Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
He - I

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

HEATH

History of Ontario Co.& Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 71

Clarence HEATH, president of the Shortsville Wheel Company, is one of that class of citizens who have developed our great manufacturing interests, spread our commerce and assisted in improving and enlarging our cities.

Clarence HEATH was born in Darien, Genesee county, New York, March 30, 1857. He attended the district schools of Darien, and for a time was a student at Canandaigua Academy. Upon the termination of his school days he first learned the trade of hand turning and the making of wagon and buggy wheels. In 1879 he established himself in business in Shortsville, New York, manufacturing hubs and spokes, and the following year commenced the manufacture of wagon and buggy wheels. His business was conducted on progressive and practical principles, all modern improvements to facilitate the output being readily adopted, and in 1909, the plant was enlarged and machinery installed for the manufacture of automobile wheels. At the present time (1910) the two plants have a capacity of 6,000 sets per year, and employ 150 hands the entire year. The business, which operated under the name of the Shortsville Wheel Company, was incorporated in March, 1908, but the name remained unchanged. Mr. HEATH was chosen president and manager; his son, Sidney L., secretary; and A.T. SHEFFER, assistant treasurer. Prior to its incorporation, Mr. HEATH had conducted the business for a period of 17 years in partnership with Charles E. BROWN.

Mr. HEATH married, October 1, 1879, Jennie B., daughter of Hiram L. BROWN, one of the original proprietors of the Empire Drill Works, which were organized in Shortsville about 1850. Children: 1. Mildred L., who married Burt R. THOMPSON and resides in Shortsville; 2. Sidney L., mentioned above, married Belle L. WHEELER of Canandaigua; 3. Hester V., married Ray V. HOWLAND and resides in Shortsville, they have only one child, Hiram Heath HOWLAND; 4. Mary Lois; 5. Doris Virginia.

 

HEATON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 227

HEATON, John, Geneva, was born in Liverpool, England, was a miner by occupation.  He has followed gardening and farming for some time.  He married twice, first Mrs. Ellen PURDY, of Staffordshire, England, and they had five children: Lucy, Leon, Sarah, Alice and Emma.  Mrs. HEATON died March 13, 1886, and he married second, March 21, 1893, Fannie E. WHEDON, of Geneva.  Mrs. HEATON's father, Alphonson WHEDON, was born on the old homestead near Cromwell's Hollow, April 30, 1797, was educated in the schools of that early day, and was a farmer by occupation.  May 29, 1828, he married Fannie PARKE, of the town of Seneca, and they had five children: James L., Eber, Sarah A., Fannie E. and John L.  Mrs. HEATON's grandfather, Marsena WHEDON, was born in Berkshire county, Mass., and with two brothers bought a large tract of land in the town of Seneca.  This family is one of the oldest, and were among the early pioneers.  Mrs. HEATON's great-grandfather was impressed in the king's service in colonial times.

 

HEECH    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 310

HEECH, Jacob, West Bloomfield, was born in 1844 in Hesse, Germany.  He came with his parents and six brothers and four sisters in 1854 to this country, settling in Henrietta, Monroe county, where his father died in 1879.  Jacob lived at home until of age, then worked by the month for twelve years.  In 1877 he purchased the property of 156 acres known as the RICHARDS farm, about a mile north of Miller's Corners, which he has since improved and now occupies.  In 1877 he married Anna Clara BOERNER of Rochester, a native of Germany, and they have one daughter, Clara Augusta.  Mrs. HEECH's father, Nicholas BOERNER, came from Saxony in 1853 with his wife and six children and settled in Rochester.

 

 

HEMIUP

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 82

 

HEMIUP, George M., Geneva, was born in Yates county, October 22, 1822.  He received a commercial education and for many years was a successful merchant of Geneva.  November 12, 1851, he married Maria, oldest daughter of Rev. Seth W. and Maria (PICKERING) REMINGTON, then of Geneva.  Mr. and Mrs. HEMIUP had two daughters:  May L., who died at the age of 8 years, and Vernie, who married James M. HALEY of Brooklyn.  Mr. HEMIUP's father, Alexander, was born in Geneva in 1799, and married Mary MILLS of Havana, NY.  They had one son and two daughters: George M., Catherine, who married Philip ROOF of Eddytown, Yates county; and Cornelia, who married John ROOF of the same place.  Alexander HEMIUP died in 1888, and his wife in the same year.  The grandfather, John, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and came here with General LA FAYETTE.  He had some land given him for his military service, known as the Swan and Johnson tract.  Mrs. HEMIUP's father, the Rev. Seth W. REMINGTON, was born in Vermont in 1807, and married Maria PICKERING, born in Massachusetts, a descendant of Col. Timothy PICKERING.  They had four sons and two daughters.  Six grew to maturity: Chauncey P., Maria, Pierpont, William, Josephine and Lamartine.  The late Col. S. Pierpont REMINGTON served with distinction in the 11th Cavalry N. Y. Vols.  Mrs. HEMIUP's great-grandfathers were officers in the War of the Revolution.  Mrs. HEMIUP has written many articles of a scientific nature for the public press which attracted much notice, and is the author of a book entitled "Law of Heat," which has been received with a great deal of interest and has been much commended, and is now preserved in the educational exhibits of the State at Albany.  Her name is recorded in the dictionary of English and American authors.

 

HEMIUP
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 84 

HEMIUP, Charles N., Geneva, was born in Geneva, May 19, 1852, and is descended from pioneer stock in that county.  He was educated in the public schools, entered Hobart College in 1869, and was graduated in 1873, being the valedictorian of the class.  He read law with Judge DUSINBERRE, and was admitted in 1875 at the October General Term held in Monroe county.  After admission and until July 1, 1879, Mr. HEMIUP was the law partner of Judge DUSINBERRE, since which time he has continued his practice alone.

 

 

HEMIUP

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 477 - 478

John HEMIUP, the first of the line here under consideration of whom we have information, came to this country with General LA FAYETTE.  He was granted 1,280 acres of land for his services during the Revolution, but it soon passed out of his hands as he had no taste or inclination for agricultural pursuits.  He married Charlotte VON DOLEN, of Holland, and among his children was a son Alexander, see forward. 

     ( II ) Alexander, son of John HEMIUP, was born in 1799, and died in 1888.  He was a resident of Penn Yan, New York.  He married Mary MILLS, and among their three children was a son, George M., see forward. 

     ( III ) George M., son of Alexander HEMIUP, was born November 22, 1822, in Penn Yan, New York.  He was reared and educated there, and at the age of 18 removed to Geneva, New York, and entered the employ of his uncle, Anthony HEMIUP, who conducted the most extensive mercantile business in that city.  He remained in the employ of his uncle until the death of the latter, and then assumed charge of the business, continuing in the grocery and crockery business until his retirement from active pursuits in the year 1886.  Mr. HEMIUP devoted considerable time to the reading of good literature, was devoted to his home and family, and was averse to taking part in public affairs.  He was a consistent member of the Universalist church, contributing of his time and means to its building up.  He married, November 12, 1851, Maria REMINGTON, eldest daughter of Rev. Seth W. REMINGTON, pastor of the Universalist church, and his wife, Maria (PICKERING) REMINGTON, and a direct descendant on the maternal side of Timothy PICKERING, of Revolutionary fame, and of Caleb CUSHING.  Children:  May, born February 3, 1853, died February 17, 1861; Verna, born March 10, 1868, married April 9, 1887, James M. HALEY, of Brooklyn, New York.  Mr. HEMIUP died suddenly from heart failure, July 14, 1886, leaving a widow and one daughter, afore mentioned. 

Maria (REMINGTON) HEMIUP, widow of George M. HEMIUP, was born in Boston, Erie county, New York, March 18, 1832.  Descended from a long line of scholars and statesmen, it is not strange that she should have inherited an inquiring mind.  Her whole life has been spent in study and research.  Her husband always encouraged her in all her undertakings, and in 1871 she drew the plans for her large home on Genesee street.  Contractors refused to build the house unless the plans were submitted to an architect for revision and correction.  This Mr. and Mrs. HEMIUP refused to do, but at last the house was built in 1873, the builders one and all refusing to take any responsibility in the matter, but when the house was completed it was found that the plans had been correct in every particular.  Mrs. HEMIUP still resides in the house she planned and built so many years ago; her daughter and son-in-law reside with her.  On May 5, 1866, Mrs. HEMIUP published her first scientific article in the columns of the Rochester Express.  This article attracted wide attention, as in it she claimed that ice formation was not a deviation from natural law as had always been supposed.  In 1886, after devoting twenty years to study of the subject, she published her first book "Law of Heat."  This volume was in support of her theory and advanced her "Moulten river" theory.  This work was widely read and Mrs. HEMIUP has in her possession scores of letters from the most noted scientists of Europe and America in reference to her work.  At the age of 76, Mrs. HEMIUP published "Our World," and now (1911), at the advanced age of 79 years, she still hopes to complete another large work.  Mr. and Mrs. HEMIUP were ardent believers in the woman suffrage movement, and the political articles of Mrs. HEMIUP in the Geneva papers carried much weight for many years.  Mrs. HEMIUP was aunt of the late Frederic REMINGTON.  She died after a week's illness, September 11, 1911.  The funeral services were conducted by a woman minister, Miss Clara MORGAN.

 

 

 

HENRY

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 426 - 427 

David H. HENRY, president of the Geneva Cutlery Company, and a member of the firm of Sears, Henry & Company, nurserymen, is the first member of his family to have settled in New York state.  His father, Paul M. HENRY, was a native of Bennington, Vermont, came to Geneva late in life, and died in 1887. 

David H. HENRY was born in Bennington, Vermont, 1848.  He came to Geneva, Ontario county, New York, in 1865, and soon became interested in the nursery business, with which he is connected at the present time.  The firm of Sears, Henry & Company consists of David H. HENRY and A.H. HERENDEEN.  The yearly plantings of seedlings, etc., amount to about two hundred and fifty thousand.  The Geneva Cutlery Company, of which he is the president and one of the largest stockholders, has Horace L. HENRY as secretary and treasurer, and also manager of the business.  Dr. Charles D. VAIL is vice-president, and Walter ALTHOFF is the business superintendent.  The plant was established in 1901, with a capital of common and preferred stock amounting to $60,000.  They have about 150 persons on their pay roll.  They manufacture standard safety razors, turning out about 1,500 dozen per week, and are the largest manufacturers of this kind in the United States.  Their weekly payroll amounts to from sixteen to twenty-two hundred dollars, exclusive of the salaries to the office help and the officials of the company.  Mr. HENRY is also one of the directors of the First National Bank of Geneva, president of the chamber of commerce and a commissioner of the board of public works.  He gives his political support to the republican party, and is a member of the Presbyterian church.  His fraternal affiliations are with Kanadasaga and Country clubs.  Mr. HENRY married, 1871, Ella, daughter of Peter YORK; she was born in New York state in 1848.

 

HERENDEEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 82 - 83  

 

HERENDEEN, Oscar D., Farmington, was born on the old homestead in the south part of the town of Farmington, March 30, 1841, was educated in the common schools and the Friends' Boarding School at Union Springs, and through the early years of his life was a farmer.  March 13, 1860, he married Anne E., daughter of Peter and Rebecca SMITH of Farmington, and they have one son, Louis D., born June 25, 1863.  He was educated in the public schools, Macedon and Lima Seminaries, and November 22, 1886, married Minnie I., daughter of Morey E. and Esther POWER, of their native town.  They have one son, Howard D., who was born July 29, 1887.  Nathan G., father of Oscar D., was born in Farmington on the old place, February 21, 1813, and married Jane SAGE of Hopewell.  She was born May 31, 1816.  They had four children: Marietta, Welcome G., Oscar D. and Caroline E.  Nathan died February 22, 1855, and his wife April 15, 1854.  Mr. HERENDEEN's grandfather, Welcome, was born in Smithfield, RI, April 18, 1768.  In 1769 his father moved his family to Adams, Mass., and in 1790 came to Farmington.  He was twice married, first in 1794, to Elizabeth DURFEE of Palmyra, by whom he had five children: Edward, Gideon, Anna, Huldah and Durfee.  Mrs. HERENDEEN died in 1804, and he married in 1806 Mercy GARDNER, who was born January 1, 1772, and they had three children: Elizabeth, Welcome W. and Nathan G.  Mrs. Annie R. HERENDEEN's father, Peter SMITH, was born on the old SMITH homestead in Farmington, November 23, 1817, and in 1837 married Rebecca MILLS, and had four children: Sarah E., Annie E., Abigail and John Q.  Mr. SMITH's father, Levi, was born in Adams, Mass., in 1774 and came to this State when a young man, where he married in 1798 Tabitha CULVER and had 10 children.  Mrs. SMITH's grandfather, Levi, was in the Revolutionary army.

 

 

HERENDEEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 86 - 87 

HERENDEEN, Nathaniel C., Farmington, fourth child of Edward and Harriet HERENDEEN, was born August 2, 1827, in Farmington.  He was educated in the common schools, and when 14 years old had a severe fit of sickness which rendered him lame for life.  October 11, 1858, he married Helen M., daughter of Esquire and Esther THOMAS of his native town.  She died July 8, 1878.  They had four children: Roswell C., born June 20, 1860; Mary E., born April 1, 1864, married, August 13, 1885, William McCOMB, of Manchester, now of Chicago, IL, a machinist, and they had one son, who died in infancy, and one daughter, Frances W.; Samuel died in infancy, and Lydia M., born April 15, 1866, who married March 16, 1887, Charles E. HARRINGTON, of Manchester, and they had two children: Helen M., born December 28, 1888; and Nathaniel C., born June 20, 1892.  The ancestry of this branch of the family is Welsh and Scotch.

 

HERENDEEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 88 - 89    

HERENDEEN, Charles H., Farmington, was born on the farm which he owns, and on which he resides, June 13, 1840.  He was educated in the public schools and Macedon Academy, and is a farmer.  In politics he is a Democrat, and was elected supervisor of the town in the spring of 1892, the first Democrat in 13 years, and has been re-elected.  December 18, 1862, he married Julia M., daughter of Proctor and Mary L. NEWTON of the town of Manchester.  Mr. HERENDEEN's father, Welcome Wilkinson, was born on the old homestead July 10, 1810, was educated in the common schools, and was a farmer.  January 12, 1832, he married Caroline L. ARNOLD of this town, and had two children: William R., died in infancy, and Charles H.    Mr. HERENDEEN's grandfather, Welcome HERENDEEN, was born in Berkshire county, Mass., April 18, 1768.  He married twice, first in 1794, Elizabeth, daughter of Gideon and Anna DURFEE, of Palmyra.  May 18, 1806, he married second Mercey GARDNER, and they had three children.  The HERENDEEN family of the old stock belonged to the Friends.  Mrs. HERENDEEN's father, Proctor NEWTON, was born in Suffield, Conn., June 16, 1799.  May 4, 1823, he married Mary LARNED, who was born March 16, 1801, and came to the town of Hopewell in the year of 1830.  They had 7 children.  The family are all Baptists.  Mr. HERENDEEN's father, W.W.,  died December 16, 1892, and his mother (Caroline L.)May 8, 1887.  Mrs. HERENDEEN's father (Proctor NEWTON) died May 15, 1878, and her mother July 13, 1884.  The HERENDEEN family entered their new log house in this town March 15, 1790.

 

HERENDEEN 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 92 - 93 

HERENDEEN, Wilkinson A(Andrew)., Farmington, was born January 29, 1835.  He was educated in the public schools, and has followed farming.  February 10, 1858, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Alanson and Elizabeth GOODNOW, of Ontario, Wayne county.  They have had four children: 1. Edward J., who died in his 21st year, 2. Charles W., who married Mary A. TUTTLE, of this town, and had four children: Elizabeth, Mabel, Edward W. and Ruth C.   3. Harriet E. and 4. Florence E. are residing at home with their parents.  Mr. HERENDEEN's father, Edward, was born in the southeast part of the town February 10, 1785, and was a farmer.  He was county superintendent of the poor for 17 years.  March 8, 1821, he married Harriet CUDWORTH, of the town of Bristol.  They had 11 children: G. Maria, Lydia S., Nathaniel C., Mary E., Huldah A., Wilkinson, who died young, Wilkinson A., Welcome D., Gideon D., Edward F., and Henry M., who died in infancy; Mary also died when she was 13 years old. Mr. HERENDEEN's grandfather, Welcome, was born in the town of Smithfield, RI, and went with his father to Adams, Mass., in 1769, then to Farmington in 1790.  He married Elizabeth DURPHY (DURFEE), of Palmyra, and had five children: Edward, Gideon, Anna, Huldah and Durphy (Durfee).  His great-grandfather, Nathan, was born in the town of Cumberland, RI, in 1741.  He was the father of Welcome, who went with him to Massachusetts, and he traded his property in the above place for 1,000 acres in Farmington, and came with his family here in 1790.  Mrs. HERENDEEN's father, Alanson GOODNOW, was born May 24, 1796.  May 8, 1822, he married Elizabeth STEWART, of Niagara, Upper Canada.  They had ten children: Miranda, Charles, Alanson Jr., William, Willis, Andrew J., Elizabeth E., Truman W., Josephus and Lucius.  Mrs. HERENDEEN's grandfather was a soldier in the War of 1812.  The ancestry of the family is Danish.

 

HERENDEEN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 301  

HERENDEEN, James, Farmington, father of Amy A. HERENDEEN, was born in the town of Danby, Rutland county, Vt., September 1, 1788, and came with his parents here when he was two years old.  His wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Richard and Mary SHOTWELL, and was born in Springfield, Essex county.  They had six children: Vania, born November 30, 1816; Mary, born September 10, 1819; Richard H., born April 20, 1822; Elizabeth, born January 10, 1824; Amy A., born March 19, 1829; and James W., born April 18, 1831.   

 Gideon O. HERENDEEN, who is a farmer for Amy A., was born in Palmyra, Wayne county, November 27, 1830, and went to Michigan with his parents when he was 13 years old.  December 7, 1854, he married Caroline N. KIDDER, of that State, and they have two sons, William W. and Clarence N.; both are good business men in Michigan.  Mr. (Gideon) HERENDEEN's father, Welcome, was the first white child born in Farmington.  He married twice, the second time to Elizabeth BURCHARD, and had three children: Phoebe E., who married Isaac H. KELLOGG, of Michigan; David B., who married Ann PALMER, of that State; and Gideon O. (b. 1859)

HERENDEEN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 302

HERENDEEN, Lemuel, Geneva, son of Gideon and Bersheba HERENDEEN, was born in Farmington at the old homestead, May 15, 1833.  He was educated in the public school and in the Friends' Boarding School at Providence, RI.  He has married twice, first, November 9, 1861, Eliza, daughter of Benjamin and Margaret NEWMAN, of Victor, and they had three children, two of whom are living: Albert H. and Florence.  Mrs. HERENDEEN died December 7, 1885.  Mr. HERENDEEN came to Geneva in 1869 and went into the nursery business with Eli A. BRONSON, and continued this for three years, under the firm name of Bronson & Herendeen.  At the expiration of this time Mr. HERENDEEN sold his interest to Mr. HOPKINS.  He then went into the same business with Sears and Henry, under the firm name of Sears, Henry & Co.  They have extensive nurseries of over 200 acres, in fine cultivation.  January 16, 1889, he married second Anna N., second daughter of David and Elizabeth PETERS, of Ithaca.  Mr. HERENDEEN's mother, Bersheba, was an appointed minister of the Orthodox Friends in the United States and Canada.  Mr. HERENDEEN has been elected four times as county superintendent of the poor.  He attended the M. E. church 15 years, was trustee 6 years and superintendent of the Sunday-school four years.  He has now united with the North Presbyterian church.  Mrs. HERENDEEN is president of the Women's Auxiliary of the Y. M. C. A.

 

 

HERENDEEN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 407 - 410 

The surname HERENDEEN is identical with HERENDEN, HARANDINE, HARNDEN, HARRENDEN, HARRADEN, HARADEN and HARRINGTON, and there are various other variations in spelling.  A Richard HARNDEN settled in Reading, Massachusetts.  He was born in 1640.  Edward HARNDEN settled in Ipswich, Massachusetts, about 1650, and afterward removed to Gloucester; was over 50 years old in 1677. There was a Benjamin HARNDALE or HARNDEN in Lynn in 1647. 

Benjamin HERENDEEN or HEARNDEN, the immigrant ancestor of all the early Rhode Island families of this surname, was born probably in England and settled at Providence, Rhode Island.  He married Elizabeth WHITE, who died about 1701, daughter of William and Elizabeth WHITE.  After HERENDEEN'S death in 1687, she married (second) in 1688, Richard PRAY.  HERENDEEN bought of William and Elizabeth WHITE, of Boston, for twenty pounds, a house and lot of 25 acres in Providence, October 16, 1662, and in the same year he sold rights to certain lands to Zachariah RHODES.  He drew lot 86, February 19, 1665, and in 1684 he has sixty acres laid out to him.  He and his wife deeded land to their son Benjamin, April 20, 1685; and to their son Joseph, 67 acres, March 3, 1686.  His will was presented April 4, 1688, but it has been lost.   The widow, then wife of Richard PRAY, deeded to son Isaac the homestead given her for life by her late husband, October 20,1688.  But on December 13, 1701, the dwelling house formerly her father's, she deeded again, Isaac having conveyed it to her again. 

Children:  1. Sarah, married, May 15, 1675, David WHIPPLE.  2. Alice, married, December 25, 1669, Daniel BROWN.  3. Mary, married, October 14, 1675, Andrew EDMONDS.  4. Benjamin, died April 18, 1694.  5. Joseph, died April 19, 1694.  6. William, died August 27, 1729.  7. John, lived at Providence and Scituate.  8. Thomas, died in 1722, leaving children.  9. Isaac, died 1727, lived at Providence and at Norwich, Connecticut.   

     ( I ) Nathan HERENDEEN, went to Farmington in 1790, descendant of Benjamin HERENDEEN, was born in Cumberland, Rhode Island, in 1741.  He married, April 30, 1764, at Smithfield, Huldah DILLINGHAM.  ( By Stephen SLY, magistrate, of Smithfield.)  One account states that he went from Rhode Island to Adams, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, in 1769, but his daughter Huldah was born in 1772 at Cumberland and he probably went soon afterward to locate permanently.  In 1790 he removed to Farmington, Ontario county, New York, exchanging his property at Adams for 1,000 acres of wild land in Farmington.  Children, born at Smithfield:  1. Pennsylvania, January 13, 1765.  2.  Mercy, November 7, 1766.  3. Welcome, mentioned below.  Children:  born at Cumberland, Rhode Island:  4.  Philadelphia, November 20, 1769.  5. Huldah, April 22, 1772.  Perhaps others at Adams. 

     ( II ) Welcome, son of Nathan HERENDEEN, was born at Smithfield, April 18, 1768.  He went to Adams and thence to Farmington with his father.  He married ( first ) in 1794, Elizabeth, daughter of Gideon and Anna DURFEE of Palmyra, New York.  He married (second) May 18, 1806, Mercy GARDNER.  Children of first wife; Edward, born 1795; Gideon, mentioned below; Anna; Huldah, born 1805.  Children of the second wife: Elizabeth; Nathan G., Welcome Wilkinson, mentioned below. 

     ( III ) Gideon, son of Welcome HERENDEEN, married Barsheba WILLITS, who was a Quaker preacher.  Many of the family belonged to the Society of Friends.  She was officially appointed minister of the Orthodox Friends in the United States and Canada.  Among their children was Lemuel, mentioned below.  (per 1850 census---Durfee, born 1805; wife Mary, born 1803; son C. Byron, born 1831, Helena M., born 1840)   

     ( IV ) Lemuel, son of Gideon HERENDEEN, was born on the old homestead at Farmington, New York, May 15, 1833.  He was educated in the public schools and at the Friends Boarding School at Providence, Rhode Island.  He married (first) November 9, 1861, Eliza NEWMAN, born December 5, 1831, daughter of Benjamin and Margaret NEWMAN, of Victor.  His wife died December 7, 1885.  He married (second) January 16, 1889, Anna E., second daughter of David and Elizabeth PETERS, of Ithaca.  Mr. HERENDEEN died February 13, 1897, in Geneva.  He was educated in the district schools and worked on the homestead when a boy.  He came to Geneva, New York, in 1869, after selling his farm.  He started in the nursery business on a farm he purchased in Geneva.  He was in partnership for a time with Eli A. BRONSON and continued three years under the firm name of Bronson & Herendeen.  Mr. HERENDEEN then sold his share of the business to Mr. HOPKINS and was admitted to the firm of Sears & Henry, nurserymen, the name becoming Sears, Henry & Company.  This firm prospered and Mr. HERENDEEN continued in business as long as he lived.  He was keenly interested in public affairs and was elected superintendent of the poor in Ontario county for six consecutive terms.  He was president of the incorporated village of Geneva one term and had been re-elected, but died ten days after his second election.  He was an earnest and influential Republican. 

Although he was brought up in the faith of the Friends he attended the Methodist Episcopal church for fifteen years, during six of which he was a trustee and four years superintendent of the Sunday school.  In later years he became a member of the North Presbyterian Church.  His wife was president of the Women's Auxiliary of the Young Men's Christian Association.  Children of his first wife:  Herbert; Albert H., mentioned below; Florence

     ( V ) Hon. Albert H. HERENDEEN, son of Lemuel HERENDEEN, was born in Farmington, June 19, 1868.  He attended the public schools and Hobart College, from which he was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in the class of 1887.  After leaving college he became clerk in the office of his father's firm, and in 1892 started the retail trade in nursery stock, doing business under the firm name of A.H. Herendeen & Company and continued until his father died.  He succeeded his father in the firm of Sears, Henry & Company, and since then has been an active member of that firm, which has under cultivation, mostly in nursery stock, 200 acres of land, employing fifty hands during the regular seasons.  Mr. HERENDEEN is known not only for his success in business, but for his career in public life.  In politics he is an active and influential Republican.  He was elected mayor of the city of Geneva in 1897 and was re-elected in 1899.  He is a member of Ark Lodge of Free Masons; Royal Arch Chapter; Royal and Select Masters; Knights Templar of Geneva; of the Eagles, the Knights of Pythias, the Masonic Club and Kanadasaga Club.  He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church. 

He married, December 6, 1899, Neva A. KING, born December 12, 1870, daughter of Charles KING, who in later years was a traveling salesman.  Mr. and Mrs. HERENDEEN have one child, Lemuel Albert, born in Geneva, March 18, 1901.

 

HERENDEEN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 410 - 411 

     ( III ) Welcome Wilkinson, son of Welcome HERENDEEN ( q. v.), was born on the old homestead, July 10, 1810, at Farmington, and was educated in the public schools.  He also followed farming.  He was captain of the local militia company.  He died December 16, 1892.  He married, January 12, 1832, Caroline L. ARNOLD, of Farmington, born on the old ARNOLD homestead in 1809, died May 8, 1887.  Children:  William R., died in infancy, and Charles H., mentioned below. 

     ( IV ) Charles H., son of Welcome Wilkinson HERENDEEN, was born on the farm which he now owns and on which he resides, June 13, 1840.  He received his education in the public schools of his native town and at Macedon Academy.  During his youth he assisted his father on the homestead, and afterward his father gave him one hundred and thirty acres of land.  Subsequently he succeeded to the remainder of his father's farm, the old homestead.  For four years he also represented the Walter A. Wood Company as selling agent for farming machinery.  In politics he is a Democrat and for seven years represented the town of Farmington in the board of supervisors of the county.  When first elected in 1892, he was the first supervisor of his political party, elected for thirteen years in the town.  At the end of his last term he declined re-election.  In religion he is a Presbyterian.  Mr. HERENDEEN is a member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, Free and Accepted Masons:  Excelsior Chapter, No. 64, Royal Arch Masons; Palmyra Council, No. 26, Royal and Select Masters; Zebia Commandery, No. 41, Knights Templar; Damascus Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and was master of the Canandaigua Lodge for two years.  He is a member of Manchester Grange, Patrons of Husbandry.  Mr. HERENDEEN married (first) December 18, 1862, Julia M., daughter of Proctor and Mary L. NEWTON, of the town of Manchester.  Her father was born in Suffield, Connecticut, June 16, 1799, married May 4, 1823, Mary LARNED, who was born March 16, 1801; they came to the town of Hopewell in 1830 and had 7 children.  Mr. HERENDEEN married (second) June 10, 1903, daughter of George D.  MERSEREAU, of Farmington.  Children of the second wife: Donald A., born June 10, 1904; Doris M., January 15, 1906.

 

HERRINGTON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 305 - 306

HERRINGTON, Earl P., Canandaigua, was born in Hoosick, Rensselaer county, December 4, 1833, and is a direct descendant of Elder HERRINGTON, one of the Pilgrim fathers who was sent into Rhode Island, and where the grandfather of our subject, Philip, was born about 1760.  He had 9 children, of whom Elijah, father of Earl P., was the fourth son.  There is still one of these children living, Philip HERRINGTON of Hoosick.  Elijah was born in Hoosick, November 3, 1801, and married in 1827 Mary PIRCE of Rensselaer county.  In 1841 he came to Ontario county, and May 11 of that year he bought a farm of 80 acres in Canandaigua, where the family has ever since lived.  He had six children, four of whom survive: Philip, of Michigan; William H. of Rochester; Sarah, wife of Walter S. DAVIS, and Earl P.  From the time Earl was 8 years old his life has been spent in this town.  He was educated at Genesee Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, and learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed until the death of his father, May 12, 1879, when he returned to the old homestead and conducted the farm.  Mr. HERRINGTON has always taken an active interest in church work, and he and his family are members of the Baptist church of Canandaigua.  He married, February 26, 1867, Elizabeth, daughter of Philip NEFF of Monroe county, and they have one son, Leander Earl, born December 3, 1881.

 

HEWSON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 22-23 

George W. HEWSON, owner of a fine farm in Hall, Ontario county, New York, a large portion of which is devoted to the growing of fruit, is a fine example of what may be accomplished by energy, perseverance and a fixed determination to reach the top of the ladder.  He has inherited the traits of industry, thrift and faithfulness in the discharge of duties, so characteristic of the English nation, from which he is descended and where his family was from an old and honored one. 

George HEWSON, father of George W., was born in England in 1810 and died in this country in 1887.  He was 30 years of age when he came to this country, and had but five dollars in his pocket when he arrived here.  He immediately sought employment, which he found on a farm, and was identified with farming interests throughout his life in this country.  He located at Gorham, Ontario county and in 1845 purchased the farm which became the family homestead.  He married Eliza, born in England in 1822, died in America in 1881, a daughter of John GELDER with whom she came to this country when she was a mere child.  She was a most devote Presbyterian all her life. 

George W., son of George and Eliza (GELDER) HEWSON, was born on the old homestead in the town of Seneca, NY on October 2, 1866.  He was educated in the district schools and Geneva High school, from which he was graduated, and this education he has amply supplemented by keen observation and careful and well selected reading, making him a man of liberal views on all subjects of importance.  At the death of his father the farm passed into his possession and he lives upon it with one of his unmarried sisters, Jennie, who supervises the domestic labors of the home.  The farm comprises one hundred and seventy acres of well cultivated land, a large part of it being devoted to the raising of fruit, in which Mr. HEWSON has attained very satisfactory success.  The home is a refined one and exemplary in every respect.  The farm and all the buildings necessary for its proper cultivation are kept in the finest condition and in many respects it is a model for its size and kind, in the section.  Mr. HEWSON takes a active interest in all matters connected with the proper adjustment of the public affairs of the township, but gives his allegiance to no particular party, preferring to cast his vote for the man he thinks best fitted to perform the duties of the particular office in question.  In his religious affiliations he is independent.  Besides the sister who is living with him, he as two sisters, one married, both living in Minnesota.  Mr. HEWSON is unmarried.

 

 

HICKOX

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 125 

Our brief records permit little else than genealogy, with the chronology of descent, and incidental notice of the life of George HICKOX, his predecessors and his immediate descendants.  Stephen HICKOX, great- grandfather of Mr. HICKOX, came from England, married Lydia SPELMEN, settled in the middle parish of Granville, Hampshire county, Massachusetts, and lived and died there. 

Levi, son of Stephen, was born in Granville, April 27, 1751.  Sibyl MOORE, who became his wife, was a native of Middletown, Connecticut and moved to Canandaigua, New York in 1791.  Her death occurred December 29, 1801.  His death took place January 7, 1811, in his 60th year. 

George HICOX Sr., was born in Granville, January 25, 1772; and Eunice, his wife, August 14, 1777.  Both parties came west to Canandaigua, the former on January 31, 1793.  They were married January 26, 1797.  Eunice HICKOX died May 27, 1845.  Mr. HICKOX moved upon different farms, made improvements, and sold the betterments.  He had a family of 9 children, four sons and five daughters, born and dead or living as follows: Orpha, 1798, died in Michigan; Eunice, 1800, died in Wisconsin; George, December 29, 1802; Zophar H., 1810, died in Wayne county; Luman, 1805, met death by accident; Michael S., now widowed; Mrs. Elias DURAND; Luman C., 1812, died in the town; Roxana, 1815, resident of Wisconsin; Candice L., 1819, widowed and living in Wisconsin. 

George HICKOX, the especial subject of our notice, was born upon the farm now owned by Lorenzo H. TILLOTSON.  He early manifested an interest in farming, and a fondness for the vocation of a shepherd.  When any one indulges his taste, he makes a choice likely to result in advantage, and it is natural to find that the youth, who loved to care for the lambs should have become a heavy stock-raiser.  As an index of the extent to which he conducted his operations, it maybe be stated that at one time his flock of sheep numbered between four and five hundred choice merinos; his drove of cattle, some thirty fine Durhams; while from his meadow farm, at Cheshire, were taken one hundred and thirty tons of pressed hay.  The first purchase of farm lands numbered fifty acres, and by purchase had increased to 456.  Sale was made of the Cheshire farm, and the present homestead numbers 202 acres. 

He was married on February 25, 1828, to Mary A. MALLORY, born at Milford, Connecticut, September 20, 1808, and the marital relation has been of mutual concord and affection.  Possessed of those qualities  which make the name of mother loved and revered, Mrs. HICKOX enjoys, in the decline of life, the fruition of her unwearied efforts to teach, by precept and example, the lessons of truth, honor, industry, and religion. 

Four children have been given them, three sons and a daughter.  George S. dates existence from March 30, 1829; James S., August 10, 1830; Henry B., January 19, 1833; and Mary D., May 26, 1837.  The three sons are all married, and settled upon farms in the immediate vicinity of the homestead.  As the father; so the son; and the example of ample and well-built barns and sheds, of improved machinery, and both intelligent and energetic tillage, seen when under the paternal roof, has been given to a purpose.  George lives on the farm adjoining the homestead; James on the second farm, known as the "Cooley Farm"; and Henry, one mile south in distance of dwellings, but with lands but a few rods apart.  While it may true that practical education is valuable, theoretical knowledge is by no means to be understated.  The learning of the schools lays a basis for an after superstructure in life, and such a foundation was early bestowed by Mr. HICKOX upon his children.  The boys reaped the advantages offered by the curriculum of the Canandaigua Academy, and the only daughter studied to a purpose when an inmate of the seminary.  She has long been a teacher, has had charge of different seminaries as preceptress, and from natural aptitude, education, and taste may be regarded as a capable and popular professional educator. 

A further consideration of the life of George HICKOX reveals a man of medium stature, plain appearance, few, meaning words, and undemonstrative action.  The condition of his farm, the taste and elegance of his residence, the lives of his children, are points of observation, which inform the eye and give an index of character.  A believer in rotation of crops, his land has lost nothing of its fertility; having pride in the best and knowing it the cheapest, his stock have taken many premiums.  To make society of value, he has contributed both money and labor, and whether engaged in quiet diligence in the cultivation of his field and the care of his stock, or among those whose united efforts has perpetuated and enhanced the utility of the annual fairs of Ontario, his name may be mentioned as one of the prominent and leading agriculturalists of the county.  Knowing but little of the lessons taught in schools, he is yet well informed, through the powerful educative influence of the public press.  Publishers find in him a patron, and the table is covered with the literature of the day.  Reverent to his Creator, he is not unmindful of his obligations, and joining the Methodist Episcopal Church at Cokes' chapel, in 1833, he remained its steward a quarter-century.  His charities are not ostentatious, his gifts are not blazoned but they are none the less extensive and effective.  An original Whig, he is at present Democrat, but not a partisan; and, as illustrative of his principles, no drunken candidate for popular suffrage could have his vote.  While the name of George HICKOX may not be heard beyond his own county, his life is not the less noble, his example less laudable. 

(pg 117, left paragraph, bottom)

Among the early settlers of this locality, none stand out in the light of history more conspicuously than Captain George HICKOX.  He came to the town of Canandaigua on January 31, 1793.  His first location was on lot No. 27, where Lorenzo TILLOTSON lives.  In 1797, Mr. HICKOX married Eunice HOLCOMB, who had come on from Massachusetts and opened a school in the log school-house which stood on No. 79.  Miss HOLCOMB was one of the pioneer teachers, having begun in 1793, and taught continuously until the time of her marriage.  One term was taught at the school-house near where Albert SMITH now owns; the rest, at No. 79.  When Captain HICKOX came in, his only possessions were a yoke of oxen and an axe.  His father took the oxen and a squaw stole his axe, and all that was left to him were a strong arm and a courageous mind not easily daunted.  In 1793, Mr. HICKOX helped Judge Stephen BATES to fell the timber for the court house erected in 1794.  The trees stood on Fort Hill and Gibson street.   He was the first man to plow on that street for the initial crop there produced.  He was captain of militia, and in December 1813, during the burning of Buffalo, received an order at midnight to have his company in readiness to march, and at sunrise next morning had them on the public square in Canandaigua.  Orders to march were countermanded, and the company was disbanded.  He engaged, for a time, in transporting goods by ox-teams from Albany, at a period when there were twenty-three taverns on the route.  His death occurred May 27, 1845.  His father, Levi HICKOX, came to the village in the later part of 1790, and located where Alexander MC KECHNIE lives.  Judge PHELPS having been taken sick, was attended by Mr. HICKOX, who was recompensed by a deed for three hundred acres of land, including lot No. 91, on the Bristol road, where Wells GOODWIN now owns.  Here he came, and among his acts was the planting of an orchard, which is still in existence to attest his providence.  George HICKOX Jr., son of Captian HICKOX, and grandson of Levi, resides in the town.  During a harvest season, among the hands was Brigham YOUNG, the Morman prophet, who was raking and binding wheat at a dollar per day when he quit work for Mr. HICKOX.  It was, in all probability, the last honest day's labor he accomplished.   In 1803, Daniel CASE bought out Captain HICKOX, and moved unto the place.

 

 

 

HICKOX   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 307

HICKOX, George S., Canandaigua, oldest son of Capt. George HICKOX, was born near Cheshire, March 30, 1829.  His boyhood was spent on his father's farm, and was educated in the common schools, Canandaigua Academy, East Bloomfield Academy and Wesleyan Seminary at Lima.  He taught district schools a number of winters and attended school during the summer terms.  He made his home on his father's farm until 1864, when he married and settled on the farm where his brother, James S., now resides.  He lived here for 7 years and then sold to his brother, buying the WALKER farm, where he has ever since resided.  In 1884 he built his beautiful residence.  Mr. HICKOX has always taken an active interest in politics, and was elected on the minority ticket for commissioner of highways from 1872 to 1881.  He is greatly interested in the breeding of American Merino sheep, a business he has been engaged in ever since he began farming.  He is chairman of the Executive Board of the American Merino Sheep Breeders' Association of New York State, of which he is a life member.  In 1887-1888 was vice-president of the Western New York Agricultural Society.  In 1891 he was elected president of the Ontario County Agricultural Society and re-elected in 1892 to the same position.  He is also a member of the Congregational church of Canandaigua.  Mr. HICKOX married in March, 1864, Anna E., daughter of Jacob SMITH of Canandaigua, and they have had five children; but one son now survives, George B., a teacher at Bristol Springs.

  

HICKOX  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 307

HICKOX, George, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua on the farm now occupied by the L. H. TILLOTSON heirs, December 20, 1802.  The founder of the family in this country was one Stephen HICKOX, who emigrated to this country from England and settled in Granville, Hampshire county, Mass.  He married Lydia SPELLMAN, and died in Granville during the Revolution.  His son, Levi HICKOX, was born in Granville, April 27, 1751, and married Sybil MOORE, born in Middletown, Conn., September 26, 1747.  They had nine children.  He died January 7, 1811, and his wife December 29, 1801.  He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and was with WASHINGTON while at Trenton.  He was a man of prominence in public affairs, and was the first road commissioner in this town.  The third son, and father of our subject, George HICKOX, was born January 26, 1772, at Granville, Mass.  He was captain of militia in the War of 1812, and was called out at the time of the raid at Buffalo (in 1813).  He married, January 20, 1798, Eunice HOLCOMB, who came from Massachusetts in 1793, and opened school in a log house in Canandaigua.  They had four sons and five daughters.  George, the oldest son, has always made his home in Canandaigua.  He takes an active interest in church work, assisting with the Methodist church in 1833, and for over 25 years was a steward of the church.  He was a Whig, but has for a great many years been a Democrat.  He married, February 25, 1828, Mary Adah MALLORY, of Huguenot descent who was born at Milford, Conn., September 20, 1808.  She died February 14, 1892, mourned by the whole community.  She was a granddaughter of a Revolutionary soldier who fought at Ticonderoga, Crown Point, and other memorable battles.  Mr. HICKOX has had three sons and a daughter: George S., Henry, Bradford, James S. and Mary D.  The daughter last named has been prominent as a teacher for about 15 years, having been educated for a teacher at Macedon Academy and Ontario Female Seminary.  She has been preceptress of Walworth and Mexico Academies and of Ontario Female Seminary, an institution that was succeeded by Granger Place School in 1874. 

 

HICKOX  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 307

HICKOX, Henry Bradford, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua January 19, 1833, a son of Capt. George HICKOX, of this town.  Henry was educated in the common schools, Canandaigua Academy and at Macedon Academy.  After leaving school he assisted his father on the farm and taught school until 25 years of age.  He leased a farm one year and in 1859, in partnership with his brother, James S., bought his present farm of 142 acres.  Later he bought out the interest of his brother and has since conducted it alone as a grain and stock farm, having made many improvements in the place.  Mr. HICKOX is a Democrat.  He married in 1858, Letitia, daughter of John ADAMS of Canandaigua.  She died August 8, 1889, and he took for his second wife Alice C., daughter of T. B. REMINGTON, of Canandaigua.

 

HICKOX   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 309

HICKOX, James S., Canandaigua, second son of Captain George, was born August 10, 1830, near Cheshire.  His boyhood was spent on his father's farm, and he received an education in the common schools and at Canandaigua Academy.  Commencing at the age of 18 he was for ten winters a teacher in the district schools of Canandaigua.  On reaching his majority he was given an interest in his father's farm, and continued to live with him until 1859, when he in partnership with his brother, H. Bradford, bought the farm where H. B. still lives.  This partnership existed until 1871, when he bought the farm of 125 acres where he now resides.  In 1885 he erected one of the finest residences in western Canandaigua.  Mr. HICKOX has always taken an active interest in politics, and was justice of the peace from 1864 to 1874.  In 1875 he was elected on the Democratic ticket supervisor.  He served his town well while on the board, and was a chairman of the Committee of Public Buildings and member of other committees.  Mr. HICKOX was for three years, from 1876-79, president of the Ontario County Agricultural Society, and was chairman of the building committee at the time the present buildings were erected.  Like his father, he has for thirty years been interested in breeding American Merino sheep, and has taken as many premiums as any breeder in the county, and has held many offices with the society.  He has been elder of the Presbyterian church of Canandaigua for 15 years.  He married in 1860 Mary A., daughter of the late Joel WOLVERTON, and they have three children: N. Adah, wife of P. T. HARTMANN, a dry goods merchant of Lyons; Ella A., and James S. Jr., a student of Canandaigua Academy.

 

 

 

HICKS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 94 - 95

HICKS, M. D., W. Scott, Bristol, is a native of Bristol, born September 18, 1827, and a son of Aaron, a son of Jabez, a son of Aaron, who was a native of Rehoboth, Mass., and who came to Bristol about 1800.  Jabez HICKS was a native of Dighton, Mass., and there married Nancy FRANCIS, born July 8, 1767.  They came to New York in 1796, and settled at Bristol.  He held various offices and was many years a deacon in the Baptist Church.  Aaron was born December 12, 1788, in Dighton, Mass., and was 8 years old when he came to Bristol.  January 1, 1812, he married Hannah CORNELL, a native of Dighton, Mass., born January 5, 1795, a daughter of Stephen CORNELL, who traced his ancestry back to 1638, and who was a cousin of Ezra CORNELL of Cornell University.  Mr. CORNELL died March 1, 1809, and his wife January 21, 1854.  Aaron HICKS had nine sons and a daughter.  Mr. HICKS owned a farm in Bristol, where he died.  He was a Whig and republican and held the offices of assessor, highway commissioner, supervisor and commissioner of deeds.  He died April 9, 1872, and his wife April 2, 1874.  Dr. W. Scott HICKS was reared on a farm until 16 years of age, and then engaged as clerk at Honeoye, remaining until 21 years.  He then began the study of medicine with Dr. E. W. SIMMONS of Bristol, and attended a course of lectures at Geneva Medical College, and in 1851 graduated from the Medical Department of Buffalo University.  He then located at Bristol, where he has since practiced his profession.  He is a member of New York State Medical Association, Central New York Medical Society and Ontario County Medical Society.  October 13, 1853, Dr. HICKS married Eleanor A. MASON, a native of Bristol, and daughter of Francis MASON.  Dr. HICKS has been a republican since the organization of that party, and has held various offices.  He was commissioner of loans for Ontario county, and was once a member of the Sons of Temperance, and a Good Templar.  He signed the pledge under General RILEY in 1844, and has always been active temperance worker.  He and wife are members of the Universalist Church at Bristol, of which Dr. HICKS has been clerk many years.  He is also a member of the First Universalist Society of Bristol, and clerk of that body.  The HICKS family is of English descent and traces its ancestry to Robert HICKS who came from England on the Fortune November 11, 1621.  He was a son of James, who was a descendant of Ellis HICKS, who was knighted by EDWARD, "The Black Prince" on the battlefield of Poictiers, September 9, 1356, for bravery in capturing a set of colors from the French.  The wife and children of Robert HICKS came one the ship Ann and arrived at Plymouth in July, 1622.  The family settled in Duxbury, Mass., and two sons, John and Stephen, settled on Long Island about 1642.

 

HICKS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 95 - 96

HICKS, Charles M., Gorham, is a native of Macedon, Wayne county, born June, 1838.  His father, Joshua, was a son of Simeon, a native of Long Island, who moved to Wayne county in an early day and there owned a large farm.  His wife was a Miss CLIFFORD, and they had two sons and one daughter.  They died in Macedon.  Joshua was a prominent citizen of that place, a manufacturer of fanning mills and a farmer, and a well informed man and a great reader.  He was twice married; first to a Miss FRYE, of Montgomery county, by whom he had two sons and one daughter; and second to Analine (MAPES) STEARNS, by whom he had one child, Charles M.  Joshua HICKS was killed by a team of horses in 1833.  Mrs. HICKS was a daughter of Israel MAPES, a native of Coxsackie.  Mrs. HICKS died October 16, 1874.  Charles M. was educated in Walworth Academy, has always been a great reader, and is a well informed man.  He was first engaged for about 6 years in the nursery business with T. G. YEOMANS, of Walworth.  In 1861 he came to Gorham with his mother.  He now owns a farm of 280 acres, known as the STEARNS homestead, on which he has made many improvements, including forty acres of orchards.  He has always given liberally to the public.  He is a republican in politics.

 

HICKS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 498 - 500 

HICKS, Edwin - Among the pioneers of the town of Bristol, Ontario county, was Aaron HICKS, a native of Massachusetts, whence he emigrated to the "Western Country" in 1795.  He followed farming all his life, performing his modest part in laying the foundations of what has become a numerous and prosperous community.  He was born in the town of Dighton, Bristol county, Mass., on December 12, 1788.  His ancestors were of English extraction and among the earliest emigrants who settled Massachusetts colony.  He died April 9, 1872.  On the 1st day of June 1812, he was married to Hannah CORNELL, who was born on the 17th of January, 1795.  She was a lineal descendant of Thomas CORNELL, who was one of the earliest settlers of Massachusetts and resided in Boston as early as 1638.  She died April 2, 1874.  Of this marriage were born 10 children, of whom the subject of this sketch is the ninth. 

Edwin HICKS was born on the homestead in the town of Bristol, Ontario county, NY, February 14, 1830, and there his early years were passed in alternate attendance at the district school and labor on his father's farm.  He was a persistent student and was given such advantages as were possible under the circumstances to obtain a good English education.  Between the year of his leaving school and 1850 he taught school several years in different parts of his native country, an occupation which gave him further opportunity for study.  In 1850 he took the first step towards the consummation of his early-formed plans for adopting the legal profession as his life-work by entering the law office of Seward, Blatchford & Morgan, of Auburn, NY, where he remained one year, finishing his legal study with Benjamin F. HARWOOD, in Dansville, NY.  He was admitted to the bar in March, 1854, and on the 1st of January following began practice in Canandaigua.  For nearly 40 years Mr. HICKS has now (1893) been a prominent member of the bar of his county, his practice being at all times extensive and including cases of importance.  He has, moreover, received from his fellow citizens many evidences of their confidence in his ability and respect for his character. 

The Republican party was on the eve of its organization when Mr. HICKS entered upon the practice of his profession in Canandaigua.  He was in full sympathy with its principles, and has never wavered in his loyalty thereto.  He has given unstintedly of his services for the interest of his party and his voice has been heard in public in nearly every campaign since the party was organized.  Mr. HICKS was made vice-president of the first republican club organized in Canandaigua, which was among the earliest in the county.  That he early took a prominent position in his profession is shown by his appointment in 1857 as district attorney to fill the vacancy caused by the removal of Thomas O. PERKINS.  In 1863 he was elected to that office and held it four consecutive terms, winning his elections over popular candidates of the opposing party and by majorities reaching in one instance 1,600.  As district attorney Mr. HICKS prosecuted the criminal business of the county with vigor, efficiency and integrity.  It is remembered that in one term he tried fourteen cases, twelve of which were for felony, and secured conviction in every case.  Among them were several of more than ordinary importance, notably that of the people against MUNSON for burglary in East Bloomfield, in which the accused was sent to State prison.  He prosecuted the case of the people against EIGHMEY, indicted for murder, the prisoner being convicted and hung---the first case of capital punishment in Ontario county.  In March 1876, he was engaged for the prosecution in the somewhat celebrated trial of George E. CROZIER for the murder of his wife at Benton, in Yates county, in which the prisoner was convicted.  In his civil law business Mr. HICKS has been entrusted with many cases where important interests were at stake, and has met with a gratifying degree of success. 

In his political career he has been repeatedly chosen to represent his party in important State and other conventions and deservedly honored by his fellow citizens with public office.  In 1874 he was nominated for the office of State senator for the 26th District, then composed of the counties of Ontario, Seneca and Yates, which for four years had been represented by a Democrat, but was defeated by Stephen H. HAMMOND, of Geneva, by a majority of 318.  Again nominated for the same office in 1877, he defeated his former opponent by a majority of 381.  In the Senate he was placed on the judiciary committee, was chairman of the committee on literature, a member of the committee on public expenditures and the committee on salt.  In the session of 1878 he was appointed with Senators EDICK and HUGHES a special committee for the revision of the civil and criminal codes, a work of great responsibility and importance.  Their report was made to the Legislature in 1879.  The senatorial career of Mr. HICKS was honorable to himself and wholly satisfactory to his constituents. 

Retiring from his service in the Senate Mr. HICKS returned to his law practice, and has since been constantly and successfully engaged.  In his personal intercourse with acquaintances and friends, and in all of his business relations, he has gained that confidence and esteem that are always accorded the public spirited citizen.  Genial and courteous to all, with a disposition prone to good will and kindness, Mr. HICKS occupies an enviable social station. 

On the 16th of October 1855, Mr. HICKS was married to Mary Elizabeth JONES, of Bristol, Ontario county, NY.  Of this marriage one child was born July 9, 1859, Charles Winter HICKS, who at the age of 20, was admitted to the bar, and now holds the responsible position of chief clerk of the freight department of the Southern California Railroad, at Los Angeles, Cal.  Mrs. HICKS died June 18, 1864.  On the 24th of June 1869, Mr. HICKS was again married to Sara J. CLARK, of Belleville, Jefferson county, NY.  Of this marriage were born two children:  Jessie Cornell HICKS, August 17, 1873, who graduated with credit at the late commencement of Granger Place School, Canandaigua, class of ' 93, and Kenneth Clark HICKS, February 16, 1875, now in his junior year at Colgate University.

 

 

 

HICKS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 139 

Edwin HICKS, one of the delegates elected at the first republican caucus in Canandaigua, September 17, 1855.  Had been a resident of the village since January preceding; was Vice President of the first republican club organized here.  Born in Bristol, February 14, 1830.  District Attorney of the county, 1857, 1864-75; the Ontario-Seneca-Yates member of the State Senate in 1876-7; United States Referee in Bankruptcy from 1898 to date of his death, November 30, 1902.  This portrait is from a photograph made about 1865. (picture)

 

HIGINBOTHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 93  

HIGINBOTHAM, William A., Victor, was born in Williamsburg, NY, November 20, 1852, and came with his parents to East Bloomfield when he was about two years old.  He was educated in the common schools and East Bloomfield Academy, and when a young man was clerk in his father's store. In the year 1875 he became a partner in the firm of F. Munson & Co., general merchants, continuing the business until 1882.  In 1883 he removed to Victor, NY, and became junior member of the banking firm of Parmele, Hamlin & Co.  In 1888 the above firm was dissolved, and was succeeded by Higinbotham and Wilbur, who now conduct the business.  October 2, 1878, Mr. HIGINBOTHAM married Anna B., daughter of Henry W. and Sybil S. HAMLIN, of East Bloomfield.  They have had five children: Jessie, who died at the age of 7 years, Robert G., Agnes, Annie and George.  Mr. HIGINBOTHAM's father, George, was born in County Cavan, Ireland, and came to the United States when a young man, locating in New York city.  Was a clerk in the office of the Evening Post for some years when Wm. C. BRYANT had editorial charge of it.  He afterwards moved to East Bloomfield, where he was a respected merchant until he died in 1887.  He was identified with every measure that helped to elevate mankind.  He was twice married, first to Catherine ADSIT, of Valatie, Columbia county, by whom he had four children: George, William A., Frederick and Annie.  Mrs. HIGINBOTHAM died in 1886.  His second wife was Magdalena MAST, of East Bloomfield, by whom he had one daughter, Jennie M.

 

HILDRETH 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 237

HILDRETH, John E., Geneva, was born in Geneva, July 24, 1842, was educated in the public schools and by occupation brought up in the nursery business and is an expert grafter in all varieties of that branch of the business.  He was married twice, first on January 28, 1865, Sarah DAVENPORT of Shannon, Yates county, and they had 6 children: Mary E., Paul R., Ebenezer J., Phoebe A., Lois V., and Laura S.  Mrs. HILDRETH died in 1881.  For his second wife he married in 1885, Caroline, sister of his first wife, and they had one son, Aaron B.  Mr. HILDRETH's father, Isaac, was born in Shaftsburg, Vt., June 9, 1815, and came to this State when a young man, coming on the Erie Canal packet.  He married twice, first Rachael LA MERION, and they had two children: Laura and Rachael.  For his second wife he married Phoebe A. CUNNINGHAM and had the following children: John E., Isaac Jr., Paul R., and Almena.  Isaac Jr., and Paul R. were soldiers in the Civil war.  Mr. HILDRETH's father, Isaac, was the first man that started a nursery in Geneva, was also the first man that started peach orchards and vineyards on Seneca lake and was the pioneer that led the way in taking fruit trees to California in 1850.  George FREER was his partner.  He died May 18, 1865.  His wife survives him.

 

HILL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 88 

HILL, Charles G., Victor, was born in the old homestead August 2, 1854, was educated in the public school, and is a farmer.  March 8, 1885, he married Sarah GOUGERTY of Victor, and they have two children: Gregory C., and a son not named.  (For the balance of the HILL family see Mrs. Jerome HILL's sketch.)

 

HILL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 96

HILL, Jerome, Victor, was born on the home farm September 26, 1824, was educated in the public schools, and followed farming. January 22, 1846, he married Clarissa J., daughter of Cyrus and Polly WEBSTER, of East Mendon, and they had 6 children: 1. Emily S., who was married twice, first to Jerome CAMPBELL, and had two children, Henry C. and Frank J. CAMBELL, and her second husband was Palmer CUMMINGS, and has no children; 2. Sarah Elvina married Hiram FRENCH of Victor, now left a widow in Le Moure, North Dakota, and her 5 children, Howard G., Edward K., Aribelle, Olive L., and Addie L., all living; 3. Mary Esther, who resides at home; 4. Charles Gregory married Sarah GOUGARTY, has two children: Gregory C. and Charles C.;  5. Ella J. married Sidney PIMM, had three children: Millie L. died when six weeks old; Vel McDell, and Earl Jerome, living; Mrs. PIMM died at the age of 29 years; 6. Homer J. married Francis BUCKLEY of Victor.  Mrs. HILL's father, Cyrus WEBSTER, was born in Massachusetts, November 27, 1791, and married Polly STILES of his county December 29, 1814.  She was born April 1, 1793.  They came to Mendon the year they were married, and had nine children: John C., Milo S., Trizah E., Henry M., Clarissa J., Julia S., Sarah A. and Mary Ette, who died when two years old; second Mary Ette now living.

 

HILL 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 254

HILL, Wallace A., Victor, was born in Victor.  He was educated in the public schools, Lima Seminary, and Poughkeepsie Business University, and is a farmer.  He married Cassie STULL, of Victor, and they have two children: Maude L. and Lysander H.  Mrs. HILL's father, Homer STULL, was born at Rouch Junction, Monroe county, in 1833.  He married twice, first June 6, 1860, Hattie MURRAY, and had two children: Jessie, who died in infancy, and Cassie.  In 1868 he married second, Mary OTTO, of Rochester, and they had four children: Belle, Minna, Myra A. and Lelia E.  Mr. STULL died at Mountain Home, Idaho, February 4, 1890.  Mrs. STULL and part of the family reside in Kansas city.  Mr. HILL's father, Lysander, was born in the old homestead in Victor, November 3, 1832, and was educated in the public schools.  March 25, 1861, he married Louisa BENSON, of the town of Mendon, and they had three children: Willis G., Wallace A. (twins), and Maude L., who died February 9, 1875.  Willis G. married Margaret CLINE, and they have one daughter, Ruth W.  Mr. HILL is a republican in politics.

 

 

HILL

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II pg. 247 - 248  

Vigorous and active at the time of life when the majority of men are compelled by physical disabilities to surrender the cares and responsibilities of their respective callings to their successors of a younger generation, Reynolds HILL, chief engineer of the pumping station at Geneva, is still attending to his daily duties with a regularity and watchfulness which few veterans of the Civil war can equal.

Mr. HILL comes from an old Yates county family, his grandfather, Reynolds HILL, for whom he was named, having been an early settler in Reading, that county, and his father, Seth HILL, was an old time lumberman, a republican and a Universalist, liberal- minded, upright and optimistic. His span of life lapped over into the present century, and full of years he entered into his final rest in 1902. He married Maria RICH, born in 1826, died in 1900. Children: 1. Reynolds, see forward. 2. Ruth Ann, who died aged two years. 3. Jeanette, born May 3, 1845, married Chester GILES, and has one child, who died at the age of twenty years. 4. Maud, born in 1860.

Reynolds HILL, eldest child of Seth and Maria (Rich) HILL, was born in Reading, Schuyler county, New York, May 7, 1841. He attended the public schools at Reading but his educational opportunities were limited, as at the early age of 12 years he began to assume the responsibility of his own support by accepting employment at Beaver Dam, New York, and he later worked for his father in Millport, this state. When 15 years old he went to work at Havana, and afterward devoted two years to assisting his father in running a boat on the canal.   In July, 1862, he enlisted at Elmira in the 141st Regiment, New York Volunteers, for service in the Civil war, which was ordered to Maryland in the following September and went into winter quarters on Miner�s Hill. He served under Generals GEARY and THOMAS; was transferred to the 131st New York Volunteers in 1863 with the rank of color-sergeant, and mustered out as such at Elmira, June 9, 1865. After leaving the army he found employment on the lake steamers �John Arnot,� P.H. Fields� and �A. W. Langdon,� plying Seneca Lake, and having acquired competency as an engineer he was advanced to the position of chief engineer of the steamer �Elmira.� Removing to Bay City, Michigan, he served as chief engineer of several steamers hailing from that port, and he subsequently was employed in the same capacity on large steamers running between Detroit and Buffalo and Chicago. Among the latter were the steamers �Ramapole,� �Oswego� and Seneca.� In 1903 he resigned his position on the �Seneca� in order to enter the service of the Geneva (New York) water department as chief engineer at the pumping station, and he still retains that responsible post. In politics he is independent. He was made a Mason in the blue lodge at Detroit some 20 years ago, and is now a member of the chapter and commandery at Geneva.

Mr. HILL married (first) in Geneva, New York, Olivia ANDRUS. He married (second) July 11, 1904, Lizzie M. PATRICK, and has one daughter, Ruth, born in Geneva, September 16, 1905.

Mrs. Lizzie M. (PATRICK) HILL was born in the county of Northumberland, England, October 28, 1866. Her father, John PATRICK, was born in the same county in 1835, and her mother Ellen (COLLINS) PATRICK, was born in England in 1843. Children: 1. Lizzie M. (now Mrs. HILL). 2. William E. 3. Mary Ellen, married James LEROY. 4. John P., married Sarah MC DOLE, four sons. 5. Arthur, married and has one child. 6. Frank, married and has one child. 7. Alice Ann, married Albert RAYNER and has two children. 8. Emma, married E. WARD and has two children. 9. Cornelius, married Lillian BEALS and has one son. 10. Bert.

 

HOCROFT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 258 - 259

HOCROFT, Morris R., Gorham, was born in Sodus, March 10, 1862, one of two sons and a daughter of George and Lucy (LUND) HOCROFT, he a native of Leeds, England, and she of Sodus.  Mr. HOCROFT has retired from active life.  His father was Robert, a native of Leeds, England, who came to America in 1823 and settled at Lyons, Wayne county.  He had five daughters and two sons and died in 1873.  Subject was reared on a farm and educated in Sodus Academy.  For some time he followed carpentry in Rochester.  In 1877 he began evaporating apples in Wayne county, and followed that business until 1886, when he came to Gorham and purchased a farm of 130 acres, and continued in the same business, evaporating 10,000 bushels yearly.  The concern has a capacity of 300 bushels per day.  In 1886 Mr. HOCROFT married Sarah WELBURN, a native of Sodus, born 1865, and a daughter of George and Mary WELBURN, of Sodus.  Mr. HOCROFT is a republican, and his wife is a member of the Episcopal church.

 

 

HOELLER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 81 - 82   

 

HOELLER, George, Geneva, was born in Nuremberg, Germany, December 23, 1843.  He was educated in his native country, and came to the United States with his uncle in 1859, first locating in New York city.  He came to Geneva in 1860, and by occupation is a caterer and confectioner.  April 20, 1869, he married Marion ZOBRIST of Geneva, and they have three children: John, who resides in the West; William, who is now the champion bicyclist of the world; and Georgia R., who resides at home.

 

HOENING

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg 400  - 401

David HOENING lived in Schenectady, New York, whence he removed to Phelps, Ontario county.  He lived to be more than a hundred years old.  According to the first federal census of 1790 a John HENING was living in Rensselaerwyck, now Troy, in Albany county.  He appears to be the only one in the state at that time and is presumed to be the father of David.  He was of German ancestry.  He married and among his children was John, see forward. 

     ( II ) John, son of David HOENING, was born in Schenectady, New York, where he attended the public schools.  He learned the trade of Carpenter, and when a young man removed with his parents to the town of Phelps, Ontario county, New York, where he afterward followed farming for his main vocation.  He was a successful and representative citizen, and an influential and prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Phelps.  He married Angeline SEE, born in Schenectady, New York, daughter of Garret and Ann SEE.  Children:  Margaret, Mercy, Spencer, Burdett, Nettie, Ambrose V., mentioned below. 

     ( III ) Ambrose V., son of John HOENING, was born in the town of Phelps, New York, November 19, 1842, and was educated there in the public schools.  He was always followed farming for his occupation.  He is one of the charter members of Pomona Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, of Phelps.  Since 1863 he has been a faithful and consistent member of the Phelps Methodist Episcopal church, of which he has for 20 years been a trustee, for 22 years member of the official board and for ten years class leader.  In politics he is a Prohibitionist.  He married, March 21, 1871, Louise HOSFORD, born in Phelps, May 10, 1842, daughter of Ashbel and Emeline HOSFORD, of Saratoga Springs; her mother was born at Phelps.  Children:  1. Nettie T., born March 25, 1872, married Burton HUGHSTON and had children:  Carl and Hazel Louise HUGHSTON.  2. Frank A., born May 22, 1880, educated in the public schools of Phelps and now associated with his father in the management of the homestead; married Carrie HICKS, daughter of Edward and Carrie HICKS; child, Marion Frances, born December 16, 1907.

 

HOFFMAN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 83

 

HOFFMAN, Frank C., Geneva, was born in Bavaria, December 10, 1849, and when 18 years of age came to America and located in Manitowoc, Wis., and worked in a meat market for two years, then came to Buffalo, where he remained eight months, thence to Rochester, where he worked nearly six years, and then to Geneva, where he entered the employ of W. I. HIGGIN.  In 1882 he bought out Mr. HIGGIN, and has carried on the business very successfully ever since.  He has the largest market in Geneva, besides owning some half dozen houses.  In 1880 he married Maggie KLEPFER, and they had two children, Annie and Lizzie.  Mr. HOFFMAN is a member of Ark Lodge No. 33 F. & A. M., Geneva Chapter No. 36, and Geneva Commandery No. 29.

 

HOFMANN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 255  

For the opening of Hofman and Grant avenues, the establishment of an up-to-date sewer system and important public improvements, the people of Geneva are indebted to Frank C. HOFMANN, an enterprising and progressive German-American citizen, whose faithful performance of the various duties he has been called upon to fulfill under both town and city governments, has proved of inestimable value to the city of his adoption.

Mr. HOFMANN doubtless inherited his marked business ability and sterling integrity from his Teutonic ancestors, who were of the industrial class, to which the German Empire of to-day owes its strength and stability.  His grandfather, Peter HOFMANN, was born in Germany in 1776, died in 1864; his grandfather, Katherine ( GRIM ) HOFMANN, was born in Baden, Germany, in 1776, died in 1872.  His father, Hubert C. HOFMANN, born in Germany, 1820, died in 1860, owned and operated two tanneries.  Hubert C. HOFMANN married Catherine HOFMANN, born in 1822, came to America in 1890, and died in 1894.

Frank Christian HOFMANN, son of Hubert C. and Catherine HOFMANN, was born in Amerbach, Germany, December 10, 1849.  He was reared and educated in the "Fatherland," and at the age of thirteen began an apprenticeship of four years at the butcher's trade.  Arriving in this country in 1869 he located first in Manitowoc, Wisconsin, and later in Buffalo, New York, and some three years later removed to Rochester, this state.  About 1875 he went to Geneva, where he found employment as a butcher with W.I. HIGGINS, and finding himself at the expiration of two years in a position to engage in business for himself, he entered the meat and provision trade in partnership with Gustavus C. WILKENS.  After a prosperous existence of seven years the firm of Hofmann & Wilkens was dissolved by mutual consent, and Mr. HOFMANN continued in business alone, opening a meat market and provision store at Nos. 49 and 51 Seneca street, and carrying it on successfully for twelve years, at the expiration of which time he retired permanently from that trade.  For a number of years Mr. HOFMANN has devoted his attention to the real estate business, and also to several profitable commercial enterprises.  In 1895 he opened Hofmann avenue, and in 1900 opened Grant avenue, both of which are exceedingly desirable residential sections, and in addition to developing property for building purposes he has erected some substantial buildings for residential and business use.  These include a large brick block on Avenue B., Torrey Park, divided into flats and stores (built in 1898), and the Masonic Temple, and an attractive brick and stone office building located on Seneca street in the heart of the business district.  The foundation of this building was begun June 2, 1898, and it was completed and occupied by September 1, of the same year, thus establishing a record for rapidity of construction hitherto unequalled in Western New York.  A strange fact might be recorded that it never rained during the day time during the construction of this building.  Besides his real estate enterprises he is proprietor of the Torrey Park Drug Store, president of the Allen Drug Company, of Geneva, and also of the City Hall Pharmacy, of Auburn, New York.  In politics Mr. HOFMANN is a republican.  In 1894 he was elected a trustee of the village from the second ward, and was re-elected a trustee of the village from the second ward, and was re-elected in 1896; was chosen police commissioner in 1896 for a term of six years, and was therefore the last to hold that office under the old town government.  He was elected an assessor in 1898 and again in 1900, and was chairman of the committee on electric lights.  During the administration of President HERENDEEN he secured the enactment by the village government of a bill providing for the purchase by the municipality of the Geneva Water Works, hitherto a private corporation, and was also responsible for the establishment of an entirely new sewer system, a sanitary improvement, the value of which cannot be too highly estimated.

In 1910 he was a delegate to the republican state convention at Saratoga and assisted in the selection of candidates to be nominated by that body.  He has served as president of the Geneva Board of Trade a number of terms, and is treasurer of the Economic Relief Association.  He is called the father of the city charter, and he worked faithfully to bring about the charter that made Geneva a city.  In the Masonic Order he has attained the thirty-second degree, being a member of the local blue lodge, chapter and commandery; has held all the important offices of these bodies including that of eminent commander, and is numbered among the Ancient and Accepted Nobles of the Order of the Mystic Shrine in Rochester.  He also affiliates with the Improved Order of Red Men, and the German Harugari.

In 1880 Mr. HOFMANN was married in Geneva to Margaret Catherine KLOPFER, born in Williamsburg, New York, June 3, 1855, daughter of John Michael and Anna Barbara ( KERNDTER ) KLOPFER.  Children:  1. Frank, born in 1882, died in infancy.  2. Anna G., born in 1884, married Frank DAY in 1908; one child, Margaret.  3. Charles, born in 1886, died in 1901.  4. Elizabeth, born in 1888, graduate of the Genesee Normal School, teacher in the public schools.  5. Edward John, born in 1900.

 

HOLLINGSWORTH 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 237

HOLLINGSWORTH, Frank L., Victor, was born in the town of Greece, Monroe county October 24, 1855.  He was educated in the public schools and has always been a farmer.  December 27, 1882, he married Frances, daughter of Isaac M. and Mary CALKINS of Victor.  They have two sons and two daughters: Gilbert L., George C., Florence I. and Lucy M.  Mr. HOLLINGSWORTH's father was born in England about the year 1807, came to the United States when a young man and married Elizabeth DONKEN.  They had two sons and a daughter, Frank L., George D., and Carrie.  Mrs. HOLLINGSWORTH's father, Isaac M., was born in the year of 1822, and married Mary DIBBLE of East Bloomfield, and had five children: Mary, Lucy, Frances, Cora and Horace.

 

 

 

HOLLIS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 21 - 22 

Fred W. HOLLIS, a prosperous farmer of the town of Hopewell, Ontario county, New York, who has been prominently identified with the public affairs of the town for a number of years, is of English descent on both sides of the family. 

Henry HOLLIS, grandfather of Fred W., was a native of England, and came to this country in 1854, for a time making his home in Canada, then removed to Canandaigua, Ontario county, where he serves as a teacher of Greek and Latin in the old Canandaigua Academy. 

Alfred M. HOLLIS, son of the Henry, was born in England in 1850 and was a lad of four years when he came to this country with his father.  He engaged in the brick tile and coal business in Canandaigua and has been prominently identified with that field of industry for the past 35 years.  He married Louisa, daughter of William SMITH, who was born in England and came to Bristol, Ontario county, about the year 1850.  There he engaged in farming, later removed to Canandaigua and acquired a large amount of property.  Children: Fred W., see forward; Frank J., who is studying as a mining engineer at the Michigan School of Mines, Houghton, Michigan. 

Fred W., son of Alfred M. and Louisa (SMITH) HOLLIS, was born in Canandaigua on December 27, 1871.  His education was acquired in the public schools of his native town and in the Canandaigua Academy.  Until he was twenty-four years of age he assisted his father in the brick tine and coal business, then purchased a farm near the village in what is now the town of Hopewell, and is at the present time still occupied with its cultivation.  His political affiliations are with the Republican party, and he has served as assessor for the town of Hopewell.  In 1909 he was elected to the office of superintendent of the poor for a term of three years.  His fraternal and club associations are with the Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, Free and Accepted Masons; Canandaigua Chapter, No. 162, Royal Arch Masons; Modern Woodmen of America; Benevolent Protective Orders Elks, No. 1054, Geneva; Business Men�s Club of Canandaigua, of which he is a trustee.  He was married in Canandaigua, August 18, 1896 to Verna E., born in Canandaigua, daughter of Cassius C. and Harriet (SMITH) SUTHERLAND.  They have one child, Frederick S., born October 24, 1899.

 

HOLLISTER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 88  

HOLLISTER, Dr. Edwin O., East Bloomfield, was born in Batavia, April 4, 1845, a son of Nathan E. and Margaretta (WORTENDYKE) HOLLISTER, of Batavia and Hopewell, respectively.  They had four children: Cornelia, Edwin O., and Eugenia; the other died in infancy.  Subject was reared on the farm and had a district school education, supplemented by an academic course at Alexandria.  He taught school in early days, and also spent a year in a store at Batavia.  In the latter town he read medicine with Dr. CLARK, then attended a course of lectures at Buffalo, and graduated from Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York.  In the fall of 1874 he located at East Bloomfield, where he practiced all his life, and was a skillful surgeon.  He served in county and town offices, and was a Democrat and a Mason.  He died October 8, 1887.  He was a trustee of the Congregational Church, was one of the Board of Education for seven years.  June 5, 1878, he married Susan A., daughter of Henry W. and Sibyll (SEARS) HAMLIN, but had no children.  He spent the last year of his life in the bank.  The doctor was a member of County, State and National Medical Associations, and served as president of the County Society.

 

HOLMES

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 85 

HOLMES, D.D. S., Horace Nathaniel, Canandaigua.  Dr. H. N. HOLMES is the son of Nathaniel Breed HOLMES and Almira E. BANKS of the HICKS-CAMPBELL families, well-known throughout New England.  His father is a native of New Hampshire, and his mother of Maine.  Dr. HOLMES was born in Belfast, Waldo county, Me., in 1865.  Paternal interests lying on the Pacific coast, the subject of this sketch went to California, and at the age of 8 years, was duly entered in the preparatory department of Livermore College, graduating as a medallist in the class of ' 83.  After a year in travel and two years as teacher (part of the time in his Alma Mater), Dr. HOLMES entered the class of ' 89 at the University of Michigan, serving his class as president during one year and being elected to the several college societies in his department.  While as student he was the prot�g� of the distinguished Dr. Wm. H. ATKINSON, of New York city, and of the present Dean, Prof. Jonathan TAFT, enjoying hospital privileges and private clinics, which proved of incalculable benefit in after years.  After gaining his degree he joined an old and noted practitioner, Dr. Ezra H. STEWART, of Joliet, IL, till the fall of 1891, when he came to Canandaigua and assumed the extensive practice of Dr. G. H. WATSON, who had recently gone to Germany as one of the dentists of the Royal court.  Dr. HOLMES has contributed some to the dental literature of the time, is a member of the Seventh District Dental Society of New York, and several fraternal organizations.

 

HOPKINS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 309 - 310

HOPKINS, Harrison, West Bloomfield, was born in Dutchess county, May 28, 1790.  He came to West Bloomfield about 1834 and located on the State road on the farm now owned by B. C. HOPKINS, and resided there until his death in 1882.  He was a public spirited man, but never a seeker after office.  He early espoused the cause of the slaves, and was a great worker in their interests.  While Fred DOUGLASS had his home in Rochester he often spent much of his time with Mr. HOPKINS and other sympathetic friends.  Mr. HOPKINS was in later life a republican.  He was a member of the Congregational church and a strong temperance worker.  He married in 1816 Merene CROSBY of Dutchess county, who died in 1856.  Their children were: Harriet, deceased, Aurelius H., of this town, Rhoda A., Lydia E., Charlotte, Harrison H. (the latter four deceased), Sarah Ann, who resides with her brother, Mary, wife of Charles BROWN of Nebraska, William Clark, Lydia E. second (both deceased), Benjamin CROSBY and Julia Frances, widow of T. R. PECK.  All but the first lived to adult age.  B. S. HOPKINS has succeeded to the old farm.  He is a republican, a member of the Farmers' Alliance, and has never married. (Rural Cemetery, W. Bloomfield)

 

HOPPOUGH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 96 

HOPPOUGH, Lewis Frederick, Canadice, was born in Canadice, December 12, 1860.  His father, Frederick D., was born in New Jersey in 1821, and his mother, Leah COYKENDALL, in 1825.  They were married in 1843 and Frederick D. died in (Oct 29) 1873, his wife surviving him, and making her home with her son, Lewis F.  He (Frederick) was town clerk 16 years, and was constable and collector.  His father, Peter, came from New Jersey and settled at the ford on Canadice Lake (died 1844).  His wife was Margary WESTBROOK.  Frederick D. and his wife had 8 children: John P., Emery W., Margery J. (deceased), Mary E., Sarah M. (deceased), Adelaide B. (deceased), Adaline and Lewis F.  The latter married, March 18, 1883, Adella N. INGRAHAM, daughter of Lorenzo, a prominent farmer of this town.  They have three children: Leonia A., born April 6, 1884; L. L. Burdette, born January 14, 1889; and Bertha E. A., born April 27, 1891.  Mr. HOPPOUGH makes a specialty of raising hay, and also of market gardening.  He makes cider and cider vinegar, raising a large quantity of apples.  He resides at the head of Canadice Lake, where he has a boat livery, and has built on the bank of the lake a house of entertainment for boarders and picnickers.  (Frederick is buried in Canadice Corners cemetery)

 

HORNBECK

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 398 - 399 

The HORNBECK family is of Dutch ancestry.  Warnour HORNBECK was an early settler in Ulster county, New York.  He married (first) Anna, daughter of Matthaus and Eva Abertse (BRADT) de HOOGES.  He married (second) Grietze TYSSEN.  By his two wives he had eighteen (18) children and their descendants have been very numerous.  Doubtless all of the name in New York are from this pioneer family.  Lodwick HORNBECK, of this family, married, July 9, 1696.  Maritze, eleventh child of Cornelius Cornissen VERNVOY and his wife Annatje Cornelius, daughter of Cornelius Barentsen Van DE CUYL and Lysbeth ARENTS.  Lodwick and Cornelius HORNBECK were witnesses of the will of Cornelius SWYTS, dated April 13, 1735, at Rochester, a town in Ulster county.  In the Ulster county wills we find early mention of Cornelius, Gerardus, Isaac, Jacob Jr., Johannes, Lodewyck, Philipa and Petrus HORNBECK. 

James HORNBECK, doubtless a descendant of the Ulster county family, was born in Orange county, New York, where some of the descendants settled.  He came to the town of Phelps, in Ontario county, New York, when a young man, and took up a plot of five hundred acres of forest land.  He was a progressive and successful farmer.  He married Margaret BURNETT, born in Orange county, New York.  Children:  Wells, Charles, Bessie, Mary, Alvira, Ann, Jane, James B., mentioned below. 

James B., son of James HORNBECK, was born in the town of Phelps, New York, July 15, 1827, and was educated in the district schools of his native town.  During his long and useful life he has followed farming for an occupation and his business has proved highly successful.  He commands the confidence and esteem of the community and is conspicuous for his public spirit.  He is a member of Eureka Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, of which he was one of the founders.  In politics he is a Democrat.   He married 1853, Phila M. PECK, born in Phelps, daughter of Hiram PECK.  Children were born in Phelps: 1. Clara A., married John JENNINGS;  2. Ida P., married Anson LAY. 

 

HORNING

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 81   

 

HORNING, A. V., Phelps, was born in Phelps, October 19, 1842, one of six children of John M. and Angeline C. (Garrett) HORNING.  John M., the father, was born in Connecticut, and came here and settled when a young man, where he lived and died.  The mother's family was also from Connecticut.  The grandfather was Jacob HORNING.  In 1880 Mr. HORNING took possession of the farm where he now lives, of 185 acres, including 10 acres of orchard.  He married in 1871 Louise HOSFORD of Phelps, one of the five children of Ashbel and Emlie HOSFORD.  They have two children, Nettie H. and Frank A., both of whom live at home on the farm.

 

HORTON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 92 

HORTON, Isaiah, Victor, was born in Springwater, Livingston county, August 27, 1831, was educated in the district schools, and has always been a farmer.  February 21, 1856, he married Miss R(uth)  ADAMS, of Springwater, who was born August 28, 1830.  They had 6 children: 1. Hiram C., who married Ella SANDERSON and has two children, Ruth and Genevieve; 2. Coe C., who is a railroad man and married Lillie HARRINGTON, of Victor; 3. Amarilla, who married Alfred N. CRANDALL; 4. Arabelle A. is not married, and is a teacher; 5. Joseph M. is also a teacher; and 6. Manly A., who died at the age of 6 years.  All the children except Coe are graduates of Geneseo Normal School in the higher grades, and are holding positions of trust and honor.  Mr. HORTON settled in the town of Victor in the year 1865.  His father, Isaiah, was born in Scipio, Cayuga county, July 26, 1796 and married Charlotte CHATFIELD, of his native county.  They had 10 children: Amarilla, Elisha, Miranda, Eliza, Hiram, Esther, Lucinda, Isaiah, Mary and Lewis.  Three died when quite young.  Mr. HORTON was a member of the republican party until 1872, when he identified himself with the Prohibition party; in fact he was one of its earliest promoters in this vicinity; he voted all alone in Victor township for this party for ten years.  Mr. HORTON's father was a soldier in the War of 1812.  The ancestry of this family is English and Dutch.

 

 

HORTON

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 147 - 151

The word HORTON in the Anglo-Saxon language means an enclosure or garden of vegetables.  It is said to be derived from ort and tun, ort meaning plant and tun enclosed.  The name is apparently of Latin origin, and has been known in England ever since the conquest of Caesar.  The HORTONS had a manor-house in Great Horton, with a mill and certain demesne lands belonging to it, at a very remote period.  One, Robert DE HORTON, manumitted a bondman to his manor of Horton, long before the time of Henry LAREY, Earl of Lincoln, who died in 1310.  William HORTON, Esq., of Frith House, in Barksland, Halifax, descended from the above Robert, married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas HANSON, Esq., of Toothill, had issue and died about 1640.  Among his children was Joseph, born about 1578, settled in Mousely, Leicester county, and is supposed to have been the father of Barnabas, the immigrant.

     ( I ) Barnabas HORTON, immigrant ancestor, is supposed to have been the son of Joseph HORTON, of Mousely, Leicester county, England, and was born there, July 13, 1600.  He emigrated to America in the ship "Swallow," Captain Jeremy HORTON, master and owner, in 1635 or 1638, and landed at Hampton, Massachusetts.  He removed to New Haven in 1640, with his wife, Mary, and two children, Joseph and Benjamin.  He settled permanently in Southold, Suffolk county, New York, October 1640.  Children, the first two born in England, the others in Southold:  Joseph, about 1632; Benjamin, about 1634; Caleb, about 1640, mentioned below; Joshua, about 1643; Jonathan, about 1648; Hannah, married Barnabas TERRILL; Sarah, married Joseph CONKLIN; Mary, married Joseph BUDD; Mercy, married Christopher YOUNGS; Abigail, married Charles BOOTH.

     ( II ) Caleb, son of Barnabas HORTON, was born at Southold in the autumn of 1640, and married there, December 23, 1665, Abigail, daughter of Peter HALLOCK, the Pilgrim.  They settled at Cutchogue, Southold township, Long Island, and he was accepted as freeman, of Connecticut, 1664.  He had land deeded to him the same year.  In 1683 his valuation was 350 pounds.  In 1686 he had four males and six females in his family.  His wife died in 1697, and he, October 3, 1702.  Children, born in Cutchogue:  Barnabas, September 23, 1666, mentioned below; Jonathan, 1668; Nathan, 1670; David, 1672; Mary, 1675; Hannah, married Ensign John BOOTH; Abigail, married David BOOTH, her cousin; Esther; Rachel; Ruth.

     ( III ) Barnabas ( 2 ), son of Caleb HORTON, was born at Cutchogue, Long Island, September 23, 1666.  He married, about 1686, Sarah HINES.  Children, born at Cutchogue:  Caleb, 1687, mentioned below; Barnabas, Penelope, Bethia.

     ( IV ) Caleb ( 2 ), son of Barnabas ( 2 ) HORTON, was born at Cutchogue, December 22, 1687.  He married, December 10, 1714, Phebe, daughter of Nathaniel TERRY, son of Richard TERRY, born in Southold, 1698. In 1748 he removed to Roxbury, now Chester, New Jersey, and settled there.  They were both members of the Southold church and its liberal supporters.  He died August 6, 1772, and his wife, December 24, 1776.  Children, born in Southold:  Caleb, 1715; Hannah, 1717; Nathaniel, October 13, 1719, mentioned below; Nathan, about 1720; Phebe, about 1722; Elijah, June 19, 1724; Richard, about 1726; Rhoda about 1728; Mary, about 1731; Rachel, about 1733; Sarah, about 1735.

     ( V ) Nathaniel, son of Caleb ( 2 ) HORTON, was born at Southold, October 13, 1719, and married, about 1740, Mehitable WELLS.  They removed to Chester, New Jersey, in 1748.  She died December 10, 1801.  He died January 24, 1804.  Children, the first two born in Southold, the others in Chester:  Deacon Nathaniel, 1741, mentioned below; Benjamin, 1743; David, September 2, 1750; Daniel, married Martha TERRY; Polly, married Caleb TERRY; Mehitable, married Edward LEWIS.

     ( VI ) Deacon Nathaniel ( 2 ) HORTON, son of Nathaniel ( I ) HORTON, was born in Southold, in 1741, and married, 1761, Rebecca ROBINSON, born June 21, 1742, died December 14, 1819.  He died August 13, 1824.  Children, born in Chester:  Huldah, January 14, 1762; Rebecca, December 31, 1763; Jonah, 1765; Susan, 1767; Polly, 1769; Nathaniel; Hiram; Mehitable; Elisha, about 1777, mentioned below; Nathaniel, 1778; Esther, about 1782.

     ( VII ) Elisha, son of Deacon Nathaniel ( 2 ) HORTON, was born in Chester, about 1777, and married, about 1800, Polly, daughter of Caleb and Sarah ( BENJAMIN ) HORTON, his second cousin, born in Chester about 1779.  They removed to Scipio, New York, where they spent the remainder of their lives.  Children, born in Chester:  Isaiah, mentioned below; Aaron, unmarried; Phebe, married Stephen ROBINSON; Esther, married Warren R. ATWOOD.

     ( VIII ) Isaiah, son of Elisha HORTON, was born at Chester, New Jersey, died in Springwater, Livingston county, New York, May 22, 1873.  He was a carpenter.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812.  He married at Aurelius, Cayuga county, New York, January 31, 1817, Charlotte CHATFIELD, who died February 21, 1854.  Children: 1. Amarilla, born 1818, married Stephen PEARL.  2. Elisha.  3. Miranda, married Luther P. NORTON.  4. Eliza, married Luther P. NORTON, for second wife.  5. Hiram, married Mary BRIGGS.  6. Esther, married Augustus BOUGHTON.  7. Lucinda.  8. Isaiah, mentioned below.  9. Mary, married J.B. TIFFANY.  10. Lewis.

     ( IX ) Isaiah ( 2 ), son of Isaiah ( I ) HORTON, was born in Springwater, Livingston county, New York, August 27, 1831, and was educated there in the public schools.  He was a farmer all his active life.  He moved to Victor, Ontario county, in 1865, and for many years made a specialty of fruit culture and sheep raising.  He has been retired from active business for several years.  In religion he is a Universalist.  In politics he is a republican.  He is an earnest advocate of total abstinence and at times has supported the Prohibition party.  For ten years he was the only voter of this party in Victor township.  He married, February 21, 1856, Ruth C. ADAMS, of Springwater, born August 28, 1830, died May 3, 1897.  Children:  1. Hiram C., born July 24, 1863, married Ella M. SANDERSON and had Ruth, Genevieve and Waldo.  2. Coe C., mentioned below.  3. Aurilla, born at Victor, January 30, 1866, married Alfred N. CRANDALL and has two children:  Bernice and Alice.  4. Arabelle, born at Victor, September 18, 1868, formerly a school teacher, married William P. FLINT.  5. Joseph M., born July 6, 1871, a school teacher, married Carrie FLINT; children:  Ray, born May 6, 1896; Harold, May 6, 1897; Kenneth, June 12, 1898; Donald, August 12, 1899.  6. Manley A., died aged 6 years.

     ( X ) Coe C., son of Isaiah ( 2 ) HORTON, was born at Springwater, Livingston county, New York, April 12, 1864.  He attended the district schools at the Victor high school.  In 1882 he engaged in the lumber trade at Avon, New York; in 1889 he came to Victor and has followed farming there to the present time.  He was for four years employed by the Wabash railroad in Ohio, Indiana and Illinois.  He was for one year in the employ of the New York Times of New York City, and three years in the furniture and hardware business in Bennington, Vermont.  For 7 years he was engaged in core drilling, testing mineral lands.  He has a farm of 92 acres at Victor and fine orchards and herds of Dorset sheep.  He is a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen.  In politics he is a Prohibitionist, in religion a Methodist.

 He married, April 11, 1894, Marie STRONG, born at Port Gibson, Ontario county, New York, October 3, 1861, daughter of Ashbel STRONG, who was born at Waltham, Vermont, December 14, 1813, and followed his trade as painter and decorator in  Port Gibson, married, December 10, 1843, Hannah ( HAZEN ) PHELPS, born in Dutchess county, March 15, 1818, died December 3, 1891.  During his younger days, Mr. STRONG followed the sea on a whaling vessel.  He died September 19, 1891.  Mrs. STRONG married (first), Selden PHELPS, and had a son, Charles E. PHELPS, born January 8, 1837, died October 4, 1837; Charles E. PHELPS, born at Manchester, October 12, 1838, married, in 1861, Ellen LOOMIS; Sarah Jane PHELPS, born December 29, 1840, married, April 2, 1868, John SCHUTT, and she died December 19, 1899.  Children of second marriage:  Mary J. STRONG, born September 10, 1844, married, in May, 1870, Albert HUNTOON; Loren James STRONG, born November 9, 1846, married Tamison PENOYAR, May 9, 1870; George Backus STRONG, born April 25, 1849, married Margaret RANDALL; Franklin A. STRONG, born November 5, 1851, married, March 14, 1882, Addie YOUNG; Marie STRONG, wife of Coe C. HORTON.  Mr. and Mrs. HORTON have two children:  1. Charlotte, born at Victor, November 6, 1899.  2. Mary, born at Caledonia, March 6, 1901.

 

 

HOTCHKISS, LEMAN B.

History of Ontario County, Published 1878, pg 58

The subject of this sketch was born in the village of "Vienna", now Phelps, February 3, 1813. He early attended the district schools and though the educational advantages of those primitive days were meagre, still he improved every opportunity, and there laid the foundations for his future successful career. He finished a common school education at Orleans, in this county, under the tutorship of Richard P. MARVIN, a present justice of the supreme court of this State. Mr. HOTCHKISS early manifested a desire for mercantile pursuits, and at the close of his school days, in 1831, then eighteen years of age, he commenced business in the village of Phelps.  May 1, 1844, he united in marriage with Lucretia, daughter of the late Thaddeus OAKS, of Oaks' Corners. They had five children, viz: Thaddeus O., Nathan, William B., Fannie T., and Alice L., all residing in Phelps, except Nathan, who was killed by falling from a tree, October 14, 1861.  The eldest son, Thaddeus O., is a successful banker, and the present supervisor of the town. Leman HOTCHKISS, the father of the subject of this sketch, was one of the pioneer merchants of Ontario County. He commenced the mercantile business in 1810, and died in 1826.

In 1857, Mr. HOTCHKISS began the banking business in Phelps, and continued until 1869, when he was succeeded by his son. He is largely engaged in the manufacture and distillations of oil of peppermint and other essential oils, and ships this commodity to all parts of Europe. In this department of industry, as well as in others, success has attended his efforts. This business is conducted on a large scale, and is one of the most important concerns of the kind in the country. Leman B. HOTCHKISS is a self-made man. In the various enterprises in which he as been engaged he has ever been found ready for every emergency, and through his remarkable capacity for large business transactions, coupled with perseverance and an indomitable will, he has succeeded in accumulating a portion of this world's goods.

 

HOUSEL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 98

HOUSEL, Joseph, Canandaigua, was born in New Jersey, May 13, 1807, and came to Gorham with his parents.  His father, Jasper, had 7 children, of whom Joseph was the oldest.  He was educated in the common schools.  His father bought a farm of 75 acres on the Academy Tract, which Joseph secured soon after and bought up land in this section, until at his death March 11, 1865, he owned 290 acres.  He took an interest in public affairs and was assessor many years, commissioner of highways, school trustee, and a member of the Ontario County Agricultural Society.  He was charitable and liberal to a fault, and had many friends.  By Caroline, his wife, he had 10 children, four survive him:  Henry A., painter of Naples; James M., a farmer of Grand Rapids, Mich.; Clara, wife of Lucius GOODNOW, a commercial traveler of Coldwater, Mich.; and Francis B., who conducts the home farm.  Mrs. HOUSEL, the mother, was born in Albany county, May 11, 1816, and came to Ontario county when but four years old.  He had 10 children who reached maturity.  Francis B. HOUSEL was born on the home farm July 30, 1857, and now manages the same, on which is one of the most beautiful residences in the locality, built in 1885.  He married in 1880 Inez S., daughter of James and Maria (EASTON) HIND, natives of England, and they have two children: Charles F., born June 25, 1882; and Marion C., born September 19, 1886.

 

HOUSTON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 236 - 237

HOUSTON, James M., Victor, was born in New York city October 13, 1845, and came with his parents to Canandaigua when only a few years old.  He was educated in the district schools of that town, and is a farmer.  June 1, 1880, he married Mrs. Mary C. (KELLOGG) EATON, of Victor, NY.  Mrs. HOUSTON's daughter by her first husband, Lattie J., married William F. HILL of this town.  Mr. HOUSTON's father, Robert, was born in Glasgow, Scotland, about the year 1821.  He married Jane CARSON of his native place, and came to the United States about the year 1845, and soon after his arrival located in the town of Canandaigua.  They had 6 children, two sons and four daughters: James, Agnes, Margaret, Frances, Jane and Robert.  Mr. HOUSTON came to Victor in the year 1873, clerking for a while, afterwards conducting the hotel at Victor in company with G. W. PEER from 1880 to 1889.  His father's brother, James, was a merchant in England, and afterwards in California.  The late Curtis A. KELLOGG was born near Miller's Corners, in the town of West Bloomfield in the year 1841.  He was educated in the public schools.  About the year 1868 he married Mary C. EATON, formerly of Pittsford, Monroe Co.  Mr. KELLOGG had a variety of occupations but chief of all a produce dealer and commission merchant.  He was killed in a railroad accident in March, 1878.  He was mourned by a bereaved wife, and a large circle of friends and neighbors.

 

 

 

HOUSTON

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 142 - 144

Robert HOUSTON, son of Robert and ________ (MELVIN) HOUSTON, was born in 1821, in Glasgow, Scotland, and died in 1856, in Farmington, New York.  His father and mother lived and died in Scotland.  His brother, James was a merchant in England, and afterward in California.  Robert HOUSTON was educated in the common schools of his native land and learned the trade of shoemaker, which he followed until 1845, when he came to this country.  He stayed for a short time in New York City, and then made his home in Canandaigua, New York, where he was employed first by See & Lekland and later by Mr. TOZER, of the same town.  He removed to Manchester, New York, and started in business on his own account as a shoe manufacturer, continuing to the time of his death.  In politics he was a Democrat; in religion a member of the Trinity Church.

Robert married Jane CARSON, of Glasgow, born in 1821, in that city, died in 1890, at Farmington, New York, daughter of James and Margaret (CARSON) CARSON, granddaughter of James and Margaret (McDOWELL) CARSON.  Her father was a farmer, a Republican in politics, and a Methodist in religion.  Her grandfather was of Dumfries, Scotland.  She had sisters, Margaret, Ellen, Isabel and Agnes, and a brother James CARSON.  She was an earnest, loving, self-sacrificing woman, and after the death of her husband in the prime of life, she kept her family together, and with the aid of her young son raised and educated the children.  Children:  1. James, mentioned below.  2. Agnes, born in 1847; married Cornell DUSENBERRY, who died in 1906; child:  John DUSENBERRY.  3.  Margaret, 1849; married Daniel N. HOOKER; children:  Anna and Cora Hooker; he died in 1909, and the family is living in Portland, Oregon.  4. Robert, born at Farmington, 1853; married Sarah LOW; children:  Roy, Edith and John.

James, son of Robert HOUSTON, was born in New York City, October 13, 1845, and came with his parents to Canandaigua when very young.  He attended the public schools at Canandaigua and at the age of fourteen he went to work on the farm on Wilkinson A. HERENDEEN, of Farmington, and continued for seven years.  He was the eldest of the children and when but a child began to help his widowed mother in caring for the younger children.  After he came of age he worked for several years conducting various farms on shares.  He went to Michigan in 1867, and for a year was clerk of the "Hotel Three of Us."  On account of his mother's ill health, however, he returned to Farmington.  He became clerk of Hotel Victor, owned by G. W. Peer & Company, in 1872, and continued in that position for six years.  He bought the business of his employers and conducted the hotel until 1888, when he sold it, and bought a farm of eighty acres in Victor, New York.  After running the farm for four years he returned to the hotel business in 1892, in partnership with D. H. FINNCAN and conducted Hotel Victor again until 1896.  He then retired from active business for three years and a half, having sold to Ryan & Berry.  He bought out Mr. RYAN, however, in 1901, and conducted the hotel again until 1905, with Mr. BERRY.  Then, on account of ill health, he retired from business.  In politics he is a republican.  He was trustee of the village of Victor in 1890-91, and was supervisor of the town in 1892-93.  During the Civil war he enlisted in the 126th New York Regiment under Captain HERENDEEN, but he was less than 18 years old and his mother refused to give her consent, so he was unable to enter the service.  He has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1874 and has been junior and senior deacon, also junior and senior warden.

He married, June 1, 1880, Mary C. (EATON) KELLOGG, widow of Curtiss A. KELLOGG, who was born near Miller Corners in the town of West Bloomfield in 1841, a prominent produce merchant, who was killed in a railroad accident in March 1878.  Mary C. (EATON) KELLOGG was born in Michigan, November 1845, daughter of Colvin EATON.  The daughter of Mrs. HOUSTON by her first marriage, Lottie F. KELLOGG, married William F. HILL.  They have one child, Russell H. HILL.  Mr. and Mrs. HOUSTON have no children.

 

HOWE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 90 

HOWE, M. D., William A., Phelps, was born in Phelps, September 11, 1862, one of 7 children of John Q. and Nancy A. (GRIFFITH) HOWE.  John Q., the father, was born in Arcadia, Wayne county, in 1818; came to Phelps when a boy and spent his life in the town, engaging for more than 45 years in the active practice of medicine.  Thomas HOWE, the grandfather, was born in Vermont, and came to this State and settled about the beginning of the century, his ancestors coming to Vermont from England early in the seventeenth century.  William A. married, May 17, 1892, Elizabeth M., daughter of Samuel S. and Frances (BELLAMY) PARTRIDGE, of Phelps.  They have one child, Margaret PARTRIDGE, born April 5, 1893.  He graduated from the Phelps Union and Classical School in 1882; entered Hobart College in the fall of the same year, and graduated there in 1885.  He then entered Columbia Medical College, New York, graduating in 1888, since which time he has been engaged in the practice of his profession in Phelps.

 

HOWE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 308

HOWE, H. Lawrence, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, August 22, 1849, a son of Prof. Henry HOWE, who was principal of the Canandaigua Academy from about 1825 to 1847.  The early life of our subject was spent in this town, and he was educated in Canandaigua Academy and Cornell University.  He learned the machinist's trade and was in John ROACH's shop at Chester, Pa., for awhile, then went to California, and from there to Australia, and spent about 6 years at sea.  He returned home in 1883 and engaged in his present business.  He married in September, 1884, Isabella S., daughter of Alexander McKECHNIE, and they have three children: James McK., Henry L., and Jessie L.  Mr. and Mrs. HOWE are attendants the Episcopal church, of which Mrs. HOWE is a member.

 

HOWELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 464 - 465   

 

Nathaniel Woodhull HOWELL was born in Blooming Grove, Orange County, NY, on the 1st of January, 1770.  his father was Hezekiah HOWELL ( whose ancestors came from Marsh Gibbons Bucks county, England to Boston, Mass., in 1639), who was born in Blooming Grove, Orange County, NY in 1741.  His mother was Juliana WOODHULL of Mastic, Long Island, and born in 1736.

In 1783 Judge HOWELL was sent from his father's home to a grammar school in Goshen, Orange county, NY, where he pursued a preparatory English, classical and mathematical education till May 1787, when he entered the Junior class 6 months advanced in Princeton College, where he graduated with honor in September of the ensuing year.  From the spring of 1789 for more than 3 years he had the charge of an academy in the village of Montgomery, NY.  During this time he had informally begun the study of the law, but in the autumn of 1792 he entered the office of Josiah O. HOFFMAN, of New York city, where he diligently pursued the preparatory course, till he was licensed as an attorney of the Supreme Court in October 1794.  He began his professional practice in Tioga county and for a time determined on settling there, but afterwards having occasion to attend the Court of Common Please held in Canandaigua  (then called Canandarquar), Ontario county, where he tried the first jury cause which had ever been tried in that county, he was so attracted by the beauty and the society of the place, that he came to reside in that village in May 1796.

In 1799 he was appointed by the Council of Appointment, on the nomination of Governor JAY, assisted attorney general for the Western counties of New York State, the duties of which office he continued to discharge until his resignation in 1802.  In 1819 he was appointed by the same council, on the nomination of Governor DeWitt CLINTON, first judge of the county of Ontario, which office he held for 13 years.  He was an early representative in the State Legislature and in 1813 to 1814, he represented in the Congress of the Untied States the double district, composed of Ontario and the five counties west of it.  In 1827 he received from Hamilton College the honorary degree of L.L.D.

"Among Judge HOWELL'S intellectual qualities, perhaps the most obvious and remarkable was his great clearness, both of thought and expression.  It characterized the workings of his mind on all subjects and on all occasions.  He was singularly prompt and firm, both in his intellectual and moral action.  When he was called to judge or act, his opinions and resolutions were taken up and held with a strong grasp, so as to be made most efficient.  He was distinguished in the eyes of all who knew him for high minded integrity.  By this is meant not merely that he was an honest man in pecuniary dealings, but that he was at the furthest remove from all fraud, double dealing, or hypocrisy.  His integrity was not only incorruptible, but unimpeachable.  Judge HOWELL's religious character was entirely in harmony with the prominent traits before mentioned.  He did not confound religion with any superficial observances, nor with mere mortality.  His views of Christian truth were evangelical and clear.  He married on March 17, 1798, Sally, daughter of Gen. Israel CHAPIN, who had been appointed  superintendent of Indian affairs by General WASHINGTON.  She died in 1808, leaving two children, Juliana and Alexander Hamilton HOWELL.  Judge HOWELL'S second wife was Fanny ,daughter of Seth COLEMAN.  She died February 9, 1842, leaving several children.  The last 19 years of Judge HOWELL's life were spent in the retirement of home.  During this time, as before, he had met with severe bereavements, but recognized in them the divine discipline.  He retained to the last the powers of his mind.  In his domestic habits, and religious duties, he continued to present a picture of healthful serene old age, such as is seldom witnessed.  On the 15th of October 1852, Judge Nathaniel W. HOWELL'S life of more that 81 years, peacefully ended." 

 

 

HOWELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 466 - 467 

HOWELL, Alexander Hamilton, the second child and eldest son of Nathaniel Woodhull and Sally Chapin HOWELL, was born in Canandaigua on the 30th day of September, 1805.  He died at his home in that village on May 8, 1893, falling but a few months short of completing his 88 years---years begun when Canandaigua streets were but blazed paths and trails, and closed in the full development of modern civilization.  At an age when later day parents hesitate sending their too young children even to the kindergarten, his father sent him, but 8 years old, to the then noted Banselles school in New York city, where he remained many homesick months, and later to a school in Schenectady.  At the former he became a proficient French scholar, and at the latter laid the foundations in Latin and Greek, fitting himself for college.  In 1822 he entered Hamilton College, where he remained until his Junior year was nearly completed, when he withdrew and entered Union, graduating thence in 1826.  Returning at once to his native town, he commenced the study of the law in his father's office (Howell & Greig) and was admitted to practice in the year 1829, entering into partnership with Mark H. SIBLEY.  On the 15th of July, 1830, he was married to Emily, daughter of Amasa and Mary Phelps JACKSON, who was a loving, helpful consort to him, and who, with their only child and daughter, made him a home which was a home indeed.  Mrs. HOWELL died 25th December, 1887; the daughter still survives.  Shortly after his marriage he was induced by specious promises to relinquish the practice of the law and remove to New York city, engaging in mercantile business, which proved better in promise than in reality.  His bent of mind, early and later education, were all toward the law or kindred work, and in 1842 he returned to Canandaigua and associated himself with Emory B. POTTLE, once more at work in his chosen field.  In 1843 he was elected county clerk of Ontario county, holding the office most acceptably to all for two terms.  His latest and longest work was the management of some local estates, and in which he was engaged until he gave up all work and rested.  In the spring of 1872 he went abroad, and after a brief trip to France, spent several months in Scotland, returning home in the fall, having visited in a peculiarly pleasant manner many people of rank and seen all places of note and interest, his letters home being published, to the instruction and entertainment of his family and friends.  While possessing attributes of manhood complete and perfect, there were two points of character in Mr. HOWELL which stood out with unmistakable prominence.  The one was a stern, unshrinking and incorruptible integrity; the other, supreme gentleness---the first his father's gift, the last his mother's. 

As the sun got low in his life and its slanting rays touched only the whitened head, it found him waiting in gentleness, patience and cheerfulness, and reaping the reward his own home tenderness had earned.  And so into the life of Canandaigua he came, and so he lived and died, winning love and respect by every act of his life, and when he died we laid them on his memory.    " Integer vitae scelerisque purus."

 

HOWELL, ALEXANDER H.

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 66 

Alexander Hamilton HOWELL, eldest son of Judge Nathaniel W. HOWELL, was born in Canandaigua, September 30, 1805, and died in that village on May 8, 1893.  Officiated several terms as President of the Village and served a number of years as Chief of the Fire Department; was Clerk of Ontario county from 1844 to 1849 inclusive, also acted as a member of the Board of Trustees of Canandaigua Academy and as President of the Board of Trustees of the Ontario Orphan Asylum.   

HOWELL, NATHANIEL W.

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 65 

Nataniel W. HOWELL was born in Blooming Grove, Orange county, January 1, 1770; removed to Canandaigua in 1796; was elected President of the Board of Trustees upon the incorporation of the Village in 1815; Assistant Attorney General for Western Counties from 1799 to 1802; member of the Legislature in 1804; Representative in Congress in 1813 and 1814, and First Judge of Ontario county from 1819 to 1833.  died in Canandaigua, October, 15, 1851.   

HOWELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 467 - 469   

HOWELL, Thomas Morris, - The ancestors of the subject of this sketch were English, lived in Buckinghamshire, and sent their first representative to America while members of the first Pilgrim band still lived in Massachusetts.  Edward HOWELL came to this country in 1639 and settled on Long Island, where that branch of the family lived until late in the eighteenth century, when Hezekiah H., grandfather of Thomas M., removed to Blooming Grove, NY.  His name is found as sheriff of Orange county in 1785, indicating that he was a man of some prominence.  Among his children was a son, Nathaniel W., who settled in Canandaigua in 1796 and became one of the foremost and honored citizens of the town and county.  He was elected to the Assembly in 1804 for Genesee and Ontario counties, serving one term.  He was sent to the Thirteenth Congress from the 21st District, 1813-14.  He was a member of the commission appointed by the Supreme Court under a law passed April 15, 1817, to appraise the property of the Western Inland Lock Navigation Company, preparatory to building the Erie Canal.  Elected county judge of the Common Pleas, he assumed the office March 13, 1819, and continued in the position nearly 15 years.  His death occurred in Canandaigua, October 15, 1851. 

Thomas Morris HOWELL, son of Nathaniel W., was born in Canandaigua, December 7, 1811.  After a preparatory course in the academy here, he entered Amherst College in 1828 and graduated from that institution three years later.  He at once took up the study of law in the office of Willson & Lester, and in 1834 was admitted to the bar.  He began practice at first with his father, but after making a prospecting tour through the Western States and determining on Canandaigua as his future home, he formed a partnership with Walter HUBBELL, then one of the distinguished lawyers of Western New York.  Through the prestige of his older partner, and his own native ability, Mr. HOWELL soon found himself a sharer in a very large practice.  This was particularly true as to criminal business, for the successful prosecution of which Mr. HOWELL was eminently qualified and for which he had a decided taste.  He soon gained a reputation, which extended beyond his own county for his skill and success in this branch of his profession.  This was one factor that led to his appointment as district attorney, which responsible office he assumed in May 1840, and held until 1847, discharging its duties with vigor, fearlessness and ability.  Under the provisions of the new constitution he was succeeded in 1847 by Barzillai SLOSSON, who was the opposing candidate for election.  Mr. HOWELL was a Democrat in politics and lived in a district which, was largely Whig and later Republican, but the estimation in which he was held by his constituents is clearly shown by his frequent nominations for high office.  In 1854 he received the nomination for member of Congress in the 26th District; in 1853 was nominated for the high office of judge of the Supreme Court for the 7th District; in 1855 was the Democratic nominee for first judge of the county, and again in 1859.  On all of these occasions he was unable, even with his strong popularity, to overcome the opposing majority, though he often reduced it materially.  In the political field Mr. HOWELL performed effective work for his party.  He was an impressive speaker, and his commanding personal appearance added to the effective persuasiveness of his language upon any topic.  He was repeatedly sent as a delegate to town and county conventions, and in 1856 was a delegate to the National Convention, which nominated James BUCHANAN for the presidency.  After Mr. BUCHANAN's election, Mr. HOWELL's name was urgently pressed as candidate for the high office of United States district attorney, but the position was given to one who adhered to what was known as the "soft" Democracy.  In 1849 Mr. HOWELL was made United States commissioner for the Northern District of New York, and held the office until his death.

In 1871, with the creation of the office of police justice in Canandaigua, the place was tendered to Mr. HOWELL, and during the succeeding four years he discharged its duties to the eminent satisfaction of the community and the terror of evil doers of every stripe.  Mr. HOWELL honored his ancestry in his patriotism, and at the outbreak of the Civil War he came forward as a "War Democrat," and his allegiance to his country's cause during the great struggle never wavered."

For the prosperity and advancement of his native village Mr. HOWELL was ever ready to devote his best efforts.  His public spirit in this respect was alert, active and self-sacrificing, and many local improvements may be partially or wholly credited to him.  He laid out Howell street through his lands, built the Atwater block, and otherwise contributed to the prosperity of the place.  He was called to deliver the oration at the laying of the corner stone of the present court-house.  He was an able and fluent writer, contributing freely to the local press, particularly upon early and Indian history, upon which he was a recognized authority.

Mr. HOWELL regularly attended the Congregational Church, and was formerly a teacher and superintendent of its Sunday-school.  Socially his was an attractive personality and his friends were almost innumerable.  He was married, May 16, 1838, to Louisa YOUNG, daughter of Hon. Samuel YOUNG, of Saratoga, NY.  She died November 7, 1881.  Their eldest daughter married John R. HAZARD, and died August 20, 1891.  Their second daughter married B. B. FOSTER, of Brooklyn.  Mr. HOWELL died October 27, 1892.

 

HOWELL, THOMAS M.

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 113 

Thomas Morris HOWELL, second son of Judge Nathaniel W. HOWELL, was born in Canandaigua, December 7, 1811; graduated from Amherst College in 1831; admitted to the bar in 1834; District Attorney for Ontario county form 1840 to 1847 inclusive; unsuccessful as the Democratic nominee for Justice of the Supreme Court, Representative in Congress and Member of Assembly; Police Justice of the Village of Canandaigua form 1871 to 1874.  Died in Canandaigua, October 27, 1892.   

HOWEY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 86     

HOWEY, Joel M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, January 30, 1819.  His grandfather was a native of New Jersey, born about 1765, who moved to Athens, Pa., when a young man, and married Lodema HARRIS.  They were among the earliest settlers of Livingston county, coming there about 1798, and moved to Canandaigua in 1815.  In 1833 he went to Ohio, where he died in 1835.  He had 7 sons and 4 daughters.  John, the oldest son, and father of Joel M., was born in Canada, in September, 1795, during his parents' brief residence there.  He served in the War of 1812, and in 1818 he married Harriet MOORE, daughter of Joel and Sarah (GILLETT) MOORE.  In 1825 he bought a farm, where he spent his life.  He was a republican, and also took great interest in church work, having been for many years a member of the M. E. Church.  He died in September, 1863, and his wife in September, 1848.  Of their 8 children the only survivor is Joel M.  The latter was educated in the common schools and at Canandaigua Academy.  The latter lived on his father's farm until 1848, when he removed to lots 77-78, then in 1885 came to the village and took up his present residence.  He is a staunch republican, and has held several town offices, among them being that of supervisor.  He is now commissioner of excise.  In 1841 he married Letitia, daughter of Lewis and Phoebe (CONOVER) JOHNSON.  Of their 5 children only one is now living, Hattie H., wife of W. E. BOOTH, of Geneseo.  The only son reaching adult age, John M., was born in 1852, and was educated at Lima Seminary, and married in 1875, Anna, daughter of Francis J. CASTLE, of Canandaigua, and they had two children, Martha M. and Louise L.  John M. died April 25, 1884.  Mrs. HOWEY, wife of Joel M., died September 15, 1883, and Mr. HOWEY's family is now composed of his son's widow and his two granddaughters.

 

HOWEY, JOEL M.

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 111 

Joel M. HOWEY, elected a delegate at the first Republican caucus in Canandaigua, September 17, 1855, and a member of the first Republican town committee, was born in Canandaigua, January 30, 18189.  Was Commissioner of Excise of the town for a number of years; a member of Board of Supervisors, 1887.  Died in Canandaigua, October 1, 1909.

 

HOWLAND

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 80 - 81 

HOWLAND, Chas A., Manchester, was born in Manchester October 27, 1848.  He received an excellent education and has followed farming since his youth.  He owns a fine farm of 75  acres, which he purchased in 1876.  Mr. HOWLAND comes of an old Revolutionary family, who also participated in the War of 1812.  He is a staunch Prohibitionist and a worker for his party.  Mr. HOWLAND is possessed of considerable ability and great energy.

 

HOWLAND

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 81 

HOWLAND, Pardon A., Manchester, was born in Manchester January 15, 1826.  He was liberally educated in the schools of Manchester, also attending the Canandaigua Academy, his four sons in after years also receiving instruction in the same institution.  Mr. HOWLAND received farm property from his father, Nicholas HOWLAND, to which he has materially added, he and his sons owning about 400 acres in the town.  Mr. HOWLAND is a strong Prohibitionist and has been nominated on that ticket to the office of supervisor of Manchester.  His father was an influential member of the Whig party and repeatedly filled the office of supervisor, etc.  Mr. HOWLAND was married in 1847 to Margaret WELLS of the same town, by whom he has had nine children, seven of whom are living, all residents of the town with the exception of one daughter, who is engaged in stenography in Butte, Mon.  Mr. HOWLAND's ancestor originally came from Massachusetts and are of Revolutionary antecedents.  (children as of 1880: Charles, Emma, Henry, Egbert, Hattie, William, Madge)

 

HOWLAND   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 304

HOWLAND, Wilber C., Victor, was born in Albany county, April 5, 1832, and moved with his parents to Greene county when he was ten years old.  He was educated in the district schools, and has followed farming.  He came to Victor in 1864, and September 8, 1856, he married Jane, daughter of John H. and Margaret RANSOM of Saugerties, Ulster county.  They have three children: Wilber, who married Anna ROGERS and has one daughter, Blanche; Sabrina married Charles ROGERS and has one son, Frank; and Margaret M., who resides at home with her parents.  Mr. HOWLAND's father, David, was born in Dutchess county in 1794, and married Sarah GARDNER of his native county, and they had 10 children, 8 grew to maturity: Sabrina, Caroline, Fidelia, Hiram, Ruth, Wilber C., Jane and Jeremiah.  His grandfather, Jeremiah HOWLAND, was a practicing physician in Dutchess county.  The family are traced back to one John ROWLAND, who came over on the Mayflower.

 

HOYT   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 308 - 309

HOYT, M. D., Charles S., Canandaigua, was born in Fairfield county, Conn., June 8, 1822, and came to this section in 1834, his parents moving to Yates county.  He was educated in Geneva Medical College, and his early life was devoted to teaching in the public schools.  He practiced medicine in Yates county until the Civil war broke out, when he enlisted in the 126th N. Y. Vols., and he was assistant surgeon of the 39th Regiment.  At the close of the war Dr. HOYT returned to Yates county, where he resumed the practice of his profession, which he continued until 1868.  In 1867 he represented his county in the State Legislature.  This was his second term, and he served a term in 1852.  In 1868 Dr. HOYT was appointed secretary of the State Board of Charities, a position he has ever since held, his office being at Albany.  Dr. HOYT married in 1866 Dora, daughter of Major BARNUM of Bristol, and they have had three children: Agnes R., Charles, Jr., and Jean Ingelow.  Dr. HOYT is the only living charter member of Rushville Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 307.  Dr. HOYT is one of the five survivors of the Legislature of 1852.  He is also a member of the G. A. R., and a member of the Loyal Legion Commandery of New York State.  He was one the organizers and was president of the Society of Charities and Correction, a national organization founded in 1873 in New York city.  As secretary of the State Board of Charities the doctor has made a special study of pauperism and poverty in the State, and with over 24 years' experience he has probably acquired a greater knowledge of the question than any other person living, and he undoubtedly was the first to suggest the Legislature for the restriction of emigration and has prepared many papers, which have been read before the Board of Charities and Corrections, and he has tried to control it in his reports as secretary of the State Board.

 

HOYT

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 392 - 395 

Simon HOYT, founder of this family, was born in England about 1600, died in Stamford, Connecticut, September 1, 1651.  He landed in Salem, Massachusetts, about 1628, and went soon afterwards to Meshawum, Massachusetts, (later Charlestown) with the earliest settlers.  He removed to Dorchester about 1633, and later for a short time to Scituate, Massachusetts.  He then, about 1640, built a house near Windsor, Connecticut, and the property on which he dwelt is still known as Hoyt's meadow.  In 1649 he sold this property and removed to Stamford.  It is supposed that he was twice married, the Christian name of his second wife being Susanna.  Children:  1. Walter, referred to below.  2. Nicholas, died July 7, 1655; married, June or July 12, 1646, Susanna JOYCE.  3.  John, born before 1630, died in 1684; married Mary ____ .  4. Moses, born before 1637, died after 1702; married Elizabeth _____ . 5.  Joshua, born before 1642, died in 1690; married Mary, probably surnamed BELL.  6. Samuel, born before 1644, died April 7, 1720; married (first) November 16, 1671, Hannah HOLLY; (second) Rebecca _____; (third) September 20, 1714, Hannah Gold.  7.  Benjamin, born February 2, 1644, died January 26, 1735-36; married (first) January 5, 1670, Hannah WEED; (second) Abigail ____.  8.  A daughter married Thomas LYON.  9. A daughter married Samuel FINCH.  10.  A daughter married Samuel FIRMAN

     ( II ) Walter, son of Simon HOYT, was born about 1618, died about 1698.  He is named in the deed of his father's land at Windsor in 1640, but soon afterwards removed to Norwalk, Connecticut, where he was selectman, deputy to the general court and sergeant of the train band.  His wife's name is unknown.  Children, of record:  1. John, born July 13, 1644, died about 1711; married (first) September 14, 1666, Mary LINDALL; (second) Hannah _____ .  2.  Elizabeth, married Samuel SENTION.  3. Hannah, married Judah GREGORY.  4. Zerubbabel, referred to below. 

     ( III )  Zerubbabel, son of Walter HOYT, was born between 1650 and 1654, died in Norwalk, Connecticut, between 1727 and 1738. He was deacon in the Norwalk church from 1717 until his death.  He married (first) a woman whose name is unknown, and (second) before 1725, the Widow Mehitable KEELER, who had three children, John, David and Daniel KEELER, by her first husband.  Children, all by first marriage:  1. Abigail, born February 2, 1675.  2. Joseph, born about January, 1677, died about 1730; married Sarah _____ 3.  Daniel born January 1, 1681, died between 1756 and 1764; married (first) UNKNOWN; (second) Sarah STARR, widow.  4.  Hannah, married, July 6, 1704, Joseph WHITNEY.  5. Caleb, referred to below.  6. Rhoda, married, April 19, 1710, John KEELER, Jr. 

     ( IV ) Caleb, son of Zerubbabel HOYT, died April 11, 1755, at Norwalk, Connecticut.  He married, February 25, 1708, Mehitable, daughter of John KEELER, and widow of Joseph BLATCHLY, who died March 31, 1755.  Children:  1. Benajah, referred to below.  2. David, born December 3, 1710, died October 1, 1789; married, January 5, 1736, Ruth LOCKWOOD.   3. Caleb, born about 1717, died January 17, 1805; married (first) May 16, 1750, Ruth BOUNTON; (second) Hannah HAYES or Hannah PARROTT.  4.  Rhoda, died before 1746, married, December 29, 1734, James HAYES.  5. Mehitable, died after 1756; married Caleb BENEDICT.  6. Adah, died after 1746; married _____ SMITH.  7. Deborah, died after 1746; married ____ HARFORD

     ( V ) Benajah, son of Caleb and Mehitable (KEELER-BLATCHLY) HOYT, was born in Norwalk, Connecticut, December 8, 1708, died there December 10, 1762.  He married Dinah _____, who was living in 1765, and may have been the Widow Dinah HOYT, who died at New Canaan, Connecticut, July 30, 1803.  Children:  1. Samuel, died after 1766; married, before 1752, Ruth ___.  2. Abigail, married, September 16, 1754, Daniel FINCH.  3.  Elijah, referred to below.  4. Dinah, baptized August 1, 1736.  5.  Benajah, baptized November 5, 1738, married (first) Mary COLE; (second) December 31, 1766, Mary DOOLITTLE; (third) October 8, 1767, Hannah GREEN.  6.  Susanna, born in October, 1740, died September 12, 1821; married (first) August 18, 1757, Hezekiah GREEN; (second) Eben CROFOOT.  7. Mehitable, baptized October 24, 1742, married, January 8, 1761, Nathan FINCH.  8. Hannah, baptized July 25, 1745, died young.  9.  Adah, born in January, 1748, died February 28, 1813; married, October 23, 1765, Seth FINCH.  10.  Eunice, baptized February 3, 1751, married Daniel SMITH.  11. Nathan, baptized April 6, 1755.  12.  Ebenezer, born March 9, 1758, died October 1, 1834; married (first) November 25, 1778, Mary ST. JOHN; (second) January 23, 1817, Ruhamah WILLIAMS; (third) October 24, 1822, Sarah BROWN, widow. 

     ( VI ) Elijah, son of Benajah and Dinah HOYT, was born in Norwalk, Connecticut, May 1, 1734, died October 8, 1804.  After 1775 he removed to Pawlingstown, Dutchess county, New York.  He married (first) in June, 1757, Mary RAYMOND; (second) in February, 1768, Abigail BISHOP.  Children, five by first marriage:  1. William, born April 12, 1758, died about 1838; married (first) Lydia CROFOOT; (second) Anna JACKSON.  2. James, born November 22, 1759, died in May, 1777.  3. Dinah, born January 7, 1762, died February 2, 1846; married, January 1, 1784, Seymour FITCH Jr.  4.  Rachel, born August 6, 1764, died young.  5. Elijah, referred to below.  6.  Andrew, born December 4, 1768, died February 20, 1849; married, October 24, 1799, Ruth RICHARDS.  7. Mary, born April 6, 1770, married Alexander PATTEN. 8. Samuel, born in June, 1772, died July 24, 1828.  9. Eunice, born May 1, 1774, married (first) Seth HOYT; (second) David BENEDICT.  10.  Abigail, born October 1, 1776, married Stephen HOYT.  11. Hannah, born July 13, 1778.  12. Benajah, born May 28, 1780, married Rhoda HOYT. 

     ( VII ) Elijah  ( 2 ), son of Elijah ( 1 ) and Mary (RAYMOND) HOYT, was born in Norwalk, Connecticut, March 12, 1766, died in Lisle, Broome county, New York, in September, 1823.  About 1790 he removed to New York State and ten years later he returned to Norwalk where he remained until 1816, when he finally settled in Broome county.  He married (first) Sally LAWRENCE, who died July 18, 1787.  He married (second) Polly (QUINTARD) RAYMOND.  Children, one by first marriage:  1. Daniel, born July 15, 1787, died September 25, 1858; married, April 11, 1808, Abigail RAYMOND.  2. Elijah, born September 16, 1795, married, September 8, 1816, Elizabeth SCOFIELD.  3. Nancy, died in 1842; married David SCOFIELD.  4. Clarissa, married Seth DAVIS.  5. Cynthia, married Joseph WHEATON.  6. Benjamin F., referred to below. 

     ( VIII ) The Rev. Benjamin F. HOYT, son of Elijah (2) and Polly (QUINTARD-RAYMOND) HOYT, was born in Norwalk, Connecticut, June 8, 1800, died in St. Paul, Minnesota, about 1875.  In early life he worked on a farm and taught school, and then settled in western New York State.  About 1825, he went to Ohio, and spent the next 20 years in that state and in Illinois.  In 1848 he settled in the then new settlement of St. Paul, where he built himself a house and became prominent in the community.  He was a Methodist local preacher and was often called by his friends "Father HOYT." He was a founder of Hamline University and made several trips to New York City in behalf of that institution.  He was a man of bountiful generosity.  He dealt largely in real estate in St. Paul and became very well-to-do.  At the time of his marriage, he furnished his home with furniture he made himself.  He married, in 1826, Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. Richard HANEY, of Illinois.  Children:  Elizabeth; Mark A.; George M.; Lorenzo; John F., referred to below; Freeborn; a daughter, married J. H. MURPHY; a daughter, married George H. HAZARD. 

     ( IX ) John F., son of Rev. Benjamin F. and Elizabeth (HANEY) HOYT, was born in Ohio in 1830, died in August 1905.  Going to St. Paul with his father in 1848, he afterwards studied law three years in the east, and later in St. Paul and was admitted to the Minnesota bar, but never practised.  He was judge of probate for two terms, and also served as county auditor and county commissioner.  He was a charter member of the St. Paul Library Association, a member of the Board of Public Works and water commissioner.  For several years he was engaged in the milling business and he has also been largely interested in the settlement of several important estates.  He married (first) about 1856, Adelaide GRANGER, a niece of Senator DOUGLAS, who died in 1860.  He married (second) Elizabeth HOBART.  Child:  Eugene F., referred to below. 

     ( X ) Eugene F., son of John F. and Adelaide (GRANGER) HOYT, was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, March 14, 1859, and is now living in Clifton Springs, Ontario county, New York.  He was brought to the farm in the town of Manchester, on which he now lives, when he was one year old.  He received his education in the public schools and the Rochester Business College, and then engaged in farming until 1892, when he was appointed postal clerk, and assigned to the run between Syracuse and New York City.  In 1880 he was town clerk of Manchester.  He is a warden of the Protestant Episcopal church in Manchester, and for many years was clerk and treasurer of the vestry.  He is a charter member of the Clifton Springs Lodge, Knights of Pythias, and has been keeper of the records and seals.  He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.  He married, in July, 1899, Jennie B. HOLLETT.  Child:  Douglas G., born November 11, 1893, a student in the high school.

 

HUBBARD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 83    

HUBBARD, T. S., Geneva, was born in Cameron, Steuben county, in 1843, and in 1866 he settled in Fredonia and engaged in grape growing, being the first man in the State to grow grape vines in large quantities.  Today the T. S. Hubbard Company in the largest producer of grape vines in the United States, growing yearly 100 to 120 acres.  In 1888 Mr. HUBBARD settled in Geneva, but has a general supervision of the business.  The capital of the company is $50,000.

 

 

HUBBELL, WALTER

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 67 

Walter HUBBELL, a prominent member of the early bar of Ontario county, was born in Bridgeport, Conn., February 25, 1795, and settled in Canandaigua in 1814.  Member of Assembly from Ontario county in 1829, was prominently identified with the Canandaigua Academy, and active in church and Sunday school work.  Died in Canandaigua, March 25, 1848.

 

HUDSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 227

HUDSON, Henry C., Farmington, was born in Stockport, England, June 18, 1837, and came with his grandfather to the United States when he was about thirteen years old, and located in Oneida county.  December 3, 1872, he married Caroline A., daughter of Jeremiah B. and Louisa A. COOPER, of Little Falls.  His father, Thomas, was born at the old home, and married Mary Ann CHEETHAM, of his native place.  They had five children: Sarah, who died young; Henry C., Joel, Sarah 2d, and Martha.  Mrs. HUDSON's father, Jeremiah B. COOPER, was born in Herkimer county, and married Louisa A. HALL, of his native place.  They had these children: Mary A., Sally, Caroline A., Eleanor, Roselia Benton and Coradori.  Mrs. HUDSON's great-grandfather was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  Mr. HUDSON's mother, at the death of his father, came to her son in 1857.  She died in 1862.  

 

HUFF   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 304 - 305

HUFF, Allen, Canadice, was born in January (12), 1821, at Frenchtown, Hamilton county, NJ.  When about three years of age he moved with his parents, Anthony and Rachel (HYDE) HUFF to Canadice.  Ten years later his father died, leaving Allen the youngest of three children, the others being John A. of Penn Yan, and Mary Ellen BOWERS of Bergen.  Allen married in 1847 Martha A., daughter of Amos SWAN, and their children are: Sarah E., deceased; Evelyn C., and Sarah E. WRIGHT.  Mr. WRIGHT was assessor three terms and has held other important offices.  He was a benevolent man, ever ready to care for the poor and needy and to encourage young men to lead useful and correct lives.  For many years he bought produce on commission.  He died November 23, 1883, and his widow resides with her son, Evelyn C., at the homestead.  He was born August 10, 1851, was educated at Lima Seminary and at Penn Yan Academy.  December 23, 1872, he married Ella F. COYKENDALL, daughter of Levi COYKENDALL, and they have three daughters: Ola V., born March 23, 1874, a teacher; Fayette, born July 29, 1877; and Allen, born February 23, 1884.  Mr. HUFF farms 164 acres, and devotes his farm to the growth of hops and general farming.  For some years he has bought farm products on commission in this and Livingston counties.  He and his wife are members of the M. E. church, of which he is a trustee.

 

HULBERT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 301 - 302

HULBERT, Mark, Victor, was born in the town of Barrington, Berkshire county, Mass., May 30, 1819, and came with his parents in 1832 to this town.  He came with his father and a team, the balance of the family on a canal packet, starting May 30, 1832, and arriving June 6, 1832.  He was educated in the pioneer schools and is a farmer.

He married twice, first Mehetabel A. CRANDALL, of this place, and had six children: Russell H., Sheldon H., Marcus D., Euphinia M., Amanda and Henry S.  Mrs. HULBERT died December 6, 1857, and he married second, February 10, 1859, Mrs. Eliza (FORD) MATHEWSON.  They had five children.  She had one daughter by her first marriage, Lottie, now Mrs. Charles SISCO, of Shortsville, this county.  The other five were: George A., who married April 8, 1882, Mettie LANE; Frank W., who married Mrs. Elsie QUAYLE, November 8, 1888; Ford, Lena and Lechard (twins).  Three boys died in infancy.  Mr. HULBERT had two sons in the Civil War.  Russell served in Co. A, First N. Y. Mounted Rifles, and died of consumption; had his funeral at home.  Mr. HULBERT's father, Russell, was born December 12, 1779, in Middle Adams, Conn., and married Anna INGERSOLL.  They had seven children: John, Anson, Betsey, Silas, Russell, Mary A. and Mark.  Mrs. HULBERT was born near Manchester, England, January 1, 1829, and came to the United States August 15, 1848, locating in Victor in 1853.

 

 

HULSE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 87-88

HULSE, Daniel M., Canandaigua, was born in Goshen, Orange county, September 26, 1836.  His father, William Y., was a native of Orange county, who moved into Yates county and settled in Jerusalem, where he died in the 65 year of his age.  He married Lucretia MILLSPAUGH for his first wife, who died when Daniel was an infant.  He married a second time Maria MILLSPAUGH, daughter of Adam MILLSPAUGH.  He had two daughters by his second wife, H. Elizabeth, wife of Hon. F. O. CHAMBERLAIN; and Cornelia, wife of George TUTTLE, a farmer of Branchport, Yates county.  Daniel was educated in the common schools of Yates county, and assisted on his father's farm until nearly of age, then went into the store of F. H. BRIGGS at Penn Yan.  In 1859 he went into business for himself at Penn Yan, the store he conducted being burned out in 1861.  Daniel was one of the first to answer the call for volunteers at the outbreak of the War, and in August, 1861, he enlisted in Co. A, 50th New York Engineers, Captain FORD commanding.  He served with this regiment three years and four months, and was in the great battles of Fredericksburg, Chickahominy, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, White Oak Church, Antietam, etc.  Mr. HULSE enlisted as a private and was promoted first in Washington to orderly sergeant, December 11, 1862; at the first Fredericksburg fight he was made second lieutenant, and made first lieutenant after the battle of the Wilderness.  He served as aid-de-camp on the staff of General BENHAM, and was appointed quartermaster of his old regiment, which position he held until mustered out of service.  He returned to Penn Yan, and after spending one year as an oil speculator in Oil City, Pa., he came to Canandaigua, and for a year conducted the Rushville stage route, then went into the hotel business, afterward the grocery business, and in June, 1879, he went into the post-office as clerk under F. O. CHAMBERLAIN.  In 1880 he was made deputy postmaster, and has held that office continuously ever since.  He is serving his third year as commander of Albert H. Murray Post G. A. R., No. 162, is trustee of the village, and member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, F. & A. M.; also a member of the A. O. U. W.  Mr. HULSE married in 1860, Marietta HOPKINS, of Penn Yan, and they have four children: Ferdinand G., a telegraph operator; Harry E., an operator; M. Mae, and William Youngs, a student.  Mr. HULSE is a Democrat.  He has served five years as a fireman, a part of the time assistant foreman of Steamer Company No. 1, and was sergeant of the 25th Separate Company for five years, receiving an honorable discharge.

 

 HUMPHREY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 83   

HUMPHREY, W. F., Geneva, a native of Mississippi, a son of R. J. (editor and proprietor of the Poultney (Vt.) Journal,) was born in 1856.  He served his time at the printer's trade in Poultney, then completed his preparatory course at Troy Conference Academy and entered Hobart College, from which he was graduated in ' 82.  He was assistant editor of the Geneva Gazette one year, and subsequently held the same position on the Geneva Courier two years.  In 1885 he engaged in the printing business in Geneva in a small way.  This enterprise developed rapidly, until now he has one of the largest and best equipped offices in Central New York.  He has added a complete book-bindery, and employs thirty hands or more.  He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, Chapter and Commandery in Geneva, of Damascus Temple A. A. O. N. M. S., and of Geneva Lodge No. 231 K. of P.  Mr. HUMPHREY married Ida F. GOFF in 1881, and they have one son, Robert Elroy.  

HUMPHREY    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 303

HUMPHREY, Ira E., Victor, was born in Victor, October 31, 1818.  He was educated in the public schools, and went with his parents to Indiana when he was 19 years old.  April 1, 1854, he married Betsey D., daughter of Newton and Eliza CLARK of Wardsboro, Vt., and they had ten children: Florence died at the age of 7 years, nine survive: Elizabeth A., who married Wilber NELSON of this town; Charlotte E., who is a teacher and resides at home; Mary A., Helen H., Harriet B., all reside with their parents; Luman A., who is the farmer at home; Otis L. is a produce dealer residing at Honeoye Falls, Monroe county; Charles S. is a grocer in Canandaigua; and Ira E. is a commission broker in Rochester.  Mr. HUMPHREY's father, Luman, was born in Connecticut, June 22, 1786, and came to this State when a young man.  February 23, 1815, he married Philena DRYER, formerly of Vermont, and they had five children that grew to maturity: Charlotte D., now of Oregon; Ira E., Ursula A., who resides at the old home at Orland, Ind.; Otis M., who is a physician in Minneapolis; Kezia, who died November 30, 1848, at Orland, Ind.  His father died January 30, 1841, at Orland, Ind., and his mother September 10, 1860, at the same place.  Mrs. HUMPHREY's father, Newton CLARK, was born at Newfane, Vt., and married Eliza MAHAN, who was born in West Boyleston, Mass.  They had 9 children: Fontana, Betsey B., Eliza A., Osmer N., Charles S., Amelia A., Adeline V., William, and Nancy.  The family are all members of the M. E. church.  The ancestors of the family are English on both sides.

 

HUMPHREY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 310

HUMPHREY, Charles S., Canandaigua, was born in Victor, August 19, 1864, a son of I. Elmon HUMPHREY, a farmer of that town, who was also a native of Victor, born October 29, 1818.  He was a son of Lewman HUMPHREY, one of the early settlers of the county.  The father of subject married at about 34,  Betsey D. CLARK, a native of Vermont, by whom he had 10 children, all living but one.  Charles S., the third son, was educated at Victor Union School, and took a course in the Rochester Business College.  He then worked at farming until of age.  In 1886 he came to Canandaigua, where he was employed in the Spangle & Kinde clothing store, with which company he remained five years.  In 1891 he went into partnership with C. R. SIMMONS, and they opened a grocery store where A. L. HIGLEY was formerly.  They have built up a fine trade, and are now one of the leading firms of the village in their line.  Mr. HUMPHREY is a member of the K. O. T. M., Canandaigua Lodge, No. 168.

 

 

HUNN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 84   

 

HUNN, Nathan S., Canandaigua, was born on a farm in Canandaigua, now occupied by his son, April 20, 1828.  His grandfather, Rev. Zadock HUNN, was a native of Berkshire, Mass., and came to this section in 1795. He, in company with Rev. John RALPH, organized the Congregational Society of Canandaigua.  He married in Massachusetts Mary MORTON, and they had 5 children, of whom James G. was the oldest son.  He was born in 1781 in Massachusetts, and since the age of 14 made this farm his home.  At the death of his father James assumed the management of the farm.  He married Eliza GILLETTE, also of Massachusetts, and of their 11 children, two survive: Thomas, of Bristol, and George, of Gainesville, Wyoming county.  Nathan S. was the youngest son.  His whole life was spent on the farm, which has now been in the possession of the family almost a century.  Mr. HUNN has erected on it a beautiful residence, with fine barns, etc.  He was a man of excellent management, and after the death of his father increased the farm from 150 to 350 acres.  He was an upright and honest man and citizen.  December 25, 1852, he married Marcia A., daughter of Sheldon and Roxana (HOLMES) SQUIRE.  They have had three children: James G., who died February 10, 1878, aged 24 years; Eliza A., wife of William H. PIERCE, a farmer of Canandaigua; and Frank S., who conducts the homestead farm.  Nathan S. died October 26, 1879, mourned by all who knew him.  Frank S. was born August 3, 1863.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and took up farming for a living.  He with his parents and sister united with the First Universalist Church of Bristol in 1877.  He is a young man of character, temperate, virtuous and honest in all his dealings.  February 5, 1885, he married Ollie B. TOTMAN, of Wisconsin, who died December 23, 1888.  He remained single over 4 years, when on the 4th of April, 1893, he married Lida L. MONAGLE, of New York.

 

HUNN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 306 - 307

HUNN, Thomas M., Bristol, is a native of Canandaigua, born August 28, 1822, and a son of James G., a son of Rev. Zadoc HUNN.  The first representatives of the family in America were the great-grandfather of Thomas M., who was a farmer, one brother who was a minister, and one a doctor.  Rev. Zadoc HUNN was a native of Becket, Conn., and was reared on a farm until 16 years of age.  He was educated for the ministry and took a classical and a theological course in Yale College.  He then spent seven years as teacher in that college, Noah WEBSTER being one of his pupils.  He married Mary MORTON, a native of Becket, Conn., and a daughter of Thomas MORTON, a native of Scotland, who came to America for George III, and liking the country made his home at Becket, Conn., where he died.  The family are related to Levi P. MORTON.  Mr. HUNN and wife had three sons and three daughters: Thomas M., James C., Alexander Z., Rebecca, Annie and Lorena.  Rev. Zadoc went to Canandaigua in 17--, and was the second family to settle there.  He organized the Congregational church of Bristol, of which he was pastor many years.  James G. HUNN was a native of Becket, Conn., and went to Canandaigua with his parents, where he married Eliza GILLETT, a native of Dighton, Mass., and a daughter of Thomas and Laura (JONES) GILLETT.  He died May 22, 1859.  Thomas M. was educated in Canandaigua Academy and at the Lyceum at Geneva.  In 1848 he married Fannie P. GREGG of Bristol, born November 15, 1821, a daughter of Benjamin GREGG, a son of John GREGG, a native of England, who came to America during the Revolutionary War, who fought some time with the British and then joined the Americans.  Mr. HUNN and wife have had five children: James, Mary, Alexander Z., Benjamin G., and Emma E.  James was born in 1848 and educated in Canandaigua Academy and in Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  He married Malissa MACK, by whom he had three children.  He moved to Kansas, where he and the children died.  Mrs. HUNN returned to Bristol, where her death occurred February 4, 1878.  Mary was born August 17, 1851, and died at the age of 9 years.  Alexander D., born December 26, 1854, married Myra A. DEND of Canandaigua, daughter of George M. and Kezia L. (LUCAS) DEND of Canandaigua.  Alexander and his wife have one child, Fannie V., born in July, 1892.  Benjamin G. was born September 7, 1861, and died October 30, 1883.  Emma E. was born July 22, 1864, educated in Canandaigua Academy, and is the wife of Ruel REED of Bristol.  At the age of 26 years, our subject came to Bristol and purchased 100 acres, and there for 35 years followed farming.  He sold this farm, and in 1872 came to Bristol Center and purchased 45 acres, which he now owns.  He has since followed hop growing and general farming.  He is a republican and has been commissioner of highways three years.  He is a member of the Universalist Society of Bristol.

 

 

HUNT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 224 � 225 

HUNT, William H., Phelps, was born in the city of Syracuse, October 25, 1857, the oldest of three children of William and Emma (FEATHERSTON) HUNT, both of whom were born in England.  Mr. HUNT came to this country when about 25 years of age, to join his elder brothers, who were already established in Syracuse.  The family moved to Phelps in the spring of 1858 and have since remained here.  William H. was married January 4, 1882, to Carrie J., daughter of Andrew J. and Harriet (WILCOX) HUMPHREY of Phelps.  The grandfather was Hugh HUMPHREY of Phelps, and his father was Oliver HUMPHREY, one of the early settlers of this locality.  They have one son, Harold HUNT.  Mr. HUNT has been for ten years on the farm which he now occupies, which he uses largely as a grain farm.

 

 

HUNT

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 62 � 63 

Practically all of the HUNTS in America, are of English descent, and a family of this name coming from Ireland is rarely to be met with.  Those about to be mentioned, however, are the exception, and are numbered among the great mass of their countrymen who, while preserving their identity to a greater or less extent, have become one of the important component parts of the American people. 

Among the sturdy Irishmen who were compelled by famine and oppression to emigrate to the United States prior to 1850, was William HUNT, a native of Queens county.  Instead of remaining for any great length of time in a large center of people he wisely sought a home in the agricultural districts and settling in Geneseo, Livingston county, NY, he found ample opportunity for the exercise of his industry and thrift.  He married Johanna CONROY, also a native of Ireland.  Children: John F., a resident of Rochester, NY; Thomas R., who also is residing in that city; Charles J.; Mary, married Patrick LANDERS; Johanna, died November 4, 1898; and William J., whose sketch follows.  All, received the advantages of a good education and careful moral training. 

William J., a son of William and Johanna HUNT, was born in Geneseo, NY, August 4, 1869.  He pursued his preliminary studies at district school No. 3, in his native town, and attended for three years the Geneseo Normal School.  At the age of 21, he engaged in farming during the summer season, devoting his winters to teaching school, and he was thus employed for about 5 years.  In 1894 he was appointed supervisor of the Craig Colony for Epileptics at Sonyea, Livingston Co., NY, after passing the competitive civil service examination and he continued to serve in that capacity with marked ability until 1901, when he resigned.  From the latter year to the present time, he has been actively engaged in the life insurance business in Geneva, NY, representing some of the most prominent companies and securing a large number of policy holders in that locality.  As a businessman and public official, Mr. HUNT has won an enviable reputation for his honesty and efficiency and is highly esteemed by his fellow citizens.  He is secretary of the general board of education, was appointed a member of the purchasing committee under the administration of Mayor ROSE and reappointed by Mayor O�MALLEY, and has earnestly endeavored to protect and forward the interests of the municipality.  As the Democratic candidate for the assembly, he made a gallant fight in a district which is strongly republican, and he succeeded in cutting down the majority of Eugene BURNETT, his opponent, to very small figures.  He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.  He attends St. Stephen�s Roman Catholic Church.

June 16, 1897, Mr. HUNT married at Mount Morris, NY, Miss Katherine B. HANNON, of Moscow, NY, daughter of Patrick and Mary HANNON.  Mr. and Mrs. HUNT have one son, Joseph, born November 7, 1898. 

 

HUNTLY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 85    

HUNTLY, Austin C., Canandaigua, was born near Cheshire, October 30, 1852, a son of Elias and Polly (HUTCHENS) HUNTLY.   Rufus HUNTLY came from Massachusetts in 1811, locating in Canandaigua.  He had 8 children, and finally moved to Ohio, where he died in 1860.  Elias married in 1824 Annie AUSTIN, who died December 12, 1850, leaving one son, Ralph L., who died August 23, 1863, aged 36 years.  Mr. HUNTLY married again, May 6, 1851, Polly, daughter of John and Catharine (WAGER) HUTCHENS, and they had one child, Austin C.  He was educated in the Canandaigua Academy, and at the death of his father, November 27, 1866, took charge of the farm.  In 1889 he was elected on the republican ticket commissioner of highways, and re-elected in 1893.  Mr. HUNTLY is a trustee of the Union Church in Cheshire.  He married in 1871 Frances M., daughter of C. L. RANDALL, of South Bristol, and they have two children, Nellie M., and Lois A.

 

 

HUTCHENS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 87  

HUTCHENS, Hiram L., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, April 15, 1839, a son of Henry HUTCHENS, who was a native of Yates county, born in Jerusalem in 1816, who came to Canandaigua in 1830, and bought a farm near Cheshire.  He married Polly LIVERMORE of this town, by whom he had 7 children, one died in infancy, and the others being Floyd and Nodiah, farmers; Sarah, wife of Enos BOOTH; Dr. John HUTCHENS, of Cheshire; Charles, a carpenter; and Hiram L.  Henry HUTCHENS died November 19, 1889, and his wife is still living at75 years of age.  Hiram L. was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and studied law one season with Edwin HICKS.  In the fall of 1862 he enlisted with the 148h New York Volunteers, but was soon after transferred to the Quartermaster's department and was chief clerk of the Second Division of the 18th Army Corps.  He was afterwards connected with the 25h Corps.  After the taking of Richmond he was located in that city, where he had charge of stores that issued rations to the city's destitute.  He was mustered out June 22, 1865, under general orders.  In 1866 he located in the 8th District of Virginia in charge of the Freedman's Bureau, where he remained but one season, when he returned to Canandaigua and engaged in mercantile business, which he has since followed.  He now conducts a music store on Main street and carries a full line of musical instruments and sewing machines.  He married in December, 1859, Mary A. TOWNSEND, of Canandaigua, by whom he has four children:  William C., a manufacturer of gloves and mittens at Johnstown; Clara, wife of Royal R. SCOTT, a lawyer of Canandaigua; Frank T., an artist of New York, and Floyd, of J. Levy's store, who is a republican, a Mason, and is now serving his third year as master of the Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294; also a member of Excelsior Chapter, No. 164, R. A. M., and its present high priest; also a member of the K. of P., and of the G. A. R.

 

 

 

HUTCHENS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 97

HUTCHENS, M. D., John, Canandaigua, was born on a farm on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake, March 16, 1849, a son of Henry and Polly (LIVERMORE) HUTCHENS.  Here his boyhood was spent, and he was educated in the common schools.  His classical education was obtained at Canandaigua Academy under Prof. N. T. CLARKE.  In the fall of 1867 he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, where he spent one term, then entered the Medical Department of the University of Buffalo, from which he graduated in February, 1871.  He immediately began practice in Cheshire, which practice rapidly grew, and in connection with this he established in 1873 a drug store, which he conducted till 1888.  Dr. HUTCHENS is a member of the Ontario Medical Society, and in May, 1879, he was appointed postmaster of this village, which office he resigned in November, 1892.  In 1870 he married Luella, daughter of James E. CHASE of Canandaigua, and they had four children, two of whom are living: Fred, a student of the School of Pharmacy of Buffalo, and Julia L.  Anna died in July, 1890, aged 13 years, and Gordon, an infant, died in November, 1890.  Mrs. HUTCHENS died November 22, 1889.

 

HUTCHENS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 303

HUTCHENS, Floyd M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, December 5, 1840, a son of Henry and Polly (LIVERMORE) HUTCHENS.  Henry was the oldest son of John, and was born in 1816 in Italy, Yates county.  Mr. HUTCHENS was an enthusiastic Abolitionist, a republican and a member of the church.  He married, when about 20 years of age, Polly, daughter of John LIVERMORE of Canandaigua; Nodiah, of Cheshire; Sarah, wife of E. M. BOOTH of Cheshire; Dr. John, of Cheshire; Charles, a merchant of Cheshire; and Floyd M.  The latter was educated in the common schools, and first bought a farm in 1865 which he owned some time, and in 1867 bought the farm of 100 acres where he now lives.  He married in January, 1864, Laura M., daughter of Warren BROWN of Canandaigua, and they had two children, Sarah F., wife of George S. MALLORY of Canandaigua; and Warren S., a student of Canandaigua Academy.  

 

HUTCHENS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 303 - 304

HUTCHENS, John W., Canandaigua, was born in Jerusalem, Yates county, October 7, 1827.  Charles, the grandfather, had five children of whom John, the father of our subject, was the second son, and was born in 1794.  He came to Canandaigua in 1832.  He resided in various places and died on the place occupied by Charles PARSHALL in Cheshire, October 5, 1860.  He left 9 children, six of whom are living.  John W., our subject, was the third son.  He always made the town his home.  He was educated in the common schools, and after leaving school he learned carpentry, a trade he has always followed.  He built a great many of the private residences of this town, and also the Union church at Cheshire.  In 1875 he bought a part of the J. L. JOHNSON farm, on which he lived until 1892 when he built a cottage on the lake shore where he now resides.  Mr. HUTCHENS has always taken an active interest in politics, and is a Democrat, but has never aspired to public office.  He married February 14, 1860, Mary L., daughter of Reuben and Sally (PERRY) SANDS.

 

 

 

HUTCHENS, HENRY 

History of Ontario Co.& Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 455 - 456

Henry HUTCHENS, grandfather of Nodiah E. HUTCHENS, was born in Canandaigua, where he was engaged in farming throughout his life. He was a staunch supporter of the republican party and a member of the Baptist church. He married Polly U. LIVERMORE. Children: 1. Hiram L, deceased; 2. Floyd, deceased; 3. Nodiah; 4. John; 5. Sarah, deceased; 6. Charles H., see forward; 7. Amanda, died in childhood.

Charles H., fifth son and sixth child of Henry and Polly U. (LIVERMORE) HUTCHENS, was born in Canandaigua. He was a carriage builder and carpenter, and during the last 12 years of his residence in Canandaigua he was also engaged in the piano business. In 1905 he removed to Bradford, Pennsylvania, and one year later to Olean, New York, where he associated himself in business with his son, Henry W., under the firm name of C. H. Hutchens & Son. He affiliates with the republican party and for years served as town committeeman. He is a member of the Baptist church. He married at Geneva, New York, July 3, 1872, Alice Mary, daughter of William and Mary CORNER, the former English and the latter, Irish. Children: 1. Nodiah E., see forward; 2. Claude L., August 13, 1876; 3. Henry W., born November 20, 1878.

Nodiah E., eldest child of Charles H. and Alice Mary (CORNER) HUTCHENS, was born in Canandaigua, Ontario county, New York, April 12, 1874. He was a student at Canandaigua Academy, after which he took up the study of law and was admitted to practice, November 1896. In March of that year he became the confidential secretary of the Hon. Justice William H. ADAMS, an office he filled until the death of Mr. ADAMS. While he was a member of the fourth appellate division of the supreme court, he served as consultation clerk in the same court from the creation of the office in March 1904, until obligated to resign these duties in 1907 by reason of impaired health and the imperative demands of his private practice. From that time until July 1, 1911, he devoted his entire time and attention to the necessities of his private practice, making a specialty of industrial corporation law, in which he is an acknowledged authority. At the latter date he retired from private practice, becoming a stockholder in the Rectigraph Company, in which he is president and general counsel; has been serving the company as its general counsel for nearly three years and it is his intention, in addition to the general oversight of the commercial side of the company, to continue his services as such. This company is manufacturing and distributing photographic machines. He has been an earnest supporter of the Republican party but has never aspired to holding public offices. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church at Canandaigua and his fraternal and club affiliations are as follows: Canandaigua Lodge; Free and Accepted Masons; Rochester Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite; Damascus Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Rochester; at the present time he is a senior warden; Rochester Lodge of Perfection, Scottish Rite; was formerly captain of the guard, Rochester Chapter, Rose Croix; Columbia Rifle Club; Rochester Yacht Club; Masonic Club of Rochester; Rochester Auto Club; Society of Medical Jurisprudence of New York City; Rochester Chamber of Commerce; Rochester Bar Association; New York State Bar Association.

Mr. HUTCHENS marries at Canandaigua, September 1, 1897, Jane Lightfoot born in Canandaigua, February 8, 1873, daughter of Robert and Sarah (LIGHTFOOT) WILLSON, the former a builder. They had one other child, Elizabeth Mary. Children of Mr. and Mrs. HUTCHENS: Sara Elizabeth, born May 1, 1900; and Robert Charles, born September 9, 1908.

 

 

HUTCHINSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893,  pg. 81

 

HUTCHINSON, Joseph, Geneva, was born in Aldby, Cumberland county, England, March 7, 1815.  He was educated in their common and high schools, was a farmer and came to the United States in 1836.  He took passage in the American ship Eagle, which was shipwrecked on a sand bar near Sable Island.  The crew and passengers constructed a raft by which they were carried safe on the island.  The British government had Captain DARBY with schooner and men in that vicinity.  He dispatched the schooner to Halifax and a ship was sent to rescue them, after they had been there 23 days.  They were taken to Halifax and from there to the United States.  Mr. HUTCHINSON located near Geneva and has resided there and in the vicinity ever since.  He has married twice, first on November 1, 1848, Mary TUCKER of Geneva.  They had four children: William, Charles, Sarah and Henry (who died in infancy).  Mrs. HUTCHINSON died in 1854.  For his second wife, in 1856 he married Caroline EDINGTON of Seneca (now Geneva).  They had four children: George, Ann, Grant and Joseph.  Sarah, of the first marriage, married Edward BERRYMAN of Seneca county, and has two sons, Frank and Nestor BERRYMAN.  Mr. HUTCHINSON served as supervisor in the eventful years of 1861-1862, and when he resided in the village he was trustee; was also overseer of the poor and highway commissioner nine years.  Mr. and Mrs. BERRYMAN reside on the old home with Mr. and Mrs. HUTCHINSON.

 

HUTCHINSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 243 

HUTCHINSON, Jonathan, Seneca, was born in Cumberland county, England, January 18, 1821, and went to the West Indies in his 16th year to learn the sugar cane planting business, where he remained eighteen years.  He was overseer many years and manager of a sugar plantation six years.  In 1854 he came to the United States and became a farmer.  He resides with his brother, William, who was also born at the old home in England August 5, 1831, and came to the United States with his parents in 1838.  He is a farmer with his brother, Jonathan.  February 28, 1870, he married Jenette RUDE, of this town, and they have four children: Fannie J., Frank H., Celia and J. Eugene.  Mr. HUTCHINSON's father, Ralph, was born at the old home, and married Jane FALOWFIELD, of his native place.  They had 11 children and came to the United States in 1838.  The family spent a year in Indiana, where he died of an epidemic in that locality.  Mrs. HUTCHINSON's father, Jonathan RUDE, was born in Steuben county in 1809.  He married Harriet C. STORG, of Gorham, this county, and they had 8 children.  Her father died in 1882 and her mother in 1883.  The HUTCHINSONS are of English descent and birth.  The RUDES descended from the Scotch.

 

HUTCHINSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 307

HUTCHINSON, George H., Geneva, was born in Geneva, July 25, 1861.  He was educated in the public schools and Geneva Commercial College, and is a machinist.  November 25, 1884, he married Carrie L., daughter of George S. and Sarah A. CUMMINGS of Geneva, formerly of Dedham, Mass., and they have two children: A. Mabel and Arthur E.    Mrs. HUTCHINSON's father was born in New Hampshire about the year of 1831, and married Sarah A. EMERY.  They had three children: Arthur E., who died in infancy; Carrie L. and Amy E.  Mrs. HUTCHINSON makes a specialty of art needle work and all kinds of fancy embroideries.  

 

 

HYDE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 85  

HYDE, Caleb Briggs, Canadice, was born in Canadice, November 30, 1829.  His father, James, was born in New Jersey in 1785 and died in 1855.  The wife of the latter was Ann GRANT, whose father was an Englishman.  James moved first to Cayuga county, where he lived 12 years, then in 1824 came to Canadice and settled where Caleb B. now lives.  Of his 11 children three now survive.  John went west, and in 1849 took the overland route to California, the company consisting of 14 wagons driven by ox teams.  James F. and Warner L. reside at Centerfield.  Caleb B. was educated in the public schools and has always been a farmer.  In 1856 he married Martha PARTRIDGE, of Prattsburg, Steuben county, who bore him three children: Ervie L., Lewis J., and Arthur M.  The latter is traveling in the west.  Mr. HYDE married second, in 1884, Lucina E. BUTLER, whose father was from Pennsylvania, and her mother from New Jersey.  Mr. HYDE has been commissioner of highways 6 years, and supervisor in 1880-81-90-91.  He is a republican and a Methodist.  (buried in Canadice Corners)

 

INGRAHAM  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 312 - 313

INGRAHAM, Avery, Canandaigua, was born in South Bristol, May 6, 1842, a son of Benjamin a farmer of that town.  His early days were spent in the town of his birth, and at Naples where he attended the common schools and select school, the latter kept by Sophia WATKINS; and also under Will W. CLARK, a colonel of the 85th Regiment, and ex-sheriff of the county.  November 6, he enlisted in the 8th N. Y. Regiment, and served in the Army of the Potomac until next spring, when he was discharged on account of sickness.  On his return home he engaged in farming, which he has since followed.  In 1865 he went west and spent one year in the State of Iowa, where he was engaged in farming.  In 1891 he was elected on the republican ticket for sheriff over George BOOTH chief of police, after which he removed his family to this village, and is now living in the jail building.  He has also been supervisor three terms, and overseer of the poor and assessor.  He married in 1867 Ann E. YAW of Naples, and they have four children: Annie, wife of Wallace M. REED, the under sheriff; Bessie, Grace and Carl.

 

 

ISENHOUR  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 101 

ISENHOUR, Newman, Hopewell, was born in Hopewell in 1841, a son of Jacob, who was a son of Leonard, a native of Pennsylvania, who came to Seneca in 1807.  He built the Flint grist-mill, was a soldier in the Revolution, and was taken prisoner at Jersey City.  He died in 1816.  Jacob ISENHOUR, a native of Pennsylvania, was born October 28, 1796.  His wife was Mary, daughter of Elisha NEWMAN, an early settler of Seneca, and they have had 3 sons and 3 daughters.  He died in Hopewell, September 26, 1875, and his wife August 3, 1882.  Newman ISENHOUR has been a farmer, except ten years, during which he manufactured headings and staves.  In 1864 he married Cornelia BRIZZEE, born in Seneca in 1845, a daughter of Cornelius and Susan (THATCHER) BRIZZEE, who had two sons and two daughters.  The grandparents of Cornelia were Cornelius and Sarah (VAN BENSCHOTEN) BRIZZEE, early settlers of Hopewell.  Mr. ISENHOUR and wife had two children: M. Newman, who resides in Elkhart, Ind.; and Maud E., at home.  Mr. ISENHOUR is a republican.  

 

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]