Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies

D

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

DAKE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 62

 

DAKE, M. D.,   Mrs. Addie B. CROWLEY, was born in Mount Morris, Livingston county, and graduated from Cleveland Homoeopathic Medical College in 1886.  She settled in Geneva, where she has since practiced medicine, making a specialty of women's and children's diseases.

 

DAKIN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 62 - 63

 

DAKIN, Elbridge, Geneva, was born in Concord, Mass., October 19, 1802, and came to this State when a young man.  He located first in Buffalo, and soon after in Geneva, where he resided and conducted business.  He married first Mary Ann BRIZEE, of Geneva, by whom he had one son, George Brizee, who died in 1859; and second Mrs. Nancy Stearns SPAULDING, of Gorham, Ontario county.  They had two daughters and a son: Sarah P., wife of Elisha C. DEANE, of Buffalo, by whom she had two children: Isabella S., and Elbridge G.; William O., who married Eveline SHEPARD, of Toledo, O.; and Mary O.; who lives in Geneva.  Mrs. DAKIN died April 12, 1881, and Mr. DAKIN March 4, 1893, in his 91st year.  He was the oldest Mason in this part of the State, being a member of Ark Lodge No. 33 of Geneva F. & A. M., and its treasurer over 30 years.  He was a man of integrity in all his dealings with his fellow men.  He conducted a coal and wood, Portland and Akron cement business for more than 30 years on Castle street.  His great-grandfather, Colonel BARRETT, on his mother's side, commanded at the battle of Concord, Mass.

 

 

DANNAHE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 289

DANNAHE, William B., Geneva, was born in Geneva, January 31, 1867.  He was educated in the public schools, and in early life was a farmer.  Being of a mechanical frame of mind he learned the blacksmith's trade until he became a first-class mechanic.  He began business on his own account at Billsborough in April, 1891, and is doing a successful business among the intelligent farmers and business men of that entire locality.  Mr. DANNAHE's father, Daniel, was born in the old country about 1830, came to the United States in 1852, and married Catherine McCUNE of Geneva.  They have seven living children: John, James, Daniel, Jr., William B., Catherine, Jeremiah and Mary.

 

DARROW   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 372 - 373

DARROW, the late George, was born in Cannan, in the eastern part of this State, in 1770, was educated in the schools of his day, and married twice.  His second wife was Judith LELAND, by whom he had five children: Fidelia, Hiram, Charles, Washington and Judith M.  The family came to Western New York in 1800, locating this homestead,  where a log house was built.  It was subsequently burned and a frame house took its place, which was built by the settlers in this locality, which was occupied in nine days.  When their beautiful new residence was recently erected, the old one was sent to the rear, and is now, with additions, just south of the old location, used as a tenant house.  Hiram married Emily WAINWRIGHT, of Mendon, Monroe county; they had one daughter, E. Estella, who on November 22, 1871, married Mark ATCHLEY, of the town of Phelps.  She died November 4, 1872.  Her father died November 12, 1883.  Charles married Augusta WHITNEY, and they had one son, Charles H., who married Hattie BENNETT, of Geneva.  They have a son, Charles W.  It is the wish of Miss Judith M. and Mrs. Hiram DARROW, who now own the property, that this property shall be owned by the DARROW family as long as that family exists.  This homestead is located in the northeast part of the town, half way between the turnpike and the Castle road.  The ancestry of the DARROWS is French and the LELANDS English.  Miss DARROW is of the eighth generation from one Henry LELAND, who came from England in one of the first ships that came from there.  The family had several of its ancestors in the Revolutionary War.  This family came to the United States in Queen Anne's time. 

 

 

DAVIDSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 232 - 233 

DAVIDSON, James, Canandaigua, a native of Scotland, was born in 1851.  He came to this country in 1871 and located in Canandaigua, where he engaged in his trade of shoemaking until 1881, when he, in company with James D. PARK, established a shoe store at No. 1 Tillotson Block, a fine large store, where they carry a full line of boots, shoes and rubbers, and conduct a custom department in connection.  This company has been extremely successful here, in fact which they owe to their close attention to business, and strict integrity in their dealings.  Neither Mr. DAVIDSON nor Mr. PARK have ever aspired to political office, although they are ardent republicans.  Mr. DAVIDSON married in 1877 Ann McKINZIE, a native of Scotland; they have four children: Alice, Alexander McKinzie, Jennie C. and Annie.  Mr. DAVIDSON and family are members of the Presbyterian church.  Mr. PARK is a native of Scotland also, coming to this country with Mr. DAVIDSON.  He married in 1882 Sarah E. HUGHES of South Trenton, NY.

 

DAVIDSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 285

DAVIDSON, Alexander, Canandaigua, was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, in 1846, and came to this country in 1870.  He located in Canandaigua, and with the exception of one year has always made this his home.  He was for two years on a farm, and then engaged with J. L. SHERWOOD in his lumber yard, remaining with him six years, then formed a partnership with his son, S. A. SHERWOOD, and made the firm of Sherwood & Davidson.  In 1882 Mr. SHERWOOD died and Mr. DAVIDSON became the sole proprietor.  In 1888 he bought his present property.  He has added to the lumber business the dealing in hardware, sash, doors and blinds, and everything used in building, and has also added the handling of coal, which has grown to be quite extensive.  He has the best accommodations for the handling of coal and lumber of any yard in this section, and sells about 3,200 tons of Plymouth coal per year.  Mr. DAVIDSON married in 1886 Catherine McKENZIE of Aberdeen, and they have two children.  Mr. DAVIDSON is a member of the Chapter and Commandery F. & A. M.  In 1884 and 1885 he was master of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294.  He and family are members of the Presbyterian church.

 

 

DAVIDSON

History of Ontario Co. & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 103

Charles C. DAVIDSON, who has been prominently connected with the milling industry in the state of New York for many years, is a son of Ozmer L. DAVIDSON, who came to New York from New England and spent the greater part of his live engaged in agricultural pursuits. He died at Odessa, New York in 1900, and his wife died in 1896.

Charles C., son of Ozmer L. DAVIDSON, was born in Odessa, Schuyler county, New York, June 22, 1868. He was graduated from the Odessa high school, then studied and was prepared for college at Cook's Academy and matriculated at Cornell University. After a few days, attendance of the lectures at the university, finding that a life of study did not appeal to him, he accepted a position in a flour mill at Ithaca, New York, and at the end of one year returned to Odessa, where he also found employment in a flour mill and finished learning the trade of milling. He then went to Elmira , New York, remaining there for one years, and after a year and a half spent in traveling as an expert miller, he went to Trumansburg, Tompkins county, New York, where he remained one year. He again returned to Odessa, where he purchased a mill, which he operated for a period of three years, then sold and went to Geneva, New York, where he opened a flour and feed store, March 1897, which he conducted for seven years. In 1904 he bought the Geneva Flouring Mill, the oldest in the city, it having been erected in 1874. It has a capacity of eighty barrels daily, and Mr. DAVIDSON has special brands of flour for home consumption known as the "Lithia", "Dandy", and "Delight". He ships the greater portion of his product to the east. His mill consumes about 60,000 bushels of wheat annually in addition to a large amount of other grains, and gives employment to seven men. He is a member of the Democratic party and of the First Presbyterian Church, and is connected with the following organizations: the Blue Lodge, Chapter, Commandery and Shrine of the Masonic fraternity; Commercial Travelers' Club; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Kanadasaga Club.

Mr. DAVIDSON married, September 6, 1897, A. Louise, born in Trumansburg, New York, daughter of John and Annette CREQUE. They have one child, Annette B., born November 22, 1898.

 

 

DAVIE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 260

DAVIE, John, Geneva, was born at the old homestead in Geneva, November 14, 1839, was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools.  In October, 1863, he enlisted in Co. E, 1st Veteran Cavalry N. Y. Vols., and was in the following engagements: New Market, Piedmont, Martinsburg, and was with the regiment taking 1,500 hundred prisoners from Staunton across the mountains to Beverly, West Virginia.  He afterwards was in the battle of Monocacy Junction, where the Rebels were held 24 hours, thereby saving the city of Washington from capture by General EARLY.  The regiment was on that occasion commanded by the intrepid General MILLIGAN, of Lexington fame.  Mr. DAVIE was in all the engagements that his company and regiment was in, and was always ready for duty.  He was honorably mustered out July 20, 1865, and discharged at Rochester about August 3 of that year.  After his return home he was a truckman in the village of Geneva 14 years, and is now a farmer.  October 14, 1863, he married Rosanna HICKS, of Geneva, and they have had 6 children: Mary C., George T., (John W., Elizabeth E., and James W., (deceased), Robert A.  George T. is chief clerk with the Skilton Bros. hardware concern in the village; Mary C. is a dressmaker at home; and Robert A. is a farmer with his father.  Mr. DAVIE's father, George, was born in Suffolk, England, and came to the United States when a young man.  He married Mary SLINEY of this town and they had 6 children: John, Thomas, Catherine, William, George and James.  Their father died in 1866, and their mother November 2, 1888.

 

DAVIS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 222

DAVIS, Edmund O., Gorham.  In an early day three brothers, Philip, John and William came from Wales.  One settled in Massachusetts, one in Pennsylvania, and one in South Carolina.  Subject is a descendant of the one who settled in Pennsylvania.  His father was Ezekiel, son of William, a son of Philip, who was a native of Pennsylvania and early came to Hopewell where he purchased land of the Indians.  He here built flour-mills and afterwards exchanged the mills for land in Gorham.  He died in Pennsylvania.  William DAVIS was a native of the latter town, where he died.  His wife was Mary SHAW and they had 11 children: Ezekiel was born November 22, 1818, in Northumberland county, Pa.  He married Elizabeth THORP by whom he had three sons and three daughters.  Mary E. DAVIS and Edmund O. DAVIS now on the old homestead; Celia Davis POTTER and James A. POTTER, on north part of the land have nine children; Uriah L. DAVIS, now of Fairmont, Neb., his wife, Martha FOSTER, have two sons: William F. DAVIS married Anna CHRISTIE, have one son; Sarah E. DAVIS, died in 1863.  In 1840 he came to Gorham and took possession of 300 acres of land left him by his father, adding to this 125 acres.  He died in 1888, and his wife in 1865.  Edmund O. married in 1873 Annie SPRY a native of Hamilton county, Ontario, born September 10, 1851.  She is a daughter of George and Isabella (McNAUGHTON) SPRY, he a native of Devonshire, Eng., and she of Amsterdam.  Mr. SPRY and wife had five children.  He died in 1863 and Mrs. SPRY resides with her daughter.  Edmond O. and wife have one child, Adella E.  Mr. DAVIS is a Democrat and is now excise commissioner.  He and family attend the Congregational church at Reed's Corners of which he has been trustee several years.

 

DAVIS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 246

DAVIS, Homer A., Canandaigua, was born on a farm about three miles west of Canandaigua village, August 26, 1849, a son of Cornelius and Sabrina (HAWLEY) DAVIS.  The grandfather, Mathew, was a native of Connecticut, born at Somers, February 5, 1769, and married Salona PIXLEY, of Great Barrington, Mass., by whom he had 11 children, of whom Cornelius, father of our subject, was the second son. He (Cornelius) was born June 19, 1799, in Sherburne, Chenango county, and came to this county when about twenty, locating first in Victor, where he lived a short time, then removed to Canandaigua and married, March 16, 1826, Sabrina, daughter of Henry HAWLEY, a farmer of this town.  They had 8 children, two of whom survive: Henry M., a school teacher of Canandaigua, and Homer A.  Cornelius was a man of good business management and accumulated a fair property.  He (Cornelius) died October 13, 1876.  Mrs. DAVIS died October 1, 1856, and he married second in 1858 Asenath FERRY, widow of Jonathan LEE, of Erie county, by whom he had one son, Henry Lee, who served in the Army and died in Canandaigua in 1875.  Mrs. DAVIS died February 4, 1877.  Homer A. was educated in Canandaigua Academy and became a farmer.  In 1878 he bought the old ACKLEY farm of 90 acres, where he has since made his home.  He has always taken an active interest in politics, and in 1885 was elected highway commissioner.  He married in 1873 Hattie A., daughter of Seymour V. R. JOHNSON, of Centrefield, and they had one son, Lot G., now in his 10 year.

 

DAVIS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 288 - 289

DAVIS, Fred H., Gorham, was born in Thurston, Steuben county, in 1867.  His father was H. C. DAVIS, a native of Little Falls, who married a Miss MOFFITT, of Utica.  They had two sons and four daughters.  The father of H. C. was Josiah H., a native of Norway, Herkimer county, born July 18, 1807, and he was a son of Joseph, a native of Long Island, born in 1774, who married Betsey HALLECK, and had seven sons and seven daughters.  He came to Norway in 1800, and in 1859 moved to Cortland, where he died in 1867.  He was drafted in the War of 1812.  Josiah H. DAVIS married, August 29, 1832, Hopeful JEFFERDS, a native of Ohio, NY, born October 2, 1811.  Her father was Obadiah, who married Rebecca FOX and had three sons and four daughters.  Mr. JEFFERDS was in the War of 1812, and died in Ohio.  Josiah H. and wife had 12 children, of whom ten survive.  In 1868 he came to Gorham.  He is a Republican, and for many years has been a deacon in the Congregational church at Reed's Corners.  Fred H. DAVIS is a young man of more than ordinary ability.  He was reared on a farm, and when a boy attended the district schools.  He has been very industrious and given himself a thorough education, first taking a course in Canandaigua Academy, and graduating from Hamilton College in June, 1891.  He is now assistant principal of the school at Lyons, Wayne county. 

 

DAVIS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 290

DAVIS, Fayette W., Gorham, was born in Little Falls, June 4, 1852, son of J. H. DAVIS, mentioned elsewhere in this work.  He was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy.  At the age of seventeen he came to Ontario county with his parents.  His wife is Eliza LOOKUP, a native of Marion, Wayne county, born June 5, 1837.  Their children are: Clara H., Arthur G., Josiah H., Ethel M., and Myrtle H.  Mr. DAVIS was traveling salesman for nursery stock and also for the Singer Sewing Machine Company for several years.  In 1886 he purchased the farm he now owns and of later years has been a farmer.  He is a republican in politics and is a Free Mason.  The parents of Mrs. DAVIS were William and Eliza (GARLOCK) LOOKUP, natives of Marion, Wayne county, who had two sons and two daughters.  Mr. LOOKUP was a farmer by occupation.  Mrs. LOOKUP died in 1857.

 

 

DAVIS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 173 

(1)          William DAVIS, immigrant ancestor, lived in Freetown, Massachusetts, where he was grand juryman in 1697.  He married March 1, 1686, Mary, daughter of William and Ann (Johnson) MAKEPEACE, of Freetown, and granddaughter of Thomas MAKEPEACE of Boston and wife Mrs. Elizabeth MELLOWS.  Children: William, born June 11, 1688; Thomas, mentioned below; John; Jonathan, married December 24, 1730, Sarah TERRY of Freetown; Remembrance, married first Sarah SOUL of Tiverton and second, Sarah FOX of Freetown; Joseph; Rebecca, married October 31, 1705, John PAINE of Freetown; Elizabeth married William COLE; Abigail married January 29, 1723, Ephraim HATHAWAY; Hannah married William GAGE, of Freetown (?); Ruth.

(2)          Thomas, son of William DAVIS, married Lydia _____.  Children: Thomas, born October 1, 1718; Alice, January 16, 1721; Joseph, September 30 ,1723; Lydia, November 24, 1725; Benjamin, September 1, 1728, mentioned below; Job, April 13, 1731; Moses, November 14, 1733; Stephen, July 20, 1738.

(3)          Benjamin, son of Thomas DAVIS, was born September 1, 1728.  He married Lydia NICHOLS of Salem.  Children: Mary, died young; Lydia, married Preserved EDDY of Swanzey; Mary born 1756; Eunice, 1759, Sarah, married James CHASE of Somerset, died 1849; Harriet, married Collins CHASE, died 1846; Mercy, married first, David BOWEN of Newport and second, Colonel Joseph KELLOGG of Somerset, died June 1803; Anna, mentioned below; Patience, married first, Gideon ROBINSON and second, Oliver CHASE, died 1855.

Anna, daughter of Benjamin DAVIS, died in 1835.  She married in 1805, Michael HOAG.  They lived in Duanesburg, NY.  Children: Brice W., born 1806; Daniel B.; Lydia, married Silas BOWERMAN (see Bowerman VI); Anna.

 

DAVISON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 61 - 62

 

DAVISON, Calvin P., East Bloomfield, a native of West Bloomfield, was born July 3, 1824, a son of Enoch S., a son of Christopher, a native of Connecticut, who there lived and died.  Enoch S., was born in Connecticut in 1802, and was reared as a mason.  He came to West Bloomfield in 1822, and there married Lucretia S. BEEBE, a native of West Bloomfield, and daughter of Adonijah M. BEEBE, a native of Connecticut, and an early settler of West Bloomfield.  He had four sons and four daughters.  The death of Mr. DAVISON occurred in 1890, and that of his wife in 1881.  Calvin P. received a common school education, and early in life learned the mason's trade, and followed it a number of years.  In 1867 he came to East Bloomfield and purchased 77 acres of land, and has there since resided.  In politics he is a republican.  In 1857 Calvin married Ann C. CHASE, a native of West Bloomfield and a daughter of Joseph CHASE of that place, and they had one son, Frank J., born May 15, 1859.  He received an academic education, and is a farmer.  Mr. Calvin and family attend and support the Congregational church at East Bloomfield, of which his wife is a member.

 

DAY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  57 - 58

 

DAY, Henry N., Canandaigua, was born in the town of Ogden, Monroe county, May 20, 1850.  The earliest ancestor we find trace of was Eliphalet DAY, who was born in Washington county, July 31, 1788.  He came from that county to Monroe county in 1837, where he died June 28, 1858.  He was the father of 10 children, four of whom are living: Oliver H., a retired farmer of Niagara Falls city; Samuel E., of Spencerport, Monroe county; Harriet Frances, widow of William BEADLE of Canyon City, Colo.; and Spencer E. DAY of Churchville, Monroe county.  Oliver H. DAY, the first son, and father of our subject, was born in Washington county, September 11, 1816.  His boyhood was spent in the county of his birth, and he was 21 years of age when his parents moved to Monroe county.  He assisted on his father's farm until he married and then bought a farm for himself, but kept this one but three or four years, and after a year spent on another farm, he moved to Niagara in 1853, where he bought a farm of 200 acres, built stock yards and had a contract for feeding stock for the N. Y. C. R. R. Co., a business he was engaged in for 5 years.  He was married October 7, 1841, to Julia M. WILDER of Attica, and they are the parents of six children, five of whom are living: Helen D. HAWLEY of Round Grove, ILL.; Eliza DAVIS of Buffalo; J. Marion TODD of Suspension Bridge; Oliver W. of Buffalo, and Henry N., our subject.  The early life of our subject after he was 3 years old was spent in Niagara county.  He was educated in the common schools, at Brockport Normal School, and Deveaux College at Niagara.  In 1880 he established the first evaporator in Niagara, which he conducted for twelve years, and from 1883 he conducted a farm in Niagara county which he gave up in 1891, and February 4 of that year he bought the G. B. SACKETT farm in Canandaigua.  This is one of the best farms in Canandaigua, containing 200 acres.  The principal products are grain, hay and stock.  Mr. DAY and wife are members of the Presbyterian church of Canandaigua.  He married, May 16, 1883, Elizabeth K. LEACH of Lyons, and had four children: Clarence Oliver, born December 30, 1884, died June 12, 1893; Henry Ralph, born June 8, 1886; Edna Louise, born April 21, 1888; and Albert LEACH, born April 10, 1890.  Mr. and Mrs. DAY, parents of subject, still live in Niagara Falls, where they are spending a happy old age.

 

 

DAY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 60 - 61

 

DAY, Rev. Samuel Mills, Richmond, is of the 7th generation from Ralph DAY, who came from England in 1636 and settled in Dedham, Mass.  Our subject was born in Richmond, August 8, 1827.  His grandfather, Orion, or Orrin, a native of Dedham, enlisted in the Army of the Revolution at the age of 17 years.  He was at West Point at the time of ARNOLD's treason, and remembered well the anxiety of WASHINGTON when reviewing the troops at that place.  After the war he married Joanna EVERETT of Dedham, and settled in Sharon, Vt.  They had 8 children, of whom Warren, the oldest, was born October 1, 1789.  He graduated in 1814 from Dartmouth College, and there had private instruction in theological studies.  He came with his young wife, Sarah KELLOGG of Hanover, NH, to Richmond in 1816 as a licentiate, and began his ministry here at the First Congregational church of Richmond Center.  He was ordained and installed pastor of the church March 3, 1819, and remained until November, 1828.  He then went to Orangeville and was pastor of the church there two years.  He was agent of the American Tract Society at Geneva seven years, pastor at Enfield four years, returned here, and was pastor of the Center Church five years.  He went again to Orangeville and was pastor a second time four years, after which he resided with his son, Dr. Fisk H. DAY, in Wauwatosa, a suburb of Milwaukee, nine years.  In 1865 he returned to Richmond the third time, making his home with his son, S. Mills, until his death in 1864, May 19.  He was buried in the old cemetery at Richmond Center, and two years later a monument was erected to his memory by his old parishioners and his sons and daughters.  By his first wife he had four children: Orrin W., who died early; Ann D., wife of Charles WORKS of Rockford, ILL.; Mary Lydia, wife of John ALLINGTON of Freeport, ILL.; and Parsons Everett, a lawyer and real estate dealer of Brooklyn.  He married a second time in 1823, Lydia L. HOLBROOK of Rushville, a native of Cummington, Mass., and a schoolmate and near neighbor of William Cullen BRYANT.  She died July 14, 1880.  Their children were: Sarah, wife of the late Marcus C. RIGGS, of New York; Fish Holbrook, M. D., now of Milwaukee, Wis.; S. Mills, Edward Warren, and Warren Edward.  The last two died young.  S. Mills DAY graduated with honors from Union College, class of 1850, where he delivered the valedictory address.  He pursued theological studies at Auburn, graduated in the class of 1852, and was ordained and installed pastor of the Presbyterian church at Hammondsport, June 30 of that year.  In April, 1857, he went to Havana, NY, and was pastor of the Presbyterian church there four and a quarter years.  In 1862 he became pastor of the Congregational church at Honeoye, and has been here in that capacity ever since.  He married in 1852 Lucy E. MAXWELL of Geneva, a sister of the MAXWELL brothers, the well known nurserymen there.  Their children were: Fannie Maxwell, born in 1853, died in 1875; Minnie Everett, born in 1855, wife of George PATTERSON, a blacksmith and justice of the peace of this town; Maxwell Warren, born in 1865, graduated at Williams College in 1887, now an electrical engineer at Lynn, Mass.; and Lucy Holbrook, born in 1866, wife of Warren McNAIR, stenographer, of Springfield, O.  For more than 30 years Mr. DAY has been pastor here, during which time the changes and incidents that have occurred would make an interesting volume.

 

 

DE BOW

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  59 - 60

 

DE BOW, James C., Farmington, was born in Canandaigua, May 30, 1832.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and has always followed farming.  October 14, 1856, he married Luzetta, youngest child of twelve living of Leonard and Marcy KNAPP of the town of Hopewell.  They have two children, both sons, Hiram and Jefferson T.; both are well educated at Canandaigua Academy and Rochester Business University, and are farmers at home.  Mr. DE BOW's father, Garret, was born in the Mohawk valley in 1798, and came with his parents to the town of Canandaigua when a year old.  He married Almira THURBER, formerly of New Hampshire, and they had two children: James C., and Mary J., who married Thomas W. COST of Hopewell.  Mr. DE BOW's grandfather, John, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War from this State.  Mrs. DE BOW's father, Leonard KNAPP, was born in Rensselaer county in the year 1785, and came with his parents to Hopewell when 18 years old.  He married Marcy BROWN of that town (born in New Lebanon, RI), and they had 12 children who grew to maturity: Lucinda, Chloe, Clema, Leonard H., Sally A., Henry, Marcy, Elizabeth, Fidelia, B. Franklin, Hiram and M. Luzetta.  Mrs. DE BOW's father was a soldier in the War of 1812, and both families were among the first settlers.  Mr. DE BOW is a Democrat.  Henry F. THURBER, recently appointed private secretary as President CLEVELAND, is a first cousin to James C. DE BOW, and is a son of Jefferson THURBER.  

 

 

DECKER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 223 

DECKER, Edwin M., Richmond, was born in Livingston county in 1843.  His mother and grandmother were from Massachusetts.  He came with his father and family when an infant to Canandaigua, where he was educated in the common schools, and he worked by the month until beginning farming on his own account.  He married in 1871, Lydia CHILD, daughter of George H. CHILD, now of Victor, and they have six children: Albert E., George L., Fred W., Mary J., Alice J., and Howard W.  Eight years ago Mr. DECKER came to Richmond and purchased the COBB farm of 65 acres in the eastern part of the town.  He has three acres of hops, for which he has built a hop house.  The father of Mrs. DECKER, George H. CHILD, was born in Bristol in 1826, and married Josephine TIFFANY of Naples, and the parents of both came from Connecticut to this county.  George H. CHILD's father, came from Rhode Island, and his mother came from Massachusetts.

 

 

DE GRAFF

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 97 - 98 

Frank A. DE GRAFF, manager and one of the proprietors of the leading stationery and book stores in Canandaigua, New York, is, as his family name indicates, of Dutch descent, and has inherited the thrifty and businesslike traits of his ancestors.

Groat A. DE GRAFF, father of the man whose name heads this sketch, for some years followed the occupation of farming in Gorham, New York, and removed to Canandaigua about the year 1870.  He established himself in the book and stationery business, in which he was eminently successful, and with which he was connected for many years.

Frank A., son of Groat A. DE GRAFF, was born in Gorham, Ontario county, New York, August 4, 1864.  He was educated in the common schools of Canandaigua and in Canandaigua Academy.  The first step in his business career was an assistant to his father in the book and stationery business, of which he thus acquired a thorough knowledge in every detail.  He then became associated as a partner with T. M. EMERICK, and succeeded to the business of his father.  In 1894 he sold his interest in this concern to his partner, and was a commercial traveler for the wholesale stationery trade for a period of ten years.  In 1904 he formed a partnership with McGreevey & Sleght, establishing the firm of McGreevey-Sleght-De Graff Company, dealers in stationery, books, etc., and Mr. DE GRAFF is the manager of this concern.  They have branch stores in Elmira, and Batavia, New York, and they have the reputation of being one of the leading and most reliable business houses in Canandaigua.  Mr. DE GRAFF is a member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, Free and Accepted Masons.  He married at Canandaigua, October 14, 1891, Minerva H., daughter of Edward PARSONS, of Canandaigua.  Only child:  Harriet A., born October 15, 1896.

 

 

DE GRAW

History of Ontario Co. & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 380-381

F. Allen DE GRAW, who has a well established law practice in Clifton Springs, New York, traces his ancestry to France, as his name indicates. The family settled in 1618 in Holland, seeking there a refuge from the persecutions of their native land. They only remained in Holland two years. Two brothers and their families came to America in 1620 and settled at Flatbush, Long Island, and from there one branch went to New York state, one to New Jersey and one remained on Long Island. The name was originally De GRASSE.

Arthur H., son of John Hill DE GRAW, was born in the town of Wayne, and followed the occupation of farming. He served as a justice of sessions for one term, and as a justice of the peace for many years. He supported Republican principles.

F. Allen, son of Arthur H. DE GRAW, was born in the town of Wayne, Steuben county, New York, June 7, 1875. His preparatory education was acquired in the Haveling Free Academy, Bath, New York, from which he was graduated in 1893 and he then became a student at the Albany Law School, form which he was graduated June 4, 1897.

He removed to Hammondsport, New York, where he practiced law from Mary 1898 until June 1900, when he established himself in Wayland, New York, where he remained until September 1903. He then went to Clifton Springs, New York, where he opened offices and has acquired a large and lucrative practice. He has been an earnest and active worker in the interests of the Republican party. His religious affiliations are with the Episcopal church, and he is a member of the Erbana Lodge, No. 459, Free and Accepted Masons, of Hammondsport, New York.

Mr. DE GRAW married at Hammondsport, New York, September 4. 1900, Flora DEANE, a native of that place, who was born October 13, 1882. Children: Carl Beverly, born October 24, 1901, Lawrence Kenilworth, born November 28, 1907 and Alice Louise, born July 27, 1910.    (NOTE: per SSDI Lawrence died July 1987 and resided in Columbia, Tolland Co., CT)

 

 

DEMPSEY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  56

DEMPSEY, Dominick E., Geneva, son of Daniel and Mary (HANLON) DEMPSEY, was born in Kings county, Ireland, in 1851, and when he was 3 years of age his parents came to America and settled, buying a farm whereon subject resided until 1870, when he came to Geneva and clerked for several years.  In 1877 he opened a wholesale and retail liquor store, and is the only dealer in the county having a wholesale liquor license.  In 1878 he married Mary O'MALLY, of Geneva, and has one child, Mary Agnes.

 

DENTON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 286

DENTON, George H., Canandaigua, was born on his present farm in May, 1851, a son of Michael, a native of this State, who was born in Orange county in 1809, and came here about 1850.  He then bought the farm now occupied by George H., where he lived and died in 1883.  Of his four children three are living: Emily J., wife of Byron G. MAPES of Canandaigua; Ann E. of Rochester, widow of Egbert DENTON, a manufacturer of Fitchburg, Mass., and George H.  The latter has always lived on this farm and was educated in the common schools and in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. U. N. CLARKE.  He married in 1877 Hattie C. MILES of Hopewell, and after his marriage took charge of the farm on his own behalf.  Since then he had added many improvements in new buildings, etc., and has set out about 20 acres of fruit, comprising of peaches, grapes, apples, pears, etc.  He has two children: Edith A. and Lois.  Mr. DENTON is a member of Canandaigua Grange No. 138.  He has never taken an active interest in politics, but devotes his time and energy to farming.

 

 

DENTON

History of Ontario Co. & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 346

Eugene C. DENTON, well known in legal and business circles in the state of New York, is the son of Stephen E. and Ann E. DENTON, both natives of Orange county, New York, the former having been a paper manufacturer in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, until his death in 1868.

Eugene C. DENTON was born in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, December 10, 1865. He was a pupil in the public schools of Canandaigua, New York, 1875-79, then attended the Canandaigua Academy, from which he was graduated in 1883. He next matriculated at the University of Rochester, New York, and was graduated from the classical department of that institution in 1887 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Having made a choice of the legal profession for his life work, he commenced the study of law in the office of Martin W. COOKE and was admitted to the bar in 1889. He was then for a time managing clerk in the office in which he has prosecuted his studies. In January 1891, he opened offices on his own account in Rochester, and in 1895 associated himself in a partnership with George F. SLOCUM, practicing under the firm name of Slocum & Denton, this relation being maintained until April 1900, since which time Mr. DENTON has practiced alone. He is a man of large and diversified activities, and is trustee of the People's Rescue Mission, vestryman of Christ Episcopal church, and a member of Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, the State and Rochester Bar Association, Rochester Chamber of Commerce, and the University Club of Rochester.  Mr. DENTON married, at Rochester, May 17, 1904, Mary H., a daughter of Harvey W. BROWN.

 

DE PUE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 58

 

DE PUE, Jno. (John), Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, on the farm he now owns, three miles east of Canandaigua.  His father, Moses, was born in 1786 in Sussex county, NJ, where he resided many years.  About 1806 he came to New York State and settled where subject now lives.  The family descended from the French Huguenots.  Three brothers, on account of persecutions, left France for Holland, thence to England and westward to America; settled near New York, one on the east side of the Hudson River, the others in New Jersey.  They participated in the French and Indian war.  One took part in the Revolution in 1776.  Benjamin DE PUE lived and died in Sussex county.  His wife, Ocee STUYVESANT, was a descendant of Peter STUYVESANT.  These were the parents of Moses DE PUE, father of Jno. DE PUE.

 

DEUEL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  56 - 57

 

DEUEL, George M., Canandaigua, was born in South Bristol, March 25, 1844, a son of Samuel H. and Priscilla W. (RANDALL) DEUEL.  The grandfather, Daniel, was a native of Dutchess county, and had 6 children.  Samuel H. was born in Dutchess county, August 23, 1811, and came to Bristol about 1832, and married Almyra COVILLE and they had four children; three died in infancy, and Joseph C. lived to be 21 years of age, dying August 2, 1858.  Mrs. DEUEL died December 26, 1839, aged 27 years, and he married second Priscilla W. RANDALL, and they had one son, George M.  Samuel DEUEL enlisted in Co. A, 8th New York Cavalry, in November, 1862, and was killed at Berryville by guerillas on his way to Winchester.  The boyhood of George M. was spent in South Bristol, Canandaigua, Ontario, and Wayne county.  He was 17 years old when he began learning the harnessmaker's trade, at which he worked one year, and for one year worked on a farm.  In 1872 he bought his present grain and dairy farm of 73 acres.  In politics he is a republican, and in 1887 was elected commissioner of highways.  He married in 1864 Keziah V., daughter of Alonzo B. LUCAS, of Canandaigua, who was a soldier in the 126th Regiment in the Rebellion, and died October 5, 1892, aged 72 years, and they have four children: Myra A., wife of Alexander HUNN, of Bristol; Franklin H., married Eva STILES, a farmer of Canandaigua; Louisa M., wife of William MONTANYE, of Canandaigua; and George M., who lives at home.

 

 

DEWEY 

 History of Ontario County, published 1878, pg 58

Isolated examples are no criterion form which to draw conclusions of American progression. One from the ranks fitly represents the life and career of the citizen of today. Lanson DEWEY, born April 2, 1805, was the oldest son in a family of nine children. His father, Thomas DEWEY, born April, 1777, and his mother, Polly FOX, were natives of Hartford county, Connecticut. A farmer by occupation, MR. DEWEY, having little upon which to depend aside from the labor of his hands, early taught his children to take their part in farm work. The family lived in Smithfield, Madison County, from 1814 till many years later. Lanson engaged in farm labor and in lumbering until the spring of 1825, when he came to Hopewell, Ontario County, and worked for a brother-in-law. His term of service expired in the fall and he set out penniless to "win his way". He was not strong physically, but tenacious and determined of purpose. His first public position was that of constable and collector in the town of Victor, to which he was elected in the spring of 1829. In the spring of 1834 he removed with his wife Mary Ann, daughter of Jabez FELT, to East Victor, and located upon the farm at present occupied by him. His children are all living. Bernard, the oldest, is a doctor in Iowa; the others, Eugene, Gertrude, Ellen and Ida are settled in the vicinity of the homestead. Life to Colonel DEWEY has been beyond his anticipation, and retrospection is attended with few regrets. In healthfulness and in property he has been prospered, and amid clouded and bright days the latter have been more numerous. Two traits are indices of his character, patient industry and strict temperance. In early manhood, subject to temptation, he never indulged in the use of liquor, and a sound mind in a healthy body are the legacies of early to late years. From circumstances rather than choice, employment has bee more that aught else of a political character. There have been few town's offices he has not been repeatedly called to fill, and during the last forty years Colonel DEWEY has been more or less active in public life. Affiliating with the Whig, and then the republican party, he has been energetic in official duty, and labored heartily for the welfare of the community and the good of the nation. He may be regarded as an actor rather than speaker, and whether as magistrate, supervisor, or assemblyman, he is recalled more for what he was than for what he may have said. Eleven years a supervisor, six years chairman of the board, the most earnest efforts were put forth to recruit the national army and fill the quotas of the town. He has for the past forty years been a member of the Universalist society, to which he has given of his means, and whose principles he heartily endorses.

During the period from 1833 to 1840, when militia organizations were in vogue, Lanson DEWEY rose rapidly by promotions till, as the commander of a regiment, he received a title generally bestowed. He has freely tendered to his children advantages of higher education furnished by academy and college, and, a patron of the press, keeps well informed upon the events of the times. Whether at home or at county and State conventions, Colonel DEWEY is a man whose opinion is regarded and whose influence is felt. He is honored in the home circle and popular with the public, a kind parent, a patriot citizen.

 

DEWEY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 62

DEWEY, Eugene B., Victor, was born in the village of Victor, November 7, 1833, was educated in the district schools and has always been a farmer.  November 7, 1857, he married Augusta COOPER, of the town of Farmington, and they have had two children: T. Emmett, who married Arra ETTER, of Abilene, Kan., where they reside; and Bernie, who resides at home with his father.  Mrs. DEWEY died March 31, 1876.  Mr. DEWEY's father, Lanson, was born in Madison county, April 2, 1805, and came to this place August 14, 1826.  He was a farmer by occupation.  He married Mary E. FELT, of Victor, and they had five children, all living: Bernard M.; Eugene B.; Gertrude, who married James FROST, of Victor; Ellen, who married Peter PLUMB; Ida M., who married Marvin A. WILBER, now of Victor.  Mr. DEWEY's father was supervisor of the town for 11 years, and represented the assembly district in the Legislature two terms, 1862 and 1863.  He died the last week of February, 1886, and his mother about the year of 1852 (s/b 1854).  

 

DEWEY   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 289 

DEWEY, John J., Clifton Springs, was born in the town of Manchester, December 1, 1832.  He received a liberal education in the schools of Ontario county, and at Clinton, Oneida county, after which he taught school for two years.  Then after being engaged in agricultural pursuits for a few years, he accepted a position as cashier of the Sanitarium, which position he has held for over twenty years.  Mr. DEWEY was appointed postmaster of Clifton Springs, by President HARRISON about three years ago.  At present he is most acceptably filling both offices.  He married Mary BUTLER, and they have three children, all girls.  Mr. DEWEY is identified with the Masonic brotherhood, K. of P., and other benevolent and social institutions; and is a prominent member of the Methodist church here.

DEWEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 290

DEWEY, Col. Edmund B., Clifton Springs, was born at Clifton Springs June 2, 1801.  His father participated in the War of 1812, and his grandfathers on both sides went to the Revolution.  Colonel DEWEY, has passed his life in agricultural pursuits.  His first wife whom he married in 1821 was Sarah COOPER, and they had 12 children, four of whom are living.  His second wife was Fanny VANDERHOOF.  They have no family.  Colonel DEWEY commanded an independent rifle company prior to the late Civil war.  He has served as assessor, commissioner of highways and in other town offices.  He is one of the oldest Masons in New York State; and the oldest member of the Universalist church of Clifton Springs.  Colonel DEWEY has worn the white flower of a blameless life and has worn it well, and enjoys the respect and esteem of the entire community.

 

DEYO  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 289-290

DEYO, George C., Naples, is a son of Ira DEYO, a descendant of the Huguenots who first settled on the Hudson River, having left France during the religious wars and persecutions of the sixteenth century.  He died in 1836, leaving six sons, of whom George C. is the third.  They were a remarkable family, celebrated for their musical ability as well as for their patriotism.  Four of them were in the Civil War, two of whom died from the effects of the service.  S(imeon) L., the oldest of the brothers, was graduated from the Geneva (now Hobart) College, and edited the Naples Record many years.  Their mother was Betsey LYON, daughter of Simeon LYON, one of the original settlers of Naples.  George C. was educated at the select schools of Naples, and married in 1870 Emily J. DUNHAM, of Philadelphia.  Mr. DEYO was in the dry goods business in New York about 20 years, but returned to Naples in 1881, and has conducted a general store in the village since.

 

 

DE ZENG 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 286 - 288

DE ZENG family -  Frederick Augustus, Baron DE ZENG, the ancestor of the only family of this name in America, was a Saxon nobleman, born in Dresden, the capital of Saxony, in 1756.  He was the second son of Baron DE ZENG of Ruckerswalde-Wolkenstein, near Marienberg, in Saxony, lord chamberlain to the Dutchess of Saxe-Weissenfels, and high forest-officer to the king of Saxony, by his wife, Lady Johanna Phillipina VON PONICKAU, of Altenberg.  He received a military education, and at the age of 18 (February 11, 1774) was commissioned as "Lieutenant of the Guard" in service of the Landgrave of Hesse-Cassel.  He was a close and intimate friend of the celebrated Baron DE STEUBEN, a friendship which lasted until the death of the latter, after both had become American citizens.  The latter, a Prussian, was much the elder of the two, and had held at one time the command of the "Regiment Von Salmuth," afterwards styled "Hesse-Cassel."  At this period, however, DE STEUBEN was in the service of the Prince of Hohenzollern-Hechingen.  DE ZENG was a Captain in the regiment of the "Hereditary Prince."  This was one of the regiments ordered to America by the Landgrave of Hesse-Cassell, under the convention entered into by the British government with him, the Duke of Brunswick, and two or three other minor German princes, for troops to aid in suppressing the American Revolution.  He, however, did not come to America until quite late in the war, at the close of 1780.  He exchanged from this regiment into that of the "Regiment du Corps," his commission in which bears date January 30, 1781.  Stationed in the city of New York and its neighborhood, it was his lot never to have been engaged in conflict with the Americans; in fact after his arrival active hostilities were comparatively limited north of the Chesapeake.  Baron DE ZENG was exceedingly pleased with America and Americans, owing perhaps to his having fallen in love with a charming Quakeress of Long Island, and determined at the close of the war to make America his home.  He found some difficulty in getting his resignation accepted, but finally succeeded, and on the 8th of November, 1783, received, at his own request, an honorable discharge from the German service.  In the following year, 1784, he was married in Trinity church, New York, to Mary, daughter of Caleb LAWRENCE and Sarah BURLING, his wife, of Flushing, L. I.  She was a lady gifted with extraordinary beauty and grace, united with a commanding presence and great good sense and decision of character.  After their marriage they lived at Red Hook, Dutchess county, where the baron purchased an estate.  He became a joint owner with his neighbor and friend, Chancellor LIVINGSTON, of a very large tract of land in Ulster county.  On the 3d of November, 1789, he was naturalized as an American citizen, and dropped the use of his hereditary title, simply signing himself Frederick A. DE ZENG.  Of an active, enterprising spirit, Major DE ZENG was one of the earliest promoters of internal improvements in this State.  He was connected with General SCHUYLER in establishing and carrying on the "Western Inland Lock Navigation Company," subscribing largely for the stock and taking a personal interest in the construction of the works.  He resided for many years at Kingston, Ulster county, and subsequently at Bainbridge, Chenango county.  His long, active life closed at Clyde, Wayne county, where two of his married children resided, on the 26th of April, 1838, at the age of 82 years, and he was buried at that place, his wife having died about two years previously, at Oswego, NY, where she is interred.  The fine natural abilities of Baron DE ZENG were highly cultivated.  He had in his youth all the advantages that rank and wealth could give, and profited well by them.  He was noted for the elegance and manly beauty of his person, and his graceful manner and mien.  The politeness and suavity of his address were remarked by all with whom he came in contact.  In society, of which he was fond, he was noted for his agreeableness and his grace in dancing, and he was a great favorite with both sexes.  His children were as follows: I. George Scriba, who married Eliza SMITH, and died at Grand Gulf, Miss., leaving no issue; II. Ernestine, who married James HOUGHTALING, M. D., of Kingston, Ulster county, and left issue; III. Richard Lawrence [1788-1848], of Skaneateles, who married Sarah LAWRENCE [1793 - 1872], his first cousin, daughter of Richard LAWRENCE, of New York.  He died at Oswego, NY, leaving two children, first, Rev. Edward DE ZENG, of Oswego, an Episcopal clergyman, the present head of the family, who married Mary RUSSELL, of Middleton, Conn., and has one son, Richard Lawrence; and second, Emmeline, who married James STOKES, captain United States army; IV. Philip Mark, [1790-1862] who married Lucretia SEARS, of Bainbridge, NY, and died at Clyde in 1861, leaving issue; Charles, Lawrence, John C., Clark, Philip, Eliza, Mary; V. William Steuben, [1793-1882] who married Caroline C. REES, daughter of Major James REES, of Philadelphia, afterwards of Geneva, and had issue: James REES, of New York; Josephine Matilda, married Edward F. DELANCEY, of New York, died June 5, 1865, leaving issue: William, died at Panama in 1849, unmarried; Caroline, married Clarence A. SEWARD, of New York; Henry Lawrence, of Geneva, married Olivia PEYTON; Edward CUTBUSH, of New York; Mary Anne, of Geneva, unmarried; Evelina THROOP, of Geneva, unmarried; VI. Arthur Noble, married, but left no issue; he died in 1829; VII. Sarah M., married [1818] Richard L. LAWRENCE [1788-1855IN], of New York, and has issue; VIII. Amelia Clarissa, married Addison GRISWOLD, of Syracuse, and has issue; IX. Maria, who married William S. STOW, of Clyde, (Wayne Co) and has issue.

 

 

DIBBLE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  57

DIBBLE, Newton Ward, West Bloomfield, was born in Stone Church, Genesee county, September 15, 1848.  His father, Charles, at the age of 12,  came with his father Sineus, from Sheffield, Mass., to East Bloomfield in 1821, and soon after went with his parents to Stone Church, where he spent his early manhood.  About 1851 to East Bloomfield, where he followed farming until about 1883m when he retired from active work and took up his residence in the village.  He married in 1827 Eunice WARD, born in Connecticut in 1809, but a resident of Stone Church, by whom he had six children: Charles Adelbert, Maria L. and Mary (twins), Sineus Bridgeman, Cassius Horatio, and Newton Ward.  His wife's father, John WARD, came from Connecticut, bringing with him his family to Stone Church.  Newton Ward DIBBLE, son of Charles, came from Bergen with his parents in 1851 and graduated from East Bloomfield Academy, then worked on his father's farm till 23 years old.  In 1873 he removed to Massachusetts and carried on a coal and lumber business for three years, since which time he has engaged mostly in buying and selling produce at Miller's Corners.  In 1870 he married Emma BENNETT, daughter of Abel BENNETT, of East Bloomfield, and they have three children: Maria Louise, Leslie Newton and Henry.  Mr. DIBBLE lives at Miller's Corners and is the present supervisor.  Abel BENNETT, father of Mrs. DIBBLE, was a native of Massachusetts, and lived many years in Nelson, Madison county.  In 1867 he came to East Bloomfield, where he died in 1886.  His wife was Jane KEITH, of Nelson, who is now living with her son at East Bloomfield.

 

DICKINSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  54 - 55

DICKINSON, Charles F., of Victor, was a son of Charles F. and Abigail (JONES) DICKINSON, and was born in Norfolk, Litchfield county, Conn., February 7, 1803.  In 1818 he emigrated with his parents, sister and three brothers: Lemira, William D., George and Arah P., to Victor, the family settling on Boughton Hill, on the farm now in the possession of the heirs of William D., the old homestead occupied by them being still standing.  He received his education at Norfolk and Victor, and was married in January, 1825, to Minerva C., daughter of Jared BOUGHTON, of Boughton Hill.  In 1826 he removed to Rush, NY, known also as Webster's Mills, where, in connection with his brother-in-law, Charles S. BOUGHTON, he engaged in milling and in general merchandising.  In November, 1829, his wife died, leaving one son, Charles B., born in 1829, now a resident of Ripon, Wis.  In February, 1835, he was again married to Ann Eliza ADAMS, daughter of Green and Sophia (BOUGHTON) ADAMS, the latter being a daughter of Enos BOUGHTON.  The children of this union were: Julia E., born at Rush in 1840, who married in September, 1861, William R. DRYER, son of the late William C. DRYER, of Victor, and died in June, 1873; and Ellen A., born at Victor in 1848, who married in November, 1878, the late Col. Henry P. UNDERHILL, of Baltimore, Md., after whose death in October, 1889, she returned to Victor, and now resides there.  During his residence at Rush he also acquired an interest in the mercantile business conducted by his brother, Arah P. DICKINSON at Victor, and in April, 1843, disposing of his interest at Rush removed to Victor village, and in 1845 purchased a property on Boughton Hill, which had been the old homestead of Enos BOUGHTON.  Here he rebuilt the old residence, and occupied it as a home for several years, returning in 1853 to Victor village, where he resided, somewhat impaired in health, and engaged in no active business, until his death, June 14, 1869.  His widow survived him, occupying the home at Victor until her death, April 3, 1892.  Kind and genial in his manner, though quiet and retiring; declining political preferment and position repeatedly offered; of unimpeachable integrity and uprightness; he commanded the fullest respect and confidence of his entire acquaintance, and his counsel and advice in private and public matters were often sought, and when so sought freely given.

 

DIMOCK  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 290

DIMOCK, E(noch) O., Phelps, was born in Phelps, March 17, 1843, one of three children of William P. and Lydia (OTTLEY) DIMOCK.  The others being William O. and F. J.  The grandfather was Rev. Solomon DIMOCK, a Baptist clergyman of Ohio.  The grandfather on the mother's side was William OTTLEY, born in Yorkshire, England, who came to this country when a young man and was one of the early settlers here.  G. O. DIMOCK, married January 18, 1865, Mary H. HOLBROOK, of Phelps, daughter of Lewis and Christine (HARTMAN) HOLBROOK, and they have two daughters, Kate (Mrs. E. S. KREGLOH), and Annie (Mrs. Chas. C. PARDEE).  Mr. DIMOCK was born and brought up on a farm, but for many years has given much time and attention to conducting public sales, in which he has been uniformly successful, not only in New York but several of the Western States.

 

DITMARS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  55

 

DITMARS, George F., Geneva, was born in Schuyler county, January 18, 1862.  He graduated from Cornell University with the class of ' 84, was admitted as an attorney and counselor-at-law in 1885, and came to Geneva in 1886 and began the practice of his profession.  By diligent effort he has secured an extensive practice, and is now the senior member of the firm of Ditmars & Wyckoff.  He was instrumental in organizing the East Geneva Land Company, a corporation that purchased the land, platted and started the building up of the village of Border City, Seneca county.  He now holds a number of important positions, is interested in several manufacturing enterprises, is treasurer of the New York State Business Men's Association, a trustee of the village of Geneva, and one of the executors of the estate of the late John V. DITMARS.

 

DIXON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 61

 

DIXON, Walter J., West Bloomfield, a native of Mayfield, Fulton county, came with his father Jacob to Gorham in 1826.  He was born August 28, 1814, and died August 16, 1891.  He began his business career by working a farm at East Bloomfield for Mrs. FAIRCHILD, and later came to Gorham, near Reed's Corners.  He married Adaline ROAT, a native of Jerusalem, Yates county, and daughter of John ROAT of Orange county, who settled in Gorham near Hopewell, where he died.  Walter lived 27 years in Gorham and came to this town in 1863, where he bought the farm now occupied by his widow and her daughter Addie.  He was supervisor here two years, and was a Democrat.  Of the three daughters of Mr. and Mrs. DIXON, the oldest, Mary L., married H. A. METCALF, and died in Lima.  Hannah E. married Thomas LUBBOCK and resides near Battle Creek, Mich.  Addie, the youngest daughter, resides at home.

 

DIXON    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 289

DIXON, Mrs. John B. (Nancy S.), Geneva, married first, June 2, 1853, William C. TYLER, of Geneva.  He was born in Berkshire county, Mass., in 1831, and came to this country at an early day.  They had three daughters: Mary, who died aged four years and six months; Amanda J., wife of William H. FRAUTZ of this place; and Nellie, who married John H. BEARD, of Geneva.  Mr. TYLER was mustered into Company D, 148th N. Y. Vols., September 14, 1862.  This regiment was in many important battles.  Mr. TYLER was killed in the battle of Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864.  For her second husband on July 3, 1867, she married John B. DIXON, who was born in Yorkshire, England, and came to the United States in 1851, locating in Geneva.  They had four children: John B., who died aged 13 months; Catherine E., A. Clark, and James B., all living at home.  Mr. DIXON died March 4, 1890.  He was a veteran tile manufacturer.  Mrs. DIXON's father, Sidney SLARROW, was born in Dutchess county, and came here when a young man.  He married Ann TAYLOR, of Seneca, and they had two children: Abram, who resides in the West, and Nancy S.    Mr. SLARROW died in 1841, and Mrs. SLARROW in 1851.

 

 

DIXON

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 230 - 232 

The late John Boynton DIXON, of Geneva, an expert tile and brick-maker, and the inventor of valuable improvements in the manufacture of clay products, belonged to an English family which for upwards of a century was identified with that business, both in England and America.  His grandfather, James DIXON, a gallant soldier in the British army, holding the rank of sergeant, had the honor of serving under the renowned Duke of Wellington, and participated in the famous battle of Waterloo, which decided the fate of Europe and effectually terminated the imperial aspirations of the greatest military dictator of modern times.  The sabre which he carried in that memorable struggle is now in the possession of his grandson's widow. 

Upon his retirement from the army Sergeant James DIXON returned to his home in Rellington, England, and engaged in the manufacture of tile and brick.  Physically strong and active, he nearly rounded out a full century, dying at the unusually advanced age of 96 years.  His wife, who is now only known to her descendants in this country as Dame DIXON, was a woman of excellent character and superior intellectual attainments, who conducted a school for girls in Rellington.  She lived to be 80 years old. 

     ( II ) John, son of Sergeant James DIXON, and the father of John Boynton DIXON, was born in Rellington the latter part of the eighteenth century, and died in early manhood when his son John B. was an infant.  He married Hannah ______, born in Rellington in 1790, died in 1880, a nonagenarian.  Left with the care of an infant by the untimely death of her husband, she subsequently became the wife of a Mr. CLARK.  The children of her second union are:  1. James, who resides in Canada, married and has four children.  2. George, a resident of Canada, married and has three children.  3.  Richard, who also resides in Canada, four children.  4. Anna, married a Mr. SERGEANT, ten children.  5. Bessie, who is residing in Manitoba, British Columbia, Canada, and has a family. 

     ( III ) John Boynton, only child of John and Hannah DIXON, was born in Rellington, England, February 3, 1812, died in Geneva, New York, March 4, 1890.  He was reared and educated in his native town, where he also served an apprenticeship at tile and brick-making with his grandfather, and in 1832 he engaged in that business for himself at Leeds, England, remaining in that city about twenty years.  Arriving in New York in 1851, he proceeded to select a suitable place in which to locate, and being favorably impressed with the inducements offered at Geneva he established a tile and brick yard in that town.  This industrial enterprise proved successful from the start, and its promoter built up an extensive and profitable business.  Mr. DIXON introduced the manufacture of drain tile, and through his efforts the farmers in Western New York became convinced that by its use their lands could be made to yield larger and better crops.  He also introduced numerous improvements in tile-making and was the inventor of the "Down Draft Inside Flue" tile kiln, which is now extensively used in the burning process of all clay products.  He was frequently consulted as an expert in matters relative to his business, and in 1870 he was employed to establish a tile brick plant at Anderson, South Carolina, for Senator Creighton.  In addition to his regular business he was quite largely interested in the production of nursery stock.  In his religious faith he was an Episcopalian and attended Trinity church.  Politically he was a republican.

Mr. DIXON married (second) in 1867, Mrs. Nancy TYLER (nee SLARROW).  Children:  1. John Boynton, born September 28, 1868, died at the age of one year.  2. Katherine Elizabeth, born April 2, 1870.  3. A. Clark, born December 20, 1871, married Nora L. CATCHPOLE, January 18, 1899; children:  John B., born August 22, 1905; Dorothy Clark, born in Corning, New York, August 10, 1908.  4. James B., born July 15, 1875.  Mr. DIXON had a step-daughter Frances, who became the wife of Charles SCOTT.  She died in 1868, leaving six children, five of whom were reared and educated by Mr. and Mrs. DIXON.

Mrs. Nancy DIXON was born in Geneva, January 10, 1831.  Her father was Sidney SLARROW, a native of Dutchess county, New York, who settled in Geneva when a young man and learned the carpenter's trade with John R. MORRISON, of that town, where he died in 1846.

Her mother, Ann ( TAYLOR ) SLARROW, who was born in Seneca, New York, died in 1835, when Mrs. DIXON was but four years old, and she was reared and educated by Mrs. John M. WOODS, of Seneca, who in every way proved equal to her self-imposed task.  Mrs. WOODS, who lived to the good old age of 90 years, was sincerely loved by all who knew her, and Mrs. DIXON holds her in the most affectionate remembrance.  Nancy SLARROW married for her first husband William C. TYLER, a native or Massachusetts, who fought for the preservation of the Union in the Civil War and was killed in the battle of Cold Harbor, in June, 1864.  The children of this marriage are:  1. Mary May TYLER, born May 5, 1852, died November 2, 1856.  2. Amanda Jane, born April 28, 1854, married William FRAUTZ, of Geneva; children:  Nellie E. FRAUTZ, now Mrs. R. WINTON, of Lodi, New York, and has two children; Nancy Dixon FRAUTZ, died January 9, 1910; Mary FRAUTZ, now Mrs. Winifred TURK, of Geneva, one son, Henry, who died in infancy; William Henry FRAUTZ, born July 8, 1890; Catherine FRAUTZ, born April 2, 1893.  3. Nellie Tyler, born in 1861, married John Beard, June 1880, and have two children:  Thomas and Sylvia.

 

 

DIXON

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 490 - 491

Prominent among the highly successful and enterprising business men of Hall, New York, are Dudley Marvin and Edward Baxter DIXON, brothers, sons of Edward and Isabella (CROSIER) DIXON, the latter named a daughter of Major CROSIER.  They belong to that honorable class of men in whom every city takes a peculiar pride, men who by force of character, strength of will and firmness of purpose, joined to natural ability, have come to deserve the distinctive title of self-made.

Dudley Marvin DIXON was born in Hall, Ontario county, New York, March 29, 1870.  He obtained a practical education in the public schools of his native town, and this was supplemented by attendance at Canandaigua Academy.  Since 1900 he has been engaged in the produce business in partnership with his brother, Edward Baxter, and their business being conducted on the proper basis, honorable and straightforward dealings with all, has proven a success and they are deriving therefrom a goodly income.  To give a slight idea of what they are doing, let us take the week beginning August 21, 1911.  They received and shipped 1,400 barrels of pears, 500 barrels of early apples, 2,000 baskets of plums, 500 baskets of crab apples, and 3,000 bushels of wheat---this for one week.  The banner day of that week they took in of Bartlett pears, 70,000 pounds; apples, 30,000 pounds; plums, 5,000 baskets; crab apples, 1,000 baskets.  This has to be taken in, weighed and packed for shipping and is generally shipped the day it is received, in car load lots.  To do this they have from 20 to 25 men employed, besides a competent bookkeeper and stenographer.  They occupy two large storehouses for the fruit alone, the grain being loaded directly into the cars.

A little way up the road, past the three large warehouses and past several phosphate buildings, we come to a building covering more ground than any of those mentioned (which is not quite completed).  This is the new "kraut" factory.  Inside there are 24 large tanks, and each one will hold 20 tons or more of sliced cabbage to make into kraut.  Two small machines, with innumerable knives, each of which is capable of cutting up 50 tons of cabbage a day, enable them to make 100 tons of cabbage per day into kraut.  They expect to ship this to all parts of the world.  They are well and favorably known in the community, have the respect of their business associates, and have before them the prospect of many years of usefulness.  Dudley M. DIXON is a Presbyterian in religion, and a republican in politics.  For four years and six months he served as a member of Co. B, 3rd  Regiment New York National Guard.  He holds membership in Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons; Chapter No. 36, Royal Arch Masons; Commandery No. 29, Knights Templar; Geneva Lodge, No. 1054, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Osceola Lodge, No. 768, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Stanley Grange, Patrons of Husbandry; Elks Club of Geneva, and the Masonic Club of Geneva.  He is unmarried.

Edward Baxter DIXON was born in Hall, Ontario county, New York, July 21, 1874.  He enjoyed the same educational advantages as his brother, and his business career has been identical with his with the exception that he engaged in his present line of business in 1895, five years prior to his brother entering.  He is connected with the Presbyterian church and his political affiliation is with the Republican party.  For 14 years he served in the capacity of secretary to ex-Senator RAINES of New York.  He is a member of Osceola lodge, No. 768, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.  He married at Gloversville, New York, April 19, 1904, Sarah M., daughter of Lemuel HEACOCK, born at Gloversville.  Children:  Dorothy I., born March 35, 1906; Edward S., April 29, 1908.

 

 

DONNELLY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  59

 

DONNELLY, Peter, Victor, was born in County Antrim, Ireland, November 14, 1822.  October 28, 1843, he married Catherine McNEILLY, of County Down, and they have 8 children; four were born in Ireland and four in the United States.  In July, 1850, they came to America, locating at Canandaigua.  Mr. DONNELLY was educated in the Queen's College at Belfast, was also trained in the National Training School for school teachers at Dublin.  He taught school in Ireland eight years.  Upon his arrival here he taught school six months, devoting his time mornings and evenings assisting the agent, a Mr. ROSS, with his accounts.  In the fall of 1850 he was appointed general ticket agent of the Elmira, Canandaigua and Niagara Falls Railway Company, which position he filled until 1859, when the company failed.  He was retained a year to close up the accounts.  In 1861 he spent considerable time traveling in the West.  In the fall of 1861 he taught school at Seneca Falls, and afterwards entered the employ of the New York Central, assisting the station agent, McFAGGAN.  On the 11th of June, 1864, he received the appointment of station agent at Canandaigua from the president of the New York Central Railroad Company, Dean RICHMOND and held the position until he died March 19, 1886.  His honesty and integrity were appreciated by the railway company, and his obliging and pleasing manners by the traveling public.

 

DOOLITTLE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 62

 

DOOLITTLE, Frank, Canadice, was born here May 4, 1851.  He was educated in the common and Honeoye Select Schools.  His father, William S., was a native of Vermont, and came with his parents at the age of nine years to Canadice.  The latter was a son of Thomas DOOLITTLE, and married Cleora, daughter of John ADAMS, whose farm he subsequently purchased and located upon, and where Frank now resides.  There were four children, one of whom died in infancy.  Lucy Jane married Sydney GASKEY; Eliza P., deceased, was the first wife of D. W. BEAM.  Frank DOOLITTLE married in 1871 Emma HARTSON, daughter of Asa HARTSON of this town, and they have had four children:  Arthur, born May 12, 1873; Jennie B., born May 8, 1877; Claud D., born February 3, 1886; and Bessie L., born July 24, 1887.  Mr. DOOLITTLE follows farming, and has 240 acres in the north part of the town.  His father built the residence about 1864.  Frank is a republican, and has been collector two years.  He and his wife are members of the M. E. church.

 

 

DORCHESTER

History of Ontario Co. & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 418-419

Edward G. DORCHESTER, a well known merchant of Ontario county, New York, and head of the firm of Dorchester & Rose, is descended from an old family of the state of New York.

l. James G. DORCHESTER, grandfather of Edward G., was born in 1791, died in 1850, and was a cabinet maker by occupation. He married Clarissa BACKENSTOSE, who was born in 1798, died in 1845.

1. Preston J., son of James G., and Clarissa ( BACKENSTOSE) DORCHESTER, was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, in 1819, died in 1891. His school education was a scanty one, as he was the main support of the family and could spare but little time to devote to educational matters. All his later success and prosperity he owed to his own unaided efforts, and at the time of his death he had amassed a competency. He was the organizer of the hardware firm of Underhill, Dorchester & Brother, which succeeded Prouty & Chew, who were the successors of Phineas PROUTY, the oldest business of its kind in the county. Subsequently he conveyed his interests in this undertaking to his son, Edward. G. DORCHESTER. He was a member of the Hook and Ladder Company of Geneva. He married in 1845, Mary Ann GRIFFIN, born in West Bloomfield, New York, 1820.

2. Edward G., son of Preston J. and Mary Ann (GRIFFIN) DORCHESTER, was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, in 1846. He attended the public schools of his native city, and then spent one and a half years at Hobart College. His business career commenced in 1866, when he accepted a clerkship in the store of Underhill, Dorchester & Brother, which he filled very capably for some years. He then spent considerable time in traveling throughout the south and west, returning to Geneva about 1885, and resuming his duties as a clerk in the same business in which he had previously been active. Later his father turned over his interests to him, and the business was continued under the new style of Dorchester & Rose, under which name it is carried on at the present time (1911). The establishment is a very fine one, equipped in the most modern manner, with an extensive line of goods, and is the largest store of its kind in Ontario county. Mr. DORCHESTER is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is a staunch republican and a member of the Episcopal church. Mr. DORCHESTER is unmarried.

 

DORSEY

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 96 - 97 

George C. DORSEY, owner of a large wholesale produce business in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, is the son of Upton DORSEY, who was born in Hagerstown, Washington county, Maryland, in 1814.  He removed from Seneca county to Geneva, New York, in 1838, and took a prominent part in the public affairs of his day, having served as justice of the peace for a number of terms.  He died in 1856.

George C. DORSEY was born in Ovid, Seneca county, New York, in 1834, and received his education in the common schools of Geneva, New York.  For a number of years he worked on the home farm, then commenced his business career at the age of twenty-six years as a clerk in a grocery store.  Subsequently he entered into a partnership with his elder brother, William A., in the grocery business, the firm operating under the name of W. A. Dorsey & Brother.  This association was in force until 1866, when Mr. DORSEY bought out his brother and became the sole proprietor and manager of the business.  In 1882 he retired from the grocery business and established himself as a wholesale produce merchant, with which enterprise he is identified at the present time (1910).  The business is in a very flourishing condition, and the integrity and upright and progressive business methods of Mr. DORSEY are evidenced in the fact that the annual sales show an ever-increasing amount.  Mr. DORSEY is independent in his political views, and a member of the Episcopalian church.

He married, 1864, Emma BRADLEY, born in Onondaga county, New York, 1845.  Children:  Charles B., born in Geneva, 1865, resides in Geneva, New York; Florence, married Arthur G. DOVE, and resides in Westport, Connecticut.

 

DOTY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  55 - 56

DOTY, Erastus R., Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, Ontario county, August 10, 1818, a son of Chester and Cynthia (REED) DOTY.  Chester DOTY was born in 1783, and had eight children, two of whom are living: William, a blacksmith of Centerfield; and Lucinda, widow of Cyrus WITTER, of Michigan.  Erastus R. was the third son, and when a young man moved to Niagara county, where he followed farming until 1869.  Returning to his native county, he bought a farm of 72 acres, where he lived until the fall of 1886, when he bought a place of twelve acres on which he built a beautiful residence.  July 8, 1887, he died.  Mr. DOTY was a firm republican, but his interest in public affairs was small, as his time was all given to home affairs and business.  He married Elizabeth B. McNAIR, of Bristol, who died in 1862.  He married, second, Melissa D. BEDELL, of Niagara county, and they had two children; one who died in infancy, and Bert E. of Centrefield.  Mrs. DOTY died April 14, 1881, and he married third, December 27, 1881, Julia J., daughter of Norris BEDELL, of Royalton, Niagara county, and widow of Alexander C. WHITE, of the same town.  Mrs. DOTY has one child, Rosa L. WHITE, wife of John L. HOOK, of Michigan.

 

 

DOUBLEDAY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 286

DOUBLEDAY, Harvey M., Farmington, was born in the town of Kingsley, Washington county, April 10, 1822.  He was educated in the common schools, has been a clerk, general merchant, commercial traveler, and now a farmer in Farmington.  He married twice, first on May 21, 1850, Mary G. CAREY of Stillwater, Saratoga county, and had four children: William C., Florence, Carey, and Ruth E.  For his second wife he married Mrs. Melvina (HUMPHREY) WRIGHT, formerly of Delaware county, on May 15, 1884.  He has resided in this town since 1866.  The DOUBLEDAYS can be traced from one Elisha DOUBLEDAY, who came from England in 1676, locating in Massachusetts.  Mr. DOUBLEDAY had seven great uncles in the Revolutionary War.  Mrs. (Melvina) DOUBLEDAY has married three times, first on May 28, 1849, Cyrus BALDRIDGE of Seneca county, and had four children: Alexander, Anna, Cyrus, and William.  Mr. BALDRIDGE died in 1866.  January 9, 1878, she married second Charles HUMPHREY of Phelps, who died in 1879, and third Mr. DOUBLEDAY.  Her father, the late Augustus WRIGHT, was born in the town of Danbury, Conn., in January, 1786, and came to this State with his mother and stepfather when he was two years old.  In 1810 he married Margaret FOWLER, formerly of Schoharie county, and had 11 children; eight survived: Aaron, Olivia, Mary, John, Martin, Hulda, Melvina, and Harvey.  Mrs. DOUBLEDAY's mother's father was a colonel in the Revolutionary War.

 

 

 

DOUGLAS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 81   

A few days later. Stephen A. DOUGLAS, from Brandon, Vermont, at the age of seventeen, became a student and remained until the last of December, 1832, or about two years.  Mrs. DOUGLAS, the mother of Stephen, was a widow, and married a Mr. GRANGER of Manchester, in this county, and hence made that her future home, bringing her son and daughter, afterwards, Mrs. Julius N. GRANGER, with her.  The record shows DOUGLAS to have studied, in the two years he was at the academy, Latin grammar, Latin reader, Latin tutor, ten books of Virgil, Greek grammar, Greek reader, Six Cicero's orations, algebra, etc.  After leaving the academy he entered the law office of Walter HUBBELL, Esq.    (use the following url to read more about Stephen A. Douglas)    http://ehistory.osu.edu/world/PeopleView.cfm?PID=26

 

 

DOUGLAS

History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg 137 

Stephen Arnold DOUGLAS, known as "the Little Giant", in the political struggles preceding the War of the Rebellion, was born at Brandon, Vermont, April 23, 1813; student at the Canandaigua Academy, 1831-33;admitted to the bar in Illinois, 1834; Attorney General of that State, 1835; Member of the Legislature, 1836; Secretary of State of Illinois, 1840; Judge of the Supreme Court of that State, 1841-43; Member of Congress, 1844-47; United States Senator from 1847 until his death, Abraham LINCOLN being his opponent 18 1858; candidate of the Northern Democracy for President of the Untied States in 1860; died at Chicago, June 3, 1861.   

 

DOUGLASS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 58 - 59

 

DOUGLASS, Samuel, Canandaigua, was born in Pittstown, Rensselaer county, March 5, 1825.  The grandfather, Samuel, was born in Rensselaer county about 1750.  He married second, Priscilla WOOD; and they had one son, Samuel, the father of subject.  He was born in Rensselaer county, December 5, 1802.  Until the last few years of his life he always made his home in this town, and was a very prominent man.  He was supervisor a number of terms, and in 1844 was elected assemblyman from his district.  In politics he was a strong Democrat until the War, when he became a republican.  He married at 22 years Asenath, daughter of Stephen SHERMAN, a native of Rhode Island, who lived at Rensselaer county, and they had 8 children, six surviving: George, in the mercantile business in New York; Mary S., wife of Nathaniel GIFFORD, of Canandaigua; Sarah Frances, wife of James HALKIN, of Indian Territory; John, of Troy; Ellen, of Canandaigua; and Samuel.  Samuel, the father, died February 2, 1884, and his wife died June 21, 1886.  The early life of our subject was spent in Rensselaer county.  In politics Mr. DOUGLASS is a Prohibitionist.  He has been assessor of his town, and he and his family are members of the Methodist Church.  He married in 1847 Waity, daughter of Nathaniel GIFFORD, of Rensselaer county, and they have six children: Caroline A.; Phoebe E., wife of Isaiah CASE, of Canandaigua; Mary M., who lives at home; Fred G.; Estella F., wife of Ira P. CRIBB; and James S., who conducts his father's farm.  He was educated in the common schools and at a select school.  He assisted on his father's farm until about 24 years of age, when he bought a place for himself, which he conducted until 1857, when he bought 70 acres on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake, which he conducted for 10 years, and then bought 170 acres where he now resides.  He has since added 106 acres to it, making one large farm of 276 acres, devoted to hay and stock.

 

DOUGLASS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 288

DOUGLASS, Fred G., Canandaigua, was born in Pittstown, Rensselaer county, February 14, 1853, the oldest son of Samuel and Waity (GIFFORD) DOUGLASS.  He moved with his parents to Gorham on the east shore of the lake, and in 1858 they bought a farm on the west shore of the lake in this town, where the boyhood of our subject was spent.  In 1867 they moved to the farm in the north part of the town where Mr. DOUGLASS still resides.  Fred was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and when he left school at twenty took up teaching, which he followed two years in Farmington, one winter in the fifteenth district, and three winters in district No. 8, Canandaigua.  He married in March, 1879, and conducted his father's farm until April, 1889, when he bought the old KELSEY farm of 100 acres in Canandaigua.  Mr. DOUGLASS does a general farming, making hay the principal product.  He is also agent for the American Road Machine Company, and the Lester Phosphate Company.  He has always taken an active interest in politics and is a Democrat.  He was selected in 1888 commissioner of highways, serving three years.  His wife, Sarah R., was the daughter of George C. MATHER, of Canandaigua.  They have six children: Emma M., born February 3, 1880; Samuel M., September 11, 1881; Ray, September 9, 1883; Waity R., September 18, 1884; Fred M., March 21, 1886; Ira P. Cribb DOUGLASS, December 26, 1890.

 

DOUGLASS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 290 - 291

DOUGLASS, Bainbridge, Gorham, was born in Gorham January 4, 1841, a son of Henry, son of Caleb, a native of Connecticut.  When a young man Caleb went to Whitesborough, and married Sarah ROBERTS, by whom he had six sons and three daughters.  He was one of the founders of the First Baptist church at Whitesborough, and was its first minister.  In 1824 he came to Gorham where he died in 1836.  Henry was born in Whitesborough in 1808, and came to Gorham with his parents.  He was thrice married, first to Amanda BLODGETT by whom he had two children; second to Angeline BAINBRIDGE of Romulus born in 1810, by whom he had two sons and three daughters.  Mrs. DOUGLASS died March 15, 1861, and he married Mrs. Martha NEWMAN.  In 1857 he moved to Penn Yan where he resided six years, then went to Southern Kansas.  He was a deacon in the Baptist church at Gorham for 40 years.  Bainbridge DOUGLASS was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and followed teaching for some time, and then attended Eastman's Business College, graduating in 1861.  October of the same year he enlisted in Co. G, 8th N. Y. Cavalry, and was in the following engagements: The retreat of Banks from Winchester to Harper's Ferry; battle of Harper's Ferry; and of Antietam.  He was injured by being thrown from a horse at Barber's Cross Roads, when he was conveyed to the regimental hospital and afterwards to the hospital at Washington.  Here he remained a few days and was taken to Philadelphia where he remained two months, and received a furlough for thirty days.  On his return to join the regiment he was taken sick at Elmira, and was discharged February 19, 1863.  In 1864 he married Caroline STONE, a native of Phelps, born June, 1841, and a daughter of Harvey, son of Harvey H. STONE, a native of Connecticut, who came to Gorham in 1809.  Harvey H. married Dolly LAKE by whom he had three sons and two daughters.  He died in 1856, and his wife in 1851.  Harvey STONE was born in Gorham in 1811 on the farm he now owns.  June 20, 1838, he married Caroline OTTLEY, born in Phelps October 6, 1818.  Her father was William OTTLEY who emigrated from England to Phelps in 1806, and married Lydia PECK by whom he had five daughters and three sons.  Mr. HARVEY STONE and wife have had six daughters.  Mr. DOUGLASS and wife have had two daughters: Alice A., wife of Fortis GATES of Gorham; and Lillian L., who married Levi LINCOLN, and had one daughter, Gertrude N., who died aged 22 months.  Mr. LINCOLN died September 3, 1891.

 

DOUGHERTY

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 93 - 96 

When DE NONVILLE and his French army, in 1687, destroyed the Indian village of Gannagaro and Gaudougarae, the inhabitants were driven eastward and formed a village near the foot of Canandaigua Lake, which village and lake have since then borne that name.  Among the Indian inhabitants in those days were many Catholics, some of them Senecas and most of them Hurons and Algonquin captives, the result of 50 years of missionary labor of the zealous Jesuits.  Even in our day the beads and crucifixes given the Indians by the missionaries are still picked up on the sites of the old Indian towns. 

Following the Revolution and the white settlement of western New York, Canandaigua became a prominent center of commerce and government, and no doubt many Catholics were among the pioneers.  The family of Hugh COLLINS came as early as 1823, others followed, and there are traditions of lumber wagons leaving here Saturday afternoons to bring the people to the Sunday mass at St. Patrick's in Rochester.  About 1840 Rev. Bernard O'REILLY, of Rochester, said the first mass in Canandaigua in the Patrick DOYLE house on Antis street.  Mass was celebrated in various homes for the following few years.  At length, in 1844, a lot was purchased by Father O'REILLY from Thomas BEALS, and in the fall of 1846 the pew books give the following list of pew holders.  On the south side of the church:  Bernard SCANDLING, Bridget GARVEY, Hugh COLLINS, Patrick WHITE, Patrick DOYLE, Michael COYLE, Catherine HANAVIN, Agnes KING, John WHALEN, William LYSAGHT, Eleanor GANNON, James RYAN, Patrick SHERRY, Matthew CARROLL, Hugh KEEFE, James GLEASON, James COONEY, Thomas ECCLES, James CASS, Miss EAGAN.  On the north side of the church:  John CLASSEY, John CALLAHAN, Walter CORCORAN, James COYLE, Martin WHITE, Charles MURPHY, Thomas WALSH, Peter COWAN, Bernard COYLE, Maria CONNELL, Peter MOORE, Matthew WALSH, Jerry MAHANEY, William DAY, Patrick LEDDY, Catherine KILKELLY, John SMITH, Cornelius HURLEY, Neil CONNELLY, Connor KELLY, Jerry NOONAN

After two brothers, Rev. BERNARD and Rev. William O'REILLY, of Rochester, ceased their attendance at the Canandaigua Mission.  Rev. Patrick BRADLEY, of Geneva, for one year took care of the little church as his out-mission.  He purchased books for church records, since which time all records of baptisms, marriages and burials have been kept in the local parish archives.  In 1849 Rev. Edmund O'CONNOR was made first resident pastor, and he continued in that office for nine years.  He enlarged the church, established a school in the basement, brought the sisters of St. Joseph from St. Louis, Missouri, built a rectory, and purchased the first part of the cemetery.  There was considerable anti-Catholic prejudice in those days, and rumors of church burning caused much excitement and alarm.  Father O'CONNOR controlled the situation with a strong hand, and gradually won the respect of all parties.  St. Mary's Academy and Orphan Asylum was founded in 1855 on Saltonstall street. 

The next pastor was Rev. Charles McMULLEN, who officiated for a year and was then transferred to Seneca Falls.  He is described as an eloquent man, of striking appearance.  Then came the scholarly Father PURCELL, who was a brother of Editor William PURCELL, of the Rochester Union, and who is best remembered as the priest who read his sermons.  Rev. James M. EARLY was pastor during the first days of the Civil war and served for two years before being transferred to the pastorate of St. Mary's Church in Rochester.  While at Canandaigua he enlarged the old church to its present dimensions.  He was a good writer and preacher, and always interested in the young people.  Rev. Joseph McKENNA succeeded him, and for the following six years faithfully performed his duty until an injured knee forced him to retire.  He was assisted during the latter part of his pastorate by Rev. David O'BRIEN.  Shortly after the formation of the new diocese of Rochester in 1868, Bishop McQUAID appointed Rev. Dennis ENGLISH, of Penn Yan, as pastor, and for a period of years corresponding to the lifetime of our Blessed Lord, he presided over the destinies of this parish.  In 1874 he purchased the Granger property on upper Main street, at a cost of $20,000, to which he transferred the new orphanage and school.  The Rev. D. ENGLISH was ably assisted by Rev. Thomas B. O'BRIEN, 1890-91, and by Rev. John H. O'BRIEN from 1896 to 1901.  Father ENGLISH lies buried beneath the great granite cross in Calvary Cemetery, in the midst of the people whom he loved. 

The records of the past nine years, since 1901, are fresh in the minds of the people of Canandaigua.  They include the construction of a new stone church at a cost of $90,000, a new rectory, $18,000, and a new parish hall and enlargement of the school at a profitable cost of $20,000.  The pastor during this time has been the Rev. James T. DOUGHERTY (see forward), and in his work he has enjoyed the priestly co-operation of Rev. Andrew BYRNE, Rev. Bernard J. GEFELL, Rev. James J. CLARK (deceased), Rev. John B. BAIER and Rev. John E. MASSETH, the present assistant.  Among the young men who have gone forth from the parish into the ranks of the priesthood are Rev. William MULHERN, Rev. John J. DONNELLY, Rev. Richard T. BURKE, Rev. L. Augustine SMITH, Rev. Dennis J. McCORMICK, Rev. John A. CONWAY, Rev. Edward G. WIDMAN, Rev. Daniel P. QUIGLEY and Rev. John B. SULLIVAN.  The parish also has a lesser claim upon Rev. William PAYNE, Rev. Francis E. McCRONE and Rev. John P. BROPHY.  Numerous young ladies have gone out from here to devote their lives to religion.  Among others, the BAGLEY, RAFTERY, CAPLISE, FITZGERALD, CLANCY, TURNER, HINES, FAHY, KEEFE, CASBY, WYFFELS, DORAN, COOGAN, POWERS, CORCORAN, RICHARDSON and DONNELLY families have been thus honored. 

Canandaigua was the first place in New York state for the Sisters of St. Joseph to work in.  Three members of the order, which had come from France in 1834 and located in Missouri, came to Canandaigua upon invitation of Father O'CONNOR and Bishop TIMON, of Buffalo.  They occupied the O'REILLY house in Saltonstall street, beginning their work, December 8, 1854, the day the doctrine of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary was defined at Rome.  Canandaigua was for three or four years the mother house of the order, and some of her older parishioners recall the religious receptions of the Sisters, held in the old church, one of the novices upon those occasions being Miss HENDRICK, of Penn Yan, sister of Mgr. HENDRICK, and the late lamented Bishop HENDRICK, of Cebu, and known in religion as Mother ALOYSIA.  Among the early sisters were MOTHER AGNES SPENCER, SISTERS FRANCES JOSEPH, THEODOSIA, STANISLAUS, ANASTASIA, JULIA, NATIVITY, NICHOLAS and ALPHONSUS.  The present teaching staff consists of SISTERS BERNADETTE, AMBROSIA, ANTOINETTE, ALBINA, FLORENCE MARIE, ESTHER, ANGELITA, Miss  Helen BUCKLEY and Miss Mary McDONALD. 

Rev. James T. DOUGHERTY was born in Fayette, Seneca county, New York, April 23, 1863, son of Patrick and Mary (BANNON) DOUGHERTY, who were born in West Meath, Ireland.  Patrick DOUGHERTY emigrated to the United States in 1846, and his wife preceded him by one year, their marriage occurring in this country.  They were the parents of nine children, four of whom attained years of maturity, namely:  Bernard, a resident of Waterloo, New York; Patrick and James T., twins, the former a resident of Kendaia, Seneca county, New York, and Mrs. Anna HAMILTON, of Kendaia.  Patrick DOUGHERTY followed the occupation of farming.  He died in 1904, and his wife in 1889. 

James T. DOUGHERTY was educated in the Miller district school, town of Romulus, and at the Ovid union school, after which he taught for one year in the Ayers district, town of Varick.  He then entered St. Andrew's Preparatory Seminary, at Rochester, New York, and later St. Joseph's Theological Seminary, at Troy, New York.  He was ordained to the priesthood, October 28, 1887; placed in temporary charge of Honeoye Falls and East Rush parish during the summer of 1888; assigned as assistant at St. Mary's Church, Auburn, October, 1888; sent as pastor to Stanley and Rushville, September, 1890; promoted to the pastorate of St. Patrick's Church, at Dansville; Holy Name, at Groveland, May, 1893; appointed to St. Agnes' Church, at Avon, June, 1901; and upon the death of Father ENGLISH, September, 1901, became the pastor of St. Mary's Church, at Canandaigua.  He is earnest and zealous in his work, ever looking to the spiritual and temporal welfare of his parishioners, and is greatly beloved by all who have come under his benign influence.

DOVE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  56

 

DOVE, John, Geneva, was born in Yorkshire, England, August 5, 1821, and was a son of William, who came to Geneva about 1830, and who was a contractor and builder.  John DOVE was a builder here for many years, and also a manufacturer of brick.  His son, William G., was born in Geneva, November 5, 1847, received a common school education, and when 17 years old went to work with his father at the mason's trade.  When 21 years of age he formed a partnership with his father.  He spent a year at Defiance, Oh., making boxes for the Standard Oil Company.  In the fall of 1879 he was elected county clerk, and served 3 years.  He next engaged in real estate and building, and in 1889 bought his father's interest in the brick yard.  In 1892 he started a new yard, with the capacity of 1,500,000 brick per year.  He has been highway commissioner and collector of his town, is a republican, and takes an active part in politics.  In 1877 he married Anna E., daughter of William CHIPPS, and has two sons: Arthur G. and Paul M.  He is a member of the F. & A. M. (No. 33).  He built Christ church at Rochester, Warner's cottage at the Thousand Islands, and the North Presbyterian church at Geneva, besides many other buildings of note.

 

DRAPER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  54

 

DRAPER, James F., Victor, was born at White Creek, Washington county; was educated in the public schools and at the Tecumseh branch of the Michigan University; studied medicine with his grandfather, James POST, of Adrian, Mich.; graduated from Geneva Medical College in 1846; began practice at Saline, Mich., in that year.  In 1853 he went to Chicago, remaining there until 1866; returning to Saline for 3 years; came to Victor in 1869, where he is now engaged in the practice of his profession.  He married twice, first, January 27, 1855, Adelaide HAYWOOD, of Saline, Mich.; they had one son, Frank J. DRAPER, who is traveling salesman in the west for a New York city shoe house; second, October 30, 1861, Mary A. HUTCHINS, of Victor, who was born in the house where they now reside.  They have had 5 children, three survive: Allen H., Mary L., and Mabel.  Allen H. has been in the shoe trade since boyhood, and is now with Eastwood & Son, Rochester.  Dr. DRAPER's father, Phillip N., was born in Dutchess county in 1800, studying medicine with the same Dr. James POST, then of White Creek, NY, graduating from the New York University, marrying Sila A. POST, daughter of his preceptor, with whom he began practice.  In 1825 he removed to Manchester, Ontario county, and died in 1827.  He was a member of Manchester Lodge, F. and A. M.  The last recorded act of the lodge was the resolution to attend his funeral.  His grandfather, Friend DRAPER, was a Methodist minister, well-known in Western New York, who spent his last years on a farm at Bellona, dying at the age of 91 years.  One of his ancestors, William DRAPER, commanded a company of minute men, and died at his post of duty while an the Ticonderoga expedition.  A number of his ancestors were Revolutionary War soldiers.  The DRAPERS are of English extraction.

 

DRYER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 61

 

DRYER, William R., Victor, was born in Victor, February 3, 1841.  He was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary.  He was discount clerk in the Flour City, Bank of Rochester three years; bookkeeper in the State Treasurer's office in Albany four years until 1879, and after this became cashier of the First National Bank of Abilene, Kan., for five years, returning to Rochester in 1885.  For some time he has been vice-president of the Genesee National Savings and Loan Association of Rochester.  September 18, 1861, he married Julia E., daughter of Charles F. DICKINSON of Victor, who died June 1, 1873.  They had two children, Carrie E., who married Prof. Elmer SHERMAN of Port Jervis, and died in November, 1886; and William C., a farmer on the old homestead, who married Clara OUTHOUSE of Canandaigua, and they have one son, Truman C.  Mr. DRYER's father, William C., was born in Victor, March 28, 1810, and married Phoebe M. BALL, sister of Drs. Wm. and Chas. BALL, of that place.  He died in Victor, February 21, 1891.  They had two children:  William R., and Caroline C., who died when 16 years old.  Mr. DRYER's grandfather, Rufus, was born in Stockbridge, Mass., in 1780, and came to Victor in 1798.  He married Lydia COBB in 1804, formerly of Conway, Mass.  They had five children: Selecta, Minerva, George, William and Truman.  His grandfather was a R. A. Mason, and his father a Master Mason, and Mr. DRYER himself a 32nd degree Mason.  In politics the family have always affiliated with the Democratic party.  His father was postmaster under General JACKSON and others for twelve years, was United States marshal four years under BUCHANAN's administration, a presidential elector several times, and member of the Democratic State Committee ten years.

 

DUNCAN

History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg 274 

Alexander DUNCAN, a prominent figure in the social and professional life of the county seat in early days, was born in Arbroth, Scotland, May 26, 1804, and coming to America when 14 years of age made his home in Canandaigua with his father's friend, John GREIG; graduated from Yale College; studied law with Nathaniel W. HOWELL; admitted to practice at the bar in 1828; continued a resident of Canandaigua for a number of years, then removed to Providence and later, about 1855, to New York city, where in association with Henry B. GIBSON's son-in-law, Watts SHERMAN, he founded the banking house of Duncan & Sherman; returned to England about the year 1868 and died there in 1886.   

 

DUNNING  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 243 - 244

DUNNING, Wm. B., Geneva, was the founder of the New York Central Iron Works, one of the largest of the kind in the Empire State.  He was born in Cayuga county, NY, in 1818, and spent his boyhood days in Auburn until 1833, when he took his departure for Dunkirk, where he learned the trade of an engineer and machinist.  There he served an apprenticeship of four years and two months until he reached the age of 20 years.  He was an earnest and faithful apprentice, bound to learn and be at the head in his business.  From Dunkirk Mr. DUNNING went to Syracuse, where he was employed in a large machine shop, and owing to his ability as a mechanic he was given the highest wages paid to journeymen in those days.  It was in 1841 when Mr. DUNNING came to Geneva through the advice of the late Thomas D. BURRELL, and was given a position which he held with efficiency at a large salary for five years.  In 1845 he entered the employ of John R. JOHNSON, the owner of the Seneca Lake Foundry and Engine Works and also the Seneca Lake steamers.  There he took full charge of the immense business.  Mr. DUNNING placed the machinery in the old Kanadesaga and the famous Ben Loder, steamers that plied the waters of Seneca Lake years ago.  He also put the machinery in the Maid of the Mist and ran her the first fall and did excellent service as an engineer.  He built the first engine and boiler for the Woodbury Steam Engine Works of Rochester.  The New York Central Iron Works, now owned by a stock company, of which Mr. DUNNING is president, was built by him in 1853.  He started on his own account with a cash capital of seventy-five dollars, and to-day he is among the wealthiest citizens in this beautiful and progressive village.  Mr. DUNNING is also manager of the Seneca Lake Steam Navigation Company, and through his efforts the steamers on Seneca Lake have been put in excellent order and the company is doing an increasing business each year.  Mr. DUNNING is highly regarded by all who have the pleasure of his acquaintance.  He has been in public life since 1867.  He has been president of the village of Geneva several times, and is always interested in the welfare of the village, and no one is more deserving of a share of the credit for Geneva's "boom" to-day than is Mr. DUNNING.

 

DWIGHT

History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg 361 

Rev. Henry DWIGHT, the founder of the Bank of Geneva, now the Geneva National Bank, was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, June 25, 1783; graduated from Yale College in 1801 and later from Princeton Theological Seminary; pastor of a church in Utica, N.Y., 1813 to 1817, following which he retired from the ministry and moved to Geneva; President of the Bank of Geneva for 22 years; one of the founders of the American Home Missionary Society, and its President, 1837 to 1857; died at Geneva, September 6, 1857.

 

DWYER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  57

 

DWYER, John J., Canandaigua, was born in Ireland in 1844, and when five years old left there with his parents for this country, locating in Canandaigua, where his whole life has been spent.  His education was received in the common schools, and at the age of sixteen he went to work for the Northern Central Railroad, where he remained for about 7 years, and then opened a saloon on Main street, Canandaigua, which he conducted until 1884, when he started the brokerage business, giving that up after 2 years to take up the insurance business, which he still conducts.  In 1869 he was appointed deputy sheriff by Sheriffs Clark and Cheney, which office he held 6 years.  In 1888 Mr. DWYER was elected on the Democrat ticket to the office of police justice of Canandaigua, and in 1892 he was re-nominated on the Democrat ticket and endorsed by the Republicans.  He is a member of the A. O. U. W. and the C. M. B. A., and was a member of the Canandaigua Fire Department for 17 years.  

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

 [NY History and Genealogy]