Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
Pa - Pe

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

PACKARD  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 142 

PACKARD, William G., Bristol, was born January 23, 1816, in Bristol.  His father was Gooding, son of Gooding of Dighton, Mass., who came to East Bloomfield in 1804.  His son Gooding was born in Dighton in 1787, and was 17 years old when he came to Bloomfield with his parents.  He married Adaline, daughter of Job GOODING of Dighton, Mass., by whom he had 9 children, four of whom are living.  Gooding came to Bristol when a young man and settled on the farm now owned by George PACKARD.  He died in 1864.  William G. was reared on a farm and educated in East Bloomfield Academy.  At 20 years of age he engaged in teaching and taught sixteen terms, spent one year in Illinois, and taught at Lockport, IL.  In 1848 he married Cynthia, daughter of Ephraim GOODING of Bristol  Mr. PACKARD and wife have two children: William S., of Paoli, Wis., who married Mary, daughter of John ELSWORTH formerly of Ontario county, and they have three sons and a daughter.  Gooding was educated in Genesee Normal School.  He married, Mary, daughter of Erastus ALLEN, and had one daughter, Mary.  William G. had 260 acres of land and is a general farmer and hop grower.  He is a republican and was supervisor two years, also was at one time school inspector.  

PADDOCK 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893. pg 139 

PADDOCK, Daniel L., Gorham, was born in Jerusalem, Yates county, July 31, 1849.  His father was William G., a son of Philip, a native of Yonkers, who early came to Rochester and followed lumbering.  About 1834 he settled in the west part of Jerusalem.  He married Lydia GILDERSLEEVE of Scipio, Cayuga county, and had 7 sons and 4 daughters.  He died in 1859, and his wife in 1869.  William G. was born in Rochester, January 9, 1818.  He attended the city schools until 9 years of age, when he was bound out to his uncle, Frederick GILDERSLEEVE, until 20 years of age.  He married Sallie SIMMS of Pultney, Steuben county, born in September, 1820, by whom he had five sons and three daughters, all now living.  Since 21 years of age Mr. PADDOCK has resided in Jerusalem.  In early life he was a lumberman, but is now one of the prominent farmers of his county, owning 270 acres.  Daniel L. was educated in Prattsburg Academy.  When 21 years of age he went to Michigan and followed lumbering two years, then returned to Yates county where he worked at carpentry for twelve years.  In 1886 he married Annie McMICHAEL of Prattsburg, born April 4, 1850.  In 1866 Mr. PADDOCK purchased the George W. WASHBURN homestead of 130 acres.  He is a republican and has been highway commissioner.  The parents of Mrs. PADDOCK are Alexander and Mary A. (RISDEL) McMICHAEL, he a native of Glasgow, Scotland, and she of Yorkshire, England.  They came to America when children with their parents.  They have four sons and three daughters.  Mr. McMICHAEL is one of the largest farmers of Prattsburg.  

 

PADELFORD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 134 - 135

PADELFORD, Olney T., Canandaigua, was born on his present residence in Canandaigua, July 14, 1837. His father, Zachariah, was born in East Taunton, Mass., March 18, 1800, and died March 1, 1887, a moulder by trade. When 21 years of age he came to Western New York, working near Batavia and also in Gorham, but returned to Massachusetts. In 1824 he settled permanently in Canandaigua, working in the furnaces at Wolcott, Ontario, and Manchester during the winters, and farming summers. He gradually increased his possessions until at one time he owned in one block 280 acres. He was a republican, and when the Auburn division of the New York Central Railroad was built, Mr. PADELFORD established a wood yard here and furnished the company with wood, and it was from this the station was named Padelford. He married in this town Susan (died August 13, 1860), daughter of Zachariah TIFFANY, of Canandaigua, and they had four children: Harvey, of Padelford Station; Mary, who died aged four years; Edmund, who died aged two years; and Olney T. The latter was 17 years old when he went to Shortsville to learn the machinist�s trade; he also followed pattern-making, and has been employed in various places.   In Oil City and West Virginia he was engaged in the oil business. He is a Democrat. He and his family are member of the Presbyterian Church of Canandaigua, and he is a Mason of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294. He married in 1860 Catherine, daughter of John P. and Elizabeth (NAGLES) SCHERRER, and they have had three children: Alburtus Leander, who lives on the homestead with his father; Charles Eugene, who conducts a jewelry store in Victor; and Z. Sherman, who was drowned in a pond in Canandaigua in his fifth year. In 1867 Mr. PADELFORD established a tile manufactory in Canandaigua, which he conducted three years, and in 1870 returned to the old homestead farm, where he has ever since lived.

 

PADELFORD

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg  135

PADDLEFORD, Harvey, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, January 6, 1831. The earliest ancestor of the family in this country was Jonathan, born about 1828, and generally supposed to have been one of the Pilgrim Fathers. He married Mary, daughter of John BRANDFORD, of Sudbury, Mass., and settled at Cambridge, Mass. They had five children, of whom Jonathan was born in 1656, married Hannah FLINT, and died in 1710. Their only child, Jonathan, was born in 1679, and died in 1747. By his wife Hannah he had 10 children. Zachariah, the second son, was born in 1710, married Martha ALLEN, and died in 1765. They had 8 children. The oldest son, Zachariah, was born in 1733, married Rachael REYNOLDS, and died in 1803. They also had 8 children. Joseph, the third son and grandfather of our subject, was born in 1764 in Taunton, Mass. He married Betsey HARVEY, born in 1765, and they had 6 daughters and 3 sons, of whom Zachariah, the second son, was born in east Taunton, Mass., March 18, 1800, and married Susannah, daughter of Zachariah TIFFANY, and they had four children. Harvey was reared on the farm and educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy. He was assigned the 111 acres of the old homestead farm, and after his father�s death 30 acres were added to this, on which Mr. PADDLEFORD has erected a residence, barns, store house, etc., and a railroad station. May 22, 1861, he enlisted in the 28th N.Y. Vols, and saw service with them at Winchester, Cedar Mountain, Chantilly, South Mountain, Antietam, Chancellorsville, and many minor engagements. He was mustered out at the expiration of his term, June 3, 1863, as first lieutenant, having been in command of the company for a year. He returned to Canandaigua, and was then appointed recruiting agent of the county to fill the quota of the various calls until 1865. He not only did a faithful work in this county, but assisted other counties. At the close of the war he returned to farm duties, and in 1876 was appointed station agent at Paddleford�s, and in 1874 was appointed postmaster under General GRANT.   In 1873 he was appointed United States loan commissioner for Ontario county. He was president of the County Agricultural Society, and chairman of the Republican County Committee a number of years. He married in 1852 Margaret, daughter of Col. William CASE, a farmer and assistant superintendent of the Rochester and Auburn Railroad, and they had four children, two of them living: Alfred Harvey, foreman of the New York Central freight house at Suspension Bridge: and Dudley Donnelly, the other son, is his assistant. The oldest son, William H., was killed by a sheep when he was but four years old. The other son, Edward, died at four years of age. Mrs. PADDLEFORD died in 1876, and he married second in 1879 Florence DOUBLEDAY of Farmington.

PADGHAM

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 69 � 70 

Dr. Richard W. PADGHAM, who at the time of his death, had been engaged in medical practice for almost a quarter of a century, was descended from an ancient English family, many members of which have been represented in various lines of professional lines.  Both of his parents died in England, where his father had spent the active years of his life in the ministry, as a representative of the Methodist denomination.  Although Dr. PADGHAM commenced the study of medicine rather late in life, he had achieved a remarkable degree of success and was frequently called into consultation by his professional brethren. 

Dr. PADGHAM was born in the Island of Barbadoes, West Indies, April 11, 1850 and died February 27, 1911.  It had been the design of his parents that he should follow in the footsteps of his father and he appeared to be unusually gifted for clerical life.  He preached his firs sermon when he was but 12 years of age, and was engaged in clerical work for some years.  His throat, however, became affected by his too frequent use of the vocal cords, and he was constrained to think of another field for his mental activities.  He thereupon decided upon the medical profession as offering a wide scope for relieving the physical ills of his fellow men, as nature was debarring him from ministering to their spiritual needs.  He at once threw himself with ardor into the study of medicine, becoming a student at the Eclectic College in New York City, from which he was graduated in the class of 1889.  For some years he practiced in Interlaken (then Farmer), NY, but removed to Geneva, Ontario county, NY in 1896, where he continued his activities in this direction and had a large and lucrative practice, and enjoyed the fullest confidence and esteem not alone of those who profited by his skill but by all who were enabled to judge of his conduct as a man and a good citizen.  He made a special study of the disease which are apt to afflict the nose, throat, lungs and stomach, and effected some remarkable cures, which attracted widespread attention in medical circles.

While he was undemonstrative and unassuming, Dr. PADGHAM was naturally interested in all matters which concerned the progress and improvement of the community in which he lived, and took a particular interest in the sanitary welfare of the town.   He never aspired to public office, but have his earnest support to the principles of the republican party.  His life was always an active one; he was a man of kindly impulses, and this together with his wining personality attracted people to him.  As a member of the Methodist church he had great influence among his co-religionists and he was also a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Foresters and the Royal Arcanum.

Dr. PADGHAM married in 1874, Elizabeth CLARK, born in Ontario, Canada, 1851.    Children:  1. Ethelbert G., born in Odessa, NY, May 9, 1875; he was graduated from the high school of Geneva, NY, entered the Eclectic Medical College of Cincinnati, Ohio in 1902, was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1906, and established himself in practice in Geneva, the same years; he married, October 17, 1906, Grace Etta RIDENOUR, a native of Gallipolis, Ohio. Their children: Richard R., died aged 3 months; Grace Elizabeth Norris, born August 11, 1907; and Donald E., born September 27. 1910. 2. Eleanor Elizabeth, born October 12, 1876, died May 2, 1895. 3. Mabel Gertrude, born November 26, 1877, was graduated from the Cortland Normal School. 4. Maude Beatrice, born January 14, 1880, was graduated from the Geneva Academy. 5. Leila Blanche, born February 21, 1883, was graduated from the Cortland Conservatory of Music.

 

 

 

PAGE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 138

PAGE, E. Ransom, Canandaigua, was born in Bethany, Genesee county, June 2, 1834, a son of Abel W. and Marian (RANSOM) PAGE.  The great-great-grandfather, Nathaniel, was born in New Hampshire in 1710, and had 13 children, of whom Samuel was born in New Hampshire in 1747, and was the father of 11 children.  Of these John, the grandfather of subject, was born December 2, 1776, and came to Vermont, where he married Phoebe, daughter of Nathan WHIPPLE, and they had two children, Abel W. and Juliette.  Abel W., father of E. Ransom, was born in Vermont in 1805, and when 6 years of age came with his parents to Genesee county, where he died in 1864.  He had 10 children, of whom 7 survive.  The early life of E. Ransom was spent on the farm in Genesee county, where he remained until he was about 21 years of age.  He was educated in Bethany Academy, and his first business venture was as a commercial traveler in the book trade for about four years.  In 1860 he went to Illinois where he spent 10 years in the sheep business, after which he returned to this State and in 1870 came to Canandaigua and engaged in the insurance business.  In May, 1872, he formed a co-partnership with Major C. A. RICHARDSON, and they bought out De Vol & Couch, insurance men, and conducted a very successful business.  In 1873 Mr. PAGE bought out the interest of his partner and conducted the business alone.  January 1, 1878, he sold out his fire insurance business to George COUCH, and spent four years in Auburn in life insurance.  In 1883 Mr. PAGE returned to Canandaigua and opened a general insurance agency, under the firm name of Page & Henry.  In 1885 the firm became Page, Henry & Benham, and in 1889 Mr. BENHAM disposed of his interest to Henry S. HUBBELL, and the firm has since been Page, Henry & Hubbell, real estate and insurance agents.  Mr. PAGE married in 1864 Lucy A., daughter of Joel S. PAIGE, M. D., a prominent physician of Owego, NY.  They had one child, Julia, who lives with her parents.

 

 

PAGE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 240 - 241

PAGE, Levi A., Seneca, was born on the homestead near Seneca Castle, January 1, 1841.  He was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary, and has always followed farming.  Mr. PAGE has been one of the assessors of the town 6 years, was elected supervisor in 1882, serving 8 consecutive years, was chairman of the board two years, and was elected one of the superintendents of the county poor in the fall of 1891, serving in that capacity still.  February 19, 1867, he married Maggie F., daughter of John H. BENHAM of Hopewell, and they had 7 children: Clara J., Laura S., Mary F., John A., Frank M., Levi A. Jr., and Jessie B.  Mrs. PAGE died in February, 1886.  Mr. PAGE's father, Levi A., was born here October 6, 1816.  He was educated in the schools of his day in Cazenovia Seminary, and was a farmer.  He married Deborah, daughter of Thomas OTTLEY of this town.  They had three children: Levi A., Joel and Harriet J.  Mrs. PAGE died in August, 1850.  For his second wife he married Mary WINTERS of Seneca.  Mr. PAGE died in 1865; his wife resides with her son, Levi A.  His grandfather, Nathaniel PAGE, came here from Conway, Mass., in 1812.

 

PAGE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 329

PAGE, Charles Augustus, Geneva, was born in Orange county, September 2, 1817, and from there went to the town of Geneva and engaged in farming.  In 1861 he enlisted in Co. D, 148th Regiment N. Y. S. Vols. and served three years; and although never wounded in the battle, the close of the war found him in broken health.  Returning from the South Mr. PAGE sold his farm in Geneva, and purchased another on the east side of the lake, but after three years there he came to Geneva village where he died August 22, 1891.  His wife was Margaret ANSLEY, by whom he had six children: Newton, of Geneva; John, who died while young; Helen S., who married Andrew J. ESENOUR, the latter a successful business man, and who died in 1890; Louisa, who became the wife of Louis F. BARGER; Mary, who married W. P. MOSES; and Margaret.

 

 

 

PAGE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 239 - 240 

Nathaniel PAGE, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information, came from Conway, Massachusetts, to Seneca, New York, in 1812.  His father or grandfather may have been Theophilus PAGE, who was born at Wallingford, Connecticut, about 1745, and died at Conway, Massachusetts, about 1825. 

     ( II ) Levi A., son of Nathaniel PAGE, was born in Seneca, October 6, 1816, died in 1865.  He was educated in the public schools and in Cazenovia Seminary, and was a farmer.  He married (first) Deborah, daughter of Thomas OTTLEY of Seneca, who died in August 1850, and (second) Mary WINTERS, of Seneca.  Children, all by first marriage:  Levi A., referred to below; Joel; Harriet J. 

     ( III ) Levi A. ( 2 ), son of Levi A. ( 1 ) and Deborah ( OTTLEY ) PAGE, was born on the homestead, near Seneca Castle, January 1, 1841.  He was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary, and has always been a farmer.  He was one of the assessors of the town for 5 years; supervisor of the town 14 years; chairman of the board for a number of years; overseer of the poor for 13 years; and one of the directors of the hospital at East Bloomfield.  He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and one of its trustees, and has for years been its treasurer.  He was a delegate to the general conference at Los Angeles, California, in 1904.  He married, February 19, 1867, Margaret F., daughter of John H. BENHAM, of Hopewell, who died in February 1886.  Children:  Clara Josephine; Laura Sophia; Mary Frances; John A., referred to below; Frank Murray; Levi Allen Jr.; Jessie Benham. 

     ( IV ) John A., son of Levi A. ( 2 ) and Margaret F. ( BENHAM ) PAGE, was born at Seneca Castle, September 11, 1877.  He was educated in the district school and Canandaigua Academy.  He then engaged in farming, making specialties of fruit growing and of raising blooded stock.  He was path master for a number of terms.  He is a member of Castle Grange, Patrons of Husbandry.  For three years he was secretary of the Ontario County Fruit Growing Association.  Mr. PAGE is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, of Seneca Castle, secretary of its Sunday school and president of the Epworth League.  He married, December 17, 1902, Lena C., daughter of H. S. VROOMAN.  Children:  Henry L., born November 7, 1903; Mary, born March 17, 1905.

 

 

 

PAINE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 139 - 141 

PAINE, William Harold, of Nashville, Tenn., born at Farmington, NY, May 12, 1836.  His youth was spent in hard work upon his father's farm.  He took up the study of algebra and grammar at the age of 13 years, and unassisted went through these and other studies.  At the age of 16, he entered Macedon Academy, then under the direction of the Rev. Samuel SENTER, and studied there nearly two years.  In the spring and summer of 1854 he spent three months at the New York Conference Seminary at Charlottesville.  He began teaching in the district schools of Ontario county in his 18th year.  On October 2, 1856, he married Evaline Sarah FORT, and for a year and a half he and his wife taught the village school at Victor.  In 1858 he moved to Michigan, and in his 23rd year became principal of the Union School at Three Rivers, Mich., his wife assisting part of the time.  He remained here 6 years.  In 1864 he was elected superintendent of the public schools at Niles, Mich.  In 1866 he was invited to take charge of the Ypsilanti Seminary, at that time the most popular public school in the State.  In 1869 he accepted the position of superintendent of the Adrian public schools, which position he held ten years.  From 1864 to 1870 he edited and published the Michigan Teacher.  He received in 1872, from the University of Michigan, the degree of A. M., and in June, 1888, the degree of L.L.D.  He was twice elected president of the Michigan State Teachers' Association.  In June, 1879, he was elected to the chair of the Science and Art of Teaching in the University of Michigan, which position he held nine years.  This was the first chair of pedagogy established in an American university.  He was inaugurated October 5, 1887, chancellor of the University of Nashville, and president of the Peabody Normal College.  He is the author of "The Relation between the University and our High School;" "Chapters on School Supervision;" "Historical Sketch of the Public Schools of the City of Adrian;" "Outlines of Educational Doctrine;" "Contributions to the Science of Education;" editor of "Page's Theory and Practice of Teaching;" translator of "Compayre's Histoire de la Pedagogie;" "Elements of Psychology;" "Psychology Applied to Education;" "Lectures on Teaching;" "Rousseau's Emile."  Genealogical.---He married, October 2, 1856, Sarah Evaline FORT, born August 28, 1835, daughter of Daniel L. and Sarah (VAN NESS) FORT, he, Daniel, born at Schaghticoke, NY, August 6, 1781, son of Lewis; she born May 12, 1795, died October 7, 1862, daughter of Peter VAN NESS, son of Cornelius of Albany; son of Gideon Riley PAYNE, born at Farmington, NY, September 18, 1813, died at Ann Arbor, Mich., March 8, 1888, married December 4, 1834, Mary Brown SMITH, born November 23, 1815, daughter of William SMITH, born September 19, 1787, son of Stephen, son of Jonathan, son of Gershom, son John SMITH, who came from England in 1652 to Dartmouth, Mass.; Wm. SMITH married Lydia BROWN, born at Adams, Mass., December 9, 1788, died May 21, 1890, at Adrian, Mich., aged nearly 102 years, daughter of David, born June 16, 1741, son of Stephen, born February 3, 1714, at Cumberland, RI, son of Joseph and Sarah (PRAY) BROWN; Gideon Riley PAYNE had six children (viz:  Wm. H., above, Selinda, born July 5, 1838, Chauncey S., born January 14, 1840, Lydia M., born January 12, 1842, Cynthia Orlena, born August 20, 1845, and Frank Riley, born November 30, 1850); son of Gideon PAYNE of Farmington, NY, born at Adams, Mass., January 10, 1765, died at Farmington, 1848, a wealthy farmer (married February 18, 1793, Phebe HILL, born January 12, 1771, daughter of Caleb and Mary), had 9 children, viz:  1. Electa, born January 12, 1795, died January 17, 1795, 2. Zimroda, born March 14, 1796, (married Nathan STODDARD), 3. Mary, born September 23, 1798, died November 29, 1880, (married Sylvester R. HATHAWAY), 4. Selinda, born October 6, 1800, (married Nathan POWER), 5. Calvin, born July 30, 1802, died November 27, 1859, 6. Reuben, born July 4, 1805, died March 23, 1854, 7. William, born March 24, 1807, 8. George, born September 28, 1809, 9. Gideon Riley above, born September 18, 1813; Gideon PAYNE was son of William PAYNE of Pittsfield and Adams, Mass., born in Rhode Island, farmer, (married Sarah HAWKINS, who died in 1822, aged 84 years), had 9 children, viz:  Gideon, born January 10, 1765, Patty (married a Mr. MASON), Lydia (married a HOWE), Mollie (married first Elijah SMITH, he died in 1793 from the falling of a tree, his death was the first in Farmington; she married second Elihu PARKER, he committed suicide by jumping in a well), John, died February 18, 1821, William, Joseph, died August 18, 1862, aged 88, Zimroda, born 1770, died in February, 1838, (married Abiathar POWER, born 1770, died 1848), Lucinda (married Jacob SMITH); son of Gideon of Rhode Island, born at Swanzey, Mass., in 1703, died in Rhode Island in 1756, freeman at Smithfield, RI, in 1739, (married Rebecca CORSER); son of John PAYNE, born at Rehoboth, Mass., April 3, 1658, died at Providence, RI, September 28, 1718, was of Swanzey, Mass., in 1683, surveyor of highways 1686, had large property at Swanzey, Bristol, Providence, etc., (married first, February 3, 1680, Elizabeth BELCHER, married second, Martha); son of Stephen PAYNE, born in England about 1629, died at Rehoboth, 1679, (married Ann CHICKERING); son of Stephen PAYNE, who came with others from Great Ellingham, Eng., in the ship Diligent, 1638, and settled at Hingham, Mass., moved to Rehoboth 1643, had large estates, representative to General Court, died August, 1679.  William H. PAYNE and Evaline Sarah FORT have 5 children, viz:  Mary PAYNE, born December 26, 1860; William Riley PAYNE, born September 24, 1864, married September 17, 1885, to Estella Frances VAIL; Eva PAYNE, born October 30, 1865, married February 8, 1893, to Abram Tillman JONES of Nashville, Tenn.; Emma PAYNE, born July 8, 1867; Clara Louise PAYNE, born October 30, 1876.  

 

 

PALMER

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 67 � 69 

Edward H. PALMER, who is the head and the leading spirit of numerous enterprises of financial importance in Geneva, Ontario county, NY, and its vicinity, and whose keen foresight and unusual executive ability have been the means of greatly improving the business prospects of the section, is one of that class of citizens who labor earnestly to built up the commerce and manufactures of the communities in which they live and by so doing, enrich and benefit the entire country.

Mr. PALMER was born in Clinton county, Iowa, May 17, 1855 and acquired his early education in the district schools of his native state.  He came to Geneva, NY when he was still a boy, studied at the Nurserymen�s Academy and at the Geneva high school, and was finally graduated from Cornell University.  His college education was paid for entirely by himself, as he commenced to earn his own subsistence from the time he was 18 years of age.  When he entered Cornell University, he devoted all his spare time and all of his vacations to working in the nurseries of Geneva, and contrived to save a sufficient sum to enable him to take up the study of law after his graduation.  This study he pursued with the ardor and concentration which had characterized his earlier years and he was admitted to the bar and practiced for one year in Detroit, Michigan.  His health, however, becoming greatly impaired by this indoor life, he was compelled to abandon it an go to the country near Milford, Michigan.  There he was engaged in the wholesale lumber business for an equal length of time.  He then formed a partnership with B. E. ROUSE in the coal, grain and produce business, which was conducted for 5 years in Geneva, NY, when the partnership was dissolved.  Mr. PALMER was then in the wholesale grain business independently for some time, until he closed this up in 1891.  During the last few years of his conduct of the last named business, he organized the Geneva Preserving Company, was its treasurer and manager, continuing as manager until 1901, when he continued to hold his stock in the company but made E. S. THORNE, manager in his stead.  Later he sold the entire holdings in this concern.  In 1895, he organized the Empire State Can Manufacturing Company for the purpose of manufacturing tin cans, and conducted the same until he sold the business in 1901, to the American Can Company.  He then purchased the entire stock of the Geneva Gas Company and at the same time was manager of five plants for the American Can Company, dismantling three of them after a time, but operating two for the period of one year.  In the fall of 1901, he was one of the purchasers of the Auburn Gas Company and later became the president and manager of both the Geneva and Auburn gas companies, a position he is holding at the present time.  In 1903 he organized the Empire Coke Company and later in the same year, this company purchased the Seneca Falls & Waterloo Gaslight Company.  In 1907 the Auburn Gas Company was sold to the Empire Coke Company, which latter practically controls these united interests at the present time.  Mr. PALMER also organized the Empire Land Company, consisting of upward of 100 acres of land located at East Geneva, and surrounding the Empire Coke Company�s plant.  In association with Mrs. HOSKINS, Mr. PALMER bought the East Geneva Water Company. 

Mr. PALMER realizes fully by personal experience the difficulties which young, ambitious men without means have to contend with in trying to realize their ambitions and he is ever ready to lend a helping hand to those who are really in earnest of their aspirations.  Following out these ideas he has taken into his employ many young men who with the assistance received from him, have been enabled to make a successful career.  The noble motives which actuate him are fully appreciated by a large circle of those whom he had benefited directly and indirectly, and he stands high in the estimation of his fellow citizens.  His political support is given to the Republican party, and he is a member of the Episcopal church.  He is also a member of the following named organizations: Masonic Lodge, Kanadasaga Club, University Club of Geneva, Transportation Club of NY, Cornell University Club, of NY and three yacht clubs. 

Mr. PALMER married June 25, 1880, Cornelia H. ROUSE, born in New York City, January 17, 1856, daughter of J. Platt ROUSE of Catskill, NY.  Children: 1. Pauline R., born in June 1881, was graduated from the Delancy School of Geneva and married Rev. Guy P. BURLESON; has one child, Henry and resides in Lakota, North Dakota;  2.  Henry O., born in August 1884, attended the public schools of Geneva and Hobart College and was graduated from Cornell University; he is now superintendent of the Empire Coke Works at Geneva; he married Mary C. GUANTLETT of Ithaca, NY and has one daughter, Mary;  3. Ruth E., born in December 1888, was graduated from the Delancy School in Geneva and from Miss Hall�s School in Pittsfield, Mass.; she resides with her parents and is unmarried.  

 

PARDEE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 134

PARDEE Family-  John PARDEE was one of a family of 13 children, there being twelve sons and one daughter, each son thereby having a sister, who came to this country with their parents among the earliest settlers. After various trials the family became scattered, and John moved to Sharon, Conn., where he bought 300 acres of land of John DARBY, paying therefore �100, on the 15th day of December, 1769, in the ninth year of the reign of KING GEORGE the 3rd. He died about the year 1788, leaving six children; Jesse, Silas, Hannah, John, Abigail PARDEE NEWELL, and Sarah PARDEE WOOD. Silas PARDEE, born in the year 1754, moved to Victor, then called Bloomfield, about the year 1802. He was a Revolutionary soldier, with his brother Jesse, and they shared the hardships of the terrible winter at Valley Forge. He married Abigail PETTIT, daughter of Jonathan PETTIT. He died May 31, 1833, leaving three children: Abbie, Henry, and Rachael PARDEE ROGERS. Henry PARDEE was born at Sharon, Conn., September 23, 1796, came to Victor with his parents, and settled on a farm east of the village, on what was known as the Stage Route. When he was 16 years of age he enlisted in the War of 1812; was wounded in the arm by a musket ball, and was taken prisoner at the burning of Buffalo; returned to his home in Victor, and was elected four terms to represent his district in the Assembly. He was a justice of the peace for a good many years. He was married three times; his first wife being Mary Ann MORFORD, who died December 28, 1826, leaving three children: Helen Jane, Ann Finley, and Abigail C. His second wife was Susan F. MORFORD, she being sister to his first wife; she died April 19, 1842, leaving three children: Mary E., Henry Harrison, and Amelia Frances. His third wife was Diana Wilmarth RICHARDSON; she died May 16, 1847, leaving one child, Alice Diana, a twin brother, Henry Seymour, having died before its mother. Henry PARDEE died June 15, 1862. Helen Jane PARDEE married Charles FISHER. Abigail C. married W. W. ARNOLD. Amelia Frances married William BLACKMORE, of Rochester; she died in the year 1887, leaving two sons, William and Charles D. Ann Finley PARDEE died March 9, 1893. Alice D. PARDEE died July 3, 1873, at Indianapolis, Ind., where she was being cured of lameness that had afflicted her since her childhood.

 

 

PARK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 133

PARK, Myron, Canandaigua, son of Joel and Lydia PARK, was born in East Bloomfield, January 24, 1812.  He had a good education in the common schools, and when 17 years of age he lived with his uncle for one year, then learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked for eight years.  He then bought a farm in Bristol, and after spending two years there sold out and bought a farm in East Bloomfield, where he spent two years.  In 1841 he came to Canandaigua and bought a farm of 174 acres on lot fourteen, where he spent the balance of his life.  Mr. PARK always took an active interest in all good works, was charitable and liberal, and respected by all who knew him.  In politics he was a republican, and in religious faith a Protestant, having been a member of the Baptist Church about forty years.  He married, February 8, 1835, Hannah B., daughter of John Harvey WHEELER, of East Bloomfield, and they had four children: Myron Alonzo died September 23, 1878, aged 37 years; Henry O., a farmer of Canandaigua; Mary U. and Ellen M., who conduct the old homestead farm.  Myron PARK died March 26, 1879.

 

 

 

PARKER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 145

PARKER, J. W., Manchester, was born in the village of Pike, Wyoming county, January 23, 1835.  He received an academic education, after which he taught school for several years.  In 1860 he came to Port Gibson, where he taught school for one year, which he gave up to enter into the mercantile trade, which he has since most successfully conducted; also conducted the Crystal Springs Creamery.  Mr. PARKER was appointed postmaster under GRANT, which office he has since held, with the exception of the Cleveland administration.  He has been justice of the peace 22 years, and justice of session four terms.  He married Emma, daughter of Hon. H. SCHUTT; they have one child, a daughter, Ada B. PARKER, Ph. B., member of the faculty of the State Normal School, Mansfield, Pa.  

 

PARKER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 330

PARKER, J. Albert, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, August 7, 1851, a son of John PARKER, a gardener of this town, who was born in England, and came to this country in 1850.  He located in Canandaigua where he lived until his death in 1881.  He had five children, four of whom are living.  He was educated in the common schools, and on leaving school he went into the store of A. S. NEWMAN.  Mr. and Mrs. PARKER are members of St. John's Episcopal church.

 

PARKER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 333 - 334

PARKER, E. W., Hopewell, was born in Jacksonville, Steuben county, August 19, 1838, a son of Samuel, who was a son of Samuel who came from Luzerne, Pa., in an early day and settled in Livingston county, where he spent the remainder of his life.  His wife was Martha PARKER, and they had four daughters and four sons, three of the latter being Methodist clergymen.  Samuel Jr., was born December 16, 1797, in Luzerne, Pa.  He married Mersett S. FOWLER, of Livingston county, born April 7, 1810, and they had two children, Robert and Samuel.  In 1833 Mrs. PARKER died, and in 1834 he married Lois WINTERS, born in Schuyler county, in 1805, and to them were born three sons and one daughter.  Mr. PARKER was a minister in the M. E. church.  He preached in Livingston and Ontario counties, and was at one time stationed at Elmira.  In 1840 he located on the farm now owned by the subject, where he died in 1879 and his wife in 1887.   Subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and in 1865 married Kate E. LEWIS, a native of Hopewell, born 1841, a daughter of Nathaniel B. and Wealthy A. LEWIS.  The father of Nathaniel B. was Nathaniel, a native of Connecticut, who early came to Hopewell where he died.  He was one of the founders of the M. E. church, and gave the Emery Chapel its name.  He died about 1857.  Nathaniel B. was born in Hopewell.  His wife was Catherine SMITH, by whom he had two sons and two daughters.  He was assessor a number of years, and also commissioner.  He died in Hopewell May 2, 1867, and his wife died October 23, 1883.  Subject has had two children: Annie L., born January 27, 1873, and died June 22, 1892, and Charles H., born October 26, 1883.  Mr. PARKER is a republican.

 

 

 

PARKER

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 355 

Stephen H. PARKER, for many years prominent as a newspaper publisher in Geneva, was born in the town of Hector, Seneca county, October 29, 1822; became editor and proprietor of the Geneva Gazette, the Democratic organ of Eastern Ontario, in 1844, and continued at its head until his death; postmaster of Geneva under President BUCHANAN, 1856-60; State Canal Commissioner, 1861-65; service also as President of the Village of Geneva.  He died at Geneva, October 25, 1901.

 

PARMELE

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 471 - 472 

The PARMELE family, of which Henry M. PARMELE, a prominent banker at East Bloomfield, is a representative, settled in the state of Connecticut several centuries ago, and members thereof have been actively identified with its interests ever since, contributing their share to its general welfare and improvement.  Among this number was Reuben PARMELE, ancestor of this branch of the family, who claimed that state as his birthplace.  He married and among his children was Isaac, see forward. 

     ( II ) Isaac, son of Reuben PARMELE, was born in Connecticut, 1799, died at West Bloomfield, Ontario county, New York, 1886, at an advanced age.  During his childhood his parents removed to Ontario county, and the old homestead farm still remains in the possession of the family.  He was an active factor in the up-building of the community in which he took up his abode, and his influence for good was felt throughout the entire section.  He married Laura, daughter of Ebenezer LEACH, of Lima, New York, and six children were born to them, among whom was Hiram Taft, see forward. 

     ( III ) Hiram Taft, eldest son of Isaac and Laura (LEACH) PARMELE, was born in West Bloomfield, Ontario county, New York, in 1831.  He was educated in the public schools of the town and at private schools at Honeoye Falls and Bloomfield, thus acquiring knowledge that qualified him for the activities of life.  For a few years after completing his studies he followed farming as a means of livelihood, and then devoted his attention to the management of a general store in West Bloomfield, conducting the same until 1871, and two years later he removed to Canandaigua and engaged in the milling business at Chapinville, where he was the proprietor of the flouring mill for a period of six years.  In 1882 he embarked in a new enterprise, opening a bank at Victor, conducting business under the firm name of Parmele, Hamlin & Company, and on December 1, 1887, he established the Canandaigua National Bank at Canandaigua, both of which proved profitable investments and added greatly to the benefit of the towns in which they were located.  He is an adherent of the republican party and has held numerous offices of honor and trust, the principal one being that of supervisor of West Bloomfield, to which he was first elected in 1866, re-elected for four successive terms, serving during his last term as chairman of the board. 

Mr. PARMELE married, in 1853, Mary, daughter of Melancton GATES, of West Bloomfield, New York.  Children:  1. Laura, married  J. H. JOHNSON.  2. Henry M., see forward.  3. George H., born November 7, 1867, attended Canandaigua Academy.  Graduated at University of Rochester in 1889, admitted to the bar in 1891, and since 1893 has been a member of the editorial staff of the Lawyers Co-Operative Publishing Company of Rochester, New York; married, in 1898, Katherine MURRAY; children:  Hiram Taft PARMELE and Mary Katherine PARMELE.  4. Mary

     ( IV ) Henry M., eldest son of Hiram Taft and Mary (GATES) PARMELE, was born in January, 1865.  He was educated at Canandaigua Academy.  He entered the bank of Hamlin & Steele, East Bloomfield, 1884.  In 1886 he was made member of firm of bankers, Hamlin & Company, other members of firm being Henry W. Hamlin and John S. Hamlin; this firm was continued until July 1, 1911, when the business was merged into The Hamlin National Bank with Henry M. PARMELE as president.  He is vice-president of the Locke Insulator Manufacturing Company of Victor, New York, capital, $350,000; vice-president of the Citizens Bank of Penn Yan, New York, capital, $50,000, surplus and undivided profits $50,000; director of the Canandaigua National Bank of Canandaigua, New York, capital, $100,000, surplus, $100,000.  He married, 1891, Elise MIGEON, daughter of Henry and Arcene (MIGEON) MUNSON.

 

PARMELEE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 141-142  

PARMELEE, G. Herbert, Phelps, was born in Addison, Steuben county, July 27, 1854, one of three children of Rev. Anson HALL and Mary E. (WHITING) PARMELEE.  Rev. Anson Hall PARMELEE was born in Bristol, VT., September 14, 1810, was a graduate of Middlebury College in 1839, entered Andover Theological Seminary the same year, was licensed to preach in September, 1842.  After three years' service as general agent of the American Tract Society for the establishment of colportage in North and South Carolina and Georgia, he entered upon pastoral duties in the State of New York where he labored about 30 years in the towns of Addison, Livonia and Seneca Castle.  The Vermont PARMELEES were originally from Connecticut.  G. Herbert PARMELEE married, November 23, 1881, Lillian May POND of Phelps, daughter of George and Ann (HURD) POND; they have four children: George P., John B., Grace L., and Louis Whiting PARMELEE.  At the decease of George POND in 1889, the L. P. Thompson Plow Company's property in Phelps came into his possession, which has been noted as producing the first iron beam and first chilled plow manufactured in the State.  Mr. PARMELEE has developed the plant until it now produces 13 different styles of plows which are considered first class.  

 

PARMELE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 332  - 333

PARMELE, Hiram Taft, Canandaigua, was born in West Bloomfield in 1831, a son of Isaac, born in Connecticut in 1799, who moved to Ontario county when a child, his father, Reuben, settling on a farm where Isaac and five other children were raised.  The old homestead farm is in the possession of a descendant of the family.  Isaac, the second son, always lived in West Bloomfield, where he died in 1886.  He married Laura, daughter of Ebenezer LEACH of Lima, and they had six children, of whom four are living.  Hiram T. was the oldest son.  He was educated in the common schools, and at private schools at Honeoye Falls and Bloomfield.  After leaving school he followed farming a few years, and then engaged as a clerk in a store at East Mendon.  In 1852 he opened a store in Honeoye Falls, which he conducted for three years, then went into business in West Bloomfield, where he conducted a general store until 1871.  In 1873 he came to Canandaigua, and went into the milling business at Chapinville, where he owned the flouring mill for six years.  In 1882 he went to Victor and opened a bank, the firm being Parmele, Hamlin & Co.  December 1, 1887, he established the Canandaigua National Bank at Canandaigua, and has ever since been a member of the board of directors, and has held the office of cashier.  Mr. PARMELE has always been an ardent supporter of the republican party, and has held numerous offices of honor and trust.  In 1866 he was elected supervisor of West Bloomfield, and re-elected for four successive terms, during his last term serving as chairman of the Board of Supervisors.  Mr. PARMELE married in 1856 Mary, daughter of Melancton GATES of West Bloomfield, and they had four children: Laura, wife of J. H. JOHNSON, a lawyer of Penn Yan;  Henry, a banker of East Bloomfield; George, a lawyer of Rochester, and Mary, a student of Vassar College.

 

 

PARMELEE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 466 - 468 

The PARMELEE surname is variously spelled PARMLY, PARMELY, PARMELE and in many other ways.  It is thought to be of Huguenot origin, though the American immigrant came to this country from England and more than one generation may have lived in England.  Genealogists have traced the PARMELEE ancestry as far back as 836 through the Counts DE SENS, DE JOINVILLE and DE JOIGNY, the surname being traced to Francis von PARMELEE, who was living in 1467.

It may be said, also, that one authority states that Maurice DE PARMELIE, a reformer of the sixteenth century, went in 1567 to Holland from France to escape the persecution of the Duke of Alva.  A younger branch appears by the muniments at the Hague to have a grant of territory of New Batavia on the Hudson.

     ( I ) John PARMELEE, immigrant ancestor, was one of the first settlers of Guilford, Connecticut, and one of the twenty-five signers of the Plantation Covenant, June 1, 1639.  He died in New Haven, November 8, 1659, leaving property inventoried at seventy-eight pounds, thirteen shillings.  His will was probated January 3, 1659-60.  His home lot in Guilford was on the site of the present Congregational church and contained two and a half acres.  He married (first) Hannah _____ ; (second) Widow Elizabeth BRADLEY, who died in New Haven, January 1683.  After his death she married, May 27, 1663, John EVARTS, of Guilford.  Children:  John, born about 1620, mentioned below; Hannah, about 1625; Mary, married, September 16, 1660, Dennis CRAMPTON, of Guilford.

     ( II ) John ( 2 ), son of John ( 1 ) PARMELEE, was born about 1620.  He was a drummer in the train band and was sworn as freeman, February 14, 1649.  He was sexton for many years, and "warned" the inhabitants to town meetings.  He married (first) Rebecca ________, who died September 24, 1651; (second) Anna, widow of William PLAINE, who died March 30, 1658; (third) February, 1659, Hannah _____.  Though his second wife, he obtained PLAINE home lot of four and a half acres of marsh land.  Child of first wife:  Nathaniel, born 1645, killed in King Philip's war, 1676; children of third wife:  John, born November 25, 1659; Joshua, 1661, mentioned below; Caleb, 1663; Isaac, November 21, 1665; Hannah, November 8, 1667; Stephen, December 6, 1669; Priscilla, May 8, 1672; Job, July 31, 1675; Joel, 1677.

     ( III ) Joshua, son of John ( 2 ) PARMELEE, was born in Guilford, in 1661, died in June, 1729.  He was a farmer of Guilford, and was a taxpayer of considerable estate in 1716.  He married (first) July 10, 1690, Elsie EDWARDS, of East Hampton, Long Island, and she died July 10, 1714; (second) in 1716, Hannah, widow of Benjamin STONE, of East Guilford.  She afterward married Benjamin HART, of Wallingford.  Children of first wife:  Daniel, born June 28, 1691; Susannah, June 19, 1693; Timothy, August 20, 1695; Ann, May 8, 1696; Samuel, March 31, 1698; David, July 31, 1699; Jonathan, mentioned below; Jeanne, September 20, 1704.  Children of second wife:  Jehiel, June 13, 1718; Hannah, January 29, 1720; Charles, July 3, 1723; Lucy, August 19, 1725; Sibylla, March 29, 1727.

     ( IV ) Jonathan, son of Joshua PARMELEE, was born June 21, 1701.  He resided at Branford and Chatham, Connecticut.  He married Sarah TAYLOR.  Children:  Bryan, born 1733; Oliver, 1735; Ann, September 1737; Sarah, November 1, 1739; Jonathan, October 7, 1743; Asaph, mentioned below; Jared, August 1, 1748; Lucy, January 15, 1752.

     ( V ) Asaph, son of Jonathan PARMELEE, was born at Brandford or Chatham, April 2, 1746.  He was a soldier in the Revolution, a sergeant in August and September, 1776, in Captain Elias DUNNING's company of Connecticut, and served in New York.  He married Sarah EVERETT and they lived in Bethlehem and other towns in Connecticut.  Among their children was Asaph, mentioned below.

     ( VI ) Asaph ( 2 ), son of Asaph ( 1 ) PARMELEE, was born January 6, 1778.  He married Hannah HALL and settled in Bristol, Vermont.  Children:  Anson Hall, mentioned below; nine others.

     ( VII ) Anson, son of Asaph ( 2 ) PARMELEE, was born September 14, 1810, in Bristol, Vermont.  He studied for the ministry and was graduated from Burr Seminary, Middlebury College and Andover Theological Seminary.  In 1843 he went as superintendent of the American Bible Society to Charleston, South Carolina, and spent four years in mission work in the south.  He was then called as pastor of the Presbyterian church at Addison, New York.  After a successful pastorate of fourteen years at Addison, he accepted a call to the Presbyterian church of Livonia, New York, where he preached for sixteen years.  In 1868 he removed to Geneva, New York, where he resided for two years and was occupied in supplying the pulpit at Seneca Castle.  At the end of two years he took up his residence in a new parsonage that had been built for him at Seneca Castle and continued to preach in that town until 1874, when he retired from the ministry.  During the last twenty years of his life he lived on his farm and in the home of his son, George H., in the village of Phelps.  He died in 1894 at the advanced age of 84 years.

He married (first) Mary E. WHITING; (second) Lycintha MARTIN, of Rochester, New York.  Children by first wife:  Harriet Lamar, Mary Jane, James Adger, George Herbert, mentioned below.  Child by second wife:  Louis Chapin.

     ( VIII ) George Herbert, son of Rev. Anson PARMELEE, was born at Addison, Steuben county, New York, July 27, 1854.  He attended the public schools and worked on his father's farm during his boyhood.  In partnership with his wife's father, George POND, in 1889, he bought the business of L. P. Thompson & Company, manufacturers of plows and other agricultural implements.  His partner died soon afterward and he continued in business alone with much success.  He sold the business in 1902 and was one of the organizers of the Lawrence Bostwick Manufacturing Company, of which he was elected president.  He has continued at the head of this corporation to the present time.  In addition to his manufacturing business he has continued to own and operate several farms in New York state and Minnesota, devoting them mainly to fruit culture and dairying.  In the affairs of the town he has always taken a lively interest and performed his duty as a citizen faithfully.  He has served as trustee and president of the incorporated village of Phelps.  He was on the first board of water commissioners and held the office for several years, and for the past 15 years he has been a school trustee.  In politics he is a republican.

He married, November 23, 1881, Lillian May POND, of Phelps, born May 18, 1860, in Truxton, New York.  Children, born in Phelps:  1. George Pond, November 5, 1882, married in Phelps to Fredericka VENABLE, of Louisville, Kentucky, and they have one child, Fredericka Venable; George Pond is now a mechanical engineer living in Geneva, New York.  2.  John Barnes, November 5, 1884, a lawyer of Rochester.  3. Grace Lycintha, November 5, 1885.  4. Louis Whiting, March 10, 1891, died April 2, 1894.  5. Richard Hall, born January 28, 1894, resides with his parents in Phelps.
   

 

PARMENTER

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 65 � 67 

Dr. John PARMENTER, for almost a quarter of a century engaged in the active practice of the medical profession, is a man of noble impulses, sound judgment, keen perceptions and remarkable force and determination of character.  Honorable in every relation of life, he commands the respect and confidence of all with whom he comes in contact, whether professionally or in private life.  It is unnecessary to say that as a physician he commanded the esteem of his fellow citizens; the record of his daily life is ample testimony to this fact.  As he devoted the best years of his life to a noble profession, so is he now crowned with its choicest rewards.  In all professions, but more especially in the medical, there are exalted heights to which genius itself dares scarcely sour, and which can be gained only after long years of patient, arduous and unremitting toil and inflexible and unfaltering courage.  To this proud eminence we may safely say Dr. PARMENTER has risen, and in this statement we feel confident we shall be sustained by the universal opinion of his professional brethren, the best standard of judgment in such cases. 

William L., son of James Frederick PARMENTER, a native of Vermont, was born in 1836, and was a prominent physician of Buffalo, NY, where he, spending the active years of his life, engaged in the practice of the medical profession.  He married Clara Adeliade SMITH, who was born in Dunnville, Ontario, Canada, in 1841.  His love for and pride in his profession he transmitted to his son.   

Dr. John, son of William L. and Clara Adeliade (SMITH) PARMENTER, was born in Owen sound, Ontario, Canada, January 25, 1862.  Shortly afterward his parents made their home in Buffalo, NY and he received his elementary education in the public schools and Central High School of that city, being graduated from the latter institution in 1879.  He then matriculated at the University of Buffalo, from the medical department of which he was graduated with honor in 1883 and the degree of Doctor of Medicine was conferred upon him.  He immediately established himself in the practice of medicine and surgery in Buffalo, NY, where it was but a short time before his value as a physician and surgeon became a well established fact, and his services were called into requisition not alone by private patients but by his colleagues, in consultation.  This was especially true of surgical cases, in which he was soon recognized as an authority, being for many years a professor o anatomy and surgery.  His patients regarded him as a friend as well as a healer, and is sympathetic heart and manner tended greatly to lessen the suffering of those whom he was called upon to attend.  Having practiced constantly until 1905, he felt that he owed it to himself to retire to a less exhausting mode of life.  Accordingly in that year, he purchased the old SNELL farm in Geneva, Ontario county, NY, changing the name to that of �High Acres�.  This tract consists of 166 acres of land, situated on a very high knoll overlooking the town of Geneva, about three and a half miles distant, and also affording a beautiful view for many miles over the surrounding country, in all directions.  The house is a large and commodious one, fitted up with all modern improvements which tend to make life charming.  Here Dr. PARMENTER spends his leisure hours engaged in reading and study, for although he has retired from active practice, he retains all his old interest in matters concerning progress in scientific circles, and occasionally writes papers of undoubted scientific value.  He is a Fellow of the American Surgical Society, whose membership is composed of 125 of the most eminent surgeons in the United States, and is a member of the University Club and various medical societies of Geneva and elsewhere, and now (1911) is president of the Geneva Public Health Association.  His religious affiliations are with the Episcopal church. 

Dr. PARMENTER married, September 22, 1892, Frances Perry, born in Auburn, NY, March 16, 1867, a daughter of George and Ellen (MARVIN) GORHAM, the former a prominent lawyer of Buffalo, NY, the latter a native of Auburn, NY.  Dr. and Mrs. PARMENTER have an only child, Richard, born November 16, 1894.

 

PARR   

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 215

PARR, William E., Naples, son of John PARR (deceased), was born in Lyons, Wayne county, October 18, 1875.  Came to Phelps when two years old, where he has since resided.  He attended school at the academy, and his occupation was grape culture.  He worked at carpentry several years.  He lives on Mount Pleasant street with his mother and two sisters in a Queen Anne cottage of unique architecture, which he designed and constructed himself.  He is now employed at the Middlesex Valley railroad station. 

 

 

PARRISH 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 138 - 139  

PARRISH, Edwin R., Naples, second son of Jeremiah B. and Clarissa (CLARK) PARRISH, was born in Naples, December 6, 1818.  He was one of seven children: Mary, Bishop, Emily, Edwin R., William, Caroline and Cordin.  Mr. PARISH was educated at the select school of Naples, and has always been a farmer.  He is largely interested in sheep-breeding and the growing of wheat, and has always been a hard worker.  He takes a great interest in the advancement of his town, and was one of the founders of Naples Academy.  He married Susan Matilda PARKHURST of Fairfield.  She was a most amiable woman, noted for her social qualities and earnest church work.  They had four children: W. Scott, Rozelle, Schuyler J. and Emily.  Mr. PARRISH's great-grandfather, Samuel PARRISH, was the first settler in Naples, and came from Norwich, Conn., in 1789, some months previous to any of the other pioneers.  Schuyler J., the second son of Edwin R., was born in Naples, August 17, 1844, was educated at the academy in Naples and at Eastman's Business College in Poughkeepsie.  Returning to Naples he engaged in business with his father at farming and the buying and selling of wool, produce and stock. He has had dealings with nearly every one in this section, and in addition to the management of the farm of over 1,200 acres he has been largely interested in the wool and sheep trade.  The town was always assured of the hearty co-operation and financial influence of Mr. PARRISH.  Mr. PARRISH was a trustee of the Presbyterian society and an active member of the church.  He married Martha CONAUGHTY of Naples. July 13, 1892, he died, leaving a wife and five children, two having died in infancy.  His father, Edwin R. PARRISH, survives him, also one brother, W. Scott of Canandaigua, and a sister, Mrs. T. H. WILLIAMS of Washington, DC.  

 

PARRISH  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 147 - 148

PARRISH, Winfield Scott, Canandaigua, was born in Naples, January 24, 1842.  The grandfather, Jeremiah B., was a descendant of the PARRISHES of Revolutionary fame, and was himself a captain of volunteers in the War of 1812, and was in the battle of Lundy's Lane.  He settled in Naples, following farming and practicing law.  He was at one time associate justice of this county, and was for many years supervisor of Naples.  He married Clara C. CLARK, an aunt of Gov. Myron H. CLARK, and they had seven children: Bishop, Edwin R., William W., Cordon C., Emily, Mary and Caroline.  Edwin R., father of our subject, was born in Naples in November, 1818.  He married in 1840 Matilda S. PARKHURST, of Fairfield, Herkimer county, and they had four children, two of whom are living: Rozelle F., who died when but 13 years of age; Schuyler J., who conducted the homestead farm at Naples, died July 13, 1892, aged 48 years; Emma L. married Thomas H. WILLIAMS, a physician of Washington, DC; and W. Scott.  The latter was educated at Naples and Fairfield Academies and Poughkeepsie Business College.  When 29 years of age he went to Illinois and spent two and one-half years, then settled on a farm of 270 acres in Canandaigua, which he has ever since conducted.  Mr. PARRISH is a Democrat, and he and his family are members of the Presbyterian church.  He married, June 5, 1872, Emma BASFORD, of Kankakee, IL, and they have had three children: Mary E., William Howard and Jason Basford.  

 

 

PARRISH

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 27

Jasper PARRISH, who was the loyal assistant of General Israel CHAPIN in his work as the agent of the Government, was born near the head waters of the Delaware river in this State in 1767 and died in Canandaigua in 1836.  When only eleven years old, while working in a field with his father, he was surprised and captured by a band of Monsee Indians.  He spent the succeeding six years as a captive in that tribe and among the Delawares and the Mohawks, being finally released in 1784 as the result of a treaty stipulation by which the Six Nations gave up all white captives.  Returning to his family he renewed his acquaintance with the English language, acted as interpreter at several councils with the Indians, and in April, 1792, was appointed official Government interpreter and instructed to reside at Canandaigua.  Was the principal interpreter at the council held in Canandaigua under direction of Colonel Timothy PICKERING in 1794, was made subagent in 1803, and continued in these official positions through successive administrations until President JACKSON's second term.

 

PARSONS   
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 332

PARSONS, William W., Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, May 22, 1863, a son of H. W. PARSONS, a farmer of that town.  The great-grandfather, William, came to this section from Connecticut, and his son Hiram lived in Bristol on the farm settled by his father.  He had one child, Hiram W., who lived on the homestead, where he was born in 1840.  He married in 1862 Sarah M. WHEATON of Bristol, and they have two children: Ernest D., a clerk in his brother's store, and William W.  The early life of the latter was spent on the farm at Bristol.  He was educated at the Union School and Lima Business College, and in 1884 opened a store in partnership with S. P. HALL on Bristol street, which lasted one year; then the firm was Parsons Bros. for two years, and Wheaton & Parsons for three years.  In January, 1891, he became sole owner of the business.  In the spring of 1892 he moved into his new store on Main street, which has been refitted for him.  This has three floors for trade and basement for reserve stock.  He carries a full line of groceries and provisions, and the fall of 1892 he added the furniture department.  He married, January 20, 1887, Minnie A. FRANCIS of Bristol.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 204, F. & A. M., and Kanandaigua Lodge, No. 245, K. of P.

 

PATTERSON 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 137 

PATTERSON, Wilson Howell, Richmond, was born in Newark, Wayne county, October 13, 1850.  His father, George, a native of County Fermaunagh, Ireland, was born July 28, 1812.  He emigrated to this country with his father, Daniel, in 1823.  George followed shoemaking for several years, then engaged in farming.  He came first to Livingston county, and then to Richmond in 1867, and settled where his son Wilson now resides.  He married Elizabeth CARRIER, of Colerain, Mass., who was born in 1815.  They had seven children: Sarah Jane, James Henry, Margaret E., Wilson H., George H. (deceased), Mary Ellen, George Edward.  Mr. PATTERSON died in 1872, aged 60 years, and his wife in 1882, aged 67 years.  Wilson H. was educated at Newark Union Free School and Academy.  He married in 1874, Gertrude E. ALLEN, of Calhoun county, Mich., daughter of Almond and Lucy Ann (POWELL) ALLEN.  They have five children: Frank A., born August 14, 1878; Robert M., born March 8, 1882; Elizabeth G., born April 16, 1885; Lyra Carson, born September 27, 1890; and Glenn Wilson, born February 6, 1893.  Mrs. PATTERSON's father was born in Albany and her mother in Livonia, Livingston county.  Mr. PATTERSON's farm consists of 160 acres, and he makes hay a specialty.  

 

 

PATTY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 136 

PATTY, D. H., Geneva, was born in Ashburn, February 21, 1851, and in 1869 came to Geneva and kept books for Graves, Selover & Willard, where he remained ten years.  In 1879 he commenced business for himself, and now has 70 acres of nursery and orchard, employs from twenty-five to fifty men, and besides this keeps from 100 to 150 men on the road selling trees.  He has two branch offices, and does a business of about $75,000 per year.  In 1883 he married Helen A., daughter of William SCOON, and has one child, Laura, born in 1884.  

 

PAUL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 331 - 332

PAUL, Charles R., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua in 1850, a son of F. W. PAUL, a railroad contractor and at one time president of the Niagara Falls Division of the Erie Railroad.  He was born in Scotland in 1813 and came to this country a young man, locating in Canandaigua.  He was always interested in railroad construction and had contracts for building on the Erie, Flint and Pere Marquette at Saginaw, and others.  He died here in 1865, leaving six children, four of whom survive.  The only son of the family in business in this town is our subject.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, under Professor CLARKE, and after leaving school acted as clerk in his brother's drug store, and in 1874 became a partner.  At his brother's death in 1889 he became sole proprietor, and is now conducting the oldest drug store in town, it having been in existence since the town was first started.  In 1876 Mr. PAUL married Mary A., daughter of Thomas BLANCHARD, a native of England, who conducted a market here.  Mr. PAUL is a member of the Board of Health; of the A. O. U. W.; of the Mutual Accident Association; and the Empire Knights of Relief.  Mr. and Mrs. PAUL are members of St. John's Episcopal church.

 

PAVLAK   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 331

PAVLAK, Victor, Geneva, was born in the province of Passen, Germany, October 10, 1850.  He was educated in their schools and came to the United States in 1871, locating in Geneva.  He visited his former home on one occasion.  He has always worked at the nursery business since in his adopted country, and formed a co-partnership with William SISSON in 1885, which continued until the death of Mr. SISSON in 1892, since which time he has had full charge of the business, in fact he has always been its manager.  He has about fifteen acres with all varieties of the best stock, and conducts the same on honest business principles.  November 12, 1884, he married Mary L. SISSON of Geneva, and they have two children: Mary K. and William J.  Mrs. PAVLAK's father, William SISSON, was born in Yorkshire, England, June 4, 1819, and came to the United States about 1840, locating in Vermont, but coming to Geneva the following year.  He married Bridget LYMAN and they had five children; William, one who died in infancy; George L., Mary, and Francis, who died when a year old.

 

 

PAYNE

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 196 

The subject of this sketch was born in the town of Farmington, November 22, 1801.  His father, John PAYNE, emigrated from Massachusetts in an early day and was one of the pioneers of "Old Ontario".  Allen attended the district school, where he acquired a fair education and laid the foundation for that marked success which attended his subsequent career.  In 1823 he married Sophronia COMPTON, and soon after purchased a small tract of land in Prattsburg, Steuben County, New York, where he remained one year, when not liking the country, he disposed of his farm at a small advance, and moving to Wayne County, located on the Comstock farm, and on the expiration of two years, through his energy and shrewd management, he had acquired four thousand dollars.  He then purchased the old homestead in Farmington, where he remained until his death.  Mr. PAYNE and his estimable companion had seven children, four sons and three daughters.  One daughter (Hannah) died in infancy, and another, Amanda, a young lady of much promise, passed away in 1844.  Wilson, the eldest son, who possessed much of his father's energy and shrewdness, died in November, 1867, leaving a widow and only daughter to mourn his early demise.  David, the second son, lives in Iowa, Judson, in Manchester, and Marvin, the youngest son, resides on the old homestead.  The surviving daughter, Mrs. Harriet BREWSTER, is a widow, and lives on a farm adjoining the homestead.  Mrs. PAYNE, although two years the senior of her husband, still survives.  Mr. P. early united with the Baptist church, and remained a consistent member, holding steadfast to the faith. 

Allen PAYNE was one of the representative men of the county.  He stepped out into the broad arena of active life, and began the battle of fortune empty-handed; but by energy, perseverance and shrewdness, coupled with an indomitable will, he succeeded in amazing an immense property.  Always ready to assist those who needed a helping hand, he was honored and esteemed by all, and when on the 11th day of October, 1875, his spirit took its flight, there were many outside the pale of relationship who felt the loss of a kind, faithful friend and sound adviser.

 

PAYNE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 132 - 133

PAYNE, George, Geneva, was born in Norfolk, England, in 1829, came to the United States in 1854, and married Sarah FENN, of his native place.  They had six children: Elizabeth, Caroline, Sarah, Mary, Thursa B., and George A.  The latter is a farmer with his father.  He married Anna A. BLUNTT, and they have one son, James D.  Thursa B. married Westley HOBSON, and has one daughter, Mildred A.; Mary married George RENNYSON, and died leaving two children, Ashley and Byron.  Sarah has been married twice, first to Jordan BREZEE, by whom she had four children: Belle, Nancy, George, and Elizabeth.  For her second husband she married George HALLADAY, and has three children: Nellie, Charles, and Hattie.  Caroline married Clark FOWLER, and has one son, Harry P.  Elizabeth has been married twice, first to William McCOY, and they had a son, Charles.  For her second husband she married James PIERCE, and has one son, Frederick.  Mrs. PAYNE died in 1881, mourned by a bereaved husband and children and a host of friends.  

 

PAYNE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 144 - 145  

PAYNE, the late George, Farmington, was born in Farmington, east of the homestead, September 28, 1809.  He was educated in the district schools and was a farmer.  July 2, 1834, he married Nancy Jane, daughter of William and Martha BROWN of his native town, and had seven children: Gideon, who died March 2, 1880; Andrew G., who married Cynthia CHRISTIE, of Mayfield, Fulton county, and is a farmer; Martha L., who married David PADGHAM; Phebe L., who married John CORRIGAN, and resides in Canada; Hannah L., who married Walter D. NORTON, of Victor; one died in infancy; and Florence L., who resides with her mother at the homestead.  Mr. PAYNE died July 22, 1847.  His father, Gideon, was born January 10, 1765, in Berkshire, Mass.  February 18, 1793, he married Phebe HILL of his native place, and at once came to Farmington, one of the first settlers in the town.  His ancestry has been traced back to 1590, and some of the family to 1060.  The name originated in Normandy, and the first ancestor, Hugh DE PAYEN, was a son of the page who went to England with WILLIAM The Conqueror.  Elizabeth PAYNE, the mother of Oliver CROMWELL, was a daughter of one of the ancestors.  Hugh DE PAYEN was one of the leaders of the first crusade.  He established the Order of Templars in England in A. D. 1118.  This order was the most powerful and wealthy in Europe for three centuries.  Mrs. PAYNE's father, William BROWN, was born February 28, 1778, in Cumberland, RI, and came to this place at an early day.  He married Martha HILL, of Swansea, RI, in Farmington, October 27, 1805, and had four children: Chloe, Hannah M., Nancy Jane, and Levi A.  Chloe died when she was 6 years old.  William BROWN was killed in a friendly wrestling match with a neighbor, April 28, 1814, and his wife died March 11, 1825.  William BROWN's father, Ichabod, was born in Cumberland, RI.  He married Hannah BALLOU of that place, and they were among the early settlers here.  He was an officer in the Revolutionary War.

 

PAYNE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 365 - 367  

PAYNE, William Harold, of Nashville, Tenn., born at Farmington, NY, May 12, 1836.  His youth was spent in hard work upon his father's farm.  He took up the study of algebra and grammar at the age of thirteen years, and unassisted went through these and other studies.  At the age of 16, he entered Macedon Academy, then under the direction of the Rev. Samuel SENTER, and studied there nearly two years.  In the spring and summer of 1854 he spent three months at the New York Conference Seminary at Charlottesville.  He began teaching in the district schools of Ontario county in his 18th year.  On October 2, 1856, he married Evaline Sarah FORT, and for a year and a half he and his wife taught the village school at Victor.  In 1858 he moved to Michigan, and in his 23rd year became principal of the Union School at Three Rivers, Mich., his wife assisting part of the time.  He remained here six years.  In 1864 he was elected superintendent of the public schools at Niles, Mich.  In 1866 he was invited to take charge of the Ypsilanti Seminary, at that time the most popular public school in the State.  In 1869 he accepted the position of superintendent of the Adrian public schools, which position he held ten years.  From 1864 to 1870 he edited and published the Michigan Teacher.  He received in 1872, from the University of Michigan, the degree of A. M., and in June, 1888, the degree of LL.D.  He was twice elected president of the Michigan State Teachers' Association.  In June, 1879, he was elected to the chair of the Science and Art of Teaching in the University of Michigan, which position he held nine years.  This was the first chair of pedagogy established in an American university.  He was inaugurated October 5, 1887, chancellor of the University of Nashville, and president of the Peabody Normal College.  He is the author of "The Relation between the University and our High School;"  "Chapters on School Supervision;" "Historical Sketch of the Public Schools of the City of Adrian;" "Outlines of Educational Doctrine;" "Contributions to the Science of Education;" editor of "Page's Theory and Practice of Teaching;" translater of "Compayre's Histoire de la Pedagogie;" "Elements of Psychology;" "Psychology Applied to Education;" "Lectures on Teaching;" "Roussean's Emile."  Genealogical.--He married, October 2, 1856, Sarah Evaline FORT, born August 28, 1835, daughter of Daniel L. and Sarah (VAN NESS) FORT, he, Daniel, born at Schaghticoke, NY, August 6, 1781, son of Lewis; she was born May 12, 1795, died October 7, 1862, daughter of Peter VAN NESS, son of Cornelius of Albany; son of Gideon Riley PAYNE, born at Farmington, NY, September 18, 1813, died an Ann Arbor, Mich., March 8, 1888, married December 4, 1834, Mary Brown SMITH, born November 23, 1813, daughter of William SMITH, born September 19, 1787, son of Stephen, son of Jonathan, son of Gershom, son of John SMITH, who came from England in 1652 to Dartmouth, Mass.; Wm. SMITH married Lydia BROWN, born at Adams, Mass., December 9, 1788, died May 21, 1890, at Adrian, Mich., aged nearly 102 years, daughter of David, born June 16, 1741, son of Stephen, born February 3, 1714, at Cumberland, RI, son of Joseph and Sarah (PRAY) BROWN; Gideon Riley PAYNE had six children (viz: Wm. H., above, Selinda, born July 5, 1838, Chauncey S., born January 14, 1840, Lydia M., born January 12, 1842, Cynthia Orlena, born August 20, 1845, and Frank Riley, born November 30, 1850); son of Gideon PAYNE of Farmington, NY, born at Adams, Mass., January 10, 1765, died at Farmington, 1848, a wealthy farmer (married February 18, 1793, Phebe HILL, born January 12, 1771, daughter of Caleb and Mary), had nine children, viz: Electa, born January 12, 1795, died January 17, 1795, Zimroda, born March 14, 1796, (married Nathan STODDARD), Mary, born September 23, 1798, died November 29, 1880, (married Sylvester R. HATHAWAY), Selinda, born October 6, 1800, (married Nathan POWER), Calvin, born July 30, 1802, died November 27, 1859, Reuben, born July 4, 1805, died March 23, 1854, William, born March 24, 1807, George, born September 28, 1809, Gideon RILEY above, born September 18, 1813; Gideon PAYNE was the son of William PAYNE of Pittsfield and Adams, Mass., born in Rhode Island, farmer, (married Sarah HAWKINS, who died 1822, aged 84), had nine children, viz: Gideon, born January 10, 1765, Patty (married a MASON), Lydia (married a HOWE), Mollie (married first Elijah SMITH, he died in 1793 from the falling of a tree, his death was the first in Farmington, she married second Elihu PARKER, he committed suicide by jumping in a well), John, died February 18, 1821, William, Joseph, died August 18, 1862, aged 88 years, Zimroda, born 1770, died in February, 1838 (married Abiathar POWER, born 1770, died 1848), Lucinda (married Jacob SMITH); son of Gideon of Rhode Island, born at Swanzey, Mass., in 1703, died in Rhode Island in 1756, freeman at Smithfield, RI, in 1739, (married Rebecca CORSER); son of John PAYNE, born at Rehoboth, Mass., April 3, 1658, died at Providence, RI, September 28, 1718, was of Swanzey, Mass., in 1683, surveyor of highways 1686, had large property at Swanzey, Bristol, Providence, etc. (married first, February 3, 1680, Elizabeth BELCHER, married second, Martha); son of Stephen PAYNE, born in England about 1620, died at Rehoboth, 1679, (married Ann CHICKERING); son of Stephen PAYNE, who came with others from Great Ellingham, Eng., in the ship Diligent, 1638, and settled at Hingham, Mass., moved to Rehoboth 1643, had large estates, representative to General Court, died August, 1679.  

William H. PAYNE and Evaline Sarah FORT have five children, viz: Mary PAYNE, born December 26, 1860; William Riley PAYNE, born September 24, 1862; married September 17, 1885, to Estella Frances VAIL; Eva PAYNE, born October 30, 1865, married February 8, 1893, to Abram Tillman JONES of Nashville, Tenn.; Emma PAYNE, born July 8, 1867; Clara Louise PAYNE, born October 30, 1876.

 

 

PECK 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 130 - 132

 

PECK, Reynold, West Bloomfield.  Among the founders of the New Haven colony in 1638 was William PECK, who with his wife and son Jeremiah, arrived at Boston from London, England, June 26, 1637.  Among his descendants in the fifth generation was Reynold PECK, son of Clark PECK, who was born in Lyme, Conn., March 8, 1742, and married Deborah BECKWITH, March 8, 1764.  Reynold died in West Bloomfield, November 26, 1814.  The children of Reynold PECK, the sixth generation, were: Annie, Hannah, John Sears, Bettie, Thomas, Watrous, George, Abner, Sarah and Reynold.  John Sears settled in West Bloomfield in 1792, Watrous in 1799, Reynold in 1809; and soon after all the brothers were settled in West Bloomfield, where all have died, and are buried in the old cemetery in this village.  Reynold PECK of the sixth generation was born November 7, 1790; married Nancy WHEELOCK, daughter of Royal WHEELOCK, one of the first settlers in the town, in June, 1815, and died September 2, 1849, and his widow is yet living at the age of 97 years.  Reynold PECK was a representative of Ontario county in the State Legislature in 1840; and was supervisor of the town for the years 1834 to ' 40 and ' 47 and ' 48.  The children of Reynold and Nancy PECK of the seventh generation were: Vinton, born November 21, 1816, married Roxey E. HUMPHREY, June 22, 1841, and for his second wife married Elizabeth STERLING, January 8, 1868, and is now living in West Bloomfield. Minerva L., born February 8, 1818, and married Elisha F. LEECH, December 30, 1839.  Arminda A., born May 29, 1821, married Robert T. LEACH, March 4, 1841.  Both are now living in West Bloomfield.  Sarah A., born May 14, 1824, married Seth L. LEE, July 12, 1845, and is now living in Canandaigua.  Thomas R., born June 21, 1826, married Julia F. HOPKINS, May 20, 1857; he was supervisor of the town in 1855, and died at Waterloo, January 19, 1892.  Lydia E., born September 8, 1829, married Roswell C. MUNSON, June 8, 1853, and died at Oshawa, Canada, January 23, 1861.  Emily M., born January 4, 1832, married Charles C. LATIMER, M. D., July 21, 1858, and is now living at Princeton, IL.  Reynold M., born February 16, 1834, married Isabella L. AINSWORTH, September 12, 1860; was supervisor of the town in 1872, 1887 and 1888; is now living in West Bloomfield.  Jennette N. was born April 5, 1836, married William N. PAGE, D. D., September 20, 1862, and is now living at Leavenworth, Kan.  

Some of the Early Town Records.---The first records of the town of Bloomfield which then comprised the present towns of East and West Bloomfield, Victor and a portion of the town of Lima, go back to 1796.  The total expenses of the town for that year were: $157.18; in 1797 the total expenses were $234.37, of which $140 was paid for killing wolves, upon which there was a bounty of $10.  This left $64.37 for contingent expenses of the town.  The names of the wolf slayers in 1797 are David PARSONS, 3 wolves, Samuel MILLER, 2 wolves, Ezra NORTON, John B. HOLLEY, Joshua KETCHUM, Jonathan ADAMS, Oliver CHAPIN, Samuel STERLING, David GOULD, Phineas TAYLOR and Sears PECK, each one.  There are descendants of most of these men now living in the town of Victor, East and West Bloomfield.  In 1797 there were eight licenses granted, the fee for which was $5, and three of the applicants were unable to pay in cash and a note was taken.  Moses GAYLORD was licensed for an "Inn Holder and Tavern Keeper, with the exception of keeping bed and pasture."  The number of licenses gradually increased until 1811 and 1812, the time of the last war with England---which seemed high tide---when 26 licenses were granted.  The ancestors of some of our most pronounced temperance men were then engaged in the traffic.  The last record in the old book of licenses is dated West Bloomfield, April 5, 1845, when Adolphus NASH, Silas and Cadwallader HAWES were licensed "to keep tavern without the sale of spirituous liquors or wines."  The Indians had some extensive camping grounds in West Bloomfield. Fort Hill, as it is called, on the east bluff of the Honeoye Creek southwest of the village of West Bloomfield was a favorite resort.  Several acres on the farms of A. H. HOPKINS and Mrs. Reyold M. PECK, the soil is filled with coal, ashes, bones, fragments of pottery and large quantities of beads, arrow points, etc., are found after each plowing.  Their burial ground adjoined the camping ground, and many relics, consisting of pottery, axes, beads, pipes, etc., have been exhumed.  Another camp and burial ground were further north on the farms of H. Warren and Mrs. H. T. PARMELE.  In the old archives of the Jesuit Fathers this was known as Camp Assumption. Here, also, some very fine relics have been found.  Reynold. M. PECK has quite a collection, embracing some 25 Indian pipes, several perfect pieces of pottery in the form of bowls, wooden ladles or spoons, a quantity of beads, carved images of bone, arrow and spear heads, necklaces, bracelets, etc.  One pipe, a very rare one, has an otter carved on the bowl, and the whole pipe is carved from a whitish stone resembling granite somewhat.  A miniature figure of a man and a woman carved in bone, are well done, showing that these Indians possessed no small degree of artistic skill.  No parts of a gun have been found, so it is evident that this particular camp and burial ground were occupied previous to their possession of fire-arms.  Antiquarians are showing renewed interest in the relics that the aborigines have left to mark their receding footsteps on our continent, and it affords an interesting study of that mighty race that has become so nearly extinct.  As a tribute to the renowned valor of the Six Nations who once covered all this region, I have prepared this simple sketch.  

 

PECK

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 136 

PECK, Charles, Phelps, one of three children of Lewis and Sarah (LONG) PECK, was born on the family homestead in Phelps, February 8, 1857.  Lewis, his father, was also born there, and was a son of Elisha and Lucinda (WARNER) PECK.  He was a man widely and favorably known throughout Ontario and adjoining counties, as a practical surveyor, a successful educator, and also in politics.  He was the first principal of the Union and Classical School of Phelps, and held that position ten years.  He two years a member of the State Legislature, and four years supervisor of the town of Phelps.  He filled the office of United States assessor of internal revenue for the 25th district for 9 years, receiving his appointment from Abraham LINCOLN.  He occupied many other positions of importance and trust in both town and county.  Elisha, grandfather of Charles, was born in Conway, Mass., and when 12 years old his father, Darius PECK, came to Phelps with his family, and settled on the land which now forms a part of the farm of Charles.  The latter married, November 15, 1885, Lillie, daughter of Emmons and Pamelia (CURTIS) GIFFORD of Phelps, and they have one son, Lewis, making five generations of the same family and name that have occupied this farm.  Mr. PECK is a leading farmer, his place comprising 325 acres, devoted to general farming.  He has a flock of 150 sheep, 12 horses and 25 cattle.  He is also engaged in the manufacture of tile, employing four men in that enterprise.  

 

 

PECK

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 196 - 198 

The American PECKS belong to an ancient and prolific race, the progeny of John PECK of Belton, Yorkshire, from whom their descent has been traced in an unbroken line to their immigrant ancestors in this country.  For centuries before the English colonization in America, they were numbered among the gentry, and their coat-of-arms is described as follows:  Argent, on a chevron engrailed, gules, three crosses formed of the first:  Crest:  Cubit arm, erect, habited, azure; cuff argent; hand proper, holding on one stalk, enfield with a scroll, three roses, gules; leaves vert.  These armorial bearings, quartered with those of the Brunning and Heselden families, with which they became allied by marriage, were duly recognized and attested by the officials of the Herald's College in London, November 20, 1620, during the reign of James I.  The PECKS not only became scattered all over England, but established themselves in every civilized country.  Deacon Paul PECK, the first of the name in America, arrived in Boston in 1635 and the following year accompanied the Rev. Joseph HOOKER to Hartford, Connecticut.  Joseph PECK, son of Robert, and a lineal descendant in the 21st generation of John PECK of Belton, Yorkshire, previously mentioned, arrived in the ship "Diligent" in 1638, settling first in Hingham, Massachusetts, and later in Rehoboth, Massachusetts.  Another Joseph, the exact date of whose arrival from England is not known, went to New Haven, Connecticut, about 1638, and was probably a brother of Henry PECK, who settled there at about the same date.  The Ontario county family, to which this sketch relates, belongs to this branch of the PECK family.  About 1649 he removed to Milford, Connecticut, where he died in 1700-01.  He married (first) Mrs. Alice BURWELL, widow of John BURWELL, (second) Miss RICHARDS.  Children:  Elizabeth, Joseph, John, Mary, Ann and Hannah.

     ( II ) Joseph ( 2 ), son of Joseph ( 1 ) PECK, was baptized in Milford in 1653, and resided there his entire life.  He married Mary CAMP.  Children:  Joseph, see forward; Mary, John, Jeremiah, Samuel, Ephraim, Henry, Elizabeth, Nathaniel, Abigail, and Heth.

     ( III ) Joseph ( 3 ), son of Joseph ( 2 ) and Mary ( CAMP ) PECK, was born in Milford, February 25, 1680-81.  He settled in Newtown, Connecticut, about 1714 and resided there for the remainder of his life.  He married Abigail BALDWIN, of Milford, January 14, 1706-07.  Children:  Joseph, Abigail, died aged 11 years; John, see forward; Mary, died young; Elizabeth, Moses, Mary, and Abigail.

     ( IV ) John, son of Joseph ( 3 ) and Abigail ( BALDWIN ) PECK, was born in Milford, March 28, 1713.  He resided for many years in Newtown but late in life removed to what now is Bridgeport, and died April 22, 1768.  He married Bethiah BOOTH, November 8, 1739.  Children:  Jabez, Joseph, Asher, see forward; Abigail, Israel, and Elnathan.

     ( V ) Asher, son of John and Bethiah ( BOOTH ) PECK, was born in Newtown, July 6, 1744; died in 1822.  He married Sarah JUDSON, November 17, 1768, and she died in 1814.  He resided in his native town.  Children:  Lemira, born August 5, 1769; Lucinda, December 9, 1770; Jerusha, May 9, 1773; John, see forward; Abel, June 26, 1776; Judson, January 10, 1778; Edmond, April 2, 1784.

     ( VI ) John ( 2 ), son of Asher and Sarah ( JUDSON ) PECK, was born in Newtown, January 3, 1775.  He resided in Fairfield, Connecticut.  He married Sarah GILBERT, April 4, 1799.  Children:  Hiram, see forward; Deborah, born May 6, 1802; Betsey, June 23, 1804; Asher, April 14, 1807; Haley, August 22, 1810; Silas B., April 30, 1813; Cealey, August 13, 1818; Mary, November 16, 1821.

     ( VII ) Hiram, son of John ( 2 ) and Sarah ( GILBERT ) PECK, was born in Fairfield, Connecticut, February 6, 1800; died in Phelps, New York, March 16, 1882.

He was a blacksmith.  He settled in Phelps, in 1818, and in 1824 he purchased a farm which he cultivated for many years in connection with his trade.  He was a skilful mechanic, an able farmer and in every way a useful citizen, possessing numerous commendable characteristics which won the esteem and goodwill of all with whom he came in contact.  He married Margaret WESTFALL, of Phelps; she died November 24, 1873.  Children:  Sarah E., born August 29, 1833, died January 18, 1904; Harriet E., born March 6, 1835, died October 20, 1906; Phila M., born November 25, 1838, married James B. HORNBECK, October 27, 1853; Mary C., born February 21, 1841, married William SHEAR; Charles E., a brief sketch of whom follows.

     ( VIII ) Charles E., son of Hiram and Margaret ( WESTFALL ) PECK, was born in Phelps, March 15, 1845.  He was reared to farm life, educated in the district schools, and succeeding to the possession of the homestead, he has tilled the soil with gratifying success.  As a representative farmer and a progressive citizen he has frequently demonstrated his sterling worth in forwarding the general interests of the town, and for a number of years he served as a trustee of the district schools.  He is a member of Junius Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, and also of the Presbyterian church at Oaks Corners.  Mr. PECK married (first), in Phelps, May 23, 1878, Anna Maria STRYKER, who died in 1889.  He married (second), August 3, 1894, Mary E. Burnette VAN DER VORT.  His children are:  Charles S., married, June 6, 1906, Ina B. HOWELL, and they have three children:  Anna M., born May 5, 1907, Ethel R., born June 14, 1909, and Eliza A., born November 17, 1910; Alida, born June 22, 1881, married Flood KING, May 1, 1907.

 

PECK
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 198 - 202 

William PECKE, the founder of this branch of the family, was born in or near London, England, in 1601 and died in New Haven, Connecticut, October 4, 1694.  He emigrated with his wife and eldest child, probably with Edward DAVENPORT in the ship "Hester," which arrived at Boston, June 26, 1637, and was one of the original proprietors of New Haven, signing the Fundamental Agreement, June 4, 1739.  He was admitted freeman of the New Haven colony, October 20, 1640, was one of the leading merchants of the town and was trustee, treasurer and general business agent of the colony Collegiate School.  From 1659 until his death, he was a deacon of the New Haven church and is generally referred to in the records simply a "Mr. PECK."  He married (first) about 1622, Elizabeth _______, who died December 5, 1683 and (second) Sarah, widow of William HOLT, who survived him.  Children, all by first marriage:  Jeremiah, born in 1623, died June 7, 1699, married, November 12, 1656, Joanna KITCHELL; John, born probably in 1638, died in 1724, married, November 3, 1664, Mary MOSS; Joseph, referred to below; Elizabeth, born in April, 1643, died about 1684, married, in 1661, Samuel ANDREWS.

     ( II ) Joseph, son of William and Elizabeth PECKE, was born in New Haven, in January, 1641, and died in Lyme, Connecticut, November 25, 1718.  About 1662 he settled in East Saybrook, Connecticut, which, five years later, was incorporated into the town of Lyme, where he held various religious and civil positions.  He married, not later than 1662, Sarah ______, who died in Lyme, September 14, 1726, aged 90 years.  Children:  1. Sarah, born August 4, 1663, married, May 2, 1684, Matthias GILBERT.  2. Joseph, born March 12, 1667, died October 10, 1677.  3. Elizabeth, born September 9, 1669, died August 29, 1688; married, December 6, 1686, Samuel PRATT.  4. Deborah, born July 31, 1672, married, April 3, 1694, Daniel SPERRY.  5. Hannah, born September 14, 1674, married June 25, 1696, Thomas ANDERSON.  6. Ruth, born August 19, 1676, married, April 29, 1696, Jasper GRIFFIN.  7. Samuel, referred to below.  8. Joseph, born March 20, 1680, died after 1721; married, October 3, 1704, Susanna _______.

     ( III ) Samuel, son of Joseph and Sarah PECKE, was born in Lyme, Connecticut, July 29, 1678, died in Lyme, January 28, 1735.  He was the first member of this branch to drop the final "e" from his name.  He married (first) Elizabeth LEE, who died August 29, 1731 and (second), January 25, 1732, Martha BARBER, widow, of Killingsworth, Connecticut.  She married (third), January 8, 1736, Peter PEARSON.  Children, all but one by first marriage:  1. Elizabeth, born April 26, 1702, died January 15, 1705.  2. Elizabeth, born May 14, 1705, died October 8, 1730; married, January 23, 1724, Richard ELY Jr.  3. Samuel, referred to below.  4. William, born August 31, 1709, died after 1738; married, January 25, 1732, Jemima MARVIN.  5. Benjamin, born March 6, 1711, died after 1754; married, February 8, 1734, Sarah CHAMPEN.  6. Elijah, born October 20, 1713, married (first), April 28, 1737, Hepsibah PEARSON and (second), January 8, 1771, Jane MINOR, widow.  7. Jedediah, born June 1, 1717, died in 1744; married in 1738, Tabitha PIERSON.  8. Daniel, born March 4, 1721, died March 1, 1751; married, November 8, 1744, Abigail LORD.  9. Silas, born October 2, 1724, died in June, 1808; married, November 4, 1746, Elizabeth CAULKINS.  10. Martha, born June 4, 1738.

     ( IV ) Samuel PECK, son of Samuel ( 1 ) and Elizabeth ( LEE ) PECKE, was born in Lyme, Connecticut, July 12, 1707.  He married, November 7, 1728, Alice WAY.  Children:  1. Samuel, born September 7, 1729, died in 1776; married Hannah BECKWITH.  2. Abner, born September 27, 1731, married, November 30, 1786, Caroline REED.  3. Darius, referred to below.  4. Carter, born June 23, 1737.  5. Elisha, born November 27, 1739.  6. Daniel, born March 27, 1742, died April 25, 1802; married, December 25, 1764, Jerusha YERRINGTON.

     ( V ) Darius, son of Samuel ( 2 ) and Alice ( WAY ) PECK, was born at Lyme, Connecticut, September 11, 1733, and died there in 1797.  He married, April 19, 1857, Elizabeth BECKWITH.  Children:  1. Martin, born October 8, 1759, died September 30, 1808; married (first) Lucy Sennet, and (second) Frances SEBURN.  2. Elizabeth, born December 10, 1761, married Simeon HOLTON.  3. Darius, referred to below.  4. Simeon, born January 3, 1766, said to have married Lanphere ANDREW, born February 2, 1768.  5. John MOORE, born February 1, 1770, died in September, 1831; married, about 1797, Abigail PRATT.  6. Huldah, born August 31, 1772, married Elisha RICE.  7. William, born July 18, 1774, died about 1794.  8. Elisha, born May 16, 1777, died about 1820.  9. Timothy, born August 15, 1779, died March 14, 1851; married (first), September 18, 1805, Catherine SMITH, (second), Mehitable SMITH and (third) Betsey BROCKWAY.

     ( VI ) Darius ( 2 ), son of Darius ( 1 ) and Elizabeth ( BECKWITH ) PECK, was born in Lyme, Connecticut, February 2, 1764, and died in Phelps, New York, July 31, 1814.  He removed to Conway, Massachusetts, in 1789, and to Phelps, New York, in 1804, settling on land which is still in the family.  He married, July 20, 1786, Lydia MACK. (she later married a Mr. Belden and she is buried in Joslyn Ceme) Children:  1. Betsey, born October 29, 1787, died in 1850; married Isaac BIGELOW.  2. Elisha, referred to below.  3. Horace, born January 10, 1790, died August 3, 1867; married Sebe CHAPMAN.  4. Lydia, born October 15, 1792, married William OTTLEY.  5. Darius, born November 20, 1794, married (first) Betsey RAYMOND and (second) Phebe WILLIAMS.  6. Elijah, born October 21, 1796, died November 26, 1798.  7. Fanny, born August 20, 1798, died in 1850; married William CRITTENDON.  8.  Enoch, born August 22, 1800, married (first) Julietta Ann JONES, (second) Caroline Ann SEVAN and (third) Almira DIXON.  9.  Ira, born July 20, 1802, married Polly PORTER.  10. Ann, born about 1804, married Daniel STEWART.  11. Charles, born about 1804.

     ( VII ) Elisha, son of Darius ( 2 ) and Lydia ( MACK ) PECK, was born in Connecticut, or Conway, Massachusetts, April 11, 1789, and died in Phelps, New York, May 6, 1868.  He came to Phelps with his father, when he was a young boy.  He married (first) Lucinda, daughter of Jesse and Sarah (WARRENER ) WARNER, who was born in Conway or Phelps about 1796, (second) Percy SCOTT and (third) Sarah L. CROUCH.  Children:  1. Alvira, born March 24, 1814, married, April 10, 1834, Richard HALLETT.  2. Lewis, referred to below.  3. Lydia, born February 6, 1818, died August 11, 1850; married, in 1844, Daniel CROUCH.  4. John, born November 29, 1819, married in 1841, Amanda GATES.  5. Ira, born November 18, 1821, married, December 18, 1845, Maria B. DIXON.  6. Jesse, born February 29, 1824, married, July 1861, Hattie WALTHART.  7. Sarah, born December 13, 1825, died September 14, 1853; married, in January 1846, Luther WORDEN.

     ( VIII ) Lewis, son of Elisha and Lucinda ( WARNER ) PECK, was born on the old homestead in Phelps, Ontario county, New York, May 13, 1816, and died October 30, 1878.  He worked his way through Colgate University and then went to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he was principal of the high school for a number of years.  Returning east, he taught school at Port Byron, New York, for a year and then became the first principal of the new union school at Phelps, a position he held for ten years.  He was distinguished as a surveyor, an educator and also in politics.  In 1860, he was elected a member of the state assembly; was appointed by President LINCOLN, assessor of internal revenue for his district, holding the position nine years, and he was supervisor of the town of Phelps for eight consecutive terms.  He resigned his revenue position when he was elected assignee to settle the affairs of the Crane and Norton Bank.  He also did much of the surveying in both Ontario and Wayne counties, New York.  He married, October 27, 1854, Sarah LONG, who died in July 30, 1907.  Children:  Cora, born July 12, 1855, married Charles CHENEY; Charles, referred to below; Nellie, born May 19, 1860, married H. C. BURDICK.

     ( IX ) Charles, son of Lewis and Sarah (LONG) PECK, was born in Phelps, Ontario county, New York, February 8, 1857.  He received his education in the schools of Phelps and in Canandaigua Academy and then returned to the old homestead, where he engaged in farming.  He is a trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church of Phelps, a charter member and at one time overseer of the grange and is one of the largest stockholders of the Phelps National Bank.  In politics he is an Independent republican.  He has on his farm the only gas well in the county, and at one time he supplied his house with gas from it.  He has also been an extensive tile manufacturer.  He married November 15, 1885, Lillie, daughter of Emmons and Pamelia (CURTIS ) GIFFORD, of Phelps, New York.  Children:  Lewis, graduated from Syracuse University in 1909; Lillian, a student at Vassar College; Charles GIFFORD.

 

PEELING

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 216 - 217

PEELING, Thomas W., East Bloomfield, was born in Elsing, Norfolk, England, August 18, 1836, a son of William and Ann (IRESON) PEELING.  The grandfather was George PEELING of England, who married Mary ARCHER and had six children: John, Elizabeth, William, James, Elizabeth (2d), Robert and Charles.  John and Charles remained in England, the others coming to the United States.  William PEELING was born May 10, 1808, in Swannington, Norfolk, Eng.  His wife died in February, 1840.  Our subject was the only child.  In 1849 William came to this country and located in East Bloomfield, working two years.  He then went to Rochester, where he worked for H. E. Hooker & Co., twenty years.  He died at his son's in December, 1887.  Thomas W. came to the United States in August, 1850, and located in East Bloomfield where he worked on the farm summers and attended school winters.  He raises and deals in fruit.  In August, 1889, he took charge of the post office at East Bloomfield.  He is a member of the A. O. U. W.  His wife was Sarah PEELING, born in Elsing, county of Norfolk, England, same county as subject, and was a daughter of James and Martha PEELING.  They had these children: Anna, Addie, Frank (deceased), Susan L. and Bertha A.

 

 

PENNELL

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg.  235 

John PENNELL Sr., was born in Colerain, Franklin County, Massachusetts, in 1773.  He married Martha TINNEY (born in 1776), of Colerain, in 1795.  They had a family of 3 girls and 8 boys, for of whom are yet living; John and Abram in this town.  In 1807 he moved to Cortland County, and to the present town of Richmond in 1813, when both he and his wife passed away aged 84 and 79 years, respectively. 

John PENNELL, the subject of this sketch, was born in Colerain, Franklin County, Massachusetts, April 14, 1796.  He remained with his father until 21 years of age, when he worked six months for Abram WILEY, at fourteen dollars per month.  He afterwards returned to his father's farm, and, subsequently, together with his brother, purchased eight hundred and sixty acres of land, paying therefore the sum of $7,500, which through the years of hard labor they had accumulated.  Mr. PENNELL was married May 6, 1827, to Sarah, daughter of Moses GREEN, who had moved to this town from Vermont in 1817; she was born March 8, 1805.  They have had five girls and three boys, viz: Francis G., born May 22, 1828; married Sarah BLACKMER, June 19, 1862, and resides in the town.  John W., born April 21, 1832; married Celia D. HAZEN, born March 27, 1855 and resides at Grand Rapids, Michigan.  Harriet N., born January 21, 1834; married Myron H. BLACKMAN, September 14, 1854; lives on the homestead.  Fanny W., born April 17, 1836, and died March 20, 1841.  Emeline C., born April 20, 1838; died October 20, 1838.  Caroline A., born April 20, 1838; died October 30, 1838.  George W., born April 19, 1840, and married twice - second wife Millie MC GINNIS; resides in Atchison, Kansas.  Elmira S., born January 9, 1844; married Thomas R. REED, March 28, 1865 and resides in this town.  There are now living 5 children and 20 grandchildren. 

In politics Mr. PENNELL was a Federalist, is now a republican; was an anti-Mason, and has held the office of justice of the peace eight years.  He was one of the first members of the Methodist Episcopal church of Honeoye in 1832, and gave liberally to aid in the construction of the edifice.  He is now a member of the Congregational church.  Mr. PENNELL began the battle of life poor, and now is the owner of about 540 acres of valuable land, the result of a career of honest, industry, and a strict attention to his own affairs.

 

PENNELL

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 133

PENNELL, Francis Granger, Richmond, was born May 22, 1828.  His grandfather, John, Sr., came with his family in 1807 from Colerain, Mass., to Cortland county, and in 1817 came to Richmond and settled east of Honeoye.  Five of his 8 children were born before he came here.  His wife was Martha TENNEY.  He took up 160 acres of land, to which his sons added eight hundred acres.  His sons were as follows: John Jr., Abraham, Horace, Epaphras, Randolph, and Chauncey.  John Jr., born April 14, 1796, married Sally, daughter of Moses GREEN, and had 5 children: Francis G., John Wesley, a retired farmer of Grand Rapids, Mich., Harriet Newell, now Mrs. Myron H. BLACKMER, George W., a lumberman at Atchison, Kan., and Elmira, wife of Thomas R. REED, of Honeoye, a farmer and nurseryman.  John Jr., was a justice of the peace for many years.  Francis G. PENNELL was educated at Lima Seminary, and has been a trader in live stock to a considerable extent.  He once bought good wethers in Old Mexico, 9,000 in all, 3,000 of them of an Irish woman, the pick from a flock of 80,000 sheep which she owned.  Arriving in the Indian Territory in the spring, he employed Mexicans, Indians and negroes to shear 5,000 of them, a task they accomplished in 24 days, then shipped the sheep to New York markets.  He built the first stock yard in Austin, Tex., in 1873.  Mr. PENNELL married Sarah Lucretia BLACKMER (daughter of Hervey BLACKMER), a graduate of the Ingham University at Le Roy.  They have had three children: Elizabeth BLACKMER, Sarah Greene (KENT), and Georgia HAYES, who died at 15 years of age.  Mr. PENNELL farms 100 acres, 26 of which are in hops.  He is a republican and a supporter of the Congregational church, of which Mrs. PENNELL is a member.  Mr. PENNELL claims to have had the first mowing machine that ever worked successfully, and the next year he sold for the manufacturer $10,000 worth.  (some burials in Lakeview Ceme, Penn Yan)

 

PENOYER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 132 

PENOYER, Sterling, Canandaigua, was born in South Bristol, October 11, 1848, a son of Ashel, a farmer of that town, who was one of the leading citizens of South Bristol.  He had two sons and a daughter: Frank, a farmer of East Hamlin, Monroe county; Mary, who married D. C. SHAY, of Canandaigua; and Sterling.  The latter was educated at Naples and Canandaigua academies, and at the death of his father in 1866 was left the homestead farm, which he conducted for 8 years, then went to Toronto, Canada, and engaged in the hotel business for two years.  He then went to Cheboygan, Mich., to engage in the lumber business, remaining there until 1884, when he removed to Bay City, Mich., where he is engaged in the same business.  He married, December 1, 1870, Brunette SANFORD, and they have four children: Frances, Ashel, Ida and Lettie.  In 1886 Mrs. PENOYER bought her present farm of 81 acres, on which the product is grain.  

 

PERHAMUS 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 145 

PERHAMUS, Charles C., Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, June 6, 1853, was educated at the common schools, and afterwards the carpenter's trade.  He is a proficient engineer and at present is engaged in that business.  He is a Democrat.  In 1879 he married Mary E. WELCHER, daughter of Charles and Maline (STEVENSON) WELCHER, who early came to Hopewell.  Charles C. PERHAMUS was a son of William C., a son of John, who was a native of Ulster county, and died in 1832.  William C. was born October 13, 1809, in Ulster county.  He married Harriet COUCH, a native of Connecticut, by whom he had two sons and four daughters.  Mr. PERHAMUS is a Democrat, and has held the offices of constable for twenty years and collector seven years.  One of his sons, William S., who resides with his father, was born in Hopewell, August 16, 1835.  He followed the shoemaker's and the carpenter's trades, and October 1, 1881, accepted a position as station agent at Ennerdale, where he has since been employed.  He has also been postmaster at Beulah six years.  In 1890 he engaged in the poultry business at Lewis Station, and now makes a specialty of breeding Leghorn and Plymouth Rock fowls.  He is a member of Stanley Grange and Ark Lodge No. 33 of Geneva F. & A. M.  

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]   

]