Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
J - K

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

JACKSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 313

JACKSON, S(idney)  D., Clifton Springs, was born in Havana, June 8, 1833.  He was educated in the schools of Ontario county, and Flushing Academy, Long Island.  His father, George W. JACKSON, conducted a mercantile concern with which S. D. JACKSON, was identified for some time.  He afterward went to St. Paul, Minn., and engaged in real estate transactions.  After eight years there he returned to Ontario county, where he has since been engaged in agricultural pursuits and in banking.  He owns considerable real estate, etc., besides being the senior member of the banking firm of Jackson & Llewellyn at Clifton Springs, NY.  Mr. JACKSON has served as supervisor of this town from 1875 to 1876.  His family consists of a wife and one child.  (wife, Emma C. GRANGER & dau Adelaide)

 

JAMIESON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 20 

David JAMIESON, of an old Scotch family, resided in Duferline, Scotland.  He married Anne STUART, who was a cousin of Prince Charles, of the royal Stuart line.  Children, born at Dumferline: 1.  David, mentioned below;  2.  Daniel, August 2, 1802;  3.  Christine, August 5, 1804;  4.  Annie, August 14, 1806;  5.  Francis, June 3, 1808;  6.  Christine, June 21, 1810;  7.  William, September 14, 1812;  8.  William, July 11, 1815. 

David, son of David  and Anne (STUART) JAMIESON, was born at Dumferline, Scotland on September 19, 1800; married at Collinton, Scotland on March 17, 1828 to Margaret MUIR (Parish Church records at High Edinburgh, Scotland, Rev. Lewis BALFOUR, minister).  Margaret MUIR was born in Edinburgh or Glasgow, 1809-11, and died March 1870.  David died in 1886 in Canada.  He came to America when a young man and in 1834 and after living a short time in New York City, removed to Toronto, thence to Yorkville, Canada.  Children: 1. David, born in Scotland;  2.  Jane, born in New York City, October 7, 1834, died in Barrie, Canada, September 11, 1910 and married John JOHNSTON 2nd;  3. Daniel;  4. Francis;  5. John;  6. James.   

JEFFREY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 101

JEFFREY, Charles, Farmington, was born in Warwickshire, England, November 29, 1816, and came to the United States in 1833, sailing from Liverpool, May 14, landing in New York July 6, remained in the city one year, coming to Farmington in 1834.  February 1, 1843, he married Mary, daughter of Samuel and Hannah MASON of this town.  She died in 1892.  They had two children: Hannah, who married Henry HERENDEEN, of Macedon; he died in 1873; and Mary, who married James CARSON of this town and have three children: C. Edward, Sidney J. and Henry H.  This farm owned by Mr. JEFFREY was bought by Samuel MASON from Nathan COMSTOCK, who purchased it of Phelps and Gorham in 1789.  Samuel MASON was born in Swansea, RI, in 1772, and married in 1797, Hannah HERENDEEN, at Adams, Mass.  They came here in 1801.  

 

JEUDEVINE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 102 - 103

JEUDEVINE, Albert, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, June 29, 1844, a grandson of William, the first of the family to settle in this country, coming from Charleston with a three horse team.  He located in the town of Richmond in 1805, where he took up a farm.  He lived there until about 1821, when he moved to Canandaigua.  The family is of French extraction.  William had five children: Henry, William, Luther, Patience and Ann.  William, the second son, father of our subject, was born in Charleston, November 5, 1800, and came with his parents to this State.  He went to Geneva about 1817, and there he worked at his trade until the time his father came to Canandaigua, when he located here and in 1845 bought a farm of 62 acres in the village, where he died June 28, 1873.  He was a man of prominence in the town and held many offices.  For 9 years he was a trustee of the village and assessor of the town, plank road inspector, and commissioner of highways.  He was a Whig and a Republican.  Besides the old homestead farm, he owned the Wilson farm of 80 acres in Canandaigua, besides land in Michigan and Ohio.  He married Sarah MASCHO, and they had 7 children, 5 of whom are living: Sarah M., Hannah and Frank live on the old homestead, and Charles G. and Albert.  William, the oldest son, died August 4, 1891, aged 66 years.  Harriet, the oldest daughter, died June 30, 1889, aged 62 years.  Albert was educated in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. CLARKE, and took up farming.  His first purchase was his present farm in Canandaigua, where he has erected a beautiful residence and new buildings.  He married in 1875 Emma, daughter of Stephen A. CODDING, of Bristol Centre, and they have four children: Frank H., Mary A., Albert L., and Sarah M.  

 

 

JEWETT 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 494 � 496 

JEWETT, Harvey, M. D., was born in Langdon, NH, November 19, 1809.  He died at Canandaigua, NY, September 5, 1888.  His father was Eleazer JEWETT and his mother, Submit PORTER, both natives of Connecticut.  Dr. JEWETT was educated in the public schools of New Hampshire until he was 15 years old, when, upon the death of his mother, he took up his residence in the family of his eldest brother, Dr. Lester JEWETT, in Seneca, Ontario county, New York.  After further study under the supervision of his brother, he entered Hobart College, at Geneva, NY, riding on horseback from Seneca to that institution, a distance of about 10 miles, and returning each day.  He remained in college a year and a half, when he assumed the duties of a school teacher in Ontario county, and at the same time prosecuted the study of medicine with his brother.  He attended lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Fairfield, Herkimer county, New York, in 1831-32, and received a diploma from that school in the same year.

Dr. JEWETT began the practice of his calling immediately upon graduating, at Allen's Hill, in Ontario county.  He subsequently received the honorary degree of Doctor of Medicine from the Buffalo Medical College in 1851, and was appointed a curator of that institution, which position he held to the time of his death.

In 1835 he was married to Mary M. DIXSON, daughter of John DIXSON, of Richmond, Ontario county, who died September 30, 1878.  The children born in this marriage were Mary M., who died in 1864, aged 23 years; Alice A., who survived her father three years and died March 14, 1891, and John H., who at present resides at Canandaigua and succeeds to the practice of his father.

After an extensive and laborious country practice at Allen's Hill for 20 years, Dr. JEWETT took up his residence in Canandaigua in 1852, where he passed the remaining years of his life.

Dr. JEWETT was for 27 years consulting physician at Brigham Hall, a private asylum for the insane at Canandaigua, and for several months following the tragic and untimely death of its superintendent, Dr. George COOK, by the hands of a patient, he had sole charge of that establishment.  He was also, at the time of his death and for a series of years previously, one of the trustees of the Canandaigua Academy and of the Ontario Orphan Asylum.  He served for a long time as physician to the latter institution, to be succeeded, upon his resignation of that office, by his son, in the same capacity.  He contributed to the organization of the Wood Library Association, in Canandaigua, and was chosen its second president.  He was elected to the presidency of the Medical Association of Western New York in 1875, and to the Medical Society of the State of New York in 1882. 

The address of Dr. JEWETT before the latter society at its 77th annual meeting in Albany, the 7th of February, 1883, entitled "Some of the Perils to Life from Preventable Diseases," was published in the Medical News of Philadelphia and afterwards in the transactions of the society, and elicited much favorable comment.

In 1853, in the Buffalo Medical Journal, Dr. JEWETT published an article on "The Influence of Tobacco in Producing Sciatica."

In the same year and in the same journal he recorded the second reported case of the cure of un-united fracture by subcutaneous perforation and drilling of the bone, after the method of Dr. BRAINARD, of Chicago. 

The transactions of the Medical Society of the State of New York for 1869 contained a paper by him on Apocynum Cannabinum in dropsical affections.   His success in the use of this drug by a special method drew the attention of the profession of the United States and brought letters on inquiry and corroboration from nearly every State in the Union.

Dr. JEWETT had a large and varied acquaintance with general surgery, and his operations were boldly performed and yielded more than the usual measure of success which attends that branch of practice.  In his earlier experience he devoted much attention to the operation for cataract, and if he had lived in a large city, with opportunities multiplying on his hands, it is probable that he would have drifted into an exclusive practice, in which his remarkable anatomical knowledge and manual dexterity would have advanced him to deserved prominence in that line.

Dr. JEWETT's tastes and senilities were of a gentle and refined order.  He loved the quiet walks of life rather than the ways of strife and variance.  His religious convictions, like his convictions on other subjects, were strong and abiding, and his daily deportment was an exemplification of the faith which he professed, which displayed good will to man in the loftiest as well as the lowliest illustration of that principle.

His end was as peaceful as his life.  On the evening of September 4, 1888, after a day of usual professional activity he retired to rest.  On the morning of September 5 his lifeless body was found in bed, the end having come without a struggle, but most unexpected to all.

 

JOHNSON

History of Ontario County, NY, Published 1878, pg. 237

Biography is read with interest, and its lessons are practically applied to the purpose of life.  Romance opens a wide field for invention, and the fertility of thought presents sudden vicissitudes, desirable but unattainable.  The events of history are beyond our application, and the difference is small between downright falsehood and useless truth.  The advantage of a biography on a level with the general surface of life is that it does not indicate a road to greatness, but shows how a life has been made long, useful and happy.   In accord with these thoughts is presented a brief record of George JOHNSON, son of Sylvester JOHNSON.

He first saw the light on July 19, 1823, upon the farm whereon his years have been passed.  The cultivation of the soil, ancient and honorable, has always been his occupation; and in turning the furrow, or reaping the crop, his labor has been pleasurable, as it has been his chosen work.

His father was a native of Massachusetts, but so many had removed to Ontario County, as so general had been the expression of satisfaction of emigrants, that he too, came out and settled in Bristol during the year 1814.  The father was not only a farmer, but an intelligent and successful one, and up to the age of 84, found pleasure and profit in tillage of his fields.  As the father, so the son; and in the lapse of years, George has approved himself one of the most enterprising and progressive farmers of Richmond township.  One does not increase his store honorably save by industry and frugality, and these excellencies may properly be accredited to Mr. JOHNSON.  He who selfishly withdraws himself to the seclusion of his own home and thoughts cares little for society and its claims, and can never win the public regard.  Such a person has no likeness to Mr. JOHNSON, who has earned general esteem by identifying himself with all the improvements of his township.  As an indication of acknowledged ability to adjudge value and set a fair estimate upon a real and personal property, it is stated that he is the present town's assessor, a position filled for six consecutive years with credit and ability.  An acknowledgement of a superintending providence and an attendance upon Divine worship are indicative of a reverential mind, and the way of such men is prospered.  Nothing gives more satisfaction to reasonable intelligence than to see merit rewarded and a well-ordered life made happy.  Mr. JOHNSON has long continued to be a regular attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church at Allen's Hill.  In politics a Republican, and withal a stanch friend of the Union, he saw the approach of the war-clouds wit sorrow, and when the blow was struck which went shivering to the hearts of the people he was aroused to a sense of individual exertion, and offered the best horse in his stables to the first man that would enlist.  The animal was promptly given to Jerry WILSON, by whom the promise was speedily demanded to be fulfilled.  54 years have already lost themselves in the past since Mr. JOHNSON began to be, and now, surrounded by all the comforts of a pleasant home, he may reasonably anticipate many coming years, fraught with an experience which, while blended with some bitter, may yet be known as enjoyable.  The occupations of life are varied and extensive, requiring minds apt in a special direction, and to preserve a soil fertile, to supply food for the million, to act an example of content, and to act well his part in the relation of the citizen and neighbor, is no small achievement, and such is the present life of Mr. JOHNSON.

 

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 98 - 99 

JOHNSON, John, Canandaigua, was born on his present farm in Canandaigua, August 19, 1823, a son of Robert, a native of Ireland, who came to this country in 1817.  He first located in Canada, where he spent a year, and then came to Canandaigua, where he bought a farm of 50 acres.  He married, in Canandaigua, Lovina THURSTON of Onondaga county, by whom he had one child, John.  The whole life of our subject has been spent on this farm.  He was educated in the common schools and has made a successful farmer, as well as one of the most popular men in the southern part of this town.  After the death of his father in 1864, he took charge of the farm which he has since increased to 122 acres.  He owns besides, a farm of 85 acres in Bristol.  He built a very comfortable and pretty residence with barns and outbuildings.  He has never taken an active interest in politics.  He married April 4, 1842, Rachael SANFORD of Canandaigua, by whom he had four children, three of whom survive: 1. Lovina, wife of Williams HICKS of Bristol; 2. Lyman D. of Cheshire, a contractor and builder; and  3. Herbert E., with a Rochester firm located in Naples.  Mrs. JOHNSON died October 31, 1855, and he married second, April 2, 1856, Mary E., daughter of Chauncey CURTISS, a native of Canandaigua; 4. Addie O., wife of Frank FOSTER, died September 12, 1889, aged 20 years; and Jennie A., wife of William JOHNSON of Cheshire.

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 99 

JOHNSON, John A., Canandaigua, March 11, 1859, a son of John and Mary (CURTISS) JOHNSON.  The early life of John A. was spent on the farm, and he was educated in the school at Naples and at Glenwood Institute, Mattewan, NJ.  He assisted his father on the farm and taught school winters until 24 years of age, when he bought 50 acres of land by the lake shore.  At the time there were no buildings on the place and only a small portion was under cultivation, but Mr. JOHNSON has built a beautiful cottage, a substantial and convenient barn and other buildings.  He has set out about 14,000 grape vines, divided among Concords, Delawares and Catawbas, and a few fancy vines.  The vineyard is most favorably situated, as by its location he is able to ripen his grapes early.  His Delawares are his most profitable variety.  In 1892 he cut from his vines about 50 tons of grapes and found a market for the grapes in Boston.  Mr. JOHNSON married, March 14, 1883, Ida A., daughter of George and Eliza (WARD) CURTISS of Cheshire, and they have one son, Stuart Le Roy JOHNSON, born December 25, 1883.  Mr. JOHNSON has never taken a great interest in politics.  He is a member of Canandaigua Grange.

 

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 100 

JOHNSON, Charles R., Canandaigua, was born on the farm where he now resides, February 22, 1848.  The earliest ancestor on the paternal side we find trace of is Ebenezer JOHNSON, who was born in Litchfield, Conn., in 1734.  He was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and had two sons also in that war, Ebenezer Butler and Rufus.  Ebenezer married Deborah SEELEY, daughter of Gideon SEELEY, a native of Westchester county, NY, who emigrated to Onondaga county.  Ebenezer B. was the father of three sons and a daughter: Isaac, Samuel, Rufus and Desin.  Rufus was born in 1760, and died in 1822.  He was the father of one son, Rennsselaer, who was born May 18, 1797.  He married Betsey CRAMER, and had one son, Russell Butler, who was born May 18, 1794, and married, February 20, 1817, Betsey SEELEY ELLIOTT, and they had 6 children. 

Seymour Van Rensselaer, father of our subject, was the second son.  He was born September 3, 1821.  Russell B. was the first to live in this county, coming here from Onondaga county in 1824, and settling on a farm in East Bloomfield, and in 1829 moved on a farm in Canandaigua, and in 1842 he bought a farm of 150 acres near Centerfield, which has since been in the hands of the family.  Russell B. was justice of the peace for 20 years, colonel of the State militia and temperance speaker.  Seymour V. R. was a man of good education and held many offices in the town.  He was justice of peace for 20 years and a man who had the confidence of all the people.  He married, May 12, 1844, Diana W., daughter of Japheth STILES, a native and farmer of this town, and had three children: Harriet A., married Homer A. DAVIS, a farmer of Canandaigua; Helen R. married Ralph M. SIMMONS, a farmer of this town; and Charles.   Seymour died September 16, 1865.  The whole life of our subject has been spent on the old homestead.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. N. T. CLARKE.  Mr. JOHNSON has always taken an active interest in the politics of his town, and has been the party leader of this section for many years.  In 1885 he was elected assessor of his town, and has held the office continually since, now serving his third time.  He married, January 7, 1873, Maggie FITZMORRIS, daughter of John FITZMORRIS, of East Bloomfield, and they are the parents of one daughter, Mary A. JOHNSON, now in her 15th year.  

 

JOHNSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 100 - 101

JOHNSON, William S., Canandaigua, was born on the old homestead, a mile south of Cheshire, September 3, 1862, the second son of John L. and Caroline (GILLETTE) JOHNSON.  His early life was spent on the farm and he was educated at Canandaigua Academy.  In 1885, at the death of his father, he succeeded to what was known as the GELDER farm on 266 acres, which he has since conducted.  He married in 1890, Jennie, daughter of John JOHNSON, of Academy, and they have one child, Julia E., who is in her second year.  

 

 

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 101

JOHNSON, C. H., Gorham, is a native of Canandaigua, born October 8, 1847.  When two years old he came to Gorham with his parents.  His mother died when subject was 7 years old, and he was reared by J. Wesley ARNOLD, of Gorham, until 16 years old, when he enlisted in Company C, 15th New York Cavalry, and served two years and six months.  He was in the battles of New Market, Winchester, and Fisher's Hill, was wounded at the latter place and sent to a hospital, where he remained until his discharge in December, 1865.  He returned to Canandaigua and learned the blacksmith's trade at which he worked for five years.  He then went to Gorham and followed his trade until 1883, when he established a hardware business under the name of C. H. Johnson & Co.  After four years he sold this.  Since 1889 Mr. JOHNSON has been postmaster at Gorham.  In 1875 he married Lillie, daughter of the late James M. PULVER.  Mr. JOHNSON is a republican, a member of the Rushville Lodge No. 377 F. & A. M., of the E. K. O. R., and of the G. A. R. at Gorham, and Sherrell Post No. 313, and has been commander one year.  

JOHNSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 101 - 102  

JOHNSON, Frank A., West Bloomfield, son of Leman A., was born in Cazenovia in 1839.  He has resided in Connecticut, Massachusetts and Michigan, and came to Miller's Corners in 1874, engaging in the mercantile business, and has kept a general store since.  He has been postmaster16 years.  He married in 1862 Cornelia MOREY, of Fenner, Madison county, and has two children: Clinton M., born in 1864, in business with his father, and Myrtie A.  

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 102

JOHNSON, Lewis M., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, May 1, 1856, a son of John L.  The first ancestor of this family was Lewis, grandfather of Lewis M.  He was a native of Monmouth county, NJ, and came to this county when about 35 years of age.  He had six children, one of whom survives, Phoebe, widow of Seymour N. GILLETTE, of Canandaigua.  John L., second son of Lewis, was born December 19, 1820, in Monmouth county, NJ, and came when a child with his parents to Gorham where they settled on a farm.  He was educated in the common schools and chose farming for a living.  His father first bought a farm about a mile south of Cheshire, where the family spent several years, and then for about 15 years lived on a farm west of Canandaigua.  In 1846 John L. bought a farm below Cheshire, where he lived until 1876.  In 1878 he moved to Cheshire and lived a retired life, dying here January 14, 1885.  He was a very prominent farmer and took much interest in politics, though never an office seeker.  His principal interest was in his home and his farm, and at his death he owned a large quantity of real estate.  He (John L.) married, November 19, 1844, Celestia C., daughter of Milton GILLETTE, of Canandaigua, who was a native of Connecticut.  Mr. JOHNSON had four children: 1. Helen S., the oldest, married Homer CHASE, of Canandaigua, October 10, 1866, and died October 16, 1883; 2. Julia E., married W. D. CRANDALL, of Canandaigua; 3. William S. is a farmer of Canandaigua.  The whole life of 4. Lewis M. has been spent in this town.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, Geneseo Normal School, and Eastman's Business College at Poughkeepsie.  He has devoted part of his life to farming, and at the death of his father succeeded to the management of the farm, residing on the homestead in Cheshire.  October 4, 1888, he married Carrie E., daughter of L. M. SPAULDING, a farmer of Canandaigua and a native of Gorham.  

 

JOHNSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 223

JOHNSON, George, Richmond, was born on the spot where he now resides in 1823.  His father, Sylvester, a native of Dighton, Mass., served as ship carpenter during the War of 1812, and afterwards came here with his wife, Ruth CHASE, who died soon after, leaving three children: James, Hiram, and Abbey.  He married second Beulah BUSH of East Bloomfield, by whom he had two children: Louise (deceased) and George.  The latter was educated at the district schools and at Allen's Hill under Professor RICE, and married in 1853 Emeline D. BAILEY of Somerset, Niagara county, who was born at Baptist Hill, in Bristol, in 1830.  They have had four children: Frank B., born in 1854, died in 1858; Carrie E., born in 1856, died in 1858; Jennie O., born April 11, 1859, wife of L. A. MITCHELL; and Emma C., born September 22, 1860, wife of A. N. STEWART of Livonia.  Mr. JOHNSON has a flock of three hundred Merino sheep and is engaged in mixed farming.  For the past 15 years he has bought large quantities of wool, and has been industrious and energetic.

 

JOHNSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 259

JOHNSON, George, Richmond, was born on the spot where he now resides in 1823.  His father, Sylvester, a native of Dighton, Mass., served as ship carpenter during the War of 1812, and afterwards came here with his wife, RUTH CHASE, who died soon after, leaving three children: James, Hiram, and Abbey.  He married second Beulah BUSH, of East Bloomfield, by whom he had two children, Louise, deceased, and George.  The latter was educated at the district schools and at Allen's Hill, under Prof. RICE, and married in 1853 Emeline D. BAILEY, of Somerset, Niagara county, who was born at Baptist Hill, in Bristol, in 1839.  They have had four children: Frank B., born in 1854, died in 1858; Carrie E., born in 1856, died in 1858; Jennie O., born April 11, 1859, wife of L. A. MITCHELL; and Emma C., born September 22, 1860, wife of A. N. STEWART, of Livonia.  Mr. JOHNSON has a flock of 300 Merino sheep and is engaged in mixed farming.  For the past 15 years he has bought large quantities of wool, and has been industrious and energetic. 

 

JOHNSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 312

JOHNSON, Lewis Mortimer, Canadice, was born in Conesus, Livingston county, June 8, 1837.  His father was George JOHNSON, born in Vermont, who came with his father, Luke, to Canadice, and settled on Ball Hill in an early day.  George married Joanna, daughter of William FULLER, who came here very early.  George and his wife had 13 children, eight sons and five daughters.  One brother of Lewis M., --- William---lives in Canadice, on Hemlock Lake.  Lewis M. was educated in the district schools and has always been a farmer.  He married in 1861, Chloe JACKMAN, daughter of Josiah and Luvia JACKMAN, and they have two sons: Burdett, born September 18, 1863, and Eugene B., born November 7, 1866.  The latter is now station and telegraph agent on the Erie railroad at Wallace, Steuben county, while Burdett is now residing home.  He is a natural mechanic, and a builder of boats.  Mr. JOHNSON is a republican and a supporter of the M. E. Church.  He owns 60 acres of land on the homestead farm, formerly known as the SHORT farm.

 

JOHNSON

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 21

Thomas JOHNSON, who has been prominently identified with the public affairs of Ontario county, New York, for many years, is descended form an old family of Ireland, his father having come to this country about the middle of the last century and located in Canandaigua, New York.

Thomas JOHNSON was born in county Derry, Ireland, January 10, 1856 and was very young when he came to this country. He was educated in the public schools of Canandaigua and Canandaigua Academy, and then entered upon his business career. He established himself in the lumber business in 1885, forming a partnership with William CROWLEY, and this business was successfully prosecuted for a period of about nine years. Mr. JOHNSON was then appointed superintendent of water works, an office he filled capably for another nine years, and since 1905, has given much of his time and attention to farming interests. He has been a staunch supporter of the republican party, was a member of the advisory board of the trustees of the village, and for the past eight years has held office as a street commissioner.

Mr. JOHNSON married (first) at Canandaigua, in June, 1890, Jane FLANNIGAN, of East Bloomfield, New York. They had one child: Grace E. He married (second), at Canandaigua, November 2, 1907, Ethel STEWART, of Toronto, Canada. Children: Ethel Stewart and Thomas Edward.

 

JOHNSTON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 99 - 100  

JOHNSTON, John, Geneva, was born in Scotland, April 11, 1791.  He came to the United States in 1821, and after traveling about and visiting various localities, he purchased a farm of 112 acres on the east side of Seneca Lake, three miles from Geneva.  To this place in 1822 Mr. JOHNSTON brought his family, and on the same farm he continued to reside until 1877, when he came to Geneva. Mr. JOHNSTON was deeply interested in every measure that tended to improve the condition or lighten the labors of the farming community of this country.  He was the first man to use the tile drawing system for improving low or marsh lands, and although he was frequently ridiculed by his neighbors, who said he was burying his money, he nevertheless was the pioneer of a system that afterward came into general use and proved of great benefit to the agriculturists of the whole country.  For this and his general devotion he was presented in 1859 with a valuable and finely fashioned silver water service, consisting of a pitcher and two goblets.  Mr. JOHNSTON was the inventor of the iron scoop-shovel, and was the first in this region to use a threshing machine, one of which he constructed and used on his own farm.  The first tile patterns were sent for and procured by him from Scotland.  Mr. JOHNSTON was a successful farmer, beginning with small means but increasing his lands as he was able to do through his earnings, until the homestead farm comprised 306 acres, all well stocked and in a fine state of cultivation, and he kept a flock of sheep,  1,000 in number, in Italy, Yates county, and brought them in the winter to his home farm.  In 1877 Mr. JOHNSTON and his daughters came to reside in Geneva, and here, in November, 1880, at the age of 89 years, he died.  His wife was killed by lightning in 1854.  

 

JOHNSTON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. II, pg. 19-20 

James JOHNSTON was of Scotch-Irish stock, born in 1813 in Ulster province, north of Ireland.  He had two brothers and two sisters.  He married Mary GRAHAM, also of Scotch descend, and born in the north of Ireland.  They were married in Kingston, Ontario, Canada in 1833.  JOHNSTON came to Ontario when a young man, and in 1843 settled at Barrie, Canada.  He was a stone mason, following the mason�s trade all of his active life.  Children: John, mentioned below; William born at Kingston in 1838; Robert born at Kingston in 1841; James B., born at Barrie, 1844; Thomas born at Barrie, 1847. 

John, son of James JOHNSTON, was born at Kingston, Ontario, Canada, March 29, 1834 and died May 12, 1909.  He was a farmer, a Conservative in politics and a Methodist in religion.  He married in Oro, March 13, 1861, Jane JAMIESON, by Rev. J. C. SLATER.   Children:  1. Margaret, born January 10, 1862, died young.  2. Margaret Elizabeth born in Dalston, January 11, 1863, married at Minesing, April 18, 1883 to Harry WYLES of Grantham, Lincolnshire, England; their children: Annie WYLES, born at Minesing, February 24, 1884; Edith WYLES, May 18, 1886, died June 22, 1887; Ethel Jena WYLES, September 21, 1889; Florence Margaret WYLES (twin), June 3, 1894; John Lawrence WYLES (other twin); Constance Muriel WYLES, December 9, 1898.  3.  Mary Graham, at Minesing, January 6, 1865, married December 27, 1882 to Isaac SOMMERS and she died March 5, 1904.  Their children born at Minesing: William Henry SOMMERS, April 23, 1884; Archibald Jamieson SOMMERS, June 17, 1886; Walter Burton SOMMERS, June 6, 1888; Myrtle Belle SOMMERS, March 17, 1891; John Johnston SOMMERS, August 8, 1893; David Graham SOMMERS, September 1896; Herbert Allen SOMMERS, June 1899; Mary Graham Jean SOMMERS, July 26, 1901.  4.  William James, mentioned below.  5. Frances Jean, born October 13, 1868, a trained nurse in the Blackwell Island Hospital, New York city.  6.  Angeline Ann, October 1, 1870.  7.  Belvia May, August 24, 1872, married Albert GIBSON.   8. John Thomas, August 6, 1876, married Mary HAMILTON with one child, William S., born July 1907.   

Dr. William James JOHNSTON, son of John JOHNSTON, was born at Minesing, Canada, September 11, 1866.  He was educated in the public schools in Canada, and the Ontario Veterinary College, from which he graduated in 1889.  In the spring of 1889 he commenced to practice his profession at Tillsonburgh, Canada, and continued there until the spring of 1893, when he came to Geneva, New York.  From that time until 1905 he was in business alone and since then he has had Dr. Newell D. BACKUS as partner, and they have practiced at Geneva under the firm name of Johnston & Backus.  In politics he is a Republican.  He is a member of the Presbyterian church.   

He married December 8, 1891, at Tillsonburgh, Canada, Amy Elizabeth OSTRANDER, born September 29, 1865 at Ostrander, Oxford county, Canada, daughter of Henry and Margaret Ann (BRADY) OSTRANDER.  Her father was born May 29, 1816, died in 1892; married February 1841 to Margaret Ann BRADY, born in Dublin, Ireland on June 1, 1822 and died February 19, 1894.  Mr. OSTRANDER was a farmer by occupation; a Methodist in religion and a Conservative in politics, serving as postmaster for several years.  John OSTRANDER, grandfather of Mrs. JOHNSTON, was born in England and came to Canada when a young man; married there, Mary Jane COHOE, who was a native of New York state; resided at Gusyburg, Canada. 

Children of William James and Amy (OSTRANDER) JOHNSTON: 1. Hazel Belvia, born at Tillsonburgh, March 16, 1893.  2.  Lee, born at Geneva, NY, September 22, 1894.  3. Zayde, born at Geneva, September 23, 1897; 4. Reginald Graham, born June 28. 1899.

 

JONES    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 311 - 312

JONES, Leonard H., Bristol, a native of Bristol, born June 27, 1834, is a son of Elijah, whose father, Seth, was a native of Dighton, Mass.  He married a Miss BARROWS and had four children.  They came to Bristol and settled, and here Mrs. JONES died, and he married second Betsey ____, by whom he had 9 children.  He was in the War of 1812, and kept a hotel.  

Elijah was born in Bristol in 1802, and was thrice married, first to Louisiana HATHAWAY, by whom he had three children.  Second, in 1833, to Sallie (HATHAWAY) REED, by whom he had three children.  Mrs. JONES died October 28, 1838, and in 1839 he married third Mary B. ANDREWS.  Mr. JONES was a brigadier general in the state militia.  He built the present hotel of Bristol, of which he was proprietor for many years.  

Leonard H. JONES was educated in the common schools, and in May, 1858, married Lucy A. FRANCIS, a native of McComb county, Mich., born in 1835, a daughter of William FRANCIS, who was one of three children of Seth and Mary (FARRAR) FRANCIS, of Dighton, Mass.  William FRANCIS married first Martha EVARTS, by whom he had three children, and second (Mrs.) Fannie (ST. JOHN) JOHNSON, by whom he had three children.  He died in 1888, and his wife in 1891.  He served 8 months in the Civil War as a musician.  Subject (Leonard)  and wife have had five children: Frank A., David B., Roswell E., Lamont L., and Martha A.  The latter died in infancy.  Mr. JONES is a general farmer and owns 150 acres of land in Bristol, and 640 acres in Kansas.  He owns a saw-mill, and for five years has been extensively engaged in evaporating apples, the capacity of the evaporator being 300 barrels per day.  With the exception of four years spent in Oakland county, Mich., Mr. JONES has resided in Bristol.  He is a republican and has been supervisor7 years, and at present is excise commissioner.  He was a Good Templar and a member of the Grange at Bristol.  Mr. JONES and wife attend the Universalist church.

 

JONES   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 373 - 374

JONES, Prosser, Seneca, was born in the town of Conquest, Cayuga county, April 1, 1832.  He was educated in the common schools and has always followed farming.  He has married twice, first, June 15, 1833, Catherine FITCH, of Seneca, and came to reside in Ontario county April 4, 1854.  They had six children, of whom four grew to maturity: William, Jay, John and George.  Mrs. JONES died March 11, 1875, and he married second Mrs. Eliza (SAYLE) RICE, of the town of Clarkson, Monroe county.  Prosser JONES was born in the town of Berne, Albany county, January 24, 1801, and married Catherine VAN LEWEIN, of Saratoga county, and they had four children: William, Prosser, Augusta, and Laura who died at the age of four years.  His father died in 1850 and, his mother in 1880.  Mr. JONES was elected road commissioner in 1882 for three years.  The ancestry of this family is Welsh, English and Dutch.  

 

JOPSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 312

JOPSON, Mark, Canandaigua, was born in Worsted, Norfolk county, England, May 14, 1839, and came to this country in 1856.  He came to East Bloomfield and worked at farming until 1864, when he bought a farm of seven acres in Bristol.  After two years he sold this and bought 26 acres which he conducted six years.  He then sold it and bought a farm of 52 acres in East Bloomfield, which he owned until 1883, then sold it and bought a farm of 103 acres in Gorham.  He lived there until 1888, then bought a farm of 128 acres in Canajoharie, where he now lives.  He devotes his farm to the raising of grain, vegetables, and stock.  He is a firm republican though he never takes an active interest in politics.  Mr. JOPSON married, December 25, 1860, Hannah, daughter of Richard APPLETON, of East Bloomfield, a native of England, who died in March, 1883.  Mrs. JOPSON died November 26, 1879, leaving four children: John M., a farmer of Hopewell; Herbert C., Daisey B., and Raymond H.  He married second in July, 1881, Elizabeth TOOLEY, a native of Norfolk, by whom he had two children, George L., and Lillie M.

 

 

JORDAN   

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. II, pg. 19 - 20   

Whitman Howard JORDAN, director of the New York Agricultural Experiment Station, at Geneva, Ontario County, NY, since 1896, is most thoroughly conversant with every detail of the important work entrusted to his care.  His live has always been an active one, and he is one of those restless, energetic men show whole lives are in incessant battle to overcome problems the solution of which will be of inestimable benefit to the great cause of humanity.

James JORDAN, father of Whitman H. JORDAN, was born in Raymond, Maine, January 3, 1806.  The active years of his life were spent in the pursuit of agriculture, in which he was eminently successful.  His religious affiliations were with the Free Baptist denomination and his political support was given to the republican party.  He married Sarah SYMONDS, who was born in Raymond, Maine April 6, 1809. 

Whitman Howard, son of James and Sarah (SYMONDS) JORDAN, was born in Raymond, Maine, October 27, 1851.  His elementary education was obtained in the rural district school and he then attended the Nichols� Latin School, in Lewiston, Maine.  Subsequently he was a student at the University of Maine, which conferred upon him the degree of Bachelor of Science.  He was then engaged for some times with graduate work at Cornell University.  Later the University of Maine conferred upon him the degrees of Master of Science and Doctor of Science, and the Michigan Agricultural College bestowed that of Doctor of Laws.  He was his father�s assistant on the farm until he entered college at the age of 20 years and in this manner gained a practical knowledge of all the details of farm cultivation, which proved inestimable value in his later studies.  After his graduation, he was the principal of Dennysville High school, Dennysville, Maine; assistant tot Dr. W. O. ATWATER, 1878-79; instructor at the University of Maine, 1879-80; professor of agriculture and agricultural chemistry, Pennsylvania State College, 1881 � 85; director of the Maine Agricultural Experiment Station, 1885-96; director of the New York Agricultural Experiment Station at Geneva, 1896 to present.  Mr. JORDAN has been the fortunate discoverer of some exceedingly valuable facts concerning scientific cultivation in the course of his numerous experiments, and his bold and enterprising methods, combined with the careful execution bestowed upon the numerous experiments undertaken by him, lead frequently to results which cannot be too highly estimated and which are of universal benefit.  Mr. JORDAN  is a support of the Republican principles, and while taking a lively and earnest interest in all matters concerning the public welfare has never aspired to political office, deeming his time best employed when attending to the duties which lie nearest to him.  He is a member of the patrons of Husbandry and the University Club of Geneva, and attend the services at the Presbyterian church. In financial circles his opinion is regarded as carrying authority, and he has been elected and is serving as a trustee of the Geneva Savings Bank.  He is a man of social disposition but finds little time to spend in social gatherings, preferring to devote his spare hours to the reading of publications connected with the subjects in which he has so deep an interest.

Mr. JORDAN married at Orono, Maine, March 3, 1880, Emma Louise, daughter of Nathaniel and Abigail A. (COLBURN) WILSON; they have no children.  Mr. WILSON was a lawyer and served as a member of the Maine legislature.

 

 

JUDD

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 244

William Arthur JUDD, president of the Judd & Leland Company, has been largely instrumental in advancing the commercial interests of Clifton, Springs, Ontario county, New York and the adjoining territory.

Calvin L. JUDD, son of Levi JUDD, was born in Geneva, New York, January 4, 1821, died September 20, 1889. He was a contractor and builder, and removed to Clifton Springs, New York in 1866. There he followed his calling with great success, one of the most prominent buildings erected under his supervision being the Clifton Springs Sanitarium. He was subsequently appointed to the office of steward in this institution, a position he filled for a period of 25 years. He was a member and trustee of the Methodist church and a member of Geneva Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He married Mary N. WHITE, decease, of Waterloo, New York. Children: William Arthur, see forward; Mary, married Frederick M. CABLE.

William Arthur, only son of Calvin L. and Mary N. (WHITE) JUDD, was born in Geneva, New York, October 12, 1858. His education was acquired in the public schools of his native city and he came with his parents to Clifton Springs in 1866. For two years he was engaged in the drug business in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and upon his return to Clifton Springs established himself in the same line of business in association with E.W. BRIGGS, the firm name being Briggs & Judd. After a time he purchased the interest of his partner and continued the business alone for seven years.  He then sold this concern and engaged in the manufacturing business, forming a partnership with J.R. BOSTWICK, and doing business under the style of Bostwick & Judd. At the expiration of three years he purchase the sole rights of this enterprise and then formed a partnership with R.L. LELAND, the firm operating as Judd & Leland for three years. The business was then incorporated under the name of The Judd & Leland Company, as which it is conducted at the present time (1910). They manufacture automobile pumps, tin ware and leather goods, and their annual output is an enormous one and highly profitable. Mr. JUDD has served as trustee of the village of Clifton Springs and as school trustee for a number of years. He is a member of the Methodist church and is clerk of the board of trustees. He is affiliated in various capacities with the following organizations: Formerly member of Sincerity Lodge, No. 200, now of Newark Lodge, No. 83; Free and Accepted Masons; Newark Chapter, No. 117; Royal Arch Masons; Zenobia Commandery, No. 41, Knights Templar; Damascus Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; he has served as grand sword bearer of the state of New York; member of the K.O.T.M.; secretary of the insurance department of the Knights of Phythias.

Mr. JUDD married, December 27, 1882, Addie, daughter of Marvin HILL of Palmyra, New York. Children: Bessie N., now assistant pastor of Centenary Church of Syracuse; Mary H., preceptress of the Andover high school, New York; Ruth Wright, student in the high school; Leland, also a student in the high school.

 

KANE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 313

KANE, John, Geneva, was born in March, 1838, in County Clare, Ireland, and in 1856 came to America and located at Gloversville, and was there one year.  He then came to Geneva, and worked in a nursery for 21 years.  In 1876 he opened a grocery store and has carried on that business since, being also a farmer.  In 1859 he married Ellen FLINN and has 8 children, six sons and two daughters.  Thomas C., the oldest son is lieutenant on the Chicago police force; the third son is John S., who is in Chicago also and a contractor on the Columbian Exposition buildings; Ellen, wife of O. SNYDER, lives in New York; Anthony, Peter, Patrick W., George F., and Katie, reside in Geneva.  The family are members of the Catholic Church.

 

KANE 

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 17-18

Chief of Police, Daniel KANE, of Geneva is not only one of the oldest guardians of the peace in the State, in point of service, having held that office for more than twenty consecutive years, but also enjoys the distinction of being one of the most efficient detectives between New York city and Chicago. His rapid advancement in the police department was the result of his close attention to duty, and his long continued retention in his present office is a fitting recognition of his earnest endeavors to protect the community form the aggressions of law-breakers.

Daniel KANE was born in Geneva, New York, November 27, 1854. His parents were liberty-loving Irish people, who, in the middle of the last century, sought a home in the Untied States, where the laws and regulations more fully coincided with their ideas of political and religious freedom. He was educated in the Geneva public schools, and after concluding his attendance at the high school he engaged in the grocery business. A year later, 1874, he sold his interest in the business to his partner and going to Michigan was for fourteen months, employed upon a farm. He then returned to Geneva, but a year later he once more turned westward with a view of obtaining lucrative employment, and found an acceptable position in the Chicago packing-house of Libby, McNeil and Libby, where he remained for one year. Dissatisfied with his surroundings, he again returned to Geneva, and entered the employ of his brother, T. A. KANE, who was in the grocery business. May 16, 1882, he was appointed a patrolman on the Geneva police force, and in that capacity he found ample opportunity for the exercise of his natural ability and keen intelligence. His untiring devotion to his duties, together with the thoroughly able manner in which there were executed, won for him the confidence of his superiors and the general public, and in the short space of 8 years he attained the highest position in the department.

July 1, 1890, Mr. KANE became the official head of the Geneva police force, and during his twenty-one years of continuous service in that responsible capacity, he has received the cordial support and hearty commendation of his fellow citizens. His superior executive ability and standard of efficiency, thus making it an effective instrument in protecting the lives and property of all within his jurisdiction, and his alertness in the never ending struggle between the civil authorities and the criminal class, has been the means of bringing many notorious malefactors to justice. Nor have his efforts been wholly confined to local police duty, as he has won an enviable reputation as a detective, and one of his notable achievements in that line was the furnishing of information which caused the arrest and conviction of the five desperate yeggmen who were concerned in the robbery of the Shortsville Bank. He is a charter member and past grand knight of the Knights of Columbus, also affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective order of Elks, and attends St. Francis (Roman Catholic) Church.

Mr. KANE was married, May 26, 1881 to Elizabeth TANNIAN, born in Geneva, December 12, 1854; died September 3, 1906. Children: 1. Thomas C., born April 9, 1882; married Katherine MC ANIFF, a teacher in the high school at Phelps, New York. They have one child, Helen. 2. Josephine, born December 12, 1883; 3. William A., September 18, 1888; 4. Elizabeth A., September 27, 1890; 5. John A., May 18, 1893; 6. Daniel F., August 31, 1895. The majority are graduates of the Geneva high school and the others will complete their studies there. The youngest daughter, Elizabeth A., is now attending the State Normal School at Geneseo. (Note: per SSDI, Daniel's dob was August 30, 1895 - dod April 1967).

 

KEATING

History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg.  370-371

KEATING, John pg 370, John KEATING was born in county Cork, Ireland, in 1795, died in 1885. He married Ellen ROACH, who was also born in county Cork. She died in 1890, aged ninety years.

(II) John (2), son of John (1) KEATING, was born in county Cork, Ireland in 1844. He came to America when he was fifteen years old. He followed farming all his active life. He made his home in Victor, New York. In politics he was a Democrat; in religion a Roman Catholic. He married, in 1870, Margaret MOORE, born in East Bloomfield, New York, July 8, 1845, died February 17, 1909. Margaret MOORE was a daughter of Michael MOORE, born in Ireland in 1805ded in 1895, married Margaret MAHONEY born in county Cork, in 1810, died in 1894. Children of John KEATING: 1. William F., mentioned below 2. Elizabeth, born at Victor, March, 1873, married John J. BRADY 3. Frederick B., born at Victor, February 1874, married Catherine TOBIN 4. Mary, born at Victor, November 19, 1885, never married. 5. Henry, born at Victor, November 19, 1887, died March 29, 1888.

(III) William F., son of John (2) KEATING, was born in East Bloomfield, New York, November 5, 1871. He was educated in the district schools and the high school at Victor, New York, and at the Rochester Business College. From 1893 to 1895 he was in the employ of Loomis & Woodworth, produce dealers at Victor, as bookkeeper for ten years. In 1904 he entered the employ of the M.W. Burke & Company, real estate and insurance brokers, at Victor. He bought the business of his employers, March 1, 1905, and has conducted it successfully to the present time. In politics he is a Democrat. He has served the town one term as collector of taxes. He is a member of the Catholic Mutual Benefit Association. He is a communicant of the Catholic Church, and belongs to St. Patrick's parish. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus. He married, September 1, 1902, Honora TOBIN, born at Victor, July 15, 1875, daughter of James and Mary (BURKE) TOBIN. Her father was born in county Cork, Ireland, August 15, 1840 and came to America in 1862 and to Victor in 1864. He is a farmer. In religion he is a Catholic and in politics a Democrat. Mary (BURKE) TOBIN was born in county Cork, Ireland, in March 1843, married, February 14, 1862, the same year in which she came to this county. Peter BURKE, father of Mary, came to this county in 1862; his wife Catherine (O'BRIEN) BURKE, died in February, 1888.

 

KEEFFE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 103

KEEFFE, Maurice, was born in Garrylaurence, Parish of Clanmult, Barrymore, County of Cork, Ireland, in May, 1836, and came to the United States, landing in New York March 14, 1856.  He first located in Portland, Conn., where he remained a year and returned to New York and located in Victor.  February 6, 1863, he married Ellen MEAD of this town.  They have 7 children, four sons and three daughters: David M., Mary A., Bartholomew V., John, Nellie L., Johanna, and Maurice Emmet.   Mr. KEEFFE has been assessor of his town nine years, is also at the present time member of the Board of Excise.  

 

KEELEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 278

Keeley Institute, Canandaigua.  This is a branch of the original Keeley Institute of Dwight, IL.  When Dr. KEELEY's remedies for the drinking and morphine habit were acknowledged, the town of Dwight was found to be too small for the accommodation of crowds that flocked there for its benefits, and it was found necessary to establish branches of that institution throughout the country for the accommodation of these patients.  Five of these branches are located in New York State: White Plains, Babylon, Binghamton, Westfield, and Canandaigua.  This branch was opened in April, 1892, in Geneseo, and was removed to Canandaigua October 1, 1892, on account of the poor railroad facilities of that town.  Since its removal they have had about 35 patients, and since the establishment of the branch it has had about 90.  It is under the charge of R. N. TANNABILL, who is superintendent, and Stanley C. BABCOCK, M. D.

 

KENDALL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 104 - 105    

KENDALL, D.D., Rev. Henry, East Bloomfield, was born in Volney, Oswego county, August 24, 1815, a son of John KENDALL, who was born at Springfield, Mass., and emigrated to Oneida county in 1792, residing at Paris Hill till 1806, when he removed to Volney, Oswego county, then a perfect wilderness, remaining there till his death, which occurred in 1853.  He was twice married.  Our subject had a district school education, passing from there to the academy at Mexico, where he prepared to enter a sophomore in Hamilton College, from which institution he graduated in 1840.  He then entered Auburn Seminary, from which he graduated in 1844.  He was pastor of the church at Verona, Oneida county, until 1848, then came to East Bloomfield, ministering to the church there with great acceptability for 9 years.  He was three years at Pittsburg, Pa.; then went to New York, where he accepted a position as secretary of the Board of Home Missions of the Presbyterian Church, which he filled until his death, September 9, 1892.  He was a trustee of Auburn Seminary, Hamilton College, and the Western Reserve College, also the Western University.  April 28, 1848, he married Sophronia LUCE, born in Winfield, Herkimer county, and a daughter of Almond and Anna (SPOONER) LUCE, a farmer and merchant.  Rev. Henry KENDALL and wife had 5 children: Frederick G., who died aged 32 years.  He was a graduate of Hamilton College and Auburn Seminary.  His only charge was at Grand Rapids; Anna L., died aged 7 years; Grace W., died aged 18 years; Henry died at the age of 2 and a half years; and Eliza Birdsall died aged 3 and a half years.  

The following is from the pen of the Rev. L. M. MILLER, D. D. : "East Bloomfield was his home retreat whenever respite from labor came.  There he buried his children, and there still Mrs. KENDALL remains.  Strongly wedded to Central New York, he was interested always for the college on the hill, and for Auburn Seminary.  When the roll of the class of ' 40 was called in the recitation room, KENDALL, KNOX and MILLER answered side by side, so that we had the opportunity to know Dr. KENDALL as a constant, conscientious and ready student.  Genial, conservative, and decisive in his manners, he did nothing to antagonize those who differed from him, and by a frank and manly bearing maintained pleasant relations with the students as well as the faculty.  These qualities he carried with him into his public life, and they guided him to success.  But it was as a leading secretary of the Board of Home Missions of the Presbyterian Church that he won his laurels as a great and good workman, in effective service throughout the broad domain of its continually enlarging borders, and occupying with general commendation the important office for more than thirty-one years.  Through much travel he was intimately acquainted with the needs and progress of evangelical work covering our republic. In close accord with the many hundred missionaries on the one hand, and on the other with societies and churches which furnished the means of aid, Dr. KENDALL was universally acknowledged as leader and guide.  All who knew him will bear testimony to his great love for the work in which he not only sought the Master's will, but as a patriot forecasted his country's weal, and as a Christian the wants of thousands of his countrymen perishing for lack of vision.  An incident in the last General Assembly, held at Portland, Ore., illustrates the estimate in which he was held by the church.  When Rev. Charles F. GOSS voiced the feeling respecting him and his work as the "lion-hearted, the tender-hearted, and loving-hearted Henry KENDALL,' a name that 'stands for the broadest philanthropy, the purest Christianity, and the deepest consecration,' the large audience, in an outburst of sympathy, responded with heartiest applause.  In 1884 he was sent to the Belfast Council of Reformed Churches to represent his denomination, as well qualified in the largest sense to care for its interests and declare its faith, usages and manifold charities.  When we call to mind his manly presence in the meetings of our Board of Trust, and his active interest in its affairs, and his wise and ready counsels, we can understand why Auburn Seminary, the Western University and the Western Reserve College should elect him to the same relations in their institutions."  

 

KENNEDY

                           History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 10 - 12

 Grant Maitland KENNEDY, who was for a number of years identified with educational matters in the state of New York, and who has since then been engaged in the furniture and undertaking business, is of Scotch ancestry. 

(1)               James KENNEDY, was born in Kells, Kirkcutbright county, Scotland, June 12, 1791, died October 13, 1888.  He was a surveyor of taxes in Scotland, and a farmer after he came to America.  He attended the Protestant church.  He married, October 11, 1824, Margaret HOUSTON, born September 15, 1806, died June 18. 1881.  Children: 1. Mary, married Matthew HENDERSON, of Yates county, New York; 2. Francis M., see forward; 3. David, married Sarah BARKER; 4; John married Emerette BARKER; 5. Robert, lived in Geneva, New York and married Emma ROBSON; 6.  Barbara, married Joseph MC CONNELL, of Italy, Yates county, New York; 7. Jane, married Niram SQUIRE of Yates county, New York.

(2)             Francis M., son of James and Margaret (HOUSTON) KENNEDY, was born in Kells, Scotland, May 30, 1830.  His whole life after coming to this country was spent on his farm in Italy, New York, with the exception of the last six years, when he lived retired from the active work, in Canandaigua, New York.  He was a member of the Protestant church, and adherent of the republican party.  He married (first) in Italy, Yates county, New York, Phobe J., daughter of James and Rachel FISHER.  Children: James, M., born September 23, 1854, deceased; John A., born May 19, 1857, deceased; Grant Maitland, see forward.  Mr. KENNEDY married (second), Lillie I. GRISWOLD.  Children: Margaret, born July 7, 1873; Mary J., November 25, 1875; Frances E., September 1, 1880; Frederick G., December 16, 1884; Ralph H., April 20, 1887.

(3)             Grant Maitland, youngest child of Francis M. and Phoebe J. (FISHER) KENNEDY, was born in Italy, Yates county, New York, January 3, 1866.  His early education was received in the district school of Italy Hollow, New York, and at the age of 16 years he entered the Naples Academy at Naples, New York, spending three years in that institution, and finishing with one year at the State Normal School at Genesee, New York.  His early years were spent upon the homestead farm, and in the fall of 1885, he made his first appearance as a teacher of district schools, commencing in the Segar district in the town of Italy.  For six years he was thus engaged, being in turn in the schools of Lazalieers Hollow (now Guyunogy), the county House district, both in the town of Jerusalem, also Italy Hollow, Italy Hill and West Italy schools, all located in Yates county, New York.  August 7, 1891, he went to Canandaigua and formed a partnership with Darwin CHENEY in the undertaking business, this continuing until November 25, 1901, he took Amos GILETT, of Canandaigua, as a partner, and the business was conducted under the firm name of Gilett & Kennedy until the death of Mr. GILLETT, February 26, 1903.  The business was continued under the same name until July 19, 1904, when Mr. KENNEDY purchased the interest of his late partner from his widow, and since that date has been the sole owner and manager of the business, which had combined furniture with the undertaking branch.  It is located at Nos. 9, 11 and 13 Bristol street, Canandaigua.  Mr. KENNEDY is a member of the republican party, and attends the Methodist Episcopal church.  He is connected in various capacities with the following organizations: Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, Free and Accepted Masons; Canandaigua Chapter, No., 164, Royal Arch Masons, in which he has filled the office of king; Zenobia Commandery, No. 41, Knights Templar; Canandaigua  Lodge, No. 236 Independent Order of Odd Fellow, in which he has filled all hairs, including the office of noble grand.  March 16, 1910, ah the most recent district meeting of past grands of Ontario district, Mr. KENNEDY was elected district deputy grand master of Ontario district. 

Mr. KENNEDY married at Italy Hollow, New York, September 28, 1892, Nettie L. GEER, born in that town September 6, 1865, daughter of George L. and Jane B. GEER, the former a farmer, and they had children: Charles, Leroy, Hebert, William, Mary, Emma and Nettie L. (GEER), mentioned above.  Mr. and Mrs. KENNEDY have had children: Bertha Jane, born September 15, 1899; Howard Geer, born March 19, 1901.

 

KENNEDY

History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 12 - 13

Robert M. KENNEDY was born in Italy, Yates county, New York, August 26, 1848.  In his earlier years he was a farmer and was thus occupied until 1877, when he engaged in the undertaking business in his native town, and from there removed to Middlesex.  In 1893 he came to Geneva, Ontario county, New York, thinking this a better field for the conduct of his business, and established himself there, the firm being know as Kennedy & Kennedy, and embracing Mr. KENNEDY, and his son, James M.  They now occupy a position in the first ranks of embalmers and undertakers and control by far the largest amount of business in this line, in Geneva, and still manage a branch in Middlesex.  They occupy one of the oldest buildings in the town, which was erected by the Bank of Geneva, and occupied by that institution for many years.  It is still in perfect condition and is honored as one of the old landmarks.  Mr. KENNEDY married in Yates county, New York, 1869, Emma O. ROBSON, born in Italy, New York in 1851.  Children: James M., see forward; and Alice B. who married Fred WITTER the head bookkeeper at the patent cereals office and resides in Geneva. 

James M., son of Robert M. and Emma O. (ROBSON) KENNEDY, was born in Italy, New York, August 13, 1870.  For the past sixteen years he has been his father's partner in the conduct of the above described business.  He commenced active work in this line at a very early age, taking charge of one funeral at the age of fourteen years, and conducting it in a manner worthy of one far his senior in years.  Mrs. James M. KENNEDY is head of the department of embalming and is one of the first women in that line of business in the State.  Mr. KENNEDY is a member and one of the trustees of the Methodist church, a director of Y.M.C.A., and a staunch republican.  He is also a member of the following organizations: Damascus Temple, of Rochester, Knights Templar, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Iroquis Club of Geneva. 

Mr. KENNEDY married June 27, 1894, Lizzie M. UNDERWOOD, of Middlesex, New York.  Children: Harold Leo, born January 3, 1897; Ruth M., born January 22, 1899; Emma K., born August 30, 1900; Robert A., born June 27, 1904.  These children all attend school in Geneva.  Mrs. KENNEDY graduated from the Middlesex high school, while Mr. KENNEDY was a graduate of the Naples high school, of New York.

 

KENNEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 313

KENNEY, the late William T., Geneva, was born in Seneca county, NY, in 1839, was educated in the common schools, and was a truckman.  June 29, 1862, he married Frances P. CONDOL of Geneva, and their children are as follows: Margaret E., Herman F., Ida A., Arthur, and Alfred.  Mrs. KENNEY died in the year 1884, and Mr. KENNEY April 21, 1893.  Mr. KENNEY was a colored Mason, and was much regarded by all classes.  His well-known good character brought out at his funeral a large concourse of his own people from many parts of the State and his own village.  He was a member of Trinity church.  The oldest daughter, Margaret E., has had full charge of the family since the death of her mother in 1884.

 

KENT   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 314

KENT, John, Bristol, a native of Bristol, born December 6, 1835, is a son of Phineas KENT.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and has made farming his life occupation.  He owns 180 acres, carries on general farming, and for 30 years has been engaged in hop growing.  In March 1865, Mr. KENT married Celesta M. MASON, a native of Bristol, and daughter of Frances MASON.  To Mr. KENT and wife was born one son, Frank H., who was educated in Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and is now a farmer.  He married Sarah G. PENNELL, a native of Richmond.  Subject is independent in politics.  He has been assessor of Bristol for 13 years.  He and family attend the Universalist church at Bristol. 

 

KENT   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 314 - 315  

KENT, Oliver P., Bristol, is a native of Bristol, born August 2, 1833, and a son of Phineas, son of Captain John KENT, of Vermont, who came to Bristol about 1790.  Here he (John) married a Miss SEARS, and had four sons and two daughters.  His second wife was Sally PITTS, and they had two children.  

Phineas was born in Bristol, October 4, 1804, and married Laura A. GOODING, of Bristol, a daughter of Zephaniah W. and Polly (GREGG) GOODING, natives of Dighton, Mass., who had two sons and three daughters.  Mr. GOODING was in the War of 1812, and died in Bristol in 1856.  Phineas and wife had two sons and two daughters.  He was a noted auctioneer for many years.  He was a drover also and a partner of John W. TAYLOR, the first man in the country to ship cattle by rail.  He was justice of the peace for 30 years, constable, collector, deputy sheriff, highway commissioner, and under sheriff 30 years, overseer of the poor, and served one term as sheriff.  He was one of the delegates to the convention that nominated TILDEN for governor, and was the only delegate from Ontario county who voted for him.  He died January 2, 1891, and his wife January 22, 1888, at the age of 82 years.  

Oliver P. attended Canandaigua Academy, and graduated form Bryant, Stratton, and Lusk's Business College of Buffalo.  He was first engaged in the mercantile business at Bristol for two years, and then went to Alton, Illinois, where he was bookkeeper for Wendt & Pickard and William R. PARKER.  After four years he engaged in the wholesale liquor traffic, which he followed 12 years.  He then went to St. Louis, Mo., and engaged in the commission business.  At the same time he was interested in a distillery and flour mill at Elsah, Illinois.  In 1873 he returned to Bristol since which time he has resided on the old homestead, and followed farming.  In politics he is a Democrat.

 

 

KETCHUM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 105

KETCHUM, the late W. Nelson, was born in Victor, March 14, 1816, was educated in the common schools, and was a farmer.  September 14, 1847, he married Nancy, daughter of George and Mary BLAYNEY, formerly of Licking county, O.  They had five children: Amelia S., who married Burton H. LOBDELL of this town, and have two children: Nelson L., and Marian F; Adelia, who resides with her mother; George W., who married Sarah L. ROSE of Victor, and have had two children: Arthur N., and Eugene H.; Charles N. married Ida LONGYEAR of Victor, and had one child.  His wife died February 18, 1886, and the child soon after; and Marian J., who died at the age of 13 years.  Mrs. KETCHUM's father, George BLAYNEY, was born in Virginia in the year 1800, and married Mary SUTTON of Ohio.  They had two children, Nancy and John.  Mrs. KETCHUM's grandfather, John SUTTON, was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mr. KETCHUM died April 6, 1876.  He was a member of the Universalist Society, and his wife is a member of that church.  

 

KETCHAM  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 313 - 314  

KETCHAM, James, Gorham, a native of Hector, Schuyler county, was born January 23, 1837, a son of Benjamin, a son of Joseph KETCHAM, a native of Orange county.  Joseph served in the War of 1812.  Benjamin KETCHAM was born in Orange county, December 28, 1794.  In 1850 he purchased the farm which subject now owns.  Here he died in 1876.  He was twice married.  His first wife was Mrs. Charlotte ALLISON, by whom he had two daughters.  He married second Elizabeth LAMERAUX, of Orange county.  By his second wife he had three sons and three daughters.  

James KETCHAM married in 1862, Maria, daughter of Daniel B. SMITH, of Orange county.  They had twelve children.  Mr. (Daniel) SMITH was born September 28, 1795, and died April 12, 1873.  His wife was born July 27, 1797, and died August 18, 1878.  Subject and wife have two children, Irwin S., born May 25, 1867; and Elenora S., born February 15, 1871.  Irwin S. was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and married Annie I. MOTT, of Seneca, and they had one child, Claud H.  Mr. KETCHAM has always been an active republican, and is a member of Reed's Corners Grange of which he has been master for five years.  At present he is overseer.

 

KETCHUM   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 315

KETCHUM, George W., Victor, was born in Victor, August 10, 1858.  He was educated in the public schools, Eastman's Business College at Rochester, and is a farmer.  February 14, 1884, he married Louise, daughter of Nathan and Hannah ROSE of this town.  They have two children: Arthur N., and Eugene H.  Mr. KETCHUM's father, Nelson, was born in Victor, March 14, 1816, and educated in the public schools, and was also a farmer.  September 18, 1847, he married Nancy, daughter of George and Mary BLANEY, formerly of Licking county, Ohio, and they have five children: Amelia S., Adelia, George W., Charles N., and Marion, who died at the age of 13 years.

 

KEYES, LEWIS W. 

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 419

Lewis W. KEYES, a prominent and popular lawyer in Geneva, was born in Geneva, Ontario county, New York. He was a student at Hobart College, from which he graduated in 1887; Columbia College Law School, 1890: and was admitted to the bar in the same year. He immediately commenced the practice of his profession at Geneva, in partnership with Hon. D. B. BACKENSTOSE, who retired from the firm in 1902, and since that time Judge KEYES has been practicing independently, representing many corporations, and engaged in trial work in all courts. His political affiliations are with the Republican party. He is a member and trustee of Kanadasaga and University clubs.

 

KEYES   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 314

KEYES, B. W., Geneva, was born in Aurelius, Cayuga county, May 15, 1817, and when 14 years of age went to learn the blacksmith's trade.  He came to Geneva in 1836, and worked for J. H. SQUIRES.  In 1842 he opened a blacksmith's shop, and in 1845 commenced building wagons and has carried on that business since.  In 1885 his son, B. W., Jr., became a partner.  Mr. KEYES married in 1838 Minerva VAN RIPER, by whom he had seven children, five of whom survive:  Nelson was killed in the Civil war; B. W. Jr., was born in January, 1840, and learned the carriage business with his father.  In 1861 he enlisted in Co. H, 38th N. Y. Vols., was wounded at the battle of Fredericksburg, and received an honorable discharge.  In 1864 he married Angeline P. SANFORD, and has two children: Lewis W., and Daisy B.  He has served as trustee of the village, canal collector one term, and is a member of Swift Post, G. A. R. No. 94.

 

 

KING

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 103 

KING, Irving D(udley), Phelps, one of six children of Kendall and Anna Maria (STILWELL) KING, was born in Manchester, October 29, 1834.  The father, Kendall KING, was born July 25, 1801, and the grandfather, Joshua K., was born in Connecticut October 16, 1770, and came to Manchester and settled when a young man, marrying Lucy LOOMIS in 1793.  Kendall KING married Anna Eliza SPENCER, who had two children who were living when he married Anna Maria STILLWELL, who had four children. He came to Phelps with his family in 1837 and bought the old Elder RICE place.  Irving D. KING married in 1857 Harriet A. MOORE of Michigan, whose ancestors were New Hampshire people (Dec 12, 1838 - May 26, 1880).  They had three children: Clarence M., Marshall W., and Alice M.  Mr. KING's farm comprises 135 acres used principally for grain and fruit.  He is also manufacturer of the Northwestern Corn Planter. (Irving died May 20, 1899)

           KING          

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 103

KING, A (delbert). H., Manchester, was born January 4, 1851, in the town of Manchester, a son of Harvey KING, who was born April 10, 1797, and died March 5, 1872, and Amanda KING, who was born November 19, 1815.  April 24, 1872, he married Anna, daughter of Henry POST of Port Gibson.  Mr. KING is a farmer by occupation, and is an attendant at the Universalist church of Clifton Springs.  The ancestors of this family come originally from Suffield, Conn., and settled in Manchester in 1802.  

 

KING  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 315

KING, Herbert N., Manchester, was born on the old farm April 12, 1863.  He received an excellent education in the schools of Manchester and finished at Canandaigua Academy.  His father, Lorenzo F. KING, purchased the farm in 1859 of A. J. HANNAN.  It contains 120 acres of very fine land.  Mr. KING is a staunch Democrat and a gentleman of considerable ability and energy, and has a host of friends in this county.

 

  KINGSBURY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 106 - 107

KINGSBURY, Sherman, Canandaigua, the subject of this sketch, was born of English extraction, his father being Hampton KINGSBURY, and his mother Linda Totman KINGSBURY. who came from old British stock.  The date of his birth was September 3, 1843.  His parents were residents of the town of Bristol at which place they continued to live for several years after the birth of their son.  When the family removed to Canandaigua, Sherman, having obtained a schooling in the schools of his native town, was prepared to enter actively into business life, and with that object in view he went into the grocery establishment of George PHELPS, desiring to acquaint himself with the nature of that business.  Remaining in the employ of this gentleman for two years he at length entered the establishment of John McCLURE, continuing as a clerk there for an equal period.  At the end of this time Mr. KINGSBURY formed a partnership with T. C. PARKHURST, of Canandaigua, with the purpose of conducting the produce business.  At length withdrawing from this partnership he entered into a partnership in the fall of 1870 with his brother, Addison KINGSBURY, and George A. WELLS at the city of New York, with the object of establishing an extensive commission house.  He remained senior partner of this successful concern for 9 years.  At the end of that period he retired from the firm and shortly afterwards opened a large grocery establishment in the village of Canandaigua, which was located at the corner of Main and Beeman streets.  He remained at this location at this location until the purchase of the old A. S. Lincoln stand, which he found in a deplorable condition, but which under his direction was made into one of the finest business stands of the village.  In the year 1883 Mr. KINGSBURY erected the elegant Kingsbury Opera House (now known as the Grand Opera House) on the corner of Beeman and Mill streets.  For 5 years he conducted this excellent academy of music and the drama as sole owner and manager.  During this period and for some time thereafter the subject of the sketch was actively associated with James McKECHNIE and Alfred DENBOW in extensive produce speculations, but upon the decease of his partners, owing to financial embarrassment issuing from misunderstandings between himself and the executors of his deceased partners, Mr. KINGSBURY retired from the business and has never since been interested in any local business concern financially.  In 1868 Mr. KINGSBURY was married to Miss Julia F. JONES, only daughter of Charles JONES, and they have one child, Miss Mary KINGSBURY, who is a most talented young lady, being a graduate of the Granger Place School at Canandaigua and a most gifted student of music, having finished a lengthy course of instruction under the direction of the well-known Professor C. E. VON LEAR of Rochester.  Mr. KINGSBURY has always been an energetic, enterprising business man and was always actively interested in any and all public benefits of his county.  His characteristics of push and determination have been potently influential in effecting numerous improvements in Canandaigua and throughout the county of Ontario where he is widely and favorably known.  

 

KINGSBURY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 237-238

KINGSBURY, George W., Manchester, captain U. S. army, retired.  Born in Chester, Windsor county, Vt., August 30, 1840; educated at the Chester (Vt.) Academy and subsequently engaged in business at Chester until the breaking out of the Civil War, when he enlisted in business as a private in Co. K, 16th Vermont Vols., September 15, 1862; appointed corporal in same company October 1, 1862.  Honorably mustered out of service with company August 10, 1863; re-enlisted January 9, 1864, as private in Co. F, 17th Vermont Vols., for three years; promoted second lieutenant of same company April 9, 1864.  Engaged in the battle of Gettysburg, July 2, 3 and 4, 1863, and battles of Wilderness and Spottsylvania Court House from May 5 to 15 inclusive.  Seriously wounded at the battle of Spottsylvania, May 15, 1864, by a minnie ball, caliber 69, entering left side immediately below axilla, passing within one-half inch of the heart, through the left lung, thence to the spine, passing between the aorta and spinal cord, carrying away a portion of the fourth dorsal vertebra, passing back of the right lung and lodging in the right side outside the eighth and ninth ribs, making one the most remarkable wounds on record.  Honorably discharged for wounds received in action October 5, 1864; received three brevets, one "for gallant and meritorious services at the battle of the Wilderness, Va."  Appointed second lieutenant Veteran Reserve Corps, October 25, 1864, and was offered a position on President LINCOLN's Body Guard, which was declined, and was subsequently assigned to the command of Co. D, 23rd Regiment V. R. C., stationed at Jeffersonville, Ind., from December, 1864, to May, 1865.  On duty at mustering-out camps of the Wisconsin volunteers at Madison and Milwaukee until December 1865.  On duty in the Bureau of R. F. and A. Lands in the States of Virginia, Kentucky and Alabama, from April, 1866, to October, 1868.  Appointed second lieutenant 43rd Regiment of Infantry, U. S. Army, May 31, 1867, and stationed at Detroit, Mich.  Assigned to Co. E, 12th U. S. Infantry, January 5, 1870, and ordered to Camp Gaston, Cal.; post adjutant, quartermaster, commissary, and signal officer at Camp Gaston from January, 1870, to April, 1875.  Participated in the Modoc Indian war of 1873; in charge of the Modoc Indian prisoners at Fort Klamath, Ore.; member of the Military Commission for the trial of Captain Jack and other Modoc prisoners; field adjutant in charge of the execution of the Modocs; acting assistant adjutant-general of the District of the Lakes at Fort Klamath, Ore.  Promoted first lieutenant 12th U. S. Infantry, July 3, 1874.  On duty at Angel Island, Cal., Whipple Barracks, Ariz., Fort Apache and Fort Thomas, from October, 1875, to May, 1882.  Quartermaster 12th U. S. Infantry from February 1, 1876, to July 1, 1879.  Engaged in the Apache Indian war in Arizona during 1881-82.  Retired from active service for wounds received in the line of duty under the provisions of section 1251 Revised Statutes, May 26, 1886, and with the rank of Captain U. S. Army, by act of Congress approved September 27, 1890.  Engaged in the insurance and real estate business at Clifton Springs since July, 1884.

 

 

KIRTLAND, Daniel

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg  229 

Daniel KIRTLAND, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, was a native of Durham, Greene county, New York.  Owing to confusion in the existing records and paucity of dates, it is uncertain whether this Daniel is the Daniel Sr., who married Lovisa LORD, and is the great grandfather of Caroline KRITLAND, or his son, Daniel Jr., who married Huldah STEVENS.  The family belongs to the border clans of Scotland and is found in Durham, Yorkshire and Cheshire, England, whence members of it emigrated in early days to Durham, Woodbury and Wallingford, Connecticut.  About 1784, a number of families from these Connecticut towns, settled in what was then Freehold, Greene county, New York, naming their settlement New Durham, and in 1805, incorporating under the name of Durham.  It is thought that the KIRTLANDS  were among these settlers.  In the census of 1810 there were four families a total of twenty-one persons of the name of KIRTLAND of record.  Children of Daniel KIRTLAND are: Daniel P.; Eliza M.; Frederick W., Julia A., Caroline A.; Horace B.; Dorrance L., mentioned below. 

Dorrance L., son of Daniel and Huldah (STEVENS) KIRTLAND, was born in Durham, Greene county, New York December 16, 1818, died in Phelps, Ontario County, New York, August 11. 1885. He received his education in the public schools and at the high school in Honesdale, Pennsylvania.  He came to Phelps in 1839, and after working on a farm there for a short while, returned east, where he remained until 1842.  He then came to the western part of the town of Phelps, where he bought a farm on which he lived for seven years, when he settled on his final location near Oaks Corners.  He was a trustee and the treasurer of the church at Oakes Corners for many years and one of its most generous supporters.  He married Victoria, daughter of Colonel Asahel BANNISTER, who died September 13, 1881.    Children: Irving W., Caroline M., Daniel Pratt; Orlando B., Mary B.

 

KISOR 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 105 - 106

KISOR, Wallace, Hopewell, was born in Gorham, December 23, 1836.  His father, Jacob, was one of the early settlers of that town.  His wife was Anna PULVER, by whom he had three sons and two daughters.  Mrs. KISOR died when Wallace was 8 years of age, and he went to live with his sister, Mrs. FIERO, for five years.  He next worked on a farm by the month.  In 1862 he enlisted from Geneva in Co. F, 126th N. Y. Infantry, and was wounded in his head at Maryland Heights and taken to the hospital, where he remained three months.  In 1867 he married Mary EVERED, born October 6, 1836, in Sodus, Wayne county, a daughter of Joshua EVERED of Barnaby, England, born September 5, 1811.  Mr. EVERED came to Geneva in 1830 and there married Alice WARD, by whom he had 13 children.  Mr. EVERED and a brother first introduced the portable threshing machine in America.  He died in Hopewell in 1886.  He was a Democrat, and he and his wife were active members of the M. E. Church.  Mrs. EVERED died in 1884.  In 1872 our subject came to Hopewell and bought property at Lewis's Station which he improved and converted into a very pleasant home.  Mr. KISOR is a Prohibitionist, and has been excise commissioner for 11 years.  He is a member of the G. A. R. Albert Murray Post No. 162 at Canandaigua.  Mr. KISOR is engaged in the manufacture of barrels, and has built up a large business.  He and his wife are members of the M. E. Church; he holds the office of steward and treasurer for the society, which offices he has held for several years.

 

KLUBE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 412 - 414 

On June 11, 1845, Gustave Fredeman KLUBE of Oldeshaven in the German principality of Sondershausen and Maria Ernstina VOIGHT, of Schwarzburg, same principality were united in marriage.  Gustave F. KLUBE was born in Oldeshaven, August 11, 1815, and Maria E. VOIGHT was born in Schwarzburg, Sondershausen, March 19, 1822.  They departed from Oldeshaven at twelve M., May 4, 1850, sailed for the United States, May 15, following, and landed in New York at two P.M., July 4, of the same year.  After residing in Syracuse, New York, a short time, they settled in Geneva, where the later families engaged in the harness-making business, and as he learned his trade in the "fatherland," where craftsmen are subjected to a most rigid course of training, it must be inferred that he was a very skillful artisan.  Naturally frugal and industrious he prospered, reared a large family and provided his offspring with good educational advantages.  Children: 1. Gustave Henry August, born in Oldeshaven, Germany, August 28, 1846, enlisted December 27, 1863, in Company H, 148th Regiment, New York Volunteer Infantry, for service in the Civil War, served with credit in the struggle for the suppression of slavery and was killed in battle at Cold Harbor, Virginia, June 3, 1864.  (N. B.---This gallant youth was but 17 years old at the time of his death, and his ultimately end was therefore as deplorable as it was honorable.)  2. Augusta Johanna F., born in Oldeshaven, February 21, 1848.  3. Theresa Louise, born in Syracuse, August 10, 1850.  4.  Mary E., born in Geneva, February 1, 1853.  5. Emelia Louise, born in Geneva, February 14, 1855.  6.  Louise Emma, born in Geneva, October 10, 1856.  7. Henry John Lewis, a brief sketch of whom follows:   

Henry John Lewis, youngest child of Gustave F. and Maria E. (VOIGHT) KLUBE, was born in Geneva, July 10, 1859.  He was educated in the Geneva public schools, and upon leaving the high school he learned the saddlery business under the direction of his father.  In 1877, when but 18 years of age, he engaged in the saddlery trade for himself, built up a profitable business and followed it for more than thirty years, or until his death, which occurred May 7, 1908.  A man of progressive ideas he could always be depended upon to assist in establishing public improvements, and he was especially interested in increasing the efficiency of the fire department, having been a charter member of the Folger Hook and Ladder Company, of which he was treasurer.  He affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and preserved his good standing in the local lodge until its disbandment.  In politics he was a republican.  He attended St. Peter's (Protestant Episcopal) Church. 

Mr. KLUBE married, October 31, 1894, Carrie Isabell BUFFINGTON, of Geneva.  Children:  1. Martha Louise, born February 21, 1896, is now attending a private school.  2. Gustave F., born February 5, 1900.  3. James Martin, born May 21, 1903. 

Mrs. Carrie I. KLUBE (nee BUFFINGTON) was born in Geneva, September 19, 1862.  Her father, James H. BUFFINGTON, was born May 13, 1834.  Her mother, Triphena (MARTIN) BUFFINGTON, was born August 24, 1836, died in Geneva, February 26, 1902.  They were married May 13, 1855.  Mrs. KLUBE'S grandfather, Joseph BUFFINGTON, who was born in Ohio, died in 1830, and her grandmother, Dolly (FERRY) BUFFINGTON, who was also a native of Ohio, died in 1885.  James H. BUFFINGTON was a moulder in his younger days worked for the Libby Engine Company and the Gould Manufacturing Company at Seneca Falls, New York.  Removing in 1861 to Geneva he was with William BURRILL for six years, and then entered the employ of William B. DUNNING.  He was an expert in his calling and remained with Mr. DUNNING for 30 years.  At the expiration of that time his services were secured by the Herendeen Manufacturing Company, and he continued in their employ until 1908 when he retired from active labor.  The children of James H. and Triphena (MARTIN) BUFFINGTON are:  1. Frances Estella, born in Seneca Falls, October 9, 1857, married Edward S. FLEMING, December 25, 1876; children: Mary E., who is now the wife of Ernest STAGG; Carrie Isabell: Ruth BUFFINGTON, married Arthur McGUIRE; Harold S. and Herbert Irving FLEMING.  2. Carrie Isabell, now the widow of Henry J. L. KLUBE.  3.  Edwin Carey, born in Geneva, February 8, 1873.  4. Edith Rankin, born May 24, 1876, married P.A. PERRIN, December 25, 1901.

 

 

KLOPFER

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 210 - 212 

John KLOPFER, of Freidabach in the kingdom of Wurtemburg, Germany, was a cooper by trade and plied his calling at a time when Central Europe was practically demoralized by the Napoleonic wars.  He had a son, John Michael, born in Freidabach, July 26, 1823, who adopted his father's calling.  In Germany the cooper's trade is closely allied with the wine industry, and for a number of years John Michael KLOPFER was engaged in distributing the product of the vine all over Southern Germany, and collecting the revenues therefrom.  This was before the advent of railroads and the butts were transported in large wagons drawn by horses.  In company with George Michael KERNDTER, the latter's sister, Anna Barbara, and several neighbors, he left Freidabach, March 6, 1854, and on March 23, took passage in the sailing ship "F. W. White," Captain SNOW, which landed them in New York, May 11, following.  He proceeded to Pennsylvania in search of employment, but not being successful he returned to the metropolis, and on August 6, 1854, he was married in Williamsburg, New York, by the Rev. C. T. HEISEL, of St. Ohanes' Lutheran church, to Anna Barbara KERNDTER.  She was born in Greglingen, Wurtemburg, April 17, 1834.  Her father was Christof KERNDTER, who owned a small farm in Greglingen, and her mother was before marriage Anna Barbara MEISENHELTER.  Mrs. KLOPFER had two brothers and six sisters, none of whom are now living.  One brother and one sister remained in Germany; her other brother, George Michael, and three of her sisters came to America and settled in New York and Brooklyn; and another sister resided in Geneva, New York.  In 1856 John Michael KLOPFER settled in Geneva, where he found employment as a gardener and also driving and caring for horses.  He made his application for citizenship in 1858 and received his final naturalization papers in 1860.  His death occurred in Geneva, October 30, 1885.  His widow is still residing in that city.  Children:  1. Margaret Catherine, born in Williamsburg, New York, June 3, 1855, married Frank C. HOFMANN, of Geneva.  2. Mary Magdaline, born in Geneva, born June 16, 1857, died January 19, 1880.  3. Michael Henry, born February 25, 1859, died April 16, 1882.  4. John Philip, born January 30, 1861, died in Seneca Falls, October 4, 1893.  5.  Charles Bernard, born December 31, 1862, resides in Geneva.  6. Mina Elizabeth, born February 16, 1865, died June 12, 1884.  7. William, born March 29, 1867, died January 12, 1903.  8. Frederick, born May 2, 1869, died August 28, 1870.  9. Frederick, born June 2, 1871, died June 9, 1871.  10.  Louis, see forward.  11. Edward, born May 10, 1874, resides in Geneva.

Louis, son of John Michael and Anna Barbara (KERNDTER) KLOPFER, was born in Geneva, May 3, 1872.  After concluding his attendance at the public schools he was for a time employed in the optical business, and later in the shoe business.  In 1901 he established himself in the book and stationery business at No. 75 Seneca street, and his store soon became the centre of trade for goods of that character.  He has since added athletic goods, phonographs, office supplies, post-cards, souvenirs, etc., and his establishment is now regarded as a public necessity.  He is a member of Ark Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Geneva Chapter, Royal Arch Masons (past high priest), and Geneva Commandery, Knights Templar; also of St. Peter's (Protestant Episcopal) church, and the Young Men's Christian Association.  He is an active member of the Geneva volunteer fire department, having joined the Charles J. Folger Hook and Ladder Company in 1897, and has served as its secretary from 1905 to the present time.

On October 29, 1907, Mr. KLOPFER was married at St. Peter's Parish House to Mary Catherine MOGGE; one daughter, Dorothy Barbara, born October 6, 1908.

Mrs. KLOPFER was born in Chippewa, Province of Ontario, June 4, 1878.  Her father was William MOGGE, a native of Germany.  Her mother, Barbara (KELLER) MOGGE, was born in Buffalo, New York, and at an early age went to reside in Chippewa, where her father, Charles KELLER, was proprietor of a tannery.  William and Barbara (KELLER) MOGGE are the parents of five sons and three daughters:  Charles, a resident of Buffalo; John, who resides in Rochester; Ernest, now of Evansville, Indiana; Frank H., Fred G., Mary Catherine, Anna E., and Ona L.

 

KNAPP

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 103 - 104

KNAPP, Walter H., Canandaigua, was born in Hopewell, March 13, 1856, a son of B. Franklin, a farmer of that town.  He attended the common schools until he was fourteen years of age, then entered the Canandaigua Academy, where he was fitted for college under Prof. CLARKE, and entered Amherst College in 1875, graduating as B. A., and commencement orator in 1879.  During his college days he took the Greek prize in 1876, and in 1878 was editor of the Amherst Student.  He was a member of the Greek letter society Chi Phi, and of the honorary society of Phi Beta Kappa.  After leaving college he went to California where he held the position of professor of mathematics and Latin in Placerville Academy.  He remained there four years, and in 1882 was the Republican nominee for member of assembly for El Dorado county in that State.  Returning to Canandaigua in 1883 he entered the office of Comstock & Bennett, where he studied law until admitted to the bar in 1885, since which time he has been engaged in the general practice of law.  He is now the Ontario county member of the Republican Judicial Committee for the Seventh District.  Mr. KNAPP married in 1879, Mary, eldest daughter of the late N. K. COLE, esq., of Manchester, and they have three sons: Walter Chandler, Robert Cole, and B. Frank.  Mr. KNAPP has been superintendent of the Sunday-school of the First Presbyterian church since 1884, and an elder in that church since 1885.  He was county secretary of the Ontario County Sunday-school Association for three years.  In 1887 he was a delegate to the First National Convention of the Republican Clubs of the United States, held at Chickering Hall, New York.  He was president of the Young Men's Republican Club of Canandaigua in 1888, and is chairman of the Executive Committee of the County League of Republican Clubs.  His office is in the Times Building, residence 31 West Gibson street, Canandaigua.  

 

 

KNAPP

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 105

KNAPP, B. F., (Benjamin Franklin) Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, August 16, 1829.  His father was Leonard, a native of Rensselaer county, who about 1804 came with his parents, Ezra and Phebe KNAPP, to Hopewell.  Here Ezra purchase a farm of 50 acres, making 150 acres (which subject now owns), where he and his wife died.  Leonard KNAPP married Mercy BROWN, of Hopewell, and to them were born 15 children.  He died in 1863 and his wife in 1861.  B. F. KNAPP was reared on a farm, and educated in the common schools.  In 1850 he married Harriet WARNER, a native of Canandaigua.  The children are: Chas. W., H. Edson, Walter H., J. Etta, Carrie E. and M. Mertice.  Mr. KNAPP carries on general farming, and is a republican in politics.  

 

KNAPP

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 106

KNAPP, Z. Franklin, Naples, was born in Urbana, Steuben county, January 9, 1840, and was educated at Dansville Seminary.  He studied dentistry here for about three years and then moved to Naples in 1864, where he has since remained practicing his profession.  He has also manufactured grape baskets and cultivated grapes.  Mr. KNAPP married, in 1863, Martha TOWNSEND of Hammondsport, and they have 8 children, four sons and four daughters, all of whom are living.  Mr. KNAPP has been town clerk eight years, justice of peace four years, and a member of the school board 12 years.  Charles S., the oldest son, is manager of the Erie Railroad branch at Newburg; James F., the second son, is a graduate of the New York Dental College, and is now practicing dentistry at Geneva.  The oldest daughter, Fannie L., is a teacher in the Union School at Naples; William E., the third son, graduated at the Naples Academy, and is now deputy postmaster in Naples.  The remaining four children are attending school in Naples.  

 

KNAPP  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 313

KNAPP, James L., Geneva, son of Z. Franklin (and Martha), who is one of the leading dentists in Naples, was born in that town June 26, 1866.  He studied dentistry with his father, and in 1891 graduated from the New York College of Dentistry, and January 1, 1892, opened an office in Geneva, where he is building up a good business.

 

 

KNICKERBOCKER

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, vol. II, pg 74 -75 

Richard Monroe KNICKERBOCKER, an energetic and capable representative of a family which has for many years been identified with the agricultural interests of the state of New York, has adhered, as far as changing conditions would permit, to the ideals of his forefathers, and considers it one of the  most noble occupations for mankind to follow to obtain form the bosom of mother earth the rich products she is so ready to give to those who love and care for her. 

(I)                 Hebram KNICKERBOCKER, grandfather of Richard Monroe KNICKERBOCKER, was born at Naples, Ontario county, New York, on land which has been in the possession of the members of the family for a great length of time.  His success as a farmer became proverbial in the country.  He married a Miss WHETMORE, and by her had one child, Sidney.

(II)              Sidney, son of Hebram KNICKERBOCKER, was born in Naples, New York on March 21, 1832; died in Ontario county, NY, January 14, 1899.  As a tiller of the soil he was as successful as his father had been and improve the property in his possession in many directions.  He was one of the organizers and builders of the Baptist church of his community, was elected a trustee of this institution, and served in this office up to the time of his death.  He took an unusually active interest in all matters relating to the education of the growing generation and served as a trustee of the Hopewell school for many years, he having removed his place of residence to that town. 

He married Helen, daughter of Murdo  MC CIVER, who was born in Scotland, January 1, 1800, was a watchmaker by trade, and had been a schoolmate of Gladstone.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. KNICKERBOCKER were: Richard Monroe, see forward; Adelbert C., born in the town of Phelps, served as deputy postmaster for 17 years;  George B., manager of the Garlock Packing Company of New York City, and served in the post office of Clifton Springs for eleven years; Amanda G., deceased; Frederick, who died in infancy.

(III)            Richard Monroe, son of Sidney and Helen (MC CIVER) KNICKERBOCKER, was born in the town of Hopewell, Ontario County, New York on October 14, 1865.  He attended the public and high schools of his native township, and assisted his father in the cultivation of the home farm during the summer months.  At the conclusion of his school days his entire time was devoted to this occupation under the direction and supervision of his father, and he thus became thoroughly well acquainted in a practical manner with all the details connected with farm culture.  He made farming his life work, and was but natural, and has introduced the most modern and approved methods of scientific farming, with the most gratifying results.  His farm and the buildings upon it are kept in the finest condition and the best use is made of all available material.  Like others of his family he has taken a deep interest in all matters, which concern the welfare of his community, and is always ready and among the first to shoulder the burden of introducing and forwarding plans which tend to the advancement of the town in any direction.  As collector for the school district of his section, he filled the office most capable and acceptably, and in all probability will be called upon for further service.  In political matters he keeps well abreast of the times, and has the courage of his convictions. 

Mr. KNICKERBOCKER married, March 24, 1904 to Jennie, daughter of John DEWEY, of Clifton Springs, New York.

 

 

KNOWLES    

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, vol. 2, pg 177 - 179 

The surname KNOWLES is identical with the ancient English name KNOLLYS and has been spelled in a variety of ways.

(I)                  Rev. John KNOWLES, immigrant ancestor, was born in Lincolnshire, England, and educated at Magdalen College.  He came to New England about 1636 and was admitted to the church as a �studyent� in Lynn, August 25, 1639; was dismissed to the church at Watertown and ordained colleagues pastor, November 10, 1640; was a godly man and prime scholar; was selected to accompany Mr. William THOMPSON to Virginia in the effort to plant churches of the New England type there.   He returned from Virginia to Watertown and finally to England.  He sold land to the Iron Works Company at Lynn, October 24, 1651.  He was living in Bristol, England, March 30, 1655, when eh sold more land at Lynn.  He married Elizabeth ______ .  Children: Richard (according to good authority), mentioned below; Mary, born April 9, 1641; Elizabeth, May 15, 1643; Hannah, married Benjamin EYRES.

(II)              Richard KNOWLES, progenitor of the Plymouth county family, son of Rev. John KNOWLES, was probably born in England, before his father, Rev. John, came to this country.  He commanded a barque engaged in transporting military supplies for the government.  Before 1653, he was located at Eastham, Massachusetts.  Children: 1. Mercy, married ____, February 5, 1663; 2.  Colonel John, married December 28, 1670, Apphia BANGS; he was killed by the Indians in King Philip�s war and his widow married Joseph ATWOOD.  3.  Samuel, born September 17, 1651, mentioned below; 4. Mehitable, May 20, 1653, died young; 5. Mehitable, 1655; 6. Barbara, 1656. 

(III)           Samuel, son of Richard KNOWLES, was born at Eastham, September 17, 1651, died in 1737.  He married Mercy FREEMAN, a granddaughter of Governor PRINCE.  Children, born at Eastham: James, 1680; Mercy, 1681; Samuel, 1682; Nathaniel, 1686; Richard, 1688; Rebecca, 1690; Ruth, 1694; Cornelius, 1695, Amos, 1702.

(IV)              It has been found impossible as yet to trace the line for the next few generations.  Samuel and Bethia KNOWLES, of this family, had at Eastham, a son, Seth, born January 20, 1721-22.  Seth KNOWLES, son of John and Mary, was born at Eastham, August 7, 1700.  Another Seth was born about 1750 and his widow, Hannah, died at Eastham, July 6, 18232, aged 67 years.  Another Seth married Ruth _____, who was a member of the church at Orleans, formerly Eastham; they had a daughter Achsah, baptized November 14, 1773, at Eastham and a daughter, Bethia, baptized August 12, 1781.  This Seth was a soldier in the Revolution and was living at Eastham, December 2, 1801, when he assigned a claim against the government for pay as a Revolutionary soldier.  We find the deaths of three Seth KNOWLES at Eastham, but as their ages are not given, we cannot identify them.  Seth KNOWLES died in the south parish in 1802.  Seth KNOWLES died at Eastham in 1787 and Seth, a young son of Seth, died there in 1774.

(V)                Seth KNOWLES, it is known, was born in Massachusetts in 1789.  He was probably son of Seth KNOWLES who was living, according to the first federal census, at Loudon, now Otis, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, in 1790, and had in his family, two sons under 16 and two females.  The father, Seth, doubtless came with other settlers from Cape Cod, and belonged to the family mentioned above.  Seth, born 1789, moved to Orleans county, New York, with his parents, when a young lad, and settled in the town of Clarendon.  He died in the year 1848 at Littleville, town of Hopewell, Ontario county.  He married Hannah REYNOLDS, who was born in Connecticut, and died in Hopewell in 1868.  Among their children were Eber A., mentioned below.

(VI)              Eber A., son of Seth KNOWLES, was born at St. Johnsville, Montgomery county, July 13, 1834.  He came to Hopewell, Ontario county in 1857; enlisted at Canandaigua January 1, 1864, in the 50th NY Regiment of Engineers, Co. L., and served until the was mustered out with his company at the end of the Civil War.  He married in February 1855, Lydia BASTEDO, who was born at Somerset county, New Jersey, November 4, 1837, and came to Cayuga county, NY, with her parents when she was 16 years old.  Her ancestors were residents of New Jersey.  Among their children was Fred, W., mentioned below.

(VII)           Fred W., son of Eber A. KNOWLES, was born at Hopewell, Ontario county, November 1, 1858.  After receiving his education in the common schools, he engaged in farming to which he had been accustomed from early boyhood, and he has always continued in this occupation.  His farm gives evidence in the substantial buildings and well kept fields of his industry and prosperity.  Not only progressive and ready to adopt new methods, but painstaking and thorough in his work, he has fairly won the success he has achieved in life.  His private life, his kindly, cheerful, generous disposition and high standards of honor and integrity have won for him the respect and esteem of all his neighbors.  He is a member of the Manchester Baptist Church.  In politics he is a republican and he as served the town four years as justice of the peace, and is now serving a second term of four years.   

He married, at Farmington, Ontario county, December 29, 1881, Cora A., daughter of William and Ann (ALLEN) RANDALL.  Children: 1. Mary B., born October 2, 1882, married June 12, 1907, Homer WHITAKER, of South Solon, Ohio; she was a graduate of the Shortsville high school and a student at the Oswego State Normal School.  2.  William Eber, February 7, 1886, married September 6, 1910, Elizabeth WORMSTEAD, of Seneca Falls, NY; he was graduated from the Rochester Business College in the class of 1907 and is now employed in the office of the Gould Manufacturing Company of Seneca Falls.  3.  Frank Lester, born January 14, 1899, student in the public schools.

 

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]