Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
Q - R

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

RAINES

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 170 

John RAINES, the third John RAINES in line of descent, his father and grandfather, both Methodist clergymen, having been so baptized, was born in Canandaigua, May 6, 1840; educated in the common schools and the Albany Law School; practiced law in Geneva; Captain of Co. G., 85th NY Inf., 1861-63; settled in Canandaigua, 1867.  Member of Assembly, 1881-82, and 1885; State Senator, 1887-90; Member of Congress, 1891-94; State Senator, 1895 to the date of his death; President Canandaigua Board of Education, 1887-1909.  He died in Canandaigua, December 16, 1909.   

 

RANDALL 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 157 

RANDALL, William, Farmington, was born in Warwickshire, Eng., in 1826, and came to the United States in 1851, locating in Farmington, where he has been a successful farmer.  In October, 1852, he married Dinah Ann ALLEN, who was born in Oxfordshire, Eng., in 1830, and came here the same year.  They have 10 children: Edward, born in 1853; Frank, born in 1857; Cora, born in 1859; Durfee, born in 1861; Eliza, born in 1863; Albert, born August 25, 1865; Herbert, born October 10, 1867; Wilkinson, born in 1871; John, born in 1873; and Walter, born in 1855.  Edward married Charlotte JEFFREY, and has three children:  Florence, Herman and Mabel; Walter married Chloe MORRIS, and has three children: Grace, Gertie and Harriet; Frank married Mary DONAHOE; Cora married Frederick KNOWLES, and has two children, Mary B. and William E.; Durfee married Marion SOULE; Eliza married Henry HOWLAND; Herbert married Ida PARDEE; three are not married, Albert, Wilkinson and John.  The father and sons are all farmers.  The two youngest are farmers with their father at home.  Mr. RANDALL has resided on the farm he owns for 21 years.  

 

RANKINE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 149 

RANKINE, James, Geneva, was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, November 5, 1827, and was the son of John and Elizabeth RANKINE.  The family came to the United States in 1835, and settled in Canandaigua.  John RANKINE was a lawyer by profession but in this county devoted his attention to farming.  His sons, John and William RANKINE, however, both practiced at the Ontario county bar.  James RANKINE, our subject, prepared for a collegiate course at the Canandaigua Academy, and was graduated from Union College with the class of ' 46.  He then began studies with a determination to enter the Episcopal ministry, and after one year became connected with the faculty of Trinity College, at Hartford, Conn., where he remained six years, beginning as tutor and finishing his term there as assistant professor of mathematics; also being librarian of the institution.  While there, in 1850, he was ordained to the diaconate by Bishop BROWNELL, and likewise received the master's degree from the college.  In 1854 Mr. RANKINE resigned from Trinity and became rector of St. Paul's church at Owego, where he remained six years, after which, in 1861, he was called to Geneva to take charge of the Theological Training School, which Bishop DELANCEY was then about to establish, and which is now known as the Delancey Divinity School, and over which Mr. RANKINE has ever since had charge.  Soon after coming to Geneva our subject was made trustee of Hobart College, and in 1863 that institution conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Divinity.  Upon the death of the bishop in 1865, Mr. RANKINE succeeded in the charge of the mission called St. Peter's, the outgrowth and result of which is St. Peter's Memorial church.  This church and its parish have been under the pastoral care of our subject from the time of their founding, with the exception of a single year.  In 1869 the bishop and trustees of Hobart College called Dr. RANKINE to the presidency of the institution, a position he held for over two years, and after the period of difficulty had passed, he was allowed to withdraw therefrom and resume his parish and divinity school work.  In 1853 James RANKINE was married to Fanny, daughter of Charles B. WEEK, esq., of Canandaigua.  Of this marriage 9 children have been born, only 5 sons are now living.  

 

RANSOM  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 150 - 151 

RANSOM, Willard J., Canandaigua, was born in Manheim, October 20, 1839, a son of Samuel A., a farmer of that town.  He was educated in the common schools, and on reaching his majority came to Farmington to superintend a farm and conduct a milk station.  On August 29 he enlisted in the 160th N. Y. Volunteers, under Colonel DWIGHT.  He was at Port Hudson, Mansfield, Pleasant Hill, Winchester, Cedar Creek and many minor engagements, making twenty-three in all.  He was wounded at the siege of Port Hudson but not to disable him from further service, and was mustered out November 17, 1865.  He returned to Herkimer county where he followed lumbering for a year, then went to Buffalo and operated a saw-mill one season, and was conductor on a street car for a year and a half.  He worked for the N. Y. C. R. R. Co. for nearly three years, laying off on account of injuries and accident.  He was foreman for J. Ives & Co. in their saw-mill for over seven years, when he started a planing and shingle mill at Salisbury Centre, conducting it two years, and then sold out and came to Canandaigua, where he conducted the Lake Breeze Hotel for two years, and in January, 1886, he started a restaurant, which he conducted until September, 1892, when he moved into the block recently erected by J. J. DWYER, which he opened as a hotel, and as a popular host is winning the patronage of the traveling public.  The accommodations here are the best that can be found between Syracuse and Rochester on the Auburn Railroad.  Mr. RANSOM married, December 21, 1875, Annie, daughter of Thomas WAINMAN, of Jordanville, Herkimer county.  He is a member of the G. A. R. and of the K. of P.  

 

RANSOM  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 338

RANSOM, James, Victor, was born in Saugerties, Ulster county, September 25, 1835.  He was educated in the public schools and has always been a farmer.  March 4, 1856, he married Sarah S., daughter of Peter and Jane YOUNGS, of his native place, and came to Victor soon afterwards.  They have 6 children: Wilson B., George, Raymond J., Allen, Rose B., and Eveline.  Wilson B. married Ophelia RUGG of Victor, and have three children: Ella, Warren, and Norman.  George married Edith WELLS of Victor.  Raymond married Cora HARE of Macedon, Wayne county, and has one daughter, Adelaide.  Rose married Willard MANN of Saugerties, and they have one son, Roy.  Mr. RANSOM has acquired a fine property through industry, thrift and integrity.  He has changed the rugged features of nature and built a fine residence, which is fine in its architectural appearance, and the farm buildings are arranged in the best possible way for the care of stock.  His windmill cuts his fodder, grinds all kinds of grain, shells his corn, cuts his wood, and pumps his water for all purposes.

 

RAY

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 161 

RAY, Oscar Fitzallen, Canadice, was born in Springwater, Livingston county, March 6, 1841.  His grandfather, John, a native of New Hampshire, came from Virginia with his wife and six children in a one-horse wagon to Richmond.  One of his sons was John Jr., the father of Oscar.  After teaching school several winters, and working on the farm summers, he married Hannah C. BISHOP, of Richmond, and they had 8 children, four of whom survive: Martha, wife of Homer JOHNSON of this town; Barzillai, a farmer in Michigan; Richmond, in Springwater; and Oscar F.  The latter was educated in home district school and Lima Seminary, taught school winters and worked on his father's farm summers.  In 1866 he married Sarah THOMPSON, of Springwater, and settled on the Dr. AUSTIN farm, located in the southern part of Canadice.  They have two daughters: Mary Arabelle, born in 1874, and Marion, born in 1880.  Mr. RAY farms 375 acres, and is especially interested in stock raising---horses and Merino sheep, keeping a flock of about 200 sheep.  He has been assessor seven years, was supervisor in 1877-78-79, and is an active republican.  In response to a request from the National Committee that suggestions be sent to them for some new and improved method of selecting delegates for national conventions, among those sent in was the following plan by Mr. RAY:  "Let there be a convention called in each congressional district, said convention to be composed of a certain number of delegates from each assembly district within such congressional district; the congressional district convention to elect two delegates and two alternates for the national convention and nominate an elector.  Also three delegates and three alternates for a state convention that shall have the power to elect delegates at large and their alternates."  A report was adopted without discussion embracing all of Mr. RAY's recommendations, thereby largely doing away with ring rule.  All the family are Methodists.  Mrs. RAY's grandfather, Isaac BISHOP, soon after coming to Richmond, this county, was aiding at the raising of a barn, when a bent fell and pinned two men down.  The other was killed.  Mr. BISHOP was held by the neck, but a pin prevented the whole force of the blow from him, yet his injury was such that, though he recovered physically, he was never able to speak fully his thought, though he would understand when others spoke the word he lacked.  

 

REDFIELD 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 157 - 158

REDFIELD, Nathan, Farmington, was born June 1, 1834, in Livingston county, and came to Farmington with his parents when he was five years old.  He was educated in the common schools and followed farming.  December 9, 1857, he married Ruth, daughter of Burling and Hannah HOAG of this town, formerly of Greene county.  They have no children, and own a good farm in the southern part of Farmington.  Mr. REDFIELD's father, Ezra, was born in Hopewell, February 12, 1812.  He moved to Steuben county, and married Lucy A. BOLSTER, who was born September 12, 1806.  They have four sons: Nathan, William, Henry J. and George.  Mrs. REDFIELD's father,  Burling HOAG, was born in Baltimore, Greene county, April 8, 1802, and married Hannah BEDELL of his native place.  They have four children: Benjamin C., Hannah B., Ruth C. and Anna E.  Mrs. HOAG was born December 1, 1801, and they came here from Albany.  The railway extended no further in 1838.  Mrs. HOAG resides with her daughter, Mrs. REDFIELD, in her 91st year.  Mrs. REDFIELD's father, Burling HOAG, died in 1878.  Mr. REDFIELD's father, Ezra REDFIELD, is still living in the town.  His mother died October 14, 1851.  Mr. HOAG's grandfather, Eli NELSON, was impressed in the British navy for 7 years.  Mr. REDFIELD's brother, George, was a soldier in the Civil war, and was honorably discharged at the expiration of his term of service.  Mr. REDFIELD had been one of the assessors of this town eight years.  

 

RED JACKET or SA-GO-YE-WAT-HA

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 31 

RED JACKET, so named because of the richly embroidered scarlet jacket which he affected, was born about 1759, either what is now Canoga on the west bank of Cayuga Lake, where a monument commemorating the event has been erected, or at a Seneca village which was located on the west side of Lake Keuka, as stoutly maintained by some writers.  He died at Seneca Village near Buffalo, January 20, 1830.  His Seneca Name, Sa-go-ye-wat-ha, being interpreted, means "He keeps them awake".  In earlier life he was noted for his swiftness of foot and was called "O-te-ti-ani", meaning, "Always ready."  Was famed as a orator and participated in various Indian councils, including that held in Canandaigua in 1794.  Went on the war-path for the British cause in 1779 and in the struggle of 1812 took the American side, but in neither, gained fame as a warrior.  Wore with pride a large silver medal presented to him by President WASHINGTON at Philadelphia in 1793.  His remains now lie in Forest Lawn at Buffalo and above them stands a marble monument, which is surmounted by a bronze statue of "The Cicero of Indian Fame."

 

 

REED

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 237 

Philip REED came to the town of Richmond in February, 1795.  With him came his son, John F. REED, who was born in Paulet, Vermont, November 23, 1781.  On the 7th of October, 1807, Colonel John F. REED married Miss Antha STEEL, a native of Hartford, Connecticut, born November 22, 1785.  Their son, the principal subject of this sketch, - Wheeler REED - was born in Richmond, June 21, 1811, and married October 4, 1838 at Franklin, Michigan, to Miss Philia WIMPLE, whose native place was also the town of Richmond, where she was born, January 18, 1813.  They have had 8 children, Emily W., Almeron, Walter W., Louisa A., Harmon F., Norman K., Amelia and Adelia.  The eldest six are still living.  Colonel REED lives upon a part of the original purchase made by his grandfather in 1794, nearly his entire life having passed in this town; has always been identified with it; is one of its most honored citizens, himself and  family forming, as might be said, a chapter in the history of Richmond.

 

REED   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 149 


REED, John, Canandaigua, was born in Yorkshire, England, May 12, 1839, and came to this country in 1857.  Having an uncle, John CLARK, living in Canandaigua, he located here, and worked for his uncle by the month for a number of years, then became partner with him.  He spent two years on a farm in Gorham, then returned to this place where he made his home.  At the death of Mr. CLARK, December 28, 1890, the property, consisting of over 200 acres, was left to Mr. REED, who had become a member of the family by marrying Mary Eliza, the daughter (of John CLARK).  Mr. REED took little interest in public affairs, but devoted his attention to the success of his farm.  Mrs. REED died September 23, 1882, leaving no children.  Mr. REED married second, August 2, 1887, Mary Elizabeth HALL, a native of Yorkshire, Eng., and they have had two children: Mary E., born December 24, 1888, and John A., born July 5, 1890.  Mr. REED died September 30, 1891, death resulting from a fall while picking apples in his orchard.  Mr. REED was well known to the people of this section.  He was an honest, upright citizen, quiet in his manner, and a thorough business man.

 

 

REED  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 151

REED, Wm. Allen, Canandaigua, was born at Seneca Castle in Seneca, May 17, 1834, a son of Ward, who was a son of Taft REED.  He, with two brothers, Nathan and John, were the first of the family to settle in this country, locating near Geneva.  Taft was twice married and has 7 children by each wife.  Ward, a child of the first wife, was born January 25, 1799, and lived in Seneca.  He was a prominent man in church work at Seneca Castle, and was many years a steward and trustee of the Methodist Church.  He was twice married, to daughters of Thomas TALLMAN, a miller and farmer of Seneca.  His first wife, Amanda TALLMAN, lived but a short time, and his second wife, Matilda, he married in February, 1828.  She bore him two children: Amanda T., who married Munroe PHILLIPS, a farmer and hay dealer of Davenport, Ia., and William Allen.  Ward REED died in Seneca July 4, 1874.  Our subject was educated in the common school and Lima Seminary, and on reaching his majority bought a farm of 81 acres in Seneca, which he conducted three years, and then sold and bought one near Seneca Castle.  He lived there until 1866 when he bought a farm in Hopewell.  He came to Canandaigua in 1881, locating two miles north of the village, and selling out two years later and retiring from active business, he removed to the village of Canandaigua where he now resides.  He is an official member of the Methodist Church.  He married, in 1855, Esther A., daughter of John W. PADDOCK, now of Peoria, IL, by whom he had four children, but one surviving, Harriet C., wife of A. S. COOLEY.  Mrs. REED died May 14, 1877, and he married for his second wife, May 5, 1885, F. Munnette, daughter of Warren B. WITTER, and widow of E. Payson BIRDSEYE.  Mr. REED is a member of Albert M. Murray Post G. A. R., having been a member of the 148th Regiment N. Y. Volunteers.  

 

REED 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 153

REED, Joseph, Manchester, was born in Switzerland, October 28, 1828.  He came to this country 38 years ago, and after working six years by the month, he purchased in 1865 a farm of 125 acres, which he has since conducted most successfully.  He married Margaret LENNON and they have one child, William H.  Mr. REED has served as commissioner of highways, etc.  He is a staunch Democrat.  William H., his son, assists him in the management of his farm and other business.  He is a young gentlemen of superior attainment and education.  He married Cornelia HOLLENBECK, and they have one child, a boy.  Both Joseph and his son William H. enjoy the confidence and esteem of this community.

 

REED 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 153 

REED, Lewis J., Bristol, was born in Bristol, February 9, 1846.  His father is Seymour (son of George), who was born in Hartland, Conn., March 8, 1814, and came with his parents to Bristol when young.  He has been twice married, first to Roxena, daughter of George GOODING, of Dighton, Mass., and an early settler of Canandaigua.  She left one son, and died August 4, 1843.  Mr. REED then married Betsey JOHNSON, and had a son and a daughter.  Her father was Lewis JOHNSON, of New Jersey, who died in Canandaigua.  Mr. REED has been one of the leading farmers of Bristol, owning 200 acres of land.  In early life he was a Whig and afterwards a republican.  He was assessor for six years, and highway commissioner several years.  His second wife died in 1871, since which time he has resided with his son.  Lewis J. was reared on a farm and educated in Canandaigua Academy.  In 1872 he married Mary S. RAINES, of Canandaigua, born in 1851.  Her father was Rev. Joseph RAINES, of Hull, England, who came to Canandaigua when a young man.  He married Hannah GLOVER, by whom he had four daughters and six sons.  He was a local minister and preached in Canandaigua and Bristol.  He died in 1888 while living in East Saginaw, Mich.  Lewis J. REED and wife have had the following children: Lewis J. (deceased), Seymour, Clifford R., Mary E., and Grant S.  Mr. REED is a general farmer and owns 175 acres.  In politics he is a republican, and was supervisor in 1882.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F. & A. M., and Excelsior Chapter No. 164.

 

REED  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 155  

REED, James, Bristol, was born in Bristol, April 8, 1823, a son of George, whose father was George, a native of Hartland, Conn., who died in Bristol, where he came in 1819.  His wife was Nancy BUSHNELL, by whom he had five sons and five daughters.  He died March 25, 1835, and his wife October 1, 1844.  His son George was born in 1793 in Hartland, and came to Bristol in 1815.  He married Loretta, daughter of James CASE, by whom he had 6 children: Nancy, Betsey, George, James, William and Nelson.  His wife died in 1828, and he married Luna REED, of Hartland, Conn., by whom he had three children: Reuel, Purmelia, and Loretta.  He died August 3, 1837, and his second wife in 1868.  James was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and has been twice married; first to Sallie THOMAS, of Bristol, who was born September 17, 1828, by whom he had one daughter, Elizabeth, who married Horace CASE, of Bristol, and died June 24, 1876.  Mrs. James REED died in 1850, and the same year he married Lucinda, daughter of Stephen BEACH, whose father was Bernard, of Hartland, Conn., who came to Bristol about 1800.  Mr. REED and second wife have four children: George W., a farmer of South Bristol; Belle, wife of Warner J. SIMON, of Canandaigua; Martha, wife of Herman VAN VECHTEN; and Reuel J.  He married Emma HUNN, daughter of Thomas HUNN, and they have three children:  Ethel M., Fannie E., Bertha A.  Mr. REED owns 140 acres.  He is a Republican and has been excise commissioner for many years.  He and wife are members of the M. E. church, and Mr. REED has been trustee and steward for many years.  Abner REED, a brother of George REED Jr., was a local minister of Bristol, and preached 315 funeral sermons.

 

REED

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 159

REED, George (Sr.), of Hartland, Conn., came to this county in 1820, following with the rest of his family two sons who had come out earlier.  He settled in Bristol.  His wife was Nancy BUSHNELL of Connecticut, and they had five sons and five daughters.  His son Uriel was born in Connecticut and came here with his father.  He married Nancy FROST of Bristol about 1825, and there children were:  Corintha J., Marietta, Nancy Annis, Ann Elizabeth (all deceased), Uriel J., George W., a farmer in Richmond.  Uriel Jerome REED was born August 21, 1832, in Bristol, and at 10 years of age came with his parents to East Bloomfield and was educated at the common schools and at the Lima Seminary.  He came to this town and settled on the State road east of the village in 1869, where he has a fine farm and a comfortable home.  He married in 1856 Martha A. TOTMAN of Bristol, and they have three children: Homer J., born in 1860, a lawyer of Canandaigua; Ettie A., wife of Dr. Louis R. HEAD of Madison, Wis.; and Belle, at home with her parents.  Mr. REED has held the office of town assessor and in politics is a republican.  Mrs. REED's father, Ira TOTMAN, came from Luzerne, NY, to Bristol, and married in that town Nancy GREGG, whose grandfather came from Scotland to Massachusetts.

 

REED

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 159 - 161   

REED, Family The.  Philip REED and his descendants have constituted a large portion of the inhabitants of Richmond.  The oldest ancestor which can be traced is Jacob, who went from Saybrook, Conn., to Pawlet, Vt.  Philip, his son, came to Richmond with Lemuel CHIPMAN (afterwards judge and congressman) and Dr. Cyrus CHIPMAN, in June, 1794, on a prospecting tour, and in February, 1795, he arrived with his wife and children, John Fitch, Silas and Wheeler, together with a slave girl, and Isaac ADAMS, his assistant.  With Philip came the families of the CHIPMANS.  Sleighing was good, and the trip was made in 18 days.  Philip was the owner of $3,000 and considered a rich man in those days.  He bought in the western part of the town about 1,000 acres, to which he added later on, and gave each of his sons a farm.  Squire REED was a prominent man of the town.  He built a grist-mill and a saw-mill. He was justice of the peace for many years and the first poor-master of the place.  His wife was Margaret, daughter of Colonel FITCH, one of the "Bennington Boys."  After coming to Richmond they had three children: William Fitch Philip 2d, and Alta Fitch.  Mr. REED built the first brick house in town, from brick and lime manufactured on the place.  The compensation for the construction and painting was to be $400.00 of which $50 was to be paid in cash and the balance in "good cattle, wheat and pork," and a provision in the contract was that REED should "board the contractor, Lewis MOREY, and all the men he should employ, and to give each man during the time he should be employed two gills of whisky per day."  The original contract is now in possession of Mrs. F. D. SHORT, who occupies the old house, which was built during the year 1803.  Philip died in 1828 and his wife in 1833.  Colonel John Fitch REED, oldest child of Philip, was born in Pawlet, Vt., in 1782.  He married Antha, daughter of Isaac STEELE of New Hartford, Conn.  Of their 8 children, Wheeler 2d, Philip 3d, and John A. are living.  Wheeler 2d was born in 1811, educated at Canandaigua Academy and married in 1838 Phila G. WIMPLE (who died in 1890) and settled on the farm he now occupies, a portion of his grandfather's purchase.  He has 8 children.  Mr. REED has been assessor many years and built the farmhouse now occupied by his son, Norman K., in 1842.  His son Almeron, a member of the 1st N. Y. Mounted Rifles, served in the war nearly three years.  Mrs. REED's father, Jacob WIMPLE, came from the Mohawk Valley, and her grandfather, Dea. Nathaniel HARMON, came here from Vermont.  He was a relative of the CHIPMANS.  

Norman Kellogg REED, son of Wheeler 2d, born September 19, 1848, was educated at Canandaigua Academy, and has always lived on the home farm.  He is now owner with his father of that portion of the farm east of the road, and his sister Emily W. owns that portion west of the road, where she and her father live.  Norman K. married, in 1873, Caroline, daughter of Anson and Lucy Ann (BOWEN) ARNOLD, and they have two children: Eugene Lawrence, born September 11, 1878; and Irving, born September 27, 1880.  Philip 3d, son of John F., was born November 1, 1813, and married, in 1837, Louisa WEMPLE, by whom he had one son, Henry Harrison.  He married again in 1847, Emily BOSTWICK.  Mr. REED has been poor-master 23 years and commissioner of highways nine years.  He resided on his father's farm until the age of 34 years, then purchased his present farm.  He and his son have about 450 acres.  Henry Harrison REED, son of Philip 3d, was educated at Canandaigua Academy.  He was born December 12, 1840, and married in 1862 Elizabeth, daughter of Hiram GOODING.  They have six children: Fred G., born in 1846, a commercial traveler; Louise, born in 1867, an art teacher in De Mille College in Canada; Hallie; Philip 4th, born in 1874, a student at Lima; Murray E., born in 1877; Florence W., born in 1878, and Roy, born in 1879.  Deacon John Alexander REED, son of John Fitch, was born October 12, 1826; attended East Bloomfield Academy.  He married in 1854, Mary Eveline ASHLEY, daughter of Noah ASHLEY 2d, and they have had eight children: Mary Eveline, born in 1855; Edwin, born in 1858, who at the age of 21 years traveled in the west and died in Dakota in 1880; Martha, born in 1860, now the wife of Mr. WATERBURY of Lansing, Mich.; Anna L., born in 1863, now Mrs. GILBERT of Bristol; Frank A., born in 1865, married Violet QUICK, and lives in Wichita, Kan.; Augusta E., born in 1867; John F., born in 1869, now at Syracuse University; F. William, born in 1871, and Robert F. and N. Raymond (twins), born in 1876.  Mr. REED owns 240 acres, of which 180 acres was the home farm of his father.  His fine residence was erected in 1884, but the old house still stands.  It was built in 1820. 

 

Samuel Palmes REED was born February 17, 1827, and Charles Edward REED was born August 17, 1839.  Their father, William Fitch REED, son of Philip 1st, was born in this town in 1800.  He was educated at East Bloomfield Academy, and married Amelia C., daughter of Andrew PALMES, who came in 1820 from Litchfield county, Conn., but was a native of New London, and a Revolutionary soldier.  He died in this town in 1846 aged 91 years.  William F. had seven children: Caroline A., Samuel P., Theodosia, Martha, Edward, Charles E., Frances W., of whom only Samuel and Charles are now living.  William F. was a farmer, and was supervisor during 1839-49 and 1857-58.  He was commissioned by Gov. De Witt CLINTON second lieutenant of cavalry in the 12th Regiment.  He had of his father, Philip, 220 acres, and built a fine house in 1827, now occupied by the sons.  He died in 1862 and his wife in 1877.  His son Samuel P. was educated at Lima Academy and Canandaigua Academy, and taught school several years. He has never married, and has lived on the farm with his brother, Charles E.  The latter was educated at Lima Seminary.  He enlisted in the 148th N. Y. Vols., in 1862 as a private.  He was on detached duty as a sharpshooter part of the time, and was appointed first lieutenant.  He was in several engagements about Richmond, and commanded his company (G) at the close of the Civil war.  In 1867 he married Amelia B. WELLS of Michigan.  Her grandfather was an early settler of this town.  Mr. and Mrs. REED have had four children: James Wells, born in 1870; George Pitts, born in 1873; Caroline A., born in 1875; Lizzie M., born in 1884.  Mr. REED was supervisor in 1873-74-75-76, and is now (1892) filling that position.  He is a republican.  Philip 2d, youngest child of Philip 1st, was born in the brick house erected by his father in 1806, and died their October 18, 1857.  He married Betsey, daughter of Levi BLACKMER in 1827, and their children were: Gideon PITTS, born in 1828, died in 1853; Almon Clark, born in 1831, died in 1854; Henry Gilbert, born in 1836, died in 1877; Albert Stevens, born in 1839, is now in California; Thomas Richmond, born in 1841; Alice Eliza (died in 1861) and Adelaide Elizabeth (twins), born in 1845.  The latter is now Mrs. Fayette D. SHORT, and resides in the old brick house.  

 

REED   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 218 - 219

REED, Mason H., Gorham, was born in Gorham July 22, 1806, a son of Samuel, a son of Ezra, a native of Dutchess county.  Samuel married Lucy TOWNER of Dutchess county, and had five sons and a daughter.  About 1795 he came to Gorham and settled near Reed's Corners where he died in 1813, and his wife at 95 years of age.  Samuel was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mason H. married Clarissa NASH, by whom he had one son, Alvah (deceased), who married Caroline RODGERS and had three children.  He married second Lana BROWN of South Bristol by whom he had one child Lana, who died aged 6 months.  Mr. REED sold the old homestead and purchased another farm and now owns 150 acres.  Since 1845 Mr. REED has been a Democrat, and has been assessor twelve years, but never accepted any other office although urged to do so.  He gave the land at Reed's Corners on which the Congregational church stands; and attends and supports that church.  He also gave seven and one-half acres of the World's Fair ground in Gorham to the association in 1853.  Mr. REED has always been a temperance man.

 

REED  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 252 - 253

REED, Charles B., Bristol, a native of Bristol, was born September 12, 1847.  His father was William A., son of William, a native of Taunton, Mass., who came to Bristol in an early day.  He was a shipbuilder, and had two sons and a daughter.  William A. REED was born March 22, 1822.  His father died when he was 8 years old, and William A. was left to make his own way.  He first worked eight months for three dollars per month.  He managed to get a common school education, and for several terms taught school.  He was a great reader and a man well informed.  He married Mary A., daughter of Gooding PACKARD, and had two sons and a daughter: Charles B., William A. (deceased), M. Helen, deceased wife of Samuel MORANDA, of Bristol.  She left two children: Howard and Thurston.  During the last 15 years of Mr. REED's life he was engaged in mercantile business at Bristol Centre, and was very successful.  He was justice of the peace one term, supervisor five years, and was notary public for many years, and did an extensive business.  He (William) died March 29, 1888, and his wife resides in Bristol.  Charles B. was reared in Bristol Centre, and educated in the common schools.  He clerked in Canandaigua for John S. McCLURE, and afterwards clerked for his father 14 years.  Mr. REED is a natural artist, and although has but little time to give to that kind of work, has ornamented his home with very beautiful pictures.  Mr. REED is at present engaged in farming and hop growing, and has been a breeder of Shropshire sheep.  He is a republican, but not an aspirant to office.  He is a member of the Rod and Gun Club of Canandaigua, and Lakeside Gun Club of Geneva, NY.  October 22, 1876, Mr. (Charles) REED married Ella B. BROWN, born in Oneida county, December 17, 1852, daughter of Allen and Delilah (MANTORS) BROWN, of Oneida county, both deceased; they had also one son, Harrison, who died April 13, 1881, leaving two children: Nelly B. and Sada.  Mr. REED and wife have three children: Clara M., Cora A. (deceased), and William A.

 

REED   
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 337 - 338

REED, Henry, Victor, was born in Saratoga county, near the famous Springs, July 2, 1819, and came with his parents to Gorham, Ontario county, when he was eight years old.  Afterwards they came to Phelps, where he was educated in the district schools and Canandaigua Academy, and has been a farmer for several years.  January 1, 1844, he married Clarissa H., daughter of Jeremiah and Sally RICHARDSON of Victor, and they have had three children: Ernest R., who is well educated and married Lottie PARKS of Victor, and has two children: Vera L. and Urma P.; Lilia M., who married John FEIOCK, and has five children: Alice C., Henry R., John B., Clarence and Emmett L.; one of the daughters died.  In politics Mr. REED has always been a republican.

 

REED   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 339

REED, De Forest E., Gorham, was born in Potter, January 31, 1858, a son of Austin, whose father, Joshua, was a native of Italy, Yates county, and was the father of three sons and seven daughters.  Austin was born in Italy in 1825.  When a young man he went to Michigan and followed teaching several years, and there married Elizabeth IRWIN, a native of Champlain, born in 1830.  Her parents were James and Betsey IRWIN.  To Mr. REED and wife were born two sons and three daughters.  Mr. REED is a farmer of Yates county.  He is a republican in politics and has been assessor and excise commissioner.  He is a member of the Grange at Rushville.  De Forest E. was educated in Rushville Union School and is a farmer and carpenter.  In 1880 he purchased the WASHBURN farm of 110 acres, and the same year married Emma WASHBURN of Gorham, born December 17, 1855.  Their children are: Annie L., Orin W., and Frank C.  Mr. REED is a republican and was elected justice of the peace, but never qualified.  He and his wife are members of the M. E. church at Rushville.  The parents of Mrs. REED are Richard M. and Annie (GAGE) WASHBURN, who had one son and one daughter.  Mrs. Annie Gage WASHBURN was a daughter of Marvin, son of Amasa GAGE.

 

REED

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 397 - 398 

Joshua REED was father of Vincent REED, mentioned below. 

     ( II ) Vincent, son of Joshua REED, was born in Ontario, Canada, in 1811, died in 1878.  His calling was that of a farmer.  He was captain of the militia.  In religion he was a Presbyterian, and one of the elders of that church.  He married Bethiah REED, and they lived near Geneva, New York, where their children were educated.  Children:  Calista M., Elvira, Elizabeth, Charles, Joshua, Nathan, Vincent, mentioned below. 

     ( III ) Vincent ( 2 ), son of Vincent ( 1 ) REED, was born near Geneva, New York, October 21, 1846.  He was educated in the public schools of Geneva, and at the age of nineteen years moved with his parents to a farm in the town of Phelps, New York, where he has since been engaged in farming.  He is a member of the Presbyterian church at Oaks Corners, and has been elder and trustee for years.  On January 19, 1870, he married Alice, daughter of Henry and Louise CHURCH.  Children:  Alice, born December 11, 1872; Nelson C., February 18, 1875; Philip, January 22, 1877; Margaret, January 26, 1879; James S., April 26, 1881; Henry, July 4, 1883.

 

REESE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 336

REESE, E. D., Hopewell, was born in Hopewell, May 20, 1846, a son of Peter, who was a son of Peter, a native of Maryland, born April 6, 1765.  After marriage the latter went to Virginia, and after three years came to Hopewell and settled.  He drove through and was obliged to cut his own road.  About 12 years later he moved on the farm now owned by Peter Jr., and died in 1854, and his wife in 1853.  Peter Jr., was born in Hopewell, November 4, 1808.  His whole life has been spent in that township, and at present resides on the old homestead aged 84.  His first wife was Hannah KNAPP, and they had one daughter.  His second wife was Sarah STINTENBURG, a native of Hyde Park, Dutchess county, and they had five children, four of whom are now living.  Subject and wife are members of the M. E. church at Clifton Springs.  His wife died October 11, 1892.  Subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy and in Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, NY.  He is a republican and has been inspector of elections.

 

REID 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 154 

REID, William, Geneva, was born in Sterlingshire, Scotland, January 1, 1855.  He was educated in Scotland, where he also learned his trade, coming to the United States April 1, 1880, and locating at Troy, where he worked at the moulding trade.  He came to Geneva in June, 1885, entered the employ of Phillips, Clark & Co. for one year as molder.  He then became foreman of that department, which position he now holds.  August 4, 1886, he married Marian, daughter of Colin and Agnes HARVIE, of Geneva, and they have two children: Agnes W. and Helen Me.  Mrs. REID's father, Colin HARVIE, was born in Falkirk, Sterlingshire, Scotland, in 1843, and married Agnes CADDIE, of Glasgow, Scotland.  They came to Canada in 1859, and afterwards to Geneva.  They had 13 children, of whom 4 were born in the United States.  Mr. and Mrs. HARVIE live in Geneva.  

 

REILLY  

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 150 

REILLY, William H., Geneva, son of James and Bridget (HUGHES) REILLY, was born in Hopewell October 11, 1854.  At the age of 19 he went to learn the miller's trade at Seneca Castle.  In 1878 he came to Geneva, since which time he has been in the Geneva flouring mills, and in 1887 was made head miller.  In 1883 he married Johanna MURPHY of Geneva, and they have had five children: Alice B., Joseph (deceased), John (deceased), William and George.  

 

REMER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 150 

REMER, Simeon, Clifton Springs, was born in Newark, NJ, September 1, 1838.  He received an academic education, after which he was engaged in the grocery business in Newark for five or six years.  In the spring of 1857 Mr. REMER went to California and entered into wholesale mercantile transactions.  In 1863 he returned to New York city where he was employed for about one year in the grocery business, after which he was connected with the Adams Express Company for about eight years.  In 1872 he moved to Clifton Springs where he engaged in the produce and commission business with E. D. COPP for several years, which position he gave up to become connected with the Clifton Springs Manufacturing Company, in which he is a stockholder.  In March, 1893, a co-partnership was formed by E. D. COPP and S. REMER in the grocery business.  Mr. REMER was married in San Francisco, Cal., October 10, 1861, to Miss Mary FARRELL of Brooklyn.  They have six children, one son and five daughters.  Dr. John REMER of New York city is the son.  Mr. REMER's ancestors participated in the Revolutionary War and in the War of 1812.  Both he and his wife are active members of the Methodist church.  

 

REMINGTON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 253

REMINGTON, Thadious B., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, near Centerfield, January 11, 1819.  The first ancestor of this family was the grandfather of subject, Thadious REMINGTON, who came to this section from Vermont about 1792.  He settled on a farm on what is called Remington Hill, near Centerfield.  He was a very prominent man in the town, and was colonel of the militia regiment here an active man in politics.  He was also a prominent Mason.  He married before coming here, Betsey ROOT, and they had 8 children who reached adult age.  The father of subject was the oldest son.  His name was also Thadious, and he was born in 1794.  He married in 1818 Rhoda, daughter of Roswell ROOT, a county judge who came to this section from Connecticut, and brought his parents with him; his father, Abram ROOT, being one of the oldest men buried in the town.  He and his sons were both in the Revolution.  Thadious REMINGTON 2d had 6 sons, two now living: Thomas, of Michigan, and Thadious R.  The whole life of the latter has been spent in this town.  He was educated in the common schools, and has always followed farming.  He married in 1852 Maria MACK, and they had three children, two of whom are living: Alice C., wife of Bradford HICKOX, and Lydia M.  Mrs. REMINGTON died in 1862, and he married second Anna M. HENRY, of Revolutionary fame.  Mr. REMINGTON is still living at the age 73 years.  Mr. REMINGTON is one of the prominent men of this town, but has never taken an active interest in political life.

 

 

REYNOLDS

History of Ontario Co., NY , Pub 1893, Conover & Aldrich  pg 162

 

R. T. REYNOLDS, dentist, 27 Seneca street; residence 156 South Main street, Geneva, NY.  (1900 Census for Geneva: Rosiette T. REYNOLDS, b. Oct 1838, dentist; married 13y; Margaret L., wife, born Apr 1860 NY; birth 1/1 living; Robert L., son, born Oct 1893 NY)

 

RHIND 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 158 - 159  

RHIND, Duncan, Canandaigua, was born in Inverness, Scotland, January 14, 1851.  His father was James RHIND, gardener for the McKINTOSH family, whose son, David, succeeded him in the same capacity.  James RHIND had eight children, of whom Duncan is the oldest son.  He died in 1889.  Duncan RHIND was reared a gardener and first worked for James GORDON, afterwards for Mr. ELLIS, M. P., at Invergarry.  He afterwards went to Closburn Hall in Dumfrieshire, and then to Drumlanrig Garden, the seat of the Duke of Buceleuch, where he was second foreman.  In time he went to Edinburgh, where he was engaged in garden planning.  Here he perfected his education as a horticulturist and landscape gardener.  In April, 1875, Mr. RHIND came to America and was first employed as foreman for Mr. KELLIE at Ellerslie, on the Hudson River, the present seat of Vice-President MORTON.  Here he became noted as a plantsman, and after several years came to Canandaigua, and for six years was employed by F. F. THOMPSON.  He became famous for growing large bunches of grapes.  He was next employed as superintendent of Wanamaker's gardens in Philadelphia, where he made many improvements, and was also a short time with Alexander BROWN of Torrysdale.  In 1885 he was awarded a medal by the Horticultural Society for growing the largest bunches of foreign grapes in Pennsylvania, and in 1886 took all the first premiums given by that society and was awarded a medal.  In 1887 Mr. RHIND came to Canandaigua and purchased the Cassius SUTHERLAND farm, where he has since resided.  He devotes his attention to the breeding of graded Jerseys and the raising of fruits.  He married Mary Louis, a native of Rochester, by whom he has one son, Louis D., a student of Miss GOODING's private school in Canandaigua.  Mr. RHIND has been a member of most of the important secret societies of this country.  

 

RICE  

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 155 - 156

RICE, Frank, Canandaigua, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, January 15, 1845.  His maternal ancestor came to the town of Seneca from England, and his paternal grandfather from Massachusetts, and were among the earliest settlers in that part of the county.  Mr. RICE's father, at the time of his death in 1891, owned one of the farms purchased by them.  During his early years Mr. RICE worked on the farm summers and attended school winters.  When 11 years old he entered the private school of Dr. TAYLOR at Geneva, where he remained one year.  Returning home he remained until he was 15, when he spent one year in the Geneva Classical and Union School.  He was in the Canandaigua Academy three years under Dr. Noah T. CLARKE, and in the fall of 1864 entered Hamilton College, from which he was graduated in 1868.  In the following year he began the study of law in the office of Comstock & Bennett at Canandaigua, and there laid the foundation for the legal attainments that afterwards enabled him to rise to a commanding position in his profession.  He began practice in 1870, and in 1875 was elected district attorney and re-elected to the same office in 1878.  In 1882 he was nominated by his party for the Assembly and elected by 1,266 majority, reversing a Republican majority of the previous year of 1,223.  The Legislature was Democratic that year, and Mr. RICE attained a prominent position among the leaders of his party.  He was chosen chairman of the committee on privileges and elections, and also served as a member of the judiciary, insurance, and other committees.  His greatest victory was achieved in 1883 when he was re-nominated for the Assembly, and the opposition nominated a strong candidate and made a special effort to defeat him.  In the face of this fact Mr. RICE was re-elected by a majority of 241, while the county went Republican by 692.  In that year he was nominated in the Democratic caucus for speaker, but as the Legislature was Republican, he was not, of course, elected; he, however, became the leader of his party on the floor of the House.  In 1884 he was elected county judge of Ontario county, being thus honored with the fifth victory in a Republican county.  He was serving his fifth year as county judge when he was nominated by his party in Syracuse in 1889 for secretary of state, and elected by more than 20,000 majority over John I. GILBERT, Republican.  Mr. RICE was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention in 1880 which nominated General HANCOCK for the presidency, and served as secretary of the New York delegation.  He has also been a delegate to nearly every State convention since that time, and was a member of the Democratic State Committee in 1888.  He was a delegate to the State Convention of February, 1892, and a delegate to the National Convention held in Chicago which nominated Grover CLEVELAND for president in 1892.  He has been a candidate for office seven times and was never defeated.  The fairness and ability which characterized his work in the office of secretary of state secured for him re-election in 1891 by a majority of 38,173 over Eugene F. O'CONNOR.  

 

RICE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 335

RICE, the late Henry O., was born in Washington county, July 6, 1833, and went with his parents to Oswego county when a young man.  August 30, 1862, he enlisted in Co. D, 147th N. Y. S. Vols., was honorably discharged April 9, 1863.  December 15, 1863, he married Elizabeth, daughter of George and Diantha HOWLAND of this town, they moved to Farmington where he died May 21, 1879.  Mrs. RICE's father, George HOWLAND, was born in Adams, Mass., January 28, 1791, and came here with his parents when six weeks old.  January 10, 1819, he married Diantha ROBINSON, who was born October 10, 1795.  Her father was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  They had two children: Abram, born July 6, 1822, and Elizabeth.  Abram married Phebe MACUMBER of Farmington and they had two children: Mary and Lucilla T.  Mary married Henry C. OSBORNE, and Lucilla married Winfield S. MIAK.  They have one daughter, Angeline M.  The farm has been owned continuously in the family 102 years.

 

RICE

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 406   

Terrence W. RICE, nurseryman of Geneva, New York, belong to that class of citizens who, although undemonstrative in their natures, nevertheless form the character and mold the society of the communities in which they live.  This class it is that develops our great manufacturing interests, spreads our commerce, and furthers enterprises of all kinds.  They, above all others, develop our cities and towns and they alone deserve credit for it. 

John RICE, father of Terrence W. RICE, was born in Dundalk, Ireland, in 1845 and came to this country about the year 1868.  He was industrious and painstaking and was a foreman in the Washington street nursery for a period of about twenty years.  He married in Ireland, Catherine RAFFERTY, born in that country in 1849 and died in America, June 22, 1902.  She was a lovable woman and devoted to her home and family.  Children: 1. John P., born 1870, married in February 1892 to Anna S. DAILOR, and their children are John F., born in 1904; Timothy R., 1905, Marie, 1907, Helen, 1908.  2.  Terrence W., mentioned below. 

Terrence W., son of John and Catherine (RAFFERTY) RICE was born August 4, 1872, and owes his present high standing in the financial and social world to his own unaided efforts and energy.  His education was the usual one acquired by a boy in moderate circumstances, but this has been largely supplemented by later study and keen powers of observation, together with the desire to make progressive advancements in the calling he adopted and for which he seems to be so eminently fitted.  He commenced at the bottom of the ladder and in this manner has  become thoroughly acquainted in a practical manner with even the smallest detail s in his business.  Now he is at the head of one of the largest wholesale and retail nurseries, and the business is increasing annually at a very satisfactory rate.  Mr. RICE has about one hundred acres of land under cultivation, employs from thirty to fifty men constantly, and his annual sales amount from $65,000 to $75,000.  He has dealings will all parts of the United States and Canada, and bears a well deserved reputation for the quality of the goods which he delivers, which consist of fruit and ornamental trees, shrubs of all kinds and other plants generally to be found in nurseries.  He is a member of the Catholic church and in politics entertains independent views.  His social affiliations are with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Columbus, and the Grange.  The industry and energy of Mr. RICE are exemplified in his career, and his courage and fidelity to principle are worthy of emulation.  Scrupulously honorable in all his dealings, he bears a reputation for public and private integrity second to that of no man in the land.  Mr. RICE married February 7, 1910 to Helen A., daughter of James MOONEY

 

RICE

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 331

 

C. Willard RICE, a lawyer and counselor at law of Geneva, New York, is a member of one of the older families of the state of New York. The old Rice farm in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, New York, consisting of 125 acres has been in the family for 120 years and is still in the possession of the family.   It was taken up directly from Phelps and Gorham by the great-great-grandfather of C. Willard RICE

Charles, paternal grandfather of C. Willard RICE, was born in Seneca, New York, in 1812.

(II) Edward H., son of Charles RICE was born in Seneca, New York, May 2, 1842, and died February 5, 1893. He was engaged in farming and general business, making a specialty of cattle raising and produce. He married, Lucy, daughter of John and Lucina (BAXTER) DIXON. Children: C. Willard, see forward; and Isabella D.

C. Willard, only son of Edward H. and Lucy (DIXON) RICE was born in Seneca, New York, June 2, 1872, his preparatory education was acquired in the Canandaigua Academy, and he then became a student at Hamilton College, form which institution he was graduated. For a number of years he was engaged in teaching, and served as supervisor of schools at Seneca Falls for a period of six years. He was admitted to the bar in 1907, and immediately opened offices in Geneva, New York, where he is still located. He is a supporter of the Democratic party, and has served the city as alderman and supervisor.

 

RICE 

 History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 332

 

The present work would be incomplete were it not to record the life of Frank RICE, an eminent lawyer of Canandaigua, Ontario county, New York, who has risen to a position in the first ranks of his profession by a series of successful efforts, who has achieved prominence as a statesman and whose tenure of office has always been beneficial to his city, state and country.

Frank RICE was born in Seneca, Ontario county, New York, January 15, 1845. His preparatory education was acquired in the Geneva Classical and Union School and Canandaigua Academy, and he then matriculated at Hamilton College, from which institution he was graduated in 1868. Subsequently he read law in Canandaigua, and was admitted to the bar in June, 1870. His rise in his chosen profession was a rapid and uninterrupted one and soon after his admission to the bar he became clerk in the surrogate's office, a position he filled with success for several years. He was elected to the office of district attorney of Ontario county in the fall of 1875, reelected in 1878, holding the office altogether for a period of six years. In 1882 he was elected a member of the assembly, and reelected the following years. In the fall of 1884 he was elected to the office of county judge, resigning this honor at the expiration of five years in favor of that of secretary of state, to which office he had been elected in the fall of 1889. He was reelected to fill the latter office in 1891. Since retirement form that office he has been engaged in the active practice of law in Canandaigua. He had formed a co-partnership with Bradley WYNKOOP, January 1, 1876, and this association is still in force at the present time (1910). Mr. RICE is a member of the Chi Psi fraternity, and a charter member of the Red Jacket Club, of which he as served as vice president for many years.

 

RICHARDS

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, 109-110  

Allen Becker RICHARDS, a native of Pennsylvania, who served in a New York regiment during the Civil war, is now a retired businessman of Geneva, where he has reside for nearly sixty years. 

Michael RICHARDS, father of Allen B. RICHARDS, was born in Maxatawny, Pennsylvania in 1800, was a lifelong resident of that state and died in 1880.  His wife, Ada RICHARDS, was also a native of the Keystone state, born in 1809, died in 1899.  Children: 1. Allen Becker, see forward; 2. Azuilla, born in 1832, now the widow of Unie ZEIGLER, who died in 1901, their children Emma and Albert; 3. Mary, born in 1834, married Nathan HERTZOG and had eight children; 4. Walter, born in 1842, is married and has two children; 5. Milton, born in 1845, died in 1907, had six children; 6. William born in 1847, married Emma _____, and has one child.   

Allen Becker, son of Michael RICHARDS, was born in Maxatawny, Pennsylvania, September 1, 1830; died October 10, 1898.  Provided with a good practical education, acquired in the public schools and possessing excellent business ability, he established himself in the saddlery business at Geneva, New York, in 1854, and resided there until his death.  For more than thirty years he conducted a profitable business, dealing in all kinds of harness and kindred article, and retiring in 1886, was succeeded by his son, Alfred W.  Toward the close of the Rebellion he gallantly responded to the call of his country for additional troops, enlisting September 12, 1864, in the 188th Regiment, New York Volunteers, and he was honorably discharged from the service near Washington, District of Columbia, July 1, 1865.  In 1889 he visited Europe, accompanied by his wife, remaining abroad one year, and again crossing the ocean in 1892, they spent another year in foreign travel.  He was widely known and highly esteemed.  In politics he was a Democrat, and he attend the Baptist church. 

Mr. RICHARDS married at Waterloo, New York, November 11, 1855, Emma A. FLINN, born in Geneva, January 26, 1836, daughter of William H. and Prudence (DENNISON) FLINN.  Children of Mr. and Mrs. RICHARDS: 1. William, born September 1, 1858, married Harriet DECKER and resides in Geneva; 2. Milton, born January 9, 1860, married Mary LUDLOW in 1882 and their only child, Emma, became the wife of Warren SHAW in July 1905; 3. Alfred W., born March 20, 1862, succeeded his father in the business, which he continued until 1898, and is now conducting an extensive real estate business in Geneva.  He married Georgia BUSH, of Geneva in 1882; 4. A daughter,  who died in birth.   

William H. FLINN, Mrs. RICHARD's father, was born near Geneva in 1809; died in that town, August 11, 1845.  He was a tanner and carried on business in Geneva.  Prudence DENNISON, his wife, whom he married in Oxford, New York, December 31, 1832, was born in Connecticut, in 1807; died in Geneva, January 3, 1887.  both were members of the Methodist Episcopal church and actively engaged in church work.  Children: 1.  Clarissa Elizabeth, born in Connecticut, February 23, 1834, died in March 1885 and had married Joseph DAVIS who died in 1900; 2. Emma A., married Allen B. RICHARDS, as previously stated; 3. William Horace, born in Geneva, November 22, 1841; died in early childhood.

 

RICHARDSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 151 - 152 

RICHARDSON, Charles A., Canandaigua, was born in Freetown, Cortland county, August 14, 1829, a son of Curtis RICHARDSON, a farmer, and a grandson of William RICHARDSON, a soldier in the War of the Revolution from the State of Rhode Island.  At the age of 20 he entered the academy at Homer, NY, and completed the course of studies at that school, and after teaching for a short time, he commenced the study of law in the office of S. V. R. Mallory, esq., at Canandaigua and was admitted to the bar in 1856.  He then went to Nebraska, but returned in 1860 and entered upon the practice of his profession at this town.  In 1862 he assisted in recruiting the 126th Regiment N. Y. Infantry, a three years regiment, and was commissioned therein successively first lieutenant, captain and major, the latter commission having been issued the 14th of June, 1864, he was not mustered in under it.  He was discharged September 3, 1864, on account of wounds received June 16, 1864, in action in front of Petersburg, Va.  He was with his regiment in the battles of Harper's Ferry, Gettysburg, Auburn Ford, Bristow Station, Tolopotomy, Cold Harbor and Petersburg, having been wounded also at Gettysburg.  After his discharge from the army he resumed the practice of law, in which he has since continued.  Major RICHARDSON held the office of county treasurer, during the most critical period in the financial history of the county for six years, from the first day of January, 1865, during which nearly a million and a half dollars indebtedness was paid, and he was surrogate of the county for six years from the first day of January, 1874.  In 1886 he was appointed one of the commissioners of the State of New York to determine the positions and movements of the New York troops engaged on the battlefield of Gettysburg and to erect monuments thereon to the regiments and batteries of this State so engaged.  He initiated this patriotic movement in 1885, and procured the endorsement thereof by the veterans of his regiment, by a resolution adopted at their reunion held on the 26th of August of that year at Canandaigua, and also by the veterans of the 111th N. Y. at Sodus Bay on the following day, and thereupon he drafted the bill which was introduced at the next session of the Legislature by Senator RAINES, and which became a law, whereby Major-General Daniel E. SICKLES, Major-General Henry W. SLOCUM, Major-General Joseph B. CARR, Major RICHARDSON and Adjutant-General Josiah PORTER were appointed commissioners to carry into effect that act.  Major RICHARDSON, by direction of the commissioners, also drafted the act of 1887, specifying the monuments to be erected by the commissioners and prescribing their duties relating thereto.  The work of the commissioners on the battlefield was completed and the monuments dedicated with appropriate ceremonies in July, 1893.  Too much praise cannot be given Major RICHARDSON for his active interest in this matter.  Major RICHARDSON has also been connected officially with many local enterprises.  

 

RICHARDSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 221 

RICHARSON, Silas, Victor, was born on the farm on which he now lives, August 15, 1805, was educated in the district school which his grandfather helped build, has always been a farmer and to this day does all the garden work.  He married twice, first, December 18, 1826, Hannah SNEDIKER of this town, and had two children: Charles S., who has been dead about 38 years, and Mary, who married Stephen LOMBART, and resides in Michigan.  Mrs. RICHARDSON died October 23, 1853, and he married second, on September 20, 1854, Adeline LADD, and they had three children: Jeremiah C., who died in 1876; Elias L., born May 31, 1863.  He was educated in the public schools and Fort Plain Academy, and was a farmer having charge of the homestead farm.  June 23, 1887, he married Carrie E., daughter of Andrew and Gertrude KETCHUM of Perrington, they have one son, Howard S.  John M. was born September 16, 1866, was educated in the public schools, and is treasurer of the Electric Motor Manufacturing Company in Chicago, IL.  March 8, 1889, he married Kate M. MINOR of Canandaigua, and they have one daughter, Lina C.  Mr. RICHARDSON's father, Jeremiah, was born in Hartland, Vt., May 10, 1778, and married Sally SEYMOUR of the State of Connecticut.  She was born November 25, 1789, and came to Mayfield, now Fulton county. His grandfather, Thomas, came to Victor in the year 1800, and his father, Jeremiah, in the year 1802.  His grandfather, Thomas, when at work on his farm in Vermont heard the cannonading on Lake Champlain in the War of 1776, went to his home, took his wife and family to his father, made a small bundle, picked up his rifle and served three years until independence was declared.  His birthday was the 4th of July, and up to the time of his death he invited his friends and celebrated the occasion in a fitting manner.  Mr. RICHARDSON's father sold his wheat one year in Canandaigua for 25 cents a bushel, at the same time traded eight bushels of wheat for one pound of tea, and when about to build a barn went to Albany and purchased nails for the same at eighteen cents per pound.  Mr. RICHARDSON has been justice of the peace 12 years, and is a member of the Universalist church, and his father was in the War of 1812 at the time Buffalo was burned.

 

RICHARDSON

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 1-2   

Major Charles A. RICHARDSON, son of Curtis RICHARDSON, who was a farmer in Freetown, Cortland county, New York, has been conspicuously in the public eye, not only as a soldier, but as a lawyer and statesman as well.  He was born in Cortland county, New York, August 14, 1829. 

He became a student at Cortland Academy in Homer, New York, from which institution he was graduated.  He commenced the study of the legal profession in Canandaigua, Ontario County, New York and was admitted to the bar in 1856.  After spending four years in traveling throughout the west, he returned to Canandaigua in 1860 and opened offices for the practice of his chosen profession.  In 1862 he gave up his law practice and entered the service of his country, being active in recruiting Co. D., 126th New York Volunteers.  He was commissioned 1st lieutenant of that company, and in the same year received his commission as captain with rank from November 1862.  At the battle of Gettysburg, July 2, 1863, he was wounded and given a leave of absence and returned to duty in September following.  In the early part of 1864 Captain RICHARDSON was commissioned major, and at the battle of Petersburg, Virginia, June 16, 1864, was severely wounded and permanently disabled by a rifle ball, which passed through his face.   He subsequently was re-mustered into the service, with the rank of major dating from June 16, 1864, and on September 3, 1864, received his honorable discharge from the army on account of the wounds received.  He again returned to Canandaigua and resumed his interrupted practice of the law, continuing along that line until 1895.  The republicans of Ontario county nominated him by acclamation for the office of treasurer of the county in 1864; he was elected and held the office for six years, his administration being noted for efficiency, and he was elected to the office of surrogate in 1873, serving in that capacity for a similar period of time.  In 1886 he was appointed one of five commissioners to determine the position and movements of the troops of the state of New York who had been engaged in the battle at Gettysburg, and he is still the incumbent of that office.  In 1895 he was appointed by the secretary of war as one of the commissioners of the Gettysburg National Park Commission, their duty being to mark by monuments the positions and movements of all troops, both Union and Confederate, engaged on that historic field; also to determine and mark the lines of battle; construct and maintain avenues and restore

And retain the topographical features of the battlefield.  This position he still holds at the present time (1910).  Major RICHARDSON took an active interest in establishing and developing Woodland Cemetery in Canandaigua, which is now one of the most beautiful in the state, and he has served as trustee and treasurer since the organization of the association.  He has also served as trustee and secretary of the Ontario Orphan Asylum for many years, and in various ways has contributed to the welfare and advancement of the community in which he resides.  Scrupulously honorable in all his dealings with mankind, he bears a reputation for integrity and fidelity, and being sociable and genial in disposition has won and retained a wide circle of friends.  Major RICHARDSON never married.

 

RICHMOND

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 159-161  

The RICHMOND family had its origin in Brittany, the name being derived from the French riche and monte, and is spelled in early English records as RYCHMONDE.  RICHEMONT and finally, RICHMOND.  The family is still to be found in France, and the name is common in England.  The English coat of arms is: Argent, a cross patience fleury azure between four mullets gules.  Crest: A tilting spear argent headed or, broken in three parts, one piece erect, the other two in saltire, enfiled with a ducal coronet. Motto: �Resolve well and preserve.�  The progenitor of the English family came with William the Conqueror and was the first Duke of Richmond.

(I)                  John RICHMOND, the immigrant, said to have been born in Wiltshire at Aston, Keynes, where the old Richmond manor house is still standing, was baptized there in 1597.  He came to America about 1635 and was one of the purchasers of Taunton, Massachusetts in 1637.  George RICHMOND, possibly a cousin, was engaged in business in Saco, Taunton.  John is mentioned in court records March 7, 1636, showing that at that time he was engaged in trade, and it is thought he may have returned to England.  He returned to Taunton, however, and died there, March 20, 1664, aged 70 years.  His name is often on the court records in 1636-37.  He was of Newport for a time, and one of the commissioners from that town in 1656.  He took the oath of fidelity in Taunton before 1640.  The part o the town where he owned land is still called Richmondtown.  His will is dated December 14, 1663, and was proved October 29, 1669.  Children: John, born about 1627; Edward, mentioned below; Sarah, 1638; Mary 1639.

(II)              Captain Edward RICHMOND, son of John RICHMOND, was born about 1632.  He married first Abigail, daughter of James DAVID and second to Amy, daughter of Governor Henry and Elizabeth BULL.  He died in November 1696.  He had a share in Westerly, Rhode Island, 1661.  he was general solicitor in 1667-69-70-72; was lieutenant in 1676 and he and his men captured seven Indians in King Philip�s war; clerk of a court martial that condemned to death some Indians; was one of the grantees of East Greenwich in 1677; attorney general 1667-78-79-80; deputy 1678-79; selectman 1683-85-89-90; captain in 1690.  He was a member of the church of England.  His gravestone is to be seen on the old Richmond farm at Little Compton, Rhode Island, inscribed: �Here lyeth the body of Edward RICHMOND, Captain, who departed this life in ye 63rd year of his age, Nov. 1696�.  He was one of the incorporators of the town of Little Compton.  Children of first wife: Abigail born 1656; Edward 1658; John 1660; Elizabeth Dec 6, 1666; Mary 1668; Esther 1669; Silvester, mentioned below; Sarah.  Children of second wife: Henry and Ann, born at Little Compton.

(III)           Colonel Silvester RICHMOND, son of Captain Edward RICHMOND, was born at Little Compton, formerly Dartmouth, Massachusetts, now Rhode Island, in 1672.  He married in 1693, Elizabeth, daughter of John and Elizabeth (Pabodie or Peabody) ROGERS, granddaughter of John ROGERS of Duxbury, Massachusetts, great granddaughter of John and Priscilla (Moline or Mullins) ALDEN, who came in the �Mayflower.�.  She was born in 1672 and died October 23, 1724.  He married second, February 18, 1728, Deborah, widow of Thomas LORING and daughter of John and Sarah (Hawks) CUSHING.  She was born in September 1674.  He died November 22, 1754.  and his widow, October 18,1770.  He was commissioned lieutenant, July 25, 1710 and colonel, April 25, 1742.  He was justice of the peace in 1711 and 1729.  He held a number of slave, but set them free and settled them on land in Dartmouth.  His tombstone at Little Compton is inscribed: �Colonel Sylvestre RICHMOND of Dartmouth.  Died November 22, 1754.  In the 81st year of his age.�  An obituary of his wife, noting her Mayflower ancestry, was published June 17, 1717 in the Boston News Letter.  Children, all by the first wife: William, mentioned below; Elizabeth born May 10, 1696; Sylvester, June 30, 1698; Peleg, October 25, 1700; Perez, October 5, 1702; Ichabod, February 27, 1704; Ruth, March 7, 1705-6; Hannah, July 9. 1709; Sarah, October 9, 1711; Mary, November 29, 1713; Rogers, May 25, 1716.

(IV)             Judge William RICHMOND, son of Colonel Silvester RICHMOND, was born in Little Compton, October 10, 1694; married July 8, 1729, Anna GRAY, born January 29, 1702, died at Bristol, Rhode Island, October 9, 1762.  He died February 22, 1770.  She was a daughter of Thomas and Anna GRAY.  He was one of the assistants of the governor, 1753-55; judge; town clerk, 1731.  children born at Little Compton: Barzillai, April 13, 1721; Ephraim, May 5, 1723; Elizabeth, February 26, 1725; William, August 20, 1727; Perez, mentioned below; Ichabod, October 18, 1731; Thomas, December 13, 1733; Mary, December 26, 1735; Sarah, January 8, 1738; Silvester, October 7, 1740, Abigail, February 26, 1744.

Judge Perez RICHMOND, son of Judge William RICHMOND, was born at Little Compton, October 13, 1728-29 and died November 23, 1800-01.  He married February 3, 1754, Mercy CHURCH, born September 18, 1734, died October 24, 1813, daughter of Thomas and Edith (Woodman) CHURCH.  He was appointed to enlist minutemen in Little Compton, June 1775.  He held various town offices and was a leading and influential citizen; auditor of town accounts; moderator of town meetings, six years; judge of probate court, and president of the town council.  He was a mild old gentleman, fond of children and popular.  He lived for 50 years or more opposite the head of Meeting House Lane, on the place lately owned by Fred R. BROWNELL, Little Compton.  He was quartermaster and enlisting officer for Little Compton, and was one of a committee �who shall use diligence to procure arms and accoutrements� in 1776. He was killed by a fall from his horse.  Children, born at Little Compton: Sarah, August 24, 1756; Ruth, September 6, 1758; Elizabeth, March 9, 1760, married Isaac HATHAWAY (see HATHAWAY); Mary, September 29, 1761; Thomas, September 5, 1764; Benjamin, July 11, 1765; Anna, March 24, 1767; Charles, September 28, 1768; Mary, April 5, 1770; Charles, July 9, 1773; Hannah, December 17. 1775.

 

RIGBY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 377

RIGBY, Henry, Geneva, was born in London, England, in 1840, and at the age of 11 years went to learn the cigar trade, in which he served 7 years.  In 1869 he came to America and stopped in Syracuse for three or four years.  In 1880 he began the manufacture of cigars in Geneva, and in 1866 married Eliza JONES of London.  They have had 10 children, five of whom are now living.  He is a member of St. Peter's Episcopal church, and is a republican.

 

 

RIGNEY

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 140 - 141   

Martin RIGNEY was born in county Kings, Ireland and came in 1851, when a young man, to this country, landing at New York City.  He followed his trade as a baker in that city for 3 years and in 1855 came to Bloomfield, New York, where he was employed at first as a farm laborer.  He bought a farm there in 1870 and conducted it the remainder of his life.  He died there in 1880.  His widow (Mary) continued on the homestead and carried it one until her death in 1887.   He married Mary MC GORY, also a native of county Kings, Ireland.  Children: Maria, John, James, Martin, Keiran, Sarah, Edward E., mentioned below.

Edward E., son of Martin RIGNEY, was born at West Bloomfield, New York, November 28, 1865.  He worked on his father�s farm when a boy and attended the district school.  He began to follow farming on his own account at the age of 20 on the homestead in partnership with his brother, James.  Two years later he spent a winter in Florida in the orange groves.  Upon his return he purchased of his brother, Martin, a general store at West Bloomfield and he conducted the business very successfully for many years.  He still owns an interest in this business.  In May 1893, he opened what is known as Rigney�s Department Store in the village of Holcomb, Ontario county and has built up a large and prosperous business.  Since 1902 he had had a farm at Holcomb and since that then he as acquired and conducts three other farms.  He is a prominent Democrat.  During President CLEVELAND�S administration, he was postmaster of West Bloomfield.  He is at present supervisor of the town of East Bloomfield and he is an influential member of the board of supervisors of Ontario county.  He has shown much public spirit in working for the welfare and development of the county. He made a vigorous and successful fight for the establishment of the State Tuberculosis Hospital in this county.  This institution is located at Oak Mount, East Bloomfield.  Mr. RIGNEY has been chairman of the Democratic state committee.  He is a member and a generous supporter of the Catholic church.  He married in June 1905, Marguerite, daughter of Cornelius and Marguerite O�NEIL, both natives of Ireland, who came to this country and settled on a farm at East Bloomfield.  They have one child, Edward E., born October 5, 1908. 

 

RIKER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 154

RIKER, Henry L., Hopewell, was born in Clinton, January 31, 1814.  His father was Henry, a son of Henry, who was a native of Germany and came to this country, first to Long Island and then to Dutchess county.  Henry RIKER Jr., was born in Clinton in 1774, and married Susan LYONS, a native of Clinton, and daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth LYONS.  By his first wife he had two sons.  She died in 1814, and he married second Lydia HODGE, of Massachusetts, by whom he had four children.  He was town collector for many years and died in 1831.  Henry L. RIKER had a common school education, and has always been a farmer.  He married in 1835 Ann C. THORPE, a native of Dutchess county, and they have had four sons and four daughters: Sarah E., George W., Martha A. (deceased), William N., Melville G., Annie L., Cora A. (who resides at home), and Frank T. (deceased).  In 1837 they moved to Cayuga county, remaining until 1868.  Mr. RIKER came to Hopewell and purchased the farm where he now resides.  He is a republican, and he and his wife are members of the Friends Society.  The parents of Mrs. RIKER were James and Sarah THORNE, of Dutchess county, and Somerset, Mass., respectively.  Mr. and Mrs. THORNE had five children.  He named the village of Clinton Hollow and organized the first post-office in 1816, of which he was the first postmaster.  He was superintendent of the Clinton schools, and for many years overseer of the poor.  Mrs. THORNE died in 1865, and Mr. THORNE August 6, 1872.    

 

RIKER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 157     

RIKER, W. H., Hopewell, was born in Cato, Cayuga county, August 15, 1839, a son of Henry L. RIKER.  December 18, 1861, he married Fannie E. VORCE, a native of Conquest, Cayuga county, born June 3, 1842.  She is a daughter of Harris and Minerva (JOHNSON) VORCE, natives of Dutchess county, who reared three children.  His first wife was Fannie SPAULDING.  His father, Daniel VORCE, was a Quaker, and the family is of Holland extraction.  Harris VORCE died August 2, 1873, aged 71 years, and his wife died  February 26, 1888, in her 71st year. 

Mr. RIKER and wife have one daughter, Clara B., wife of W. H. MEGAFFEE of Reed's Corners.  They have one daughter, Leontine.  Mr. RIKER spent two years in gold mining and prospecting in Montana, Idaho, and Utah, and in Salt Lake City during one of their conventions.  He returned to Cayuga county and spent two years, also one year in Ontario, and then removed to Iowa, where he engaged in farming and stock dealing.  In 1874 he came to Hopewell, and worked his father's farm five years.  He then purchased 100 acres in Gorham, and has since bought 50 acres in Hopewell.  Mr. RIKER is a republican and has been delegate to State Conventions at Rochester and Albany.  He now resides in his pleasant home in Chapinville.  

 

 

RIKER 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 239

RIKER, Melville G., Hopewell, was born in Cayuga county, June 14, 1844, a son of Henry L.  Subject was reared on a farm, and educated in the common schools, and has always been a farmer.  He is also a real estate dealer.  In 1867 he married Sarah L. COLE, a native of Cayuga county, born in 1844.  Her parents are Peter and Lavira COLE, natives of Ulster county, and early settlers of Cayuga county, where they now reside, aged respectively 86 and 81 years.  Mr. COLE and wife have 8 children, all of whom are living.  The children of Mr. RIKER and wife are: Charles M., Carrie A., Wilfred C., and Annie L.  Charles M. is studying mechanical and electrical engineering in Cornell University, and Carrie is in Union school at Canandaigua.  Mr. RIKER came to Hopewell in 1869, and in 1884 purchased the Joseph GATES farm.  He is a republican, and has been assessor three years.  Mrs. RIKER and her eldest daughter and eldest son are members of the Congregational Church at Canandaigua.

 

RINGER  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 148 

RINGER, Mrs. Elizabeth, Geneva, is a native of Phelps.  Her late husband's father, William RINGER, was born in the town of Seneca on the farm he now owns, December 28, 1818, and has been a lumber dealer and farmer.  October 6, 1846, he married Jane HOGAN, formerly of Albany county, and they had these children: George, died in infancy; William H., who married Martha A. PARKER; Charles E., who married Elizabeth FOTHERGILL and had two children: Stella M., George E., and James M., who married Annie WILLIS of Dresden, Yates county.  Chas. E. RINGER died June 3, 1890.  William RINGER's father, Solomon, was born in Maryland, October 25, 1789, and came to Geneva in 1805.  He married Elizabeth ELYEA, born November 24, 1787, and they had five children: John, Anna, William, George W., and Lyman.  Solomon died June 21, 1872, and his wife February 3, 1864.  The grandfather, John RINGER, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.  

 

RIORDAN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 336

RIORDAN, Patrick, West Bloomfield, was born March 15, 1832, in Tipperary, Ireland, and emigrated to America in 1851.  He located in Syracuse, but two years later went to Pittsford, where he lived two years.  In 1855 he came to West Bloomfield, where he has since resided.  For three years he worked at farming, then purchased a small farm, and 20 years later sold that and purchased one of 120 acres of Mr. PALMER, formerly owned by Hon. John DICKENS.  He owns also another farm south of the village.  In 1857 he married Mary WHIBY, of County Tipperary, Ireland.  They have had five children: Mary, wife of James CURRAN of this town; John; Ellen, wife of John MURPHY of this town; Lizzie, wife of John NEWMAN, of East Avon; and Henry.  Both sons are aiding their father in the carrying on of the farms.  They are of the Catholic faith.  Mrs. RIORDAN is dead.  Mr. RIORDAN was appointed census enumerator for this town for the last census.  He is a Democrat.

 

RIPPEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 372

RIPPEY, Mary A., Seneca, the oldest living daughter of George and Margery RIPPEY, resided with her parents as long as they lived, and now is an honored resident of Stanley.  Her mother's father, Ninian CHAMBERLAIN, was a native of Adams county, Penn., born October 1, 1751.  July 5, 1784, he married Elizabeth EWING of that State.  He was employed as master of transportation in the Revolutionary war, through all the vicissitudes and hardships so nobly borne in the struggle for independence.  His brother, James, was a colonel in the war.  After the close of the war Ninian resumed farming.  In 1807 he moved his family to Cayuga county, where he purchased 325 acres of land from Lucius ELMENDORF and succeeded well, but a defective title nearly ruined his temporal prospects, still he still he was not discouraged.  He bought a portion of it back with the aid of his seven sons and his wife, who under all circumstances was a true helpmate.  To her assistance, in a great measure, he owed his success, having an abiding trust in God.  In his dealings with his fellow-men his integrity was never questioned.  He and his wife were honored and upright members of the Reformed church of Owasco village, then a mere hamlet.  He died December 20, 1833, aged 82 years, and his wife March 15, 1855, aged 87 years.  All their children were at his funeral, and all but one (who died) were at their mother's funeral. They reared 13 children in lives of usefulness, seven sons and six daughters.  

RIPPEY   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 375 - 376

RIPPEY, Hamilton, was born at Stanley in the town of Seneca, October 4, 1817, and followed farming.  November 19, 1843, he married Harriet DODGE of this town, and they had one son, Aaron C., born May 2, 1844.  He was educated in the public schools.  He is a farmer and has been justice of the peace nearly nine years.  March 12, 1868, he married Sarah A. CAMERON, of Shawangunk, Ulster county; they have two children: Hattie L., and Lawrence C.  Mr. RIPPEY's father, George, was born in Yates county, Pa., August 17, 1781, and came to this State about 1808.  May 14, 1812, he married Margery CHAMBERLAIN, formerly of Cayuga county, NY, and they have seven children: John, Hamilton, Mary A., Sarah, George C., Jeremiah C., and Elizabeth M.  His father died about 1860, and his mother 1875.  Mrs. RIPPEY's father, William DODGE, was born in Bridgewater in the eastern part of this State in 1787, and married Nancy BARKMAN.  Later they came to Western New York.  Their children were: Eleanor E., Harriet N., George W., and Rachel M.  Mr. and Mrs. RIPPEY attend the Presbyterian church at Seneca.

 

 

ROBERTSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 153 

ROBERTSON, Charles F., Canandaigua, was born in Geneva, March 30, 1850, a son of John B., a native of Yates county, born in Benton in 1824.  The latter early learned the carpenter's trade, and followed contracting and building all his life.  He was engaged in building in Canandaigua from 1860 until his death in 1885.  He married when a young man Sophia J. FLOWERS, of Benton Centre, and they were the parents of four children: Martha S., wife of James A. ELLIS, of Canandaigua; Mary C., wife of George H. STANNARD, of Buffalo; Jane E., of Canandaigua; and Charles F.  The early life of our subject was spent in the town of his birth.  In 1858 his parents came to Canandaigua, where Charles was educated in the common schools and the academy, and after leaving school took up the trade of his father, which he followed.  In 1880 he began to take contracts for building in this town and erected some of the finest residences, conspicuous among them being the residences of Editor HUNTINGTON, James S. COOLEY, and many others.  Mr. ROBERTSON has always taken an active interest in politics, has been village trustee, and in 1891 was the president of the village.  He is a republican, and was among the first to agitate the subject of having a Union Free School established, and being a member of the board, he followed it until it was made a success.  He married in 1877 Alice M. MATHER, of Canandaigua.  He is a Mason and has represented his lodge in the Grand Lodge as master for two years, and was M. E. H. P. of Excelsior Chapter No. 164 one year.

 

ROBINSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 156 - 157  

ROBINSON, John S., Canandaigua, was born in Penfield, Monroe county, April 15, 1827.  When but a child his parents moved into Manchester, where he was educated in the common schools and a select school taught by J. P. FAUROT, one of the oldest lawyers of this town.  After leaving school he engaged with John LAMPORT in his foundry at Canandaigua, and in 1854 he engaged in the business for himself and went into the manufacture of railroad work for the Broad Gauge road running from Elmira to Niagara Falls.  Mr. ROBINSON was undoubtedly the first one to make a chilled plow in the United States.  While he was foreman for John LAMPORT in 1852 he was making plows, and thought that he could make a plow with a chilled surface on the wearing side of the mould board, and he did cast a mould board on a chill that year.  The idea lay dormant from this time until 1873, when, after many experiments, he made it a success and was granted a patent March 24, 1874, for the process of chilling and carbonizing plow mould boards and other castings.  In 1876 he went to Syracuse and the Robinson Chilled Plow Company was organized for the manufacture of chilled plows.  This company is now known as the Syracuse Chilled Plow Company.  In 1877 he returned to Canandaigua and with his son, E. C. ROBINSON, is now conducting the Robinson Chilled Plow Works in the old manufactory, the only company now manufacturing plows that is not a stock organization.  Mr. ROBINSON married in 1850 Jane UTTER of Canandaigua, and they have three children: Edson C., Mary S., wife of Rev. J. E. WERNER of Haddonfield, NJ; and Margaret, wife of Samuel WOOD of Haddonfield, NJ.  Mr. ROBINSON has always taken an active interest in political affairs in his town, and has twice been elected village trustee.  Edson C. ROBINSON was born in Canandaigua, December 22, 1854, educated in Canandaigua Academy, and after serving two years as bookkeeper in his father's office, he joined his father in 1878 as partner in the Robinson Chilled Plow Company.  He married, September 26, 1877, Kate SHAW of Rochester, and they have five children: Edson E., Ella Shaw, John M., Ray Utter and Leon Wood.  Mrs. E. C. ROBINSON died December 9, 1892, age 38 years.  

 

ROBINSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 239

ROBINSON, Simon P., Manchester, was born in Manchester, February 3, 1823.  He is of Connecticut ancestry on his father's side and Mohawk Dutch on his mother's.  He has followed agricultural pursuits nearly all of his life, also conducting a hotel in Phelps for twenty years.  He has held a number of town offices, overseer of the poor, district trustee, etc.  He is a staunch Democrat and a valuable party worker.  He has also had charge of the Gypsum Cemetery for many years.  He married a Miss (Aner) MOSIER, and they have had three children, the oldest child being deceased.

 

ROBINSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 241

ROBINSON, Willis H., of Flint, Ontario county, was the third son of David A. and Melissa A. ROBINSON.  He was born in Canandaigua, January 6, 1854.  He was educated in the public schools and in early life lived with his parents on a farm near Gorham village.  At the age of 15 he with his parents moved to what was then known as Flint Creek (now Flint), where he still continued farm work for three years.  At the age of 18 he began work with his father at the heading business.  At the age of 21, he purchased a one-half interest in the business and became his father's partner, and continued in partnership with him until 1885, at which time he purchased his father's interest, and has since carried on the business alone.  The business has steadily grown, and in 1891 it amounted to nearly $12,000.  In 1892 the business was interrupted by a disastrous fire, and new buildings and machinery have taken the place of the old ones on a much improved plan.  November 7, 1876, Mr. ROBINSON married Sarah A. STEWART of Seneca, and they have one son, Stewart A., born December 22, 1884.  Mrs. ROBINSON's father, John E. STEWART of Penn Yan, Yates county, married Esther LA FURGE of Seneca, to whom, while living in Penn Yan, was born the one daughter, Sarah A.

 

ROBINSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 339

ROBINSON, Wesley D., Seneca, was born in Springwater, Livingston county, November 28, 1843.  He was educated in the common schools and five years in Canandaigua Academy, and is a teacher by occupation.  July 23, 1862, he enlisted in Co. D, 126th N. Y. S. Vols., mustered into the service August 22, 1862, and was severely wounded in the thigh at the battle of Gettysburg.  After recovering to some extent he was transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps in 1864, and was honorably discharged August 22, 1865.  He has married twice, first Eliza L. TRACY, of Grand Rapids, Mich., in February, 1868, who died in 1876.  He married second, February 28, 1878, Emma J. EATON, of Campbell, Steuben county, and they have had two children, a son, Claude A., who died when he was two years old, and Charlie D., born December 21, 1882.  Mr. ROBINSON's father, David A., was born in Scipio, Cayuga county, May 27, 1820, and was a farmer by occupation.  He married Malissa A. BOTSFORD, of his native place, and they had eight children: Wesley D., R. Lewis, Ellen M., Salome A., Frances E., Willis H., Charles H. who died at the age of three years, and Alfred E.   Mr. ROBINSON was elected justice of the peace in 1881, serving until the spring of 1893, when he was re-elected.

 

 

ROBISON

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg. 172

The family of ROBISONS are derived from a blended race, and were residents of Pennsylvania prior to 1700. John Decker ROBISON was born in Columbia County, N.Y., May 11, 1742. He served while but a youth as a volunteer in the French and Indian War, and rendered valuable service to the patriot cause during the war of the Revolution. James, a brother and John, upon their own responsibility, made an arrest of Tories, which led to the exposure of the notable plot, widely discussed at the time. James, a son of John Decker ROBISON, was born in the same county as was his father, on January 4, 1772. At the age of sixteen he was employed with Nathaniel SANBORN to drive one hundred head of cattle in the western country. These cattle were intended as a present to the Indians to conciliate their friendship. They arrived at the outlet of Cayuga lake when there was not a white inhabitant between Fort Stanwix (Rome) and Geneva. Apprised of their arrival at the lake, men came down the Seneca river with two bateaux from Geneva, and crossed to the farther shore; these bateaux were so connected by timbers as to form a ferry boat of sufficient size to carry eleven head of cattle at a load. With much labor they crossed the drove, and arrived with their charge at Geneva, June 3, 1788. The next day James' father joined him, having come on by water, bringing a chest of carpenter's tools. They purchased a farm of 490 acres in the town of Sullivan (Phelps) for $100. This tract covered all the land on which the eastern part of the village of Phelps now stands, and comprised one of the finest farms in the entire township. Payment was made by building for Messrs. PHELPS and GORHAM, the first house in Canandaigua - a building designed for the occupancy of their agent. At the age of 24 or thereabouts, James purchased and settled in the farm at Plainsville, in the northwest part of the town, and soon after married Anna MILLER. Here he lived, honored and respected by all who knew him, until his death, June 14, 1858, at the age of86 years.   Glimpses of his life and character indicate a self made man deprived of the advantages of education. Modest and retiring, he never sought notoriety. Possessed of excellent judgment, his counsel was frequently desired by his neighbors. He received many appointments as administrator and commissioner for the division of real estate, and although averse to holding office, was always interested in public improvements.   In his dealing with men it is no adulation to say that he was honest and reliable. For over forty years he was a member of the Second Baptist Church of Phelps, being the first person baptized by Elder William ROE, and the last for whom that aged divine preached a funeral sermon.  At every presidential election, save two, held in the town, his vote was cast - first for President JACKSON, on his first term then for the candidates of the Whig party during its existence, and then with the Republican, until his death. Subsequent to his wife's death, which took place five years previous to his own, his manner was one of that who waits his time.  His uniform reply when questioned regarding his health was, " I am here yet". His intellect remained unclouded to the end, and current events were intelligently discussed. He saw no second childhood, and, and one whose life work was over, laid down to rest.  His family included three sons and five daughters. The oldest son, Harry, resides in Ohio. Jane died in infancy. Catharine married William FRIES, and sometime after his death, married Gazila SMITH. She died at the age of 50 years. Luther S. lives in Michigan. Mahala married Abram COOK, and is a resident of Washington, D.C. Edna married Charles ALLEN, and has her home at Albion, this state. The youngest son was Andrew Jackson, who inherited the homestead, and having bought other interests of his heirs, resides within the walls of the house where he was born, May 8, 1817. The youngest of the family was daughter Sarah, who married David FRIES, of Auburn, and is now living in the town of Arcadia, Wayne County, N.Y.

 

ROBSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 152

ROBSON, James, Gorham, a native of Gorham, was born August 6, 1821, is a son of James, who was a native of England, and settled on a farm in Gorham about 1820.  He also owned a farm of 100 acres near Blood's Corners, where he died.  James ROBSON, Sr., was born in Northumberland, England, in 1792, and married Ann HESLIP.  They had three sons and two daughters.  In 1820 Mr. ROBSON and family came to Gorham where he became one of the largest land owners in the town, owning at his death 800 acres, as well as a mill in Avoca, Steuben county.  Here he was killed in 1854.  His wife died in July, 1851.  James was the only one of the family born in America.  He married Emily HARRIS, May 3, 1848, a daughter of Francis HARRIS, a native of Dutchess county and one of the early settlers of Gorham, where he owned about 800 acres.  Mr. ROBSON had these children: William H., Annie J., Frank J., John E., Belle, Hiram, Emma M., Hattie L., Chas. W. and Phebe J.  He owns 350 acres on which he has made many improvements.  He is a republican and has been commissioner of highways six years, and supervisor five years.  He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church at Gorham.  

 

ROBSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 158  

ROBSON, William, Gorham, was born in Northumberland, Eng., October 13, 1813, a son of James ROBSON Jr.  He was reared on a farm and educated in the public schools.  January 24, 1842, he married Phoebe L. SAWTELLE, a native of Gorham, born January 23, 1817, a daughter of Levi and Sarah SAWTELLE, a native of Groton, Mass., and she of Hillsdale, NY.  They were for many years residents of Cayuga county, and reared one son and nine daughters.  In 1815 Mr. SAWTELLE came to Gorham and settled the farm now owned by subject, where he died in 1852, and his wife in 1858.  They were members of the Presbyterian church, of which Mr. SAWTELLE was for many years ruling elder.  Mr. ROBSON at present owns 280 acres of land, a brick block in Gorham village, and also property in Canandaigua.  He has made many improvements on this farm; among them are good tenant houses.  Mr. ROBSON is a republican but has always declined office.  He and wife are members of the Presbyterian church, of which Mr. ROBSON has been ruling elder for 50 years.  

 

ROBSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 339

ROBSON, John, Gorham, was born in Northumberland, England, June 2, 1819, a son of James ROBSON Jr., and was one year when his parents came to America.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy and in 1849 married Isabelle TELFER, a native of London, Canada, and daughter of Adam and Jane HESLIP, early settlers of Spring Water, NY.  Mr. ROBSON and wife have had seven children: James A., Jane T., Ann, Mary, Nellie (deceased), Phoebe E., and Fannie M.  Mr. ROBSON is a general farmer and owns 270 acres of the old homestead, on which he has made many improvements.  He is a republican and has been assessor three years and supervisor five years.  He and family are members of the Presbyterian church at Gorham.

 

ROBSON   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 364

ROBSON, Robert W., Seneca, was born on the homestead near Hall's Corners, April 20, 1845.  He was educated in the district schools, Penn Yan Academy two terms, and follows farming.  December 22, 1875, he married Mary S. A. SMITH of this town, and they had three children: Jennie, Willard S., who died at the age of three years, and Walter.  Mr. ROBSON owns and occupies the farm formerly owned by William BROWN, and on which he with his wife Jane STRAUGHAN (both natives of Northumberland, Eng.), settled in the spring of 1805.  Mrs. BROWN's father, Robert STRAUGHAN, with his wife and eight children, came from England in the year 1801, and was one of the first of those composing the "English settlement in Seneca."  Mr. ROBSON's father, Joseph, was born on the old homestead February 4, 1818.  He married Polly B. STODDARD of Sheldon, Wyoming county, and they had six children, two of whom died in infancy: Robert W., Orson S., Mary J., and John A.  His grandfather, John ROBSON, was born in Northumberland, England, in 1784, and came to the United States in 1800, where he married Lydia CHAPMAN, and had seven children.  Mrs. ROBSON's father, Nathaniel SMITH, youngest son of William and Harriet SMITH, was born in 1832, in the north part of the town of Geneva.  He married Mary P. BROWN of Seneca in 1846 and went to reside near Okemos, Ingham county, Mich., where their daughter, Mary S. A., was born.  When six months old her mother died, August 3, 1850, when she was brought to live with her grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. William BROWN.  Her father died in Michigan in November, 1859.

 

 

ROBSON

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 283 -284   

The prosperity of a country depends largely upon the condition of its commerce and agriculture, and the ability of the men who are in closest contact with these forms of industry.  Among those who have taken a foremost place in their section of the country in improving and enlarging the agricultural output, and in increasing the commercial interests of the communities in which they live, may justly be mentioned the name of Edward B. ROBSON, a man of innate force of character, which he has augmented by constant, energetic and indefatigable labor.  His family has been owners of land in the state of New York for a number of generations. 

     ( I ) John ROBSON, grandfather of Edward B. ROBSON, owned a farm at Seneca, Ontario county, New York, with the cultivation of which he was occupied during the active years of his life. 

     ( II ) William N., son of John ROBSON, was born in the town of Seneca, New York, in 1822, on the homestead farm.  This later passed into his possession and he was engaged in its cultivation until his death.  He married Katherine J. SMITH, who is still living on the old homestead. 

     ( III ) Edward B., son of William N. and Katherine J. ( SMITH ) ROBSON, was born in the town of Seneca, Ontario county, New York, November 19, 1867.  He received the advantages of an excellent business and classical education.  At first he was a pupil in the district school, then at the Canandaigua Academy and the Geneva High School, and finally received his business training at Eastman's Business College, from which institution he was graduated in 1891.  During his early years, while he was still a student, his spare time was employed in assisting his father in the cultivation of the homestead farm, and he thus gained a detailed and practical knowledge of all pertaining to general agriculture.  His first position in commercial life was with the Adams Express Company, in Geneva, with whom he remained for a short time, resigning to accept a position as bookkeeper with the hardware firm of T. J. & R. M. Skilton, which position he held for a period of 7 years, and until he started in business for himself.  About 1899 he established himself in the agricultural implement business, a branch of commerce with which he was thoroughly well acquainted, and of this he made an immediate success.  He keeps in stock a large and varied assortment of every tool and implement in use in the cultivation of the soil, and the branches of work connected with it, his annual sales averaging at the present time twenty thousand dollars, and they are steadily and constantly increasing.  The business is conducted on the most modern and approved lines, and fully equipped with everything which will draw trade.  In addition to giving this business his personal attention, he continues to manage his farm, which consists of one hundred and one acres in Fayette, Seneca county, New York.  Mr. ROBSON is a man of great versatility and is practically unacquainted with the meaning of physical or mental weariness.  He has been one of the most active members of the Democratic party in his section of the country, and has creditably filled a variety of public offices.  He served as supervisor of the city of Geneva for two years, and when he was elected to this office, he carried every ward in the city and received a majority of 251 votes, a testimony to the high esteem in which he is held personally by his fellow citizens, as four of the wards are strongly Republican.  He is a member of the Presbyterian church, a Mason, and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.  He was a member of the committee on the improvement of the Courthouse, and was chairman of the committee that purchased the site at Holcomb, prepared the plans and awarded the contract for the erection of the Tuberculosis Hospital.  Mr. ROBSON married (first) Anna B. WATSON; (second) January 3, 1906, Flora WILLOWER, born in Seneca county, New York, 1872.  Children:  John C., born January 29, 1908, and Margaret, born June 29, 1910.  

 

ROBSON 

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 363

James A. ROBSON has honored his town no less than himself by being appointed to several of the highest legal offices in the state. He is the son of John and Isabella (TELFER) ROBSON, and was born in Gorham, Ontario county, New York, January 1, 1851. He attended the district school of Gorham until 1865, when he was a student for one year at the Haveling high school, at Bath, New York, and the Canandaigua Academy in 1867-68. He then matriculated at Yale University, form which he was graduated in 1873 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and then too up his legal studies in the Law School of Columbia University, New York City, being graduated from that institution in 1876 with the degree of Bachelor of Law. He immediately established himself in the practice of his profession in Canandaigua, and was successfully engaged in it until 1903, when he was appointed justice of the Supreme Court of New York for the Seventh District filling the vacancy occasioned by the death of the Hon. William H. ADAMS. In 1904 Mr. ROBSON was elected for a full term, which will expire December 31, 1918. January 8, 1907, he was appointed justice of the Appellate Division, Fourth Department. He has always supported republican principles.

 

ROCHESTER

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 75 

Nathaniel ROCHESTER, was born in West Moreland County, Virginia, February 21, 1752; moved into New York State in 1810, first settling at Dansville, then in Ontario county.  He later moved to the Falls of the Genesee and there assisted in founding the settlement which was named after him, first in 1817, as the Village of Rochester and finally on April 28, 1834, as the City of Rochester.  He died in Rochester, May 17, 1831.

 

ROCKEFELLER

History of Ontario Co.& Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 248 - 250   

ROCKEFELLER or ROQUEFEUILLEE, as originally spelled, was derived from two Norman-French words, meaning rock and field. It is the accepted belief of the family that they are descended from ancient Norsemen, who established themselves in Normandy many centuries ago. To the original coat of arms, which consisted of a gold rock on a field of red, was added a hunter�s horn on a field of silver, the emblem of an allied family. The ancient motto, �God is my Rock,� was also changed, with the adoption of the new insignia, to �None More Faithful,� The whole is surrounded by a border of gold and above is suspended the knotted cordeliers, a decoration peculiar to the period of the crusades, and still used by high dignitaries of the Church of Rome. Following the reformation the family accepted the Calvanistic faith, and its descendants on this side of the ocean are still firm believers in that doctrine. The history of the ROCKEFELLERS in America dates from about the year 1720, when John, Peter and Tiel ROCKEFELLER arrived in Philadelphia �from the country of the Palatines.� They are said to have belonged to a family whose ancestral castle and estates were situated in the southeastern part of France. Tiel ROCKEFELLER located in what is now Germantown, Columbia county, New York.

John ROCKEFELLER settled near Flemington, New Jersey, where he acquired a large farm, and he and his fellow Baptists were wont to use a nearby stream for the immersion of converts.

(I) William ROCKEFELLER, grandson of John, was married, June 3, 1772, to Christina, granddaughter of Tiel ROCKEFELLER, thus strengthening the ties of relationship between the two families.

(II) Godfrey ROCKEFELLER, son of William and Christina ROCKEFELLER, settled upon a farm in Barrington, Columbia county, New York. He married a daughter of Miles AVERY, who served as an officer in the Revolutionary War. Godfrey ROCKEFELLER had a family of nine children, two of whom, William and Norman, were well-to-do farmers and became nonogenarians. William was the father of John D. ROCKEFELLER, whose munificent contributions in behalf of religious education, scientific investigation and moral improvement, amounting to more than one hundred and thirty-three million dollars, are almost without parallel in the world�s history.

(III) Norman ROCKEFELLER, son of Godfrey, was born in Barrington, Columbia county, New York, October 17, 1812. Taking kindly to the independent life of a farmer, and acquiring proficiency in that calling, he settled upon a farm in Richford, Tioga county, in 1840, and resided there some eight years. In 1848 he removed to Phelps, Ontario county, and resided in that town for the remainder of his life. He was an able and successful farmer, energetic, ambitious and possessed sound judgment in business affairs. He was at one time quite active in public affairs, serving with ability and credit in various town offices, including those of assessor and road commissioner. His upright character and genial disposition gained the esteem and good-will of his fellow-townsmen. His 92nd  birthday, which occurred October 17, 1904, was fittingly observed, and his long and useful life terminated in 1905.  In 1840 Mr. ROCKEFELLER married Miss Christina BLAKEMAN. She died in 1882. Their children are: Arabel B., born in Richford, New York, July 4, 1841; Ira P., see forward; Ida M., born in Phelps, married Clayton T. BRADLEY.

(IV) Ira P., son of Norman and Christina (BLAKEMAN) ROCKEFELLER, was born in Richford, January 22, 1843. He accompanied his parents to Phelps, at the age of six years, and acquired his education in the district schools of that town. His opportunities for study, although limited, were used to good advantage, and for superior scholarship when 16 years old, he was presented by Deacon George BECKWITH with a Bible, which he still regards as one of his most valued possessions. Since attaining his majority he has taken a conspicuous part in the agricultural and business development of Phelps, and has entered into all movements calculated to advance its general interests. The ability and good judgment he has displayed in the management of his farm deserves special emphasis, and he has fully demonstrated the fact that tilling the soil, when conducted according to progressive ideas, can be made financially remunerative. For a number of years he rendered able services to the town as a trustee of the public schools. He is a member of the Phelps Businessmen�s Club.

Mr. ROCKEFELLER was married in 1875 to Miss Julia E. TIFFANY. His children are: Norman L., born in 1877; Roy P., born in 1881, Mrs. ROCKEFELLER died January 26, 1887.

 

 

ROGERS    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 335 - 336

ROGERS, Newton, Canandaigua, was born in Jerusalem, Yates county, July 21, 1830, a son of Reuel ROGERS, a native of Jefferson county, and the father of 9 children, three now living: Lucy, wife of James DOOLITTLE, of Michigan; Mittie E., wife of John J. STEBBINS, of Penn Yan; and Newton.  The latter was but six years old when his parents moved to Ontario county, where they bought a farm near Cheshire.  Newton was educated in the common schools, and at the age of 21, leased a farm, and from that time has been engaged in agriculture.  In 1850 he bought his present farm on the west shore of Canandaigua lake, a fine place of 66 acres, where Mr. ROGERS has made many improvements.  He has about twelve acres set out to grapes, and seven acres of peaches.  He has always taken an interest in the success of his political party, but has never been an active politician.  He was for three years assessor of his town.  In 1854 he married Anzolett E., one of five children of Freeman SPAULDING, a native of Massachusetts who came to Gorham in 1832 and to Canandaigua in 1850.  Mr. and Mrs. ROGERS have two children: Chauncey E., a farmer of Canandaigua, and Julia, wife of Charles E. GREEN, of Canandaigua.

 

 

ROSE 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 152

ROSE, the late Ezra Cullen, Victor, was born in Rush, educated in the common schools and Lima Seminary, and was a farmer.  July 3, 1872, he married Julia Isabel RAINSFORD, of Victor, and they have five children: Nathan C., Isabel, Clifford, Rainsford and Dean.  Mr. Ezra Cullen ROSE died January 10, 1892.  Mr. ROSE's father, Nathan C., was born in Rush, Monroe county, November 13, 1812.  May 19, 1840, he married Hannah FOSDICK, formerly of Granville, Washington county.  The ceremony took place in Bethany, Genesee county.  He was educated in the common schools and Lima Academy.  They had six children: George I., Henry F., Ezra C., James N., Charles and Louise.  Mr. Nathan C. ROSE died October 23, 1891, and his wife March 1, 1883.  

 

ROSE

History of Ontario Co., NY , Pub 1893, Conover & Aldrich  pg 162

 

Edward ROSE, Geneva, was born in Geneva, December 24, 1841, educated in the public schools and is a natural mechanic, but his eye sight failing, caused him to abandon that vocation.  February 16, 1892, he married Anna E. ABBOT, of East Cannan, Conn.  Mr. ROSE'S father, Sherman H., was born in Cannan, Conn., November 8, 1797 and October 11, 1820, he married Mary S. LEWIS, of his native place, born April 16, 1798. and they had 6 children, who grew to maturity: Miles L., born September 21, 1822; Norman W., born February 13, 1827; Charles S., born October 13, 1832; Cornelia W., born October 18, 1835; William A., born April 28, 1839; and Edward.  Mrs. ROSE'S father, Henry ABBOT, was born January 25, 1817, nad married Elizabeth LOOMIS, who was born near Barrington, Mass., in 1818.  They had 9 children.  Mrs. ROSE'S oldest brother served in Co. H., 2nd Massachusetts Heavy Artillery.  Mr. ROSE'S brother, served in the 26th Iowa Volunteers. 

 

 

 

ROSE   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 335

ROSE, Jared S., Canandaigua, was born in Victor, March 10, 1849.  He was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and has always followed farming.  He was elected supervisor of Farmington in the spring of 1888, and served continuously for four years, was town clerk ten years, and assessor two years.  December 19, 1871, he married Sarah L., daughter of Hiram L. and Nancy BLOODGOOD, of Victor, and they have six children: Smith J., William H., E. Adeline, Verna L., Lydia N., and Edgar J.  Mr. ROSE's father, Henry, was born in England, March 28, 1821, and came to the United States when he was about 16 years old.  About 1840 he married Lydia E., daughter of Wilmarth and Saloma (EDDY) SMITH, of the town of Farmington.  They had six children, two died in infancy, four survived: Jared S., Mary A., Edgar D., and Carrie E.  Mary A. married George P. POWERS, and had two children, Frank O., and Lula.  Mrs. POWERS died in 1884.  Edgar D., wife and children, all died December 6, 1881.  Mr. ROSE's mother's grandfather, Jonathan SMITH, was one of the pioneers of the town.  The SMITHS were identified with the town growth and prosperity.  Mrs. ROSE's father, Hiram L. BLOODGOOD, was born in Dutchess county in 1829, was a farmer and married Nancy YOUNG, of Farmington.  They had 6 children, two died in infancy, four survived: Sarah L., Emma, Mulford C., and William J.  Mrs. ROSE is a member of the M. E. church of Victor, and Mr. ROSE of the Society.

 

ROSE    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 336 - 337

ROSE, George I., West Bloomfield, was born in Bethany, March 1, 1841, and came to Victor in 1851 with his parents.  His father, Nathan C., was born in Rush, Monroe county, and his grandfather, Nathan, was of English descent, born in Berkshire county, Mass., in 1772.  He became one of the earliest settlers in East Bloomfield.  His first child, Harley, was born there in 1797, and lived to be over 90 years old.  Nathan's father fought in the French and Indian war and seven years in the Revolution.  He was with WASHINGTON at Valley Forge.  He died at East Bloomfield.  Nathan C. was a farmer, and married Hannah FOSDICK, of Bethany, in 1840, by whom he had 6 children: George I.; Henry F., a commission merchant in Detroit, Mich.; Ezra C., who died in 1891 at Victor; James N., also a commission merchant at Detroit; Charles, a farmer of Victor, and Louisa, wife of George KILTHORNE, of Victor.  George I. was educated in the common schools and at Lima Seminary, and helped his father at farming until of age, when he enlisted from Victor in July, 1862, in Co. D, 126th New York Infantry.  He was in 13 engagements and was taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry, but was immediately paroled and soon after exchanged.  He was wounded at Bristow Station, and again at Weldon Railroad, and was at LINCOLN's inauguration in 1865.  On his return he came to West Bloomfield, where he has since resided.  He has taught school many terms and has been justice of the peace ten years.  For a long time he has been prosecutor of pension claims, and is a member of the G. A. R.  He is a farmer and occupies the farm formerly owned by his father-in-law, Caleb KELLOGG.  In 1869 he married Mary L. KELLOGG, by whom he has 7 children: George I. Jr., Norma L., Caleb, Alexander, Sophia, and Henry.  Mrs. ROSE's father was born in East Bloomfield, and her mother, Sophia LOUGHIER, was a native of New Hampshire.

 

ROSE

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 480 - 483

 

Among the men who by their own honorable exertions and moral attributes have carved out for themselves friends, affluence and position, and by the strength and force of their characters have overcome obstacles, must be mentioned that of Arthur Patrick ROSE, whose life stands out preeminently for two things.  One if his high ideals of public and private life, and the other is the sacrifice of time and money to charity, which he has practiced throughout his career. 

Arthur Patrick ROSE was born in the town of Savannah, Wayne county, New York, June 11, 1842, on the farm of his father, Charles A. ROSE.  At the age of three years he came to Geneva, New York, to reside with his uncle, Dr. GAVIN L. ROSE, who resided in the old ROSE homestead on North street, where Arthur P. ROSE resided until 1907.  He attended the Walnut Hill school, conducted by Thomas C. REED on the present site of the home of the late William H. KING, near Glenwood cemetery, after which he became a student at Hobart College, entering in the fall of 1859 and pursuing the regular classical course.  In the following year he took the first sophomore prize in Latin and two years later was graduated as the valedictorian of the class of 1862, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts.  During his college course he became a member of Sigma Phi fraternity and upon graduation he became a member of Phi Beta Kappa Society.  Three years after his graduation the college conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts.  Throughout his life he has maintained an active interest in his alma mater.  From 1871 to 1899 he was a trustee of the college, and from 1877 to 1885 was secretary of its board of trustees.  During the years from 1865 to 1882 he served as treasurer of the Alumi Association, and when the Geneva Alumni Association of Hobart College was organized under the present administration of Dr. L.C. STEWARDSON, he became vice-president of this organization, serving during the years 1904-05.  From time to time he has been a benefactor of the College Library. 

After his graduation from college, Mr. ROSE entered the law office of Folger & Mason and there pursued a course of study, being admitted to the bar in 1865, and shortly afterward formed a partnership with the late Angus McDONALD, of which firm he was a member until Mr. McDONALD removed to Rochester.  On April 1, 1876, he formed a law partnership with the late Judge Francis O. MASON under the name of Mason & Rose, which connection continued until the death of Judge MASON, July 25, 1900.  For a considerable period of time Judge MASON was the legal representative of the eastern branch of the Pulteney Estate and upon his death Mr. ROSE succeeded him.  In 1903 this important estate was finally closed and Mr. ROSE rendered a final accounting.   

In addition to his professional career Mr. ROSE has been keenly interested and an important factor in the conduct of public affairs, giving his allegiance to the principles and candidates of the Democratic party.  At various times he has served on election boards in several capacities; in 1865 had a clerkship at Albany during the sessions of the legislature; early in the eighties he became interested in the civil service reform and when the Geneva Civil Service Reform Association was formed in 1883 he became secretary of the organization, holding the position over ten years, or until the civil service system came into general practice.  While not a political position his first public office was trustee of school district No. 1 of Geneva, to which he was elected on December 27, 1890.  After serving a full term of five years he was reelected, December 28, 1895, but on December 30, 1899, with one year to serve, he resigned and was succeeded by R.G. CHASE.  In 1901 he was elected supervisor, and two years later was reelected, and while on the board served as chairman of the committee of military affairs and on many other important committees, including those on equalization, surrogates' office, road damages, county clerk's office, printing, law and legislation.  On September 22, 1905, he was nominated for the office of mayor by the Democratic city convention on a motion made by City Attorney W. Smith O'BRIEN, and in the following election was elected, and two years later was reelected.  His administration of the office was noted for economy and conservatism, and his mind was ever occupied with mighty projects for the advancement and welfare of the city of his adoption. 

Mr. ROSE has been one of the leading spirits in the founding and continuance of the City Hospital, the Young Men's Christian Association and Church Home, the three leading charitable institutions of the city.  He was one of the signers on March 22, 1892, of the petition for the charter of the Medical and Surgical Hospital of Geneva which was the original name of the Geneva City Hospital, and he was also a signer of the petition of May 31, 1898, upon which its name was changed to its present title.  Mr. ROSE and his partner, Mr. MASON, gave the site on which the institution stands and throughout its history Mr. ROSE has served on the board of trustees.  Upon the death of Mr. MASON, Mr. ROSE was made executor of his will.  This has proven a means of making his relations even more intimate with the institution owing to the fact that Mr. MASON made liberal provision in his will for the maintenance of the hospital.  He was also one of the signers of the certificate of incorporation of the Young Men's Christian Association, which was filed August 9, 1888.  When the building was erected in 1894 he was secretary of the board of trustees, and after the building was destroyed by fire on February 13, 1902, he took an active part in its reconstruction.  He has served continuously as a member of both the board of trustees and as a director.  When the Church Home for Aged Women was organized on April 27, 1878, Mr. ROSE was one of the incorporators, but shortly resigned to make a place for another person on the board of trustees, but he retained his position as secretary of the board, which he has since filled. 

Upon the organization of the 34th Separate Company on January 21, 1880, Mr. ROSE became one of the charter members and served a full enlistment of five years as a private.  When the Veteran Association of Company B was organized in 1909 Mr. ROSE was made president of the association.  He took an active part in organizing the Black Diamond Hose Company on September 23, 1896, and became one of the charter members of the company.  He had charge of the legal matters attending the incorporation of the company, and the purchase of the site for the hose house.  He resigned from active service in 1907, but his name is still retained on the roll of the company as an honorary member.  On June 28, 1900, he was elected a director of the Geneva National Bank and has since retained a seat on this board.  He has served as president of the Geneva Bar Association and assisted in the organization of the Direct Nominations League of Geneva and the new society in the interest of centralizing the charities of the city. 

Since early life Mr. ROSE has been a communicant of Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church.  In 1871 he was elected a vestryman and served continuously until 1893, when he resigned, but served again in 1896 for one year.  From time to time Mr. ROSE has been a delegate from Trinity parish to diocesan council, and at the meeting of the council held in St. Paul's Church, Buffalo, in September, 1876, he was made one of the trustees of the parochial fund of the diocese.

 

 

ROSE

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 494 - 495

 

Oswald J.C. ROSE, who holds official positions in a number of commercial and manufacturing corporations, is a descendant of Robert Selden ROSE, who came from Virginia, and settled in Geneva, New York, in 1800, locating on a farm.  He represented his district in congress.

     ( II ) Robert Lawson, son of Robert Selden ROSE, also represented his district in congress.

     ( III ) Robert Selden, son of Robert Lawson ROSE, was born at Allen's Hill, Ontario county, New York, from whence he removed to Yates county, New York, locating on a farm which he cultivated throughout his life.

     ( IV ) Oswald J.C., son of Robert Selden ROSE, was born in New York City, January 30, 1852.  He received his elementary education in the schools of Geneva, New York, and was graduated from Hobart College with the degree of Master of Arts.  He established himself in the hardware business in 1874, forming a partnership with P. J. DORCHESTER, the firm name being Dorchester & Rose, this name having been continued to the present time (1911).  Upon the death of Mr. DORCHESTER, his son, Edward G., assumed the interests of his father.  Mr. ROSE holds many responsible offices, among them may be mentioned:  Vice-president of the New York Central Iron Works, vice-president of the Geneva National Bank, director of the Geneva Cutlery Company, director in the T. W. & J. P. Rice Nursery Company, director in the Geneva Wagon Company, and director in the Fay & Bowen Engine Company.  He supports Democratic principles, and has served as alderman and supervisor.  He is a member of Ark Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.

Mr. ROSE married, at Geneva, New York, Edith, daughter of Rev. Walter AYRAULT, an Episcopal clergyman, formerly chaplain of Hobart College, and a great-granddaughter of William FITZHUGH, who was prominent among the early settlers of the Genesee Valley, his portrait hanging in the Ontario county courthouse at Canandaigua.  Children:  Walter C., a farmer near Geneva; Christina Livingston; Robert Selden, an instructor in the University of California.  All unmarried.

 

 

ROSS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 153 

ROSS, Peter Cole, Canadice, was born where he now lives, July 20, 1842.  His father, Peter C. Sr., a native of New Jersey, born in 1806, came when a boy with his parents, Jasper and Martha Rose, to this town.  At an early day Peter C., Sr., married in 1833 Julia A. DICKERSON, and had three sons and a daughter: Nelson D., George W., Sarah Ann, and Peter C., also one, Lewis P., who died young.  He was a farmer where his son Peter C. now lives.  He died in 1843.  His son George W. hired out to the government as a teamster during the war, was taken prisoner at the battle of the Wilderness, and was last heard of in Lynchburg prison.  Peter C. enlisted in the 188th N. Y. Infantry in 1864, and was in several engagements, among which were Five Forks and Hatcher's Run.  He was wounded at Five Forks and is now a pensioner.  He was discharged at the close of the war.  Peter's mother married second Heber HARRIS, by whom she had two children: Persis E. and Emily HARRIS.  Mrs. HARRIS now makes her home with Peter C.  The latter married in 1866 Catharine M. STRUBLE.  He married second, in 1875, Sophia McNAIR.  He farms 60 acres, and has been constable four years.  In politics he is a Democrat.  

 

ROWLEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893. pg 337

ROWLEY, George Washington, Richmond, was born in Bristol, November 19, 1827.  His father, Darius, and grandfather, Charles, came from Cayuga county here about 1810, and after nearly ten years they removed to South Bristol.  Charles died about 1852.  Darius married Dolly, daughter of Harry GILBERT, of Bristol.  Their children were: Sophia, George W., Abagail, Palmer, William, Mary, Zidona (the latter three deceased), Thaddeus, and Edson M.  George W. spent his boyhood in the district schools and on his father's farm until 1850, when he married Charlotte, daughter of Caleb BLISS, of Bristol (formerly of Massachusetts), and Zilpha GERRY, who came from Dighton, Mass.  They have had three children: Mary, who married Orrin S. BEACH, a farmer of this town; Ida, deceased; and Belle, who married F. I. SHORT, of Attleboro, Mass.  Mr. ROWLEY settled in Richmond in 1850, and in 1867 purchased his present farm of 200 acres at Richmond Mills.  On the site of his present residence stood at an early day the "West Richmond Hotel," Silas REED, proprietor.  It was a large log building, plastered inside.  Besides this place Mr. ROWLEY has two other farms.  He has been justice of the peace twenty years, and is a republican and supporter of the Methodist church, of which his wife is a member. 

 

ROWLEY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 337

ROWLEY, Franklin, Victor, was born two miles north of the village of Victor, October 14, 1822.  He was educated in the district schools and was a farmer.  December 23, 1858, he married Jennette, daughter of William and Hortense (MITCHELL) WILDER, and they had these sons: Calvin, who married Elizabeth WHITTLETON of Walworth, and have three children: Alonzo G., Alvirette and Cora; Charles A., who is a physician; he graduated from Lima Seminary and Cleveland Homoeopathic Hospital College in 1888; William W. is in Chicago; Frank is a druggist; Clark B. is an agent in Buffalo; and George is a clerk in this village.  Mr. ROWLEY's father, Andrew, was born in Stockbridge, Mass., in 1800, and came to Victor with his parents when a boy.  He married Sarah BIGLOW and had four children: Franklin, Elizabeth, Sarah and Biglow.  Mr. ROWLEY's grandfather was captain in the War of 1812.  Mrs. ROWLEY's father, William WILDER, was born in the town of Bristol, March 1, 1802, and married Hortense MITCHELL of his native town.  They had 12 children.  Mrs. ROWLEY's grandfather, Gamaliel, was one of the first settlers in that region, and took a skiff and went on Canandaigua Lake to Wilder's Point, and having the choice between East Bloomfield and Bristol, he chose the latter, and was the leading spirit of those days building churches, mills and other necessary improvements.  These sturdy pioneers came from Connecticut.

 

ROY  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 338

ROY, Isaac, Phelps, the only survivor of seven children of John and Edna (PARRISH) ROY, was born in Phelps, November 22, 1817.  The father, John, was born in Scotland, November 15, 1779.  The grandfather, Coll ROY, was born in the Highlands of Scotland in 1750.  He emigrated to this country in 1792, and settled on the Mohawk.  In 1803 he settled upon the ROY farm in the eastern part of Phelps.  He died from the effects of a fall in 1827.  Edna (PARRISH) ROY, the mother, was born in Maryland, March 31, 1775, she being a daughter of Richard PARRISH, the family coming to Phelps about the year 1800.  Isaac ROY when a mere boy was compelled to work on a farm.  By hard work and careful application of his earnings he has acquired a handsome property, a portion of which is about 600 acres of the choicest land in Phelps.  He takes delight in keeping his farm in a high state of cultivation, and the buildings upon his several farms are exceptionally convenient and well kept.  He is a prominent member of the banking firm of John H. Roy & Company.  He is a close student of public questions, in which he has always been interested,  and is a Democrat.  He is a philanthropist and generously supports every move that will tend to benefit his native town.

 

RUPERT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 150 

RUPERT, M.D., Theodore D., Geneva, was born in Seneca, April 23, 1855, a son of William P. and Catharine (BELL) RUPERT.  He attended the public schools and Geneva Academy, read medicine with Dr. D. S. ALLEN, and graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1880.  He practiced ten years in Mendon, Monroe county, and in 1890 located in Geneva.  In 1880 he married Clara BOND of Geneva, and they have four children.  

 

RUPERT   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 339 - 340

RUPERT, William P., Seneca, was born in Seneca on the homestead farm December 15, 1828.  He received a common school and academic education, and in early life was a teacher and farmer.  In 1867 the RUPERT nursery and stock farm was started and the public at home and abroad gave it liberal patronage.  In 1887 the sons Philip G., William T., and Frank E. were given an equal partnership interest under the firm name of W. P. Rupert & Sons.  They have 70 acres devoted to the nursery interests, and from the earliest period of its history it was the aim of Mr. RUPERT to furnish first class fruit and ornamental trees to the public.  They have a branch office in Geneva in charge of Charles D. LEONARD.  In their choice short-horned stock they have sold very largely of their premium stock at the fair grounds in various places, but still winter at least a hundred head.  May 24, 1854, he married Catherine BELL, of Gorham, and they have six children: Theodore D., who is a physician in Geneva; Sophia E., Philip G., C. Belle, W. Thomas and Frank E.  Mr. RUPERT's father, Philip, was born in Little York, Pa., in 1782, and came to Geneva in 1804, keeping for that time a large shoe shop, employing many men.  An incident occurred on Sunday in 1812 that rather shocked the proprietor.  An officer with a large force of men going to fight the British, ordered him to open his store, which he did rather than have the soldiers open it, for they said, shoes we must have, Sunday or Monday, and a thriving business was done as long as the stock lasted.  He married twice, first on 1805 Sarah YATES, formerly of New Jersey.  For his second wife he married Mrs. Rebecca (PARKHURST) YATES, and they had 9 children: Rosanna, Barnet, Philip H., Rebecca, Eliza A., Theodore B., Delos W., William P. and Rosetta P.  Mr. RUPERT's grandfather, Bernard, came from Germany in 1720, when seven years old.  Mr. RUPERT has been postmaster at Seneca nine years, and superintendent of the Sunday-school in the Presbyterian church at Seneca 25 years.

 

 

RUPERT

History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 153

 

Theodore D. RUPERT, a physician and surgeon of Geneva, New York, is of German descent.

Philip RUPERT, grandfather of Dr. RUPERT, was born in Pennsylvania, and came to Geneva, New York in 1805. He was a shoemaker by trade and successful in his line of business. He opened a shop for the manufacture of his wares which was considered a large one for those times and employed a comparatively large number of men. The extensive farm which he purchased is still in the possession of the family.

William P., son of Philip RUPURT, was born December 26, 1829, and died in 1903. He was a farmer, and established a large nursery, which he conducted in a very successful manner near Geneva. He married Catherine BELL, who was born February 22, 1830, and is living at the present time (1910).

Dr. Theodore D., son of William P. and Catherine (BELL) RUPERT, was born in Seneca, Ontario county New York, April 23, 1855. He attended the public schools and Geneva Academy, and spent one year at the Monroe Collegiate Institute at Elbridge, New York. He then matriculated at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City, form which he was graduated in 1880, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. For ten years he practiced medicine in Mendon, Monroe county, New York, and in 1890 opened his office in Geneva, New York, and engaged in general practice, making a specialty of electrical treatment. He has served as health officer several terms and supports the republican party. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church and of Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons of Geneva, and of the University Club of Geneva.

Dr. RUPERT married at Geneva, October 6, 1880, Clara C., daughter of Thomas BOND, a farmer near Geneva. Children: Lucy Belle, married Maynard TROTT of Colorado Springs, and has one son, Stinson; Allen Mead, studying mining engineering at Colorado Springs; Theodore J.; Frank Everett, a student in Hobart. College. 

 

 

RYAN   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 338

RYAN, Edward P., Phelps, was born in Phelps, September 12, 1852, one of six children of Captain James RYAN, who was in the English army before coming to this country.  Mr. RYAN has always lived in Phelps.  In 1879 he went into the hotel business and has been engaged in it to the present time.  In the spring of 1884 he took possession of the "Cottage Hotel," of which he is still the popular landlord.  He married in February, 1876, Emma MALEY of Phelps, and they have four children: Frank J., Jennie B., Edward, and Paul Leo, all of whom live in their present home adjoining the hotel.

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]