Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy. This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.
If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.
Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas. Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge
of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 125
had done much for some men, and the simple improvement of inherent
qualities has brought a train of comforts such as are considered
component parts of life's blessings.
In this regard we may briefly consider the character and
sketch of the life of Augustine
SACKETT. He has come from a pioneer stock, original settlers in
Warren, Litchfield county, Connecticut.
Upon the farm where he was born on April 24, 1789, his
great-grandfather cleared the primeval forest, and the fifth of the SACKETT
generations now reside. He
was the son of Homer SACKETT, and
one in a family of twelve children.
His early youth was spent at home, engaged on the farm during
the summer, and attending school in winter.
These periods of study in good schools enabled young SACKETT
to aspire to become himself a teacher, and at the age of nineteen,
he conducted a winter school at nine dollars per month, and was well
satisfied with his first attempt.
of the SACKETT family had gone to
the Genesee country as early as 1801, and some of them had settled
and sent home favorable reports of what is now Ontario County
proper. The topic of
discourse was the advantages offered by this new field, and in
April, 1812, Mr. SACKETT left
Warren upon a prospecting tour, and at the expiration of twelve
days, traveling in a one-horse wagon, reached the town of East
Bloomfield. He remained in the town nineteen months, working by the month
on a farm, and teaching school.
In the fall of 1813, in company with his brother, Theron,
Augustine purchased ninety-four acres in the town of
Canandaigua, whereon his is a present resident.
In November he set out on horseback and returned to
Connecticut; he was ten days on the road.
He speedily engaged a school in his father's district, and
boarded at home. On March 31, 1814, he married Arze,
daughter of Platt STARR, born in
Warren, June 11, 1793. Leaving
his wife at her father's, Mr. SACKETT
returned to Canandaigua with a two-horse wagon, and reached his
destination about the 1st of May.
The summer was passed with Theron
on the land previous purchased.
August 25th, he drove back east, and on September
16th bade farewell to the old home, and set out with his
wife for his new one in Canandaigua.
Two weeks were occupied in the journey.
These young pioneers began housekeeping in a frame
building sixteen by twenty-four feet.
Here they lived until 1825, when the house at the present the
homestead was erected. The
farm, now so well cleared and improved, so well supplied with
buildings, had at the outset but 20 acres cleared, and improved,
and no house upon it of any account.
The blessing of good health was enjoyed, and combined with
economy and industry, the comforts of life have been experienced
with but few of its luxuries. In
time, eight children were added to the family circle.
Sarah Lucinda, the eldest,
was born June 16, 1815 and died January 7, 1846.
Darius C., the youngest,
born December 7, 1839, died February 10, 1871; he acquired a good
education, and directed his thoughts to sacred themes; became a
Presbyterian minister, and was settled over a church at Rock Stream,
New York, when his health failed and terminated his labors. After a life companionship of over 50 years, Mrs.
Arze SACKETT, died
November 20, 1871, and left her husband to travel life's pathway in
the companionship of affectionate children.
Mr. SACKETT bought out his
brother's interests in the farm, and from time to time added to its
area until it comprised 350 acres.
One hundred and fifty have been transferred, leaving 200 in the homestead. Mr.
SACKETT has never been obtrusive, but when called to act has
been found capable and reliable.
He has been required to server as assessor repeatedly, and as
school commissioner served acceptably.
To the appellation of colonel he is justly entitled, having
risen from the graduations of military rank, and in about 1826 being
lieutenant-colonel of a regiment of State troops.
These promotions followed as a reward of faithfulness,
stimulated by a natural love of discipline.
Popular among the men, he was not less so among the officers,
and may well recall his experience with pleasure.
Early in life, as we have seen, he entered the school-room as
an instructor, and have ever been a friend to the common school
system. He built, of
brick, for four hundred dollars, the first house used for school
purposes in the district, and at both academy and seminary has made
available their facilities for the education of his children.
It is a memory of the past that Mr.
SACKETT hauled cord-wood to pay for the tuition of his
daughters. He joined the Congregational church about 1840, and wife and
daughters were and are connected with that denomination.
He has not ignored politics, and has been a member of parties
regarded by him as best calculated for national progress.
A Federalist, a Whig, a Unionist, and at present a Democrat,
and in favor of the best men, wherever they may be found.
About and with him his family is living in comfort.
He has been and is a farmer, and from the production of wheat
and the raising of stock has been enabled to obtain a comfortable
livelihood. Seen at home, his influence has been firmly and judiciously
exercised; not denying reasonable indulgence, and seeing their
prosperity, he has the honor and affection of his children, with
whom his years pass pleasurably.
The impression left upon the mind of the stranger is of an
aged man, worthy, estimable, and of noble bearing; hospitable, kind
and in the enjoyment of the fruit of honest endeavor; at peace with
men, and reporting trust in the goodness of God.
116 under Town history of Canandaigua)
No. 1 - Augustine SACKETT and his
brother, Theron, came from
Litchfield, Connecticut in 1812.
they joined means to purchase a farm of 94 acres,
comprised in parts of lots 59 and 60, from Ebenezer
NORTON, then a lawyer in Canandaigua.
A. SACKETT occupied the old building in 1814; then having built a new house, used the old one as a stable, and finally burned it up. Upon this farm Mr. SACKETT has been an inhabitant for sixty-two years, and is the oldest resident of the district. He has three sons well advanced in age, two of them are living on the farm. (Picture of Col. Augustine & Arze Sackett on pg 72a)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 165
Frederick A. SACKETT, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, January 30 ,1818. Augustine, father of Frederick A., was born on the farm cleared by his great grandfather in Warren, Conn, April 24, 1789, and was the son of Homer, one of 12 children. He taught district school at the age of 19, though he did not follow it up. In April 1812, Augustine settled in East Bloomfield, where he remained 19 months, then bought a farm in company with his brother, Theron, in Canandaigua. The next year he returned to Connecticut and married Arze, daughter of Platt STARR, born in Warren, June 11, 1793. They returned to Canandaigua and in 1825, erected the SACKETT homestead, now occupied by H. N. DAY. Mr. SACKETT rose from the ranks of the State militia to the rank of lieutenant colonel of a regiment of State troops. He served as assessor and school commissioner. He had eight children: Sarah L, who died January 7, 1846, aged 31 years; Henry A., who died April 21, 1884, aged 64 years; George B. died November 1, 1890 (born in 1824); Mary E., widow of J. S. COOLEY of Canandaigua; Martha J., widow of Rev. George BARR of Virginia; Julia M. of Canandaigua; Rev. Darius C., born December 7, 1839, died February 10, 1871; and Frederick A. Col. Augustine SACKETT died December 6, 1883, and Mrs. SACKETT died November 20, 1871. The whole life of Frederick, with the exception of 2 years spent in Ohio, has been passed in this town. Frederick was educated at the academy and lived with his parents until December 1840, when he went to Ohio, and two years later, returned. June 19, 1848, he married Mary, daughter of Charles CASSORT, of Canandaigua, and a year later bought 142 acres in East Bloomfield. This he sold after 2 years and lived on the CASSORT farm a number of years. In 1858 he bought 142 acres in Canandaigua of William REED, who built the residence in 1844. This is now of the landmarks of the old style Gothic architecture and is built of stone. Mr. SACKETT has also made many improvements on the place, which is devoted mainly to grain, hay and stock. Mr. and Mrs. SACKETT have one son, Charles C., the present supervisor of Canandaigua.
Charles CASSORT, father of Mrs. SACKETT, was born in Cayuga county, May 3, 1792. His father, James, was a native of New Jersey, of French extraction. His mother, Elizabeth SUYDAM, was a native of New Jersey and of Holland descent.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 227
SACKETT, Charles C.,
Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, January 17, 1859, a son of Frederick
A. SACKETT, a farmer of this town.
The grandfathers, both paternal and maternal, were natives of
C. was educated in the academy, with a course at Poughkeepsie
Business College, and his father having several farms, Charles
acted as manager of these. When,
in 1887, the subject was agitated of building the Canandaigua Street
Railway, Mr. SACKETT, in company with Mr.
CLEMENT, Mr. COOLEY and Mr. MILLIKEN, was among the first to
take hold of it, and Mr. SACKETT was
the general manager and constructor of the line, with F.
O. CHAMBERLAIN as president.
In July, 1892, Mr. SACKETT, as
trustee, became the owner of the road, and he is now president, the
company having $30,000 capital stock.
Mr. SACKETT served as supervisor
during the years of 1890-91-92, being a staunch and active
Republican. He married
in 1884 Charlotte HOUGHTEN, of this
town, sister of Judge HOUGHTEN, of
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 163
William Henry SADLER, Canandaigua, was born in Gloucestershire, England, July 19, 1830, and came to this country in 1863, locating first at Whitestown, L. I., where he was engaged in the John D. Lock Tin Manufactory. He learned the trade of making hollow ware in Birmingham, England, where he spent nine years. July 19, 1864, he moved from Long Island to Aurora, Cayuga county, where he was employed in the manufacture of reapers and mowers. Mr. SADLER was selected first steward of the Wells College and Mrs. SADLER was housekeeper. He resigned this position in 1870 and for 7 years supplied the College, Military Academy, hotels, etc, with milk. He sold the interest in the milk farm and bought a meat market there which he conducted for 5 year. During this time he built two residences, and in 1881 he sold these places and bought the old Exchange Hotel in Auburn, changing the name to Sadler's Hotel. He also conducted a coal yard in Auburn, handling from 1,200 to 1,500 tons per year. He spent nearly 10 years in the hotel business and in April 1891, traded his property in Auburn for the farm of 213 acres, where he is now located, exchanging with Horace M. DRAKE. Since coming here, Mr. SADLER has made many improvements, new buildings, setting new orchard, etc. Mr. SADLER has made many improvements, new buildings, setting new orchard, etc. Mr. SADLER has always been a Republican up to CLEVELAND'S time, when he became a Democrat and has been many times selected as delegate to conventions, etc. He married in England, in 1852, Maria Anna GREEN and they have had 5 children: Harry T., is on the farm with his parents; Frederick W., spent 10 years as inspector of watches at Elgin, and is now a land agent in Elgin, Ill.; Walter Lincoln is in the watch factory, as is also the youngest son, Albert Edward. The only daughter, Carrie C., wife of Dan BROWN, of Elgin, died November 18, 1886, aged 31 years. Frederick William's wife was a great niece of General U. S. GRANT. Their beautiful place is called the "Hillsdale farm".
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 169
John F. SADLER, Farmington, was born in the town of Phelps, September 28, 1845. He was educated in the commons schools and the Union School of Phelps. For several years, he followed the trade of carriage making and blacksmithing. March 10, 1873, he married Diantha C., daughter of John and Caroline MACUMBER of Farmington, who was born in Mendon, Monroe county. They have had two children: Minnie L., who is now a school teacher, residing at home, and Edna, who died in infancy. Mr. SADLER has been justice of the peace for 11 years, and a resident of the town for 17 year. His father, Winslow, was born in the town of Ashfield, Mass., in 1815 and came to Phelps with his parents when a child at the age of 3 years. His father died, and his mother returned to their old home. He married Louisa C. ALLEN, formerly of Massachusetts, and they had 3 children: Aretus A., John F. and Myra S. Mr. SADLER'S father died December 31, 1890, and his mother, September 13, 1871. His grandfather, Aretus, was born in Massachusetts in 1790. In 1813 he married Naomi ROGERS, formerly of Massachusetts. Naomi's grandfather, Captain John ROGERS, was burnt at the stake by the Indians. They had one son, Winslow. Mr. SADLER has a whale bone plaited rope that has been willed down in successive generations, that came, or was brought over on the Mayflower, through the ROGER family. Mrs. SADLER'S father, John MACUMBER, was born in Farmington, February 20, 1821. He married in April 1845, Caroline PAYNE and had two children, Diantha C., and Albert P., now of Manchester. Mrs. SADLER's mother was the daughter of Elisha PAYNE.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 347
The late William SALE, was born in Victor, November 30, 1820, was educated in the public schools and was a farmer. October 16, 1844, he married Nancy, daughter of Samuel and Nancy (FORGASON) STAFFORD, and they had one son, Willie, born February 4, 1847, who was educated in the public schools and Lima Seminary and was a dentist. He (Willie) died July 8, 1874, in the full bloom of manhood, was mourned by a host of friends and a bereaved mother. Mr. SALE died September 7, 1847. (7 months after the birth of his son)
Mrs. SALE'S father, Samuel STAFFORD, was born in Dutchess county, December 31, 1782, nad was well educated. In the year 1806, he married Nancy FORGASON and they had 10 children: Betsey, Amos, Sally, Rachel, Polly, Emily, Samuel, Nancy, George and Milton. Mrs. SALES'S father, Samuel STAFFORD, died January 5, 1861 and her mother Nancy, February 5, 1868. Mrs. SALES is conducting a baker and fancy grocery store.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 174
Joseph F. SALISBURY, Phelps, was born in Yates county. His parents, Benjamin F. and Elizabeth (VANDEMARK) SALISBURY, both natives of Phelps, returned to their native town when Joseph F. was one year old. John SALISBURY, the grandfather, was born in Conway, Mass., and came to Phelps with Jonathan OAKS in 1791. He returned to Conway then came back to settle in 1796. Stephen SALISBURY, a brother of John, settled on a farm adjoining his brother's on the north in 1801, so that the SALISBURYS in this town are descendants of the two brothers. Elizabeth was the daughter of Joseph VANDEMARK, who came here from Pennsylvania in 1792 (the family having at an early been located near Albany) and settled on the farm where Elizabeth was born, and where she lived until her death in 1892. Lodowick, a brother of Joseph VANDEMARK, settled on a farm adjoining his brother's on the east, in 1794. The VANDEMARKS in this county and Seneca county are descendants of the two brothers. Joseph F. SALISBURY married February 25, 1863, Mary Jane STOUTENBURG of Hopewell, daughter of Isaac and Anna (REESE) STOUTENBURG. he has lived for 22 years upon his farm of 112 acres, which is devoted to general farming.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 254 - 255
The SALISBURY family is
one of the most ancient in England, and its progeny in America is
quite numerous. There
is a possibility that it is of remote Welsh origin, but this fact
cannot be definitely determined.
The first of the name in New England was John
SALISBURY, who settled in Boston between the years 1630 and
1640, but the Ontario county family, mentioned below, are descended
from an immigrant who arrived there at a later date.
( I ) Humphrey SALISBURY, born
in England about 1685, came to the Massachusetts Bay Colony in 1706,
and settled at Braintree, where he died July, 1708.
The tradition asserts that he was the youngest son of an
English nobleman, and being excluded from inheriting the family
estates through an ancient custom of primogeniture, he determined to
seek his fortune beyond the sea.
He was married in England to Mary
MILBURN, and had one son William.
( II ) William, only son of William
and Mary ( MILBURN ) SALISBURY, was born in Braintree,
Massachusetts, April 19, 1707.
He married, in 1728, Lydia THOMAS.
( III ) William ( 2 ), son of William
( 1 ) and Lydia ( THOMAS ) SALISBURY, became
an officer in the colonial military service and was for some time in
command of the fort on Castle Island, Boston Harbor.
He had a family of seven children, four of whom were sons,
and among the latter were Stephen and John.
( IV ) John, son of William
( 2 ) SALISBURY, was born in Boston, December 8, 1769.
He and his brother Stephen resided
for a time in Conway, Massachusetts, but about the year 1800 they
removed to Ontario county, New York, and John settled
as a pioneer in the town of Phelps.
( V ) Benjamin F., son of John
SALISBURY, was reared in Phelps, and in his younger days
shared in the hardships and vicissitudes encountered by the early
settlers in the wilderness.
( VI ) John V., son of Benjamin
F. SALISBURY, was born in Phelps, January 26, 1843.
From his youth to the present time he has always resided in
his native town, devoting his energies exclusively to the
cultivation of the soil, and is one of the most able and successful
farmers in that section of the state. For a number of years he served as a trustee of the public
schools, and in various other ways he has demonstrated his interest
in the general welfare of the town.
He married Ellen STRYKER.
Frank A., born September
22, 1873; John LEWIS, see forward; Anna
M., born January 7, 1880.
( VIII ) John LEWIS, youngest
son of John V. and Ellen ( STRYKER ) SALISBURY,
was born at the family homestead in Phelps, September 17, 1875.
After graduating from the Phelps high school he pursued a
course in agriculture at Cornell University, and being thus well
equipped for the cultivation of the soil upon scientific principles,
he proceeded to apply himself with energy to that honorable calling.
In addition to general farming he specializes in the
production of fruit, and through the application of scientific
methods to that branch of agriculture he has obtained results which
have proved both gratifying and remunerative.
He is actively interested in the Patrons of Husbandry and at
the present time is master of the local grange.
He is a leading member of the Presbyterian church, now
serving as its treasurer, and also a member of its board of
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 165
Hugh Sinclair SALTER, Canadice, was born in Alexandria, NJ, November 1, 1827. He came her first in 1847, and then worked by the month on a farm in Springwater. He married there, Harriet Adelia CHAPMAN, who was born in Independence, Allegany county in 1832, the daughter of Amos CHAPMAN, a Christian minister, and the founder of that church in Springwater. He died in 1841, at the age of 54 years. The father of Hugh, was Matthias, a son of James SALTER, a Revolutionary soldier, who lived and died in New Jersey. Hugh and his wife have had 3 sons, all now living: Austin S., born July 22, 1851, lives in Wayland; John R., born June 25, 1853, is a farmer in this town; and Frank M., born in June 1857, is also a farmer here. Mr. SALTER'S farm of 100 acres is located in the southern part of the town. He is a republican and has been assessor for 6 years. Mr. SALTER is a member of the Christian church.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 171
Franklin A. W. SALMON, East Bloomfield, is a native of East Bloomfield, born April 26, 1831 and a son of Stephen, who is the son of Gershom, whose parents were Reuben and Dorathy (FOOTE) SALMON, who had 6 sons and 2 daughters. The family is of English descent. Gershom was born in Connecticut, September 26, 1753. On August 8, 1789, he married Cynthia KELLOGG, by whom he had 6 sons and 4 daughters. Gershom was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. He was a teacher by profession and early came to East Bloomfield, where he died May 12, 1843.
Stephen was born June 22, 1794, in Connecticut and in early life worked in a woolen factory. He then came to East Bloomfield where for many years he was engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods. He was the first agent appointed at East Bloomfield for the Canandaigua and Niagara Falls Railroad company, which position he held for 17 year. In 1854 he built the house where subject of sketch now resides and here spent his last days in retirement. He was in the War of 1812 and was a Free Mason. He was twice married, first in December 1822, to Ann HAWLEY, by whom he had two children. On January 4, 1827, Mrs. SALMON died. On February 17, 1828, he married Elivia WILLEY, a native of Williamstown, Mass., Stephen died November 27, 1888,aged 94 years, 5 months, 5 days. To Mr. SALMON and second wife, were born two sons, Franklin A. W. and Stephen J. Stephen J. was born August 23, 1834, and was married to Mary E. ROBINSON, by whom he had one child, Daisy, who died in infancy. Stephen J. was a private secretary to R. W. BROWN, superintendent of the Buffalo and Erie RR Co., and died November 29, 1866.
Elivia (WILLEY) SALMON, mother of Franklin A. W., was born June 30, 1800 and died April 25, 1863. She was a daughter of John and Susanah (ROGERS) WILLEY, natives of Connecticut, who had 4 sons and 5 daughters. The father of John WILLEY, was John senior, a Captain in the Revolutionary War.
Franklin A. W. was reared in East Bloomfield and educated in the academy; he learned the trade of an iron foundry man and followed it for 2 years; then engaged as first clerk in the office of the superintendent of the Canandaigua and Niagara Falls Railroad Co., remaining 2 years. He then spent 7 months in a railway freight office at Prairie Du Chien, Wis., and then returned to New York State, where for over 30 years, Mr. SALMON very acceptably filled the position of railroad and express agent at East Bloomfield. As an accountant he is remarkable exact and as a penman unexcelled. He was married March 20, 1860 to Adeline WILLEY, a native of Churchville, Monroe county, and a daughter of John and Julia (STRATTON) WILLEY, natives of Massachusetts, who had 4 sons and 2 daughters. John WILLEY served in the War of 1812, and came to East Bloomfield in 1844, and there died, May 21, 1869 (Lockport, NY). Mrs. WILLEY died October 6, 1867.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 178 - 179
SANBORN, Rev. John Wentworth, Naples, was born in Epping, NH, November 3, 1848, and while he was young the family removed to Manchester, NH, where they remained for 13 years, and where John W. attended the public schools. They then returned to Epping, and while living there he attended the New Hampshire Conference Seminary at Tilton, NH. His parents next removed to South New Market, NH, and he then took a full classical course at Phillips Academy to fit himself for college, also taking a course at Wesleyan University at Middletown, Conn. He was one year principal of Kingston Academy, New Hampshire, and school commissioner, then went to Western New York and entered the Genesee Conference in the fall of 1874. His first pastorate was Spencerport, then at Scottsville, then Gowanda and Indian Mission, next Perry, and next Batavia; then Albion, Lockport, and Naples. Mr. SANBORN is manager of the New York Indian Exhibit at the World's Fair. While pastor in Albion he was invited by the British Science Association to lecture on the Indians before that body and did so at Manchester, England. In 1883 Dartmouth College conferred upon him the degree of Master of Arts, without solicitation on his part. It was done in recognition of services rendered by him to the cause of education in the authorship of three Latin and Greek Text books, which are used in forty schools and colleges. Mr. SANBORN was first married July 18, 1873, and had two children, Marion and John W. Jr. He married his present wife, Adelaide HISCOX, November 23, 1886, and had three children: Arthur Prescott, Olive Adelaide, and Ralph Carlton. The latter was born November 6, 1892.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 346
Daniel W. SAUNDERS, Canandaigua, son of William, was born in Bolton, England in August 1851, of Welsh ancestry. In May of the following year, his parents came to this country, and located in Canandaigua. William was born in Agibavana, Wales, in 1821 and when 17 years of age, was bound, as a parchment in possession of Mr. SAUNDERS reads: "To spend 4 years to learn the art of carpenter and jointer." He was the builder of a great many of the best houses in Canandaigua. He died in June 1886, and his wife in November 1891, aged 78 years. They had five children, of whom three are still living: Sarah SAUNDERS, a teacher of Cortland Normal School; Elizabeth, wife of Byron H. WILSON of Chicago; and Daniel W. Daniel was educated at the Canandaigua Academy, and on leaving school engaged in the trade of his father, and has ever since followed it. He is a Mason and he and his family are members of the Presbyterian church. He married in 1872, Rose TOWNSEND, by whom he had four children, only one of whom is living, Edith, now in her 11th year (b.1882). Two of the children died in infancy, and Lizzie Irene died in August, 1891, aged 18 years. Mrs. SAUNDERS died in October 1888 and he married second, Carrie, daughter of Willard BATES of Canandaigua, by whom he has one child, Grace.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Vol II,
Pub 1911, pg 276 - 283
Tradition says that three brothers came to America
from Lincolnshire, England, in a ship commanded by Captain
names were William, Edmund and Thomas,
and they arrived in 1636, although Savage finds no records of William
and Thomas until 1643. In
the ROWLEY records, Edmund
is given as Edward, who received
land in 1643, with Thomas SAWYER, one
of the boundaries of each lot being next the ocean.
This seems to prove that the brothers,
William, Thomas and Edward, came over just before 1643, and
that Edmund came over several years
( I ) Thomas SAWYER, immigrant
ancestor, was one of the nine persons in 1653 who organized the town
of Lancaster. He was a
blacksmith and farmer, and was one of the prominent citizens.
His farm was on the present ground of the Seventh Day
Adventists, between North Lancaster and Clinton.
His house was in the most central part of the Indian raid,
but he seems to have escaped with all his family, except his son
Ephraim who was killed at or near the house of his grandfather,
John PRESCOTT. Thomas
SAWYER's garrison was a safe defence against the French and
Indians, and there was said to be with the garrison a high French
officer who was mortally wounded in the fight.
Lancaster was deserted for three years, when the SAWYER
family helped to build up the town again, and was prominent
in its affairs for the next 30 years.
Thomas SAWYER took the oath of
allegiance in 1647, and was on the list of proprietors in Lancaster
in 1648. He was
admitted a freeman in 1654, when there were only five men who were
freemen. He died
September 12, 1706, aged about 90 years.
His will was dated March 6, 1705-06, proved April 12, 1720.
He mentioned wife Mary, sons Thomas,
Joshua, James, Caleb and Nathaniel, and daughter Mary
WILDER, whose name was usually spelled Marie.
Thomas SAWYER married Marie,
daughter of John PRESCOTT, a blacksmith
from Sowerby in the parish of Halifax, England, West Riding of
Yorkshire, where he married Mary BLATTS,
of Yorkshire. He was
born in Lancashire, England, and came to Lancaster, Massachusetts,
in 1645-46, for the purpose of building up the town, and he took the
oath of allegiance in 1652. His
family escaped the massacre and returned to the town in 1682.
born July 2, 1649, mentioned below; Ephraim,
January 16, 1650-51, died February 10, 1676, killed by Indians at
Prescott garrison; Mary, November 4,
1652-53, married, 1673, Nathaniel WILDER;
Elizabeth, January, 1654, died young; Joshua,
March 13, 1655, died July 14, 1738, married, January 2,
1677-78, Sarah POTTER; James, January
22, 1657, married (first) February 4, 1677, Mary
MARBLE, and (second) Mary PRESCOTT,
of Pomfret, Connecticut; Caleb,
February 20, 1659; John, April, 1661,
married, January 16, 1686, Mary BULL,
of Worcester; Elizabeth, baptized
January 5, 1663-64, married James HOSMER,
of Marlborough; Deborah, 1666, died
young; Nathaniel, October 24, 1670,
married (first) Mary _____ and (second)
1695, Elizabeth ____.
( II ) Thomas ( 2 ), son of Thomas
( I ) SAWYER, was born in Lancaster, Massachusetts, July 2,
1649, the first white child born there. When he was about 55 years old, he was captured by the
Indians, when he was living at the garrison during Queen Anne's war.
On October 16, 1695, he, his son Elias,
and John BIGELOW, of Marlborough, were at work in his sawmill
when they were surprised and taken by the Indians, and carried to
Canada, where BIGELOW and Elias SAWYER
were turned over to the French for ransom.
The Indians kept Thomas SAWYER,
intending to burn him to death.
SAWYER offered to build a
sawmill for the French on the Chamlay river if they saved his life
from the Indians and gave the three captives freedom. The French were glad of this opportunity to get a much-needed
mill, but it was impossible to persuade the Indians to give him up,
as they had made up their minds to put him to death, knowing that he
was a brave man who was not afraid of torture and death.
The French governor, however, defeated their purpose by a
clever trick. When SAWYER
was tied to the stake, a French friar appeared with a key in his
hand, and he described the tortures of purgatory so terribly,
telling him that he was ready to unlock the doors with the key he
held in his hand, that they gave up their victim, fearing the unseen
more than the real dangers. SAWYER
built the mill, which is said to have been the first in Canada, and
then came home after nearly a year of captivity. Elias SAWYER was kept a year
longer to teach others how to run the mill, but the captives were
well treated by the French after they were found to be useful.
Thomas SAWYER married
(first) Sarah _____, 1670.
He married (second) in 1672, Hannah
____. He married (third) in 1718, Mary WHITE. He died in Lancaster, September 5, 1736, and his gravestone
still remains. His will
was dated December 15, 1735, and proved November 3, 1736.
He mentioned four sons and two daughters, and bequeathed
twelve pounds to purchase a communion vessel for the Lancaster
William, of Bolton; Joseph,
mentioned below: Bazaleel; Elias;
Mary, married Josiah RICE, of
Marlborough; Hannah, married Jonathan MOORE, of
Bolton; (perhaps) Sarah, married Rev. Nathaniel
WHITMAN, of Deerfield.
( III ) Joseph, son of Thomas
( 2 ) SAWYER, was born about 1675.
He died before March 31, 1739, when his eldest son Joseph
deeded to his brothers Thomas,
of Bolton, and Abner, of Lancaster, a
quarter of his double share of the estate of his father, Joseph,
but "not my right in the thirds."
Children, baptized together June 22, 1718, in the First
Church of Lancaster: Joseph,
married Tabitha PRESCOTT; Sarah; Thomas,
mentioned below; Abner, born 1711,
married, April 8, 1736, Mary MILLER; Aaron, died
aged 43, (his name not given in the list of those baptized);
( IV ) Thomas ( 3 ), son of Joseph
SAWYER, was born in Lancaster, 1710, died at Bolton where he
settled when a young man, March 31, 1797, aged 87 years.
The date of his death was found on his gravestone.
He built a mill on Jackson pond in Winchendon in 1765, and
one in Otto river for his son Thomas in
1762-63. He also built
mills in Baldwinsville in 1767-68.
He deeded land in Templeton to his son Abner,
September 3, 1763, lots 5, 6, 36, 50, and others.
He deeded land to his son Hooker,
July 7, 1766. He
married Elizabeth _____, who died May
28, 1761, aged 51 years, 1 month, and 18 days.
Children, born in Bolton:
Abraham, September 19, 1737,
died young; Thomas, February 6,
1739-40, mentioned below; Abner, May 9,
1742, married Hannah PIPER, May 26,
1763; Hooker, November 3, 1744, married
Relief WHITCOMB, October 2, 1766; Elizabeth,
June 12, 1747; Joseph, July 26, 1750,
( IV ) Thomas ( 4 ), son of Thomas
( 3 ) SAWYER, was born in Bolton, February 6, 1739-40.
He followed the trade of his father, that of a millwright,
and settled in Templeton soon after his marriage.
He removed from there to Winchendon in 1771, where he was a
constable in 1772-74. He
served in the Revolutionary war, the first service being at the
Lexington alarm, April 19, 1775, when he appeared as sergeant on the
roll of Captain Abel WILDER's company,
Colonel Ephraim DOOLITTLE's regiment.
They marched from Winchendon to Cambridge, April 20, 1775,
and served sixteen days. He
was a private on the muster and pay roll of Captain Abraham
FOSTER's company, Colonel Samuel
BULLARD's regiment, which marched August 18, 1777, to
reinforce the northern army, and he was discharged November 30,
1777, after serving three months and twenty-four days.
The northern army was a body of troops from Massachusetts and
Connecticut, about Lake Champlain and southward, for defense of the
frontier under command of General SCHUYLER.
On the day of Burgoyne's surrender, October 17,
1777, although not formally discharged from the Massachusetts
regiment, and off duty, he served for six days as a volunteer in a
Vermont military company, raised by Captain Abraham
SALISBURY in Clarendon, by the authority of the committee of
safety and the principal inhabitants of Wallingford, Clarendon,
Rutland and Pittsford, on being alarmed by the enemy's taking
prisoners and plundering houses in Pittsburgh.
Soon after this Thomas SAWYER returned
to Massachusetts and was discharged the following November. He moved
with his family to Clarendon, Vermont, where he was chosen captain
by his neighbors and the council of safety. During this period he
built himself a house and grist mill, the first ever erected in
In 1778 the dangers of the War around Clarendon were
removed, because of parties of British and Indians from Canada.
Captain SAWYER's first
expedition was to Shelburne, on the then northern frontier.
Whitfield WALKER, a grandson of Captain
SAWYER, wrote an account of the trip in 1847, having learned
the facts of it from his mother, Prudence
SAWYER, as follows:
"THE BATTLE OF SHELBURNE"
"A man by the name of Moses
PIERSON emigrated from the State of New Jersey to Shelburne,
Vt., in 1777, and built a block-house, which was in an unfinished
condition, for the security of his family.
That section of the state being infested by Tories and
Indians, and being unprotected by any military force, he was made
acquainted with an expected incursion of Tories and Indians from
Canada. A message was
sent to Clarendon for assistance.
Captain SAWYER heard the call
and his action was prompt. He
called his company together and beat up for followers.
L. BARNUM and fifteen others
caught their Commander's spirit and turned out at the tap of the
SAWYER had a wife and six children, the oldest of which was a
son twelve years of age, whose business it was to chop and draw the
wood, and assist his mother in tending the grist-mill.
These he left and took up the line of march with seventeen
volunteers on the 20th of January, 1778.
Their pathway was a trackless forest, except by the Indian,
wolf and panther. The
season was inclement and the snow deep.
The march was tedious and their suffering and privations
intense; the last ten miles of their march the party came near
"On their arrival at Mr.
PIERSON's block-house, the place of destination, a distance
of sixty-six miles, late in the evening and nearly frozen, they
found PIERSON and family in a state of
anxious solicitude for their safety, and that of a few other hardy
pioneers. They were hospitably received and shared with them a frugal
meal of hominy ground in a steel handmill, brought by PIERSON
from New Jersey. Glad
were they to share his shelter, and to camp about his ample fire.
"When morning came the volunteers set about
repairing the defenses by putting the block-house in better repair.
The doors and windows were insecure and required to be
were at once commenced and they had nearly completed the defense,
all except securing one window, when they found the block-house
surrounded by Tories and Indians, the first notice of which was the
discharge of a volley of musketry through the insecure window, by
which three persons were killed, named BARNUM,
WOODWARD and DANIELS, the latter two of whom were not of the
party, but only came in for protection during the night.
"The battle then commenced in good earnest.
The guns of the assailed were pointed with deadly aim at the
enemy. Numbers fell,
reaping a rich reward for their temerity, till at length they became
desperate and set fire to the house in several places.
What was to be done was the question, as there was no water
at hand and the flames were rapidly spreading.
Captain SAWYER ordered the
contents of a barrel of beer to be used, and one of the number
sallied out under a shower of bullets and fortunately extinguished
the fire. A second
attempt was made to fire it, but our little band became in turn the
assailants. The enemy
was driven from the field carrying off their wounded, and was
supposed a portion of their dead, leaving seven on the field,
together with four prisoners taken.
"At morning's early dawn they surveyed the battle-field. Pursuing the track of the enemy to Lake Champlain, about half a mile distant from the scene of action, tracing it by the bloody snow which was deeply tinged, they passed down the banks of Bloody Brook, so called from the battle. They found, in the lake, holes cut through the ice, the edges of which were bloody, and into which it was evident some of the slain Indians had been plunged.
"Among the killed was an Indian Chief with ear
and nose jewels. These
jewels, also a powder horn, belt and bullet pouch, were trophies
kept by the Captain as long as he lived, as mementoes of an
illustrious deed, achieved by him and his followers, on the 12th of
"Three days previous to the battle, a Tory by the name of Philo left the vicinity on skates for St. Johns, to give the British notice that a patrolling party were at Shelburne, and they projected the plan of their capture, and the extirpation of these devoted friends of liberty. The assailants came on skates that the surprise might be complete, but the cowardly miscreant, Philo, did not return, but stayed behind. They doubtless congratulated themselves with certain prospects of a bloodless triumph, so far as they were concerned, and that the scalps of this band of heroes would entitle them to a liberal bounty from the British government. But they learned to their sorrow the Sons of Liberty were awake, and ready to pour out their blood like water, in defense of their homes and fireside altars.
"From the preceding facts it was believed by the victors that the
number killed far exceeded what were found on the field, but nothing
certain was ever known. Captain
SAWYER, as a reward for the heroism of the soldier who
extinguished the flames of the burning block-house with the contents
of the beer barrel, presented him with his watch."
A letter sent to Captain Ebenezer ALLEN at
that time says: "Gentlemen: By the express, this moment received the account of Capt.
SAWYER's late signal victory over the enemy at Shelburne.
By order of the Council of Safety.
Thomas CHANDLER Jr.
1777 all the continental troops were taken from the state and the
people left to their own resources. In the spring of 1778 Rutland
became the centre of the military forces of the state, and a fort
was built, called "Fort Ranger," and Captain
SAWYER was placed in command of the fort, holding the
responsible position for two years and rendering distinguished
service. The forts at Castleton and at Pittsford were under his
supervision also. During
his military service Captain SAWYER
lived in Clarendon until 1783, when he moved to Salisbury, Addison
county, New York, and erected the first sawmill and gristmill in the
region. Later he built
there a forge for the working of iron, and in 1786 he kept the first
flock of sheep in Addison county.
He was chosen the first representative of the town of
Leicester, Vermont, to the legislature, an office he held for three
years. Salisbury at
that time was supposed to be part of Leicester, but later
Captain SAWYER's place was included in the town of Salisbury.
In 1794 he moved to Manchester, Ontario county, New York,
where he died March 12, 1796, aged 55 years.
He was a man of stalwart frame and iron mould, and had a fine
moral and intellectual character.
He married Prudence CARTER,
who was born in Bolton in 1747, daughter of ______
and Prudence ( SAWYER ) CARTER.
Prudence SAWYER was a cousin of Captain
SAWYER's father. They were married in Harvard, a part of the original town of
Lancaster, September 13, 1762.
She died in 1818, in Manchester.
The intention was dated August 7, 1762.
He was of Templeton at the time of marriage.
Children, born at Templeton:
Stephen, October 4, 1764; Prudence,
January 14, 1767; children, born at Winchendon:
Eunice, Tuesday, May 2, 1769; Hooker,
June 11, 1771; Lucy, February 25, 1774;
Joseph, May 30, 1777, mentioned below; Olive,
at Clarendon, October 14, 1779; Thusebe, June
3, 1783, at Clarendon, died August 27, 1790; Luke,
July 8, 1785, at Leicester; Mark, February
25, 1788, at Leicester, died July 27, 1790.
( VI ) Joseph ( 2 ), son of Captain
Thomas ( 4 ) SAWYER, was born on "Saber-day," March
30, 1777, at Winchendon. He married (first) Desire ROOT in
1802. She died in 1807. He
married (second) December 25, 1807, Anna COATS. Children by first wife:
Henry, born April 25,
1803; Thusebe, April 25, 1805.
Children by second wife:
Desire, October 23, 1809; Abelina,
December 15, 1811; Joseph Norris, April
4, 1814, mentioned below; Eliza A.,
October 19, 1816; Lorenzo Wesley, June
29, 1819; James Paddock, April 7, 1821,
died June 26, 1822; James Mosely, June
16, 1823; Louisa M., August 21, 1825; Schuyler
Seager, January 19, 1828.
( VII ) Joseph Norris, son of Joseph
( 2 ) SAWYER, was born at Manchester, New York, April 4,
1814, died at Farmington, New York, March 16, 1883.
He was educated in the public schools of Manchester and
followed farming. He
had a place of two hundred acres in Farmington and added largely to
it during his life. He
was a Methodist in religion, a republican in politics.
He married, October 26, 1843, Caroline
JOHNSTON, born 1822, in Dutchess county, April 1, 1908.
Caroline Elizabeth, born June 17, 1844,
married, June 23, 1866, J. Jordan SNOOK,
and had Agnes R., born March 16, 1890.
Louisa, August 14, 1846, married, August 24, 1882, Luther
AUTISDALE and had Mildred Autisdale,
born February 10, 1889. 3.
Anna, June 20, 1850, married, February 16, 1881, Arthur
ROOT and had Herman H., born
July 19, 1882. 4.
Henry Howard, mentioned below.
Johnston, January 17, 1856, married, August 15, 1878, Charles FRAZER,
from whom she was divorced February 13, 1882, when she and her sons
took her maiden surname, SAWYER;
N., born May 30, 1879, at Victor, New York; Leland,
August 15, 1880, at Farmington, New York.
October 19, 1858, died March 14, 1861.
R., December 21, 1860, married (first) November 5, 1884, Ella
CHAPMAN, who died December 25, 1886; (second), October 25,
1893, Elizabeth PALMER.
Norris, June 3, 1863, married Catherine
WYNKOOP and had Richard L., born
February 11, 1898, died July 16, 1903.
9. Frederick A., May 26,
( VIII ) Henry Howard, son of Joseph
Norris SAWYER, was born at Farmington, New York, March 31,
1853. He attended the
district school and the Palmyra high school.
During his boyhood he worked on his father's farm and
afterward cultivated a farm of 143 acres of his own.
Afterward he moved to the Rushmore farm consisting of 145
acres, owned by his wife's father.
From 1876 to 1903 he lived at Farmington and since then has
lived at Victor, where he has charge of two large farms.
In politics he is a republican and he is postmaster of
Victor. In religion he
is a Methodist. He is a member of the Farmington Grange, Patrons of
Husbandry. He married,
January 15, 1880, Ella P. RUSHMORE,
born at Farmington, December 25, 1858, daughter and only child of Lewis
and Deborah A. ( DENNIS ) RUSHMORE.
Her father was born in 1828, died in 1897, a prosperous
farmer, a republican in politics and a member of the Society of
Friends. Her mother was
born in 1838 and died in 1895.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 345
William H. SAWYER, Farmington, was born on the farm where he now resides, October 26, 1834. He was educated in the common schools and Macedon Academy. May 19, 1875, he married Helen J. PRATT of Marion, Wayne county, and they had three children: Clara A., who is attending school in Palmyra; Henry P., who lives at home, and Howard J., who died at the age of 4 years. Henry, father of William H., was also born in Farmington (now Manchester), April 25, 1803. He married Susannah S. DEWEY of his native town, but formerly of Connecticut, who was born September 11, 1806, and they had six children, 3 sons and 3 daughters: Cornelia, Joseph H., William H., Frances M., Edwin D., and Louisa M. The grandfather, Joseph, was born in Vermont and came to this State with his parents. He was twice married, first to Desire ROOT of this State, and second to Anna COATES. Mrs. Helen J. SAWYER died January 20, 1890, mourned by a bereaved family and many friends.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 177
Wellington K. SAYRE, Phelps, was born in Rensselaerville, Albany county, August 9, 1837, one of four children of Cooper SAYRE of the same place. His mother, Julia Ann KIRTLAND, was born in Dunham, Greene county, her ancestors being Connecticut people. His grandfather, Enoch SAYRE was born at Southampton, L. I. In 1839 the family moved to Phelps, the father dying in 1881. He was a man possesses of ability both as a lecturer and a writer. Wellington K., married January 9, 1880, Welthea Eleanora, daughter of Joel W. and Emma (BILLINGS) BACON, of Waterloo.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 183 - 184
SAYRE, Dr. Ellis Brooks, Richmond, was born in Rushville, July 27, 1848. His father, John SAYRE, was born in Romulus, Seneca county, in 1814, where he spent is youthful days at school and in the service of his father, Coe B. SAYRE. In early life he engaged in business in Penn Yan, became a lawyer, and settled in Rushville, where he married in 1840, Sarah PEABODY, who died in 1859. He was a justice of the peace for 25 years and justice of sessions one term. Of his seven children three sons were in the army. The last ten years of his life he spent at the home of his son, Dr. SAYRE. The latter was educated at the academy and Union school at Rushville, and at Albany Medical College, when it was under the presidency of Dr. ARMSBY. He practiced in his native village one year, and then came to Allen's Hill where he has since remained and won a large practice. Dr. SAYRE married, June 29, 1882, Anna C., daughter of David P. BANCROFT of West Bloomfield, and their only child, Grace Peabody, was born August 12, 1883. Responding to the call of his country Dr. SAYRE, while yet very young, entered the army as private in the 26th NY Independent Battery.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 165-166
Major Peter SCHLICK, Canandaigua, was born in Rhine, Bavaria, Germany, February 24, 1832, and came to this country in 1851. He located the next year in this town, and has ever since been a resident, with the exception of about 3 years spent in Seneca Falls. He is a bookbinder, by trade, and conducts a bindery on Coy street, in the Messenger building, where he does all styles of binding. In August 1852, Mr. SCHLICK enlisted in the 148th NY Vols. as first sergeant and was with this regiment at Suffolk, Portsmouth, Norfolk, Yorktown, etc. In February, 1864, Mr. SCHLICK was commissioned first lieutenant of the 38th US Colored Troops, and in April the same year, he was promoted to the captaincy of Co. D, same regiment, by General BUTLER.
With this regiment he was at City Point, at Petersburg, 2nd Battle of Fair Oaks, and all the late engagements before Richmond; and then he received the appointment of major of the 22nd US Colored Troops for gallantry in the engagement at New Market Heights, October 21, 1864. He was mustered out under general orders November 24, 1865, in Texas, and returned home. Mr. SCHLICK married in October 1853 (Catharine MANEY, of Prussia), and has eight children: Henry R., Peter E., Elizabeth, Sara M., Minnie V, Frederick J., Agnes and William L. Mr. SCHLICK and family are members of the Catholic church of Canandaigua and he is also a member of Murray Post No. 162, GAR.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 172
Henry C. SCHRODER, Geneva, was born in Hanover, Germany, August 22, 1846. He was educated in the schools of his native country and came to the United States in 1869, locating in Geneva. He worked at the butcher business and began on his own account in 1872. He was married twice, first September 25, 1872, Anna M. MYER of Waterloo, Seneca county and they had 3 children: William H., a farmer; Sabina D., who resides at home and John G., who helps his father in business. Mrs. SCHRODER died March 19, 1881, and he married 2nd, November 3, 1881, Margaret BAKER of Newark, Wayne count and they have had 3 children: Arthur F., Nellie M., who died in infancy and Lena M. Mr. SCHRODER has been a farmer for several years. He returned to his native country on a visit in 1874, returning in the spring of 1875, and is now doing a prosperous business at butchering, having a first class market on Castle street.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 352
Franklin N. SCHU, Naples, was born in Wayland, Steuben county, NY, August 5, 1861. He attended a German school for 11 years at Perkinsville and the Wayland district school three years. At the age of 24, he began traveling for a Philadelphia house, which he continued for three years, then returned to Wayland and remained several years. August 24, 1886, he married Gettie, daughter of R. L. STONE of Avoca, Steuben county. He kept a saloon in Wayland for two years, then went to Swains, Allegany county and was in a hotel for one year; was one year in a factory at Avoca, then conducted a fruit store in Corning. He was in Fall Brook for about a year, also in the railroad shops six months, and from there moved to Naples, where he engaged with Capt. E. A. GRISWOLD as collector, etc., in his fruit basket manufactory.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 347
Hiram SCHUTT, Manchester, was born in the town of Manchester, November 17, 1824. Prior to the war, he was engaged in mercantile transactions at Port Gibson. In 1852 he raised Co. K, 184th Regiment, which was ordered to the seat of war. He participated in a number of battles and skirmishes, and was wounded in the right arm, and shot through the side at Drury's Bluff on May 16, 1861. On July 3, his regiment joined the Army of the Potomac, with which it remained until the close of the war, after which he was mustered out with a major's commission. Major SCHUTT has served as justice of the peace and justice of sessions. In 1865 he was elected on the republican ticket to the State Legislature for three years. (1870 Manchester census, has wife Maria; no children) (1900 census - no children)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 169-170
Willis J. SCHUTT, Manchester, was born March 31, 1864, in Manchester. He is a descendant of a Revolutionary family, whose members have been prominent in the local and political offices of this State for generations. Willis J., received a good education in the schools of this town, since which he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits. He has a fine farm of 103 acres located near Port Gibson, upon which he lives. He is a staunch republican in politics and has filled some local town offices such as inspector of elections, pathmaster, etc. He married Lulu B. MILLER hand they have one daughter.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 179
SCHUTT, A. P., Manchester, was born in the town of Manchester, April 22, 1828. He is a son of John SCHUTT, and a brother of Mayor SCHUTT of Manchester. Early in life Mr. SCHUTT went to California, where he remained for many years. He is now living on his farm in Manchester, containing one hundred acres of fine land. He never married and his sister takes care of his household affairs. Mr. SCHUTT is a stalwart republican and a gentleman of strong convictions, and an earnest party worker. His ancestors participated in both the Wars of the Revolution and that of 1812.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 351
William E. SCHWING, Clifton Springs, was born in Germany in 1862. He came to this country in 1883. Mr. SCHWING established a bakery and confectionery at Clifton Springs in 1880, which he sold to his brother (August C.) soon afterward. He then went West where he remained until 1892, when he returned, and is about to establish a new bakery enterprise at Phelps. He is at present with his brother at Clifton Springs. Mr. SCHWING is a member of the K. of P., etc. (1900 Census - Phelps - his birth, listed as March 1861; married 1895 to Pauline, born June 1873; daus. Alvida Aug 1896 & Inne, Jan 1898)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 345 - 346
John D. SCOTT, Geneva, was born in the northeast part of Geneva, March 17, 1860. He was educated in the common schools and Geneva Commercial College. He was a grower of nursery stock at present, and also does a jobbing trade, employing six salesmen. March 5, 1888, he married Nellie J., seventh daughter of Benjamin and Jane LEARCH of Fayette, Seneca county. They have 3 children: J. Dean, Helen F. and Sarah M. Mr. SCOTT'S father, Charles S. was born in London, England, and came to the United States when a young man. He married Frances DIXON, formerly of Yorkshire, England, and they had 6 children: John D., Minnie, James, Phoebe, Anna and Fannie. Mrs. SCOTT'S father was born in the town of Fayette in 1832 and married Jane GOUGHER of his native town. They had eight children: Nora, Susanna, George, Anthony, Perry, Carrie, Nellie and Isadora. Mr. SCOTT is a member of Lodge No. 299, I.O.O.F.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 349-350
Winfield SCOTT, Geneva, was born in Canajoharie, Montgomery county, NY, June 28, 1834 and received a liberal education. He has had a variety of occupations, for a time being a bookkeeper in New York. In 1856 he married Caroline SCOTT of Missouri and they have 7 children: Genio C., a resident of Kansas; James R., a merchant in Bellona, Yates county; Walter, who resides in the state of Washington; Samuel W., a resident of California; Helen M., who married Fred C. BARNES; Frank W. and John C., both of whom reside at home. Mr. SCOTT'S father, Genio, was born in Livonia, Livingston county, NY in 1806. He was a farmer ad was twice married. His first wife was Catharine ROOF, by whom he had four sons: George M., Walter, Winfield and one who died unnamed. Mr. SCOTT died December 19, 1879 and his widow, in 1889. Our subject has been one of the assessors of his town six years, and was also the enumerator of the town in the last census. In politics he is a Democrat.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 340
Edward SCRIBNER, Victor, was born in East Bloomfield, June 21, 1827. His parents moved to West Bloomfield and shortly afterwards to Victor, when he was 6 years old. He was educated in the public schools and has always been a farmer. he married twice, first in 1857, to Phoebe SHELDON of the town of Farmington. They had two children, Jennie and John A., who married Catherine THOMPSON, of Albany, and have one daughter, Helen. Mrs. SCRIBNER died in 1860. The daughter, Jennie, resides at home with her parents. On February 14, 1861, he married second, Sarah E., daughter of Isaac and Esther DRAKE of Webster, Monroe county, and they have had two sons: Frankie W., who died in infancy, and Burton E. who married Ludora H. BORTLE, of the town of Perrington. Mr. SCRIBNER'S father, Abram, was born in Massachusetts in 1789. He married Henrietta SOUTHWORTH and had 8 children: Charles, Delia, Caroline, Jane, George, Edward, Mary and Henry. They came to East Bloomfield after several children were born, others were born in East Bloomfield and Victor. Mrs. SCRIBNER'S father, Isaac DRAKE, was born in Pennsylvania in 1793, and married Esther BURNETT, formerly of New Jersey and they had 6 children: Stephen B., Mary, William, Webster S., Sarah E. and Sylvester. Mrs. SCRIBNER'S father, was in the War of 1812.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 351 -352
Edwin SEAGER, Phelps, was born in the town of Phelps, December 4, 1821. He was a son of Levi SEAGER, who was born in Connecticut, near the city of Hartford, who came to Phelps and settled in 1812. the grandfather, Micah SEAGER was also a Connecticut man. The great grandfather was Joseph SEAGER, whose birthplace is not at this time definitely known. The mother of Edwin SEAGER was Sophia STREETER, who was born in the town of Phelps. Edwin SEAGER married September 4, 1850, Mary Jane PRICHARD, one of six children of Benjamin and Jane Ann (STOUGHTENBURG) PRICHARD of Phelps. The grandfather, James PRICHARD, was born in London, England and came to this country and settled at Poughkeepsie, NY, about the period of the Revolution. Mr. and Mrs. SEAGER have four children: Charles S., Hattie Sophia, George C. and Edwin J. George C., is a stirring newspaper man of Rochester, is court reporter and also identified with various important enterprises. The SEAGER farm is a farm of 70 acres, largely devoted to grape culture.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 177
Isaac A. SEAMANS, lawyer of Naples, was born in Middlesex, Yates county, May 12, 1836, a son of William and Berthena (Adams) SEAMANS, the father a native of Vermont, who came to Yates county with his father, Oliver, about 1790. The grandfather ADAMS came to the above place as early as 1785, one of the first settlers. William SEAMANS removed to Michigan in 1837, when that State was mostly a wilderness and remained there, a farmer, all his life. Isaac A., when 10 years old came to live with an uncle in Yates county, where he was educated in the common schools, Rushville Academy and Hillsdale College, Michigan. He commenced the study of law and was admitted to the bar in 1861. Two months later, he was mustered into service in Co. K., 126th NY Vols., as second lieutenant, served until May 1864 and returned home as a captain. He participated in many battles and received two wounds, one on his head and the other in his hip. He has been a pensioner since the war, and is as staunch republican. He settled in Naples in the practice of his profession in 1865, where he has enjoyed a good patronage. He married June 17, 1875, Tryphena E. HARTWELL, by whom he has one son, Cyrillo E. The family are all members of the M. E. Church.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 179
SEARS, Henry W., Bristol, was born in Bristol, February 8, 1861, and is a son of Dewitt C. SEARS, a son of John SEARS, whose father, Alden SEARS, was a native of Massachusetts. Dewitt C. SEARS was born in Bristol, July 1, 1823. He was twice married, first to Caroline SMITH, by whom he had two children. In 1858 Mrs. SEARS died, and Mr. SEARS married Laura M. WILSON of Richmond, daughter of Henry WILSON, by whom he had one son, Henry W., and two daughters, only one of whom is living. The last three years of his life he lived retired in Canandaigua. He was a republican, was justice of peace several years, and town clerk one term. For 18 years he was deacon of the First Congregational church of Bristol. He died March 1, 1893. Henry W. SEARS was reared on the old homestead, where he now resides. February 8, 1887, he married Lizzie J. TAYLOR of Bristol, daughter of Chauncey O. TAYLOR, who bore him one child, Howard DANA, born May 26, 1889. Mr. SEARS is a republican and a member of the Farmers' Alliance of Bristol, and he and wife are members of the Congregational church.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 351
Simeon H. SEARS, East Bloomfield, was born in Sharon, Conn., September 6, 1816, a son of John, son of Stephen, a sea captain, who was lost at sea. His wife (Stephen's) was Sybil HUNT, who died in Connecticut about 1825, aged about 94 years. They had a son and four daughters. Subject's grandfather (Stephen) was three times married. John SEARS was born in Sharon, Conn., and came to East Bloomfield in 1856, where he died in 1860, aged 76 years. His wife died at the age of 83 years. He was a physician and their children were: Sybil, Mary, Simeon, John, Vincent, Albert, Sarah and Fannie. Albert died of yellow fever in Mississippi, and Mary and Fanny died young.
Simeon has a district and academic education and at the age of 22 years, started for himself on a farm of his own, of 100 acres. This he sold ad located on 150 acres, where he now lives in East Bloomfield. He was a trader in sheep and wool for several years, and is a republican in politics. January 18, 1839, he married Mary J. ROBERTS, who was born on the adjoining farm to her husband, in Connecticut, November 19, 1816. She was a daughter of Samuel and Pamelia (PATCHEN) ROBERTS. Her grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier. Mr. and Mrs. SEARS have had five children: Mary, wife of Charles E. EASTMAN; Albert R., Amanda C., wife of Henry C. BROWN, Louisa M., wife of George PARMALEE and Almira, wife of Francis ELLIS.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 181
SECOR, James R., Gorham, a native of Potter, Yates county, was born March 6, 1821. His father, Isaac, was a son of Isaac, who was a native of Westchester county, and who died in Potter. His wife was Elithere SMITH, by whom he had five sons and three daughters. Isaac was born in Westchester county and married Sarah REED, by whom he had two children: James R., and a daughter, who married James H. NEWCOM of Benton. Isaac Jr., was justice of the peace 12 years, and was assessor and constable. He died in 1850 aged 57, and his wife in 1885 aged 87 years. James R. SECOR was educated at the common schools. September 24, 1849, he married Jane HOELTZEL, a native of France, who came to America with her parents. George and Christiana HOELTZEL, about 1828 and settled in Potter. The children of James R. and wife are: Isaac G., Sarah J., Mary M., Gertrude and Florence. In 1866 he came to Gorham and purchased and improved 137 acres of land, which he has increased to 150. Mr. SECOR is a Democrat, and has been highway commissioner and assessor.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 193 - 196
John SEVERANCE, the
immigrant ancestor, was a resident of Boston, Massachusetts, as
early as 1637. He was admitted a freeman that year, and in 1640, was a
member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company.
He removed to Salisbury about 1639, where he had a grant of
land. He was one of the
prudential committee in 1642, and in 1645 was appointed highway
surveyor. On December 21, 1647, he sold his houses, the "new and
old," to Thomas BRADBURY, and
opened an "ordinary."
He was afterwards known as a "victualler and vinter."
He was on a committee in 1652 to repair the meeting house.
His will was dated April 7, 1682, and proved May 9, 1682.
He married (first) in England, in 1635, Abigail
KIMBALL, who died June 19, 1658.
He married (second), October 27, 1663,
Mrs. Susanna AMBROSE, of Boston, widow of Henry
AMBROSE. He died April 9, 1682. Children:
Samuel, born September 19, 1637, died young; Ebenezer,
March 7, 1639, died unmarried, September, 1667;
Abigail, January 7, 1641, died same day; Abigail,
May 25, 1643; Mary, August 5, 1645; John,
November 27, 1647, mentioned below; Joseph,
February 15, 1650; Elizabeth, April 8,
1652, died 1656; Benjamin, January 13,
1654; Ephraim, April 8, 1656; Elizabeth,
(twin) June 17, 1658; Daughter, (twin)
June 17, 1658, died June 23 following.
( II ) John ( 2 ), son of John
SEVERANCE, was born November 27, 1647, in Salisbury.
He and his father kept the inn, and about 1672, he went to
Boston, where he settled. In
1680, he removed to Suffield, Connecticut, and in 1689, to
Deerfield, Massachusetts, where he settled on Lot. No. 1.
He became a large landowner in Deerfield.
About 1703, he removed again to Bedford, Westchester county,
New York, where he remained about 12 years, returning to Deerfield
about 1713, and living the last years of his life, with his son
married, August 15, 1672, Mary ______.
Children, the first four born in Boston, the others in
September 19, 1673; Abigail, May 5,
1675; John, September 22, 1676;
Daniel, June 3, 1678, killed by Indians, September 15, 1694; Mary,
July 14, 1681; Joseph, mentioned
( III ) Joseph, son of
John ( 2 ) SEVERANCE, was born October 26, 1682; in Suffield,
and died April 10, 1766. He
was a tailor by trade and resided first at Deerfield, where he owned
a house and home lot. He
was in the fight in the meadows in 1704, and was also a soldier in
the service in 1713. He
was wounded by the Indians and made a cripple, and was compensated
for this by the general court which granted him 200 acres of land
east of Northfield on Mount Grace.
His father also gave him land in Deerfield.
He lived also at Northfield, and followed his trade there.
He was corporal in Captain KELLOGG's
company in 1723 and orderly in 1747.
In 1722, he was selectman.
A few years before his death, he divided his real estate in
Deerfield among his children, and he and his wife went to live with
the youngest son, Moses, in Montague,
where they both died and were buried.
He married, November 17, 1712, Anna
KELLOGG, born July 14, 1689, died March 13, 1781, daughter of
Martin KELLOGG, of Hadley.
Children, born in Deerfield:
Joseph, mentioned below; Anna,
December 25, 1715; Martin, September
10, 1718; John, December 15, 1720; Experience,
March 14, 1723; Jonathan, June 12,
1725; Rebecca, March 4, 1728; Moses,
March 23, 1730; Abigail,
November 16, 1732.
( IV ) Joseph ( 2 ), son of Joseph
( 1 ) SEVERANCE, was born October 7, 1713, and married,
October 31, 1732, Mary, daughter of Joseph
CLESSON, born May 9, 1712, died July 25, 1775.
He settled in Deerfield, on Lot No. 36.
He was a soldier in the French and Indian
war, in Captain CHEEVER's
company; was taken prisoner, August, 1757, at Fort William Henry,
and taken to Canada, where he remained but a short time.
He escaped and returned home.
The date of his death is unknown.
born April 13, 1733, died May 29, 1735;
Joseph, born June 15, died June 27, 1735;
Eunice, January 5, 1737; Chloe,
April 7, 1739; Joanna, September 13,
1743; Mary, May 6, 1745; Ruel,
April 24, 1747; Jesse, 1751, mentioned
( V ) Jesse, son of Joseph
( 2 ) SEVERANCE, was born about 1751, his birth is not on
record, but he was doubtless of this family.
He died November 21, 1831, aged eighty years. In 1774 he was of Deerfield and of Shelburne in 1781.
He settled in Conway and was selectman in 1784, and deputy
sheriff in 1791. Before
1806 he returned to Deerfield and was a tavern keeper at Bloody
Brook in 1810. In 1790
he was of Conway, Mass., according to the first federal census
and had in his family four sons under sixteen and five females.
He married Eunice ABBOTT.
Eunice, baptized June 23,
1776; Jesse, mentioned below; Lois,
married, February 19, 1815, Captain Nathan
FRARY; Lucy, married Allen
MANSFIELD; Jennette, married David
( VI ) Jesse ( 2 ), son of Jesse
( 1 ) SEVERANCE, was born in Conway about 1775 and learned
the trade of blacksmith. He
came to the town of Phelps in 1815.
He married Anna Sophia ABBOTT.
Charles; Porter; Albert; William Sidney, mentioned below; Asa
( VII ) William Sidney, son of Jesse
( 2 ) SEVERANCE, was born in Conway, September 10, 1800, and
died in Phelps, New York, in 1865.
He came to Phelps at the age of fifteen and located with his
parents on Melvin Hill. He
had a common school education and learned his father's trade as
blacksmith and followed it all his active life.
He married Arzelia, daughter of Charles
Ellen, married Jethro
SHERBORNE, and had one child, Kate;
Oscar lives in St. Louis, Missouri; William
Dwight, mentioned below.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911,
Vol. II, pg. 416 - 417
The SHEFFER family,
represented in the present generation by
Edward Thatcher SHEFFER, of Shortsville, New York, is an
honored one in that state, several generations residing there,
faithfully performing their part as public-spirited citizens.
( I ) The first of the name of whom we have definite
information was Roswell P. SHEFFER.
He married Mary HILLIARD and
among their children was Ceylon, see forward.
( II ) Ceylon, son of Roswell
P. and Mary (HILLIARD) SHEFFER, received a practical
education in the schools of the neighborhood, and upon arriving at
man's estate became a prominent manufacturer of Shortsville,
continuing for many years. He
made the original Shortsville Iron Beam Plow, which was considered a
very useful adjunct to the farm.
He held a high position in the industries of the town, and
was considered by all who knew him as an exemplary character and an
active factor in promoting the best interests of the community.
He followed the doctrines of the Presbyterian church, and in
politics adhered to the principles of the Republican party.
He married Emma THATCHER, born
1849, died October 14, 1883, daughter of Isaac
and Ann THATCHER. Among
their children was Edward THATCHER, see
Isaac THATCHER, father
of Emma (THATCHER) SHEFFER, was born in
Ontario, Wayne county, New York, October 28, 1824, died March 25,
1910, at the age of almost eighty-six years, son of Joseph
and Abigail (DURFEE) THATCHER.
When about seven years old his father died and he then left
home and went to Clifton Springs, where he remained until he was
fourteen years old, and then located in Shortsville and made his
home there for several years. He
later went to Albion and learned the trade of wagon maker, remaining
for four years, after which he returned to Shortsville and there
spent the remainder of his life.
He married Ann _____, who died
September 5, 1898. Children:
Emma, aforementioned as the wife of Ceylon
SHEFFER; Mrs. Charles H. DAVISON; Dr. Edward THATCHER and Burritt
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 162-163
Richard H. SHEKELL, Hopewell, was born in Manchester, May 25, 1809, a son of Benjamin, who was a native of Maryland. The latter (Benjamin) married in Frederick county, MD., a Miss SIMMONS and they reared 7 children. About 1803 he and his family (excepting two daughters who married in Maryland) came to Clifton Springs. He gave a lot for the first M.E. Church of that place, and land for the first cemetery. He died at Clifton Springs in 1822. His first wife died in Maryland. Benjamin's 2nd wife, Mary BURGESS died in Hopewell, leaving a daughter, Mary. Benjamin was born in Maryland in 1773. In 1779 he came to Clifton Springs, where he followed his trade of carpentry. His first work was one the old Oakes Stand and Geneva Hotel. The same year he returned to Maryland, passing on his way, the churches where the funeral of George WASHINGTON were being conducted. In 1800 he came back to Clifton Springs again and spent the remainder of his life. By his wife, Ann JONES, he had 9 children, six of whom grew to maturity. He died in 1849 and his wife about 1859. Richard H. SHEKELL, his only son, was educated in the common schools and also the select schools of Phelps, under Professor KNIFFIN. He married Elizabeth COST of Manchester, by whom he had two daughters. Mrs. SHEKELL died in 1844 and in 1845 Richard married Lucretia COST, sister of his first wife, by whom he had eight children. Mr. SHEKELL'S surviving children are : Mrs. M. A. ARCHER of Clifton Springs; Mrs. Cornelia L. OSGOOD of Rochester; Mrs. Hattie E. WARNER of Canandaigua and Henry C., who was born in 1848, is a farmer and has been twice married: 1st to Marcelia STILLWELL and 2nd to Cynthia ALDRIDGE, by whom he had one son, Richard. Mr. SHEKELL is an active member of the M. E. Church.
(1900 Hopewell census - listed as Henry C. SHEKLES, born Feb 1846; Emma, wife born Apr 1869; Richard H., aged 19y, born Feb 1881, son; Euginia, aged 5y, born Dec 1894, dau ; Lucretia, aged 80y, born Apr 1820, mother; Henry & Emma appear married 17y, 2 birthed/2 living) (1910 Hopewell Census Henry C., aged 64y; Married 2x; married 17y; Emma, wife, aged 41y; Eugene, son, aged 12y) (1910 separate Hopewell Census, Richard H., aged 29y; married 3y; Eliza, wife, aged 28y; Richard H. Jr., son, aged 1 8/12y; Frank A., son, aged 0/12 census taken April 1910) (1920 Phelps Census - Emma appears as a sister in household of John BOSTWICK; still listed as married) (1920 Hopewell, Eugene, aged 22y, Alice, wife, aged 21y, Henry C., aged 73y father) (1920 Canandaigua, Richard H. and his family of 4 sons and 1 dau)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 165
H. E. SHELDON, Geneva, was born in Attica in 1858 and in 1883 came to Geneva and established the Star Bottling Works and is a manufacturer of soda and other light drinks, having the largest business of the kind in Geneva. In 1888 he married Catharine A. FORD. Mr. SHELDON is a son of Horace and Hannah SHELDON of Attica, Wyoming county.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 341 -342
Gardner L. SHELDON, Farmington, was born in Farmington September 20, 1826. He was educated in public schools and followed farming. October 17, 1849, he married Huldah A., daughter of Edward and Harriet HERENDEEN of this town. They have three children, two sons and one daughter. Edward J., was born January 1, 1851, was educated in the common schools of Canandaigua Academy. May 1, 1873 he married Harriet E. BULLOCK of Brighton, Ontario, Canada. They had four children: Edward C., Lulu I., Fred G., and Frank C. (twins), who died at the age of 3 months. Mr. SHELDON was a miller by occupation, and died February 23, 1885. Albon G., born September 15, 1857, was educated in the public schools and Palmyra High School. He too is a farmer by occupation. December 17, 1884, he married Lizzie, daughter of Cullen H. and Mary C. (BEEBE) ROGERS of Palmyra. They have two daughters and one son: Evelyn R., Albon G., Jr. and Mary A. (twins), Hattie E, died in infancy. Mr. SHELDON'S father, John was born in the town of Farmington in the year 1796, was educated in the district schools of his day, and married Eliza GARDNER, who was born in the eastern part of this State. They had five children, three sons and two daughters: Sarah, William B., Gardner L., William P., Hannah B. Mr. SHELDON'S grandfather, Nathaniel, married Sarah WINSLOW, and had 9 children, four sons and five daughters: Stephen, Joseph, John, Elizabeth, Anna, Ruth Webster, Sarah and Vania. The ancestors of the SHELDONS are Scotch.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 163
George B. SHEPPERD, Phelps, one of 6 children (4 now living), of Benjamin and Eurania M. (WESTFALL) SHEPPERD, was born in Phelps, January 29, 1863. John SHEPPERD, the grandfather, was born in New Jersey, and emigrated to Phelps about 1799, and settled on the farm where George B. was born. He was a soldier of the War of 1812. George B. is one of the representative young men of the town, having served the town as supervisor for the year 1891.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 155
Eliakim SHERRILL was born in Greensville, Greene County, NY, February 6, 1813; elected Member of Congress in the Ulster district, 1847; State Senator, 1855-56; removed to Geneva in 1860; became Colonel of the 126th Regiment, New York Volunteers, in 1862; led the Third corps at the battle of Gettysburg, and there on the 3rd of July, 1863, received a wound, which resulted in his death the following day.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 225
Richmond, settled in Honeoye, where Dr. WILBUR
now resides, in an early day, coming from Massachusetts.
His son, Daniel 2d, and
grandson, Daniel 3d, were born in
Williamstown, Mass., and all came here. Daniel 3d
was 18 years of age when he moved here, and had been previously
drafted into service in the War of 1812 for three months.
He and his sister, Speedy, came
here in a buggy and both entered into service with their uncles,
William and Abel SHORT, who had come here a little earlier.
Daniel 3d married Mary
DOOLITTLE, born in Bristol, whose ancestors came from
Connecticut. Three of
his children died young; the others were:
Speedy, Harriet, Daniel 4th, Clarissa,
Lucy, Adaline, Spencer D., Nancy, and Emeline.
Daniel 3d was commissioner of
highways 14 years. He
died in 1867, and his wife in 1869.
Daniel 4th was born in 1823.
He was educated in the common and select schools, taught two
winters after his majority, and worked by the month on his father's
farm until 27 years of age. He
then married Persis E. DOOLITTLE, whose
father, Dr. Willard DOOLITTLE, was a
practicing physician here for 40 years.
She had been a school teacher for several years and died in
1889. They had five
children, two of whom died young; the others are:
Louis Daniel, born in 1864, graduated from Rochester
University, class of 1888, and has been mostly employed since in
newspaper work; Mary D. was born in
1869, graduated from Lima Seminary and is now at home; and Willard
Scott, now a student in Lima Seminary.
Mr. SHORT was a revenue assessor
two years, county superintendent of the poor in 1889, town assessor
four years, and has been an auctioneer for 30 years, and a farmer
all his life. He is a
Republican and a member of the Congregational church here.
His farm consists of 125 acres.
Spencer D., son of
Daniel 3d, was born in Livonia, July 31, 1832.
He was educated in the schools of Honeoye, and his residence
has been on the homestead, first taken up by Philip
SHORT, a cousin of Daniel 2d,
about 1792, then owned by Philip 2d,
then by Daniel, and now by Spencer
D. The latter
has been assessor, commissioner of highways, and supervisor
1869-70-71 and ' 72, and was chairman of the Board during the latter
two years. He is a republican. In
1861 he married Lorinda A., daughter of
Gideon PITTS, whose father, Gideon,
was one of the founders of the town.
Six children have been born to them: Abbie
L., (Mrs. E. O. TERRY of Nunda); Nellie
E. (Mrs. James B. Bothwell of Missouri); Spencer
Wells, a banker in Iowa; Florence N.,
lives at home; Ralph Richmond and Gideon
Pitts, both students at Lima Seminary.
Mr. SHORT's farm consists of 160
acres. He makes a
specialty of sheep, and for several years has been purchasing agent
for large breeders of sheep in the South and West.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 247
SHORT, Fayette D.,
Richmond, was born June 15, 1842.
His father was Hiram, a son of Philip.
Hiram was born in 1816 and died in 1883.
His wife was Elizabeth HAPPOUGH,
of Canadice, daughter of Peter HAPPOUGH,
and they were the parents of six children, as follows: Persis
E., Fayette D., Peter A., John, Othello A., and Emma B. (Mrs.
Othello H. HAMILTON). He
settled on the farm now owned by his son Othello
A., and there his children were born.
Fayette D. SHORT was educated at
Lima Seminary. He
married Adelaide E., daughter of Philip
REED 2d, and they have had these children: Myra
B., born in 1866, wife of Arthur B.
NEWTON, of Fairport; Clark Reed,
born in 1869, a clerk in Livonia; Bessie E.,
born in 1870 (deceased); and Richmond B.,
born in 1872, now at Lima Seminary.
Wheeler Reed (brother of
Philip 2d, father of Mrs. Fayette D.
SHORT) was born in Vermont in 1788.
He was twice married and had 20 children, 15 of whom raised
families, among whom are Mrs. Benjamin COY,
of Livonia, Mrs. Emily LONGYEAR, of
North Bloomfield, Fitch, of Kansas, and
several in Michigan.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 60-61
Dr. John W. SHORT,
who was been established in the practice of the medical profession
in Geneva, Ontario county, NY, since 1909, while young in years, has
had an amount of experience which many of his older colleagues have
not been able to attain in twice the number of years of practice.
Thoroughly conversant with the details of his profession,
energetic in all his business transactions as well as honorable and
high minded in all the different phases of life,
Dr. SHORT occupies an enviable position among his fellow
citizens, who willingly accord to him a place in their first ranks,
not alone for his many professional and business qualities, but for
every trait that marks the true Christian gentleman and the man of
honor. He is the son of
the Rev. John L. SHORT, who is a
minister of the Methodist denomination and is at present living at
was born in Bernhard's Bay, NY, August 24, 1880.
His earlier education was acquired at the Brookfield high
school and the Fairfield Military Academy, and he was graduated from
the Verona high school, Oneida county, NY.
In 1889 he matriculated at Syracuse University from the
medical department of which he was graduated in 1903, with a degree
of Doctor of Medicine. Without
wasting any time, he commenced practice in Canastota the same year,
removed to Redfield in 1904 and in 1909, removed to Geneva, NY,
which he intends to make his permanent field of labor.
In the comparatively short time he has been located in that
town he has acquired a reasonably large practice, and the confidence
with which he inspires his patients and the success he has displayed
in the treatment of serious and well-nigh hopeless cases is rapidly
causing his fame as a medical practitioner to spread beyond the
confines of the town in which he lives.
His practice is a general one, both as a physician and
surgeon. Having in his youth been thoroughly trained in the tenets of
the Methodist denomination, he became a member of this church when
he settled in Geneva, while his political views are those of the
republican party. He is
also a member of Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons of
Geneva; Redfield Lodge, No. 22, Independent Order of Odd Fellows;
Geneva Lodge, No. 291, Order of Maccabees; and the Geneva Medical
Association; of Ontario County Medical Society; Seventh District
Medical Society; the New York State Medical and the American Medical
Dr. SHORT married,
July 19, 1905, Ruth, born in
Fayetteville, NY, daughter of Lester and
Julia WORDEN, the former an extensive real estate dealer in
Syracuse, NY, where he has resided since 1885.
Children of Dr. SHORT and Ruth
(WORDEN) SHORT: Dorothy Worden,
born May 26, 1906, John Winchell,
born December 6, 1908.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 61
district attorney, is an excellent example of what may be
accomplished by energy and untiring industry united with
determination and executive ability of a high order.
Myron D. SHORT was born in Richmond, Ontario county, NY, August 23, 1873. He attended the district schools and then the Cook Academy at Havana, NY, from which at the age of 17 years, he entered the service of the Elmira, Cortland & Northern railway, at Elmira and two years later went to Canandaigua, NY, where he was employed by the New York Central and Northern Central railroad, and subsequently by the Pennsylvania Railroad Company. While holding a position with the last mentioned company, he commenced the study of law with Mark T. POWELL, continuing his studies under the preceptorship of John GILLETTE, and was admitted to the bar in 1899. He associated himself in a partnership with W. Smith O�BRIEN, at Geneva, NY. At the expiration of one year, William H. HAMLIN was admitted to membership in this firm, and they opened offices also in Canandaigua. For a number of years, Mr. SHORT had taken an active interest in political matters and in 1905 was elected district attorney, an office he is still administering with great benefit to the community.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911,
Vol II, pg. 209 - 210
Andrew J. SHORT, owner
of "The Maples," at Clifton Springs, Ontario county, New
York, has been identified in a prominent manner with the matters
connected with electrical engineering and kindred branches, for many
years, and is the originator of many novel ideas in this field of
industry. His family
have been settled in the state of New York for a number of
generations, and were connected with agricultural interests.
Andrew Jackson SHORT,
his father, was born in the town of Phelps, Ontario county, New
York, in 1837, and lived for many years on the family homestead.
"The Maples," where his death occurred May 11,
1881. He was a farmer all his life.
He married, March 1, 1864, Mary Jane
MYERS, who died July 2, 1904.
son of Andrew
Jackson and Mary Jane (MYERS) SHORT, was born in the town of
Phelps, Ontario county, New York, May 3, 1870.
He was a regular attendant at the public schools of his
native township, and then became a student at Canandaigua Academy.
In March, 1893 he went to Rochester, New York and entered the
employ of the Standard Electric Company, installing an electric fire
alarm system in private buildings.
In November, 1893 he went to Phelps, New York, and entered
the employment of T. Q. HOWES' Sons as
electrical engineer, remaining with his firm for three and one-half
In 1898 he engaged in the manufacture of gasoline
engines in association with W. E. WATKINS.
In 1904 he built the electric light plant at Clifton Springs,
New York, and acted as superintendent and manager of this plant for
a period of two years. He
then received the appointment as chief engineer of the Rome Gas,
Electric Light & Power Company at Rome, New York, a position he
filled for three and a half years and then resigned and retired to
his homestead "The Maples," April 1, 1910, to do some
extensive repairing, etc. "The
Maples" is a fine old homestead with all modern appliances,
including a small electric lighting plant run with a gasoline
Since February 1, 1911, Mr.
SHORT has been with the Lima-Honeoye Light & Railroad
Company, in the capacity of superintendent.
In 1898 Mr. SHORT was
elected an associate member of the American Institute of Electrical
Engineers. He is also a member of Sincerity Lodge, No. 200, Free and
Accepted Masons and since 1909 has been a member of Zeba Grotto, No.
4, of Rome, New York.
of Ontario Co, NY & It's People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 64
Mark H. SIBLEY, prominent as a lawyer, a jurist, and a legislator in the early history of Ontario county, was born at Great Barrington, Mass., in 1796. Coming to Canandaigua, in 1814, he studied law with Dudley MARVIN and was admitted to the bar. He succeeded Oliver PHELPS as a member of the State Assembly in 1834 and was re-elected in 1835; was a Representative in Congress from 1837 to 1839; a State Senator in 1841, and County Judge from 1847 to 1851. He was a brilliant lawyer and an effective public speaker. Died in Canandaigua, September 8, 1852.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 348-349
D. SIDWAY, East Bloomfield, is a native of Shiawassa county,
Mich., born October 8, 1840, a son of Charles, whose
father, William, was many years a
resident of Newburg, Orange county and there died in 1811. The
wife of William was Elizabeth
DANES, by whom he had three sons and a daughter. In an
early day the family came to Canandaigua. Charles
was born in Orange county in 1808 and was a child when he came
to Canandaigua. He was educated in the common schools and
learned the carriage maker's trade in Rochester. In 1836 he
married Susan LEE, a native of Yates
county, and a daughter of James and Sarah
(Smith) LEE. Mr. SIDWAY and wife had nine children.
In 1835 he went to Michigan and resided until 1864, then returned to
Ontario county and bought a farm of 150 acres now owned by George
D. Here in
1874, Mrs. SIDWAY died, and in 1875, Mr.
SIDWAY married second, Lydia CROSBY
of Benton. He next went
to Genesee where he lived until his death, August 21, 1882.
James LEE was born in 1778
and was the father of 10 children.
He was a farmer and miller and died in Penn Yan (Yates Co.) in
1868, and his wife in 1857. James
LEE had a brother, Dr. LEE of Penn
Yan, who was assemblyman in 1817 and in 1833 and 1834 was in the
United States Congress. The
parents of James LEE were Thomas
and Waty (Sherman) LEE, he a native of Fishkill, NY, born in
1739. They were the
parents of 10 children. Mr.
LEE settled in Ontario county in 1790 and there lived and died
in 1814. He owned 1,300
acres of land and a grist-mill, and ground the first rye west of
Cayuga Lake, July 4, 1790, and the first wheat, July 5.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 348
Peter SILVERNAIL, , Canandaigua, was born in Berlin, Rensselaer county, NY, September 22, 1821. The paternal ancestors of this subject were Hollanders, and the name of SILVERNAIL appears in the early history of our country. His grandfather, Philip, was a resident of Dutchess county and had 7 sons, of whom William was the fifth. He was born in 1797 and married at 21 years, Christina MILLS. In 1822 they removed to Potter, Yates county where Mrs. SILVERNAIL died in 1865 and William on February 17, 1877. William was prominent in church and other good works and was a deacon of the church in Potter a great many years. Our subject is one of a family of 10 children, three of whom are living; Jane, wife of Milton SHOTTS of Potter; Catherine, widow of Joseph SEYMOUR of Sodus, Wayne county and Peter. The latter was educated in the common schools and assisted on his father's farm until of age, when he learned the carpenter and joiner trade, which he followed until 1865. He then bought a farm of over 100 acres in Canandaigua where he has made many improvements and has now a beautiful residence erected in 1876. The principal product of his farm, is grain. Mr. SILVERNAIL has always taken an active interest in church work, and for several years was superintendent of the Cheshire Sunday school. He married in 1845, Sarah A., (b. 1826) daughter of Seth BEEMAN, a farmer of Canandaigua, and they have had three children, all of whom are now deceased: Marion Antoinette, died October 18, 1872, aged 26 years; Dr. William M., (b. June 18, 1849) died April 23, 1883, aged 33 years; and Adelbert, (b. Aug 14, 1852) died April 17, 1878, in his 24th year.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 170-171
Byron S. SIMMONS, East Bloomfield, a native of Bristol, was born December 23, 1835, a son of Richmond SIMMONS, who was also a son of Richmond, a native of Massachusetts. Richmond Sr., came to Bristol and settled on 300 acres of land, on which he built a log house. He was a prominent man and a leading farmer. He married Eleanor SEARS, and had 4 sons and 6 daughters. He died in Bristol in 1845, and his wife in 1866. Richmond Jr., was born in Bristol, June 1,1 1806. In 1828 he married Hannah R. WHEELER, a native of East Bloomfield, born November 17, 1809, and a daughter of Benjamin D. WHEELER. Their 4 children were: Caroline M., wife of Freeman CRANDLE, a farmer of Livingston county, Mich.; Benjamin W., a solider in the Civil war, who received a wound while on picket duty, from which he died; Byron S. and Sabra A., deceased wife of Harrison MARBLE of West Bloomfield. Mr. SIMMONS was a farmer and a Democrat in politics. He died February 1,1 1862. Mrs. SIMMONS then married Calvin WHEELER of Michigan, in which place they lived 5 years. Since the death of Mr. WHEELER in 1882, Mrs. WHEELER has resided with her son, Byron S. Byron was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. November 22, 1864, he married Emma A. GOODING, of Bristol, a daughter of Seymour H. GOODING, who was the son of William C. GOODING, a native of Dighton, Mass., and an early settler of Canandaigua. Seymour H. married Emily PHILLIPS and had 3 daughters and one son. Mr. GOODING died in 1870 and his wife in 1869. Byron and wife have had two daughters: Florence G., wife of Rev. F. E. HOYT of North Dakota, who has one child, Alice. Mrs. HOYT was many years a school teacher and graduated from the State Normal School at Geneseo in 1889. Alice E., her sister, graduated from the same school in 1892 and is at present a teacher in Allegany county. Mr. SIMMONS is a farmer and in 1868 came to East Bloomfield and purchased75 acres, where he has since resided. He makes a specialty of fruit raising, and is perhaps the largest plum grower in the county. He is a Democrat and has been assessor 12 years. He is a member of the Canandaigua Lodge, F & AM.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 167
Charles R. SIMMONS, Bristol, was born in Bristol, November 13, 1854, a son of Elnathan W. SIMMONS, M.D., of Canandaigua. Charles R. was reared in Canandaigua and educated at the Canandaigua Academy. When 20 years of age he went to Iowa, and for 6 years followed farming. He then returned to Bristol; he now owns a farm of 75 acres. February 8, 1877, he married Hattie M. SMITH of Bristol, an adopted daughter of Philetus SMITH, whose father, Daniel SMITH, was one of the first settlers of the town. They have had 5 children, four of whom died in infancy. Warren S. is the only one living. Mr. SIMMONS is a Republican.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 172
Charles W. SIMMONS, Richmond, was born on the old homestead of his father, Sardis, May 21, 1847. He was educated at the Canandaigua Academy under Prof. CLARK and subsequently engaged in farming. In 1879 Charles W. married Otisca L., daughter of Benjamin CARPENTER of East Bloomfield, but born in South Bristol, December 30 ,1852. Of their 4 children: Arthur C. was born August 12, 1880; Nellie B. was born September 20, 1887; Jane Ola was born July 23, 1889; and Carl Richmond was born February 21, 1891. In March 1881, Mr. SIMMONS bought of M. P. WORHTY the store at Allen's Hills, in which he has since been engaged in general merchandise. He has been postmaster of Allen's Hill for 12 years and in politics, is a republican.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 181 - 182
SIMMONS, Elnathan W. (Dr.), Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, June 2, 1811, a son of Richmond, a farmer of that town, who came to this county from Massachusetts in 1794. Richmond SIMMONS was the son of a Baptist minister of Massachusetts, and married Elinor, daughter of Alden SEARS, of English descent. The great-grandfather of our subject, Elnathan WALKER, was a colonel in the Revolutionary War. The early life of subject was spent in Bristol, where he attended the common schools until 15 years of age, when he entered Canandaigua Academy and studied under Prof. SPENCER and Prof. HOUSE about four years. After leaving school he attended the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Fairfield, from which he graduated in 1834, and immediately began practice in this town, where the hamlet of Cheshire is now located. He remained there until 1836, when, on the death of his sister and brother-in-law, he went to Rushville and remained until 1840, and then, his father's health declining, he went back to his old home in Bristol. While living there he was elected supervisor, and also justice of the peace. In 1852 he was elected to the Assembly at Albany. In 1857 he came to Canandaigua, where he remained until his death, which occurred, after a brief illness, May 13, 1893. In 1858 he was elected county clerk on the republican ticket, and at the breaking out of the war he went out as surgeon of the 148th N. Y. Vols. Dr. SIMMONS married in 1850 Maria PENNELL of South Bristol, and had three children: Charles R., a farmer of Bristol; Edward W., a druggist of Canandaigua; and Lois E., who lives at home.
SIMMONS, Robert Bruce, Richmond, was born February 10, 1838, where he now lives. His father, Sardis, son of Richmond of Massachusetts, was born in Bristol in 1804, and married Jane L., daughter of Seth JONES of Bristol. In 1835 he purchased the farm now occupied by Robert B., and in 1852 he built the present residence on the site of one built about 1817. Of their four children, one died in infancy, the others being: Robert B., Henry Clay and Charles W. Robert B. was educated at Canandaigua Academy and Fairfield Seminary. Mr. SIMMONS taught district school about 14 years, between 1857 and 1880, and was superintendent of schools in the western district of Ontario county for six years. In 1863 he married Esther G., daughter of Deacon Benjamin F. PHILLIPS of Bristol. Mr. SIMMONS is a republican and a Universalist.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 256
SIMMONS, Ralph M.,
Canandaigua, was born in West Bloomfield, February 9, 1868, was
educated in the common and Union schools of East Bloomfield, and at
Canandaigua Academy under Prof. George R. SMITH.
He assisted on his father's farm until reaching his majority,
when he bought his present residence on lot 83 in the town of
SIMMONS is an ardent republican, but has been no office seeker.
February 29, 1888, he married Helen R.,
daughter of Seymour V. R. JOHNSON of
Canandaigua. They have
one daughter, Esther Adeliza.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 344
C. Rollin SIMMONS, Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, July 5, 1851, a son of George W, , a farmer of that town. He was educated in the East Bloomfield Academy and on leaving school engaged as clerk in the dry goods store of Ellis & Parmele in Canandaigua, with whom he remained five years. He then acted as clerk for Sherman KINGSBURY in his grocery store. He was with him 9 years, and then came to the store where he now is a partner, they conducted, by A. HIGLEY. In 1890, Mr. SIMMONS, in partnership with Charles S. HUMPHREY, bought out the store No. 3, Tillotson block, which has been a grocery stand ever since the block was erected. The firm of Simmons & Humphrey carry a full line of everything to be found in a grocery store, requiring the assistance of four clerks besides the assistance of both partners. Mr. SIMMONS is a member of the Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, F. & AM. In 1874 he married Alice B. NORTH, by whom he has had one child, Ruby J. Mr. and Mrs. SIMMONS are members of the M. E. Church of Canandaigua. (George W. buried at Baptist Hill Ceme.)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 344
Edward W. SIMMONS, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, August 3, 1861, a son of Dr. Elnathan W. SIMMONS, of Canandaigua. He was educated in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. Noah T. CLARK, and after leaving school engaged as clerk with Dr. J. T. SMITH in his drug store, with whom he remained about 5 years, and then bought the store where he had acted as clerk, Where J. A. BARKER is now located. In 1886 he removed his business to the Moore block, where he is still located and has now one of the finest drug stores in this section on Main street. He carries a full line of drugs and medicines, both patent and proprietary, toilet articles, etc. Mr. SIMMONS married in September 1890, Lizzie, daughter of O. S. BACON, of the Mc Kechnie Bank, and they have one child, Margaret Bacon.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 167 - 168
Henry C. SIMMONS, Canandaigua, was born in Richmond, Ontario county, August 1, 1840. The grandfather, Richmond, was born in Massachusetts. He had four sons: Sardis, George, Richmond, Elnathan W. and 5 daughters. Sardis, the father of our subject, was born in Bristol, June 22, 1805. When 35 years of age he moved on a farm in Richmond, where he died in March 1899. He married Jane L. JONES of Bristol, and they had 4 children, 3 of whom are living: Robert B., a farmer of Richmond; Charles W., a merchant of Allen's Hill in Richmond; and Henry C. The early life of our subject was spent in Richmond. He was educated in Nunda Valley, East Bloomfield and Canandaigua Academies, and October 4, 1861, enlisted in the 85th NY Vols., serving one year and was discharged October 27, 1862, for disability. During this year he was in the battles of Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, Malvern Hill, Chapin's Farm and at the Seven Days fight. December 31, 1863, Mr. SIMMONS re-enlisted in the 15th NY Engineers and served with them until the close of the war, being discharged June 19, 1865, at Elmira. He returned to Ontario county and engaged in farming at West Bloomfield, where he lived until 1873. He lived in Bristol one year, and in March 1874, bought a farm of 136 acres in Canandaigua, where he has since lived. He married November 15, 1865, Adliza, daughter of Albert TREAT of Bristol and they have one son, Ralph M. a farmer of Canandaigua. Mrs. SIMMONS died September 28, 1878 and he married second, on March 1, 1881, Mary M., daughter of Isaac ABBY of Richmond, and widow of Richard LEACH of West Bloomfield.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 177
William M. SIMMONS, Bristol, was born September 13, 1853, a son of John M., whose father was Constant, a native of Bristol, and one of its early settlers. Constant was born in Bristol and was twice married. First, to Ann M. HYDE, by whom he had two children. His second wife, Polly LEE, by whom he had four children. They removed to Michigan, where both died. John M., was born in Bristol, March 15, 1831. He married Phoebe, daughter of Gooding PACKARD and had two sons and a daughter. For many years he was an insurance agent. He died July 23, 1873 and his wife, November 19, 1889. William M. was educated in the common schools of Bristol and taught school a short time, afterwards clerking for W. REED of Bristol Centre. December 24, 1874, Mr. SIMMONS married Stella A., daughter of Chauncey SYMONDS of Michigan, and Evelyn BARTLETT of Bristol. Mr. SIMMONS and wife have the following children: one daughter died in infancy; Belle F., and Edith M. Mr. SIMMONS is a farmer and in politics a Republican, and was constable and collector for three years. He was elected town clerk in 1893 and re-elected in 1893.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 178
Gooding B. SIMMONS, Bristol, was born October 5, 1835, in Bristol. His father was Benjamin, son of Benjamin, a native of Massachusetts, and an early settler of Bristol, who married Phoebe GOODING. Benjamin SIMMONS Jr., was born in Bristol, July 17, 1813. He married Celia B. WHEELER of East Bloomfield, born November 30, 1813, a daughter of Benjamin D. WHEELER. Mr. SIMMONS and wife had two children, G. B. and Juliett, wife of George W. TILTON, of Bristol. He was assessor two terms and died March 16, 1868. His wife resides with Mrs. George TILTON, her daughter. Our subject was educated in the common schools. January 4, 1863, he married Elizabeth C. OWEN, a native of Perry, born August 27, 1844. she is a daughter of Francis D. OWEN, born in Oneida county, April 4, 1806, who settled in Livingston county and on October 16, 1804 (obvious error), married Patty CORNELL, a native of Bristol. Mr. OWEN and wife had 6 sons and 3 daughters. He died March 17, 1855 and his wife, July 26, 1862. Gooding B. SIMMONS and wife have 4 children: Charles B., Julietta C., Francis M., and Mabel E. Charles B. is engaged in Canandaigua Hotel; Julietta, widow of William H. BEACH of Bristol; Frances M., at home; and Mabel E. at Canandaigua school. Mr. SIMMONS is a farmer and has been especially interested in horses. He is a republican; and he and family attend the Universalist Church of Bristol.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 344
John D. SIMMONS, Bristol, was born in Bristol, August 6, 1845 and is a son of George W. SIMMONS, whose father was Richard SIMMONS. George W. SIMMONS was born in Bristol in 1813 and educated in Canandaigua Academy. His wife was Cornelia POOL of Bristol, born 1816, who bore him four sons and two daughters. In 1850 he purchased the farm of 70 acres which subject now owns and here lived and died. He died in 1877 and his wife, March 15, 1883. John D. was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools of Bloomfield. In 1865 he married Rhoda BLAKE, a daughter of Lyman BLAKE. John D. and wife have one child, E. Carroll, who was educated in Canandaigua Union School. He is a farmer by occupation. In 1893 he married Cora ANDREWS of Bristol, daughter of George ANDREWS. Mr. SIMMONS is a Democrat, and he and family attend the Universalist church at Bristol.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 171
Albert SIMONDS, Victor, was born in Endfield, Grafton county, N. H., October 13, 1808 and came with his parents to Troy, NY, when he was about 4 years old. He was educated in the district schools and for a time resided with a Mr. HAWKINS, a brother in law of his, afterwards he became a clerk in a general store of Poland. September 7, 1832, he came by state to Victor, and was a clerk in Nathan JENKS' store for 5 years. In 1837 he began business on his own account and bought the goods of his former employer, and had several partners as the years passed by, his name always appearing at the head of the company until 1884. Mr. SIMONDS lived a retired life, enjoying a competency, after an active, honest business career. He has married twice, first in January 1835, to Electa HUBBELL of this town, formerly of the town of Canandaigua. They had four children: Albert B., died at the age of 4 years; Harriet E., who married Orin S. BACON; Burton, who married Nellie D. ROOT of this town and died July 11, 1882; and Henry, who married Jane WRIGHT of Victor and is a merchant in Canandaigua. Mrs. Electa SIMONDS died November 19, 1844, and he was married 2ndly on August 20, 1846, to Caroline, daughter of Calvin and Cornelia M. (ROBERTS) MANSFIELD, of the town of Mendon, and they have 3 children: Mary J., who married Gilbert TURNER; George, who married Jessie M. CLARK; and C. Lewis, who married Bertha M. FRENCH; both sons succeeded to their father's business. Mr. SIMONDS joined the Congregational church in 1837 and was elected church clerk. In 1858 the church became Presbyterian, at which time he was elected a ruling elder, deacon and clerk of the session and has remained in office up to the present time. Mrs. SIMONDS is also a member. The following is a tribute to Mr. SIMONDS from a neighbor: "He is a character of singular purity and uprightness and a man of strict integrity and honor."
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 171
M(arquis). K, SIMPSON, Geneva, was born in Orange county, September 3, 1829. He learned the carriage maker's trade and in March 1857, came to Geneva where he has since resided. He had a carriage shop for 9 years and August 7, 1862, enlisted in Co. E., 126th NY Vols, and was mustered out June 6, 1865. He was mostly on detached duty, and was in the battles of Bolivar and Maryland Heights, and was taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry. He is a member of Swift Post No. 94. On December 26, 1854, he married Frances MC NEAL and had two children, Selina A., wife of John WAGNER; and Augusta H., wife of W. R. GROOM. Mr. SIMPSON is a member of the North Presbyterian church and of I.O.O.F, No. 209 and Grand Lodge of NY State. In politics, he is a republican.
History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911,
Vol. II, pg. 417 - 418
M(arquis) K. SIMPSON, of Geneva, Ontario county, New York, was born in Orange county, New York, September 3, 1829. He attended the public schools, acquiring a practical education which prepared him for the activities of life, after which he learned the trade of carriage maker, following the same for many years, deriving therefrom a comfortable livelihood. In March, 1857, he took up his residence in Geneva, New York, where he has since resided, and where he conducted a carriage making business for nine years. He has taken a leading part in every movement that tended toward the advancement and welfare of his adopted city, and is held in high esteem by all who known him. On August 7, 1862, during the progress of the Civil War, he displayed his patriotism by enlisting in Co. E, 126th New York Volunteers, and was mustered out June 6, 1865. He served mostly on detached duty and participated in the battles of Bolivar and Maryland Heights, being taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry. He is affiliated with Swift Post. No. 94, Grand Army of the Republic, with Lodge No. 299, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Grand Lodge of the State of New York. He holds membership in the North Presbyterian Church, and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. Mr. SIMPSON married, December 26, 1854, Frances Mc NEILL; children: Selina A., married J. WAGNER; Augusta H., married W.R. GROOM.
Victor Herald, Friday, January 16, 1914
The Shortsville Enterprise
published, recently, the following sketch of a man well known in Victor. It will be read with interest by many friends here:
�Charles Marcellus SISCO,
son of Rev. Martin SISCO, was born in Bangor, Franklin County, New York
on April 19, 1845. He received his
education in the public schools and during his boyhood worked on the farm and
helped to clear timberland.
(see sketch of George H. SISCO; father's name was Rev.
�Charles Marcellus SISCO, son of Rev. Martin SISCO, was born in Bangor, Franklin County, New York on April 19, 1845. He received his education in the public schools and during his boyhood worked on the farm and helped to clear timberland. (see sketch of George H. SISCO; father's name was Rev. MARVIN SISCO)
During the Civil War, he enlisted in the 98th New York Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, but he was under age and his father refused his consent, but afterward, he ran away from home and at Essex, Vermont, enlisted in Co. G., 11th Vermont Regiment and went to the front. He was wounded at the Battle of Cedar Creek and taken prisoner, but on the second day was retaken by federal forces. At the hospital where he was taken it was found necessary to amputate his leg. He continued in the service until 1865 when he was mustered out.
He went to Malone, NY and learned the trade of harness maker. From 1868 to 1871 he worked at his trade in Canandaigua and for 2 years at Victor. In 1873 he started in business on his own account with a harness shop in Manchester. From 1880 to 1884, he worked again at his trade in Victor and then opened a shop in Shortsville, where he has since lived. He has been successful in business and prominent in public life.
In politics he is a republican. In 1897 hew was elected overseer of the poor and held that office for eight years. For several years he was trustee of the village of Shortsville and its president for two years. In 1906 he was appointed postmaster of Shortsville and has held that position to the present time.
He is a member of the Herendeen Post, No. 107, Grand Army of the Republic, and was its commander for 3 years; a member of the local lodge of Maccabees and was its record keeper for 4 years and commander 5 years; also a member of Parlor Village Lodge, NO. 88, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In religion he is a liberal. He was married on December 10, 1883, to Lottie A. Materson HULBERT. They have one daughter, Mrs. Charles FIERO and two grandsons, Charles Marcellus and John Alonzo FIERO.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 346 - 347
George H. SISCO, Victor, was born in Franklin county, September 19, 1853, was educated in the public schools and came to Victor in the spring of 1872. Mr. SISCO conducts a first class meat market in this village. December 22, 1877, he married Mary E., daughter of Walter E. and Frances M. MORGAN, of Victor, and they have 4 children: Walter, William, Mary B. and Belle M. Mr. SISCO'S father, Marvin, was born in Vermont, was a Methodist preacher, and married Malissa MANNING of this State, and has six children: Charles M., Harrison, Mary, George H., Silenas and Ella. Rev. Marvin died in August 1891. George H. SISCO'S wife's mother, Frances A., was the youngest daughter of Dr. William BALL. Dr. BALL was a practicing physician of this place and county many years, and had the most explicit confidence of his patients, and the whole community. He married Rachael, daughter of Dr. BEACH of Victor, and they had 3 children: Mary, Frances and Thomas. They also had an adopted daughter, Mary E. HUTCHISON, now Mrs. Dr. DRAPER. Mrs. BALL died March 17, 1879. Mrs. SISCO died March 17, 1887.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 346
John F. SISSONS, Bristol, was born in Bristol, June 20, 1830, on the farm he now owns. He is a son of Gen. Horatio SISSONS, a son of Stephen SISSONS who came to Bristol in an early day. Gen. Horatio SISSONS was born in Bristol in 1800, on the farm owned by the subject. He was a school teacher and also a teacher of music, and a self made man. He rose to the highest office in military ranks. In 1824 (in newspaper of Jan 1823,not 1824) he married Clotilda TAYLOR of Bristol, born 1804, daughter of John TAYLOR of Massachusetts, one of the first settlers of Bristol. They had 3 sons and 5 daughters. He was a farmer and stock dealer. He died in 1867 and his wife in 1852. John F. SISSONS, received an academic education. He is a farmer and the oldest but one hop grower in Western New York. He also makes a specialty of raising apples, and owns 35 acres of orchard. In 1855, John married Sarah J. CASE of Steuben County, daughter of Morgan L. and Eliza (HUNN) CASE, who spent most of their life in Bristol, but died in Canandaigua. They have had 6 children: Elizabeth A., Stephen H., Louis J., Nora C., Horace C. and Ralph C. Mr. SISSON is a Democrat, and was a member of the Grange when first organized. He and family attend the Congregational church at Bristol. Mrs. SISSON died December 17, 1876.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 350
Thomas SKIDMORE, Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, England, October 3, 1841, and came to this country in 1862, locating in Canandaigua, where he has ever since made his home. He first engaged in the hat and cap business with Mr. MAGGS, which he followed until April 1869, when he started in the boot and shoe business, which he as continued ever since. His store is at 204 Main street, has a frontage of 18 feet, by 75 deep. He uses the upper floor for repairing and custom work and as a reserve stock room, and carried a very complete stock of boots, shores, rubbers, slippers, etc. Mr. SKIDMORE married in 1865, Mary A. HALLIGAN of Canandaigua, and they have three children, Anna A., Thomas Jr., the furniture dealer, and Frederick, a clerk in the store. Mr. SKIDMORE is a member of the F & A M, No. 294 and of the M. E. church.
Thomas SKIDMORE Jr., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua June 26, 1869, a son of Thomas SKIDMORE, a boot an shoe merchant of this town. Our subject was educated in Canandaigua Academy under Prof. J. C. NORRIS, form which he graduated in 1890. The same year he entered Cornell University, where he studied until 1891, returning here to assist his father in his store. He remained with him until November 15, 1892, then established a wholesale and retail furniture store on Main street, the store being about 30 feet front by 150 in depth, occupying three floors for trade, and a basement for reserve stock. In the rear, is a storage and manufacturing establishment, 75 feet by 250. Mr. SKIDMORE carries a complete stock of everything necessary to furnish a house, from kitchen to drawing room. He is a member of Merrill Hose Co.
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 488-489
Dr. William Waddell SKINNER, of Geneva, is a representative of a profession whose mission it is to inquire into the nature of the structure and physiological functions of the human body, that they may alleviate human suffering.
Israel SKINNER, grandfather of Dr. SKINNER, was a native of Prattsburg, Steuben county, New York. He followed the occupations of farmer, tanner and harness maker, and thus was enabled to earn a comfortable livelihood for his family and a competency for his old age. He married at Canandaigua, New York, October 6, 1812, Betsy Maria HAYES, who bore him the following children: Maria Betsy, Emily, Emily, Holly, Henry Godfrey, Lemira, Edward Hayes, Edgar Beach, Elizabeth E.
Henry Godfrey SKINNER, father of Dr. Skinner, was born at Prattsburg, Steuben county, New York, November 19, 1822. He was president and member of the Board of Education of the village of Prattsburg for more than twenty years. His active life was one of success, attributable to those sterling qualities which he possessed - sound judgment, quick perception, activity and integrity. He married Mary Jane WADDELL, born February 13, 1829, daughter of Samuel and Mary Wilson (MC NELLA) WADDELL. Children: Holly James, Henry Godfrey Jr., William Waddell, Maria Isabel, Margaret. (Note: buried at Prattsburg Rural Ceme.: Betsey died 11/19/1863; Henry G. 11/19/1822-7/8/1901)
William Waddell SKINNER is a native of Marengo, Illinois, born January 14, 1860. His preliminary education was obtained in the public schools of Prattsburg, and later he attended the Buffalo University, graduating form the medical department in 1887. In 1887, prior to taking up the study of medicine, he served in the capacity of teacher in the schools of Prattsburg. After his graduation he entered upon the active practice of his chose calling, locating in Geneva.
In addition to his private practice, Dr. SKINNER serves as surgeon of New York Central & Hudson River Railroad, consulting surgeon of the Willard State Hospital, and a member of the staff of the Geneva City Hospital. He keeps in touch with the advanced thought along the line of his profession by membership in the New York State Medical Society, the Ontario County Medical Society, and the American Medical Association. His political affiliation is with the republican party.
Dr. SKINNER married, at Naples, New York, August 22, 1880, Hattie May SCOFIELD, born June 25, 1863, at Benton, Yates county, New York, daughter of John P. and Deborah Louisa (TOWNSEND) SCOFIELD, died October 28, 1896. Children: Alexander W., Margaret M., William H., Harriet M.
(Note: wife of William H. Skinner was Bertha _____ , Mar 11, 1887 - Sept 30, 1905, buried in Phelps Village Cemetery)
Dr. SKINNER married (second) January 4, 1898, Margaret Jennie SHEEHAN, born in Vine Valley, Yates county, New York, September 16, 1869. Children: Philip Waddell (4/23/1903 - 10/1972), Mary Fay.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 377
SKUSE, Charles, Phelps, was born in Phelps near
Oaks' Corners November 14, 1814. Charles,
his father, was born in the old country and came to the United States
when a boy, settling in New Jersey, where he married Mary
Monmouth county. They moved
to Phelps and settled about 1806, and there lived and died. Charles SKUSE married first in 1841
Ann SANDERS, by whom he
had five children, three of whom are now living: John, Orville, and
Frank, John in the town of Geneva, the others in Phelps.
His wife died in 1855 and in 1857 he married Mary HAYES.
They had one daughter, Ella.
Mr. SKUSE has a farm of about 155 acres upon which he has lived
for the past 29 years.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 376
SLOCUM, Dr. Charles B., Geneva, was born in Galway,
Saratoga county, October 6, 1857, moving with his parents to Niagara
Falls, where he was educated in the public and High schools, completing
his studies in the Grammar School at Lundy's Lane, Drummondville,
Canada, and also at Devaux College, Niagara Falls.
He then followed the dry goods business with his father until
1880. Next he began to
study dentistry under the tutorship of the late Dr. W. F. EDDINGTON, D.D.
S., where he remained a year. He
then entered the Baltimore College of Dental Surgery, under the
tutorship of Prof. James U. HARRIS, graduating in 1882.
Returning to Geneva he entered into partnership with Dr. STILLMAN,
where he remained until the death of Dr. EDDINGTON, when he took
possession of his office, and has since conducted the business on his
own account, with much success. August
29, 1883, he married Helen M., daughter of
Hugh DENNISON of Geneva, and
they have two sons: John Newton and Hugh
Dr. SLOCUM is a member of the Seventh District Dental Society; an
alumnus of Baltimore College of Dentistry; also of the University of
Maryland. His father, John
N., was born in Northampton, Fulton county, October 7, 1832, and at the
age of 18 years he went to Geneseo, remaining four years; thence
to Milton, Saratoga county, remaining two years, and May 27, 1856, to
Galway. He married
Elizabeth B., daughter of Thomas and Ann (DEMMING)
Topsham, Me., and they had four children: Caroline A. died aged
3 years; Frank E., a dentist of Buffalo; and
Ida M., who resides at home.
Mr. SLOCUM was supervisor of Galway three years, leaving that
town for Niagara Falls in 1864. In
1875 he came to Geneva, and in 1889 moved to Beaver Falls where he is
engaged in the manufacture of wood pulp and pulp board.
The family is of English descent, closely related to
Major-General SLOCUM, formerly colonel of the famous
27th Inf. N. Y.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 349
John M. SMELZER, Geneva, was born in Lodi, Seneca county, November 7, 1846 and was educated in the public schools, graduating from Lima Seminary. In early life he was a farmer with his father and afterwards on his own account. He was a merchant in Watkins for10 years and after a period of rest, became a captain in the service of the Seneca Lake Steam Navigation Company for 12 year. About 1883 he came to Geneva to reside. In February 1891, he was elected police justice for the term of four years. September 23, 1867, he married Nancy A. HALSEY of his native place, and they have four children: John H., George P., Lizzie K. and Mary C. Mr. SMELZER'S father, Philip, was born in the north of Ireland and came to the United States when five years old. He married Matilda MEEKER, who was born in New Jersey and rode horseback when a young girl with her parents to this part of the State. They had 11 children, of whom eight grew to maturity; John M., Mary, Jane, Sarah, Helen, Lewis M., Baxter T. and Addie. Mr. SMELZER is a member of Jefferson Lodge No. 332 of Watkins F & A.M., also of Watkins Chapter No. 22 Royal Arch Masons.
American Biographical History of Eminent and Self-made Men of Michigan
Volume II, Pub. 1878
Ira O. SMITH, President of the Muskegon Booming Company, Muskeegee, Michigan was born at Victor, Monroe County, New Your, January 28, 1827. His father, Oren SMITH was one of the founders of the city of Rochester, New York and an extensive land holder there, when it was but an insignificant village. He was also an eager promoter of the construction of the Erie Canal. Ira O. SMITH received such education as the district schools afforded. When eleven years of age, he removed with his parents, to Flint, Michigan, where he engaged in work on his father�s farm, until he was twenty years old. He then went to Grand Haven; and engaging with William M. FERRY in the lumber business, remained five years. Having accumulated some property during this period, he moved to Black Lake in 1852, and purchased an interest in the sawmill known as the Black Lake Mill. The place being then a wilderness, he was compelled, although laboring under many disadvantages, to build public roads, and make other improvements necessary to facilitate the shipment of lumber. Notwithstanding these drawbacks, he carried on this business with considerable success for ten years. In 1862, Mr. SMITH sold out his business at Black Lake and removed to Muskegon, where he engaged in mercantile pursuits and continued in the same for five years. In 1867, he became junior partner in the firm of Swan, White & Smith. He afterwards became managing partner of the firm, which, by the end of his ability, has been very successful. Having also become a stockholder in the Muskegon Booming Company, he was elected its Secretary in 1872, and President in 1874. He still holds the latter office, giving general satisfaction to the company. So well has the business prospered under his management, that it pays the stockholders the handsome annual profit of twenty percent. Since his residence in Muskegon County, Mr. SMITH has been successfully elected to the offices of County Clerk and Registrar, Supervisor and Alderman, all of which he has filled with credit to himself, and satisfaction to those who supported him. He is a prominent member of the Masonic Fraternity, and also of the order of Odd Fellows. As a public spirited citizen, he has largely identified himself with the growth and prosperity of the city of Muskegon.In November 1854, Mr. SMITH married Miss Kate A. BOYCE, of Grand Rapids, Michigan. They have one daughter, Minnie I, who was born in June 1858.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 166 - 167
Edward SMITH, Geneva, was born near Canterbury, County Kent, England, March 18, 1822. He attended for a short time, their national school and came to the United Stated with his brother, Thomas, when 15 years old. At the age of 21, he went back to England and returned with his mother, two brothers and two sisters, to America. The brothers, after some time, embarked in the nursery business with much success. After 21 years, Edward withdrew from the original concern and went into business with his sons, Charles E., and Nelson C., conducting a nursery and fruit business, having several large orchards and vineyards at Geneva, also in the town of Ovid, Seneca county, and the town of Hector, Schuyler county, lying along the east shore of Seneca Lake. In 1854, Edward married Adelaide, oldest daughter of George and Mary CATCHPOLE, of Geneva, and they had 5 sons and 5 daughters: Franklin R., Edward L., Mary E., Charles E., Nelson C., Martha A. Annie A., William A. and Gertrude and Gracie (twins). Four died: Edward L., Gertrude, Gracie and Martha A. Franklin married Iloa J. RIDER, and has 3 children: Edna M., Leon R. and Harold F. Nelson C., married Mary C. DOVE of Geneva. Mrs. SMITH died August 19, 1889.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 167
Thomas SMITH, Geneva, was born in Kent County, England in 1820, and in 1837 came to America and located in Geneva, where he bought 25 acres of land and carried on market gardening. In 1846, he with his brothers, established their nurseries, commencing in a small way, and now has the largest nurseries in the county. He has 600 acres of land, and over 250 is devoted to the nursery business. His brothers, William and Edward, were associated with him. In 1863 Edward retired. Mr. SMITH is also a member of several other firms: The T. Smith & Co., Bending Works, is president of the Geneva Optical Co., president of the Geneva Accident Insurance Co., also president of the Baltimore Retort and Fire Brick Co. of Baltimore.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 170
Mack S. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born in Farmington, August 14, 1854, a son of Lindley W., a prominent farmer of that town who was elected several terms to the office of justice of sessions. Lindley W. SMITH was a civil engineer and surveyor, which he followed in connection with is farm duties until 1862. In 1863 he relinquished farming and was appointed to a position in the Pension Department at Washington, which he filled for 5 years. He died at Chapinville, March 8, 1878. His wife was Caroline E. SPAULDING, who died March 19, 1887. They had 4 children, of whom, Mack S. is the sole survivor. The boyhood of Mack S. SMITH was spent on the homestead farm. When he was 12 years of age, his parents moved to the village of Canandaigua, where he was educated in the Canandaigua Academy, and at the age of 19, he was engaged as clerk in the First National Bank of Canandaigua, with which he remained for 6 1/2 years, then bought out the books tore of Ira D. DURGY, which he conducted about 8 months, but was obliged to give that business up on account of failing health. In October 1882, he engaged with McKechnie & Company, bankers, as teller. He has ever since been located in this bank. In 1884 he was appointed assistant cashier and after the death of Mr. DENBOW, which occurred February 6, 1890, he was appointed cashier, and has ever since filled that position. Mr. SMITH married January 1, 1885, Nettie ROBERTS of Phelps.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 175
Lewis B. SMITH, Hopewell, was born in Hopewell in February 1865, a son of D. H. SMITH who was born at Palmyra, June 25, 1835. He is a son of Cyrus, whose father, John, came from Maine in 1812 and settled in Hopewell. His wife was Sarah SMITH, by whom he had 5 sons and 3 daughters. Cyrus was born in Maine in 1796 and came to Hopewell with his parents. He married Julia, daughter of Daniel GATES and they reared a large family. He was a republican and was a justice of the peace in Hopewell. He died in 1868 and his wife in 1881. D. G. SMITH, was educated in the Palmyra Union School and worked at the trade of carpenter for some time; also in a hub factory for 16 years, at Flint Creek. He is a republican and has been assessor 3 years. He has also been postmaster at Hopewell for 15 years. March 2, 1859, he married Charlotte A. LEWIS, born in 1834, a daughter of Nathaniel B. LEWIS. Mr. SMITH and wife have two children, Lewis B., and Katie G., who was born July 30 ,1873 and was educated in the Union School at Canandaigua. Lewis B., was reared on a farm and educated in the common school and Canandaigua Academy. He has been a farmer but the last 4 years, has had a position on the NCRR.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 176
Llewellyn L. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born in Aurelius, Cayuga county in 1838. In 1867 he and his brother, Lucas, came to Ontario county where they located in Middleville,, and conducted a merchant and custom mill there 7 years, when he returned to Auburn and remained there 5 years, an then went to Waterloo, where he ran a flouring mill for a year and a half. From Waterloo in 1881 he came to Canandaigua, where in company with his brother, Lucas, they bought the Canandaigua steam mills formerly owned by Abel RICHMOND and Lucas SMITH. They have since conducted a very successful business under the firm name of Smith Brothers & Co., the company being J. W. Priest of Canandaigua. They are the leading merchant and custom millers of this county and the mill has a capacity of about 150 barrels per day. The greater part of the production is sold in Boston by H. O. FAIRBANKS. Mr. SMITH married in 1857, Juliette, daughter of Jacob PRICE of Canada. Mrs. SMITH died October 27, 1892. They were the parents of one son, Llewellyn, a miller in his father's mill.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 177
Abram S. SMITH, Phelps, was born in Waterloo, Seneca county, September 13, 1831, one of 7 children of Leonard W. and Mary Ann (Simmons) SMITH. His grandfather, William SMITH, was one of the early settlers on No. 9, town of Seneca. Abram S., married November 24, 1858, Catharine S., daughter of Daniel and Sarah (WIGGINS) HOMAN of Phelps, and they have three children: Ada, (Mrs. H. R. WARNER); Louie M., in the village, engaged in the coal and produce business nearly all that time. He was elected supervisor of the town in 1883 and served for 5 successive terms.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 180
SMITH, Joseph, Geneva, was born in Shaftsbury, Bennington county, Vt., May 1, 1835. He was educated in the common schools across the line in this State, and is a farmer. He came to Western New York in 1859, and on November 6, 1863, he married Jenette A. ELDRED of White Creek, Washington county. Mr. SMITH's father, Jeremiah, was also born in White Creek, March 6, 1799, and died July 9, 1867. He married Anna BURNETT of Shaftsbury, Vt., born November 22, 1799, died January 24, 1879. They had 8 children as follows: Hiram, Harvey, Benjamin, Joseph, Martin, Olive, Sophia and Julia. Mr. SMITH's grandfather was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. Mrs. SMITH's father, Hiram ELDRED, was born in Petersburg, Rensselaer county, August 20, 1807. He married Harriet GOODNOUGH, and they had 10 children: Jenette, Jane, Lucia, Harriet, Andrew, George, Alva, Juliet, Albert and Alice.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 182 - 183
SMITH, Isaac B., Canandaigua, was born in Farmington in 1831, a son of David SMITH, a farmer of that town. The grandfather, Joseph SMITH, was one of the first settlers of this county, and reared a family of children on the farm he settled. David SMITH had 5 children, of whom I. B. was the youngest. Three of these are still living: D. Waterman SMITH, who lives on the old homestead, and Mrs. Wm. G. LAPHAM, widow of the late W. G. LAPHAM, well-known as the assistant superintendent of the N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. Isaac R. was educated at Macedon an Canandaigua Academies, also at a school in Dutchess county, where he spent a year and a half. On reaching his majority he went as clerk in the Penn Yan post office, and afterwards was on the Elmira and Niagara Falls Railroad. December 1, 1858, he severed his connection with this road and entered the store of Marvin BEEMAN for one month, and January 1, 1859, he bought out the store, which he has ever since conducted, occupying the same store he bought in 1859, and carrying a similar line of goods. Mr. SMITH has always conducted a very successful business, to which he gives close attention and strict integrity. His store is located at the corner of Main and Beeman streets. He carries a full line of crockery, glass and chinaware, wall paper, window shades, etc. Mr. SMITH married in 1862 Rebecca S. AVERY of Fredonia, and they have three sons and one daughter: J. Stanley, of the N. Y. C. ticket office; Frank Avery, a law student with Wyncoop & Rice; George Gray, a clerk in the store, and Josephine L., who is at home. The oldest child, Alice Gray SMITH, died August 23, 1868, in her 6th year. Mr. SMITH is a member of the Board of Education and is a Democrat.
SMITH, J. Stanley, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua about 26 years ago. He was educated in the academy under Prof. CLARKE, and after leaving school was for about four years in his father's store. He spent two years as purser, one year with the Canandaigua Lake Steamboat Company, and one year with the People's Line. January 1, 1891, he engaged with the N. Y. C. R. R. Company as cashier in the freight department till October 1, and then became assistant ticket agent, which position he still fills. He was appointed in January, 1892, to the position of secretary to the Canandaigua Board of Education, and about the same time he was appointed by the village council to the position of village clerk. He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 245 K. of P., and Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F. & A. M.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg. 222
Franklin D., Phelps, was born in Manchester, September 22, 1829,
a son of Asa and Hannah (POOR) SMITH.
The father was born in Vermont near Mount Mansfield, and the
mother near Haverhill, NH. The
ancestors on both sides were soldiers in the Revolutionary army, and
were at the battle of Bunker Hill.
Franklin D. SMITH married, February
1, 1865, Mary WILSON of New Jersey, she
being one of two children of Peter and Susan
LAMBERSTON, her ancestor, served as a soldier for 7 years during
the Revolutionary War. He
subsequently drew his land in Virginia and was killed by an Indian while
at work on his land. Mr.
and Mrs. SMITH have five children: Edmund
W., George F., Alden R., Mary E., and Lura L.. SMITH.
Mr. SMITH owns two farms, one of 155 acres in Manchester,
and the home farm in Phelps of 225 acres, which he has owned since 1878.
It is one of the notable places of the town, the buildings having
been erected by Mr. SMITH at a cost of
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 244
SMITH, Solomon E.,
Geneva, of the J. W. Smith Dry Goods Co., was born in Geneva, NY,
November 5, 1826. His parents were John SMITH Jr., and
Rachel (WILLIAMS) SMITH, both born in Gloucester, Mass.
They moved to Geneva about 1824.
Their children were: Elizabeth, who
died in 1848; Rachel, now Mrs. J. PIERSON,
of Stanton, Mich.; John W., who died
December 2, 1878; and Solomon.
Mr. SMITH has always lived in Geneva.
He engaged as clerk in the dry goods business with H.
G. HUGHES in 1840, and remained with him until about 1847.
The business of HUGHES was then
succeeded by S. S. COBB and J. W. SMITH
under the firm name of Cobb & Smith.
Three years later, about 1850, the latter firm was succeeded by J.
W. and S. E. SMITH, under the firm name of J. W Smith & Co.
As stated above, J. W. SMITH died in
1878, but the firm name was continued as J. W. Smith & Co. until
July 1, 1892, at which time a stock company was formed with S.
E. SMITH as president, Wm. WHITWELL as
secretary and treasurer, and L. CANFIELD, E. S.
SPENDLOVE and Joseph WAGNER, directors, and now known the J. W.
Smith Dry Goods Co.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 249 - 250
SMITH, Youngs W., Bristol, was born in Hopewell, March 20, 1839, one of the seventh generation of this family in America, the first being Rev. John SMITH, a son of John, who, tradition say, was a son of Captain John SMITH of Pocahontas fame. Rev. John SMITH was the oldest of seven sons, and was born in Milford, England, June 18, 1664, and settled in Milford, Conn., named by him after his home in England. Here he lived and died. Dr. Ebenezer, his son, was born in Milford, England, in 1682, and died in 1744. Dr. Ebenezer SMITH 2d was born March 2, 1719, and died September 9, 1796. Dr. Ebenezer SMITH 3d was born October 3, 1761, and died April 3, 1844. His wife was Elizabeth BOSTWICK, born March 19, 1770, died June 1, 1849. They had 9 children. Rev. Benjamin B. SMITH was born in Milford, Conn., February 3, 1792. He studied medicine, but soon gave up its practice and took a theological course at Yale College. He was ordained a minister of the Congregational church by the Rev. Lyman BEECHER, father of Henry Ward BEECHER. He married Colisla TERRELL, born in Milford, Conn., April 15, 1795, a daughter of Judge TERRELL of Milford, Conn., and they had three sons and three daughters. His wife died June 30, 1830, and he married second Martha BABBITT of Pultney, born March 3, 1861, died February 3, 1836. They had two sons. Dr. SMITH married third, to Maria G. VINCENT of Bristol, born June 17, 1799, died November 1, 1862. She was a daughter of Dr. Thomas VINCENT, son of Absalom VINCENT of Orient, born in 1742, died in 1786, who married Hannah YOUNGS, daughter of Judge Thomas YOUNGS, and they had four sons and two daughters. Dr. Thomas VINCENT was born in Orient, L. I., in 1753. His father died when he was 13 years of age, and he was reared by Judge Thomas YOUNGS of Orient. He studied medicine and went to Caldwell, NJ, to practice his profession, and there married Johanna, daughter of Ebenezer GROVER. Dr. Ebenezer SMITH and third wife had three children: Maria V., born April 7, 1837, at Pultney, who married Chauncey O. TAYLOR, a farmer of Bristol, and they have an adopted daughter, the wife of H. W. SEARS of Bristol; Youngs W. and Quincy A., born in Bristol, March 26, 1843. He owns a farm of 114 acres. Quincy SMITH married, January 28, 1874, Florence ROOD of Ellicottville, NY, and they have one daughter, Guernie.
Youngs W. SMITH, the
subject of this sketch, was reared on a farm and educated in East
Bloomfield Academy and Iron City Commercial College of Pittsburgh, Pa.
He engaged in farming, and since 1867 has made a specialty of hop
growing, starting with five acres, and to-day is second largest grower
in New York, having 115 acres. He
has also been an extensive hop dealer, and was a member of the firm of
Youngs W. Smith & Company, Pearl street, New York.
Mr. SMITH is one of the largest
farmers of the town, having 400 acres in Bristol Valley.
He was a Democrat until 1892, since which time he has been
identified with the People's Party. He was supervisor in 1888, and was nominated by the
Democratic party for member of assembly in 1888, but the county being
Republican, he was defeated. He
is a member of Canandaigua Lodge, No. 294, F. & A. M., also is a
member of the Farmers' Alliance. He
and family attend the Congregational church of Bristol.
November 19, 1867, Mr. SMITH married
Amelia LEE, born September 27, 1843, in
Bristol, a daughter of Lester P. LEE, a son
of Benjamin, an early settler of Ontario
SMITH and wife have one child, Lee B.,
who was educated in Canandaigua and East Bloomfield Academies, and is a
graduate of Rochester Business University, and assists his father on the
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 342
Albert E. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born at his present residence in Canandaigua, November 10, 1841. His grandfather, John, was of the Mohawk Dutch. He came to Canandaigua about 1810 where he spent the balance of his days. He was twice married and had a large family. Jacob, the father of Albert E., was one of the second family, born in 1799 and from the time he was 12 years old, lived in this town. He married Mittie JAMESON in 1825 and they had 10 children of which, 4 are still living: Orson J., a farmer in Illinois; Anna E., wife of George S. HICKOX, of Canandaigua; Mittie C., widow of Rev. D. C. SACKETT; and Albert E. Albert was educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy and assisted on the farm until his father's death, April 26, 1872, when he became the owner. This is a fine farm of 130 acres and the residence is one of the oldest in the town, erected by Hugh JAMESON in 1812. He married December 7, 1870, Mary A., daughter of William and Rachel (MILLER) GREER. They have four children: Mittie J., preceptress of Webster school; M. Alberta, Emma L. and Ethel M. They are Baptists.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 342
William H. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born in the town of Farmington, Ontario County, January 23, 1829. He was a son of George SMITH, a farmer of that town. His boyhood was passed in his native town, where he attend the common schools and later the academies at Macedon and Canandaigua. When he was 19 years old he began the study of law in the office of Judge Mark H. SIBLEY, and was admitted to the bar in the spring of 1851. He began practice in Port Jervis, Orange county, where he remained a years and a half, and then settled in Canandaigua, where he has ever since followed his profession. In 1858 he was elected district attorney and re-elected in 1861. While serving his second term he was a delegate to the National Convention at Baltimore, which nominated President LINCOLN for his second term. In January 1869, he was elected for 4 years as county judge and in 1878 was re-elected for 6 years. While serving as district attorney several cases of great importance came under his official control, and in their successful management he won the commendation of the profession and the community. Mr. SMITH was married in 1851 to Jane HALSTEAD, daughter of Isaac HALSTEAD of Livingston county, and they have three children: Emma, wife of Frank G. STARK, living in Wisconsin; Harriet B. and Halstead.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 342
Charles S. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born in Bristol, June 19, 1865, a son of John and Eliza A. (SUTHERLAND) SMITH. John was born in Canandaigua, March 7, 1831 and has always been a farmer. He married in 1859, Eliza A. SUTHERLAND of this town, and they have five children, of whom Charles S. is the oldest son. Mr. SMITH died November 20, 1892. The whole life of our subject has been spent in this town. He was educated in Canandaigua Academy under professors CLARKE and SMITH, and on leaving school, followed farming for a short time. In 1888 he took charge of a flouring mill, which he bought in 1890 and still conducts a merchant and custom mill. Mr. SMITH married in January 1888, Cora, daughter of Abel RICHMOND, of Clifton Springs, and they have one child, Helen E. Mr. SMITH is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F & AM and of Canandaigua Lodge K of P, and his family are members of the Methodist church.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 342 - 343
Nicholas B. SMITH, Geneva, son of Cornelius, was born near Waterloo, October 29, 1835. In 1867 he married Alice EVERETT, and they have one child, Grace. For many years Mr. SMITH was engaged in boating on the Erie canal and the Hudson River, and for 3 years ran from New York to Baltimore. He has held the office of constable 12 years, sheriff, 8 years. In 1861 he enlisted and was honorable discharged in 1863. He was injured by a horse falling on him at Malvern Hill. He was in the US Signal Service, 15 months, and was government watchman at Giesboro' Point on year. In 1889 he built a greenhouse at Geneva, and is engaged in the growing of plants.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 343
Edmund W. SMITH, Manchester, was born in Manchester May 4, 1866. He received a liberal education in the schools of this town and Canandaigua Academy, and shortly after completing his studies, became engaged in agricultural pursuits. Mr. SMITH married (Apr 1867) Catharine ABENSHEME, and they have one son (Frank D). E. W. SMITH is a staunch Republican and has served as clerk of the school district, postmaster, etc. He is an energetic and a representative man. His ancestors participated in both the War of the Revolution and that of 1812.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 343 - 344
David Waterman SMITH, Farmington, was born on the family homestead in Farmington, August 16, 1821. He was educated in the common schools and at Canandaigua Academy and the Friend's Boarding School near Poughkeepsie. Mr. SMITH has been a railway conductor for several years. He has been several years with the Elmira, Canandaigua & Niagara Falls Railroad Company. The above company becoming extinct, he entered the employ of the NYC & HRR Co., serving as conductor 5 years, and is now retired. April 13, 1847, he married Lydia CAREY of Half Moon, Saratoga county, and they had 6 children, two sons and four daughters. Three survive: Fannie E., who married Ransom B. TRUE of Syracuse; David C. and James H., who now live at home. Mr. SMITH'S father, David, was born in Rhode Island, April 10, 1774 and came with his parents to this town when about 16 years old. December 6, 1812, he married Mary SHOTWELL of this town and they had 6 children: David P. Rebecca T., D. Waterman, John H., Rhoda M. and Isaac B., of whom 3 survive: Rebecca LAPHAM, D. Waterman and Isaac B., a resident of Canandaigua. Mr. SMITH'S father held a captain's commission in the War of 1812, the commission now being in the possession of the family. His grandfather, Joseph SMITH, came to Farmington in an early day and his sons operated a grist mill.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 348
Rufus V. SMITH, Manchester, is a son of Asa, who settled in this town about 1813. The family originally located in New England, from which vicinity they moved to this State. His great grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier and was killed at the battle of Bunker Hill. Asa SMITH, father of the subject, died in 1868 and his mother (Hannah P.) in 1884. Rufus V. SMITH was born May 3, 1839, and has never married. He owns a fine farm of 112 acres, located on the Port Gibson and Canandaigua road, upon which he lives. Mr. SMITH is a staunch republican and has held several town offices.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 350
Chapin H. SMITH, Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, October 22, 1863, a son of Lewis M., a native of Yates county who came to this town about 1860. He has always dealt in grain, wool and hops. He married Antoinette HAWLEY, a sister of Dr. J A. HAWLEY of this town and they had three children: Estella, wife of James DOUGLAS of Manchester; Daley C., a student; and Chapin H. Mrs. SMITH died in May 1879. The whole life of subject, with the exception of about 8 months spent in Texas, has been spent in this town. He was educated at the Canandaigua Academy, and on leaving school became clerk in Pomeroy FITCH'S seed store, with whom he remained 3 years. April 1, 1880, he engaged with the American Express Co., in their office here, starting as helper and advancing to a clerkship. October 1, 1887, he went to Texarkana, Texas, where he was cashier for the Pacific Express Co, and returned here the following April on account of his health. He then went as driver for the Adams Express Co., which superseded the Untied States Co., in 1886. Mr. SMITH was driver but a month and a half when he was appointed agent of the company and has ever since held that position. Mr. SMITH is a member of the Canandaigua Lodge No. 294 F & AM, and of Excelsior Chapter No. 164, a member of Canandaigua Lodge K. of P. No. 145 and of Mutual H. & L. Co. Mr. SMITH married June 15, 1888, Flora A CORNISH of Canandaigua, and they have one child, Stanley Mc Kay. Mr. and Mrs. SMITH are attendants of the Baptist church of Canandaigua.
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 352
Edward SMITH, Manchester, was born in Manchester, December 12, 1825. His ancestors were from Connecticut and they participated in the War of 1812 and the Revolution. in 1852, Mr. SMITH purchased his fine property, which he has since been improving and adding to, until now it is a very valuable farm. His wife was Alice E. HARMON and they have two sons. Mr. SMITH has held the offices of constable, pathmaster, etc., and is a man of more than ordinary ability and integrity. (found nothing on him in census reports)
History of Ontario County, NY published 1893, pg 353
Virgil SMITH, Gorham, is a native of Gorham, born February 7, 1839. His father, Nathaniel, was a son of Enos and Phoebe SMITH, natives of Orange county, NY. March 4, 1819, Nathaniel married Mary T. YECKLEY, born May 17, 1796, and a daughter of John and Esther YECKLEY. Mr. SMITH and wife had 4 sons and 4 daughters. In 1820 he came to Gorham and settled on a farm of 160 acres, and there spent the remainder of his days. He was one of the organizers and also president of the Gorham Agricultural Society. Mrs. Mary SMITH died in 1868, aged 72 years. Mr. SMITH married second, Rachel HOOD, July 21, 1868. Nathaniel SMITH died August 25, 1886, aged 93 years.
Virgil SMITH married December 5, 1865, Fanny MITCHEL, a native of New Jersey, born July 26, 1844. She is a daughter of Henry C., a son of John MITCHEL, a native of New Jersey. In 1864, Henry C., came to Gorham, where he at present resides. His wife died in 1881. Mr. and Mrs. SMITH have had two children: Mary, wife of Dales FRANKISH and Albert M., born April 27, 1870. The latter married January 10, 1893, Ella M. SHAW of Gorham. Subject is a carpenter by trade, and has followed that business for 20 years. He is a Democrat, and has been trustee, justice of the peace and treasure of Gorham Agricultural Society, three years. He is a member of the Canandaigua Lodge No. 236, I.O.O.F.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 378
SMITH, Nicholas B., Geneva, son of
born near Waterloo, October 29, 1835. In
1867 he married Alice E. EVERED, and they have one
For many years Mr. SMITH was engaged in boating on the Erie canal and the
Hudson and for three years ran from New York to Baltimore.
He has held the office of constable twelve years and sheriff eight years. In 1861 he enlisted in Company F, N. Y. Vol. Engineers, and was honorably discharged in 1863.
He was injured by a horse falling on him at Malvern Hill.
He was in the U. S. Signal Service fifteen months, and was government
watchman at Giesboro' Point one year. In
1889 he built a greenhouse at Geneva, and is engaged in the growing of plants. John EVERED was born in Suffolk county, England, in 1806.
He married Sarah HUKE, and in 1850 they came to America and settled in
Geneva. He was a machinist, and
they had eight children. Mr. EVERED
died July 1, 1872, and his wife September 11, 1873. Of their children five are
now living: Mary, wife of George TAYLOR;
Rachel, wife of John KENFIELD; Alice,
wife of N. B. SMITH; Eleanor, widow of E.
WINTZER, and all reside in Geneva.
Charles lives in Montgomery City, Mo.
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 511 - 512
SMITH, James Cosslett,
son of Thomas and Rachel (COSSLETT) SMITH, born at Phelps,
NY, August 14, 1817, received a preparatory education in the district and
classical schools in that village; entered Geneva (now Hobart) College in
September, 1831, and remained in that institution until 1834, when he went to
Union College, where he graduated in July, 1835; resided one year in Marshall,
Mich.; returned to this State in 1836 and entered the office of Walter
HUBBELL, of Canandaigua, as a law student; in April, 1838, removed to
Lyons, Wayne county, and continued his law studies in the office of Lyman
SHERWOOD; was admitted to practice in October, 1838, and formed a
partnership with Mr. SHERWOOD; in April, 1842, was
appointed by Governor BOUCK surrogate of Wayne
county, which office he held till July, 1847; in 1854, removed to Canandaigua,
and entered into partnership with Elbridge G. LAPHAM;
was one of the commissioners from the State of New York to the Peace Congress,
held in Washington in 1861; in May, 1862, the office of justice of the Supreme
Court having become vacant by the resignation of the late Judge
KNOX, Governor MORGAN appointed Mr. SMITH to
that office, which he continued to hold by successive elections till December
31, 1887, when his term ended by constitutional limitation.
Since that time Mr. SMITH has continued to
reside at Canandaigua, and has engaged in the practice of his profession as a
counselor, and also in the trial of causes as a referee.
The degree of LL.D. has been conferred upon him by Hobart, Union and
Hamilton Colleges. He was a member
of the commission appointed in 1890 to propose amendments to the constitution of
History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich,
pub 1893, pg 513 - 516
SMITH, Dr. A. B., he is
a son of the late Hon. Caleb SMITH, who was
one of the pioneers of that locality, settling there with his parents
when a boy, and here he grew up to be a man of more than ordinary
intelligence and prominence in the community.
His principal occupation was farming, but his fellow citizens
showed their confidence in him by selecting him for various public
positions of responsibility. He
was for many years a county and circuit judge, and discharged the duties
of these offices with ability and discretion.
Dr. SMITH was educated at Lima, and
studied his profession in the old Geneva Medical College, from which he
graduated in 1844-5. The
year following he attended lectures at the School of Physicians and
Surgeons, New York, from which he received a post graduate diploma, and
settled in Ovid, NY, for his first practice.
Very early in his professional career he began to have grave
doubts as to the reliability of the allopathic practice in which he had
been taught. In a few years
this led him to adopt the homeopathic school, and further study resulted
in the development of theories and practice, since carried out with the
most gratifying success in the celebrated institution with which he has
long been identified. In
1853 Dr. SMITH came to Geneva, and occupied
the old hotel as a hygienic institute, at first in connection with his
brother, Dr. Horace
SMITH. Almost from
the first he began improvements in the building and its surroundings, to
adapt it more fully to his purposes.
These improvements have progressed until there is nothing of the
early structure left but the frame.
The Institute now comprises the main building of
wood and brick, which extends 150 feet on Washington street, and is four
stories high, with a front on the park of over 50 feet.
Adjoining this is a wing to the south on the park with a front of
52 feet. Broad and light
balconies extend along the front of the several stories of the main
building, as shown in the opposite engraving, which command magnificent
views of the lake and surrounding country.
Entering the main building in front, the visitor
finds himself in a broad and airy hall which extends the entire length
of the Institute, with elegant public parlors on the right in front, and
offices and other rooms on the left.
The halls and rooms are substantially the same on all the floors. There has been no sacrifice of comfort and sanitary
conditions in the provision of the rooms, for they are large and well
ventilated, and the whole building is fitted with hard wood floors. The old tortuous stairway has been removed to make way for
broad, easy flights, which are supplemented with an elevator.
There are modern appliances for perfect heating by steam, and
lighting by electricity. The
whole basement interior was long since torn out, to give place for
immense boilers, which supply steam for heating and cooking, and to
operate the dynamo which generates the electricity, etc.
There are over 80 rooms for guests, nearly every one of which has
its windows opening upon attractive views, and all of which are large
On the second floor is a large and convenient
gymnasium, which in this Institute is an important element in the
treatment. This gymnasium
is furnished with various appliances, most of which are the inventions
of Dr. SMITH, and all adapted to some
specific purpose through exercise of weakened parts; for in the course
of Dr. SMITH's study and practice, after
his radical departure from old methods, he became convinced of the
futility of drugs, as taught by the old medical school, especially for
chronic complaints, and he has demonstrated, not only to his own
satisfaction, but through the permanent relief of scores of patients,
that there is a better way. In
his treatment every hygienic condition is carefully observed.
The usual variety of baths are used besides the electro-thermal,
galvano-chemical, and turkish, with employment of electricity according
to the best modern practice, by which polypoid of all the internal
cavities are removed and all forms of internal and external tumors, such
as ovarian and uterine, incested and fibroid, also those of the breast,
are often dispersed.
By the mechanical appliances, with the co-operation
of skilled assistants, introducing the Swedish movement and all forms of
exercise definitely directed to desired parts of the body, the most
astonishing results have been obtained, and a great array of grateful
people is scattered throughout the country whose testimony is eloquent
in praise of the Institute.
Besides the many who have sought and are seeking the
benefits of this home-like Institute, many others suffering from general
debility find here an ideal place for rest and recuperation.
No better location could be selected for the purpose, for it is
characterized by pure air, good water, a beautiful lake, and sanitary
conditions that cannot be excelled.
For 40 years Dr. SMITH
has made the Geneva Hygienic Institute his constant study and unflagging
care. Possessing firmness tempered with gentleness, far above the
thoughts of mere selfish gain, and giving his zealous and personal
attention to all his large family, even to the sacrifice of his own
energies, it is not wonderful that his success has been so marked.
of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 131
was born in the town of Farmington, Ontario county, January 23,
1829; educated at Macedon and Canandaigua academies; studied law
with Mark H. SIBLEY, and entered
practice in Canandaigua in 1852; District Attorney, 1858-63; County
Judge, 1870-72, 1879-84; secretary of the Republican County
Nominating convention in 1856; member of the Republican National
convention that nominated Abraham
LINCOLN for a second term as President, 1864.
He died in Canandaigua, November 30, 1902.
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 161
Martin SMITH, son of Asa SMITH, was born in Ormstown, Canada, March 23, 1808 and came with his parents when he was a small boy to Manchester, Ontario County, New York. He was the eldest of fourteen children, of whom Edmund, Frederick, Rufus and Elvira of Manchester, and Franklin D. SMITH of Phelps, are living. Martin SMITH was a farmer at Manchester. He married Welthea WELLS, born at Penfield, Monroe County, New York, July 15, 1810, and came here with her parents to Manchester when she was about four years old. Her sister, Jane, married Jonathan FISK; and Delia married Alanson FISK, both of Arcadia, Wayne County, New York. Her father, Peter WELLS, was born and brought up in Farmington, New York, where his father settled soon after the Revolution, coming thither from Massachusetts. Her mother, Clarissa McLOUTH WELLS, was born in Farmington, July 5, 1784. She was left a widow at the age of 28 years and had three young children. She resolutely undertook to support herself and children, taking charge of a farm of one hundred acres and conducting it successfully. She lived on her farm to the time of her death at the advanced aged of eighty years. This farm is near Port Gibson and is now owned by Judson THROOP. Her father, Lawrence MC LOUTH, was highly educated and spoke several languages. She was the eldest of a large family. Her grandchildren remember with pleasure the anecdotes of her youth and the story of her plucky life after the death of her husband. She used to tell how on a cold winter evening the children saw what they thought was a cold looking in the window, but it proved to be a wolf. Children of Martin SMITH: Peter, born June 5, 1833, died March 23, 1835; Clarrissa, June 3, 1837, died May 26, 1905; Fidelia, October 15, 1838, died July 2, 1869; William, October 5, 1840, died June 12, 1842; Mary J., August 7, 1842, now a resident of Michigan; Margaret, August 5, 1845, died June 3, 1846; Emma, June 3, 1849, now of Michigan; Isaac N. May 19, 1851, mentioned below; Lewis, June 20, 1853, died February 17, 1862.
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 162
Isaac Newton, son of Martin SMITH, was born in Manchester, May 19, 1851. He attended the district schools until eighteen years of age, when he spent two winters at the Marion Collegiate Institute in Marion, Wayne County, New York. He then taught school in winter and followed farming in summer for four years. In 1878 he bought a farm in what is now the village of Manchester, where he now resides. In 1892 the Lehigh Valley railroad yards were located here and the round house and coal pockets are on a part of his farm, taken for the purpose. At this time he built a steam saw mill and conducted it until it was destroyed by fire, ten years later. He immediately rebuilt the mill, however, and installed improved machinery, and has continued in business successfully to the present time. In politics he is a Prohibitionist, in religion a Baptist.
He married, December 31, 1873 to Adah Harriet BUCK, of Hudson, Michigan, born April 13, 1852, daughter of George and Harriet (SMITH) BUCK. Children: Edgar Newton, born October 27, 1874, died January 8, 1888; Luman Lewis, April 6, 1878, died November 15, 1910, married Estella P. HANER, resided in Manchester Village.
History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 163
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 417
Edmund W. SMITH, of Manchester, one of the practical, progressive and enterprising agriculturists of the section in which he resides, is a representative of a family that has been noted for their patriotism and love of country, members thereof having participated in the Revolutionary war and the War of 1812. (later census shows 4 kids, Frank, Cora, Lawrence and Mary).
Edmund W. SMITH was born in Manchester, New York, May 4, 1866. He received a liberal education in the schools of his native town, and this was supplemented by attendance at the Canandaigua Academy. Shortly after completing his studies, he turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, in which he has since engaged, achieving a large degree of success, owing to his advanced methods, and his land and buildings all bespeak excellent management and care. He gives his political allegiance to the candidates of the republican party, and has served in the capacity of clerk of school district, supervisor and other offices. Mr. SMITH married Catherine ABSENSHEME and they are the parents of one son.
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 454
Mack S. SMITH, of Canandaigua, Ontario County, New York, a citizen whose integrity is widely recognized and whose capacity and executive ability have been shown in positions of public and private trust, is the son of Lindley W. and Caroline E. (SPALDING) SMITH, the former of whom was a well known resident of Ontario county, New York, who died at Chapinville, March 8, 1878, and the latter died at Canandaigua, New York, March 19, 1887.
Mack S. SMITH was born in the town of Farmington, Ontario county, New York, August 14, 1854. He was educated in the Canandaigua Academy, and about a year and a half after finishing his studies there, he obtained employment in the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad Companys freight office at Canandaigua and for nearly two years filled the positions of billing clerk and cashier. Resigning this position he accepted employment with the First National Bank of Canandaigua and remained with this bank for nearly seven years, after which he was engaged in the book and stationery business for a short period. In October, 1882, he entered the employ of McKechnie & Company, bankers, upon their organization, serving as a teller. In 1884 he was appointed assistant cashier. Upon the death of Mr. Alfred DENBOW, in February, 1900, he was appointed cashier and continued in this capacity until March 1, 1899, when the institution went into voluntary liquidation, after the death of its last surviving partner, and was succeeded by the McKechnie Bank, a state Institution. During the open seasons of 1901-1904, he was at Nome, Alaska, attending to extensive mining interests in which he and his friends were interested.
In January 1894, he was nominated and elected to membership at the village board of trustees, and by his associates in that body was called upon to officiate as president of the village. During his term in that office and largely at his initiative, the agitation for a new municipal water supply system was brought to a consummation, and he resigned from the village board early in 1895 to become a member of the commission appointed to carry out the decision of the citizens to build and place in operation such a plant. The duty was performed during that year in a manner that reflected the highest credit upon him and his associates. In 1905, as a result of an open competitive examination, Mr. SMITH attained first position on an eligible list of candidates for the position of state bank examiner and received an appointment to that position in which he has since served in a most acceptable manner. More recently his time has been principally occupied in the management of the large estate of the late Amory HOUGHTON Jr., of Corning, New York. Mr. SMITH married, January 1, 1885, Nettie ROBERTS, of Phelps, Ontario County, New York.
History of Ontario Co., NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 492 - 493
George Franklin SMITH is a worthy representative of ancestors, oh both the paternal and maternal sides, who were willing to sacrifice their lives if necessary in defense of their country�s rights, serving in the Revolutionary army and participating in the battle of Bunker Hill and other engagements.
Asa SMITH, grandfather of George Franklin, was born in the vicinity of Mansfield, Vermont, from whence he removed in later life to New York state and there passed the remainder of his days. He performed well his part in all affairs pertaining to the community, and his influence for good was felt and appreciated. He married Hannah POOR, who was born near Haverhill, New Hampshire, and among their children was Franklin D.
Franklin D., son of Asa and Hannah (POOR) SMITH, was born in Manchester, New York, September 22, 1829. He received the education afforded by the schools of that day, after which he devoted his attention to farming, cultivating his acres in such a manner that they yielded an abundant harvest, thus bringing him in return a comfortable livelihood. He performed the duties entrusted to him in a satisfactory manner, and ranked among the substantial men of that section of the state. He married, February 1, 1865, Mary WILSON, daughter of Peter and Susan (LAMBERTSON) WILSON, and a descendant of Samuel LAMBERTSON, who served as a soldier for seven years during the Revolutionary War, and subsequently drew land in Virginia, but was killed by an Indian while cultivating the same. Children of Mr. and Mrs. SMITH: Edmund W., George Franklin, Alden R., Mary E., Lura L., and a child who died in infancy.
George Franklin, second son of Franklin D, and Mary (WILSON) SMITH, was born at Manchester, New York, August 4, 1867. He attended the schools in the neighborhood of his home, acquiring a practical education. Being reared on a farm, he naturally chose that line of work for his active career, and has continued to the present time, success crowning his efforts as the result of diligence, perseverance and progressive methods. He is a staunch adherent of the principles of the Republicanism, but has never aspired to public office, preferring to devote his entire energy to the cultivation and improvement of his broad acres. Mr. SMITH is unmarried.
Edmund SMITH, son of Asa and Hannah (POOR) SMITH, was born in the town of Manchester, New York, December 12, 1825, and was educated there in the public schools. He went west when a young man and was in Michigan three years. He left there in 1849 to cross the plains when gold was discovered in California, and was successful in gold mining. After two years in the gold fields, however, he returned to his native place and bought a large farm in partnership with his brother Franklin, whose interests he bought two years afterward. Here he as followed farming ever since. His experience in California was fraught with hardship and danger. The mines where he located at Butte Creek were in an Indian country. On his return trip he had a narrow escape from drowning. The vessel in which he sailed from San Francisco sprang a leak soon after leaving port and all the passengers were called to help the crew at the pumps. Soon after landing at Panama the passengers saw the vessel sink. In politics he is a Democrat, in religion a Methodist. He married Alice E., daughter of Harvey and Eunice HARMON. Children: George E., Asa, Irwin.
of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 182
SMYTH, Edward, South Bristol, is the oldest son of Thomas SMYTH, who came from County Down, Ireland, in 1848, and settled in Richmond, Ontario county, where he remained about six years, then removed to South Bristol and engaged in farming and hop growing. He married in 1847 Mary FOY of County Down, and they had ten children. He died May 28, 1878, survived by his wife and children. Edward SMYTH was born in Richmond, January 11, 1849, and removed to South Bristol with his parents when about 6 years of age. He was reared on the farm and educated at the district school and Canandaigua Academy. He married, July 3, 1873, Mary Jane, daughter of Robert MURRAY of Canandaigua, and they have four children: Lewis R., born February 10, 1875; Thomas J., born March 1, 1878; Gertrude T., born October 15, 1883; and Mabel E., born September 10, 1890. His wife died May 9, 1891. Mr. SMITH has been assessor of South Bristol nine years and supervisor in 1890-91 and ' 92, and holds the office at present, 1893. He was also a delegate to the State Convention in 1892 to nominate a candidate for president. He is one of the leading farmers of the town, and is engaged in general farming and hop growing.
Html by Dianne Thomas
Copyright 2002 - 2016
[NY History and Genealogy]