Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
M

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

Mac KAY   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 323

Mac KAY, John, Geneva, was born in 1813 in the South of Scotland, and in 1838 came to America, landing in Geneva with but 25 cents in his pocket.  For two years he worked on a farm and saved about $300, then went into a drug store in Geneva as clerk for several years.  He spent five years in a drug store in Penn Yan, then returned to Geneva and was salesman in a lumberyard for a few years.  In 1861 he in company with Dr. CONGER, bought the lumberyard and there carried on business until 1878, when he bought Mr. CONGER's interest and carried on business until 1885, when he retired.  In 1844 he was united in marriage with Emily HAYES of this town, and they had one child, Janette Sophia.  His wife died October 26, 1883.  The family are members of the Presbyterian church, in which Mr. Mac KAY has been an elder over a quarter of a century, and has done much towards building up the society.

MACKEY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 505 - 509   

MACKEY, Ansel Elliott, youngest son of Alexander and Clarissa Elliott MACKEY, was born in the town of Rensselaerville, Albany county, NY, June 3, 1836.

His parents and three of his brothers have already departed this life.  His brother, James E., was a resident of Albany, Alexander Jr., of Guthrie Centre, Ia.; Willet B. in the vicinity of Preston Hollow, and Horace W., the surviving brother, still retains possession of the old homestead in said town.  Major Alexander MACKEY, their grandfather, was one of the early settlers of the town above mentioned, a man of sterling qualities, worthy of honor.  When he was 12 years of age he enlisted, with an older brother, in the drum corps of a branch of Gen. WASHINGTON's army, then stationed in New Jersey.  Later in life, by industry and frugality, he gained possession of a large tract of land, and made ample provision for each member of his family.  He was nearly 80 years of age when called to the spirit land.  He was of Scotch and Dutch descent.  Their grandfather ELLIOTT was of English descent, and lived to be nearly 86 years of age.  The last years of his life were spent with his youngest son, Ansel Elliott, of Peach Orchard, Schuyler county, NY.

The subject of this sketch was given an academic education, and at the age of 18, was duly licensed to teach, and in November 1854, he entered his chosen field of labor.  After five years of faithful service in the public schools (of this State) he decided to take a business course of study at the Albany Business College, in which institution, soon after graduation, he became principal teacher, and the school prospered during his stay there as never before.

Prof. MACKEY was married to Carrie Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Casper F. and Anna C. HOAG, of Schenectady, NY, November 7, 1867.  Rev. Dr. Henry DARLING, of Albany, officiated in his usual happy manner.  Mr. HOAG was a sea captain in early life, after which he located in said city and engaged in the manufacture of hollow-ware with marked success.  Mrs. HOAG was the youngest daughter of Peter I. CLUTE, a wealthy citizen of the city, and a remote descendant of King Cannute.  A coat of arms is in possession of the family. 

Prof. M. spent a good portion of his vacation seasons in search of practical information to aid him in his professional duties.  He was bookkeeper, cashier and salesman for several leading firms in Albany, and for a time he was engaged in the real estate and insurance business, in which he had a financial interest.  In October 1873, he removed from Albany to Hudson, for the purpose of establishing a commercial department in that city.  Though the great panic of 1873 was at its high water mark, the school was opened at the appointed time in November, and it gradually increased in interest, till the spacious rooms were filled with a select class of students.  After 5 years of successful service, he sold out his interest there and removed to Elmira, NY.  He was associate principal of the Elmira Business College two years, during which time the prosperity of the school was greatly enhanced, and really took out a new lease of life and activity.  In August 1880, he decided to locate a college in Geneva.  The school was formally opened September 6, and though the attendance was limited at first, he assured the good people of Geneva that he came to stay.  "Perseverancia omnia vincit" appears to be his favorite motto.  It was not long before the attendance assumed a more encouraging aspect, and with patient persevering effort the school soon became what it was designed to be, a model business college.  The college rooms are pleasantly located in the Hydrant Hose building, easy of access, well lighted, nicely furnished, with business offices, banks, etc., in the main department for the use of students in business practice.  Modern improvements, modern methods of imparting instruction, etc., all combine to make the institution first-class in every respect.  Telegraphy, shorthand, typewriting, card writing, engrossing, etc., receive special attention from competent teachers.  There appears to be an increased demand for well-trained men and women in almost every branch of business, a fact never before so apparent as at the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 at Chicago, ILL.

The Geneva Business Training College, as it is now called, is one of the permanent institutions of the county, and one deserving the generous patronage of the public, especially of those who desire to prepare for business life in a brief period of time.  Residents of this and adjoining counties are highly favored in having such a desirable enterprise in their midst, and it rarely occurs that any one who has a personal knowledge of its merit will be induced to go elsewhere for a business course of study.  Home patronage should always be considered first in every business relation, let it be large or small.  Thousands of dollars have been saved to the county already, and thousands more may be, with discretion in the right direction. 

A business course of study is not an expensive luxury, but an actual necessity for successful competition, so much so that no young man or middle aged person can well afford to go on through life without it when it can be obtained at so little expense.  Graduates of the college have thus far been very successful in securing lucrative positions, many of whom have already become partners, while others are holding desirable positions in business offices, banks, etc., with credit to themselves and to the institution.  The citizens of Geneva and vicinity have done much to aid and encourage the enterprise in various ways, and the growth of the village since 1880 has been progressive and rapid.  Business enterprises have multiplied on every hand, and the outlook is indeed flattering to all classes who are willing to put head and shoulder to the wheel of business adventure. 

The parents of Prof. M. were very ambitious and frugal, always kind and helpful to those in need.  They contributed freely to the building and support of churches, schools, colleges and societies, at home and abroad.  Both lived to be aged, the mother nearly 78 years, the father nearly 81 years.  Their second son, Alexander, Jr., gave the best part of his life to the gospel ministry, which was his chief delight.  James, Willet and Horace were actively engaged in agricultural pursuits for several years.  It may seem strange that their youngest son should be inclined to leave a luxurious home so early in life, and go out to battle with the world; still, it may be accounted for in a measure, in that at the age of ten he was seriously impressed with the idea of being an exemplary Christian, according to his ability, and he manifested an earnest desire to do good to others, as he might have opportunity; "choosing rather to suffer afflictions with the people of God, than to enjoy the pleasures of sin for a season."  After a few years of probation he united with the Baptist church of Preston Hollow, of which his parents and brothers were active members, and soon became very active in church and Sunday school work, as teacher and superintendent, lending a helping hand in support of good morals and progressive Christianity.  He also took part in the Y. M. C. A. work at Albany, while located there, and at Hudson as member and secretary.

He is now identified with the active members of the Geneva Y. M. C. A., and freely contributes to its support, and to the First Baptist Church of Geneva, of which he is a consistent member, and to other benevolent objects.  He is also a member of the Business Educators' Association of America, and has contributed several valuable articles for publication.  For several years he has edited and published a college annual in the interest of the Geneva Business Training College, of which he is president and proprietor, and in the interest of business education in a general sense.

His success as a teacher is largely due to his natural adaptation to his work, to his untiring interest in and devotion to the same, and to his large and varied experience in his profession.  Whatever he attempts to do he generally succeeds in doing, and does it well.  This is evidently a marked characteristic of his nature, worthy of imitation.  He seldom fails to impress moral and religious sentiments and strict temperate habits in the mind and heart of those entrusted to his care.  His daughter, Anna C., and son, Casper A., have recently completed courses of study and practice at the G. B. T. College, and their names have been added to the roll of honor.

His political views have always been of a conservative nature, giving preference to men of pure morals and superior qualifications, whenever great and responsible interests are at stake.  He does not believe in supporting men merely on account of their partisan principles, when they are known to be corrupt and unworthy.  He is a strong advocate of reform in every branch of the government, independent of party affiliations, which legalizes anything that tends to degrade and destroy the life and happiness of our American citizens.  He may be addressed at the Geneva Business Training College, or at his family residence, No. 26 North Main street, Geneva, NY.

 

MACOMBER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 123 

MACOMBER, Cyrenius, Manchester, was born in Farmington, August 30, 1817.  He received his schooling in the district schools of the town, and in 1847 purchased his farm of 96 acres in this town.  Early in life he married Caroline M. HARMON, by whom he has had four children.  Cyrenius MACOMBER has lived always an upright and conscientious life, known and beloved by a host of friends and neighbors and acquaintances.  And now is his declining years he may rest assured that all know that he has worn the white flower of a blameless life, and worn in well, without ostentation or display.  He is a staunch Republican in politics, and has held some local town offices.  

 

MADDEN

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 496 - 497

Rev. Michael Thomas MADDEN, pastor of St. Francis Church (Roman Catholic) of Phelps, New York, is a native of Rochester, New York, in which city his grandfather settled in 1818 upon his emigration to this country from Ireland, his birthplace.

Father MADDEN attended the public schools of Rochester, where he obtained a rudimentary education, which was supplemented by a course of study at St. Basil's College, Toronto, Canada, Niagara University, Niagara Falls, New York, Seton Hall College, South Orange, New Jersey, receiving from the latter named institution the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and two years later that of Master of Arts.  He then spent four years at the Provincial Seminary at Troy, New York, where he was ordained a priest of the Catholic church in 1874.  His first charge was St. Mary's Church at Rochester, New York, where he labored faithfully for four years, at the expiration of which time he was called to the pastorate of St. James' Church at Trumansburg, New York, where he served efficiently and successfully for twenty-eight years, and in July, 1909, was transferred to the pastorate of St. Francis Church at Phelps, New York, his present incumbency.  The faithful and loving care he bestowed upon his parishioners won for him their confidence and admiration, and his work was greatly blessed in increased membership and in its power for good in the community.  His life is one of activity and usefulness, his work widely extended, and of the kind that will be felt and recognized after he shall have been called away.  He is a member of the Knights of Columbus.  

 

MALLISON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 257

MALLISON, Polly, Victor, was born in the town of Perrinton, Monroe county, October 22, 1809.  She was married twice, first to William H. COMPTON of Victor, and had two children: William and Julia A., both deceased.  Mr. COMPTON is also deceased.  For her second husband she married Amos MALLISON of Akron, O.  They had no children.  Mrs. MALLISON's father, Alexander CAMERON, was a Scotchman, and was born on the ocean on their way to the United States.  He married Betsey JACKMAN, and had 9 children: David, William, John, Catherine, Nancy, Polly, Ruth, Sally, and Rachael.  Mrs. MALLISON's grandson, Theodore SIDELL, was brought up by Mrs. MALLISON, and is now in charge of the farm.  After her death it reverts to him, and to his children after him.  He was born in Akron, O., June 24, 1845.  He was educated in the public schools, and came to this State in the fall of the year Mr. and Mrs. MALLISON came here, viz., 1870.  He (Theodore SIDELL) married twice, first on January 11, 1871, Mary E. CONOVER, and had one daughter, Jennie M.  Mrs. SIDELL died in July, 1876, and he married second on July 5, 1878, Mrs. Mary W. (RISLEY) BUDINGTON of Kingston, Ulster county; they have 4 children: Jessie I., George A., Ward E., and Amos F.  They all reside on the homestead farm that are living.  Mr. MALLISON died January 25, 1877.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mrs. Polly MALLISON died May 1, 1893.

 

 

MAPES

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 114

MAPES, John W., Gorham, a son of Hiram, was born in Gorham, June 1, 1823.  The MAPES family were natives of Wales.  One of the older generations introduced Normandy horses into England and for this act was knighted by the Crown and awarded a crest and coat of arms.  The family came to this country and were among the earlier settlers at Greenport and Southold, L. I.  Subsequently Phineas MAPES removed to Coxsackie, NY, where his son Hiram was born March 27, 1799.  The family lived for a few years at Mendon, and there Phineas MAPES died.  Hiram in early life went to Gorham, where he established a carding and cloth mill.  This he successfully managed for ten years and then took up farming, which he afterward continued.  February 24, 1821, he married Elizabeth WYMAN, who was born in Gorham, September 1, 1802.  They had 6 sons and 4 daughters.  Hiram MAPES died May 25, 1867, and his wife January 5, 1888.  John W. was educated in the common schools and is a farmer.  January 17, 1850, he married Minerva BARDEN, who was born in Benton November 26, 1826.  They have two children: Ella, wife of Richard M. RINGER, of Rushville, and Arlington, who was graduated from Cook Academy in 1879, and from Cornell University in 1883, receiving the degree of Ph. D.  The parents of Mrs. MAPES were George and Dolly (WITTER) BARDEN.  They had 13 children, all of whom reached adult age.  George BARDEN, born at Attleborough, Mass., February 28, 1788, was among the earliest settlers of Benton, coming there with his father, Thomas, in 1799.  The family originally came from Plymouth, England.  Mrs. BARDEN was a daughter of Elijah WITTER, of Seneca, and was born at Lackawaxen, Pa., February 22, 1789.  (New Gorham cemetery)

 

MARINER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 120 - 121  

MARINER, Myron, East Bloomfield, a native of Sharon, Litchfield county, Conn., was born July 7, 1820, a son of Buell, a native of Connecticut, born January 6, 1775, and the fourth child of a family of six children.  He married Esther LORD, a native of the same place, born August 10, 1784, and a daughter of John LORD of Connecticut.  Mr. MARINER and wife had eight sons, four of whom are living.  In 1823 he came to Yates county and spent a year, then went to Benton and bought a farm of 200 acres, on which he resided until his death January 6, 1852.  His wife died in 1877.  His farm is now owned by his youngest son.  Myron MARINER was educated in the common schools and taught for a short time, and then turned his attention to farming.  In 1848 he purchased 100 acres in East Bloomfield, which he now owns.  He has added many improvements to land and buildings.  For twenty years he was a breeder of American Merino sheep, for eleven of which he paid $2,500.  Mr. MARINER has been twice married.  First, in 1847, to Ann M. MOODY, a native of Seneca, and daughter of Benjamin MOODY of that place.  To Mr. MARINER and wife were born one daughter, who died in infancy.  Mrs. MARINER died in 1849, and in 1852 Mr. MARINER married Abbie P. MARSH, a native of Litchfield, Conn., and one of 7 children of Horace and Electa (BEEBE) MARSH, the former of Litchfield, Conn., and the latter of Canaan, Conn.  Mr. MARSH died in 1844, at the age of 72 years.  Mr. MARINER has been a republican since the organization of that party.  He has highway commissioner twelve years, and was supervisor in 1887-88.  His wife is a member of the Congregational church at East Bloomfield.  

 

MARKS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 122 - 123

MARKS, Walter, Hopewell, was born in Hopewell in September, 1819, a son of William MARKS, who was a son of Ebenezer MARKS, who came from Otsego county and settled in 1800 in the town of Eaton, now Hopewell.  His wife was a Miss FRENCH, and they had four sons and six daughters.  William was born in 1780, and married Betsey KNAPP of Otsego county, and they had one son and four daughters.  Her father was Ezra, and her grandfather was named Ebenezer.  Mr. William MARKS died in Hopewell in 1840, and his wife in 1855.  Walter MARKS was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools.  In 1840 he married Sena BENHAM, a native of Hopewell, and a daughter of Brazil and Electa BENHAM, early settlers of Hopewell, who had nine children.  The children of Mr. MARKS and wife are: William R. (deceased); Eugenia, wife of Gardner L. ARCHER, of Hopewell; and W. Franklin, who resides on the farm purchased by his father in 1840.  He married Isabella BUTLER, and his children are: Jessie E., Ethel F., and Walter H.  Walter MARKS is a republican, has been commissioner of highways; justice of peace 20 years; supervisor 8 years, and county clerk.  Mr. MARKS owns a farm of 80 acres in Hopewell, which farm is separated from the farm taken by his grandfather in 1800 by a highway.  

 

MARKS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 377 - 378

MARKS,  Mrs. Emily C., Naples, was born in Windsor, Hartford county, Conn., June 29, 1866, youngest daughter of Roderick HOLCOMBE.  She married April 4, 1839, William MARKS of Burlington.  They moved to Naples the same month.  Mr. MARKS was about the first merchant who kept a general store in Naples.  There are many interesting anecdotes told of Mr. MARKS, who took a general interest in the welfare of the slaves and ran many of the escaped ones through on the underground railroad, sometimes in a hearse to Honeoye Flats.  They had 6 children, three sons and three daughters.  Two of the latter are now living: Mrs. A. GRISWOLD and Emily C. ROGERS, who resides in New York city.  William R., the son, resides in Canandaigua, and was three years clerk of Ontario county.  He has recently been appointed secretary and treasurer of the new Tin Manufacturing Co. of Canandaigua.

 

MARKS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 159 

Walter MARKS, member of the County War Committee, was born in Hopewell, Ontario County, September 6, 1819; member of the Board of Supervisors, 1862-69; and chairman of the Board, 1869; County Clerk, 1871-73.  He died in Hopewell, October 12, 1895.

MARKS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 31 

William R. MARKS, who has for many years been connected with thee commercial interests of Yates and Ontario counties and has held numerous public offices, is descended from the early setters in Connecticut. 

William MARKS, grandfather of the above, was born in Burlington, Connecticut.  He was an influential member of the community in which he lived.  Served as a member of the legislature of Connecticut, both house; was a justice of the peace for a period of forty years; and was prominently identified with church and Masonic affairs.  He married Polly ROBERTS of Burlington. 

William 2nd, son of William and Polly (ROBERTS) MARKS, was born in Connecticut and migrated to New York where he was a merchant and farmer for many years at Naples, Ontario county.  He married Emily HOLCOMB. 

William R., son of William 2nd and Emily (HOLCOMB) MARKS was born in Naples, NY, July 27, 1852.  He was the recipient of an excellent education, which was acquired at the Naples Academy; the Hudson River Institute, Claverack, New York; and at the Hungerford Institute, Adams, New York.  He established himself in the general merchandise business at Middlesex, Yates county, New York, which he conducted from 1875 to 1880.  He was engaged in a similar business at Naples, NY form 1883 to 1886.  In November 1895, he established a business at Canandaigua, NY of which he is the head at the present time (1910).  His political allegiance has always been given to the republican party and he has been selected to fill a number of important offices.  He served as assistant financial clerk to the New York assembly, 1872-74; was connected with the pension department at Washington DC 1882-83; county clerk of Ontario 1889-91; postmaster at Naples, 1883-86; for the past 7 years has been a member of the board of water commissioners; served as justice of the peace for Yates county for a period of three years; and has served one term as village assessor for Canandaigua.  He and his family are members of the First Methodist Church and he is connected with the following organizations: Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he is at present the treasurer; Royal Arch Masons of Canandaigua; Canandaigua Grange, K.O.T.M. 

Mr. MARKS married (first) at Naples, April 14, 1874, Imogene, born October 11, 1852, and died May 1, 1897, daughter of Edward KNAPP of Naples.  Children: 1. William H., born February 17, 1876; is a dentist in Palmyra, NY and married Jessie ANDRUS of Canandaigua and has three children;  2.  Frank, born December 17, 1877; is the assistant of his father in the latter�s business and married Grace CANFIELD of Canandaigua and has two daughters; 3. Edgar, born February 6, 1881, died Jane 24, 1900.  Mr. MARKS married (second) at Gorham, NY, June 21, 1899, Cora, born March 8, 1864, daughter of J. Andrew HENRY of Gorham.

 

MARSH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 229  

MARSH, Horatio H., Bristol, was born in Bristol, September 18, 1820, and is a son of Parley MARSH, a son of Elisha MARSH, a native of Vermont.  Parley MARSH was born in Vermont in 1791, and about 1815 came to Bristol and here married Betsey HICKS, born in 1798, daughter of Jabez HICKS.  They had two children: Thadeus, who died at the age of two years, and Horatio H.  Horatio H. was reared on a farm and was but two years of age when his father died in 1822.  Mrs. MARSH then married Sylvester WHEELER, by whom she had 5 children.  Two are living: Sylvester H. and Mrs. Orville BENTLEY.  When subject was 13 years old his stepfather died, and he was obliged to help support the family, working by the month on a farm.  He early in life took charge of his father's farm of 80 acres, and after many years bought out the heirs.  Here he lived until 1889, in which year his mother died, when he moved to a small place east of Bristol Hill.  In 1871 Mr. MARSH married Mary L. JONES, of Bristol, daughter of Elijah JONES.  Mr. MARSH is a republican, and he has been assessor six years.  He and family attend the Universalist church.

 

MARSH  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 319 - 320

MARSH, Enoch O., Phelps, one of six children of Samuel and Milanthe (HALL) MARSH, was born in Phelps, March 3, 1846.  Samuel, the father, was also born in Phelps, where he died in 1877 at 80 years of age.  Hosea, the grandfather, was born in Guilford in 1876 and came to Phelps in 1804, where he built a log house.  He spent the remainder of his life here, dying at the age of 83 years.  The great-grandfather, William MARSH, was born in Vermont, his ancestors coming from England and settling there at an early date.  Milanthe HALL, the mother, was a daughter of John HALL.  Her grandfather was a soldier and was killed during the Revolutionary war.  Enoch O. married in December, 1867, Emma LOVEREDGE of Phelps, daughter of William and Mary BURNETT of Schoharie county.  Mr. MARSH is a representative citizen, and has served as justice of the peace for 8 years.  His farm of nearly 100 acres is used largely for grain.  

 

 

MARSH

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 424 - 425

The MARSH family probably came from the early settlers of this name in Massachusetts.  Lieutenant Alexander MARSH came from England and settled in Braintree, Massachusetts, before May 3, 1654, when he was admitted a freeman of the colony.  He owned a house and land in Boston.  He died March 7, 1698, aged seventy. 

George MARSH was a proprietor of Hingham as early as 1635 and was admitted a freeman, March 3, 1635-36, and was later a town officer.  He died July 2, 1647. 

John MARSH, a shoemaker by trade, came from England to Salem, Massachusetts, in the ship "Mary and John," sailing May 24, 1633.  He died in 1674 and his descendants have been numerous.  Another MARSH family located at Hartford, Connecticut.  The relationship of these pioneers is not known.  From these immigrants practically all the American MARSH families are descended, however. 

During the revolution the family was well represented in the American army throughout New England and in New York.  In 1790, when the first federal census was taken, the family was widely scattered and numerous.  Stephen, Samuel and John MARSH were heads of families in Montgomery county.  Samuel, Asa and John MARSH were heads of families living in 1790 at Whitestown, New York. 

     ( I ) Lewis MARSH, a native of Oswegatchie, St. Lawrence county, New York, was a descendant doubtless of the early settlers of Montgomery county.  Children: William, Oscar, Henry, Lester, Hiram, Frederick and Mary

     ( II ) Frederick, son of Lewis MARSH, settled in the town of Hopewell, Ontario county, New York.  He married Frances, daughter of John and Maria WILSON.  Her parents also had Adelaide, Julia, Elizabeth, Helen, John and Robert WILSON.  Children of Frederick and Frances MARSH:  Lewis, born March 8, 1878; John N., mentioned below; Robert, January 26, 1882; Herbert, July 18, 1891. 

     ( III ) John N., son of Frederick MARSH, was born in Hopewell, New York, February 28, 1880.  He received his early education in the common schools.  For several years he leased farms and in 1909 he bought "Spring Brook Farm" which he has since conducted.  It is pleasantly located in the town of Hopewell, a mile east of Chapin village and two miles north of the Rochester & Eastern electric railway station known as "Freshhour."  Mr. MARSH is a progressive, up-to-date farmer making a specialty of his dairy and owning a fine herd of graded Durham cows and using the most advanced methods of making high-grade butter.  He is thorough, painstaking and industrious and his success is in evidence in his surroundings.  His buildings are modern in construction and pleasing in design.  Generous, kindly and hospitable, Mr. MARSH commands the confidence and esteem of his townsmen to an unusual degree.  In politics he is a republican.  In religion, a Methodist. 

He married, February 20, 1900, Lillian, born April 16, 1883, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (HUBBARD) McMURRAY.  Children:  Florence S., born July 10, 1901; Ruth I., April 26, 1904; Clarence, May 15, 1907.

 

MARTIN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 323

MARTIN, Jacob, Hopewell, was born in Rush, Monroe county, November 3, 1820.  His father was John, a native of Maryland, who came with his parents to Monroe county, and there lived and died.  His wife was Mary MOYERS, and they reared six children.  Jacob MARTIN was raised on a farm, and at the age of 21, went to Henrietta and engaged in the manufacture of carriages, which he followed until 1861, when he came to Chapinville and soon afterward began the manufacture of spokes, hubs, etc.  He is at present in business with Albert S. Glass & Son, carriage wheel manufacturers.  They employ 150 men, and have a greater output than any other factory in the State.  October 24, 1847, Mr. MARTIN married Emeline DENNIS, a native of Kennebec county, Me., born in 1826.  Her parents, Jacob and Nancy (LONGFELLOW) DENNIS, came to Henrietta in 1847 and in 1849 went to Canandaigua.  The father of Mrs. DENNIS, Stephen LONGFELLOW, was a cousin of Henry W. LONGFELLOW.  Mr. DENNIS and wife had 7 children, five of whom are living.  The children of Mr. MARTIN are: Mary I. (deceased), Isabella, Edward D., and Emma D.  Mr. MARTIN is a republican.  Mrs. MARTIN and daughters are members of the Universalist church at Clifton Springs.

 

MASON

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 246

He that sits down calmly to review his life for the admonition of posterity ma be presumed to tell truth, since falsehood would not appease his own mind and fame is not known in the grave.  With this inducement of veracity, we essay to follow the life of Francis MASON, who was born in Bristol County, Massachusetts, on April 15, 1798.  His father, John MASON, had been born in the same county in January, 1767, and in the year 1795, had married Sarah FRANCIS, whose natal day was in March, 1771.  John MASON had occupied the summer season upon a farm, and had a sloop with which he trafficked along the coast at other periods of the year.  He had much toil and little remuneration, and, hoping to better his condition, emigrated with his family, consisting of his wife and two sons, John and Francis, to Ontario County, New York.  The exodus form the old home was made in February, 1801, and his western farm numbered one hundred acres of forest land.  Time and labor cleared the land, whose tillage occupied the remainder of the pioneer's life.  He died February, 1836, aged 68 years, leaving a family of seven children.  The ownership and occupation of the farm was entrusted to a son Francis, who has continued a resident of the old homestead to this time.  The widow lived with her son Francis until her death, which transpired in July 1860, at the ripe age of 89 years.  Mr. MASON had twice married.  His first wife was Chole, daughter of Aaron WHEELER, of Bristol, who died in 1829, one year after marriage.  In May, 1830, he married Maria, daughter of Richmond SIMMONS, and widow of Harold HAYES.  The previous life of the second Mrs. MASON was fraught with toil and hardship.  She married Mr. HAYES in 1822, and moved with him to Clinton, on the Wabash river, Indiana.  The journey was accomplished by flat-boat from Olean, New York, down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers to Evansville, and thence on through the heavy forests to their destination;  where, for three years, discomfort, privation and sickness were endured, and then Harold HAYES died, leaving the wife a widow, with two infant children, Richmond, two years of age, and Pliny, but five months.  In an unhealthy country, with limited means, her condition was not enviable, and she wisely proceeded to close up her late husband's business affairs, and then, taking passage in one of the heavy wagons in use at the time, returned overland to her father's house in Bristol.  The journey occupied six weeks, and was made over roads in many places barely passable and through streams to which there were no bridges.  As Mrs. MASON, she became the mother of five children, three of whom are now living, to wit, Francis O. MASON, resident at Geneva and present judge of Ontario County; Eleanor A., wife of Dr. W. Scott HICKS; and Celeste N., wife of John KENT, of Bristol.  For many years life on the farm passed pleasantly.  Francis MASON, as means permitted and opportunity afforded, added considerably to the extent of his possessions, and found his highest aspiration in successful farming.  The object of existence is the enjoyment of a beneficent gift, - life.  Happiness comes as the reward of industry, and the honors of our neighbors from their esteem.  Mr. MASON did not look for a harvest upon ground not yet plowed, nor despise innovation in improved farm machinery.  For three-quarters of a century, his fields have been tilled, his stock improved, his children educated, and his resources increased.  What more could be asked of a citizen?  Mr. MASON united with no one church, and has a regard for them all as so may avenues to the same goal.  He had been accustomed to attend the Congregational church in company with his 2nd wife, who, having become one of that denomination at the age of 16, continued a devoted and worthy member till her death, October 9, 1874.  Believing that every good citizen should take part in the political concerns of this country, he of whom we write identified himself with the old Whig party as a conservative, and later has been known as a republican.  A sound thinker, he early noted that the indiscriminate license for sale of liquor did not make men of superior character vendors of that human ill, and therefore, in 1835, as supervisor he was the first to place restrictions upon the traffic and curtail license.  That his action was regarded with favor is shown by his election for several terms to the office of supervisor, and also the positions of assessor and justice of the peace.  At he age of 78, Mr. MASON finds that the farm upon which he has passed so much of his life is possessed of attractions which furnish content, and upon it his closing years will be spent.  If it be asked what has he done in life, his answer would indicate some disappointment, for our expectations are seldom realized; but we find that his days and years have gone by in useful labor; he has lived, and does live, adding to the sum of human good; the transition from youth to old age has been made without an ambition for distinction.  He has improved the means of good afforded him, and kept his abilities in continual activity; he has lived worthily, and will die conscious of having advanced the happiness of his fellow-creatures, and that he world has been the better for his presence in it.

 

MASON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 220

MASON, J(esse) Harvey, Canandaigua, was born in South Bloomfield, May 6, 1819, a son of Jesse, a native of Massachusetts, who came to this section in 1813.  He was born in Bristol, Mass., in 1795 and married, when about 23 years of age, Mehitable, daughter of Amos LEE of South Bloomfield, and they had 12 children, 7 of whom survive: Three sons are in Buffalo; one daughter in Fall River, Mass., and one in Canandaigua; a brother, Henry, is a merchant in East Bloomfield.  Our subject, J. H., was the oldest son.  When about 3 years old his parents moved to Rochester and in 1829 to Canandaigua, where his father engaged in tanning.  J. H. was educated in the district school (where their store is now located), also Canandaigua.  On leaving school he learned the tanning business, in which he has always been engaged, also dealing in hides, wool, tallow, etc.  In 1891 they handled from 60,000 to 80,000 lbs. of wool alone.  Mr. MASON has always taken an interest in politics, and has twice represented his town as supervisor.  He has also been overseer of the poor several years.  He is a director of the Canandaigua Lake Steamboat Company, of which he is vice-president.  He is the oldest Mason of Canandaigua, having been a member since 1853.  He married, July 2, 1840, Harriet, daughter of Allen SMITH, a grocer of this town, and they have one son, Jesse H., a partner in the business.

 

 

MASON

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 176 

Francis O. MASON was born in the town of Bristol, Ontario county, May 12, 1832; became a prominent member of the bar; Member of Assembly, 1862; Assistant Adjutant General of the State during the closing years of the Civil War, at the close of which he engaged in the practice of his profession at Geneva; County Judge, 1873-78; delegate to National Republican Convention of 1880 and one of the 305 who voted for GRANT; supported Grover CLEVELAND for President in the campaign of 1884, and was thereafter allied with the Democratic party.  He died at Geneva, July 25, 1900.

 

 

MATHER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 125

MATHER, Zachariah, Canandaigua, was born in Middlesex, Yates county, November 20, 1819, a son of Lucius and Jane (ACKERMAN) MATHER.  Zachariah, the grandfather, was a native of Connecticut and had two sons, Eleazer and Lucius.  Lucius was born in Connecticut about 1787, and came to Fayette, Seneca county, when a young man.  He married Jane ACKERMAN, of Fayette, and they had five children: John, Zachariah, Abraham, George, and Lucinda.  The early life of our subject was spent in Middlesex.  He assisted on his father's farm until 29 years of age.  In 1849 he moved to Ontario county, and bought a farm on the Academy Tract in Canandaigua, where he has since made his home.  He has increased the size of the farm to 120 acres, and erected a fine residence and barn.  The principal products of the farm are fruit and stock, and the place is known as Maple Grange.  Mr. MATHER has occupied various offices of trust in his neighborhood.  He married in Middlesex in 1849 Theodocia, daughter of Chauncey ADAMS, an early settler of Middlesex, and they had one son, Lucius CHAUNCEY.  Mrs. MATHER died October 29, 1883, at 58 years of age.  Lucius C. MATHER was born November 11, 1849. He was educated in the Lima Seminary, and is a farmer and veterinary surgeon.  He is interested in the breeding of fancy stock, and has taken many prizes at county fairs.  He is an active member of the Canandaigua Baptist Church.  In 1877 he married Jennie, daughter of Erastus GREEN, a resident of Montana, but a native of Yates county.  Mr. MATHER has two children: Ethel L., born July 27, 1880; and Theodocia A., born January 12, 1883.  Mr. MATHER is a member of Academy Grange No. 62, and has held the office of master eight years, and is secretary and present lecturer, and master of County Grange four years, and secretary two years.  He has been vice-president of the Ontario County Agricultural Association for three years.  

 

MATHER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 321

MATHER, Charles R., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, February 8, 1863.  He is a son of George C., a farmer of this town, born in Middlesex, Yates county, June 16, 1835, who came to Canandaigua in 1850, when he bought the farm now occupied by Charles R.  He married in 1850 Malvira A., daughter of John ADAMS of Middlesex, by whom he has five children: John L., a mechanic of Shortsville; Rebecca J., wife of Thomas M. WEATHERWAX of Carrol county, Illinois; Sarah R., wife of Frederick DOUGLASS of Canandaigua; Alice N., wife of C. F. ROBERTSON of Canandaigua, and Charles R.  Mr. MATHER has always taken an active interest in politics and has been excise commissioner twelve years.  Charles R. is recognized as one of the leading republicans of his district, and has twice been selected member of the County Executive Committee.  He married in 1884 Louisa, daughter of George STEARNS, a merchant of Rushville, by whom he has two children: Leah and Helen.  The old homestead contains 142 acres, the principal crops being grain and fruit.  They are also breeders of horses.

 

 

MATTHEWS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg.  179 

Vincent MATTHEWS, associated with Thomas MORRIS, Peter B. PORTER, and Nathaniel W. HOWELL, in the practice of law at the first terms of court held in Ontario county, in 1794 and 1795, was born in Orange county.  He represented the Western district in the State Senate from 1797 to 1803, and in 1826 was elected to the lower house of the Legislature from Monroe county, having in the meantime become a resident of Rochester.  Was District Attorney of Monroe county in 1831 and died at his home in Rochester in 1846.   

MATTISON

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 116 

Jacob J. MATTISON, editor and proprietor of the Democratic newspaper organ at the county seat for thirty-four years, was born in New Jersey, July 19, 1813.  Became a resident of Canandaigua when seventeen years of age, and entered upon an apprenticeship in the office of the Ontario repository then owned by Chauncey M. MORSE; in 1845 became owner of the Ontario Messenger; in 1862, bought the Repository and consolidated the two papers; was Ontario County Treasurer, 1856-58.  Died in Canandaigua, July 28, 1879.   

 

Mc ARTHUR   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 320 - 321  

Mc ARTHUR, James, Canandaigua, superintendent and manager of the Vanderbilt Sash Balance Co. (incorporated in Canandaigua in 1872), is a native of Canandaigua, where he was born in 1853.  After leaving school he engaged in the furniture business, which he has always been interested in up till 1888.  In 1886 he got out a patent for a sash balance, which he sold, and it is now manufactured at Rochester by the Pullman Sash Balance Co.  In January, 1890, he was the patentee of the Perfection Sash Balance, which is also manufactured at Rochester.  The same year he made an improvement on the Pullman patent, which he sold to the company.  In 1891 he patented a spring fruit grate for shipping fruit, which avoids all jarring in shipping the fruit.  This is manufactured in Rochester.  His next device in 1892 was a car brake and truck which he sold, and it is a success.  In 1892 Mr. McARTHUR devised and patented the Vanderbilt Sash Balance, and after selling to the company in Canandaigua, he was employed to come here and act as superintendent of the manufacture, he retaining a large interest in the work.

 

Mc BLAIN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 218

Mc BLAIN, Samuel, Geneva, was born in the town of Seneca, May 30, 1836.  He was reared on the farm and followed farming as an occupation in the summers, attending the district school in the winter and graduated at the Albany Normal School in 1861.  August 15, 1862, he enlisted in Co. E, 44th Regiment N. Y. Volunteers as a private.  He was successively promoted to the office of corporal, sergeant and first sergeant in said company.  In October, 1864, the term of enlistment of the original 44th Regiment having expired, he was transferred to Co. I, 140th Regiment N. Y. S. Volunteers.  In this regiment he held the office of sergeant-major, second lieutenant and acting adjutant, first lieutenant, and at Appomattox was brevetted captain.  February 22, 1866, he married Sarah J. HUIE of Geneva, and they have had four children: George, residing at home; H. Mills, who was killed by accident with a horse; Thomas, who died when 9 months old, and Jennie E., residing at home with her parents.  Mr. McBLAIN's father was born in County Down, Ireland, in 1797, and came to the United States in 1824.  He married Mary A. MARTIN and had five children: Robert, who went into the Civil war from California in the Confederate cavalry; William J., who died in 1861; Mary A.; Samuel, the subject of this sketch, and George, who was killed at the first Fredericksburg battle.  Mrs. McBLAIN's father, Thomas HUIE, was born in the town of Geneva August 2, 1802.  He was educated in the public schools and married Sarah HARRIS, formerly of Maryland, and they had four children: John H., Prudence B., George E., and Sarah J.  Mr. HUIE died May 27, 1877, and his wife died July 22, 1883.  Captain MC BLAIN participated in the following battles: Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Middleburg, Gettysburg, Rappahannock Station, Mine Run, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, North Anna, Bethesda Church, Cold Harbor, Weldon Road, Poplar Spring Church, Five Forks and Appomattox Court House.  At the close of the war Captain McBLAIN settled on the farm where he now resides and holds the office of postmaster.

 

Mc CARTHY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 324

Mc CARTHY, Mrs. Carrie A. U., Victor.  Mrs. Mc CARTHY's late father, Josiah UPTON, was born on the old UPTON farm north of the village, and occupied now by Jeremiah W. HAWKINS.  He was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary, and was a farmer and produce dealer by occupation.  In September, 1836, he married Sophia ROE, formerly of Massachusetts, and they had three children: Maria P., William R., and Carrie A., who married John Mc CARTHY, and had three children: George E., John N., and Ralph E., residing at home with their mother.  Mr. Mc CARTHY died October 31, 1885.  Mrs. McCARTHY's grandfather, James UPTON, came from Charlemont, Mass., and located on the farm, purchasing it for $12 per acre.  He was the first poor master in the town of Victor.  He married Olive BOUGHTON, and had 13 children: Olive, Achsah, Josiah, William W., James, Edward, Uri, Caroline, Mary, Charles, Alvira and Maria, one died in infancy.  Mr. Mc CARTHY's brother, William R., was a soldier in the Civil War in the 5th Ohio Vols., and was honorably discharged at the close of the war.

 

Mc CARTHY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 324

Mc CARTHY, M.D., C. D., Geneva, son of Charles T. and Catherine (Mc KEAN) Mc CARTHY, was born December 24, 1860, in Canandaigua, where he was educated at the academy.  He graduated in 1882 from the Genesee Normal School, and in 1888 graduated from the University of Buffalo.  He practiced one year in Kansas City, and then settled in Geneva, and December 30, 1891, married May E., daughter of John O'NEILL of East Bloomfield.  Dr. Mc CARTHY is a member of the County Medical Society.

 

Mc CLURE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 123

McCLURE, Darwin, Hopewell, was born in Onondaga county, November 9, 1842, of Scotch-Irish descent.  The father of Darwin was Hiram, son of James, a native of Vermont, who came to Onondaga county in 1791, and there lived until his death in 1852.  Hiram was born on the old homestead in October, 1800.  In 1822 he married a Miss MAKER, and they had 8 children, seven of whom grew to maturity.  Mr. McCLURE died in 1857.  Darwin McCLURE was reared on a farm, and educated in the common schools and Friendship Academy.  In 1864 Georgietta MILES became his wife, and they had one child, Georgietta.  Mr. McCLURE is a farmer, and in politics until 1872 was a republican; he has since been a Democrat.  In 1865 he came to Hopewell and purchased a farm of 110 acres, on which an old Indian village and burying ground was located, and has there since resided.  He was one of the organizers in 1877 of the Ontario County Patrons' Fire Relief Association, was treasurer until 1886, since which he has been secretary of the association.  He has held several town offices, and is a member of Hopewell Grange No. 472.  

 

Mc CREDY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 119 - 120  

Mc CREDY, Alonzo, Canandaigua, was born in Warren, February 22, 1822.  His grandfather, Robert Mc CREDY, came to this country the latter part of the 18th century, settling in Florida, Montgomery county, where Thomas, father of Alonzo, was born in 1795.  When about 20, he moved to Herkimer county, at that time a wilderness, and bought a farm of about 100 acres, which he made into a good grain farm.  He married Hannah BLATCHLY, of Peekskill, and they had 12 children, five of whom are living: James, a farmer of Michigan; Eliza, widow of James T. YULE, of Herkimer county; Robert, of Olean; Hanford, a retired farmer of Warren, Herkimer county, and Alonzo.  The latter was given a common school education, and in 1856 moved to Minnesota, where he spent four years, and then moved to Illinois, where he lived three years, and in 1863 returned to New York State, locating in this county.  He bought a farm of 140 acres in this town, where he has ever since made his home.  Mr. Mc CREDY has never taken an active part in politics.  He is content to be known as an honest, upright citizen and a successful farmer.  He married in 1853 Louisa, daughter of Peter RANKIN, of Herkimer county, and they have two sons: Elliott, an employee of the Sanitarium at Clifton Springs, and Dimmock, who lives at home.  

 

Mc CROSSEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 120

Mc CROSSEN, John Willard, Richmond, was born on the farm where he now lives March 20, 1816.  His father, James Mc CROSSEN, son of David, was born in 1780 in Dungerry, County Tyrone, Ireland.  David was a Scotchman, his mother being also Scotch.  James came to this country when 18 years of age, settling first in Philadelphia, and 8 years later came to Richmond.  He had been a distiller.  He bought at first 7 acres on which was water power.  Here he operated a distillery in 1806, which he continued until his death in 1820.  He married Deborah, daughter of Alden ADAMS.  She was born in Vermont in 1789, and died at the age of 86 years.  Of their five children, David died in Grand Rapids, Mich., aged 83 years; Jane, wife of William PURSELL, died in Springwater, aged 83; Susan, wife of J. D. HAZEN, died in Grand Rapids, aged 70; John W., and James who died young.  John W. was educated at the common schools, and in 1835 married Alida WESTBROOK, by whom he had these children: Erzilla, Mrs. Lyman BOWLES, of Cohocton; Alida, wife of James CAPRON, of Springwater.  His second wife was Lucina ADAMS, whom he married in 1844.  She was a daughter of Isaac ADAMS, a pioneer of the town, who came with Philip REED in 1795.  Their children are: Birdie A., who lives at home; Deborah, Mrs. J. M. MILLER; Sylvia, Mrs. W. J. SHORT, of Michigan.  Mr. Mc CROSSEN has 426 acres in his home farm, and 148 acres in Canadice.  

 

Mc DOWELL

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 420 - 422 

Ephraim Mc DOWELL, immigrant ancestor of the New Jersey family, was born in Londonderry, Ireland, of Scotch ancestry.  He was one of the defenders of Londonderry at the time of the siege.  He settled in Bedminister, New Jersey, and married Margaret IRVING.   

     ( 1 ) John Mc DOWELL, believed to be a descendant of Ephraim Mc DOWELL, came to Yates county, New York, from New Jersey, in 1795, and settled in the town of Jerusalem on the west branch of Keuka Lake.  He bought land of John GREIG, agent of the HORNBY estate, and lost a large part of it in the re-survey of the line of Steuben county, throwing most of his farm into Ontario county, instead of Steuben, where it had been located first.  He left there in 1803 and lived for a time at the foot of Keuka Lake, where he ws employed by Abraham WAGENER.  After living there about six years he settled on a farm later owned by James M. LEWIS, where he died in 1814.  Children:  William, mentioned below; Sarah, married David HALL; Esther, married Wallace FINCH who lived near David HALL.  Probably other children. 

     ( II ) William, son of John Mc DOWELL, was born about 1790.  In 1825 he bought 250 acres of land on lot 46 in Barrington one mile south of Warsaw, paying four dollars an acre.  He was a prosperous and substantial farmer.  He was one of the organizers of the Presbyterian church in Barrington.  He married, in 1813, Dorothea DECKER.  Children: William, lived at Barrington; John, mentioned below; Matthew, lived at Barrington and Wayne, where he died; Catharine, married Henry CRONKRIGHT, of Tyrone; Elizabeth, married Jonathan TAYLOR, of Barrington; Nancy, married Caleb HEDGES, of Bradford; Elsie, married Selah CROSBY. 

     ( IV ) John ( 2 ), son of William Mc DOWELL, was born June, 1825, died April, 1909.  He married Emilia, daughter of Peter H. CROSBY.  Her father was one of the leading citizens of Barrington, prominent in the Baptist church, filling many offices of trust, and as commissioner of highways laid out many of the original streets of the town.  "His life has been one of industry and good example."  Peter H. CROSBY married Catherine, daughter of Joseph FINTON, and they had Emilia, mentioned above, Alanson, Joseph F., Selah, Drusilla and Isaac CROSBY.  Nathan CROSBY, father of Peter H. CROSBY, came to Yates county from Putnam county, in 1812, and settled near the Crystal Spring in Sunderlin Hollow where he lived two years and then returned to Delaware county, returning a year later to Milo, where he lived three years and then to Barrington, then to Wayne, locating where his son Peter H. afterwards resided for many years, on land adjoining the farm of Joseph FINTON; he died in 1825; children: Selah, Marian, Sarah, Esther, Abigail, Peter H. and Cyrus.  Children of John and Emilia (CROSBY) Mc DOWELL:  Kate, married Cyrus A. LAWRENCE; George, married Della OVENSHIRE; Peter, married Mary PLAYSTED; Frank, married Delia PARKER; Charles, mentioned below. 

     ( V ) Charles, son of John ( 2 ) Mc DOWELL, was born September 6, 1855, at Barrington, Yates county, New York.  His father was a farmer in Barrington and he spent his youth on the farm and in the district schools.  Afterward he rented the farm of his father and conducted it for a number of years.  In 1892 he removed to the town of Chapin, Ontario county, and bought his present farm, which is known as "Pleasant View."  It is conveniently located near Chapin depot and the house and other buildings are on a slight elevation, commanding an excellent view of the beautiful country thereabouts.  Mr. McDOWELL is an enterprising and progressive farmer, making a specialty of his dairy and owning a fine herd of cattle.  His personal attention is given to every detail of the work of his farm and he has fairly earned the success that has attended him.  His genial, kindly ways have won for him the esteem and friendship of all who know him.  In politics he is a republican.  He is a member of Canandaigua Grange, No. 1062, Patrons of Husbandry. 

He married, December 13, 1877, Fanny STOUTENBERG, of Penn Yan, born at Cortwright, Delaware county, New York, January 16, 1860, daughter of Alfred B. and Marjorie (McLAURY) STOUTENBERG.  She had a brother Julius and sisters Lillian and Marjorie STOUTENBERG.  Charles and Fanny Mc DOWELL had one child, John Alfred, born December 20, 1878, married Frances G. BATES, September 4, 1900, and they have one child, Jean Frances, born April 22, 1909.

 

Mc JANNETT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 114 - 115

Mc JANNETT Brothers.  James P. was born in Canandaigua, October 16, 1847, and his brother, John A., was also born in the same town, November 6, 1849.  The father, David, was born in Dalrymple, Argyleshire, Scotland, in 1812, and came to this country in May, 1840, settling in Canandaigua, first on the METCALF farm, then the BATES farm.  After various removals he finally settled on the farm now owned by Chester WELCH, where he died January 24, 1861.  He married in Scotland in 1837, Janet DUNLOP, by whom he had 8 children, six now living: Robert M., a printer, of Naples, for many years editor and proprietor of the Naples Record, and of late years J. P. of that town; Margaret, now living with her brother; Mary, wife of Hiram ADAMS, of Richmond; Isabella, wife of Horace OUTHOUSE, of Canandaigua; and James P. and John A.  David W. died October 30, 1864, at Chestnut Hill Hospital, a member of Co. H, 4th New York Heavy Artillery.  William died June 20, 1866, aged 14 years.  John A. was a teacher during winter terms for several years.  Our subjects have always lived in this town.  They were educated in the common school at Canandaigua and at the academy, and after leaving school engaged in farming.  In 1863 the farm in the Academy Tract was bought by Robert Mc JANNETT, and sold by him to these brothers in 1875.  In the spring of 1884 they bought a farm on lot 83, which the still own, making now 400 acres of land on which they do general farming, with stock and hops a specialty.  

 

 

Mc KECHNIE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 113

Mc KECHNIE, Frederick A., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua in 1865, a son of Alexander.  He was educated at Canandaigua Academy and Swarthmore College, and after leaving school returned to Canandaigua, and in 1884 entered the McKechnie Bank as clerk.  He was appointed to his present position as assistant cashier in February, 1890.  Mr. Mc KECHNIE is a director and secretary of the Canandaigua Lake Steamboat Company, and is vice-president of the J. & A. Mc Kechnie Brewing Company.  Alexander Mc KECHNIE died January 28, 1883, in his 62nd year, and the following year the J. & A. Mc Kechnie Brewing Company as a stock company was organized, changing none in the management as the stock was held entirely by different members of the family.  James Mc KECHNIE died September 12, 1889, aged 74, leaving no children.  Alexander Mc KECHNIE left at his death six children: Isabella wife of H. L. HOWE of the Ontario Iron Works; John D., president and treasurer of the J. & A. Mc Kechnie Brewing Company; George W. died August 16, 1889; he had been the vice president, head brewer and superintendent in the brewery, and a man of more than ordinary business ability.  His death was caused by heart disease.  The other children are: J. W. SWAIN of Philadelphia; Alexander, Jr., died June 30, 1884, who had been the assistant cashier of the Mc Kechnie Bank, and the youngest child is Fred A., assistant cashier.

 

Mc KECHNIE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 113 - 114

Mc KECHNIE Family.  In 1833 two brothers, James and Alexander Mc KECHNIE, aged 17 and 12 respectively, left their native home in Falkirk, Scotland, for America, landing in Canada, where they remained but a short time when they moved to Rochester, where their father and elder brother were engaged in the brewing business.  In 1843 these two young brothers discovered that Canandaigua offered the advantage of a good spring of water and other facilities for the brewing business, so they moved to this town and the same year they bought out a small brewery.  Starting in a very small way with an establishment having a capacity of 500 barrels per year, they gradually increased their buildings and business capacity until 1861, when we find they were making from ten to twelve thousand barrels per year.  In 1861 the whole plant was destroyed by fire, but they were indomitable and immediately rebuilt and continued their business.  In 1871 the establishment was rebuilt and since that time many buildings have been added, as the increase of business demanded, having now a capacity of 50,000 barrels per year.  

 

Mc KELVIE

History of Ontario County, NY AND Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 365 - 366  

William Mc KELVIE settled in the town of Geneva, Ontario county, New York, and married Sophia TURK

William Henry, son of William Mc KELVIE, was born March 22, 1865, in Geneva.  He was educated in the public schools, and has always followed farming.  He has 55 acres of land, three of which are devoted to orchards of apples, pears, etc.  His farm is part of the old McKELVIE homestead.  In politics he is a Republican.  He is a member of the Presbyterian church and of the local grange, Patrons of Husbandry, of which he has been gatekeeper one term, steward two terms, secretary two terms, treasurer two terms.  He married, February 14, 1907, Susie E. (FORCE) LEWIS, born March 29, 1873, daughter of Chester B. and Catherine C. FORCE (see FORCE III).  Mr. and Mrs. Mc KELVIE have had one child, Lillian E., born July 12, 1910.  His wife was born in Rock Stream, Yates county, New York, and married (first) in 1894, Charles W. LEWIS, who was born in 1862, died in 1906, a native of Wheeler, Steuben county, New York, a farmer and well-known dealer in horses.  Charles W. LEWIS was the son of Lemuel and Sophia (STORMS) LEWIS.  Lemuel LEWIS was born in 1832 and is a farmer; was overseer of the poor for many years, road commissioner, trustee of the village of Wheeler and a prominent citizen.  Children of Charles W. and Susie E. LEWIS:  Frank Emmet LEWIS, born at Rock Stream, New York, September 8, 1896; Elwyn C. LEWIS, January 18, 1897; Genevieve Kathryn LEWIS, born at Ingleside Station, Steuben county, New York, May 31, 1898; Lina Sophia LEWIS, born at Lynn, Steuben county, New York, February 28, 1901; Clarissa Joy LEWIS, born in Geneva, New York, February 18, 1905.

 

MC KELVIE 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 27-29 

The MC KELVIES are descended from an ancient and formidable Scottish clan, noted in the middle ages for their prowess, and in modern times for their sturdy application to the peaceful pursuits of agriculture, commerce, etc.  The Geneva, New York family of this name were pioneers in the fruit growing industry of that locality.   

Early in the last century Charles MC KELVIE, aged eight years, emigrated from Scotland with his parents who settled in Geneva when that city was but a small hamlet.  The MC KELVIES were industrious farming people who firmly adhered to the precepts of the established church of Scotland, and their children reared according to the strict tenets of that faith.  Upon reaching manhood, Charles MC KELVIE purchased a farm in the vicinity of Billsborough, and he resided there for the remained of his life.  He married Charlotte GRAHAM, a sister of Dr. James GRAHAM of Geneva.   She died in 1831, leaving one son. 

William Graham, only child of Charles and Charlotte (GRAHAM) MC KELVIE, was born in Geneva January 27, 1831; died April 30, 1903.  Reared to the occupation of a farmer and fruit-grower, he became an expert nurseryman and for twenty-five years devoted his attention almost exclusively to that business.  He purchased several pieces of agricultural property located just south of what is know as Bellwood farm, and these farms are still owned by the family.  He was a successful farmer and a prominent citizen, supporting all movements which have resulted in developing the growth and prosperity of Geneva, and for several years he served as a school trustee.  In politics he was a republican.  He married February 22, 1855, Miss Lydia JACKSON, born in Geneva, May 12, 1831, died February 4, 1909.  Children:  1. Charles W., born August 11, 1857; became a prosperous farmer and stock breeder in Waterloo, Iowa, where he died July 1907 and had married Etta BRAINARD of Waterloo;  2.  George, born May 5, 1865; died at the age of three years; 3.  Lillie Amelia, born January 10, 1867; 4.  Willard Graham, see forward; 5.  Edward Wiser, born October 16, 1870 (see further forward); 6. Lottie G., born August 14, 1872, married William SCOON. 

Willard Graham, son of William G. and Lydia (JACKSON) MC KELVIE, was born in Geneva, April 8, 1869.  After concluding his attendance at the Geneva high school he proceeded to familiarize himself with the various branches of agriculture and the substantial success he has since attained in that useful calling is the result of his careful training and superior intelligence.  He owns a desirably located farm containing 125 acres of fertile land and for the past fifteen years he has given his principal attention to farming and the cultivation of fruit, having an orchard of twenty acres.  His farming interests are in a most flourishing condition, made so by his ability and good management, and he ahs every reason to be proud of the superior quality of his products. 

Politically, Mr. MC KELVIE is a republican.  For the past four years he as served as a justice of the peace, having been originally appointed to complete the un-expired term of Thomas MC KELVIE, and has since retained that office through successive re-elections.  He has affiliated with the Patrons of Husbandry for twenty years, and held the mastership of the local grange for two years; has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows for four years, and warden of the local lodge one term.  He is a member and a trustee of the Presbyterian church. 

December 31, 1891, Mr. MC KELVIE married Miss Cora AINSLEY, born in Geneva, October 23, 1869.  Her father was John Witter AINSLEY, born in Gorham, NY in 1831, died in Geneva, April 19, 1907.  Mr. AINSLEY was a prosperous farmer, a prominent and highly respected citizen, and his loss was keenly felt by the entire community.  In politics he acted with the republican party and he was a charter member of the grange.  He married Eleanor DORMAN, born in Seneca, NY on March 2, 1831.  Children: Cora AINSLEY who is now Mrs. MC KELVIE;  and Willard L, born May 20, 1862, died July 24, 1909 and had married in 1905 to Miss Mina SIMPSON

Mr. and Mrs. MC KELVIE have three children: Florence Ainsley, born December 12, 1892; Eleanor Lydia, October 22, 1895; and Charles Stewart, April 22, 1910.   

 

MC KELVIE 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 29 - 30 

Edward Wiser MC KELVIE, son of William G. and Lydia (JACKSON) MC KELVIE, was born in Geneva, NY on October 16, 1870.  He was graduated from the Geneva high school and for the past twenty years has been engaged in general farming and fruit growing.  He owns 54 acres of well improved land, nine acres of which are devoted to the raising of fruit, and he manages his property with such care and foresight as to secure the best possible returns for his investment.  He is a member of the patrons of Husbandry, having served one term as steward of the local grange, and eh attends the First  Presbyterian Church.  In politics he is a republican.   

Mr.  E. W. MC KELVIE married, November 9, 1892, Miss Emma MC INTIRE.  Their children are : Minnie Anna, born June 4, 1893; Harold Edward born February 2, 1902 and Mary Isabelle born 1910.   

Mrs. Emma (MC INTIRE) MC KELVIE was born in Geneva, October 4, 1874 and belongs to a prominent family of that city which settled there early in the last century.  Her father, Charles MC INTRIE, who was born in Geneva, June 19, 1850, now owns and occupies the family homestead, comprising one hundred acres of land, and is a prosperous farmer.  In politics he acts with the republican party, and has served with ability as highway commissioner.  He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

He married Kathrine Ann FISH, born at Halls Corners, NY, September 2, 1852, died June 6, 1903.  She was a daughter of John and Jane (BROWN) FISH of Halls Corners, staunch Presbyterian people, and her father was an able farmer, owning one hundred acres of land.  The children of Charles and Katherine (FISH) MC INTIRE are: 1. Emma, who is now Mrs. MC KELVIE; 2.  Jane Isabelle, born February 2, 1887 and married June 1, 1905 to Ewin COLLISTER, attorney for the Erie Railroad; 3. John Scott, born August 9, 1889.  

 

MC KINNEY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 116

Mc KINNEY, Benjamin F., Geneva, was born in Bradford county, Pa., November 17, 1843, a son of Henry and Amanda Mc KINNY.  In March, 1864, he enlisted in Co. I, 187th Pennsylvania Vols., and was mustered out August 3, 1865, as a corporal.  He has been in the employ of the L. V. R. R. since November, 1871.  In October, 1884, he came to Geneva as local freight agent, and in 1872 married Laura MALLORY, of Litchfield, Pa.  They have two children: Lizzie M. and Carrie A.  Mr. Mc KINNEY is a member of Swift Post G. A. R. No. 94, and was formerly a member of Perkins Post.  He is adjutant of Swift Post.  His father, Henry Mc KINNEY, resides with him.  

 

Mc KNUTT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 325

Mc KNUTT, the late Isaac, was born in the town of Manchester April 27, 1833.  He was educated in the common schools and followed farming.  March 14, 1859, he married Eliza, daughter of Martin and Elizabeth MILLER, formerly of St. Lawrence county.  She came here with her mother when she was seven years old.  They had four children, one died in infancy, three survive: Isaac F., who manages the farm for his mother and the family; Susie A., who married Nelson C. REEVES of East Henrietta, Monroe county, and Louie M., who resides at home.  Isaac Mc KNUTT died May 8, 1892.  Mr. Mc KNUTT's father, Robert, was born in 1805, in the town of Manchester, and married Angeline STAFFORD of his native town.  They had seven children: Pauline J., Phoebe A., Isaac, Belinda E., Emily M., Augusta A., and Augustus R.  Robert Mc KNUTT died December 8, 1883.  Mrs. Mc KNUTT's father, Martin MILLER, was born in Scotland about the year of 1804.  Her father married Elizabeth CABALON, and had five children: Joseph, Annie, Mary H., Jennie and Eliza.

 

MC LOUTH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 123 - 124 

Mc LOUTH, Marshall, Farmington, was born in Farmington, August 30, 1815.  He was educated in the public schools, and was a farmer until he retired.  December 31, 1838, he married Margaret, daughter of Ebenezer and Margaret (SPEAR) PRATT of the town of Manchester.  They have had 7 children, 5 survive: 1. Lucy, who married Charles CONVERSE, now of Michigan, and have 8 children: Milton, Edward, Charles, Howard, LeRoy, Allison, Roscoe and Margaret; 2. Mary, who resides at home with her parents; 3. Louis H., who married Celia THAYER, and have three children: Wells, Hannah, and Marshall; 4. Gustavus A., who married Mary BLOODGOOD, and have five children: Eva, Harriet, Jessie, Carlton and Sarah.  5. Jessie married Edwin A. ADAMS.  

Mr. Mc LOUTH's father, Peter, was born in Taunton, Mass., in 1761, was a brick manufacturer and school teacher by occupation.  He came to Farmington in 1800.  He married twice, first Lavina WELLS, of Williamstown, Mass., and had one son, William W.  For his 2nd wife he married Lydia OSGOOD, formerly of the State of Vermont.  They had 11 children, 8 grew to maturity: Walter, Lonson, Thomas, Jr., Cyrus, Harriet, Lyman, Peter and Marshall.  His father, Peter, and four of his brothers served in the Revolutionary war.  Mr. Mc LOUTH served two years as supervisor of his town in 1864-65, and was a right loyal man during the Civil  war.  His grandfather was educated in the Maynooth College, and after coming to the United States taught a grammar school in Massachusetts.  John HANCOCK was one of his pupils.  Mrs. Mc LOUTH's father, Ebenezer PRATT, was born in Berkshire county, Mass., came to this county in the year 1795, and married Margaret SPEAR, formerly of Keene, NH, and had 7 children, 6 grew to maturity: Electa, Dighton, Achsah, Ebenezer, Meritt and Margaret.  

 

Mc MILLAN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 119

Mc MILLAN, Horton, Canandaigua, the first son of Peter and Lusena (TOWNER) Mc MILLAN, was born in the old GRANGER farm in this town September 2, 1843.  He was 18 years old when the Civil war broke out, but enlisted July 22, 1862, in the 126th N. Y. Vols., and participated in the battles of Harper's Ferry, Gettysburg, Bristow Station, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, and many others.  December 25, 1864, at the consolidation of the regiment, which caused the discharge of part of the non-commissioned officers, Horton returned to Canandaigua, and engaged in farming in different places in the West and in New York.  In 1878 he bought a farm of 105 acres in Canandaigua, which he conducted for four years, then sold, and rented the old WILDER farm, which he bought in 1885.  This is a fine place of 115 acres.  He married, March 16, 1870, Anna, daughter of James CURRAN, of Livonia, Livingston county, and they have two sons: Peter A., born May 30, 1871, and Roy H., born December 4, 1876.  Peter A. is a school teacher; Roy H. is a student of the Union School of Canandaigua.  

 

Mc MILLAN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 124 - 125 

Mc MILLAN, Peter H., Canandaigua, was born at Conesus, Livingston county, May 15, 1818.  His father, John Mc MILLAN, was a native of New Hampshire, where he was born in 1766.  He was twice married and had 7 children by his first wife.  He married second Rhoda JACKSON, mother of subject, and widow of John REEVES, by whom she had 5 children.  By his second wife Mr. Mc MILLAN had three children; two of the children of John are living: Mrs. Rhoda HOWE, of Lyons, Ionia county, Mich., and Peter H.  John Mc MILLAN died in Livingston county in 1840.  Peter H. was educated in the common and select schools, and in August, 1841, removed to Ontario county, locating on a farm owned by Francis GRANGER.  He conducted this for 9 years, then bought a farm of 95 acres on the town line of East Bloomfield and Canandaigua, where he lived about six years.  He then sold the land in East Bloomfield and bought in Canandaigua 125 acres, having now about 200 acres.  Mr. McMILLAN is a Democrat, and he has been three terms assessor of East Bloomfield.  He married in 1840 Lusena TOWER, of Saratoga.  They had 11 children, 9 of whom are living: Horton, a farmer of Canandaigua; John, of Kansas; Mary PORTER, of Williamsport, Pa.; Rhoda BERRY, of Canandaigua; Converse, on a stock farm in Indiana; Lusena, wife of Lyman COOLEY, a civil engineer of Chicago; and Peter, George, and Henry, all farmers of Canandaigua.  Mrs. Mc MILLAN died July 25, 1880, and he married second Nancy CLAPP, of Canandaigua, who died October 25, 1886.  His present wife was a daughter of Stephen FRANCIS, of Bristol, who died October 18, 1892, aged 86 years.  Mr. Mc MILLAN was one of the earliest breeders of American Merino sheep in this section.

 

Mc NULTY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 125 - 126

Mc NULTY, Francis X., Canandaigua, was born in Ottawa, Canada, in 1848, was educated in the common schools and learned the mason's trade, becoming a contractor in 1864.  In 1865 he came to New York, where he worked for one year, and was in Palmyra one season.  In 1868 he had the contract for the Gibson block in Phelps; the next season he built the Foster block in Clifton Springs, and the school building.  In 1872 he came to Canandaigua, and ever since has had nearly all of the brick work.  He built the Union Free School building, Tillotson block, Masseth House, Flannigan and Times block, Water Works plant, Mc Kechnies' lager beer brewery, and many others.  In 1881 he began the construction of buildings for the New York Central Railroad Company, and has done a large portion of their mason work between East Syracuse and Buffalo, including buildings, walls, bridges, and culverts.  He is one of the trustees of the Union School, and police commissioner of this village.  He is a Democrat, but not an office seeker.  He is a member of the A. O. U. W., and married in 1885 Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas MORAN, of Canandaigua, by whom he has one child, Katherine Regina.  

 

Mc TEGGAN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 322

Mc TEGGAN, James, Canandaigua, was born in Beauharnois, Canada, March 20, 1829.  When six years of age his parents moved to Ogdensburg, where his father, George, engaged in farming.  He afterwards moved to Waterloo, and in 1844 went into the employment of the Auburn and Rochester R. R. Company, making his home in Waterloo.  In 1848 he moved to Geneva, where he died in February, 1873, in his 70th year.  He left four children: Ann Jane, widow of John T. SCOON, of Geneva; George, an engineer of the N. Y. C. R. R. Co.; Mary, wife of Cornelius A. HEMIUP, of Geneva; and James.  James was educated in the common schools and academies at Seneca Falls and Waterloo.  After leaving school he engaged in farming in Waterloo for five years.  In 1847 he entered the employ of the Auburn and Rochester R. R. as baggage master and mail carrier.  From Geneva he went to Newark, NY, where he was station agent for the N. Y. C for two years, and in 1855 came to Canandaigua as station agent, remaining 9 years, then went to Suspension Bridge as freight agent for the same company, where he was located until 1880.  That year he moved to Buffalo, where he acted as general western freight agent for the N. Y. C. & H. R. R., a position he held for 12 years, returning to Canandaigua in 1892, where he bought his present farm and beautiful residence.  This is a fine fruit farm of 47 acres, formerly owned by Cong LANEFORT, on which 40 years ago Abner ANTIS built the beautiful stone mansion, considered one of the finest in the town.  On this farm in 1887 an attempt was made to reach natural gas, which was partially successful.  Mr. Mc TEGGAN now has the use of gas from this well for heating and cooking.  Mr. Mc TEGGAN married in 1852 Elizabeth LE GARD, by whom he had two children, one now living, Mrs. John BURKE, of Niagara Falls.  Mrs. Mc TEGGAN died in 1860, and he married second in 1862, Anna WILSON, of Canandaigua.  They have one child living, John S., a clerk for the N. Y. C. R. R. at Buffalo.  One child, Lizzie, died May 3, 1878, in her 11th year.

 

MEAD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 117

MEAD, Alfred M., Victor, was born at Macedon Centre, Wayne county, November 21, 1856.  He was educated in the public schools, and graduated from the Macedon Academy.  He studied medicine in, and graduated from, the Medical Department of the University of Buffalo, practicing successfully in the town of Victor since 1880.  April 6, 1881, he married Hattie A., daughter of Robert K. and Mary Brown, of Union Hall, Wayne county.  They have three children: Edgar R., Dora E. and M. Evelyn.  The father of Alfred, John G., was born in Dutchess county, and was a farmer.  He married Emma COOKINGHAM, of his native county, and they had three children: Edgar, who married Alice SMITH, and had two children: Louie and Alvin; Alfred M., and E. Louise, who married Dr. Charles BRIGGS, of Fairport.  She died in March, 1881.  Dr. MEAD is a member of the Ontario County Medical Society, and of the Methodist church, and was coroner of Ontario county two terms.  

 

MEAD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 118 

MEAD, James, Gorham, a native of Gorham, was born April 30, 1836.  He is a son of William, a son of Amasiah, who was a son of Thaddeus.  The latter was an early settler of Westchester county, where Amasiah was born February 14, 1770.  He married Abagail JESSUP, born March 20, 1769, a daughter of Sylvanus JESSUP, and they had four sons and two daughters.  He died June 7, 1844, and his wife January 13, 1858.  William was born in Westchester county, October 15, 1795.  In 1821 he came to Gorham and finally bought the farm of 155 acres where subject now resides.  Mr. MEAD was twice married, first, January 24, 1821, to Sallie BAKER, by whom he had two children.  She died September 6, 1829, and October 19, 1831, he married Mabel STERLING, a native of Lima, and they had two sons and four daughters.  She was born November 3, 1810.  Her parents were James and Mabel (CHESTER) STERLING, who had seven sons and two daughters.  The father of James was Samuel STERLING, of Connecticut.  William MEAD died in 1858 and his wife in 1861.  James MEAD was educated in Spencertown Academy, Columbia county, and Canandaigua Academy.  February 18, 1864, he married Mary A. DICKERSON, a native of Gorham, born January 21, 1842.  She was a daughter of Selah DICKERSON, a son of David DICKERSON, of Pennsylvania, who early came to Gorham.  Selah DICKERSON was born in Gorham, August 27, 1806, and married Lucy A. HOLTON, of Gorham, born July 10, 1811, a daughter of Francis HOLTON, born June 9, 1781.  Mr. DICKERSON and wife had three sons and a daughter.  He was assessor and highway commissioner, and died September 16, 1869.  His wife died February 1, 1888.  The children of James MEAD and wife are: William M., Lucy I., Jennie L., and Mabel S.  Mr. MEAD is a republican, and has been assessor one term.  He has been vice-president and director of Gorham Agricultural Society, and is a member of Stanley Grange, No. 284, and is a very prominent member of the Presbyterian Church.  (New Gorham Ceme)

 

MEAD

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 404 � 406 

William MEAD, the immigrant ancestor, was born in England about 1600.  It is said that he with his brother, Gabriel, sailed from Lydd county Kent, England, with their families, in the ship, �Elizabeth�, Captain STAGG, April, 1635.  They arrived in the summer of that year in the Massachusetts colony.  He seems to have settled first at Wethersfield, Connecticut, but when the exodus from there took place and a company of planters settled in Stamford in 1641, he was assigned a home lot and 5 acres of land there.  He married about 1625, and died in Stamford, Connecticut about 1663.  His wife died Sept 19, 1657.  Children: Joseph, born 1630; Martha, born 1632; John mentioned below.

(II)                     John, son of William MEAD, was born about 1634.  He married Hannah POTTER of Stamford, daughter of William POTTER, probably in 1657.  He died February 5, 1699.  He was an ancestor of the Greenwich MEADS.  After having lived in Stamford and in Hempstead, Long Island, he finally located permanently at Horseneck, Connecticut.  Children: John, born in Greenwich, October 7, 1658; Joseph born May 2, 1660; Hannah, born about 1661; Ebenezer, born in 1663; Jonathan; David, mentioned below; Benjamin, born May 1666; Nathaniel born about 1669; Samuel born about 1673; Abigail born about 1675; Mary born about 1678.

(III)                David, son of John MEAD, was born about 1665 and married December 16, 1707 to Abigail LEANE.  He died in February 1727.  He settled early in the town of Bedford, New York, and was one of the resident proprietors there in 1692.  Children: David, born September 1, 1708, reported to have been killed in the Revolution; Charity, born 1710; Rachel, born 1712; Nathaniel, born October 9, 1714; William, mentioned below; Betsey, born 1719; Anna, born 1722.

(IV)                    William (2), son of David MEAD, was born in 1716.  Children: John L., born about 1743; Gilbert, born about 1745; Nathaniel, mentioned below; William born about 1749; Charity born abut 1751; Hannah, born about 1753; Mary, born about 1756.

(V)                         Nathaniel, son of William (2) MEAD, was born at Greenwich in 1747, and was a soldier in the Revolution, from Connecticut, in 1776, a sergeant in Captain Abraham MEAD�S company.

(VI)                    Richard Titus, son of Nathaniel MEAD, was born  February 22, 1787, died December 12, 1836; he settled in Dutchess county, New York.  He married Phebe GURNEY, October 24, 1811, died November 17, 1871.

(VII)                John G., son of Richard Titus MEAD, was born in Dutchess county, New York, March 16, 1824 and settled at Macedon Center, New York, where he died in April 1909, aged 85 years.  He was a farmer all his active life.  He married Emma B. COOKINGHAM, who was also born in Dutchess county and removed when young to Macedon Center.  She is living at Victor, at the advanced aged of 84 years (in 1911).  Children: Alfred M., mentioned below; Edgar L., born April 6, 1851, resides at Rochester, New York; Louise, born May 5, 1860, married Dr. C. M. BRIGGS of Fairport, New York, where she died in 1881.

(VIII)           Dr. Alfred M. MEAD, son of John G. MEAD, was born in Macedon Center, New York, November 21, 1856.  He attended the public schools of his native town and Madison Academy, from which he was graduated in 1876.  He then entered Buffalo Medical College from which he graduated with the degree of doctor of medicine in the class of 1880.  In the same year he located at Victor, New York, and began to practice his profession.  Since then he has been in active practice, and as a physician and surgeon has achieved high rank in his profession.  He is one of the board of directors of the Memorial Hospital of Canandaigua; member of the Canandaigua County Medical Society, the Central New York Medical Society, the New York State Medical Society and the American Medical Association.  He has held the office of president of the county Medical Society and has served two terms as coroner of the county.  In politics he is republican.  For several years he was a trustee of the incorporated village and he is at the present time, president of the board of education.  In religion he is a Methodist, and he is one of the trustees of that church.  He married, April 6, 1881, Hattie A. BROWN, who was born at Union Hill, New York, October 20, 1856, a daughter of Robert K. BROWN.  Children: born at Victor: Edgar R., born July 8, 1884; Dora E., December 13, 1887; M. Evelyn, May 11, 1892.  Their daughter, Dora, is a member of the Iroquois Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, of Rochester. 

 

MEATH   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 325

MEATH, Bernard, Canandaigua, was born in County Wicklow, Ireland, in 1826, and came to this country in 1847.  He first located on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake, then spent 6 years with Theodore POMEROY in Farmington for $156 per year.  He kept a small store in Cheshire for 8 years, and in 1861 bought the STILES farm of 110 acres, and the following year bought the SIMMONS farm of 75 acres, making one large farm of 185 acres, on which he has made many improvements.  In 1874 he built one of the finest residences on the Middle Road, and since then he has built barns and other outbuildings, until now he has one of the finest homes in Canandaigua.  The principal products of the farm are grain, and hay, and stock.  He married in 1849 Ann CONEY, who died in 1874, and he took for his second wife Mary COUGEVAN of Canandaigua, by whom he had 7 children: Bernard, Mary, Nora, James, Ann, Mathew and John.  Mr. MEATH has always taken an active interest in politics, in which he has worked for the success of the Democratic party.

 

MELLEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893. pg 116 - 117

MELLEN, John W., Geneva, was born in Clyde, Wayne county, April 21, 1861.  The family came to Geneva about the year 1873.  He was educated in the public schools and Hobart College, where he took the classical course.  At the end of three years he left on account of failing health, and has held the position of cashier in Samuel SOUTHWORTH's bank for several years.  He was elected town clerk in 1892 and re-elected in 1893.  He was appointed clerk of the Board of Education, on which he has served three years.  September 16, 1891, he married S. Georgiana DININNY, of Addison, Steuben county, and they have one son, John D., born November 11, 1892.  Mr. MELLEN's father, James P., was born in Hudson, Columbia county, and married Maria ROSE, of Clyde.  They have 7 children, as follows: Charles R., Sarah, James, John W., Mary R., Catharine and Arthur H.  Mrs. MELLEN's father, John W. DININNY, was born in Oneonta, Otsego county, in 1822, and is an attorney.  He married Sarah COBURN, and they had four children: Harper J., William D., Carleton V. and S. Georgiana.  Mr. DININNY served as colonel of the 141st N. Y. Vols., but had to resign by order of the regimental surgeon, by reason of impaired vision, which if he continued in service would lead to total blindness.  (some in Wash. St. Ceme)

 

MENTETH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 118 - 119 

 

MENTETH, James Stuart, Canandaigua, was born at Menteth's Point, town of Canandaigua, July 29, 1841, a son of Thomas Loughnan Stuart MENTETH, who came to this country from Dumfries, Scotland, in 1832.  Thomas was a son of Sir Charles MENTETH, who was the father of seven sons and two daughters.  The oldest son, James Stuart MENTETH, inherited the title at the death of Sir Charles MENTETH in 1852.  Thomas MENTETH died in 1854, leaving three sons and two daughters.  At the death of Sir James in 1870 the title reverted to James Stuart, our subject.  Thomas L. was an English army officer, and served from 1818 to 1830 in the service in India, retiring with the office of captain.  He returned in 1830 to Scotland, where he remained till 1832, when he came to America and located on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake, about six miles from Canandaigua village.  He purchased here an estate of over 400 acres, and built a flouring mill, which he conducted in connection with general farming.  He lived to 58 years of age, and died an honored and respected citizen.  His children living are: Alice, wife of George FINLEY, of Canandaigua, and James Stuart.  The boyhood of our subject was spent on the farm of his birth.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, Dr. Reed's Walnut Hill School at Geneva, Lima Seminary, and two years under Hon. John RAINES as private tutor.  In 1859 he went to California, where he was engaged in stock ranching for four and a half years and mining over two years, returning to Canandaigua in 1866, where he has ever since made his home, and has added to the original estate many improvements, being now an extensive grower of fruit, hops, grain, etc.  He married in 1872 Helen G., daughter of Darwin E. FAY, Oswego county, and they are the parents of two children: Philadelphia Stuart MENTETH, and Isabella Stuart MENTETH, students of Granger Place School.  

 

 

 

MERRILL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 320  

MERRILL, F. B., Canandaigua, is a native of Belknap county, NH, and came to Ontario county in 1887 from New York, where he had been a dealer in malt, hops and barley.  He established a market of the same products in this town, in which he is still engaged.  In 1891 Mr. MERRILL purchased the old road bed of the Geneva and Southwestern Railroad from Geneva to Naples, and in the early part of 1892 the Middlesex Valley Railroad Company was incorporated, and the work of construction was commenced in June, 1892.  The road from Stanley to Naples was completed and opened to the public August 29, 1892.  Mr. MERRILL is president of the construction company that built the road and resident director of the railroad company; he is also president of the Central City Water Works of Syracuse.

 

 

MERRITT 

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 43 

Adelbert Clinton MERRITT, who has been closely identified with a variety of business interests in the state of New York, is descended from a family which settled in this state a number of generations ago. 

Stacy MERRITT, grandfather of Adelbert, was a member of a large family, his brothers being: Isaac, Charles, David, William, Henry Harrison, Hudson and Lester.  He settled with his father on the farm in Penfield, Monroe County, NY,  was a pail and tub maker by trade and also a farmer.  He married Elizabeth CASS, who died in 1863.  Their children: Electra, Oliver C, William H., Eliza, Ellen and Jane.   

William Harrison, son of Stacy and Elizabeth (CASS) MERRITT, was born on the farm at Penfield, 1820.  He was occupied as a millwright and carpenter.  At the outbreak of the Civil War, he enlisted in Co. G, 114th Regiment, as corporal of his regiment, and was an active participant in the battle of Fredericksburg.  The day following this engagement he was taken sick, and was honorably discharged in 1862.  He married Olive M., who died September 3, 1909, daughter of David ALLYN.  Children: Adelbert Clinton, see forward; Rose V., who married Richard JOHNSON and has children: Cora, Nora, deceased, May, Wilford, who is in the United States Army, Lula, Retta,, Harold and one who died in childbirth.   

Adelbert Clinton, eldest child of William Harrison and Olive M. (ALLYN) MERRITT, was born at the family homestead in Penfield, April 8, 1847.  He was educated in the public schools of his district and the Penfield Academy.  For a period of fifteen years he worked with his father as a millwright the in 1870 went to Rochester, New York where he was employed in the meat market business, adding groceries to his stock the following year, and at the expiration of two years, sold out, returned to Penfield, where he took up his former occupation and also engaged in farming.  He removed to Marion in 1887 and there commenced to the raising of stock and the cultivation of a fruit farm and was thus occupied until 1900, when he removed to Manchester Center, where he is now engaged in the milling business, and in conjunction has a grocery store and crate factory.  He is energetic and enterprising in his business methods, keeping well abreast of the times and has acquired a large and growing trade.

Mr. MERRITT married in 1878 to Mary E., daughter of Oliver Chapin MERRITT of Penfield.  Children: Harry, born in Penfield, deceased; Arthur C.,  Lewis Allen and May.

 

METCALF  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 324

METCALF, J. Henry, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua June 25, 1857, a son of Jabez H., a lawyer of that town, admitted to the bar in 1843.  The whole life of our subject has been spent in this village, where he was educated in the Canandaigua Academy.  When he was 18 years of age he began to read law in his father's office, and was admitted to the bar in 1878, passing his examination in June, about a week before reaching his majority.  He opened an office in this village, and has ever since enjoyed a lucrative practice.  January 2, 1890, Mr. METCALF was appointed by Governor HILL county judge of Ontario, to fill vacancy caused by the resignation of Secretary of State Rice.  The following fall he was elected to the position over Dwight C. BACKENSTOSE of Geneva, his term expiring in 1896.  He is a director of the Canandaigua National Bank.

 

 

 

METCALF

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 199 

Jabez Holden METCALF, was born in the town of Naples, Ontario county, in 1813; studied law with Willson & Lester in Canandaigua and was admitted to the bar in 1843; was associated in the practice of his profession with Elbridge G. LAPHAM, and later with Henry M. FIELD.  He died in Canandaigua, April 19, 1883.

 

 

MIDDAUGH

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 122 

MIDDAUGH, Albert, Gorham, was born in Phelps, Ontario county, April 13, 1834, a son of Eli, who was a son of Jasper, a native of Pennsylvania and one of the early settlers of Phelps, where he died.  Eli was born in Phelps May 10, 1799.  His wife was Mariah McCARTY, by whom he had four sons and four daughters.  Mr. MIDDAUGH was a man of extensive reading and good judgment.  He was a farmer and died in Phelps, October 8, 1882, and his wife October 20, 1866.  He was highway commissioner a number of years.  Albert married in 1866 Eunice BURNETT, by whom he had one child, Orson W., born March 15, 1871.  He was educated in the Phelps Union School and the Elmira School of Commerce, graduating from the latter in 1890.  He afterwards engaged as manager for G. W. Krowl of Elmira.  January 12, 1874, Mrs. MIDDAUGH died, and June 6, 1875, Mr. MIDDAUGH married Persis HUMPHREY, who died June 9, 1879.  April 30, 1884, he married Margaret MANZER, born in Otsego county January 11, 1854.  They have had one son, Albert B., born June 9, 1885.  Mr. MIDDAUGH's early life was spent in Phelps, but for many years he has resided in Gorham.  He is a Democrat and has been poor-master three terms.  He is a member of the Grange at Reed's Corners.  Mrs. MIDDAUGH is a daughter of Albert and Rosetta (CUMMINGS) MANZER of Otsego county.  Mr. MANZER served eleven months in the Civil war in Co D, 144th N. Y. Vols.  

 

 

MIDDAUGH

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 395 - 396 

Jacob MIDDAUGH, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, was born in Pike county, Pennsylvania, April 19, 1809, died March 15, 1872, son of Cornelius MIDDAUGH.  When he was a young man, he came to the town of Phelps and bought a farm.  He married Leah VAN AUKEN, who was born May 31, 1813, and died June 2, 1886.  Children: Charles W., born February 11, 1834, died May 4, 1875; Martin S., May 30, 1839, died January 27, 1908; Ezra E., April 20, 1844, died May 21, 1866; Oren A., referred to below. 

      ( II ) Oren A., son of Jacob and Leah (VAN AUKEN) MIDDAUGH, was born in the town of Phelps, March 20, 1853.  He was educated in the district school.  In 1864 he moved with his parents to Marshall, Michigan, where his father bought a farm.  Oren A. MIDDAUGH there engaged in farming for eighteen years, and in 1881 moved back to the town of Phelps, where he is still engaged in farming.  In 1909 he was elected assessor of the town of Phelps.  He married, in 1877, Lucretia, daughter of John and Lany HANES.

 

MILLARD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 124

MILLARD, Rev. Benjamin F., Naples, pastor the Presbyterian Church at Naples, was born in Cayuga county November 1, 1820, a son of Jesse and Lucinda (LOOMIS) MILLARD, both from New England.  The ancestors of the family were French Huguenots, Welsh and Scotch, and they trace their lineage to the Mayflower.  Jesse MILLARD was a merchant and a prominent man in the neighborhood.  He was for many years a justice of the peace and postmaster, and a deacon of the Presbyterian church.  His wife was a relative of Professor LOOMIS, of Yale College.  Our subject was educated at the Western Reserve College of Ohio and at Yale College, Theological Department, and was ordained about 1847.  He was the first pastor of the church at Lansing, Mich., when the place had less than 1,000 people.  He came to Naples when a young man, as pastor.  After a few years, on account of failing health, he resigned his pastorate and studied law, and practiced successfully for several years.  He was also editor of The Tribune for some time in Chicago.  During the Civil War he became business agent of the New York Christian Commission, and associate pastor of the New York Society's Mariners' Church, and afterwards was again called to Naples as pastor of the church there.  He is a man greatly esteemed by the community.  He was first married in 1847 to Francis MANN (who died in 1879), by whom he had two sons: Franklin MANN and Chalmers S., both deceased.  September 12, 1881, he married Mrs. Margaret (ANDREWS) MONIER, widow of the late James L. MONIER, a merchant and real estate dealer, who died April 3, 1870.  

 

 

MILLER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 121 - 122

MILLER, Luman Phelps, Victor, was born in the town of Augusta (now Oriskany Falls), Oneida county, November 9, 1818.  On March 4, 1819, his father (Orrin) came with Jonas M. WHEELER, and located southwest of Victor on the land now occupied by subject, and immediately returned for their families, including the subject of this sketch, then only six months old.  He was educated in the public schools and was a farmer.  October 5, 1859, he married Mrs. M. (HUMPHREY) SMITH of Victor.  They have had three children: Charles B., Orrin H., and Eugene H., who died at the age of 19 years; Orrin H., at the age of 20 months.  Charles B. received his education in Canandaigua Academy, afterward graduated from the Rochester Business College, and is now a resident of South Norwalk, Conn., superintendent of J. J. Asche''s Fur Cutting Factory.  Mr. MILLER's father, Orrin, was born at Cooperstown, Otsego county, April 27, 1793, and came with his parent's to Miller's Corners when a child.  He too was a farmer, and married Abigail THOMPSON, formerly of Massachusetts.  They had three sons and a daughter: Alonzo W., who died in Toronto, Canada, in 1891; Luman Phelps, Arthur H., and Sarah A., who married Hiram HUMPHREY of this town.  Mrs. MILLER's father, Rufus HUMPHREY, was born in Goshen, Conn., October 2, 1795, and came to Ontario county in 1818.  He married Lurania SMITH, formerly of North Carolina.  Mr. HUMPHREY was a machinist and invented the first threshing machine used in Western New York; he was one of the first to encourage the public school system and a strong anti-slavery man, and was interested in all matters of public concern.  His death was sincerely regretted by the whole community.  Mr. MILLER's father, Orrin, died March 6, 1872.  Mr. and Mrs. MILLER are members of the Universalist church, and Mr. MILLER is one of the deacons.  He has been superintendent of the poor three terms, poor-master of the town several years, was deputy sheriff during Sheriff HILDRETH's term.  His father was in the War of 1812.  The ancestry of the family is English and Scotch.  

 

 

MILLER

History of Ontario County, NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 214 

In the year 1788, Samuel MILLER, a native of Granby, Connecticut, a blacksmith by trade, selected Canandaigua as a home, and in the following year removed his family to that place, and worked at his trade a couple of years, when he removed to the point ever since known as Miller's Corners.  This family consisted of wife, two sons and two daughters.  He here set up his anvil on a stump in the open air, this being the only shop in all this region.  It is related that a stranger, inquiring his way to Miller's blacksmith shop, was answered that "he was in Miller's blacksmith shop now, but that it was four miles to his anvil."  He was killed by an accident in 1796.  Samuel, the eldest of the sons, retained the home and farm, married, and was extensively engaged in farming, and boating on Lake Ontario, and dealing in salt.  He was the father of 12 children, five sons and seven daughters.  Mr. Silas MILLER, the eldest of the twelve children, was born in 1803, and succeeded to the old home, where he still lives, in the enjoyment of good health and surrounded by a fine property.  Mr. Silas MILLER has been all his life engaged in farming, and to-day is a fine-looking old gentleman of seventy-three years, universally respected and esteemed for his sociability and liberality.  In the course of his long life he has never sued a man at the law, or been sued.  Mr. Silas MILLER, at the age of 26, married Almira WILCOX, of Mendon.  He has had four sons, only one of whom survives.  Samuel W., they youngest, was married to Miss E. M. CLAFLIN, and until his death, which occurred in 1875, lived at home with the old gentleman.  His widow still has her home with Mr. MILLER.  Carlton S. MILLER is married to Miss Harriet L. VARY, of Michigan, and has one son.  He and his family are all living at the old home with the old gentleman.  We present in this work a very fine view of the home of the Millers as it is in the year 1876.  

 

MILLER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 217

MILLER, Charles Dudley, Geneva, was born in the town of Utica, Oneida county, December 3, 1818.  He was educated in the Utica High School, Hamilton College, and Harvard University.  He was appointed colonel of the 129th Regiment of Madison county, receiving his commission from Governor SEWARD, and has always performed his duty in whatever position placed.  October 13, 1843, he married Elizabeth, only daughter of Hon. Gerrit SMITH, of Peterboro, NY, and they have had four children, one daughter and three sons: Gerrit S., who married Susan DIXWELL, of Cambridge, Mass., and they had three children: C. Dudley, William F., who died at the age of 26, and Ann F., who resides at home with her parents.  C. Dudley married Louise WILLARD of Oswego Falls, and they have had two sons: Charles D. 3d, and one who died in infancy.  Colonel MILLER has been associated with every movement for the improvement and elevation of mankind from his young manhood until the present time.  His grandnephew Alexander McComb MILLER, is making his application for his appointment as a cadet at West Point, and it is known that the family has had a continuous record since before the Revolution in military service.

 

MILLER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 377

MILLER, Albert D., Phelps, was born on the MILLER homestead in Phelps, January 22, 1839.  He was one of 9 children of Daniel MILLER.  His grandfather, Jacob MILLER, came from New Jersey about 1797 and settled in Phelps on the farm now owned by Albert D.  Daniel MILLER, the father, was a soldier of the War of 1812.  Albert D. married in 1867 Clara V. GIFFORD, daughter of Cady and Elizabeth (VALKENBURG) GIFFORD of Phelps.  They have two children: Elmer G., and Irma V. MILLER.  The farm of Mr. MILLER, comprising 170 acres, is noted in the town as a potato farm, it producing in favorable years from 3,000 to 4,000 bushels.  The barns and adjoining buildings erected in 1882 are extensive and complete.  Mr. MILLER is also owner of the Empire plaster mill.

 

MILLIKEN

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 516 - 517  

 

MILLIKEN, Nathan J., was born in Keene, Cheshire county, NH, September 27, 1821.  In 1836, being then in his 15th year, he entered the office of the Cheshire Republican in Keene as an apprentice, and there he learned the "art preservative of all arts," serving the stipulated term of three years.  After that the limited education he had received in the common schools of the village was supplemented by a few months' attendance at Hancock and Keene Academies.  In 1840 he became a resident of Burlington, Vt., finding employment temporarily in the printing offices there, and, although not a voter, took an active interest in the exciting presidential campaign of that year.  Subsequently he was employed for a time on the Essex County Republican at Keesville, NY, and during the summer of 1842 was entrusted with the editorial and business management of the paper, while the proprietor absented himself on account of ill health.  This gave Mr. MILLIKEN his first experience as the conductor of a political journal.  Two years later, in 1844, he purchased a half interest in the Republican, of which he had the management during the CLAY campaign.  Disappointed and chagrined by the defeat of the great American orator and statesman, he sold out to his partner and resolved to seek his fortune elsewhere.  In 1845 he purchased and assumed the management of the Seneca County Courier at Seneca Falls, which continued under his control until 1848, when he refused to support General TAYLOR, the Whig nominee for the presidency, and again sold out.  Joining in the "Free Soil" movement under the leadership of VAN BUREN and ADAMS, he started a new paper, entitled The Free Soil Union, which was discontinued after the election.  Three years later he removed to Canandaigua and established The Ontario County Times, the first number of which was issued January 10, 1852.  The Times at the outset took an advanced position as an organ of the Seward, or anti-slavery wing of the old Whig party, and thus became a pioneer in the republican movement.  The first republican county convention in Ontario county was held in the fall of 1855.  Mr. MILLIKEN was then nominated for sheriff, which nomination he declined.  The convention then nominated him for county clerk, which he also declined after a careful study of the situation.  His associates on the ticket did likewise.  The way was thus opened for the calling of a "People's Convention," which was held a few weeks later, and by which Mr. MILLIKEN was again placed in nomination for sheriff.  This nomination he finally accepted, but was defeated at the polls, as were the other candidates on the People's ticket.  In 1861 he was nominated by the republican convention for county clerk and defeated, and in 1864 was nominated and elected to that office.  He was an ardent supporter of James G. BLAINE, and in the campaign of 1884 was placed upon the republican ticket as a candidate for Presidential elector.  In August, 1890, he was appointed postmaster at Canandaigua by President HARRISON, which office he still holds. The Times is now published by the firm of N. J. Milliken & Son, and is a strong factor in the interests of the republican party of this county.  Mr. MILLIKEN married in 1853 Miss Orline O. SUTTON, of Seneca county, and they have four children, two sons and two daughters.  The oldest son, Charles F. MILLIKEN, is the present working editor of the paper which his father founded over 40 years ago.  Mr. MILLIKEN was present at the first log-cabin mass meeting that was held in Massachusetts, in the famous campaign of 1840.  It was held at Northampton.

 

 

MILLIKEN

History of Ontario Co.,NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg.88

Nathan J. MILLIKEN, founder for the Anti-Slavery organ at Canandaigua, was born at Keene, N.H., September 27, 1821. Worked at his trade of printing at Burlington, VT and Keesville, NY; editor and proprietor of the Seneca Falls Courier, 1845-48; established the Times at Canandaigua in January 1852; Ontario County Clerk, 1865-67; postmaster at Canandaigua 1890-94. Died in Canandaigua, November 26, 1902.

 

MILLIKEN   

History of Ontario Co.,NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II  pg 487 � 488 

Charles F. MILLIKEN, editor of the Ontario County Times, published at Canandaigua, New York, is the son of the late Nathan J. and Orline O. (SUTTON) MILLIKEN, and comes of honored New England ancestry.  He was born in Canandaigua, August 27, 1854 and was educated in the Canandaigua Academy.  He married at Canandaigua, June 18, 1895, Margaret TOWNLEY, daughter of Rev. and Mrs. Hugh C. TOWNLEY; three children, Margaret F., born 1901; Charlotte T., born 1904; Nathan T., born 1906.

Mr. MILLIKEN�S life has been devoted to newspaper work and he is now the editor and manger of the paper founded by his father in 1852.  He was chairman of the Ontario County Republican Committee in the campaigns of 1887 and 1888; financial clerk of the State Senate in 1888 and 1889; an alternate delegate in the Republican National Convention of 1900.  Mr. MILLIKEN was appointed a member of the New York State Civil Service Commission in 1903, became president of that body in January 1905, and served in that capacity until the inauguration of a Democratic State administration, in 1911.  He is president of the Clark Manor House, a home for old people of Ontario county, member of the executive committee of the Thompson Memorial Hospital in Canandaigua, president of Ontario County Historical Society, and president of the board of trustees of the First Congregational church of Canandaigua.  He is the author of �A History of Ontario County, New York and Its People,�� published by the Lewis Historical Publishing Company, New York, 1911.  

 

MITCHEL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 117 - 118

MITCHEL, Dr. Charles T., Canandaigua, was born in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, January 30, 1836, a son of Charles and Betsey E. (DRAKE) MITCHEL.  His father was born in 1806 in Madison county, NY, and followed carriage making.  He was a son of Elijah MITCHEL, and one of 14 children, but one of whom is now living, William E.  Charles, the father of our subject, married in 1834 Betsey E., daughter of Theodore S. DRAKE, of Leroy, Genesee county, to whom were born 6 children, three daughters and three sons, of whom Charles T. was the oldest.  His early life was spent in Paris, County Brant, Ontario, whither his parents had removed, where he attended the grammar school in that village until 19, then spent one year in Warsaw (NY) Academy, and the following year in the hardware store of Morris Buxton & Co., at Warsaw.  He returned home and went into partnership with his uncle, James E. MITCHEL, in the manufacture of fanning mills, remaining with him three years, when he began the study of medicine in the office of Dr. S. W. COOKE, of Paris.  He spent the summer of 1862 in an army hospital in Washington, DC, and graduated from the University of Victoria College, Toronto, Ontario, in 1863, after which he went into practice at Ionia, Mich., where he remained three years, then came to Geneva Hygienic Institute, where he remained three years, and began the study and practice of homoeopathy.  In the fall of 1870 he went to Le Roy, NY, where he practiced for three years.  The winter of 1874-75 he spent at the Homoeopatic Hospital College at Cleveland, O., graduating at the close of the session, and immediately located in Canandaigua, where he is now engaged in active practice.  He is a member of the Homoeopathic Medical Society of Ontario county, and present secretary and treasurer.  He married in 1865 Cordelia COOPER, of Waterloo, and they had one child, Florence G., who was born in 1867, and died in 1878.  Dr. MITCHEL and wife are members of the First Congregational Church, of which the doctor is treasurer.  He was high priest of Excelsior Chapter, No. 164, R. A. M., four years, and is the present secretary, and also master of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, F. & A. M., two years.  He was one of the organizers and the first president of the Canandaigua Anglers' Association, and a frequent contributor to angling literature, both in poetry and prose.  He is one of the original members, and has been secretary and treasurer of Canandaigua Microscopical Society for 10 years past.  He occupies a pleasant home at No. 2 Park Place.  

 

MONAGLE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 322

MONAGLE, William, Gorham, a native of Gorham, was born in 1814, a son of John, who was a native of Maryland and came to Gorham in an early day.  He married Susan ARMSTRONG, by whom he had five children.  William was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools.  In 1844 he married Elizabeth MARKS, a native of Rockland county, born July 29, 1828.  Her parents were Jacob and Elizabeth MARKS, who reared four daughters and two sons, and lived and died in Rockland county.  Mr. MONAGLE has a farm of 148 acres, which he has greatly improved.  He is a Democrat, and cast his first vote for Andrew JACKSON.  He and wife are members of the Presbyterian church at Seneca.  They have had six children, only two of whom survive: Oliver, who married Nettie BILLBOROUGH, and has two children, George and Robert; and Eugene W., who married Marietta DILLENBECK, and has three children, Emma D., Ward and Leland.

 

 

MOODY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 321

MOODY, Robert, Seneca, was born on his father's homestead in this town in 1829.  He was educated in the common schools, and has always followed farming.  He was assessor of the town three years and was elected supervisor in 1876, serving six years.  In 1887 he was elected member of assembly, serving two years.  November 15, 1854, he married Mary A. STOKOE, of this town, and they have had five children; only one son survives, Edward L., who is a farmer in this town.  Mr. MOODY's father, Benjamin, was born in Lincolnshire, England, in 1775, and came to the United States in 1795, first locating near Sing Sing, where he remained nine years.  He came to Ontario county in 1804 and received title to his homestead from James WADSWORTH in 1806.  He married twice; first we have no record; she died early.  For his second wife he married Mrs. Ann (MILLSPAUGH) FERGUSON, and they had four children: Ann M., Mary J., Harriet D. and Robert.  Mr. MOODY's father died in 1847 and his mother in 1874.  Mrs. MOODY's father, William STOKOE, was born in England about 1797, came to the United States with his parents in 1801, and married Jane MARTIN of this State.  They had six children: Thomas, John, Edward, William, Elizabeth and Mary.  Her father and mother are both deceased.

 

MOORE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 115

MOORE, Daniel E., Geneva, was born in County Queens, Ireland, April 2, 1841, and was one of a family of six children of Matthew and Mary MOORE, who came to Geneva in 1851.  The parents of all the children except two are now dead.  Daniel learned the trade of making sash, blinds and doors with N. H. KIPP, and later on became Mr. KIPP's successor in business.  The old factory stood on Castle street, where the substantial block is located, and where Mr. MOORE still conducts the business.  In local politics our subject has been quite active, he having been trustee of the Third Ward for more than twenty years, and town collector before holding village offices.  Mr. MOORE is and always has been a firm and consistent Democrat.  He has been one of the police commissioners, and is now a member of the sewer commission, whose business it is to devise a thorough and complete system of sanitary sewerage for the village.  He has been a large operator in real estate, and has developed and improved a number of unproductive parcels of land, especially in the northern part of the village, by opening streets and building houses, some of which he sold at moderate prices and on easy terms, so that many a thrifty mechanic has been able to secure a comfortable home.  Being fully identified with its business enterprises and prominent in all village affairs, he has done much to promote its growth and prosperity.  

 

MOORE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 116

MOORE, D.D., David, Geneva, was born in Westmoreland, England, March 28, 1822, and came to the United States in 1834.  He was educated at Clarkson and Albion Academies, and was for 7 years under eminent private instructors.  He was ordained as a Baptist minister in June, 1852; was pastor of Gaines and Murray Baptist church, New York, 1852-55; of Le Roy Baptist church 1855-60; of Washington Street Baptist church, Buffalo, 1860-64; of Washington Avenue Baptist church, Brooklyn, 1864-76.  In consequence of ill health he was compelled to resign, his resignation being accepted by his people with great reluctance and with substantial tokens of their affection and esteem.  He then came to Geneva and became pastor of the Baptist church here for seven years, when through failing health, both of himself and wife, he felt obliged to retire from the pastoral care of the church, but has continued to supply the pulpits of various churches, as he has been able, up to the present time, 1893.  He received his degree of D. D. from Rochester University in 1866.  In June, 1847, he was married to Edna O. ALMA, of Benton, Yates county, NY.  She died in De Land, Fla., in April, 1884, and in August, 1886, he married Eliza McVITTY, of Geneva.  They have three sons: David Jr., John Bigelow and James Ashton.  

 

MOORE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 238

MOORE, William S., Geneva, son of William B. and Cornelia (ATWATER) MOORE, was born in Arcadia, Wayne county, August 18, 1857.  He was educated at Geneva Union School and Rochester Free Academy, graduating from the latter in 1877.  He read law with Seth H. TERRY and Homer H. WOODWARD of Rochester, and was admitted to the bar in April, 1880, at Rochester.  He opened an office at East Bloomfield in June, 1880, where he continued to practice law until February, 1891, when he removed to Geneva, where he is now engaged in active practice.  On July 11, 1883, he married Luella FREER of East Bloomfield, by whom he has one child, Minnie.  William B. MOORE died January 2, 1866, in Wayne county, and his widow married Marcus ANSLEY, and resides in Geneva.  He is a nurseryman and fruit grower.  William B. MOORE had three children: William S., Frederick H. and Clinton B.  Frederick died in October, 1886, at Los Angeles, California.  Clinton is a nurseryman and fruit grower, residing with his parents in Geneva.

 

MOORE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 121

MOORE, Robert Bruce, Victor, was born in Victor, May 21, 1819.  He was educated in the district schools and in early life was a carpenter and builder, was also a farmer.  He married twice, first to Almira FISHER, and they had one daughter, Mary, who married J. M. HITCHCOCK of Chicago, ILL.  He married second, August 25, 1855, Rachel WILLIAMS of Lincoln county, Ontario, Canada.  They have three children: Alice, who married Gardner THOMAS, now of Livonia, Livingston county; Charles A., who married Libbie CRAFT of Victor, and William B., who resides at home.  Mr. MOORE's father, Ashel MOORE, was born in Massachusetts, and came to this State when a young man.  He was a farmer and married Lucinda WILLIAMS.  They had 14 children: Gustavus A., Theodore W., Caroline H., Eunice, William, Angeline, Robert B., Mary J., Lucy A., George B., Emily M., Julia M., Eliza and James W.    Mrs. MOORE's father, Nathan WILLIAMS, was born in Victor September 9, 1805, went to Canada when quite young and married Rachel WILCOX of Canada, and had 9 children, three survive:  Spencer, Albert and Rachel.  Mr. MOORE's grandfather, Abijah WILLIAMS, was in the Revolutionary War.  His father died January 9, 1855, and his mother February 6, 1860.  Mrs. MOORE's father died October 29, 1881, and her mother March 8, 1870.  Mr. and Mrs. MOORE are members of the Presbyterian church.  

 

MORRELL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 321 - 322

MORRELL, William N., Geneva, was born in Ripon, Yorkshire, England, February 17, 1850.  He was educated in the Grammar School of that place, and was a carriage manufacturer.  He learned his trade with his father, and came to the United States in 1869, locating in Rochester, where he entered the employ of the Cunningham Carriage Co.  He visited England in 1875, and returned to the United States and to Rochester in 1879.  In 1881 he became a partner in the Waterloo Wagon Co.  In 1889 he became associated with Charles A. EDDY, of Seneca Falls, in the constructing and patenting of an iron arch for the cut under wagons.  Mr. MORRELL was president of this company.   April 23, 1891, they sold to the Geneva Carriage Co., they having a capital of $50,000.  Since that time, in December, 1891, Messrs. MORRELL and Eddy have patented a coach gear, or fore carriage, which is used exclusively by this company.  November 26, 1886, he married Miss E. A. JOHNSON, of Waterloo.

 

MORRISON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 117

MORRISON, A. B., Geneva, contractor and builder. (nothing else listed  .... )

 

MORSE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 323

MORSE, Edward H., Canandaigua, was born on a farm in Canandaigua, October 16, 1816.  His grandfather, Isaac, was born near New Haven, Connecticut, April 1, 1757, and in 1809 bought a farm of 50 acres in Canandaigua, which has ever since been in the hands of this family.  Isaac married Charlotte GRANT, also of New England, and they had 7 children, of whom Orlando was the oldest son.  He was born in Connecticut December 21, 1790.  He was orderly sergeant in the War of 1812, and was at the battle of Lundy's Lane.  He married January 26, 1816, Sarah, daughter of Moses HAWLEY, a farmer of Canandaigua, and they had four children who reached adult age: John, a merchant, who died May 20, 1864; Catherine S., and Martha A., who lives in Canandaigua; and Edward.  The latter was educated in the common schools, and on reaching his majority worked his father's farm on shares one year, and the next year took one adjoining.  In 1848 he bought a farm in East Bloomfield, which he conducted five years, then returned to the old homestead, where he remained until Christmas 1870, when the old home was destroyed by fire.  In 1871 he bought his present farm of 130 acres, where the next year he built a beautiful residence.  Mr. MORSE has always been a staunch republican, but never an aspirant for public office.  He married in 1838 Lurana M. BUCK of East Bloomfield, and they had three children: Albert H., who lives on his father's farm; Ellen Augusta, who died March 15, 1892; and John E., who lives on the old homestead.  Mrs. MORSE died April 9, 1853, and Mr. MORSE married again June 7, 1855, Jane E., daughter of Asa HAWLEY, a farmer of Canandaigua, and they have had two children: Jane, who died in January, 1874, in her 18th year; and Edmund Henry, a clerk in a jobbing house in New York city.  

 

MOTT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg. 222-223 

MOTT, Edwin M., Farmington, was born in Gorham, Ontario county, June 5, 1846.  He was educated in the public schools and Oneida Seminary and is a farmer.  March 8, 1875, he married Mary A., only living daughter of David W. and Ann SHELDON of this town.  They had one daughter, Emma, who died at the age of four years.  Mr. MOTT's father, Henry, was born in Washington, Dutchess county, April 20, 1791, and married Catherine MACKEY, who was born in Rensselaerville, Albany county, in 1807.  They had 8 children, five survive: Anson, Alvira, Lucius, Edwin M., and Dilwin, three died young.  His father died October 26, 1883, and his mother, September 15, 1881.  His mother's father, Benjamin E. MACKEY, was a colonel in the War of 1812.  Mrs. MOTT's father, David W. SHELDON, was born in this town January 21, 1814.  February 12, 1840, he married Ann GUE, and they had four children: Daniel, Hannah C., Emily B., and Mary A.  The other three are deceased.  Her father died September 17, 1882, and her mother resides with them.  In politics Mr. MOTT is a Democrat.

 

 

MOTT, PHILANADER 

History of Ontario Co.,NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 369 - 370

Philander MOTT, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, lived in Chatham, Columbia county, New York. The family is believed to have been of French refugee origin, and the name has been common form early times in county Essex, England, on Long Island and in Westchester and other counties of New York. In 1851 Philander MOTT, with his wife and children, moved from Chatham to Phelps, Ontario county, New York. He married Mary Ann BAKER. Children: Antoinette L, married Orren GIFFORD; children: Mary, George Mott and Helen; Mrs. GIFFORD died at the early aged of thirty. Philander A., referred to below. (NOTE: Philander Sr. buried at Pinewood, then moved to Rest Haven Ceme. His wife is buried in Phelps Village Ceme)

Philander A., son of Philander and Mary Ann (BAKER) MOTT, was born in Chatham, Columbia county, New York, March 14, 1829, and died in Phelps, Ontario county, New York, March 6, 1909. His early life was spent at the home of his ancestors on the banks of the Hudson, and as a young man, he accompanied his father to Ontario county and settled in the town of Phelps. By his keen insight and remarkable business ability, coupled as it was with an ever broadening knowledge of affairs and a judgment that seldom erred, Mr. MOTT added steadily to his estate and amassed a large and varied property, which with the large business connections he formed in the course of his career made him a well -known man, not only in neighboring cities, but also throughout the state. He was noted and pointed out for his habit of looking out personally after all the smallest details of his business, and as an example of one whose wealth had been created by old-fashioned, rugged business principles and conserved by his simple life, good health and temperate frugal habits. His success was all the greater because it was achieved in a small community where business opportunities were not plentiful and had his opportunities been greater, those who knew him say that he would have more than held his own with the ablest American financiers. Mr. MOTT was a Republican in politics.

He married in 1856, Mary J. BRUSH, who died May 5, 1904. Children: 1. George P., married Carrie VOSBURCH and has three children, George Everett, Hazel and Ethel. 2. Alice L. 3. Mary G. 4. Emma married Abraham GARLOCK, of Newark, NY; two children: Alice M and Mott A. 5. Antoinette, married Lyndon E. ADAMS of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and she has one son, George M. (NOTE: Jr. and wife and infant son Henry R. 6/28/1867-12/20/1867 are all buried at Phelps Village Cemetery)

 

MOWRY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 323-324

MOWRY, Royal H., East Bloomfield, a native of Madison county, born March 12, 1823, is a son of Augustus, a son of Sylvanus, a native of Connecticut and an early settler of Madison county, where he died.  Augustus was born in Connecticut in 1783, and came to Madison county when young.  He married Polly HAZELTON of Madison county, by whom he had 7 sons and 2 daughters.  Mr. MOWRY died May 13, 1843.  Royal H. was educated in the common schools, and married Polly, daughter of Joseph and Polly (JONES) STAFFORD, pioneers of Madison county, and to Mr. MOWRY and wife were born three children: Cornelia, who married T. A. JOHNSON of West Bloomfield; Clinton D., born June 7, 1848, who was twice married.  First to Eliza FROST, and second to Ella, daughter of Randolph McMICKEL, by whom he has two children: Mabel and Roy.  He is a farmer, and for the last 26 years has resided in East Bloomfield.  The third child of subject was Alice A., who married Lorin WEBSTER, and had one son.  Mrs. WEBSTER died in 1886.  In 1888 Clinton D. and father came to the farm they now own, and have since greatly improved it.  Subject is a republican, but not an aspirant to office.

 

MUNGER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 115

MUNGER, Rev. Reuben Dewitt, Geneva, was born in Ithaca, August 26, 1837, and moved with his parents to Watkins at the age of seven.  He was educated in the public schools and attended Lima Seminary, where he remained two years.  He also attended Genesee College, and graduated at the expiration of four years in 1861, receiving the degree of A. M. from that college in 1864, and also the same degree from Syracuse University in 1874.  He joined the East Genesee Conference in 1861.  This was afterwards changed to the Central New York Conference in 1880.  Mr. MUNGER's first charge in the ministry was at Big Flats, Chemung county.  He has been nine years trustee of Geneseo Wesleyan Seminary, three years trustee of the Cornell Library Association of Ithaca, also three years Supreme Counsellor the Royal Templars of Temperance, and nine years member of the Board of Directors.  He is also vice-president of the National Committee for effecting congressional action on the temperance question.  He is, with one exception, the oldest member of Independent Order of Good Templars in the world.  For many years Mr. MUNGER has been greatly interested in all the great questions of moral reform, and in addition to his duties as pastor has found time to advocate this course from pulpit and platform in many of the States of our great country.  September 2, 1863, he married Estelle, daughter of Dr. George T. HINMAN, of Havana, and they have two sons, George G., an able attorney in Syracuse, and James D., who is in the mercantile business in St. Paul, Minn.  

 

MUNGER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 120 

MUNGER, M. Dwight, Canandaigua, was born in Connecticut, March 7, 1850.  While he was very young his parents moved to Byron, near Rochester, and in 1837 they moved to Canandaigua.  Our subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. N. T. CLARKE.  His first business venture was as a clerk and afterward a merchant in hardware at Penn Yan.  He was there six years, from 1846 to 1852, and then returned here and spent one year in Senator LAPHAM's law office.  He then went to Chicago, where he spent four years, and in 1857 returned there.  From 1857 to 1864 he conducted a brokerage business there.  In 1864 the First National Bank of Canandaigua was organized by Mr. MUNGER with a capital of $75,000, and he was cashier for the first few years and subsequently president.  In the fall of 1887 the bank went into voluntary liquidation, going out of business.  For the last 17 years Mr. MUNGER has been manager and president of the Canandaigua Gas Company.  In 1888 he bought out the branch of the Excelsior Electric Light Company at Canandaigua, and is general manager and president of the company, which is now the Canandaigua Electric Light Company.  Mr. MUNGER was for three years president of the Steamboat and Navigation Company, and he is also president of the Board of Trade.  He married in 1860 Mary S., daughter of Assemblyman Z. Barton STOUT, of Richmond, who is prominent in politics, and a man of considerable literary ability.  They have two children: Jane C. and Christine.  

 

MUNSON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 115 - 116

MUNSON, Thaddeus, Canandaigua, was born on a farm in Canandaigua, December 18, 1832, a son of Lacey, also a native of that town, born here, December 5, 1809.  His father, Thaddeus, was a native of Connecticut, and came to this country when a young man, where he died in 1814.  He married, here, Eliza VAN ORMAN, and they had 5 children, of whom Lacey (a twin) was one of the youngest.  He was an influential man in politics, but was never an aspirant for political honors.  He married, March 1, 1831, Paulina, daughter of John Milton GILLETT, of Canandaigua, a native of Connecticut, who came here when a boy.  Lacey MUNSON had two children: J. Milton, of Cheshire, who lives on the farm where the father and grandfather on the mother's side both died, and Thaddeus.  The latter was educated in the common schools, and his first business venture was as a school teacher, a profession he followed but two years, and then engaged in farming.  In 1861 he bought the HARRIS farm of one hundred acres, and later bought 61 acres of the STILES farm, making a farm of 161 acres, on which he has built a fine residence and other buildings.  The principal products of the farm are grain, hay, and hops, the latter being a specialty, of which he has seven and a half acres.  Mr. MUNSON is an ardent worker in politics, and has been commissioner of highways three years.  He married, in 1853, Melissa J., daughter of William S. DURAND, a native of Connecticut, who came here about 1800.  Mr. MUNSON has three daughters: Ella E., wife of Edson WOLVERTON; Sophia L., wife of Warren DAVIS, and Edna M., wife of Walter WHEELER, of Canandaigua.  

 

MUNSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 239

MUNSON, Roswell C., East Bloomfield, was born in East Bloomfield, November 3, 1828, a son of Harlow and Theda (CARTER) MUNSON, and grandson of Anson.  Harlow was born October 29, 1799, in East Bloomfield, where he resided until his death, February 5, 1881.  He was a merchant and manufacturer of boots and shoes for over 30 years, and in connection with a partner built and operated a large flouring mill.  He held various town offices at different times, was postmaster for a great many years, and sheriff of the county for one term.  In politics he was a Democrat in early life, and a sound War Democrat during the Civil War.  His wife, Theda C., died on the anniversary of her birthday, February 5, 1892, aged 85 years.  She was born in Connecticut, a daughter of Darius CARTER and Asenath PETERS, pioneers of East Bloomfield.  Roswell C. MUNSON received a district school education, then attended and graduated from the East Bloomfield Academy, class of 1846.  He entered his father's store and engaged in mercantile business until 1858, when he went to Oshawa, Canada, as managing partner in the agricultural implement business, and five years later went to New York.  In 1864 he went to London, England, where he engaged in the American commission business until 1881, when he returned to East Bloomfield and occupied his late father's place.  He is a staunch republican, is the secretary of the Republican County Committee, and has been a member of that committee four successive years.  He is a justice of the peace, and has an office in the village in connection with insurance and other business.  He is president of the town historical society.  He has been twice married, first to Lydia E. PECK, and second to Cornelia, daughter of Thaddeus SPENCER and Deorah F. GAY of Suffield, Conn.  Mr. and Mrs. MUNSON have two children: Harlow and Theda M.

 

MUNSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 325 - 326

MUNSON, Frederick, East Bloomfield, was born July 27, 1809, a son of Anson and Hulda (DOWD) MUNSON.  Anson was born in Goshen, Conn., in 1774, and in 1799 came to East Bloomfield and purchased 6 acres of land, built a tannery, and there lived the remainder of his life, dying in 1849.  His wife died in August 1861.  Their children were: Harlow, born October 31, 1799; Mary, born March 11, 1801; Betsey, born May 27, 1803; Henry, born May 8, 1805; Luther, born September 23, 1807; Frederick, born July 27, 1809; Ruth E., born April 27, 1811; Hiram, born May 30, 1814; William, born May 22, 1816; Edwin, born April 28, 1818; Emily J., born August 17, 1820, died aged 23 years.  Frederick received a district school education and at the age of 21, began life for himself in the tannery with his brother, Luther.  After two years he bought 114 acres of land, afterwards sold 15 acres, and later bought the old homestead, making 223 acres in all.  In 1849 he sold out and moved to the village, and in 1852 engaged with R. F. ADAMS in the mercantile business, remaining five years.  He served as supervisor from 1861 to 1866 and is a republican.  He has been twice married, first to Olive, daughter of Timothy and Lucy (RICE) BUELL.  They had four children: Lansing and George of Brooklyn; Buell, who enlisted in the 26th New York Volunteers in August, 1861, was wounded at Fredericksburg, and died in January, 1863, at Lincoln Hospital, Washington; and Frank.  Mrs. MUNSON died May 26, 1884, and he married second Florinda HOBART (in Dec 1885). They are members of the Congregational church.

 

MURRAY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 324 - 325

MURRAY, Thomas, Canadice, was born in Killeighy, County Down, Ireland, May 3, 1834, and came with his grandmother to this county in 1844, on the sailing ship Gerrick, landing in New York after 24 days.  They came to South Bristol, where he lived until the age of 17, then went to Bristol and married in 1853 Sarah, daughter of Samuel GRACEY, also a native of County Down.  They have six children: Robert of Dakota; Edward, who married and lives in Bristol; Susan, wife of Dennis RIORDAN of Bristol; William, married and lives in Bristol; Frank, married and lives in Canadice Corners; and Eliza, wife of John SAVAGE of Richmond.  In September, 1862, Mr. MURRAY enlisted in Co. K, 148th N. Y. Vols., and was discharged in August, 1865.  He was in several engagements, the principal of which was at Cold Harbor, where he was wounded.  After his recovery he was in detached service in Washington as ward-master and hospital steward in Finlay General Hospital.  He was also detailed to take the census of the colored population in three counties in Virginia, and later in the engineer department as overseer under a civil engineer in the building of fortifications, part of the time having 380 contrabands under him.  He is a member of the G. A. R., Hazen Post, No. 518, of Springwater.  After the war he returned to Bristol and engaged in farming, coming to Canadice in 1882 and now living at the Corners, where he has a farm of sixteen acres, three of which are in hops.  He is a Mason, and for five years has been master of Eagle Lodge No. 619, F. & A. M., of Honeoye.  He has been assessor eight years, and is justice of the peace.  He has always been a republican.  

 

MURRAY

History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 85 

Albert Guntrhire MURRAY was born in Pompey, Onondaga county, in 1810.  Removed to Canandaigua when a young man, engaged in merchandise, and took an active and influential part in politics as an Anti-Slavery Whig.  Appointed Postmaster at Canandaigua by President LINCOLN in 1861, and continued in that office until succeeded by Major F. O. CHAMBERLAIN in 1878.  Died April 15, 1879. 

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]