Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
Ha

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

HAIRE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 302 - 303

HAIRE, De Witt G., Canandaigua, was born in Jerusalem, Yates county, July 27, 1844.  His father, James, was a native of Starkey, Yates county, born September 11, 1805.  In his early day he was a farmer in Jerusalem, and in 1857 located in Hopewell, where he remained 6 years, then removed to Canandaigua and bought a farm in the north-west part of the town, where he lived six years.  In 1869 he moved to the village and spent two years, and in 1871 bought a farm on the old Thaddeus CHAPIN estate, where he died May 12, 1888.  He had five children, three of whom survive: Robie, wife of Bradner ELLIS, a mechanic of Canandaigua; Louisa, wife of John A. FISHER, a farmer of Canandaigua; and De Witt.  James HAIRE was always prominent in church work, and was one of the founders of the Wesleyan Methodist church of Jerusalem.  He was a great reader and profound thinker, and in his younger days was prominent in politics, and took great interest in the abolition of slavery.  De Witt was educated in the Canandaigua Academy, and followed farming until 1889 on the farm on which he now resides, a fruit farm of fourteen acres.  He is at present employed as a commercial traveler with the American Road Machine Co.  His farm produces nearly every kind of fruit raised in this section, and has an apple orchard of ten acres.  Mr. HAIRE married in 1870 Emma KENDALL, of Tyrone, Schuyler county, and they had one child, James HAIRE, who lives at home.  Mrs. HAIRE died March 22, 1890, and he married second, February 23, 1892, Sarah, daughter of Dennison BUTLER, of Naples, Ontario county.

 

HALL  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 311

HALL, Thomas W., Seneca, was born at Hall's Corners, January 31, 1812.  He was educated in the schools of that time, was a farmer with his father until 1838, and has always followed this honorable calling until he retired in 1868.  He kept a hotel a short time in connection with his farm business.  June 12, 1838, he married Mary A. SIMS of this town, and they had four children: Edward, who died at the age of 17  months; John S., who is a farmer on the home farm.  He married Mary J. FISH of this town, and has two children: Roscoe F., and Mary J., both reside at home; Mary J. married James P. GAGE of Wisconsin, and they have a son, Charles H.; and Edward E., who married Jennie DORMAN, who died, and he resides in town.  Mr. HALL's father, Edward, was born in Northumberland, England, in 1774, and came with his parents to the United States in 1801, coming from Albany here in flat boats to Geneva, from there to Hall's Corners through the woods with only marked trees to guide them.  He married Jane WILSON, formerly of Yorkshire, England, and they have 6 children: Sarah, Margaret, Thomas W., Mary, Jane, and Edward N.  Mr. HALL's grandfather, Edward, was born at the old home in England, and married Margaret NEVEN.  They had three children, two sons and a daughter.  Mr. HALL's father was a constable many years, and held the position of deputy sheriff two terms under Sheriff Phineas BATES.  He died in 1860, and his wife in 1832.  Mrs. Thomas W. HALL died June 25, 1888.  (New No. 9 cemetery)  

 

HALL  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 368 - 369

HALL, General Amos, was born in Guilford, Conn., 1761.  In his 15th year he was enrolled as fifer in a company of troops of the Connecticut line, commanded by his father Capt. Stephen HALL, for service in the War of the Revolution; later he became a Sergeant of the company, and with his father served through the war.  In the right of his father, who died in 1783, he received, July 4, 1786, a certificate of membership in The Order of the Cincinnati, signed by WASHINGTON as president, and KNOX as secretary.  He was with a corps of surveyors, probably in 1789, assisting in the survey of the Phelps and Gorham purchase in Western New York.  In April, 1790, he received deeds of village lots in Canandaigua Nos. 3 and 19, north of the Square and west of Main street, and of over 3,000 acres in township ten, fifth range, where he settled soon after, locating about one mile east of the present village of West Bloomfield.  In 1790, under appointment as deputy United States marshal, he took the census of the State west of Geneva, reporting a population of 1,084 persons.  He was chosen supervisor of the town or district of Big-Tree or Geneseo in 1793-4-5, and supervisor of the town of Bloomfield when organized in 1796, and later for several terms.  He was surrogate of Ontario county in 1796-8, member of assembly in the State Legislature in 1798 and for several other terms, State senator in 1810-13 for the Western District, and member of the Council of Appointment in 1809-10.  His engraved likeness appears with others in the Documentary History of New York.  He received the appointment as brigadier-general of militia in 1800, and major-general in 1810, and in the War of 1812 was in command for a short time of forces on the Niagara frontier, as also in December, 1813, of troops, hastily gathered, when from lack of arms and time for drill and discipline, unsuccessful resistance was made against the incursion of British troops under General RIAL at the battle of Black Rock and burning of Buffalo.  He was visited by distinguished personages from home and abroad, because of his prominence in civil and military life.  In local affairs of importance and in social life he was also prominent.  In 1791 he married Phebe COE, of Granville, Mass., and brought her to his then far away western home.  They became parents of eight sons and one daughter, all born in Bloomfield.  One son of promise died in his 21st year.  The other children came to middle or advanced life, and became in their generation of varied prominence in public, social, and domestic history with descendants following after.  Enoch Augustus HALL, eldest son of General AMOS, was born in 1792, and it is believed he was the first white male child born in the town.  He was a merchant for about 20 years, and for a time in the milling and ashery business.  He was known familiarly as Colonel HALL, from holding that position for years.  He was also commissioned brigadier and major-general, but did not serve actively.  He was postmaster four years under HARRISON and TYLER, and from 1844 to 1850 was secretary of the Ontario and Livingston Mutual Insurance Company.  Before the division of the town in 1832 he was supervisor five years.  He died June 16, 1850.  His wife was Mariette SHELLEY, who came with her parents to Bloomfield in 1808 from Guilford, Conn.  They had these children: Susan Ann (married Edwin A. HENDEE); Stephen (died in infancy); James Henry (married Jane F. CLARK); Myron Shelley; Cornelia Catharine (married Dr. P. Harold HAYES); Emila Coe (married James E. BALL).  His son, Myron Shelley HALL, was born here October 26, 1820.  He became secretary of the insurance company after his father, from 1850 to 1864; United States loan commissioner in 1867-69; and clerk of Ontario county from 1877 to 1880.  He carried on farming business by employees largely from 1846 to 1883.  January 9, 1849, he married Harriet, daughter of Abner WAKELEE, a pioneer of Rochester, and has had six children: James Augustine, who died in 1852, whose widow and three children reside in Buffalo; Myron E., who with his wife and three children lives in California; Harriet L., residing with her parents; Marietta A., now Mrs. Rev. E. P. GARDNER of Chatham, NJ, who has five children; Catharine E., who married Henry C. DIXON of this town, and has four children; George W., who married Mabel HENDEE, and is a dentist in Tonawanda, and has one child.  Mr. HALL's brother James Henry was postmaster here four years, justice of the peace several years, and died in 1865.  He left him surviving, his wife, Jane F. CLARK, and sons Frederick C., formerly of Hornellsville, now of Yakima, Wash., and has one child, and Frank S., of Lewiston, NY.  Mr. HALL's eldest sister, Susan A., married Edwin A. HENDEE in 1839, he died at the island of St. Croix, West Indies, in 1842; she died in 1846; they had no children.  Another sister, Cornelia Catharine, married in 1848 Dr. P. Harold HAYES, now residing in Buffalo; they have children: Dr. F. M. HAYES, Dr. Harold A. HAYES, and Susan H., who married John A. HOBBIE, who have families of children, and Catharine E., unmarried, all residing in Buffalo or vicinity.  Another sister, Emila C., married James E. BALL, formerly of Le Roy, late of Blue Rapids, Kas., where she died in 1887, leaving one daughter, Marietta Shelley, who married Charles EKINS, now residing at Riverside, Calf., her father with her. 

 

HALL 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 370

HALL, Phillips A., Seneca, was born in Dutchess county, December 15, 1832.  He was educated in the district schools of his day and worked at the carpenter's trade with his father until he was 21 years old.  He then became a farmer.  He has been twice married, first August 6, 1854, Susan L. PADGET of the town of Phelps, and they had four children: Lavalden J., Emory W., Frank J., and Fred C.  Mrs. HALL died November 17, 1871, and he married secondly Mary F. LIGHTFOOT of this town, June 18, 1873.  They have one son, William S., who was educated in the public schools and is one of Seneca's enterprising farmer boys, relieving his parents in many ways of various cares, proving a comfort to both.  Mr. HALL's father, Samuel, was born in the city of New York, August 2, 1800, was a carpenter by occupation, and married Elizabeth GAY, by whom he had 12 children.  He died April 28, 1870, and his wife November 21, 1889.  Mrs. HALL's father, William LIGHTFOOT, was born in Yorkshire, England, October 25, 1805, and came to the United States when a young man.  He married Frances SOWERSBY of his native place.  This event took place at Perry, Wyoming county, and they had four daughters: Ann E., Mary F., Martha B., and Maria J.  Her father died in 1881, and her mother the same year.  Mr. Phillips HALL enlisted in the  Civil War, September 12, 1864, and served as private until honorably discharged July 1, 1865, near Washington.

 

HALL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 376 - 377

HALL, John B., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua August 7, 1842, a son of Charles, a native of Lewis county, born September 1, 1815.  Charles was a son of John B., who came here from Connecticut.  Charles HALL married when a young man Nancy D. HALL, whose parents were Virginians, and whose mother was a STEWART, one of the old Virginian family of that name.  Charles died in 1889 leaving three children: a daughter who married Dr. LUTZ of this town; Lorenzo C., born August 5, 1845, a lawyer of Canandaigua; and John B.  The latter was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary at Lima.  He has always made his home on the farm his grandfather settled until 1885.  He has always taken an active interest in politics, and is a republican.  In 1889-90-91 he served as chairman of the Ontario County Committee.  In the spring of 1884 he was elected justice of the peace, and on being nominated in 1888 for police justice he resigned his position, and was again nominated and elected to the same office in 1889.  Mr. HALL has been for six years treasurer of the Ontario County Agricultural Society, and is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F. & A. M.  He married February 7, 1866, Mary I., daughter of Jedediah BARNUM of Canandaigua, and they have two children: Mary Stewart, and Merton M.  Mr. HALL was one of the organizers, and a director (until he was made vice-president) of the Ontario Patrons Fire Relief Association.  Lorenzo C. HALL was educated in Canandaigua Academy and after leaving school spent two years on a farm.  He then entered the law office of John CALLISTER, was admitted to the bar in 1875, and has ever since been a practicing lawyer of this town.  He is a Mason.

 

HALL 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 23-24 

Roscoe F. HALL, supervisor of Ontario County, New York, and prominently identified with a number of measures for improvement and advancement of the community in which he resides, is one of the well known farmers of that section of the country.  His forbears are to be found in England, and members of the family emigrated to this country in the early colonial days and are now to be found in all parts of the United States.   

Edward HALL, grandfather of the above mentioned, was born in England, and emigrated to America in 1800.  He purchased the land on which Roscoe F. HALL now resides and which became the family homestead, having been in uninterrupted possession of the family since that time.  Mr. HALL built the first dwelling house himself, of logs which he himself felled and prepared for this purpose. 

Thomas W., son of Edward HALL, was born at Halls Corners, Ontario county, New York, January 31, 1812 and died September 7, 1901.  He married Mary Ann SIMS, who was born in England and came to this country at the age of four years. 

John S., son of Thomas W. and Mary Ann (SIMS) HALL, was born at Halls Corners on January 31, 1841.  He was educated in the common schools and at the academy and at an early age began to assist in the farm labors.  For ten years he assisted his father on the latter�s farm, and then purchased it.  At that time it consisted of 85 acres.  He is a member of No. 9 Presbyterian Church.  He married in November 1867, to Mary Jane FISH, born in Ontario county on July 24, 1849, a daughter of Alexander FISH.  Children: Roscoe F., see forward; Mabel, who married George G. SUTHERLAND and resides in Ontario county, NY.

Roscoe F., eldest child and only son of John S. and Mary Jane (FISH) HALL, was born December 22, 1868, in the house in which he lives at the present time.  At a suitable age he was sent to the district schools and upon graduation from these he attended Canandaigua Academy.  He received his training as a farmer under the personal direction and supervision of his father, whom he commenced to assist while he was still attending school, during his spare time and during the summer vacations.  He thus acquired a practical knowledge of all details connected with this field of industry, and in 1894 branched out for himself.  He owns a farm of 80 acres, where he is engaged in general farming after the most modern and approved methods.  In spite of demands made upon his time by the cultivation of this large property, he devotes much attention to public matters; he was elected supervisor in 1909 and is now a member of the equalization committee, one of the most important committees of the board.  His opinion carries weight in all the discussions of the board, being recognized as the opinion of a man who has given careful and intelligent thought to all matters which are brought up for discussion.  His political support is given to the Democratic party and he is affiliated with the Independent Order of the Odd Fellows. 

Mr. HALL married January 18, 1894 to Anna MEGAFFEE, born in Hopewell in 1874, a daughter of Stephen and Harriet MEGAFEE.  Children; Elbert J., born December 18, 1894 and Roy M. born May 18, 1898.   

HALLADAY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 92 

HALLADAY, Elmer, Manchester, was born in Michigan, April 4, 1856, where he was educated and lived until 1883.  He then moved to this State, where he has since followed agricultural pursuits on a farm inherited from his grandfather, Thomas HOWLAND.  His wife was Lilla CRANE, and they have one daughter.  

 

HALLENBECK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 83 - 84   

HALLENBECK, D. W., Geneva, the present president and principal owner in the Torrey Park Land Company, and otherwise known as one of the leading business men of Geneva, was born in Columbia county, April 7, 1838.  Early in life he prepared himself for mercantile pursuits, and, before coming to Geneva, was in business in Catskill, NY, Reading, Pa., Hudson, NY, and from the city last named came to Geneva in 1868, where he was for many years in the grocery business, and also connected with the manufacture and sale of cigars both in Geneva and Rochester.  The Torrey Park Land Company was organized in 1889, and in its operations Mr. HALLENBECK has been the leading spirit.  He was the president of the People's Building, Loan, and Savings Association, and is now the treasurer of the Universal Savings and Loan Company.  He is also in public affairs in Geneva and its locality, and has held the office of village trustee.  In politics Mr. HALLENBECK is an ardent Republican, yet in no manner a politician.  He was first married in 1860 to Emma L. TRAVER, by whom he had three children: Ellsworth L., Frank D., and Louise T.  His wife died February 25, 1885, and in January 1888, Mr. HALLENBECK married Bertha I. POMEROY, of Geneva.

 

HALLENBECK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 86 

HALLENBECK, Dr. Orlando J., Canandaigua, was born in Schenectady county in 1853, a son of Charles, a farmer of that county.  He was educated in Cobleskill, Schoharie county, at the Union Free School.  From there he went to the Geneseo Normal School, and graduated in the classical course in 1875.  He taught for two years, and then entered Albany Medical College, from which he graduated in 1879.  In the competitive examination he was recommended, and secured the position of resident physician and surgeon of Albany City Hospital, where he remained six months, and then came to Canandaigua, where he has enjoyed a lucrative practice.  Dr. HALLENBECK was elected in 1892, on the republican ticket, coroner of the county.  He married in 1880, Eliza P. EWER, of Mendon, and they have four children: Lois M., Clive E., Claude O., and Mildred.  Dr. HALLENBECK is trustee of the Presbyterian Church and a member of the Board of Education; also secretary of the village Society of Physicians, and president of the Canandaigua Anglers' Association.  

 

HALLOCK  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 304

HALLOCK, David W., East Bloomfield, was a native of Norfolk, Eng., born September 5, 1831, is one of eleven children of David and Elizabeth (GIBBS) HALLOCK, natives of England, who lived and died in their native country.  Subject of sketch was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools.  In 1852 he came to America and started in life for himself.  He worked by the month for about four years, and then for several years he rented land.  His first purchase was ten acres of land, which after three years he sold, and purchased 40 acres in Richmond which he still owns.  In 1879 he purchased 73 acres on which he now resides.  This he has increased to 173 acres, on which he has erected a good barn and made many improvements.  He carries on general farming an hop growing.  September, 1859, Mr. HALLOCK married Dalena NUDD, a native of Norfolk, Eng., and daughter of John and Mary (George) NUDD, natives of England, who came to East Bloomfield in 1851, and there spent the remainder of their days.  Mr. NUDD died in 1856, and his wife in 1863.  Subject and wife have ten children: George W., Frank, John B., Emily S., Arthur D., Alice L., Edith M., Maud J., Willie and Howard.  Mr. HALLOCK is a republican, and he and his wife are members of the M. E. church.

 

 

HAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 90 - 91

HAM, Burton D., East Bloomfield, was born in East Bloomfield, December 8, 1817, a son of Robert and Eunice (Gyle) HAM.  The grandfather, Thomas, was a son of Gabriel, who came from Scotland and settled near Dartmouth College.  Here Thomas, his son, was born, and he was the father of five daughters and eight sons, three of whom died in the War for Independence.  Robert, the fifth son of Thomas, the father of Burton D., was born near New Haven, Conn., and was a tailor by trade.  He moved to New Hampshire, then in 1806 came to Canandaigua, remained two years, then returned and brought his family.  In 1808 he settled in East Bloomfield.  He was one of the organizers of the First Universalist Church and was truly a conscientious Christian.  He owned a farm in Hopewell on which he lived three years, then returned to East Bloomfield and died there aged 83 years.  He was twice married, first to a daughter of Governor MARSH, of Vermont, by whom he had two sons, Ida and Carlysle, and two daughters, Cilvy and Orell.  He married second Eunice, a daughter of Stephen GYLE, a prominent man of his time, being general purveyor for the Army of the Revolution, and owner of nearly eight entire townships of land in Vermont and New Hampshire at the time of his death.  Subject's father had 9 children by his second wife, three sons and six daughters, two daughters and two sons are yet living.  Moses F. HAMM, a prominent and successful business man of Newark, Wayne county; Helen Leste, of Marion; Eunice ORCUTT of West Bloomfield; and Burton D. HAM, of East Bloomfield.  Rev. Robert HAM, brother of Burton and Moses, was pastor of the Baptist Church at Oberlin, Oh., and died in Cleveland in 1860.  His mother died in Hopewell in 1852, aged 61 years.  Burton received a common school education, then taught school several terms, the first term when only 16 years of age.  He has been a farmer over 40 years, and for many years owned several hundred acres of land in East Bloomfield, but now only cares for about 200 acres.  He was an active politician, first Whig then republican, and for the last seven years a Prohibitionist.  He has been a delegate to county conventions in all 22 years, and was constable and collector 8 years in succession in the town of Bristol.  He has been a collector of coins, Indian relics, and rare old books for the last 30 years, and now has the best library of old books in Western New York.  He was one of the organizers of the Historical Society, and has been a frequent contributor on historical subjects to various journals.  He married Evelina B. SPENCER, daughter of George and Pamelia P. SPENCER, and they have had three children: Adelaide, wife of Myron CODDING; Delia, wife of Jewitt HARVEY; and Georgianna B. HAM.  

 

 

HAMILTON

History of Ontario County, NY, Published 1878, pg. 236

Every condition in life has some advantages.  The attention must be fixed upon a single character to render one distinct among thousands.  In this instance the subject is David L. HAMILTON.  While the life of the individual is central, the ancestry is not disregarded.  The father of Mr. HAMILTON, Hugh HAMILTON, was born in Massachusetts, October 31, 1770.  On March 24, 1794, he married Isabel KNOX, whose birth dates December 25,1772.  For sixteen years the couple lived in the old Bay State, and then, desirous of bettering his fortune, he set out in 1810, on horseback, to find a home in the west.  His destinations was Ohio, and he had advanced as far as Erie, Pennsylvania, unsatisfied, and having a remembrance of attractive lands in Ontario County, returned thither, and bought a half-interest in the Phelps saw and grist-mill until December, when he returned to Massachusetts.  He brought out his family during January, 1811.  The journey was made in horse sleighs, and sledding was passable to Cayuga Lake; thence on it was poor, with slush and mud most of the way.  He remained four years in charge of the mill, dug a new race-way, made frequent repairs, especially after high waters, and finally resold his interest to Mr. CROOKS, and built a log house on the land which he had purchased.  Moving into this house, he continued the work of clearing the land between the road and the old lake landing.  The title of this tract was in dispute, and he sold his improvements and bought a small farm, where his youngest son, David L. HAMILTON, now resides.  Upon this farm he became a permanent settler, and there died, March 1, 1851, at the age of eighty years.  His means, limited at the start, were increased as years went by, and at his decease his farm was enlarged in bounds, and enhances in value by improvements.  His widow died October 5, 1856, nearly eighty-four years of age.  Hi had six children, Justin, Polly,  Charlotte, William, Lucinda, and David L.  Justin went to Hardin county, Kentucky in the spring of 1818; removed in 1823 to Mercer county, Ohio and there remained till his death in 1863.  He was a member of the Ohio legislature for some years, and held several offices.  Polly and Charlotte both died in Richmond while young women.  Lucinda became the first wife of Abraham PENNELL, and died in 1835.  William emigrated to Mercer county, Ohio, where he resides.  He has been acting justice of the peace for over forty years.  David L. HAMILTON was chosen to remain on the homestead, and take care of his parents, as they began to feel the encroachments of age and have premonitions of change.  He was born in the town of Blandford, Massachusetts, on February 6, 1809, and was consequently but an infant when his parents transferred their residence to the town of Richmond, Ontario County.  The family was large, and both firmness of heart and steadiness of resolution were required to enable them to surmount the ills of poverty.  All learned the priceless quality of frugality, and the sweat of honest, toilsome labor was no stranger to their faces.  The time usually set apart for obtaining the knowledge taught in schools was devoted to learning how best to wield the axe and guide the plow.  When Justin and William came of age they went out, as we have noted, to seek a home for themselves; but for David L. HAMILTON was left to make the most of the farm.  It was as if he had dreamed that he saw a cataract pouring over a precipice, with sound of thunder and rush of foamy waters, and the channel becoming dry; then, glancing between the hills to a rivulet flowing along the valley, he saw a constant stream, and traced it from the spring to a wide and brimming lake, for he grew in wealth not rapidly, but by years of preserving industry.  The small farm, descend as a heritage, has extended to include six hundred and seventy-five acres of good farm lands.  He has been courteous in demeanor, and liberal to worthy schemes of benevolence.  The various town offices have been bestowed upon him, and as supervisor has shown himself capable, efficient, and worthy of the trust.  He has a family of five children living - all residents of Richmond - three sons and two daughters.  They who are desirous of knowing to what extent prosperity has attended Mr. HAMILTON, and the means employed to secure his present comfort and independence, will have found that industry and frugality know no limit, and the possession of wealth is to bar no usefulness and moral worth. 

 

HAMLIN

 History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg 215

 

Elijah HAMLIN was born February 8, 1767, at Alford, Berkshire County, Massachusetts.  He was a descendant of James HAMLIN, of Barnstable, Massachusetts, who emigrated to America about the year 1640.  Elijah HAMLIN, with his wife, Lydia POPE, and two children, settled in Bloomfield probably in the early part of the year of 1792.  He purchased the farm now occupied by Philo HAMLIN, consisting of 150 acres of land, of John ADAMS, on the 15th of February, 1792.  Its purchase price was thirty pounds.  Elijah HAMLIN died in 1859, at Rochester, Michigan, at the age of 92 years. 

Out of a family of eleven children, only three resided for any considerable portion of their lives in Ontario County.  Philo HAMLIN, above mentioned, who still lives in the old homestead, and Henry W. HAMLIN, reside in East Bloomfield; Mary the wife of Hon. John DIXON, died at West Bloomfield some years ago. 

 

 

 

HAMLIN
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 89 - 90 

HAMLIN, John S., East Bloomfield, was born in Bloomfield, July 14, 1842, a son of Henry W., a son of Elijah, who was born in Great Barrington, Mass., and came to Bloomfield prior to 1800, and settled on 220 acres near the village.  He has 11  children: Adolphus, John, Elijah, Calvin, Philo, Henry, Caroline, Esther, Lydia, Mary and Olive.  Henry W. was born October 20, 1807, and died November 30, 1891.  He was a farmer and speculator, and always lived in Bloomfield, where he accumulated a large property, owning over 1,000 acres.  He served as supervisor and was a republican.  He married Sibyll B. SEARS, daughter of Dr. John SEARS, of Sharon, Conn., and she died in 1870.  They reared six children: John S., Agnes D., Frank H., Anna B., Sarah A., George W. (deceased).  John was reared in Bloomfield, and received a district school and academic education.  At the age of 20, he began life for himself, first working a farm on shares for two years, when his father purchased 177 acres in East Bloomfield, where he lived about eight years.  In 1874 he moved to the village, where he and his brother conducted a meat market several years, also a coal and lumber yard.  For three years he has been engaged in the bank which was started by his father and Charles STEELE in 1879.  He now owns and operates several farms, comprising about 1,000 acres.  He is a Republican and served three terms as supervisor.  He has been twice married, first to Elizabeth, daughter of Hiram HOLCOMB and Eliza WHITE, and by her had two sons: William H. and Frederic H.  His wife died in December, 1879, and he married second Minnie, daughter of George and Jane (SCOTT) HOWELL, of Steuben county, by whom he had two children: Marion H. and Sarah H.  

 

 

HAMLIN 

History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 179 - 187

(other names DUNHAM, SEARS)

It is supposed that the name of HAMLIN was originally of Germanic origin, perhaps derived from the town of Hamlin in Lower Saxony, situated at the junction of the river Hamel with the Weiser. The name HAMELIN is still common in France, whence some have emigrated to this country and to Quebec, where they have since become numerous. In England this name was formerly spelled Hamblen, Hamelyn, Hamelin and Hamlyn. As the name is found the "Roll of Battle Abbey" it is undoubtedly of French origin and was brought into England by a follower of the Norman conqueror.   Burke's "Encyclopedia of Heraldry" describes several coats-of-arms belonging to the Hamblins and Hamlyns. Representatives of the distinguished American family of this name participated in the War for national Independence and the Civil War. It has produced a goodly number of able men, including clergymen, lawyers, physicians and statesmen, and its most distinguished representative of modern time was Hon. Hannibal HAMLIN, vice-president of the United Stated during Abraham LINCOLN'S administration for may years a member of the national senate from Maine, and afterwards minister to Spain. A numerous progeny sprung from Captain Giles HAMLIN, whom immigrated to Middletown, Connecticut in 1650. It is supposed that James and Giles HAMLIN were brothers, but their relationship, like the connection between Sire de Balon and Hamelinus, was never determined. At the time, Giles came to this country, Lewis HAMELIN, of France, settled in Canada and established the HAMLIN family of that part of the continent. The English ancestor of the HAMLINS of New England appears to be John HAMELYN, of Cornwall, living in 1570, who married Amor, daughter of Robert KNOWLE, of Sarum. This couple had a son and heir who lived in Devonshire, by the name of Giles. Giles HAMELIN or HAMELYN, married the daughter of Robert ASHLEY, and had two sons: Thomas, gentleman, of London, 1623; and James. James is the ancestor of the larger part of the HAMLIN race in this republic. He made a voyage to Cape Cod unaccompanied by his family, and there made a home at Barnstable, then returned to England, and in 1639 returned with his wife and several children.

James, son of Giles and ____ (ASHLEY) HAMELIN, lived until 1636 in the parish of St. Lawrence, Reading, Berkshire, England* between 1630 and 1636. (*James HAMLENE appears among the list of freemen in Barnstable in 1643 and James HAMHLEN Junior, and James HAMHLEN Senior on a list of freemen, May 29, 1670. James Sr. made his will January 23, 1683, Governor HINCKLEY and Jonathan RUSSELL witnessing the signing and sealing of the will. In this will he names his wife as Anna, but no other record of her name has been found). Children, baptized in the church of St. Lawrence: James, October 31, 1630, died before April 1636, Sarah, September 6, 1632; Mary, July 27, 1634; James, April 10, 1636, mentioned below. The first record of his children born in America, is Bartholomew, born in Barnstable, Plymouth colony, April 11, 1642; Hannah was probably born in England between 1636 and 1642 but no record of her birth appears either in England or New England.

Other children of James and Anna HAMLIN were: John, born June 26, 1644; child, stillborn and buried December 2, 1646; Sarah born November 7, 1647; Eleazer, March 17, 1649; Isreal, June 25, 1652.

James (2), second son and fourth child of James (1) and Anna HAMLIN, was born in England and baptized April 10, 1636, at St. Lawrence parish, Reading, Berkshire. He came to Plymouth colony, New England, with his mother and sisters, prior to 1642, and married November 20, 1162, at Barnstable, in that colony, Mary, daughter of John and Mary DUNHAM. John DUNHAM, who was an inhabitant of Marlsborough, Massachusetts, in 1623, was deputy to the general court several years and died in 1692, aged 72 years. He was a son of Deacon John DUNHAM, who came from England to Plymouth with his wife Abigail, and they had, about 1628, three sons and a daughter. James HAMLIN was a farmer and lived on the Coggin's Pond lot, owned by his father up to 1702, when he removed to Hamblin Plains in West Berkshire. In his will, made in 1717, he claims to be a resident of Tisbury, but is reported as a representative at a great and general court or assembly, for Her Majesty's Province of Massachusetts Bay in New England, held in Boston, Wednesday, May 13, 1705, as Mr. James HAMLIN, Barnstable. His wife, Mary, died April 19, 1715, in the 73 year of her age and James HAMLIN died in Tisbury, May 3, 1718. Their children, all born in Barnstable, were fourteen in number: 1. Mary, July 24, 1664; 2. Elizabeth, February 14, 1665-66.; 3. Eleazer, April 12, 1668; 4. Experience, April 12, 1668; 5. James, August 26, 1669; 6. Jonathan, March 6, 1671; 7. A son, March 28, 1672, died April 7, 1672; 8. Ebenezer, July 29, 1674; 9. Elisha, March 5, 1676-77, died December 20, 1677; 10. Hope, March 13, 1679-80; 11. Job, January 15, 1681; 12. John, January 12, 1683; 13. Benjamin, baptized March 16, 1684-85; 14. Elkanah, baptized March 16, 1685.

Deacon Ebenezer, eighth child and fifth son of James and Mary (DUNHAM) HAMLIN, was born July 29, 1674. He occupied the homestead farm at Coggin's Pond until about the time of his second marriage when he removed to Rochester, Massachusetts, now Wareham. He was one of the original members of the Wareham church which was organized December 25, 1739. He was chosen deacon, February 18, 1740. He was dismissed to the church of Sharon, Connecticut, May 30, 1742, which is about the date of his removal to that town and state. In his will he bequeathed "twenty-four pounds, old tenor, toward the worship of God, in the neighborhood where I now dwell," viz., in or near the newly-erected meeting house on the oblong near Sharon. This was the Presbyterian church at Amenia Union, in Dutchess county, New York, across the line from Sharon, now South Amenia. He died at Sharon, April 8, 1755. He married (first) at Barnstable, Massachusetts, April 4, 1698, Sarah LEWIS. He married (second) at Rochester, September 20, 1729, Elizabeth, widow of Samuel ARNOLD. Children, all by his first wife and born at Barnstable: 1. Ebenezer, born March 18, 1699; 2. Mercy, September 10, 1700; 3. Hopestill, July 23, 1702; 4. Cornelius, June 13, 1705; 5. Thomas, May 6, 1710; 6. Isaac, of whom further; 7. Lewis, January 31, 1718.

Isaac, sixth child and fourth son of Deacon Ebenezer and Sarah (LEWIS) HAMLIN, was born July 1, 1714, died at Springfield, Massachusetts, 1805. He removed to Wareham where he and his wife were original members of the church in 1739 and where their eldest son Seth was baptized, March 14, 1742. He was dismissed to the Sharon church May 30, 1742. He owned a share in the Sharon Iron Works, which he sold in 1749. He removed from Sharon, Connecticut, and his name appears on the records of Lenox, Massachusetts, June 11, 1777, where he bought land and erected a mill. In 1783 he deeded twenty acres of land with grist mill and half a sawmill to Perez and Asa HAMLIN "my sons". This will at Lenox Furnace, now Lenox Dale, was kept in operation for many years and was burned after passing out of the family. Isaac and his wife were admitted to the Lenox Congregational church August 20, 1780, "by recommendation." He married Mary GIBBS, of Agawam, intentions published September 24, 1737, sister of Ruth GIBBS, wife of his brother Thomas. Children: 1. Seth, of whom further; 2. Isaac, January 10, 1742; 3. Perez, February 3, 1748; 4. John, March 21, 1750; 5. Jehial, October 2, 1751; 6. Jesse, December 17, 1753. 7. Cyreneus, August 15, 1755; 8. Mercy, September 8, 1757; 9. Asa, September 23, 1759. Their first child was born at Warham, Massachusetts, the others at Sharon, Connecticut.

Captain Seth HAMLIN, son and eldest child of Isaac and Mary (GIBBS) HAMLIN, was born September 9, 1740. His name appears on the records of Alford, Massachusetts, in 1793-94, but not later. He is believed to have died there in 1795. He resided at Sharon, Connecticut; New Concord, New York and Alford, Massachusetts, where his name frequently appears on the early records, sometimes as Captain Seth HAMLIN. He was a highway surveyor in 1777, and town clerk in 1783-1785. He was a soldier of the Revolution, serving in Captain WILCOX's company, Colonel ASHLEY's regiment. He enlisted for three years in the Continental army; resident of Alford, Massachusetts; also a private in Captain Job ALVORD's company in Colonel SHEPARD's regiment, Third Massachusetts, for three years; returned by Truman WHEELER, muster master of Berkshire County, Massachusetts; mustered between January 20, 1777, and June , 1778; in service August 15, 1777; also private, same company and regiment. On return dated January 31, 1778, residence Alford; also private on Continental army pay account in Captain LEARNED's company, Colonel SHEPARD's regiment, May 25, 1777 to June 1778.

He was appointed purchasing commissary in 1778 and remained in the service twelve months. Also private on depreciation roll of Colonel SHEPARD's regiment to make good the wages for the first three years' service in the continental army from 1777 to 1780; also in a statement of continental balances in Colonel SHEPARD's regiment, certified May 12, 1780, enlisted for three years. He was a member of the Masonic order. He married (first) at Sharon, Connecticut, October 15, 1761, Mary PITCHER. Marriage record in church at Amenia Union, New York. She bore him four children. He married (second) at Sharon, May 25, 1773, Submit HYDE, born in Lebanon, Connecticut, November 24, 1742, died at East Bloomfield, New York, August, 1821, at the home of her stepson; Elijah HAMLIN. Children of first wife: 1. Eunice, married William DRAKE, Revolutionary soldier; 2. Elijah, of whom further; 3. Betsey, married Calvin HOOPER; 4. Philo, married a widow, Esther HATCH, daughter of Seth POPE. Children of second wife, Submit HYDE: 5. Seth, died at aged of twenty-one; 6. Leander, born April 15, 1786, married Faraloxy CANDEE; 7. Mary, died young.

Elijah, eldest son and second child of Captain Seth and Mary (PITCHER) HAMLIN, was born in Alford, Massachusetts, February 8, 1767, died April 12, 1858, and was buried at Clarkson, New York. He witnessed as a boy many of the stirring scenes of the Revolution and related to his grandchildren many interesting incidents of those days of hardship and danger. He removed to Barre, Massachusetts, and from there to East Bloomfield, New York, about 1791. He purchased and operated a farm there, which is now owned by his grandsons, John S. and Frank H. HAMLIN. He was a man of kindly heart and upright character; a granddaughter related that the first time she ever saw him he dismounted from his horse, waded through the deep snow to get her some green boughs she wanted from a distant pine tree. He built an addition for Dr. and Mrs. HURLBURT to live in. (The doctor was an old pensioner and his wife taught school). He was a successful farmer but involved in financial difficulties through contracts for building the locks on the Erie Canal at Lockport, New York. He was unaccustomed to such work and lost money, but was able to settle honorably. The first home on his East Bloomfield farm was built of logs, this was later replaced by a wooden farmhouse in which he resided until the death of his wife in 1839. After this he spent much of his time in Rochester, Michigan, where his sons Elijah, John, Calvin and daughter Olive BURBANK resided. He made Rochester his home but annually visited his children in New York state. While spending New Year's day with his son Elijah, he fell upon the icy doorstep and fractured his thigh, dying form the injury and shock the following April. He was honored and beloved by all who knew him. He had a scrupulous regard for his word and was known to have kept it to his known injury. He married August 17, 1789, Lydia, born in Voluntown, Connecticut, February 28, 1767, a descendant of Thomas POLK, born in England, in 1608; came to America in 1628 or 1629, married (first) Ann TALLOWELL, (second) Sarah JENNEY. She was as scrupulous and exact in all things as was her husband. They had eleven children: 1. Gustavus Adolphus, born August 18, 1790. In 1820 in company with his brother John, and brother-in-law, William BURBANK, he took passage on a flat boat at Olean, New York, thence down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers to the Mississippi and Missouri, which they ascended to St. Charles, Missouri. Not being satisfied there, he removed to Galena, Illinois, where he was interested in a smelting plant and owned a large farm; he died unmarried, October 26, 1848; 2. Mary, born May 7, 1792, died December 28, 1860; married (in Bloomfield), John DICKSON born in Keene, New Hampshire, June 1, 1783, died February 22, 1852; he was a graduate of Middleburg college, Vermont, lawyer and farmer, member of the New York legislature, 1828-31; representative in congress 1831-1835; he was a Whig; six children; 3. Olive, born May 16, 1793, died September 26, 1892; married William BURBANK, born July 14, 1792, died January 28, 1798. After many journeys they settled at Rochester, Michigan, where he was a farmer, manufacturer and dealer in furniture. He was a member of the first legislature of Michigan, 1836-37, justice of the peace, 35 years; deacon of the church, twenty-five years; two daughters; 4. Philo, born December 9, 1794, died January 20, 1883. Farmer of the East Bloomfield HAMLIN homestead, married January 12, 1823, Betsey, born October 9, 1801, died October 12, 1890, daughter of Cyprian and Huldah (NORTON) COLLINS. Three children; 5. Esther, born May 17, 1796, died Apr 2, 1876; married May 20, 1832, Ursen HARVEY; she was his second wife. 6. John Fairchild, born March 17 1799, died March 9, 1863. He removed to Michigan, where he became prominent and wealthy; he built the Michigan canal and owned and operated several toll plank-roads which greatly aided in state development; he married in 1830, Laura ANDRUS, who died in July 9, 1883; six children. 7. Elijah, born June 7, 1801, removed to Avon, Michigan, from New York, with an ox team in 1831. He died there August 20, 1870; married Marana FROST, died August 11, 1889; 8. Caroline, born May 20, 1803, died April 15, 1830; married April 10, 1827, Ursen, son of James and Sarah (RICE) HARVEY, born February 8, 1800, died May 6, 1852. He married (second) Esther HAMLIN, sister of his first wife; he was a saddler and harness-maker and removed to Ontario, Canada, where he was engaged in various kinds of business. 9. Lydia, born February 20, 1805, died at Canandaigua, New York, June 7, 1884; married John Henry GOULD, died October 19, 1869; was a merchant; five children. 10. Henry William, of whom further; 11. Calvin Hooper, born July 30, 1809, died March 6, 1864, school-teacher, farmer and merchant; removed to Michigan, where he died at Hadley; married Martha PARKS BENNETT, born November 30, 1825, died March 6, 1854; five children.

Henry William, fifth son and tenth child of Elijah and Lydia (POPE) HAMLIN, was born in East Bloomfield, Ontario county, New York, October 20, 1807, died there November 30, 1891. He was a leading citizen and prominent business man of Ontario county and for many years was engaged in various lines of activity; was farmer, trader, merchant, banker and successful in all his undertakings. He established a character for rectitude and uprightness that stands unsurpassed in any community. Of him the well-worn saying that "His word was as good as his bond" was literally true. His advice and counsel were liberally sought by all and were always followed with confidence, as from his wide and varied business experience he was eminently qualified to advise. He was an attendant of the Congregational Church and in politics a Whig and republican. He married in Sharon, Connecticut, October 5, 1841, Sibyll BLACKMAN SEARS, born in Sharon, September 22, 1813, died in East Bloomfield, July 15, 1870. Dr. John SEARS, her father, was born in Sharon, Connecticut, in 1784, was a physician in Sharon for 40 years, then removed to East Bloomfield, where he died in 1866. He was a descendant of Captain Samuel SEARS, born in Yarmouth, Massachusetts, January, 11, 1664, son of Stephen and grandson of Benjamin SEARS. Captain Samuel, one of the earliest settlers of Harwich, Massachusetts, was constable in 1706; Lieutenant 1706, later Captain. He married Mercy, daughter of Deacon Samuel MAYO. They had 11 children, of whom Benjamin was the youngest, born June 16, 1706. He married (first) Lydia RYDER, of Yarmouth. He married (second) Mercy, daughter of Prince and Hannah SNOW, and removed to Joe's Hill on the Oblong, Dutchess county, New York. He had a third wife, Abigail SNOW, widow of Stephen SEARS; by three wives he had ten children, of whom Captain Stephen SEARS was the seventh and the fourth son by his third wife. Captain Stephen SEARS was born in Harwich, May 20, 1738, died of yellow fever in New York City in 1791. He was a carpenter; he removed to southeast New York with his father, later to Sharon, Connecticut, where he superintended the erection of a meeting house in 1768. He was sheriff, captain and commissary of the revolutionary army. He married (first) Elizabeth HYDE, (second) Sarah HUNTER, (third) Mrs. Sybil PARDEE, daughter of Daniel and Hannah HUNT. There was no issue by first marriage, three by second, and six by third wife, of whom, Dr. John was the youngest. He married December 2, 1812, Almira, daughter of David and Mary Brewster GOULD, a lineal descendant of Gov. Wm. BRADFORD and Elder BREWSTER of the "Mayflower". She was born December 15, 1789, died January 1, 1872. They had 8 children of whom Sibyll was the eldest, and she married Henry William HAMLIN. Children, born at East Bloomfield, New York: 1. John SEARS, born July 14, 1842; merchant and banker of East Bloomfield; married (first) September 13, 1865, Elizabeth, daughter of Hiram and Eliza C. (WHITE) HOLCOMB, of Watertown, New York, who died December 14, 1879. He married (second), Minnie, daughter of George S. and Sarah (SCOTT) HOWELL. Children of first wife: William Henry and Frederick Holcomb. Children by second wife, Marion and Sarah Hollister. 2. Agnes Downes, born July 28, 1844, married September 11, 1872 to Charles E. STEEL, born July 1845, died March 28, 1885. One son, Frank Hamlin. 3. Frank Harwood, of whom further; 4. Anna Beach, born February 18, 1851, married October 2, 1878, William ADSIT, son of George and Catherine Ann (ADSIT) HIGINBOTHAM, born November 20, 1852, banker of Victor, New York. Children: Jessie, Robert George, Agnes, Annie and George William. 5.Sarah Atwater, born January 28, 1852, graduate of Vassar Collage, class of 1874; married June 5, 1878, Edwin O., son of Nathan Edwin and Margtaretta A. (WORTENDYKE) HOLLISTER, born April 4, 1846, died October 8, 1857; physician and surgeon of East Bloomfield, New York; no issue; 6. George Wright, born July 1, 1854, produce dealer of East Bloomfield, and supervisor of the town; he married October 8, 1879, Susan E. WENDALL, born November 14, 1854, daughter of George Amos and Eunice T., (WOOD) WENDALL. One child, Sibyll W.

Frank Harwood, second son and third child of Henry William and Sibyll Blackman (SEARS) HAMLIN, was born in East Bloomfield, Ontario county, March 29, 1846. He prepared for college at East Bloomfield Academy, entered Yale University where he was graduated A.B., 1869. He decided upon the profession of law and entered Albany Law School, where he was graduated L.L. B. in class of 1870, and was admitted to the bar the same year. He engaged in the practice of law for a short time in Albany, New York, then he moved to Canandaigua, New York, where he formed a partnership with William H. SMITH, county judge of Ontario county. This association continued for fifteen years and was then dissolved by mutual consent. He practices alone until 1901, when his son, George W., was admitted a partner. In 1904 his son Henry W., entered the firm of Hamlin & Hamlin, George W., HAMLIN retiring in 1905 to assume the duties of vice-president of the Canandaigua National Bank, of which his father Frank H. HAMLIN, was one of the organizers in 1887 and is the first and only president.  In 1901 he was one of the incorporators of the Genesee Valley Trust Company of Rochester, New York, was elected vice-president and in 1908 president. In 1910 he was elected president of the Rochester Clearing House Association. In both legal and financial circles, Frank H. HAMLIN holds a high position. He is a member of the Genesee Valley and University Clubs of Rochester. He is a Republican in politics and was a member of the state constitutional convention in 1893-94. He is an attendant of the Congregational church. He married, September 25, 1872, Elizabeth Pearce WRIGHT, born in East Bloomfield, October 18, 1848, daughter of Colonel George and Elizabeth (PEARCE) WRIGHT. Colonel WRIGHT was a former vice-president of Canandaigua and Niagara Falls railroad, now a part of the New York Central system. Children: 1. George W., born July 25, 1873, graduated Yale 1895; admitted to the bar in 1901, practiced law with his father until 1905, is now vice-president of the Canandaigua National bank; married Mary I., daughter of Hiram T. PARMELE, of Canandaigua.     Children: Elizabeth Wright, Frank H., Henry P., Arthur S. 2. Arthur Sears, born December 9, 1876, graduate of Yale, 1899; New York Law School, 1901, now a member of the firm of Maloney & Hamlin, Lawyers, New York City, nad is deputy attorney-general of the state of New York; unmarried. 3. Henry W., born January 13, 1880, graduate of Yale, 1902, New York Law School, 1904, now junior member of Hamlin & Hamlin, attorneys of Canandaigua; unmarried; member University Club of Rochester, New York.

 

 

HARKNESS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 91

HARKNESS, Deroy J., Canandaigua, was born in Potter, Yates county, February 3, 1835, a son of Hiram, a farmer of that town.  When three years of age his father, Hiram HARKNESS, moved to the town of Gorham, Ontario county.  Deroy J. was educated at the Rushville Academy, and after leaving school followed farming until 1862.  August 22 of that year he enlisted in Company F, 148th N. Y. Vols., and saw service with the Army of the James, serving under General BUTLER.  In 1864 a connection was formed with the Army of the Potomac, and his regiment was at the battles of Drury's Blaff, Fair Oaks, Cold Harbor, in front of Petersburg, and many other engagements.  He was wounded and taken prisoner at the battle of Fair Oaks, October 27, 1864, and was kept in hospital prison until February 6, 1865, when he was exchanged, after which he was mustered out in May of that year.  Returning home he engaged in farming.  In 1884 Mr. HARKNESS was elected supervisor of the town of Gorham on the Republican ticket and re-elected in 1885 and 1886 by increased majorities.  The fall election of 1891 he was elected county clerk over George SHEPARD, of Phelps, by a majority of nearly 700.  Mr. HARKNESS married in September, 1865, Eliza, daughter of John DUNTON, of Naples, who died in October, 1881.  He has five children: Hiram, a farmer; John, of the county clerk's office; Fred, a farmer; Fanny and Adelaide.

HARKNESS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, 91-92

HARKNESS, Daniel B., Gorham, was born in Potter, August 26, 1831, and was six years old when he came to Gorham with his parents.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and farming has always been his occupation.  October 12, 1854, he married Mary WHITMAN, a native of Gorham, born May 21, 1832.  She is a daughter of Henry G. and Emeline (STEARNS) WHITMAN, of Gorham, who had three daughters and one son.  To Mr. HARKNESS and wife were born six children: Charles W., Albert H. (deceased), Ellen M., Anna L., Isabel C. and Frank H.  Mr. HARKNESS is a republican and has been justice of the peace for 12 years and assessor 6 years.  Mrs. HARKNESS's mother was a daughter of Ariel STEARNS, a native of Massachusetts, and one of the first settlers here.  His wife was Analine MAPES, by whom he had three sons and four daughters.  The father of Daniel B. HARKNESS is Hiram, born in Potter, Yates county, January 2, 1809.  His father was a native of Massachusetts, and an early settler of Yates county.  His first wife was Miss FOSTER, and to them were born four children.  His second wife was Fannie LARNED, by whom he had four children.  He was a physician and had an extensive practice.  He died in 1819.  Hiram HARKNESS married Eliza, daughter of Deacon Daniel & Sallie WHITE, natives of Massachusetts, who had two sons and four daughters.  Mr. HARKNESS was supervisor six years, and assessor several years.  For the last 20 years he has lived a retired life, and at present resides with his daughter Emma.  Hiram is now 84 years old, and has never missed an election, being a republican.  He has two sons and two daughters.  

 

HARKNESS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 311

HARKNESS, Charles W., Gorham, was born in Gorham, September 4, 1856, is a son of Daniel P. HARKNESS.  He was educated in the Rushville Union School.  January 4, 1882, he married Mary A. HARPER, an adopted daughter of Henry and Maria HARPER, natives of Canada, who came to Gorham about 1867 and there lived and died, he in 1890, and she in 1887.  Charles W. HARKNESS and wife have one child, Florence M., born December 17, 1889.  Mr. HARKNESS has always been a farmer, and purchased 50 acres where he now lives in 1878.  Later he purchased more land, and now owns 110 acres.  He is a Republican.  His wife is a member of the Congregational church at Rushville, NY.  

 

HARRINGTON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 310

HARRINGTON, Newton, Shortsville, was born in the town of Farmington, August 5, 1833.  His ancestors settled in Otsego county in 1819.  They had participated in the war of the Revolution.  Mr. HARRINGTON's father was Calow H. HARRINGTON, and his mother's maiden name was Martha WINSLOW.  He is the youngest of his father's family, with the exception of one child who died at 3 years of age.  Newton followed the cooper's trade in Chicago for a time, being foreman there of a factory, after which for 13 years he was engaged in the trucking business.  In 1875 he sold out and returned to Ontario county, where he has since been connected with the hotel business, in Manchester and Geneva.  In 1880 Mr. HARRINGTON bought the Shortsville hotel, which he rebuilt and refurnished throughout, making it now a first-class hotel, besides which he owns considerable real estate here.  His wife was Jenette CHAMBERLAIN.

 

 

 

HARRIS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 89

HARRIS, Charles, Gorham, was born in Gorham in 1831 on the farm settled by his grandfather Isaac.  The latter married Jane FREIER, and they came from Ulster county in an early day.  The father of Charles was Francis, born in Ulster county in 1797, who came with his parents to Gorham.  He married Harriet JOHNSON, and had seven sons and four daughters.  Charles HARRIS married in 1856 Irene METCALF, born in Naples, February 18, 1826, a daughter of Lemuel METCALF, a native of Massachusetts, who came with his father, Jabez, to Naples and married Almira PARISH, by whom he had 9 children.  He died in 1866 and his wife in 1867.  Charles HARRIS has five children: Clara, born in 1859, died in 1873; Hattie, born in 1861; H. Stanley, born in 1862; A(ugustus) Metcalf, born in 1862; Mary E., born in 1867.  H. Stanley was educated in Canandaigua Academy and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  He married Martha CAWARD, born in Seneca, a daughter of William and Martha CAWARD of that town, and they have one son, Raymond C.  A(ugustus)  Metcalf HARRIS was born in 1862, and educated in Canandaigua Academy and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  He married Rosina B., daughter of Robert and Ann LIGHTFOOT, natives of England, who reside in Gorham.  A(ugustus) M. HARRIS and wife have two children: Nellie M. and Howard R.  The HARRIS family are Methodists, and H. S(tanley). HARRIS and father are both holding offices in the church.  Three of Francis HARRIS's sons were ministers: Hiram, a Presbyterian minister, and Horace and Isaac, Methodist ministers.  

 

HARRIS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 96 - 97

HARRIS, John, Gorham, is a native of New York, born May 10, 1831.  He is a son of John and Margaret HARRIS, who had two sons and one daughter.  They lived on Lake Ontario a number of years.  Mr. HARRIS died when John was seven years old, and the latter then lived with Ephraim ARCHER until 20 years of age.  He next worked by the month and ran a threshing machine for some time, after which he purchased a farm of 50 acres (now owned by Mrs. POWELL) .  This he sold and purchased 50 acres of the old homestead, owned by the great-grandfather of Mrs. HARRIS.  The house in which he resides was built by her grandfather, Gilbert WOOD.  January 22, 1868, he married Sylvia M., daughter of Joel WOOD.  To subject and wife were born three children: Albert J., Fred N., and Hattie E.  Albert J. graduated from the Canandaigua Academy in 1891, and is now a teacher in Gorham.  Mr. HARRIS is a republican, and attends the Congregational Church at Reed's.  

 

 

HARRIS

                           History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 6 - 10

(includes families of PLUNKETT & ROBINSON

John HARRIS, immigrant ancestor, was of Scottish-Irish descent, it is said, but was born in Yorkshire, England.  He came to this country as early as 1682 and engaged in trade with the Indians at the suggestion of his friend, Edward SHIPPEN.  In January, 1705, he received a license form the colonial government allowing him to locate on the Susquehanna river and erect such buildings as are necessary for his trade and to enclose such quantities of land as he shall think fit.  During one of his expeditions as a licensed Indian trader he beheld the beauties and advantages of Paxtang.  It was the best fording place on the Susquehanna river.  As the land had not been purchased from the Indians at that time neither John HARRIS or others could locate on the tract lying between Conewago and Lechay hills and Kittatinny mountains, except as in his capacity as licensed trade or by the simple process of "Squatter Souvereignty."  About 1718 a band of drunken Indians set out to burn John HARRIS at the stake and at last accounts the tree to which he was bound was still standing.  He providentially escaped and at his own request was buried at the foot of this tree in Harris Park in 1748.  The grave is opposite the Simon CAMERON residence in Harrisburg. 

By virtue of a warrant from the Proprietors of Pennsylvania, bearing date January 1, 1725-26, five hundred acres of land were granted to John HARRIS and subsequently, December 17, 1733, a patent granted 300 acres of allowance land upon which he commenced a settlement of the site of the city of Harrisburg.  His son John is known as the founder of Harrisburg.

In Watson's "Annals of Pennsylvania" it is stated he was one of the first emigrants with William PENN.  He first settled in Philadelphia, and according to a writer in "Hazzard's Register," "The nucleus of his future wealth was formed from a profitable contract he obtained from the authorities for removing stumps and opening streets in that city."

"Mr. HARRIS was on intimate terms with Edward SHIPPEN, Esq., the first mayor of Philadelphia.  It was in this gentleman's family that he first saw and became acquainted with Esther SAY, also a native of Yorkshire, who is recorded to have been a lady of superior intelligence and extraordinary energy."  from  "Annals of Harrisburg, " page 7. 

Children of John and Esther (SAY) HARRIS: Daughter, married Senator MC CLAY; Daughter, married Dr. William MC CLAY; John Jr., founded the city of Harrisburg, laying it out in lots and selling a large part of the original grant in town lots; Esther, mentioned below. 

(2)             Esther, daughter of John HARRIS, married Dr. William PLUNKETT, who was born in Ireland of noble family.  In personal appearance he is described as of large stature, great muscular development and strength, while an imperious disposition was among his distinguishing mental traits.  This is attested by several occurrences in his career, which yet retain a place in the traditions of the locality in which he afterwards lived in Pennsylvania.  On one occasion with several boon companions, he was engaged in some hilarious proceedings at an Irish inn.  The adjoining room was occupied by an English nobleman, who had a curious and valuable watch,  which he sent to PLUNKETT with a wager that he could not tell the time by it.  Dr. PLUNKETT put the watch in his pocket and sent a message to the Englishman that he should call upon him in person if he wished to know the time, but he Englishman never called and it is said that PLUNKETT kept the watch to the end of his life.  Afterwards, he became involved in an assault on an English officer who was serious injured and he was smuggled on board a vessel in a barrel or hogshead and thus came to America.  He located in Carlisle, Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, then on the western frontier, and he lived there during the French and Indian war, in which he was commissioned a lieutenant of the Fort August Regiment of Northumberland county, and for his services received a grant of several hundred acres of land on the west branch of the Susquehanna river.  To his property he gave the name of Soldier's retreat.  It was situated along the rive above the Chillisquaque creek and he was living there as early as 1772, as shown by the fact that his improvements are mentioned in the return of a road in that year. 

He was first resident physician at Sunbury, Pennsylvania.  He was commissioned a justice for Northumberland county, March 24, 1772, and officiated as presiding justice throughout the colonial period.  In January 1775, he was a representative from Northumberland county to the provincial congress at Philadelphia, and in December of that year led an expedition to Wyoming Valley against Brant and Butler.  But during the remainder of the Revolution, he remained neutral, for fear of forfeiting the title to his ancestral estates in Ireland, and he was not active in public affairs afterwards.  Dr. PLUNKETT resided some years in the MC CLAY house, Sunbury, where, after the death of his wife, Betty WILEY was his housekeeper.  His office was subsequently occupied by E.W. GREENHOUGH, and David ROCKEFELLER occupied the site of the E.W. GREENOUGH residence of Front street, Sunbury.  During the last years of his life, Dr. PLUNKETT was totally blind and a rope was stretched from his house to his office, so that he could guide himself back and forth.  His will was dated January 3, 1791 and proved May 25, 1791.  He died in the spring of 1791 and is buried in an unmarked grave in the Sunbury cemetery.  Although a physician by training he was the only one of the twelve judges, commissioned March 24, 1772, having a knowledge of the procedure of the English courts and for that reason was chosen presiding justice.  One of his medical books, "Synopsis of Medicines, or a Summary View of the Whole Practice of Pyysick," by John ALLEN, M.D.F.T.S., printed in London, 1749, was owned by Dr. R. H. AWL, who died in Sunbury in 1905.  (See Bell's "History of Northumberland County" (1891; Eagle's "History of Pennsylvania," pages 639,640 and 1000 (1885); Lynn's "Annals of Buffalo Valley, Pennsylvania.")  Dr. PLUNKETT and wife had children: Margaret, mentioned below, and three other daughters. 

(3)         Margaret, daughter of Dr. William PLUNKETT, married Isaac RICHARDSON, who removed from Sunbury, Pennsylvania to Wayne county, New York, and became a very prominent citizen.  Among their children was Isabella, mentioned below.

(4)         Isabella, daughter of Isaac RICHARDSON, married Dr. Daniel Arnold ROBINSON, son of Benedict ROBINSON, of Jerusalem, Yates county, New York, and a descendant of Rowland ROBINSON, of Rhode Island.  Benedict ROBINSON and a Quaker named HATHAWAY purchased township No. 7, second range, of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase in 1790.  Of his 14,000 acres he gave a thousand to Jemima WILKINSON, a prominent Quakeress, with whom he came to Yates county.  He married Susan BROWN in 1795.  Children of Dr. Daniel Arnold and Isabella ROBINSON: Susanna Brown, married Robert HOWLAND, of New Bedford; Dr. Benedict, of Union Springs; Joseph; Baxter, mentioned below.

(5)         Baxter ROBINSON, son of Dr. Daniel Arnold ROBINSON, was born 1824. He married Martha SMITH.  Her father, Jacob SMITH, resided in Ontario county, New York, original settler of District No. 13, Lot 41, of the Phelps and Gorham Purchase.  With other Friends he came from Massachusetts to the town of Farmington and he built the first grist mill in this section in the year 1793, and two years later he built the first saw mill in that region.  This grist mill was in use until 1839 and the saw mill until 1841. ("History of Ontario county," p.190). 

(6)     Robert H. ROBINSON, eldest son of Baxter ROBINSON, was born December 15, 1855, in Farmington township, Ontario county, New York.  He was educated in the public schools and at the Union Springs Academy.  In his youth he was an expert oarsman, winning several cups and other valuable prizes in single-scull contests and the was the recipient of a medal for his oarsmanship at the Centennial Exhibition at Philadelphia in 1876.  In double scull race COURTNEY and ROBINSON won numerous prized and banners.  He removed to Ontario county in 1901 and bought the Castle Mill of the Castle Milling Company and has devoted himself since then to the mill business. 

He married in 1899, Jennie SASSAMAN, of Milton, Pennsylvania, born in Union county, Pennsylvania, daughter of Joseph Miller and Harriet (MOORE) SASSAMAN.  Her father was of a colonial family that came with the first settlers from Alsace to Burks county, Pennsylvania, in 1712 (see "History of Berks County, Pennsylvania," page 1043, also Montgomery's "History of Berks County", page 67).  Her mother was of early Philadelphia Quaker ancestry.  Prior to their marriage, Mrs. ROBINSON served as principal of the high school of Milton, for many years.  Mrs. Hetty GREEN, the well known business woman is of the same ROBINSON family, both being direct descendants of Rowland ROBINSON, a native of Long Bluff, Cumberland, England, who came to America in 1675.  Mrs. Hetty GREEN, is descended from Sylvester, son of Governor ROBINSON of Rhode Island and Robert H. ROBINSON from John, youngest son of Governor ROBINSON (see "History of the ROBINSON Family of Rhode Island")

 

HART

History of Ontario Co., NY,  Pub. 1911, Vol. 2, pg 349 - 352 

Stephen HART, who came to this country from Braintree, Essex county, England, with the company that settled as Braintree, Massachusetts, was the progenitor of the HART families of Massachusetts and Connecticut.  He was one of the 54 settlers at Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1632, and married there.  In 1634 he was admitted a freeman, there, and was a member and deacon of the church of which the Rev. Thomas HOOKER was pastor.  He went to Hartford in 1635 with a company led my Mr. HOOKER, and was one of the original proprietors of that place.  His house lot was on the west side of what is now Front street, near where Morgan street crosses it, and there is a tradition that the town was called from the ford he discovered and used in crossing the Connecticut river when the water was low, and the transition from Hart�s Fort to Hartford was a simple one.  It is also said Mr. HART with several others discovered Farmington river valley, which was at that time occupied and cultivated by a powerful tribe of Indians, the Tunxis.  An arrangement was made with them by means of which the land was purchased in 1640, and the white men settled there with their cattle.  In 1652 the place was incorporated under the name of Farmington.   Mr. HART having been especially active in the settlement, and a man of prominence generally.  He bought a large tract of land on the border of the present town of Avon, which was known as Hart�s Farm.  His house lot, which was on the west side of Main street, opposite the meeting house, consisted of 15 acres, this large plot being granted him on condition that he continue to run the mill situated on it, which had originally been erected by the BUMSONS.  He and his wife were members of the first church of Farmington, of which he was elected the first deacon.  He represented the town at the general court for fifteen sessions from 1647 to 1655 and once in 1660, and died in March 1682, aged 77 years, leaving large landed possessions.  His children: Sarah, married Thomas PORTER; Mary married first John LEE, second to Jebediah STRONG; John married Sarah ____; Stephen married ____; Mehitable, married John COLE, Thomas, see forward. 

(II)  Captain Thomas HART, son of Stephen HART, was born in 1643, died August 27, 1726, and was buried with military honors.  He was appointed in the state military organization, ensign, 1678; lieutenant twenty-nine sessions, 1690-1711, and during this period served several times as clerk and speaker, served as justice for Hartford county six years, was one of the leading men of the town, and executed important trusts.  He and his wife were members of the church at Farmington.  He married Ruth, daughter of Anthony and ____ (WELLS) HAWKINS, and granddaughter of Governor WELLS of Connecticut.  Their children: Mary, married Samuel NOWELL; Margaret married Asahel STRONG; Hawkins, see forward; Thomas married Mary THOMPSON; John married Rebecca HUBBARD, Hezekiah, Josiah. 

(III)           Hawkins, son of Captain Thomas and Ruth (HAWKINS) HART, was born in Farmington, 1677 and died at Wallingford, May 24, 1735.  He removed to Wallingford, which he represented in the general court nine sessions, 1714 � 1732, and held the military rank of a lieutenant.  He married (first) Sarah ROYS or ROYCE, born and died in Wallingford; (second) Widow Mary STREET, daughter of Rev. Joseph ELIOT, of Guilford, and granddaughter of Rev. John ELIOT, the author of the celebrated Indian translation of the Bible.  Children, all by the first wife, with the exception of the youngest, was a posthumous child: Nathaniel, married Martha LEE; Ruth married William MERRIAM; child, name unknown; Hawkins, married Susanna MERRIAM; Sarah, married Stephen IVES; Esther married John WEBB; Thomas, see forward; Elizabeth married William JEROME; Mary married Ebenezer HAWLEY; Benjamin, married Phoebe RICH; Samuel married Bridget FOWLER.

(IV)              Thomas (2) son of Hawkins and Sarah HART, was born in 1714 and died in 1801.  For a time he lived in Farmington, removed to Bristol about 1747.  He married, 1742, Hannah COE.  Children: Mary, married Luke GRIDLEY; Ruth, married Daniel HILLS; Jonathan, see forward; Hannah, married Jacob BYINGTON; Thomas married Mary HUNTERFORD; Esther married Zebulon PECK; Amasa married Phoebe ROBERS; Abel, served in the Revolutionary war and died in prison of starvation; Barbara married Zuerubbabel JEROME; Benjamin; Lydia.

(V)                 Jonathan, son of Thomas (2) and Hannah (COE) HART, was born March 22, 1746, and died in Paris, Herkimer county, New York, in 1806.  He went with his parent to Bristol, and removed to Paris about 1794.  He married (first) Mary COE; (second), about 1798, Lucia CLARK of Southington.  Children by first marriage: Rev. Ira, who became pastor of the church at Middletown, CT, married Maria, a daughter of John SHERMAN and granddaughter of Robert SHERMAN, of New Haven, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence; Jonathan, see forward; Samuel, married Hester ____; Polly, married Elisha HILLS; Seth married Louisa HICKOX; Josiah married Sophronia GRIDLEY; Eunice married Jacob HEMINGWAY.  Children of the second marriage: Alvaro, married Betsey BURR; Orris married Elizabeth BIGELOW; Warren married Harriet PAGE; Lowly died at age of 18 years; Lucia, married Ambrose LYMAN; Edwin Clark married Aurel ANDERSON; Ichabod Andrews, married Emeline FRISBIE.

(VI)              Jonathan (2), son of Jonathan (1) and Mary (COE) HART, was born in Bristol, 1773, and in early manhood changed his name to John.  He was a farmer at Kirkland, Oneida county, New York.  He married Orpha CHAPIN.  Children: Susan Luana married Nathan HEATON; Caroline Maria married Truman LOOMIS; Seth Chapin married Mary OOTHOUT; Theodore Ephraim, see forward; Polly Sophronia, married John M. ROE; Jonathan Walter; Oprha Harriet married Rufus EDWARDS; Hiram George married Marietta TERRY; Eben Coe, died at Shreveport, Louisiana; David Wood died in Lockport, New York.

(VII)           Theodore Ephraim, son of Jonathan (2) and Orpha (CHAPIN) HART, was born December 22, 1802.  For some years he was a merchant in Hartford, Cortland county, New York, having also large dairy interests there.  About 1838 he removed to Canandaigua, because of the superior educational advantages there offered, he was engaged in mercantile business for about fourteen years.  He then, 1852. founded the Bank of Canandaigua, which became a very prosperous institution, and from which he retired in 1863.  Mr. HART married, January 11, 1826, Eliza COLLINS.  Children: Samuel Collins, see forward; Adeline Eliza, deceased; Theodore Henry, deceased, married Caroline Say STONE of Philadelphia.  Their son, Theodore Henry born August 11, 1860, in Philadelphia, resides there and is a wholesale tobacconist; Caroline Maria, deceased; Samantha, deceased.

(VIII)        Samuel Collins, son of Theodore Ephraim and Eliza (COLLINS) HART, was born at Hartford, 1828.  He was teller of the Bank of Canandaigua from 1852 to 1863, then in the United States revenue service in Canandaigua and northeastern Texas.  He married (in Rochester) on May 20, 1961, Katharine Maria BUELL.  Children: Caroline Marie born in Rochester, married Oct 1, 1910 to Louis H. LUQUEER of New York; Edna Augusta, born in Canandaigua; Olive Eliza Daggett, born in Canandaigua; Miriam Louise born in Canandaigua, died at the age of 3 years.

 

HASKELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 97 - 98

HASKELL, Levi, Canandaigua, was born in Belchertown, Hampton county, Mass., January 18, 1811.  His father, the Rev. Eli HASKELL, was born in the town of Dudley, the same county, in the year 1783.  He removed with his family to Bristol, Ontario county, in 1816.  He was a well educated man for this time, and was ordained to the ministry in 1823, and became pastor of the Baptist church of Bristol, which he served three years.  He then removed to Canandaigua and was pastor of the First Baptist church for 27 years.  He died October 7, 1855.  During his pastorate he preached 267 funeral sermons, baptized 143 persons and married 113 couples.  He did a great work in what was then new country, enduring hardships as a pioneer, and preaching the gospel as a missionary in different towns of the county.  He was married in his native State to Elizabeth TOWNER, by whom he had 8 children: Abel, a Baptist minister, who died in Penfield, December 21, 1865; Levi, a farmer, who died December 16, 1889; Eli, a cabinet maker, who died in Wisconsin, August 16, 1866; Isaac and William (twins), both died in Michigan; Jeremiah, ticket agent N. Y. C. R. R. Co., died in Batavia in 1876; Achsah married Samuel SHAW now residing in Mason, Mich.; Nancy died April 9, 1844, aged 16 years.  Levi, the second son, was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and taught school several terms.  He married Catherine L. WILCOX, who was a native of Connecticut, and settled on the farm where he spent the remainder of his life.  He always took a keen interest in public affairs, was a man of strong conviction and very determined in what he believed to be right.  He was identified with the First Baptist church of Canandaigua.  They had 6 children: Edson, who served three years in the Army, died July 8, 1877, aged 41 years; Sarah E., died October 31, 1852, aged 14 years; Mary died April 4, 1886, aged 46 years; Salem, who now resides on the farm owned by his father; Abel, a resident of Canandaigua, and Gilbert E., the youngest, residing on a farm adjoining the old homestead.  Salem attended school at Canandaigua Academy.  He is a republican, is interested in public affairs and is now one of the assessors of the town.  He with his brother Gilbert now owns the old homestead and the adjoining farm. He married May 26, 1880, Annette GREEN, daughter of Kelley W. GREEN of South Bristol.  They have one child, Anna E., born November 2, 1883.  Gilbert E. also was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and spent seven years as a teacher, and then located on the farm where he now resides.  He is a republican and interested in public affairs.  He has always taken an active interest in Sabbath school work, is a member of Academy Grange No. 62, is one of the directors of the executive committee of the company, and for two years was master of the Ontario County Grange.  He married March 13, 1878, Carrie E., also daughter of Kelly W. GREEN.  They have two children: Katherine A., born March 20, 1881, and Martin G., born January 4, 1890.  

 

HASKELL  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 248 - 249

HASKELL, Rev. Eli, was born in Dudley, Mass., in 1783.  He married in his native State, Elizabeth TOWNER, by whom he had 8 children: Abel, a Baptist minister, died in Penfield, Monroe county, in 1860; Levi, a farmer, died in 1889; Eli, a cabinetmaker, died in Wisconsin in 1866; Isaac and William, twins, both died in Michigan; Jeremiah, ticket agent for the N. Y. C. R. R. Co., died in Batavia, 1870; Achsah married Samuel SHAW, now of Mason, Mich., and Nancy died in 1844, aged 16 years.

Rev. Eli removed to Bristol in 1816, and was ordained to the ministry June 1, 1824, and served the Bristol church three years, then he moved to Canandaigua and was pastor of the First Baptist church 28 years.  During his pastorate he preached 267 funeral sermons, baptized 145 persons, and married 113 couples.  He was a well educated man for his time and did a great work in what then a new country, acting as a missionary in the towns of Naples, South Bristol and Bristol.  He died in Canandaigua in 1855.  Levi, the second son, was born in Belchertown, Mass., in 1811, and moved with his father to this State when but 8 years old.  He was educated at Canandaigua Academy and taught school several terms.  He  (Levi) married, September 17, 1835, Catherine L. WILCOX, a native of Connecticut, who was born July 17, 1809, by whom he had 6 children: Edson, born August 11, 1836, he served three years in the army during the Civil War, died July 8, 1877, aged 41 years; Sarah E., born August 15, 1838, died October 31, 1852, aged 14 years; Mary, born May 30, 1840, died April 4, 1886, aged 46 years; Salem, born April 9, 1842; Abel, born March 16, 1845; Gilbert E., born January 18, 1849.  Levi, who always took an interest in public affairs, was identified with the First Baptist church of Canandaigua.  He was a man of strong conviction and very decided in what he believed to be right.  He died December 16, 1889.  Salem, the second son, attended school at Canandaigua Academy.  He with his brother Gilbert S., now owns the old homestead and an adjoining farm.  He is a republican and interested in public affairs, and is now one of the assessors of the town.  He married, May 26, 1880, Annett G., daughter of Kelly W. GREEN of South Bristol, and they have one child, Anna E., born November 2, 1883.  Gilbert E. was also educated at Canandaigua Academy; spent 7 years as a teacher.  He has always been active in Sunday-school work, is a member of Academy Grange No. 62, a member of the executive committee, is one of the directors of the Patrons' Fire Relief Association of Ontario county, and was for five years master of Ontario County Pomona Grange.  He married, March 13, 1878, Carrie E., daughter of Kelly W. GREEN, formerly of South Bristol, and they have two children: Katherine A., born March 20, 1881, and Martin G., born January 4, 1890.  

HASKILL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 301

HASKILL, Abel, Canandaigua, was born on the homestead farm March 16, 1845, and educated in Canandaigua Academy and Lima Seminary.  In 1871 he went to Missouri and bought a farm, which he conducted until the financial panic of 1872-73.  In 1880 he bought the Alvin PENNOYER farm of 112 acres, which is his present home.  He has added many improvements to this farm in the way of new buildings, and has cleared it of every debt.  He has also moved his family to Canandaigua village to give his children better educational facilities.  Mr. HASKILL married in 1872 Fanny, daughter of John McGEE, a farmer of Missouri, and they have three children: J. Earl, born in Missouri, July 16, 1873; William P., born in Canandaigua, December 16, 1874; and Nellie F., born in Canandaigua, January 6, 1876.  Mr. HASKELL is a member of Academy Grange, in which he has held many offices, the last year secretary.  Mr. HASKILL makes the culture of hops his principal crop.

 

 

HATHAWAY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 93 - 94

HATHAWAY, Joseph P., Farmington, was born on the old HATHAWAY homestead in Farmington, August 31, 1833.  He was educated in the district schools and in the Canandaigua Academy, and is now a farmer.  February 20, 1861, he married Ellen A., second daughter of Arnold A. and Maria BRISTOL, of Macedon, Wayne county, and they have three children, as follows: Elizabeth, who married Andrew J. HAMM, of Macedon, Wayne county; Arnold B., a farmer with his father; and Ellen, who married Charles G. GUNNISON.  Mrs. HATHAWAY died June 12, 1874, and he married second, September 25, 1878, Mrs. Helena BEACH, of Victor.  Perez, father of Joseph P. HATHAWAY, was born on the old homestead July 12, 1805.  He was educated in the district schools, and March 7, 1822, married Hannah LAPHAM, by whom he had four children: Elizabeth C., who died in her 11th year; Joseph P., Ann M., who married George COLLINS, and Rebecca J., who died in 1873.  Mr. HATHAWAY's grandfather, Isaac, was the pioneer of the family in this town.  He was born in Rhode Island, October 28, 1755, and in 1784 married Jemima COMSTOCK, of Rhode Island, by whom he had two children, Isaac and Otis.  Soon after their marriage his wife rode horseback from there here, and used a poplar sprout as a whip; on arriving home she planted the whip by their log house, which has since grown into a large tree.  She died in 1793.  For his second wife he married, May 4, 1794, Elizabeth RICHMOND, formerly, of Connecticut, and they had four children: Sylvester R., Charles, Phoebe and Perez.  The family were of the Friends' faith.  The fifth generation is now residing on the farm, a granddaughter of Joseph P. HATHAWAY.  The first settler of the family bought 600 acres on these four corners, about 240 acres of which is still in possession of the descendants of the family.

HATHAWAY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 94

HATHAWAY, A. Chandler, Bristol, a native of Bristol, was born February 23, 1822, and is a son of Abial, a son of Seth, a native of Vermont, who came to Bristol about 1804.  His wife was Bathsheba GOODING, and they reared 7 sons and 4 daughters. He settled on a farm (part of which subject now owns).  He was an Anti-Federalist and was the first justice of the peace in Bristol, appointed by the governor.  Abial was born March 1, 1786, and came to Bristol when a young man.  He married Mary, a daughter of Isaac (born June 26, 1752) and Ann (born December 30, 1756) POOL, of Dighton, Mass.  Abial had three sons and four daughters.  He was engaged mostly in manufacturing woolen cloth at Bristol.  He was a Democrat and was justice of peace many years and was a prominent Free Mason.  He died November 5, 1843, and his wife June 12, 1859.  Subject was reared as a wool carder and when 16 years of age came with his parents to the farm he now owns, and has here since resided.  He learned the cooper's trade and followed it a number of years, but farming has been his principal occupation.  He married H. Augusta CORNELL of Bristol, a daughter of Isaiah S., who was a son of Stephen CORNELL, and was born in Dighton, Mass., May 7, 1802, and married Eliza GREGG of Bristol, a daughter of George and Betsey (GOODING) GREGG, natives of Massachusetts.  Mr. CORNELL and wife had four sons and three daughters.  The youngest son, Mervin E., was killed at the battle of Antietam at the age of 20 years.  Mr. CORNELL died in 1853, and his wife on May 14, 1843.  To subject and wife were born two children: M. Agnes, who graduated from Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and is now a teacher; and James M., formerly a teacher, but now a farmer.  Mr. HATHAWAY has been a republican since the organization of that party.  He and family are members of the Universalist Church, and he has been chorister for 50 years.  He and Billings T. CASE formed the committee to raise money to build the church and carried it on very successfully, having the church paid for when built, also the parsonage.  Mr. HATHAWAY missed but one meeting for twenty years in succession, and that was at the death of his mother. 

 

 

HATHAWAY

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg.  156 - 159

 Nicholas HATHAWAY, the immigrant ancestor, came to this country in 1639.  He settled in Braintree, where he had a grant of land, February 24, 1639-40 and the records show that he had a wife and two children at that time. 

(II)              John HATHAWAY, son of Nicholas, born in 1617, came to this country at the age of 18, in the ship, �Blessing�, sailing in July 1635.  He was before the general court in July 1637.  He settled in Barnstable, Plymouth county, and was living in Taunton in 1649.  He was reported able to bear arms in the list dated 1643.  Once he was before the court for lending a gun to an Indian.  He was in Barnstable in 1656 and later at Yarmouth, was admitted a freeman in 1670 and bought land at Freetown in 1671; was constable in 1676 and in 1690 at Taunton; was often on the grand jury; selectman of Taunton in 1680-84 and in 1691; to the general court of Massachusetts in 1696-97.  His home was in what in now Berkeley, known as the Farms, just north of where the land abuts on Great River.  The site of house, was marked by the Old Colony Historical Society in 1889.  His will, dated Aug 3, 1689, proved February 15, 1696-97, bequeathed to his wife Elizabeth and sons Thomas, John, Gideon and Edward, daughters by a former wife, etc.  He married (2nd) Martha _________, who died before 1693 and 3rd on November 25, 1692 to Ruth DYER, a widow, who died in September 1705.  Children: John, mentioned below; Abraham, born 1652; Isaac, 1655; Ephraim 1668; Abigail married James PHILLIPS; Rebecca married Jared TALBOT.

(III)           John (2), son of John (1) HATHAWAY, was born at Taunton or Barnstable, August 16, 1658; married Hannah BURT, daughter of James.  He settled in Freetown and inherited the homestead, where he died in 1730.  Children: John, Jacob, mentioned below; Isaac,  Ephraim, Thomas, Hannah, Sarah, Abigail, Martha and Experience.

(IV)              Jacob, son of John (2) HATHAWAY, was born about 1677; married January 28, 1697-8, Philippa CHASE.  Children born at Freetown: Elizthan; Maletiah; John; Philip; Benjamin; Jacob; Isaac, mentioned below; Joseph; Joel; Seth.

(V)                Isaac, son of Jacob HATHAWAY, married Aug 13, 1752 at Tiverton, Rhode Island, Phebe BAILEY.  Children, Isaac, Sylvester and others.

(VI)             Isaac (2) son or nephew of Isaac (1) HATHAWAY, was born October 28, 1755, in Rhode Island.   He was one of the pioneers in Farmington, New York and was doubtless with the settlers who went form Rhode Island to Adams, Massachusetts, and thence to central New York, after the Revolution.  He married in 1784, Jemima COMSTOCK, born 1760, daughter of Nathan COMSTOCK, born 1735, grandfather of John, son of Samuel.  Soon after their marriage, his wife rode on horseback from Rhode Island, using a poplar sprout for a whip, and she planted it near the log house in which they made their home and it grew into a large tree still standing there.  She died in 1793 and he married second, May 4, 1794, Elizabeth RICHMOND, born Mary 9, 1760 or 1761, died April 21, 1830, daughter of Perez RICHMOND, who was born October 13, 1729 and died November 18, 1734 (see Richmond family).  Children of first wife: 1. Isaac, born January 2, 1787; married January 1807, Nancy RICHMOND; five children.  2. Otis, born December 2, 1788; married and had two children.  Children of 2nd wife: 3. Sylvester, born August 8, 1795; married Mary PAYNE; five children; lived in Sylvania, Lucas county, Ohio.  4. Charles, born October 22, 1796, married Levina HAMMOND; three children.  5. Phebe, born February 27, 1800, died December 16, 1819, unmarried.  6. Perez, mentioned below.  The family were of Rhode Island Quaker stock.  About 240 acres of the original 600 owned by Isaac HATHAWAY still remain in the possession of his descendants.

(VII)           Perez, Son of Isaac (2) HATHAWAY, was born on the old homestead in Farmington, New York, July 12, 1805.  He was educated in the district schools and followed farming all his active years.  He died January 25, 1854.  In politics he was a Whig and in religion a Presbyterian.  He married March 7, 1827, Hanna LAPHAM, born February 20, 1799, died 1884.  Children: Elizabeth C., born July 14, 1829, died 1831; Joseph P., mentioned below; Ann Maria Victoria, married George COLLINS  (see COLLINS); Rebecca J., born Aug 13, 1843, died 1873.

(VIII)        Joseph P., son of Perez HATHAWAY, was born at Farmington, New York, August 31, 1833 and died June 14, 1897.  He was educated in the public schools and at the Canandaigua Academy.  He also followed farming and raised high grade cattle and sheep.  In politics he was a republican and for a number of years was a justice of the peace of the town.  He was a member of the Hicksite church.  He married February 20, 1860, Ellen A. BRISTOL, born in 1835, died June 12, 1874, second daughter to Arnold A. and Maria (Aldrich) BRISTOL, of Macedon, Wayne county.  He married second, September 25, 1878, Mrs. Helen BEACH of Victor.  Her father was born in Dutchess county.  Children: 1. Elizabeth M., born at Farmington, November 23, 1861, married 1887 to Andre HAMM, who died in May 1909; children: Marguerite and Joseph HAMM.  2. Arnold Bristol, mentioned below.  3. Ellen Josephine, June 20, 1868; married Charles GUNNISON and had one son, Cameron.

Arnold Bristol, son of Joseph P. HATHAWAY, was born at Farmington, October 4, 1866.  He attended the district schools and Canandaigua Academy.  He worked on the homestead in youth with his father.  Since 1890, when his father died, he has conducted a farm of 90 acres at Farmington.  In 1906 he added to his holdings by the purchase of 90 acres and in 1910 he bought 68 acres more.  He raises high grade cattle and deals in fancy stock in Buffalo and elsewhere.  He has made the raising of Oxford Down sheep a specialty and scored a success in this branch of farming.  He is an active and influential Republican.  In religion, he is a Methodist.  He married December 16, 1896, Emma A. ROSE, born at Farmington, January 29, 1876, daughter of J. S. and Sarah (Bloodgood) ROSE, and granddaughter of Henry ROSE of Victor, New York.  She had brothers, Smith J., William H., and Edgar J. ROSE and sisters Verna L. and Lydia ROSE.  Children: J. Perez, born at Farmington December 19, 1897; Josephine, February 2, 1900; Elizabeth, May 29, 1902; Wilma Rose, November 16, 1906.

 

HAWKES

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 89 

HAWKES, Thomas, Manchester, was born in England, February 7, 1835.  He received a liberal education in the public schools, and in 1854 came to this country and engaged in the business of market gardening.  This branch of industry he has since been extensively connected with, owning market gardens both here and in the south.  About three years ago he sold his southern interests, and has since devoted himself exclusively to his home trade.  Mr. HAWKES married an English lady, Ann HARVEY, and they have had 9 children, some of whose bright intellects are recognized both in this country and far off Burma, where a daughter of the subject has withstood the hardships of that climate for the past four years, engaged in teaching and missionary work.

 

HAWKINS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 84   

HAWKINS, Thomas W., Geneva, son of Thomas and Abbie (ROGERS) HAWKINS, was born in Manchester, NY, in 1859.  He was educated at Geneva, and in 1881 began business there, continuing five years.  He has since that time been in the wholesale and retail liquor business, and is interested in several local manufacturing enterprises and in real estate.  He has been trustee of the village six years.  Politically a Democrat, he takes an active interest in politics.  In 1881 he married Esther T. SMITH, of Geneva, and they are the parents of six children.  

 

HAWKINS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 305

HAWKINS, William F., Victor, was born on the old homestead farm north of the village of Victor, April 8, 1827.  He was educated in the district schools and Canandaigua Academy, and was a farmer, but now retired from business.  In April, 1855, he married P. Jane MULOCK of Middletown, Orange county, and they have four children: 1. Jeremiah W., born November 5, 1860; he was educated in the public schools, Canandaigua Academy and Lima Seminary, and is a farmer; December 28, 1881, he married Helen E., daughter of Dr. George H. BENNETT of Lima, Livingston county; they have one son, George W., born October 22, 1883; 2. Nellie E., who married Dr. Daniel TILLITSON, now a practicing physician of the city of Corning, Steuben county; they have one daughter, Callie L.; 3. G. Frank is a farmer on the homestead and a bachelor; and 4. Nellie M., who resides with her parents.  Mr. HAWKINS's father, Jeremiah HAWKINS, was born near Otisville, Orange county, March 3, 1792.  When quite young he began to learn the carpenter's trade, and married Mahala M. TOOKER of Newburg, Orange county.  After exacting a promise from his brother to care for his father and mother, he started with his wife and household possessions on a one-horse wagon which he made himself.  After looking over the territory, he located half a mile east of where his son, William F., now resides.  He followed his trade for 10 years and devoted the balance of his time to farming.  He was a man of rare judgment and great industry.  He died November 20, 1875, and his wife July 6, 1890.  Mrs. Jeremiah W. HAWKINS's father, Dr. George H. BENNETT of Lima was born at Avon, Livingston county, June 9, 1820, a celebrated physician in that region for many years, and was a graduate of Buffalo Medical College.  In politics he was a Democrat, and held the position of supervisor when he died, was also president of the World's Medical Association, and was a thirty-second degree Mason.  In the Civil war he was a surgeon in the New York State Volunteers, was also an honored member of Sheridan Crandall Post No. 225 G. A. R. of West Bloomfield.  October 23, 1848, he married Mrs. Eliza C. (ATWATER) DUNLAP of Ovid, Seneca county, and they had nine children: Charles A., Emma M., George D., John W., Eliza P., Helen E., Jason J., Ernest W., and Amanda J.  Dr. BENNETT died February 2, 1893, mourned by a bereaved wife and children and many friends.

 

 

HAWKINS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 502 - 503   

HAWKINS, JEREMIAH, W(illiam) . F., was born at the old homestead farm north of the village of Victor, April 8, 1827.  He was educated in district schools and Canandaigua Academy, and was a farmer, but now retired from business.  In April, 1855, he married Phebe J. MULOCK, of Middletown, Orange county, and they have four children:  Jeremiah W., born November 8, 1860.  He was educated in the public schools, Lima Seminary and Canandaigua Academy, and is a farmer.  December 28, 1881, he married Helen E., daughter of George H. BENNETT, of Lima, Livingston county.  They have one son, George W., born October 22, 1885; Nettie E., who married Dr. Daniel TILLOTSON, a graduate of Buffalo Medical College and now a successful practicing physician of the city of Corning, Steuben county.  They have one daughter, Callie L.; G. Frank is a farmer on the homestead and unmarried; Nellie M., who resides with her parents.  

Mr. HAWKINS's father, Jeremiah HAWKINS, was born in Otisville, Orange county, March 5, 1792.  When quite young he began to learn the carpenter's trade.  He was a volunteer in the War of 1812-14, and drew a pension for his service during his life.  He married Mahala TOOKER, of Newburg, Orange county.  After exacting a promise from his brother to care for his father and mother, he started with his wife and household possessions on a one-horse wagon, which he made himself.  After looking over the territory, he located one-half mile east of where his son, William F., now resides.  He followed his trade together with farming for 10 years.  At one time he owned 1,000 acres of the best farmlands in Victor and vicinity.  He was a man of strict integrity, great energy and indomitable perseverance, a quick, active mind and sound judgment; in politics a steadfast republican.  Ever ready to lend a helping hand to projects for the advancement of town and county interests, he frequently represented his town in the Board of Supervisors, and as frequently performed the duties of commissioner of highway and other minor offices.  He was a liberal subscriber for the stock of the old Auburn and Rochester Railroad, and took an active interest in the New York Central, holding a large amount of its stock until a short time prior to his death.  Kind hearted and generous, the worthy poor never asked help in vain. 

In early life he became a member of the M. E. Church in Victor, paying his subscription for the building of the first M. E. Church built in Victor in making sash for its windows, he being the only competent carpenter in town, and too poor to pay his subscription in cash.  Toward the fund for the erection of the church in which the society now worships, he was a liberal subscriber, besides donating $1,000 for the purchase of an organ.

He (Jeremiah W.),  died November 20, 1875, and his wife (Mahala) July 6, 1889.

 

 

HAYES

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 97

HAYES, Joseph Byron, Canandaigua, was born at Canandaigua in 1834.  His ancestors were among the earliest settlers of Ontario county.  He prepared for college at the Franklin Academy, Prattsburg, NY, and at the Canandaigua Academy, graduating with the degree of A. B. from Williams College in 1854, and from the University of Pennsylvania with the degree of M. D. in 1860.  He married Louisa A., daughter of Chester and Eliza R. COLEMAN, in 1861.  He took a prominent part both in the County and Village Medical Societies, and was a deacon of the Congregational Church from early manhood until his death.  Dr. HAYES died July 17, 1890.  Three sons survive him: Edward G., George B. and Chester C. HAYES.  

 

 

HAYES 

History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 2-6

The surname HAYES is the plural form of an ancient word, Hay or Haw, which means a fence, a hedge or a boundary, also a space enclosed, as a park or field.  Its derivation can be traced to many European languages wherein both the primitive and secondary meanings are precisely the same.  From this simple root have sprung the names of Hay, Hayes, Haywood or Heywood, Hayland, Greenhays and many others of a similar character.  The Name of HAYES is to be found both in England and Scotland, but is farm more common in the former than it is in the latter country.  The New England colonial records of the 17th century contain the names of four immigrants of this name: Thomas HAYES, of Milford, Connecticut (1645), descendants of whom removed to Newark, New Jersey; Nathaniel, who was of Norwalk, Connecticut (1651); John, of Dover, New Hampshire, who came from Scotland in 1680; and George, of Windsor, Connecticut, who, tradition asserts, was a brother of the preceding John.  The HAYES of Canandaigua, New York, who form the principal subject of this article, are descended from the Windsor settler.

(1)     George HAYES, who arrived in New England about the year 1680, and probably was about 25 years old at the time of his immigration, first settled in Windsor, Connecticut, whence he removed in 1698 to that part of Simsbury, Connecticut, which is now Granby.  In a manuscript record written or dictated by his grandson, Ezekiel HAYES, of New Haven, he is referred to as follows: " Went form Scotland to Derbyshire, England, and lived with his uncle.  He was anxious to see London, whither he went.  Having received some account of America, he took passage for this country."  George HAYES' residence in Simsbury was in the locality known as Salmon Brook, and he died there, September 2, 1725.  Although he was not active in public affairs his name frequently appears in the early town records of Simsbury in connection with land transactions, assessments, "minister's rates," etc., and form these it may be inferred that he was pious, thrifty, and in every way a worthy citizen.  His first wife, whose Christian name was Sarah and whose surname is illegible on the Windsor records, died early in 1683, and the children of this union died young.  At Windsor, August 29, 1683, he married (second) Abigail DIBBLE, only daughter of Samuel, granddaughter of Thomas, and great granddaughter of Robert DIBBLE, who arrived from England in 1635, settling in Dorchester, Massachusetts, Children, born in Windsor: 1. Abigail, August 31, 1684, married Paul TOMPKINS;  2. Daniel, born April 26, 1686; 3. Sarah, January 22, 1687-8, married John GOSARD (or GOZZARD), son of Nicholas and Elizabeth GOZZARD, of Windsor; 4. Mary, born January 6, 1689-90, married August 28, 1712 to William RICE; 5. Joanna, born October 2, 1692,died after 1780, married James HILLYER, of Simsbury; 6. George, born March 9, 1695; 7. William, born June 13, 1697, in Simsbury; 8. Samuel, mentioned below; 9. Thankful, born 1700-01, married October 9, 1717 to Nathaniel HOLCOMBE; 10. Benjamin, born 1703-03; 11. Dorothy, born 1706, married Abraham DIBBLE, her first cousin.

(2)    Samuel, son of George and Abigail (DIBBLE) HAYES, was born in Simsbury, 1699.  He was granted 60 acres of land in Simsbury, 1723; was on church covenant with wife in 1739, and served as tithing man in 1751.  He must have lived to an unusually advanced aged, as there is on record at Granby a deed, executed March 7, 1787, in which he conveys property to his son Silas.  He married in Simsbury, July 16, 1719.  Elizabeth WILLCOCKSON (WILCOX), probably a daughter of Samuel WILLCOCKSON and great granddaughter of William WILLCOXSON, of St. Albans, Hertfordshire, England, who arrived at Boston in the "Planter", 1635.  Children of Samuel and Elizabeth HAYES: 1. Lydia, born January 18, 1720; 2. Elizabeth, October 17, 1721, married March 20, 1740 to Joseph GILLETT, of Simsbury; 3. Abigail, born November 3, 1723, married May 13, 1742 to Daniel HAYES, her cousin; 4. Dorcus, born March 15, 1727, married Ephraim, son of Nathaniel and Thankful (HAYES) HOLCOMBE; 5. Samuel, born March 26, 1730; 6. Ashael, born June 3, 1732; 7. Susanna, November 26, 1735, married Reuben HOLCOMBE; 8. Andrew, born May 29, 1737; 9. Silas, born February 28, 1740.

(3)   Captain Samuel, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (WILLCOCKSON) HAYES, was born in Simsbury, March 26, 1730, died in Grandby, December 25, 1801.  In the Simsbury records he is designated Captain.  In 1753 he erected a substantial dwelling house at Bushy Hill, two miles west of Salmon Brook, which he and his descendants occupied for nearly a century.  He was a selectman of Simsbury, 1774, and of Granby at its organization, 1786; represented Simsbury in the general assembly, 1778; served as deacon of the church at Salmon Brook from 1786 to 1801.  He possessed superior physical strength, excelled in all athletic sports and was one of the most prominent and highly respected citizens of his day.  In 1750 he married Rosanna, eldest daughter of Judah and Hannah (BUTTOLPH) HOLCOMBE, of Simsbury, and a descendant in the 5th generation of Thomas BUTTOLPH, who landed in Boston from the "Abigail" in 1635.  Rosanna was born in Simsbury, June 24, 1732, and died in Granby, November 8, 1814.  Children: 1. Rosanna, born March 6, 1751, died in 1770 and married Benjamin HAYES, her cousin; 2. Seth, born June 2, 1753; 3. Theodosia, born April 16, 1757, died at Delaware, Ohio, 1834 married at Granby, General Chauncey PETTIBONE, son of Colonel Ozias PETTIBONE; 4.  Samuel born May 20, 1759; 5. Temperance, December 14, 1761, died in Connecticut, 1787 and married Luther FOOTE; 6. Levi, born April 1, 1763; 7. Pliny, born June 6, 1766; 8. Simeon, mentioned below; 9. Joseph, born August 31, 1771; 10. Martin, born March 31, 1776.

(4)    Simeon, son of Captain Samuel and Rosanna (HOLCOMBE) HAYES, was born in Simsbury, February 17, 1768 or January 17, 1769, and died in Plattsburgh, New York, August 18, 1841.  In 1806 he removed from his native state to Plattsburgh, where he engaged in farming and also turned his attention to mechanical pursuits.  He was a mechanical genius and an inventor, and at different times worked at wagon making, shoemaking and coopering.  Above all, he was a man of unsullied integrity and deep religious principle.  He married (first), March 22, 1790, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Israel HOLLY, a Congregational minister at Granby.  He married (second) at Granby, December 3, 1801, Elizabeth, born in that town on March 20, 1781, daughter of Ichabod and Lucretia (COSSIT) GILBERT.  She died in Buffalo, New York, June 14, 1870.  Children of Simeon HAYES by first marriage: 1. Child, born 1791, died in infancy; 2. Betsey Maria, born in Granby, August 9, 1793, died in Plattsburg, November 20, 1863, married at Canandaigua, New York,  October 6, 1812, Israel SKINNER; 3. Emily, born in Granby, December 24, 1795; died in Plattsburgh, October 16, 1843, married in Bristol, New York, January 23, 1817, Orlando Prentice FAY; 4. Child, born 1797 and died in infancy; 5. Child, born 1799 and died in infancy; 6. Simeon, born January 23, 1801.  Children of second marriage: 7. George, born November 6, died December 18. 1803; 8. George Edward, born November 7, 1804; 9. Willis Gilbert, born July 13, 1807; 10. Joseph Byron, mentioned below.  11. Henry Osmond, born January 31, 1815.

(5)   Joseph Byron, son of Simeon and Elizabeth (GILBERT) HAYES, was born in Plattsburgh, June 8, 1809, and died in Canandaigua, New York, October 6, 1841.  He was known by his second name, Byron.  Succeeding his brother George Edward as a pupil of Dr. Pliney HAYES, he became an apothecary in Canandaigua.  He was a man of lofty principle, excellent in every relation and duty of life, and his early death was sincerely mourned by the entire community.  He married in Canandaigua, December 20, 1832, Sarah ANTIS, born in that town, February 21, 1815, daughter of William and Mary (BARLOW) ANTIS.  William ANTIS was a son of a noted gunsmith of the same name who was for many years employed by the Untied States government.  Mary BARLOW was a descendant of Deacon Abner BARLOW, of Canandaigua, who sowed the first bushel of wheat in western New York.  Children of Joseph Byron HAYES: 1. Joseph Byron, of whom further; 2. Edward Antis, born November 20, 1835, died May 24, 1862, a young man of excellent character and promise; 3. Mary Antis, born March 18, 1838, died in Kewanee, Illinois, April 4, 1877 and married at Canandaigua, March 30, 1876 (as second wife) to Robert OTLEY, of Kewanee, son of John and Jane (CHAPMAN) OTLEY, of Winchester, Illinois, came from Yorkshire, England, in 1840, born in Weston, Yorkshire, England, June 13, 1831.   She had one son, Robert Hayes OTLEY, born February 23, died August 16, 1877; 4. Abner Antis, born May 29, 1840, died September 28, 1841.

(6)   Dr. Joseph Byron HAYES, son of Joseph Byron and Sarah (ANTIS) HAYES, was born in Canandaigua, May 11, 1834.  He prepared for college at Canandaigua Academy, form which he entered Williams College, graduating with the class of 1854, and his profession studies were completed in the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, where he was graduated a doctor of medicine in 1860.  His life was spent in Canandaigua, in the practice of his profession.  He was an active member of the county and village medical societies and was a deacon of the Congregational Church from early manhood until his death, which occurred July 17, 1890.  On September 24, 1861, he married in Canandaigua, Louise Anne COLEMAN, born in Frederick, Maryland, September 24, 1833, died in Canandaigua, March 22, 1884, daughter of Chester and Eliza (GRAHAM) COLEMAN, of Canandaigua.  Children, all born in Canandaigua: Edward Graham, mentioned below; George Byron, born July 20, 1865; Chester Coleman, July 31, 1867; Harriet Louisa, born May 16, 1871, died April 21, 1875.

(7)   Edward Graham HAYES, son of Dr. Joseph Byron HAYES, was born July 12, 1862.  He was a student in the old Canandaigua Academy, the Pennsylvania Military Academy, Chester, Pennsylvania, and Union College, (class of 1886) Schenectady, New York.  He is a member of Kappa Alpha Fraternity. 

After leaving college, he spent a number of years in Colorado in the cattle business, and then spent some time abroad.  In 1900 he married Elizabeth MC GILL, of Jamestown, New York, and in 1903 returned to Canandaigua, where he has since made his home.  Mr. HAYES was occupied in private business affairs and in the supervision of Sonnenberg, the estate of Mrs. Frederick F. THOMPSON, until 1901, when he purchase the private banking business of Williams & Barnes.  This business was in May, 1902, merged with McKechnie Bank, a state bank, Mr. HAYES becoming Vice President and manager.  In January, 1909, he was elected president, and continued to hold that office (1910).  In politics, Mr. HAYES has been an independent Republican, and has never sought public office.  He served as secretary and treasurer of the board of water commissioners during the construction of the Canandaigua water works, and recently completed ten years' service as police commissioner of the village of Canandaigua.  He is connected with many of the charitable and civic organizations of the village and had taken an active part in the work for the improvement and up-building of Canandaigua.  Children: George Mc Gill, born 1893; Elizabeth, born 1898.

 

HAYES

History of Ontario County, NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 214 

We present in the pages of this work a fine picture of the home and business of Mumford HAYES, of East Bloomfield.   As early as 1799, Pliny HAYES, with his family, emigrated from Connecticut to Marcellus, and then successively to Prattsburg (sic), in 1804, and to the town of Bristol, Ontario County, in 1809.  He had a family of 10 children, six sons and four daughters, of whom Mumford was the 7th child.  He was born at Marcellus, in the year 1801.  At the early age of ten he commenced to work in his father's carriage-shop, and at the age of 16 he was a practical carriage-maker, and master of all branches pertaining to that trade.  He enjoyed all the advantages of a good common school education.  He remained with his father and took charge of the business until he was 27, when he was married to Miss Abigail WILCOX, daughter of Dr. Ralph WILCOX, of East Bloomfield, with whom he lived about twenty years, when she died, leaving two children, a son and daughter.  In the spring of 1851, Mr. HAYES married Miss Sarah KNOWLTON, by whom he had two daughters.  His second wife died in 1867.  In 1868 he was married, the third time, to Miss Alice BELDING, a very fine-looking and accomplished lady, by whom he has no children.  Mr. HAYES has carried one very extensive business in the village of East Bloomfield for a period of over 37 years, making in all 60 years as a practical carriage-maker in the county of Ontario, his sales during that time amounting to over $600,000.  In politics, republican; in religious faith, Protestant, having been vestryman in the Episcopal church over 40 years.  A healthy, robust old gentleman of 75 years, with a fair prospect of many years yet to come.  

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

 [NY History and Genealogy]