OF OSWEGO COUNTY, NY
Many thanks and appreciation to Jane
Ellis for her time and efforts in transcribing this Sketches Section
of surnames from the 1895 Landmarks of Oswego County, NY. The surnames
Jane is researching from Oswego County are:
Ellis, Hinds/Hindes/Hines, Crane,
Holden, Beeles/Beales, Hopper, Holden, Smith.
Jane Ellis at: <email@example.com>
list is not in Alpha order so either scroll down or use search engine to
check for names.
Sherman, Samuel S., was born
in 1824 on the farm where he has always resided and is a son of Wright
and Lydia (Luther) Sherman, who moved from Rhode Island to Herkimer county,
married there and moved to New Haven in 1816, locating on the farm where
they died. Wright Sherman was in the war of 1812. Samuel S.
is one of three surviving of nine children, was married in 1854 to Matilda
Grinnolds, by whom he had these children: Ettie, wife of Henry Reed;
Anna, wife of John Flowers, both of Scriba; and George, who with his wife
Delia (Tucker) Sherman, and one child Eva, resides with his parents.
Whaley, Nicholas, was
born in Camden, Oneida county, in 1827, and in 1829 came to Amboy with
his father, George Whaley, who died in Amboy leaving a large family.
Mr. W. settled on the farm he now occupies in 1860, where he has been a
farmer and lumberman, clearing a large part of his farm himself.
His wife was Lydia M., daughter of Benjamin Alby, and they have four children,
Edward H., Charles L., Walter M. and Nettie E.
Whitney, Edwin, was
born in Mexico August 12, 1830, and has always followed farming except
two years when telegraphing. He married Anna Winkworth, February
25, 1869, and they have two children, Jessie E. and Irving E. Mr.
Whitney’s father was Orrin Whitney of Mexico, and his mother Emaline Ames,
a sister of Leonard Ames. Mrs. Whitney’s father was David Winkworth,
and her mother Agnes Moore.
Kinney, William P.,
was born in Amboy, son of Jebes M., who settled in Amboy in 1827 and died
in 1822 leaving four sons and five daughters. Mr. Kinney was in the
late war, in Co. D, 24th N.Y. Vols., and since his return to Amboy in 1863
he has been a farmer. He was assessor three years, and inspector
of elections two years. He married Olive, daughter of Clark Stewart,
and their children were Silas W. and Warren H.
Miller, Merritt, was
born in Granby, Oswego county, in 1842, and is a son of Henry Miller, a
native of Ludlow, Hamlin county, Mass., who settled in Onondaga county
when he was a boy, coming with his parents. His wife was Louisa Lampman,
and his father Ithimer Miller. Subject married Lucinda, daughter
of Asa Chapman, who was born in Hoosick, Rensselaer county. The father
of subject, Henry Miller, died in this town in 1880, aged sixty-one years.
Mrs. Louisa Miller is still living at the age of seventy-four years.
Subject and wife have two children, Frank A., married Mary Marvin, the
second, a daughter, is still at home. Subject owns seventy-five acres
Cooper, Chester, of
Bowen’s Corners, is a farmer and owns a fine place of 123 acres.
He was born in Onondaga county in 1838, and came here and settled in 1868.
In 1861 he enlisted on Co. B, 1st N.Y. Light Artillery, known as Capt.
Pettit’s Battery, and served two years and six months; he then re-enlisted
for three years and served till the close of the war. In 1866 he
married Luvilla, daughter of Aaron Stranahan, of Granby. They have
seven children: Dollie (Mrs. Summerville), Gipson, Grace, Glen, Farron,
Hazel, and Florence. Chester is a son of William Cooper, who settled
at Cooperstown at an early date, and removed thence to Onondaga County.
Cole, Jay B., a son
of Joseph Cole, who was a farmer of Sandy Creek, came to Williamstown and
settled in 1871. He has been a teacher for twenty-four terms in the
village school, and was also school commissioner six years. For the
past five years he has been in the insurance business.
Rowlee, S. E., was born
in the town of Volney in 1836, and settled in Hannibal in 1874. He
is a son of John C. Rowlee of Groton, who was one of the early settlers
in Volney, and he a son of Heman Rowlee a deacon of the Presbyterian Church
of Fulton. John C. married Caroline, a daughter of Shubael Hewes,
a son of George R. T. Hewes, who helped to throw the tea overboard in the
Boston harbour. He was a soldier in the Revolution. Subject
married Emily M. Distin of Volney, daughter of Eli Distin, who died in
1850 aged forty-one, a son of Joseph Distin of Connecticut. Mr. and
Mrs. Rowlee have four children: John E., who married Francelia Miller
of Ira, and has two children Emma and Maud; Jennie married B. H. Greenfield
of Ira; Mrs. Carrie Hannum, who has one child, Lottie; and Anna, who is
attending Fulton School. Subject was drafted in the war of the Rebellion.
Mrs. Rowlee had a brother, Joseph W. Diston, who was killed at Gettysburgh
and buried in the National Cemetery there. Mr. and Mrs. John C. Rowlee
had two children, Shubael E. and Virgil J. The latter has two sons,
Ernest and Earl. Subject owns a farm of 165 acres.
Rhoades, Parsons, is
a member of a prominent family of Hannibal, whose ancestors were influential
people of England, the motto of their family being “Places may change,
but principles never.” This was the legend on their coat-of-arms.
One of the early members of the family was banished and imprisoned in a
castle in Wales. There he retained his coat-of-arms, but changed
the motto to “Death before dishonor.” Samuel Rhoades came from Marblehead
to Chesterfield when about thirty years of age, and died in 1823, aged
eighty-five years. In 1806 he came to Skaneateles, Onondaga county.
His son, Samuel Rhoades, jr., a native of Chesterfield, Mass., came to
Skaneateles with his father, where he died in 1850, aged seventy-four.
He married Electa Cleveland, and had four children: Parsons, Lewis
H., Sumner and Cornelia E. Parsons married Armelle P. Fay, and they
have two sons, Julius P., who married Amanda H. Fletcher, and has one child,
Fanny F. The younger son, Masillon F., married Hattie Lodge, and
has one son, Walter P. They are relatives of Grover Cleveland.
Hydorn, George L., was
born in Troy, March 27, 1829. His grandfather, Peter, was born in
Germany where he died, and his father, Peter, was born in Rensselaer county,
N.Y., and died in St. Lawrence county, aged sixty-six. The latter
married Elizabeth Morrison, who died in Sandy Creek, aged seventy-eight.
Their children were Julia A., Peter, Philip, William, Mariah, Elizabeth;
Melinda, John H., Gitta and George L. The father of our subject was
in the War of 1812, and was a hotel keeper and farmer. George L.
was educated at Troy and St. Lawrence county, and followed farming until
the age of forty, when he opened a store in Lacona and has continued in
the mercantile business ever since, having now a general store in Lacona
and doing an extensive business. April 10, 1849, he married Margaret
Bristow of Morristown, a daughter of Thomas and Annie (McDougall) Bristow,
and their children are Peter, Thomas (deceased), Mary, Martha, Daniel B.,
George W. and Nora. Peter married Ada Corse and is in business with
his father; Mary married Frank H. Mellin and resides in Minneapolis, Minn.;
Martha married A.B. Clayson of Buffalo; Daniel B. married Ada La Due and
lives in Michigan; George W. married Ellen Rowsear and resides in Alpena;
Nora married A. Miller and lives in Albany county.
Hitt, George, was born
in Westchester county April 29, 1830, son of Hiram and Clarissa Hitt, natives
of Somers, Westchester county, a farmer and proprietor of a stage line
and mail route between Somers, Sing Sing and New York. He was of
Holland ancestry, and had a family of ten children. When fourteen
years old George Hitt went to New York, where, for two years, he was with
Kipp & Brown, omnibus proprietors, and from September, 1846, to November,
1850, with Van Amburg; in the spring of 1851 he came to Hastings
and engaged in farming and lumbering. In 1862 he enlisted in Co.
E, 110th N.Y. Vols., and served three years; during a charge at Port Hudson
he was wounded, and had typhus fever in New Orleans, from the effects of
which he never fully recovered. After the war he resumed farming.
In 1873 he married Almira Babcock, who died in 1884. In 1887 he married,
second, Flora M. Slawson of Hastings, by whom he had one child, Mildred
A., born in 1889. Mr. Hitt is a Mason, and a member of the Isaac
Waterbury G.A.R. Post. He has served as commissioner five terms,
and collector one term. He and his wife are members of the Grange, and
Mrs. Hitt is a member of the Woman’s Relief Corps.
Harrington, Orris W.,
was born in Constantia February 26, 1848, a son of Delos W., a native of
New Lisbon, Otsego county, born in June, 1820, one of eleven children of
Stephen Harrington, a native of Vermont. His father was Stephen,
a native of England, who settled in Rhode Island, a Revolutionary soldier
and aid-de-camp to George Washington. Stephen, jr., was a farmer
in Otsego county, and was a prominent man. He was justice of the
peace many years, and later an attorney. He settled in Constantia
in 1835. Delos W. was originally a farmer, but later studied medicine
and practiced to a considerable extent. His wife was Lois P., daughter
of Nathaniel Gardner. She was a native of Otsego county, and their
children are Orris W., Nancy, Alger and Joseph. Mr. Harrington died
in 1893, and his widow resides on the homestead. Our subject remained
at home until he was twenty years of age. His educational opportunities
being very limited, he devoted his leisure hours to study, and taught eight
years in the winter, and worked on the farm in the summer. In 1867
he engaged in the general merchandise and agricultural implement business
in North Constantia, where he has since been successfully engaged.
Through his efforts a post-office was established at this place in 1877,
he being appointed postmaster, which office he held until August, 1892.
He has been justice of the peace continuously since 1876. In 1881
he married Minnie F., daughter of Peter and Sarah M. (Vrooman) Ogsbury
of Albany county, and their children are Delos G., Maurice T., Rowland
W., who died in infancy; and Susie M. Mr. Harrington is a member
of the church and Ladies’ Mite Society of North Constantia.
Cook, Newton, M.D.,
was born in Argusville, Schoharie county, N.Y., July 1, 1851, a son of
Nicholas Cook, who was born in Oneida county, and married Jane Newton of
Sandy Creek, N.Y. They had five children: Henry, Ella, Newton, Caleb
and Viola, the latter two deceased. The mother died in Sandy Creek.
Newton was educated in Schoharie county and began reading medicine in 1871
with Dr. Shibley in Montgomery county. Moving to Sandy Creek in 1876,
he finished his studies with Dr. Bulkley of this place. He graduated
from the University Medical College of the City of New York in 1879, and
began practicing medicine in Sandy Creek, where he still continues.
He married Flora M., daughter of Benjamin G. and Julia K. (Grennell) Robbins,
February 25, 1881.
Chapman, John S., is
a son of Benjamin Chapman, who was a soldier of the Revolution. He
drew a pension, also a soldier’s claim of 160 acres of land. He was
a native of Hoosick, Rensselaer county, but settled in Hannibal in 1857,
and lived here until his death, August 11, 1887, aged eighty-four years.
He was a son of John Chapman of Rhode Island, who settled at Hoosick at
an early day. Benjamin Chapman married Mary B. Lawson, who died August
21, 1872, leaving five sons and three daughters, of whom seven are now
living: Aaron B., Laura M., Horace B., Cortland C., Celinda A., John
S. and James H. Our subject was born August 7, 1837.
He married Sarah J. Brownell of Hoosick, Rensselaer county, a daughter
of Joseph M. and Lydia M. Brownell, by whom he has one daughter, Ruth E.
Osborne, who also has one child, Hazel B. The father of Mrs. John
Chapman was a birthright Quaker, and her mother’s people were descendants
of the Hyde brothers, who came from England.
Crosby, Albert C., was
born in Lewis county, September 4, 1833, a son of Jeremiah Crosby.
The grandfather came from Massachusetts to Lewis county when subject’s
father was but seven years of age, coming with an ox team and settling
on what was known as the John Brown tract. They first built a log
cabin. The father, Jeremiah, came to Oswego county in 1843.
At that time he run a saw mill, which business he followed all his life.
He married Clarissa Slocum of Lewis county, by whom he had five children.
A.C. Crosby, in his early life and for twenty ears, followed boating on
the Erie Canal. He married in 1875 Eliza Sheridan, and they have
had these children: Frankie F., Nellie J., Albert C., Addie K., and
Henry L., of whom Frankie, Nellie and Addie are deceased. The family
is highly respected by all who know them.
Lake, Abram, jr., is
a resident of Hannibal, owning a fine farm of 118 acres. He was born
on the farm where he now lives in 1847, and is a son of Abram Lake, sr.,
who was the first settler on this farm. The father and son have changed
it from a dense wilderness to a pleasant home. The grandfather was
William Lake, of Vermont. Abram, jr., married Ella J., daughter of
John H. Harris, and they have two children, Merton E. and Lela B.
Lansing, W.S., manager
of the Twice-Told Hotel, is a native of Palermo, son of I.N. and Lucretia
(Wilcox) Lansing, natives of Rensselaer and Madison counties. They
were married in Madison county and about 1828 moved to Oswego county, locating
on the farm where they spent the remainder of their days, and which is
now owned by W.S. The father died in 1883, aged eighty-six, and the
mother in 1881, aged seventy-eight. Mr. Lansing resided at the home
place till 1885, when he was appointed keeper of the poorhouse and asylum
and moved to the county farm, where he remained as keeper seven and one-half
years. He then moved to the village of Mexico where he has since
resided. In 1860 he married Jane F. Landers, a native of New Haven.
He was at one time in the livery business at Mexico and for a year and
a half was a dealer in buggies, carriages and general horsemen’s supplies,
and took charge of the hotel in May, 1894.
Newell, William, of
French ancestry was born in Clinton county, August 18, 1847, a son of Franklin
E., born in Canada, who married Mary Stone (died February 4, 1890, aged
seventy-four), and had eight children: Henry, Louisa, George, Charles,
Mary and Libbie, of whom George and Charles are deceased. William
was educated in Jefferson county, and in 1863 he enlisted in the 20th N.Y.
Cavalry, serving in the army of the Potomac. He participated in the
following battles: Deep Bottom, Camp Getty, Corn Jack, Black Water,
but served most of his time in guerilla warfare. He was with General
Butler at Harrison’s Landing, and was discharged in July, 1865. Returning
home he learned the stone mason’s trade, and also engaged in farming.
Mr. Newell is a member of the G.A.R., and a school trustee. January
15, 1873, he married Nancy Widrick, daughter of Peter and Cornelia (Hyatt)
Widrick, and their children are: Frank, died May 17, 1893, aged nineteen
years; and Hattie, who resides at home.
Austen, Frederick, M.D.,
was born in Oswego November 23, 1849, a son of Benjamin Austen, born in
France, who died in this city aged thirty-eight. The latter married
Catherine Goodell, born in Oswego county, who survives him. Their
children are Frederick, Thomas T., Clark H., and Benjamin. Grandfather
Goodell was a colonel in the regular army and died at Harper’s Ferry, Va.
Mrs. Hugunin, grandmother of Frederick, was the first white child born
in Oswego. Our subject’s Grandfather Austen was a manufacturer in
France, and shortly after the birth of his son Benjamin, he moved to New
York city. Benjamin was a carpenter by trade, but was interested
in the starch business early in life and was associated with the Kingsfords
at the starting of that industry. Frederick was educated in Oswego
and in 1873 entered Rush Medical College, from which he graduated, and
afterward took a course of lectures and graduated at Long Island College
Hospital, Brooklyn. He began practice in Jefferson county and came
to Lacona in 1878, and in 1884 started a drug store in connection with
his practice, which he still continues. He was the first physician
to locate in Lacona. March 31, 1875, he married Julia A., daughter
of Robert and Julia A. Green, and their children are Frederick, born December
8, 1877, and Josephine, deceased. Dr. Austen is a member of the I.O.O.F.
His Grandfather Hugunin was the builder of the first frame house in the
city of Oswego.
Dunbar, Maurice L., of
Scotch ancestry, was born in Pulaski July 4, 1841. His grandfather,
a native of Connecticut, died aged seventy years. His father, Hiram
B., died in Pulaski, Oswego county, aged twenty-nine. He married
Ann Harman, whose father was a soldier in the war of 1812. She died,
aged sixty-eight. Her children were Maurice, and William deceased.
Our subject was educated in Pulaski and learned wagon making and blacksmithing,
which he has always followed. August 7, 1862, he enlisted in the
110th N.Y. Vols., and was discharged at the close of the war at Albany.
Returning home he married Anna J., daughter of Holland and Hannah Wilder.
The father of Hannah was Shurman Hosmer, who was an officer in the war
of 1812. The children of our subject were Addie B., married Charles
Brown of Mexico, and died May 14, 1890; and Walter E., deceased.
Mr. Dunbar is a member of the G.A.R. On leaving Port Hudson during
the war there were but eighty-two privates in the regiment able for duty,
and but six in his company; at one time he was the only private able to
respond to roll call.
Haven, Cyrus, M.D.,
was born in 1833, in Hannibal, N.Y., taught school and received a State
certificate from State Superintendent Van Dyke, and was engaged in teaching
about ten years. He studied medicine with the late Dr. Wiltsie and
Dr. W.A. James, graduated at the Bellevue Hospital Medical College of New
York and commenced practice at his present location in Hannibal, where
he still has a successful practice. He was a son of Zenas Haven.
The family is extensively represented near Lynn, Mass., and the genealogy
runs back to Richard Haven, who came from England to Massachusetts about
1640. Zenas Haven married Amanda Stewart, and they had six children,
of whom three are now living, Cyrus, Myron and Frank, who is a resident
of Nebraska city. Cyrus Haven married Aurel Anderson, who died, leaving
one daughter, Mrs. Vara Cowles, wife of George A. Cowles, now in the employ
of the American Express Co. at Rochester, N.Y. He has one son, Leon
H. Dr. Haven married for his second wife, Mrs. Ella Bassett, a daughter
of Orin Curtis of Hannibal.
A.M., M.D., was born in Kingston, Ontario, December 7, 1836.
His father was James Macfarlane of Kingston, Ontario, and his mother was
Isura Carrington of Oswego. He graduated from Hamilton College in
1858, afterwards from the Medical Department of Columbia College in 1861.
At the breaking out of the war for the Union he enlisted in the 24th Regiment
N.Y. Vols., and after a short time of service was appointed assistant surgeon
of the 81st Regiment N.Y. Vols., and in 1863, surgeon of the 115th Regiment
N.Y. Vols., continuing as such until after the close of the war.
In 1866 he established himself in the practice of his profession at Oswego.
In 1875 he married Louise B. Wheeler, daughter of William H. Wheeler of
Oswego. In addition to his profession he has been largely interested
in farming and the promotion of manufactures in Oswego. Through his
means the Standard Yarn Mills were established, of which organization he
has been vice-president throughout its existence.
Ladd, John W., was born
in Mexico in 1832, son of Denison and Sophia (Edgerton) Ladd, natives of
Connecticut and Massachusetts, who located in Oswego county about 1826,
where they died. John W. followed school teaching since eighteen
years old until a few years ago. He married in 1861 Mary A. Bard,
who died in 1886, leaving one child, Edith M., now Mrs. James A. Tooley.
His present wife was Nellie E. Martin. He has been supervisor of
Mexico and served six years as school commissioner.
Ludington, George Washington,
was born in Warren, Herkimer county, February 4, 1826, son of Stephen R.
and Catharine (Slayton) Ludington, who moved to Parish in 1835, where they
bought a farm of 200 acres, which they cleared. Subject was the youngest
of eleven children. He assisted his father on the farm until the
latter’s death, and then secured the farm by paying off the heirs.
He sold the farm and became a merchant in Amboy, also opened a branch in
Parish. He built a fine business block in Parish, which was afterward
burned, and he went into buying and selling timber lands. He was
postmaster at Amboy eleven years, also supervisor two terms. He married
Martha Owen in 1848, by whom he has had four children, only one living,
James S., aged thirty-five, a lawyer practicing in Syracuse.
Lacroix, Joseph, was
born March 25, 1850, in Canada, son of Louis and Margaret Lacroix, received
his education in Canada, then came to Mexico, where he resided for two
years; from there he went to the township of Richland where he remained
two years, then came to Parish and opened a blacksmith shop in 1871.
He is proficient in all branches of blacksmithing, iron and wood work,
and horse shoeing. Mr. Lacroix has built up a fine business in his
line, extending all through the town. He married Amie House in 1872.
They have three children; Clayton, Pearl and Clyde.
Lynch, E.G., was born
October 5, 1832, at Liverpool, Onondaga county, son of John and Harriet
Lynch, was educated in the academy at Richland, Michigan. After graduating
there, he went to Gregory’s Commercial School, Kalamazoo, Mich., took a
full commercial course there, then came to Parish and read law in the office
of Judge Nutting, and when Judge Nutting removed to Oswego, Mr. Lynch bought
out his business, which he has since conducted; has been associated with
Judge Huntington in trial of cases, and has a large practice, extending
not only all through Oswego county, but embracing half a dozen adjoining
counties. He married, October 25, 1855, Abbie A. Bradley, by whom
he had four children: Newel B., George R., Frank D., and Verdie M.
Lighthall, Marshall B.,
of German ancestry, was born August 15, 1844, a son of Mitchell Lighthall,
who was born in Schenectady, and died in Oswego county aged seventy-six.
He married Phillisa Guy, who was born in England and died aged seventy-two.
Their children were Thomas D., Henry D., Mary E., Marshall B., Eleanor
J., Nancy A., and Ruth A. Of these, William, Nancy, and Henry are
deceased. The latter was a soldier in the 184th N.Y. Vols. At City
Point, Va., and died during service. Our subject was educated in
the common schools, was a farmer and dairyman, a commissioner of highways
for two years, and a member of the Masonic fraternity. He owns 300
acres of fine land, and is one of the leading farmers of the town.
In 1864 he married Emma B., daughter of Chauncey and Polly (White) Reynolds,
of this county, and their children were Elton M., Eva May, and Leona E.,
who died aged three years. Elton married Anna Ames, and has three
children. Eva May resides at home.
Look, Marion E., was
born in Oswego county March 4, 1854, of New England ancestry. The
grandfather was born in Massachusetts and died in Oswego county aged eighty
years. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. The father, Thomas,
was born in Massachusetts, and died in Oswego county aged seventy-seven.
His wife was Freelove Palmer, born in New York State, who died in Oswego
county aged thirty-nine. Their children were Esick, Lavina, Wesly,
Eleanor, Luzern and our subject, of whom Lavina and Wesly are deceased.
Subject was educated in Oswego county and is a Mason. He married
November 25, 1879, Julia, daughter of William and Elizabeth Reynolds of
St. Lawrence county, the latter the adopted daughter of Benjamin and Angeline
Stewart of Oswego county. Their children are Angeline, Lewis, Grace,
Cora, and Ellis.
Phillips, Henry H.,
dairy farmer, makes a specialty of the finest article of Jersey butter,
supplying about forty families, besides which he has also shipped to Salt
Lake City, New York city, and Washington. He also raises Jersey cattle
for sale. Mr. Phillips is a native of Oneida county, where he was
born in 1844, and came to Oswego county in 1848, and to Hannibal in 1866.
He has served as assessor four years. In 1864 he enlisted in Co.
F, 81st N.Y. Vols., and was honourably discharged in December, 1864, on
account of disability. He married Amanda E. Fleming, and they have
five children: James Wilbur, who married Cora O’Neil; Mary E., who
married Franklin A. Cooper; Charles H., Walter E., and Ralph R. Mr
Phillips is a son of James M., and a grandson of John, who was a soldier
in the Revolution.
Hollis, John J., born
in Orwell January 29, 1841, is a son of John A. and Ann (Tuttle) Hollis;
he is a native of Orwell, born July 10, 1809, and she of Sandy Creek, born
in 1813. The father of John A. was Joshua Hollis, a native of Plymouth,
Mass., whose father, Samuel, was in the Revolutionary war. Joshua
came to Orwell about 1808, where he died in 1862. John A. Hollis
came in 1875 on the farm in Sandy Creek of 216 acres and followed general
farming, keeping thirty cows. Mrs. Hollis died May 1, 1880, and in
1882 he married Mrs. Elizabeth Calley, a daughter of Rev. Daniel Calkins,
a native of Schuyler. Mrs. Hollis had previously married Samuel Adsit
by whom she had two children, Daniel C., of Loraine, N.Y., and Abigail,
who married Eri Allen. Subject was educated in Pulaski and Falley
Seminary of Fulton. He taught school five years, and in 1862 enlisted
in Co. C, 110th N.Y. Vols., and served until 1864, and was transferred
by promotion to 2d Florida Cavalry, and served until November 30, 1865,
doing provost duty in the central part of the State during the summer of
1865. While in command of Co. E, 2d Florida Cavalry, he made an important
capture at Cape Sable, Fla. He was in the Red River expedition.
He returned to Orwell and taught school one term, since which time he has
followed farming, and is in partnership with his father. Mr. Hollis
was a supervisor in Sandy Creek three years, and justice of the peace in
Orwell, overseer of the poor four years, and is now town auditor.
He is a member of Barney Post No. 27 G.A.R., and of the Grange. He
married, January 25, 1866, Annette Howlett, a native of Sandy Creek and
daughter of Augustus Howlett, a native of Connecticut, who came to Sandy
Creek early, where he died. Subject and wife have three sons: Leroy
F., a graduate of Sandy Creek High School, class of ’88, and also from
Albany Medical College in 1893, and is now a practicing physician in Minetto;
his wife is Florence Tifft of Sandy Creek, and has one son, Harwood L.;
De Forest J., a graduate of Sandy Creek High School in 1890; his wife is
Angie Widrig of Sandy Creek; and Starr C., a student of Sandy Creek High
Corse, Wilber F., was
born in Sandy Creek August 2, 1853, a son of Ezra and Marcissa (Pierce)
Corse; he a native of Vermont, born September 3, 1803, and she of Saratoga
county, born July 4, 1808. The father of Ezra was Reuben, a native
of Wilmington, Vt., who came to Hoosick in an early day and finally to
Sandy Creek where he died. The father of subject came on the farm
he now owns when he was eighteen years old cleared the farm, where he has
since resided and is the oldest man in Sandy Creek, being in his ninety-second
year. He married, January 1, 1826, Narcissa Pierce, who is now living.
The father of Narcissa was John Pierce, who emigrated to Saratoga county
when a boy, his father, having died and he being bound to John Green of
Greenfield, and then married and came to Sandy Creek in 1808. He
went to Illinois in an early day, where he spent his last days. His
wife was Hannah Ballou, by whom he had fourteen children. Ezra Corse
was justice of the peace about twelve years, also commissioner of highways
and assessor for a number of years, and was one of the leading men of the
town. The children of Ezra Corse and wife were Philinda (deceased),
Albert E., Amanda (deceased), Henry B., killed in the 2nd Bull Run August
2, 1862; Porter M., Adersa, Cyrus J., and our subject. The latter
was reared on the farm he owns, having forty acres of the homestead, follows
dairy farming and is manager of 220 acres, also keeps forty cows; this
was one of the first dairy farms in the town. Subject has been highway
commissioner six years. He married, October 20, 1874, Charlotte M.
Stevens, born January 1, 1853, a native of Vermont and daughter of A.H.
Stevens of Sandy Creek. They have three children, Henry A., born
October 31, 1875, student at Sandy Creek High School; Eda L., born January
13, 1878, also a student at Sandy Creek High School; and Lulu B., born
November 4, 1886, at home. The great-grandfather Corse was a native
of England, and came to Vermont in an early day, where he died.
Brown, Orson H., was
born in Jefferson county September 23, 1816, a son of Roswell of Connecticut,
who died in this county aged seventy-six. The latter married Electa
Herrick, also a native of Connecticut, and who died in Oswego county, aged
eighty-four. Orson H. was educated in the common schools, and followed
a sailor’s life on the lakes for seventeen years, ten of which he was master
of vessels. In 1852 he engaged in the insurance business, which he
still continues, representing the Aetna of Hartford (now over forty years
in business), the North America of Philadelphia, the Royal of Liverpool,
the Pennsylvania of Philadelphia, the Western of Toronto, etc. He
is executor of an estate of $200,000, about half in this country and half
in Lisbon, Portugal, involving thirteen years’ litigation and still in
Portuguese courts. He is vice-president of the Oswego City Savings
Bank, a director of the First National Bank, a notary public, and an adjuster
of marine losses. Mr. Brown married, in 1838, Jane Weed, of Richland,
a native of Vermont, whose father was a cousin of Thurlow Weed. They
have no children. Mr. B. was president of the Board of Trade in 1879-80.
Metcalf, D.D., attorney,
was born near North Hannibal November 25, 1837, was reared on a farm and
educated in the public schools of that town and Falley Seminary at Fulton.
He read law with Marsh & Webb of Oswego for a time, but finished with
the Hon. John C. Churchill of Oswego and was with him ten years, being
admitted to practice in 1863. D.D. Metcalf was elected school commissioner
of his county in 1866, which office he held nine years. He then continued
the practice of law with Judge Whitney of Oswego for ten years, which connection
he severed and continued the practice of law at Hannibal, where he still
has a successful business. He is a son of David B. Metcalf, a native
of New Hampshire, who with four other families settled in this county at
what is now North Hannibal, in 1814, when the country was but a wilderness
with but one road cut through to Hannibal; otherwise they traveled by marked
trees, and they used to carry their grain to the mill on their shoulders
to the first grist mill in this town which was near what is now Hannibal
Center. In 1868 D.D. Metcalf married Miss Cynthia Stark, daughter
of an old resident of the town, by whom he has two children, a daughter
and son, the former of which is a teacher in the public schools.
Lawrence, Robert, was
born in Saratoga county in 1827, was reared in Wayne county and married
Catherine Sullivan, a native of Ireland, September 6, 1855. In 1862
he enlisted in Co. E, 110th Regt. N.Y. Vols., and was wounded at Port Hudson,
laying fifty hours on the battlefield before he was cared for. He
was sixteen days in the hospital at Baton Rouge, five weeks at New Orleans,
and four weeks on Governor’s Island, and was discharged August 26, 1863,
since which time he has resided in New Haven.
Lodge, Job, of English
ancestry, was born in England June 14, 1852. The grandfather was
John, born in England, where he died aged seventy. The father was
Joseph, born and died in England, aged eighty years. His wife was
Sarah Birch, born in England, who died aged seventy, and by whom he had
these children: Charlotte, Reuben, Charles, Caroline, Joseph, Eliza,
Louise, and our subject, of whom Louise, Joseph and Charles (the latter
drowned in the Teffe River), are deceased. The father was a speculator.
The grandfather Birch lived to be eighty years of age, meeting with an
accident and breaking his leg, which caused his death. His wife died
aged 102 years. Subject was educated in Oswego county, and is a stone
mason and a member of the Grange. He married, December 30, 1877,
Mary H., daughter of Robert and Elizabeth (Frape) Hutchings, by whom he
has these children: Charles H., George H., Frank A., Helen, Louise and
Louis, all living at home.
Lansing, J. Fitch, Palermo,
was born September 10, 1830, son of Isaac N. Lansing, who was born November
8, 1796. The family is one of the oldest in this portion of the State.
The grandfather, Jacob Lansing, was born in Rensselaer county in 1767,
and came to Madison county. He was a hotel keeper in his younger
days, then moved to Cazenovia. The mother of our subject was Lucretia
W., daughter of Frederick Wilcox. She married Isaac N. Lansing October
11, 1819. The children were Eunice Lucretia, Sarah E., J. Fitch,
William S. and Erastus. Eunice L. and Erastus are deceased.
Our subject married, February 10, 1853, Jane M., daughter of Lehman Austin
of this town. Their children are Eunice, Emily L., Noble A., of whom
Eunice and Emily are deceased. Lehman Austin was born in 1800 and
died in 1863, and his wife was born in 1801 and died in 1870.
Leigh, Nathan H., was
born in Amboy in 1841, a son of Charles, a successful farmer and lumberman,
whose father, Hezekiah, came from Argyle, Washington county, some years
since. Nathan married Celia, daughter of G.D. Wells, and has one
son, Walter, and five daughters, and lives on the old homestead.
Le Roy, L., was born
in Oswego March 1, 1851. He came to his present farm when fourteen
years of age and since he was eighteen has followed gardening, at which
he is very proficient. He has a well kept and highly productive farm,
making a specialty of pickles, radishes and fruit. In 1889 Mr. Le
Roy married Emma Mitchell, and they have two sons, Lorin Adelbert and Louis
was born in February, 1839, in Mechlenburg, Germany, son of John and Josephine
(Ort) Ludeman, and grandson of Folder Ludeman of the same place.
John was a labourer and reared seven children, John, Dorothy, Mary, Christjohn,
Joseph, Henry and Fred. Mary was accidently cut by a cradle while
in the harvest field at the age of sixteen, and bled to death. Our
subject came to the United States in 1865, coming direct to West Monroe.
He came with the intention of enlisting in the Union army, but when he
landed in New York the soldiers were returning home. His first winter
was spent in chopping cord wood. In 1868 he returned to Germany and
brought his mother and brother John back with him, being followed a year
later by his brother Fred, who has since died. His mother died in
Hastings at her son John’s residence in 1886. In 1872 our subject
married Mary, daughter of Joseph Phillips of West Monroe, and their children
are Laura, Joseph, Louise and Lovina. They are members of the West
Lewis, Charles N., was
born in Orwell in 1850, and came to New Haven in 1870, where he married
Delia Colvin in 1873. He is a mason by trade, and a farmer.
He has served as constable two years, was road commissioner seven years,
and has been in the customs service at Oswego since April, 1894.
He has three children, Myra A., Charles S., and Mary Belle. Charles
M. and Martha, the parents, were natives of Orwell, where the father died
in 1866, and the mother died in New Haven in 1893.
Ladd, Horace, was born
in Hastings in November, 1820, son of William Ladd, a native of Connecticut,
one of twelve children who came to Hastings in 1817. He was a prominent
farmer and served as assessor twenty-five years. His wife was Roxana
Hossington, a native of Vermont, and their children were Horace, Joseph,
Charles and Cordelia. Subject began farming for himself when twenty-five.
In 1864 he enlisted in the 184th Regiment, Co. H, and served until the
close of the war. He has devoted his time chiefly to farming, and
in earlier days conducted an extensive cooper business. In 1848 he
married Celinda Moore, and their children are William, Amos, Byron and
Wilford. In 1882 he married second Eunice Gyles of Vermont, and in
1892 married third Mrs. Sarah Benson of West Monroe, who had four children
by her first husband: Collins, Elmer, Edward, and Burton. Subject
is a member of Isaac Waterbury G.A.R. Post of Central Square.
Lydiatt, George, was
born in Middlewitch, Cheshire, England, May 23, 1825, a son of Thomas and
Mary (Havers) Lydiatt, and grandson of James, who was a keeper of a public
house. Thomas was a cooper by trade. Subject worked at farming
in early life. In 1849 he learned the trade as window glass flattener.
In 1863 he came to the United States, landed in Philadelphia, and engaged
in the glass works as flattener at Winslow, N.J. From there he went
to Boston and various places, where he followed his trade. In 1887
he came to Cleveland and nine months later removed to Bernhard’s Bay, where
he has since resided, employed most of the time in the glass works of this
place. He has from all his former employers letters of the highest
recommendation, characterizing his integrity and skill. In 1850 he
married Mary Landsborough, of Scotch parentage, by whom he had seven children:
Mrs. Jane Marsden of Bernhard’s Bay; Mrs. Anna Dodds of Kane, Pa.; Rhoda,
Emma, Silas James of Kane, Pa.; and Mrs. Mary Biddle of Kane, Pa.
Mr. Lydiatt is a member of the Glass Workers’ Union of Bernhard’s Bay.
He and wife are members of the M.E. Church, in which they have been very
zealous in Sunday school work, he being superintendent and she a teacher.
Since 1850 Mr. Lydiatt has supplied the pulpit as local preacher.
Lewis, William E., son
of Levi, grandson of Thomas J., who was one of the early settlers of Amboy,
began as clerk at the age of fifteen in the store at Amboy Centre, of which
he became proprietor in 1884, and which is now known under the firm name
of W.E. Lewis & Co. Mr. Lewis has always taken a prominent part
in the political welfare of the town, having been supervisor two years,
when he was chosen clerk of the Board of Supervisors. He was also
postmaster for eight years. Mrs. Betsey Lewis is the widow of Thomas
J., whose father, Nathaniel Lewis, was among the early settlers of Amboy.
Mrs. Lewis was the daughter of Levi Luke, who was also one of the early
settlers of that town. She had three sons: Levi W., T.J. and
Letts, Ransom, was born
in Parish in January, 1838, son of William Letts, a native of Schoharie
county and a farmer. His wife was Hulda Vanatter, and their children
were Rev. James, Abram, Kate, David, Harmon, Milton and Ransom, popularly
known as Jerry. Subject’s father died when he was a child, and at
sixteen he and his brother purchased the homestead. In 1862 he married
Sarah Ann, daughter of Rev. William and Celia A. (Sherman) Nutting.
She was born in 1842 on the farm where she now resides. Her father
was a native of Otsego county, born in 1800, son of Thomas Nutting, a native
of France, whose father came to the United States when thirteen years of
age. Thomas came to Parish with his family in 1804. William
came to West Monroe in 1825, and laid out and cut the way for many of the
new roads in this town. He was a Free Baptist and preached for many
years, also served as justice of the peace eight years. By his first
wife, Sarah Adams, he had six children, all deceased; and by his second
wife six children: Harley W. (a mute), Newton W., ex-congressman;
Celia Ann and Sarah Ann (twins); Harmond D., ex-senator from Virginia,
and Lydia L. He died in 1872, and his wife in 1893, aged eighty-one.
Mr. and Mrs. Letts had two children, John Quincy born in 1865, who is living
on the old homestead with his parents; and William N. who was born in 1871
and died when three years of age. The Jerry post-office in West Monroe
was named in honor of our subject.
Midlam, John M., was
born in Oneida county in 1829, and located in Mexico in 1837 with his parents,
Mathew and Mary Ann. The parents died in 1883 and 1893, aged eighty-seven
and eighty-nine respectively. John M. married in 1855 Julia Hosford,
a native of Massachusetts, who died in 1872. By her he had two children:
Mary L. and Chester A. His present wife, Minerva, is a native of
Michigan, and they have one child, Anna L.
Morgan, Burr J., was
born January 14, 1887, in Morrisville, Madison county, son of Augustus
and Maria Morgan. His father was a tanner, and had seven children.
The subject of this sketch was the fifth from the oldest and was educated
at the Morrisville Union School, then went as a drug clerk with Mead &
Chapin in his native place; was there about seven years, went to Cazenovia,
from there to a wholesale drug house in Syracuse, then came to Parish February
5, 1885, where he started for himself in the drug business in a store he
rented. He was married November 19, 1884 to Winifred Jones of Morrisville,
and they have two children, Katie and Blanche. The store which Mr.
Morgan rented when he came to Parish he has since purchased and rebuilt.
The property is located in the heart of the village and the store is as
thoroughly appointed a drug store as can be found any where. Mr.
Morgan is also postmaster of Parish.
Matteson, Andrew, was
born in Mexico October 2, 1829, son of Wright and Sarah Matteson, who were
among the earliest settlers in Mexico. Subject was educated in Mexico and
went to work on his father’s farm. He continued with his father until
1864, when he moved to Parish and purchased the farm of ninety acres where
he now resides. He married Theresa Wimple, and has five children,
Julia, Sarah, Wright, John and Eva.
Miner, O.M., was born
in Scriba July 19, 1843. He enlisted in the 81st N.Y. Regiment September
14, 1861, and served three years. He is a member of Post Porter 573,
and is its junior vice-commander. In 1867 he married Abbie Lord,
and they have two children, Birtsell and Kittie. Mr. Miner’s father
was Pierce Miner, and his mother Emeline Miner.
McMahon, William, was
born in County Clare, Ireland, May 11, 1833. McMahon is an honoured
name in Ireland. The family is of Mahon, Ireland’s greatest general,
who organized and fought the historic war that wrested Ireland from the
Danes; and whose early assassination, only, prevented him from establishing
a republic in Ireland. The McMahons have been the leaders of every
one of those heroic wars, waged for the liberty of their country, of which
history forgets to mention or speaks of only as Irish Rebellions, because
written by the victorious foe. The late illustrious marshal and president
of France and General McMahon of our recent Civil War, are descendants
of patriot Irish leaders, whom defeat drove from their beloved country.
Their relationship to the subject of this sketch is easily traced and near.
His father’s name was John. John McMahon married the daughter of
William McNamara, a wealthy Irish landlord, who was left a portion upon
the death of her father. When William was five years old, the family
came to America. They were shipwrecked on the way, everything was
thrown overboard to lighten the ship, and they finally landed at Quebec
penniless, thankful that they had escaped with their lives. The young
mother, unused to the hard rugged life of the pioneer farm, lived but a
few months; the father died a few years later, and William and his brothers
were left poor orphans among strangers while yet children. William
and an elder brother, John, drifted into life as boatmen upon the canals.
Before either was twenty-one years of age they owned several canal boats.
At that time boatmen upon the canals were a reckless, lawless class of
men, and it was absolutely necessary for the brothers to literally fight
their trips through the locks, from port to port. This they were
well equipped by nature to do most successfully, until their giant strength,
endurance and courage gave them State wide fame. They became masters
of the canals. Through their numerous friendships and the protection
from lawlessness which such afforded, they partially restored order upon
the canals. They had a high sense of justice and were always found
arrayed upon the side of right. On one occasion they rebelled against
an unjust custom of tipping locktenders. They fought, quite alone,
the sixty-four locktenders upon the sixteens, whipped them, locked through
their own boats and broke the custom; on their return trip, several thousand
people were at the locks to cheer them through, and the locktenders themselves
became their admirers and friends. For several years William McMahon
was the proprietor of a hotel at Caughdenoy. He supplied wood by
contract to the salt blocks of Salina. Hundreds of acres of woods
in the towns of Hastings, Schroeppel and Clay were cleared by him.
He used to employ a hundred choppers at a time. Congressman “Sockless”
Jerry Simpson, of Kansas, then a young man, was one of his choppers in
Hastings. He has been a farmer during the last twenty-five years
of his life. He has always been a Democrat, but has disliked the
tricks and deceits of politics and has many times refused political honors.
He was elected collector of the town of Hastings shortly after reaching
his majority and was re-elected. He has resided in Hastings for nearly
fifty years. In 1862 he was married to Ellen, daughter of Capt. P.B.
Oakley, an early influential resident of Hastings, who was one of the early
captains of the “Cunard Line”. His ancestors were all New England
sea captains, extending back far beyond the Revolution. Mrs. McMahon
is of New England ancestry. Four children have blessed this union.
John O., born November 5, 1866, and William M., born September 10, 1872,
both lawyers practicing their professions in Syracuse; Frank A., born April,
25, 1875, and Mary E., born January 1, 1880, yet at school.
Merriam, Allen, Palermo,
was born October 4, 1823, in Delaware county. Harvey Merriam, his
father, was one of the original English family of Merriams that first settled
in Connecticut. The father was born in 1800 and came to this State
when quite a young man. He married Polly, daughter of Nathan Jenkins,
in 1821, and their children were Hannah (deceased), Nathan, William F.
(deceased), Celinda, Filey, Clancey, Helen, Erastus, and Lydia (deceased).
Allen followed farming until 1864, and from that time until 1888 he conducted
a mercantile business in Palermo. He married in 1851 Jane, daughter
of Matson Gillett, of Onondaga county, and they had eight children:
Calinda, Albert, Watson, Bell, Herman D., Ida, William and Edward, all
living in this county except William and Bell who are living in Ontario
county and Edward in Springfield, Mass. Calinda married Frank Young,
and seven years ago bought his father-in-law out and now conducts a general
Mattison, Col. L.V.S.,
was born in Scriba November 21, 1842, and enlisted in the 81st New York
Vols. September 14, 1861. He received five warrants and five commissions.
He enlisted as a private and was discharged a lieutenant-colonel.
His promotions were all for bravery and soldierly conduct on the field.
July 9, 1864, he was promoted to second lieutenant, November 19, 1864,
to first lieutenant, December 1, 1864, to captain, March 7, 1865, to major,
and was commissioned lieutenant-colonel July 12, 1865. Since the
war he has been assistant librarian of the Senate six terms. He studied
civil engineering also, after the war, and for the last twenty years has
been engaged in public works. In 1882 he married Mary S. Oliver,
and they have one daughter, Bessie St. Clair. Colonel Mattison’s
father was Truman G. Mattison, and his mother Amelia (Sternes) Mattison.
Marsden, Welcom, was
born in Mexico in 1839, son of George and Eliza (Page) Marsden, natives
of Constantia and Herkimer county. His father was one of the pioneers
of the town of Mexico, cleared a farm in the wilderness, and died in 1894.
Welcom married Laura, daughter of George Waring, in 1869, and moved to
his present home place of 180 acres in 1871.
Marsh, E.J., M.D., was
born in Granby, Oswego county, December 29, 1849, educated at Falley Seminary,
and received his medical degree at the Eclectic Medical Institute, Cincinnati,
O. Was married February 1, 1871, to Margaret A. Chapman, formerly
of Rensselaer county, N.Y., and commenced the practice of his profession
April 1, of that year, at Hastings, Oswego county. In 1873 he removed
to Southwest Oswego, where he has since been in continuous practice.
Dr. and Mrs. Marsh have two children, M. Belle and Milton J., aged twenty-two
and nineteen years respectively. Dr. Marsh’s father was Isaac W.
Marsh, who died in 1880, having served as justice of the peace twelve years,
supervisor four years, and school commissioner three years. His mother
was Marrietta Signor. The Marsh family are of New England stock and
of Welsh descent.
McDonald, John, of Irish
ancestry, was born in Canada, April 23, 1848, a son of Christopher and
Bridget (O’Toole) McDonald, both natives of Ireland. The mother died
in Ontario, aged fifty years. Our subject was educated in Canada
and came to Oswego at the age of twenty-one years, working at his trade
of harness making. In 1878 he opened a shop at West Bridge street,
and in 1884 moved to the corner of West Second and Bridge streets, where
he still continues, carrying a full line of robes, blankets, horse and
stable furnishings, and manufacturing harnesses. He also carries
a full line of trunks, valises and satchels, oils, dressings, soaps, veterinary
medicines, etc., doing repair work of all kinds. He carries a full
line of ladies’ and gentlemen’s saddles also. Mr. McDonald is a member
of the Catholic church and is treasurer of Branch No. 140, C.M.B.A., treasurer
of Division No, 1, A.O.H., and member of Lodge No. 210, A.O.U.W., Oswego.
In 1876 he married Mary McMahon of Oswego, who died in 1882.
Merriam, Watson H.,
general merchant at Pennellville, was born in Onondaga county in 1855.
He was reared on a farm and learned cheese making, which he followed twelve
years, and in 1888 established his present business. In 1882 he married
Eunice N. Lansing, of Palermo, who died in 1885. He afterward married
Maggie A.Vant, and they have one child, Lena Belle.
Mallory, Jared, was
born in Hastings in November, 1832, son of Benjamin, a native of New Hartford,
Oneida county, who was born in 1804, one of five children of Ashbel Mallory,
of Connecticut. Benjamin came to Hastings in 1827, purchased and
cleared a farm. He soon after married Amy Ann Cornell, remained on
his farm forty years, and died in Central Square in 1877. Their children
were Jared, Phoebe, Mary, Susan, Charles, Lorra, and Lydia. He was
prominent in politics, served as commissioner, assessor and overseer of
the poor. In 1855 our subject purchased a saw mill, where he has
ever since been engaged in manufacturing lumber. He has also purchased
and conducted several large farms, has been in the dairy business for many
years, and since 1881 has owned and conducted two cheese factories, one
in Mallory and the other in the village of Hastings. He served as
supervisor three years and commissioner of highways seven years.
Through his efforts in 1860 a post-office was established at this place,
and the place was called Mallory in his honor. Mr. Mallory married
in 1853 Mary Ostrander, by whom he had two children, Johanna and Emy M.
Mr. Mallory’s second wife was Mary A. Gilbert, by whom he had three children,
Clinton I., Kittie, and Mrs. Cada Claxton, of West Monroe. Since
1869 he has been postmaster at Mallory.
Meredith, W.W., was
born in Oneida county in 1846, son of Hugh and Sarah (Ingalls) Meredith,
natives of Oneida county and Vermont. They were married in Susquehanna
county, Pa., in 1844. They resided in Oneida county till about 1850,
then in Onondaga county three years, since which time they have lived in
Schroeppel. In 1875 our subject married Hannah C. Rumsey, a native
of Onondaga county.
Metzger, Philip J.,
was born in Gimbsheim, Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany, April 13, 1839, son of
Valentine and Catherine Metzger, who came to Hastings in 1854, and settled
on the farm now owned by our subject. They reared five sons and one
daughter. In 1861 Mr. Metzger enlisted in Company H, 101st N.Y. Inf.,
served three years, and participated in the battles of Antietam, Fair Oaks,
Fredericksburg, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Court house, and Chancellorsville,
where he was wounded and taken prisoner, confined in Libby Prison two weeks,
and later exchanged. After the war he devoted eight years to the
coopering business, since which time he has been engaged in farming.
In 1867 he purchased the homestead. In 1865 he married Lena, daughter
of Jacob and Mary Mahlerwein, of Hastings, and their children are Emma,
Jacob, Elizabeth, Amelia, Nora, and George. Mr. Metzger has provided
his children with academic educations, two of the daughters being teachers
in the public schools in Syracuse. He is a member of the Isaac Waterbury
G.A.R. Post, No. 418, Central Square, and a member of the Grange.
He is now serving his fourth year as assessor. Mrs. Metzger is a
member of the Woman’s Relief Corps of Central Square.
Moore, John H., was
born in Bushmills, County Antrim, Ireland, in 1845, a son of Thomas Moore,
who came from Philadelphia to Amboy in 1864, where he was a farmer for
ten years, returning to Philadelphia in 1874, where he died. John
H. remained in Amboy, where he married Christina, daughter of James S.
Clelland, and is known as one of the thriving farmers of the town.
Their children are Thomas, born October 19, 1870; James, born February
22, 1873; Jennie, born September 6, 1875; and Rachel, born March 30, 1878.
Mulcahy, Daniel C.,
was born in the town of Oswego, May 5, 1872. He owns a farm and hotel
on the boulevard near Oswego, and deals in sand, gravel and stone; he is
a jobber at various branches of work – does general farming and teaming,
and is branching out into gardening, and he sometimes deals in horses.
His father was born in Tipperary, Ireland, and came to America about 1844,
when nineteen years old. He married Margaret Corson, and they have
six sons and two daughters. Daniel C. is a member of the town Democratic
Myers, Charles M., was
born in Oswego county, July 14, 1846. His grandfather was Samuel,
who was born in Herkimer county, and died in this county, aged seventy
years; and his father, Andrew, was born in Oneida county and died here,
aged seventy-six years. Andrew married Emily Mason, who died aged
thirty-eight, and their children were Helen, Charles M., Herbert W., Edson,
Sereno, Mariah, Jennie, Frederick, and Emma, of whom Frederick, Edson,
Sereno and Mariah are deceased. Charles M. was educated in the common
schools, and August 1, 1862, enlisted in the 110th N.Y. Vols., serving
in the Red River Expedition, siege of Port Hudson, Bayou Teche. etc., afterward
doing garrison duty until the close of the war. He was a lumberman
and hotel keeper at Orwell, and was elected constable in 1872, which position
he has held till the present time. He was deputy sheriff for nine
years, having made some very important arrests during his official career.
In 1892 he came to Lacona and took charge of the Central House, the largest
hotel in the place, which he still conducts, with a first-class livery
in connection. He is also chief of police. June 30, 1866, he
married Orrissa Samson, of Oswego county, her parents being Asel and Rebecca
(Clark) Samson. They have one child, Clara E., born in 1867, who
married Adelbert Babcock.
Nichols, David L., was
born in New Haven October 7, 1828, and resided on the old homestead till
1883, then moved to New Haven village. In 1857 he married Sarah J.
Jenkins of Madison county, by whom he has had these children; Charles H.,
Nettie L., now wife of the renowned Boston artist, Beal, residing at present
in London; Frank G., who died when eight years old, and Mary G. He
has been assessor nine years, justice of peace twelve years, overseer of
the poor one year, clerk of the school district thirty-eight years, and
clerk of the Congregational church twenty-six years. His father,
Charles, entered the homestead located between the village of Demster and
New Haven in 1822, where he died in 1872.
Noyes, Ira, was born
in Vermont in 1817, and came to New York early in life, first settling
in Jefferson county. He soon after came to Sandy Creek, where he
remained till his death in 1887. November 2, 1886, he married Ella
Sage, who was born in Sandy Creek May 25, 1853, a daughter of John and
Mary E. Sage of Vermont, who came to Sandy Creek in early life. Ira
Noyes had the following brothers and sisters; Rhoda, Phila, Sallie,
Bernice, Nathan, Betsey, and Ira, all deceased. Mrs. Noyes was one
of the following children; Oren, Ella, Jessie A., Augusta and Lettie.
Mr. and Mrs. Noyes had one child, Irene, born January 9, 1888, who is living
with her mother and grandmother in Pulaski.
Nichols, Freborn M.,
was born in Otsego county in 1837, and came to Oswego county the same year
with his parents, David and Betsey (Matteson) Nichols, who in 1867 moved
from the farm in town of Mexico to the village of Mexico, and died there
in 1879 and 1887 respectively. Mr. Nichols married in 1866 Cora Harvey,
and has two children, Henry D. and Ettie G. Mrs. Nichols’s father,
C.H. Harvey, was one of the early pioneers from New Hampshire, located
at Colosse, where he died in 1883. He was born in 1802, was postmaster
of Colosse about forty years, and constable a number of terms.
Nash, Joseph R., was
born in Germany in 1831, and is a son of Enoch, grandson of Anthony, and
great-grandson of Peter Nash. He came to America in 1851 and to Williamstown
in 1861, where he is a farmer. Mr. Nash enlisted in 1864 in Co. E.
189th infantry, serving until the close of the war, when he returned to
the farm. His three sons are William M., Frank J. and John L.
Owen, William, was born
in Wales in 1830, son of William and Sarah Owen. He came to this country
in 1837, and educated in the town of Sandy Creek, went to work on a farm,
and worked for others until he bought his present farm in 1853. Mr.
Owen’s farm consists of one hundred acres, mostly under cultivation.
This farm has been earned and entirely paid for through his own unaided
exertions. He married in January, 1864, Kate Gray, by whom he had
six children: James, working in the American Express office in Chicago;
Ada lives at home; Mattie, married to Fred Halsey; Frank is railroading;
Sarah, married to Fred Warne, and George lives at home.
was born in Ireland in 1820, son of John and Mary O’Reilley of the same
place. Their children were Daniel, Patrick, Mary, Ann and Jennie.
In 1847 Mr. O’Reilley came to Canada, and one year later came to Oswego,
where he was employed on the railroad. He then turned his attention
to farming. 1n 1855 he came to Hastings and purchased the farm where
he now resides. In 1850 he married Catharine Shea of Ireland, by
whom he had three children, John, Micheal (deceased), and Mary Ann, wife
of Daniel Hanley of Hastings, who has one child, Francis.
Peck, Alonzo, of the
town of Mexico, was born in 1825 in Herkimer county, and has resided on
his present farm near Union Square, Oswego county, since 1852. In
1866 he married Maria Brusic, a native of Massachusetts. Her father,
George Brusic, located on this farm in 1844. Nellie M., now Mrs.
James H. Wills, is their only child. Mr. Peck’s father, Alva, was
born in Connecticut in 1797, and at the age of sixteen moved to Herkimer
county, N.Y., with his father, Submit Peck. Alva Peck married in
Herkimer county Mary Ferrin, and with their three children came to Oswego
county in 1829, where they died in 1849 and 1866 respectively.
Draper, James, was born
in Hannibal, where he has always resided, excepting during his service
in the war, of which he is a veteran and charter member of the G.A.R.
August 8, 1862, he enlisted in Company F, of the 110th N.Y. Vols., serving
one year, when he was discharged for disability acquired in the service.
He returned home and remained about a year, when he again enlisted in Company
C, of the 184th N.Y. Vols., with which he served till the close of the
war, when he was honorably discharged. He is a son of John and Mary
Ann Draper, and one of their seven children, three of whom served in the
war and lived to return to their homes. Robert Draper enlisted from
this town among the first in Company E, 24th N.Y. Vols., and served about
six months, when he was discharged for disability acquired in the service.
Alfred Draper enlisted in Company C, 184th N.Y. Vols., in 1864, serving
till the close of the war, when he was honorably discharged. The
parents were Mr. and Mrs. John Draper, the father a native of London, Eng.,
and the mother of Manchester, Eng. They settled in Hannibal about
1835. Our subject, James Draper, married Servilla E. Pollock, a daughter
of Robert and Mary Jane Pollock, of Fulton.
Towsley, Thomas J.,
was born in Ellisburg, Jefferson county, N.Y., August 19, 1826, a son of
Thomas and Clarissa (Bemis) Towsley, both natives of Bennington, Vt.
The father of Thomas was Hezekiah Towsley, a native of Vermont, his being
one of three families that first settled in Ellisburg, where he died at
the age of eighty-eight years. The subject’s maternal grandfather,
Samuel Bemis, came from Bennington, Vt., and was also an early settler
of Ellisburg, where he died. The father of subject was a farmer;
he was a captain in the war of 1812, and participated in the battle at
Sackett’s Harbor; and both his grandfathers were in the war of the Revolution,
Mr. Towsley being an aid to General Washington, and also was with Col.
Ethan Allen at the taking of Ticonderoga. Thomas the father died
in Ellisburg in 1858, aged seventy-eight, and his wife, Clarissa, died
in 1854, in her fifty-second year. Thomas J. was reared on a farm
and educated in the common school and in Belleville Union Academy, from
which he graduated. He worked in a glass factory six years, but his
principal occupation has been farming. In 1856 he came to Sandy Creek,
and in 1857 bought a farm on 165 acres, which he now owns. July 21,
1893, his barns and farming tools were burned, and the same season he built
as good a barn as there is in the town of Sandy Creek. He keeps a
dairy of twenty-six cows. Mr. Towsley has been twice married; first
to Phoebe M. Brown, by whom he had two children – William D., the leading
physician of Camden village, Oneida county, and Alice C., wife of George
D. Thomas, of Orwell. Mrs. Towsley died October 8, 1887, aged fifty-two
years; Mr. Towsley married second, March 14, 1889, Hattie R. Sprague, a
native of Sandy Creek and daughter of Alonzo and Matilda Sprague.
O’Reilly, John Maurice,
was born in Syracuse, N.Y., April 4, 1854, son of Patrick a native of County
Westmeath, Ireland, who came to Quebec, Canada, in 1848, and thence to
the United States in 1849. His wife was Catherine Shea, a native
of County Cork, Ireland. Their children were John Maurice, born April
4, 1854; Michael James, born September 27, 1857, died August 18, 1878;
Mary Ann, wife of Daniel Hanley, born August 27, 1860. John M. O’Reilly
began life for himself when twenty-one; he bought his present farm in March,
1889. On March 3, 1886, he married Ellen Delphena, daughter of Thomas
McMahon, of Hastings, born November 13, 1855, and their children are Mary
Jane Catherine, born March 21, 1887; Patrick Thomas, born April 8, 1888,
died August 6, same year; Agnes Elizabeth, born July 28, 1889; Stella Delphene,
born June 19, 1892; John Maurice, born October 3, 1894, died October 17,
1894. The subject is one of the trustees of the village of Central
Devendorf, Major H.C.,
was born in Verona, Oneida county, in June, 1828, son of Peter Devendorf,
a native of Herkimer county, one of thirteen children of Rudolph and Barbara
(Thumb) Devendorf, natives of Mohawk Valley. Rudolph officiated as
judge, assemblyman, county clerk, and held other offices in Herkimer county.
Peter Devendorf came to Hastings in 1832, was elected justice of the peace
the following year, which office he held twenty years; was also supervisor
fourteen years. His wife was Rhoda A. Sherman, a native of Oneida
county. They had five children, Henry C., Rudolph H., Mary, Mrs.
Rhoda A. Breed, of Central Square, and Mrs. Catherine Beebe, of Central
Square. At the age of sixteen he began as clerk in Oswego, later clerked
in various places until twenty-four years of age, when, in 1853, he purchased
of his uncle his general store in Hastings, which he conducted until 1856,
when he removed to Central Square, where he engaged in the same business
and where he has since been interested. From 1871 to 1883 he resided
in Georgia, where for ten years he served as postmaster of Doctortown post-office.
He then returned to Central Square, where he owns and conducts the largest
dry goods and grocery store in the town. In 1858 he was made captain
of a company of New York State National Guards; later elected lieutenant-colonel.
In 1862 he raised a full company, which went from Oswego as Company D in
the 110th Regiment, with him as captain, and served until the close of
the war. In 1864 he was promoted major. The last eighteen months
of his service was at Fort Jefferson (Dry Tortugas), and was in command
of the post when the Lincoln conspirators arrived, Colonel Hamilton commanding
in Key West. His wife and adopted daughter, Mrs. Emma Dygert Low,
were with him during his service in that fort. In 1853 he married
Armonella, daughter of Lorenzo D. Marshall, of Mohawk, N.Y., and granddaughter
of John Marshall, of Warren, N.Y., who enlisted in Colchester, Conn., as
a soldier of the Revolution, and was supposed to be the last one living
who witnessed the surrender of Cornwallis, owing to his youth at that time
and his great age at the time of his death. His father was drafted,
but was the head of a large family, and his eldest son was accepted in
his place at the age of sixteen, and was ninety-nine at the time of his
Newton, Pitt M., was
born in Sandy Creek, May 2, 1825, a grandson of Jotham, of Connecticut,
who died aged forty-five. The father of subject was Jotham, also
born in Connecticut, who died in this county, aged ninety-four. He
married Sarah A. Titus, of Vermont, who died here, aged eight-two.
Their children were Marlitta, Jane, Almira, Sarah A., Pitt M., Harmony,
Martha, Sophia, Yates W., Andrew J., Ellen, and Viola. The father
was an iron manufacturer and farmer, and served as justice of the peace
fifteen years. Pitt M. was educated at Sandy Creek, Mexico, and the
college at Meadville, Pa. He taught school six terms, then engaged
as clerk. He conducted a mercantile business for thirty-five years
and was associated with the Earl & Newton Bank five years, and was
supervisor of the town four years. He was also secretary of the Oswego
County Farmers’ Insurance Company six years, and has conducted a farming
and dairy business for many years. He has been justice of the peace
for the past six years. June 16, 1850, he married Huldah A., daughter
of Levi and Lovisa Matthews, of Mexico, N.Y. and their children are:
Lillie E., Cora, Clarence, Arthur, Harlan L., Earl J., and Herbie, of whom
Arthur and Herbie are deceased. Lillie has taught in Sandy Creek
High School, and is executrix of her grandfather’s estate; Cora married
P.M. French, of Rochester; Clarence resides in North Platte, Neb.; Harlan
resides in Sandy Creek; Earl lives in Santa Fe, N.M. Yates and Andrew J.,
brothers of our subject, served in the war of the Rebellion, the former
as lieutenant. The subject of this sketch, P.M. Newton, was one of
the first to inaugurate the movement for a Union High School in Sandy Creek,
which has proved a success and is now an honor to the town. He is
a Republican in politics, liberal and independent in his theological and
religious views, and since his retirement from active business affairs
has spent most of his spare time in reading books and the best literature
of the day, and enjoys his advanced and riper age most in trying to keep
abreast in living topics and issues of the times.
Chrisman, Austin, was
born in Ellisburg, November 16, 1835, a son of Peter and Olive (Allen)
Chrisman, natives of Herkimer county and of Vermont respectively, who early
came to Ellisburg. The grandfather of our subject was Frederick Chrisman.
Austin was educated in the common schools, and follows farming, owning
a place of eighty acres, which he bought in 1870, though he first came
to the town in 1862. He also worked the Orin R. Earl farm for four
years. In 1850 Mr. Chrisman married Caroline, daughter of Thomas
Exford, a native of St. Lawrence county, and they have these children:
Horace, who married Eva Nellis, of Sandy Creek; and Sophia, wife of A.
Burton Herriman, also of this town. Abram Chrisman, the only brother
of Austin, spent his life in Jefferson county as a farmer, where he died
July 26, 1892. His wife was Frances Woodruff, by whom he had twelve
children. The three sisters of Mr. Chrisman are Emily, wife of Horace
Wood; Sophia, wife of John Boomer; and Celestia, wife of James Ely.
Burnside, William J.,
a farmer of Kinney’s Four Corners, is the owner of a model farm of fifty
acres, on which he raises fruit and grain as well as general farm produce.
His father, Robert, died August 1, 1872, aged sixty-one, and his mother,
Margaret, died March 27, 1889, aged eighty-nine. They had four children,
of whom the oldest, Samuel M., enlisted August 25, 1862, in Company H,
110th N.Y. Vols., and died in hospital at Baltimore, Md., October 25, 1862,
aged twenty-five. The second son, William J., enlisted December 1,
1861, in Company F, 81st N.Y. Vols., and was promoted while in service
to corporal and to sergeant, receiving an honourable discharge at Chaffin’s
farm, Va., December 6, 1864. Mary A., the third child, married Samuel
H. Cook, February 19, 1872. Robert J., the fourth child, enlisted
in Company H, 110th N.Y. Vols., August 25, 1862, was promoted to corporal
and sergeant, and died in hospital at Baton Rouge, La., August 25, 1863,
aged twenty years.
Leanor, Theophilus A.,
was born in Canada in 1861, and came with his father’s family to Williamstown
in 1870. His father, James Leanor, had twelve children: Joseph
in New Washington Territory, Canada; Felix, Oliver, Philip and Matthias,
in Michigan, Louis in Manitoba, Samuel in Ontario; Ann J., Mary E., and
Benjamin at home; and Mary A., in Oswego. He was a lumberman and
spent some time in Redfield, then in Orwell, jobbing for William Breeher,
and in the fall of 1874 moved to Swartville where he was in the employ
of C.W. Swart until 1882; then moved on the east side of the town and built
the present Leanor saw and shingle mill, Theophilus working with him.
The father died in 1888, subject and his brother carrying on the business
for four years, and since then alone. He married Julia A., daughter
of Albert Munay, and has one daughter, Laura, born in January, 1890.
He was appointed postmaster at Swartville in the fall of 1893, the office
being a new one established largely through his efforts.
Pattat, Eugene, was
born in Hastings in 1838, son of James and Madaline (Tackley) Pattat, natives
of Alsace, France, who came to West Monroe in 1833, and settled on a farm.
Their children are Francis, James, Peter, Catharine, Vintoria, Constant,
Eugene, and Joseph. They died aged eighty and eighty-one respectively.
Subject remained at home until 1868, when he purchased his present farm
of 100 acres. In 1875 he married Georgann, daughter of Joseph Gingrass,
natives of Canada, and they have one child, John, born in 1876. They
are members of the Grange. Subject’s brother, Francis, has devoted
his time to farming near Little France. His first wife was Mary Pickeny,
and they had two children, Jenette and Elizabeth; his second wife is Mary
Loren. He is a member of the Grange. In 1888 he removed to
Central Square, where he has since resided. Joseph is in partnership
with Eugene and never was married.
Sullivan, Thomas, was
born in Oneida county February 24, 1845, son of Daniel Sullivan, a native
of Ireland, a carpenter and stone mason by trade. He was an only
son, and came to the United States with his mother at the age of five years,
his father having died when he was a child. He came to Constantia
in 1862. His wife was Ellen Mahana, and their children are Jane,
Thomas, William, Kittie, Daniel, John, Ella, Lydia and Adelbert.
He died in 1869, and his wife in 1892. Subject began life as a millwright,
and in 1865 added to his trade the stone mason trade, thus being equipped
with the practical knowledge of laying the foundation, and constructing
and finishing of buildings. His services are always in demand, and
by his energy and integrity he has provided for himself and family a comfortable
home. In 1877 he married Cora, daughter of Alanson Marshall of Constantia,
and they have three daughters, Leita, Eva and Gladys.
Salisbury, De Grasse,
was born in Jefferson county, August 24, 1846, a son of Lodowick and Eliza
(Cook) Salisbury, the former dying in Jefferson county, aged eighty, and
the latter now living. Their children were Hiram P., Mary, Elizabeth,
Cordelia, Alexander, De Grasse, and Jerome D. Our subject was educated
in Jefferson county and clerked in a store two years. At the age
of seventeen he became a partner with his brother, Hiram, in the grocery
business, and at the age of twenty he opened a boot and shoe store in Theresa
under the firm name of Lehr & Salisbury. In 1880 he opened a
boot and shoe store in Sandy Creek, and here he has since continued.
January 25, 1882, he married Carrie Ellen, daughter of Henry Corse, of
Sandy Creek, and Lydia Howe, his wife. Mr. Corse was a first lieutenant
in the late war, and killed at the battle of Bull Run. Mr. Salisbury
is a Mason.
Salisbury, Moreau J.,
was born in Oswego county August 2, 1840. The Salisburys were among
the early settlers of this section and are counted among the most prominent
families. Ever since the organization of the town the family has
been active in public affairs. His grandfather, Reuben, who was a
native of Vermont, settled in the eastern part of what is now the town
of Sandy Creek in 1822. He was a lieutenant in the war of 1812, his
commission now in the possession of Mr. Salisbury, dated April 10, 1813,
was signed by the colonel of the 30th U.S. Inft. He died here, aged
seventy-nine. Mason, the third son of eleven children born to Reuben
Salisbury, and the father of the subject of the sketch, was born in Vermont
and came here with his parents when twelve years of age. In 1833
he married Miss Mary Olmstead, who was born in Delaware county, N.Y., in
1808. To them were born Sarah M., Violet, Moreau J., Ann, all living.
Mason Salisbury was a miller by occupation, and served the town as justice
of the peace thirty-three years, and up to the time of his death was a
member of Assembly (in 1860-61), and served the U.S. government as enrolling
officer during the late war. He died here in 1877, aged sixty-seven,
and is survived by his widow, who is still active at the age of eighty-five.
Moreau J. Salisbury was educated in the public schools of the town, at
Pulaski Academy and Cazenovia Seminary. He served in Co. G, 24th
Regiment N.Y. Vol. Inf., enlisting in May, 1861; was with the regiment
and participated in all its engagements up to, and including the battle
of Antietam namely, Falmouth, Gainesville Second Bull Run, South Mountain
and Antietam; was wounded at Bull Run, and Antietam, and was discharged
May 29, 1863, with the rank of sergeant. The 24th Regiment was in
the First Army Corps, First Division, and First Brigade, known as the “Iron
Brigade.” January 8, 1867, he married Helen M., daughter of Lucius
and Caroline (Mills) Warriner, to whom were born Fanny C., wife of F.A.
Wood of Woodville, Jefferson county, N.Y., M. Juliet, Mason W. (deceased),
and Lucius A. Mrs. Salisbury, who was an active member of the Congregational
Church died August 2, 1891. Mr. Salisbury was a member of the Board
of Water Commissioners when the waterworks were built in 1891, and has
since served the village in the same capacity. He is also a member
of the G.A.R., and for many years has been quartermaster of A.J. Barney
Post. He has served his town as collector and town clerk. He
has continued the business carried on by his father, and runs the only
grist mill in Sandy Creek village. In 1885 he built a commodious
mill (old mill destroyed by fire), and uses the stone and roller process.
The mill has a capacity of 36,000 pounds of grain and 6,000 pounds of buckwheat
Simpkins, Stephen, was
married when eighteen years old to Jane Turner. He was a minister
of the gospel until nearly the time of his death, which occurred in April,
1894. He was ninety-four years of age and the father of thirteen
children, one of whom, John Simpkins, was born in Albany county September
8, 1831. He married Mary, daughter of Rev. Ard Blakesley of Albion,
Oswego county, December 17, 1854. Ard Blakesley was born in Connecticut
April, 1799, and was seventy-five years old at the time of his death.
His wife, Mary Wickwire, was born in Litchfield, Conn., January 30, 1806;
both removed with their parents when young children to Florence, Oneida
county, then a dense wilderness, suffering all the privations of a frontier
life; after they were married they lived for a time in Florence Hill, then
moved to West Camden, from there to Albion, Oswego county, where Mrs. Blakesley
has lived fifty-six years. Mrs. B. was the mother of twelve children,
three boys who served in the Union army, all of whom are dead; one, William,
fell while attempting to lay a pontoon bridge in front of Petersburg; another
son, James, went on a whaling voyage never to return and was never heard
from; he is supposed to have found a watery grave; and one daughter married
Harvey Clark and died in Michigan two years ago last January; of her twelve
children, four daughters and one son are now living, and at the advanced
age of eighty-nine her health now bids fair to carry her on for some years
yet. Rev. Ard Blakesley died in Albion April 11, 1874. Mr.
and Mrs. John Simpkins had three children: Leonard, Mina and Nettie.
Leonard died at the age of ten years. The family for several generations
back have been residents of South Westerlo, Albany county. Their
occupation has been chiefly farming, which is now the occupation of John
Simpkins, in connection with which he buys and ships to New York city lumber
in logs. During the last year he has paid over $2,000 for freight,
which fact shows that he is carrying on quite an extensive business in
this line. Mr. Simpkins is now sixty-three years of age. His
wife’s mother, who is now eighty-nine years old, is living with her son-in-law,
John Simpkins, and is hale and hearty.
Loren, Francis, was
born in Hastings in July, 1842, son of Dominick Loren, a native of France,
who came to Hastings about 1830, a blacksmith and farmer. His wife
was Anna Buet, and their children were Joseph, Mary, Josephine, Charles,
Francis and Sylvester. Our subject was first a cooper, and in 1861
enlisted in Co. A, 24th N.Y. Inft. He served two years, and was wounded
in the Second Bull Run August 30, and was discharged. His three brothers
were also soldiers and wounded. In 1866 he married Mary, daughter
of Jacob and Francis (Germain) Pierson, natives of France, who came to
United States in 1852. Their children are Josephine T., Augustus
D., Florence E., Kittie E., Minnie F., Charles P., Frederick B., Jennie
I., and Octavia E. Subject is a member of the G.A.R., Isaac Waterbury
Post, No. 418, of Central Square. He and wife are members of the
Central Square Grange.
Lilley, Dexter M., was
born in the town of Richland September 28, 1865. The great-grandfather
of Abner Lilley was one of three brothers that came from Scotland to this
country. He settled in Cambridge, Connecticut, and in 1777, March
8, married Sibble Hale. To them three children were born, Olive,
Phineas and Abner. He was a soldier in the great struggle for liberty
in the Revolutionary war and was killed near its close. Phineas Lilley,
the grandfather, was born at Cambridge, Connecticut, November 29, 1779.
He married Amy Sampson November 1, 1802, and settled in the town of Sandy
Creek. He was a farmer and carpenter, also a member of the Presbyterian
Church. Their children were Cynthia, Abner, Levi, Oren, Dyanthia,
Alfred, Emily, Olive and Mary. He was a soldier in the war of 1812,
and died February 2, 1855, in the town of Richland at the age of eighty-seven
years. Alfred Emery Lilley, the father, was born May 23, 1815, in
the town of Sandy Creek. At the age of sixteen years he became a
member of the Methodist Church and a most faithful and earnest worker for
the cause of Christ. March 9, 1842, he married Lucina Brown, daughter
of Daniel and Sallie Brown, and in 1843 purchased a farm one mile east
of Pulaski where he soon located and passed the remainder of his life.
His wife died March 6, 1855, leaving one son, William W., who was drowned
in Lake Ontario November 29, 1868, at the age of twenty-three years, leaving
a wife and two children, Josephine M. and William W. In 1857, August
27, he married Betsey Maria Severance, daughter of William and Eliza Hadley
Severance. Betsey M. was born February 22, 1830, in the town of Sandy
Creek, and was of English origin. The children were Rosie L., Amy
E., Phineas, Dexter M., Mina A. and Mattie S. The father died September
16, 1883, at the age of sixty-eight years. Rosie L. Lilley married
John A. Frary February 26, 1879, and resides in the town of Richland.
Phineas Lilley married Winnie Filkins January 21, 1881, and resides at
Oswego. He is a carpenter and sawyer by trade. Mina A. Lilley
married George Stark September 11, 1889, and resides at Pulaski.
Dexter, Amy and Mattie reside at the old home east of Pulaski with the
mother, Betsey M. Lilley. Amy is an elocutionist, Mattie S. a teacher
of public school and Dexter is a stationary engineer, carpenter and farmer,
caring for the old home and its surroundings where the memory of past pleasures
still linger and cherished feet have trod.
King, Don A., traces
his ancestry to the reign of Queen Elizabeth, when John King, father of
the original settler in this county was secretary to that Queen.
A son named Edward was a classmate of John Milton. He was later drowned
in the Irish Sea and commemorated by Milton in the poem of “Lycidas.”
John, the ancestor of the family in this country, settled in North Hampton,
Mass., in 1645 from England. Don A., son of Henry and Betsey (Allen)
King, was born in Ellisburg, Jefferson county March 27, 1820. His
mother was a daughter of Joseph Allen, esq., the first settler at Bear
Creek (now Pierrepont Manor). His father, Henry King, came from Southampton,
Mass., in 1806. Our subject graduated with honors from Union College
in 1844 in the same class with Prof. Joy of Columbia College, Gov. A. H.
Rice, William H. H. Moore, James C. Duane, U.S.A., also Gens. Frederick
and Howard Townsend of Albany. After graduating he studied law with
a Mr. Blake at Cold Springs opposite West Point, and finished with Hon.
A. Z. McCarty of Pulaski, in 1847, and September 22 of that year was admitted
to the bar. In 1848 he married Mary, daughter of Thomas C. Baker
of Pulaski, by whom he has four children, Ella M., widow of the late Rev.
J. H. Wright; Katherine D., wife of J. L. Hutchens; Charles B. and Sarah
F. Charles B. is a graduate of Union College, and now resides at
Peoria, Ill. In 1848 he formed a co-partnership with Mr. McCarty
which existed until 1855, in which year he was appointed a director of
Pulaski Bank, which office he filled until its dissolution. Upon
the organization of R. L. Ingersoll & Co.’s Bank he became a partner,
and was attorney for the bank until 1876. Mr. King has been greatly
interested in educational matters and was one of the incorporators of the
Pulaski Academy. besides contributing largely toward its prosperity.
Kehoe, William, was
born in the city of Oswego June 23, 1839. His parents moved into
Scriba and he naturally became a farmer. He has branched out, however,
into the meat business and in 1883 started a refrigerator in Oswego for
the purpose of jobbing beef and provisions consigned from Armour &
Co. of Chicago. He is a member of the firm of Mollison & Dowdle,
and in connection with them they have opened branch houses in Waterloo,
Ogdensburg, Malone and Tupper Lake. In 1876 Mr. Kehoe married Ellen
Lewis of Jefferson county and they have three children, Norman D., Lena
and Hattie. Mr. Kehoe’s father was William Kehoe, a native of Ireland
who came to America in 1829. His mother was Elizabeth Burns.
Kenyon, Jason, was born
in Steuben county July, 1829, son of Clark Kenyon , born in Rhode Island
in September, 1796, one of five children of Joseph Kenyon of Rhode Island,
who was born in 1773. In early life Clark was a contractor, justice
of peace for years, and sheriff of the county. Later he came to Onondaga
county, where he engaged as public work contractor. His later life
was spent in farming. His wife was Elizabeth Perry, born in Rhode
Island in 1797, a cousin of Commodore Perry, and their children were Sally,
Nancy, Harriet, Jane, Maria, Perry, Jason and Theresa. At the age
of twenty-one subject engaged in public work, since which time has devoted
most of his time to farming. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. E, 110th
Regiment, served six months, discharged on account of disability.
In 1851 he came to Hastings, and the following year married Angeline, daughter
of William Benson of Parish. Their children were Cora M., Judson
J., Nettie J. (deceased), and Edwin C., Herbie S., Jessie A., now living.
Mr. Kenyon is a member of Hastings Grange, also member of Isaac Waterbury
Post 418 G.A.R., served as assessor eleven years, and also collector.
His wife died in April, 1894, and he is now retired, living with his children.
Klock, Romain, was born
in Parish April 29,1848, son of Daniel and Efau Klock. Mr. Klock’s
father was among the earliest settlers in Parish and cleared most of his
own farm. Subject was educated in Parish then went to work on his
father’s farm, which he continued until the death of his parents, when
he bought the interest of the other heirs and became sole owner.
This farm consists of 100 acres, which Mr. Klock keeps in a superior state
of cultivation. He married in 1870 Sarah Philbrick, and has three
children, Arthur, Ernest and Leona.
Kenyon, Edwin R., was
born in Mexico on the farm where he has always resided. His grandfather,
Louis, was a native of Westmoreland county, and came to Oswego county with
his family about 1820. He died in Mexico in 1884, aged seventy-five.
Joseph, a son of Louis, and father of Edwin R., was a native of Mexico,
and lived and died there. His wife, Sarah Hotchkiss, was a native
of Vermont. Subject married in 1856 Ellen Andrews, and they have
one child, Luke, a resident of Palermo.
Ingersoll, William O.,
of Scotch ancestry, was born in Richland, December 7, 1848, a son of Benjamin
Ingersoll, who was born in Richland, where he died aged sixty-three years.
He married Hannah Bull of Jefferson county, who died in this town, aged
fifty-four years. Their children were Alzina, Allula (deceased),
Lymon, Isaac, Margaret, John B. and William O. The father was a farmer,
fisherman and lumberman, and was the first child born in Richland.
William was educated in the common schools, and his first business was
boating. He enlisted in the 184th N.Y. Vols., and served in the army
of the James, stationed at City Point, Va. He was sent north June
25, 1865, and discharged at Syracuse on July 4th of that year. He
is a G.A.R. man. His wife was Florence S. Fitch, daughter of Ephraim
and Mary Ann (Bishop) Fitch of Oswego county, the grandfather having been
a soldier in the French army. They have one child, Jessie, born January
12, 1874, who is a graduate of music and a teacher of the same.
Jacobson, Henry S.,
was born February 15, 1841, in Albion, Oswego county, a son of Abraham
and Nancy Jacobson. He was educated in Albion, then went to work
for A. J. Gardner, continuing until he volunteered in the late Civil war,
when he went to the front with the 10th N.Y. Cavalry. He enlisted
in October, 1861, and re-enlisted December 21, 1863, serving until the
close of the war, and was under fire in thirty-two different engagements.
After the close of the war, he returned to work for Mr. Gardner.
In 1890 he bought his farm, which he now conducts. He married in
1866 Emeline Haight by whom he had nine children: Warren, Jesse,
Harriet, Adelbert, Abigail, Oscar, Calvin, Andrew, and Edward.
Johnson, George P., M.D.,
is a native of Oswego county, born August 9, 1844, educated in Falley Seminary,
Fulton, N.Y., studied medicine with his brother, Dr. Stephen P. Johnson,
and graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1867. He practiced
in the city of Oswego one year, and since 1868 has engaged in the practice
of his profession at Mexico, N.Y. He was physician and surgeon at
the County Poor House and Insane Asylum eighteen years, from January, 1872,
pension examining surgeon fourteen years from 1869, and postmaster four
years from February, 1883. He is a member of the County and State
Medical Societies, and was president of Oswego County Medical Society in
1883. For the past fifteen years he has been a member of the Board
of Trustees of the Mexico Military Academy. He has one child, Fannie
W. His wife, whom he married June 5, 1883, was Sarah A. Webb, a native
of Mexico, who died September 10, 1893.
Ingerson, L.M., was
born in Evans Mills, Jefferson county, N.Y., in 1843, son of Alexander
Ingerson. Mr. Ingerson enlisted at Sackett’s Harbor, Jefferson county,
in 1861, in Co. A, 94th N.Y. Vols., and served until 1863, when he was
discharged. In August, 1863, he re-enlisted at Sackett’s Harbor,
Jefferson county, N.Y., in Co. L, 20th N.Y. Vol. Cavalry, as quartermaster-sergeant
of said company in August, 1863. In July 1865, was promoted to regimental
quartermaster-sergeant and served until August, 1865, when the regiment
was discharged by orders from the War Department. After the war he
settled in the town of Williamstown, Oswego Co., N.Y., where he was engaged
as foreman in a lumber plant owned by Ashbel Orton for fifteen years.
In the spring of 1880 he and his wife moved into the village of Williamstown,
and then bought the grist mill which he has since conducted. He also
has a farm in connection with his mill which he works. In 1888 he
purchased a large steam saw mill in the town of Redfield that he manages
himself. He has always been looked upon as one of the leading men
of the town, being supervisor in 1885. He married Martha, daughter
of A. Orton, of said town.
Irish, William, was
born in Parish, May 8, 1843, son of John and Betsey Irish. John Irish
came from Schoharie county, about fifty years ago. He was one of
the oldest settlers in Parish. Subject of sketch was educated in
Parish, and then went into the cooper business at which he remained about
fifteen years, then bought the farm adjoining the one on which he was born,
and where he now lives, consisting of 100 acres under a fine state of cultivation,
ranking among the best farms in the township. He married Mary Ann
Cross in 1873.
Herriman, H.N., a native
of Sandy Creek, was born October 17, 1842, a son of Thomas J. and Sybil
(Sampson) Herriman, natives of Vermont who came to Oswego county when young.
Thomas J. settled in Pulaski when nineteen years of age, at first in a
hotel, and then took a farm in the woods and followed farming. He
and wife spent their last days with subject. He died in December,
1873, and his wife December 30, 1891. The grandfather of subject,
Jonathan Herriman, came from England prior to the Revolutionary war and
was a soldier in that war. Mr. Herriman now has in his possession
a sword which his grandfather carried in the Revolutionary war. Jonathan
Herriman died in 1839. Our subject was reared on a farm and has always
followed farming. He was for twenty years a resident of the village
of Sandy Creek, but in 1890 bought the farm where he now resides and carries
on general farming. He married, in 1865, Martha, daughter of William
and Catherine Sprague of Sandy Creek. Mr. Sprague was a farmer and
owned the farm which our subject bought at the death of Mr. Sprague in
Hutt, Earl S., was born
in Williamstown in 1869, and is the son of Austin and grandson of Peter
Hutt, who came to Williamstown in 1835. In 1840 he settled on the
farm where Earl now lives, and was a lumberman and farmer. Earl S.
married Frances, daughter of William Waters, and has two sons, William
L. and Arlo A.
Humez, Antoine, was
born in Aniche, France, March 8, 1851, is a son of Emanuel Humez, born
in Somain, France, one of five sons and one daughter of Alexander Humez
who was a shoemaker by trade. Emanuel, father of our subject, was
a glass worker, came to the United States in August, 1879, direct to Berkshire,
Mass., and was the only one of his family who came to the United States.
His wife was Louise Mallet, born in Montmedy, France, and their children
are Antoine, Louis, Aimable, Alexander, Leonie, Aglae and Ernest.
The sons are all glass blowers by occupation. Subject learned the
glass blower’s trade when seventeen. In 1880 he came to Massachusetts
and two years later to Cleveland, where he has since been engaged in the
glass works as blower. In June, 1880, in Lanesboro, Mass., he married
Laure, daughter of Gustave Andris of Cleveland, a native of Belgium, and
they have one child, Eugene, born in 1888. Mr. Humez is an energetic
upright man, and is a member of the town board. He is a member of
the Masonic and Odd Fellows fraternities, also of the Glass Workers’ Union.
His father died in October, 1888, and his mother resides in Cleveland with
her son, Ernest.
Howe, Henry L., was
born in this county July 6, 1831, a grandson of Peter, born in Massachusetts
but came to this county in 1812 with his family and died here aged eighty-five.
The father of our subject, Moses, was born in Massachusetts but came with
the family to this county, where he died aged eighty-one. He married
Lucy Munger, who died aged seventy-six. Henry L. was educated in
Fulton and taught eight terms, after which he read law and at the age of
twenty-seven was admitted to the bar at Syracuse (1860) and afterward to
the Supreme Court of the United States. He began the practice of
law in Sandy Creek, continuing until 1878, when he came to Oswego city
and engaged in the practice of his profession. In 1881 he left the
general practice and engaged with Mr. Kingsford, looking after the legal
department of all the latter’s interests, as well as the Oswego Starch
Factory. Mr. Howe has conducted some cases of great importance, and
which have been carried to the Court of Appeals and has had several cases
in the Supreme Court of the United States. He is a Mason, a Knight
Templar, of the 32d Degree Scottish Rite, and Ninety Degree Egyptian Rite.
He was a member of the convention organizing the Republican party.
He was elected supervisor from Sandy Creek and has been clerk of the board
twice; and was elected in 1867 surrogate. In 1852 he married Augusta
A. Hastings of this county, daughter of Count De Gras Hastings and Lovina
Conklin. They have one child, Franklin H., born August 5, 1854, who
is married and has two children. He resides in Oswego and is a telegraph
Hopper, Jasper, is a
son of George C. (named after Gov. George Clinton), an old resident of
Onondaga county and a grandson of Jasper Hopper, who was born in New York
city June 10, 1770. The family are of Dutch descent, two brothers
Andreas and Mathias having emigrated from Holland to New York in 1620.
Andreas settled in New Jersey and Mathias on Manhattan Island. Andrew
Hopper, the father of Jasper, was a son of Lieutenant John Hopper, known
in the early history of the country as an officer in General Harmer’s campaign
against the Indians. Jasper, grandfather of our subject, entered
public life at the age of eighteen, when he received the appointment of
clerk in the office of the secretary of state. In 1791 he was made
deputy secretary, and held that position until 1802, when he was appointed
by Governor George Clinton, clerk of Onondaga county, which office he held
for fifteen years. He was clerk of the Assembly for two terms.
He aided in procuring a charter for Onondaga Academy, famous as an institution
of learning in early days, and was one of the first to endow that institution.
He married Charlotte Newcomb of Dutchess county in 1800. He died
June 30, 1848, at his residence at Onondaga Valley. Jasper Hopper,
subject of this sketch, was born in 1855. He was educated at Onondaga
Academy, which had been promoted and endowed by his grandfather.
He read law with Charles G. Baldwin, esq., of Syracuse, and then traveled
extensively for several years. He is now a resident of Hannibal Centre,
and is one of the justices of the peace of the town of Hannibal.
In 1882 he married Rosamond F. Moore, a grand-daughter of the late Thomas
A. Moore, a well known physician of Manlius, Onondaga county. Mr.
and Mrs. Hopper have two sons, Ernest J. and Eugene N.
Halsey, Charles H.,
of New England ancestry, was born in Oswego county January 26, 1842, a
grandson of George, who died here aged eighty; and a son of George, who
died aged seventy-two. The latter married Celia Rickard, who survives
him. Their children were Charles H., Gamaliel Halsey and Almira,
deceased. Charles H. was educated in the common schools, and his
first business was running threshing machine, which however, caused the
loss of his right arm. He then began trucking, and later bought a
dairy farm, which he still continues. He also had the mail route
between Port Ontario and Pulaski. March 16, 1864, he married Charlotte,
daughter of William and Eliza (Dolley) Andrews, William having been a soldier
in the British army. Their children are Gertrude, who married Lewis
Wood, and Grace S., who married William Drake, and has three children.
Our subject enlisted in the 1st N.Y. Light Artillery, Battery G, in 1861,
and served in the army of the Potomac till the close of the war.
He was in twenty-seven engagements, and received a medal for his service
at Gettysburg. Mrs. Halsey is a member of the Women’s Relief Corps.
Harvey, Nelson, was
born in Herkimer county in 1839, son of William Harvey, native of the same
place, one of nine children of Elijah Harvey, who was a native of Vermont.
William was a farmer who came to Hastings in 1857, and died later in Syracuse.
His wife was Mary Baum, and their children were Nelson, Warren, Eliza,
Alphena, Mary and Clara. Subject worked on the farm with his father
until twenty-two years of age, then began for himself on a portion of the
homestead, later added to it, and now possesses 150 acres. In 1858
he married Annis, daughter of Charles Beardsley of Hastings, and their
children are: Wm. L., Frank, Clarence D., and Frederick S.
Hart, Delos, was born
in Onondaga county in 1852, son of Attison Hart of the same county, who
is one of three sons of Elery and Anna Hart. Attison was a farmer
and cooper, came to Hastings in 1868, and settled on the farm now owned
by his son Delos. His wife is Catharine Saddler, and they had two
children, Delos and Judson, who died young. Our subject has always
remained with his parents on the farm, and is now supporting them in their
declining years. In 1876 he married Addie, daughter of William and
Emeline (Chaffee) Smith of Hastings, who came there in 1838. Mrs.
Hart is one of five children. Since 1879 Mr. Hart has been interested
in the jewelry business at his home in connection with his farm.
The Hart family is of
English origin. The old town of Farmington, Conn., so rich in early
history, is the mother of the Hart family – a family very numerous, honorable
and highly distinguished for piety, industry and patriotism. Daniel
Webster Hart, the subject of our sketch, was born in the town of Cicero,
Onondaga county, N.Y., on the 12th day of August, 1842. He was the
son of Stephen and Polly White Hart, and the grandson of Ezra and Polly
Owen Hart. Mr. Hart lived in Cicero, his native town, until sixteen
years of age, at which time he moved with his father to Palermo, Oswego
county, N.Y. He was the only son in a family of five children.
During his boyhood until the breaking out of the Civil war he assisted
his father in the work upon the farm. In the year 1862 he enlisted
in the 110th N.Y. Inft., under the command of D.C. Littlejohn, where he
served three years. At the close of the war he returned home, again
resuming his former occupation of farming. Mr. Hart was married June
16, 1866, to Miss Mary C. Flint, daughter of Alex and Asenath Flint of
Palermo, Oswego County, N.Y. The family consists of two sons, L.A.
Hart born October 30, 1867, and S.L. Hart born September 26, 1875.
The oldest son was married January 25, 1893, to Miss Sarah J. Sherman.
In his religious ideas Mr. Hart is Methodist and has taken a prominent
part for some time as class leader in the church of his choice. In
politics he is a Republican of the true type. Mr. Hart served his
town as supervisor; he has also held other important offices in the town
of which he is a resident. Mr. Hart is a thorough farmer, a good
citizen and enjoys the esteem of all who know him.
Lloyd, Samuel, was born
in Oneida county in 1819, and when ten years of age came to Albion with
his parents, Peter and Nancy (Owens) Lloyd, natives of Wales. The
former died in Albion in 1850, aged seventy-seven, and the latter in Wisconsin
in 1871, aged eighty-six. Mr. Lloyd is a farmer and capitalist, has
been trustee several terms, and married in 1852 Mrs. Mable (Waters) Lloyd.
Hall, I.S., was born
in Scriba August 7, 1834, and has followed farming all his life except
seven years which he spent in boating. In 1863 he married Mary J.
Benson, and they have two children, Frances E., now Mrs. Albert Gilbert
and Daniel J. Mr. Hall’s father was Shibney Hall, and his mother
Maria (Maxon) Hall. His grandfather was Benjamin Hall. I.S.
Hall has one grandchild, Maxon E. Gilbert.
Hibbard, Seymour N.,
was born in Jefferson county June 17, 1845, a grandson of Nathaniel of
Vermont, who died in this county aged eight-six; and a son of Elisha A.,
who is now living aged eighty. The latter married Cynthia B. Harris
of Jefferson county, who is now living aged seventy-five, a daughter of
Colonel C. Harris who was in the war of 1812. Their children are
Warren, Martha, Seymour N., Charles, Lucy and one who died in infancy,
Warren and Lucy being now deceased. The grandfather, Hibbard, was
second lieutenant in the war of 1812. Our subject was educated in
Oswego county, and in 1864 enlisted in the 184th N.Y. Vols., and served
in the army of the James, receiving his discharge at Syracuse at the close
of the war, after which he began milling at Texas. For eight years
he was connected with the Oswego City poorhouse. He now resides with
his parents. He is a member of the G.A.R. and is a Granger.
March 1, 1866, he married Olive C. Meyers, whose father was Adam Meyers
of Ontario county. She died in 1868. They had one child, Frederick
L., born March 22, 1867, who died in 1868.
Hubbard, Minor W., was
born October 17, 1848, in Albion, son of Heman A. and Concurrence
L. Hubbard. Heman Hubbard was born in Jefferson county and was one
of the early settlers. Subject was educated in Albion, then started
a saw mill in Dugway, which he ran six years, then started a dairy farm
in Richland and operated it six years. He then went to Kansas and
worked at railroading four years, when he returned to Oswego county and
worked as engineer one year. He then bought a place at Union Square
and resumed farming. He returned to Parish in 1890 and bought the
farm which he at present conducts. Mr. Hubbard serves a general milk
route, and does a large business in addition to conducting his farm.
He married Emma Towsley, and has two children, Addie and Nellie.
Hammond, Martin C.,
of New England ancestry, was born January 14, 1851, a grandson of Nathaniel,
born in New York, who died in this county. The father, David P.,
was born in Washington, D.C., and died in this county aged sixty-eight
years. He married Sarah Stacey, born in this county, who died in
Syracuse aged fifty-six years. Their children were Ellen A., Edwin
H., Louisa A., George W., and Martin C., all deceased except David and
Martin. David was a soldier in the war. Our subject was educated
in the common schools, and was a brakeman on the N.Y., O.& W.R.R.,
and also followed boating for twenty-five years. He also owns a farm
in the town of New Haven, and in 1894 he bought the Brook Trout House in
Richland, of which he is proprietor. He was constable in New Haven
sixteen consecutive years, and turnkey in the Oswego county jail three
times. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. April 16, 1874, he married
Florence A., daughter of M.S. and Mary A. Coon of New Haven, Oswego county.
Mr. and Mrs. Hammond have one daughter, Flora Belle, born August 10, 1876.
Dowdle, James, was born
in the city of Oswego December 1, 1845, a son of Walter and Ann Dornon
Dowdle of Ireland, who came to Oswego in 1841. His father died April
18, 1876, aged sixty years; and his mother August 22, 1892, aged sixty-eight.
Their children were John, James, Peter, Edward, William J. and Frank, all
living. James was educated in the public schools of Oswego, and first
worked for A.G. Cook in the coal business, later clerked for James Doyle
in the boot and shoe business, and then was clerk in the commission house
of Ames & Sloan. In 1866 he started in the insurance business
with Gilbert Mollison and O.H. Hastings. The latter retiring, the
business has been conducted up to date by Mollison and Dowdle, who are
also engaged in the provision and coal business. James Dowdle is
at present president of the Oswego Gas Light Co. He was alderman
in 1873, mayor in 1884, and was one of the organizers of the street railway.
September 18, 1873, he married Mary B. Lynch, daughter of Bart Lynch; they
have had two children, Bart, born November 27, 1874, and Charles, born
May 26, 1877. Charles died March 22, 1891.
House, Warren E., was
born in the town of Parish, and in 1876 went to Jamaica and engaged in
the fruit trade there nine years, shipping to New York, Philadelphia and
Boston. In 1886 he returned to Oswego county and married the same
year Carrie A. Haller, by whom he has one daughter, Ruth. David,
the father, was born in Otsego county May 17, 1815, and the mother, Sophia
Pierce, was born in Herkimer county July 3, 1822. They were married
June 28, 1837, and reside with their son Warren E. Their children
were Alonzo D., born October 2, 1838 (deceased); Cornelius, born November
22, 1839 (deceased); Julia A., born November 25, 1840; Mary, born January
7, 1842; Malissa, born February 14, 1844 (deceased); Joseph, born September
6, 1845 (deceased); Warren E., born June 1, 1847; Norman, born June 2,
1848 (deceased); and Alice, born October 18, 1849.
Gardiner, Nelson A.,
of English ancestry, was born in Providence, Ontario, February 3, 1855,
a grandson of George Gardiner of England, who died in Ontario aged eighty-four.
His father, Thomas, was born in England and came to this country and married
Olive Carl of Ontario. He died aged forty-five years. Their
children were George H., Altheir E., Amanda C., Richard C., William T.,
Nelson A., Jonathan B., all living. The father was a potash manufacturer,
and was killed by falling into one of his own vats. Our subject was
educated at Fairfield, Ont., and came to the United States in 1872 where
he has been actively engaged in the lumber trade. In 1890 he started
the first lumber yard in the town of Richland, which he still conducts.
July 6, 1876, he married Emma T., daughter of Chauncey T. and Emeline Fuller,
and their children are Olive E., Ray F., and Martha B. Olive B. died
May 31, 1894, universally mourned.
Finley, Ellen, daughter
of Patrick Gillerlain, and youngest of a family of twelve, was born in
Glasgow, Scotland, and came to America with her father, who was a gardener,
when she was about twelve years old. Thomas Finley was born in County
Down, Ireland, in 1824, and has for nearly fifty years been a resident
of Oswego county. Both Mr. and Mrs. Finley were denied educational
advantages, but their many estimable qualities have won the high esteem
of a large circle of friends. They were married February 8, 1850,
and have five children, now residing in remote quarters of the globe, but
no death has yet occurred in this family circle. The children are
George, born in 1851, a master mechanic of Syracuse; Henry born in 1853,
engaged in boating; Mary, born in 1855, wife of Edwin Von Derbeck, who
was born in Berlin, the son of a German nobleman, and for twenty-one years
a resident of Moscow, Russia; Elizabeth, wife of John Foster, Sandusky,
O.; and John, a machinist at Providence, R.I. Mrs Finley is a devoted
member of the M.E. Church of Fulton. She has taught herself since
maturity to write, that she may correspond with her scattered children,
and in 1881 undertook the arduous journey to Moscow, where she spent several
months with her elder daughter, Mrs. Von Derbeck.
Barlow, Smith H., of
Scotch ancestry, was born in Massachusetts, October 1, 1832, a son of Smith
H., born in Massachusetts, who died in Litchfield, Conn., aged forty-four,
and Angeline Loring, who died in Connecticut, aged forty-five. Their
children were Susan H., Hannah L., Smith H., Walter A., Victoria and Angeline,
the latter two deceased. Smith H. was educated in Connecticut and
at Albany, and in the spring of 1855 came to Sandy Creek and followed his
trade of carpenter and joiner and taught school winters until 1862, and
then built with a partner a sash and door factory, which he operated until
the spring of 1870, and then sold his interest and followed contracting
until 1878. He then started a sash and door factory, which he still
continues, it being the leading industry of the kind in the section; it
is located on Little Sandy Creek, which affords its water power.
The output consists of doors, sash, blinds, window and door frames, and
the planing and dressing of lumber, mouldings, cornices, etc. The
firm also does contracting and building and employs from six to ten men.
Mr. Barlow is now president of the School Board, and has served as justice
of the peace and trustee and president of the village of Lacona.
September 26, 1860, he married Mrs. Martha Pruyn Ferguson, who died April
22, 1874. October 26, 1875, he married Deborah A. Chapin. The
subject has one adopted child, Walter A. Barlow, who married Carrie Scofield
of Westchester county.
Bennett, James G., was
born in Newark, N.J., in 1835. He started life in the minstrel business,
from which he drifted into the circus business, being at one time connected
with Van Amberg’s great menagerie. His first hotel experience was
gained in the Mansion House, Baltimore, Md., afterwards being connected
with the Giles European Hotel in Baltimore. He was next associated
with Mr. M.T. Gooderson in the Park House, Junior, in City Hall Square,
New York City. In 1859 came to Oswego and worked at the old Revenue
House and the Munger House. In 1860 he went to the front with the
Eighty-first Regiment. After six months of army life he was at the
Simpson House at Washington, D.C. Again he came back to Oswego and
took the Revenue House as proprietor. He afterwards gave up the Revenue
House and took the New Welland House at Oswego. Then he left Oswego
for a short time and came back and leased the Revenue House again.
The house was soon sold to the R.W. & O.RR. Company, and Mr. Bennett
leased the Doolittle House. He was in the Doolittle House for about
a year and then returned to the Revenue House (now called the Lake Shore
Hotel). In 1881 he leased the Woodruff House, at Watertown, and from
1881 to 1885 conducted both houses successfully. In 1886 Mr. Bennett
went to California and was engaged in the real estate business for a time
in Los Angeles. He then bought an interest in the Hotel Nadeau at
that place. He returned to Oswego in 1892 and leased the Doolittle
House, of which he is the proprietor at present. The capacity of
the house is for 400, with a dining room seating 200. The house has
an open court, every room being well ventilated. It has sample and
reading rooms and the famous Deep Rock spring is under the hotel, the water
being free to guests. It is the largest hotel in Northern New York.
was born in this county November 14, 1855, a son of Henry S., born in Saratoga
county, who died in Oswego, aged sixty-nine, and of Dorcas A. Peckham,
born in Connecticut, who died in Oswego aged seventy-five. Frederic
was educated first in Oswego, then attended Phillips Academy at Andover,
Mass., then returned to Oswego and entered the factory of H.S. Condé
& Son, the firm being composed of the father, son, and eldest brother,
and on the death of the father the brother and mother continued the business.
Frederic then went to New Mexico, where he remained ten years.
He returned to Oswego in January, 1891, and organized and started the manufacturing
plant of which he is sole proprietor. This plant is located on the
east bank of the river, being a substantial four-story structure, 80 by
100 feet, and equipped with the latest machinery obtainable, water power
being used. They employ 200 operatives constantly, their goods being
consigned to New York commission dealers, whence they find their way to
all parts of the State and country. Mr. Condé is a man of
strict integrity and great business ability and energy.
Wallace, Joseph A.,
of Scotch ancestry, was born in Oswego, March 24, 1861, a son of Joseph,
born in Aberdeen, Scotland, who died in Oswego, aged fifty-six. The
latter married Martha Griffith, a native of Ireland, who survives him.
Joseph A. was educated in the public schools, and assisted his father,
who was the first bill poster of Oswego, having begun in 1853, and the
son has continued the business ever since his father’s death, in 1876.
He controls the entire licensed city bill posting business, owning bill
boards and having leases covering all desirable vacant places in town.
He has also been engaged in various other occupations, among them being
the roofing business, and the tobacco and cigar trade. He was also
manager of the Academy of Music of this city until the closing of that
house, in December, 1892, and upon the erection of the Richardson Theatre
in 1894, accepted the management of that palace of play houses, and still
continues in that position. He is a member of the Masonic Fraternity.
Parmelee, Seymour, long
a prominent builder of Fulton, where he has lived for over sixty years,
was born at Volney Centre, in 1832. William Parmelee, his father
moved to Fulton about 1833, and in 1835 built and operated the first machine
shop in the place. He was one of the pillars of the M.E. Church.
He was very active in the choir, and was the first to introduce instrumental
music, to the great annoyance of some of the more conservative members.
He died in 1844. Seymour is very highly esteemed in Fulton and wherever
known as a citizen of worth and character. In the Masonic fraternity
he has reached the topmost round. He has passed through the chair
in both lodge and chapter, which are all the Masonic bodies in Fulton.
He holds various positions in town and village affairs. He was married
in 1856 to C. Minerva Cummings, of Palermo, who died after a little more
than two years of married life. The present Mrs. Parmelee was Lucy
M. Cummings, a sister of the former wife.
Wilson, Francis M.,
was born in Lee, Berkshire county, Mass., in 1825, and was the son of John
and Delia Wilson. When Francis was but a child his mother died, after
which he came to live with his sister at Palermo. When a young man
subject went on a whaling voyage
and was in California at the beginning of the gold excitement. He
subsequently made two other voyages and became first mate of the vessel.
He next bought a boat and afterward followed the canal for about twenty-five
years, then he sold out and for a while lived on a farm in Granby.
About two years later he went again on the canal, but later located at
Fulton, and has since been identified with local business interests.
He has been in the coal business since 1881. He has been village
president, street commissioner, foreman of the State scow, and division
superintendent of the canal. He married Flavilla Church, by whom
he had three children, Ida, who married W.J. Watson; Carrie, wife of Frank
Blanchard; and Francis M., jr., deceased.
Wart Family, The.- It
was not until the spring of 1812 that the forests of Boylston rang with
the woodman’s axe, it being the last town in the county to be settled except
Albion, which was occupied the same year. The first pioneers of Boylston
were John Wart, of Cherry Valley, and Michael Sweetman, of Montgomery county,
who, unknown to each other, came by the inevitable ox sled conveyance of
that era about the same time. Mr. Wart, however, arrived two days
the earlier, and was consequently the very first settler of Boylston.
Wart and Sweetman both located in the northwestern part of the present
town of Boylston, which was then a part of Richland. It was more
particularly designated as survey township No. 6 of the Boylston tract,
and on the survey maps it was also called Campania. Mr. Sweetman
built his cabin where the present residence of Norman Wart stands, and
Mr. Wart established himself half a mile further east. It was two
miles to another house in Lorraine, and a like distance west into Ellisburg;
to the south nearly ten miles of forest lay between the two hardy pioneers
and the settlement of Orwell; while on the east the oaks and hemlocks stretched
in an unbroken mass to the distant valley of the Black River. In
1815 there was a heavy immigration consisting of four families, namely:
Peter Wells, Martin Lillie, John F. Dean and Asa B. Copeland. They
settled where North Boylston church (M.P.) now stands. Morris Wart,
a younger brother of John, came in 1816, living with the latter a while
and then locating in 1818 in the town of Lorraine. In 1830 he located
in the northwest corner of Boylsoton, adding to his purchase at various
times until he had 300 acres. His wife was Phoebe Hall, of Royal
Grant, Oneida county, by whom he had two sons and one daughter: Frances
Ann, James P. and O. Norman. The mother died in 1838, and Morris
married Betsey Bargey, by whom he had three sons and one daughter: Phebe
M., Peter V., Alfred B. and Jeremiah. She died in 1881. Mr.
Wart served a number of years as assessor and was also poormaster.
He was a member of the Mannsville Baptist church. He died in 1882.
Three of his children, Frances, James P. and Alfred are in Michigan.
O. Norman Wart was born July 18, 1835 in the town of Boylston. He
married Elsie Ann, daughter of Stephen Draper, born August 22, 1840, in
the town of Orwell, and has two children: Clarence H., born May 11,
1873; and Clara V., born May 21, 1876, both of whom are teaching school.
He has a farm of 100 acres devoted to general farming, and has served as
assessor three years. He and family are members of the Mannsville
Baptist church. It is related that about 1850, this part being settled
mostly by Warts, there were in the district school at one time twenty-five
children of that name.
Morrow, Nelson, was
born in Ontario, December 15, 1860, and came to Oswego when three years
of age. His father was Robert T., and his maternal grandfather was
a soldier in Canada at the Fenian uprising. Nelson was educated in
the common schools and at Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pa., graduating
in the class of 1883. He learned the machinist’s trade, and later
worked for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, but on the death of his father
returned to Oswego and assumed the management of a lumber, coal and insurance
business. June 3, 1885, he married Laura J., daughter of Benjamin
Doolittle, of Oswego, and they have two children: Laura, born March 3,
1892, died January 26, 1893; and Nelson Doolittle, born February 9, 1893.
Mr. Morrow is manager of the deep Rock Spring, located in Oswego on the
bank of the Oswego River, and which is drawn from a depth of 115 feet.
The capacity of the well has equalled 4,500 gallons per day. These
waters are shipped to all parts of the United States and Canada, being
shipped to dealers, who bottle and supply the local trade. It is
shipped also to Great Britain and Cuba, the annual output being 4,000 barrels.
Eminent physicians declare these waters to be equal to any mineral spring
Haviland, Norman H., M.D.,
was born in West Hoosick, Rensselaer county, October 6, 1844, and is of
the ninth generation from William Haviland, a pioneer of Newport, R.I.,
in 1667, another descendant of whom was Dr. Ebenezer Haviland, a prominent
surgeon of the Revolution. The present doctor is the youngest of
the four sons of Garrison and Aurilla (Chapman) Haviland. His childhood
was spent upon his father’s farm of 360 acres, at West Hoosick, and here
he was educated at the district school. He afterward continued his
studies at the Wallace private school at Hoosick Falls and then completed
his preliminary education at the Folsome school finishing there in the
spring of 1866. He spent the next two years upon his father’s farm,
of which he assumed the whole management. During 1868 he began the
study of medicine with Dr. Carpenter, of Troy, and later studied with Dr.
E.J. March, of Hastings. He then took two courses of lectures at
the Eclectic Medical College of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, from which
institution he received the degree of M.D., March 14, 1872. Entering
the office of Dr. I.B. Earl, of Syracuse, he practiced during the summer
of 1872 and in October entered the Homeopathic Hospital College, of Cleveland,
now known as the Cleveland University of Medicine and Surgery, from which
he graduated in 1873. In 1872 he married Nettie B., daughter of Thomas
Newman, of Granby Center, a Methodist minister of the New York Conference.
He settled in Spencertown, N.Y., where he soon had an extensive practice
and where his son, Clarence Floyd, was born. The latter is at present
a medical student at Syracuse University. In the spring of 1876 Dr.
Haviland removed to Fulton, where he has since resided and practiced.
In 1880 his second son, Frank Ross, was born, who is at present attending
school at Fulton Academy and already shows considerable ability as an artist
and also as an athlete. Dr. Haviland became a member of the Oswego
County Medical Society in 1876 and a permanent member of the New York State
Medical Society in 1880. Upon July 2, 1891, occurred the death of
Mrs. Haviland at their home in Fulton. In the fall of 1893, he married
Emma Newton Chaffee, a musician of rare ability and considerable note.
Ames, Hon. Leonard,
of English ancestry, was born in Mexico, February 8, 1818, a grandson of
Cheeny, born in England, who died in Connecticut, and a son of Leonard
and Minerva (Peck) Ames, all now deceased. The children of Leonard
Ames and wife were Orson, Emeline,
Dorothy, Harlow, George, Cheeny, Edwin, Harriet, Henry (deceased), Leonard,
Minerva, Henry 2d, and Milton. The father was in the war of 1812.
Leonard was educated at Mexico, and followed farming till the age of twenty-four.
He came to Oswego in 1844, and with others opened a store, handling plaster
and lime. Later with others he opened a pork packing plant in Delphi,
Ind. (in 1846), and next returned to Oswego and with others bought the
Ontario Mills. In 1864 he started the Second National Bank, and also
bought with others the Ames Iron Works. Mr. Ames was elected to the
Assembly in 1857, was supervisor and United States assessor under Lincoln,
and has taken a prominent part in politics. He married Charlotte,
daughter of Nathan Tanner, of New Haven, Oswego county, and they had these
children: Leonard, William (deceased), Cornelia (deceased).
His wife died, and he married second Anna M., daughter of William Allen,
of Connecticut, and they have had three children: Allen, Fanny, and
Alfred H. Leonard married, and is in business with his father.
Fanny married L.N. Dewing, of Hartford, Conn.
Bennett, Charles T.,
late editor and publisher of the Patriot and Gazette, was born in Westport,
Conn., in 1841, and five years later his parents removed to Peekskill,
N.Y. During his boyhood at this place and while attending Peekskill
Academy, his strong bent for the business was evinced by his voluntary
apprenticeship to the office of the Peekskill Republican. In 1855
his family removed to Lyons, where he soon became an attaché of
Lyons Republican, under William Tinsley, and soon after becoming an expert
compositor and mastering the minutia of the trade, he went to Clyde, and
in partnership with a friend named Daly established the Clyde Commercial,
his maiden venture in journalism. In 1862 he first became associated
with the Patriot as foreman, three years later taking the position of city
editor on the Oswego Advertiser. In 1865 he returned to Fulton and
purchased the Patriot and Gazette, since which time he has been not alone
a journalist and editor, but a leader and molder of public opinion.
An active member of the M.E. church, an earnest and effective advocate
of the temperance cause, an ardent Republican, devoted to the advancement
of all that was best in its platform and principles, Mr. Bennett was a
personal type of ideal citizenship and an example worthy of emulation.
In 1875 he was appointed postmaster of Fulton, holding that position at
the time of his death, August 14, 1877, aged thirty-six. His wife,
who survives him, was Mary L., daughter of Joshua Richards, an evangelist
of local fame. She has one son, Charles R., born November 8, 1871,
inheriting and already exhibiting many of the attributes which made his
father a man of note, but at present wedded to the activities of a commercial
Curtis, Charles L.,
was born in Philadelphia, Jefferson county, February 22, 1853, son of Reuben
S. and Eunice (Danforth) Curtis. The family was originally from Massachusetts.
The father was born in Saratoga county. He followed the mill
business, and died at the age of seventy-three years. He was the
father of nine children, Frederick, Frank, Ella M., Rev. E. Danforth, Charles
L., Henrietta, Frederick, Anna H., and Henry A. The life of Charles
has been spent mostly in the mercantile business. He was educated
in the Watertown select schools. After this he was weigher clerk
in the custom house at New York. He then conducted a grocery and
undertaking business; this he soon sold out. He then spent one year
in Clinton, retiring to Sand Bank in 1882. He again engaged in business
and later sold out. He then spent one year in Watertown, then retired
to Sand Bank and engaged in business, the firm being Costello & Co.
He is now in Sand Bank in partnership with Mr. Steel. He married
Anna, daughter of Dr. A.M. Van Ostram, of Jefferson county. They
have four children, Louzon D., Carrie H., Dexter, and Kate. Mr. Curtis
is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Pulaski Lodge No. 415.
Summerville, F.A., was
born in Granby, April 29, 1868. His father, the late William H.,
was the oldest of six children of Edward and Lovina Summerville.
The family is of Irish nativity. William was a man of considerable
note in this town, where he was born in 1843, and where all of his life
was spent. His mother was Lovina, daughter of William Draper, esq.,
one of the first settlers in this locality. William H. Summerville
married in 1863 Sarah M. Fowler of Lysander, who survives him. Their
children are Mrs. Addie E. Wells, George, Fred A., Mary L., Ella L.Williams,
Satie, Willie J., and Lyman L. Of the M.E. church of West Granby
William Summerville was for many years a trustee, and of all good works
an advocate and supporter. At the outbreak of the war he enlisted
in Company I, 193d N.Y. Vols., serving one year. He served as commissioner
of highways two years, 1888 and 1889. His death occurred July 29,
1893, and his memory will long be cherished by his numerous descendants
as well as by the community at large.
Scully, C.J., was born
in the fifth ward of Oswego where he now resides. His parents were
Irish, born in County Tipperary, Ireland; they came to this country in
1845, and settled in the fourth ward in 1852, where they were burned out
at the time of the big fire, when they moved to the third (now the fifth)
ward, where they since have lived. C.J. Scully passed through the
senior school and three years in the unclassified. At the age of
fifteen he left school and began work in the Kingsford box factory, where
he remained five years (the only place where he ever worked). In
May, 1876, he engaged in the liquor business, which he has followed to
the present time. In 1881 he was elected alderman of the fifth ward
and held the office two years. He is a Democrat, and was several
times made delegate to the State convention. For four years he was
connected with his brother Edward in the plumbing business. In 1882
he took as a partner Wm. Sweeney, and the firm of Scully & Sweeney
has been doing business at 206 West First street as wholesale liquor dealers,
and have been successful. Mr. Scully is connected with several social
societies; he is a member of St. John church, county president of the A.O.H.,
member of the C.M.B.A., and one of the founders of the Ontario Liberal
League and Protective Association. He was born December 25, 1855
(Christmas), and in recognition of his natal day he was named Christopher.
On January 21, 1891 (the day David B. Hill was made senator), he married
Anna Lynn, daughter of the late Francis and Margaret Lynn. They have
two children, Frances M., born November 21, 1892, and Margaret J., born
July 15, 1894. Mr. Scully is the second youngest of five boys and
one girl. His father died April 6, 1891, and his mother is still
living. His father’s name was James Scully and his mother’s Nora
Harding, Gilbert N.,
was born in Sandy Creek, January 4, 1843, son of Truman C. and Dolly (Tuttle)
Harding, both born and died in Sandy Creek. The grandfather, Solomon
S., died in Sandy Creek at the age of forty-two years. They are of
English descent. The father was a farmer, merchant, and a captain
in the State militia. The children were Solomon S., Gilbert N., James
B. and Frances E. Solomon S. was a soldier in the Civil war.
Gilbert was educated in the common schools, Mexico Academy, and Eastman’s
Commercial College, of Rochester. He first entered the employ of
the R.W. & O.R.R. at Sandy Creek as a clerk. He then clerked
in a store until 1861, when he took an interest in the store with J.S.
Robins & Co., which continued until 1874. Mr. Harding then engaged
in the insurance business until 1881, when he bought half interest in the
Salisbury flour mill. In 1886 he bought out the whole concern and
now runs it alone. He has held the offices of president and trustee
of the village of Lacona, supervisor, assessor and postmaster. He
is at present postmaster at Lacona, the distributing office for Greenboro,
Boylston, North Boylston, and Swartville. In October, 1870, he married
Kittie E., daughter of Henry and Marie (Hanchett) Wright, of Sandy Creek.
They have one child, Tad W., born in 1871, who is in the employment of
Gilmour, Rev. James, M.A.,
late owner and principal of Falley Seminary for twelve years, was born
in Paisley, Scotland, December 18, 1822, where he was reared, and came
to this country in May, 1845. After preparing at Ogdensburgh Academy
he entered Union College, from which he graduated with high honors in June,
1850. He then traveled abroad for over a year. On his return
he spent three years in Princeton Theological Seminary. He first
assumed a pastoral charge as a Presbyterian clergyman, but the insidious
pulmonary difficulty which finally cut short his usefulness compelled him
to relinquish preaching. Various educational and business vicissitudes
marked his career, until he purchased the Falley Seminary at Fulton in
1869. September 5, 1855, he married Mary J. Veeder, who survives
him and by whom he had seven children, four of whom are now living.
Falley Seminary is now closed perhaps forever as an educational institution,
but the memory of its builders of brain and lives will never perish.
Its massive wings still domicile Mr. Gilmour’s family, but the halls remain
intact, and the various apparatus is in place. As an institution
it has gone into history indelibly.
Jennings, Joseph, is
a well known farmer and veteran, born in the town of Wooster, Otsego county,
in May, 1830. He is a son of Calvin Jennings, born 1797 in Otsego
county, who is a son of Isaac Jennings, who was born in England and was
a Revolutionary soldier. Calvin, the father, was a farmer and came
to the town of Parish in May, 1837. He married Abigail, daughter
of Joshua Irish, of Otsego county, who was born in 1800. Their children
were Isaac, Joatham, Stephen, Joseph, Jonathan, and Mary Jane, all living
but Isaac. At the age of fifteen the subject learned the cooper’s
trade, which he followed until 1864, when he enlisted in Company K, 184th
N.Y. Regiment, and served until the close of the war. In 1868 he
removed to Boylston, and from that time until 1881 was engaged in the manufacture
of butter tubs. He then bought the farm of fifty-five acres on which
he now resides. In 1849 he married Lucretia, daughter of Jesse Williams,
of Parish. Their children are Sally A. (deceased), Mary A., wife
of Zimri Brownell, and Clarissa A. (deceased), and Joseph Calvin, who is
married and has six children, Joatham A., Mary J., Sally A., Clarissa,
Charles, and Flora. Mr. Jennings served as constable continuously
from 1879 to 1893. His son now holds that office. He is a member
of the Barney Post, G.A.R., of Sandy Creek.
Langan, John T., M.D.,
was born in Lowell, Mass., December 9, 1855. His grandfather, Captain
Albert Langan, was born and died in England. He was an officer in
the English army. His father, John M. Langan, was born in Bolton,
England, and died in Lowell, Mass., aged thirty-three. The latter
married Anna M. Doherty, a native of Ireland, who survives; he was educated
at the military academy and came to this country in the fifties and served
as a soldier on the Union side through the late war. John T. was
educated in Lowell and graduated when eighteen years old. He then
went to Old Mexico with a surveying party, remaining three years, then
went to Nicaragua, Central America, in the same business, where he stayed
one year. Returning to Lowell, he read medicine with Dr. F.C. Plunkett,
then went to Europe, remaining two years. Returning, he graduated
from the medical department of the University of Vermont and Bellevue Hospital
Medical College of New York city, and began practice in Lowell, Mass.
He came to Oswego in 1889, and began regular practice, but in 1891 went
again to Europe, visiting the principal hospitals and medical colleges
in all civilized countries. Dr. Langan makes a specialty of surgery,
through has a regular practice. He is one of the staff of physicians
of the Oswego Hospital. In 1889 he married Catherine L. Conway, of
Lawrence, Mass., daughter of Thomas and Sarah (McGugin) Conway, and they
have one child, Paul C., born October 27, 1892.
Keeney, J. Harvey, M.D.,
was born in the village of Keeney Settlement, Cortland county, N.Y., August
10, 1859. His grandparents were among the first to settle in that
section, coming there in an early day from Connecticut. Dr. Keeney
was educated in Hamilton, N. Y., after which time he read medicine with
Dr. Hutchins of Batavia, and matriculated at the Homeopathic Medical College
in New York, from which institution he graduated with honor in 1883.
He practiced medicine in Batavia for two years, coming to Oswego in 1885,
where he has since remained. He is president of the Oswego County
Homeopathic Medical Society; he is also a member of the State Society and
the American Institute of Homeopathy.
Place, C.C., of Fulton,
whose grandfather came from Rhode Island at an early date, is the eldest
son of the late B.B. Place of Oswego. The latter was a citizen of
much note, holding important official positions, such as justice of the
peace and railroad commissioner. His business was the manufacture
of brick on the old “No. 9 Road.” He died in 1874, leaving four sons
and one daughter. Chauncey, the eldest, first entered the office
of Jenkins, Hoover & Co., a milling firm at Oswego, and was afterward
bookkeeper in the National Marine Bank. Closing up in 1879
the affairs of the bank under Mr. Kingsford’s vice-presidency, he then
became associated with Thompson Kingsford, managing the latter’s foundry
and machine works for several years. In 1886 Mr. Place engaged in
the manufacture of railway car springs at Oswego, removing to Fulton in
1892, where his ability and energy have made themselves felt in business
circles. He remains associated with the Place Manufacturing Company
of Oswego, a business established by himself in 1889 for the production
of lathe chucks, pipe wrenches, and machine tools. In 1875 he married
Caroline, daughter of Dr. Alfred Rice, of Hannibal.
Petrie, William, is
a native of Redfield and was born in 1851. His father is James Petrie,
an honoured resident of the town since 1846, where he came immediately
on his arrival in this country from the Orkney Islands, where he was born
in 1819. His wife was Jessie Guthrie, of Kirkwell, Scotland.
He, in company with a brother, cleared a farm of 120 acres, which was afterward
traded for other property, when Mr. Petrie purchased the 260 acre farm
on which William now lives. He purchased the Burkitt farm of 200
acres in 1872. He reared a family of seven children, all of whom
are living except Walton, who died in 1872 at the age of twenty-two.
Five married daughters live in or close to the village: Mrs. G.G.
Simons, Mrs. Charles Crow, Mrs. George S. Thompson, Mrs. John Wilson, and
Mrs. J.R. Warren. James Petrie is at present living with his daughter,
Mrs. Crow, his wife having died in 1893. William married on Christmas,
1874, Afsa A., daughter of George Sexton, of Lee, and in the following
spring went to live on the old Petrie farm of 260 acres. He has a
dairy of forty-five cows, and is known as one of the successful farmers
in his locality. His children are Madge E., Ellen G., Blanche B.,
James, Sexton, Donald K., Eliza A., McKenzie W., and Elsie L. He
served one term as collector.
Barthel, Frank, was
born in Altenstatt, State of Alsace, then belonging to France, January
4, 1823. His father, Sebastine Barthel, was the father of five children:
Martin, Christina, Mary, Henry and Frank. The latter being the youngest
child, remained at home till seventeen years of age. In the spring
of 1838 he apprenticed himself to the shoemaker’s trade, serving three
years. January 1, 1843, he was drafted as a soldier by the French
government, and served under Louis Philippe, king of France, and then under
President Caveneau and Louis Napoleon until December 1, 1850, when he received
his discharge. January 28, 1851, he was married to Elizabeth Baumann,
a native of the same place and only daughter of Michael Baumann, whose
wife died when Elizabeth was but two years old. On May 15, 1853,
he sailed for this country, leaving his wife and two children behind, making
the voyage in twenty-eight days. He landed in New York city and remained
there two years working at his trade. In June, 1855, he came to Camden,
Oneida county, and worked there till June, 1857, when he came to Sand Bank
and worked for James McGarvey. In the spring of 1858 Mr. McGarvey
sold out to him, and he then started in business for himself in the basement
of the Riker House, where the Costello block stands at present. May
15, 1859, he moved to Pineville, then a thriving little village, and started
a boot and shoe store. In June of the same year his wife and two
children came to this country, and he then purchased a house and built
a shop where he has ever since lived. They have had nine children
of whom only three are living: Michael of Henderson, Jefferson county;
Mrs. Mary E. Foreman of Ellisburg, Jefferson county; and Charles T., who
lives at home, and at present is conducting the farm. He is a Democrat,
and has been a resident of the town of Albion for thirty-six years.
Cogswell, Joseph, V.S.
– In May, 1635, Sir John Cogswell, his wife, Elizabeth, and their three
sons and five daughters, embarked from England to America and settled in
Ipswich, Mass. From this distinguished family sprang a numerous posterity,
some of whom have risen to eminence. Joseph Cogswell is of the ninth
generation, and was born in Orwell in March, 1857, the son of Charles W.,
also a native of Orwell, born in September, 1831, whose father was George
W., born in South Coventry, Conn., in 1795, a soldier in the war of 1812,
and a pioneer in the town of Orwell. To his memory, his oldest
son, Dr. H. D. Cogswell, of San Francisco, Cal., erected in that town a
public drinking fountain and monument, at an expense of several thousand
dollars. Charles W. was a glazier and painter by trade, and was for
many years constable and tax collector. His wife was Catherine A.
Plantz, born in Herkimer county, and they had four children who grew to
maturity, Joseph, Charles W., Sarah B., and Henry L. Joseph received
his education in Orwell and prepared himself for the profession of veterinary
surgeon, in which profession he has distinguished himself. In the
fall of 1894 he was successful in the treatment of a malignant disease
prevalent among cattle, know as anthrax fever, on which he furnished a
treatise to the State Agricultural Department, which was extensively published
by that body. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., Springbrook Lodge in
Richland, the Knights of Maccabees, and the Empire State Fraternity.
In October, 1880, he wedded Helen R., daughter of Jacob E. Loatwell, of
Redfield. She was born in Blackhawk, Blackhawk county, Iowa.
Their children are Ida H., Henry D., Charles J., Catherine R. and Samuel
Cooper, Peter W., was
born in Sterling, Cayuga county, in 1831, and settled in Hannibal in 1858.
He is the son of John Cooper, whose father, John, senior, was one of the
first settlers in Sterling, and the oldest son of the latter was a colonel
and led a volunteer regiment in defense of Oswego at the time it was invaded
by the British. John, the father of Peter W., married Fanny, daughter
of Joseph Bunnell, who was also one of the first settlers of Sterling.
Of the six children born to them, three sons survive: Joseph, who
has always been an invalid; Alvah, who is a lawyer and a prominent business
man of Osage, Kan., a graduate of the Ann Arbor University of Michigan;
he has served one term in the Kansas Legislature and also several years
as police justice of Osage. Peter W. Cooper enlisted in Co. F, 110th
N.Y. Vols. and served in that regiment until it was discharged on the 28th
of August, 1865. The 110th had but small opportunity to distinguish
itself in battle, but it was marched and countermarched over a large portion
of the State of Louisiana, suffering untold hardships and privations in
that malarious climate, thereby decimating its ranks, some of the time
faster than on the battlefield. It, however participated in the siege
of Port Hudson and was there at its surrender. Mr. Cooper was when
he enlisted one of the most rugged men in the town of Hannibal, but he
came home at the close of the war full of malaria, and never was able to
regain his former health; still, he counted the cost when he enlisted,
and has the satisfaction of the recollection that he always tried to do
his duty as a soldier.
Case, George Marcus,
was a native of Fulton, born in a dwelling which stood opposite the bank
of which Mr. Case is now president, August 29, 1827, son of Jonathan and
Betsey (Ferguson) Case. Jonathan Case is remembered as having been
one of Volney’s foremost men, a merchant and contractor and a man deeply
interested in local enterprises. George M. was brought up to work
in his father’s store, and in 1850 associated in trade with his brother,
S. F. Case. After ten years he sold out and turned his attention
to contracting work on the canals and elsewhere, under both State and general
governments; and for nearly two years was extensively engaged in large
operations in various parts of the country, building and superintending
canals – government work, carrying on dredging enterprises in important
streams and harbors, and with his brother built the Phoenix dam.
One of his partnerships was in the firm of Case, Van Wagenen & Co.,
removing rock in the Mississippi River at Rock Island, Ill. In 1869
S. F. Case died, upon which our subject was made cashier of the Citizens’
National Bank, and soon after was elected to succeed his brother in that
institution. This office he still holds, and his duties have been
of such a character that he was compelled to close out his former interests
and devote himself to the financial affairs of the bank; still he has twice
represented the county in the Assembly, and as a delegate to the memorable
National Convention in 1880, was one of Grant’s most firm supporters and
a member of the historic 306. September 11, 1850, he married Vandelia
M., daughter of Henry French of Fulton, and they have three children:
Eva D., wife of Dr. Charles R. Lee; Solon F., cashier of the Citizens’
Bank, and Edwin F., who died aged eight years.
Coon, S. Mortimer, was
born in Hastings, Oswego county, April 18, 1845. His ancestors were
among the early settlers of Rhode Island and the Hudson River Valley.
He was brought up on a farm, attending district schools until he was fifteen.
He attended the Mexico Academy several terms, beginning in 1861.
He prepared for college at Falley Seminary, Fulton, N.Y. He graduated
from the University of Rochester, classical course, in 1870 and from Hamilton
College Law School in 1873. He practiced law since 1874. Previous
to that time he was a teacher for several years. He was city attorney
for the city of Oswego from 1879 to 1882, and was a member of the State
Legislature for the two years 1888 and 1889, declining a re-election.
Getman, Crawford, was
the grandson of George Getman, one of four brothers whose homes were in
Fulton, then Montgomery county, town of Ephratah. The family is of
German origin, the Getmans of this county being, so far as is known, descendants
of these four brothers. George was the father of six sons, one of
whom, Benjamin, was born in Ephratah. He lived to be ninety years
of age, dying in 1879. His wife, Mary Van Antwerp, was Holland Dutch
and also a resident of Montgomery county. She died in 1883 at the
age of eighty-eight. Benjamin and Mary Getman were the parents of
twelve children: Eliza, Washington, Jane, Chauncey, Delia, Rachael,
Oliver, Kate, William, Asa, Crawford and Mary. These children
all grew to maturity and are now living, with the exception of William,
Eliza and Jane. So long as the parents lived, all of the children
met at the old home on July 5th, to celebrate the wedding anniversary of
father and mother. Crawford, the youngest son, now sixty-one years
of age, received a common school education, worked on the farm when a boy,
clerked in a country store for three years, and until 1857 clerked in the
Agricultural Bank of Herkimer until the bank closed. He came to Cleveland
in 1858, where he kept books for the Union Glass Company, remaining in
this position until September 1, 1863, when the firm of Caswell & Company
was formed, the members of the firm being William Foster, Forrest Farmer,
H. J. Caswell and Crawford Getman. Mr. Getman’s life for the remaining
thirty-one years is the history of the glass manufacturing industry of
Oswego county, which will be found elsewhere in this volume. Mr.
Getman has never married. His sister, Kate, lives with him, caring
for his home.
Green, Norman, was born
in Richfield, May 13, 1807, settled in Hannibal in 1824, and bought 114
acres in the woods, which he cleared and lived there forty-eight years,
building a stone house, three barns and other buildings on it. He
married in 1837 Clarissa Waters of Otsego county, who died aged fifty-one
years, leaving eight children: Nathan T., a farmer of Hannibal; Marion
Armstrong, of Topeka, Kan.; Ogden N., of Lincoln, Kan., who enlisted in
1862 Co. F, 110th Regiment, and served during the war; Mrs. Ada J. Van
Auken, of Hannibal; Cassius M., a lawyer of Green, Iowa: he is a
graduate of the Normal School at Oswego; Mrs. Addie Cox, of Hannibal; Benjamin
and Eva of Hannibal. Norman married Lydia Harriet Petit, who died,
leaving one son, Walter V., a bookkeeper for the Northern Steamship Company,
Buffalo. He married second Mrs. Susan Palmer, who died, and he married
his present wife, Mrs. Adelia Henderson. Subject held the office
of commissioner of highways. Walter V. Green was educated at Chaffee’s
Shorthand School, Oswego. Silvis Green, father of Norman, was a soldier
in the Revolution, and cousin of General Greene.
Gardner, De Witt, was
born in Cazenovia, Madison county, March 28, 1819, son of Benjamin and
Polly (Allen) Gardner. He lived on his father’s farm until sixteen,
when he came to Fulton where two of his sisters were then living, Mrs.
Frederick Seymour, and Amanda, a teacher in the Fulton schools. He
found employment in the general store of Almon Tucker about two years.
He was next employed by Lewis Falley, for about two years, after which
he returned to Mr. Tucker. Two years later Mr. Tucker and Mr. Gardner
became partners in business in the store. In 1841 Mr. Gardner withdrew
and began business alone, and was a successful merchant of Fulton about
twelve or thirteen years. During the latter part of this period he
had as partners L. C. Seymour and E. J. Carrington, who had been his former
clerks. In 1855, with others, Mr. Gardner organized the Oswego River
Bank, Mr. Wolcott being its president, while subject was cashier.
After ten years of successful business as a State bank, the institution
was reorganized as a national bank, Mr. Gardner still retaining the cashiership
and practically directing its affairs. This position he held for twenty
years and was then elected its president, in which capacity he still serves.
Among his many other business interests we may mention that in 1865 Mr.
Gardner and Mr. Seymour established a merchant flouring mill, which is
now the St. Louis Mills, and we may further note the fact that Mr. Gardner
has been an extensive builder in Fulton, and some of the largest structures,
both public and mercantile, stand as monuments to his enterprise.
His first wife was Elizabeth Simmons, by whom he had two children:
Frances, wife of Henry Silkman, and Abbot. His second wife was Jane
Townsend, and they had one child, Charles, who died in 1891 aged forty
years. Mr. Gardner married third Sarah Smith, by whom he has one
daughter, Alice May.
Gilbert, Hiram and Andrus,
removed from Oneida county about 1830, and were pioneers in the locality
named in their honor – Gilbertsville, and later Gilbert’s Mills.
They took up a large tract of land bordering on Six Mile Creek and proceeded
at once to build a dam and grist mill, which Hiram, being a practical miller
and millwright, operated in his own name for more than fifty years.
A few years later he built a saw mill, which exists at the present time.
Andrus built a store and ashery, which he successfully operated, the former
being still in operation. They soon drew about them numerous settlers
with thrifty habits, laid out and built up an enterprising village, with
schools and churches. Each was the father of nine children, four
boys and five girls, nearly all of whom were married in their native town
and have made good citizens. The children of Andrus moved into Western
States many years ago. The father died at Niagara Falls in 1890,
at the ripe age of ninety-two years. The sons of Hiram settled in
Fulton, and together have built and operated four of the seven flouring
mills. Henry H. and Horace N., in 1855, first built the mill on the
site of the Quartus Rust tool factory, now known as the Gage mill.
A few years later H. N., in company with John J. Wolcott, built on the
site of E. R. Redhead’s paper mill; with this mill he was connected during
the war. Mr. Gilbert volunteered in the service, but was not accepted.
His next enterprise was rebuilding the burned Telegraph mill, which, in
company with Thomas R. Wright, he operated for about ten years; after which
he traveled in pursuit of pleasure and information. Returning to Fulton,
he introduced cable power in the town, and assisted his younger brothers
in building the Oswego Mills, now owned by True Brothers. After several
years he sold out and has since devoted his time to travel and literary
pursuits. Mr. Gilbert has also built many fine dwellings in and about
Fulton since his retirement from active business. He married first,
in 1857, Sarah Parker, and they had one child, Edith, now Mrs. King, of
Washington, D. C. He married second, September 3, 1884, Caroline
Drew, J. Graeme, leading
bookseller and stationer of Fulton, also dealing largely in wall paper
and fancy goods, located his business on Oneida street in 1890 and already
commands a large patronage. He was born in 1858 at Jacksonville,
Fla., where his late father, Columbus Drew, was a man of note, having been
a confederate commissioner during the war, and State comptroller from 1876
to 1880. J. Graeme in 1877 left the University of the South (Sewanee,
Tenn.) on account of his mother’s death, and turned his attention to pharmacy,
taking a position as prescription clerk with L’Engle & Dell, at Jacksonville,
Fla., where he remained until 1883. He then became associated with
two brothers in his present line of business, and in the store first opened
by his father in 1852. Soon after becoming a resident of Fulton,
Mr. Drew allied himself with one of the first families of the village,
by marriage to Grace Howe.
Rice, Arvin, son of
Arvin and Lydia (Dada) Rice, was born March 23, 1845. The mother
of our subject was formerly the wife of Amos C. Cowles. By her marriage
with Mr. Rice on child, Arvin, Jr., was born. He was brought up on
a farm and educated at Falley Seminary, read law with Hon. G. W. Cowles
of Clyde, N. Y., and was admitted to the bar in 1868. Mr. Rice at
once began practice in the office of H. C. Howe of Fulton with whom he
afterward formed a partnership which continued until Mr. Howe’s death in
1889. In September following, the law firm of Piper & Rice was
formed. In 1868 he married Libbie Giddings, who died in 1869, and
in 1873 he married Fannie S. Howe, by whom he had four children.
Mr. Rice is an earnest member of the Presbyterian Church and for eighteen
years has been one of its elders. He has held the offices of town
clerk, justice of the peace and supervisor.
Gurley, George, the
son of Artemas and Martha Shepard Gurley, of Mansfield, Conn., was born
in Mansfield, April 6, 1809, in the homestead yet standing, the birthplace
of his father. His grandfather, Jacob B. Gurley, was third in descent
from William Gurley, who was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1665 and came
to America in 1679. Jacob B. married, May 19, 1776, Hannah Brigham
of Coventry, Conn. Of their ten children, Artemas, the eldest, was
a native of Mansfield. March 29, 1792, he married Sarah, daughter
of Rev. Dr. Steel, the first settled minister of Tolland, Conn. There
were born four children: Lavina, Sarah, Abigail and Uriah B. By a
second marriage with Mrs. Martha Shepard Hovey of Plainfield, Conn., there
were born four children: Artemas S., George, Charles A. and Mary,
the first and last dying in infancy. Artemas Gurley was a farmer
and much engaged in public business. He was several times elected
to the Legislature, and in 1818 to the convention that framed the constitution
annulling the taxation of all for the support of any one religious sect.
He was subsequently appointed judge of Windham county for two terms of
three years each. He died in 1822 in his fifty-third year, leaving
a wife (who died in 1847), four daughters and three sons; no death occurred
among the children for fifty-two years. The second son, the subject
of this sketch, was educated in the common and high schools of Mansfield
and at an early age was apprenticed to learn the cabinet making trade at
Windam Center, Conn. In 1832 he came to Pulaski and engaged in the
manufacture of furniture, doing a steady, lucrative business and devoted
his time to administering estates and attending to personal matters.
In 1835 he married Melissa, daughter of Ward Dimock of Coventry, Conn.;
one child, Martha, was born, who still survives. In 1841 he married
Sophia A., daughter of Roderick and Anna Brigham Dimock of Coventry; their
children are Mary R., Charles D., Anna B., Henry S., Roderick A., all of
whom survive but one, Henry S., who died in 1879. In 1873 he married
Mrs. Rebecca Frary of Pulaski; she died in 1891. Mr. Gurley has been
deeply interested in educational affairs; he was one of the founders of
Pulaski Academy, treasurer at the time of its erection, and was an active
member of the board of trustees for twenty consecutive years, a portion
of this time acting as president of the board. He has held many offices
of trust in the community in which he has resided for over sixty-five years,
and filled them to the entire satisfaction of those who reposed confidence
in him – honest in purpose, true to right and just convictions, inflexible
in honor, wide reaching in intelligence. He now resides in the house
he built and moved into fifty-eight years ago, carries the infirmities
of age well, and still devotes his time to the good of his surroundings
enjoying the greater part of it in reading. His name is one of the
household words of the vicinity in which he has so long resided, and will
live with the truest and noblest who have won its chief honors.
Rudd, David, was born
in Boylston, May 7, 1845, son of Rosel, who was born in Middletown, Vt.,
in 1809. Rosel A. Rudd was the eldest of five sons and three daughters
of Samuel Rudd of Connecticut and was a farmer. He came to Boylston
in 1844 where he settled on a farm and was for many years overseer of the
poor. He married Adelia, daughter of Ethni Fillmore, Vermont, by
whom he had seven children, Ellen M., Hiram D., Wm. H. H., George W., Eli
J., and Chester F. When David was twenty-one years old he began to
work on a farm and has continued that vocation up to the present.
In 1879 he purchased the farm he now lives on. He makes a specialty
of potato raising. In March, 1868, he married Nettie M. Larmouth
of Boylston, by whom he had two children, Mary E., deceased, and Leonard
J. In 1884, Mr. Rudd married Mrs. Mary (Frederick) Fry, of Worth,
Jefferson county. They are both members of the M. P. Church, of which
Mr. Rudd has been one of the trustees since 1884.
Wells, Eugene. – One
of the first farms cleared in the town of Boylston was the one now owned
by Eugene Wells at North Boylston. It was cleared by Mr. Wells’s
grandfather, a Welshman, who, with his wife Sally, came to Boylston in
1820. To him was born five children. He died in 1854 aged sixty-nine
years. Of three sons, Luke, father of Eugene, married Delira Case
of Williamstown, a cousin of J. I. Case, who went west and located in Racine,
Wis., and became one of the largest manufacturers of the West. To
Luke was born seven children. When Eugene was eight years old his
father moved to Munnsville, Jefferson county, and later to Watertown.
Eugene, at the age of twenty-one, with his father returned to North Boylston
and purchased the old farm. Eugene married Sally Huffstater of North
Boylston (the Huffstaters having settled in Boylston when it was a new
country) and has three children, Edward, Arthur and Ada. Later Eugene
became the sole owner of the old farm, his father going to North Freedom,
Wis., where he died in 1888. Eugene built one of the largest and
best cheese factories, with store and dwelling, at North Boylston in 1888,
in which he now resides. A second factory with store will be built
at Smartville on the place Mr. Wells lately purchased from the Dyk Brothers,
on which he now has a blacksmith shop and dwelling house. Mr. Wells
is recognized as one of the best farmers in the town. He was elected
justice of the peace in 1892.
Brando, M. H. – His
father, James H. Brando, born in Greene county, the adventures of whose
youthful days included a runaway voyage on a whaling ship, married Nancy
Jocelyn, who was of Herkimer county birth and by whom he had four children,
of whom Marlon is the eldest. James Brando was a master mechanic,
a genial gentleman, and a fearless advocate of the abolition of slavery.
This belief and practice led him into personal and friendly relations with
the great leaders of abolition of those days. His home was then at
Parish, where he was engaged in the practice of the blacksmithing trade,
and at which place Marlon was born August 14, 1843. Marlon was educated
at the public schools of Rome, and owing to the early death of his father
and to the reduced state of the family finances, entered when a boy the
grocery of A. Ethridge & Co. at Rome, where he remained two years.
In 1859, soon after his father’s death, he walked from Parish to Fulton
in search of employment, which he soon found in the general store of Birdseye
& French. In 1862 he was acting as deputy postmaster at Fulton,
and since that time his versatile abilities have made an assured success
of his commercial life. At the closing of the E. J. Carrington store
at Fulton, of which he had been head clerk for a period of ten years, he
subsequently represented the firm of Ostrander, Loomis & Co. of Syracuse
for thirteen years on the road. During the years he was intrusted
with the New England representation of a New York tea house, his home was
at Providence, R. I., returning to Fulton in 1891. He is now in the
tea business, associated with George B. Kester & Co. of New York, Philadelphia
and Chicago, and domiciled in a charming home on the park near Falley Seminary.
His daughter, Belle, is his only child. Her mother, Mary E. Taylor,
died in 1868. In 1872 Mr. Brando married Ellen, daughter of Ziba
Kendall, who settled in Volney at a period when the ox-team was the prevailing
mode of locomotion, and who founded a family escutcheon highly prized by
Woodard, Charles B.,
was born in Boylston in 1837, his father’s family having moved there the
year before from Ellisburg, Jefferson county, N.Y. His father, John
Woodard, originally came from Vermont. He married Phebe Brown, also
of Vermont. They had one daughter, who died in infancy, and seven
sons, three of whom served in the Civil war. Orson J., now
living in Mannsville, Jefferson county, served as lieutenant in the 147th
N.Y. Vols.; Ezra, now residing in Buena Vista, Col., served in the 110th
N.Y. Heavy Artillery; Otis, now living in Webster City, Ia.; and William
in Saguacha, Col.; Melvin in Sandy Creek, N.Y.; Orestus at Pierrepont Manor,
N.Y., who died December 10, 1888. Charles B. enlisted in the 147th
Regiment in August, 1862, and served until the close of the war.
He received a serious injury and was transferred to the Invalid Corps and
did garrison duty afterward. He married Harriet J., daughter of Barnum
Ostrum, in 1859. Their children were Edgar J., Fred B., and Naomi.
Edgar married Jennie, daughter of J. A. Oderkirk; they reside in Ellisburg,
and have one son, Merton. Fred B.
died in 1878. Naomi married
Orla, son of James Tilton, October 3, 1894, and now lives at her father’s
home in Boylston.
Simons, George G., was
a son of Paul G., born in Florence in 1805, who was a son of Abner, who
came from Connecticut. In 1849 Paul came to Redfield and settled
on a farm in the north part of the town. He married Jane Sweet, of
Camden. Her daughter, Frances, by a former marriage married Jacob
Shorey and went to Iowa. Paul spent his life on a farm and working
at the trade of cooper. He died in 1878, and his widow afterward
married Sylvester Williams of Oneida county. George G. was born in
1846, attended the district school, and learned the cooper’s trade.
He enlisted in Company E, 189th Regiment, in September, 1864. His
first experience at the front was at City Point. He was at Petersburg
and Appomattox, in the Weldon Railroad raid, and finally in the Grand Review
at Washington. He then came home and worked at his trade of cooper,
making cheese boxes, and worked in the tannery. In 1869 he went into
the mercantile business in a small way, Burkitt & Simons being the
style of the firm. This was changed to Sexton & Simons, and in
1876 Mr. Simons was alone. His success in business has been marked.
He has a large store, deals in land, carries on a dairy farm of 487 acres,
and is one of the leading men of the town. He was once collector
of the town, and postmaster under Harrison. He married Eliza J.,
daughter of J. James Petrie, and has three children: Walton G., Andrew
G., and Hallie J.
Bacon, Dr. Charles J.,
one of Camden’s leading physicians, was born in Fulton, Oswego county,
in 1844, and is a son of the well known Dr. Charles G. Bacon, of Fulton,
who was born in Trenton, Oneida county, in 1814, and who has for over fifty
years been in active practice in Fulton. His wife was Mary M. Whitaker,
by whom he has two children living, Dr. Charles J. and Francis E., of Fulton.
Charles attended the Hobart and Geneva Colleges and later graduated from
the Albany Medical College in 1864. The last year of the war he was
examining surgeon in Oswego, and after the close of the war he practiced
his profession two and one-half years in Fulton. The following ten
years he practiced in Hoosick Falls, Rensselaer county. The next
ten years he practiced in Williamstown, where he served as supervisor.
Since 1886 he has been a resident in Camden, where he has established an
extensive practice. He has taken an active interest in the welfare
of the village; has been trustee and is at present health officer.
Dr. Bacon has been president of the Oswego Medical Society, of which he
is a member, also a member of the Oneida Medical Society and of the New
York State Medical Association, member of several secret societies, and
he is president of the Commercial Union Co-operative Bank at Camden.
In 1863 he married Mary March, a niece of Prof. Alden March, president
of the Albany Medical College, and they had one daughter, who died when
she was two years of age.
Bacon, Charles G., was
born in Trenton, Oneida county, October 20, 1814, son of Heman and Olive
Boss Bacon. After receiving an academic education he taught school
some eight years. He read medicine with Dr. Smith in Syracuse, and
Dr. N. R. Tefft of Onondaga Hill, where he had the benefit of practice
and post mortems in the poorhouse of the county. He also attended
the Albany Medical College, and was licensed to practice by the State Medical
Society in February, 1841. In the June following, Dr. Bacon settled
in Fulton to practice his profession, and has since been a resident of
the village. Early in his practice his office was well supplied with
library, instruments, etc., for that early day in a new country, and by
his untiring devotion to his calling his practice soon became large, extending
into adjoining towns. In 1846 he attended a term of instruction in
the College of Physicians and Surgeons in the city of New York. In
1852 he was a delegate to the New York State Medical Society from the Oswego
County Medical Society for four years, and was made a permanent member
of the State Society in 1858, and was one of its censors for many years.
In 1856 he received the degree of M.D. from the Regents of the State of
New York. In 1842 he was commissioned as hospital surgeon with rank as
major in the 43d Brigade of Infantry of the State of New York by the governor,
Wm. H. Seward. In 1856 Dr. Bacon became a member of the American
Medical Association at its meeting in Philadelphia, and still remains a
member. In the New York Central Medical Association he has been a
member since 1869 and has acted as one of its chairmen. He became
a member of the Oswego County Medical Society in 1842, is now its oldest
member, and has held all its offices at various times. Dr. Bacon
has been identified with the Methodist Episcopal church for some sixty
years. He has been an ardent supporter of the schools in the village,
acting as trustee many years; was quite prominent in building and supporting
the Falley Seminary of Fulton. In May, 1843 Charles G. Bacon married
Miss Mary M. Whitaker, of Fulton, N.Y., by whom he has had three children,
Charles J., now a physician in Camden, N.Y.; Francis E., a business man
of Fulton, and Mary, who died aged sixteen.
Fitzgerald, Frank W.,
is a son of Joseph who came from New York and settled on a farm in Lorraine,
Jefferson county, in 1837. He served in the Mexican war. He
has held the office of inspector of election and overseer of the poor.
He was always active in church matters and was the principal assistant
in having the church built, which is one mile east of his home. He
has held the office of senior warden ever since. Frank was born in
Lorraine in 1852, and was brought up on the farm. He married Drucilla,
daughter of James Fisher, of Orwell. He moved to Orwell in 1883,
living a year and a half in the village and then moved to his present farm
in the northern part of the town. He has a farm of ninety-two acres.
His family consists of Arthur, born November 4, 1879, and Ada, born July
Higgins, John D., was
born in Oswego city, June 9, 1858, and educated in Oswego public schools
and Oswego State Normal School. In 1877, at the age of nineteen,
he commenced the study of law in the office Rhodes & Richardson, composed
of Charles Rhodes and Charles T. Richardson, both able and noted lawyers.
He was admitted to the bar in October, 1880, and continued in Rhodes and
Richardson’s office, and upon the death of Mr. Richardson in 1882 a new
firm was formed by Mr. Rhodes associating with himself Hon. S. Mortimer
Coon and John D. Higgins, under the firm name of Rhodes, Coon and Higgins.
The firm during its existence had an extensive law practice. It was
dissolved in March, 1890, by the withdrawal of Mr. Rhodes, who died in
February, 1891. The business was continued under the firm name of
Coon & Higgins until September 1, 1891, when Mr. Higgins withdrew from
the firm and the practice of the law, to engage in the active business
of the Oswego Starch Factory, in which corporation he had been a trustee
since June, 1888, and is now connected with the management of the company.
In March, 1887, he was appointed city attorney and served one term.
In March, 1894, he was elected mayor of the city of Oswego on the Republican
ticket. In 1889, June 6, he married Virginia May Kingsford, only
daughter of Thomson Kingsford, of Oswego.
Hinman, William M.,
was born in Richland January 13, 1841. His grandfather, William E.,
of Connecticut, came to Richland, where he died aged ninety-six.
He was a soldier in the War of 1812. Henry, father of William M.,
was born in Richland in December, 1810, and is still living. He married
Ursula Fox, also born in Richland, and who died there aged sixty-five.
Their children were Martha, Melissa, William M., Luke J., and Dora F.,
of whom Luke and Martha are deceased. William M. was educated in
Richland common schools and Union Academy, Bellville, Jefferson county,
and in 1862 enlisted in the 10th New York Heavy Artillery, from which he
was discharged on account of sickness. He is a member of the G.A.R.,
and of the Grange. In 1866 he married Frances A., daughter of William
H. and Mary Lester of Richland. Their children are Mary, born in
1867; Nellie, born in 1869; Henry, born in 1870; Mattie, born in 1872;
Albert, born in 1874, who died in infancy, and Florence, born in 1877.
Mary married Charles Field; and Henry is a farmer on the homestead.
Mr. Hinman now owns and resides on the old homestead, where father, son
and grandson, three generations, all live in the same house.
Brown, F. N., was born
in Jefferson county, February 23, 1834, and came to New Haven, Oswego county,
in 1843. In 1856 he married Ellen E., daughter of Mark Smith, of
Mexico. In 1865 he came to Scriba, where he has since lived.
His principal occupation has been farming. They have two children:
Laura E., wife of Frank J. Switzer, of Oswego Falls, and Harriette E.,
wife of Thomas O. Turner, of Scriba. Mr. Brown’s father was Avery
O. Brown, and his mother was Eliza M. Whitney.
Snow, Col. Aaron, was
born in North Conway, Mass., a son of Moses Snow of Puritan connection.
Aaron came to New York about 1807 and settled at Constantia, where he married
Zilpah, daughter of Major Warring, and their children were Ephraim, Electa,
Nathan, James, Leonard, Orris, Anna and Mary, the first and last surviving.
January 12, 1836, Ephraim married Electa Rose and by her had these children:
Albert J., Helen A., George W., Edwin O., Roxie A., and Franklin.
Albert J. was born in Hastings May 5, 1838. He was educated in the
district school, and at Mexico Academy and when eighteen years old was
employed in a store at Brewerton. After about four years he took
a half interest in the business and was so engaged at the outbreak of the
war. September 3, 1862, he enlisted in Co. H, 149th N.Y. Vols., and
served three years. At Chancellorsville he was severely wounded and
after leaving the hospital was transferred to the Veteran Reserve Corps
and assigned to duty at General Halleck’s headquarters at Washington, where
he remained as clerk fifteen months. He was mustered out of service
September 1, 1865. Mr. Snow went to Philadelphia and engaged to travel
in the South and West for two years, after which he was for three years
bookkeeper in a Philadelphia hardware house. He then went to Saltsville,
Va., in the private bank of George W. Palmer, where he remained ten years,
spending the following three or four years in the manufacture of tobacco
at Abington, Va. Returning to Fulton he bought the hardware stock
of John H. Woodin which he has since successfully conducted. In 1868
Mr. Snow married Louise E. Palmer, by whom he had five children.
Youmans, Amos, was born
in Coxsackie, April 15, 1845, and about six months later with his parents,
Lewis and Isabel Youmans, became, and has ever since remained, a resident
of Fulton. He was educated at the common schools and at Falley Seminary.
At the age of fourteen he began work in a starch factory at Battle Island
and was afterwards for several years employed as a clerk by the late Hon.
John J. Wolcott. In 1864 he enlisted in Co. A, 184th N.Y. Infantry,
participated in the battle of Cedar Creek, October 19, 1864, and in December,
1864, was detailed as a clerk to the adjutant of his regiment, acting in
that capacity until the close of the war. In 1865 he returned to
Fulton and became bookkeeper in the First National Bank, was made teller
in 1868, assistant cashier in 1872, and in 1880 was appointed cashier,
which position he now occupies. Mr. Youmans has held the offices
of town clerk, village trustee and treasurer, was for several years secretary
of the Oswego Falls Agricultural Society, and is now serving his third
year as commander of Daniel F. Schenck Post, G.A.R., having previously
served one year as senior vice-commander. He has been connected with
the Board of Education since 1874 and is now its secretary and treasurer.
April 24, 1867, he married Mary L. Croake, of Fulton. They have had
four children, three of whom are living.
Vowinkel, Christopher J.,
was born in Oswego, October 27, 1861, son of Christopher, born in Germany
and died in Oswego at the age of forty-one, and Barbara (Snyder) Vowinkel,
who was born in Germany and died in Oswego at the age of fifty-three years.
The father served in the Crimean war in the German army. Christopher
J. was educated in Oswego, took a course in Long Island Medical College,
also took a degree as licensed pharmacist in the State Board. When
thirteen years old he began in the drug store, after leaving school, and
worked about a year. After this he sailed one year. Then he
read medicine with Dr. Mease, assisting him for nine years. In 1888
he was made coroner of Oswego and still holds that office. In 1889
he opened a drug store on East First street, remaining there until 1891,
when he removed to 21 W. Bridge street, which he still occupies, doing
a large prescription business, besides carrying a large line of patent
medicines. etc. He is a member of St. Joseph’s Society and secretary
and manager of the 48th Separate Co. Band. In October, 1883, he married
Marie L., daughter of James Sears, of Oswego. They have one child,
John H., born November 8, 1885. Her father was killed in the battle
of Gettysburg. Mr. Vowinkel is the possessor of no ordinary degree
of musical talent, and has been for years a member of the John R. Pierce
Quartette, also a member of the German Saengerbund Society.