Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
Ph - Pu

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

 

 

PHELPS

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 15

Oliver PHELPS was a native of Windsor, Conn.  He served in the commissary department of the Colonial Army, and settling at Suffield, Mass, at the close of the Revolution, he held successively the offices of Member of Assembly, State Senator, and Member of the Governor's Council.  He assisted in the organization of the Phelps and Gorham syndicate in 1788 and acted as the representative of that company in the exploration of the Genesee country and in negotiations for the extinction of the Indian title to the land.  He removed to Canandaigua in 1802, and though disappointed through the failure of the land enterprise to yield the expected returns, he had a large part in the development of this region.  He served First Judge of the County form the date of its organization, 1789 until 1793, and he represented the western district of the State in the Ninth Congress, 1803-05.  Jesse HAWLEY wrote of Mr. PHELPS that he was " the Secrops of the Genesee Country.  Its inhabitants owe a mausoleum to his memory in gratitude for his having pioneered for them the wilderness of this Canaan of the West".  He died in Canandaigua in 1809, aged 60 years.

 

PHILLIPS, JOSHUA

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg.  235   

Joshua PHILLIPS was born January 5, 1782, at Dighton, Massachusetts.  He was of Puritan descent.  His father, Joshua, was born in 1751, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  He married Elizabeth FISH, who was born November 8, 1757, and eight children - four boys and four girls - were the fruit of that union.  The subject of this sketch was the eldest.  His advantages for education were very limited, and at the age of sixteen he went to the Dismal Swamp, in North Carolina, and assisted Captain JANES in the manufacture of cedar shingles. 

In 1798 he came to Livonia, where he remained on season in the employ of Philip SHORT, and returned to Dighton, and soon after came to Richmond with a team for John MASON, grandfather of Hon. F. O. MASON, the present county judge.  In 1803 he again went to Massachusetts, and settled his father's estate, he having died August 19, 1799.  September 1, 1803, he married Olive PAULL, daughter of William PAULL.  She was born June 20, 1784.  Accompanied by his wife, mother, brothers, and sisters, ten persons in all, he started for the western county, arriving here on the 27th day after their departure.  His first purchase was 65 acres of land of Benjamin WHEELER, paying three dollars and fifty cents per acre.  Soon after, sixty-five more acres were added to the original purchase.  The following children were born to them, viz: Cyrene, born July 4,1804; married Abria ADAMS, September 1, 1825, and died June 8, 1828.  William Paull, born January 9, 1806; died September 18, 1835.  John Edwin, born May 10, 1819; married Mary E. POOL, October 6, 1845, and died June 24, 1869; his widow resides in Honeoye.  Sarah Elizabeth, born May 17, 1823; married David A. PIERPONT, September 28, 1843.  Mr. PHILLIPS served in Captain CLARK's company during the War of 1812, and received a captain's commission May 8, 1815.  He was at the capture of Queenstown, and from an elevated position waved the flag of truce, while the enemy's bullets were falling about him on every side.  He shared the fate of his companions; was taken prisoner and sent to Halifax.  At the close of the struggle, he settled on the old homestead, where he remained until 1829, when he located on the farm now owned by his son-in-law, David A. PIERPONT.  He died September 27, 1865, and his estimable companion passed away November 8, 1871.  Captain PHILLIPS was a zealous man in religious affairs, and a constant attendant of the Universalist church.  He was also a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity prior to the MORGAN excitement.  Honorable, benevolent, and kind, he won the esteem of all, and passed away mourned by a large circle of friends and kindred.

 

 

PHILLIPS    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 136 - 137

PHILLIPS, John M., Bristol, a native of Bristol, born August 3, 1848, is a son of Benjamin F., and a grandson of Jonathan.  Benjamin F. was born in Bristol in 1818, and married Louisa GOODING, a native of Bristol, and a daughter of Elnathan GOODING.  They had three sons and two daughters.  Mr. (Ben) PHILLIPS occupied the old homestead of 160 acres the most of his life, but spent his last five years at Bristol Hill, where he died in April, 1892.  Mr. PHILLIPS was a Democrat.  John M. was reared on a farm and educated in Canandaigua Academy.  He is a general farmer, owning 150 acres of land which he purchased in 1885.  He has erected buildings and put on improvements at a cost of $4,000.  September 8, 1887, Mr. PHILLIPS married Anna JOHNSON, a native of Jamesburg, Monmouth county, NJ, and daughter of D. Webster and Mary (HILL) JOHNSON, a native of New Jersey, to whom were born one son and five daughters.  In 1868 Mr. JOHNSON and wife came to Bristol.  He is a farmer and now resides in Canandaigua.  D. Webster JOHNSON was one of five children born to Joseph JOHNSON, who came to Bristol in 1868.  Mr. PHILLIPS is a Democrat in politics, and he is now serving his second term as assessor of East Bloomfield.  He is a member of the E. K. O. R. Lodge No. 29, of Bristol.  Mrs. PHILLIPS is a member of the Presbyterian church at Bristol Centre.  The father of Mrs. Mary (HILL) JOHNSON was a native of England, who came with his father to America in an early day.  He was killed in the War of 1812.  The elder HILL was a minister of the M. E. church, who died at the age of 96 years.  

 

PHILLIPS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 141  

PHILLIPS, Lebbeus, Gorham, was born in Gorham July 2, 1819, a son of Isaac, whose father, Abraham, was a native of New Hampshire, born October 16, 1757, and died in Saratoga in 1799.  He participated in the Revolutionary War.  Isaac was born in New Hampshire November 3, 1782.  He married Anna GAMBLE, a native of Saratoga county, and daughter of James GAMBLE, born February 9, 1783, and they have five sons and five daughters.  In 1807 they came to Gorham.  He was supervisor and also justice of the peace for 12 years, and was born a Quaker, though he gave liberally to all denominations.  He died February 8, 1871, and his wife died May 5, 1853.  Lebbeus was educated in the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  With the exception of two years spent in a mill, he has followed farming, and in 1867 purchased the old homestead.  December 24, 1845, he married Ann D., daughter of William MEAD of Gorham, and they have five sons: William O., Charles F., James E., George L., and Alvin M.  Mr. PHILLIPS is a Democrat and has been assessor six years, commissioner of highways three years, and supervisor one term.  He is now notary public, which position he has held 20 years.  He is a member of Stanley Lodge, I. O. O. F. No. 434.  

 

PHILLIPS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 329 - 330

PHILLIPS, Nathaniel, Victor, was born in Richmond, Ontario county, October 27, 1838.  He was educated in the public and Brockport Normal Schools.  He taught school eight years and is a farmer.  He married twice, first, October 23, 1862, Emily ALLEN of Clarkson, Monroe county, and they had three children: Grace L., who married John H. BOUGHTON, and has three children, George, Ernest and Louise; Carrie M., who married Burton MARCEE of Victor; and Charles A., who is completing his education in Rochester.  Mrs. PHILLIPS died July 12, 1881, and he married second, November 25, 1885, Evangeline, daughter of William and Martha SMITH of Rochester.  They have one son, Henry N., born August 29, 1887.  Mr. PHILLIPS's father, Darius, was born in Taunton, Mass., January 3, 1801, and came with his parents to Baptist Hill when he was seven years old.  He married twice, first to Polly ALLEN, and had two children; and second, Harriet HALL of Richmond.  They had 12 children: Mary, Cyrene and Rowena (twins), William, Nathaniel, Hannah, Albert, Jane, John, Mariam, Ellen and George, all grew to maturity.  His grandfather, Nathaniel HALL, was in the Revolutionary war.  His grandfather, Israel PHILLIPS, was also in the Revolutionary war.

 

PHILLIPS

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 500 - 501      

PHILLIPS, George H., was born in the town of Brunswick, Rensselaer county, NY, September 7, 1816.  At the age of 18, he left his father's farm, went to Troy, NY, and learned the carpenter trade of Ira WOOD, whose daughter, Laura G., he afterward married.  After a few years he became a partner of Mr. WOOD, and later on conducted the business alone. 

In 1852 Mr. PHILLIPS identified himself with the stove firm of Davy, Anthony & Phillips, remaining in the same business, but with different partners, until 1868, when he retired and founded the stove business of G. H. Phillips & Co., admitting into partnership John M. HOWK and Walter A. CLARK

In 1885 the firm of Phillips & Clark removed from Troy to Geneva, NY, where it was incorporated under the name of Phillips & Clark Stove Co.  Beyond question it is today one of the most flourishing companies in the State.  While a resident of Troy Mr. PHILLIPS was an active worker in the Fifth Avenue Baptist Church, and was for over a quarter of a century its treasurer.  He was also for many years one of the governors and managers of the Marchels Infirmary. 

Although not a politician in the ordinary sense of the word, yet he represented the republicans of the 4th ward in the Common Council during the years 1873, ' 74, ' 75 and ' 76. 

Since moving to Geneva he has made many warm friends by his genial ways, loving a joke now as well as in former years.  Although 77 years of age, yet each day finds him looking after his business interests. 

Mr. PHILLIPS has two daughters, Mrs. John M. HOWK, now of Lee, Mass., and Mrs. Walter A. CLARK, whose husband has for many years been associated with him in the manufacturing business now in Geneva, NY.

 

 

 

PHILLIPS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 250 - 251

PHILLIPS, Benjamin F., Bristol, was born in Bristol, February 22, 1857.  He is a son of Benjamin F. PHILLIPS, a son of Jonathan PHILLIPS.  Benjamin F. PHILLIPS, father of the subject, was born in Bristol, January 9, 1818.  He married Louisa GOODING, September 21, 1840, born August 19, 1820.  They had three sons and two daughters.  Mr. PHILLIPS lived on the farm now owned by his son, Benjamin F., for about 70 years, but died on Baptist Hill in 1892.  He was a deacon in the Baptist church.  Elnathan G. PHILLIPS, son of Benjamin F., was born November 6, 1841, educated in Canandaigua Academy, and graduated from the classical course of Madison University in 1872, and from the theological course of the same university in 1875.  He married Ella V. HOWES of Hamilton, Madison county, and accompanied by his wife went to Assam, India, as a missionary for the Baptist church, where he remained for ten years.  He returned home and at the end of eighteen months returned to India, where he remained until the fall of 1891, when he again returned home, and has since been engaged in translating the Bible into the Garo language, to be used with the people he labored among.  He will return to India in 1893.  The subject of our sketch, Benjamin PHLLIPS Jr., was reared on the farm he owns, educated in the common schools and Colgate Academy.  October 9, 1876, he married Carrie OGDEN of Richmond, daughter of Nelson OGDEN.  They have had four children: Milton J., Elnathan G., Walter G., and Rolland O., who died in infancy.  Mr. PHILLIPS owns 160 acres of land in Bristol and 80 acres in Richmond, and follows general farming.  He is a Democrat.  He and family are Baptist, but attend the M. E. church.

 

PIERCE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 329

PIERCE, William Henry, Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, July 30, 1856, a son of William H., and Rowena T. (CARPENTER) PIERCE.  The grandfather on the paternal side was a native of Massachusetts, and had seven children, of whom William H. was the third son.  He was born in 1818 and always made his home in Bristol.  He was a carpenter and some of the houses which he erected are still standing.  He married in 1847 a daughter of Robert CARPENTER of South Bristol, and they had 8 sons, all living.  Subject was the fifth son and was educated in the common schools.  After leaving school he worked as a farmer for about twelve years, and in 1884 he bought the Francis CASTLE farm of 128 acres in Canandaigua which he has since conducted; the principal products being grain and hay.  Mr. PIERCE has never taken an active interest in politics, but his ambition has been to become a successful farmer, and be known as an upright citizen.  He married in 1881 Eliza A., daughter of Nathan S. HUNN of Canandaigua, and they have six children: Anna H., Frank and Fred (twins), Nellie M., Charles E., and Nathan S.

 

PIERCE

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 480 - 487   

PIERCE, Andrew, Conspicuous among the men of more or less prominence who, though not born in Ontario county, have in the past become to some extent identified with its interests, is the subject of this notice.  Andrew PEIRCE was a native of New Hampshire, and was born in Dover on the 31st of July, 1814.  His early life and his ancestry foreshadowed his future, and his first business experiences gave indication of the most significant traits of his character.  His paternal grandfather was born in Dover in 1761, and early in his life removed to Gloucester, Mass., where in 1792 he purchased land.  In 1806 he sold his real estate and returned to Dover.  He was a descendant in the sixth generation from John PEIRCE, of Norwich, Norfolk county, England, who came to this country in 1637 and settled in Watertown, Mass.  His father was born in Gloucester in 1792, but after 1806 resided in Dover until his death.  He was engaged in navigation in early years, and built two packets to run between Dover and Boston, one of which he commanded.  He was also interested in the construction, ownership and management of the steam mill in Dover.  He held the office of State senator and other positions of trust, and was a man of sound judgment in all business matters, with a practical mind and remarkable energy in the prosecution of all his undertakings.  His moral character was above reproach�traits, which were transmitted to his son. 

The mother of Andrew PEIRCE was Betsey WENTWORTH, born in 1791, and his maternal grandfather was Col. John WENTWORTH (a descendant of Elder Wm. WENTWORTH from near Alford, England, and one of the 35 signers at Exeter, NH, for a combination government, July 4, 1637), an officer in the Revolutionary army, serving at one period under WASHINGTON.  He was a member of the New Hampshire State Legislature three years, and colonel of the 2nd Regiment in 1789.   

At the early age of 12 years Andrew PEIRCE was employed as a clerk in a Dover store, where he remained about two years, after which he attended a short time at the Strafford Academy.  Another short period of clerkship followed, and also a second period at the academy.  When he had reached the age of 16 years he was imbued with an ardent desire to become a man of business, and to begin his career at once.  At this youthful age he was taken by his father to Boston on one of his vessels, and against the prevalent predictions of neighbors and well intentioned friends, purchased a small stock of goods on four months' credit, and became responsible for the payment. 

If the father had any misgivings as to the results of what he had done, the fact is not known, and his confidence in his young son was not misplaced.  He promptly exhibited business ability of an unusual order, while his manly and winning qualities gained him friends and a large trade.  The business dated from April 22, 1831, and four years later when he had reached the age of 20 years, his establishment had greatly increased, while his credit was thoroughly established wherever he had become known.  His trade had taken on a wholesale character, which extended into several adjoining States. 

On the 11th of April, 1834, Mr. PEIRCE married Rebecca W. DUNNAWAY, of Gloucester, Mass.  Up to this time the business had been conducted in the name of his father, but now it was taken under his own name after his turning over to his father one-half of the profits already made.  The business was at once still further extended and in 1837 he built a brick store.  In the next year his father was taken by him as a partner, but withdrew two years later and his place was taken by a brother, Thomas W. PEIRCE.  This connection continued two years.  Another brother and two other men were at times associated in the business, none of whom paid in any money and all of whom drew profits from it.  During his business career in Dover he also joined with his father in a considerable shipping business, vessels being sent to Thomaston, Me., to New York and Philadelphia, and later to southern ports.  In the latter direction they were pioneers in shipping to Texas, before that Territory became a State.  They also furnished the iron for the first railroad there.  Several vessels were built for them especially for this industry, one of which (a brig) was under charter to the United States government during the Mexican War and was wrecked near Vera Cruz.  As his capital increased he acquired an interest in the steam mill at Dover; built several houses, and purchased, repaired and enlarged the Rogers wharf and buildings on Cocheco River, which were used for landing and storing their goods. 

We have already said that the early business life of Mr. PEIRCE indicated and developed his principal characteristics, and the foregoing must not only verify that statement, but also show the trend of his native qualifications, the ambition which prompted him, and the personal attributes which enabled him thus early in life to extend his business relations far beyond the confines of his native town.  He was not and never would be content with small things in the practical affairs of life, and we shall show in the course of this sketch that while he was thus driven onward by his ambition and by the genius which led him imperatively to the consideration and active prosecution of large undertakings, the factor of personal gain, in and for itself, was one of the least in his thoughts.  It never entered into the range of possibilities with him that any honorable and permanent business success could be achieved, that was not founded upon the staunchest integrity.  No man can be so great or so sure of his personal powers that he can carry on any undertaking of magnitude standing wholly alone; he must in many ways lean upon and be associated with others.  Without the unbounded confidence of all such, progress is impossible except of a transient character.  Mr. PEIRCE, long before he became extensively known in the business world at large, had inspired just that confidence which enables one to command men rather than resign to the command of others.  His word in any transaction was as good as his bond.  As he became better known to the public his political influence was sought and he became prominent and active in the councils of his party---the Democratic.  He was repeatedly sent as delegate to county and State conventions, and once was chosen delegate to the Democratic National Convention, held in Baltimore.  Still he had little inclination for the often devious ways of politics, while his manifold cares of a business character prevented him from accepting proffered office. 

In 1843 Mr. PEIRCE succeeded by active effort and through the subscription by himself and his father to about one-fifth of its capital stock in successfully organizing the Dover Bank, under the individual liability act, to succeed one whose charter was about to expire.  A few years later, the banking facilities of the place still being inadequate, he procured a charter and organized the Langdon Bank, of which he was elected president.  He was also largely instrumental in organizing a five cent savings bank.  In these financial institutions he was conspicuous as a manager and director.  He was one of the stockholders and active managers of the Cocheco Railroad Company, and aided greatly by his means and otherwise in the construction of the road.  After its completion he had entire charge of its operating department for several years, and finally figured prominently in the arrangements for leasing it to the Boston and Maine Company.   

At the beginning of the year 1851 Mr. PEIRCE determined to enlarge the scope of his business operations and to this end removed to Boston and entered the firm of Peirce & Bacon, in which his brother Thomas W. and George BACON were interested.  Beginning as extensive wholesale grocers and commission merchants with large southern connections, particularly in Texas, they soon gave up the trade in groceries and confined themselves wholly to commission operations.  For several years it is probable that they handled as much or more cotton than any other northern firm.  They purchased and built ten or twelve vessels which plied between New York and Galveston, and at times chartered many others and owned large interests in two ships for foreign trade in connection with their expert business.  The breaking out of the Civil war in 1861 paralyzed their vast interests and caused the firm heavy losses, but not sufficient to seriously cripple them.  On June 6, 1861, he married Mary Frances GILMAN, of Nashua, NH.  At the close of the war their business was resumed, but after about a year the firm was dissolved. 

It will be readily understood that in the business world of Boston Mr. PEIRCE now occupied a conspicuous position.  He was known to the leading men of that city as well as to many others in various parts of the country, as a broad-minded and practically successful man of affairs, with a character upon which there was not a shadow; a man of action rather than of speech, for he was noted for ability to express himself upon any subject with which he was at all familiar in few words that were always fraught with his meaning; a man whose aggressiveness and energy were such as to carry him to the consummation of any undertaking to which he turned his hand.  It was, therefore, a natural consequence that when the Boston and Maine Railroad, in 1856-7, seemed to be suffering through more or less weakness in its management, Mr. PEIRCE was called upon by a number of the leading men who were interested in the company and asked to take the presidency.  He had already been elected a reform director, in which office his efforts for the more efficient and successful management of the affairs of the company had resulted to the entire satisfaction of the managers.  Although the salary attached to the presidency was a very large one, they offered to increase it to equal his business profits, but he declined. 

Mr. PEIRCE had become largely interested as a bondholder in the Southern Pacific Railroad, with a few other prominent Boston men (together commonly known as the Boston Party).  After the failure of General FREMONT and others in the construction of this road, Mr. PEIRCE went to St. Louis in 1868, representing the Boston Party as general manager of the road and of its further construction.  They were to control the Atlantic and Pacific charter should the railway be extended to Springfield within a specified time, which was accomplished.  Under his management it was built form Arlington, Mo., to Vinita, Indian Territory, a distance of 237 miles.  This was a part of what became known as the St. Louis and San Francisco Railway.  When locating the road he went on horseback or walked every mile of the way many times.  The construction of the road from Rolla to Springfield was an Herculean task; the country through which it passed was broken and very rough, and under the most economic managements parts of the line cost $65,000 per mile.  The Missouri Pacific road was leased to the Boston Party in 1870 or 1871, Mr. PEIRCE remaining at the head and holding the office of president, which placed about nine hundred miles of road under the one management---the most extensive at that time of any railroad combination in the country.  Under Mr. PEIRCE's administration more than a million dollars were expended on the track of the Missouri Pacific, thus placing it in first-class condition.  The time came when it was determined to separate these roads, and Mr. PEIRCE turned the Missouri Pacific over to Commodore Cornelius K. GARRISON, by whom it was transferred to Jay GOULD.  Mr. PEIRCE organized the St. Louis and San Francisco corporation as before stated, and under his successful management it became a profitable property.  It 1872 the company had an office in New York and he removed there.  He retired from the presidency in 1877.  In this direct connection it is proper to quote from a western paper the following comments upon the valuable services of Mr. PEIRCE:  "How much did he do for Missouri?  No one can estimate the value of his services.  Directly after the Civil War the country was poor.  There was little money to be found to be put into railroad construction.  Since then it has been easier to procure money to build 20 miles of railroad than one mile then.  When others had failed Mr. PEIRCE succeeded.  He made of the Missouri Pacific a first-class railroad.  He made of the South Pacific (now the St. Louis and San Francisco) a first-class railroad and thereby enhanced the value of property in Southwest Missouri millions of dollars.  By his work, indefatigably and zealously pursued, he made it possible for new towns and cities to be built all over the Southwest.  As evidence of this witness Rolla, Lebanon, Marshfield, Springfield, Billings, Aurora, Verona, Peirce City, Ritchie, Seneca and Vinita.  All these cities and towns, now the centers of wealth, of thriving and intelligent communities, are monuments to his great energy, skill and unfaltering perseverance.  Whether in St. Louis or Wall street, his advice was sought by business men who were engaged in large enterprises.  They all recognized in him a man of clear principles, large experience and unerring judgment.  He furnished largely the means that enabled his brother, the late Thomas W. PEIRCE, to continue the construction of the Harrisburg and San Antonio Railroad in Texas, at times when he was embarrassed, now constituting a part of the Southern Pacific system.  The results of his labor were beneficial not only to Missouri, but to Texas and the whole Southwest.  He was in every sense a self-made man.  He was a superb type of the New England character very rare in this day." 

In February 1877, Mr. PEIRCE took his family to Clifton Springs, NY, for the benefit of his wife's death.  His own health being somewhat impaired, the following summer he resigned his office and intended to make that place a temporary abode or home.  Here his health was restored, as also was that of his wife in the course of time.  When he arrived at the Sanitarium that institution was not enjoying the great prosperity that now attends it, and the physical features surrounding it were such as to arouse in the practical mind of Mr. PEIRCE an ardent desire to see them placed in a more beautiful and better sanitary condition.  His natural generous impulses led him to enter with deep sympathy into the plan of Dr. FOSTER for the relief of afflicted humanity and he promptly brought to bear his large practical experience in business affairs and his still indomitable energy for the improvement of the institution, which he was making his temporary home.  The somewhat dilapidated surroundings of the springs in front of the Sanitarium building were transformed into a scene of beauty, as it stands to day, by the erection of a beautiful pavilion at a cost of between six and seven thousand dollars; and this was followed by the expenditure of some nine thousand dollars more in filling up unsightly and low grounds, making roadways, and filling up about twenty-five acres of land, making walks, setting trees, building the present masonry in the bed of a part of the stream, and in many other ways that need not be detailed, bringing about the present beautiful landscape presented when one approaches the place.  In this task Mr. PEIRCE simply continued his native propensity for securing the best results by taking the helm in his own hands, and day after day he arose at early hours, and personally directed the work he had taken in hand, which occupied him for about two years.  He was made a trustee of the institution and chairman of the executive committee, and by his wise counsel endeared himself to his associate officers.  His benevolence and desire to do good also found other channels for exercise at Clifton Springs, and the Peirce Library, connected with the Young Men's Christian Association, was largely due to gifts from him.  He also took a practical interest in local institutions in the village.  Through his influence the Central R. R. Co. built a new station.  The following resolution was adopted as giving expression to the appreciation of the Clifton Springs Sanitarium Company for the work of Mr. PEIRCE in connection with the institution: 

"The trustees of the Clifton Springs Sanitarium Company desire to put on record their high appreciation of the very valuable services rendered to the Sanitarium by Mr. Andrew PEIRCE during the last two years, by his generous donation of upwards of $15,000 and by his careful supervision, good taste and strict economy in expenditure for repairs and improvements in and on the buildings and grounds of the institution." 

While Mr. PEIRCE never made a public profession of religion, his faith in All-wise Creator was strong and abiding and governed the course of his life. 

It seems proper in every sense to close this brief sketch of the life and character of Mr. PEIRCE with the following extracts from a paper, which was read at the conclusion of the funeral services. 

"He was a man of remarkable characteristics, cool and clear-headed, full of nerve, with rare business tact, with indomitable energy, and a persistent will, with the courage of his convictions and with confidence in his own judgments, he was fitted to lead in great business enterprises and to master herculean difficulties.  He was high-minded, high-spirited, just, truthful, honorable.  There was nothing mean or craven in his nature.  From the testimony of those who knew him before he came to Clifton Springs, I feel prepared to say that wherever he has lived his name has been synonymous with incorruptible integrity.  Mr. PEIRCE was very kind hearted and sympathetic.  The misfortunes and sorrows of others enlisted his ready sympathy and generosity.  His quiet, unostentatious acts of kindness were numerous.  His large hopefulness led him to take a cheerful view of life.  He was never disheartened by the dark things of God's providence, but thought that God ruled and whatever might come would be for the best.  In business affairs he was often trustful to a fault, which in his later years involved him in some unfortunate business complications.  In the last months of his life he frequently conversed very calmly and trustfully about dying, arranged every detail, and feeling prepared to go whenever the Lord might call upon him." 

Mr. (Andrew) PEIRCE's death took place December 19, 1891, at his home in Clifton Springs.

 

 

PIERCE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 215 - 218   

Among the most honored residents of Clifton Springs during the last quarter of a century must be numbered the late Andrew PIERCE, who after a long and honorable business career sought for himself and those dear to him needed rest and refreshment in our health-giving climate, and dwelt among us for many years, becoming prominently identified with our financial and philanthropic interests. 

John PERS (as the name was then spelled), founder of that branch of the family of which Andrew PIERCE was a representative, in April, 1637, left Norwich, county of Norfolk, England, and settled in Watertown, Massachusetts.  His son Anthony ( II ) had a son Joseph ( III ), who was the father of Benjamin ( IV ), whose son Benjamin ( V ) was the father of Ensign Andrew PIERCE ( VI ). 

     ( VII ) Andrew ( 2 ), son of Ensign Andrew ( I ) PIERCE, lived in Dover, New Hampshire, when it was an important centre of trade.  He was a man of remarkable energy and sound judgment in all business management, represented Dover with ability in the state senate and held other positions of trust.  His moral character was above reproach and was transmitted to his son.  He married, August 11, 1811, Betsey, daughter of Thomas WENTWORTH, granddaughter of Colonel Jonathan WENTWORTH, an officer in the Revolutionary army, and a descendant of Elder William WENTWORTH, one of the founders of Exeter, New Hampshire. 

     ( VIII ) Andrew ( 3 ), son of Andrew ( 2 ) and Betsey ( WENTWORTH ) PIERCE, was born in July 31, 1812, in Dover, New Hampshire, and began his business career at the age of twelve by becoming for a time clerk in a country store.  He afterward resumed his studies at the Stratford Academy, but found soon that his inclination was for business.  This youthful ambition was heartily approved by his father, who took him to Boston in one of his packets and purchased a small stock of goods on four months' credit becoming responsible for the payment, April 22, 1831.  He thus inaugurated his mercantile career, and in the short space of four years had an extensive business, wholesale as well as retail, and had thoroughly established his credit.  Up to 1834 the business had been carried on in the name of his father, but that in that year the son placed his own name at the head, turned over to his father one-half of the accrued profits and assumed the entire responsibility.  In 1837 he erected a large, commodious warehouse.  During subsequent years several partners were, from time to time, associated with him, none of whom put in any capital though all drew from the profits.  During his business career in Dover Mr. PIERCE conducted, in connection with his father, an extensive shipping enterprise, dispatching vessels to Thomaston, Maine, New York, Philadelphia and southern ports.  They were pioneers in the shipment of merchandise to Texas prior to its admission to the Union, and they furnished iron for the first railroad constructed in that state.  Several vessels were built for them, one of them being a brig chartered by the United States government during the Mexican war, which was wrecked near Vera Cruz.   

In 1840, under the "Individual Liability Act," Mr. PIERCE became a prominent figure by successfully organizing the Dover Bank, which succeeded an older institution whose charter was about to expire, he and his father subscribing one-fifth of the capital stock.  Later Mr. PIERCE secured a charter for the Langdon Bank and was chosen its president.  He was largely instrumental in organizing a Five Cent Savings Bank, of which he was president.  Early in 1851,  Mr. PIERCE removed from Dover to Boston to become a partner in the firm of Pierce & Bacon.  This firm acquired an extensive trade in the south, particularly in Texas, which proved an excellent field for mercantile development.  Their facilities for the shipment of goods were ample, consisting of a large fleet of vessels constantly plying between New York and Galveston, carrying goods and returning with cotton to be sold to large manufacturers.  The breaking out of the Civil war completely paralyzed this business and caused the firm severe losses.  In 1866 the partnership was dissolved and Mr. PIERCE'S attention was gradually drawn into other channels.  Before coming to Boston he had been one of the original stockholders of the Cocheco railway and for a number of years had charge of its operating department.  He took a conspicuous part in its lease to the Boston & Maine railroad in which he had been interested.  In 1856 or 1857 he acted as reform director for the Boston & Maine railroad and was asked if he would become its president, but his business interests at that time made it impossible for him to consider the question.  About two years after the failure of Fremont in the Southwest Pacific railway, Mr. PIERCE, having been a promoter and a bondholder, he and his associates, called "The Boston Party," went to Jefferson City and secured the railroad charter, a company being formed of which Mr. PIERCE was elected general manager with power to continue the construction of the railroad.  The Southwest Company were to control the Atlantic & Pacific charter by which they could connect with any road going to San Francisco, provided the railroad was extended to Springfield within a specified time.  This was accomplished and under Mr. PIERCE'S management the line was pushed forward from Arlington, Missouri, to Vinita, Indian Territory, a distance of 237 miles.  During the process of constructing it, he many times passed over every mile of the way, either in the saddle or on foot, before putting it in the hands of contractors.  The name was subsequently changed to the St. Louis & San Francisco railway.  Commissioners from San Francisco had begun to consider commencing a road from that end to connect with this road, but financial pressure all over the country interfered with their plans.  In 1872 Mr. PIERCE was elected president and moved with his family to New York City, where he held that office or that of general manager until July, 1877, when he resigned. 

On February 22, 1877, he had taken his family to The Clifton Springs Sanitarium, thinking that a sojourn there might restore his wife's health which had become impaired.  After his long and arduous business career he himself felt the need of rest and for this reason decided to resign his position and make the Sanitarium a temporary home.  He became deeply interested in Dr. FOSTER and the work in which he was engaged, and desired to do something to aid in his grand plans for the benefit of the weary and sick.  In 1880 he had a pavilion built over the largest Sulphur Springs, then he caused to be filled in and graded, from a foot and a half to two feet in depth---twenty-five acres of the Sanitarium's grounds.  Walks were made and other improvements by the construction of masonry and by setting out trees, shrubs and flowers.  All this work he superintended---constantly, through summer's heat and winter's cold.  He expended of his own means fifteen thousand dollars.  For several years he served with ability as a trustee of the institution and as chairman of the executive committee.  Nor was his benevolence confined to the Sanitarium.  He was a promoter of the Pierce Library Association, connected with the Young Men's Christian Association, donating for the purchase of books the sum of fifteen hundred dollars. 

In 1885, after residing nearly nine years at the Sanitarium, he took his family to Boston where they remained for a year and a half.  He held a mortgage on the Clifton House and when it was to be sold was obliged to purchase the property in order to realize his investment.  This made it necessary for him to return to Clifton Springs in order to renovate the building which was destroyed by fire during the blizzard of March, 1888.  He immediately began building the Pierce Block, which is on the site of the hotel.  Having now decided to make Clifton Springs a permanent home, Mr. PIERCE purchased a house on the corner of Kendall street and Hibbard avenue.  This he remodeled and enlarged, occupying it until his death, which occurred December 19, 1891. 

Mr. PIERCE was twice married, and is survived by his widow, Mary Frances ( GILMAN ) PIERCE, and three daughters.  Mrs. PIERCE continues to reside in Clifton Springs.

 

 

 PIERPONT

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg.  235   

David PIERPONT, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Litchfield, Connecticut, December 19, 1788.  He married Sally PALMER, September 13, 1812; she was born on the 25th of May, 1791.  In the year 1816 he removed to the town of Richmond, and engaged in the cabinet-making business at Allen's Hill, where he died April 3, 1862.  Mrs. PIERPONT, died March 31, 1860.  They had four children, viz: David A., born at Middlebury, Vermont, November 19, 1815; Frances A., born at Allen's Hill, October 17, 1818; Caroline A., born June 11, 1821; and Ogden E., born April 8, 1824.   Frances A. married Marcius WILLSON - a noted historian, residing at Vineland, New Jersey - October 17, 1838; and Caroline A. married George P. TOWNSEND, in October 1845, and died September 1, 1849. 

David A. PIERPONT, whose name appears at the head of this sketch, assisted his father some time in the business of cabinet-making,  and after acquiring a good education at the common schools and the Canandaigua Academy, he entered the store of James DIXON as clerk, at the age of 14, where he remained one year, and returned to the shop of his father.  At nineteen years of age he clerked in the store of Hiram MERRIMAN at Allen's Hill, and subsequently was employed as clerk at Canandaigua, by Nathaniel GORHAM.  Here he remained one year, and returned to Allen's Hill, where, in company with James HENRY, he began merchandising.  At the expiration of two years Henry disposed of his interest to Hon. Robert L. ROSE, now of Hagerstown, Maryland, who conducted the business with Mr. P. until the latter retired, soon after to engage in agricultural pursuits. 

September 28, 1843, Mr. PIERPONT married Sarah E., daughter of Captain Joshua PHILLIPS.  He subsequently engaged in milling and merchandising at Honeoye, as in 1852 located on the farm where they now reside.  They have had three children, two of whom are living.  Mr. PIERPONT is a man in character similar to his father-in-law, Joshua PHILLIPS.  The poor never turn from his door empty-handed, and the needy find in him a man ever ready to render them assistance.  He is liberal in education and religious matters, and an attendant of the Universalist church. 

Mr. PIERPONT early manifested a deep interest in political matters, and while yet young in years he was thoroughly conversant with such men as Robert L. ROSE.  He was supervisor of the town in 1848-49, being the only man elected on the Democratic ticket; and has also served as district delegate to the State convention, and was present at the National convention that nominated Martin VAN BUREN.  Several times he has been the nominee of his party for member of Assembly, and two years ago received the nomination for Congress, running in opposition to Hon. Elbridge G. LAPHAM, of Canandaigua; and in nearly every town in the entire Congressional district, embracing, Ontario, Livingston, and Yates, he led his ticket.  He is calm and deliberate, a sound party adviser, and in every way an estimable citizen, well entitled to the popularity acquired through a life-long career of honor and integrity.

 

PIERPONT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 148

PIERPONT, David A., Richmond, was born in Middlebury, Vt., in 1815.  His father, David, was born in Litchfield county, Conn., and first settled at Middlebury, Vt.  His wife was Sally PALMES, and in 1816, when David was an infant, the family came to Richmond and settled at Allen's Hill.  David was a cabinetmaker, and also kept a hotel at the Hill.  He ran a line of four-horse stage coaches between Canandaigua and Perry for some years.  Of his five children four grew to maturity: David A., Frances Ann, deceased, who married Prof. Marcius WILSON, of Vineland, NJ; Caroline Amelia, deceased, who married George P. TOWNSEND; and Ogden E., deceased, who left a widow and two children, and who was for many years engaged in Rochester as clerk.  David A. PIERPONT was educated at the common schools, at Canandaigua Academy, and at Temple Hill School, Geneseo.  In 1843 he married Sarah Elizabeth PHILLIPS, born in 1823, daughter of Joshua PHILLIPS 2d, and they have two children: Caroline Elizabeth, wife of Dr. L. E. GREEN, of Honeoye, and David Ogden born in 1848.  Mr. PIERPONT followed the trade of his father for a time, then became a clerk at Allen's Hill, and afterwards for Nathaniel GORHAM at Canandaigua.  A year later he engaged in general trade at Allen's Hill in company with James HENRY.  A year later Robert L. ROSE purchased Henry's interest, and two years later, in 1839, Mr. PIERPONT sold his interest, and in company with Daniel PHELPS purchased and slaughtered sheep for two or three years.  His father-in-law bought the grist mill in Honeoye, since owned by John QUICK, and there David A. worked at milling for 8 years.  In 1852 he came to his present farm and lived with his father-in-law, and has followed farming ever since.  The main part of his present farm-house was built in 1800 by Judge CHIPMAN, the farm having been taken up by him in 1795.  Mr. PIERPONT was supervisor in 1847-48-52-55-89-90-91.  Mrs. PIERPONT's father, Capt. Joshua PHILLIPS, was born in Dighton, Mass., in 1782.  His father, of the same name, was born in 1751, and was a Revolutionary soldier.  He died in 1799.  Joshua settled here in 1803, served in the War of 1812, and was commissioned captain.  His wife was Olive, daughter of William PAUL.  Mr. PIERPONT and his son, David Ogden, have been prominent breeders of Merino sheep, and have received diplomas from the Exposition at Sydney, Australia, and from the Paris Exposition.  

 

PIERSON

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 64 � 65   

Samuel D. PIERSON, director in the J. W. Smith Dry Goods Company, of Geneva, NY, is one of that class of men who seem destined to overcome by their innate fitness apparently insurmountable obstacles, and his career presents a fine example of honesty and integrity, energy and perseverance, struggling with the adverse circumstances of life and rising into completer triumph.  With all the elements of a strong character, he was fitted to assume the responsibilities which have devolved upon him and to increase the value of the interests entrusted to his care.

Rev. Job PIERSON, his father, was born near Troy, NY, in 1824 and died in 1896.  He was a well-known Presbyterian clergyman and ministered in many cities of the United States.  He was a student at Williams College, from which he was graduated at the early age of 18 years, and then began to study for the ministry in the Theological College at Albany, NY, where he remained until his resignation in 1849, and he then filled the following pastorates in succession: West Stockbridge, Mass., until 1850; Catskill, NY and Pittsford, NY, 1851; Victor, NY until 1862; Kalamazoo, MI., until July 1, 1869; Ionia, MI., until 1881, when he resigned, this being his last charge.  He was one of the founders of Alma College, Michigan, nad spent a large part of his time in assisting Dr. MURRAY in his work in connection with the new Oxford dictionary, making many important contributions and was engaged on this work at the time of his death.  He was a man whose death was deeply and sincerely lamented, and the influence of his inspired preaching was more than supplemented by the influence of his exemplary and blameless life.  He married Rachel W. SMITH, born in Gloucester, Mass., in 1820, a woman of excellent education and ideal characteristics.  She was beloved by all with whom she came in contact and was very active in church work.  Her death occurred January 19, 1908.  They had a number of children, among them were: Samuel D., see forward; John W. S., resides in Mi.; Philip T. H., resides in Bennington, Vt. 

Samuel D., son of Rev. Job and Rachel W. (SMITH) PIERSON, was born in Pittsford, Monroe county, NY, October 26, 1851.   His education, which was a good one, for the length of time he was able to take advantage of it, was acquired at the Victor schools, and in Kalamzoo and Ionia, Michigan.  At the early age of 14 years he entered upon his business career, and this was commenced with the same qualities of earnestness and attention to detail that have characterized him throughout his life.  His first position was that of a water carrier on the trains of the old Kalamazoo & white Pigeon railroad, which is now known as the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern, nad he was thus employed for a period of five years.  Being then fitted for work of a more strenuous nature, he became connected with the lumber business in the northern part of Michigan and remained in this employment until 1896.  He then went to Geneva, NY, where he retired from business for a time to devote himself personally to the care of his maternal uncle.  Solomon E. SMITH, one of the two brothers, who founded the dry goods house with which Mr. PIERSON is now identified.  He also gave much of his time and attention to the care of his mother, who was in feeble health.  The J. W. Smith Dry Goods Company was organized in 1847 and was later incorporated as a stock company.  In addition to his directorship in this company, Mr. PIERSON has a number of other business enterprises.   He is a trustee of the Geneva Savings Bank; director of the Chamber of Commerce; and interested in other financial undertakings.  His social affiliations are with the Country and Kanadasaga clubs, and he is a member of the Episcopalian church.  While he has never aspired to the holding of public office, he takes an active and intelligent interest in all matters, which concern the welfare of his city and country, and has the courage of his convictions in expressing decidedly independent views in all matters of public policy.

Mr. PIERSON has never married.  His spare hours are spent in varied reading, to which he devotes a considerable amount of time, nad his sympathetic natures leads him to make many personal inquiries into social conditions in all classes in the city.  In this manner he is more readily enabled to give the assistance which is dictated by his feeling and generous heart, and he has acquired a circle of friends who are representative of all classes of society.  All in all, he is a plain, strong, dependable sort of man, in whom everyone seems to place unlimited confidence.  (1880 in Ionia, MI; 1900 listed as Pearson; with mother, in Geneva, NY; 1910 in Geneva, NY) 

 

POMEROY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 143 - 144  

POMEROY, Andrew B., East Bloomfield, is a native of Bristol, born August 18, 1854.  His father, Luther, was a son of Luther,  a native of Amherst, Mass., born in 1788, who married Sybil TOWER, and had seven daughters and a son.  In 1815 he came to Bristol and settled on a farm where he remained until advanced in years, when he removed to Bath, Oh., and died December 20, 1883.  Mrs. POMEROY died in Bristol.  Luther POMEROY Jr., was born in Bristol, July 21, 1822, and married Bethania, daughter of Caleb BLISS, a native of Massachusetts, who married Zilpha GERRY and had a son and four daughters.  Mrs. POMEROY died August 19, 1882.  Mr. POMEROY and wife had a son and three daughters.  He spent his life in Bristol as a farmer, and during his last 23 years was an extensive wool dealer.  He was a republican and was assessor several years.  He married second Mary A. COBB, April 18, 1888; he died January 10, 1892.  Andrew B. was educated in the public schools, and February 20, 1879, married Jennie CASE, a native of Bristol, and one of six children of Oliver and Judith A. (GOFFORD) CASE, the former a native of Bristol, and the latter of Columbia.  In 1879 Mr. POMEROY came to East Bloomfield, and bought 100 acres of land known as the Edward BRONSON farm where he carries on general farming.  He is a republican but not an aspirant to office.  He is a member of A. O. U. W. of East Bloomfield, and he and wife are members of the M. E. Church.  The sisters of subject are: Mary, wife of Jason EVANS of Bristol; Namah L., wife S. W. CROUCH, a contractor and builder of Rochester; and Frances C., who resides with her sister, Mrs. CROUCH, in Rochester.  

 

 

POND

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 468 - 470   

According to tradition running through all the POND families, they were descended from three brothers who came to America from England.  The earliest POND from whose line George C. POND may be traced directly is Samuel POND.  The date of his arrival in America as well as the time of his coming to Connecticut is unknown, but he married in Windsor, Connecticut, November 4, 1642.

The POND family seems to have produced a great many fighting men.  There is scarcely a generation that had not its men of valor, beginning with Indian fights in 1675.  Records show that Munson POND had his heart cut off by a British woodsman in 1776.  It is said that he had killed seven of the enemy, but as the tide of battle turned in favor of the British, while the Americans were on the retreat, the enemy's light horse encountered them, and in that onslaught he was beheaded.  Another POND was recognized by General LAFAYETTE.  After the war, LAFAYETTE was passing through the streets of Milford, and amid the shouts of thousands his keen military eye caught the figure of Captain Charles POND; he rose in his carriage and pointing to the captain called out, "Major POND."  They met with hearty embrace, in true French style, while tears of joy of the two veterans mingled as they coursed down their cheeks.  A similar meeting took place when LAFAYETTE met Barnabas POND, of Clinton, New York, at the great oration at Utica in 1825.  Barnabas POND was an uncle of George C. POND.

Benjamin POND was a representative in congress at the time of the declaration of the War of 1812, voting for it, and continued to serve as a member until his death.  At the invasion of Plattsburg by the British in 1814, he volunteered to repel the invaders, and by exposure contracted the camp fever, of which he died.  There were many Union soldiers as well as Revolutionary.  There is a story of Captain Levi E. POND, of the 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry.  At the beginning of the battle, as Captain POND was leading on his men to a charge, he received a wound in the breast which the surgeon pronounced fatal.  As he fell his company seemed to falter until they heard his well known voice, though faint, "Press on, boys, never mind me."  And they did press on with exasperating fury to avenge what they supposed to be the death of their brave commander.  A little more than a month after, with the bullet still in his body, Captain POND returned to his regiment, refusing to resign while he had sufficient strength to march with his company. 

     ( II ) Samuel ( 2 ), son of Samuel ( 1 ) POND, aforementioned, was born March 4, 1644.  He married, February 3, 1677, Marian BLAKLY, and among their children was Samuel, see forward. 

     ( III ) Samuel, ( 3 ), son of Samuel, ( 2 ) and Marian (BLAKLY) POND, was born July 1, 1679.  He married, June 30, 1704, Abigail GOODRICH and among their children was Philip, see forward. 

     ( IV ) Philip, second son of Samuel ( 3 ) and Abigail (GOODRICH) POND, was born June 6, 1706.  He married Thankful FRISBEE and among their children was Timothy, see forward. 

     ( V ) Timothy, son of Philip and Thankful (FRISBEE) POND, was born at Bradford, Connecticut, 1731.  He served in the 5th Company. 

First Connecticut Regiment, 1775, General WOOSTER; served at the siege of Boston under Captain Caleb TROWBRIDGE, of New Haven, enlisted May 5, discharged December 20, 1775.  He was also in the 8th Regiment, Connecticut line, formation of 1777-81; was in Captain SMITH's company, enlisted March 31, 1777, for three years, discharged March 31, 1780.  He was under head of minute-men and volunteers in 1776.  He was a member of the inhabitants of the Society of Northburg in Waterbury, who framed themselves into a military company and chose officers, July 4, 1776.  He was chosen lieutenant of said company.  He married _____ MUNSON and among their children was Munson, see forward. 

     ( VI ) Munson, son of Timothy and ______ (MUNSON) POND, was born November 26, 1780, died July, 1830.  He married Phebe CHAPIN, born November 1, 1782, died April, 1829, and among their children was George C., see forward. 

     ( VII ) George C., son of Munson and Phebe (CHAPIN) POND, was born June 7, 1814.  He was left an orphan at the age of sixteen.  Upon the death of his father, he went to live with Jonathan PIERCE in Hamilton, Madison county, New York, where he learned the trade of miller.  Shortly after his first marriage, in 1841, he went to East River, Cortland county, New York, where he conducted a mill.  Later he purchased the mill at Truxton, New York, to which place he then removed his family, and after a residence there of several years there of several years, he erected a new mill, the largest one in Cortland county.  His wheat was purchased from all parts of this section and he teamed his flour to Syracuse.  This mill stood all through the war, and a house called the "Gothic," which he erected about the same time and which created quite an amount of comment, are still standing.  About the year 1861 his health forced him to move to a farm, but he only remained there a year on account of the death of his wife.  He then returned to Truxton village, engaging in the mercantile business.  In 1867 he took up his residence in Phelps, New York, where he continued the mercantile business, conducting a shoe store until a year before his death.  Two months prior to his death, which occurred February 14, 1889, he went into partnership with his son-in-law, George H. PARMELEE, in the Phelps Chilled Plow Company.  Mr. POND married (first) August 9, 1841, Anna HURD, of Hamilton, New York.  She died January 6, 1863.  He married (second) on September 12, 1864, Lucy H. SUMNER, of Homer, New York. 

     ( VIII ) Lillian May, daughter of George C., and Anna (HURD) POND, was born May 18, 1860, married, November 23, 1881, George Herbert PARMELEE (see PARMELEE VII ).

 

PORTER

History of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 22 

Augustus PORTER first entered the Phelps and Gorham purchase in 1789, when he was about 20 years of age, for the purpose of making a survey of Township No. 10 in the Fourth Range (now East Bloomfield).  A year later he entered the service of Oliver PHELPS as agent in making surveys and sales of lands, and in 1792 assisted Andrew ELLICOTT, United States Surveyor General, in resurveying and correcting the Preemption line.  MR. PORTER moved to Niagara Falls about he year 1806 and died there in 1864.   

PORTER

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 71 

General Peter Buel PORTER, a brother of Augustus PORTER, the surveyor, was born in Suffield, Conn., in 1773.  settled in Canandaigua in 1795.  Was Clerk of Ontario county from 1797 to 1804, Member of Assembly form Ontario county in 1802, and after his removal to Niagara Falls about the year 1806, served two terms in Congress.  He was a Major General of Volunteers in the War of 1812 and commanded at the defense of Black Rock, now Buffalo, in July 1813;  Was offered and declined the command of the Untied States Army made by President MADISON.   Was one of the United States Commissioners under the Treaty of Ghent, Secretary of State under Governor TOMPKINS, and Secretary of War in the cabinet of the younger ADAMS.  He died in Niagara Falls in March, 1844.   

 

POST   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 334

POST, Frank A., Clifton Springs, was born at Orleans, Ontario county, June 4, 1859.  After receiving a good education in the schools of this county, he entered the Philadelphia Dental College, from which he graduated in 1886.  He then commenced the practice of his profession here, where he has since remained.  Dr. POST is one of the stewards of the M. E. church, and also one of the board of the Y. M. C. A.  He is staunch Prohibitionist and is a descendant of a Revolutionary family of New York State.

POST

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 61 � 62   

Abram A. POST, owner of one of the finest farms in Seneca, Ontario county, NY, which has been in uninterrupted possession of his family since 1809, has had the advantage of extended travel to assist him in the cultivation of this piece of land and bring out its especial qualities.

Frank J. POST, father of Abram A. POST, was born on the homestead farm, October 16, 1842, died in 1904.  He improved the land, which had been left to him by his father, in many respects, but it was let to the improved methods of his son, to bring out its entire capacity. 

Abram A. POST, son of Frank J. POST, was born on the homestead July 26, 1876.  He acquired his education in the schools of Geneva and Penn Yan, NY, and in the New York Military Academy.  He took the first step in his business career while still attending school, having found employment in a shoe store at Penn Yan during his summer vacations.  In 1898 he was employed by the General Electric Company, Schenectady and New York, remaining with this concern for about one and a half years, then went to Havana, Cuba, where he was engaged in business for a period of five years.  Upon his return to the United States, he went to the homestead, where he engaged in farming and where he is enjoying the beauties of a country home.  The dwelling house is fitted up with all modern comforts, and is commodious in every respect.  The farm consists of 500 acres of choice ground, in one piece, located on an eminence, which gives it a magnificent view over the surrounding country, for miles.  At the present time, Mr. POST is very much interested in the growing of fruit, and has devoted a considerable amount of the acreage to the planning of young fruit trees, under the most approved methods.  He is a strong believer in scientific farming and is one of the first in the section to give a trial to any invention, which appears to have anything in its favor.  At the same time he experiments independently, and many of the results of his experiments have given remarkable satisfaction.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and the Republican party, and he and his wife are attendants at the Episcopal church.

Mr. POST married, 1904, Margaret BARNES, who was born in Phillipsburg, Pennsylvania.  Children: Abram A. Jr., born December 26, 1905; Thomas, born September 28, 1908; Ann, twin of Thomas.

 

POTTER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 333

POTTER, M.D., John W., Canandaigua, was born in Middlesex, Yates county, May 15, 1821.  His grandfather, Avery B. POTTER, was a native of Scotland, moved to England, and emigrated to this country previous to the war of the Revolution, and served in that war as an officer.  After living in various places he finally settled in Cuyahoga county, where he died at about ninety years of age.  He had four children.  James G. A., the second son and father of subject, was born in Providence, RI, in October, 1782.  He served in the War of 1812, and afterward engaged in farming in Yates county, afterwards moving into Alleghany county, where he owned and conducted a distillery and portage.  He had an interest in large quantities of land along the Genesee river, in the town of Belfast and other places.  He was a Whig, and held many offices of honor and trust.  He married Orilla BRIGGS of Oneida county, August 20, 1806, and they had 12 children, six of whom are still living: Caleb, of Eaton county, Mich.; James A., of Battle Creek, Mich.; Eli S., of Coffeyville, Kan.; Nancy, widow of Truman BARNES of Pike Hollow, Wyoming county; Julia, widow of John R. FRANCISCO of Middlesex, Yates county; and John W.  The early life of the latter was spent in Alleghany county.  He was educated at Alford Academy, Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and finished his medical course at Albany Medical College, graduating in 1848.  He practiced in Albany five years, then located in Glen Aubrey, Broome county, where he practiced medicine three years, and was justice of the peace and postmaster.  He went to Kansas in 1856, but returned and settled in Warren county, Pa., where he practiced until 1869; he owned there many hundreds of acres of land and saw-mills.  January 14, 1869, he moved to Canandaigua, where he has since remained.  He owns many farms in the county, among them the Gorham Mineral Spring farm, which is very valuable.  Dr. POTTER has made generous benefactions to educational and benevolent institutions; he gave 150 acres of valuable land and $1,000 in money to Syracuse University.  The loss of his house by fire, in which was consumed many valuable papers, deprives him of important dates regarding his movements and deeds.  He has given up active practice, but is still willing to lend his aid amongst his friends.  He was married in Albany August 14, 1846, by the Rev. Mr. ARMITAGE, to Mary Lucetta CORNELL, and they have five children: James A., a farmer of Gorham; May J., who lives at home; George W., a civil engineer of Dodge City, Kansas; and Florence, wife of Amos C. KNEAR of Tidioute, Warren county, Pa.

 

 

POTTER

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 25   

William POTTER, the first member of this family of whom we have definite information was born in Toronto, Canada in 1817, died at Shortsville, Ontario County, NY in 1900.  He came to Machias, Cattaraugus county, New York, as a young man and engaged in farming.  In 1860 he removed to Palmyra.  He married Julia SLOVER.  Children: James K., referred to below; John W., Evans; Rebecca  who married Solomon BURTON. 

James K., son of William and Julia (SLOVER) POTTER, was born at Machias, NY on August 18, 1844 and is now living at Shortsville, Ontario County.  He received his education in the public schools of Machias and spent his early life assisting his father on the farm.  When his father removed to Palmyra, he went with him and lived at the home until 1864 when he enlisted in Company B, 11th New York Cavalry, in which he served until November 15, 1865, when he received his honorable discharge.  Returning to Palmyra, he engaged in various occupations until 1875, when he finally settled on a farm near Shortsville, which he managed until 1906.  In that year he moved into the village of Shortsville and entered into a partnership with his brother, John W. POTTER, the two conducted a coal business under the firm name of Potter Brothers.  He is a member of the Maccabees, and of Herendeen Post, No. 107, Grand Army Republic. 

He married in 1866, Mahala STAFFORD.  Children: Frank W., born November 28, 1866, married (first) Nellie MILLS and had two children, Irvin and Vernon; married (second) _____  ;  Charles H. born August 18, 1868 who married Juliaette MACUMBER and had three children, Hazel, Lloyd and Arline. 

POTTLE

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 126 

Emory B. POTTLE was born in Naples, July 4, 1815; elected o Assembly in 1846 on the Whig ticket; elected to Congress as a Republican in 1856; studied law with Sibley & Worden in Canandaigua and later engaged in practice as a partner of Alexander H. HOWELL.  He died in Naples, April 18, 1891.

 

POWELL

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 82a   

Shotwell POWELL, son of James and Martha POWELL, was born in Clinton, Dutchess county, New York, October 2, 1808.  He spent some time with his uncle, H. TOWNSEND, in New Jersey, and at the age of 15 years returned and lived with his mother.   He made good use of the district school, and was soon qualified for teaching.  He actively engaged in agricultural pursuits during the summer, and spent the winter in teaching school.  In 1832 he went to Michigan, then a territory, and purchased 320 acres of land fro the small sum of $400, lying adjacent to the village of Adrian.  In consequence of ague he removed to Dutchess county, and purchased sixty acres at thirty dollars per acre, and in 1844 sold the same for three thousand dollars, and came west and located in South Bristol.   When in Canandaigua, en route to Bristol, he was told that he "ought to be ashamed of himself to go there, as they could raise nothing but a little spring wheat."  But 30 years has demonstrated the fallacy of that remark, as Mr. POWELL's threshing bill last year amounted to $120.

Mr. POWELL was educated to believe slavery the sum of all villainies, war but blindfold mutual butcheries, intemperance a crime, and the legalized rum traffic the course of all curses, and capital punishment, judicial murder.  He has occupied many official positions, and among them that of member of the legislature of this State.  While in the legislature he was active in the performance of his day, and introduced bills to prevent slave-hunting; also for the repeal of capital punishment, and various others.  He opposed the corruptions of the legislature in city railroads, ferry bills, and other schemes for plunder.  He was a member of the Whig party, and subsequently became a republican, and remained with the organization until it became an ally of the rum power, when he abandoned it, and espoused the prohibition cause, and became an active member of that party.  He has successively received from the Prohibition party the nomination for member of assembly, senator, and canal commissioner.  Mr. POWELL has a home in Virginia, where he spends the inclement season of the year.  He was married to Sarah G. CLAPP, in 1835.  Their eldest son, T. J. POWELL, was born in 1837, and has invented several important improvements for unloading hay.   I. M. POWELL was born in 1839 (his wife's name is Edith), and is the occupant and owner of the farm and a practical agriculturist.  Their daughter, born in 1841, is the wife of William E. LINCOLN, also a successful farmer.  (Pictures of  Mr. & Mrs. Shotwell  Powell and Mr. & Mrs. I. M. and Edith POWELL on pgs. 82 a & b) 

 

POWELL 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 143

POWELL, Thomas J., Naples, oldest son of Shotwell and Sarah G. POWELL, was born July 23, 1837, in the town of Clinton, Dutchess county.  He, with his parents, moved to South Bristol, Ontario county, in 1844.  His education was obtained mostly at the district school and at home.  He taught several terms, four in his own district, and did surveying occasionally for a few years, but quit soon after he settled on the farm.  He enlisted to help put down the Rebellion, but was discharged after six months' service; was soon after drafted, but rejected on account of disability.  March 26, 1864, he and Emily EWER, oldest daughter of Isaac G. and Lydia Ann EWER of Mendon Center, Monroe county, were married.  They established their home on a farm in the adjoining town of Naples soon after their marriage, where they have since lived.  They have had two children:  Albert I., who is now married and lives with them; and Isaac S., who died September 24, 1892, soon after he had graduated, loved and respected by a large circle of friends.  Mr. POWELL has prospered as a farmer and has obtained several patents on hay cars, one of which especially has had a wide sale.  He is much interested in various reforms, particularly Prohibition, and has been for many years an active Prohibitionist,  being the candidate of the party in 1877 for member of assembly for Ontario county, since which he has been elected a delegate to the State Convention and nominated for town and county offices several times by the party.  He has been a vegetarian for some 25 years, not using even tea or coffee, and with Mrs. POWELL it has been almost the same.  In their over 29 years of married life they have enjoyed excellent health and no physician to doctor them or their children, except when the one died.  His wife has been a faithful and able helper to him, cordially co-operating in temperance and other reform work.  They are birthright members of the Society of Friends.  

 

POWELL   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 145 - 146 

POWELL, Shotwell, South Bristol, son of James and Martha (TOWNSEND) POWELL, was born in Clinton, Dutchess county, October 3, 1808.  He spent some time with his uncle Hugh TOWNSEND, in Plainfield, NJ, and at the age of 15, returned to Clinton and lived with his mother.  He was educated at the district school and at Westown School, Pennsylvania, working on a farm during the summer and attending school in winter.  In the summer of 1832 he was in Poughkeepsie, NY, at the Infirmary during the cholera.  The physician was a Thompsonian, and Mr. POWELL experimented in the theory of that practice, and became satisfied of its practicability and utility, and has relied upon it since when requiring medicine, but has generally adopted Napoleon's plan, i. e., when ill to abstain from food three days or longer, and has followed that successfully for more than 50 years.  In 1832 he went to Michigan (then a territory and wilderness), and purchased 80 acre lots at $100 each.  In 1833 he returned to Dutchess county, and purchased a part of the old homestead and commenced farming; where he remained until 1844.  He then sold the homestead and exchanged his Michigan land for his fine farm in South Bristol.  Mr. POWELL was elected to the Legislature in 1858-9, was active in the performance of his duties, and introduced the bill to prevent slave hunting, also for the repeal of capital punishment.  He opposed the corruptions of the Legislature in the city railroads, ferry bills, and other schemes of plunder.  Mr. POWELL has never sought for office.  Under the administration of JEFFERSON, MADISON, and MONROE he was a Republican, and under JACKSON's administration was a Democrat until 1840, when the Democratic party became the slave power, then he joined the Whigs till they adopted the same policy, and subsequently became a republican, and when they adopted the sixteenth resolution in platform he withdrew from them and joined the Prohibition party.  In 1835 he married Sarah G. CLAPP, and they have three children: Thomas J., a farmer of Naples; Israel M., born in 1839, now the owner of the homestead; Lydia Ann, born in 1841, wife of William E. LINCOLN of South Bristol.  Mr. POWELL has a valuable farm in Virginia, where he visits often, and has generally spent the winters.  He is hale and hearty in his 85th year, and reads without glasses, having never used them.  

 

POWELL  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 146 - 147 

POWELL, Adelbert W., Gorham, was born in Gorham, February 10, 1857, a son of William, also a son of William, who was a native of Pennsylvania and married Mary FISHER, by whom he had six children.  He died in Gorham.  William Jr., was a native of Pennsylvania, born in November, 1818, who came to Gorham when a boy.  In 1854 he married Mary WILSON, a native of Gorham, born January 28, 1828, a daughter of James and Hannah (RAY) WILSON, the former a son of James and Jane (OLAN) WILSON, natives of Pennsylvania and early settlers of Gorham.  William POWELL Jr., had three children: Fadella, who died in infancy; Adelbert W., and George W.  The latter was born November 3, 1839, was educated in Canandaigua Academy and Cornell University, graduating from the latter in 1885.  He is a civil engineer and resides at Bellville, IL, where he works for the Phoenix Powder Manufacturing Company.  He married Mary LINK, a native of Gorham, and they have two children: Oland W. and Leland S.  Adelbert W. POWELL was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy.  February 9, 1881, he married Mary, daughter of Stewart ELWELL.  Mr. POWELL and wife have four children: Newton D., Edith J., Ethel M., and Lillian M.  Mr. POWELL is a Democrat, and has twice been elected commissioner of highways, and he at present holds that office.  He and family are members of the Congregational church at Reed's Corners.  

 

POWER

History of Ontario Co., NY,   Pub 1893  pg 142

 

George P. POWER, Farmington, was born in Farmington, June 20, 1848, was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy and follows farming.  December 28, 1869, he married Mary A., daughter of Henry and Lydia ROSE, and they had two children, Frank C., and Lulu M.  Mrs. POWERS died July 23, 1884 and he married second on March 17, 1886, Carry D., the only daughter of Henry J. and Frances D. REDFIELD.  Andrew T., father of George P., was born in Farmington June 10, 1819.  November 17, 1840, he married Eunice EDDY of his native town and they had6 children: R. Bruce, who died at the age of 28 years; Emmer A., Truman, George P., Metta E., and William C.  Mr. POWER'S grandfather, William P., was born on the old homestead, March 4, 1795, and married Dorcas ARNOLD of this town, by whom he had 8 children.  His great grandfather on his mother's side, Abiather ARNOLD, was born in Adams, Mass in 1770 and came to Farmington when a young man. 

 

POWIS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 137  

POWIS, the late Richard, Geneva, was born in Greenwich, Kent county, England, July 23, 1779, was educated in the private schools of his day.  September 26, 1801, he married Sophia, daughter of Thomas and Sarah BRASS, who was born in London, August 20, 1784, and they had five children: Henry, George, Charles, Louisa, and Sophia.  They came to the United States about the year 1823, first locating on Manhattan Island, afterwards in the city, and soon after came to Seneca county to reside, where he died April 4, 1859.  Mrs. POWIS and daughter came to reside in Geneva soon after the above date.  Mrs. POWIS died February 26, 1870.  Sophia married M. Luther BELLOWS, of Seneca Falls, and they had three children: George P., who died at Geneva; Dudley M., and Louisa P., who married Rudolphus KENT, of Pennsylvania.  

 

PRATT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 144

PRATT, Reuben T., Gorham, was born in Gorham September 29, 1829.  His father was Elisha, son of Elisha, who resided in Rochester, Mass., in 1708, and had the following children: Nathan, Jonathan, James, Elisha, Lucy, Sally, Dorcas and Polly.  The history of Nathan and Jonathan is unknown.  James had four sons and three daughters.  Lucy married Banks BENNETT and had 6 children.  Sallie married Moses LARNED and had 11 children.  Dorcas married Nathan LOOMIS.  Polly married John WEBB and had 6 children.  Elisha, father of Reuben T., was born in 1778, and in 1801 came to Gorham and purchased a farm.  In 1806 Mr. PRATT married Elizabeth SAUNDERS, a native of Rhode Island, born April 24, 1788.  They had four sons and six daughters, of whom Reuben was the youngest.  Mr. PRATT for some time taught school.  He was also justice of the peace for twenty years and was a great hunter.  He died in 1846 and his wife in 1871.  Reuben was educated in the common schools.  In 1856 he married Sophia WORMLEY, a native of Hopewell, born November 6, 1835.  She was a daughter of Jacob and Samantha (THATCHER) WORMLEY, who had 8 children.  Mr. PRATT and wife have one son, Hubert A., born April 26, 1859, who married Mary ELLISON, a native of Seneca county, born at Farmersville, June 4, 1854.  She was a daughter of Melvin and Isabella (JOHNSON) ELLISON of Woodville.  Hubert and wife have a daughter, Helen G., born August 12, 1892.  Mrs. Hubert PRATT was educated in the Union School and Farmersville Seminary.  Reuben is a republican in politics and a member of Reed's Corners Grange.  He owns 110 acres of land, and his wife is a member of the M. E. Church at Rushville.  

 

PRATT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 334

PRATT, David, West Bloomfield, was born in Manchester, Vt., February 10, 1816.  His father, Joel, came with his family to West Bloomfield, traveling with two teams and occupying 13 days in the journey, and settled near where David now lives, in 1833.  David had one brother, James S. and a sister, Parley.  Subject was educated in Vermont, and married at the age of 34, to Angeline MATTESON, October 29, 1850, and a few days later his brother James married her sister, Adaline Maria.  His father, Joel, died in 1846, fifteen years after the death of his mother, Clarissa.  David had four children: Helen, who died aged sixteen; Agnes, wife of B. L. SCOTT, of Michigan; Charles, born in 1860, and resides with his parents; and one who died in infancy.  A part of his father's original purchase is now included in the farm of David, consisting in all of 160 acres of fine land.  Mr. PRATT is a republican, but has never accepted office, though the best the town afforded has been tendered him.  He has accumulated a comfortable fortune, and for nearly fifty years has never had to call on a doctor.

 

PRESTON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 137  

PRESTON, William E., Geneva, was born in Troy, September 4, 1847, was educated in the public schools and learned his trade as a stove mounter and pattern worker there.  September 1, 1863, he enlisted in Co. G, 146th New York Volunteers, was in all the battles before Petersburg and Richmond from the Weldon Railroad to the close of the Civil War.  He was taken prisoner at Five Forks, was taken to Libby Prison, and after a time paroled.  He was honorably discharged at the close of the war.  September 16, 1866, he married Ellen A. McMAHON, of Troy, and they have four living children: George W., William H., James E. and Ella.  Mr. PRESTON's father, William, was born in England in 1820, came to the United States in 1845, locating in Troy, and married Margaret LAWRENCE of his native home.  They had 9 children.  Mrs. PRESTON's father, James McMAHON, was born in Ireland in 1806, and came to the United States in 1845, locating in Ohio.  They had three children: John, Ellen A., and Rose.  Mr. McMAHON died in 1891, and his wife in 1892.  Mr. PRESTON's father died in 1864, and his mother is still living.  

 

PRESTON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 142 - 143  

PRESTON, William, Gorham, was born in Yorkshire, England, May 21, 1843.  He is a son of Richard and Sarah (ROBINSON) PRESTON, of Yorkshire, England, where they died.  They had six children.  William was reared by his grandfather, Thomas ROBINSON, a carpenter and farmer of England.  Wm. Preston & Co. owned a factory at Lyons, Wayne county, where Mr. JOHNSON is at present engaged in the manufacture of tile.  In 1874 William sold his interest in the firm and came to Gorham, where he purchased the David Wilkie Tile Factory, which he now owns, and also 100 acres of land upon which he erected a fine dwelling.  He averages 600,000 tile annually.  In 1873 he married Mary WORTHINGTON, daughter of Edward and Elizabeth (TOWNSEND) WORTHINGTON of England, who have three sons and three daughters.  They came to Lyons in 1857 and here the father died.  Mr. PRESTON and wife have six children: Edward T., Fannie E. (deceased), Charlie H., George W., Frederick W., and one child who died young.  Mr. PRESTON is a Democrat.  He is a member of the I. O. O. F. Stanley Lodge No. 434.  

 

PRESTON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 146 

PRESTON, Gerrit S., East Bloomfield, is a native of Victor, born June 24, 1848, a son of Orrin, a native of Orleans county, born June 27, 1810, who went to Victor and there married first Louisa FELT, and second Elizabeth, daughter of Jeremiah CRONK, an early settler of Victor, who had 5 daughters and 3 sons.  Orrin and wife had 4 sons and 2 daughters.  He was a carpenter and went to Indiana, and after several years went to Victor, where he worked at his trade for some time.  In 1848 he came to East Bloomfield and bought 90 acres.  At his death he owned 280 acres.  He was assessor several years.  About a year before his death (in 1875) he returned to Victor, where his wife died in July, 1882.  Gerrit S. came to East Bloomfield when a child, was reared on a farm and received an academic education.  In 1876 he married Sarah O. DEWEY, a native of Manchester, and a daughter of Howard and Mary (ARNOLD) DEWEY, the former a native of Suffield, Conn., and an early settler of Manchester, and the latter a native of Farmington and a daughter of Pardon ARNOLD, of Southfield, RI.  Mr. and Mrs. PRESTON have four children: Mary E., Howard D., Alice I., and Grace C.  Mr. PRESTON has for several years been a breeder of American Merino sheep.  He is a republican and was school commissioner of the Second District of Ontario county for six years.  He is a member of East Bloomfield Grange, of which he has been master one year.  

 

PRITCHARD 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 147  

PRITCHARD, M.D., George C., Phelps, one of 6 children of Benjamin and Jane Ann (STOUGHTENBURG) PRITCHARD, was born in Phelps, February 1, 1839.  Benjamin, the father, was born in Poughkeepsie, and his father, James, was born in London, England, and came to this country and settled in Poughkeepsie before the Revolutionary War, he being a silversmith by trade.  George C. was educated at Phelps Union Classical School and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, studied at the Hahnnemann Homoeopathic Medical College at Philadelphia in 1869, and has been engaged in the practice of his profession in Phelps since that time.  He married in 1865 Emogene, daughter of Col. William POST of Phelps, and they have two children: Stuart D. C. and Linda SUTHERLAND.  George C. PRITCHARD enlisted in 1862 in the 148th New York Regiment.  He was promoted to captain and assistant quartermaster, serving three and one-half years.  He served upon the staff of General DRAPER, of General Giles A. SMITH, and of Godfrey WETZEL, until mustered out of the service.  He has for many years been an elder of the First Presbyterian church, and has served as superintendent of the Sunday-school for 26 consecutive years.

 

PRITCHARD    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 334

PRITCHARD, Benjamin F., Phelps, one of six children of Benjamin and Ann (STOUGHTENBURG) PRITCHARD, was born in Phelps, January 19, 1843.  Benjamin, the father was born in Poughkeepsie.  The grandfather, James, was born in London, England, and came to this country and settled in Poughkeepsie, about the period of the Revolution, where he followed his trade of silversmith.  Benjamin F. PRITCHARD married first Emma A. ROSS, of Phelps, who died in 1869, leaving one daughter, Emma A.  In 1871 he married Carrie M. STARR, a native of Danbury, Conn.  They have two children, Paul C., and Suzo H.  Mr. PRITCHARD has always been a resident of Phelps.  About 10 years ago he went into a manufacturing corporation which continued for one and one-half years, when the company known as the Crown Manufacturing Company was formed, manufacturing grain drills, and grass seeders.  He acted as traveling agent of the company for about seven years, since which time he has been president of the company, giving his entire time to its interests.  The organization has a capital of $100,000.

 

PRICHARD

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 462 - 465   

James PRICHARD, the first of the line here under consideration of whom we have definite information, was a native of London, England, where he was reared and educated, and from whence he emigrated to this country, settling at Poughkeepsie, New York, prior to the Revolutionary War.  He was a silversmith by trade, which line of work he followed throughout his active career.  He married, and among his children was Benjamin, of whom further.

     ( II ) Benjamin, son of James PRICHARD, was born at Poughkeepsie, New York, in 1804.  He was reared and educated there, and upon arriving at a suitable age engaged in agriculture, from which he derived a comfortable livelihood, and became an affluent landholder.  He lived 83 years. He married Jane Ann STOUGHTENBURG, who bore him six children, among whom was George C., see forward.

     ( III ) Dr. George C. PRICHARD, son of Benjamin and Jane Ann (STOUGHTENBURG) PRICHARD, was born February 1, 1839, at Phelps, New York.  He acquired his education at Phelps Union Classical School and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and later matriculated at Hahnemann Homoeopathic Medical College at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, graduating from that institution in 1869, and since then has been engaged continuously in the practice of his profession at Phelps, gaining for himself an enviable reputation among his professional brethren, and the esteem and regard of his numerous patrons.  In the year 1883 he promoted the organization of the Crown Manufacturing Company of Phelps, New York, incorporated under the laws of the state of New York, capitalized at $100,000.  They are manufacturers of the Crown Grain and Fertilizer Drill and the Crown Wheelbarrow Grass-Seeder, and other implements.  Each machine is warranted to be well made, of good material, and capable of doing as good work and as much, as any machine in the market, under like circumstances.  For two years Dr. PRICHARD served as president, and for twenty-four years as vice-president and treasurer.  The plant flourished for twenty-eight years and was destroyed by fire in June, 1909.  It was then purchased by E. F. NEEDHAM, who is now (1911) serving as president.

In 1862, during the progress of the Civil War, Dr. PRICHARD displayed his love of country by enlisting in the 148th New York Regiment.  He was promoted to the rank of captain and assistant quartermaster, serving three and a half years, being on the staffs of Brigadier-General A. D. DRAPER, Major-General Giles A. SMITH, and of Major-General Godfrey WEITZEL, until mustered out of service.  Brigadier-General A. D. DRAPER with his staff, on the day of General LEE's surrender, rode into Richmond, participating in the release of our imprisoned boys from famous old Libby prison.  Abraham LINCOLN, at his visit to the Confederate Capitol at that period, allowed an impromptu reception while he for the hour occupied the Jefferson DAVIS White house.  He sat in the vacated chair of the collapsed Confederacy.  The privilege of a life time was the hand-grasp of the Greatest Man Living, who 4 days later was assassinated.

Dr. PRICHARD is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, in which he has served for 35 years as elder, as clerk of the session, and for forty-five years as superintendent of the Sunday school.  At the 25th silver anniversary of service in the year 1891, July, Rev. J.J. PORTER, D. D., pastor, in behalf of the Sunday school, presented the doctor with a beautiful steel engraving of the rich young man mentioned in the Gospel, which was resting upon a large nickel plated easel.  This was a complete surprise.  At the second anniversary of twenty-eight years, July, 1894, a second surprise---flowers beautifully arranged to represent the date were displayed as decorations of the day, had been properly placed in the Sunday school room.  An original poem by Mrs. Carrie Starr PRICHARD, a sister-in-law, was read: 

 

Eight and twenty years of service,

Loving, willing service too,

Calls for glad recognition

From thy fellow workers true.

So today we bring the lilies,

Fragrant, spotless, pure and fair,

God's sweet messengers of love,

His own smile on labors rare.  

Dr. PRICHARD was very pleasantly surprised on July 2, 1911.  The patriotic program arranged for the first half-hour of the Sunday school took a turn which he did not anticipate.  After the singing of a national song and a recitation by Miss Hazel MOTT, Mrs. W.D. NORTON, who was to have given a patriotic address, gave instead a reminiscent talk.  She told of the circumstances under which Dr. PRICHARD, a young man of exceptional ability, became superintendent of the Sunday school forty-five years ago, which position he has occupied ever since in a most loyal and acceptable manner.  When Mrs. NORTON finished her talk, which was beautiful and impressive, Rev. C.C. MacLEAN, pastor, in behalf of the Sunday school, presented Dr. PRICHARD with a handsome electric table lamp.  In his presentation remarks he said that it was merely a simple expression of the Sunday school's appreciation of the loyal, faithful and efficient service rendered by Dr. PRICHARD as superintendent for the long period of nearly half a hundred years.  Dr. PRICHARD responded briefly, but with very appropriate words.  The church was very beautifully decorated with flags and flowers, and the attendance was large.  The service will long be remembered by the Sunday school.  This brief resume of Dr. PRICHARD's many spheres of activity proves the broadness of his mental vision, and whether considered as a professional man, business man, soldier or churchman, he has been found to be a man true to himself and true to his fellows.

Dr. PRICHARD married (first) January 25, 1865, Imogene, born at Phelps, New York, July 25, 1839, daughter of Colonel William and Polly (SUTHERLAND) POST, of Phelps.  She died March 29, 1893.  Children:  Linda Sutherland, born May 28, 1870; Stewart D. C., born April 2, 1873.  He married (second) April 10, 1900, Harriet Amelia, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Isaac L. HUFF, of Waterloo, New York.

An original poem at the 60th birthday, 1899, my Mrs. Carrie Starr PRICHARD:  

Three score years have passed away,

Time's hand has sprinkled threads of gray,

And traced fine lines of care;

There's been time to work, and time to weep,

Of sorrow's cup I've drank, full deep,

In the loss of a jewel rare.

The promised span of life is past,

On the down hill side I'm walking fast;

Of years that none can recall,

There are clouds that float in clearest sky,

But the blue is there when they've pass'd by,

And the sun shines over all.

So let me take in coming years

More of life's courage and less of fears,

As I journey down the slope,

The crumbs that on life's waters I've cast

Be freighted, if returned to me at last,

With love an immortal hope.

Still I must up and labor on,

The night's not yet, the work's not done----

But the twilight comes apace---

What so bright as the sunset hour,

It's gold and crimsom, like the cardinal flower---

' Tis then we shall see His face.

At the present age of 72, February 1, 1911, Dr. PRICHARD retains full mental and bodily vigor, and conducts a large medical practice.

 

PRIMPS    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 328 - 329

PRIMPS, Joseph, Geneva, was born in Bavaria, Germany, December 3, 1823, was educated in the public schools of that country, and came to the United States about 1852.  He first located in Rome, Oneida county, for two years, and then came to Geneva.  In early life he was a farmer.  In Geneva he was sexton of the First Presbyterian church, also of the Dutch Reformed church, and sexton of the cemetery.  August 9, 1854, he married Barbara Frederica DORR, formerly of Wirtemburg, Germany, later of Geneva.  They had seven children: Joseph, who died in infancy; Joseph 2d, John, Mary, Frank, Margaret and Otto, all deceased except Joseph 2d and Mary.  The former married Amelia BUCKHOLTZ, formerly of Germany, and they have seven children: Lillian A., Augusta C., Nellie A., Emma B., Arthur J., Annie and Leah E.  The surviving daughter, Mary, married Frank C. DE MUN, of Geneva, and they had one daughter, Leah B., who died in infancy.  Mr. DE MUN was born in Waterburg, Tompkins county, February 4, 1856.  His father was a grain speculator, and he grew up in the same business; he also became an auctioneer.  Eight year ago he came to Geneva, and is now proprietor of a crockery and house furnishing store, being also a popular auctioneer.

 

PROUTY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 330

PROUTY, Phineas, Geneva, the pioneer of a highly respected family in the locality, was a native of Vermont, and settled at an early date in Schenectady.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812-15, and came a young man to Geneva, where he was for many years an enterprising merchant and straightforward business man.  His old stone building on Seneca street has been recently removed to be replaced by a more substantial structure.  He erected, also, the buildings on the historic Maple Grove farm, the property on which stands the noted "Century tree."  Phineas PROUTY's wife was Margaret VAN VRANKEN of Schenectady, by whom these children were born: Nicholas, who died in infancy; Harriet, who married Thomas HILLHOUSE of New York city; Sarah Augusta, who became the wife of A. L. CHEW; and Phineas Jr.  Phineas PROUTY Jr., was born in Geneva, November 8, 1829.  He was given a good education, read law, and was admitted to the bar, but abandoned professional life at his father's request, for mercantile pursuits.  He succeeded his father in the hardware business, and was for 13 years the partner of A. L. CHEW.  He was a man possessed of unusual business qualifications, shrewd and far-seeing in his investments, and the latter years of his life found him possessed of a well deserved competency.  He died July 2, 1891.  His wife, whom he married September 18, 1855, was Adalaide, daughter of Andrew M. COBLEIGH, and were the parents of six children, four of whom are now living.

 

PULVER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 331

PULVER, William, Gorham, was born in Gorham, August 19, 1842.  At the age of 14 he began as clerk in Gorham and continued till 1864, when he went to Penn Yan and clerked for J. T. SLAUGHTER till 1867.  He then spent two years with C. L. EASTMAN, having also been one year in partnership with him.  In 1871 he returned to Gorham and engaged in the general mercantile business, which has been very prosperous, his annual sales now averaging over $16,000.  Mr. PULVER is a Democrat and has been justice of the peace twelve years.  He was postmaster under Mr. CLEVELAND'S administration.  He is a member of the E. K. O. R. of Gorham, No. 62.  In 1861 he married Catharine C. TRAVER, a native of Ghent, Columbia county, a daughter of Albert and Helen TRAVER.  Mr. and Mrs. PULVER have three children: James A., a merchant of Stanley; Alonzo E., a carriage manufacturer of Gorham, and C. Lena, who resides at home.  The father of William was James M., a son of William, who was a native of Kinderhook, NJ.  Mr. PULVER Sr., was twice married.  By his first wife he had two children.  He married second Mrs. CAVERY, by whom he had 6 children.  James M. was born in Kinderhook and was a well-informed and thorough going business man.  He spent some time in teaching, and when quite young was elected constable.  From that time he studied law, and finally rose to the rank of a judge, in which capacity he acted several years.  He was also justice of the peace 24 years and was supervisor.  His wife was Lydia, daughter of John and Catharine (CORTLEYOU) SNYDER, by whom he had four sons and four daughters.  He died in 1877, and his wife is living in Gorham.

 

PURDY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 , pg 130

PURDY, Richard, Canandaigua, was born in Ireland May 12, 1819, and came to this country in 1846.  He first located at Farmington where he lived four years with Isaac HATHAWAY, then went to Canandaigua, spending 11 years with Mrs. JACKSON.  In 1861 he bought a farm in Penfield, Monroe county, where he spent five years and then bought his present farm, consisting of 123 acres with a beautiful residence.  He has never taken active interest in politics.  He married, in 1859, Anna, daughter of Guy McGOWAN, a native of Scotland.  Mr. and Mrs. PURDY have 7 children.  Mary J., widow of Henry F. BROOKS, resides with her son, Henry F., at home; her eldest son, George E., lives with his grandfather, Henry BROOKS.  James and William are farmers and live on a farm of 147 acres joining their father's.  James married a Miss Matilda JOHNSON in 1888.  John E., a farmer, lives at home; George R., a postal clerk, runs from Syracuse to New York; Lorenzo H., is a student at Canandaigua Academy.  Ellsworth is at home, a school boy.  

 

PURDY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 141  

PURDY, Alex. M., Manchester, was born in Wayne county May 31, 1835.  He received a good education in the schools of the vicinity and at the Friends' Boarding School.  Mr. PURDY has been engaged in horticultural pursuits and the nursery business for the greater portion of his life.  He is also editor of the Fruit Recorder and Evaporator, a publication devoted to these special branches of horticulture.  Mr. PURDY possesses a fine farm of 112 acres in close proximity to Palmyra, upon which he has an evaporating plant, and in which he uses large quantities of apples.  Alex. M. PURDY married first Mary REYNOLDS, by whom he had five children, and some time after her decease he married Phoebe J. DORLAND, by whom he had four children, seven living and two deceased.    

 

PURDY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 330

PURDY, Charles J., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, December 31, 1866, a son of James B., a native of Oswego county.  Charles J. was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, was attracted to the application of electricity for mechanical and scientific purposes, and engaged with the Excelsior Light Co. at Brooklyn, starting with them as an apprentice and rapidly rising to become an electrical engineer.  He assisted in the building of the electric light plant at Canandaigua in 1866 and then removed to Seneca Falls, where he filled the position of electrician and assistant superintendent for the Excelsior Light Co., for over a year, and then removed to Canandaigua to take charge of the plant.  His position is now superintendent and electrician for the Canandaigua Electric Light Co.  He married in 1890 Maggie TUOHEY of Canandaigua.  Mr. PURDY was elected in 1891 superintendent of fire alarms for the village.  He is a member of the Canandaigua Lodge No. 245 K. of P., and also of Canandaigua Lodge K. O. T. M. No. 168.

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]