Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
L

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

LACY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 110 - 111

LACY, Ira E., Gorham, a native of Naples, was born June 7, 1849, son of John, a son of Somers LACY, who was a native of Albany county, and married Alphia ANDREWS, by whom he had four sons and four daughters.  He died in 1871, aged 84 years.  John LACY was born in Albany county in 1809, and at 16 came with his parents to Naples.  He was twice married, first to Isabelle HOYT, by whom he he had two children.  She died in 1840, and in 1841 he married Mrs. Julia A. VOSBURGH, whose maiden name was VINTON.  She was born May 18, 1815, a daughter of Howard and Betsey (BRYANT) VINTON, of Connecticut.  They had 8 children.  Mr. VINTON died in Monroe county in 1833.  The family then moved to Naples, where in 1872 Mrs. VINTON died.  By his second wife Mr. LACY had one child, Ira E.  Mr. LACY settled on a farm in Naples, where he lived for 32 years.  In 1871 he came to Gorham, where he died in 1876.  Ira E. was educated in Naples Academy.  In connection with farming he followed teaching for many years.  In 1874 he married Rosella S. WITTER, born in Centerfield, December 3, 1853.  They had five children: Isabelle J., Mary A., John W., Frank H., and Leo A.  Mr. LACY owns the farm of his father, upon which he has made many improvements.  He is at present engaged in breeding pure Chester White and Suffolk swine.  His place is known as the Maple Avenue farm.  He is a republican and a member of the Reed's Corners Grange.  Mrs. LACY is a daughter of A. S. WITTER, a son of Lewis P., whose father, Isaac, was born in Connecticut in 1757, and married Margaret OWEN, by whom he had seven children.  He was a tailor by trade.  In 1806 he came to Gorham and settled the farm now owned by Lewis P. WITTER.  He died in 1843.  Lewis P. was born in Orange county, December 26, 1803, and came with his parents to Gorham.  He was twice married, first to Margaret TROTTER, October 23, 1823, by whom he had four sons and one daughter.  She died January 14, 1868, and May 18, 1870, he married Hannah, daughter of Ezekiel BIRDSEYE.  A. S. WITTER studied medicine in Rochester, and settled in Branchport, where he practiced his profession.  In 1860 he settled in Gorham and has since followed farming.  

 

LADD 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 251 - 252

LADD, Hiram, Victor, was born in Victor, in the northeastern part, January 9, 1823.  He received a common school and academic education, and has always been a farmer.  October 1, 1846, he married, he married Mary J., daughter of John and Sally RIDDELL of this town, and they had two children: John M., who married, September 20, 1875, Mary E., daughter of Philo B. and A. Maria (HENRY) CHAPMAN of Hopewell, and they have had four children: Howard, who died at the age of three and a half years; Inez C., Jean P., and Fannie survive.  The second son, Smith R., was well educated, like his brother John M., and married Alida CARPENTER of Titusville, Pa., and had two sons: Sylvester C. and Smith R. Jr.  Their father died December 27, 1881.  Hiram LADD's father, John, was born in Massachusetts, June 6, 1786, and came to this place in 1816.  He married Betsey OLNEY, and had 9 children who grew to maturity: Alvira, Mahala, Cassandana, William, Hiram, Calista, Adeline E., Smith and Jannette.  Mr. LADD has always been an active temperance leader, and fearless writer of prohibition sentiment since the party organization in the State and United States.  Mr. LADD was honored by the Prohibition party of the State in being elected delegate to the National Convention at Pittsburg in 1884, and his district nominated him for member of assembly the same year.  In 1886 he received the nomination of member of Congress from his district.  He also was delegate to the National Convention of the Prohibition party at Indianapolis in 1888.  Mrs. John M. LADD's father, Philo D. CHAPMAN, was born in Hopewell, Ontario county, January 28, 1825, and was educated in the public school and Phelps Union School.  In 1850 he married A. Maria HENRY of that town, and had one daughter, Mary E.  Mr. John M. LADD is an active farmer of Victor, he is also a noted Shropshiredown sheep breeder in company with W. B. OSBORNE, since about the year 1887.  Their sales extend all over the country.

 

LAMPORT   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 315 - 316

LAMPORT, Clarence C., Canandaigua, was born in Geneva in 1854, a son of Bishop, who was born in Troy in 1823, and came to this country when 10 years of age.  He was a tinsmith by trade.  He died in 1891 leaving two children: E. Harry, a dentist of New York city; and Clarence C.  The latter was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and after leaving school went into the plumbing establishment of Greely & Davenport to learn the trade, which he has ever since followed.  In 1887 Mr. LAMPORT began his present business in Canandaigua, which is located in the Atwater block.  He has now the control of the best work of the village, and has just completed the plumbing and steam heating of the new Dwyer block, and also the heating apparatus of the Canandaigua Hotel.  He carries a complete stock of everything needed in plumbing, steam, and hot water heating, and is always prepared to do new or repair work on shortest notice.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F. & A. M.  In 1891 Mr. LAMPORT was appointed sanitary inspector on the Board of Health in this village.

 

LAMPORT

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 103 

William H. LAMPORT was born in Brunswick, Rensselaer county, in May, 1818.  Moved with his parents to Gorham in 1826.  Served as Supervisor in 1845 and 1846, and as Sheriff of the county for the term beginning January 1, 1850.  Mr. LAMPORT, originally a Whig, identified himself with the republican party upon its organization; in 1854, was elected on the Whig ticket as Member of Assembly for the Eastern district.  Became a resident of Canandaigua in 1864; Member of Congress, 1871-75.  Died July 21, 1891.   

LANE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 111

LANE, Ambert T., Victor, was born in the town of Farmington, Ontario county, October 16, 1854.  He received a common school and academic education.  July 1, 1878, he married Amelia (Minnie), daughter of Hiram and Apma (DICKINSON) PARKS, of Victor.  They have two daughters, Laura E., and Florence M.  Mr. LANE's father, Jacob, was born in Montgomery county in the year 1793.  His parents went to Canada, and in the War of 1812 he espoused the American cause, and came to Ontario county.  The property was confiscated there, and he began anew a good American patriot.  He married Rhoda GRINNELL, and had 6 children: Andrew, George, Helen, Charles, Isaac, and Ambert T.  Mrs. LANE's father, Hiram PARKS, was born at Scipio, Cayuga county, April 15, 1803; he married Apma DICKINSON; she was formerly of Connecticut.  They had 8 children: Eveline, Edwin, Eliza, Maryette, Abigail, Thomas, Amelia, and Laura J.  For many years Mr. PARKS was an elder in the Presbyterian Church in Victor.  Mr. PARK's father, Simon, came on foot from New England to Scipio, Cayuga county, and married there.  In 1812 he moved with his family to Victor.  In 1814 he and his wife, Abigail, joined the Presbyterian Church in Victor by letter.  He was a deacon in that church until his death.  

 

LANE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 316

LANE, Harland H., Canandaigua, was born in Tioga county May 15, 1863, and was educated in Candor Academy.  His first occupation after leaving school was as a clerk for the D. L. & W. R. R. Co. at Candor.  He remained there until 1882, then spent one year at Hornellsville with the United States Express Company, and in 1883 came to Canandaigua to open an office for the United States Company.  He was the cashier for them in 1886, when their office was closed here, and Mr. LANE had charge of the electric light for the Excelsior Company of Brooklyn until they sold their interests, and then he was engaged as secretary of the Canandaigua Water Works Company, which office he still holds.  January, 1891, he was elected village treasurer, and re-elected in 1892 without opposition.  He is also the secretary and treasurer for the Canandaigua Fire Department.  He was president of the Merrill Hose Company for two years and secretary for three years.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge F. & A. M. No. 294 K. of P.; and of Rochester Lodge B. P. O. Elks No. 24.  Mr. LANE married in 1885 Minnie HOWARD, of Canandaigua, and they have two children: William Howard, and Mary.

 

LANE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 319

LANE, the late Jacob, father of Ellen M., was born in the town of Charlestown, Va., June 25, 1797, and moved with his parents to Canada sometime before the War of 1812.  The family espoused the cause of the Americans.  In consequence of this event their property was confiscated.  The family came to the United States, locating in the town of Victor.  Jacob, her father, enlisted in the American army, and was honorably discharged at its close.  He married, and had six children: Andrew J., George W., Ellen M., who is a noted school teacher; Charles L., Isaac B., and Ambrose T.    Mr. LANE died December 24, 1889.  Ellen M. resides on the old homestead in the town of Farmington.  Her grandfather, Thomas, married and had 9 children: Peter, Jacob, John, Eleanor, Hannah, Catharine, Margaret, Betsey and Mary.  Miss LANE has taught school 8 years and was the first assistant in the Union School of Canandaigua, but recently resigned to care for an invalid at home.  Mrs. Jacob (Rhoda) LANE died October 24, 1889.

 

LANSING

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 491 - 493

LANSING, Henry Livingston, a native of Rome, NY.  The father of the subject of our sketch, Barent B. LANSING, was a native of Herkimer county, NY, and was the son of Colonel Gerrit G. LANSING, an officer in the War of the Revolution, and who served gallantly in the "forlorn hope" at the battle of Yorktown, Va., attached to Colonel Alexander HAMILTON's command.  Colonel LANSING married a daughter of Edward ANTILL, who was a granddaughter of Lewis MORRIS, esq., the first governor of New Jersey, at the city of Albany, NY, in the year 1786.  Edward ANTILL was also an officer in the War of the Revolution, being the lieutenant colonel of a regiment, the origin and condition of which was different from any other in the service, it being unattached to the quota of any State, was raised and recruited in Canada, and made up entirely of Canadians, and was known and called "Congress's Own."  Colonel LANSING had by his wife, Mary ANTILL, three sons, Richard R., Barent B., and Edward Antill.  The second son, Barent Bleecker, was born in Oriskany, NY, in the year 1793, and in the year 1815 married Sarah, daughter of Arthur BREESE, esq.  At an early age he was clerk for William G. TRACY, esq., at Whitesboro', and after that engaged in business with James PLATT, esq., of Utica, NY.  This partnership lasted only a short time and subsequently Mr. LANSING accepted an offer and became cashier of the Bank of Belleville, NJ, and from there he was called to the cashiership of the Oneida Bank, Utica, which place he held until his death in 1853.  Mr. LANSING died at the house of his daughter, Mrs. Charles W. MORSE, the wife of the eldest son of Prof. S. F. B. MORSE, at Brooklyn.  His remains were taken to Utica for interment and were buried from the Presbyterian Church. 

The stores were generally closed on the day of his funeral as a voluntary tribute of respect for one who had many friends and no enemies.  Mr. LANSING had a loving and affectionate nature and was distinguished for honesty and truthfulness.  He was the father of five children: Arthur B., Henry Livingston, Henry Seymour, Manette Antill, and Barent B.  The second son and subject of our sketch, Henry Livingston, was born in Rome, NY, in the year 1818.  He was educated for a business career, and on leaving school engaged in the mercantile business at Utica.  In 1836 he accepted an offer of a clerkship in the Ontario Bank at Canandaigua, NY, an institution in which his paternal and maternal grandfathers were large stockholders, and in the year 1838 married Catherine Olivia, daughter of Henry B. GIBSON, cashier and manager of that bank.  Mr. LANSING remained in the bank with his father-in-law for a number of years, and then went with his family to Detroit, Mich., where he accepted the cashiership of the bank called "The Michigan Insurance."  Remaining only a year or so in this bank Mr. LANSING was called to the cashiership of the Oliver Lee & Company Bank, Buffalo, NY, which institution he remained in as cashier, and afterwards as president, until the bank was forced, in the great panic of 1857, to shut its doors.  Some time after the failure of the bank Mr. LANSING accepted the office of treasurer and secretary of the Buffalo and Erie Railroad, with its office at Buffalo.  This position he held for a number of years, filling the office with great acceptability to the directors of the company.  Resigning his office, Mr. LANSING, about the year 1873, purchased a charming country place at Niagara, Ontario, and there he passed his summers until the time of his death in 1889.  Mr. LANSING was essentially a domestic man, he was fond of his home and devoted to his family.  He was ever led to seek the highest happiness in his own domestic circle and possessed in a high degree those social qualities which belong to the refined and cultured gentleman.  In a certain sense Mr. LANSING was the fruit of hereditary culture; his father and grandfather on the paternal and maternal side were bon vivants and connoisseurs.  He prided himself upon his accurate judgment and discrimination in the choice of and selection of fine wines, and was an epicure in the best sense of the word, a lover of life's good things.  In one particular, in which business men are too generally negligent, Mr. LANSING excelled; he had cultivated the art of letter writing until his epistolary style became of rare excellence.  He could express himself in the readiest and neatest way with great apparent ease, his letters were bubbling over in sentiment, expressed with great felicity and beauty, as all who ever received them will bear testimony.  Mr. LANSING was extremely fond of the sylvan sports, was an exceedingly good shot and an expert fisherman.  In the years long gone by, in order to indulge in the latter sport, he was compelled to make his own flies, and it was that accomplished gentleman and skillful sportsman, Alexander JEFFREY, of Lexington, Ky., but who at that time lived at Canandaigua, who taught him how to make and use them, and it was this same gentleman who taught Seth GREEN, of Rochester, NY, who became the State's most expert fisherman, all he knew about angling.  Mr. LANSING was a most delightful companion and enjoyed good company, but it had to be the best in order to afford him any pleasure.  He was extremely fond of poetry and had no end of quotations upon his tongue's end, and possessed the unusual faculty of being able to repeat from memory whole pieces, no matter how long they were, provided they awakened a responsive chord.  Mr. LANSING, coming as he did from a military family, very naturally inherited military tastes, and shortly after the outbreak of the Civil War was appointed by the governor of New York chairman of the Senatorial Committee of his Senatorial District, which was composed of the following very prominent citizens of Buffalo:  Nathan K. HALL, Stephen G. AUSTIN, Jacob BEYER, John GANSON, Philip DORSHEIMER, and Alexander W. HARVEY.  At this time Mr. LANSING was brigadier-general of one of the brigades attached to the 8th Division of the State militia.  Mr. LANSING served faithfully upon this committee and through its efforts Colonel CHAPIN's regiment, the 116th New York Volunteers, and McMahon's Irish regiment, the Corcoran Guards, were organized, recruited and sent to the front, where they did most excellent service.  Mr. LANSING departed this life, after a tedious illness which he bore with great fortitude, at Canandaigua, on the morning of the 30th of September, 1889, and left him surviving a widow and two sons, Livingston and Watts Sherman LANSING.  He was buried at Forestlawn Cemetery, Buffalo, NY.

 

LAPHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 111 - 112

LAPHAM, David G., Canandaigua, was born in Manchester, January 17, 1839, a son of Anson S., a farmer of that town.  Our subject attended the common schools of Manchester, and later fitted himself for college at Palmyra Union School and Macedon Academy.  He entered Yale College in 1860, graduating in 1864.  That year his father died and he conducted the farm for his mother three years, and then entered the office of Senator E. G. LAPHAM, with whom he read law for two years and was admitted to the bar in 1869.  He spent one year longer in the senator's office and then opened an office for himself in the Hubbell block.  He has since enjoyed a lucrative practice, and is considered one of the leading members of the profession in his county.  In 1892 he was nominated on the republican ticket for surrogate and the Democrat party recognizing his popularity, made no nomination in opposition.  In 1885 he was elected surrogate for the term of 6 years, expiring in 1891.  He has held the office of town clerk for two terms and has been village clerk and attorney.  He is a trustee of the Ontario Orphan Asylum and treasurer of the Red Jacket Club.  Mr. LAPHAM married in 1872 Emily, daughter of Jonas M. WHEELER of Canandaigua, and they have two daughters: Anne Edith and Emily Marian.  

 

LAPHAM   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 316

LAPHAM, George E., Farmington, was born in Farmington, October 11, 1848.  He was educated in the public schools, Macedon and Belville Academies, and is a farmer, also makes a specialty of the milk business for the city of Rochester.  September 20, 1870, he married Ida M., daughter of George and Hannah M. LOOMIS of his native town.  They have four children: Dircie M., Mary B., Leslie D., and George E. Jr.  Mr. LAPHAM's father, Elias H., was born in this town in 1808.  He was educated in the public schools and Canandaigua Academy, and was a farmer.  Elias married Dircie A. BROWN of this town, and they had three children: Helen D., died in infancy; David B., born July 2, 1837, and died May 16, 1889; and George E.  His mother died May 2, 1859, aged 46 years.  His grandfather, Isaac LAPHAM, was born in Berkshire county, Mass., in 1777.  He came here and located north of the Friend's meeting-house.  He married Mary, sister of Jared SMITH, and they had 8 children:  Epephras, Elias H., Anson S., Ambrose S., Isaac S., Jared S., Lucina S., and Mary E.  His great-grandfather, David LAPHAM, was a native of Massachusetts, and his great-grandmother, Judith, died in 1846 aged 88 years.

 

LAPHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 105 

Elbridge Gerry LAPHAM was born in the town of Farmington, Ontario county, October 18, 1814; educated in the Canandaigua Academy.  Was admitted to the bar in 1844, and early won distinction as an advocate; originally a Democrat in politics, belonging to the Barn Burner or Anti-Slavery wing of that party, but in 1856 identified himself with the recently organized Republican party.  Elected to the Constitutional Convention of 1867, to Congress in 1874,1876,1878, and 1880. and in 1881 was chosen by the Legislature to the seat in the United States Senate from which Roscoe CONKLING had resigned.  Died at his summer home on the shore of Canandaigua lake, January 8, 1890.

 

LAPHAM

  History of Ontario County, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 13-14

Nathan D. LAPHAM, attorney and counselor at law in Geneva, Ontario county, New York, has not alone gained a reputation as a civil and criminal lawyer, but has for a number of years been prominently identified with public affairs in his section of the country.  It is owing to the energy, ambition and progressive ideas of men of this stamp that many greatly needed improvements are introduced into the commonwealth, and their influence is a widespread one, extending far beyond the confines of their own generations and lives. 

(1)          Nathan LAPHAM, grandfather of Nathan D. LAPHAM, and the ancestor for whom he was named, was a descendant of ancestors who held membership in the Society of Friends of Massachusetts branch.  Nathan LAPHAM was the owner of a fine homestead in Wayne county, New York, which was in the possession of the family for many years.  He was a farmer of the old school, with a decided readiness to adopt modern ideas wherever they proved practicable.

(2)        De Witt C., son of Nathan LAPHAM, was born in Macedon, Wayne county, New York, in 1846 and died on the family homestead in 1909.  He was engaged in agricultural pursuits during the active years of life, and was prominent in the public affairs of the community, having filled with ability a number of local offices.  He was a staunch supporter of the republican party, and his religious affiliations were with the Methodist church.  He married Amelia J. FINLEY, born in 1847, now residing in the village of Macedon, daughter of David FINLEY, of the same town.

(3)        Nathan D., son of Dewitt C. and Amelia J. (FINLEY) LAPHAM, was born in Macedon, Wayne county, New York, November 14, 1871.  From his earliest years he was of a studious nature and made the best possible use of the educational advantages afforded by the Macedon Academy, of which he was a graduate.  Subsequently he was a student in the Cornell Law School, from which he graduated in the class of 1895, this institution awarding him a post-graduate scholarship.   He was admitted to the bar December 26, 1895, and he established himself in the practice of his profession in the spring of 1896, at Lyons, New York, in association with Clyde W. KNAPP, who is at present the county judge of Wayne county, the firm being known as Knapp & Lapham, and being dissolved after a period of two years.  During 1897-98, Mr. LAPHAM served as clerk of the board of supervisors, and after the dissolution of his partnership with Mr. KNAPP he practiced independently at Lyons until 1902, when he sold his interests to B. S. RUDE.  On November 13, 1904, he removed to Geneva, New York, where he commenced practicing his profession and won almost immediate recognition for the excellence of his methods.  During his six years practice in Geneva he has been called upon to serve as the counsel in seven murder trials, in three of which he gained acquittals for the prisoner; of the other four cases one was sentenced to the electric chair, but is now (1910) under sentence, pending application for a new trial, one was sentenced to a term of imprisonment for nineteen years, and the other two received short sentences.  Mr. LAPHAM has gradually withdrawn from the criminal law practice and is devoting more attention to civil cases.  As an assistant to Commissioner CLEMENT, of Albany, he has been engaged in special work of prosecution of excise cases, and is now engaged in prosecuting franchise tax cases under special assignment from Attorney General O'MALLEY.  His political support has always been earnestly given to the interests of the republican party, and he has a brilliant future before him.  Mr. LAPHAM is a man of more than usual sagacity and sound judgment and is noted for his many excellent characteristics.  He is forceful and eloquent in his manner of addressing a jury, which fact carries considerable weight in the decisions rendered and his services are in great demand as an orator in political campaigns.  As a citizen he is universally esteemed, always sustaining the character of a true man.  His business transactions are conducted on the principles of strict integrity, and he has fulfilled to the letter every trust committed to him.  His social and fraternal affiliations are numerous, among them being the following: Macedon Lodge No. 665, Free and Accepted Masons; Delta Chi chapter of Ithaca, New York; Kanandasaga Club, and he served as president of the Taft and Sherman Club during the campaign of 1908. 

Mr. LAPHAM married October 14, 1903, Rose E., daughter of Harvey and Kate B. CASE, formerly of Clyde, New York, now residing with Mr. and Mrs. LAPHAM.  Mr. and Mrs. LAPHAM are members of the North Presbyterian Church.

 

LARKINS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 109 

LARKINS, James E., Hopewell, was born in England in 1820.  He is one of seven children of Henry and Ann (COATS) LARKINS, natives of England, who came to New York in 1836 and settled in Genesee county, afterward moving to Ontario county, where in 1843 Mrs. LARKINS died.  Mr. LARKINS afterward went to Michigan, where he died in 1865.  James E. came to America with his parents, was educated in the common schools, and is a general and successful farmer.  He married Cornelia H. WELLS, a native of Hartford, Conn., and they had two children: Edward W., who is in Colorado, and Emma C., wife of James SWARTZ, of Dundee.  After his marriage subject settled in Hopewell, but in 1868 bought his present farm.  He always has been an active republican, was justice of the peace eleven years, and assessor six years.  He and his wife are members of the M. E. Church at Chapinville, and Mr. LARKIN is at present one of the trustees of the church.  

 

LA RUE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 108 

LA RUE, James H., Manchester, was born May 28, 1838.  His ancestors were originally from France.  Mr. LA RUE possesses a farm with his brother, Alvin E. LA RUE, of 75 acres in the town of Manchester.  He was a member of Company D, 111th Reg. N. Y. Vols., and is a prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  His ancestors on both his father's and mother's side participated in the War of 1812.  He married Martha VANDERBILT; they have no children.  Alvin E. LA RUE, was born August 15, 1852.  He married Isadore VANDERBILT, and they have three children.  He is a part owner of the farm, and both he and his brother are staunch republicans.  

 

LATHAM

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 112

LATHAM, George W., Gorham, a native of Canandaigua, was born December 17, 1843, a son of Warren C., whose father was an early settler of Oneida county, coming there from Glasgow, Scotland, with his brother, who settled in California.  Warren C. LATHAM was born in Oneida county in 1801.  For many years he carried the mail on the Buffalo and Albany route.  He married Sarah YOUNGS, a native of Gorham, by whom he had two sons and seven daughters.  About 1835 he settled in Canandaigua and drove a stage between that place and Geneva for six years, then engaged in farming in Gorham where he remained until his death in 1884.  Mrs. LATHAM now resides in Kent county, Mich.  George W. married in 1864 a Miss Augusta P. LEWIS of Gorham, born June 27, 1837.  She is a daughter of Gustavus A. LEWIS of Gorham, who was a son of Ebenezer of Revolutionary fame, who early settled in Gorham.  He was twice married and by his second wife had three daughters and one son.  Gustavus A. LEWIS was born in 1801, and married Lany MANLEY of Amsterdam, by whom he had ten children.  Mr. LATHAM owns and has employed the original farm of A. A. LEWIS on which he now lives.  He is a republican and has been trustee and deacon of the Congregational church many years, also superintendent of Sunday school 15 years, and leader of Bible class ten years.  

 

LATTING

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 112

LATTING, Aldrich J., Hopewell, was born in Hopewell in 1859, a son of Jacob, born in New Paltz, August 3, 1822, whose father was John, a native of Dutchess county, born in 1790.  When a young man John followed teaching several winters.  He married Elizabeth VAN NORSTRAND of Dutchess county, by whom he had 12 children, nine of whom grew to maturity, and at present three are living.  During the winter of 1822-23 John LATTING came to Hopewell Centre, then moved to Farmington where he remained two years; when he returned to Hopewell and settled on the farm now owned by Jacob LATTING, and his brother, John H., and situated in the northwest corner of this town.  Here he lived until his death in 1866.  His wife died in 1856.  Jacob was reared a farmer and has always followed that occupation.  He married Lydia H. McLOUTH of Farmington, by whom he has two children: Aldrich J. and a daughter of Emogene, wife of Frank A. INGRAHAM, who resides in Cortland, NY, and owns part of the old farm.  Jacob LATTING is a Prohibitionist.  His parents were Quakers and he is a birthright member, and attends South Farmington church.  A. J. LATTING married Emma KNOWL(E)S, November 25, 1885, by whom he has two children: Mabel L. and Blanche E.  Mr. LATTING cast his first vote for GARFIELD.  He afterwards voted for CLEVELAND, and is now a Prohibitionist.  He is a member of E. K. O. R. of Manchester, and has also been master of Manchester Grange No. 501.  He and his wife united with the First Baptist church of Manchester, April 17, 1892.  

 

LAUDER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 109

LAUDER, John W., Victor, was born in the old homestead November 24, 1858, was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary, and is a farmer.  December 30, 1883, he married Cora C., daughter of Charles and Eliza MARQUIS of Victor.  They have five children: Pearl A., Ruth E., C. Maud, Erma F., and John A.  Mr. LAUDER's father, John A., was born in the town of Florida, Montgomery county, August 21, 1821; he too was a farmer.  In September, 1855, he married Ann BOWERMAN of Schenectady county, and they had one son, John W.  Mr. LAUDER's father died December 3, 1883, and his mother resides with him on the old homestead.  His grandfather James and his grandmother Jane came from Scotland and located in Florida, where his father was born.  The ancestors of the family are Scotch and German.  

 

 

LAUDER

 History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 168-169

The LAUDER family is of ancient Scotch origin, originally Anglo-Saxon. As early as 1200 the family was located in Berwickshire, Scotland. The name is also spelled LOWDER.

James LAUDER, immigrant ancestor in this country, located with his wife Jane at Florida, Montgomery county, New York, coming thither from their home in Scotland. Among their children was John A., mentioned below.

John A., son of James LAUDER, was born in Florida, Montgomery county, New York, August 21, 1821, died December 3, 1883. He was a farmer all his active life. He came to Victor, Ontario county, about 1855, and located on a farm which his son now owns. He married in September 1855, Ann BOWERMAN, of Schenectady, New York, and they had one son, John W., mentioned below. The mother was born in 1815 in Montgomery county and died in 1901.   (NOTE: John A. and Anna W. are buried in the Friends Cemetery, Farmington, NY. Her dates are: June 26, 1816 to January 27, 1901)

John W., son of John A. LAUDER, was born on the old homestead at Victor, November 24, 1858. He attended public schools of his native town, and the Lima Seminary, in which he took a commercial course. Beginning life as a farmer he has followed it with uniform success to the present time, succeeding to the homestead, which comprises one hundred and fifty acres of land. The farm is valuable and is cherished by its owner, not only for its present value and productiveness, but for its associations. About 25 acres of his farm are devoted to raising apples and his orchard is one of the best in the county. He has an evaporator, whit which he prepares not only the fruit of his own raising for the market, but he has built up an extensive business in this line in evaporating apples for the farmers of this section. In politics he is a republican and he has always taken a keen interest and an active part in public affairs in the town and county. At various times he has served the town for five years as assessor and in other offices of trust and honor. In 1909 he was elected supervisor of the town of Victor and he is at present a member of the board of equalization of taxes, the most important committee of the board of supervisors of the county, and also a member of the insurance committee and of the committee on county treasurer. The family are prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal church.

He married, December 20, 1883, Cora C. MARQUIS, born in Farmington, New York, February 24, 1862 daughter of Charles and Eliza MARQUIS of Farmington. Her father is also a farmer. Children: 1. Pearl A., born January 2, 1886, now a school teacher at Greeley, Colorado; 2. Ruth E., born June 1, 1888, graduate of the domestic science department of the Mechanics Institute of Rochester, New York; 3. C. Maud, born October 28, 1889, a student in the State Normal School at Greeley, Colorado; 4. Erma F., born May 8, 1891; 5. J Adair, born November 22, 1892; 6. Lou C., born October 16, 1893; 7. Agnes M., born November 25, 1894; 8. Carl M., born January 16, 1897, died November 1898; 9. Elsie R., born October 10, 1898; 10. Mildred Z., born September 23, 1899.

 

LEAHY

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 50 - 51 

Patrick Henry LEAHY, who is clerk of and counsel of the board of supervisors of Ontario county, NY, in addition to attending to his large legal practice, is a fine example of what may be achieved by earnest and unremitting striving, when heavily handicapped by adverse circumstances.  He owns his present high standing in his profession and in the community entirely to his own unaided efforts and his inflexible and unfaltering courage in every relation of life have won for him the respect and confidence of all with whom he has come in contact.  Judging from the success which has attended his labors in the past, a most brilliant future apparently lies before him. 

John LEAHY, his father, was born in Castle Island, Ireland in 1833 and died in this country in April 1873.  He had labored diligently as a workman all his life, deeming no work too humble, as long as it was honorable.  During the Civil War, he enlisted in 1862, served as a private in Co. E, 160th NY Volunteer Infantry and was mustered out with honor, at the close of the war.  His untimely death left his little family unprovided.

Patrick Henry LEAHY was born in a log cabin in Canadice, Ontario county, NY, June 21, 1873.  He was educated in the public schools of this county and in the Geneseo State Normal School, from the classical department of which he was graduated in 1895, with honor.  Studious and ambitious as he had always been, it is a small marvel that he made an excellent use of his time while he was at this institution, and upon leaving it, that he found no difficulty in obtaining an appointment as a teacher.  For the six years following his graduation, he was engaged in teaching during the winter months, thus enabling him to earn a sufficient sum to pursue the study of law, a desire he had always entertained.  During the summer months of these six years, he studied law in Rochester, under the preceptorship of George RAINES and was admitted to the bar in 1902.  He established himself in the practice of his profession in Honeoye, Ontario Co., NY, in which he met with an encouraging amount of success.  The death of his mother in 1903 caused him to make a change in his place of residence, and in the spring of 1905, he removed to Geneva, where he has now a well-established and lucrative practice, which is constantly increasing.  As an earnest and thoughtful member of the Republican party, he has taken an active interest in public affairs since his earliest voting years, and before making his home in Geneva, he served as a member of the county committee for the town of Richmond for a term of two years.  In 1907 he was appointed clerk of the board of supervisors, and in 1908, was appointed county attorney.  He is also a member of the Republican committee of the second ward of Geneva City and the chairman of that body.  He and his wife are members and attendants at the services of the Catholic church and his affiliations with fraternal organizations are as follows: The Delphic Fraternity of the State Normal schools; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Knights of Columbus and Sons of Veterans.

Mr. LEAHY married January 14, 1903, Dora Ann, born in Canadice, NY, June 19, 1883, daughter of Thaddeus A. and Lydia M. SKILTON.  Children: Harold William, born June 28, 1904 and Marjorie Ellen, born September 17, 1905.  

 

LEGERWOOD   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 364 - 365

LEGERWOOD, George, Seneca, was born in Roxborourghshire, Scotland, June 4, 1825.  He attended school there when a boy, and learned the blacksmith's trade.  He came to the United States in 1847, locating in Gorham for one year, and then came to Hall's Corners, where he conducted a blacksmith business over twelve years.  He then purchased a farm and has been one of Seneca's successful farmers.  March 13, 1861, he married Margaret A. RIPPEY of Seneca, and they had two children, John A. and Mary E.  John was educated in the public schools and is a farmer.  He married Mary E. SATTLER of Gorham, and they have a son and daughter, Anna B. and George W.  The daughter, Mary E., presides over her father's house.  Mrs. LEGERWOOD died September 18, 1889, mourned by a bereaved husband and many friends.  Mr. LEGERWOOD is now a retired farmer living at Hall's Corners.

 

 

 

LEE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 108

LEE, Roswell M., East Bloomfield, a native of East Bloomfield, was born September 20, 1855.  He has always been a farmer and owns about 118 acres.  Since 1879 he has been a successful breeder of American Merino sheep, and keeps registered stock.  He is a member of the "American Merino Sheep Association."  Also for the last few years he has been engaged in the sale of agricultural implements, Walker's fertilizer manufactured at Phelps, and Keystone wire fence.  Mr. LEE is a Democrat and is at present highway commissioner, and has acted in that capacity for two years.  He has also been deputy sheriff three years.  March 7, 1878, Mr. LEE married Ella A., daughter of Russell W. GOODING of East Bloomfield, and they have had four children: Bessie M. (deceased), Seth R., Hester A. and Pauline G.  The parents of our subject were Seth L. LEE, born in East Bloomfield in 1823, and Sarah PECK, a native of West Bloomfield, to whom were born three sons and five daughters.  Mr. LEE owned 238 acres of land in East Bloomfield.  In politics he was a republican.  His death occurred March 20, 1875, and his wife now resides in Canandaigua at the age of 65 years.  The father of Seth L. was Major Seth L. LEE, a native of Massachusetts and son of Captain George LEE.  The wife of Major LEE was Sallie M., daughter of Benjamin WHEELER.  Mr. LEE came to East Bloomfield about 1800, and there owned about 1,000 acres of land, a grist-mill and saw-mill, and was a large wool grower.  Mr. LEE died in 1864, and his wife in 1870.  

 

LEE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 318

LEE, Father Patrick, Clifton Springs, was born in Ireland March 6, 1818.  He was liberally educated in the High schools of Ireland, and at the University of Worcester, Mass., and St. Joseph College, Buffalo, NY.  He was ordained June 30, 1856.  Father LEE has been stationed at East and West Bloomfield and his first mission was at Victor.  He was stationed here in 1862, having now had charge of the Clifton Springs church and mission for over 30 years.  Father LEE is a gentleman of broad and liberal views and of sound judgment.

 

 

LEIGHTON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 108 - 109

LEIGHTON, Peter, Canandaigua, was born in Scotland and came to the United States at the age of 22; in 1870 he was employed as salesman by James D. PATERSON who was at that time engaged in the dry goods business in this village.  The following year he became engaged as salesman with the firm of Sibley, Lindsay & Curr of Rochester, NY, with whom he remained until 1880, when he associated himself with Andrew JOHNSTON of that city, and bought out his former employer, Mr. PATERSON in Canandaigua, when the firm of Leighton & Johnston continued in business until 1889, when Mr. JOHNSTON retiring the business has been since conducted by Mr. LEIGHTON alone, occupying a building 20x100 feet of two floors and basement devoted to general dry goods, fancy goods, cloaks, draperies, etc.  In 1877 he married Jeannie HALL a native of Scotland and they have three children: Frederick, Henry and Helen.  Mr. LEIGHTON has long been one of the trustees of the First Baptist church and is also president of the Vanderbilt Sash Balance Company, which was organized in 1892 with a capital of $10,000.00 for the manufacture and sale of spring sash balances.  

 

LEONARD   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 319

LEONARD, Charles D., Geneva, was born in London, Canada, June 18, 1867, and came to the United States with his parents when less than a year old.  They located in Rochester, where Charles D. was educated in the public schools and in Williams's Commercial College.  Soon after the completion of his education he became interested in the nursery business.  He has been a resident of Geneva four years and is secretary of the RUPERT stock farm nurseries of the town of Seneca, having an office on Seneca street, Geneva.  These nurseries are celebrated for the best fruits.  Mr. LEONARD has entire control and charge of the large force of salesmen traveling in the United States and Canada.  Mr. LEONARD has recently returned from an extensive trip in Europe, where he visited the largest and best horticultural gardens in England and France, among others the famous Kew, the greatest in the world.  He has given the nursery business his closest study and attention both in Rochester and Geneva.  The nursery has 450 acres.

 

LE ROY
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 207 - 209 

The surname LE ROY is derived from the French Le Roi (king), but is spelled in a multitude of ways.  In the early days we find it commonly LAROY in Dutchess county, LE ROY, LARRAWAY, LERWAY, LERRDAY and otherwise in Albany county, while a French Huguenot branch at New Rochelle, now spelling the name LE ROY, is descended from Peter LA ROUX (red).  The Dutchess county family was with the Dutch settlers and there is every reason to accept the tradition that the progenitor was from Holland.  The early records are so fragmentary that the lineage cannot be traced in detail.  Francois or Fransoy LE ROY was a taxpayer at Poughkeepsie, Dutchess county, as early as 1717-18, was captain of the military company in 1729, and fence viewer in 1747 (p. 21, "History of Poughkeepsie").  The "History of Poughkeepsie" (p. 374) gives the date of settlement of the family as about 1700 and calls it Dutch.  Jonas LE ROY, of the old town of Esopus, New York, married Maria USILE and had:  Blandin, baptized February 1, 1708; Jonas, baptized September 19, 1714; Jonas, baptized June 24, 1716; Jan, baptized October 19, 1718; Maria, baptized June 14, 1721.

Various descendants of Francis were living in Dutchess county, in 1790, according to the first federal census.  Francis, Francis Jr., Middaugh and Elizabeth were heads of families at Fishkill, while John, Simon, Peter and Teunis had families at Poughkeepsie.  Teunis and John were old men at that time.

Francis, Francis Jr. were taxpayers in Dutchess county in 1771.  Isaac LE ROY of the Poughkeepsie family settled at Schenectady, and died there aged 72 years in 1828, having children Simon, Jannetje, and Maria.  In 1771 Francis LE ROY was a constable in Poughkeepsie.

     ( I ) James LE ROY was born in Dutchess county, New York, September 10, 1820.  His father was of the family mentioned above and a descendant in the fourth or fifth generation from Francis LE ROY, the first settler.  His father lived and died in Dutchess county.  James LE ROY was educated in the public schools in Phelps, Ontario county, whither he came when a boy.  He followed farming all his active life and became one of the substantial and representative men of the town.  He was active and prominent in the Methodist Episcopal church.

He married (first) Fanny PALMITER and (second) Mary Ann PALMITER, who died January 4, 1909.  He died October 3, 1907.  Children of the second wife:  Laretta, married Charles RIDLEY; Rosetta, married George HORNBECK, died October 27, 1910; Ellen E., married Byron MORRIS; Flora B., married George WRIGHT; William J., mentioned below.

     ( II ) William J. LE ROY, son of James LE ROY, was born in Wayne county, New York, May 25, 1852.  He moved with his parents to Phelps, Ontario county, when he was a small boy and was educated there in the public schools.  He has always been a farmer.  He has been enterprising, industrious and progressive and commands the respect and confidence of all his townsmen.  He has traveled extensively in the western states and is a man of wide information and liberal ideas.  He is a member of the Methodist church, of which he has been a steward since 1903 and member of the official board.  He was superintendent of the Sunday school for three years and sang in the choir for twenty years.  He was chairman of the building committee.  In 1907 he was appointed by the county judge one of the commissioners in charge of the construction of drainage ditches to reclaim the swamps in the town and he was secretary and treasurer of the commission.  The cost of this work was about $9,000.  He is a member of Wide-Awake Grange, Patrons of Husbandry and was master two years and held other offices in that body.  He is a member of the Fruit Growers' Association.  For a number of years he has been a school trustee of the district.  In politics he is a Republican.

 

LEVET

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 112 - 113  

LEVET, Alfred B., Geneva, was born in Victor, November 23, 1869, was educated in the public schools of that town and took a course in mechanical draughting at Mechanics' Institute, Rochester, and is a cabinet maker by occupation.  He is also employed quite extensively in draughting for building purposes.  October 8, 1892, he married Jennie A. HARRINGTON of Geneva.  Mr. LEVET's father, John H., was born at Islington, near London, Eng., in 1827. He was educated there and by occupation was a piano forte maker.  He married Emma M. BARLOW of his native place, coming to the United States about 1852, locating first in Rochester, afterward in Victor.  They had 7 children, two died in infancy, five grew to maturity: Oliver C. married Agnes GOULD; Emily M. and Alfred B., two died after they grew to maturity, Walter J. and Alice L.     Mrs. LEVET's father, Elias W. HARRINGTON, was born in Scipio, Cayuga county, November 4, 1827.  January 15, 1850, he married Marietta DOTY of Columbia county, who was born November 30, 1830, and came to Geneva in 1861.  They had four children:  One son, Henry S., died at 11 years of age; Lucy D., who married Alburtus B. JOHNSON; Sarah M., a teacher in Victor; and Jennie A.  Mr. HARRINGTON died December 28, 1881.  Mr. LEVET's father died in 1871.  Mr. HARRINGTON's stepfather, Col. W. W. JONES, was the first white child born in Geneva and west of Utica.  

 

LEWIS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 72b 

To sympathize with the oppressed, to break down the barriers of social caste, and to give equal change, right and privilege to all, is the true spirit of the philanthropist and the republicans.  Viewed in this light, the life and character of Colonel Melancton LEWIS is a fit illustration of these types of genuine manhood.  He is a native of New England, the son of Benjamin LEWIS and Ruth TILLOTSON, during life, residents of West Stockbridge, Berkshire county, Massachusetts.  On November 3, 1795, Melancton, the second in a family of three, was born.  His father, a farmer in moderate circumstances, was a thorough-going, practical man, fond of his calling and desirous that his sons should chose the same vocation for life.  When fourteen, Melancton became desirous of attending the academy, but finding his opposed to his father's wishes, he abandoned his plans and conformed to parental direction.  He revolted thought as he turned the furrow, and so gained in the esteem of his townsmen as to be sent by them as their representative in the legislature of 1827 and 1831.  He was married September 21, 1820, to Emeline MOFFIT, and in 1822, nineteen years after the mother's death, his father, dying, bequeathed the farm to this subject of this sketch. 

In the spring of 1836, Colonel LEWIS went to Ashtabula county, Ohio, thence removed to Rochester in the year following, and in 1838 came to the village of Victor.  Here he purchased commodious and pleasantly situated property, which has ever since been his home. 

In 1844 he engaged in partnership with Albert SIMMONS, on the mercantile pursuit, and continued in business for thirteen years.  Not a taste for this pursuit, but a regard for the welfare of his son, Melancton, and his advancement in life, actuated Colonel LEWIS to become a merchant.  The son began as a clerk, and became a partner, and both father and son retired from the firm in the fall of 1857.  In 1861, the son resumed business in the old store with his former partner and remained there till his death, February 27, 1864.  Subsequent years were employed by Colonel LEWIS in the settlement of accounts and the closing up of business.  The character and popular estimation of Colonel LEWIS may be gathered by a consideration of official rank, private opinion, and social relation.  As a soldier, during that provident period when a well-organized militia was regarded as essential to security, he rose to the command of a regiment.  As a man of judgment, he was magistrate for nine years, and served on the Board of State Valuation in 1881.  A believer in religion, he has been for 34 years a trustee in the Congregational church.  A firm and honest friend in the down-trodden and enslaved, and a believer in the great principals of liberty and equality, he has sought the greatest good to the greatest number; and firm as an Abolitionist, he was no less independent as a republican.  He is a friend to the free-school system, in the belief that general education, by lessening crime and imparting skill to effort, is an ample return for the burdens of taxation.  In language he is exact and comprehensive; in manner, engaging.  Abroad, he is social; at home, cheerful and pleasant.  He receives life as an experience, and regards the ordering of human events as ultimately designed for man's welfare.  The past is contemplated in general with satisfaction, and the future is awaited with tranquil mind.

 

LEWIS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 254

LEWIS, James W., Gorham, a native of Gorham, was born October 10, 1852.  His father, Eugene, was a son of Sylvester, a native of Northumberland, who married Catharine DUBOIS, by whom he had 10 children.    He served in the War of 1812, and was one of the first settlers of Gorham, where he died in 1873, and his wife in 1881.  Eugene was born in Gorham, April 19, 1823.  In 1849 he married Rebecca WILSON, a native of Gorham and daughter of James and Hannah WILSON, of Gorham.  They had two sons and a daughter, James W. being the only one living.  Eugene was a republican, and a member of Rushville Lodge No. 377 F. & A. M.  He died August 12, 1891, and his wife survives him.  James W. was educated in Rushville Union Schools.  He and his mother own 160 acres of land.  In 1875 he married Sarah TUTTLE, of Canandaigua, a daughter of Henry N. and Mary A. TUTTLE, who had 10 children.  Mr. TUTTLE was a soldier in the Civil war, and died August 23, 1891, and Mrs. TUTTLE resides in Canandaigua.  James W. and wife have one child, Harriet P.  Mr. LEWIS is a republican in politics.

 

 

LEWIS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 509 - 511 

LEWIS, Joseph S., who is familiarly known to all acquaintances by the title of "Captain," was born in Washington county, NY, on the 7th of July, 1810.  His father was Barnet LEWIS, who removed while his son was still an infant to Madison county, where Joseph served an apprenticeship at the trade of harness making.  While still a young man he started out to make his own way in the world.  Going first to Oswego, NY, he worked about three months in a hotel, after which and on the 29th of November 1830, he came to Geneva, and has since made it his permanent home.  His first employment was in the old Franklin House, then kept by Solomon ST JOHN.  That hotel was built in 1824, and is still in use for its original purpose.  A few months later Mr. LEWIS transferred his services to the proprietor of the old Geneva Hotel, the frame of which still stands in a part of Dr. SMITH's Geneva Sanitarium.  He remained with that house in the administration of proprietors Beebe and Hemingway, respectively, and during the proprietorship of the last named man he had special charge of the stages, which made that popular hostelry their headquarters.  Not long after this Mr. LEWIS engaged in his first business venture, by starting a small grocery and confectionery store, in company with a Mr. NAGLEE.  This connection continued only one year, but Mr. LEWIS left the business with a fair profit, and returned to the care of the stages at the old hotel.

In the year 1836 there was only one steamer running on Seneca Lake.  It is an evidence of the confidence felt in Mr. LEWIS in this community that he was appointed captain of the steamer, thus gaining his right to the title by which he has since been popularly known.  After two seasons on this boat, Captain LEWIS took command of the Keuka, the first steamer on Keuka (or Crooked Lake).  He commanded this boat for five years.  His popularity in these positions was great, and he became widely known to the traveling public throughout Central New York.  About this time Captain LEWIS secured an interest in a line of stages that ran into Geneva, and in 1841 he took up his residence here.  He purchased the livery business connected with the Franklin House, and thereafter for 20 years ran the stage lines between this place and Penn Yan, Lyons and Ovid.  During another period of twenty years he carried on a livery business on Seneca street, with D. W. COLVIN as a partner.  During the Civil war period, Captain LEWIS carried on an extensive wool business, associated with S. S. COBB, and was conspicuous in raising the recruits for the 126th and 128th Regiments of Infantry.

Captain LEWIS made investments of his accumulated means in Geneva property, and for some years past has given his attention to its care and development.  He has twice filled the office of village trustee, and once held the office of president of the village.  In these positions he evinced a commendable public spirit, and gave freely of his energies for the welfare of the community.  He has taken an active interest in educational affairs, and held the position of president of the Board of Education for about 10 years preceding December 1891.  He is chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Presbyterian Church, one of the Cemetery Commissioners and a director of the Geneva National Bank, in which he is a large stockholder.  All this indicates that Captain LEWIS has led a busy life, and has been conspicuously identified with the public affairs of Geneva.  In his advancing years he looks back upon a well spent life, and has made a record for public spirit and good citizenship.

 

LEWIS

History Of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 446 - 448

It is a fact, and one which cannot but be regretted to every deep-thinking man, that the majority of historiographers of the present age are in the habit of overlooking, whether by accident or design, the class of citizens who devote their lives to agricultural and commercial enterprises, while they give prominence to lawyers, doctors, statesmen, and others whose paths in life lie in the learned professions.  This is a grievous oversight, and one that should be rectified at the earliest moment.  There is surely no class of citizens more worthy of the respect and esteem of their fellows than those who labor so earnestly and uninterruptedly to improve agricultural methods, commerce and manufactures.  It is a well known fact, one which has been proven by centuries of experience, that all the prosperity of a country depends upon the good results achieved from a careful and progressive method of tilling the soil, and improving the breeds of domestic animals.  One of the most successful and progressive men engaged in this indispensable and honorable pursuit is Alfred George LEWIS, president of the White Springs Farm Dairy Company, and closely identified with a number of other financial, commercial and agricultural enterprises.

George Howard LEWIS, father of the above mentioned, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1840, died October 2, 1897.  He was a coal dealer in Buffalo, New York, and in Pennsylvania, and was the president of the Bell-Lewis & Yates Coal Mining Company, who were the largest shippers of coal in their time.  Mr. LEWIS was the leading spirit in this corporation, and a large part of the success of the firm was due to his personal efforts.  He was as noted for his charities as for his unusually brilliant business qualities.  In his last will and testament he devised the sum of $4,000 to charitable purposes, and during his life he had always been a liberal contributor to benevolent undertakings.  He married Katherine, daughter of Alfred BELL, of Rochester, New York.  In 1898 she purchased a farm of 350 acres, which adjoins that of her son, and is living there at the present time during the summer months, spending her winters in Buffalo.  She makes a specialty of importing and breeding Shropshire sheep, and has been very successful in this enterprise.  Mr. and Mrs. LEWIS had but one child. 

Alfred George, only child of George Howard and Katherine (BELL) LEWIS, was born in Buffalo, New York, July 5, 1879.  His school education was acquired in his native city, and in 1898 he and his mother removed to Geneva, New York.  They purchased a farm of 260 acres of land adjoining the city limits of Geneva, and to this Mr. LEWIS has added by subsequent purchase until he had a plot of 600 acres, all in one piece with the exception of75 acres of woodland.  This farm, known as the White Springs Farm, was formerly the property of James O. SHELDON, and the name dates back to the old Indian days.  There is an Indian burying ground on the place, which is visited by many people and is a place of historic interest.  When the farm came into the possession of Mr. LEWIS he immediately proceeded to make a number of improvements.  He erected a large and commodious brick house, which is supplied with all modern improvements and is a model of comfort in every direction.  Seven magnificent barns were also constructed, a manager's house, a boarding house, and four houses for the use of tenants.  In addition to keeping his farm in a high state of cultivation, Mr. LEWIS is a famous importer and breeder of Guernsey cattle.  He has an average of 250 head of Guernsey cattle the year round, and an annual public sale of the same.  At the last public sale, held in June, 1909, the amount realized was $29,000.  He has beaten the world's record for auction sales by an amount of two thousand dollars.  Also the world's record for a public sale, the average price realized per head for ninety-two head in 1909 being $381.50.  His private sales are also enormous ones, amounting to about two hundred head annually, and these go to all parts of the United States and Canada.  He employs 35 men the year round, and the monthly farm pay roll is about one thousand and three hundred dollars.  Seven pairs of horses are required for the farm work, which is carried on in an extensive manner.  Mr. LEWIS organized the White Springs Farm Dairy Company in 1905, and is the president of the company, as above stated.  The company was incorporated for the sum of $3,500, and the daily output of milk is about $2,000.  The milk is pasteurized, aerated and bottled, and the plant is equipped with the latest and most improved machinery, and is conducted in the most sanitary manner. 

In spite of the manifold demands made upon his time by these pursuits, Mr. LEWIS manages to give considerable attention to a variety of other interests.  He is a stockholder in the Geneva Automobile Company, which was incorporated in 1906, with a capital stock of $15,000, and is at present president of the company.  He is a director of the First National Bank of Geneva; trustee in the Geneva Savings Bank; member of the board of control of the New York State Experiment Station at Geneva; trustee of the Young Men's Christian Association; treasurer of the Public Health Association and one of the directors of the Chamber of Commerce of Geneva.  He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Kana Club of Geneva, Geneva Country Club, Genesee Valley Club of Rochester, Saturn Club of Buffalo, and a life member of the American Guernsey Cattle Club, Hackney Society, Geneva Free Library and the Buffalo Free Library.  He is Independent in his political views, and is a member of Trinity Church. 

Mr. LEWIS married, September 29, 1903, Agnes, born in Geneva, New York, May 27, 1878, daughter of Harry SLAWSON, of Geneva, who died in the fall of 1903.  She is a woman of fine character and great intellectual ability, and a member of a number of associations.  Among these are:  The Equal Suffrage Society, Ontario County Women's Suffrage Association, and at present its vice-president, third vice-president of the Geneva Political Equality Club, and a member of the Geneva Choral Society.  Mr. and Mrs. LEWIS have children:  Katherine Bell, born July 18, 1904, and Alfred George Jr., born January 9, 1908.  Like his father, Mr. LEWIS is of a very charitable disposition.  He is remarkably unselfish and helpful to all in need of assistance, and his character is a most happy combination of strength and gentleness.  He has never sought for political preferment, and is modest and retiring in character, yet takes a foremost place in any plan which tends to the betterment of the community in which he dwells.

 

 

LICHT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 110

LICHT, Frederick, Geneva, was born in Germany, December 27, 1825, and came to this country with his parents in 1832, locating in Brooklyn, NY.  He was engaged in the brewing business in Long Island for 25 years, and is at present vice-president of The Patent Cereals Company.  He is the patentee of the process now used by the P. C. C. in the manufacture of the different wheat and corn specialties for brewing and family use.  The P. C. C. mills were formerly located at Brooklyn, but as the business outgrew their old quarters, they removed to Geneva in 1888.  

 

 

LICHT 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 25 - 27 

Louis J. LICHT, secretary and treasurer of a large stock company for the preparation of cereals, in Geneva, is of German descent.  His father, Frederick LICHT was born in Germany in 1825 and died in this country in 1905.  He came to America in 1832 and was the inventor of the process which has since been improved upon by his sons and in which the family has been successful in accumulating a fortune.  He married Elizabeth KLINCK, born in this country, 1832, died 1882.  They had five children, there of whom are now living and engaged together in business.  Louis J. LICHT was born in East Williamsburg, Long Island September 2, 1862. He was educated in the public schools of his native city and was graduated from the Brooklyn high school.  At the age of 18 years he entered upon his business career, accepting a position in the office of the Brooklyn Sugar Refining Company, and remained with this concern for 5 years, during which time he had risen to the position of statement clerk.  He then engaged in the manufacture of cereals in Brooklyn, under the firm name of Licht & Company, and in 1888 removed to Geneva, NY.  There he organized the present stock company for the manufacture of cereals.  The enterprise was started on a small scale, rather in the nature of an experiment, and from this slight beginning has developed the present important business.  They employ an average of eighty men and consume about ten thousand bushels of grain daily, using principally white corn, which they receive direct from the corn-belt in the western states.  Their plant is a fine one, supplied with all the modern improvements and they are continually adding to their producing facilities.  Their shipments extend through the eastern states as far west as Cleveland, Ohio, and as far south as Washington DC.  The officers of the corporation are: President, Frederick GILBERT of Utica, New York; vice president, John H. LICHT; secretary and Treasurer, Louis J. LICHT; superintendent, George F. LICHT.  All shipments from the plant are made in carload lots.  Mr. LICHT is independent in his political views.  He has been a member of the board of public works for ten years, during which period he has served as president of the board for three years and is holding that office at the present time (1910).    He is a member of Blue Lodge, chapter and commandery of the Masonic fraternity, having served as commander for two years; was exalted ruler in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for two years, and has been again returned for that office; is a member of the Elks Club of Geneva. 

Mr. LICHT married October 1889 to Carrie E. GALLOUP.  Children: Elizabeth L., born in Geneva, December 1890, was graduated from the Capen School Northampton, Massachusetts in 1910; Richard F., born in Geneva in 1895, was graduated from the Geneva high school. 

George F. LICHT, brother to Louis J., above and the ex-mayor of the town of Geneva in Ontario county, at present, superintendent and assistant treasurer of the Patent Cereals Company of Geneva, is one of the most prominent men in that section of the country, and has served it in a number of public offices. 

George F. LICHT was born on Long Island, New York August 18, 1860.  He was educated in the Brooklyn and other Long Island schools and was graduated from the Brooklyn high school.  At the age of 16 years he entered the employ of Tiffany & Company, jewelers, of New York City to learn the trade of fine engraving and remained with this firm for a period of ten years.  He then became engaged in the milling business with his father and has been connected with this line since that time.  He was one of the incorporators of the Patent Cereals Company of Geneva and in addition to being the superintendent and assistant treasurer, is a director and one of the largest stockholders.  His public career has been a diversified one.  In 1902, he was appointed by Daniel E. MOORE, then mayor of  Geneva, as a member of the purchasing committee for the city of Geneva; he was appointed by the same authority as a member of the fire commission; in 1903 he was elected mayo of Geneva, was appointed by A. P. ROSE a member of the fire committee commission, and served four years, commencing in 1906.  He has now permanently retired from all public office.  He has always supported the Democratic party in politics and is a member of St. Peter�s Church.  His fraternal affiliations are with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and he is at present chairman of the charity committee in his lodge.  In 1907 Mr. LICHT was one of the directors of the Chamber of Commerce of Geneva. 

Mr. LICHT married in New York City, November 30, 1884 to Anna K. STAHMANN, who died March 18, 1910.  She was the daughter of Louis H. STAHMANN of New York City, a wholesale produce merchant in Washington market, who died June 1883.  Mr. and Mrs. LICHT have had children: Anna E., born November 30, 1885, was graduated from the Geneva high school and then took a course in the Mechanics Institute in Rochester, NY, in domestic science; and Edward S., born March 23, 1904.

 

LINCOLN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 107 

LINCOLN, Samuel Grant, was born in Geneva September 11, 1868.  He was educated in the public schools, and since April 1, 1890, has held the position of messenger in the Geneva National Bank.  Mr. LINCOLN's father, George, was born February 19, 1817, at Geneva, and was educated in the public schools of his day.  He married Rachael THOMPSON of this place and they had nine children: Jennie A., Mary E., Louisa, Lavenia, Caroline, George, Jr., Harriet, Frederick R. and Samuel Grant.  Two died in infancy, three in their teens, one at 34 and one at 36.   Only two survive: Jennie A., who married Garrett S. DUFFIN of New York and has two daughters, Irene and Bijou; and the subject of this sketch.  The grandfather, Peter, was born a slave in Virginia in 1771.  He was first owned by a Mr. PARK, and afterwards by Robert S. ROSE.  ROSE and LAWSON, who were brothers-in-law, brought their slaves north, locating in Seneca and Ontario counties, 200 in number.  On one occasion a man was sent for Peter's cradle.  Peter refused to let it go.  Sent for by his owner and asked why he refused, he said because he was held responsible for his tools.  His master struck him with his cane at this answer, and Peter said he should not do it again as he was going to leave.  His master said, "Go, and I will give you a new hat in the bargain."  George, the father, (b. abt 1818) died January 13, 1893, and Rachel, the mother, died June 21, 1880.  She was born November 26, 1826.  

 

LINCOLN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 109 - 110

LINCOLN, Cyrillo S., lawyer of Naples, was born July 18, 1830, in South Bristol, a son of Lucius and Amelia (FELLOWS) LINCOLN, natives of Otsego county, whose ancestors came from New London, Conn., and were of the same stock as General LINCOLN, of Revolutionary fame.  Subject was educated at the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, at Lima and Charlottesville Academies, and at Union College, from which he graduated in 1854.  He studied law in Rochester, was admitted to the bar in 1859, and at once located at Naples in the practice of his profession, where he has enjoyed a good patronage.  He is a republican, and represented his district in the Assembly (in 1872) for four years in succession.  He married Laura A. CLARK in 1863, a sister of Noah T. CLARK, of Canandaigua, and a cousin of Ex-Governor CLARK.  Mrs. LINCOLN's grandfather, William CLARK, was a colonel under WASHINGTON in the Revolution, and one of the original purchasers of the town of Naples in 1789.  Mr. LINCOLN and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.  They have two children: Mary C., wife of A. L. PARKER, of Detroit, who is secretary of the Y. M. C. A.; and Spencer F., a graduate of Cornell University Law Department, and assistant editor of the North Western Law Review of St. Paul, Minn.  

 

LINCOLN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 318

LINCOLN, Lewis C., Gorham, was born in Gorham, June 8, 1866, a son of Flavius L., a son of Henry, a son of Otis who settled on the farm on which subject resides and which has been in the family since 1804.  Henry was born in Otsego county, and when a boy came to Gorham.  His wife was Louisa WOOD and they had 9 children.  Flavius L. was born in Gorham.  His wife was Mary A. HUBBELL, of Canandaigua, born December 25, 1833.  Her parents, Elisha and Nancy HUBBELL, were natives of Berkshire Co., Mass., and came to Canandaigua about 1812.  They have three sons and seven daughters.  Mr. HUBBELL was a lieutenant in the War of 1812, and died in 1865 aged 87 years.  His wife died in 1873 aged 84 years.  To Mr. LINCOLN and wife were born two sons, Lewis C., and Burr W.  He died in Gorham March 25, 1885.  Lewis C. was educated in Canandaigua Academy and in 1888 he married Lillian L., daughter of S. B. DOUGLAS, and they had one child, Gertrude M., who died aged two years.  Mrs. LINCOLN died September 3, 1891.  Mr. LINCOLN is a republican and is justice of the peace.  Burr W. LINCOLN was born April 26, 1868, and educated in Canandaigua Academy.  He resided on the old homestead until his death September 1887.

 

LINCOLN

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 175 

Cyrillo S. LINCOLN, was born in South Bristol, Ontario county, July 18, 1830; graduated from Union college with honors in 1858; successful as a farmer, lawyer and legislator; voted for Fremont in 185 and became prominently identified with the republican party; represented the Second district of Ontario county in the assembly for four terms, beginning in 1872.  He died at Naples, August 17, 1900.  

 

LINDNER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 318

LINDNER, Frank, Clifton Springs, October 8, 1856.  He is engaged in a meat market, having succeeded his father who inaugurated the business here many years ago.  Mr. LINDNER is erecting a new block at Clifton Springs at present, into which he will soon move his business.  He married Annie HARBOR, and they have one daughter.  Mr. LINDNER has served as inspector of elections, trustee of the fire company, etc., and is a staunch Democrat.  Edward LINDNER was born at Clifton Springs, August 20, 1885.  He is associated with his brother in the business, conducting the upper market.  His wife was Barbara NICKET, of Rochester, and they have two children.  Mrs. LINDNER died in February 1892.

 

LLEWELLYN 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 109  

LLEWELLYN, William, Clifton Springs, was born in England November 17, 1841.  He learned the trade of confectioner and baker, and in April, 1865, came to this country.  After being connected in different localities with his trade he established in 1887 a general commission business at Clifton Springs; the firm being W. & W. H. Llewellyn, and composed of himself and his son William H.  He has served as trustee of corporation and school and is identified with the Masons.  He married Julia Winiefred COX of Gloucester, Eng.    W. H. LLEWELLYN is also a partner in the banking house of Jackson & Llewellyn.  He married Miss Grace L. BRIGGS of this village May 4, 1893.  

 

LOBDELL 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 214 - 215

LOBDELL, Burton H., Victor, was born on the old homestead three miles southeast of the village March 18, 1846.  He was educated in the public schools and Eastman's Commercial College, Rochester, and is a farmer.  March 19, 1873, he married Amelia KETCHUM of Victor, and they have two children: Nelson L., and Marion F.  Mr. LOBDELL's father, Jacob L., was also born on the old homestead in 1819.  In 1843 he married Joanna FARR, formerly of Canandaigua, and they have four children: Burton H., Byron J., Oliver L., and Frances M.  Byron J. is in Los Angeles, California.  Mr. LOBDELL's grandfather was born in Stockbridge, Mass., March 14, 1771, and came to this town at an early day.  He was the first man that wintered in the town, and was the first supervisor of Victor, was justice of the peace several years, and was a man of good judgment.  He married Hannah BOUGHTON, who was born April 6, 1775, and had 14 children.  He died November 12, 1847, and his wife April 6, 1866.

 

LOBDELL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 318

LOBDELL, Burton H., Victor, was born on the old homestead three miles southeast of the village March 18, 1846.  He was educated in the public schools and Eastman's Commercial College, Rochester, and is a farmer.  March 17, 1873, he married Amelia KETCHUM, of Victor, and they have two children: Nelson L., and Marion F.  Mr. LOBDELL's father, Jacob L., was also born on the old homestead in 1819.  In 1845 he married Joanna FARR, formerly of Canandaigua, and they have four children: Burton H., Byron J., Oliver L., and Frances M.  Byron J. is in Los Angeles, California.  Mr. LOBDELL's grandfather was born in Stockbridge, Mass., March 14, 1771, and came to this town at an early day.  He was the first white man that wintered in the town, and was the first supervisor of Victor, was justice of the peace several years, and was a man of good judgment.  He married Hannah BOUGHTON, who was born April 6, 1775, and had 14 children.  He died November 12, 1847, and his wife April 6, 1846.

 

LOCKE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 128 - 133 

Deacon William LOCKE, the immigrant ancestor, was born at Stepney parish, London, England, December 13, 1628, and came to this country in the ship "Planter," which sailed for New England, March 22, 1634-35.  At that time, he was only six years old, and it is supposed came over in the care of Nicholas DAVIES and his family.  His father was probably William LOCKE, mariner, and his mother Elizabeth _______, who died June 27, 1631.  Where William LOCKE lived during his minority is unknown.  He married, December 25, 1655, Mary, daughter of William and Margery CLARKE, of Woburn, Massachusetts.  She was born December 10, 1640, and died July 18, 1715.  Her father, William CLARKE, was a resident of Watertown in 1640, and removed to Woburn in 1651.  His name often appears as surveyor of highways and in other town offices.  He was a weaver by trade, and died March 15, 1682.  His wife Margery died October 11, 1694.  William LOCKE early became owner of real estate and eventually a man of property.  His first purchase was about 1650.  In 1664 he had granted to him land in "Great Meadow" and Pond Meadow.  In 1673-77-80 he received other grants, and at other dates purchased numerous other parcels of land.  He took some part in the management of town affairs, and was frequently on important committees in relation to town lands, roads, etc.  In 1671 he was one of a committee to settle the bounds and also to lay out land.  In 1675-76-78 he was a surveyor of fences, and in 1677 was chosen constable.  He was again constable in 1701, and selectman in 1686 and 1696, and grand juror to the supreme court in 1695.  He was a member of the church of Woburn, and for many years a deacon and one of its chief pillars.  The house occupied by him is still standing, and the garden and trees surrounding it are evidently very ancient.  It is supposed that his grandson Samuel, to whom it descended, kept an inn here for many years.  It remained in the family until 1741, when it was sold by the latter.  William LOCKE died at Woburn, June 16, 1730.  His will was made in 1703, and in it he appointed his son Ebenezer his executor and gave him all his property, except half of his personal estate, which he left to his wife.  He required him, however, to pay to the other children certain sums and to provide for his mother, as directed in the will.  Children, born in Woburn:  William, December 27, 1657, died January 9, 1658; William, January 18, 1659; John, August 1, 1661; Joseph, March 8, 1664; Mary, October 16, 1666; Samuel, October 14, 1669; Ebenezer, January 8, 1674; James, November 14, 1677; Elizabeth, January 4, 1681-82.

     ( II ) Ebenezer, son of William LOCKE, was born January 8, 1674, in Woburn, and married (first), October 18, 1697, Susannah, born March 1, 1674, died June 13, 1699, daughter of Israel WALKER.  He married (second), October 14, 1701, Hannah MEADS, born September 17, 1676, daughter of David and Hannah MEADS, of Cambridge.  She survived him, and died July 24, 1739.  He lived with his father on the homestead, of which he had become owner by gift and purchase.  He owned also other land and a house, previous to his father's death, and later became the possessor of several lots in Woburn and a large tract in what is now Townsend.  He was frequently elected to town offices and was lieutenant, but was released from military duties on account of "bodily infirmities."  He died December 24, 1723.  Child of first wife:  Ebenezer, born April 28, 1699.

Children of second wife:  Samuel, born August 24, 1702; Josiah, March 15, 1705; Joshua, mentioned below; Nathan, March 20, 1713, died December, 1723; Hannah, April 11, 1716.

     ( III ) Joshua, son of Ebenezer LOCKE, was born August 21, 1709, and married (first) at Woburn, March, 1732, Hannah, born January 2, 1712, daughter of Thomas and Sarah REED.  He married (second) Tabitha, daughter of Dr. Isaac BELLOWS, of Southboro, buried at Boston, April, 1744.  He lived in Woburn, Westboro, Boston (?) and Southboro, and was probably a carpenter by occupation.  He sold land in the latter town to Isaac AMIDON in 1753, and was on the alarm list of that town in 1757, and died there, in 1767.  His second wife survived him.  Children:  Joshua, mentioned below; Josiah, born February 6, 1735, at Westboro; Ebenezer, August 5, 1737, at Oxford (?).

     ( IV ) Lieutenant Joshua LOCKE, son of Joshua LOCKE, was born at Woburn, July 22, 1733, and married Abigail MAYNARD, probably of Westboro.  He lived first in Westboro, where most of his children were born.  Later he removed to Sudbury, where his son Fortunatus was born.  May, 1755, he was an ensign in the army under General WINSLOW, at Nova Scotia, and was doubtless the Lieutenant LOCKE who was in the army with General BRADDOCK and was wounded at the time of Braddock's Defeat.  He was also with Colonel ROGERS, the famous ranger in New York, and was at one period one of the king's surveyors.  Many of the towns of New Hampshire were surveyed by him, with instruments presented him by King George III, for distinguished services.  At the time of the Revolution he was the only one of the name of LOCKE who was a loyalist or Tory, and when the British evacuated Boston, March 17, 1776, he left with the army.  He was in one of the battles at Staten Island, where he met and recognized his sons, Frederick and Henry, in the American army.  Eventually he went to England and never returned.  His youngest son, Fortunatus, also went to England some years later and nothing further is known of either.  His wife remained in Westboro and died shortly after her husband had departed.  Children, the first five born at Westboro, the youngest at Sudbury:  Grace, May 19, 1754; Frederick, mentioned below; Betty, December 22, 1758; Nancy, October 26, 1762; Christian, April 30, 1764; Henry (birthplace not given), born before August 1, 1765; Fortunatus, September 26, 1779.

     ( V ) Frederick, son of Lieutenant Joshua LOCKE, was born at Westboro, June 6, 1757, and married (first) in 1793, at Charlestown, New  Hampshire, Anna FARWELL, who died in 1804.  He married (second), July 15, 1805, Lucy GRAVES, of Washington, New Hampshire.  He prepared for college at Leicester Academy, but instead of going to college enlisted in the American army shortly after the Revolution began, and remained in the army during most of the war.  After the war was ended he is said to have often remarked that "he did not regret the decision he made, though he lost his pay and his health."  He was a civil engineer and a surveyor by occupation, and lived at Acworth and Charlestown, New Hampshire.  He died January 17, 1834.  Children of first wife, born at Acworth:  Henry, September 24, 1799; Melinda, March 9, 1804.  Children of second wife, born at Charlestown:  Frederick, May 9, 1807; William G., mentioned below; Catherine J., February 28, 1810; Lucy G., May 2, 1811; Ann F., March 30, 1813; Sarah F., April 6, 1815; John H., March 31, 1817; Rachel W., April 24, 1819; Mary J., June 7, 1821; Benjamin F., November 13, 1823.

     ( VI ) William G., son of Frederick LOCKE, was born at Charlestown, New Hampshire, October 26, 1808, and married Lovisa WILLIAMS, in 1831, at West Mendon, New York.  She was born in 1812, and died in Rochester in 1896.  He was a shoemaker by trade and a contractor, and lived in West Mendon.  He died in 1883.  Children, born in West Mendon:  William M., mentioned below; Manly F., February 23, 1836; Marion L., August 21, 1838.

     ( VIII ) William Morton, son of William G. LOCKE, was born at West Mendon, New York, July 9, 1833, and died in July, 1880, at Wabash, Illinois.  He had a common school education and was a telegraph operator.  He married Amy MOORE, who died in 1907.  Children, born at West Mendon:  Frances, 1858, married Frank WHITING; Nellie, 1860, died in 1863; Fred M., mentioned below; Henry, 1863, died unmarried, in 1904; Dolly, died in 1875.

     ( VIII ) Fred M., son of William Morton LOCKE, was born at West Mendon, in the village of Honeoye Falls, April 24, 1861.  He attended the common schools.  He learned the art of telegraphing and followed it from 1880 to 1887.  In 1887 he was station agent and telegraph operator for the New York Central Railroad.  He was a skillful mechanic with a tendency to invention, even in his youth.  He was something of an artist and spent much time in painting.  To eke out his income he used to make flies for the fishermen and was himself an expert angler.  He was so much more fortunate than the others in winning prizes in the fishing contests in which he took part in Canandaigua, that he was finally ruled out altogether.  His invention for improving the pin in electric insulators was at laughed at when he first showed it and he lost the profit from it, another man, who appropriated the idea and patented it, reaping the reward that belonged to him.  Naturally he came to study electricity while a telegraph operator, and he spent much of his spare hours in experiments.  He constructed a dynamo of his own invention, and it was used for furnishing electric lights in a mill in the vicinity.  In the telegraph office he had often noticed the defects of the insulators during storms and he undertook to find a method of overcoming them.  He sought a new form and material that would not allow the leakage caused by wetness of the insulators and poles and he discovered a mixture of clay and other substances producing a porcelain that had the desired qualities.  His first experiments were made in his kitchen, then he constructed a kiln and began to manufacture his insulators in 1898.  At first he had but few hands but the demand for the insulators grew rapidly, and at the present time his factory employs two hundred men.  The porcelain insulator has withstood the most trying tests.  It is not porous like the ordinary porcelain and absorbs no water; is stronger and less fragile than glass and is not affected by temperature.  The moisture which collects on it, forms in globules and does not dissipate the electric current as it would on glass, on which rain makes a continuous wet surface.  In the construction of the insulator, Mr. LOCKE uses a machine for threading the clay forms before they are baked.  No manufacturer had previously been able to do this part of the work cheaply and rapidly.  LOCKE's machine turns out from five to ten thousand properly threaded insulators in a day.  The shape of the insulator is also a design of the inventor.  The ingredients of the clay mixture are known only to the inventor.  The mixture is screened and pumped into a press which squeezes out the excess liquid, and is thence conveyed to a pug mill in which the air is drawn out, and the mixture molded to a uniform and homogeneous consistency.  The material is then molded into form in a machine called a giger.  After being partly dried the molds are glazed and baked a day or more and then tested for electric conductivity.  There is practically no leakage under ordinary weather conditions.  One significant test of the value of the insulator was made in the equipment of the Bay Counties Power Company's long distance power transmission line, carrying a high tension current two hundred and fourteen miles, the longest in the world, and the loss from leakage is but five per cent.  The voltage is 60,000 and the insulators for this purpose withstood a test of twice that tension.  One hundred thousand insulators were used in that one contract.  The business was incorporated in 1902 under the name of Locke Insulator Manufacturing Company and has continued to grow.  In 1904 Mr. LOCKE retired from active business, though he gives to the company the benefit of his skill and experience as consulting engineer.  In politics he is a Democrat.  He is a communicant of Trinity Church. 

He married, March 6, 1884, Mercy PEER, born February 26, 1866, daughter of Andrew and Ellen ( SPLAINE ) PEER.  Children:  Morton F., born January 12, 1885; Louis P., January 4, 1887; Fred J., November 29, 1889; Peer A., June 28, 1893; James L., January 18, 1898.

 

LONG   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 317

LONG, Leonard, Farmington, was born in the kingdom of Wirtemberg, Germany, September 17, 1833, and was educated in the common schools.  In 1859 he married Catherine SCHMIDT of his native place, and came to the United States in September, 1860, and soon after located in Farmington.  They had two children: Rose, who died when she was 4 and one-half years old; and Leonard Jr., born October 8, 1876, is a bright farmer, and is now a student in the Friends' College at Union Springs.  Mr. & Mrs. LONG own a splendid home and farm, the result of sobriety, energy, good judgment and industry.  Mr. LONG is a Democrat.

 

LOOMIS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 144 

Among the many pioneers of Geneva, none have left a more honored memory than he whose name appears at the head of this sketch. 

Jerome LOOMIS, was born in Lebanon, Connecticut, in the year 1757.  He was educated at Dartmouth college, and the fine classical instruction received by him at that celebrated institution was of infinite importance to him in his subsequent active career.  In the war of the Revolution, when the colonists called for brave men to strike at the hideous head of British aggression, he responded with alacrity, and entered the service as a volunteer, and afterwards, he received a commission from Governour George CLINTON, bearing date 1792.  He served under Major WHITCOMB, the dashing commander of the "Northern Rangers", which performed effective service, and was the terror of the British.  Major WHITCOMB and his gallant band were peculiarly dreaded by the enemy, and at last a price of five thousand dollars was offered for his head by the British government, and from that hour he was the particular victim against whom they practiced every strategy.  In one conflict he was wounded, and only by the severest fighting did he succeed in cutting his way through their ranks.  Mr. LOOMIS was in this engagement, as well as many others, where the only watchword was "fight or die".  His brother, William was also in the Revolution, and one of the first that fell at Bunker's Hill.  He was among the pioneers who came to Cannadesaga, now Geneva, May 30, 1788, and was the guest for some time of Jennings, Jones and Seth REED, the reputed first white settlers of the village.  From 1788 to 1798 most of his time was employed in transacting business concerning lands.  In the latter year, he married Elizabeth TIPPETTS, daughter of Stephen TIPPETTS, of New York city, and the ceremony was performed in the house now occupied by his children.   He located in what is now the town of Geneva, and ended his days here April 19, 1840.  Mrs. LOOMIS had twelve children, six of whom are now living.  Stephen T., in the village of Geneva, and the remainder still reside on the old homestead, viz: Irene, Homer, Henry H., Mary J., and Cordelia C.   Henry H. LOOMIS is an elder in the Reformed church of Geneva, and is one of the most prominent members of that organization. 

Mr. LOOMIS was a man of fine physique, gentlemanly address, dignified, though kind and benevolent, and was in every way well qualified to shape the affairs of a newly-settled country.  On the 19th day of April, 1840, death laid its pallid hand upon the strong man, and he passed away respected and beloved by all. 

"The boast of Heraldry, the pomp of power,

And all that beauty, all that wealth o'er gave,

Await alike the inevitable hour.

The path of glory leads but to the grave."

 

 

 

LOOMIS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 108  

LOOMIS, Leslie G., Victor, was born in Farmington, Ontario county, April 9, 1857.  He was educated in the public schools, Canandaigua Academy, and was a farmer until 1877, when he came to Victor and entered the employ of E. S. NORTON as clerk until 1882.  He then began business on his own account in company with Wilbert C. WOODWORTH, under the firm name of Loomis & Woodworth.  They are doing a business this year of $950.000, furnishing the best market for farm produce in this whole region.  June 4, 1884, he married Della M., daughter of Theodore and Clarinda HUNT of Newark, and they have two children: Leslie G., Jr., and Harry H.  Mr. LOOMIS's father, George, was born in Bloomfield, Conn., about the year of 1818, and came to this State with his parents when about five years old, and married Hannah M. KETCHUM of this State.  They had 6 children: Aurelia E., Benjamin H., Ida M., Leslie G., Georgiana, and Charles P.  

 

LOOMIS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 256 - 257

LOOMIS, George, Farmington, was born in the town of Bloomfield, Hartford county, Conn., December 7, 1818, and came with his parents to Onondaga county when a child.  At about the age of 6 years he came to Farmington.  He was educated in the district schools, has always followed farming, and has been identified with the prosperity of the town, of which he is one of the oldest inhabitants.  Mr. LOOMIS has been supervisor of the town one term, and also highway commissioner.  October 19, 1842, he married Hannah M., daughter of Benjamin and Lavina A. KETCHUM of Farmington, and they had 6 children: Aurelia L., who married LeGrand L. MORSE, who is a farmer and school commissioner; Benjamin H., who is a farmer in Mertensia; Ida M., who married George E. LAPHAM; Georgiana, who died at the age of 18 years; Leslie G., a produce dealer of Victor; and Charles P., who died of scarlet fever, only five days apart from his sister, who died of the same malady.  Mrs. LOOMIS died suddenly August 25, 1892.  Mr. LOOMIS's father, George, was born in Connecticut in 1784, and married Aurelia PALMER.  They had 4 children: Eunice, Charlotte, George, and Jerome.  One of his ancestors, Captain John LOOMIS, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  The LOOMIS family came from England at an early day with the Rev. John WAREHAM, locating in the east.

 

LOOMIS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 319

LOOMIS, Henry H., Geneva, was born in Geneva on the old homestead near the experiment station, January 14, 1817, and was educated in the district schools of that day and Geneva Lyceum.  He is a farmer and real estate operator, owning many thousand acres of land in the Western States.  In 1836 he purchased from the government in Michigan at $1.25 per acre, also in 1844 from the Michigan Central Railway scrip at thirty-eight cents on the dollar for many acres.  In 1849 he began to buy the bounty land warrants of the Mexican war, continuing doing so for many years.  In 1852 he began to purchase in Western Texas bounty land warrants, locating them in Michigan. Mr. LOOMIS's father, Jerome, was born at Lebanon, Conn., in 1756, and came to this State June 1, 1788.  In 1798 he married Elizabeth TIPPETTS of this State, and they had 12 children: Jerome, Martha, Irene, William, Anson C., Elizabeth, Homer, Stephen T., Henry H., Mary J. (who died in infancy), Mary J. 2d, and Cordelia C.  The first home was built where Mr. LOOMIS and sisters reside, near the experiment station on the pre-emption road in 1793.  Mr. LOOMIS's father, Jerome, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, under General STARK, and helped to capture General BURGOYNE.  He died in April, 1840, and his wife in 1857.  Henry H. LOOMIS has never married.

 

 

LOOMIS

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 141 - 142 

Leslie George LOOMIS, senior partner in the firm of L. G. Loomis & Son, is descended from some of the earliest settlers in the New England colonies.  Joseph LOOMIS, of Braintree, England, came to this country in 1638, and settled at Windsor, Connecticut, in the following year.  The tract of land on which he settled has been in the uninterrupted possession of the LOOMIS family since that time, and is now the property of the "Loomis Family Association."  A complete history of the family, the association and the institute which it is proposed to erect on this land, may be found in "The Loomis Family in America," compiled and issued by Professor Elias LOOMIS, of Yale University, and this work has been enlarged and re-issued by Elisha S. LOOMIS.  The line of descent of the subject of this sketch is as follows: 

     ( I ) George LOOMIS, the first of the line here under consideration. 

     ( II ) George ( 2 ), son of George ( I ) LOOMIS, born in Windsor, Connecticut, was a farmer and a member of the republican party.  He married Aurelia PALMER.  Children:  Eunice, George, see forward, and Charlotte. 

     ( III ) George ( 3 ), only son of George ( 2 ) and Aurelia ( PALMER ) LOOMIS, was born in Bloomfield, Connecticut, December 7, 1818, and died in Farmington, New York, August 13, 1895.  His business occupation was that of farming, and he was a member of the Universalist church.  Until 1872 he was an adherent of the Republican party, but at that time commenced inclining toward Democratic principles.  He served as supervisor and member of the town highway commission for the town of Farmington, New York.  He married, in Victor, New York, October 15, 1842, Hannah Maria, born in Schaghticoke, New York, January 4, 1827, daughter of Benjamin and Lavina Ann (SNEDEKER) KETCHAM.  Children:  Aurelia Palmer, born March 27, 1845; Benjamin Henry, January 2, 1847; Ida Maria, April 5, 1853; Georgiana, March 10, 1855; Leslie George, see forward; Charles Philip, January 27, 1860. 

     ( IV ) Leslie George, second son and fifth child of George ( 3 ) and Hannah Maria (KETCHAM) LOOMIS, was born in Farmington, Ontario county, New York, April 9, 1857.  His school education was a thorough one and he was graduated from the Canandaigua Academy.  He commenced his business career as a bookkeeper in October, 1876, and in 1878 became a member of the firm of E. S. Norton, wholesale produce dealers.  Four years later he formed a partnership with W. C. WOODWORTH, in the same line of business, the firm being Loomis & Woodworth, with offices at Victor, New York.  The business was conducted in a flourishing manner until August 1, 1907, when Mr. WOODWORTH retired, and Mr. LOOMIS admitted his son, L.G. Jr., to membership in the firm, the style being changed to its present form, L. G. Loomis & Son.  Mr. LOOMIS has always been a staunch supporter of the Democratic party, and was commissioned postmaster of Victor, New York, by President Grover CLEVELAND, serving in this office four years from 1895.  He and his family are members of the Presbyterian church at Victor. 

Mr. LOOMIS married, in Newark, Wayne county, New York, June 4, 1884, Della Mary, born in Marion, New York, February 16, 1859, daughter of Theodore and Clarinda (WALLACE) HUNT, the former a farmer, and sister of William Henry HUNT.  Children:  Leslie George, Jr., born July 5, 1885, was graduated from the Victor high school in 1902, and from Williams College in 1906, and is now a member of the firm of L. G. Loomis & Son; Harry Hunt, born May 16, 1889, was graduated from the Victor high school in 1907, and is now a member of the class of 1912 of Williams College; Dorothy Peters, born January 27, 1894, is at present a student at the Victor high school.

 

 

 

LORD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 111

LORD, Mariette, Gorham, was born in Gorham, and was reared on the old homestead where she now resides, and educated in the common schools.  She donated quite largely in the building of the Middlesex Valley Railroad.  Her father was Ethan LORD, a native of Sharon, Litchfield county, Conn., born December 24, 1798.  In 1827 he married Paulina PARSONS, a native of Sharon, and to them were born two children: Mariette and Flora.  In 1830 Mr. LORD came to Yates county, and in 1831 purchased and settled on the farm in Gorham now owned by M. R. BOARDMAN, and in 1835 moved on the farm now owned by his daughter.  Mr. LORD made his own property.  In politics he was a Whig, afterward a republican.  He died in Gorham in 1871 and his wife in 1892, aged 86 years.  His father was John LORD, a native of Sharon, where he died.  His wife was a Miss EVERETT.  They had 10 children.  

 

LUCAS    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 315

LUCAS, Zebina, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, April 24, 1843, a son of Holmes C. LUCAS.  His early life was spent on the farm, and he received his education in the common schools and at Canandaigua Academy.  After leaving school he entered the law office of Smith & Williams in Canandaigua, where he was at the outbreak of the war.  In September, 1862, he enlisted in the 148th N. Y. Vols., with whom he was at Suffolk, Portsmouth and other places.  In the spring of 1863 he was assigned on detached service and went on duty as clerk in the provost marshal's office in Norfolk, Va., remaining about two years.  Returning, he spent a year in New York and then returned to his home in Canandaigua, where he has since been employed in the American Express office as deputy for his father, H. C. LUCAS.  In 1880 he married Ella M. NORTON of this town, and they have one son, Fred Z.

 

LUCAS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 316

LUCAS, Holmes C., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, August 15, 1818, a son of Zebina LUCAS, who came to this town from Vermont in 1815, among the earliest settlers of the town.  He owned a farm about five miles south of the village, and was a man of prominence in his town, having held the office of justice of the peace nineteen years.  He was supervisor from 1840 to 1846.  He married Laura INGRAM, daughter of Benjamin INGRAM, who settled on the lake shore at Monteith's Point, then known as Truman's Point, earlier than Mr. LUCAS.  Zebina had two children.  The youngest, Alonzo, died in October, 1892, aged 71 years.  Our subject, H. C., has always been a farmer, but in 1858 he moved into the village, where he established a business for dealing in grain, wool, hops, etc.  He is doing a very successful business, handling some years as high as 800,000 to 1,000,000 pounds of wool.  He is still in active business, but does not exert himself to drive it as he did years ago.  In 1867 Mr. LUCAS secured subscription for enough stock to have the Merchants' Union Express Company open an office here.  This was merged into the American Express Company after a few years, and Mr. LUCAS has ever since been the representative of the company in the town.  Mr. LUCAS was the builder of the Canandaigua elevator, and was for many years the owner of the Lucas block.  He conducts a farm of 130 acres in Gorham besides attending to his other interests.  In 1840 he married Sylva PENOYER, by whom he had two children, one of whom, Laura, died aged twenty.  The other child, Zebina, is the assistant agent in the express office.  Mrs. LUCAS died in 1844, and he married second, in 1847, Fanny S., daughter of Squire PRATT, of Gorham, and they have one daughter.  Mr. LUCAS was chairman of the School Board when it was decided to build the new Union School building, and the town was bonded for $40,000 to erect the building.  Mr. LUCAS negotiated these bonds and sold them at a premium, and paid them up within the specified time.

 

LUTZE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 317

LUTZE, Dr. F. H., Canandaigua, was born in Bevergern, Province of Westphalia, Prussia, and came to this country, where he enlisted in the First New York Vols. Eng. Corps, November 16, 1861.  He was discharged November 16, 1864, at Varina, Va.  He is a graduate of the New York Homoeopathic Medical College of New York.  He has the clinic for nervous diseases and the diseases of children in the Brooklyn Homoeopathic Hospital on Cumberland street, and the clinic of digestive, renal and nervous diseases in the Brooklyn Eastern District Homoeopathic Dispensary, 194 South 3d street, between Driggs and Roebling streets.  He translated Hahnemann's essay on the "Repetition of the Homoeopathic Remedy" from the German into English; also "Antipsonic Remedies"; Intercurrent Remedies for Chronic Diseases"; and "Remedies for Disturbances of the Antipsonic Cure" from the German of Dr. C. VON BOENNINGHAUSEN.  These were all published in the Homoeopathic Physician, a journal edited by Dr. E. J. LEE and W. M. JAMES, 1889, Vol. 9, Philadelphia.  In the same journal he published in 1890 an article entitled "Duration of Action and Antidotes of the Principal Homoeopathic Remedies."  This was afterwards also published in pamphlet form and had a large circulation.  In 1891 it was translated into the Italian by Dr. G. PAMPILI and published in his journal Rivista Omiopatica, Roma, Maggio, 1891, a copy of which was sent to him.  He has also contributed articles to the following medical magazines and journals:  The United States Medical Investigator, The Medical Current, The Journal of Homoeopathics, The Homoeopathic Physician, and The Medical Advance.

 

 

 

LYON

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 228 

William LYON, the founder of this family, was a mason and a native of Holland, who emigrated to America in the first half of  the nineteenth century.  He died in Williamson, New York aged seventy eight years.  He married Jane ROSENCRAN, who died in Manchester, New York, aged eighty two years.  Children: Jacob, Kate, William, referred to below. 

William 2nd, son of William and Jane (ROSENCRAN) LYON, was born in Rochester, New York, February 4, 1861, and is now living in Port Gibson, New York.  He was taken from Rochester to Williamson, while yet a young child, by his parents, and received his education in the latter place, afterwards engaging in farming.  In 1888 he removed to Port Gibson, and after spending four years in farming there, he engaged in the business of fruit evaporation and has since built himself up quite a prosperous business, handling and disposing of annually from ten to twelve thousand bushels of fruit.  He married in 1886, Mary, daughter of John and Mary CRAMER.  Children:  Glenn W., born November 7, 1888, an electrician, living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Nevada, born October 28, 1894; Kenneth J., born September 18, 1896.

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]