Ontario, New York
History and Genealogy

Biographies
Wh - Z

Welcome to Ontario County, NY, History and Genealogy.  This is is a central point of entry to independent not-for-profit web sites with historical or genealogical content. Although independent, it is affiliated with The American History and Genealogy Project. To learn more about this group, click the link above.

If you would like to submit a biography to be posted to this site, please contact me.  

Owned, Transcribed and Contributed by Dianne Thomas Some transcribed by Deborah Spencer & Donna Judge

Return to Biography Index                         Return to Home Page

WHEAT  

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 205 - 206

WHEAT, Van Buren, Phelps, was born in Phelps on the family homestead December 21, 1834, son of Sidney (born in Phelps December 27, 1809) and Rebecca (WAGGONER) WHEAT of Mifflinsburg, Pa.  Benjamin, the grandfather, was born in Conway, Mass., March 25, 1781, and came to New York when a boy.  V. B. WHEAT married, May 11, 1865, Ann Janette STOUGHTENBURG, of Hopewell, daughter of Isaac and Ann STOUGHTENBURG. They had four children: Rollin L., Anna R., Elsie W., and Sidney I.  Mr. WHEAT and his son, R. L., own a farm of 150 acres, about 40 of which are devoted to fruit culture.  They have a vineyard of 23 acres in full bearing and very productive.  They are also engaged in breeding and raising horses for the market.  Mr. WHEAT is one of the representative citizens of the town.  

 

WHEAT

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 475 - 479 

Among the pioneers of the town of Phelps in Ontario county, was Benjamin WHEAT, who came from Conway, Conn., in 1795, and purchased from Phelps and Gorham a farm which embraced 160 acres of land just north of the site of the village of Orleans, for which he paid $1.25 per acre.  He had a son, also named Benjamin, who followed in the footsteps of his father, as far as his life work was concerned, remaining on the farm.  He was born April 1, 1781, and on the 30th of January 1805, was married to Luany SPRAGUE.  Their son, Corydon WHEAT, the subject of this sketch, was born June 4, 1824, at the homestead, Orleans, Ontario county.  His ancestry on his mother's side was distinguished in the early history of the country, and is traced back to the SPRAGUE who came over in the Mayflower.  His grandfather was Ebenezer SPRAGUE, who lived in Connecticut at the time of the Revolutionary War, and after twice having his dwellings burned by the British, he started westward in 1780.  He had on the 17th of January, 1775, taken for his wife Mary CHAMBERLIN.  In about the year 1790 he aided in building on the site of the city of Rochester the first grist-mill in this part of the State; but that location was then considered unhealthy, and in 1793 he sold out his mill interest and removed to Chapinville in this county.  He received $100 in the sale of his property and for that he was offered 80 acres of land lying in what is now the heart of the city of Rochester.  His daughter, Luany SPRAGUE, who married Benjamin WHEAT, was born February 24, 1784.

When Benjamin WHEAT came into Ontario county, the land was a wilderness of forest, but under the zealous labors of the pioneers it soon took a different aspect and sufficient of it was cleared to produce under cultivation the grain and vegetables for the growing families.  Corydon WHEAT's father built in 1814 the first brick house in that part of the country, and the old homestead is still standing.  Though a well to-do farmer, Benjamin WHEAT was not able to give his son the best of educational advantages, though they were better than were enjoyed by the majority of young men at that time.  After attending the common schools he was sent to the Lima Seminary in 1840, and studied there two or three years until the institution was burned.  He then went to Michigan and entered a store of his brother-in-law as a clerk.  It had been his intention to adopt the legal profession, and after the seminary was rebuilt, he returned to it with a view of completing his course, and then taking up the study of law.  But his brief experience in mercantile business in the West had developed his taste and adaptability for that vocation.

Coming to Geneva in 1845, just as he reached his majority, he thereafter was an important factor in the business life of the place until his death, and in many other respects occupied a prominent position in the community.  His first occupation in Geneva was as a clerk in the dry goods store of Platt & Sons, after which he was employed in a similar capacity with C. C. SEELEY.  He then organized the dry goods firm of Wheat & Simms (Enoch SIMMS), which was succeeded by Mr. WHEAT alone.  For a number of years he successfully conducted the business alone; but finally sold it out and soon afterward purchased the crockery business of Lauren W. LACY, his father-in-law.  This he continued to about the year 1870, when he sold it to Charles KIPP and retired from active business, except at his time and attention were demanded by the various positions which he held. 

As a citizen of Geneva, Mr. WHEAT took a deep and active interest in all public matters that seemed likely to promote the growth and prosperity of the community.  He was a director in both the Geneva and Southwestern and the Geneva and Ithaca Railroad companies, and was conspicuous in the movement, which led to establishing the first named road.  He was at first a director in the Geneva Optical Company, and for a number of years previous to its being merged in the Standard Optical Company he held the office of president of the company.  He was a director in the Geneva Gas Company and in the First National Bank.  He was conspicuously instrumental in establishing the beautiful Glenwood Cemetery and aided in laying it out.  His associates in every one of these positions ever found him the same energetic and genial co-worker, whose reliable judgment and willingness to bear more than his share of the burdens were unfailing, while his courtesy and geniality, and his staunch integrity, commanded the respect and admiration of all who knew him.  In the educational affairs of the place Mr. WHEAT was one of the most active and interested workers, and was a member of the Board of Education for about 30 years, giving freely of his time and energies for the advancement of the cause and the improvement of the local schools.  He was not a politician in any sense, though he entertained strong convictions upon all important public questions.  In the days of the Know-nothing movement he became actively interested in that party, who made him their nominee for member of assembly, but he afterwards identified himself with the republican organization.  He was in this field, as in all other respects, a self-reliant and independent thinker; had read extensively on scientific, literary and historical subjects, and maintained his ideas and conclusions on such and kindred topics with forcible speech and courteous persistence on all proper occasions.  Mr. WHEAT was active in religious affairs, and was at different times connected with the Methodist, the Presbyterian, and finally with Trinity Episcopal Church.  In the Sunday-school work in these churches he was especially interested, and accomplished much for their welfare.

Mr. WHEAT was a prominent Free Mason, uniting with the order some time before 1860, and progressed step by step.  In 1857 he was master of Ark Lodge and one of its best presiding officers.  He subsequently advanced to high standing in the order.  Mr. WHEAT accumulated a fortune in Geneva, much of which was invested in real estate, which greatly appreciated in value.  His life was one of great activity and usefulness, and when the time came for him to cast aside its burdens, he did it with calm faith in his future and in the enjoyment of the deepest respect of the community.  This is shown to some extent in the various memorials and resolutions that were adopted by the different bodies with which he was connected.  In a memorial placed upon the records of the Board of Education, it was said of him:  "The recent death of Mr. Corydon WHEAT closed a term of service on the Board of Education of more than thirty years.  During all that long period it is the testimony of those who were associated with him that he was a faithful public servant, and he retained to the last his interest in the public schools.    In all of the growth of the schools in Geneva Mr. WHEAT has been thoroughly identified.  He was quick to appreciate any improvement in the methods of teaching and ready to adopt it, and he had during his administration the satisfaction of seeing most of those changes which have made our schools the pride and glory of our country.  In addition to this ability as an officer, Mr. WHEAT lent to school occasions a peculiar grace by his rare eloquence.  He had the ability which very few possess of charming into quiet and attention the restive schoolboy and making him listen as long as he desired.  In his death this Board has suffered a profound loss, and we desire as a body to place upon record this simple tribute to his memory."

The directors of the First National Bank of Geneva also testified to their respect and admiration for Mr. WHEAT, saying among other things:  "While we bow with humble submission to his behests, we sorrow that we have lost the genial presence, the wise and conservative counsels, and sound judgment of our co director for the past many years.  His name is indissolubly connected with the organization of the First National Bank now nearly a quarter of a century ago, and he has been one of its directors since that time.  We accord to him a generous measure of praise for our success in the management of our institution."

On the 1st of September 1852, Mr. WHEAT was married to Emilie A., daughter of Lauren Walton LACY.  They had four children, only one of whom, Henry Axtell WHEAT, of Geneva, is now living.  Corydon WHEAT died December 24, 1890.

Lauren Walton LACY was born at Galway, Saratoga county, NY, July 2, 1811.  His father was Edward LACY, who was formerly from Reading, Conn.  The family name was originally DE LACY.  They were of Huguenot origin.  His mother was Huldah HEATH, whose home was in Sharon, Conn.  She, too, was a descendant of the SPRAGUE who came over in the Mayflower.  They were parents of 8 children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the seventh.  Lauren W. LACY started in mercantile business in Schenectady, NY, in 1838, and removed to Geneva in 1846, where he started the first crockery store in the place.  This business he successfully conducted until 1862, when he sold out to his son-in-law, Corydon WHEAT, as before stated.  Mr. LACY has been a member of the Dutch Reformed Church of Geneva for many years, and throughout his life in this place has held the esteem of his fellow citizens.  He was married on the 7th of January 1832, to Eliza COOK, who was the youngest daughter of Joseph COOK, of Galway, Saratoga county, NY.  She died in April, 1878.  Their children were Orville Brayton, who died at the age of 3 years; and Emilie A., who married Corydon WHEAT.

The old LACY and COOK homesteads, one of them 90 and the other nearly 100 years old, are still in a good state of preservation.  Mr. LACY is living in Geneva, at the age of 83 years.

 

WHEELER, SAMUEL R.

History of Ontario County, NY, Pub. 1878, Pg. 214 

Among the old homes of Ontario county, we notice that of Samuel R. WHEELER, a view of which may be see in the pages of this work.  Mr. WHEELER is to-day living in the same house erected by his grandfather in the year 1808.  Mr. Benjamin WHEELER emigrated from Connecticut in 1800, located and built a log cabin at this point, erected the first grist-mill in this vicinity, now known as Poole's Mill, and was a soldier in the War for independence.  He reared a family of ten children, six sons and four daughters, and died at 75 years of age.  Benjamin D. WHEELER, who succeeded to the old home, was the father of the present S.R. WHEELER.  He died, leaving two sons and three daughters of which Simon R. was the youngest, being an infant at his father's death.  He was reared by his uncle, Major Seth LEE.  At the age of 21 he was married to Miss Betsy BENTLEY, of the town of Richmond, with whom he is still living a happy, peaceful live, in the same old home of his grandfather.  Mr. WHEELER has had two children, a son, who died in infancy, and a daughter, who died at the age of nineteen.  Mr. WHEELER has all his life been engaged in farming, occupying positions of trust in town and county.  Ever since the age of 26, he has been in office, either as magistrate, assessor, or commissioner; has been superintendent of the county almshouse for 18 years.  In politics, republican; in religious faith, a Protestant, with liberal and enlarged views.  A man of 57 years, he is to-day a true representative of the American gentleman.  (Note: see burials  in the Wheeler Private Cemetery in East Bloomfield)  

 

WHEELER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 201

WHEELER, Thaddeus R., Canandaigua, was born in East Bloomfield, was born March 30, 1835.  His grandfather, George A., a son of Joshua WHEELER, was a native of Connecticut, who came to this State about 1800 and finally moved to Bloomfield.  He married a daughter of Benjamin WHEELER, a native of Massachusetts, and they had 9 children, of whom Addison H. was born February 13, 1806.  He married, November 1829, Lucy P., daughter of Thaddeus REMINGTON, a farmer of Canandaigua, and bought a farm of 130 acres on the town line of Canandaigua, after six years moving on to the old homestead farm, where he died in 1869.  Mr. WHEELER was a republican, and a young man of public spirit, always ready to support every good object.  He had 9 children, all but one now living on farms in this county.  A daughter died when 11 years old.  Thaddeus spent his youth on the farm, and was educated in Bloomfield Academy.  He assisted his father on the farm until about 24 years old when, in partnership with his brother Oscar, he bought a farm in Bloomfield, which they owned three years.  He worked for his father on different farms until he was 31, and then bought the Bloomfield farm back.  In 1881 he bought the SANDERS farm of 100 acres in Canandaigua, moving into the old Joshua R. GIDDINGS house, which was the first frame house built west of the village.  Since coming here Mr. WHEELER has erected a beautiful residence, new barns, etc., making now a very valuable property.  He married, April 6, 1864, Augusta E., daughter of Nathaniel B. STANTON of Steuben county, and they have two sons: Walter S., who conducts a farm in Canandaigua; and Wells J., who lives on the homestead.  The latter was born July 17, 1868, educated in the common schools and Canandaigua Academy, and married in 1887 Grace S. COLLINS, and they have two children: Roy W. and Sarah E.

 

WHEELER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 203 

WHEELER, Sylvester H., Bristol, was born in Livonia, January 18, 1829, and is a son of Sylvester WHEELER, a son of Aaron WHEELER, a native of Massachusetts.  Sylvester WHEELER was born in Dighton, Mass., in 1778.  In 1795 he came to Richmond, and after several years went to Livonia and there owned a farm.  In 1832 he came to Bristol and purchased the farm subject now owns.  Mr. WHEELER was twice married, first to Thankful SPENCER, by whom he had 9 children.  Mrs. WHEELER died in 1828, and Mr. WHEELER married Mrs. Betsey Hicks MARSH, by whom he had 5 children.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was wounded at Black Rock.  He died October 28, 1833, and his wife September 15, 1889.  Subject of sketch was educated in Canandaigua Academy.  At the age of 16 years, he taught school, and at the age of 21 years, he engaged in the mercantile business at Bristol, and was there several years when he went to South Bloomfield and purchased the grist-mill now owned by Mr. COOPER.  After three years he went to Texas, where he remained three years and assisted in establishing the Butterfield overland mail route.  In 1861 he returned to Bristol and has since been engaged in farming.  He was also in the mercantile business from 1870-1889.  Mr. WHEELER has been twice married, first October 15, 1848, to Mary P. CUDWORTH of Bristol, daughter of Ezekiel CUDWORTH.  They had 7 children: Isabella, Roswell, Florence, Wallace, Horatio (deceased), Nathaniel and Arthur.  Mrs. WHEELER died December 19, 1870, and December 30, 1871, Mr. WHEELER married Sarina CLEVELAND of Naples, daughter of Wheeler G. and Julia (PARKS) CLEVELAND.  Mr. WHEELER's second wife bore him 4 children: Sylvester H., Mabel E., Roland E., and R. Leslie, all of whom are living.  Mr. WHEELER is a republican and has been superintendent of schools two years, and was supervisor four years.  He and family attend the Universalist church.

 

 

WHEELER

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 210 - 211 

WHEELER, Robert H., East Bloomfield, was born June 3, 1837, a son of Addison H., a son of Major George A. WHEELER, who was a son of Joshua and Rebecca (SNOW) WHEELER, natives of Connecticut.  Major George A. was a native of Connecticut, born April 21, 1777.  About 1800 he came to East Bloomfield, and there married Phoebe, daughter of Benjamin WHEELER, and had 12 children, 9 survive.  Mr. WHEELER was in the War of 1812, and once kept a tavern in Lakeville, Livingston county, but in 1826 settled on a farm of 180 acres in East Bloomfield.  He died in 1835, and his wife in 1849.  Addison H. was born in Livingston county in 1806, and married Lucy P. REMINGTON of Canandaigua, born in 1810, a daughter of Thaddeus and Betsey (ROOT) REMINGTON, early settlers there.  Mr. WHEELER and wife had 6 sons and 3 daughters, all living except one daughter, who died young.  Mr. WHEELER was a farmer, and at one time owned 500 acres of land.  He was a republican, and died in East Bloomfield February 29, 1872, and his wife April 5, 1884.  Robert H. WHEELER received a common school education, and has made farming his life occupation.  In 1865 he bought the farm he now owns of 242 acres, on which he has erected buildings and made other improvements at a cost of $5,000.  He is a republican, and through his efforts a post-office was established, in 1892, known as "Wheeler's Station."  Mr. WHEELER has been highway commissioner three years, and was elected sheriff of Ontario county in 1886.  He is a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, F. & A. M.  January 28, 1858, he married Elizabeth A. MILLER of East Bloomfield, one of two daughters of Spencer C. and Ann C. (CATER) MILLER, he a native of Canandaigua, born May, 1815, and she was born in Ulster county, May 15, 1815, and came to East Bloomfield with her parents, Peter and Mary Jansen CATER, to live when five years old.  Mary Jansen CATER was a descendant of Roeloff and Anneka Webber JANSEN, of which quite a history is given in Harper's New Monthly Magazine, No. 420, May, 1885.  Spencer C. was a son of Jesse and Eunice Morely MILLER, natives of Connecticut, who came to Canandaigua.  Eunice Morley MILLER was a daughter of Timothy and Eunice Bissel MORLEY of Connecticut.  To subject and wife were born three children: Marcia R., Lizzie J. and Horace G.  Marcia R. is the wife of Willis E. LEE of East Bloomfield.  In 1885 Mr. LEE put up a cider mill at Wheeler Station, and has since done an extensive business as a produce dealer.  Lizzie Jansen WHEELER is the wife of Charles B. GREEN of Red Creek, Wayne county.  They had one son, Avery W., who died April 10, 1893, aged 10 months.  Horace G. is also a member of Canandaigua Lodge No. 294, F. & A. M., also of Canandaigua Lodge No. 245, K. of P.  His occupation is that of a locomotive engineer.  In the fall of 1892 he married Maude S. BENHAM, a native of East Bloomfield, and daughter of Chester BENHAM, of Canandaigua.

 

WHEELER  

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 212

WHEELER, John B., East Bloomfield, was born in East Bloomfield, August 10, 1833.  His father, John Harvey, was a son of Benjamin, and was born in Massachusetts, March 16, 1795, coming to East Bloomfield when 5 years of age.  His wife was Betsey A. LEE, a native of East Bloomfield, born in March, 1795, and they had 5 sons and 7 daughters, of whom two sons and three daughters survive.  Betsey A. was a daughter of Amos LEE, a native of Massachusetts, and one of the first settlers of East Bloomfield.  Mr. WHEELER became an extensive real estate owner, though at his death he owned but 200 acres.  Mr. WHEELER was an active republican, but not an office seeker.  He was a strong temperance man, and assisted largely in building the Baptist and Universalist churches at Baptist Hill.  He died in June, 1871.  John B. was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools.  He and his brother Nathan rented the homestead until 1861, when he purchased the farm of 200 acres, where he has since resided.  He has made improvements at a cost $10,000, having built a fine residence in 1878.  Mr. WHEELER is an active republican, but has always declined office.  He attends and supports the Universalist Church.  March 8, 1855, he married Achsah M., daughter of Royal A. ANDREWS, of Bristol, and they have three children: George A., Jesse A., and Edith A.  Edith A. died at the age of 5 years.  George A. was educated at East Bloomfield Academy and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and is a farmer of East Bloomfield.  He married M. Belle, daughter of Benjamin F. HICKS, and has four children: Edith, Ralph H., Margaret, and Leah.  Jesse A. was educated in Canandaigua Academy and Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  He began teaching at 17 years, and has been following it in connection with farming since.  In 1886 he married Katie, daughter of William L. ROWE, of Columbia county, and they have two children: Charles R., and Bessie.

 

WHEELER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 359 - 360

WHEELER, Oscar F., West Bloomfield, was born in Bristol, February 4, 1831, a son of Addison H. and Lucy P. (REMINGTON) WHEELER.  The grandfather, George A., a pioneer of Geneseo, ran a ferry on the Genesee River, and also conducted a hotel.  He died in East Bloomfield in 1837, at the age of 60 years.  His wife was Phoebe WHEELER, by whom he had several children.  Addison H. was born in Geneseo, Livingston county, in 1806, and came to East Bloomfield with his parents, where he lived on the homestead all his life, excepting ten years spent in Canandaigua.  He bought the farm of 52 acres where subject now resides, also 225 acres in Livingston county.  He was a republican and died in 1872.  His wife died about 1886.  She was born in Canandaigua, a daughter of Thaddeus REMINGTON and Betsey NELSON, and she had 9 children: Oscar F., Martha, who died aged 12, Thaddeus R., Rob H., Edward R., Ulysses M., Ellen E., Lillian and another.  Mr. WHEELER left a large property at his death.  Oscar F. was raised on a farm and had a district and seminary education.  At the age of 21 years he began life for himself where he now resides, in company with his father, which they continued three years, then his brother took an interest, and at 27 he sold to his father.  He married and moved to Bergen, Genesee county, where he bought 65 acres of land and lived 11 years.  He then sold out and lived in Byron seven years.  In 1878 he bought 152 acres, where he now lives, and on which he has made many improvements.  He married, February 21, 1859, Lucy S. ROWLEY, born in Rush, Monroe county, a daughter of R. and Lucy (HAYWARD) ROWLEY of East Bloomfield, and Mr. WHEELER and wife have had eight children: Heber E., Stoughton R., Lucy D., wife of Charles HOBSON; Oscar F., Rob H., Alice A., wife of Arthur BUELL; Ellen E., and Jerome M.

 

WHEELER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 360 - 361  

{2010 - date corrections pointed out by C. Branca}

WHEELER, Simeon R., East Bloomfield, was born in East Bloomfield, December 28, 1817.  His father was Benjamin D., a son of Benjamin, a native of Massachusetts, born February 7, 1764, who married Celia BUFFINGTON July 28, 1782.  She was born in Massachusetts August 26, 1762.  Benjamin had six sons and four daughters.  In 1800 Mr. WHEELER and wife came to East Bloomfield, and settled on the farm now owned by Simeon R.  He was an extensive land owner, and built the first grist-mill in South Bloomfield.  He was also in the Revolutionary War.  He died February 6, 1836.  Benjamin D. was born in Massachusetts April 10, 1789. (book had 1889).  He came to East Bloomfield and married Deborah REED, born February 19, 1791 (book had 1809); [headstone states she died 1860, aged 69y; 1850 census shows her as 57y].  Mr. WHEELER and wife had two sons and three daughters.  He died September 30, 1818, and his wife married second, John POOL, and they had three daughters and a son.  Mr. POOL died January 7, 1860, and Mrs. POOL died in 1878.  Simeon R. was educated in the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary.  April 2, 1839, he married Betsey BENTLY, born in Richmond in 1819, a daughter of Isaac BENTLY and Hannah DUBOIS of Saratoga county, NY, who came to Richmond in 1816.  He died January 10, 1863, and his wife April 12, 1855.  Subject and wife have had one daughter, Gertrude, who married Theron P. BUELL in 1858.  She died May 30, 1859.  Mr. BUELL was born August 10, 1834, and died May 28, 1889.  Wife of subject (Betsey) died May 9, 1878, and November 5, 1879, he married second Clara (DAILY) HINMAN, widow of Elijah S. HINMAN, by whom she had four daughters.  She was a daughter of William DAILY of Chemung county, and his wife was Clara C. CUNNINGHAM, daughter of George CUNNINGHAM of Scotland, an early settler of Chemung county, NY.  Mr. WHEELER has always been one of the leading farmers of the town, and owns 253 acres of land.  Mr. WHEELER was a Whig, and is now a republican.  He voted for William HARRISON, and has twice voted for his grandson.  He has always been active in politics, and has been commissioner of highways six years, assessor 17 years, justice of the peace three years, and superintendent of the county poor for 21 years.  Mr. WHEELER was a member of the I. O. O. F. Lodge of East Bloomfield, and of the Monumental Lodge of Good Templars of Bristol.  He has for 50 years been an active worker in the Universalist church of Baptist Hill, and many years trustee.  Mr. WHEELER was appointed postmaster at South Bloomfield when office was organized in 1882, and has since held that office.

 

 

WHEELER

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 457 - 458 

Benjamin WHEELER, progenitor of the branch of the family now under consideration, was a native of Massachusetts, his birth occurring February 7, 1764.  In early manhood, in 1800, accompanied by his wife and children, he removed to New York state, settling on the farm now owned by his grandson, Simeon R. WHEELER, in East Bloomfield, Ontario county, and he also erected the first grist mill in South Bloomfield.  He was active and public-spirited, served in the Revolutionary war, and in all ways performed his part faithfully and conscientiously.  He married, July 28, 1782, Celia BUFFINGTON, born in Massachusetts, August 26, 1762, who bore him six sons and four daughters, among whom was Benjamin D., see forward.  Benjamin WHEELER died February 6, 1836.

     ( II ) Benjamin D., son of Benjamin and Celia (BUFFINGTON) WHEELER, was born in Massachusetts, April 10, 1789, died September 30, 1818.  He removed from his native state to New York state, settling in East Bloomfield, where he was a prominent citizen, advancing the interests of the community in which he resided.  He married Deborah REED, and they were the parents of five children, two sons and three daughters, among whom was Simeon R., see forward.

     ( III ) Simeon R., son of Benjamin D. and Deborah (REED) WHEELER, was born in East Bloomfield, Ontario county, New York, December 28, 1817.  He acquired his education in the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, and has always been one of the leading agriculturists of the town, being the possessor of two hundred and 53 acres of land, which is under a high state of cultivation, yielding good returns for labor expended.  He was a Whig in politics until the formation of the republican party, when he transferred his allegiance to that organization, with which he has since been connected.  He served as commissioner of highways for six years, assessor seventeen years, justice of the peace three years, superintendent of county poor twenty-one years, and in 1882, when the office of postmaster at South Bloomfield, was organized, was appointed thereto and has since retained the same, his service being noted for efficiency and prompt attention to all details.  He has been for sixty years an active worker in the Universalist church of Baptist Hill, and for many years served in the capacity of trustee.  He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of East Bloomfield, and of Monumental Lodge, Good Templars, of Bristol.

Mr. WHEELER married (first) April 2, 1839, Betsey BENTLY, born in Richmond, 1819, daughter of Isaac and Hannah (DUBOIS) BENTLY, of Saratoga county, New York, the former of whom died January 10, 1863, and his wife, April 12, 1855.  Mr. and Mrs. WHEELER had one daughter, Gertrude, who married in 1858, Theron P. BUELL, married in East Bloom, born August 10, 1834, died May 28, 1889; Mrs. BUELL died May 30, 1859.  Mrs. Betsey (BENTLY) WHEELER died May 9, 1878.  Mr. WHEELER married (second) November 5, 1879, Clara (DAILY) HINMAN, married in Rochester.

 

 

WHEELER

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 495 - 496

Heber E. WHEELER, an enterprising and successful business man of East Bloomfield, whose success in life is the result of integrity and perseverance, is a native of Bergen, Genesee county, New York, born December 24, 1859.  He is a direct descendant of John WHEELER, who emigrated to this country from England, settling in Newbury, Massachusetts, in 1634.

     ( I ) Addison H. WHEELER, grandfather of Heber E. WHEELER, was a farmer by occupation, conducting his operations in East Bloomfield, New York, where he was recognized as one of its representative citizens.  He married Lucy REMINGTON; children: Oscar F., Thaddeus R., Edward R., Ulysses M., Heber E., Robert H., (sheriff of Ontario county, 1886-88); Ellen and Lillian.

     ( II ) Oscar F., eldest son of Addison H. and Lucy (REMINGTON) WHEELER, was born in Bristol, New York, February, 1831.  His life was devoted to agriculture, in which he was most successful.  He was a member of the Congregational church, a Republican in politics, and a man of marked resolution and sturdy character.

He married, February, 1859, Lucy ROWLEY, born in Rush, New York, April, 1833, daughter of Simeon and Lucy (HAYWARD) ROWLEY.  Children of Mr. and Mrs. Oscar F. WHEELER:  Heber E., Dr. Stoughton R., Oscar F., Robert H., Lucy S., Ellen E., Jennie and Alice, deceased.

     ( III ) Heber E., eldest son of Oscar F. and Lucy (ROWLEY) WHEELER, was educated at the East Bloomfield Union School and Canandaigua Academy.  In 1886 he engaged in mercantile business at East Bloomfield, where he has continued up to the present time (1911).  In 1904 he took into partnership Roswell M. LEE and Robert H. WHEELER, a brother, the firm name being changed to that of Wheeler Bros. & Lee, its present style.  The business has been prosperous during its entire period of existence, twenty-five years, it being so conducted as to win and hold a large patronage.  Heber E. WHEELER, being a man of good business judgment and executive ability, has been chosen to fill positions of honor and trust, and is serving at the present time in the capacity of director of the County National Bank of Canandaigua, New York.  For the years 1889-90 he served as postmaster at Holcomb, New York, resigning in the latter year; was justice of the peace in 1891-92 at East Bloomfield, and treasurer of Ontario county two terms, 1904 to 1909 inclusive, retiring from public office with the record of an able and competent official.  He is a member of Milnor Lodge, No. 139, Free and Accepted Masons, of Victor, New York, and of the Bloomfield Scientific Club.  His religious affiliations are with the East Bloomfield Congregational Church, of which he is a member, and his political allegiance is given to the Republican party.

Mr. WHEELER married, at East Bloomfield, New York, September 22, 1886, Mary ADAMS, born at East Bloomfield, November 30, 1863, daughter of Benjamin F. and Lurinda (GAUSS) ADAMS.  Mrs. WHEELER is also a member of the East Bloomfield Congregational Church, in the work of which she takes an active interest.

 

WHEELOCK 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 205 

WHEELOCK, Royal, West Bloomfield, was born July 16, 1766, and was among the first settlers of the town of West Bloomfield.  He came from Uxbridge, Mass., with his wife, daughter Betsey, son Harry, and in company with Captain Robert TAFT, settled in West Bloomfield in 1793.  He was a descendant in the sixth generation of Ralph WHEELOCK, who was born in Shropshire, Eng., in 1600 and came to this country in 1638 with his wife, a daughter and a son, and settled in Medfield, Mass.  He was one of the first selectman of that town, and held many offices of trust.  Royal WHEELOCK married Lydia TAFT, daughter of Captain Robert TAFT, and died in West Bloomfield November 24, 1856.  His wife, born May 22, 1774, died January 13, 1847.  Their children were: Betsey, born January 23, 1790, married Otis THOMPSON and died in West Bloomfield; Harry, born October 20, 1792, married Judith GILLETT and died in Leicester, NY; Nancy, born January 16, 1796, married Hon. Reynold PECK in June, 1817, and is now living in West Bloomfield, aged 97 years; Silas, born May 14, 1799, married Almira DURRANT and died in Salem, Mich., March 17, 1869; Royal, born April 15, 1801, married Ann PINCKNEY and died in Salem, Mich., December 22, 1876; Robert T., born March 3, 1803, married Mary J. MURRAY, and died in Superior, Mich., September 27, 1848; Ira T., born September 25, 1805, died unmarried in Leicester, NY, June 16, 1829; Ann, born September 27, 1811, married Elijah NILES, and is now living at Alfred, NY; John R., born December 5, 1808, married first, Rhoda, and second, Deborah PLIMPTON, and died in West Bloomfield in 1889; Jerry L., born December 13, 1817, married Mary ALLEN April 27, 1847, and died at Ovid, Mich., November 7, 1890.  Mrs. Nancy PECK was among the first white children born in Bloomfield, and is now the oldest inhabitant.  She recalls many reminiscences of the pioneer days.  For many years after her marriage a large portion of the clothing of her family was spun and woven by her hands.  (WB Pioneer Ceme)

 

WHITE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 204

WHITE, Captain George, Phelps, was born in Scotland, May 16, 1803.  He early adopted a seafaring life, and at 14 years began as cabin boy.  At the age of 21,  he became captain, and for 40 years followed the sea.  At the age of 31 he married Euphemia GIBSON, sister of John GIBSON, one of the noted men of Phelps, who did much for the improvement of the village (the present Gibson block, now owned by the WHITE family, having been built by him).  Captain WHITE and wife came to this country35 years ago and settled in Phelps, on the farm where they ever afterwards made their home, and where they celebrated the 50th anniversary of their marriage in 1884.  Captain WHITE died at his home April 29, 1893, as the age of 89 years, leaving a wife and five children, three sons and two daughters.  One son died in Phelps in 1866.  John GIBSON died a bachelor in August, 1864, having been in his life time largely engaged in malting and distilling.

 

WHITE  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 360

WHITE, Oliver H., East Bloomfield, a native of Dutchess county, was born August 22, 1830.  His father, Walter, was a son of Anthony, a native of Germany, who came to Dutchess county with his parents.  Walter was born in that county in 1792.  He married Mary HALL of his own county, by whom he had five sons and two daughters.  In 1836 Mr. WHITE came to Monroe county, where he died.  He and wife belonged to the Society of Friends.  His death occurred in 1872, and his wife in 1877.  Oliver H. was educated in Brockport Academy.  October 9, 1855, he married E. M. EWER, a native of Monroe county, and daughter of Edwin EWER, whose father, Isaac, was one of the first settlers of Mendon, Monroe county.  Oliver H. is a general farmer.  In 1867 he came to East Bloomfield and purchased 115 acres, which he has greatly improved.  He makes a specialty of breeding Langshan fowls, Jersey cattle and Cheshire swine.  He was a epublican from the organization of that party until the organization of the People's party, when he joined the latter.  Mr. WHITE is a member of Miller's Corner's Lodge, No. 279, A. O. U. W., and of East Bloomfield Grange, No. 94.  For 16 years he has been director for the Ontario County Fire Insurance Company.  He and family are birthright Quakers.  The children of Mr. WHITE are: Edwin E., William H., Charles R., and Kate E. (deceased)  Edwin E. graduated from the University of Michigan with the degree of M. A., and received a diploma to practice in the Supreme Court of Michigan.  He married Mary A. MOREY of Lima, and they reside in St. Johns, Mich., where Mr. WHITE has a very extensive real estate and loan business.  William H. graduated from the Medical and Pharmaceutical department of Michigan University, and married Jessie D. PAMPELL.  They have one daughter, Marion, and reside in Grand Rapids.  Charles R. married Laura E., daughter of William GREEN of East Bloomfield, and they have two children: Oliver W. and Edwin E.  Charles R. was educated in East Bloomfield Academy and in Michigan University.  He has been president of the County Alliance for two years.  He is a member of Mount Pleasant Lodge, No. 217, I. O. O. F.  For two years he has been engaged in the sale of agricultural implements.  All of the sons are members of the "Sigma Phi."

 

WHITING, BOWEN

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg.  189 

Bowen WHITING, a prominent member of the early Ontario county bar, was born in Norwich, Conn., January 16, 1790; moved to Geneva, Ontario county in 1816; district Attorney from 1823 to 1832; a member of the Legislature in 1824 and 1825; County Judge from 1838 to 1844 and appointed a Supreme Court Judge for the Seventh district, April 7, 1844.  He died in Geneva, December 28, 1850.

 

WHITNEY, CHEENEY

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 150 

It is a pleasure to place upon the page of history passing incidents in the life of as worthy a pioneer as he whose name appears at the head of this sketch.  Mr. Cheeney WHITNEY was born in the town of Seneca, April 21, 1795.  His grandfather, Colonel Jonathan WHITNEY, served in the French and Indian War, and was present at the siege of Ticonderoga.  When the colonists called for brave men to strike at the head of British oppression, in 1776, Colonel WHITNEY stepped to the front and performed gallant service during that arduous struggle.  He was an officer, his commission bearing date May 3, 1776.  Cheeney WHITNEY united in marriage with Olive CALDWELL in 1817.  Mrs. WHITNEY was born in March, 1801.  Five years after marriage they located on the farm where they now reside.  Kind Providence has blesses their union with nine children, viz:

Daniel H., born October 19, 1819; married Susannah DEGRAFF, May 15, 1850, and was subsequently married to Martha VANGELGER, June 6, 1855.

Anna A., born March 25, 1821; died October 3, 1822.

Hachaliah, born August 30, 1822; married Matilda VROOMAN, May 15, 1843, and subsequently married Hannah STEVENS, January 16, 1869.

Sidney, born August 20, 1824; married Amelia VANGELDER, May 16, 1850.

Clarissa, born December 16, 1826; married John DEGRAFF, October 28, 1847; died April 1, 1876.

Sophronia B., born October 26, 1828; married Willard M. GREGORY, September 1, 1852.

Byron, born September 4, 1830; married May LEESON, August 22, 1854.

Elvira Emogene, born October 24, 1833; died May 9, 1853

Cheney P., born June 10, 1836; married Mary CHAPMAN, November 26, 1861. 

Mr. WHITNEY, though now at the advanced age of 82 years, is smart and active, and evinces much interest in the pioneer history of his town and county, where he has lived to see both transformed from a wilderness into a land that "blossoms like the rose," - one of the finest sections within the boundaries of the "Empire State".  Mr. WHITNEY and his estimable companion are both on the down-hill of life, but are passing their remaining years pleasantly, surrounded by all the comforts of a happy rural home. 

Notes on Whitney family, pg. 145  under Settlement

The name of WHITNEY family is closely identified with the pioneer history of this town and of Geneva.  Jonathan WHITNEY came into the new country as an explorer in the year 1789.  He remained four months in the forest, and returned to Massachusetts, and, in the following year, again turned his steps westward, arriving here in March, 1790, and located at the old castle, where he died in 1792.  Captain WHITNEY and family were 17 days en route from Conway, Massachusetts, and endured many hardships and privations during the perilous trip.  The little hand of pioneers arrived at Geneva in the morning, where their stock of provisions was exhausted, and but one loaf of bread remained in the village.  Colonel REED, however, supplied them with a scanty breakfast, though the best possible.  Captain WHITNEY was one of twenty persons who purchase township No. 10, first range, his share being six lots, or one thousand one hundred and fifty-two acres and he subsequently became the proprietor of six additional lots.

He served in the French and Indian war and was at the siege of Ticonderoga, where he fought with almost unprecedented bravery.  The French had felled the timber about the fort, that their guns might be used more effectively upon the besiegers; but it happened that one large tree still remained, against which another had fallen, and lodged in the branches; and by means of the latter, he succeeded in climbing into the stately old forester, where he fired into the fort until his gun became foul, when his companions handed other fire-arms to him, which he used with effective service, the old flint-locks dealing death to those within the entrenchments until he was discovered by the garrison and forced to leave his position.  He was ever ready to lay aside the implements of

Peace in time of danger, and when his county called to head off British oppression he was found at the front, a commissioned officer, his commission dating May 3, 1776.  Three grandsons, Luther, Cheeney, and Otis, reside in the town, and one, Nathan, near Franklin Grove, Lee county, Illinois. 

The longevity of the WHITNEY family is remarkable.  The following is a register of the five sons of Nathan and Olive WHITNEY, and grandsons of Captain Jonathan WHITNEY.  The three eldest were born in Conway, Mass., Luther, August 21, 1782; Otis, October 19, 1795; Nathan, July 22, 1791; Jonathan and Cheeney were born in Seneca; Jonathan, September 3, 1793 and Cheeney, April 21, 1795.  These brothers are now living, except Jonathan, and their united ages are four hundred and twenty-three years.     

(continued two paragraphs later)     Again we come to the WHITNEY family, and find that Ami WHITNEY, son of Captain Jonathan, and himself a soldier in the war of the Revolution, was an early settler on lot 9, on premises now owned by a son, Ami WHITNEY.  Ami WHITNEY Sr., was born January 18, 1781, and died here December 14, 1867, at the advanced aged of 86 years.  The present occupant of the premises, Ami WHITNEY, was born June 22, 1814. 

Lot 53 was owned by Nathan WHITNEY, who came from Massachusetts.  Luther, Otis, Cheeny WHITNEY, mentioned, are sons.

Otis WHITNEY is the present proprietor of lands on lot 55, originally settled by Simeon AMSDEN.  Joel WHITNEY came from Massachusetts in 1790 and located on lot 45, and was also the proprietor of lot 36.  a son, Joel WHITNEY resides on lot 45. 

(under Organizations on pg 148)

Seneca Grange # 284 - Ami WHITNEY, Treas. 

Castle Grange #359 - Columbus C. WHITNEY,  Treas.; Byram WHITNEY, Sec.; Miss Clara WHITNEY, Ceres;  Miss Julia WHITNEY, Pomona.

 

(under Ecclesiastical History)

Presbyterian Church of Seneca Castle:

Members: Temperance WHITNEY, Sybil WHITNEY

Trustee in 1828: Nathan WHITNEY

Elders: Otis WHITNEY, Hacalia WHITNEY, Columbus WHITNEY

 

 

 

WHITNEY, LUTHER

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 150 

This venerable pioneer was born in Conway, Massachusetts, in August, 1782.  When but nine years of age he came with his father to this town, and has resided on the farm he now occupies for a period of more than threescore years and ten.  But few persons have been spared by kind Providence to witness the changes wrought by more than fourscore years.  Mr. Luther WHITNEY has seen the gigantic trees of the forest fall by the woodman's axe, and has seen the wilderness transformed from the home of the savage to one of the finest agricultural regions in the State.  The WHITNEYs are closely identified with the pioneer history of Seneca, and probably none in town have done so much towards its improvements as the honored family of which the subject of this sketch is a worthy representative.  Mr. WHITNEY was well qualified to brave the hardships incident to the settlement of o new country, and by economy and strict attention to business succeeded in gaining a competency of this world's goods. 

He has six children living, viz: George, in Michigan; Dolly, wife of Daniel CROSHIER, in Benton; Hannah, wife of Eber BRADLEY, in Michigan; and the following in this town: Cornelia, wife of Charles PARSHALL; Tacy and Harriet P., wife of Cyrus BRAY, Esq., who resides on the old homestead. 

Mr. WHITNEY is now 94 years of age, and in all human probability his earthly existence is drawing to a close; and when death lays his pallid hands upon him, may he pass away calmly and peacefully. 

"Like one who wraps the drapery of his cloak about him

And lies down to pleasant dreams."            (Picture of Luther and wife Hannah L. WHITNEY  on pg. 150a)  

 

 

 

WHITNEY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 204  - 205

WHITNEY, Cheney P., Phelps, was born in Seneca June 10, 1836.  His father was Cheeney WHITNEY, born April 27, 1795 (died at the age of 90).  His mother was Olive COLWELL of Seneca, and her parents were Daniel and Thankful (PAINE) COLWELL.  Nathan WHITNEY, the grandfather, came to this State from Conway, Mass., in 1792.  Cheney P. married, November 26, 1861, Mary C., daughter of John F. and Margaret (LEVER) CHAPMAN of East Hampton, Mass., and New Jersey.  The grandfather was Daniel CHAPMAN, the family dating back to the CHAPMANS of Saybrook, Conn.  They have four children: Margaret Olive (Mrs. Wm. F. CHAPMAN of Boston); Almon C., Minnie M., and John Cheeney.  Mr. WHITNEY came to Phelps in 1873.  His farm of 136 acres is used for fruit.  He having about 25 acres of vineyard, 25 of apple orchard, and 5 acres of berries; it being one of the noted fruit farms of this section.

 

WHITNEY 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 244 - 245

WHITNEY, Ami, Seneca, was born in Seneca, June 22, 1814, on the old homestead.  He was educated in the common schools, by a private tutor in the family, and at Lima Seminary, and has always followed farming.  Mr. WHITNEY has served as assessor of the town four years, is railroad commissioner for the town of Seneca, and was one of the 12 appointed to divide the old town of Seneca.  He was one of the officers to hold the first town meeting in the new town of Seneca.  He has married twice, first, September 19, 1843, to Ann SHEARMAN, of the town of Catlin, Chemung county, and had six children: Charlotte E., J. Shearman, Anna (who died at the age of 6 years), Thomas D., Charles W. and Frank A.  Mrs. WHITNEY died March 23, 1864.  For his second wife he married, December 27, 1864, Rebecca C. RIPPEY, of this town, and they have one son, Eddy R., who was educated in the public schools, Canandaigua Academy, graduated from Clinton Grammar School, also from Hamilton College with the degree of A. B. and afterward with the degree of M. S.  He taught one year at Mexico Academy, and is now a professor of science in Binghamton High School.  Mr. Ami WHITNEY's father, Ami, was born in Conway, Hampshire county, Mass., January 18, 1781.  He married Anna AMSDEN, of Hampshire county, born in Connecticut.  They had 15 children: Theodore was killed by a gate falling on him; Jasper was a cripple, caused by a fever; Isaac A. died in 1876; William G. resides in Michigan; a daughter who died in infancy; Charles died at the age of 15; Ezra died at the age of 4; Ami; Jonathan, who died July 12, 1892; a pair of twin girls who died in infancy; Esther A., who died in 1821; Elizabeth A., Esther G. and Anna H.  His grandfather Jonathan, was born August 4, 1737, was a good soldier in the French and Indian wars, was in the siege of Fort Ticonderoga, and came to Geneva in 1789.  He stayed four months, then returned for his family and started back in February, 1790, arriving here in March of the same year.  They were 17 days on the way.  He died at the Old Castle in 1792.  The first known of this family, one John WHITNEY, aged 35 years, embarked in 1635 from England on ship Elizabeth Ann, and died in 1673.  Mrs. WHITNEY's father, William RIPPEY, was born November 10, 1793, and married Mary HAYES, October 20, 1821.  They had nine children.  There were two ministers in the family, William E. and John Newton.

 

 

 

WHITNEY

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 270 - 275 

The name of WHITNEY belongs to a knightly family of remote English antiquity founded by Eustace, living 1086, and styled DE WHITNEY from the lordship of WHITNEY which he possessed.  The present form of the name has been established for about four centuries.  The American WHITNEYS of today justly claim the blood of many families whose names are most familiar in English history.  The early owners of the land before the days when surnames were used were persons whose Christian names might be, for example, Eustace, or Baldwin or Robert, and these were, as is known in this case, Eustace of Whitney, Baldwin of Whitney and Robert of Whitney, from the name of the place of their abode, which in this instance, was that locality known at present as the parish of Whitney, situated in the county of Hereford, upon the extreme western border of England, adjoining Wales.  The earliest mention of the place is a record in the Domesday Book, A. D., 1086.  The parish of Whitney is traversed by the river Wye, which gives it its name, Whitney-on-the-Wye.

It is one of the most beautiful spots in old England, its Rhydspence Inn reminding one of the description of the old May-pole.  The Anglo-Saxon derivation of the name WHITNEY is evidently from "hewit" white, and "ey" water, the name meaning white water.  In the west of England to-day Whit-bourn means white brook; Whit-church, white church; and Whit-on, the white town.  De WHITNEY (de meaning "of") came to be regarded as the family name, and in the course of time this prefix was dropped and the name became WHITNEY as it is today.

The line had been established for more than five hundred years at WHITNEY, and John, the first settler of this name at Watertown, Massachusetts, could trace his descent directly to Sir Robert of Whitney, who was living in 1242, and whose father Eustace already mentioned, took the surname of WHITNEY-on-the-Wye in the Marches of Wales, who through a line of three or four generations which has been ably traced by Henry (WHITNEY) MILLVILLE, Esq., of New York, in his history of the WHITNEY family, was a descendant of one "Turstin DE FLEMING" a follower of William the Conqueror, who was mentioned in the Domesday Book, A. D., 1086.  The line from Sir Robert (1) of Whitney living in 1242, passed to another Robert (2) of Whitney and then by Sir Eustace DE WHITNEY (3) to Sir Robert (4), Sir Robert (5), Sir Eustace (6) DE WHITNEY, knight, Robert (7), of Whitney, James (8), of Whitney, Robert (9), of Icond, Sir Robert (10), of Whitney, knight, Robert (11), of Whitney, esquire, Thomas (12) of Westminster, gentleman, to John WHITNEY, who with his wife Elinor and several sons emigrated from London, England, in 1635, and settled in Watertown, Massachusetts, the first of the name in America and the ancestor of a great majority of the WHITNEYS now living in this country.

We unfortunately have no space to speak here of the distinguished members of the early WHITNEY race in England, or to enlarge upon the distinguished careers of many of its modern American members.  This has been very fully done in several meritorious genealogies published on this side of the water.  Sir Robert WHITNEY, knight, was sheriff of Herefordshire in the first year of Richard III. (1337) and is mentioned by Thomas FULLER in his famous "History of the Worthies of England."  It is no doubt true that the family were entitled to a coat of armor as long ago as the early crusades and the armorial ensign remained unchanged, certainly until the time of the emigration of John WHITNEY to New England.  As the motto on the shield of the WHITNEY race translated from the Latin into English is:  "Gallantly uphold the Cross," the crusade origin of that object of honor would appear to be substantiated by the facts.  The WHITNEY coat-of-arms is a shield with a blue ground, on which is a large cross formed of checker-board squares of gold and red, above which as a crest, is a bull's head cut off at the neck, black, with silver horns tipped with red.  A cross of an ancient coat-of-arms indicated that it belonged to a crusader.  A family coat-of-arms could not be devised where the cross would be more prominent than in the WHITNEY design.  In fact, the cross is the only symbol.  The coat-of-arms as described appears on the walls of Hereford Cathedral, England, where a Mrs. Lucy BOOTH, daughter of Sir Robert WHITNEY, was buried in 1763.  The bull's head is said to have been adopted as a family crest from the fact that Sir Randolph DE WHITNEY, who accompanied Richard the Llion-Hearted king of England to the crusades, was once attacked by three Saracens, one of them the brother of Saladin.  Sir Randolph WHITNEY, single-handed, defended himself with the greatest vigor, but his assistants were gaining upon him when a Spanish bull, feeding nearby, becoming angry at the red dress of the Saracens, joined in the attack against them so furiously that they were put to flight and left the field victorious to Sir Randolph and the bull.  In acknowledgment of the services of the bull in time of need, the bull's head was adopted as a crest to the family coat-of-arms.  Whether this account be true or not, it is certain that the American descendants of the ancient English WHITNEY family have many times indicated a "bull headed" strength of mind and tenacity of purpose in many audible undertakings.

     ( I ) John WHITNEY, of Watertown, Massachusetts, was born in England, died at Watertown, June 1, 1673, aged 84 years.  His first wife Elinor died at Watertown, May 11, 1659, aged 54 years.  He married (second), September 29, 1659, Judith CLEMENT, who died before her husband.  Although the WHITNEY family is quite numerous in this country, a very large share of them are descendants of John and Elinor WHITNEY of Watertown.  John WHITNEY was third son of Thomas WHITNEY, "gentleman," and dwelt for several years in the parish of Isleworth, near London, England.  He was baptized in the parish church of Saint Margaret, July 20, 1592.  At Watertown, he was a highly respected citizen and shared with the schoolmaster and the minister the highly esteemed title of "Mr."  He served the town as town clerk, selectman and constable for many years, being the first town clerk to be elected by the town.  He owned extensive lots of land, on one of which he resided.  His will, dated April 3, 1673, left a large property to his family.  Children of the first wife:  Mary, baptized at Isleworth, May 23, 1619, died young; John, born in England, 1624; Richard, born in England, 1626, Nathaniel, born in England, 1627, died young; Thomas, born in England, 1629; Jonathan, born in England, 1634; Joshua, born in Watertown, July 15, 1635; Caleb, born in Watertown, buried July 12, 1640; Benjamin, mentioned below.

     ( II ) Benjamin, son of John WHITNEY, was born June 6, 1643, in Watertown, and married (first) probably at York, Maine, Jane _____, who died November 14, 1690, and he married (second), April 11, 1695, at Marlborough, Mary POOR.  The first record of Benjamin, in York, is in 1662-6-8, when he witnessed an agreement of John DOVES.  He was at Cocheco, Maine, near Dover, in 1667-68.  April 13, 1674, the selectmen of York laid out 10 acres of upland to Benjamin, and in 1680 he had a second grant.  After the death of his first wife, he returned to Watertown and settled near the Natick town line.  After his second marriage, he lived on land belonging to Harvard College, which he leased to Governor DANFORTH.  He died in 1723.  Children: Jane, born Watertown, September 29, 1669; Timothy, York, in 1703, a member of the company raised in York for defense against the Indians, commanded by Captain PREBLE; John, York, about 1678; Nathaniel, York, April 14, 1680; Jonathan, 1681, mentioned below; Benjamin, married Mrs. Esther MAVERICK; Joshua, September 21, 1687; Mark, about 1700; Isaac, married Elizabeth BRIDGES.

     ( III ) Jonathan, son of Benjamin WHITNEY, was born in 1681, and married in 1700, Susanna _____, born 1681.  In 1721 his name is found on the list of those taxed for the minister's rate in Sherborn, Massachusetts, at which time he paid one of the largest taxes.  In 1723 his name was first on a petition to be set off as a separate town, afterwards called Holliston.  In 1727 he was one of a committee in the latter town in relation to land for the minister, and in 1730 he deeded his interest in the land to the first minister.  He was selectman in Holliston, 1724-25-26-27-28-32-36-37.  He owned some meadow lands in what is now Milford, and lived there at one time.  Children:  Susanna, January 20, 1702; Jonathan, October 17, 1704, mentioned below; Keziah, July 11, 1706; Dorothy, August 28, 1708; Mary, May 28, 1710; Lydia, March 3, 1712; Elias, November 14, 1716; Mehitable, December 27, 1719; George, August 12, 1721; Jesse, February 8, 1723; Hannah, February 11, 1724.

     ( IV ) Jonathan ( 2 ), son of Jonathan ( 1 ) WHITNEY, was born October 17, 1704, and married, January 26, 1727, Lydia JONES, born September 15, 1705, died March 4, 1783.  He owned lands in Hopkinton, Holliston and Mendon.  He was a prominent citizen and influential member of the church and assisted in establishing the town of Milford.  He died intestate, in 1755.  Children:  Susanna, February 12, 1728; Jonathan, October 18, 1729, died October 19, 1729; Jesse, November 24, 1730; Lydia, November 18, 1732; Jonathan, July 26, 1737, mentioned below; Ruth, baptized April 11, 1742, died young; David, baptized September 21, 1746; Sarah.

     ( V ) Captain Jonathan ( 3 ) WHITNEY, son of Jonathan ( 2 ) WHITNEY, was born July 26, 1737, in Milford, and married (both being then of Mendon), November 7, 1760, Esther PARKHURST, born June 22, 1741, died December 6, 1812, in Milo, New York.  Soon after his marriage he removed to Conway, Massachusetts, and in 1789 he went with his son Joel to Ontario county, New York, and settled on the "Old Castle" farm near Geneva.  Here he put in four or five acres of wheat, cut a stack of hay, erected a log house eighteen feet square and returned to Conway in the fall of the same year.  In 1791 he removed with his family to the above mentioned farm.  They traveled by ox teams and were some seventeen days on the road.  He served in the Revolution, his term of service being as follows:  Lexington alarm, sergeant from Conway, served 16 days in Captain Robert OLIVER's company, Colonel Samuel WILLIAMS' regiment, April 22, 1775; May 3, 1776, lieutenant, 5th regiment, Hampshire county, 7th company, Thomas FRENCH, captain; July 10, 1777, to August 12, 1777, lieutenant, Captain Benjamin PHILLIPS' company, Colonel Elisha PORTER's regiment; June 19, 1780, captain 7th company, 5th regiment, Hampshire county.  He died August 22, 1792.  

Children:  1. Nathan, October 18, 1761, mentioned below.  2. Abigail, March 12, 1764; married in Conway, April 2, 1787, Simeon AMSDEN, born April 20, 1763, died August 16, 1832.  3. Joel, November 13, 1776, married Sybil WHITMORE.  4. Esther, December 16, 1769, married in Conway, August 31, 1789, Solomon GATES, born October 4, 1761.  She died August 16, 1848.  5. Experience, June 6, 1772, married in Conway, June 25, 1789, Immer CRITTENDEN, born March 17, 1776, died December 16, 1826.  She died February 5, 1826.  6. Jonas, May 12, 1775, married Catherine PARKER.  7. Ruth, February 18, 1778, died young.  8. Ammi, January 18, 1781, married Anna AMSDEN.  9. Parkhurst, September 15, 1784, married Celinda COWING.

     ( VI ) Nathan, son of Captain Jonathan ( 3 ) WHITNEY, was born at Conway, October 18, 1761, and married there (first), November 1, 1780, Olive WHITNEY, daughter of Lieutenant Jesse WHITNEY, born February 19, 1758, died November 17, 1828.  He married (second) Thankful CALDWELL.  He lived in Conway until 1792, when he emigrated to Seneca Castle, New York, one of the first pioneers.  He was a farmer by occupation.  Nearly all his children were remarkable for their longevity.  He died April 19, 1838.  Children:  1. Luther, August 20, 1782, married Hannah WITTER and Hannah L. SMALLEY.  2. Theodore, March 4, 1785, died June 29, 1829; killed by a falling tree.  3. Otis, October 19, 1786, married Betsey HAWLEY.  4. Polly, September 19, 1788; married, August 31, 1806, Seth WHITMORE; died March 7, 1823.  He was born in Conway, March 17, 1783, died August 27, 1869.  5. Nathan, January 22, 1791, married Sarah GRAY.  6. Cheney, April 21, 1795, mentioned below.  7. Olive, September 28, 1797, married Simeon VAN AUKIN; died January 15, 1821.  8. Jonathan, September 23, 1798, married Betsey _____.  9. Julia Ann, December 17, 1799, married Dr. SARTWELL; died April 28, 1824.

     ( VII ) Cheney, son of Nathan WHITNEY, was born in Seneca, New York, April 21, 1795.  He was educated in the public schools and followed farming in his native town.  He married Olive COLWELL, born March 19, 1801.  Children:  Daniel H., born October 19, 1819, died January 1, 1910; Hackaliah, August 30, 1822; Sidney, August 20, 1824, deceased; Clarissa, December 16, 1826; Sophronia, October 26, 1828; Byron, September 4, 1830; Emma, October 24, 1833; Cheney P., mentioned below; Anna, March 25, 18__.

     ( VIII ) Cheney P., son of Cheney WHITNEY, was born in Seneca, June 10, 1836.  He attended the public schools there and the Phelps Union School and the Oswego Business College.  He then engaged in farming, and in 1872 purchased his present farm on which for many years he raised thoroughbred horses, cattle and hogs.  In later years he has made fruit culture a specialty and has taken first prizes on fruit at all the county fairs of this section.  He is a member of Presbyterian Church of Seneca Castle and for forty years has been elder.  He is a member of Seneca Castle Grange, Patrons of Husbandry, and has been master and chaplain.  He has been excise commissioner of the town of Phelps and trustee of the school district in which he lives.  In politics he is a republican.  He has been a member of the Ontario Agricultural Society for 40 years, and served two years as president and he is a member of the State Agricultural Society.

He married in 1861 Mary C. CHAPMAN, daughter of John and Margaret CHAPMAN.  Children:  Margaret, born April 7, 1864, married William F. CHAPMAN; Almon, April 15, 1867; Mary Matilda, November 11, 1870, a teacher of deaf mutes in New York City.

 

 

 

WHITNEY

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 436

 

     ( VI ) Jonas WHITNEY, son of Captain Jonathan WHITNEY, (q. v. ), was born May 12, 1775, died September 27, 1823.  He married, November 29, 1795, Catherine PARKER.  Children:  Walter, born January 21, 1797; Wealthy, March 12, 1799; William Morris, January 5, 1802; Minerva, January 27, 1804; Harriett, March 16, 1806; Henry Harrison, May 9, 1814, mentioned below; Jefferson; George.

     ( VII ) Henry Harrison, son of Jonas WHITNEY, was born at Oakwell, New York, May 9, 1814.  He married Sarah Ann HILL and among their children was Oscar J., mentioned below.

     ( VIII ) Oscar J., son of Henry Harrison WHITNEY, was a farmer at Phelps.  He married Eliza BANNISTER, born 1842 and died 1912, and is buried in Phelps Village Cemetery; among his children was Henry B., mentioned below. 

     ( IX ) Henry B., son of Oscar J. WHITNEY, was born in Phelps, New York, June 11, 1868.  He was educated in the public schools of his native town, at the Geneva high school and at Cornell University.  In 1900 he engaged in the manufacture of baskets at Phelps and continued for eight years.  In partnership with A. S. VINCENT in 1904 he built the pickle and sour-kraut factory at Phelps.  The firm was dissolved and the business sold in 1907.  He was appointed postmaster of Phelps, January 10, 1898, and reappointed at the end of his term, serving in this office for eight years.  From May 1, 1907, to September 1, 1909, he was employed in the collection department of the International Harvester Company.  Since October 1, 1909, he has been confidential agent under John WILLIAMS, commissioner of labor, of the state of New York.  He is a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity of Cornell University.

Mr. WHITNEY is widely known as a crack rifle shot.  He was an expert at trap shooting when but 13 years old and took first prize at the shooting tournament at Syracuse, New York.  In the winter of 1890 he was one of the five members of the eastern team to cross the continent and participate in various tournaments, in which he won a number of individual trophies.  He won the R. E. Pierce diamond badge at Buffalo, New York, in 1884.  This trophy alone is valued at $850.  In that contest he killed 25 birds without missing.  He has won several first prizes at the state shoot at Saratoga and New York City and was classed among the best shots in this country.

He married, January 11, 1893, Emma May, daughter of Henry and Ella I. BISHOP, of Lyons, New York.  They have one child, Edna, born April 22, 1897.

 

 

 

WHITWELL, Frederic D.

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 31 -32 

Frederic D. WHITWELL, an attorney and counselor at law of the younger generation in Geneva, is a member of an old and well-known family. 

John WHITWELL, grandfather of Frederick D., was one of the early settlers in the state of New York and was a man of importance in his day.  For a number of years he filled very capably the office of justice of the peace. 

William, son of John WHITWELL was born in Geneva on April 14, 1836.  He is president of the J. W. Smith Dry Goods Company, is one of the largest stockholders and has been connected with the company for 35 years. He has also served as one of the cemetery commissioners.  He married Caroline a DAVENPORT, born in Utica, New York.  Children: Frederic D., see forward; Frances W., cashier of the First National Bank of Geneva; George H., treasurer and secretary of the Geneva Savings Bank. 

Frederic D., son of William and Caroline A. (DAVENPORT) WHITWELL, was born in Geneva, New York September 2, 1876.  He was a student at the Geneva high school, then at Hobart college and was graduated with honor from both institutions.  Admitted to the bar, November 17, 1903, he immediately established himself in practice in Geneva, where he is rapidly acquiring a large clientele.  Prior to the commencing the study of law he was a tutor of Latin and Greek in the Geneva high school.  He is an active worker in the interests of the Republican party, has served as representative of the executive committee of the direct primaries and was a civil service commissioner for three years.  He is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Fraternity, the Theta Delta Chi Fraternity, the Kanadasga Club and the Episcopal church.  Mr. WHITWELL is unmarried.

 

 

WIDMAN 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 210

WIDMAN, William A., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, April 17, 1860, a son of John, one of the first shoe dealers of the town, born in Germany in 1823.  He came to this country when about 25 years old, first locating at Rochester, where he remained a short time, then at West Bloomfield.  He came to Canandaigua next and followed shoemaking.  He was a partner with Latta & Orr, and in 1867 entered into partnership with Matthew O'BRIEN in the shoe business.  After about four months the building where the Hubbell block now stands was burned, and Mr. WIDMAN lost very heavily.  In 1868 he established a business alone, which he conducted until his death (1886), with the exception of about 18 months, when John A. MING was with him.   In 1852 he married Mary B. DREXLER, by whom he had 11 children, of whom 10 survive.  William A., the second son, is now conducting the store where his father was proprietor so long, located at 220 Main street, where he carries a complete stock of boots and shoes, rubbers, etc., also conducting a manufacturing department in connection.  He is assisted in the store by his brother Charles, who is at the head of the custom department, and his sister Louise is also an assistant in the store.  They employ James HUGHES and Herman KNAIER in the custom and repair department.

 

WILBUR 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 259 - 260

WILBUR, Cyrus H., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, September 3, 1832, a son of Hiram WILBUR.  Jeptha, the great-grandfather, was a resident of Dutchess county, and had ten children.  Samuel married Elizabeth HICKS, and had eight children: Ephraim, Hiram, George, Benjamin, Cynthia, Mary, Jeptha, and Phoebe.  Four of their children are still living: Ephraim, a farmer of Naples; Benjamin, of Dutchess county; Phoebe, widow of Dr. LOSEY, of Dutchess county, and Hiram, of Buffalo, who was born in Dutchess county, October 3, 1808, and came to Ontario county.  He married in Dutchess county, Margaret COUSE, and had six children, four of whom are living: Samuel J., of Naples; Norman R., a hotel-keeper of Pleasantville, Pa.; Marietta, wife of William H. GREEN, of Buffalo; and Cyrus H.  The early life of the latter was spent on the farm.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and in 1855 he moved to Cheshire, where he bought a small farm and kept a hotel.  In 1862 he started a general store in Cheshire in which he has since been engaged.  In 1892 he erected a new building for his business and has now a very fine store.  Mr. WILBUR takes an active interest in politics and has been commissioner of highways.  He married in 1853 Hortensia M., daughter of Thomas J. LUCAS, of Canandaigua, and they have one son, Hiram Melvin, a clerk in his father's store.

 

 

 

WILCOX 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 213 - 214 

WILCOX, William W., Canandaigua, was born in Simsbury, Conn., September 12, 1852, and came with his parents to Canandaigua in 1857, where they bought the Judge SIBLEY property, and for the first few years conducted the farm; at a later day he was president of the First National Bank.  He was a very prominent man in the town, and died August 28, 1885.  He had 8 children, two of whom reside in Canandaigua: Charles, who conducts a vineyard on the lake; and William W.  The latter was educated in Canandaigua, and after leaving school went to Bloomington, IL, and engaged in the wholesale and retail grocery business for seven years, returning to Canandaigua in 1882, and in 1883 went as bookkeeper for N. H. GRIMES, and at the death of the latter in 1891 he bought the store, which he has since conducted.  He carries a full line of everything sold in a grocery and provision store and does a very large business.  He employs 9 clerks besides bookkeeper and cashier.

 

 

 

WILCOX

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 494

Merritt Crawford WILCOX, whose birthplace was in Alabama, came to Canandaigua with his parents at fourteen.  His father, Lucius WILCOX, married Frances A., born at Demopolis, Alabama, daughter of Andrew Jackson CRAWFORD, a southern planter, and a minister of the Methodist Church South.

Merritt C. WILCOX was born in Demopolis, Alabama, June 6, 1842.  He acquired his education in the public schools of Canandaigua and in the Canandaigua Academy.  He married, in Canandaigua, in 1867, Caroline Frances, born in Cortland county, New York, daughter of William and Caroline O. (HEATON) RICHARDSON who came to Canandaigua from Cortland county.  His father, Mr. Lucius WILCOX, served for many years as president of the First National Bank of Canandaigua, and devoted a great part of his time to farming.  The land covered by his farm was located in the village and Woodlawn Cemetery now occupies a portion of it.  Mr. and Mrs. WILCOX have had three children:  Lucius William, Mabel Merritt, and Crawford Richardson WILCOX.

 

 

 

WILDER 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 202

WILDER, George A., Bristol, a native of Bristol, born November 7, 1833, is a son of John, a son of Ephraim and Lydia (LOOMIS) WILDER, who came to Connecticut to Bristol about 1790.  They had four sons and four daughters.  John was born in Bristol, June 7, 1794, and married Eunice CODDING, born May 2, 1796, by whom he had five sons and a daughter.  Mr. WILDER was educated in the district school and became one of the leading farmers of the town.  George A. WILDER was educated in the district school, and is a general farmer and hop grower.  He owns 225 acres of land March 4, 1860, he married Mary L. CASE, a native of Bristol and a daughter of Seymour W. CASE.  Mr. WILDER and wife have had three children: George S., a farmer of Bristol, who married Belle Dudley of Buffalo, by whom he had one child, Ethelyn L.; John S., who is a clerk in a dry goods store in Cleveland, O.; and Carrie E., wife of George DOWNIE of Cleveland, O.  Mr. WILDER is a republican, and he and family attend the Congregational church of Bristol.

 

WILDER 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 209

WILDER, Charles J., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, November 27, 1852, a son of Austin H., a native also, born in 1809, and died in 1872.  He was a man of considerable prominence in Canandaigua, and during the early days of the N. Y. C. R. R. held the office of station agent here.  Of his 7 children four survive: Mrs. Frank COOLEY of Jackson, Mich., I. Hart WILDER of Flint, Mich., Mrs. H. L. HART of Canandaigua, and Charles J.  The latter was educated in the common schools and at the academy here.  After leaving school he followed farming a short time.  He then went as clerk in the jewelry store of W. H. ELLIS.  Here he remained six years, the engaged as bookkeeper with Torrey & Son, coal dealers, where he has been for nine years.  The office is now conducted by T. M. EMERICK.  In the spring of 1884 Mr. WILDER was nominated on the republican ticket for town clerk, and elected by a majority of about 150, and was re-elected to the same position for five years.  He is a member of Kanandarque Lodge, K. of P., No. 245.

 

WILKINS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 362

WILKINS, Gustavus C., Geneva, was born August 8, 1843, in the western part of Russia.  November 25, 1869, he landed in New York, and after spending a short time in that city and Philadelphia, went to Mount Vernon and remained for a time.  He has been engaged in the meat business since 1871, and has spent two and a half years in Rochester.  He married Caroline KRULL, by whom he has had two children.

 

 

WILKENS

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 252 - 253 

Forty-two years ago Gustavus Charles WILKENS, a native of the fair land of Poland, left the dominion of the Czar to seek his fortune in America, and being favorably impressed with the possibilities open to him in this country he lost no time in renouncing his allegiance to the Russian government.

Mr. WILKENS belongs to a race of liberty-loving people who have long cherished an ardent desire to regain their national independence, but the iron hand of imperial Russia still holds them in subjection.  His father, Ludwig WILKENS, born in 1801, was in the service of the Russian government, having been at the mint for some time, and subsequently had full charge of large pulp and paper mills in Warsaw, Sacifa and Bozizno.  In addition to his business ability he possessed a varied knowledge of the world and its affairs in general, having circumnavigated the globe, but his career of progress was cut short by his untimely death, which occurred when he was forty-seven years old.  Ludwig WILKENS was married in 1842 to Caroline TEICHMAN, who was born in Modzerowo, Poland, March 4, 1820, and is still living.  Her father was the owner of three large freight boats plying on the Vistula river, which were destroyed by the Russian government forces during the Polish rebellion of 1830.  Caroline ( TEICHMAN ) WELKINS' mother was before marriage, Minnie ANGLEHART, born in Vloclawek, Russia, in 1778, daughter of a Polish shipbuilder at Vloclawek on the river Vistula, who died in Modzerowo at the advanced age of 97 years.  The children of Ludwig and Caroline ( TEICHMAN ) WILKENS are:  1. Gustavus Charles, see forward.  2. Caroline, born in 1846, married ( first ) Frederick KROLL; married (second) Frederick SHRODER; three children by first marriage.  3. Samuel, born in 1848, married twice and has a large family.

Gustavus Charles, eldest child of Ludwig and Caroline ( TEICHMAN ) WILKENS, was born in Poland, August 8, 1843.  He attended the public schools in Vloclawek, western Russia, and at the age of fourteen years was apprenticed to a butcher.  He subsequently worked in various places in Germany and Austria, also in different cities in Russia, and was in the meat and provision business on his own account at Chechocinek for seven years.  From Chechocinek he came to the United States, landing in New York, November 11, 1869, and proceeding to Philadelphia, was employed for a short time by Boucher & Company.  In 1870 he began to learn the mason's trade at Mt. Vernon, New York, but was compelled by ill health to relinquish work temporarily, and upon his recovery he resumed his trade in Newark, New York.  Mercantile pursuits were, however, far more congenial to him than the trowel, and he therefore determined to resume the provision business.  Locating at Geneva, New York, in 1871, he opened a meat and provision establishment in the William Knight block on Exchange street, under the firm name of Wilkens & Zobrest.  After the withdrawal of Mr. ZOBREST in 1872, Henry SCHRODER was admitted to partnership, and purchasing the latter's interest in 1873 Mr. WILKENS conducted the business for 9 years.  He was next associated with Frank C. HOFMANN, for several years, and at the expiration of that time he removed to Rochester, New York, where for two and one-half years he conducted provision stores on West Main and Front streets.  Returning to Geneva he re-established himself at 28 Castle street, and carried on a profitable business for 14 years, or until his retirement.  He is now devoting his time to his real estate interests and also the management of a farm of 80 acres located in Waterloo, Seneca county.

He is also president of the Allen Drug Company, of Geneva, and associated with Frank C. HOFMANN in the drug and ice cream business at Auburn, New York.  In politics Mr. WILKENS is a Republican.  He belongs to the Masonic Order, being a member of the blue lodge and chapter.  He is a prominent member of the Evangelical Church of America, serving as trustee, class leader, treasurer, and upon the advisory board and for forty years has been active in church work.

Mr. WILKENS married in Bozizno, Russia, November 11, 1862, Caroline KROLL, a native of that place.  Children:  1. Olga, born in Russia, January 11, 1865, married, in Geneva, New York, H. J. FINN, and has Irene, born July 17, 1892; Hazel, born April 10, 1893.  2. Louise, born in Russia, November 12, 1867, married Carrie MILLER, of Auburn, New York, in 1901, and she died in September, 1906, have one son, Fred WILKINS.  Mr. and Mrs. WILKENS also brought with them from the old country an adopted son, Charles CRANE, who married, and after the death of his wife, they took charge of his two children, one died soon after and they reared and educated the remaining one, Olga CRANE; she lives in Rochester.

Mrs. Caroline ( KROLL ) WILKENS' father was Fred KROLL, and the maiden name of her mother was Nellie SCHROEDER.  He was born in Germany in 1813, died in 1863.  The brothers and sisters of Caroline are:  Frederick, Charles and Nellie.

 

 

 

WILLIAMS  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 209

WILLIAMS, George N., Canandaigua, was born in Canandaigua, March 11, 1837, a son of Dr. Thomas WILLIAMS, a native of New Hampshire, where he was born March 27, 1787.  He was a graduate of Dartmouth College class of 1814, and of Dartmouth Medical College in 1818.  He emigrated that year to Ontario county and located in Canandaigua, following the practice of his profession until his death, January 9, 1860.  He married November 27, 1823, Lucinda BARLOW, daughter of Col. Thomas REMINGTON of Canandaigua, and they had 11 children, of whom 4 are living: Mrs. Charles P. JOHNSON of Wisner, Mich., Mrs. L. C. LOOMIS of Washington, DC, Mrs. W. L. GORDON of Topeka, and George N.  He was educated at East Bloomfield Academy and Lima Seminary, and after leaving school taught for a short time, then studied law until November, 1861, when he enlisted as a private, and was elected first lieutenant of Co. K, 98th Regiment N. Y. Volunteers; he was afterwards promoted to a captaincy, and was mustered out of the service in June, 1863.  Mr. WILLIAMS is now a member of the military order of the Loyal Legion of the United States.  Returning to Canandaigua he resumed the study of law, and was admitted to practice in December, 1864.  He followed his profession for four years, then engaged in the business of banking, which is still his occupation.  He was twice elected treasurer of Ontario county, and for 6 years was cashier of the First National Bank of Canandaigua.  In the year 1866 Mr. WILLIAMS married Abigail Stanley, daughter of ex-Governor Myron H. CLARK, and they have two children, a daughter, Mary Clark WILLIAMS of Canandaigua, and a son, Clark WILLIAMS of New York city.

 

 

 

 

 

WILLIAMS

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub 1911, Vol II, pg. 267 - 270 

Arthur WILLIAMS, immigrant, was born in England and settled in Windsor, Connecticut, as early as 1640, removing thence to Northampton, Massachusetts, in 1659.  He married, November 30, 1647, Mrs. Catherine CARTER, widow of Joshua CARTER, of Windsor, and she married (third) February 11, 1677, William BRANCH, of Springfield.  She died August 8, 1683.  The only child of Arthur and Catherine WILLIAMS was Zebediah, mentioned below.

     ( II ) Zebediah, son of Arthur WILLIAMS, was born in Windsor, in 1649.  He came with his father to Northampton and evidently was somewhat lacking in Puritanical piety, for the was fined ten shillings at Northampton, March 8, 1672, "for laughing in meeting, this being unseemly and prophane carriage."  He was fined, evidently on general principles, two shillings, sixpence,  at Northampton, May 16, 1673, "for mispence of tyme at Mudge his house."  He sold his property at Northampton, in 1674 and come to Deerfield.  A soldier in King Philip's war he was killed with Captain LOTHROP, September 18, 1675.  He married, December 18, 1672, Mary MILLER, daughter of William MILLER.  She married (second), November 28, 1677, Godfrey NIMS, and she died April 27, 1688.  Children:  Mary, born December 24, 1673; Zebediah, mentioned below.

     ( III ) Zebediah ( 2 ), son of Zebediah ( 1 ) WILLIAMS, was born in 1675 at Deerfield.  In 1692 the court ordered his grandmother, Patience MILLER, "to take him and educate him or get him out (apprenticed) for an education."  Godfrey NIMS, his stepfather, objected and the case was postponed.  He was wounded by the Indians in 1695 and was allowed fifteen pounds by the general court for loss of time.  The Indians captured him and his half-brother, John NIMS, October 8, 1703, at Frary's Bridge and carried them to Canada where he died April 12, 1706.  His "house partly finished" was on a two-acre and a-half lot, near the south end.  He married, May 2, 1700, Sarah ARMS, daughter of William ARMS and she married (second), Samuel JONES.  Children of Zebediah and Sarah WILLIAMS:  Mary, born February 13, 1701, married Joseph STEBBINS who removed to Northfield; Ebenezer, mentioned below.

     ( IV ) Ebenezer, son of Zebediah ( 2 ) WILLIAMS, was the third generation in which but one son had left to preserve the surname.  He was born December 10, 1702, at Deerfield, and removed to Amherst, Massachusetts, an adjacent town, about 1735.  He owned land there and a highway by his place was laid out March 18, 1754.  His name was on the tax list in 1760 and as late as 1776.  He married, May 16, 1728, Mehitable FOWLER, daughter of Samuel FOWLER, of Westfield.  Children, born at Deerfield:  1. Zebediah, born September 18, 1729, soldier in company of Captain Moses PORTER and believed to have been killed in the Bloody Morning Scout, September 8, 1755.  2. Sarah, August 31, 1730.  3. Priscilla, October 11, 1731, died February 6, 1732.  4. Ebenezer, March 16, 1732-33.  5. Justus, mentioned below.  6. John, baptized July 20, 1740, married Hannah LEE and settled in Amherst.  7. Solomon, baptized December 13, 1741.  8. Ruth, baptized June 30, 1741.  9. Mary, baptized April 22, 1744.  10. Stephen (?), 1746-47.  11. Mehitable (?), married Barnabas DAVIDSON.

     ( V ) Justus, son of Ebenezer WILLIAMS, was born about 1737 in Deerfield and came to Amherst with his father, in infancy, or was born in what is now Amherst.  He was a soldier in the French and Indian war in Colonel WILLIAMS' regiment, from January 24 to November 30, 1757.  He was also a soldier in the Revolution on the alarm at New Providence, and served in Lieutenant Noah DICKINSON's company.  In 1783 he was one of the petitioners for the incorporation of the second parish of Amherst.  Both he and his son of the same name were voters in 1802, and he or his son was a member of Pacific Lodge of Free Masons, probably the son.  In 1790 the first federal census shows that he had in his family at that time three males over sixteen, four under that age and six females.  He married Abigail POMEROY.  Of their large family of children we have found but two, though doubtless the others or some of them may be found in the vital records of Amherst.  Justus Jr. lived at Amherst and engaged in farming, was town clerk in 1813, 1816 and 1820, married January 1, 1800, Sarah WARNER.  The other son, Ebenezer, is mentioned below.

     ( VI ) Ebenezer ( 2 ), son of Justus WILLIAMS, was born in Amherst, Massachusetts, in 1779 (Amherst history gives 1783).  He was educated there in the district schools and followed farming.  A prominent and influential citizen for many years, he was selectman of Amherst in 1818, 1823, 1828, 1829, 1832 and 1843, a period of 6 years and he also represented the town in the general court.  He married, January 21, 1808, Philomela DICKINSON, who was born in Amherst about 1790 and died in 1854.  He died in 1860.  Children:  Elijah; William; Mary; Margaret; Enos D.

     ( VII ) Enos D., son of Ebenezer ( 2 ) WILLIAMS, was born at Amherst, Massachusetts in 1822 and died in October, 1866.  He was educated in the public schools and at Amherst Academy.  He began life as a merchant in a small way and became a wholesale flour dealer, owning large flour mills.  In politics he was a republican in his later years, and he represented his district in the general court in 1856 and 1857.  He was a director of the First National Bank of Amherst for many years.

He married in 1846, Caroline Ruth HAWLEY, who was born in Plainfield, Massachusetts, in 1825 and died in 1891.  Children:  Mary A., born at Amherst, October 11, 1848, married R. L. BRIDGEMAN and had two children: 1. Florence and Percy L. BRIDGEMAN.  2. Elijah H., born at Amherst, September 3, 1850, married Ella D. POMEROY.  3. William H., mentioned below.  4. Nellie D., born at Amherst, August 3, 1855, died aged 6 years.  5. Arthur, born 1857, died in infancy.  6. Edward, born 1859, died in infancy.  7. Walter Henry, born in Amherst, April 25, 1863, married Anna E. WAITE and had a daughter Cliff, born in 1889, died aged 18 years.

     ( VIII ) William H., son of Enos D. WILLIAMS, was born at Amherst, Massachusetts, October 31, 1853.  His early education was received in the public schools of his native town and he was graduated from Amherst College in the class of 1876 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts.  At once, after completing his course, he entered the employ of a large lumber company in Chicago, Illinois, and a year later embarked in the lumber business on his own account at Springfield, Missouri.  After continuing in business in Missouri for thirteen years, he came to Nelsonville, Ohio, and continued in the lumber business for another period of nine years.  From 1899 to 1909 he was associated with the R. J. Rogers Lumber Company, at Geneva, New York, as assistant treasurer and later treasurer.  Since 1909 he has been in business on his own account, again as the Williams Lumber Company, in the city of Geneva, New York, and within a year his concern was doing the largest business of any in that line in that section of the state.  His wide knowledge of the business and high reputation for integrity have served him in good stead in his career and the confidence in which he is held by his customers is a guarantee of the future prosperity of the concern.  

In politics he is a republican, and for two years he held the office of park commissioner of Geneva.  He was made a mason in Nelsonville, Ohio, and is now a member of Ark Lodge of Geneva.  He was junior warden of the Ohio lodge.  He is also a member of the Nelsonville Lodge of Odd Fellows in which he is past noble grand.  In religion he is a Presbyterian.

He married, October 19, 1882, Katharine Ida ROBERTS, born at Amherst, August 2, 1855, daughter of Reuben E. and Lydia T. (ENDICOTT) ROBERTS.  Her father was born at Hartford, Connecticut, in 1804, and died in 1877; her mother was born in Newport, New Hampshire, in 1821, died in 1878, a lineal descendant of Governor John ENDICOTT, of Massachusetts Bay Colony.  Reuben ROBERTS, father of Reuben E. ROBERTS, was born in Hartford, in 1774, died in 1864; married Esther GRISLEY (?), who was also a native of Hartford, and who died in 1834.  Thomas ENDICOTT, father of Lydia T. (ENDICOTT) ROBERTS, was born in Salem, Massachusetts, and married Mary TRASK.  Children of Mr. and Mrs. WILLIAMS:  Elijah Roberts, born in Springfield, Missouri, December 23, 1883, graduated from Amherst College in 1906, and is now secretary of the Williams Lumber Company of Geneva; Frederick Bailey, born at Springfield, Missouri, October 20, 1886, died aged 18 months; Caroline Ruth, born at Springfield, Missouri, May 27, 1891, now a student in Vassar College.

 

 

 

 

WILLIAMS

History of Ontario Co, NY and Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol II, pg. 440

 

Charles E. WILLIAMS, secretary, treasurer and general manager of the New York Central Iron Works Company, at Geneva, Ontario county, NY, belongs to that class of citizens who, although undemonstrative and unassuming in their natures, never the less, form the character and mold the society of the communities in which they live.  This is the class that develops our great manufacturing interests, spreads our commerce and replaces the rude hamlets of our forefathers with magnificent business palaces, and they, above all others, build our cities, our steam-boats and railways, and they alone deserve the credit of these enterprises. 

Mr. WILLIAMS, although well and widely known in the manufacturing and commercial world, is still a young man.  He was born in Clinton, New York, April 28, 1869, was educated in the public and Clinton grammar schools, and then matriculated at Hamilton College, which he left in 1890.  His first business employment was in the office of the New York Central Iron Works Company, where he commenced in a subordinate position.  His diligence and faithful performance of even the minutest details of the duties assigned him, soon attracted the attention of the officers of the corporation, and he was gradually advanced to more important positions, until he became the secretary, treasurer and manager of the entire plant, an office he is holding at the present time, as above stated.  He not alone gives his personal attention to every department of this large concern, but his inventive mind has led him to introduce a number of new ideas which have greatly enhanced the value of some of the wares manufactured by them.  Having, as it were, grown up with this industry, Mr. WILLIAMS has become thoroughly familiar with its every detail, and is able to judge at a glance of the practicability of any new idea which is presented to them for adoption.  This company was founded in 1853 by William B. DUNNING, and incorporated in 1890 with a capital stock of one hundred thousand dollars.  The officers are:  D.E. DEMPSEY, president; O.J.C. ROSE, vice-president; and Mr. WILLIAMS as secretary, treasurer and manager.  Mr. WILLIAMS also is one of the directors and a stockholder.  The Dunning steam and hot water boilers are a part of their manufacture, and they ship to all parts of the United States and Alaska.  Their yearly output amounts to about two hundred thousand dollars, and the sales of the concern could easily be doubled, were they not at the present time rather cramped as to space.  This matter, however, will be remedied in the near future, when their working capacity will be greatly increased.  Mr. WILLIAMS finds but little time to devote to political matters, but he takes a lively interest in all matters which have to do with the advancement and improvement of the community in which he lives with the country at large, and gives his support to the Democratic party.  He and his wife are members of St. Peter's Episcopal church.  He is also connected with the following organizations:  Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons, of Geneva; Geneva Commandery, No. 29, Knights Templar; Chapter No. 36.

 

 

WILLIAMS, CHARLES  E. 

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg. 444-446

Charles E. WILLIAMS, secretary, treasurer and general manager of the New York Central Iron Works Company at Geneva, Ontario county, New York, belongs to that class of citizens who, although undemonstrative and unassuming in their natures, nevertheless form the character and mold the society of the communities in which they live. This is the class that develops our great manufacturing interests, spreads our commerce and replaces the rude hamlets of our forefathers with magnificent business palaces, and they, above all others, builds our cities, our steamboats and railways, and they alone deserve the credit of these enterprises.

Mr. WILLIAMS, although well and widely known in the manufacturing and commercial world, is still a young man. He was born in Clinton, New York, April 28, 1869, was educated in the public and Clinton grammar schools, and then matriculated at Hamilton College, which he left in 1890. His first business employment was in the office of the New York Central Irons Works, where he commenced in the subordinate position. His diligence and faithful performance of even the minutest details of the duties assigned him, soon attracted the attention of the officers of the corporation, and he was gradually advanced to more important positions, until he became the secretary, treasurer and manager of the entire plant, an office he is still holding at the present time, as stated above. He not alone gives his personal attention to every department of this large concern, but his inventive mind has led him to introduce a number of new ideas which have greatly enhanced the value of some of the wares manufactured by them. Having, as it were, grown up with this industry, Mr. WILLIAMS has become thoroughly familiar with its every detail, and is able to judge at a glance of the practicability of any new idea which is presented to them for adoption. This company was founded in 1853 by William B. DUNNING, and incorporated in 1890 with a capital stock of one hundred thousand dollars. The officers are: D. E. DEMPSEY, president; O. J. C. ROSE, vice-president; and Charles E. WILLIAMS as secretary, treasurer and manager. MR. WILLIAMS also is one of the directors and a stockholder. The Dunning steam and hot water boilers are a part of their manufacture, and they ship to all parts of the Untied States and Alaska. Their yearly output amounts to about two hundred thousand dollars, and the sales of the concern could easily be doubled, were they not at the present time rather cramped as to space. This matter, however, will be remedied the near future, when their working capacity will be greatly increased. Mr. WILLIAMS finds but little time to devote to political matters, but he takes a lively interest in all matters which have to do with the advancement and improvement of the community in which he lives or with the country at large, and gives his support to the Democratic party. He and his wife are members of St. Peters Episcopal Church. He is also connected with the following organizations: Ark Lodge, No. 33, Free and Accepted Masons, of Geneva; Geneva Commandery, No. 29, Knights Templar; Chapter No. 36, Royal Arch Masons; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, No. 1054; and while at college was a member of Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity.

Charles E. WILLIAMS married April 25, 1895, Hattie E., born in Geneva, New York, November 1871, daughter of Henry GLANVILLE, who was one of the early settlers in Ontario county, and who died at the age of 85 years. Mrs. WILLIAMS was graduated from the Geneva High School. Children: Helen, born March 8, 1896, died January 12, 1910; Othniel G., born November 9, 1900.

 

 

WILLIAMS, GEORGE  N.

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 163 

George N. WILLIAMS, was born in Canandaigua, March 11, 1837; served as Lieutenant and Captain of Co., K, 98th Regt., NY Inf., 1861-63; admitted to the bar, 1864; practiced law for four years, then engaged in the banking business; Treasurer of Ontario county, 1871-76; married Abigail Stanley CLARK, daughter of Ex-Governor Myron H. CLARK, in 1866.  died in Canandaigua, January 13, 1907.

 

WILLSON, GILBERT

History of Ontario County, NY, published 1878, pg.  235

Nathaniel WILLSON, born in Rehobeth, Massachusetts, followed the sea early in life, and subsequently engaged in farming.  He was twice married; his firs wife was Miss TURNER.  There was born to them a large family, of whom Gilbert WILLSON, the subject of this sketch, was the third.  He was born December 19, 1785, in Richmond, Berkshire county, Massachusetts.  In 1789 the family removed to West Stockbridge, where the son aided in carrying on a farm and received a common school education.  His marriage in the spring of 1810 to Electra HENDRICKS led him to consider the subject of providing for himself and wife a permanent home.  His wife was a native of Massachusetts, and at the time of her death, which took place in 1816, was a member of the Baptist church; she left three children to mourn her loss, two girls and a boy, all living.  Mrs. Harriet PECK is a resident of Richmond; Elizabeth WARREN lives in Wisconsin; and Marcius WILLSON, born in the early part of 1814, is a citizen of Vineland, New Jersey, and has become quite extensively known as a historian and as the author of Willson's School Readers. 

In 1821, Gilbert WILLSON set out with horse and sleigh for the Genesee country, whose fame had for years been known to all the Eastern States, and had constantly drawn form the citizens of the most enterprising, and in many instances the most needy.  The journey began with a sleigh and was completed in a wagon.  He had purchased a farm of ninety-five acres from Nathaniel ALLEN in Richmond, and to its cultivation gave his time and attentions.  Some time later Mr. WILLSON married Selecta SPENCER, daughter of Daniel SPENCER, of West Stockbridge, and for years the family were know as kind neighbors, attendants upon Christian service, and emulous of providing for their children the boon of a good education.  Mrs. WILLSON died in February, 1845, and her remains were laid to rest in the cemetery at Allen's Hill.  Marcius WILLSON, the son heretofore named, obtained what education the Richmond schools could furnish; then attended school at Genesee, and subsequently engaged temporarily in teaching.  He graduated at Union college, Schenectady, and returning to Ontario, became principal of the Canandaigua Academy.  He employed his leisure in reading law and was admitted to the bar, but was prevented by ill health from engaging in legal practice.  He has published a history of the United States, and his school readers are too well known to require more than mention.  During that storm of excitement and indignation aroused by the abduction of William MORGAN, Gilbert WILLSON took strong grounds as an anti-Mason, and at more recent date had placed himself in the dominant party, and actively labored for the union of the country and the furtherance of its best interests.  The duty of every citizen to express himself in the exercise of the elective franchise is a point in his political creed, hence he has never missed an important election since he came to the town, and now at the advanced age of nearly 91 years he looks forward to one more vote for the nominees of his party, HAYES and WHEELER.  It seems almost superfluous to mention the fact that Mr. WILLSON has been called from time to time to hold various town offices, that of supervisor having been placed in his hands several terms.  He and his deceased wife were members of the Baptist denomination.  The society has no place of meeting in his neighborhood, hence a present attendance with the Methodist Episcopal brethren.  His life, though humble, has a power.  His memory extends beyond the lives of most in the town, of which he is the oldest resident.  What has become history to most men is a vivid recollection to him.  He has lived to see the forest felled and homes surrounded with all the comforts known to the old home East.  His children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren here grown up around him, and, with but few exceptions, are yet active in the discharge of daily duties.  Mr. WILLSON is the sole survivor of 21 children.  He looks now, in his age, upon the benefits of a total abstinence from tobacco and whisky, and rightfully attributes his longevity to a life of temperance.

 

WILLSON, JARED

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 84 

Jared WILLSON, a prominent member of the early Ontario county bar, was born in West Stockbridge, Mass, May 23, 1786.  Settled in Canandaigua in 1811, immediately after graduation from the University of Vermont, and studied law with John C. SPENCER.  Served as a lieutenant of militia in the War of 1812 and was taken prisoner at the Battle of Queenstown.  Died in Canandaigua, April 8, 1851.   

 

WILSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 199

WILSON, William, Geneva, was born in the old town of Seneca, June 16, 1855.  He was educated in the public schools, Canandaigua Academy, and graduated from Hobart College, class of ' 76.  Since that time he has been in the nursery business, now in company with G. R. WATSON, under the firm name of William Wilson & Co.  October 4, 1884, he was elected captain of the 34th Separate Company, National Guards, and received his commission from the governor.  In camp in the fall of 1892 he commanded a battalion.  He is a Democrat in politics.  October 10, 1878, he married Minnie E. HIPPLE of Geneva, and they have one son, James.  Captain WILSON's father, James, was born at the old home about 1818, and married Anna WHITNEY of Flint Creek.  They had four children: Libbie M., who married John HAMMOND of Geneva; Anna R., who married Rev. J. E. BABCOCK; William; and Jennie B., who married Richard F. RANKINE of Geneva.  Captain WILSON's father was a lieutenant-colonel in the State Militia.  James WILSON, one of Captain WILSON's ancestors, was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence.

WILSON 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 200 - 201

WILSON, L. Stanley, Canandaigua, was born in Waterloo, Seneca county, March 9, 1844, a son of Ralph, a native of Wayne county, born in the village of Rose.  He married Eleanor E., daughter of Colonel Lucius STANLEY of Seneca, and they have four children, of whom subject alone survives.  When he was three years old his father died, and Mrs. WILSON went to her father's in Seneca where L. Stanley was reared.  He was educated in the common schools and followed farming until about twenty years of age.  He then learned the carpenter's trade in which he has ever since been engaged.  In 1872 he came to Canandaigua and soon after began contracting.  He has made a specialty of jobbing and repair work, has a large line of customers and usually employs from one to six men.  He and his family are members of the M. E. Church of this town.  He has never been a politician.  Mr. WILSON married in 1865 Mary Caroline, daughter of George T. ROBERTSON of Ferguson Corners, Yates county, and they have four children: Philip K., a carpenter of Canandaigua; Minnie M., a dressmaker; Mary C. and L. Stanley Jr., both students.

 

WILSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 241 

WILSON, Thomas B., Seneca, was born on the home farm, December 12, 1852.  He was educated in the district schools and two years at Canandaigua Academy.  His main occupation is farming.  February 28, 1877, he married Margaret A. SCOON of Battle Creek, Mich., and they have three children: Charles S., John C., and Mary A.  Mr. WILSON's father, John C., was born on the same farm, August 2, 1821.  He was educated in the schools of his day, was also a practical farmer until he retired in 1885.  He married Catherine A. BURRELL of this town, and had three children: Thomas B., Margaret A., who married Joseph R. FISH; and Sherwood, who died in 1876.  Mr. WILSON's grandfather, Thomas WILSON, was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1791, and came to the United States about 1805 with his parents, locating at Hall's Corners.  He married Elizabeth CROSIER of the town of Seneca, and had 5 children--two sons and three daughters.  Mr. WILSON is one of the trustees of the Seneca Presbyterian church.  Mrs. WILSON's father, Charles R. SCOON, was born in Newstead Mills, Scotland, August 12, 1826, coming to the United States in 1850.  He died May 18, 1893.  He married Helen McKEE, formerly of his native country, who died November 23, 1864, and they had a daughter, Margaret A., on the 18th of September, 1865.  He married Lucina F. SMITH.  The ancestry of the family is English and Scotch.

 

 

WILSON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 362

WILSON, Matthew, Geneva, son of William, was born in the north of Ireland, August 18, 1819.  In June, 1839, he landed in New York, and remained there three years as clerk in a large wool house.  In 1842 he settled in Geneva, and bought wool for several years.  In 1842 he engaged in painting and paper hanging, and in 1850 opened a wall paper store, where he has remained ever since.  He married in 1852 Prudence S. DORCHESTER, and has four children living: William, a clerk for his father; Frank, a clerk; Sophia, married Solon B. FURMAN of Tampa, Fla., and died there in 1892; and Clara D., who married D. J. VAN AUKEN.

 

 

WILSON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 37-38

Colonel William WILSON, who has been connected with various lines of business and is now the head of a large hardware concern, is descended from an old colonial family through his maternal grandfather, Captain Jonathan WHITNEY, who earned distinction in the war of the Revolution. 

Colonel William WILSON was born in Seneca, Ontario County, New York on June 16, 1855.  He was the recipient of an excellent education, being graduated respectively from the Canandaigua Academy, the Geneva Classical and Union School and Hobart College, leaving the latter in 1879 with the degree of Master of Arts.  For the next two years he read law but abandoned this study in favor of the nursery business, with which he was identified until 1903, when he sold his interests.  In 1898, in addition to carrying on his nursery business, he engaged in the hardware line, including all branches of this business, plumbing supplies, sheet iron and farming implements � and now owns the largest store of its kind in Ontario county.  The business, which is steadily increasing annually, is almost entirely retail, and the trade is drawn form about 15 miles around.  In 1898 Colonel WILSON was senior major of the 3rd Regiment and they were called upon for active duty.  The served from May 1, to November 10 of that year, principally in Virginia, and he was advanced to the colonelcy May 9, 1907.  The 3rd  Regiment is attached to the 4th Brigade of Buffalo, General Lauren W. PETTIBONE, commanding.  Governor HUGHES appointed Colonel WILSON brevet brigadier general and he is the first vice-president of the National Guard Association of the State of New York.   He is a member of the Kanadasaga and University clubs and of the Sons of the American Revolution.  His political affiliations are with the Independent Democratic party, and he is a member of the Presbyterian church.  Colonel WILSON married, November 10, 1878 to Mary E., born in Geneva June 2, 1857, daughter of George HIPPLE, and they have one child, James Whitney

James Whitney WILSON was born in Geneva April 10, 1881.  He was educated in the Geneva Classical and Union School then became a student at Hobart College, from which he was graduated in 1905.  He is now associated in business with his father, the firm name still continuing as William WILSON.  He serves as battalion adjutant in the 3rd Infantry, National Guard of the State of New York, a member of Gen. WHITE�S staff and is a member of the Kanadasaga Club, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.  He married April 12, 1909, Shirley SCHOLES.

 

WILSON

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 38-39  

Thomas B. WILSON, prominent in financial circles of the state of New York, in educational and agricultural matters as well as in the farming industry, is a man of many-sided abilities.  His mind is ever occupied with weighty problems for the advancement and improvement of the section of the country in which he lives, and in this manner he furthers the welfare of the entire nation.  Bold and enterprising, he has an undertaking far on the way toward completion, while slower intellects are deliberating over the means to be employed to the end.   

John C. WILSON, his father, was born on the family homestead at Hall, Ontario county, August 2, 1821, the property having been in the family since 1817. 

Thomas B. WILSON was born on this homestead, December 12, 1852, and it is his present home.  He was educated in the district schools and Canandaigua Academy, at both of these institutions displaying marked and unusual ability, especially in mathematics.  While still living with his parents, he commenced business for himself at an early age, and has been eminently successful in his many and varied enterprises.  The farm consists of 300 acres, 95 of which are devoted to the growing of fruit, and the entire place is managed with the strictest attention to system and scientific cultivation, making the best of every point.  Mr. WILSON also devotes a large part of his time to financial affairs and is a director of the Mc Kechney Bank of Canandaigua and the Savings Bank of Geneva.  His interest in public affairs has been of so beneficial a nature that he was honored with the appointment of town supervisor by his fellow townsmen, an office he filled for seven years, being twice elected chairman of the board.  He was appointed a member of the board of control of the New York State Experiment Station, and has held this office about nine years, now serving as chairman of the board.  In 1909 he was appointed as a trustee of Cornell University by Governor HUGHES, and is filling the position at the present time.  While his political support is given to the republican party, having been elected member of assembly in 1910, he is a man of wide and diversified reading, and keeps well abreast of the times.  It is but natural, therefore, that in some cases, he gives him support to an independent candidate, when he thinks that best interests of the community will be furthered by this means.  He is liberal and broad-minded in his opinions, and stands high in the respect and esteem of all with whom he comes in contact, irrespective of party opinion. 

Mr. WILSON married in 1876, Margaret Ann, born in Calhoun county, Michigan, a daughter of Charles R. SCOON.  She graduated from the high school at Battle Creek, Michigan.  Children: Charles Scoon, an graduate of Cornell University, who is now Professor of Pomology at Cornell University; John C., graduate of Cornell University, who is assistant engineer of the Cutler Hammer Works of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and Mary Anna, a graduate of Vassar College.

 

 

WINCH 

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 202

WINCH, Amasa T., Canadice, was born in Marlow, NH, May 9, 1820.  His father was John WINCH, a native of Alstead, NH, his grandfather, Luther, was born in Farmington, Mass., a descendant of one of the early families of Massachusetts colony.  His mother was Mary, daughter of Ephraim THOMSON, whose ancestor came over to the Plymouth colony in the second shipload of colonists.  John WINCH located in Marlow, and subsequently removed to Cornish, where he resided till the fall of 1829, when he came on with his family and settled on a farm of one hundred acres at Canadice Corners, which he had purchased two years previously.  He was elected town clerk in 1831 and supervisor in 1832, and was justice of the peace, and held other offices.  He died February 4, 1882.  Amasa T. was educated in the common schools of the town and the Lima Seminary.  He was teacher, surveyor, and farmer, and on his marriage in 1847 located on the farm now owned by his brother Lorenzo.  His wife is Elizabeth, daughter of Cornelius TERBUSH, descended from the early Dutch settlers on the Hudson.  Of their four children three died young, and one daughter, Lucy A., is the wife of Lucius M. DOOLITTLE, who resides with them and manages the farm, and also an apiary.  Mr. WINCH was town superintendent of schools three terms, supervisor seven years, 1870 to 1877; member of assembly two terms, 1877 and 1878, serving on Committees on Education, General Laws, Public Lands and others, and was justice of the peace one term.  He has also served in different offices in the Canadice Methodist church for many years.  Lorenzo WINCH, son of John, was born in Cornish, NH, in 1827, and was but two years old when brought with his parents to Canadice.  He was educated at the schools of the town and early worked at farming.  For some time he also worked at blacksmithing, and still keeps a shop for his own use.  In 1849 he married Abigail J. DOOLITTLE, and has had five children: Emma J., born in 1850; Mary E., born in 1852; Wilber A., born in 1857; John F., born in 1861; Fred L., born in 1864; died in 1890.  Emma J., has been a school teacher many years.  Wilber, the oldest son, also a teacher, now resides at home and is a farmer.  Mr. WINCH has been justice of the peace twelve years, and is the present supervisor (1892 and 1893).  He is a republican and a Methodist.  Mrs. WINCH's father, Thomas DOOLITTLE, was born in Bethlehem, Conn., in 1792, and came from Rutland, Vt., to Onondaga county, and thence to this town.

 

 

WISEWELL  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 200

WISEWELL, M. D., Francis H., Phelps, was born in Potter, Yates county, February 26, 1845.  His father was Henry, and his mother Martha (FIELD) WISEWELL.  His grandfather also was Henry WISEWELL.  About 1870 Francis H. entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, studying medicine, where he graduated about 1872.  He came to Phelps in 1877 and engaged in the drug business (selling also stationery, books and wall paper), where he has since remained.  He married, in 1875, Isabel ELLAS of Bath, Steuben county, a daughter of George S. and Amanda (LOOMIS) ELLAS; Amanda LOOMIS being a daughter of Judge Chester LOOMIS, who came to Ontario county from New England at an early day.  They have three children: Carl F., George Ellas and Francis H. WISEWELL Jr.

 

WITTER   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 361 - 362

WITTER, W. Murray, Gorham, a native of Seneca, was born December 23, 1843.  He is a son of Warren B., a direct descendant of Wm. WITTER, of England, who with his family came to America and settled at Lynn, Mass., 1640.  William WITTER, Sr., died on the voyage, but his wife Hannah lived to be very old.  William WITTER Sr., was a very old man and a noted Baptist minister.  Josiah WITTER was twice married, first to Elizabeth WHEELER, by whom he had two daughters and one son.  His second wife was Sarah CRANDALL, and they had one son and three daughters.  Josiah WHEELER died at Stonington, Conn., in 1690.  Ebenezer WITTER was born in Stonington, Conn., May 28, 1668.  His wife was Dorathy MORGAN, by whom he had four sons and five daughters.  He died at Preston, Conn., June 12, 1698, and married Elizabeth GOVE, by whom he had five sons and three daughters.  She died 1761, and he married second Mrs. Amy MEACH.  Ezra, son of Joseph, was born January 22, 1727, at Preston, Conn.  His wife was Annie MORGAN, and they had three sons and one daughter.  He died March 9, 1761, and his wife March 17, 1761.  William, son of Ezra, was born in Stonington, Conn., March 16, 1759.  His wife was Esther BREED, by whom he had one daughter and three sons.  He died March 10, 1845, and his wife August 26, 1819.  William, son of William, was born in Stonington, Conn., February 4, 1786, and married in 1810 Bulah CARTER.  They had four sons and two daughters.  He came to Aurelius, Cayuga county, and later, in 1820, came to Gorham.  He was a minister and physician, and died September 12, 1847.  His wife died December 16, 1821.  Warren B., son of Rev. Wm. WITTER, and father of subject, was born at Aurelius, Cayuga county, in 1818, and came to Gorham when young.  He was educated in Canandaigua Academy, and taught 43 terms of school.  June 19, 1841, he married Caroline SHOEMAKER, born October, 1814.  She died August 7, 1873.  He was one of the founders of the Ontario Patrons Fire Relief Association, and was its first president.  He was county superintendent of poor for nine years, and school superintendent many years.  He died in 1885.  W. Murray WITTER has always been a farmer and now owns 216 acres.  He breeds carriage horses and Merino sheep.  December 19, 1865, he married Alicia T. BRUNDAGE, a native of Gorham, NY, born June 28, 1848, a daughter of James BRUNDAGE of Rensselaer county.  His wife was Emeline, daughter of Isaac ARNOLD, who had two daughters.  He came to Gorham and purchased 75 acres of land where W. WITTER now resides.  He died in 1863.  Mr. WITTER and wife have had five children, four now living: Ormond D., Jean M., Emeline F., Irwin H., and Roy E. (deceased).  Mr. WITTER is a republican, and has been justice of the peace eight years.  He and his wife are members of the Grange at Reed's Corners.

 

 

WOLSTON

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893 pg 5

 

WOLSTON, George, a native of Norfolk, England, born in 1833, is one of nine children of Jeremiah and Ann ( KNAPP ) WOLSTON, natives of England.  In 1853 George came to East Bloomfield, and for 4 years worked at farming.  For the next 8 years he rented land.  He then purchased 100 acres which he improved at a cost of $2,000, and in 1886 he added 100 acres.  Mr. WOLSTON married in England,  Sabina, daughter of John and Mary NUDD, and they had 8 children:  Mary, Sabina, Elizabeth, Louise (deceased), John E., Alice S., George H., and Maud.  Mr. WOLSTON is a Democrat.  He and wife are members of the M. E. Church at East Bloomfield.

 

WOLVEN 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 203

WOLVEN, John, Phelps, was born in Seneca, November 21, 1841, one of two children the other being Harriet, widow of J. C. JACKSON, of Alexander and Eliza (TOWNSEND) WOLVEN.  Alexander, the father, was born near Saugerties, the mother being a native of Seneca.  The grandfather was Levi WOLVEN.  John married, November 22, 1865, Eloise SNYDER of Lyons, one of 8t children of Philip and Ann SNYDER.  They have one son, Elmer E., and an adopted daughter, Alice Harmon WOLVEN.  Since 1846 Mr. WOLVEN has lived on his fine farm of 320 acres which is used for general farming, fruit and mint.  He also has a flock of 140 sheep.

 

WOLVERTON 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, p 201

WOLVERTON, Jonas W., Canandaigua, was born in Frenchtown, NJ, October 15, 1819, a son of Joel, a farmer of that town.  When Jonas was but 8 years old his parents moved to Ontario county and bought a farm in East Bloomfield, and some three or four years later the farm on the west shore of Canandaigua Lake now occupied by George C. MATHER.  Here he died in 1849, leaving a widow and 8 children, but four of whom survive him: Job, a produce dealer of Canandaigua; Peter, a farmer of Canandaigua; Mary, wife of James S. HICKOX, of Canandaigua; and Jonas W.  Jonas was educated in the common schools, and assisted on the farm until 23 years of age, when he farmed by the month for about seven years.  In 1851 he was married to Patience, widow of Amasa B. SPENCER, and daughter of Harris ANDREWS, a prominent farmer of Canandaigua, and a native of Massachusetts.  Mr. and Mrs. WOLVERTON have had one child, Emily Amelia, wife of Ira P. CRIBB, died in 1875 aged 23 years.  Mr. WOLVERTON lives on a fine grain and fruit farm of 100 acres, and has besides 30 acres on the Middle Road.  He is a Democrat but has never taken an active interest in politics.  He is interested in church work, and himself and wife are members of the M. E. Church of Canandaigua.

 

WOOD  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 365

WOOD, Charles H., Farmington, was born in Farmington, July 2, 1846.  His early education began in the common schools.  He began his course of academic studies at Macedon Academy, 1862, and completed his course at Canandaigua Academy, 1867.  During the winter of 1863-4, Mr. WOOD attended Eastman's Commercial School at Rochester, NY, and won his diploma with high and marked distinction from the faculty of that institution.  Mr. WOOD was a careful and observing student and fitted himself for teaching.  He taught several years in our common schools, also one year in Department No. 4 of Canandaigua Academy.  As an instructor he had growing success, but owing to failing health and the advice of his physician, he gave up teaching and engaged in farm pursuits.  Mr. WOOD was the first and only practical temperance voter in his township, having voted the first Prohibition ticket in 1872.  December 23, 1875, he married Adelaide, oldest daughter of George and Sarah (BIRDSALL) HALLOCK, Milton, Ulster county, NY.  They have four children: Walter H., William C., George H., and Grace W.  Mr. WOOD's father, William, was born near Millbrook, Dutchess county, NY, November 12, 1812, and came with his people to this county in 1833.  April 22, 1845, he married Julia C. WILLSON of this town, who was born in Allamuchy, Warren county, NJ, May 29, 1823.  They had two children, Charles H. and Cora E.  The latter was born January 19, 1865, and died November 15, 1886.  Mr. WOOD's father died July 4, 1886, and his mother still lives at their homestead farm "Brookside," on to which they moved April 11, 1871.  Mrs. Adelaide H. WOOD's father, George HALLOCK, was born in Milton, Ulster county, NY, May 2, 1815.  December 4, 1845, he married Sarah C. BIRDSALL, who was born September 29, 1828.  They had eleven children; only five survive, viz : Adelaide, Caroline, who married Edgar M. CLARKE of Milton, NY; George W., who married Mary E. HAGGARD of Vermont; Martha H., who married Arthur E. BELL of Milton, NY; and Robert W., who married Isabel TABER of Milton, NY.  He is now the only descendant living in the township of the late Joseph WOOD, who had litigation with the N. Y. C. R. R. Company fourteen consecutive years and won the suit as to their right of way through his land.  He then refused to sell the land, but leased it to the company for 50 years; said lease expired in 1886.  The validity and force of said lease is now pending in the courts.

 

WOOD   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 374

WOOD, John M., Seneca, was born on the old homestead, which was settled by his ancestors, May 9, 1818, and it has never had a dollar of mortgage on it up to date.  He was educated in the public schools and Geneva select school, presided over by Rev. Dr. BROWER.  He has always been a farmer until he retired in 1883.  Mr. WOOD has been married three times; first January 8, 1840, Eliza RUPERT; they had six children: John H., Philip R., George A., Denton D., one who died in infancy, and Sarah A.  Mrs. WOOD died September 19, 1854; he married second March 12, 1855, Rebecca RUPERT, by whom he had one son, James W.  She died December 27, 1868.  For his third wife he married Mrs. Cordelia (REMINGTON) NELSON, of the town of Gorham.  Philip R. married Celesta SMITH, of Geneva; they have two daughters, Charlotte and Flora.  George A. is a physician in California, and married Sarah RICE, of Rochester.  They have two sons, John and George.  Denton D. married Susan C. ROBINSON, of Onondaga county; they have two children, May E. and John R.  He has sole charge of the farm.  Sarah A. married James W. NELSON, of the town of Gorham.  James W. married May McDONALD, of South Bend, Ind., and they have one daughter, Edith.  He too is a physician of Long Beach, Cal.  Mr. WOOD's father, John, was born at Brown Haugh, Newcastle on the River Tyne, England, in 1762, and came to the United States in 1801.  He walked much of the way from Albany to Geneva.  There were then few houses in Geneva.  In 1813 he married Sarah McCLEARY, formerly of Pennsylvania, and they had five children: Eliza died at the age of two years; three died in infancy, and John M.  John W. WOOD was a ruling member in the Presbyterian church of Geneva 20 years, superintendent of the Sunday school about 10 years in his school district.  His father died October 11, 1832, and his mother January 8, 1871.  The ancestry of the family is English and Scotch.

 

 

WOOD

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. I, pg. 56 

William WOOD, was a brother of Mrs. Nathaniel GORHAM., Jr., and was born in Charlestown, Mass., in 1777.  Was for many years a resident of Canandaigua and it was through his efforts that the foundation was laid for the unique and valuable collection of portraits now hung on the walls of the County Court room.  He devoted his life to philanthropic work, being particularly distinguished for the part he took in securing the establishment of the Mercantile Library in New York and of similar libraries in London, Liverpool, and other cities.  The Wood Library in Canandaigua was named in his honor.  He died in Canandaigua in 1857.

 

WOODIN  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 209 - 210 

WOODIN, Benjamin P., Geneva, was born in the old homestead, March 12, 1840; was educated in the public schools, and has always followed farming.  September 27, 1871, he married Mary E. REED of Geneva, and they had four daughters and a son, the latter dying in extreme infancy.  The others were: Julia G., Naomi R., Lizzie R. and Elsa M.  Mr. WOODIN's father, Benjamin, was born in Newburg, Orange county, in 1787, and came to the White Spring farm with his parents when an infant.  He married Julia A. CONDIT of Junius, Seneca county, and they had 12 children, 10 of whom grew to maturity: Moses C., Matilda, Elsa, Mary, Electa C., Julia A., Justin G., Harriet M., Byron G. and Benjamin P.  Mr. WOODIN's grandfather, James, was a soldier in the Revolutionary, and also in the French and Indian war.  The musket, cartridge-box and belts that he carried are in the possession of Mr. WOODIN.

 

WOODRUFF  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 255

WOODRUFF, Oliver M., Naples, was born in Starkey, Yates county, February 20, 1848, a son of Rev. William G. WOODRUFF, a Wesleyan Methodist clergyman.  His parents removed to Watkins, Schuyler county, when Oliver was a child, and he attended the Commercial School there, and at Hammondsport, moving from the latter town when seventeen years of age, to Alpine, Schuyler county.  He attended school two years.  From there to Moreland, where he remained two years, and in the fall of 1870 engaged in a mill, remaining till 1881, when, health failing, he worked on a farm at Blood's two years.  Then two years a Veteran, Steuben county, when he returned to Naples to the same mill, remaining three years.  He then came to the Ontario mill in the spring of 1888, where he is still located, having purchased the property.  Mr. WOODRUFF married in July, 1873, Helen M. SIMONS of Naples, and they have two children living: Lena H., and Robert J.  

 

WOODS   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 358

WOODS, James, Seneca, was born in Seneca, Ontario county, May 25, 1825.  He was educated in the district school, has always followed farming.  June 14, 1864, he married Mrs. Margaret (DODGE) THATCHER.  Mr. WOODS's father, James, was born in New Jersey in 1793 and came to Pennsylvania with his parents when he was 6 years old, and came to this old homestead at Flint Creek in 1823.  He too was a farmer.  In 1821 he married Elizabeth McKNIGHT formerly of Pennsylvania, and they had six children: Margaret, James, John, Elizabeth, Robert and Harriet N.  Mr. WOODS died September 1, 1880, and his wife May 24, 1873.  He was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mrs. WOODS's father, Joseph THATCHER, was born in Conway, Mass., March 16, 1793, and came here when he was 16 years old.  He married Anna LE FEVRE, and had ten children: Rebecca, Julia A., Ebenezer, Margaret, Sarah, Susan, Emeline, Jesse, Elizabeth J., and a baby not named.  Mrs. WOODS married for her first husband John DODGE, who died December 1, 1862.  Joseph THATCHER was also a soldier in the War of 1812.  Mr. and Mrs. WOODS attend and support the Methodist church at Flint Creek.  His father was a class leader in the old church a great many years.

 

WOOLSTON 

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 214

WOOLSTON, Franklin, Victor, was born on the old homestead near Fishers, April 24, 1836.  He was educated in the district schools and Fairfield Academy, and is a farmer.  March 31, 1883, he married Rhoda, daughter of John and Maria INGRAHAM, formerly of Penfield, Monroe county, and they have had five children: John W., and Franklin I. died in infancy, three survive: Miranda, George A., and Elmira W.  Mr. WOOLSTON's father, William, was born near the village of Victor, June 13, 1807, and married Laura ANDRUS, who was born near Roxbury, Delaware county, May 23, 1812.  Her father joined farms with Jay GOULD's father.  They had 8 children: Franklin, John A., Laura A., Miranda C., William J., Daniel D., Hannah H., and David W.  Mrs. WOOLSTON's father, John INGRAHAM, was born in Perth, Canada, July 12, 1832, and married Maria JOHNSON, of Farmersville, Canada.  They had 13 children: Richard J., Rhoda, William A., Eudora, Isabelle, Charles M., Mary L., Lydia M., Harriet J., Leon E., George N., Arthur H., and Emma M.

 

WOOLSTON  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 240

WOOLSTON, John A., Victor, was born in Victor, January 6, 1838, was educated in the public schools, Fairfield Academy and Lima Seminary.  He has taught school several winters, and is a farmer.  April 6, 1864, he married Nancy C., daughter of Benjamin F. and Sally (STAFFORD) LUSK, of Victor.  They have one son, William F., born December 31, 1864.  He was educated in the public schools and Canandaigua Academy, and is a graduate from the American Veterinary College of New York city, he also studied in Toronto Veterinary College.  He is a practical man in his profession, with the title of D. V. S.  He resides with his parents, where his office is located.  The early history is as follows: One John WOOLSTON came from England with Lord BERKLEY, and located in New Jersey.  He also had a son, John, who married and had six sons: John, Joshua, Michael, Cromwell, William and Joseph.  The grandson of John was Cromwell.  Joseph, the youngest brother, had two sons, Michael and Joshua.  The latter was their great-grandfather, and married Tamer EVANS, and had four sons and one daughter: Joseph, Michael, William, Barzillai and Jane.  Joseph was the grandfather of John A. WOOLSTON and Mrs. George W. HILL and Mrs. Wm. HILL.  He married Elizabeth BELL, and in the year of 1806 came to Victor with his wife and two children, and were three weeks on their way.

 

WRIGHT  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 373

WRIGHT, Frank N., Seneca, was born in the town of Seneca, where he received a good education in the public schools, and became a farmer.  He married Emma, daughter of the late James and Eliza A. GATES, of Seneca, a member of one of the oldest families in town; they have one son, Charles G.  Mr. WRIGHT has resided on the old CRITTENDEN homestead eighteen years.  His father, William, was born in Yorkshire, England, October 20, 1813.  He had a limited education, but was a thorough-going farmer, and came to the United States in 1834.  In April, 1837, he married Elizabeth SHIPLEY, formerly of his native county, and they had 8 children, four of whom survive: Mary E., who married Frank RICHARDSON, of Geneva, and has two children, Allen and Ida; Frank N. as noted above; Anna, who married Edward J. COOK, and has three children, Nellie, George F. and William; and Joseph, who married Clara A. SCOTT, of Phelps, and has two children, William and Carrie B.  Mrs. William WRIGHT died in May, 1887.  Mr. WRIGHT is a thoroughly Americanized Englishman, which is as it should be.  James GATES, father of Mrs. Frank N. WRIGHT, was born at the old home in the town of Seneca, June 11, 1816, and was twice married, first to Eliza CRITTENDEN, by whom he had four children, James H., Emma E., Charles C., and a daughter who died in infancy.  Mrs. GATES died in October, 1851, and he married second Christina SNOOKS, and had two children, Ida and Laura A.  Mr. GATES died February 9, 1889.

 

 

WYCKOFF

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub 1911, Vol. 2, pg. 35-37

Pieter Claesz WYCKOFF, the immigrant ancestor of the WYCKOFF family, came from the Netherlands in 1636 and finally settled in Flatlands.  He married Grietje, daughter of Henrick VAN NESS.  He cultivated the bouwery of Director Petrus STUYVESANT in the Flatlands in 1655, having previously in 1653, bought of Wolfert Gerritse VAN COUWENHOVEN twenty-nine morgens in that town and in 1656 another tract of Wolfert.   He was a magistrate of Flatlands in 1655-62-63, on the patents of 1667 and 1686, and a member of the Flatlands Dutch Church in 1677.  Children: 1. Annetje Pieterse, baptized November 27, 1650 and married Roelif Martense SCHENCK;  2.  Mayken or Maria Pieterse, baptized October 17, 1653, who married Willem WILLEMSE of Gravesend, who immigrated in 1657; their son Peter had a son Johannes WILLIAMSON who took the name of WYCKOFF at the instance of his great uncle, Henrik WYCKOFF, and his son John WYCKOFF, had a son, Abram, of Gravesend, thought to be the father of Abram WYCKOFF, mentioned below;  3.  Geertje Pieterse, married Cristofefel Janse Romeyn;  4. Margrietje Peterse, married Matthias Adamse BROUWER;  5. Clase or Nicholas Pieterse, of Flatlands;  6. Cornelis Pieterse, of New Lotts;  7.  Henrick Pieterse, of Flatlands;  8.  Garret Pierterse of Flatlands;  9.  Jan Pieterse of Flatlands; 10. Willemtje Pieterse.   

Abram WYCKOFF, descended of Pieter Clausz WYCKOFF, the progenitor of all the early colonial WYCKOFFS, was one of the early settlers in Seneca county. 

Cornelius, son of Abram WYCKOFF, was born September 11, 1823 and died in 1894.  He resided in the town of Ovid, Seneca county and was a farmer all his active life.  He married, November 17, 1847, Mary Ann SWARTOUT, who was born in Ovid, Seneca county, December 17, 1826, daughter of Ralph and Catharine (HURD) (VOORHEES) SWARTHOUT.   Children: John, born at Lodi, New York, August 27, 1848; Ella born at Ovid, August 18, 1856; Edson, born at Ovid, December 21, 1858; Abram Ralph, mentioned below; and Bertie, September 29, 1865. 

Abram Ralph, son of Cornelius WYCKOFF, was born at Ovid, Seneca county, October 13, 1862.  He attended the public schools of his native town and the academy and the high schools of Lodi and Ovid.  He began to teach school and for several years followed that profession in the vicinity of his home.  He began to study law in 1881, and was admitted to the bar in 1884.  Since 1888 he has been practicing his profession.  He was elected justice of the peace and served a number of years as magistrate and member of the town board of Geneva.  He was village attorney for four years prior to 1898, when Geneva became a city.  He was one of the three lawyers who drafted the charter for the city.  He was elected the first city judge for a term of six years and was re-elected to a second term.  While holding the office of judge he was appointed postmaster of Geneva by President Roosevelt, and has been reappointed by President TAFT.  He is a prominent and influential republican.  He is a member of Ark Lodge, No. 33, of Free Masons; of Geneva Chapter, No. 36, Royal Arch Masons; of Council, Royal and Select Masters; of Geneva Commandery No. 29, Knights Templar; of the Mystic Shrine; of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, No. 1054; of the Iroquois Club; the Masonic Club; and of Trinity Protestant Episcopal Church. 

Mr. WYCKOFF married September 16, 1896, Ethel Agnes CATCHPOLE, born in England in the city of London.  Children: Ralph Walter Grastone, born August 13, 1897; Mary Elizabeth born December 17, 1901.

 

YERKES

1892 Portrait & Biographical Album of Genesee, Lapeer & Tuscola Counties, Chapman Bros. in Michigan.  by: Colleen

Charles H. YERKES -  This thrifty farmer of Gaines Township, Genesee County, was born in Farmington, Ontario County, N.Y., May 1, 1838. their he grew too manhood and lived until the spring of 1864, following farming which has been his life work. During that season he came too Genesee County, Mich., and has ever since been a resident of this township.
The marriage of Mr. YERKES with Miss Addie BROWN took place in Vernon, Shiawassee County, this State, although the lady is a native of New York. One hundred and thirty acres formed the fine farm upon which they young couple settled on section 33, Gaines Township. Mr. YERKES has never been an office seeker although he is an earnest member of the republican party. During the war he was drafted into the army, but as it did not seem expedient for him to go, he furnished a substitute.

Joseph YERKES, the father of our subject, came too Genesee County, the same season as did his son and took up his residence in Gaines Township, which remained his home until August, 1884, when he was called too a higher life. His good wife, whose maiden name was Roslinda BROWN, died in Ontario County, N.Y.   His father was Samuel YERKES, and like this son was a native of Pennsylvania. He died in Farmington, Ontario County, N.Y. The family is of German stock and the first representatives their of in America made their home in Philadelphia. The members of this family are leading representatives in all social circles of the township and their beautiful home is a favorite resort for their neighbors and friends. Mr. YERKES' reputation as a man of character and integrity gives him the confidence of the business community.

 

 

YOUNG

 History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 214

YOUNG, Samuel D., Farmington, was born east of the homestead upon which he now resides November 8, 1848.  He was educated in the district schools and followed farming.  October 18, 1870, he married Harriet L., daughter of Nathan L. and Lydia S. ALDRICH.  Both paternal and maternal sides of those families were the oldest and earliest settlers of the town.  They have two children: Electa L., and John N.  Mr. YOUNG's father, John, was born in Phelps, August 18, 1808.  He was educated in the district schools and was a farmer.  February 5, 1827, he married Electa WILCOX, and had 7 children: Nancy, born in 1829; Sarah in 1832, who died at the age of 14 years; Mary A., born in 1834; Elizabeth, born in 1836; William, in 1841; Irena, born 1845; and Samuel D.  Their mother, (Electa),  was born in the town of Phelps, September 4, 1809, and died October 12, 1870.  John moved his family to Farmington in 1835, with a capital of less than $500, but by strict attention he acquired considerable property, owning at one time 1,100 acres in this county.  He died August 31, 1892.  Mr. YOUNG's grandfather, William, was born in 1782 in Massachusetts, and came west when a young man.  In 1807 he married Mrs. Nancy (DICKINSON) PULLING, and they had four children: John, William, Oliver, and Ambrose P.  The ancestry of the YOUNG family is Dutch.  William married Althina FROST in 1864, and had three children: Mary E., Hattie and Carrie.  He died January 31, 1870.

 

YOUNG   

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 258

YOUNG, James C., Gorham, was born in Orleans county, February 18, 1850, a son of William YOUNG, whose father was a native of Edinburgh, Scotland, where he lived and died.  William YOUNG was born in Edinburgh in 1813, and was a man of more than ordinary intelligence and education.  When young he came to Orleans county, NY, where he lived for a number of years.  He married Elizabeth ROSS, of Edingburgh, and they had three sons and three daughters.  In 1858 Mr. YOUNG and family came to Seneca, where he was justice of the peace three years, and died in 1888.  James C. was reared as miller and worked with his father until 1874, when he came on the farm where he now lives.  June 24, 1874, he married Nettie FIERO, daughter of Peter P. FIERO, who was born in Ulster county in 1809.  The wife of Peter P. was Rachael VAN RIPER, by whom he had two daughters, Emeline, who died aged 5 years; and wife of subject.  Peter P. FIERO died in 1878, and his wife in 1887.  He was a son of John C. and Mariah (POST) FIERO, who settled the farm where Mr. YOUNG now resides.  Here for a number of years he kept a tavern.  He was in the War of 1812.  James C. YOUNG and wife have two children: Mabel A., and Oscar D.; these children being the fourth generation now living on this farm.  Mr. YOUNG is a republican, and he and his wife are members of Seneca Grange No. 284, also of Seneca Presbyterian church.  

 

YOUNG  

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 362 - 363

YOUNG, W. Ambrose, Farmington, was born at Oaks Corners in the town of Phelps, April 25, 1836, and has always been a farmer.  September 2, 1864, he enlisted in Co. A, 111th N. Y. S. Vols., and was honorably discharged at the close of the war.  Was before Petersburg and followed Lee's Army until its surrender.  October 2, 1868, he married Almira M., daughter of Theodore and Matilda (WINNIE) POMEROY of this town.  They have one daughter, Nettie, who married Thomas BARNSDALE, of Walworth, Wayne county, and has two daughters, Iva and Ora.  Mrs. YOUNG's father, Theodore POMEROY, was born in Springfield, Mass., and married Matilda WINNIE, of Albany county.  They had nine children: David, Julia, Eliza, Lucena, Alvira, Mark, Mary J., Mary J. 2d, and Daniel.  Mrs. YOUNG's father was an excellent school teacher.

  

YOUNG    

History of Ontario Co, NY, Conover & Aldrich, pub 1893, pg 363

YOUNG, James A., Farmington, was born at Oaks Corners in the town of Phelps, November 9, 1843.  He was educated in the public schools, and is a farmer.  He enlisted twice, first in July, 1862, in Co. H, 126th N. Y. S. Vols., served until 1863, when he re-enlisted as a Veteran in Co. H, 111th N. Y. S. Vols., was taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry and paroled; was in the campaign under Generals HOOKER and MEADE, was under fire three days in the battle of Gettysburg, and wounded in left arm; was in Newark Hospital until November.  He was wounded second time in the right thigh in the battle of the Wilderness on May 5, and was honorably discharged in October, 1865.  November 25, 1868, he married Lucina A. McLOUTH, and had one son, George W.   Mr. YOUNG's father was born at Oaks Corners, August 10, 1810, and married Lucinda VAN DEREN.  They had eight children: William A., Sarah E., Mary A., James A., Edward P., John M., Samuel L., and Anna I.  Mrs. YOUNG's father, Allison McLOUTH, was born May 24, 1816, in this town, and married Julia POMEROY.  They had four children: Charles G., Lucina A., Matilda, and Emma L.  Mr. YOUNG is a member of Herendeen Post No. 107 G. A. R., Department New York of Shortsville, NY.

 

YOUNG

History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 214-215 

In 1859, Samuel YOUNG, who was born in Yorkshire, England in 1829, emigrated to the United States, accompanied by his family, and settled in Geneva, New York. He was a carpenter by trade, an able mechanic, and possessing the requisite amount of energy and business ability, his services as a building contractor were in constant demand. He was a thoroughly reliable business man, winning and maintaining the confidence of all with whom he has dealing, and he was identified with building operations in Geneva until his death, which occurred February 11, 1899. In politics he was a Democrat. He attended Trinity Church. He was married in England in 1853 to Jane ARNOTT, born in Yorkshire, January 6, 1834, died in Geneva, November 16, 1908. Children: 1. George, see forward; 2. William, born in England, died at the age of twenty years; 3. Elizabeth, born in England, April 1, 1859, married Thomas BEARD, of Geneva, September 19, 1888, died in Corning, New York, January 20, 1909. Her only child, Lucile L., born July 17, 1889, is now a student at the Syracuse University; 4. Mary, born in Geneva, December 26, 1860, died November 21, 1907; 5. Anna, born in Geneva, resides in Corning, New York; 6. Cornelia, born in Geneva, is now an efficient school teacher.

George, eldest son of Samuel and Jane (ARNOTT) YOUNG, was born in Yorkshire, England, July 10, 1854. Coming to America when a lad of five years, he attended school in Geneva, and having graduated from the high school at the age of nineteen he proceeded to familiarize himself with the carpenter's trade and the contracting business. He was associated with his father until the latter's decease, and his death occurred ten days later, February 21, 1899. Politically he was a Democrat. His religious affiliations were with Trinity church. Mr. YOUNG married, November 28, 1889, Emma M. BEARD. Children: 1. Ruth Arnott, born August 20, 1890, was awarded the Sweet Memorial Prize at the Geneva high school, and is now attending Smith College for girls in that city; 2. Helen Elizabeth, born September 4, 1891, is also a graduate of the high school and a student at Smith College for girls, Geneva.

Mrs. Emma M. (BEARD) YOUNG was born in Detroit, Michigan, July 12, 1855. Her father, Thomas BEARD, who was born in Kingston, England, October 12, 1831, learned the baker's trade with his father in the old country and emigrating to the United States he followed that calling for a few years in Mount Clemens, Michigan. He later returned to England, where he spent three years and then returned to the United States and settled in Geneva, New York, and engaged in the trucking business with his son, John. He served three years in the Civil war under Captain GATES. He died July 29, 1898. He was a member of the Baptist church and a republican. He married in Detroit, Michigan, November 24, 1852, Dinah W. COLE, born November 24, 1830, daughter of William COLE. She was born in England and came to America with her parents when three years of age. The BEARD children: 1. Sarah E., wife of William PECK, resides in San Francisco, California; 2. Infant son ; 3. Emma M., widow of George, referred to above; 4. John, coal dealer, Geneva, New York; 5. Thomas, yard master at Corning, New York; 6. Infant son; 7. Charles, trucker, Geneva, New York; 8. Robert, with the American Express Company, Buffalo, New York; 9. Infant son; 10. Benjamin F. with the National Express Company, Buffalo, New York; 11. George, deceased. In 1856, when she was twelve months old, Mrs. Young accompanied her parents to England, remaining three years and returning in 1859.

 

YOUNG

 History of Ontario Co, NY & Its People, Pub. 1911, Vol. II, pg 212-213

Dr. Gardner B. YOUNG, a prominent physician and surgeon of Geneva, Ontario county, New York, who has made a special and successful study of anesthetics and methods if anaesthetizing, is descended from old colonial stock, and a number of his ancestors served in the Revolutionary war.

William YOUNG, the first of the family in this line of whom we have record, was of Providence, Rhode Island and served in the continental army during the Revolution. He had eleven sons.

Stephen, son of William YOUNG, married Betsey, daughter of Captain Edward GREENE, of the Rhode Island Militia. Captain GREENE settled on the Unadilla river immediately after the revolution and there erected a church on his own farm, bearing the entire costs of construction. The edifice is still standing in a good state of preservations and is a lasting monument to the excellent qualities of its builder, Captain GREENE.

Arthur, son of Stephen and Betsey (GREENE) YOUNG, married Laurinda STULL, who was born April 23, 1818, and died August 20, 1906. They had seven children. Mrs. YOUNG's ancestors came from Holland in early colonial days. Her father was Joseph STULL and her grandfather was Captain Jacob STULL, settled in Elmira in 1782, served as a Captain during the Revolutionary War and was an active participant in many of the most important engagements, among them being: Three Rivers, Van Nest Mills, Long Island, Trenton, Princeton, Germantown, Springfield and Monmouth. For a part of this time he served directly under Washington's command; he was promoted for bravery.

Dr. Gardner B. YOUNG, son of Arthur and Laurinda (STULL) YOUNG, was born in Farmers Valley, Mc Kean county, Pennsylvania, December 21, 1859. His first step in his business career was as a clerk in a store at Larabee, Pennsylvania, where in the course of four years he rose to the position of manager through his energy and executive ability. He then bought out the business, which he continued for the period of one year on his own account and then closed out. During this time he had handled trade to the amount of one hundred thousand dollars, the greater part being in connection with lumber camps, and had also supervised the cultivation of a large farm. For some time he had decided to make the study and practice of medicine his lifework, and he accordingly commenced his medical studies in the Bellevue Hospital Medical College in New York City, and was graduated from this institution in the spring of 1886. He immediately established himself in the practice of his profession in Eldred, Mc Kean county, Pennsylvania, and removed in 1897 to Geneva, where he has been practicing since that time and has a large and lucrative practice. As has been above stated he has made a specialty of the study of anesthetics, and is recognized as one of the best anesthetists in the country. As a physician and surgeon also his reputation is of the first rank. Dr. YOUNG is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Kanadasaga Club and University Club. In his political opinions he sides with the Republican party, and he and his family are members of the Episcopalian church.

Dr. YOUNG married in Eldred, Pennsylvania, June 12, 1887, Ada B., born in Coldwater, Michigan, March 5, 1865, daughter of Ingham B. and Sarah M. (DILLENBACH) ROBERTS. She is a Daughter of the American Revolution. She is the great-great-granddaughter of John DILLENBACH, who served throughout the war of the Revolution in the Tryon county Militia, and he was the grandson of Martin DILLENBACH, who came to America in 1710, almost immediately after his arrival in this country, joined an expedition to Canada to fight against the Indians and finally settled in Canajoharie, 1725. Mrs. YOUNG was the great-great-great-granddaughter of George SPRAKER, who with his four sons, served in the Revolutionary War. There is a village on the Mohawk river which was settled by the SPRAKER's and still bears the name.

Dr. and Mrs. YOUNG have had children: Pauline M., born June 27, 1890; Paula L., twin of Pauline M., studying in the Boston Conservatory.

 

YOUNGS

History of Ontario Co., NY, Pub. 1878, pg. 150 

H. E. YOUNGS was born in Albany county, New York, November 22, 1809.  In the winter of 1820 he moved with his father's family to Junius, Seneca county, New York.  In about the year 1826 his father purchased a grist and saw mill near Lyons and moved thither in 1831.  Mr. YOUNGS entered the employ of a miller at Macedon, named Suderland PATTERSON, with whom he remained eight months, working for fifteen dollars per month.  He then went to Alloway, Wayne county.  Stayed in Alloway six years, and subsequently operated mills for his father; also for General W. H.  Adams & Co. in Rose, Wayne county, and for J. PINKEY, of Unionville, in this county.  He purchased a farm of 96 acres in Wayne county, and in 1854 disposed of his land there, and purchase the mill property at Seneca Castle, Ontario County, to which place he removed in 1855. 

November 1, 1835, he married Margaret LISK, of Junius, Seneca county, who was born in Greene county, New York, November 28, 1815.  eleven children were the result of that union, nine of whom are still living, six boys and three girls.  Three of his sons reside in Detroit, and three in Seneca Castle.  On daughter resides in Rose, and two are living with their father.  His estimable companion died in 1875, deeply mourned by a large circle of relatives and friends. 

Mr. YOUNGS has passed an active business life, and is justly entitled to the respect and esteem in which he is held by his fellow citizens.    (Picture of H. E. and Margaret YOUNGS on pg 148b)

 

 

Html by Dianne Thomas  

These electronic pages may be printed as a link or for personal use, but is NOT to be reproduced

 in any format for profit or presentation by ANY other organization or persons.

Copyright 2002 - 2014

       [NY History and Genealogy]