Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
F

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                                Return to Home Page

 

 FAIRFAX

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 448 - 454

Sir Thomas FAIRFAX, of Yorkshire, England, was created Baron FAIRFAX of Cameron, Scotland, in 1627, and died in 1640.  He married

Helen ASKE.  Children:  Ferdinando, mentioned below; Henry, married Mary CHOLMLEY, and died in April, 1665; Charles, left issue. 

     ( II ) Sir Ferdinando FAIRFAX, eldest son of Sir Thomas FAIRFAX, was second Lord FAIRFAX.  He married (first) Lady Mary SHEFFIELD, (second) Rhoda CHAPMAN.  He died in 1747. 

     ( III ) Sir Thomas ( 2 ) FAIRFAX, son of Sir Ferdinando FAIRFAX. was the third Lord FAIRFAX.  He married Ann VERE, daughter of Lord VERE, and died in 1671 without male issue.  He was succeeded by Henry FAIRFAX, of Oglethorpe, who married Frances BARWICK, of Tolston, Yorkshire.  He was the son of Henry FAIRFAX, the second son of Sir Thomas ( 1 ), and he left children:  1. Thomas, fifth Lord FAIRFAX, whose eldest son Thomas, sixth Lord FAIRFAX, died in Virginia without issue in 1781; whose second son Henry, fifth Lord FAIRFAX, died without issue in 1734; whose third son Robert, seventh Lord FAIRFAX, died without issue in 1793.  2. Henry, second son of fourth Lord FAIRFAX, married Anne HARRISON; children:  Henry, died without issue; Thomas, died in infancy; Richard, died in infancy; William, born 1691, emigrated to America and resided at Belvoir, Virginia, died in 1757, and his grandson Thomas, son of Bryan, became the ninth Lord FAIRFAX; Bryan died in 1750.  3. Bryan, son of fourth Lord FAIRFAX, lived in England.  The following account of Thomas, third Baron of Cameron, was written by his cousin, Bryan FAIRFAX

"Thomas Lord FAIRFAX was the son of Ferdinando Lord FAIRFAX, and Mary SHEFFIELD, daughter of the Earl of MUSGRAVE.  He was born at Denton in the west of Yorkshire, Anno 1611, January 17th.  He went into the Low county Ward 1627, where General VERE, Baron of Tilbury, took special notice of him, whose daughter and co-heir he married anno 1637, and had issue Mary, Duchess of Bucks, and Elizabeth.  He commanded the Yorkshire troop of Red Caps in the first Scotch war.  He was knighted in 1640 and was chosen general of the parliament's army in the unhappy civil war, 1645, and resigned his commission in 1650.  He was signally instrumental in the restoration of his Majesty King Charles the 2nd, declaring for General MONK then in Scotland (at his earnest request) against Lambert's army which pressed hard upon him as he lay at Coldstream, whither my Lord FAIRFAX sent me his cousin Bryan, with a verbal answer to his letter brought by Sir Thomas CLARGIS, that he would appear at the head of what forces he could raise in Yorkshire the first of January 1659-60; which he did to so good effect that in three days time, the report of my Lord's FAIRFAX's opposing them, being spread about Lambert's army, the Irish Brigade, consisting of 1200 horse deserted him and sent to offer their service to my Lord FAIRFAX, and several foot regiments at the same time declared for their old General FAIRFAX, and in five days time LAMBERT himself with ten men stole away from his own army. 

"Then General MONK marched into England and offered the command of the army to my Lord FAIRFAX, but he refused; only advised him at his house at Appleton, where MONK gave him a visit, to consider that there would be no peace in England until the Nation was settled upon the old foundation of Monarchy and King Charles the Second restored.  And in the meantime to call the old secluded members into this Parliament, which had now got into their places again.  The General was more reserved than he needed to have been upon this free discourse of Lord FAIRFAX, being alone with him in his study, which gave my Lord occasion to suspect him ever after, until he declared himself the spring following that he was of the same mind, having received another letter at London from my Lord FAIRFAX, delivered by the same hand, Bryan FAIRFAX, and accompanied with the addresses of all the gentlemen of Yorkshire for a free Parliament and that they would pay no taxes till it met. 

"King Charles himself did often acknowledge his services, not only by granting him a general pardon, but upon all occasions speaking kindly of him, and praising his great courage, his modesty and his honesty. 

"In the year 1660, he was one of the Deputies of that Parliament or Convention sent to King Charles at the Hague (where Bryan FAIRFAX went with him) to invite his Majesty over into England, where he was kindly received, his Majesty sending my Lord Gerard to compliment him particularly and to conduct him to the court, where he kissed his Majesty's hand.  After his Majesty's restoration and coronation, my Lord FAIRFAX retired from London to his house in New Appleton near York (house which he built a few years before) and whence he peaceably spent the remainder of his life, between the pains of the gout and stone, with a courage and patience equal to that he had shown in the unhappy war.  The wounds and fatigue of that war brought those diseases upon him whereof he writes a short account, which he calls a Memorial of his actions in the Northern War from the year 1642 to 1644, and something in his own vindication after he was General.  The original is in the Denton Library.  The last seven years of his life that disease which he was most subject to, the gout, occasioned or increased by the heats and colds and loss of blood, the many wounds he got in the war, this disease took from him the use of his legs, and confined him to a chair, wherein he sat like an old Roman, his manly countenance striking love and reverence into all that beheld him, and yet mixed with so much modesty and meekness, as no figure of a mortal man ever represented more. 

"Most of his time did he spend in religious duties, and much of the rest in reading good books, which he was qualified to do in all modern languages, as appears by those he hath writ and translated.  Several volumes of his own handwriting are now in the study at Denton, with my brother Henry, Lord FAIRFAX.  He died of a short sickness, a fever, at Appleton, November the 11th, 1671.  The last morning of his life he called for a Bible, saying his eyes grew dim and read the 42d Psalm, 'As the hart panteth after the waterbrooks,' etc.  And so he quietly yielded up his soul to God in the 60th year of his age.  His funeral sermon was preached by Mr. Richard STRATTON, wherein he gives him his true character.  He was buried at Billrough near York, where a decent monument is erected to his memory.  His lady was there buried also."

     ( I ) George Henry FAIRFAX, born in 1796, in England, was a direct descendant of Sir Thomas FAIRFAX, the first Lord.  He resided in London, England, later came to America, settling first in Canada, and later in Geneva, New York, where he died.

     ( II ) George Henry ( 2 ) FAIRFAX, youngest son of George Henry ( 1 ) FAIRFAX, was born in London, England.  He settled in Geneva, New York.  He became a successful merchant in the course of time, having a wall paper store in the old Dunn property at the corner of Castle and Geneva streets.  In politics he was a Whig and later a Republican.  In religion he was a Methodist.  He married Elizabeth DUNN, of Geneva, daughter of Thomas DUNN.  Children:  Thomas H., Willis T., married January, 1885 Lena OSTEMBER, George S., Charles W., Franklyn.

     ( III ) Charles Washington FAIRFAX, son of George Henry ( 2 ) FAIRFAX, was born in Geneva, December 2, 1862.  His education was received in the public schools of his native place, graduating from the Geneva Union and Classical School.  While in school he worked mornings and evenings in his father's store, and like many other Geneva boys worked in the nurseries in the spring and autumn.  After leaving school he worked as clerk in his father's store.  In 1880 he formed a partnership with his brother, George S. FAIRFAX, who at that time returned from the west, and the firm took over the father's business, thus giving him an opportunity to retire from active life.  For a number of years the business was conducted under the firm name of George S. & Charles W. Fairfax.  The business grew and expanded with the growth of the city and in 1893 a third brother, Frank E. FAIRFAX, was taken into the firm.  At this time Frank E., had just returned from the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, suffering from typhoid fever, and he abandoned the navy to engage in business.  One of the first things done by the new firm was to purchase the site on the west corner of Castle and Linden streets and to erect thereon the four-story building at a cost of $21,000.  In the division of work, Charles W. took charge of the large interior decorating work, in which the firm was very successful, such as the decoration of churches and theatres.  The firm had the contract for the Smith Opera House in Geneva.  Such was the success of the firm in this line and in designing decorative schemes that the brothers were led to manufacture wall paper for their own use, taking for this department of the business the top floor of the building.  This branch of the business was established in 1898 at a time when the wall paper trade was largely controlled by the Continental Wall Paper Company, which administered the affairs of some fifty-two plants.  Notwithstanding the opposition of such a competitor, the firm found a market for its designs and its trade grew rapidly and it soon became necessary to erect a plant for the manufacture of wall paper.  A site was secured on South Exchange street and without the assistance of outside capital, the firm erected a building one hundred by two hundred and ninety feet and equipped it with a plant having a capacity of three million rolls of wall paper a year.  After four years in this building, the business was incorporated as the Geneva Wall Paper Company, of which George S. FAIRFAX was president; Charles W. FAIRFAX, vice-president and general manager, and Frank E. FAIRFAX, secretary and treasurer.  The corporation has continued without change in officers to the present time.  The capital stock is $70,000. 

From early life Charles W. FAIRFAX has been keenly interested in public affairs.  In 1880 he joined the Hydrant Hose Company of the Geneva Fire Department and he has been successively secretary and foreman, and is still an active member.  In the first election under the city charter of Geneva, in 1897, he was chosen an alderman on the Republican ticket to represent the fourth ward and from that time to the present (1911) he has been a member of the common council.  No man has had a longer period of office under the city government and few have been as efficient and faithful.  As he was slated for president of the common council early in 1907 he declined the nomination for alderman and W.L. YOUNG was nominated and elected.  By the shift of political fortunes, however, he failed to receive the nomination for president of the common council.  But before January 1, 1908, Mr. YOUNG decided to decline the office of alderman to accept the appointment of the board of assessors, and Mr. FAIRFAX was elected by the board to succeed himself.  Thus his services in the council have been continuous.  In the council he has been prominent as a member of the railroad committee, of which he has been chairman since 1902.  Largely through his efforts the railroads have added more gates and flagmen for the protection of pedestrians at the various grade crossings.  He has been chairman of the printing committee since 1907.  For more than ten years he has been a member of the electric light committee and he is also a member of the committee on public improvements, finance and contingent expenses.  He has also been appointed to practically all of the important special committees.  He was the Republican nominee for mayor in 1909, and at the election in November was defeated. 

He has been prominent also in military affairs.  He was a charter member of the Independent Battery of Geneva, and was lieutenant and captain.  At the time of the Spanish-American war (1898), when the 34th Separate Company was called into active service, he was a leader in the movement to recruit a new company to take its place in the National Guard and he was commissioned first lieutenant of the new company by Governor BLACK, and continued with this rank until the organization was mustered out early in 1899.  His military experience made him of great value to the various campaign marching clubs in many political campaigns.  He was major of the Blaine and Logan Battalion of the Plumed Knights and colonel of the famous McKinley Regiment, which numbered an even thousand.  In similar capacities he has been active in the management of other large parades in the city for many years.  At the time of the firemen's convention in 1903, he was grand marshal of the parade and organized a telephone system for the handling of the precession during the line of march.  In connection with the centennial celebration in 1906, besides serving on the general committee of arrangements and the finance committee, he was one of the marshals of the big industrial parade and grand marshal of the education day parade.  When a large labor day parade was held in Geneva in 1908 he assisted the Federation of Labor in organizing the parade and was chairman of the committee which awarded the prizes for the best equipped and best drilled union in the line, and in 1909 he was one of the marshals of the firemen's convention, assisting William WILSON, grand marshal of the day, in organizing the parade. 

Earlier in life Mr. FAIRFAX took an active interest in athletics, especially in the track and in-door sports.  He was the first physical director of the Young Men's Christian Association, when it was located in the Old Dutch Church.  While the athletic department of the institution was under his direction a series of gymnastic exhibitions were given, and with the proceeds of these events the first equipment of gymnasium apparatus was purchased for the association.  He was also the first physical director of Hobart College, when the first gymnasium was opened in Alumni Hall, on the south side of the campus.  He filled this position for ten years.  Students were required to spend two hours on three afternoons a week in gymnasium work, with optional work on the other three days.  In later years he has enjoyed the automobile and he is one of the charter members of the Automobile Club, organized, May 17, 1904, and has been its secretary from the first.  He took an active part in organizing and managing the annual runs of the organization.  He is also a member of the Kandasaga Club; Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons; Geneva Charter, No. 36, Royal Arch Masons; Geneva Commandery, No. 29, Knights Templar, of which he was eminent commander; Geneva Lodge, No. 1054, Benevolent and protective order of Elks.  His home is at 423 Main Street.

He married, August 8, 1900, Gertrude, daughter of Joel PAGE, of Seneca Castle.  She was a graduate of the State Normal School.

 

FARWELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  67

 

FARWELL, John G., Geneva, son of Samuel P., was born in the town of Ischua, Cattaraugus county July 17, 1861, and when 12 years of age his father removed to Elmira, NY.  John G. graduated from the grammar school and the Free Academy of the latter city, and in 1880 removed to Geneva and entered the law office of John E. Bean, Esq.  He was admitted to the bar at Buffalo on June 5, 1885, and in October of the same year was united in marriage with Minnie E. GOFF.  On the first of January following he opened an office in Geneva, where he is now practicing.  He has been a justice of the peace since 1885, and was local editor of the Geneva Gazette for five years.  Mr. FARWELL is also an extensive dealer in Geneva and Buffalo real estate.

 

 

FERGUSON

History of Ontario County, NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 158   

Stephen FERGUSON, the Scotch spelling of whose name shows his descent, was born in Duanesburg, Schenectady county, New York, January 11, 1798.  Moved to Gorham with his father, John FERGUSON, in the fall of 1813, who was one of those whose lives and habits (he being for 40 years a Methodist class-leader) changed the hitherto rude and rough society which had prevailed under squatter sovereignty, and gave to Gorham the steady, sturdy name and character which it has ever since maintained; and whose sons, like Stephen FERGUSON, now aged 78 years, yet active in mind and body, make the bone and sinew of our land.    (On pg 153, under District # 12)   John FERGUSON came in 1813 from near Albany, and settled upon the part of lot 32 where his son, Stephen, now a vigorous, hearty man, has long resided.

 

 

FERGUSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  69

 

FERGUSON, Harrison B., Canandaigua, was born in Phelps, April 22, 1842, a son of John H., a native of the county, a farmer and afterwards a merchant of Orleans.  He had four children, of whom our subject was the second son.  He was educated in the common schools and at Lima Seminary, and after leaving school spent two years in his father's store, and August 22, 1862, he enlisted in the 126th Regiment, N. Y. Vols., and served with them until December 25, 1864, when he received his discharge from the army and entered the Ordnance Bureau of the War Department at Washington, where he was employed until October 1, 1865.  He then came to Canandaigua and engaged in the insurance business.  He was also in the book business about five years.  In the fall of 1875 Mr. FERGUSON was elected county treasurer, and afterwards re-elected.  He entered the employ of the First National Bank of Canandaigua as clerk, and rose to the position of cashier, which position he held until the close of the bank, and assisted in its voluntary liquidation.  He is still engaged with Mr. MUNGER, who was the president of the bank.  He is secretary and treasurer of the Canandaigua Gas and Electric Light Companies; treasurer of Union Free School District No. 1, and secretary of the Canandaigua Cemetery Association.  Mr. FERGUSON married in 1866 Ella C., daughter of Rev. Jacob A. WADES, of Orleans, and they have four children: Clara Louise, Julia May, J. Arden and Harry W.  

 

 

FERGUSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 246

FERGUSON, Robert B., Geneva, was born in Phelps, August 27, 1822, he being one of nine children of Robert and Mary (BAGGERLY) FERGUSON, natives of Maryland.  The grandfather, William, was of English descent.  The father came to Phelps and settled in 1805.  Robert B. married, December 5, 1855, Maria, daughter of Hiram and Mary (KNAPP) WARNER, of Phelps, and they have these children: Sumner J., Mrs. Mary Belle OTTLEY, Alice May, who died in September, 1892; Margaret Clay, a teacher of botany in Wellesley College; Clara Ann, wife of Marshall KING; and Everett WARNER.  Mr. FERGUSON has lived for 50 years upon his farm of 200 acres, where he is a large raiser of grain and has an apple orchard of about 17 acres, producing about 500 barrels per year.

 

 

 

FERGUSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 364

FERGUSON, the late Smith, was born in Orange county in 1798.  His ancestor, John FERGUSON, settled in Westchester county, NY, in 1700, the family having in possession papers showing he was, soon after purchasing real estate, in the "Borough" of Westchester.  February 12, 1824, he married Emily, daughter of Sarah WOODEN and Zephaniah TOWNSEND of Ulster county, and they had seven children: Sarah C., Amelia T., Ann A., George A., Mary I., Josephine E., and Everard D.  They came to reside in this town in 1851.  Their father died December 9, 1886; the mother, December 23, 1886.  Sarah married Chauncey FERGUSON, and died January 29, 1881; Amelia married Fayette JONES, and died May 7, 1860; Ann A. married Benjamin PERKINS, and has a son and daughter; Mary I. married Herman FERGUSON, and resides in Newburgh, NY; Josephine E. married M. D. SKINNER; Everard D., a physician in Troy, married Marion A. FARLEY of Crown Point, Ind., and has a son and daughter; George and Josephine reside on the homestead.  The family are of English and Scotch ancestry.

 

 

 

FINLEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 295 - 296

FINLEY, Horace M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua in 1839, a son of Marshall, a native of Vermont, born in 1815.  He came to Ontario county and was a teacher for a number of years, then established a daguerreotype gallery in Canandaigua, which he conducted until his age prevented him from active business, and it has since been conducted by his son, Horace M.  The latter was educated in common schools and at Canandaigua Academy, and on leaving school he went into his father's gallery to learn photography.  In the early sixties he joined his father as a partner, and has ever since had an interest in the business.  In 1888 he was joined in partnership by William N. FREEMAN, and their gallery is now located in the Finley block on Main street, where they are prepared to do first-class work either in photographs, crayons or out-door work.  Mr. FINLEY married in 1866 Louisa H., daughter of Alfred B. FIELD, a former merchant of this town, and they have one child, Mrs. M. C. BEARD, of Canandaigua.

 

 

 

FISHER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 66 - 67

FISHER, Charles, Victor, was born in Stockbridge, Mass., November 30, 1796, and came with his parents to Woodstock, Madison county, when he was 2 months old, and afterwards, in the year 1811, to Henrietta, Monroe county.  In the year of 1814 he located permanently at Fisher's, in the town of Victor.  He was among the earliest settlers here, and the place was named after him.  He was justice of the peace for a term of years, postmaster, and entertained travelers until there was a hotel started in the place.  He married twice, first July 29, 1821, Rebeckah GASKELL, of Victor.  They had two sons and three daughters: Harriet, Charles, now of Newton, Kansas, Almira, Robert, an attorney of Victor village, and Mary R.  Mrs. FISHER died September 7, 1848, and he married second Helen J. PARDEE, on October 21, 1850.  They had two sons: Henry P., born December 27, 1851, died June 25, 1893, who married Lucy E. BUSHMAN, November 9, 1875, and had two children: Clara and Charles.  William F. was born March 9, 1854; September 6, 1882, he married Addie C., daughter of Almon and Emily PRESTON, of Battle Creek, Mich.  They have two sons, Almon P. and Henry S.  Mr. FISHER was a produce dealer with his brother for some time, but is now faming on the old homestead.  He is a member of Milnor Lodge, No. 139, F. & A. M., Victor, and Excelsior Chapter, No. 164, R. A. M., Canandaigua.  (Charles died 1872)

FISHER, Henry P., Victor, was born at Fisher's, Victor, December 27, 1851.  He was educated in the public schools, was a produce dealer for some time, and later a farmer.  November 9, 1875, he married Lucy E., daughter of Abner and Phoebe P. (KING) BUSHMAN, of East Mendon, and they had two children: Clara B. and Charles H.  Mrs. FISHER's father, Abner BUSHMAN, was born in Monroe county, November 28, 1801, was a school teacher, farmer, and also justice of the peace for twenty years.  He married twice, first to Jane ELY, and they had one daughter, Mrs. Bentley CORBY, of Pittsford.  April 14, 1849, he married second Phoebe F. KING, of Brighton, Monroe county, and they had seven children, three died in infancy, four survive:  Hanford E., Lucy E., Clara M., and Julia who died at the age of 8 years.  A branch of her family named HOPKINS dates back to the Mayflower.  His grandfather on his mother's side, Silas PARDEE from Columbia county, was a lieutenant in the Revolutionary War, and Mrs. FISHER's great-grandfather, Rufus KING, was in the Revolutionary War.  Henry P. was a staunch Democrat.  He died June 25, 1893.

 

 

 

FISHER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  67 - 68

 

FISHER, Harlan M., a native and resident of Bristol, was born February 25, 1850, and is a son of Alphonso G., a son of Nathaniel, whose father, Nathaniel, was a native of Dighton, Mass., who about 1800 came to Bristol and settled.  Nathaniel, Jr., was born in Dighton, Mass., and came to Bristol with his parents.  He was a colonel in the War of 1812, and was a prominent man.  He was held in great respect by the Indians, who often stopped on their hunting expeditions to stay over night with SKI-A-NA-GHA, as they called him, perhaps leaving some of their trophies of the chase as they departed in the morning.  His wife was Lovice PHILLIPS, of Dighton, Mass., who bore him one son and two daughters.  He died in Bristol in 1855, and his wife in 1863.  Alphonso was born in Bristol, November 16, 1816, and married Almeda, daughter of John WORRALLO,  who was lost on Lake Erie.  Mr. FISHER and wife had two sons: Harlan M. and Edgar N., the latter a farmer of Bristol.  Mr. FISHER was an active politician, yet never accepted office.  He died November 19, 1891, and his wife resides on the old homestead.  Subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy, graduating in 1878, and taught school for 19 years in connection with farming.  He owns 165 acres of land, and is a general farmer.  He makes a specialty of breeding bronze turkeys, Holstein cattle and Berkshire swine.  He is a member of the Ontario County Agricultural Society, and for four years has lectured at Farmers' Institutes in New York, under the auspices of the State Agricultural Society, on various subjects connected with agriculture, and is considered a drainage expert.  He is a Republican, and was assessor two terms.  In 1872 he married Helen L., daughter of the late Benjamin F. PHILLIPS, of Bristol.  They reside on the farm settled by Elnathan GOODING, grandfather of Mrs. FISHER and the first settler of Bristol, who came there at the age of 17 and remained alone the first winter.  One incident is perhaps worthy of mention as illustrating the material of the sturdy yeomanry of New England who settled the Empire State.  While young Gooding was chopping down the thick forest to clear for crops, he heard a twig snap, and glancing over his shoulder saw a large savage standing back of him with a tomahawk raised to deal the deadly blow.  Without deigning to give the Indian further notice, he kept on chopping, never missing a single stroke.  The Indian, admiring his coolness in the trying circumstances, quietly slipped the tomahawk in his belt, with an "Ugh, white man no scare," disappeared in the dense woods.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. FISHER are: Ethel L., Ada E., Harlan A., Rex P., Almeda L. and Marion E. V.   Ethel L. is a student of Cook Academy at Havana, NY.

 

 

FITZHUGH

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 223 

William FITZHUGH, who was a third owner (with Colonel Nathaniel ROCHESTER and Charles CARROLL) of the Hundred Acre Tract, on which the city of Rochester now stands, was born in Calvert county, Maryland, October 6, 1761.  He came into the Genesee county in 1799, resided for a time at Geneva, and in 1803 settled at Sodus, where he died in 1810.  Was an early officer of the Ontario County Agricultural Society.  

FLOOD & CASE 

                 History of Ontario County, NY and Its People,  Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 241

The first settler of the FLOOD family in America came to Andover, Massachusetts. His descendants located at Groton, Middlesex county, and in Shirley, Worcester county, formerly part of Groton, and at Marlborourgh, New Hampshire. Thence some of them went westward.

Luther FLOOD was a farmer at Coldwater, Michigan. He married Ruth CALDWELL, who married (second) Nathan PORTER. Children of Luther and Ruth FLOOD: Ella, who died aged three years, and Herbert C., mentioned below. Children of Nathan & Ruth (CALDWELL) (FLOOD) PORTER: Ellsworth and Elmer (twins); Olive and Marguerite PORTER.

Herbert C., son of Luther FLOOD, was born in Coldwater, Michigan, February 18, 1860, and was educated there in the public schools. He came to Phelps, New York, when a young child and received his education in the public schools. He commenced his business life as a farm hand. Afterwards he leased a farm on shares and in 1903 bought it. He is one of the most industrious and prosperous farmers of the town, making a specialty of his dairy. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Phelps, and a member of its official board. In politics he is a Republican.

He married Rose E. CASE, born September 11, 1875, daughter of Theodore and Eunice (COBB) CASE, whose other children were: Ada Frances CASE, born October 14, 1865, married November 4, 1894, William SMALLEDGE, and she died Oct 14, 1896; Edith M. CASE, born February 2, 1868, died May 30, 1874; Bertha A. CASE, born October 8, 1869, died August 19, 1888; Clara Belle CASE, August 16, 1871, married October 25, 1893, Charles WHEELER; Nellie L. CASE, May 13, 1873, married, December 4, 1894 Ellsworth PORTER; William L. CASE, July 7, 1877. Married June 24, 1903, Elizabeth OTTLEY; Charles Theodore CASE, October 6, 18883, married December 14, 1908, Bessie GLEASON.

William CASE, father of Theodore CASE, was born March 6, 1813; married Lydia HAIGH. Children: Rachel Ann CASE, Born September 20, 1836, married March 13, 1868, Charles L. BIGELOW, and she died December 17, 1904; Mary Frances CASE, born June 22, 1839, died March 28, 1856; Theodore, mentioned above, married December 20, 1863, Eunice COBB, who died January 26, 1910; Wilber B., born August 18, 1848, died April 23, 1864.

Enos CASE, born in 1788 in Jersey City, New Jersey, married Sarah SPINNING. His father, Ebenezer, was son of Elijah CASE, who came from Holland in 1740 and settled near Jersey City.

Elijah CASE was a soldier in the Revolution from Essex county, New Jersey. The surname was originally spelled KAES, KES and finally, CASE.

Many of the New Jersey family are descended from John Philip CASE (KAES) and William CASE, who were naturalized by act of the New Jersey assembly in July, 1730. Anthony, of the same generation was probably a brother. There is reason to believe that the CASE family of this sketch is related to these.

John Philip CASE settled near Flemington, New Jersey, and bought, March 9, 1738, a part of the William Penn tract now known as the Mine farm; married (first) Anna Elizabeth and (second) Rachel _____, died in 1756 leaving nine children mentioned in his will.

William CASE settled on Copper Hill near Flemington and died in 1769, naming his wife Elizabeth and eight children in his will. Anthony CASE died in 1772, leaving a will in which he mentions his wife Eva Catherine and eight children.

Bastian KES was naturalized November 12, 1744; Johannes and Marthias KASE, 1754; and Teunis and Peter CASE, August 20, 1755.

Descendants of William CASE, an Englishman, who settled at Southold, Long Island, coming to Rhode Island first in 1635, are also found early in New Jersey.

Children of of Herbert and Rose E. (CASE) FLOOD: Laura, born November 7, 1900; Harold C., June 20, 1902, Eunice Ruth, July 12, 1904; Theodore H., July 24, 1907, Clara Lillie, May 14, 1909.

 

 

FLYNN 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 411 

The excise department of the state of New York is ably represented in Ontario county by Francis FLYNN, of Geneva county, a sturdy and progressive Irish-American, who has served the public in various responsible capacities and won the confidence of his fellow citizens by his integrity and strict attention to duty. 

The FLYNNS are of ancient and honorable lineage, and the founder in America of he family now in hand was Francis FLYNN, who was born in the parish of Fanith, Ireland, March 22, 1815.  emigrating to the United States in 1835 he readily adapted himself to the new conditions which surrounded him and settling in Auburn, Cayuga county, NY, he was for a time engaged in the grocery business.  The public service however, appeared more attractive to him than the uncertainties of mercantile life and possessing the necessary physical requirements for admission to the Auburn police force he was connected with that department for several years.  Retiring from the police force with an honorable record for efficiency, he was subsequently employed as a keeper at the Auburn State Prison.  Mr. FLYNN died at Auburn in 1874.  He married Bridget SCOLLIN, born in Ireland, August 9, 1822, died in Auburn in 1872.  Children: Patrick A., John, Elizabeth, Michael, Katherine, William and Francis.  

Francis, son of Francis and Bridget (SCOLLIN) FLYNN, was born in Auburn, July 13, 1856.  He attended the Auburn public schools and securing a position as a store clerk at the age of fourteen, he was engaged in mercantile pursuits for about six years.  In 1881 he went to Buffalo, New York, where he served an apprenticeship of three years at the iron-moulders trade, and in 1884 he found employment as a journeyman in Shortsville, this county.  With the exception of one year (1887), which he spent in Kansas City, Missouri, he has ever since resided in Ontario county, and upon his return from the west he settled in Geneva, entering the employ of the Phillips & Clark Stove Company.  At a later period, owing to physical disability, he found it absolutely necessary for him to seek a less arduous occupation, and in 1895 he engaged in the provision trade.  His natural ability and superior intelligence, however, were destined to lead him into other fields of usefulness.  In 1897 he was elected a trustee of the village, being the first Republican ever chosen from ward three, and in the fall of that year he was elected city treasurer under the city charter, which became effective in 1898.  He was therefore the first city treasurer of Geneva and he retained that office for two terms, a period of six years.  In 1903 he was elected sheriff on Ontario county, and retired from that office at the expiration of his three years term with a record for able and conscientious service.  On January 1, 1907, he was appointed a private in the service of the state excise department, and is still serving in that capacity.  He occupies the chair of deputy grand knight in the local organization of the Knights of Columbus, has been commander of the Maccabee two terms, is a member of the Catholic Mutual Benevolent Association and the American Federation of Labor.  While employed at his trade he joined the Iron Moulders Union, and although he has long since ceased to be active in that calling he still retains his membership and good standing.   

Mr. FLYNN was married in Auburn, December 9, 1878, to Anna BUTTER, they have had one daughter, Mary Elizabeth, born in Auburn, January 12, 1880, died in Buffalo in 1884.  Mrs. Anna (BUTTER) FLYNN was born January 1, 1856, daughter of John and Elizabeth (BERRY) BUTTER.  Her father was born in Ireland, April 18, 1819, died in 1895.  Her mother was born in Cork, Ireland, February 14, 1828.  Their children are: William F., Thomas J., Mary, Etta and Anna.

 

 

FOLGER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 367

FOLGER, Charles Worth, Geneva, son of Judge Charles J. FOLGER, was born October 9, 1847.  He graduated from Williams College in 1868, then engaged with E. C. SELOVER in the nursery business.  He was purchasing agent in the Bureau of Engraving at Washington, DC, two years.  In 1875 he married Susie DEPEW, daughter of George W. DEPEW, and they had five children.  Mr. FOLGER died January 11, 1885.

 

 

FOLGER

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 168 

Charles J. FOLGER, was born in Nantucket, Mass., April 16, 1818; became a resident of Geneva, 1830; County Judge, 1844-55; member of the State Senate, 1862-69; delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1867; elected Judge of the Court of Appeals in 1870 and Chief Judge of that court in 1880; appointed Secretary of the Treasury by President ARTHUR in October 1881; unsuccessful Republican candidate for Governor in 1882.  He died in Geneva, September 4, 1884.   

FOOT

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 115 

Samuel Alfred FOOT was born at Watertown, Conn., graduating from Union College in 1811; admitted to the bar in 1813; district Attorney of Albany county, 1819-1821; appointed to vacancy on Court of Appeals bench, 1851 and was the Whig candidate for the position that year, but was defeated at the polls.  Having become a resident of Geneva, was elected Member of Assembly from the Eastern district of Ontario county in 1855 and was reelected to that office in 1856.  Died at Geneva, May 11, 1878.  

 

FORCE

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, vol. 2, pg  366-367 

David FORCE, immigrant ancestor, was born about 1758 in France, and being left an orphan during the French revolution, or in the troubles preceding, was cared for and brought to America by a Quaker with whom he was living, a youth of nineteen, at Princeton, New Jersey, at the time of the battle of Princeton in 1777.  Restrained from enlisting in the American army in the Revolution on account of the non-combatant principles of his guardian, he was at that time impressed into the service to help care for the wounded and dead.  Among those who were conveyed from the danger zone between the armies was Jerusha OPDYKE, a Holland Dutch girl, whom he afterwards married.  Both his home and hers were between the firing lines, and the OPDYKE house was converted into a hospital.   Among the descendants of this couple were many physicians and surgeons.  Children: John, a soldier in the War of 1812, died in the service; Benjamin, mentioned below.  The name in France was LA FORCE, and some of the descendants still retain that spelling.   

Benjamin, son of David & Jerusha (OPDYKE) FORCE, was born in 1793, died in 1873.  He spent his youth in his native place of New Jersey and was a pioneer settler at Steuben county, now Schuyler county, New York, where he followed farming all his active life.  In politics he was a Whig and afterwards a republican.  An intense Abolitionist, he was prominent in all anti-slavery movements and his house was a station of the Underground Railroad.  His grandson and namesake was instantly killed while serving in the Union army in the Civil war in Sherman�s �March to the Sea�, in 1864.  He married (first) Sophia CASWELL, born in 1796, died in 1836, daughter of Thomas CASWELL who was born in 1756, died in 1831.  Her mother, Miriam (SMITH) CASWELL, was born and raised in Massachusetts.  A number of descendants of Thomas and Miriam CASWELL were prominent business men in Ohio.  Children of Benjamin & Sophia: John, Lodencia, Dr. Lyman, Dr. Alfred, and Chester B.  Benjamin FORCE married (second) Sarah RUSSELL, by whom he had three children, Eliza, Julia and David

Chester B., son of Benjamin & Sophia (CASWELL) FORCE, was born at Kendall in Altay valley, Steuben county, New York, now in Schuyler county, in 1832, died in 1906.  He was educated in the public schools.  He was a gifted musician, but his principal business through a long and active live was farming.  His home was near Geneva, Ontario county, NY.  In politics he was a republican; in religion a member of the Christian church.  He married in 1860, Catherine Cromwell WINTER, born in Ontario county in 1832, died in 1893, daughter of Joel WINTER, born 1799, died 1872.  Her father was a native of Danbury, Connecticut, a farmer by occupation, and a carpenter by trade; a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Her mother, Lina (WITTER) WINTER, was born in 1805 in Orange county, NY, died in 1859 and resided from her second years until her death upon the homestead in Ontario county, near Geneva, and was buried upon the old homestead.   (Note*  see Geneva  Various Cemeteries for Bilsboro Rd. Cemetery).  Abner WINTER, father of Joel, was born in Connecticut or Massachusetts; was a soldier in the Revolution and died at Sodus Bay, New York.  The father of Abner WINTER came to this country from France; married Anna MINER, of an old Connecticut family, and while he was in the service during the Revolutionary War, she cared for the family, harvesting the grain with a sickle and doing the other work of the farm.  Ezra WITTER, father of Lina (WITTER) WINTER, purchased a tract of �new country� in Ontario County near Geneva, in 1807 and this estate was held in part by his descendants until the fifth generation.   He married Patience GREEN of Orange county, NY, and they have many descendants.  Most of the WITTERS of the later generations have been republicans in politics, and Baptists in religion.  Children of Chester B. and Catherine C. (WINTER) FORCE: Ida Agnes (who uses the spelling of LA FORCE), born in Ontario county, near Geneva on June 22, 1861; Susie E., born March 29, 1873, married (first) Charles W. LEWIS and (second) William Henry MC KELVIE; and Lewis.

 

 

FORDON

                           History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg.15-17 

George Frederick FORDON, a member of the third generation of his family in this country, is a well known farmer and fruit grower in Geneva, Ontario county, New York.  He is descended from a family engaged in agriculture in England for many generations.  Continuing the excellent and proven methods in vogue in that country for many years, he has supplemented them by adopting the most modern ideas that have been evolved in the cultivation of the soil and bringing its products to the highest state of perfection.  In this direction, Mr. FORDON has been especially progressive, and the excellence of the output form his farm has earned him more than a merely local reputation, and his methods have found many imitators. 

(1)               William, great grandfather of George Frederick FORDON, was born in England, October 1757, and spent his live in his native country, engaged in farming.  He married, January 28, 1792, Sarah Mary DUNSLEE, who was born in December 1770.

(2)             George, son of William and Sarah Mary (DUNSLEE) FORDON, was born near Whitby, Yorkshire, England, April 23, 1803, and died near Geneva, Ontario county, New York, February 12, 1876.  Having come to the conclusion that the "New World" offered better changes for advancement than the old, he sailed from England for this country, landing at New York City, June 1, 1831.  During the entire year following, he traveled through what was at that time, the "far west", now comprising the states of Michigan, Indiana and Illinois, in search of a locality suitable for a home for his family, but he decided that that section of the county was still in too wild and unsettled a condition.  He returned to the East, and purchased attract of land of two hundred and twelve acres, near the present town of Geneva, and resided on it until his death.    Mr. FORDON, the subject of this sketch, distinctly remembers his grandfather telling of walking in the summer of 1831, a distance of thirty-five miles along the sandy beach of Lake Michigan, and seeing no white man with the exception of his traveling companion.  They stopped that night in the now great city of Chicago, which was then a mere trading post, and the proprietor of the best and only hotel in the place was a Frenchman, who had married a squaw.  George FORDON was the pioneer of under drainage in Ontario county.  In place of the clay tiles, which were unknown in that vicinity at the time, he constructed wooden sections, and the ditches lined with these wooden tiles or pipes were in good and continuous use for many years.  His neighbors, many of whom had considered him a fool for his peculiar methods, became convinced of the utility of his contrivance and followed his lead in the end, when they saw the excellent results that followed.  He and his family were members of the Episcopalian church, and his political views were those of the Republican party.  He married November 8, 1822, in England, Hannah STEPHENSON.  Children: William, see forward; Hannah, Frances Emma, Sarah Mary and George Archer.

(3)             William, eldest child of George and Hannah (STEPHENSON) FORDON, was born near the city of Hull, England, April 15, 1824.  He was the last one of the family, and died April 29, 1911.  He followed in the footsteps of his father as a farmer, keeping well abreast of the times in his management of the land entrusted to his care, and was unusually successful.  His religious affiliations were with the Episcopalian church, and he gave his political support to the principles of the Republican party.  He married in Geneva, New York, December 21, 1848, Honor Matilda DURRANT, born in Syracuse, New York, September 17, 1831.  She is the daughter of Isaac and Amelia (PYE) DURRANT, the former born in Lowestoft, Suffolk county, England, April 20, 1802, the latter born in the same town, October 20, 1808.  Children: George Frederick, see forward; Fanny, born March 25, 1852; Mary, born December 1, 1854.

(4)             George Frederick, eldest child and only son of William and Honor Matilda (DURRANT) FORDON, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, New York, January 11, 1850.  His education was acquired in the country district schools and in Geneva high school.  As he had always been of an ambitious disposition, it is needless to say that he made the best use of his time in these institutions.  His spare time was spent in supplementing the education thus obtained and the habits of study acquired in his youth have been retained throughout his life.  After his graduation he commenced teaching in Country District School No. 7, in the towns of Geneva and Seneca, during the winter months, while his summers were spent in assisting his father in the cultivation of the homestead farm.  This period covered the years from 1869 to 1876.  He then purchased a farm of his own, removed to it, and engaged in general farming and fruit growing, in which field he has been eminently successful.  While retaining the methods which time has proved to be best suited to that latitude and climatic conditions, he makes a study of scientific farming and grafting, and in some instances, has achieved results, which are little short of marvelous.  For many years he took charge of the entire farm alone, but in more recent time he has admitted his eldest son to a partnership, and they now work hand in hand.  He is a staunch supporter of the Republican party, but has held no public offices with the exception of those of school trustee and inspector of elections.  He and his family are members of the Episcopal church. 

Mr. FORDON married in Geneva, New York, November 1, 1876, Caroline Elizabeth, born in Seneca, New York, a daughter of William and Eliza (NEWBERRY) TILLS, the former a farmer and nurseryman, and whose other children are: Edward R., Lucy Alice and William N.  Children of Mr. and Mrs. FORDON: 1. William Frederick, born October 8, 1877; 2. Lucy Eliza, born October 18, 1879, was graduated from Geneva high school and resides at home; 3. Sarah Frances, born July 30, 1882; graduated from Geneva high school and Geneseo Normal School, and is now occupied in teaching in the Amsterdam public schools, New York; 4. George Edward, born November 13, 1883; graduate of Geneva high school, now in the employ of the White Springs Farm Dairy Company; 5. Caroline Matilda, born July 20, 1886, graduated from Geneva high school, and from Elmira College in the class of 1910 and she is now a member of the faculty of Miss Brownell's Private School for Young Ladies, at Utica, New York; 6. Fanny Butler, born July 10, 1896, is a pupil at Geneva high school.

 

FORSTER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 374

FORSTER, the late William, was born near Newcastle, Northumberland county, England, April 7, 1792; came to the United States in 1817, landing at Boston, Mass., worked in the country about two years, and came to Hall's Corners in 1819.  He was in Clyde one year in the butcher business with a Mr. PARKER.  Returning to Hall's Corners he became a farmer with others, and subsequently for himself, purchasing the homestead northeast of the Corners.  September 18, 1823, he married Mary CAWARD, of this town, formerly of Yorkshire, England; they had 9 children: John 1st, who died in infancy; George, who died in his 18th year; Mary, Jane, William D., who married Matilda BRITT, of Catskill, and has two sons and a daughter; Edward H., John M. and Thomas W. are not married and occupy part of the home farm.  John M. is a school teacher, having followed the profession ten years in several States; Ursilla E. died in her 20th year, and Clark, who married Mary E. RITCHIE.  Their father died September 12, 1881, and their mother February 13, 1888.  One of their relatives, George CAWARD, was one of the largest barley dealers west of Albany.

 

 

FORSTER

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 87 � 88 

Clark FORSTER, whose family has been closely identified with the agricultural interests of Ontario county, NY, for many years, is considered one of the most successful fruit growers of the district, making a specialty of apple culture. 

William FORSTER, father of Clark FORSTER, was born in England in 1792, and came to this country in 1817.  For somewhat more than a year, he lived in Massachusetts, then, for a period of two years, made his home in Clyde, NY and finally decided upon Seneca, Ontario county, NY as his permanent home.  He obtained employment on the farm of Edward HULL, whose farm he managed for 10 years, and then purchased 130 acres of land a half mile east of this farm, and occupied it until his death.  He was very successful in its cultivation and left it in a fine condition to his sons. 

Mr. (Clark) FORSTER married September 1823, Mary, daughter of George and Mary (WILSON) CAWARD, both English, the former born October 2, 1775, died June 8, 1867; the latter born August 14, 1778, died April 15, 1834.  Mr. and Mrs. FORSTER had children: 1. George, born November 24, 1826, died April 16, 1843; 2. Mary Jane, born July 26, 1828, died July 17, 1888; 3. William D., born March 29, 1830, married May 1, 1867, Matilda J. BRITT and resides at Stanley; 4. Edward H., born February 28, 1832; died July 13, 1905; 5. John, born September 27, 1833, died February 18, 1911;  6. Ursula A., born September 15, 1835, died July 14, 1860; 7. Thomas W., born January 7, 1838, died December 31, 1893; 8. Clark, see forward.

Clark, youngest child of William and Mary (CAWARD) FORSTER, was born in Seneca, Ontario county, NY, September 5, 1840.  He was educated at the district schools of Geneva and Macedon, Ontario county, NY and at an early age commenced to assist in the cultivation of the homestead farm.  Upon the death of his father this descended to him and his brothers, Thomas W. and Edward H., and they worked in harmony for many years, until the death of the latter.  They added to the extent of the farm by a purchase of an additional 30 acres, making in all 160 acres and devoted a considerable portion of this to fruit culture, especially apples, in which they have attained a very satisfactory amount of success.  Public matters have always been a subject in which Mr. FORSTER has taken a decided interest and he is an active supporter of the principles of the Democratic party.  His religious affiliations are with the No. 9 Presbyterian Church, of which he and his family are devoted members.

Mr. FORSTER married March 10, 1887, Mary E. (b. March 1860), daughter of John RITCHIE.  Children: 1. Florence Bell, born May 4, 1888, died March 17, 1891;  2. Mabel Ursula, born June 4, 1890, died Apr 22, 1892;  3. Marvin Thomas, born February 7, 1893, attending school at Penn Yan, NY.  (1920 census, listed with wife, Emma, son, William and mother, Mary E.)

  

FORSTER

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 88 � 89 

William B. FORSTER, who is engaged in general farming in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, NY, occupies a high position in the literary circles of that section of the country and is also prominently identified with its religious life.

William D. FORSTER, father of William B., FORSTER, was born at Halls Corners, Ontario county, NY, March 29, 1830 and is the oldest living person born at that place.  He attended the common schools of his native township and supplemented this education by attendance at the sessions of Alfred Academy.  He then engaged in teaching, and taught schools in the south for a period of two years.  With the exception of these two years, all the active years of his life have bee occupied in cultivating the soil, in which pursuit he has been remarkably successful.  He has owned and resided on, the farm on which he now lives for 44 years, and the products have always been of the finest quality of their kind.  A considerable portion of it is devoted to the growing of fruit, for which the soil seems to be especially adapted.  Although advanced in years, Mr. FORSTER is keenly alive to all matters of importance, which arise, and takes great pleasure in following the course of events.  He married May 1, 1867, Matilda J. BRITT, born in the town of Catskill, Greene county, NY, March 3, 1837, died February 10, 1910.  Children: William B., see forward; Elizabeth May and George F

William B., son of William D. and Matilda J. (BRITT) FORSTER, was born May 16, 1869.  (they only had 3 children).  His elementary education was acquired in the public schools of his native town, and he then became a student at the Canandaigua Academy, which however, he was obliged to leave before finishing the complete course.  In later years, however, he again took up a course of systematic reading, which he has continued up to the present time.  He and his sister (Elizabeth M.), who attended Geneva high school, are well known members of the Chautauqua Literary Society.  The farm, which is now under his personal supervision, and has been for some time, consists of 95 acres, and Mr. FORSTER introduces, as opportunity offers, the most advanced, improved and scientific methods, with excellent results.  The entire property is kept in fine condition and it is one of the most productive, for its size, in that section.  Mr. FORSTER is a staunch supporter of the principals, of the Democratic party, and is a member of No. 9 Presbyterian Church, in which he is serving as treasurer, and is a member of the board of trustees.   (unwed as of 1920 census, w/sister Elizabeth M. and bro. George F. residing with him, all unwed)

 

 

FORSYTH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  70

 

FORSYTH, Leander, East Bloomfield, a native of New London, Conn., was born August 12, 1820, a son of Elisha, whose father, Lathan, was a native of Salem, Conn.  Lathan was twice married and the father of 17 children.  He was a private in the Revolutionary War, and died about 1830.  Elisha, a native of Salem, Conn., was born in 1787, and was a farmer and cooper.  He married Sallie, daughter of Joseph CHESTER of Salem, Conn., who was born March 17, 1731 (?), and died in 1803.  Mr. FORSYTH came to East Bloomfield and there spent the remainder of his days, dying in 1857, and his wife in 1861.  They had three sons and two daughters.  Leander was reared on a farm and received a common school education.  At the age of seventeen he started in life for himself.  Coming to East Bloomfield he worked by the month for two years, and then went to Michigan where he learned the cooper's trade, which he followed for 40 years, but after six years he returned to East Bloomfield where he has since resided.  Of late years he has been engaged in farming, and for 20  years has been a successful grower of onions.  May 24, 1847, Mr. FORSYTH married Lucy QUICK, a native of Lyons, born January 6, 1819, and a daughter of Peter QUICK.  Their children are: Kate, who was educated in East Bloomfield Academy, and Frank, a carpenter of East Bloomfield.  He married a Miss SAGE of Mendon, and they have one daughter, Lucy.  Mr. FORSYTH is a Republican in politics, and has been highway commissioner 12 years in succession and excise commissioner three years.  He and family are Baptists.

 

 

FOSTER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  69

 

FOSTER, Frank F., Gorham, was born in Prattsburg, Steuben county, July 6, 1851, one of seven children of George and Ann (STEVENSON) FOSTER, of Yorkshire, England, who in 1850 came to America and now reside in Prattsburg.  In 1871 Mrs. FOSTER died, and he married Salina HORTON.  Frank F. was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools and in Prattsburg Academy.  February 25, 1879, he married Flora L. LORD, a native of Gorham, born March 3, 1834.  She is a daughter of Ethan and Paulina LORD.  Mr. FOSTER follows farming, and makes a specialty of breeding draft horses.  He owns 130 acres, on which he has resided since 1880.  Here he has erected fine buildings.  Mr. FOSTER is a Republican.  

 

 

FOSTER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 233 - 234

FOSTER, H. Ward, Geneva, was born in Elmira, Chemung county, September 21, 1856.  His father was Prof. L. C. FOSTER, for 25 years principal of Public School No. 1 at Elmira, and now superintendent of schools at Ithaca, NY.  He was educated in the public schools and Elmira Academy, graduating in 1873, when he received the county scholarship for Cornell University, and at once entered that institution, graduating in 1877.  For some time he taught school; afterwards he studied law with the Hon. Marcus LYON, of Ithaca, and was admitted to the bar in Ithaca in 1880.  Soon afterward in Allegan, Mich., he entered into partnership with Hon. W. B. WILLIAMS, then railroad commissioner of that State, and later with the law firm of Padgham & Padgham.  The Hon. Philip PADGHAM now holds the position of circuit judge, and John PADGHAM was formerly probate judge of that county.  These partnerships continued three years.  Mr. FOSTER was then made assignee of a hardware establishment, and in due time settled the business in an honorable manner to all parties concerned.  In the spring of 1886 he came to Geneva, and is now in the nursery business with W. L. McKAY, under the firm name of H. W. Foster & Co.  They are doing a good business, and the well known character of these gentlemen is a guarantee that the public are receiving first class and reliable stock from every department of their nurseries.  November 17, 1880, he married Lyra R., second daughter of the late Jasper C. and Mary E. (SNOW) PECK, of West Bloomfield, and they had five children: Carlotta S., who died aged 9 years; Marion Edith, who died aged 3 years; Dwight; G. Elaine, and H. Alden.  Mrs. FOSTER's father, Jasper C. PECK, was the second child and oldest son of Clark and Caroline (HALL) PECK, born on the old homestead east of West Bloomfield village.  He was educated in the common schools of his day and was a farmer and dealer.  March 12, 1844, he married Mary E. SNOW, of Worcester, Mass., who had been teaching in the old academy of West Bloomfield.  Their children were: Cassius M., Elsene M., Lyra R., and Florence H.  Jasper C. PECK remained on the old homestead until within a few years of his death.  He was a thrifty farmer, was forward in all public affairs, benevolent and active in church and educational work; a man whose word was as good as his bond, upon whose judgment reliance could be placed in public and private enterprise.  He began early in life to bear responsibilities and continued to do so until within a few years of his death.  His wife was a woman of keen intellect, a fine conversalist (sic), and had a habit of settling apart two hours each day for reading.  She was a thoughtful woman of a delicate, sensitive nature and of unusual refinement.  Mr. PECK was once sent as delegate to a presidential nominating convention of the Whigs at Baltimore.  Late in life he married a second wife, Hannah DIXON, of his native town.  Mr. PECK died May 30, 1891.  Jasper C. PECK's father, Clark, was born in Lyme, Conn., January 6, 1767, and was well educated for that day.  January 19, 1797, he married Caroline HALL, who was but 16 years of age, of his native town, and at once started for West Bloomfield, traveling with ox teams and fording rivers and streams.  The country was full of Indians and in their new home they were visited by these natives, also by wolves and other wild beasts of the forest.  They located upon these lands at twenty-five cents per acre.  They had four children: Miranda, Jasper C., Abel, and Joseph A.  The young wife made one journey on horseback from West Bloomfield to her old home in Connecticut with their oldest daughter, Miranda A., a babe in arms.  Mr. Clark PECK died January 27, 1825.  Mrs. FOSTER's great-grandfather was Jasper PECK, who was born in 1737, and died in Lyme, Conn., in 1821, was sergeant of his company in the French and Indian wars, participating in the capture of Fort Frontenac, and was also a soldier in the Revolutionary War.

 

FOSTER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 294

FOSTER, John G., Canandaigua, was born in Victory, Cayuga county, August 22, 1836, a son of George W. of that town.  The family on both sides were natives of Rhode Island.  George W. was born in that State in 1793, and married in Rhode Island, Maria ESTES, daughter of a sea captain.  Soon after his marriage he came to this State and engaged in mercantile business in and about Auburn, later conducting a farm in Cayuga, where he died in 1882.  He had ten children, four of whom are living.  John G. spent his boyhood on the farm, and when 16 years of age he learned the trade of carriage making, in which he has always been engaged.  He went to Buffalo when about 18 and lived there until the breaking out of the Civil war.  December 16, 1863, he enlisted in the 8th New York Heavy Artillery, and saw service in seven of the greatest battles of the war: Spottsylvania, North Ann River, Weldon Railroad, Wilderness, Gaines Farm, Cold Harbor, Petersburg, etc.  At Petersburg, June 18, 1865, he was severely wounded and spent eleven months in the hospital.  He was mustered out June 20, 1865, and returned to Batavia, from whence he went to Le Roy where he spent seven years.  In 1872 he came to Canandaigua and worked as a journeyman for seven years, and then established a business for himself, and has since been a manufacturer of carriages, wagons, sleighs, and does general repairing.  Mr. FOSTER married, May 20, 1857, Cordelia RYAN of Buffalo, and they have four children: Charles H., a commercial traveler; Bert M., one of the inventors and proprietors of the Foster Paint Company; Jennie L., wife of D. F. THURSTON, a commercial traveler of Chicago; and John S. of Geneseo, a dealer in carriages.

 

 

 

 

FOSTER

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg  84 � 85 

Dr. Henry FOSTER was born in the town of Norwich, Vermont, January 18, 1821.  He was the son of Henry and Polly (HUBBARD) FOSTER, who were the owners of a farm of 600 acres of inter-vale land, and were apparently established for life in a beautiful home.  As one of a family of seven children, Dr. FOSTER spent a happy and healthful childhood.  When eh was 14 years of age, financial reverses came to the family and they removed to western New York and from thence to Ohio, where the boys of the family made a home and cared for the others.

Dr. FOSTER was graduated from Milan Academy and the medical department of the Western Reserve College.  After his graduation he went to a water cure with an invalid brother, and became so much interested in the system, that for three years, he was the physician in a similar establishment in New Graefnberg, NY.  Dr. FOSTER was converted in childhood and his religious life deepened and became the center of his being and action.  He asked: �Lord, what wilt Thou have me do?�  The outcome  of his prayerful waiting was his coming in 1849, to Clifton Springs, where he has learned of a sulphur spring and a tract of land reserved by the purchases of the �Holland Patent,� and Dr. FOSTER bought this tract and received the first deed for this plot after the original purchase by Messers. PHELPS and GORHAM.  He had come to a cross roads settlement, where everything was to be done if the work he proposed was to succeed.  Dr. FOSTER felt that God had called him to build a house where help could be given to ministers, missionaries and teachers, and where God should be honored and the health of soul and body be given equal prominence.  God enabled him to build a modest wooden structure, curd enough, but the best of its kind in the country then and �The Clifton Springs Water Cure: was opened in September 1850.  The story of those early days is one of hard work, faith and prayer, and by God�s blessing, success.  Dr. FOSTER rebuilt of brick and enlarged the sanitarium three different times, the work of the institution never ceasing.  He finally rebuilt and enlarged the entire sanitarium and in July 1896, the new fireproof building was dedicated to the work of God in healing and ministering to the sick.  Dr. FOSTER�S life motto had been: �This one thing I do,� and with the completion of this building, and fireproof reconstructions of other portions, he felt that his work was done on earth.  After two months illness on January 15, 1901, he passed to his heaving home.  �The workers fall, but the work goes on,� and the Clifton Springs Sanitarium still performs its helpful mission and the name of Henry FOSTER is loved and honored. 

Dr. FOSTER married June 19, 1872, Mary EDWARDS, a native of Brooklyn, NY, a daughter of William W. and Helen (MANN) EDWARDS.  

 

FOWLER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  70

 

FOWLER, Reuben W., Gorham, was born in Cuyahoga county, O., August 22, 1838, a son of Harvey, who was a son of Reuben W., a native of Connecticut, who married Sybil SAWYER, and had 7 children.  About 1800 Mr. FOWLER came to Gorham and settled on what is known as the Stark farm.  He bought the land of the Indians, paying $1 worth of flour for an acre of land, carrying the flour on his back from Albany.  He was worth at his death about $40,000.  He died in 1854 at the age of 75 years, and his wife in 1875 at the age of 94 years.  Harvey FOWLER was born in 1811 on the homestead, and at the age of 22, married Fannie, daughter of James and Nancy BLAIR, of Pine Corners, and had 6 children, 5 of whom survive.  He purchased a farm in Cuyahoga county, O., and there resided several years, when he returned to New York and purchased the Deacon HATFIELD farm.  In 1876 he went to live with his son-in-law, John WILSON, where he died May 9, 1892.  His wife died September 15, 1883.  Reuben W. attended the Rushville Academy.  March 11, 1861, he married Caroline SAWYER, a native of Marshall, Mich., born July 22, 1842.  She is a daughter of C. H. and Ruth A. (COMSTOCK) SAWYER, who in 1851 moved to Hornellsville, and there died, November 12, 1853.  His wife died March 11, 1876.  Subject and wife have had two children: Charlotte A., wife of Frank C. TWITCHELL, a native of Middlesex, and a grape grower; and Harris C., who died December 20, 1866, at the age of fourteen months.  Mr. FOWLER has been a successful grape grower for 20 years.  He is a Republican, but never cared for public office.  He is a member of the Royal Templars at Middlesex.  

 

 

 

FOX  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 234

FOX, Herman F., Geneva, was born in Savoy, Germany, May 13, 1843, and came to the United States with his parents at the age of five years.  He was educated in the public schools and learned the cabinet trade.  In August, 1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 126th N. Y. Vols., and was in the following battles:  Harper's Ferry, Gettysburg, Auburn Ford, and Bristow Station.  October 14, 1863, he was captured in the last named battle, taken to Libby prison, and from there to Belle Isle, where he remained six months, rejoining his regiment May 17, 1864.  He was in the battle of Tolopotomy and Cold Harbor.  He was then detailed color bearer at brigade headquarters, serving in that capacity in the following engagements: In front and at the left of Petersburg, Deep Bottom, Strawberry Plains, Reams Station, assault around Petersburg, Boydton Plank Road, and Sutherland Station.  While charging the enemy's works, April 2, 1865, he was severely wounded the second time, losing his hand.  Falling from his horse he still held the flag in his other hand, which the rebels tried to wrench from his loyal grasp.  The brigade was successful in its second charge and Mr. FOX was carried into our lines, and was honorably discharged at the close of the War.  Upon his return to Geneva he learned telegraphy.  In 1869 he began the manufacture of cigars, also opened a cigar store, which is continued until the present.  In 1885 he was doorkeeper of the Assembly in the State Legislature.  On March 30, 1889, he was appointed postmaster of Geneva by the Harrison administration, serving his full term.  In 1872 he married Mary WINKLER, formerly of Lyons, Wayne county, and they had three children: Carrie A., Charles H., and Frederick H.  Mrs. FOX died March 6, 1877.  His father, Ernest, was born at the old home in Savoy, Germany, in 1817, and married Amelia GERBER of his native place.  They had 12 children, and came to the United States in 1848.  

 

FOX  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 295

FOX, Joseph, Geneva, was born in Troy, NY, in August, 1850.  He was educated in the public schools, and learned the trade of stove mounting.  March 27, 1883, he married Catherine O'CONNOR, of Troy, and they have six children, four sons and two daughters: Joseph T., William and Mary K. (twins), John, Winefred A. and George.  Mr. FOX's father, Joseph F., was born in County Caven, Ireland, in 1801, and came to the United States when a young man.  He married Bridget McMAHON, formerly of his native place, and they had two children, Joseph and Mary.  His father's brother was killed by Indians in the West.  Mrs. FOX's father, Thomas O'CONNOR, was born in Roscommon, Ireland, and married Margaret TANNEY, of his native place.  They had nine children; five were born in Ireland.

 

FRANCIS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  69

 

FRANCIS, John B., was born in Wethersfield, Conn., January 29, 1813, of Huguenot ancestry.  He was educated in the common schools in Wethersfield, and at the age of 16, went with Daniel DEWEY, of Hartford, Conn., to learn the trade of cabinet worker.  He went to Bristol, Conn., in 1832, and worked for Seneca C. HEMENWAY and George MITCHELL, the manufacturers of clock cases, where he was engaged for five years.  In 1837 he came to Waterloo, where he was with Hart Gillam & Co., in the furniture business, for about two years, and then spent about eighteen months conducting a furniture store, and in April, 1841, came to Canandaigua, where he worked for Mr. KELLOGG one year, and then established a store for himself.  About 1850 he added undertaking to his furniture business, and has ever since conducted it, making over 40 years in the business in this town.  He is now retired from active life, and is living in Waterloo.  He is a Mason, and was until he moved from town the oldest Mason there; a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, and Excelsior Chapter No. 164.  He has also held a membership in the Monroe Commandery No. 12 K. T.  Mr. FRANCIS married, April 22, 1838, Harriet IVES, of Bristol, Conn., daughter of Orrin HART, of Canandaigua.  They have never had any children.  She died March 12, 1892, at 73 years of age.  

 

 

FRANCISCO  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg295

FRANCISCO, Job, Canadice, was born in Canadice, November 21, 1831.  His father, Jacob, was born in Manlius, Onondaga county, about 1808, and died at the age of 77 years.  He came to this town when 13 years old, and on arriving at Cayuga bridge, where the toll was located, a man invited him into his wagon, covering him with a blanket, thus passing the boy free.  He returned on Onondaga county, and came again permanently when 19 years of age.  He was a blacksmith by trade, and worked at the business until disabled by infirmity.  He married Lovisa GOODFELLOW, a native of Onondaga county, who bore him eight children: John, who died in Portage in 1891, aged 64 years; Sophronia, Cordelia, Solomon, Job, Emeline, Francis Marion, who enlisted in the Civil War and died in the Florence prison pen; Harrison Eugene was in the Army and died in 1891 in Parma, Monroe county; and Mary Persis, wife of Alonzo HOLMES.  Later in life Jacob purchased a 66 acre farm, which he worked.  Job learned the blacksmith's trade.  He married Maria TROWBRIDGE, of West Bloomfield, whose grandfather, Cruger, came from Massachusetts. Of their four children, one son, Henry, died at the age of 22.  The others are Stella, wife of Charles CALDWELL, of Richmond; Nellie, wife of Harry THOMAS, of Steuben county; and Ida, who is also at home.  Mr. FRANCISCO has always lived in this town.  He has 65 acres on the homestead and 46 acres on the Lake Road.  He has lived on his present place 23 years.  In politics he is a republican, as are also his sons.  His great-grandfather emigrated to this country from France and settled in the East, and it is claimed that he lived to attain the great age of 133 years, as appears by a pamphlet published long ago.

 

FRANKISH 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 296

FRANKISH, Dales F., was born in Gorham, October 12, 1863.  His father was Thomas, a native of England, born October 11, 1830, who came to America about 1843 and in 1863 purchased a farm of 110 acres.  He now owns 288 acres.  In 1856 he married Rebecca PEARSON, a native of England and a daughter of John PEARSON, of England, who came to America in 1844.  To Mr. FRANKISH and wife were born six children, two of whom are living, George, a farmer of Gorham, and Dales F.  Mr. FRANKISH is a Republican and a member of Reed's Corners Grange.  Mrs. FRANKISH died December 16, 1892.  Dales F. was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy.  December 18, 1889, he married Mary SMITH, a native of Geneva, and daughter of Virgil and Fannie (MITCHELL) SMITH, he a native of Gorham and she of New Jersey.  Subject and wife have one child, Maud.

 

 

FRARY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  68

 

FRARY, Edward H., Canandaigua, was born in Lyndon, Catteraugus county, April 25, 1840.  As far back as 1640 the ancestors of this family have been natives of this country.  When Edward was but 5 years old, his father died.  He was educated in the common schools and at Rushford Academy, and after leaving school learned the carpenter's trade.  In 1860 he came to Canandaigua, where he followed his trade until August 26, 1862, when he enlisted in Company A, 97th  Regiment N. Y. Vols., known as the Conkling Rifles, and saw service with the Army of the Potomac from Antietam to the Wilderness.  He was wounded May 6, 1864, at the battle of the Wilderness by a ball passing through his left shoulder and lung.  He was carried from the field and left for dead, but good care brought him around, though he was never able to do duty again.  He was discharged February 15, 1865, on account of wounds, and returned to this place, where he has since lived.  In 1869 he was elected collector for this town, and in 1870-71-72 held the office of constable.  In 1872 he went into Cooley's store, where he spent about 8 years.  In 1880 he was appointed census enumerator, and in 1880-81 was village collector; 1882-83-84-85, school collector for District No. 11, and from 1888 to 1893 collector of District No. 1.  In 1887 he was elected on the Republican ticket justice of the peace, and re-elected in 1891.  He married in 1860 Emily A. CROSS, of Canandaigua (who died April 20, 1893), and they have three children: Nellie A., wife of H. E. OSBORN, of Batavia; Edward W., of Canandaigua; and Minnie B.  Mr. FRARY is Past Commander of Albert H. Murray Post, G. A. R., No. 162.

 

FRARY

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg  82 � 84 

Edward Harrison FRARY, who served with bravery in many of the engagements of the Civil War, inherited his gallantry from a long line of ancestors who fought with credit in defense of their country.  His father was a colonel of the New York State Militia, his maternal grandfather served in the War of 1812, his maternal great grandfather served in the Revolutionary War, and a number of his ancestors on the paternal side were soldiers in the Revolution.

(I)              John FRARY, immigrant ancestor of the family, came to America from England, in 1638, settled at Dedham, Massachusetts.  The family originally lived in France, from which country they were driven by religious persecution at the time of the massacre of St. Bartholomew (Ref. �Genealogical Dictionary of New England� and � Adjutant Goss�s Records�).

(II)         Eleazer, Seth, Elisha and Isaac FRARY, were brothers, all of whom served during the Revolutionary War.  Many of the records of those early days having been lost or destroyed, it is not possible to say with certainty, which of these brothers is the direct ancestor of this line, but one of them had children: John, see forward; Job and Betsey.

(III)     John FRARY was born in Massachusetts and served in the War of 1812.  He was engaged in farming and was evidently a man of prominence in his day.  He supported the Whig principles, was supervisor and school commissioner and served as justice of the peace.  He was a member of the Baptist denomination.   He married in 1805, Ruth MERRITT.  Children: Ruth, died in 1839; William Stoddard, see forward: Isabel, died 1851; Joshua P., died 1848.

(IV)         William Stoddard, eldest son and second child of John and Ruth (MERRITT) FRARY, was born October 26, 1808; died March 14, 1846.  He was occupied as school teacher and surveyor, was a member of the Whig party, and of the Baptist church.  He was commissioned colonel of the 173rd Regiment, NY Militia, May 14, 1839, by Governor William H. SEWARD of New York.  He married October 26, 1834, Lydia Ann, daughter of John and Abigail (VOLENTINE) WARREN, her father having served in the militia during the War of 1812, and was a son of Obed WARREN who served from Massachusetts during the Revolutionary War.  Children: Helen Jane, born September 16, 1836, died Aug 22, 1851; Edward Harrison, see forward; Isabel Adeliade, born September 5, 1845, died June 19, 1893.

(V)             Edward Harrison, only son and second child of William Stoddard and Lydia Ann (WARREN) FRARY, was born at Lyndon, Cattaraugus county, NY, April 25, 1840.  He received his education in the common schools and the Rushford Academy, from which he graduated.  His occupations have been varied and successful ones.  He has been farmer, carpenter, hardware clerk and census enumerator.  Having always taken a decided interest in the public affairs of the town, and been a staunch supporter of Republican principles, he has been elected to fill a number of public offices.  He was elected justice of the peace in 1887 and re-elected, 1891, 95, 99, 1903, 07, his present term expiring in 1911.  He was appointed collector of the Union Free School district, No. 1, Canandaigua, August 1887, and with the exception of 3 years, has held the office continuously, to the present time.   He served as town collector 1869; constable, 1870 � 73; and as village collector, 1880-81.

His record during the Civil War, while brief, is notable and creditable.  He enlisted August 15, 1863 in Co. A., 97th NY Volunteer Infantry, at a time when the struggle centered around Gettysburg (this battle was in the beginning of July 1863, so he was not part of it).  During the following winter his regiment suffered much loss by reason of cold and exposure and they then went into camp west of Culpeper, Virginia, remaining there until May 4, 1864.  They crossed the Rapdian river and were in the thick of the fight which raged for the next few days.  Mr. FRARY was wounded in the same engagement in which General James S. WADSWORTH was killed  (the General died two days later, on May 8, 1864). A mini ball penetrated his neck, passing through his body in such a manner as to break a rib, injure the spinal cord, sever the nerve leading to the left arm and finally passed through the upper part of the left lung.  This happened just as the regiment fell back and Mr. FRARY was carried by his comrades for a mile or more till he became unconscious from loss of blood which was flowing freely from his nose and mouth, and was left on the field for dead.  Toward nightfall he recovered consciousness, was carried back by stretcher bearers, then by ambulance to the field hospital, whence, after a few days, he was transported by army wagon to Fredericksburg, Virginia.  This journey caused him excruciating suffering, as the roads were in exceeding bad condition, and the jolting of the wagon became almost intolerable.  After 3 months spent in the Fort Schuyler General Hospital, he received a furlough.  As soon as strength would permit him to do so, he rejoined the army, which was not until October, but as he was declared unfit for duty, he was discharged February 15, 1865.  He returned home almost a helpless cripple.  It was nearly a year before he recovered even a partial use of his left arm, for 15 years he suffered from severe hemorrhages from the lungs, and for more that 30 years suffered almost constant pain in his spine and head, which at times became very nearly unbearable.  Since 1895 his condition has in some respects, improved but as he himself says, it is not so much what he did for his country as what he has suffered for it.  While on picket duty in November 1863, at Bristow Station, he was captured and recaptured the same day by a cavalry scouting party.   Mr. FRARY is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, in which he has served as adjutant senior vice commander and commander.  He and his family are members of the Baptist church.

Mr. FRARY married (first) at Canandaigua, NY, July 8, 1860, Emily A. CROSS, a native of New York State. She was the daughter of Joseph and Fidelia (BABCOCK) CROSS, who had children: William, Harkley, Emily A., Lemina, Abigail, Marilla and Alsadena CROSS. 

Mr. and Mrs. FRARY had children: 1. Nellie Ann, born July 2, 1861, died Sept 2, 1898; 2. Edward Warren, born July 11, 1863, married 1886, Jennie PALMER; their children: a) Nina Belle, born in 1887; married January 1910 to Roland BELLIS; b) Ethel Starr, born 1889, married 1907 Howard ROBINSON and has a daughter Bessie, born in 1908; c) Alice E. born 1897; d) Warren E., born in 1902; e) Harold born in 1907;  3. Minnie B., born November 25, 1865, married 1896 to Frank DEXTER.  Mr. FRARY married (second) at Centerville, NY, June 17, 1896, Maryette Laura, daughter of Nelson and Alida (VROOMAN) FARMER.  Nelson FARMER was a farmer, a lieutenant in the NY State Militia and died in 1883.  

FRAUTZ   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 294

FRAUTZ, William H., Geneva, was born in Geneva, November 25, 1855.  He was educated in the public schools and learned the trade of a mason.  For some years he has been a contractor and builder, with his business enlarging continually.  March 15, 1875, he married Amanda J. TYLER of Geneva, formerly of Lenox, Mass., and they have had six children.  Charles died when three months old, five survive: N. Elizabeth, Nancy D., Mary A., William H., Jr., and Catherine.  Mr. FRAUTZ's father, David, was born in Germany in the year of 1822, and came to the United States when a young man.  He married Elizabeth DOVE of Geneva, and they had three children: Charles, who resides in this village; William, who died when a month old; and William H.  His father died in 1857, and his mother in 1869.

 

 

FRAZER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, Pub 1893   pg. 72

FRAZER, John P., Victor, was born in Newton, Sussex county, NJ, February 28, 1828, where he was educated in the district schools.  October 17, 1845, at the age of 17 years he came to Canandaigua, and learned to be a tinsmith with his brother, B. P. FRAZER.  In 1849 he came to Victor and worked as a journeyman at his trade with A. P. DICKINSON and others.  In 1851 he began business on his own account, manufacturing and selling tinware, afterwards he added the hardware business, and has conducted it since.  November 28, 1849, he married Abby J. KENFIELD of Naples, Ontario county, and they have one adopted son, Charles.  Mr. FRAZER's father, John, was also born in New Jersey in 1788 and married Sarah PREDMORE of New Jersey, who was born November 21, 1786.  They had seven children: Horatio N., Benjamin P., Mary A., Joseph P., William A., Sarah E. and John P.  His grandfather, John FRAZER, was born in Inverness, Scotland, and came to the United States when he was 16 years old; he was obliged to seek shelter here on account of playing Yankee Doodle on his bagpipe.  Mrs. FRAZER's father, John KENFIELD, was born in Massachusetts in 1800, and married Ruth BUMP of his native State.  They had nine children, eight grew to maturity: Mary A., Salmon, Harriet, Lorenzo D., Abbby J., John, Wesley and Lucina E.  They came to Naples in 1842.  Mr. KENFIELD died February 1, 1881.  Mr. FRAZER has been overseer of the poor of the town four years, also superintendent of the county poor six years, has been president of the village two years, member of the board of education six years, trustee of the M. E. Church for thirty years, and he and his wife are members of the same.

 

 

 

 

 

FREER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 71

 

FREER, Charles E., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua March 23, 1853, a son of Henry, a farmer of this town.  Henry FREER was born in Allegany county near the village of Nunda, about 74 years ago.  He was a boy when he came to Canandaigua and lived with the GRANGERS, for whom he was gardener and coachman many years.  He married when 22 years of age, Ann Eliza PEASE of Canandaigua, by whom he had two children, but one now living, Mrs. Edna RANDALL of Bristol Springs.  Mrs. FREER died in 1850, and he married second, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas PRICE, a native of England, who came to America in 1819, and to Canandaigua in 1838, who had been a resident of New Jersey and later of this county.  They had two children: Hiram residing on the old homestead, and Charles E., our subject.  The whole life of the latter with the exception of three years, has been spent in this town.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and made his home on his father's farm until 25 years.  He worked one year at Brigham Hall, and his father's farm on shares until 1880, when he bought 89 acres in East Bloomfield, which he sold in 1883, and bought his present place of 110 acres in one of the most beautiful locations on the lake shore, on which he has made many improvements, having set out 15 acres for vineyard, 1,000 pear trees, 1,500 peach trees, and 500 plums and considerable small fruit.  He has made his farm one of the largest fruit producers of its size in this town.  Has also erected new buildings and a commodious cottage on the shore.  He married in 1878 Jennie, daughter of James WORROLL of Canandaigua, and they have two children: Eleanor, who is in her 14th year, and Grace in her 12th year.  James WORROLL was a native of England and has been a resident of Canandaigua for 50 years.  He died December 30, 1892.

 

 

 

FREER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 294 - 295

FREER, Hiram W., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, near Cheshire, August 20, 1860, the youngest son of Henry FREER.  His present residence was bought by his father about 25 years ago, and is a fine farm of 100 acres on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake, considered one of the best in this section.  Hiram was educated in the common schools, and his first business venture was in 1890, when he bought all that part of the homestead farm lying between the highway and Canandaigua Lake.  Here he has set out 15 acres of vineyard, five acres of pears, plums and quinces, and an acre of peaches.  He has also erected a commodious horse barn and a summer cottage on the lake shore.  Mr. FREER is a Republican, but not a politician, his interests being centered in his farm.  He married, February 17, 1886, Emma, daughter of William H. BENNETT, a native of Orleans county, by whom he had one child, Louis B., born September 14, 1887.  Mrs. FREER is a member of the Wesleyan Methodist church.

 

 

 

FRENCH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  70 - 71

 

FRENCH, Seward, West Bloomfield, was born at East Bloomfield February 28, 1856.  He was preparing for Hamilton College when his father died, and he was called home to attend to duties there.  He became a school teacher and later a deputy sheriff, in which office he was successful in apprehending 31 men out of 33 warrants had in one year.  In 1879 he began the study of law in the office of the noted criminal lawyer, Hon. George RAINES of Rochester, with such close application that on his examination three and a half years later for admission to the bar, he was one of the foremost in his class of thirty.  He practiced in Rochester until 1889, then removed to Miller's Corners, where he has one of the finest law offices in the county, and which is a museum of criminal relics and implements secured by his perseverance, as evidence in case.  He has also two other offices at East Bloomfield and Victor, and branch offices in Chicago and Sioux Falls for divorces for parties wishing these facilities.  Mr. FRENCH devotes himself most especially to criminal law, and within five years was successful council, in ninety-two criminal and that line of cases, one of the most important being the celebrated John KELLY homicide case, which was three years in the courts.  He tries a case with boldness and skill, and is a rapid thinker.  His father, Reuben E. was born in East Bloomfield, and married Maria H. McMICHAEL, born in Canandaigua, of Scotch-Irish descent.  Reuben was three times supervisor and owned a fine farm near Miller's Corners, now owned by his son Seward, was born in Massachusetts and came to Victor among the early settlers.  Subject is a 32d degree Mason, is notary public for Ontario, Livingston and Monroe counties.  He married in 1876 Jennie L. JEFFERSON, daughter of John JEFFERSON of Miller's Corners, and they have three children living:  Reuben, Lyra and Florine.  One daughter, Floice, is deceased.  

 

 

 

FRESHOUR  

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, Pub 1893  pg. 72 

FRESHOUR, John C., Gorham, was born March 25, 1840, a son of Edward A. (son of John) who was born in Hopewell October 10, 1816.  December 30, 1838, he married Lany M. BRIZEE, a native of Woodstock, Ulster county, born September 7, 1818, a daughter of Cornelius and Sarah (VAN BENSCHOTEN) BRIZEE.  Her father was born in Columbia county, November 14, 1792, and her mother in Woodstock October 31, 1795.  Mr. and Mrs. BRIZEE had 4 sons and 3 daughters.  He died October 27, 1878, and his wife November 12, 1878.  Edward A. FRESHOUR and wife had two sons and a daughter, of whom John C. is the only one living.  In 1854 Edward A. FRESHOUR came to Gorham and bought a farm, but now lives retired.  John C. FRESHOUR was educated in East Bloomfield Academy and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  In 1882 he went to Boston, where he was engaged for a time in real estate.  He has also spent some time as a florist, but is now engaged in farming and dealing in live stock.  In 1863 he married Genie M., daughter of Olney and Jane RICE, early settlers of Gorham, where Olney RICE, Sr., owned a carding mill.  Mr. and Mrs. FRESHOUR have one daughter, Rosabelle, wife of W. L. LINES, of New Haven, Conn.  For some years Mrs. LINES received private lessons in Boston, in the languages and instrumental music, the latter under William H. SHERWOOD.  She is now a noted pianist.  She spent one year with the Emerson Pierce Grand Concert Company and has played in all the leading halls of Boston.  She has been highly complimented by the Boston press.  Mr. FRESHOUR is a member of Stanley Lodge No. 434 I. O. O. F. and of Seneca Grange, and is a Democrat in politics.

FRESHOUR 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 296

FRESHOUR, George W., Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, NY, June 6, 1823, on the farm he now owns, a son of John, whose father was a native of Germany and came to America previous to the French and Indian war, in which he took part.  He also participated in the Revolutionary War.  Mr. FRESHOUR had three sons and three daughters, and settled in Frederick, Md., 1789.  He had a common school education in both English and German, and in 1810 married Mary ANGLEBERGER, of Frederick county, Md.  He settled in Hopewell and purchased 150 acres of the Phelps and Gorham purchase, and added to it until he owned about 500 acres.  They had four sons and two daughters, two of whom are living, George W., and Alexander, a resident of Gorham.  Mr. FRESHOUR was a Whig, and a commissioner of highways.  He died in 1859 and his wife in 1869.  Subject was educated in common schools and in Canandaigua Academy, and in 1849 married Leonora, daughter of Abraham I. FAILING, of Montgomery county, whose father was Captain FAILING.  To subject and wife was born one son Byron, who married Alice WARNER, an adopted daughter of Milton WARNER, of Hopewell.  Mr. FRESHOUR is a Democrat, and has been justice of the peace twelve years, overseer of the poor six years, justice of sessions two terms, and in 1891 he was nominated for assemblyman.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 292 and of Hopewell Centre Grange No. 454.

 

 

 

FRESHOUR

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 425 - 426 

The FRESHOUR family is of German origin.  The progenitor was educated in Germany and England and came to this country before the last French and Indian war, in which he was a soldier.  He also served in the Revolution.  In 1790 Maria FRESHOUR, probably his widow, was the head of a family of four sons under sixteen and two females in Maryland.  Adam FRESHOVER, probably a son, had two sons under sixteen and five females in his family.  The immigrant had three sons and three daughters. 

     ( II ) John FRESHOUR, son of the pioneer, settled in Frederick county, Maryland, in 1789.  He married, in 1810, Mary ANGLEBERGER, of Frederick county, Maryland, and settled in Hopewell, New York, where he purchased one hundred and fifty acres of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase and added to it until he owned about six hundred acres.  He died in 1859 and his wife in 1869.  He was a Whig in politics and served as commissioner of highways.  They had four sons and two daughters.  Among the sons were:  1. George W., born at Hopewell, New York, June 6, 1823, married Leonora, daughter of Captain FAILING.  2. John, mentioned below.  3. Alexander, resided in Gorham, New York. 

     ( III ) John ( 2 ), son of John ( I )FRESHOUR, was born about 1810.  He married Catherine DUNKLE.  Among their children was George D., mentioned below. 

     ( IV ) George D., son of John ( 2 ) FRESHOUR, was born at Hopewell, New York, July 4, 1845.  He married Mary E. CUTTER, October 27, 1875.  She was born at Morveth, Northumberland county, England, April 30, 1852, and came to America in 1869.  They have one child, Charles D., mentioned below. 

     ( V ) Charles D., son of George D. FRESHOUR, was born at Hopewell, New York, March 18, 1877.  He was educated at home by a private tutor.  After he completed his education he assisted his father in the management of the farm.  In the spring of 1901 he bought of his father what was known as the Hillman Mill property, consisting of a saw mill, cider mill, grist mill and a dry house for evaporating apples.  The property is located near the Rochester & Eastern trolley railroad station in the town of Hopewell, and the station has been named for Mr. FRESHOUR.  With this plant he has conducted a large and flourishing business, and also conducts a large farm in the vicinity.  Of fine address and liberal education, successful in business, he has taken a position among the leading and most influential men of the county.  In politics he is a Republican.  In religion he is a Methodist. 

He married, November 27, 1900, Jennie A. MARSHALL, at Canandaigua, daughter of Albert and Emily E. (KELLOGG) MARSHALL.  Her father was born at Canandaigua, New York, December 28, 1839, and was a soldier of the Civil War.  Her mother was born March 28, 1846, in Connecticut.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. MARSHALL are:  Albert L., Mary E., William W., Carrie L., Jennie A., Lyman K. and Eleanor K. MARSHALL.  Mr. and Mrs. FRESHOUR have no children.

 

FRISBIE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 65 - 66

FRISBIE, Dr. William, Phelps, was born in Saratoga county, May 22, 1769.  He attended lectures at the Medical College of Albany, where he graduated.  He was the first physician of that name that came to the village of Vienna, Ontario county.  It was afterwards called Phelps, and is now known by that name.  In the year 1819 he moved with his wife (Elizabeth DAVIDSON, of Peterboro, NH) and their 6 children, from Pittsford, Rutland county, Vt., to Phelps.  He resumed his practice of medicine; he was eminent in his profession, a man of great moral worth, and exerted a strong and healthful religious influence in the town; he continued steadfast in the maintenance of sound principles, beloved and honored until his death, which occurred at Phelps in 1857.  His oldest son, Dr. E. Willard FRISBIE, was born in Pittsford, Vt., on May 12, 1799.  He came to Phelps when he was twenty years old, having graduated at Castleton, Vt., about the time the family removed to Phelps.  He went into practice with his father, who had a large and extensive business; they owned an acre of land, which was a beautiful garden, in the center of the east village, just across from the old Edmonston tavern.  When the boom struck the town in 1837 he sold it and purchased the REDFIELD property, just half a mile west of the village, on the street leading to Clifton Springs.  Here in this ample and beautiful Christian home, the poor and outcast of all classes and color found a shelter; it was renowned for being one of the Underground Railroad stations.  Here the drunkard or homeless found firm friends in the doctor and his wife (who was Miss Sophronia BOYNTON, the second daughter of Hon. Jonathan BOYNTON, of Walworth, Wayne county.)  They had 6 children: Ann Elizabeth, Frances Maria, William, Irene Caroline (who died at Phelps, 1857), Garret S. and Mary BOYNTON.  Garret S. FRISBIE is the only one of the family who is living now at Phelps.  He married Jane HUBBELL, the only child of Geo. HUBBELL, of Phelps.  They have four children: Gertrude, Julia Etta, Georgia, and Charles. 

"Died, at his residence in Phelps, Ontario county, near Clifton Springs, on Tuesday, July 31, 1860, Doctor E. Willard FRISBIE.  

Doctor FRISBIE had for many years been extensively known.  He was eminently a religious man and devoted much of his time, talents and substance to the cause of benevolence.  He was among the first to embrace the doctrines and practice of temperance, and his love of liberty was no silent, calculating sentimentalism, but a living, fearless, outspoken principle, and regarding all men as made by the great Author of our being of one blood, and entitled to life liberty and the pursuit of happiness, he claimed equal freedom for all.  His education with his strong and well disciplined mind enabled him to make his influence felt.  In the early periods of these reforms he experienced the truth of the declaration that "they that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution," and it was none the less trying to have a full share of this persecution come from the church.  His name has often been before the public as the nominee of the Liberty Party for high and responsible offices, and more than once as member of congress.  At times his oppressors manifested great bitterness and hatred at the reforms he advocated, yet such was his dignity and his justice that could but respect the the man.  His course has been onward, never turning to the right nor left for popular favor.  An incident is remembered which was so characteristic that we give it a record: At the first celebration of the West India Emancipation at Geneva, about the year 1840, a large number had gathered under the call and direction of a very respectable committee of colored people.  A procession was formed with a band of music and with appropriate banners.  But it was soon discovered that the procession was made up wholly of colored people except Doctor FRISBIE, and the writer [the writer here referred to was his beloved friend, Hon. Henry BRADLEY, of Penn Yan], who, without thought or concert, had dropped into the line side by side, attracting the gaze and it was understood the sneers of the fastidious and the refined, who thought they were opposed to amalgamation.  On Monday night Doctor FRISBIE went into his door yard to nurse a sick young horse.  The horse in its struggles kicked the doctor, striking him in the abdomen.  He returned to his house and told his family that he was fatally wounded.  Viewing death as near at hand and certain, it might be expected that he would repent of his past ultraisms and adopt the popular conservatism to die by.  Not so, he met death in twenty hours without shrinking, and died as he lived, a Christian.

 

 

FULTON

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg  80 � 81 

James P. FULTON, postmaster of Stanley, Ontario county, NY and who has held a number of other positions under the government of the United States, has served his country bravely and well, as will be found detailed further on in this sketch.  He is a descendant of the distinguished FULTON family of Ireland, and it seems but natural that his name should be found in the lists of those who fought so gallantly during the Civil War, as he but displayed the traits inherited from a number of his ancestors.  Among these was his maternal great grandfather, Captain John RIPPEY, who was in active service throughout the Revolutionary War, was brevetted major, shared the hardships endured at Valley Forge and participated in all the battles in which WASHINGTON was personally engaged. 

James S. FULTON, father of James P. FULTON, was born in Seneca township, New York in 1813 and died there, May 6, 1887.  He was occupied as a farmer throughout the active years of his life.  He married Margaret Ann, who died January 2, 1892, daughter of Thomas and Anna (RIPPEY) MC CAULEY.  Among their children were: John M., who was graduated from Hobart College and studied law at the Albany Law School and is now a prominent lawyer in St. Louis, Missouri; and James P., see forward.

James P., son of James S. and Margaret Ann (MC CAULEY) FULTON, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, NY, August 17, 1843.  He attended the district school and from there he went to the Cooperstown high school, from which he graduated, finally taking a course at the Binghamton Commercial College.  In July 1862, Mr. FULTON enlisted in Co. F., 126th NY Volunteer Infantry, Captain SHIMEN, Colonel SHERRILL.  His service extended over a period of three years and he was honorably discharged at Baltimore in April 1865.  He was an active participant in the three days fight at Harper�s Ferry, and in the three days engagement at Gettysburg, where he was wounded in the foot.  He took one prisoner, single-handed, and assisted in the capture of a number of others.  He was also at the engagement of Morton Ford, Auburn Ford and Bristow Station, Virginia.  During the second day of the battle of the Wilderness, he was severely wounded and lay on the field of battle without attention for 24 hours; he was then taken prisoner, remaining at the sear of War as a captive for 3 months, and then was removed to a hospital in Gordonsville, Virginia, where he remained for about 6 weeks.  Early one morning he was taken to a train before breakfast, removed to Richmond, Virginia, placed in the Libby Prison Annex, and after several weeks, spent in that place of horror, was exchanged.  Upon the close of the war he returned to his native county, and after a time was appointed a railroad postal clerk between Canandaigua and Baltimore, Maryland, an office he filled for 13 years.  He was then appointed for the past 12 years, serving under two appointments. He also served one term as collector for the town of Geneva.  His political affiliation has always been with the Republican party and he and his family are members of the Presbyterian church.

Mr. FULTON married May 27, 1874, Sarah M. FROST, born in Putman county, NY in 1847.  Child: Maud F., married December 1, 1897, Harry A. THOMPSON, who died December 12, 1905.  They had children: Gordon F., born in October 1898 and Helen M., born in Easton, Pennsylvania in 1903.  

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

 [NY History and Genealogy]