served
as supervisor of the town of Arcadia and as president and trustee
of the village of Phelps. In
1883 he built a block known as the Crothers Block.
He married (first) Mary,
daughter of Elihu and Betsey RIDLEY.
L.; Carrie C., married Dr. J. H.
HASLETT; Mary, married W .K. McCOY,
superintendent of the eastern division of the West Shore railroad.
He married (second) Eunice NYE,
and by her had Nellie, who married
William L., only son of Oliver and Mary ( RIDLEY ) CROTHERS,
was born in Phelps, New York, April 25, 1865.
He was very young when his parents removed to Newark, and
received his preparatory education in his native town, upon their
return to it. He then
attended the Rochester Business College, from which he was
graduated in 1883. For
a year and a half he was employed as a clerk in a dry goods store,
and in the fall of 1886 became associated with his father in the
malting business, and in 1895, upon the retirement of his father,
assumed the entire control of these interests until 1905.
January 23, 1906, he was appointed postmaster of Phelps, an
office he filled with such entire satisfaction to the government
that he was reappointed in 1910.
He served as president of the village in 1900, was a member
of the county committee for a period of nine years, secretary of
that committee for four years and a member of the town committee.
His fraternal affiliations are with the following
Lodge, No. 200, Free and Accepted Masons, of Phelps, of which he
has been the master three years; Newark Chapter, No. 117, Royal
Arch Masons; Geneva Commandery, Knights Templar.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 48 - 49
CROWELL, Erastus H., West Bloomfield, was born June 11, 1831, at Miller's Corners. His father, Silas, a native of Massachusetts, was born in 1792, and came with his father to Miller's Corners in 1798. Silas has related that when a boy he, with his brother two years older, were walking in the road near their house when suddenly a bear confronted them in the road and disputed their right to go on, but they had a small dog with them which bit at the bear's heels and worried him so that the boys had time to escape. Silas joined an independent company and was for three months on guard duty in Canada on the Niagara frontier during the War of 1812, and was of the escort of General HARRISON on his return from Tecumseh. He married for his 2nd wife in 1822, Alsena, daughter of Luman KILBOURNE, and had four children: Simeon S., of Grand Rapids, Mich., Erastus H., Eleanor A., born in 1833, died in 1886, and Lydia J., born in 1844 and died in 1853. Silas died in 1868 and his wife in 1878. Erastus H. was educated at the common schools and at Lima Seminary, and has been a farmer most of his life. From 1861 to 1871 he was engaged in the insurance business, and is a Republican. He married in 1853, Mandana E., daughter of Perrine FAY of Ohio, who was a native of Massachusetts. Mrs. CROWELL was born in Madison county, and they are both members of the Universalist Church at North Bloomfield and supporters of the M. E. Church at Miller's Corners.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 275
Manchester, was born in Ireland, September 10, 1843.
He came to this country in 1855.
After a time, through hard work and economical efforts, he
was enabled to purchase the farm upon which he now lives.
Mr. CROWLEY married Margaret
CHANCEY, and they have 8 children. Mr. CROWLEY has served as postmaster,
and is a staunch Democrat.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 39
CUMMINGS, George S., Geneva, was born in Plymouth, NH, January 4, 1829, was educated in the common schools of his day, and in early life was a cabinet-maker. This he had to give up on account of failing health, and he was a conductor on the Lehigh Valley Railway, one year as freight conductor, and 8 years as passenger conductor, and 5 years as car agent. September 30, 1854, he married Sarah A. EMERY of Maltborough, and they had three children: Arthur E., died aged four; Carrie L. and Amy E., who lives at home. Mr. CUMMINGS has resided in Geneva since 1874. He is preparing a shop with fine machinery for all kinds of wood and job work. His great-great-grandfather, Jonathan G. CUMMINGS, was one of the first settlers in Plymouth, NH.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 275
CURLIN, Mrs. Nancy T. P.,
Geneva, was born in Geneva, where she was educated in the public
schools and taught with the Rev. H. H.
GARNET, D.D., two years.
She was the second daughter of Aaron
LUCAS and was married in 1854 to Robert
H. CURLIN, a classical teacher.
She taught school in the West Indies 25 years, and returned
to the United States in 1878.
Mrs. CURLIN's father was born
a slave in Virginia. He
gained his freedom by the underground railway in 1825, and married
Flora DUNCAN, of the Mohawk Valley,
who was a New York State slave.
They had three children: Esther,
who married John GRANT; Nancy T. P.,
and Charles R. who died at the age of
25 years. Her father
died in 1884 and her mother in 1850, both in Geneva.
Html by Dianne Thomas
Copyright 2002 - 2016
[NY History and Genealogy]