Many thanks and appreciation to Jane Ellis
for her time and efforts in transcribing these wonderful long lists in
the Family Sketches Section of surnames from the 1895 Landmarks of Oswego
County, NY book. The surnames Jane is researching from Oswego County
are: Ellis, Hinds/Hindes/Hines, Crane,
Holden, Beeles/Beales, Hopper, Holden, Smith.
Source: Landmarks of Oswego County New York, edited by John C. Churchill, L.L.D., assisted by H. Perry Smith & W. Stanley Child, Syracuse, N.Y., D. Mason & Company Publishers, 1895.
**The list is not in Alpha order so either scroll down or use search engine to check for names, or better yet clickon the Cntrl button and the letter F button on your keybord. Then just type the word/name you are researching.
For further information on any of these names,
Please Contact the
Part 1C pgs. 152-201:
Emens, Dr. George V., is a native of Seneca county, where he was born October 14, 1838, the son of William I. Emens, whose grandfather, also William Emens, was a noted captain in the Revolution. In Freehold, Monmouth county, N. J., Dr. Emens’s ancestors were born for three generations back. In 1857 he entered the office of Dr. La Boyteaux, and the practical knowledge of dentistry acquired during three years spent there was of great service towards the future prosecution of more technical studies. He afterwards received the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery and Master of Dental Surgery. In 1860 he opened an office at Hannibal, where his professional skill soon gained a large patronage, and in 1879 he located in Fulton where he stands at the front as a master of dental surgery. He is a member of the Fifth District Dental Society, and for the past eight years has represented that body in the State Dental Society. Prominent both in society and church, he is also of high degree in the Masonic order, being master of Hannibal Lodge during the latter years of his residence there. Of Fulton Chapter, Knights Templar, Ontario Consistory of Scottish Rites, and Ziyara Temple of Utica, he is an honoured member. He is a member of Post Schenck No. 271, G. A. R., and was recently made an aide-de-camp on the staff of General Alger, commander-in-chief. It is worthy of mention as illustrative of his versatile talent and scholarship, that in 1868 he established at Hannibal the Reveille, continuing the practice of his profession in conjunction with editorial duties, for seven years until his removal to Fulton.
Conterman, Dr. William Henry, one of Constantia’s prominent physicians, was born in West Monroe February 20, 1862, a son of William and Hannah (Leonard) Conterman of West Monroe, and grandson of Rev. W. Leonard, who was born in Shrewsbury, Vt., in 1800, and graduated from Williams College for the ministry. He was highly esteemed and prominent in church affairs. He dedicated the first Presbyterian church in Cleveland, also established the Presbyterian church in West Monroe and in Constantia, and at his death in 1886 was the oldest Mason in Oswego county. Our subject was reared on a farm and educated in Central Square. He then followed teaching until he entered the Albany College to study medicine in 1883. In the spring of 1885 he entered the medical department of the University of Vermont (Burlington) from which he graduated with honors in the class of ’86. In the spring of 1887 he located in the village of Cleveland, where his success as a physician and surgeon has established him a lucrative and extensive practice. In April, 1888, he married Florence, daughter of Henry C. Beeby of Central Square, by whom he has two children, Frankie and Fred. Mr. Conterman was elected president of the village in the spring of 1894, and is a member of the Masonic order.
Cobb, Charles H., was born in Orleans, Jefferson county, July 16, 1838. His grandfather, William, was born in Oneida county, where he died aged eighty-five; he was a soldier in the Revolution. His father, Stevenson, was born in Lee, Oneida county, June 18, 1800, and died in Richland, Oswego county, June 6, 1881. He married Zoa Pennyman of Barre, Vt., who was an excellent weaver of linen in her day. She died in Richland, January 17, 1884, aged seventy-eight. Their children were Charles H., William B. and Mary M. Charles was educated in Jefferson county, and in 1862 enlisted in the 147th N. Y. Vols., serving in the Army of the Potomac. He participated in the following battles: Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, North Anna, Petersburg, South Side Railroad, and was wounded in three battles. He returned in 1865 and began farming. July 4, 1866, he married Mary C., only daughter of William and Elizabeth (Steele) Easton of Sandy Creek, and they had one child, Lovina C., who married William D. Bootle, and they have two children, Julia C. and Dayton C. William B., in 1864, enlisted in the 184th N. Y. Vols. He returned in 1865, and soon began farming. In October, 1869, he married Emma R., daughter of Spencer and Jane (Weed) Bentley of Richland, and they have two children, Anna D. and John W. The maiden sister lives with William. He is a member of the G. A. R., as also is Charles.
Cooper, James F. - His father, Peter, came from Scotland to this country in 1836 and to Redfield twelve years later, having lived that time in New York. He married Jeanette Petrie, born in the Orkney Islands. Taking up some wild land in the west part of the town, they cut out a farm of 175 acres. Selling in 1866, they bought again on the Orwell road the farm now owned by their son, Charles. They reared seven sons, three of whom enlisted in the New York Artillery. William died at Annapolis from the effects of six months in a southern prison; David was wounded in Piedmont, was taken prisoner and died; Robert was wounded in the same battle, was also taken prisoner and was nine months in Andersonville prison. He is now living in Camden. John died in 1877, aged twenty-nine. His widow and two sons live in Rome. Peter is a farmer in Williamstown. James was born in 1850, and has always lived in Redfield, a farmer, but later a carpenter and builder. He married Lizzie, daughter of David and Mary J. Lewis, formerly of Boonville, N. Y., and has two children, Jesse B. and Fanny M. He was elected commissioner of highways in 1889, re-elected in 1891, and was one of the highway commissioners who bought the first iron bridge for the town of the Groton Bridge and Manufacturing co. of Groton, N. Y.
Parkhurst, William B., son of Gilbert, was born in Hastings in 1820, and is the oldest living resident born in the town who now lives there. The grandfather of subject, Col. Jonathan Gilbert Parkhurst, was but a boy during the Revolutionary war, but his loyal spirit and indomitable courage compelled him to join the army, and he was appointed General Washington’s lifeguard, serving until the close of the war, and for some years before his death received a pension. He was a descendant of Sir Humphrey Gilbert, possessing the gold-headed cane, which through descent came to him from Sir Gilbert, and which in declining years was his constant support. Colonel Parkhurst was a royal man, possessing great conversational powers, splendid physique, of noble bearing, genial in manner, and extremely kind and generous, and of unexceptionable good character. He was a native of Vermont, and came to Oswego county in 1808, engaging extensively in the timber trade with Canada. During the year of 1812, upon arriving in Kingston with a raft, his timber was confiscated and he and three of his men were given three days to leave the territory. He returned and served through the war, first as captain, then as colonel, and it was through his strategy that Oswego was saved. There being but 300 men at the fort and the British fleet approaching, he was ordered to prepare his men for battle. At his suggestion the small army was marched out and around the hill appearing and re-appearing. The Britishers thinking the woods were full of men, returned to Canada. He was also a soldier in the Revolution, and the first tax collector in the town of Mexico, which at that time included Hastings. He would collect the tax, and with gun on his shoulder and money on his back, he would then wend his way to Utica, where he had to report. Gilbert, the father of subject, built and conducted the first and only hotel in what is now Hastings Centre. His wife was Lucy, daughter of William Brewster of Rome, and their children were Mrs. Maria Devendorf of Hastings; Mary, second wife of Harvey Devendorf; William B., James (deceased), Jeanette (deceased), Mrs. Lavina B. Hall of Rome, and Jonathan G. At the age of twenty-three subject began the lumber and farming business. Since 1856 he has devoted his time to farming, dealing in real estate, and money loaning. He has served as assessor and poormaster, and for twenty-five years has been railroad commissioner. In 1843 he married Alta S., daughter of Elisha and Eunice (Brewster) Brewster, and they have one child, Wallace.
Howard, Alvin D., was born in New Haven, April 12, 1845, son of Alfred and Lucy M., who were early settlers in that town. The grandfather was a principal and one of the founders of the academy at Mexico. Alfred conducted a steam saw mill in the town of Albion, the settlement being known as Howardville, for about thirty-two years. At present he is engaged in farming. He married Lucy M. Buell, of New Haven and they had eight children. Alvin has followed both milling and farming. He enlisted in 1863 in the 14th Heavy Artillery, at Petersburg and was engaged in the following battles: Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court house, Cold Harbor, Petersburg Crater, Weldon Railroad, Fort Haskel, capture of Petersburg, and was wounded at Weldon Railroad. His brother John was killed in the same battle. He has been connected with the Bentley Post. In 1867 he married his first wife, Mary, daughter of Jothan Jennings, of Parish. They had two children, Alma M. and George C. He married his second wife in 1884. She was the widow of Dr. O. Howard of West Amboy.
Clark, Joseph A., was born in Richland, March 23, 1848, son of Chauncey R., born in Vernon, Oneida county, who is still living aged seventy-eight years. His wife was Lavina M. Patten, born in Manlius, Onondaga county, and died in Pulaski, Oswego county, aged forty-eight. Their children were Elizabeth, Charles A., deceased; our subject and Silas H. Subject was educated at Richland, and enlisted in 1863 in the 24th N. Y. Cav., then in the 54th N. Y. Vol. Inft., served under General Gilmore in South Carolina, was in the siege of Charleston, was on Folley and Morris Islands, and assisted in the final capture of the entire city. He was discharged at the close of the war, returned home and commenced farming and dairying, which he still continues. He married, April 12, 1873, Abbie M., daughter of Marcus and Almeda (Snow) Crooks of Volney, Oswego county, and their children are Myrtle L., and May C., students in Pulaski Academy in class of ’96; May is professor in music. Subject’s brother, Charles, was a soldier in the civil war, and served in the Army of the Potomac. Subject is a member of the G. A. R.
Soper, George E., grocer and custom miller, was born at Oswego city in 1844. He followed civil engineering prior to the war, and in 1864 enlisted in the 184th Regiment, serving about one year. His wife, formerly Celia F. Button, is a native of Lewis county. They have one child, William. His father, Edward, was a native of Utica, and died in Michigan, where the mother is still residing. George E. was elected overseer of the poor in 1884, receiving a re-election to the same office for five terms, or five years. He has been since 1875 a member of the I. O. O. F., Beacon Light Lodge, and also belongs to Mexico Lodge No. 136, F. & A. M. having joined in 1877.
Case, Jonathan H., a central figure in the commercial life of Fulton, is the son of Samuel F. Case, born in Amsterdam, N. Y., who came here from Utica with Jonathan Case, the paternal grandfather of our subject. Jonathan first was born in Hoosick, N. Y., and was one of the prominent men of his time. To him was awarded the contract for widening the Oswego Canal, and that and other public works of magnitude owe their success largely to his genius and practical ability. S. F. Case inherited the qualities which had made his father a leader of men, and was associated with him as a contractor and otherwise. He was largely interested in public work, was for a year or more engaged upon the N. Y. and Erie Railroad, also a longer time upon the Great Western in Canada. He built the road into Windsor for twenty-five miles, and completed the terminus of that road; also excavated the bottom of the Mississippi River at or near Rock Island. He was himself a practical mechanic and civil engineer, personally executing the survey of Fulton at the period of its greatest growth. He was engaged in mercantile business in Fulton with his brother, George M. Case. He entered the Citizen’s National Bank about 1860 and continued in that place until his death in 1869, having served as president and cashier. His brother, G. M. Case, then took his place, which he has filled up to the present time. George M. is the only survivor of his father’s family of nine children. The widow of Samuel F. Case is still living at Fulton. Of her five children but two survive – Jonathan H. and Mrs. Thomas D. Lewis. Jonathan H. has for many years been vice-president of the Citizen’s Bank, and associated with public affairs about Fulton.
Ransom, Herbert F., was born in Richland February 26, 1850. His grandfather, Samuel Porter, was born in Vermont and died in Oswego county aged seventy-four. Francis, father of Herbert, was born in Richland and died in Oswego county aged sixty-five. Francis married Lucy E. Hinman, and their children were: Herbert F., Charles A., Clarence, Porter, William L., and Mary Belle. Of these Charles, Porter and Mary Belle are deceased. Our subject was educated in Pulaski and after completing his studies for six years worked in a large saw mill and lumber yard in Pulaski. He then bought the old home farm where he now lives with his family. He married Nettie, daughter of Joseph and Betsey Litts of Richland, and their children are: Francis H., born in 1873, and Mary Belle born in 1875.
Loomis, H. W., was born in Herkimer county in 1829, and came with his parents to Oswego county in 1835. In 1866 he moved from Palermo to Mexico. In 1856 he was the first elected school commissioner, being elected for three years. He was a member of the Assembly in 1863-4, and president of the village of Mexico in 1893. He was in the employ of the Travelers Insurance Co. of Hartford from 1870 to 1891. His wife was Adeline S., daughter of John Sayles. Their oldest child, Ira S., died in 1889 aged thirty-four; Elmer H., was born in 1861, graduated from Colgate University in 1883, taught in Colgate Academy seven years, and in 1890 entered Strausburg University (Germany), graduating in 1893 as doctor of philosophy; was elected to chair in department of physics in Princeton College, N. J., in 1894; Fred M. was born in 1863, graduated from Colgate University in 1885, was two years professor of mathematics in South Jersey Institute, and for four years principal of the Oneida Community High School. He took courses of study at Strausburg and Milan in 1891-92; in 1892 became principal of the Keystone Academy of Pennsylvania, which position he still occupies.
Wright, Abner, born in Massachusetts in 1813, came to Bowen’s Corners about 1826, his father, Zenas Wright, having bought a farm at that place. He was a man of much force of character, full of purpose and originality, interested in education, and not only a book seller, but a lover of books. In 1830 he married Electa, daughter of Tristam Cathcart, of Scotch descent, by whom he had two children, Spencer, now in Michigan, and Adelia, who in 1865 married Ambrose Kellogg. Abner Wright died October 22, 1882, and his widow survives, devoting herself to her children and grandchildren, who surround her with every care that love can devise. Her daughter’s husband, Mr. Kellogg, for many years a merchant at Bowen’s Corners, and for three years postmaster, is highly esteemed, as a citizen of irreproachable character and moral worth. He took a front rank in the late war, volunteering in Captain Jenning’s Company, of the gallant 24th Regt. His children are Lillian R., A. Birney, and Ray W. The two sons are already engaged in business in Syracuse, and the daughter, a graduate of Oswego Falls Normal School, is now a teacher in Peru, Neb.
Crossett, Monroe, a native of Herkimer county, born in 1845, in 1858 came to Orwell from Oneida. He married Fanny Miner of Orwell, who died in 1884, leaving two children, a boy who died shortly after his mother, and George, who was born in 1882. Newman S. Crossett, Monroe’s father, now living in Orwell, served in the 189th Regiment during the war. Monroe was in the 5th U. S. Regulars, enlisting in 1861, serving three years. Henry, son of Newman Crossett, enlisted in the 193d Infantry, and died in the service of his country, March 4, 1865. One of the most startling events in the history of Orwell was connected with the Crossett family. In 1863, one of the boys, Newman, aged eleven, went with some other boys up the Geary Brook fishing. His companions lost track of him and supposed that he had gone home. He was never seen after that time. For days all the people of Orwell and the surrounding towns hunted through the woods. His father spent forty days and nights in the woods, but the mystery was never cleared up.
Clark, William, was born in Oswego, July 5, 1843, and excepting for the time spent in the army has been engaged in farming all his life. In 1864 he enlisted in Co. C, 184th Inf., and served till the close of the war. In 1869 he married Sophia Robarge, and they have four sons and one daughter. The parents of Mr. Clark were Seldon P. and Eliza Clark, the father having served in the late war. The grandfather was a soldier in the Revolution.
King, George R., was born in the town of Ellisburg, Jefferson county, September 24, 1824. He was the oldest of a family of four. His father, Amos King, was a ship carpenter and builder, and his mother was Mahalah (Edmunds) King, a native of Jefferson county. During his early life he worked with his father, of whom he learned his trade of ship carpenter and builder; he came to New Haven with his parents in 1840, and settled on the Lake road about one mile and a half west of Texas; the country at that time was nearly a vast wilderness. At the age of nineteen he went to Oswego city, where he worked at his trade, and June 27, 1844, was united in marriage with Diantha S. Parks, of New Hartford, Oneida county, and returned to Oswego, where he followed his trade of ship carpenter and builder about thirty years, working part of the time as foreman and builder for James A. Baker, and the remaining part for Samuel Miller. June 17, 1864, he enlisted as a member of the National Guards, where he served seven years and received an honorable discharge. April 23, 1869, he located on his present farm of seventy-five acres in the town of New Haven. To Mr. and Mrs. King were born three children, Mary E., Emma M., and George R. Mary E. is now the widow of Norman Manwarren; George R. died in infancy, and Emma M. is now the widow of Wilbert Smith; they had two children, Ida E. and George F.
Phelps, Henry De Witt C., was born in Rochester, N. Y., April 5, 1852, son of De W. C. and Barbara A. (Allen) Phelps, both now deceased. He has one sister, Barbara A., born August 29, 1854. De W. Clinton was a physician, and for over four years practiced in the South, one year in a hospital in New Orleans and over a year on President Jackson’s plantation, and in other portions of the South. He also practiced at Honeoye Falls, Ontario county. After his return to Cayuga county from the South he was married and located in Rochester, where he died when Barbara was but three weeks old and Henry not three years. The subject with his mother and sister then went to Seneca county near Waterloo, to live with his grandmother, Mrs. Alleman, attending district school and working on the farm. For two years with his mother he lived with his uncle, Dr. A. J. Alleman of Fayette. When fourteen he was taken with a severe illness in August, which kept him in the house until the next summer. Unable to work, he then attended school in Waterloo at the academy, teaching his first term in the winter when he was sixteen. He clerked at intervals and during vacations to obtain means with which to clothe himself and proceed with his studies. Meantime, having moved to Waterloo, Henry began the study of medicine in 1869 with Dr. A. A. Alleman of Waterloo, and attended his first course of lectures at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in the class of 1871-72. Returning the next summer, he studied with Dr. S. P. Johnson, formerly of Oswego, Dr. A. A. Alleman having died. He returned to Ann Arbor in the fall and graduated from Michigan University in the class of 1873. He began practice in Palermo in September of that year, and removed to South Scriba in the fall of 1880. He received an injury from a gunshot in 1885, which was severe enough to nearly disable him for eighteen months. His wife died during this time, and having sold out, he came to Oswego in the fall of 1888, where he has since remained, doing a general practice. He married August 14, 1877, Libbie M., daughter of G. F. Shattuck, an old lake captain and vessel owner of Scriba, and well known in this vicinity. Her mother, Amelia, was a daughter of Capt. John Davis of this county. She died in 1886 leaving one child, Ione Libbie, born November 14, 1883, who for the past five years has resided with her father’s sister on a farm in Seneca county near Waterloo, and but a short distance from the farm which Jacob and Nancy A. Alleman (grandparents of subject and sister) settled and cleared. Dr. Phelps is a member of the medical societies, and for a number of years of Hiram Lodge, F. & A. M. of Fulton. He joined the I. O. O. F. in October, 1887, and has taken an active part in this order since; is a member of the Encampment, has been deputy G. P. of his district for four terms; also of Canton Oswego, No. 18; with others he represented that body at the first annual department council of the State and instructed that body according to the new laws of S. G. Lodge governing the P. M. Branch, and held in Syracuse in May, 1894.
Mitchell, Edward, of French ancestry, was born in Canada, January 29, 1837, son of Francis, born in France, who died in Oswego aged sixty-four. He married Frances Langdeau, born in France, and now living, aged eighty-four. Our subject came to the United States at the age of seven. He was educated in Oswego and learned coopering, which business he conducted for twenty-five years with his brother, under the firm name of E. & O. Mitchell. After that time, they engaged in building vessels at Alginac, Mich. They built the following: the Oliver Mitchell, the Belle Mitchell, the I. G. Jenkins and the John R. Noyse; and for several years they conducted the Eastside Dry-Dock. For some years he has been engaged in the wholesale liquor business at 153 and 155 West First street, and handles a general line of liquors of all kinds, exclusively at wholesale, shipping goods to all parts of the State. In 1864 he married Caroline Hanzelman of Oswego, by whom he had five children. In 1890 he was elected Democratic mayor.
Deming, George J., was born on his present farm in 1839, a son of Timothy, a native of Redfield, who settled on this farm at the age of sixteen. The latter was a son of Jonathan, one of the first settlers of Redfield, and later assistant postmaster of Oswego city, under Mr. Sage. He was also member of Assembly for this district. Timothy Deming married Sarah Prouty, and they had four children: Mrs. Mary R. Skilling, Mrs. Charlotte A. Padden, Mrs. Eveline Lester, and George J. Deming, who has one daughter, Jennie S. Deming.
Wallace, William, was born December 14, 1833, a son of Alvin and Sally (Bennett) Wallace, natives of Hoosick, N. Y., and Rhode Island, respectively. Alvin came to Sandy Creek with his parents when young, and both the paternal and maternal grandparents of our subject were pioneer settlers of Sandy Creek. Alvin died in 1880, and his widow still survives him, aged eighty-nine years. William was reared on the farm, and has always followed this calling, except during the time spent in the war having enlisted in the first regiment that went from this county, the 24th N. Y. Vols. (April, 1861). He remained in service two years when he was honourably discharged for disability. His regiment was in what was know as the “Iron Brigade”, and participated in the battles at Antietam and Fredericksburg. In 1870 Mr. Wallace married Esther Ellen, daughter of William and Eliza A. Delapp, of Ellisburg. Mrs. Wallace is a member of the Congregational Church.
Greene, Albert W., M. D. was born February 26, 1853, in Northamptonshire, England, son of William and Sophia Greene. With his parents he came to this country in 1856 and settled in Fulton, Oswego county. William Greene was a member of the 147th N. Y. Infantry, and with them was in the numerous battles they fought. His children were Ann, Mariah, Sarah, James and Albert, all deceased except the latter and Sarah. In his early life Albert was a teacher, having taught seventeen terms. In 1881 he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., graduating in the spring of 1884. The same year he settled in the town of Palermo, where he built up a fine practice, but his health failing, in the spring of 1894 he discontinued practicing there, and October 1, removed to Oneida Castle. He married first, in 1874, Flora, daughter of Nelson and Salinda Cross, and second, Carrie E., daughter of Deloss Snell. Dr. Greene is a member of Lodge No. 144, F. & A. M., of Fulton, N. Y.
Taylor, E. A., was born in Chenango county in 1827, son of Cyprian and Amelia (Anderson) Taylor, and came to Sandy Creek with his parents when a year old, and moved with them to Scriba and later to New Haven. He married in 1852 Ellen R. Smith, and has a son, Dewitt, the only one surviving of six. He located on his present farm in 1852, and for eighteen years operated a steam saw mill.
Patchen, John E., was born in 1819 in the town of Pompey, Onondaga county, son of John and Anna Patchen, whose family consisted of six sons: John E., Philander, R. D., Daniel, Lafayette, Aaron, and four daughters, Harriet, Matilda, Rhoda and Mary, who were grandchildren of Zebulon Patchen, who came from Connecticut about 1816 and settled in the town of Clay, Onondaga county. John Patchen was born in Connecticut in 1789; he enlisted in the U. S. army in 1812, and was discharged in June, 1815. In 1816 he married Anna Hulon of Rome; they began housekeeping in Pompey, where John E. was born; they remained there about two years and removed to the town of Clay, where they purchased a farm, upon which they lived until 1830, when they removed to Amboy, Oswego county, where John E. now lives. He married Hannah Manwarren in 1849; his family consists of two children, Sarah A., who married Harvey J. Faulkner of Camden, Oneida county, and Charles J., who married Anna Selleck of Palmyra, N. Y., and who now succeeds his father as one of the enterprising farmers of Amboy.
Andrews, Dorr, is the youngest of two sons of the late Dr. S. D. Andrews of Granby, a physician for more than forty years in that town, whose decease at the age of sixty-eight years, in 1896, was widely mourned. His widow still survives at the old home, which is now managed by the elder son, Rush Andrews. Dorr was born at West Granby, September 13, 1860, and educated at Falley Seminary. In 1882 he purchased a farm, and his efforts have been marked by enterprise and originality in the construction of modern buildings and general improvements. June 6, 1883, Mr. Andrews married Nellie Decker of Fulton, and their two children are Harry, born December 31, 1889, and Harold, born May 5, 1892.
Cooley, R. N., A. B., M. D., was born in Jefferson county in 1835, educated at Union College, studied law with Prof. Amasa J. Trowbridge of Watertown, and graduated at Albany Medical College, also Castleton Medical College, Vermont. He came to Oswego in 1860, where he commenced the practice of medicine about the time of the breaking out of the war. He was several times drafted, and in 1864 was examined and placed on the roll of surgeons for the hospital department as major, and was after that several times called into the field in the capacity of hospital surgeon. His father was John, a son of John Cooley, formerly of Massachusetts, who was also a son of Reuben Cooley of Revolutionary fame, a colonel in that war. R. N. Cooley is a brother of Judge Cooley of Northern New York. His wife, H. I. Cooley, is a native of Cayuga county, by whom he has two sons, Emir D., M. D., of San Francisco, surgeon in the hospital at that city; and Frank L., M. D., now of Oswego. The subject of this sketch has been and is a member of the Oswego County Medical Society, N. Y. C. Medical Association, and N. Y. S. Medical Association, and is also honorary member of several other societies and associations. He has written many papers on medical subjects, and was one of the very first, if not the first, to operate for appendicitis, the patient fully recovering, being alive and well at this time, the operation being performed April 1, 1870. Since that time he has operated successfully quite a number of times. More than twenty years since he operated successfully for ovariotomy and in a large number of ovariotomies has only lost a single case. Several years since he was appointed to a chair of clinical surgery in the medical department of Harvard University, which position he now holds. He was commissioned as postmaster in the hamlet where he resides in July 1892.
Lee, Moses Lindley, was born in Orange county, May 29, 1805. He graduated from Union College in 1827 and afterward attended the Albany Medical College and also the medical college at Fairfield. Dr. Lee practiced for some time at Havana, N. Y., and in 1824 became a permanent resident in Fulton, and from that time he became associated with the interests of the county. About 1850 he retired from active practice on account of ill health. He held at various times the following positions: member of assembly, State senator, loan commissioner, representative in Congress and delegate to the Constitutional Convention. October 2, 1832, he married Ann Case, who bore the following children: Albert L., a banker in New York city, Horace G., now in Kansas, Antoinette, wife of George A. Sanders, and Mary F. Lee of Fulton. Dr. Lee died May 19, 1876, and his wife November 29, 1883. Both were members of the Presbyterian church.
Potter, Albert, was born in Cortland county, August 9, 1839, son of Harris and Elmira (Bowen) Potter. The family were originally from Connecticut. They settled in Cortland county for a few years and then came to Oswego county in 1850, and settled in Albion. The father was a carpenter by trade. They had two children, Albert and Ada A., deceased. Our subject has always followed farming. In 1863 he married Mary A. Thorp, of Albion, and they had one son, who was drowned at the age of twenty-three years. Albert enlisted in the Scott’s 900, who were then Gen. Scott’s body guard, but a short time afterwards they were reorganized under the name of the 11th New York Cavalry. He served until 1865, and was in the second battle of Bull Run, Antietam, and several skirmishes. He is a member of Bentley Post 265, G. A. R., and has held the office of quartermaster-sergeant.
Williams, Wilbert, a native of Ellisburg, Jefferson county, born in 1849, is the son of Daniel and Eliza Williams. Our subject was reared on the farm and has always followed farming, also stock dealing. He, in partnership with his brother Ezra, bought the farm of 127 acres in Sandy Creek in 1880, where they have since carried on general farming. February 12, 1880, subject married Eliza F. Gilbert. Mrs. Williams is a member of the M. E. church of Sandy Creek, which they attend and support.
Langdon, William T., was born in Fulton county in 1838, son of Riley Langdon, born in Herkimer county in 1807. The grandfather, Thomas Langdon, was born in Connecticut, a farmer and pioneer of Herkimer county. Riley was one of seven children; in early life he was a shoemaker and tanner, and later a farmer. He now resides with his only child, William. His wife was Rhoda Grinold. Subject came to Hastings with his father and settled on their present farm in 1858. In 1871 he married Ellen, daughter of Lewis Bly of Hastings. She died in 1873, and he married second Eunice, daughter of Jacob Bauder of Schroeppel, and they have two children, B. Arelien and Vaughn.
Soule, A. P., was born in Richland, April 8, 1842, a son of Stephen and Sarah E. (Porter) Soule, he a native of Richland, born December 8, 1812, and she of Sandy Creek, born February 22, 1813. The father of Stephen was Constant Soule, a native of Vermont, who came to Richland about 1800, where he died near the farm he settled and near the Soule’s Church, which took its name from this family. The father of our subject spent his days in his native town, and was a farmer. Subject was reared on a farm and educated in the common schools. He went to work for Mr. Kingsford March 10, 1864, worked two and one half years, then bought the farm that he now owns, where he lived for two and one half years; then left his farm to superintend the Kingsford farm of Oswego, which position he held for seventeen years. He came on the farm he now owns in 1887. He follows dairying, making a specialty of breeding Hamiltonian horses, and owns a grandson of “Hamiltonian 10”, seven years old, by “Duroc”, and is named “Young Duroc”. He married in 1866 Clarie E. Forbes, a native of Ellisburg, Jefferson county, by whom he has one daughter, Annie F. Mr. Soule owns 163 acres, keeps a dairy of twenty-one cows, and also has twenty-three head of horses. Subject worked for Mr. Thomson Kingsford of Oswego on the same farm, without having a day of lost time charged to him, until he earned over $11,000.
Rhines, Wallace D., is a descendant of John Rhines, whose father, a native of Cologne, Germany, came to America at the age of thirteen. John married and reared a family of seven children, of whom Philip came to Schroeppel, and bought a farm. His three children were: William, Martin and Mary, all now living in Caughdenoy. Martin married Allathema Sitts in 1858, and of these parents Wallace D., our subject was born in 1859. He has one sister, Flora, who married Miner Van Auken, of Caughdenoy. Wallace attended the first grade district school at “the Ridge”, and at the age of sixteen years began teaching in the River district school in Hastings. He taught three years at Sand Ridge, attending school at Central Square during spring and fall. In 1878 he married Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Peacock, who came from England and settled in Geddes, Onondaga county, later removing to Collamer. From 1879 to 1884 Mr. Rhines taught school in Caughdenoy, and in the latter year went to Constantia, where he has taught continuously ever since, excepting two years in Cleveland, and he is regarded as a very successful teacher. For the past nine years he has held the office of justice of the peace. Mr. Rhines owns a pleasant home and is a close student. He has one son, Wallace M.
Huntley, James W., highway commissioner of Schroeppel, was born in Onondaga county in 1851, and when ten years old came to Schroeppel with his parents, Hugh and Rhoda. The father died in 1866 aged fifty-one, and the mother resides in Phoenix. Mr. Huntley married in 1875 Mary E. Brundage, and has four children.
Jamieson, Fred, was born in 1852, son of John 3d, the grandson of John and great-grandson of John, who lived in Glasgow, Scotland. The father of our subject was one of the prominent men in the early days in Amboy. He died in 1887, leaving five sons, the oldest son living being Fred, who owns the homestead and is a farmer. His older brother died some years ago. His wife is Pauline, daughter of Charles Le Clair of Parish, and they have four daughters, Arabell, Lillie, Emma and Captolia. Mr. Jamieson has held several offices of trust, having been elected commissioner of highways in 1891, and serving as overseer of the poor during the years 1892, ‘93 and ’94.
Sanford, Asa B. – In 1631 John Sanford, son of Samuel and Eleanor Sanford, of Lincolnshire, England, sailed for America in company with John Eliot, the missionary, and John Winthrop, jr., afterward governor of Connecticut. John was a man of note in his township. His will, executed in 1653, and preserved by Prof. H. H. Sanford of Syracuse, a cousin of Asa Sanford, is a model of conciseness and care. Samuel, grandson of John, married and settled in Tiverton, R. I. He resided there until his death, which occurred in 1738. Asa Sanford, sr., grandfather of Asa Bradford, was born in Tiverton in 1781. In 1797 he came with his parents to Madison county, N. Y. The old homestead occupied by him is still standing at Bouckville. He died in 1873, having lived to the ripe old age of ninety-two years. Bradford, his son, and father of Asa Sanford, jr., was born in Georgetown, Madison county, in 1817. In 1840 he married Lavinia Peckham, who was born at Hamilton, in 1818. Soon after their marriage they came to Volney. Four children were born to them, of whom three are still living. The beloved wife and mother was taken to the arms of her Saviour in 1879. Asa, their youngest son, and whose name is at the beginning of this sketch, was born in Volney, October 25, 1855. He was liberally educated at Falley Seminary and Oswego Normal School, and the number and character of the books that embellish his home bespeak the taste and cultivation both of himself and of his wife. His wife, Mary Sanford, is the daughter of C. E. Ward of Volney. She was born November 28, 1860, and was principally educated by her mother. She was married to Asa Sanford February 13, 1877. Four children, Emogene, Elmer, Ernest and Erwin, have been born to them. Two of these, Elmer and Ernest, died in infancy. Mr. Sanford is a farmer and has a productive farm and happy home near Mr. Pleasant. Himself and wife have been active members of the church at Mt. Pleasant since childhood.
Hughes, James, was born November 4, 1857, one of nine children of Robert J. and Hannah (Madison) Hughes, the latter being the daughter of Peter Madison, who was a second cousin of President Madison. Robert Hughes came from the southern part of Wales, and was a farmer by occupation. Our subject now resides on one of his father’s farms. James was educated in the common schools of Rome, and married, October 20, 1876, Anna Daunt, who is of Scotch and Irish ancestry, her parents being settlers of Rome, Oneida county. Mr. and Mrs. Hughes have three children: Helen Ruth, Katie M., Alice S., and one daughter, Ella, by a former marriage of Mrs. Hughes to James Conningham. Ella is now married to Walter F. Barnard, and resides in Rome.
Wilson, Norman L., born in Granby, Oswego county, in 1820, and was the son of William, a native of England, born in 1797, whose father was William of England, who came to Granby in 1810 and settled on what in now the Aaron Stranahan farm. The father of our subject was drafted in the war of 1812, was a farmer in Granby for many years, and removed to Allegany county where he and his wife died in 1875 and 1889 respectively. Subject learned the trade of cloth dresser when seventeen. In 1853 he moved from Oswego to Fulton, where he followed carding and cloth manufacturing. Since 1859 he has lived in Hastings, where he has devoted his time to his trade. In 1864 he purchased his farm where he now lives. He was notary public ten years, also inspector and collector. In 1845 he married Elsie, daughter of Elder William Lake, and their children are Mrs. Sarah Dawley, Marcus, William L., Edward, Frank and Mrs. Hattie Rill. Mr. Wilson is a member of Hastings Grange, of which he is chaplain. His wife died in 1882. He is the oldest man now living who was born in Granby.
Lane, Hudson, of German ancestry, was born in Pulaski February 6, 1861, son of John D., born in Canajoharie, Montgomery county, January 10, 1801, died in Pulaski February 6, 1877. His wife was Harriet Draper, born in Rodman, Jefferson county, May 30, 1823, died in Pulaski November 16, 1890. They had these children: Henry Frey, born May 5, 1843; Wilfred I., born December 6, 1844; William Henry, born April 26, 1847; Roderick D., born July 30, 1850; George E., born October 4, 1852; Robert, born October 26, 1855; Harriet Elizabeth, born December 21, 1857; and Hudson. The deceased are Henry Frey, drowned November 30, 1846; Robert, died July 18, 1856; Harriet Elizabeth, died May 26, 1859; William H., died April 2, 1880. The father was in the mercantile business in Pulaski in the early part of his life, and was commissioner of highways of the town of Richland a number of years. Hudson was educated in Pulaski, and began life by driving team, and also worked a large market garden in Pulaski. He has been a member of the Pulaski fire department eight years.
Tucker, Manfred M., was born in Albion, Oswego county, September 21, 1826, a son of Joseph, who died in Sandy Creek, aged eighty-nine. The latter married Sarah R. Merrell for his first wife, January 30, 1806, who died February 15, 1820; their children were Charles C., Sidney M., Julius C., Fidelia Emaline. He married for his second wife Elinor Stuyvesant, who died at Sandy Creek October 26, 1872; their children were Lewis M., Sarah Jane, Manfred M., Anna E., Harriet L., Mary F. and Sarah A. The father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and was a tanner and harness manufacturer. Manfred was educated at Pulaski, and learned his father’s trade, opening a shop and harness store at Sandy Creek in 1852, which he still conducts, it being the largest business of the kind in the county outside of Oswego; he keeps a large stock of trunks, hand bags, whips, robes, horse clothing, etc. October 17, 1854, he married Amarilla Woodruff, daughter of Wm. Woodruff of Sandy Creek. She died in 1863, leaving two children, Edmund W. and Fred E.; the latter was drowned at Point Peninsular November 28, 1886, in an effort to save the perishing crew of the wrecked vessel Comanche. In 1863, Mr. Tucker married second Cornelia K., daughter of Jasper and Filena Jellett Taylor of Mexico, and their children were Frank A. and Burton A., both living. Frank married Flora B. Newton and is a druggist at Sandy Creek. Burton is in business with his father and resides at home. Edmund Tucker married Emma Lucas of Three Mile Bay, Jefferson county. Mr. Tucker is an Odd Fellow.
Dimon, Justus, was born April 12, 1834, in Hastings, son of John and Polly M. Dimon. John Dimon was one of the early settlers of Hastings, where he lived seventy years and died December 15, 1893, aged eighty-nine years. Subject was educated in Hastings, and then went to work on his father’s farm. From Hastings he moved to Parish in 1859, where he purchased the farm on which he now resides. This is a fine farm of over 100 acres under splendid cultivation. He married Ursula L. Avery, daughter of Richard F. Avery of Hastings, and has four daughters, Etta, Ida, Jenny and Mary.
Royce, William S., treasurer of the Victoria Paper Mills Co. Prior to 1892, at which date he assumed the duties of his present position, he was bookkeeper in the Citizen’s National Bank of Fulton. He was born at Morrow, O., May 21, 1867. His wife is Carrie B., daughter of K. F. Salmon and granddaughter of the late George Salmon, a family closely connected with Fulton from the period of its earliest growth. Mr. Royce is highly esteemed for his sterling worth and character.
Lester, Henry, son of Nicholas, was born near Troy, N. Y., in 1814. He came when a child with his grandparents to Sandy Creek. At an early age he commenced to earn his own living learning the trade of carpenter. He married Jane Bartlett, daughter of Emery Bartlett, and settled in the southeastern part of the town, building two saw mills and clearing a farm of 114 acres. Four children were born to them: Frances W., wife of J. A. Alden, who died in Lawrence, Mich., in 1876; Harriet E., wife of Elijah Rowe, who resides in Boylston; Emery B. of Orwell; Emerson D. in Boylston. His wife, Jane, dying in 1872, he married Amy Calkins Snyder, by whom he had a son, Henry W., who resides in Mannsville, Jefferson county. Henry Lester was much respected by his townsmen, holding the office of superintendent of schools, justice of the peace twelve years, and supervisor five years. He died in 1878. Emerson D. was born on the homestead where he now resides in 1851; he was educated in the district school, Pulaski Academy and Lawrence (Mich.) Union School. He was married in 1878, and has two children, Ray, aged fifteen, and Harry, aged five. He was elected supervisor in 1893 and re-elected in 1894 without opposition; is a Republican, a member of the I. O. O. F. and K. O. T. M. lodges.
Richards, Melzar C., superintendent of the Mexico Military Academy, is a native of Oswego County born in 1855. He was reared and received his education in his native county and at Whitestown Seminary, Oneida county. He graduated from West Point in 1881, and has since that time been continually in the service of the Government, receiving an appointment to Mexico Military Academy in 1893.
Baker, William H., was born in Lenox, Madison county, N. Y., January 17, 1827. Samuel P. Baker, his father, a native of Marcellus, N. Y., was a son of Joseph Baker who was born in Massachusetts, and whose wife was Phoebe Elliott, of Pompey Hill, Onondaga county. In 1821 he married Mary H., daughter of Samuel Atherton and Betsey Henny, natives of Massachusetts and Chesterfield, N. H., respectively. In 1829 he settled permanently in West Monroe, where he lived at the time of his marriage and where all but their second and third children were born. Of the family seven attained maturity and six are now living: Mary M. (Mrs. John Rill) deceased; Olivia L. (widow of James Armstrong, of New Hartford, N. Y.); William H.; George O. (first), who died aged four; S. Park, a lawyer of Youngstown, Niagara county; George O., a lawyer of Clyde; Alonzo E., a manufacturer of New Hartford; and Ashley Delos, a lawyer (and ex-county judge), of Gloversville. Samuel P. Baker died in Gloversville, April 21, 1888. His wife’s death occurred in West Monroe, October 4, 1882. William H. Baker, the eldest of the sons, was educated in the common schools and at the academies of Red Creek and Mexico, attending one term at Red Creek and one half a term at Mexico. He was at first a salt barrel cooper, and then a carpenter and joiner. He also taught school four winters, his last term being at Pulaski. He studied law with Judge Cyrus Whitney of Mexico, and finished with Seth Burton of Fulton, being admitted to the bar at Syracuse in November, 1851. The following January he began practice in Cleveland, N. Y., but in August, 1852, removed to Constantia where he has since resided. He continued the active practice of law until 1874, since which time he has devoted his attention mainly to his farm of 400 acres on the west side of the village, and bordering on the north shore of Oneida Lake. In a political capacity Mr. Baker has been specially prominent. “Sired by a Whig and nursed by a Whig mother”, he naturally became a Republican upon the organization of that party. He was elected district attorney of Oswego county in 1862, appointed to a vacancy by Gov. Reuben E. Fenton in 1866, and re-elected in the fall of that year, serving until December 31, 1869. In 1874 and again in 1876 he was elected to Congress from the 24th Congressional district, comprising the counties of Oswego and Madison and served in the 44th and 45th Congresses. In 1893 he was elected a delegate from the 22d Senatorial District to the Constitutional Convention, which met in Albany in May, 1894. October 27, 1859, Mr. Baker married Sarah, daughter of William and Sarah (Boots) Barnes, natives of England. Mr. and Mrs. Barnes settled in Constantia in 1830 where the former still resides. Mrs. Barnes died October 25, 1893. Mrs. Baker was born in Constantia December 15, 1834. The children of Mr. Baker are as follows: Sarah C., wife of Selah W. Hallenbeck, of Gloversville, born February 22, 1864; William Barnes, born January 30, 1869, admitted to the bar at Syracuse in April 1894, now a practicing lawyer in Oswego; and Mary Adeline, born May 21, 1873, now a student at Syracuse University.
Wilcox, C. C., who has achieved the very summit of success in his chosen vocation while yet in middle age, was born December 19, 1838, in Granby near the site of his present palatial residence. This locality was in 1834 an unbroken wilderness, when his father, the late David Wilcox, remove from Onondaga county to this place. David originally purchased 400 acres here, adding at various times 500 more, the clearing of at least half of which was due to his personal effort. His wife was Sally Starr of New England ancestry, who reared a family of ten children, of whom six sons are now living. She was a living example of all that is best of womanhood, and her memory is enshrined in the hearts of her children. She died in 1857, her husband attaining the remarkable age of ninety-seven years, and died June 22, 1894. He was in most ways a remarkable man, and the purity of the name he bequeathed is not the least of his legacies to his descendants. His longevity is somewhat characteristic of his family, and was also a matter of note on his wife’s side. Cyrus Wilcox spent four years of his early manhood in California, thereby no doubt enlarging the somewhat insular ideas incident to a more settled life, and his surroundings now indicate the breadth of view, and fixity of purpose which have been factors in the growth of his material prosperity. Operating nearly 300 acres of land, his specialty is the manufacture of butter, which product was awarded the highest honors at the World’s Fair of 1893. The buildings recently erected by Mr. Wilcox are in every way models of their kind, and attest the real genius, not less than the energy of their owner. A centrifugal machine in the dairy room run by steampower, separates the cream from the milk from his dairy of cows, and the ultimate result in the form of gilt-edge butter commands an invariable premium in the markets of the larger cities. January 10, 1865, Mr. Wilcox united in marriage with Miss Martha A., daughter of John and Elenor Hall of Granby, and their children are Luella, Fred A., and Cyrus Arie. Luella married F. J. Whitcomb of Granby; Fred A. married Miss Aletha Ingomeals of Volney, and operates a part of the home farm. In 1893 Mr. and Mrs. Wilcox united with the Congregational Church of Oswego Falls, of which they are at present members.
Ives, F. C., of Fulton, manager since 1882 of the United States Express Co.’s office, was born at Volney Centre, April 18, 1854. His parents, Hiram J. and Sarah Ives, are still residents of Volney Centre on the old homestead, where also their eldest son, Henry, lives. Friend Ives was educated in Fulton and began business life as bookkeeper for a hardware house there, before taking charge of the express business. March 27, 1879, he married Carrie A. Rice of Fulton, by whom he had four children, Edith M., Don H., both deceased, Leland F., born 1890, and Homer C., born 1894.
Tuttle, Henry H., a native of Sandy Creek, born January 25, 1856, is a son of Joseph and Catherine M. (Snyder) Tuttle, he born in Ellisburg August 30, 1818, and she in 1829. Joseph is a son of John Tuttle who died in 1876. The father of John was Eli Tuttle. Joseph, father of our subject, has retired from active work, and his son Henry now conducts the farm which contains 140 acres of the finest land in Sandy Creek. Mrs. Tuttle died December 5, 1883, and in 1884 Mr. Tuttle married Deborah W. Curtis of Ellisburg. He has served as highway commissioner. Henry H. was educated in the common schools and Union Academy of Sandy Creek. He carries on general farming and dairying, keeping an average of twenty-five cows. He married in 1882 Millie, daughter of Justus B. Fox of Richland. Mr. Tuttle is a member of Sandy Creek Grange and of Sandy Creek Lodge No. 564 F. & A. M. Mr. Tuttle’s sister, Betsey, born January 12, 1853 and married, October 25, 1871, Mervin Salisbury; and his brother, Joseph J., married, June 22, 1880, Izora Casler.
Paine, Oliver, of South Granby, was born in Camillus, N. Y., May 11, 1830. His father was Captain Seth Paine, a man of much note in earlier days. The military appellation was due to his captaincy of a company of militia. He was for a long term superintendent of schools. A saw mill of his own erection at Horseshoe Dam was operated by him for nearly five years, after which he purchased nearly 200 acres at South Granby, a portion of which is still in the possession of Oliver Paine, who occupies a handsome residence upon it. Seth Paine was a volunteer soldier in the war of 1812. His wife, Lury (Brewster) Paine, was a lineal descendant of William Brewster, of Mayflower fame. Oliver Paine’s wife is Sarah E., daughter of Andrew Works of Granby, and their children are Fred B., at home; and Clara E., wife of Verner Shattuck of Fulton. Subject has filled various positions of responsibility.
Mehegan, Daniel, jr., born December 13, 1864, is the eldest son of Daniel and Rose Mehegan. He received his early education in the district school of Dexterville, afterward finishing at Fulton Academy. He taught several schools in Dexterville and North Hannibal and has been for the past three years principal of the Oswego Falls Graded School. In August, 1891, he married Miss Nellie E. Hartnett, daughter of Wm. Hartnett. Their marriage has been blessed with two children, Allen A. and John F. His position as a teacher is one of which few people consider the great responsibilities, moulding as he does the lives and character of future citizens.
Richardson, L. T. – Prominent among the group of men who were outspoken in their advocacy of the abolition of slavery, was the late Samuel Richardson of Fulton. He removed to this town in 1838, kept Temperance Hotel for some time, then went into the grocery business, afterwards tending toll gate on the old bridge, and later on the Bowens Corners plank road. Of the Baptist church he was a life long pillar, and of the temperance cause a practical and earnest supporter. For several years before his death he lived with his son, L. T. Richardson. The latter was born at Delphi, Onondaga county, in 1830. During his life he has been largely connected with various public works, a contractor upon the lakes until 1881, when he was appointed superintendent of canals, which position he filled with credit for eight years.
Howard, Orsemus B., was born in Clayville, Oneida county, in 1855, son of Dr. Orsemus B. Howard. He came to Oswego county in 1858, and was a practicing physician in Dugaway and West Amboy until he died in December, 1882. He married three times, first Rosina Cogswell who was the mother of our subject, second Helen Frye by whom he had one child, Henry. His third wife was Margaret Cole, by whom he had three children: George, who died aged seven years; Frank and Raymond. Our subject at eighteen began his business life as a salesman of sewing machines, which he followed twelve years, when he established a business for himself in Constantia village, having removed to this place in 1880. He added to his stock of sewing machines, pianos, organs, carriages, wagons, bicycles, etc. He has served the town one term as collector, in 1893 received his commission as postmaster of the Constantia office, and is a member of the Masonic fraternity. In 1873 he married Celia A., daughter of Peter and Maria A. (Fellows) Muckey, of Constantia. Mr. and Mrs. Howard have five children: Menzo Lee, Lillian Rosina, Forest Clinton, Blanche May and Freddie Fay.
Coe, Reuben C., was born at Palermo, October 20, 1848. His father, Charles Coe long prominent in the M. E. Church, died in 1890 at the age of seventy-two. Reuben was for eight years of his married life a lumberman at Palermo. He then removed to a farm at Volney and is at present operating a dairy farm. He has been for a number of years notary public, an office for which he is eminently fitted by education and aptitude. His first wife was Lucy Bowen, who died in 1888, leaving two children, George and Arletta, the elder of whom died August 3, 1894, aged twenty-one years. His present wife, who was Hattie Squires, is the mother of two children, Nellie and Frank.
Case, Daniel C., younger son of the late Ransford Case, was born in Hannibal, January 8, 1855. Ransford was three times married and the father of six children of whom our subject is the younger of four sons. Ransford Case was born and reared in Skaneateles, a blacksmith by trade, and in later life a farmer; also becoming a prominent man of affairs holding the office of justice of the peace and postmaster. Daniel C. received an academic education at Fulton and Cazenovia, fitting himself for teaching, which profession he followed until the purchase of a farm in 1877, consisting of 160 acres. His wife is Elizabeth, daughter of John Cole of Granby, whom he married October 27, 1875, and they have had these children: Bertha A., Clare D., Lena A., Alvin R., and two who died in infancy. Mr. Case has not lost his interest in educational matters since becoming a farmer, but devotes his time and talent largely to the advancement and improvement of schools and is trustee of Oswego Falls school. He was president of the village in 1887 and 1888, and has also served as trustee of the village.
Emeny, Geo. J., born in Herkimer county in 1839. In 1842 his parents moved to Oswego county where he has since resided (excepting six years spent in Illinois). He is the only son of James and Elizabeth Emeny. Mr. Emeny was educated at Falley Seminary, and is known as an energetic and successful contractor and builder, having built large business blocks for himself and others, besides over 100 dwellings in Fulton and Oswego Falls. April 25, 1870, he married Maria Van Wagenen, daughter of the late F. D. Van Wagenen, and they have one daughter, Georgia, wife of H. C. Howe of Fulton, and one son, Frederick, who is taking a course in mechanical engineering at Cornell University.
Reynolds, Chas. A., is the eldest living son of the late James G. Reynolds who settled in Northern Granby in 1828. Besides extensive farming interests he conducted a large lumber business, shipping principally to Troy, Albany, Syracuse and Oswego. In this way he acquired a competency. In 1850 he married Antoinette, daughter of the late Seth Severance, a prominent early settler of New Haven, N. Y. Mr. Reynolds was public spirited, broad minded and a genial companion. He was a well known politician and held various offices of trust, and received nomination for assemblyman in 1870. His honourable and useful life closed November 24, 1886, aged seventy-five. His son, Chas A. Reynolds, was educated at Falley Seminary, Fulton; he has devoted his time chiefly to extensive farming and the raising of full-blooded stock. The youngest son, Willard G. Reynolds, is a graduate of Amherst College, class of ’90; also of Bellevue Medical College, and is now acting senior doctor at St. Mary’s College, Brooklyn, N. Y. James G. Reynolds was one of a large family of children; the two oldest, Morgan Z. and Mariah H., wife of Roland P. Crossman, being well known old residents of Oswego.
Fuller, C. S., was the son of Almaria and Abigail S. Fuller, who came here from Columbia county about 1830. Almaria was a mason by trade. He was a man of much character, and filled the offices of assessor, justice and supervisor. He died in 1864, aged eighty-four. C.C. Fuller’s residence of sixty-four years at South Granby has been uninterrupted. In early manhood he taught school during the winter seasons, in which profession he was very successful. He also learned the mason’s trade from his father. His wife is Lucy, daughter of the late Seth Paine. She was born in Camillus in 1826, and traces her ancestry to the Mayflower. She has one daughter, Clarissa P., wife of William G. Betts of Fulton. Mr. Fuller was born in Columbia county September 18, 1818.
Jennings, Capt. O. J., was born in Fulton village November 4, 1837. His father, Z. P. Jennings, a descendant of old New England stock, came here from Berkshire county, Mass. His business was manufacturing wooden ware. He died in 1856, aged fifty-four years. Our subject, the younger of two sons, had only the advantage in education of the public schools of Fulton, together with several winters’ study with the late Rev. T. M. Bishop. He engaged before his majority in the retail drug business in Fulton. When the first call for volunteers was made by President Lincoln, Jennings personally formulated a muster roll and affixed thereto his signature - the first volunteer soldier of Oswego county; he went to the front as captain of Co. E, 24th N. Y. Vols., and although severely wounded at the Second Battle of Bull Run, maintained his position till the suspension of hostilities. In 1863 he married Adelaide A. McCrea, and has one daughter. Mr. Jennings was appointed town clerk of the town of Volney to fill vacancy when twenty years of age, and was the following year elected as a Republican to the same office; from 1880 to 1883 he was superintendent of the Oswego Canal. At times he has been extensively engaged in the dredging business together with general contracting work on the great lakes. In politics he is a Republican.
Cary, E. G., traveling salesman (since 1885), representing the Minetto Shade Cloth Co., is the son of William P. Cary of Oswego Falls. He was born at Osceola, Wis., May 29, 1856. He is of Scotch-Irish ancestry. He graduated from the High School at Sheboygan Falls, Wis., after which he entered the best of training schools. After three years spent in teaching he engaged in mercantile business in Milwaukee, Wis., with T. A. Chapman & Co., where he remained for three years. His first experience on the road was in the employ of a St. Paul dry goods house, afterward traveling for the New York Slate Roofing Co. In his present vocation he has achieved a marked success. His wife, Isadore, is a daughter of J. W. Cornell, and they have two children: Edna M. and Harold W. Mr. and Mrs. Cary are members of the M. E. church, of which he has long been a trustee and superintendent of the Sabbath School.
O’Brien, John C., the leading dry goods merchant of Fulton, received his education and commercial training in the city of Oswego, where he was born January 26, 1860. His father, John O’Brien, formerly an attache of the Northern Transportation Company, is now engaged in the life insurance business in Oswego. John C., who is the eldest of four sons, was a valued employee for eight years in a leading dry goods house, but in 1885 established himself independently in business in Fulton. Through keen commercial intuition, natural shrewdness and careful management, Mr. O’Brien’s business, which had a comparatively small beginning, has grown to its present proportions. He was united in marriage to Miss Frances O’Hare of Fulton, and two children, Charles and Helen, have blessed their union.
Dutton, Grove H., was born in Granby July 5, 1846. Orson H., his father, came to Fulton about 1834, operating a saw mill as well as a farm. His wife was Sophia Church, of Connecticut ancestry, and of her six children but two are now living: our subject, and Maria, now Mrs. Strickland of Ottawa, Ill. Orson Dutton died in 1884, aged seventy-six. Our subject was in the war of the Rebellion, going to the front at the age of sixteen in Co. D, 147th Regiment N. Y. Vols., and took part in all of the great battles from Chancellorsville that the Army of the Potomac was engaged in from that time to the close of the war. Twenty-five years after the war, after three amputations, he lost an arm from a wound received at Gettysburg; he was also wounded at Five Forks, Va., near the close of the war. Since the war he has been engaged principally in farming, besides serving the town in various official capacities. He was two years in the custom house as inspector under the appointment of H. H. Lyman. His wife is Betty, a daughter of Milo Austin of South Granby, and their children are Ralph, Bruce, Bessie, Orson, Grove, Cort and Ruth.
Chapman, E. D., was born at Hebron, Washington county, N. Y., June 3, 1826. Besides various town offices, Mr. Chapman has been for sixteen years since its organization president of Oswego County Fire Relief Association, with a membership of 1,500 and carrying risks of over $2,500,000; three successive years master of County Council, Patrons of Husbandry, and nine years master of the subordinate grange. His wife, Louisa, whom he married in 1849, died in 1891, leaving five children: Emeline, wife of Charles R. Rogers of Oswego Falls; Jane, wife of Fred Surdam of Oswego Falls; Alman, Isaac and Orson. Mr. Chapman’s present wife is Anna Speer of Swedish birth. His father is still living, a resident of Hebron, Washington county, N. Y.
Spafford, G. Fred. – On October 2, 1894, John Milton Spafford, long an active and honoured citizen of Fulton, passed away after a long and useful life. He was born April 25, 1815, at Saquoit, Oneida county, and came to Fulton in 1820, where he has resided with few exceptions up to the time of his death. In 1839 he married Jennette Green in Madison county. Mrs. Spafford died June 10, 1875, and in 1879 he married Mrs. Vandalia Van Valkenburg of Fulton. He was the father of nine children, as follows: Chester Jinks, Mary Ann, Louisa Sophronia, Edgar Delos, Susan Elizabeth, Martha Deatta, Frances Amelia, Ella Archele, and George Frederick. Of these children Fred and two daughters, Mrs. Theo Bellinger of Deansville, and Mrs. David Cole of Kirkville, survive him, as does also his wife. Mr. Spafford was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and for many years owned and operated a saw mill just east of Fulton village, and as an evidence of his thrift it may be stated that at one period of his life he worked at his trade by day and operated his saw mill at night. He enjoyed the respect of all who knew him, and the family have the sympathy of a host of his personal friends and admirers. G. Fred Spafford was born May 6, 1856, and has always resided in Fulton. He is now engaged in the ice business, a superior quality of which is produced upon his own premises in the suburbs of the village. February 9, 1878, he married Louise, daughter of Felix Cholet, of Syracuse. Mr. Spafford inherits largely the genial and manly qualities which distinguished his late father.
Pease, Levi, was born November 23, 1816. His father was Daniel Pease, one of the first settlers in Oswego. His mother was Miriam Rice, the daughter of Asa Rice, the first settler (in 1797) in the town of Oswego, outside the State Reservation. He married in 1848 Mrs. Mary Bishop Rhodes, who died July 5, 1894, leaving two sons, Leroy and Ira, and one daughter, Mrs. C. P. Smith of Burlington, Vt. Leroy Pease was born March 2, 1850, and married in 1868 Laura E. Alexander. Ira Pease was born June 20, 1856, was educated in the Oswego Normal School, taught four years, and in 1880 married Marcia E., daughter of John A. Place of Oswego. Levi Pease and his sons are engaged in successful farming and fruit-raising in the town of Oswego.
Ould, John, was born in England July 5, 1828, a son of Richard and Elizabeth (Truscott) Ould, also natives of England, where the mother died aged thirty-three years. John came to America when twenty years of age, settling in Wampsville, Madison county, N. Y., where his father died aged fifty-six years. Our subject learned tailoring in England, at which he has ever since been engaged. He resided in Madison county seven years, then removed to Syracuse, where he remained four years. Coming to Oswego in 1858 he associated himself with Lyman Strong in the merchant tailoring and clothing business, the firm name being Strong & Ould. This (with some intervening changes in the style of the firm), now John Ould & Co., has continued to the present time, in all thirty-three years. They carry a full line of clothing, men’s furnishings, and merchant tailoring goods. Mr. Ould has the reputation of being the finest cutter in the county. His wife was Susan M. Shepard of Madison county, a daughter of Ira and Mary Shepard, and their children are: Harris Truscott, born July 27, 1858, who is in business with his father; Sophia S., born January 26, 1860, who married James M. Hart; and John A., born December 10, 1867. Mrs. Ould died in 1882.
Jacobs, Jacob M., jr., of German and English ancestry, was born in Oswego October 23, 1830, son of Jacob M. Jacobs, who was born in Baltimore, Md., and who died in Oswego, aged over 100 years, formerly a midshipman in the navy, also clerk for the U. S. fleet on Lake Ontario under Commodore Chauncey and was stationed at Sackett’s Harbor during the late war with Great Britain in 1812 and 1813; was also lighthouse keeper at Oswego for several years; he married Mary Tarble of New Hampshire, who died aged ninety years; the fruit of this union was nine children, five sons and four daughters: Charles W., Jacob M., Edward, Henry C., Edwin T., Eliza A., Nellie, Sarah and Mary, all living now except Edward, who died in 1843 from the effects of a fall on the ice. Jacob M. Jacobs, jr., in 1845, opened a wholesale and retail cigar store; also manufactured cigars until 1881; since that time he has been exclusively engaged in the manufacture of cigars; his brands of cigars are the Frontier City, Gauntlet, Golden and The Best. In 1850 he married Caroline A. Smith of Syracuse, daughter of John and Sarah T. Smith, and their children are Myer, who has dental rooms in the Neil block in Oswego; Monroe, who died at The Dalles, Ore.; and May Jacobs, who married Lorenzo Dowd, of New Haven, Oswego county, where they now reside. J. M. Jacobs, jr., is a member of Frontier City Lodge No. 422, F. & A. M. He was storekeeper and inspector at the bonded warehouse of Gaylord, Downey & Co. during the collectorships of D. G. Fort, J. J. Lamaree and H. H. Lyman, at the port of Oswego.
Calkins, Jesse W., born in Richland, Oswego county, N. Y., August 7, 1817, grandson of Samuel of Connecticut, who died in this county aged eighty-three, and son of Samuel born in Connecticut and died in this county at age of eighty-two. The father was a soldier of the war of 1812. He married Ruth Weldon of Connecticut, who died in this county aged eighty-two. Their children were Elisha, Aurelia, Roswell, Alva, Sylvia, Benjamin, Sarah, Daniel, Ransom, Betsey, Phoebe, Julia and Jesse W., all of whom are deceased except Daniel and Jesse W. Jesse W., retired farmer, ex-assessor and member of State Grange, educated at Mexico Academy and afterwards taught school in different counties in the State. In 1845 married Nancy Gillespie, daughter of Henry Gillespie, who died 1846. In 1848 married Lydia Gillespie, daughter of Hugh Gillespie, born 1820. Their children are Estella R., married L. L. Virgil, both deceased; Gertrude A., graduate of Ingham University, married Rev. C. N. Severance, residence Wichita, Kansas; Jeanne A., graduate of Oberlin College, married G. Percy Smith, merchant, Mason City, Iowa; Robert L., claim agent, Grand Central Station, New York, married Frances C. Graves of Niagara Falls, N. Y., Flora A., graduate of Oberlin College, married Rev. W. L. Tenney of Olivet College, Olivet, Mich.; Frederick G., real estate and insurance agent, Los Angeles, Cal., married Rosamond Simpson of Oswego, N. Y.; H. Flavius and Cora L. deceased.
Rudd, Hiram, was born in the western part of Boylston in 1842. His father, Rosell A., came to the town in 1834, and four years later bought and located on what has ever since been known as the Rudd farm of ninety-five acres, which adjoins the county line on the west side of Boylston. His farm was deeded by his father-in-law, Mr. Filmore. Mr. Rudd died in 1886, and his wife in 1892. They had five sons and one daughter, Ellen, Mrs. William Barker; Hiram, David and George W. are farmers of Boylston; William lives in Loraine; Chester F. died on the old farm in 1892, aged thirty-two years. Hiram married Jennie, daughter of Hugh Lermonth, and they have one daughter, Rose L., who was educated at Sandy Creek High School and became a successful teacher. Mr. Rudd served as assessor three years.
Bennett, Gill H., is of the fifth generation of Bennetts in the State. His father, Isaac W., was a son of Gill, son of Nathaniel, son of Nathaniel, who came from New England and settled in Rensselaer county. Here Gill was born in 1804, and in 1808 he came with his father and grandfather to Orwell. This was the first settlement in the town. Gill lived on a farm until 1878. His family consisted of three children, Janette, Mrs. John Wright; Kate, Mrs. Robert Thomas; and Isaac W., who married Helen M. Henderson, of Sand Bank. The Henderson family was the first to settle Albion. They had a family of two sons, Gill H., born August 17, 1854; and Thomas H., who is superintendent of the Oswego Water Works. Gill H. was born on the farm now owned by him, as was his father before him. He attended school at Pulaski Academy two years and the Adams Collegiate Institute for three years. He married Nettie J., daughter of Nathaniel Lewis, formerly of Orwell, but later of Adams. They live quietly on their farm of 375 acres. Their children are Helen D., born August 26, 1877, who has attended the High School at Sand Bank; Bert B., died July 1, 1881; Charles C., born April 18, 1884; Victor T., born January 1, 1888, and Lottie L., born April 22, 1893.
Matteson, Milton, was born May 26, 1842, in Mexico, a son of Wright Matteson, who died aged fifty-six. The latter married Sallie Pond, who died aged eighty-three, and their children were Andrew, Loyal, Julia, Lyman, Milton, Algernon and Judson. The father was an officer in the State militia. Milton was educated at Mexico, and was first employed in a tannery, after which he was in the government employ at Washington, D. C., one year as mail carrier between Washington and Alexandria, Va. Returning home he enlisted in the 184th N. Y. Vols. and served in the Army of the James one year. He had three brothers who also served during this war. He married Addie Chamberlain in 1867, a daughter of George and Harriet Chamberlain of Richland, and their children are George, Lloyd, Nettie F. and Stanley.
House, Charles W., justice of the peace at Colosse, was born in 1854, educated at Pulaski and Mexico Academies, and in 1878 married Emily, daughter of John Webb. They have one child, Ethel L. Mr. House was appointed justice of the peace in 1889, elected in 1890 and re-elected in 1893. The father, Joseph M., was born in Otsego county in 1813, son of Abraham and Nancy (Mabie) House, and came to the town of Parish when a boy. He taught school seven years in Pennsylvania and fourteen years at Bound Brook, N. J. He lived thirteen years at Holmesville, where he farmed and taught school, and afterward moved to the town of Mexico.
Webb, George Chandler and Theodore Herbert. In the annals of Mexico must be accorded a prominent place to the family of the late Charles Loring Webb, who settled in that vicinity in 1830 and who was long a leading merchant in that village. A spirit of adventure led him to enter the United States navy in 1854 where he served as assistant paymaster and acting paymaster on the U. S. brig “Bohio” during the civil war. At the opening of the Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad he became station agent at Mexico, a position he held until 1878, the date of his retirement from active life. His wife, Mary Chandler Allen of Pomfret, Windham county, Conn., and five of her eight children are living. Mrs. Webb is still a resident of Mexico and now aged seventy-four years. George C., born 1854, received a commercial education at Mexico Academy and was first employed in a clerical capacity by the Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburg Railroad Co. in the general freight office, Watertown, N.Y., and has since filled many offices in connection with the New York, Ontario & Western and West Shore Railroads. In 1889 he established with James A. Foster the “Fulton Paper Co.” for the manufacture of wood pulp, one of the most important industries of Fulton. Of unlimited enterprise and public spirit, he occupies an enviable position among the substantial citizens of that thriving village. In 1884 he married Charlotte Lansing Boyd of Middletown, N. Y., and their children are Manette Boyd, Henry Chandler, George Chandler, jr., and Bayard Boyd. Theodore H., the youngest son of Charles L. and Mary C. Webb, was born in 1858 at Mexico at which place he was fitted for a commercial life. He succeeded his father in the railroad business, then spent ten years in the city of Oswego, filling important positions in the Second National Bank and Ames Iron Works, coming to the village of Fulton in 1891, at which place he assisted in organizing the Eurka Paper Co., of which he is secretary and treasurer; he has assumed in society and church as well as in business circles a leading position. In 1883 he married Elizabeth Hare Smith of Oswego, N. Y., their daughter Dorothy was born September 19, 1891. Both brothers are earnest supporters of the best interests of the town.
Pardee, Daniel, the eldest son of Dr. Stephen and Mary A. Pardee, was born in Volney, November 30, 1833. He was educated in the common schools, at Fulton Academy, and at the age of fourteen entered Hamilton College, where he remained for two years. He then entered Union College and graduated in 1851. Thus provided with an excellent education, Daniel began the study of medicine under the direction of his father, after which he attended lectures in New York and Albany and graduated from the Albany Medical College in 1855. He began practice in partnership with his father, and during the war was surgeon in Battery F, 1st New York Light Artillery. Returning to Fulton, Dr. Pardee resumed practice, but in 1868 he retired from active life on account of ill health. After this he traveled for a while, visiting the Bermudas, West Indies, Spain and the Mediterranean Sea. Being greatly improved in health he returned to Fulton and engaged for a time in the drug business, gradually resuming his practice. He died on the 26th of August, 1891. Dr. Pardee was an active and earnest worker. He was specially prominent in the Masonic order and advanced to the thirty-second degree. For many years he was a member of the Presbyterian Church. At Waterville, in October, 1856, Dr. Pardee married Mary L. Stevens, who bore him one child.
Van Buren, Lawrence, son of an old and representative family, whose personal history is closely interwoven with that of Fulton and of the town of Volney, was born here May 4, 1846. He is the elder of the sons of the late James Van Buren, who was also born here, and whose father was Jacob Van Buren. James Van Buren was a carpenter and boatman, but in 1849 he went to the gold mines of California. His death occurred in 1876 at the age of fifty-four years. His wife was Maria Stevens, of Fulton. Lawrence also followed boating for a period of twenty years. In 1890 he engaged in the paper-making industry at the Victoria Mills. His wife is Ellen M., daughter of the late James F. Simons of Fulton. Their children are Burt, born April 19, 1876; and Ralph, born January 10, 1880. Mr. Van Buren was at one time assessor. He is a member of Hiram Lodge No. 144.
Hall, Llewellyn J., is a native of Oswego city, where he was born in 1845. His father, Daniel M., was a native of Norway, Herkimer county, a cooper by trade. His mother was Roxey Hines. His grandfather was Daniel Hall, who was born in Rhode Island and came to Herkimer county at the age of twenty-three; from there he went to Lee, Oneida county; from there he went to Scriba, Oswego county, about 1834; he was a blacksmith by trade; he was married twice; by his first wife he had five children, one son and four daughters; and by his second wife four children, two sons and two daughters, subject’s father being the oldest by the second marriage. Llewellyn moved to Mexico in 1862, and from there he enlisted in Co. I, 147th N.Y. Vols., and was with his regiment all through until the battle of the Wilderness, May 6, 1864, where he was wounded and lost his left leg below the knee; he was there taken prisoner and carried to Lynchburg, and from there to Libby prison in Richmond, and was kept a prisoner five months, and finally discharged March 18, 1865, at Philadelphia. He married in 1869 Mary O’Raffarty of Oswego, who died May 9, 1870. His second wife was Sarah A. Boschan, daughter of Lorenzo Boschan, and their children are Andrew E., George E., Bertha, Frank, James and Clarence. Llewellyn came to Boylston in 1878, and settled on a farm one-half mile east of Town Hall and lived there until 1887, and then moved to the farm of twenty-five acres he now owns. One brother, Herbert S., lives with him; another, Andrew, lives in Albion, Orleans county; James died in 1889, aged thirty-five years; Colon L., eldest brother, enlisted in 1862 in Co. I, 147th N. Y. Vols., and served his time with the regiment, afterwards in the 16th Infantry and 9th Cavalry, regular army. He died in 1877, aged thirty, after fifteen years continuous service, and only twelve days before the expiration of his term. Sarah, his only sister, married Frank Reiley and lives in Watertown, Jefferson county.
Jefferson, Franklin Hopkins, was born in Caughdenoy, January 16, 1858. His father, John Hopkins, was the son of Ebenezer Hopkins of Madison county, who was a farmer and noted as a breeder of fast horses. John Hopkins was married to Elizabeth Everson in 1838, and moved to Hastings about 1848, and kept wagon, blacksmith and cabinet shops, and was also interested in the fisheries on Oneida River. They had ten children. John Hopkins died in 1864, and Jefferson, being the youngest son, remained with his mother till her death, which occurred in 1874. In 1878 he was married to Lettie Rhines of Caughdenoy, who died in 1888. During this period Mr. Hopkins was engaged principally in the fisheries. In 1889 he entered the mercantile business, and is at present interested in a large general store, coal yard and steamboat. In 1891 he was again married to Mary O’Connor, daughter of Thomas and Margaret O’Connor of Oswego. Two children were born of this marriage, John T., born May 24, 1892; and Thomas Wells, born August 2, 1894. In 1892 Mr. Hopkins was elected supervisor of the town of Hastings, and made such a good record that he was the unanimous choice of the Republican party in 1893, and was re-elected by the largest majority ever given in that town, and was again elected in 1894 to represent the town for 1894 and 1895.
Redhead, Edwin R., was born in Brownville, Jefferson county, N. Y., January 6, 1851, the son of Richard and Elizabeth (Barker) Redhead; the father a clergyman of the M. E. Church, and who in 1892 celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of his ministerial life. Both parents were of English birth and came to the United States after their marriage. Edwin R. graduated from Fairfield Seminary in 1869 and then entered Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., but was forced to leave on account of illness. Later he entered Syracuse University as a sophomore from which he graduated with the degree of B. A. in 1874. He then began reading law with Judge Howland at Port Byron, N. Y., but after one year failing eyesight compelled him to abandon study, and he then went to Skaneateles where his father was stationed, and soon afterward was employed as traveling salesman for F. G. Weeks, which continued five years. Purchasing part of what is now the Victoria Paper Mills Company, Fulton, N. Y., our subject became secretary, treasurer and manager, with his former employer, Mr. Weeks, as president. Many improvements and additions to power facilities and factory buildings were afterwards made by the company, in all of which Mr. Redhead was the foremost. After several years this partnership was dissolved. Mr. Redhead is now president of the company and its largest stockholder, and is associated with J. H. Howe and W. S. Royce. Mr. Redhead is known to be a public spirited and generous man, especially devoted to church work. He was a delegate to the M. E. General Conference at Omaha in 1892, is one of the trustees of Syracuse University, and was one of the founders of the State street M. E. church at Fulton. May 23, 1877, at Port Byron, he married Sarah A., daughter of Israel Petty.
Allen, Harry A., senior partner of the firm of Allen & McKinstry, men’s furnishing house, who carry an elegant line of all goods in their line, has led a life of adventure in the far west. Born in Brooklyn in 1867, when his father, the late James M. Allen, was then a tea merchant, much of his boyhood was spent in New Mexico, where his father had become interested in mining, traveling widely for pleasure as well as profit. During the several years he was engaged in the shipment of cattle, Mr. Allen donned the traditional cowboy suit and learned by personal experience some of the rougher phases of life on the great plains.
King, Alexander, has for nearly half a century been a resident of Fulton, highly esteemed as a citizen and as a man of character and worth. His early life was one of much adventure. He spent the years 1849 and 1850 in the gold mines of California, among hardships and real perils, the magnitude of which is difficult of realization in these days of transcontinental palace cars. Born at Cambridge, Washington county, in 1825, he was the eldest of eight children of Ira and Eliza King, who were of Connecticut ancestry. His earlier years were spent in teaching school, in which noble vocation he was eminently successful. Mr. King’s first wife was Mary J. Smith of Washington county, who died without issue after two years of wedded life. He next married Emeline T. Chapman of Hannibal, who became the mother of three daughters, Edna A., Florence M., and May L. Florence died when about three years of age; the other daughters have been successful as teachers. Edna is the widow of the late H. E. Moore, coal and lumber merchant at Lyndonville, N. Y. May L. is the wife of Victor Loomis of Fulton, who is associated with the Fulton Machine Co. as bookkeeper and shipping clerk. During the late war Mr. King spent three years in the volunteer service, enlisting as a private in Co. D, 147th Regt., was at once appointed orderly sergeant, and about a year later was promoted to first lieutenant, serving in that capacity until just before the close of the war, when he received captain’s commission; was severely wounded at Gettysburg, and was in the last strategic move when Lee was compelled to surrender. After the war he was for eight years engaged in the business of raising flax. At one time he served as town superintendent of schools. At present he holds the position of school tax collector in Fulton. It goes without saying that his political adherence is to the party that looks after the good of all without regard to sex, sect, color or location, equal rights to all; in fact a real American citizen.
Gage, William G., who was for many years known as one of Fulton’s successful business men, was born in Madison county, February 17, 1823. His father died when William was an infant and the latter was brought up among relatives until he was fourteen years old. He learned the tanner’s trade, but never followed it. After a while he came to South Hannibal and engaged in farming and later in the mercantile business in Hannibal. In 1849 he came to Fulton and was clerk for Palmer Kenyon, later with R. T. Jones, and finally formed a partnership with C. B. Hancock under the firm name of Gage & Hancock. Later becoming sole proprietor, he continued until the close of the war. He engaged in flour milling in 1868 with Isaac A. Graves, but soon succeeded to the entire business and later associated with D. M. Perrine, whom afterward he also bought out. His next partner was E. J. Carrington. The firm of W. G. Gage & Co. which is still recognized as one of the first in importance on the river, was formed in 1874 and comprised William G. Gage, Orin Henderson and Frederick A. Gage. William died July 5, 1892. Mr. Gage was a man of firmness and integrity and especially kind and liberal toward all poor and suffering humanity. He married in 1846 Julia A. Smith of Cambridge, N. Y., and their children were Florence M., who married Adolphus Bennett and died in 1879, leaving two children (William G. and Bert W.), and Frederick A. Gage, who married Helen Tucker June 19, 1872, and has one daughter, Dorothy.
Looker, Fred Austin, Mt. Pleasant, son of Oliver Looker of North Volney, was born at Burke, Franklin county, March 11, 1852. He is the younger of two sons; Frank, the elder, being a resident of New Haven. Mr. Looker’s father removed to Volney about 1866. July 5, 1877, he married Ella, daughter of Andrus Ives, of Volney. In 1886 he bought and removed to the S. P. Root farm at Mt. Pleasant, where he is still engaged in farming. Their children are Grace, born March 1, 1879, and Floyd, born September 10, 1888.
Seymour, Harry T., son of Lindley A. Seymour of Volney, was born January 16, 1862. His mother is of English birth. She was Hepsibah Hewitt, daughter of a Methodist clergyman, and came across the water when ten years old. There are two sons, Harry and Willard, the latter a farmer of Volney. In 1881 Harry Seymour was the choice of the Republicans of Volney for the office of highway commissioner, acquitting himself so creditably that he was re-elected in 1892, and the next year elected collector. Always loyal to his friends, no young man could be more popular than he, or boast a wider circle of warm personal friends. Of his first wife, Eunice S. Osborn of Volney, he was deprived by her untimely death March 24, 1885, after less than one year of married life. He was again married March 16, 1887, to Liza M. Foster, daughter of Darius Foster of Volney. They have one daughter, Mabel M., born July 27, 1889.
Bogue, John, was born in County Armagh, Ireland, in 1839. His father, James Bogue, came to Montreal in 1846, with his wife, who was Lucy Lavelle, and their children. Three years later they came to Fulton. James Bogue was by trade a millwright and carpenter, and although a very modest and reserved man, was widely know as a master workman. He was long a trusted employee of Duryea & Co., both here and at Glen Cove, and foreman for various large contractors upon works of magnitude in the North and West. John Bogue has been a resident of Fulton since six years of age, and having learned the mason’s trade has acquired a competence by its practice. He laid the first stone of the magnificent Presbyterian church just completed, and the last brick also, having become famous for fearless scaling of lofty spires and stacks. In Oswego, August 15, 1859, Mr. Bogue married Anna Cummins, who is also of Irish birth, emigrating to America in 1849 at the age of seventeen years. Her living children are Henry, Frances, Annie E., Winifred, James W., and William J. One daughter, Mary F., died in 1864 at the age of three years. The children are very proficient in music as professionals and teachers, one daughter being a graduate of the Boston Conservatory.
Armour, O. E., was born in Volney in 1837, son of John and Caroline, of Scotch and Irish descent. Mr. Armour inherits the sterling qualities which distinguish the best of both races. He is a cousin of Philip D. Armour, of Chicago, and his only son, Fred E., who was born August 20, 1866, is now a valued employee of the Chicago magnate, having entered the office in 1892 as clerk. Mrs. Armour was Marietta Cole before her marriage. A daughter, Carrie L., died October 2, 1863. Mr. Armour has been town assessor for several years.
Wilber, Albert, son of Samuel and Louisa (Huggins) Wilber, was born in Granby in 1851. Samuel Wilber was one of the earliest settlers here. He was born in Dutchess county, and died here in 1874 aged sixty-two, leaving three daughters and two sons, Willard, the younger brother, being a resident of Hannibal. September 18, 1870, Albert married Nettie, daughter of James J. Fort of Bowen’s Corners. Their oldest daughter, Linnie, is the wife of Bert Ware of Oswego Falls, the four younger children being Belle, Arlon, Leah and Fred.
Clark, Robert A., was born in Minetto, Oswego county, February 14, 1853, son of Myron S. and Mary J. (Weed) Clark. The father died at the age of thirty-nine. Robert A. was educated in Ballston, N. Y., and Burlington, Vt., and taught school at the latter place for two years. He then conducted a grocery store in Oswego for three years. After this he opened a carpet and upholstery business which he still continues, occupying the store at 198 West First street for the past thirteen years. He is a member of Frontier City Lodge F. & A. M., Lake Ontario Chapter and Commandery, Oswego Consistory, and Media Temple of the Mystic Shrine. In 1878 he married Isabella, daughter of Robert and Jane (Rassmusser) Calvert of Cayuga county.
Cooley, Frank L., was born in Hannibal Centre, Oswego county, June 23, 1866, a son of Dr. Ricardo N. Cooley, who was born in Lewis county, and of Harriet I. Pasco Cooley, his wife, born in Cayuga county. The paternal grandfather, John Cooley, was born in Massachusetts, and the great-grandfather was a captain in the Revolutionary war and is mentioned in history. Frank L. was educated in the University of Buffalo, where he obtained the degree of M. D. in 1888. He practiced medicine with his father till July, 1889, when he removed to Oswego city, where he still remains and is well known as a successful physician. He has been intimately associated with the Oswego County Medical Society, being its secretary for three years; he is also one of the Board of U. S. Pension Examining Surgeons.
Post, Robert G., was born in Ontario, Canada, August 28, 1841, the oldest son of Matilda E. Bates and Jordan Post. His forefathers were Americans from Connecticut and Virginia, and both grandfathers served with distinction in the war of 1812. Robert G. was educated in Ontario; he came to Oswego in 1864 and commenced his business career as a lumberman in the office of Smith & Post. IN 1866 he formed the firm of McChesney & Post, which continued two years, when a partnership was entered into with Washington T. Henderson, under the firm name of Post & Henderson, which still exists. Mr. Post served in the 48th Regt. N. G. S. N. Y. as captain and inspector of rifle practice, and later as major of the regiment. He was one of the founders of the Home Electric Light Co., is president of the Oswego Board of Trade; also the Orphan Asylum, and secretary of the Oswego Gas Light Co. January 9, 1868, he married Mary W. Harmon, oldest daughter of Mary L. Warner and Orville J. Harmon. Their children are Robert and Harold deceased, and Anna W., a student at Vassar College.
Owen, Chas. H., a resident of Volney for half a century, was born in Onondaga, Onondaga county, April 28, 1827. He is a son of Daniel H. and Priscilla J. Owen, who removed from Onondaga to Hastings in 1835. Charles was engaged in the transportation of grain by canal from Oswego to New York until 1861, when he joined the army and served until the close of the war. Since that time he has been principally engaged in farming, and is now operating a dairy farm of 333 acres with W. S. Nelson of Fulton. In 1850 he married Harriet Curtis, daughter of the late Abner H. Curtis of Fulton, who was well known as a boot and shoe dealer in Hannibal and Fulton. They had one daughter, Idaletta, who was born in 1856 and died in 1858. They have by adoption one daughter, Mary Lois. Charles has always been a Democrat.
Laney, Elias, was born in Oneida county, town of Lee, April 12, 1828, a son of William, a native of Connecticut, born June 22, 1777, and served in the war of 1812. The grandfather Laney was killed in the Revolutionary war. William was a tanner and currier, and married Rachael Seymour of Connecticut, born May 12, 1783, by whom he had six children, our subject being the youngest and only survivor. He was educated in the district schools of Oneida county, and has always followed farming, having taken also a prominent part in local politics. He has filled the offices of assessor and excise commissioner. March 14, 1852, he married Martha E. Perry, born in Lee, a daughter of Gideon and Eliza Perry, a family of prominence in their town. The children of our subject are James W., born November 20, 1853; Gideon A., born July 19, 1855; Carrie M., born September 23, 1864, who died April 11, 1866. Gideon A. is now in California in the wholesale and retail boot and shoe business. An uncle of Elias Laney was at one time governor of Connecticut.
King, Henry, one of the most substantial and respected citizens of the town, was born in Buckinghamshire, England, in 1854 and came to America in 1874. Beginning as a butcher in Granby, he now owns 300 acres of choice land, and still operates a large business in the shipment of various livestock to the principal markets, having been very successful in his business ventures. In 1878 Mr. King married Lydia, daughter of the late Martin Vandelinder of Granby, who was one of the earliest settlers in this region, and whose family name is one found often in the annals of Holland and Scotland. The children of Henry and Lydia King are Henry, born in 1880; Mary, born in 1882; Joseph, born in 1883, and Frederick, born in 1885.
Austin, W. H., was born at South Albion, Oswego county, April 2, 1846. His paternal grandfather was Jeremiah Austin, a native of Vermont, where his father Jonathan Austin, was born January 26, 1809. He removed to South Albion in early boyhood, was a farmer, and died September 30, 1871; at Sand Bank. His maternal grandfather was David Cowing, a native of Massachusetts, whose ancestors were New Bedford whalers. When his daughter, Deborah, born March 10, 1808, was a young girl, he removed to a farm in Mexico, where she resided till her marriage to Jonathan Austin, March 6, 1834. They had eight children: David Penfield, born January 17, 1835; Lucy Helen, born March 12, 1837; Mary Elizabeth, born November 26, 1839; John Wesley, born November 11, 1842; an infant son, born November 1, 1844; William Henry, born April 2, 1846; Thomas Jefferson, born August 5, 1848; and Harriet Newel, born January 7, 1851. Of these eight, four survive; D. P., a physician in New York; Lucy H. (Mrs. William Brown), of Pulaski; Mary E. (Mrs. G. M. Bumpus), of Holmesville, N. Y.; and William H., of Pulaski. The parents were members of the M. E. church; the father was a Democrat, but voted for Lincoln in 1860. After his death, his widow lived with William H. until her death, April 29, 1889. William H. was educated in the public school at Sand Bank; at the age of eighteen he began teaching, which he followed for several successive winters, attending Pulaski Academy the fall and spring terms and working on the farm through vacations. He was valedictorian of his class, July, 1867. After leaving school he followed farming several years, and then entered the employ of the R. W. & O. Railroad and after earning promotion through several grades, he was appointed station agent at Pulaski, which position he now holds. He is a Republican, but has at times acted with the Prohibitionists. He is a Mason, a member of the lodge and chapter at Pulaski; he has been master of the Lodge and E. K. of the Chapter, and is also a member of Lake Ontario Commandery K. T. of Oswego and Media Temple of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine at Watertown. He is also a member of the Sons of Temperance, and of the Congregational church, of which he has been trustee and deacon; is at present a member of the Board of Education. October 12, 1882, he married Alta J., daughter of C. R. Maltby, whose ancestors came from England. On her mother’s side she is descended from the Scotch Campbells. She is actively engaged with her husband in church and temperance work. They have one daughter, Ruth Maltby, born August 23, 1883.
Birdsall, J. B., proprietor of the Birdsall Bakery in Fulton, which was established in 1864 by his father, Morgan L. Birdsall, who was also born here and was the pioneer manufacturer of tubs and pails in this place. J. B. Birdsall was born in Fulton in 1855, and educated at Falley. He at one time conducted a confectionery business in Chicago. In 1889 he located at 9 Cayuga street, and is a leader in that line. He married Miss Jennie E. Bradt of Oswego in 1886.
Pentelow, W. J., born in New York city, May 8, 1841, and at the death of his parents, before he was eleven years old, he found a home with his uncle, Jacob C. Thompson of Granby, and for several years followed the rather hard life incident to the farmer boy of that period, attending school at Falley Seminary at such times as he could be spared from the farm. When about seventeen went to learn harness making with M. W. Pruyne & Co., remained with the firm until May, 1861, when he enlisted in Company E, of the 24th Infantry; was sent to the hospital in September, 1862, and was discharged from there two months before the expiration of his time. In 1865 went to Syracuse and learned trunk making, which trade he followed until 1877, when he entered the county clerk’s office as recording clerk; in 1878 was promoted to deputy. From 1880 to 1885 he was engaged in various clerical capacities at Fulton until appointed under sheriff, January 1, 1885; held the office until July, 1886, when he was again appointed deputy county clerk, holding that office during two administrations; and in January, 1892, took possession of the office as county clerk. At the expiration of his term was again appointed deputy, January 1, 1895. Mr. Pentelow was married to M. Gertrude Van Buren in 1873, and now resides in the village of Fulton.
Rowlee, J. N., was born in Fulton, January 23, 1847, son of George W. and Jane (De Mott) Rowley, who came here at an early date from Groton, Tompkins county. Of their five children, Jasper is the only one living. In 1867 he married Sarah, daughter of Eli Distin of Volney. Their children are Willard, a professor of botany in Cornell University, his own alma mater; George, a farmer at Niles, Mich.; Melvina, wife of Lewis Ives of Volney; Eugene and Delos, who are yet at home. Of the Grange and the M. E. Church of Mt. Pleasant, Mr. Rowlee is an honoured and influential member.
Taylor, William E., late of Fulton, was the founder of one of its most important industries, the Taylor Brothers Knife Works. He was born at Windsor, Vt., in 1817. He first located at Chicopee Falls, Mass., making their various specialties in edged tools. During the late war he received large government contracts for swords and small arms. In 1863 he came to Fulton and began the manufacture of machine knives at the upper bridge, removing the plant three years later to its present location, and during the succeeding twenty years built up and operated a large and increasing business, in which his eldest son, H. L., is now associated. Mr. Taylor retired from the factory to a farm in Volney in 1886, where his latter years were spent. His death in 1889 was mourned by Fulton as a personal loss. His first wife was Susan Whiting of Bellows Falls, Vt., mother of four children, of whom H. L. alone survives. His second marriage, in 1867, was to Sarah Lambert Moss, who was born at Bethlehem, Conn. Their only child is William E., born in 1872, who is engaged in business as a machinist and repairer of bicycles near his home on Fourth street.
Gillespie, W. W., was born at New Haven, March 27, 1859, son of the late John C. Gillespie, born at Richland, Oswego county, in 1810. John first came to New Haven and then to Volney in 1867, where he purchased and improved the farm now occupied by his son, which consists of forty acres of the choicest land in the locality. He died April 13, 1886. He was a man of mark, prominent in church and society. He held the offices of supervisor and justice of the peace. His widow, now living with her son, William, was Martha W. House, of an old Connecticut family. William, like his father, is a devoted adherent to the Republican platform. In 1883 he married Charlotte J. McCraken. Their children are Albert McC., John C., William W., Helen E., and Florence M.
Davis, L. F., of Oswego Falls, is the son of the late Peleg Davis, who settled in New Haven as early as 1801. L. F. Davis married Belle M., daughter of Henry Stacy, who kept the hotel in New Haven for thirty years, and was also proprietor of various other hotels, and a man of much prominence in the community, having served as justice of the peace for a long term of years. Mr. and Mrs. Davis were married December 8, 1869, and for many years conducted the Broadway Hotel at Oswego Falls. They have had two children: Eva Belle, who died August 2, 1888, aged seven years; and Fannie L., wife of Erwin L. Van Buskirk of Syracuse, by whom she has two sons, William F. and Charles E. Mr. Davis is now a traveling salesman, representing a New York furnishing house, and his family occupies a pleasant home on Fourth street in Oswego Falls.
Albring, Joseph, was born in Butler, Wayne county, in 1841, and came to Hannibal in 1870. He enlisted in Co. H, 81st Regiment, N. Y. Vols., September 13, 1861, and was with that regiment three years and was discharged in September, 1864. He went out as first corporal, and was promoted to second sergeant. He married Catherine E., daughter of Henry Van Sanford of Sterling Valley, Cayuga county, and they have two children, Elmer S. and Adella D. Elmer S. married Bertha Clark. Our subject is a son of Joseph Albring, sr., who is a son of Henry Albring, who was married in Philadelphia, Pa., and came to Wayne county at an early date. Joseph Albring, sr., died December 17, 1892. He married Betsey Potter of Butler, Wayne county, and they had eleven children: Mary, Abigail, Joseph, Elizabeth, Eliza, Altson, Harriet, Freeman, Rose, Riley, and William, of whom Rose and William are deceased. Subject has held the office of deputy sheriff four years.
Austin, Edgar, whose ancestors were from this State, was born in Lewis county, November 14, 1847. His father was King Austin, born in Lewis county, and died in Jefferson county, aged seventy-five years. He married Jane Hodge, also a native of Lewis county, and their children were Minnie, Catharine, Charles, Dunsbe, Palmer, Harriet E. and Edgar, all living. Palmer and Charles were soldiers in the Rebellion. Edgar was educated in the common schools of Jefferson county, and married, July 4, 1867, Mary E. Wells of Jefferson county, a daughter of Luke and Delia (Case) Wells. Her grandfather Wells served in the Revolutionary war. The children of our subject were William, born June 24, 1877, who resides at home, and a son who died in infancy.
Allen, George, was born in Hastings in March, 1844, son of James Allen, native of Otsego county, born in 1818, whose father was James Allen. The father of our subject was a cooper by trade, but later devoted himself to farming. He came to Hastings in 1840, where he has since resided. His wife was Hannah Carr, and their children are George, Peter, Mary Ann, Willis, Alice and Adelbert. His wife died in 1893 aged seventy-four. Our subject enlisted in Co. D, 110th Regiment, in 1862, served three years and mustered out at Albany. From 1865 to 1873 he was in the Western States engaged in railroad contracting and public works, since which time he has resided in Hastings. He now conducts the homestead and cares for his aged father. Mr. Allen is a member of the Johnson G. A. R. Post of Grand Junction, Iowa.
Allen, Clinton, was born in West Monroe, November 26, 1855, son of Orson F. and Almeda Oyer Allen, father was born in West Monroe, mother was born in Herkimer county. His father served in the late civil war. He enlisted in Iowa and went to the front with the 4th Iowa Cavalry. The subject of this sketch was educated in West Monroe, then went to work on his father’s farm. Worked on the farm till he was married in 1879 to Ella Palmer of Parish, daughter of Stephen Palmer, who was one of the early settlers of Parish, and also a prominent Mason. Mr. Palmer’s farm consists of one hundred forty acres, most of which is under cultivation, and is one of the largest and finest farms in the township of Parish. Mr. Allen has three children: Floyd aged nine, Freddie, aged four, and Fay two years old.
Arnold, Liberty, was born in Cortland county December 13, 1823. His paternal grandfather, Zebedee Arnold, was a soldier in the Revolution and his land-warrant drew lot 11 in the original township of Cincinnatus, now a part of Cortland, and where our subject was born. Subject’s father was Daniel Arnold. Liberty was educated in the common schools, to which he has added through life by reading and close observation. In 1853 he married Hannah Emeny, a sister of George Emeny of Fulton, who died in 1854 leaving one son, Daniel, who graduated from Cornell University in 1879 and is now engaged in the practice of law in New York. The present Mrs. Arnold was Louise McCabe of Lysander, and their children are Alfred E., Albert and Stephen D., the latter postmaster and general merchant at Bowen’s Corners near the paternal homestead. Subject has filled many positions of trust and honor in the town.
Avery, Hon. C. W., a native of Onondaga county, was born in 1834 and at the age of ten moved with his parents to Oswego county, locating at Hastings. He was educated at Mexico Academy, read law with J. B. Randall at Central Square, and was admitted to the bar in 1859. He practiced there ten years, and then came to Phoenix. He was appointed county judge by Gov. Cleveland, has been district attorney and was president of the Board of Education of Phoenix about twenty years. He was chairman of the Syracuse Water Works Commission appointed to award damages to the proprietors on the outlet of Skaneateles Lake. He was the first president of the Central City Knife Co., and was interested in the Phoenix Paper Mfg. Co., also one of the incorporators of the Oswego and Onondaga Insurance Co. In 1859 he married Harriet E., daughter of Rev. Peter Woodin, and has three children, Lizzie L., wife of W. H. Carrier of Phoenix; Adelaine M. and Frank K., the present postmaster of Phoenix, who has also twice served as president of the village. The Avery family are descended from Christopher Avery, who immigrated to America from England. Judge Avery’s parents were Russell and Betsey E. (Williams) Avery, natives of Montgomery and Onondaga counties.
Ashby, Charles H., was born in Whitestown, Oneida county, in 1841, son of John L. and grandson of John, who came to Oneida county from Salem, Mass., in 1865, where he settled on the Arnold Seamans farm and is known as one of the thrifty farmers of the town. His wife was Sophia, daughter of John and granddaughter of John Coppard, who came to Oneida county from England. Their children are Dora, Hattie and Lloyd.
Butler, Edward R., son of Rauson A. and Pamelia C. (Mathews) Butler was born in 1849 in Mexico. The grandfather, Nathaniel Butler, owned a tract of land where the village of Mexico now stands, where he died. The father was many years a dry goods merchant, and for twenty years postmaster at Mexico. Edward R. is the only survivor of a family of six, has always been a farmer, and in 1879 married Emma A. Markham, a native of New Haven. Their children are Meta May, George M. and Harold (deceased).
Bartlett, William C., the only surviving child of Abram and Julia (Cheever) Bartlett, was born in New Haven in 1834. He enlisted in 1862 in Co. E, 110th Regt., and served three years. He has a farm on ninety acres planted largely in grapes, fruits and berries. He has a vineyard of five acres of Niagaras and one acre of Wordens, and has grown strawberries for forty years. His father was born in Connecticut in 1804 came to Oneida in 1818, married in Oswego county, spent several years in California and died in 1893. His wife died in 1882 aged seventy-seven.
Burtis, Charles P., Palermo, was born April 20, 1845. the father, David H., was a weaver by trade, coming from Paris to this county in September, 1837. At this time the grandfather, David M., came with two sons and one daughter, settled in Hastings, Oswego county, and built a log cabin where subject was born. The mother of our subject was born in Paris, and was married May 11, 1840, he being the only child. He worked on his father’s farm until twenty-three years of age, when he married Annis Lorett Wiltze of Skaneateles, Onondaga county. They have one daughter, Myrtie C., a school teacher.
Baker, Louis W., was born in Oneida county, November 12, 1853, of German ancestry, his father having been a native of that country who came to America, dying in Oneida county aged seventy-four. He married Harriet Smith, a native of New York city, now living aged sixty-nine. Louis W. was educated in the common schools of Holland Patent and the Oswego State Normal School, class of ’78. He taught four terms, was principal of Red Creek Union Seminary four years and six months, then taught one year in Soule College at New Orleans, La. During this time he devoted every opportunity to the study of law, under Judge Nutting, and was admitted to the bar in January, 1886, at Syracuse. He at once opened an office in the Grant Block at Oswego, which he still continues. He has given special attention to criminal law, but has a large general practice. In 1886 he was elected special surrogate of Oswego county, which office he still holds. September 8, 1880, he married Helen E. Cornish of Oswego, daughter of George J. and Sophia (Otis) Cornish, the grandfather of his wife having served in the war of 1812. They have one child Harry D., born March 21, 1884.
Bradford, George T., Palermo, was born May 10, 1851. Job Bradford, his father, was born in England, came to this country in 1827, and settled in Onondaga county. He married, March 19, 1850, Arrilla, daughter of Nathaniel Miller, who took up the farm our subject now owns as government land before 1800. In 1871 George T. Bradford bought the place, which is said to be one of the best in Palermo. He also owns forty-five acres of fine hay growing land; and has in connection with his farm a large dairy. He married, March 19, 1872, Alma, daughter of Conrad Houck of Hastings, Oswego county, and they have two children, Grace and Frederick. Mr. Bradford is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Central Square Lodge No. 622, and is a member of the Grange.
Ball, William A., of the town of Mexico, was born in Onondaga county in 1841, and came with his parents to Oswego county in 1850. He followed teaching a few years, and in 1864 enlisted in the service of the United States, and served with the U. S. Steamship Lancaster of the Pacific Squadron fourteen months. After the war he resumed teaching school, and married in 1867 Emeda Calkins, since which time has resided on his present place. Subject’s paternal great-grandfather, Joseph, came from Connecticut to Herkimer county, where subject’s grandfather, Joshua, and his father, Ora C., were born, the latter in 1804. Ora C. Ball married Nancy Austin in Herkimer county, lived there and in Onondaga county till 1850, when they located in Mexico. He died in 1877, and his wife in 1855.
Brown, Edwin, was born June 9, 1851, in Oneida county, son of Orlanso and Dolly Brown, educated in Parish, worked in the the tanning business, farming and building. Married Eliza Voorhees, has two children, John and Edward, jr. Mr. Brown is at present conducting his own farm, which is entirely under cultivation. He also raises horses and cattle for market. Mr. Brown has cleared a great many acres of land in this township, more it is supposed than any other man.
Baldwin, Cyrus, was born in Massachusetts December 23, 1820, son of Jonathan and Esther Baldwin. He was educated in Massachusetts, then engaged in farming, which he has always followed. He went to Mexico in 1846, lived there several years, and in 1867 moved to Parish where he purchased the farm of fifty acres on which he has since resided. He married twice, first Hannah N. Church, by whom he had two children, one now living, Henry M. His second wife was Melissa Bard, and they have had three children, two of whom are now living, J. C. Curtis and Ernest V. James is married and lives in Mexico; Ernest is living on the homestead and has three children, Blanche, Eulalie and Mattie.
Berry, F. H., was born May 4, 1829, in Bennington county, Vt., son of Lewis and Sarah Berry. He was educated in the Union Academy, Bennington, and came to Oswego county in 1851. He ran a tannery for a New York firm about thirty years, was school commissioner in Amboy, was justice of the peace eleven years and supervisor one year. During Mr. Berry’s residence in Amboy he also managed a tannery in Pennsylvania for the same firm whose tannery in Amboy he was running. About ten years ago Mr. Berry removed to Parish, settling on the farm where he has since resided. He has been supervisor six terms. Mr. Berry has had charge of some of the largest business interests in Oswego county, and his long career as a public officer has been exceeded by that of few in the county. He married first in 1852 Ann Nelson, by whom he had three children, one now living. He married second in 1875 Kate Wilcox.
Brownell, W. S., was born in Easton, Washington county, December 8, 1837. He followed farming until thirty years of age, when he went into the flax business and ran a flax mill for four years. The next twelve years he was a potato dealer. In 1890 he purchased the flour mill at Fruit Valley, which he has conducted ever since. Mr. Brownell married Jane M. Kenyon. They have three children, Orley, Spencer, and Roscoe D. Mr. Brownell’s father was John F. Brownell, and his mother was Sarah A. (Kenyon) Brownell.
Benedict, C. C., secretary and treasurer of Fulton Machine Co., was born in Fulton November 29, 1858, son of J. Gilbert and Julia (Carrington) Benedict. The elder Benedict was born at Wilton, Conn., in 1828, and came to Fulton in 1848. During his residence here of nearly forty years he was in every sense a representative citizen. Besides the important manufacturing interests he controlled, he was a leader in church and society. He was several times supervisor of Volney, and was prominent in the Presbyterian church. He died in 1885 at the age of fifty-seven. Mrs. Benedict’s maiden name was Julia Carrington, an old and widely known family in the annals of Volney. Of her three children, J. Gilbert, Carrie and Cameron C., the latter is the only one now living. He acquired a liberal education at Falley Seminary and elsewhere, and early entered the active field of commercial life with the firm of Taylor Bros. & Co., of which he is a member. They manufacture machine knives of all description, making a specialty of knives for paper mill use, and of paper mill engines complete. He married in 1885 Julia Weed of Mexico, N. Y., daughter of Rev. Thomas Weed, and their children are Gilbert W., Thomas Allen and Cameron Carrington.
Bradshaw, Reuben, who for more than half a century has been identified with the business interests of Fulton, was born in Kingston, Canada, January 9, 1823, a son of Lewis and Rebecca (Winsor) Bradshaw. When Reuben was a child his father died and at the age of nine our subject started out to earn his own living. He lived in Canada until he was seventeen then came to Fulton for a short time, and next went to Onondaga county and worked on the salt blocks, finally engaging on a lake boat known as the “Farmer’s Delight”. In the following fall he visited his old Canada friends and was in the province at the time of the “patriot invasion” and war; and while there he witnessed the execution of his old employer, Chris Buckley, also Mr. Woodruff of Syracuse and Mr. Abbey of Watertown. In 1840 he returned to Fulton and carried the mails on horseback from that village to Syracuse. Later on he drove “packet” from Oswego to Syracuse, and in 1842 learned shoemaking. He worked in Fulton, New York and Syracuse, and afterward became partner with Mr. Nettleton, his former employer, in the shoe business. A later partner was Mr. White, and the business of this firm was continued until the war, when Mr. Bradshaw enlisted in Co. L of the famous “Scott’s 900”, otherwise known as the “Provost Guard of the City of Washington”. Returning after about eight months’ service, he began speculating in real estate and about twelve years ago retired from active business. Mr. Bradshaw has served as assessor and excise commissioner. In 1852 he married Ruth E. Shepard, by whom he had three children; Helen, wife of J. B. Overton of New York city; Cora C., wife of G. Chauncey; and Hattie M., of Fulton.
Bartlett, Adelbert, one of the energetic and thrifty young farmers of Volney, was born there in 1862, and most of his life has been passed within its borders. His father was the late Phineas Bartlett, by trade a cooper and later a farmer. His death occurred in 1893. In 1895 Adelbert married Addie, daughter of George Ives. His farm of eighty acres is chiefly devoted to fruit and dairy products.
Bonner, E. M., is the younger son of William and Mary W. Bonner of Oswego. William Bonner was for many years a sailor on the great lakes, and later a grocer in the city of Oswego. His wife, who was Mary Waite, died in 1860. He was for two years supervisor of the first ward. E. M. Bonner at the age of eighteen engaged in farming in the town of Scriba, removing to Volney in 1879. He is allied by marriage to one of the oldest representative families of Volney, that of J. S. Markham. Isabelle Markham became his wife November 1, 1882, and is the mother of Ethel M., aged nine, and Hazel A., aged four. Mr. Bonner is one of the most genial and popular young men of Volney, and of high standing in the I. O. O. F. and Masonic fraternities.
Bartlett, Eugene B., was born in Scriba July 8, 1858, son of Harry Bartlett, who died in 1890 at the age of sixty years. His widow, who was Nancy Dickinson, is still living in the old home at Scriba. Eugene was educated in the common schools, and has widened his mental horizon by thoughtful personal research. He is a practical mechanic, and learned and practiced for several years the carpenter’s trade. October 5, 1881, he married Myrtie Ives, of Mr. Pleasant. In 1882 they removed to Lake Preston, S. Dakota, where he established a furniture and undertaking business, which he conducted for five years, returning to Volney in 1887. Mr. Bartlett is now engaged in farming, also in operating a blacksmith shop. He is devoted to the education and advancement of his children, who are Ethel, born in 1882; George, 1885; and Irving, 1889. At present he is a notary public.
Burt, Le Roy, one of the oldest and best known men of the town of Oswego, was born here, March 7, 1813. He has followed farming all his life. In 1842 he married Catherine Wilder. They have seven children living, C. Bradon, Le Roy jr., Myron C., Mrs. Philo Wilson, Mrs. Joseph Bell, Hettie, and Jennie. Mrs. Burt’s father was C. Bradon Burt. Her mother was Mehitabel (Baker) Burt. (Transcribed as written. Perhaps it should read: Mr. Burt’s father was C. Bradon Burt. His mother was …..)
Ball, Hiram J., was born in Madison county, September 2, 1822, a son of Justin and Maty (Southworth) Ball, both natives of Madison county and both now deceased. The paternal grandfather of our subject was in the Revolutionary war, as was also the maternal grandfather. Hiram J. was educated in Madison county, is a member of the Sons of Temperance, and has served his town as supervisor. He learned shoemaking, and in 1852 came to Oswego, where he has ever since resided. He opened a shop in 1863 at 35 East Bridge street, and here he does fine custom work, as well as repairing, employing about eight men. His work is all done by hand, and he makes a specialty of fitting odd shoes for cripples and doing fine work of all kinds. February 16, 1848, he married Ruth A. Blend of Otsego county, and their children are Mary (deceased); Frank L., born February 19, 1851; and Hiram J. jr. Frank L. is in business with his father, and Hiram J. jr., married Catharine McNally and resides in Oswego with his parents. Mr. Ball is the inventor of a valuable patent cement for mending rubber goods.
Brunswick, Frank M., was born in Oswego February 19, 1862, son of Matthew and Mary (Rach) Brunswick, both born in Germany. The father was a soldier in the German Revolution under Gen. Carl Schurz. Frank M. was educated in Oswego. He first learned barbering and went to Chicago for three years. In 1884 he returned to Oswego and opened a shop at 175 W. First street, which still continues, doing the largest business in the county, being fitted with all the latest improvements and one of the best furnished shops in the State. In 1894 he married Minnie, daughter of John Shuler of Oswego.
Briggs, G. Wales, is proprietor of the Summit House at Minetto. His father, Gardner Briggs, was born at Fort Edward, N. Y., and came here when a young man. He was a very successful and prosperous farmer. He was for many years assessor, and was often called to Albany as a lobbyist. His death occurred in 1891, at the age of eighty-two years. His wife, who was Harriet Wales, died three months before, at the age of seventy-two years. Wales Briggs was a student at Ames Commercial College when the perils of 1861 called for young blood and brave men, and he became quartermaster-sergeant of Co. G, 149th N. Y. S. Vols., remaining three years in the service. Since the war he has been engaged in various public works and managing a line of boats, until 1883 when he opened the Summit House. Mr. Brigg’s wife is Eunice, daughter of William Morse, a prominent contractor of Fulton.
Bradner, George W., attorney and author, was born in Oswego county in 1847, educated in Mexico, and was admitted to the bar in 1870. He was in the United States service during 1864. His parents were of Scotch and German descent. He is the author of various publications, including the following: “Rules of Pleading”, “Practice and Attachments”, Practice and Supplementary Proceedings”, “Rules of Cost”, and “Rules of Evidence”. Also of “A Key to English Vulgarisms”.
Barrett, H. M., attorney and counsellor at law and insurance agent, was justice of the peace of this town about twenty-three years. He has been railroad commissioner for this town since 1876. He was born in Newport, Herkimer county, in 1825, and came to this town in 1855. He read law with N. B. Brower of Hannibal and Judge Tyler of Fulton, was admitted to the bar in 1869, and is still in practice here. He married Pluma Ewing, who died December 11, 1893, leaving one son, H. Elbert, principal of one of the public schools of Syracuse for fourteen years. H. M. Barrett is a son of Hiram Barrett, a native of Newport, Herkimer county.
Bishop, Don C., was born in the town of Hampton, Washington county, N. Y. His early education was obtained at a district school in his own town with the exception of two years at a school in Castletown, Vt. At an early age he learned the trade of shoemaker and followed that business for several years. January 27, 1857, he married Harriet A., daughter of N. N. Bissell of Smithville, Jefferson county. After his marriage and prior to 1889 he was the proprietor of various hotels, among which were the Woodville House, Jefferson House, Pulaski House, Salmon River House and the June House at Pulaski. In 1889 he was appointed postmaster at Pulaski, holding the office acceptably to its patrons until Harrison’s administration. After this he held an important position in the custom house at Oswego for about one year, resigning in 1890. He was again proprietor of hotels at Dempster Beach and Mexico for three years, although residing in Pulaski. In 1893 he again received the appointment of postmaster at Pulaski. Mr. Bishop has three daughters: Ella O., who was born in Woodville, December 6, 1858, and married Benjamin D. Randall in 1875; Julia L., who was born December 9, 1864, and married George D. Smith in 1890; and Blanche, who was born December 13, 1877. Mr. Bishop is of English descent. His maternal grandfather, John Peck, was born in Rhode Island, and while a child settled in Clarendon, Vt., becoming during his early manhood a Baptist minister, devoting forty-nine years of his life to this profession. He died in 1865, aged seventy-seven years, universally esteemed as an earnest and successful minister. His paternal grandfather, Joseph Bishop, was a native of Castleton, Vt. His father was Stephen R. and his mother was Betsey C. Peck, both natives and residents of Vermont.
Bell, James, was born in England December 23, 1821, and came to America with his parents in 1827. They settled in Lower Canada on Lake Champlain, but moved to Toronto in 1836. They next moved to Scarboro, Ontario, where his father died. In 1848 Mr. Bell came to Scriba, Oswego county, and was foreman in Penfield’s elevator thirty-three years. In 1848 Mr. Bell married Jane Burleigh, and they have two children, William Bell and Mrs. Dr. Wilder. Mr. Bell’s father was William Bell and his mother Elizabeth (Pleus) Bell.
Baker, James E., at Butterfly Corners, was born in 1857 in Syracuse and came to New Haven in 1859 with is parents, William and Aurilla (Millard) Baker, natives of Vermont, who were married in Onondaga county. The father died in 1859 aged thirty-five, and the mother has been postmistress of Butterfly for the past sixteen years. James E. Married in 1878 Jennie N. Druce and has two children, Harry J., and Ralph A. He has been a justice of the peace twelve years.
Ball, Jonathan, was born in Herkimer county in 1822, resided there till twenty-eight years old, then moved to Richland and from there to Mexico, where he lived till 1878, when he married Mrs. Esther Gardner, nee Osterhout, and moved to her home in New Haven. Joseph and Lucy (Emery) Ball, his parents, were natives of New Hampshire who moved to Herkimer county and died there aged ninety-four and eighty-eight, respectively.
Bishop, Fen. L. was born in Jefferson county April 6, 1866, son of Edwin and Harriet (Lovelace) Bishop. The father was born in Vermont, and is still living at the age of fifty-two years. The mother was born in Ontario, still living at the age of fifty-six. Their children were Fen., Maud, Everett, Madge, and Stephen, who are all living. The father was a farmer, shoemaker, also a clerk. Fen. was educated in Jefferson county. He learned blacksmithing, which he carried on in Smithville, Mansville, and Sandy Creek. He also clerked in the hotel at Sandy Creek. In 1890 he started a bakery in Sandy Creek, which he still continues, it being the first and only bakery in town. In addition he carries confectionery, groceries, canned goods, cigars, tobacco, fruits, etc. In 1893 he was burned out, but afterwards rebuilt at the same place. He is an Odd Fellow. May 11, 1884, he married Mary, daughter of William A. and Sarah S. (McKee) Davis of Jefferson county. The children are Leah P., born January 16, 1888, and William E., born January 17, 1891.
Bettinger, Mason, was born in Richland, Oswego county, August 2, 1835, son of Jacob and Margaret (Harter) Bettinger of Madison county. The grandparents, Philip and Catherine Bettinger, were natives of the Mohawk Valley. They came from Madison county at an early day to Sandy Creek, and settled on the farm now owned by subject, where they died. Mr. Bettinger was at Sackett’s Harbor in the war of 1812. Jacob Bettinger was reared on the farm, and always followed farming on the homestead. He and his wife were active members of the M. E. Church. Mason was reared on the farm and educated in the common schools, and has principally been engaged in farming. He has a farm of seventy acres, and carries on general farming and dairying. In 1861 he married Evelina, daughter of William and Catherine Sprague of Sandy Creek, by whom he has three children: Alfred and Lawrence at home, and Nora Ann, wife of Charles McEwin of Ellisburg. They have three sons: Mason, Maurice and Merrill. Mr. Bettinger has held some of the minor offices of the town. His oldest brother, Josiah, was a soldier in the war of the Rebellion and was killed in 1862. The family are members of the M. E. Church.
Baldwin, Joseph, was born in Sandy Creek, January 7, 1841. He is a grandson of John, born in Vermont, who died in this town aged eighty-four, and a son of Sydney and Mary (Maxham) Baldwin, who died in Sandy Creek, aged eighty-eight and thirty-two respectively. Their children were Sewell J., Joseph, Henry C., Jacobus C., and Asa R., of whom Henry and Asa are deceased. John, the grandfather, was the first settler in this town where he came in 1809. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. Joseph was educated in the public schools, and has occupied a prominent part in the affairs of the town, being a Mason, deputy sheriff, etc. He has been a blacksmith all his life, having started in business in Sandy Creek in 1884, which he still continues. In 1874 he married Jennie, daughter of William and Betsey (Burt) Havens, of this county, and their children are Cora B. and Edna. The former married Fred Tifft of this town, and has one child. Edna is a student in the academy. Mr. Baldwin’s business is the principal one of its kind in town, and he does general repairing, manufacturing, etc., in addition to regular blacksmithing.
Beebe, James H., the popular and genial proprietor of the Globe Hotel of Cleveland, was born in Constantia December 21, 1842, son of Glutia Beebe, also a native of Constantia, born in 1816, one of fourteen children of Nathan Beebe, a native of Vermont, who was a lumberman and miller. He came to Constantia about 1795 and cleared a farm. During the early days of his residence here he had many thrilling adventures on the lake, and in the woods with wild animals. He was noted for his daring and bravery. On one occasion about 1806 while on his way from mill one evening with his horse and homemade jumper sleigh, he was attacked by a small band of wolves. With his axe he beat them off, but they would then get in front of his horse and stop it. He would then fight them away and proceed. This battle was renewed five times with the same results, until the wolves finally retreated with howls to gather reinforcements. Mr. Beebe knowing their nature made all possible haste toward home, and had scarcely reached his destination when the wolves reappeared in large numbers, but he was safe in his cabin home. On the evening of May 10, 1827, he with six other men started to paddle a flat boat loaded with lumber across Oneida Lake from Cleveland to South Bay. At midnight, when about half way across, a storm arose and the waves washed the lumber into the lake. He and a man by the name of Cummings were washed off on seven planks. It was a cold night and six inches of snow fell; their sufferings were intense. After struggling about hopelessly with the waves, Mr. Cummings became chilled and weak and Mr. Beebe being a very large and powerful man of wonderful endurance and endowed by nature with great will power, succeeded in getting his comrade under one arm, while with the other he held planks together. Ina this way he battled with the waves for their lives. At about four o’clock in the morning they drifted ashore, poor Cummings still grasped in the strong arm of Mr. Beebe, but not being able to withstand the extreme exposure had expired an hour before. Mr. Beebe died in 1834. Glutia, the father of our subject, was a lumberman, boatman and farmer. He died in 1884. His wife was Christiana Philipps, and their children are: Mrs. Eliza Wiggins of Bernhard’s Bay; James, Mrs. Susan Foster (deceased); Mrs. Sarah Kramer of Manlius; Mrs. Rachael Greeley; Alfred, Nathan (deceased) and Richard. The mother now resides at Bernhard’s Bay with her daughter. Our subject began life as a boatman at sixteen, and in 1866 he purchased a boat which he run twelve years. In 1878 he purchased the Globe Hotel property, which he has since conducted. In connection with his hotel he conducts a livery stable, and keeps boats for his summer guests. In June, 1865, he married Cornelia, daughter of Henry Van Tassel of Redwood, formerly of Jefferson county, and they have three sons: Henry, William and Archie. Mr. Beebe is a member of the Masonic order.
Barlow, Noah E., was born in Deerfield, Oneida county, January 1, 1834, and came to this town in 1837 with his parents, there being then only about four acres cleared. He was a son of Zenas Barlow, who married Ruth Thayer, and had four children, two of whom survive: Nora E. (Noah E. )and Mrs. Ruth E. Howell, those deceased being Mrs. Abigail Baker, and Eliza Barlow. Noah E. married Triphena Stark, and they have one daughter, Ruth. Our subject is a farmer, owning 119 acres of fine land.
Bothwell, David, retired, was born in Jefferson county in 1834 and settled here in 1848; was with Gardner Wilson about four years, and then went sailing on the lakes and ocean until 1864. He then went to the war of the Rebellion as second lieutenant of Co. C, 184th Regiment N. Y. Vols., and served until the close of the war. He was discharged and returned to Hannibal and went into the hardware business, succeeding James Rogers until 1881; then sold out to William T. Wassop and became interested in the lumber business in Decato until the fall of 1885. Returning to Hannibal in 1886 he engaged in the hardware trade at the same place and store that he had occupied before, which he continued until the fall of 1893, when he retired and is succeeded by his son B. R. Bothwell. Mrs. Maria Bothwell is a daughter of B. R. Sykes, who was born in West Rupert, Vt., May 25, 1806, and settled here about 1812. He was constable many years, and married Augusta Elvira Wilson. Their children were Alfred S., who died in infancy; Mrs. Clarissa Cogswell, who lives in California; Helen, who died in 1864; Mrs. Cordelia Roche, now living in Minnesota; Mrs. Maria Bothwell, wife of subject, and Mrs. Minerva Paddock of Brooklyn, N. Y. B. R. Sykes was a son of Isaac Sykes, one of the first settlers of Hannibal. Subject has held the office of town clerk of Hannibal.
Brown, Albert E. – Samuel J., his father, was born in Maine and married Melissa J. Clemmans. He worked in a cotton factory in Maine. In 1850 he came to Orwell and settled on a farm in the southern part of the town. He served with the Black Horse Cavalry and later in the 128th Regiment. Albert E. was born in Orwell in 1858 at “Pine Meadows”. The family afterwards lived at Williamstown and at Watson in Lewis county. Albert came back to Orwell in 1882 and the same year he married Ruethe, daughter of William Crast. He purchased his present farm of eighty acres in 1888. He and his wife are very proud of a pair of twin girls, Addie and Ada, who were born November 18, 1890. Mrs. Brown is an active business man, engaged in lumbering, threshing and trading.
Bonner, R. C. – His father, Joseph M., was born in Floyd, and came to Orwell in 1830, having married Dorcas Tripp, of Floyd. Their family consisted of eight children, of whom but two are living, our subject and his brother, Allen G., who lives in Richland. Joseph M. was the son of John, who was also born in Floyd, and his father, Samuel, was the first Bonner to come to America, having been pressed into military service. He came here with Burgoyne’s army, which he soon left and joined the colonists. He died in Orwell at the age of one hundred and two years. R. C. Bonner was born March 10, 1840, and has lived on a farm all his life. He married Mary Vary of this town. They have two sons, Joseph M., born April 7, 1877, and Harry B., born August 28, 1881.
Burlingame, John J., was born in 1856 in Oneida county, and after living for some years in Constantia, married in 1877 Emma Hutchinson and started as hotel keeper at West Amboy for two years. He then bought a farm and was for ten years a farmer, and in 1887 opened a hotel at Amboy Centre, where he remained until 1892. In the latter year he came to Williamstown, where he is now proprietor of the Sage Hotel and livery. He has one son, Claude.
Brooks, S. C., was born in Orwell in 1839, and is the son of Rev. Samuel Brooks, who was born in 1802 and died in 1894. His grandfather, Samuel, was one of the pioneers of Redfield. Mr. Brooks followed boating for fifteen years prior to 1870, when he came to Williamstown and is a farmer. He has one son, Milford D., and two daughters.
Boyd, Edwin H., M. D., is a member of the Oswego County Medical Society, and is president of the Board of Examining Surgeons, United States Pension Department, for the county of Oswego. He held the office of postmaster under James Buchanan and the first term of Cleveland’s administration, and has held the office of supervisor two terms. He was worshipful master of the Hannibal Lodge F. & A. M., No. 550, for twenty years. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Lake Ontario Commandery and the Lake Ontario Consistory Scottish Rite. He was captain of Co. F, 110th Regiment N. Y. Vols. He was educated at the Greenville Academy, read medicine with Dr. A. P. Hamill of Lysander, and graduated at the Medical College at Castleton, Vt. He began practice in Hannibal in December, 1852, and has still a successful practice. Subject married Angie Robinson of Weedsport, who died leaving one daughter, Mrs. Cora Wiggins of this village. He married second Sarah Titus of this town, and they have one daughter, Bessie. Dr. Boyd is a son of William Boyd of Lysander, who is the son of John Boyd of Greenville, Greene county.
Burritt, Henry A., was born in 1858 in Burritt’s Rapids, Canada, a son of Major A. and Mary A. (McLain) Burritt, natives of Ottawa. The family came to Redfield in 1868, bought and cleared a farm north of the village. After three or four years they removed to the village, and the father worked in the mill now owned by Henry. In 1887 the family moved to Camden, and in 1894 to Syracuse. There were six children, five of whom are living, one in Camden the rest in Syracuse. Henry was reared in Redfield and attended the common schools. He married in 1883 Adelia, daughter of C. F. T. Locke of Camden, and widow of Samuel Penfield of Camden. They have one son, Henry A., born in 1884. In 1882 Mr. Burritt rented a saw and planing mill for one year, and then bought the Penfield mill. His business is manufacturing specialties in wood, such as mattress and cot frames, chair stock, etc., market for which is found in all eastern manufacturing towns.
Bentley, I. L., was born in Oneida county, October 4, 1837, a son of William S. and Roxie Bentley of Jefferson county, and a grandson of Elisha Bentley, for many years a resident of Pineville, where he died. When this family first came to Jefferson county it was a dense wilderness, bear and deer being plenty. They have always followed farming and lumbering. The children of William J. were brought up to farming, and our subject is the oldest now living. He enlisted in the 147th N. Y. Vols., Co. C, and served three years, participating in the battles of the Wilderness (where he was wounded), Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Mine Run, etc. He is a member of Bentley Post, G. A. R., and has served as commander for three years. April 7, 1874, he married Dora A., daughter of Samuel Thompson of Albion, and their children are Belle, Elisha, Inez, Eva, Samuel, James, and Isaac L., jr.
Brown, Andrew, was born in 1857, a son of William, who came to Amboy in early life and settled where Andrew now lives. He was a farmer. Andrew Brown married Jennie, daughter of David Black, and their children are Mary, Nettie, Andrew and Henry. Subject is a farmer.
Bowne, Newton Sydney, was born in Dutchess county in March, 1842, son of William and grandson of Thopelis Bowne, natives of Connecticut. William was one of seven children. In his early days he worked in a blast furnace, and later devoted his time to farming. His wife was Amy Wetheral, and their children were John, William, Sarah, Mary, Laura, Caroline and Newton S. Subject early learned the machinist trade, and in 1861 enlisted in a regiment raised by Colonel Colt of Colt’s firearms fame, which was later transformed into the Fifth Connecticut Vols., and served three years, some of the principal engagements being Winchester, Cedar Mountain, Antietam, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg. During the retreat out of Culpepper he was captured, but managed to elude the guards at midnight and escaped, receiving a severe wound in the knee fired from ambush. From 1864 to 1872 he followed blacksmithing, from 1872 to 1884 conducted a general merchandise store in Mallory, since which time he has resided on his present farm. In 1865 he married Margaret Clune, a native of Ireland, and they have one child, Mrs. Ella Milligan of Syracuse. Subject is a member of Isaac Waterbury G. A. R. Post.
Bishop, Ira, was born June 12, 1838, in Oswego county, a grandson of Maurice W., who died aged sixty-five years, and a son of Maurice W., who died aged seventy years. The latter married Olive Goit, born in Paris, France, who died in Oswego county aged sixty-five years. Their children were: Sally, Mary Ann, Helen, Jane, Paulina, Ruth, William, Hiram, John, Ira, Daniel and Squire. Ira was educated in the common schools of Sandy Creek and began as a sailor on the lakes at the age of sixteen, continuing that vocation for thirty years, during which he commanded vessels including the Maine, Oswegatchie, Granite State, etc. In 1860 Mr. Bishop married Lucretia, daughter of Rev. Alexander Forman and his wife, Margaret Frye, the latter a daughter of Col. Frye of the United States army. Mr. Bishop is a Mason. He has one child, Somerfield F., who married Mabel Urdick.
Burns, Lawrence G., of Irish ancestry, was born in Ireland November 4, 1837. His grandfather, also of that country, died aged seventy-eight. His father, Moses, died in Oswego county aged eighty-two. The latter married Margaret Ashpole of Ireland, who died here aged eighty-four. Their children were Anna, Patrick, Margaret, Thomas, Lawrence G., and one other. The grandfather was a soldier in the British Army, and the father came to America in 1849 and settled in Oneida county where he remained ten years, then came to Oswego county where he died. In 1862 Lawrence G. enlisted in the 110th N. Y. Vols., and served three years. Retiring from the army he went into the employ of the R. W. & O Railroad at Oswego. Later in life he bought a farm in Richland, where he still resides. He is a member of the G. A. R. April 4, 1851, Mr. Burns married Aurelia, daughter of Asel and Rebecca Sampson. Their children were Lawrence M., Thomas, Madison, Moses, Margaret, Anna and Rebecca (deceased). Mrs. Burns died in 1882, and he married second in 1885 Julia, daughter of William and Alzina (Smith) March. The grandfather of Mrs. Burns was killed by the Indians at Niagara Falls in 1812.
Butts, Hustis S., son of Jonathan and Sarah (White) Butts, is a native of Schroeppel, born in 1861, and has resided in his native county all his life except two years’ residence in Onondaga county. The parents, natives of Dutchess and Oneida counties, came to Oswego county more than fifty years ago. The father filled various town offices, reared a family of seven children, and died in 1893. Hustis S. married in 1886 Lottie Wheeler, a native of Onondaga county, and they have two children, Ethel and Jessie.
Brosemer, A. E., was born in the town of Oswego, August 7, 1866. He has followed farming all his life. He resides upon the old Brosemer homestead near Minetto. His father was a German by birth and came to America when eleven years of age. His mother was Anna (Hoffman) Brosemer. Mr. Brosemer is one of the leading farmers in the town of Oswego.
Piper, Jacob, was a native of Herkimer county. He came to Volney about 1840. For many years he carried on the shoe and harness business at Volney Centre. He was appointed postmaster under Buchanan’s administration and held the office for several years after. Mr. Piper was married three times, first to Elizabeth Wright by whom he had three children: H. Delos, who was in the service during the late war and was killed at Fort Gibson; Aurelia, a successful teacher who died of diphtheria at the age of about twenty, and Jay M., now residing at Fulton. His second wife was Eliza Breed and their only child was Giles S. Piper, of Fulton, who was born at Volney Centre September 20, 1849, educated at Volney, Falley Seminary and Cazenovia Seminary, studied law with E. S. Pardee, esq., was admitted to the bar in June, 1874; a member of the law firm of Pardee & Piper until the death of Mr. Pardee in 1881, after which he was associated with F. D. Van Wagenen, esq., under the firm name of Piper & Van Wagenen for about two years, and since September, 1889, has been a partner of Arvin Rice, esq., under the firm name of Piper & Rice. On June 18, 1879, was married to Helen A., daughter of La Fayette Alfred of Mexico, and has two children. His third wife was Angeline Wetmore by whom he had three children: George B., a carpenter of Fulton; Frederick G., a salesman, and Genevieve, wife of George Burnaskey of Lysander. About 1870 Jacob Piper moved upon his farm about one mile south of Volney Centre where he lived until his death, which occurred in July, 1884.
Forman, Edward Deriden, was born in Pulaski November 30, 1841, a son of Alexander Forman, who was a Methodist Episcopal preacher. The latter married Margaret E. O. Frye, whose father, Frederick Frye, was commissioned lieutenant in the Revolutionary war, and later was commissioned colonel in the regular army, and was in command at Governor’s Island during the war of 1812, his son, Daniel M. serving as captain the latter war. Alexander Forman and wife had seven children, our subject being the sixth. The latter at the age of sixteen (1857) sailed on the whaleship Ortez of New Bedford, with his brother, Frederick J., who was chief officer. They were gone three years, and touched at all the prominent islands in the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic Oceans, returning home after a prosperous voyage. Altogether Mr. Forman was twelve years in the whaling service and visited all the whaling grounds in the Atlantic, Pacific, Arctic, Indian Oceans, the Azores, Samoan Islands, New Zealand, Sandwich Islands, etc., making New Bedford his point of departure and arrival. On his last voyage he was chief officer of the whaleship Sea Breeze of New Bedford. In 1869-70 Mr. Forman was chief officer on various fine passenger steamers plying on the great lakes. In 1871 he opened a large sale and boarding stable in Pulaski, which he has continued up to date, now having the largest and most commodious stables in Northern New York. He has been many times honored by the citizens of Pulaski with offices of public trust and responsibility. In 1870 he married Emily Adelle, daughter of John R. and Mary J. (Kilburn) Greenwood, by whom he has two children, Louisa Adelle and Marshall Eugene. The grandfather of Alexander was Josiah Forman, who was taken prisoner during the Revolution and died in the old prison ship in New York Bay. Josiah Forman married Lucretia Conkling, who was connected with the Roscoe Conkling family, and Josiah was a cousin of Judge Forman, a prominent factor in the early history of Syracuse, as well as one of her most influential and wealthy men.
Gregg, Ambrose, was born in Madison county in 1833, a son of Rodney S. and Eunice (Rawson) Gregg, natives of Vermont. They moved to Pennellville, Oswego county, in 1836, where they spent the remainder of their lives. The father was a carpenter and built a hotel at Pennellville, and kept the same until his death, which occurred in 1851. Ambrose has kept the hotel since his father’s death. His mother died in 1886. Ambrose married Robena Parker in 1861, who died in 1887, leaving two children, Florence and Edith May. He served as postmaster thirty-five years; was revenue officer four years; commissioner of highways eight years; and quartermaster of the 88th N. Y. N. G. during its existence. He married Mrs. Emily Butts, daughter of George Conrad, in 1893.
Cooke, Col. Edward A., of New England ancestry, a son of Shubael and Harriet (Collins) Cooke, the former a native of Massachusetts, where he died aged seventy-seven. The mother was also born in that State, and is now living, aged eighty-one. Our subject was educated in his native State, and came to Oswego in 1853, where he engaged in the jewelry business. He joined the 81st N. Y. Vols. September 4, 1861, and was appointed adjutant by Col. Edwin Rose September 26th of that year, being promoted to captain September 29, 1864. He participated in the following engagements: Siege of Yorktown in May, 1862; battle of Williamsburgh, May 5, 1862; Bottom’s Bridge, May 11, 1862; Savage Station, May 22, 1862; Fair Oaks, May 30, 1862; Seven Pines, May 31, 1862; Siege of Charleston, S. C., April 7-10, 1863; raid on Trenton, N. C., July 4-6, 1863; battle of Violet Station, Va., May 9, 1864; Kingsland’s Creek, Va., May 13, 1864; Drury’s Bluff, Va., May 16, 1864; Cold Harbor, from June 1st to 12th, 1864; Petersburgh, June 15, 1864; Chapin’s Farm or Fort Harrison, Va., September 29 and 30, 1864; Fair Oaks 2d, October 27, 1864. He was mustered out at the expiration of his term of service November 18, 1864. He was commissioned brevet-major of New York Volunteers for gallant and meritorious services during the war, May 11, 1867; was elected captain of the 48th National Guard of New York State June 28, 1866; appointed adjutant of the 48th Regt, N. G. June 22, 1870; commissioned brevet-major N. G. S. N. Y. May 18, 1871; commissioned lieutenant-colonel and A. A. G. 24th Brigade N. G. November 27, 1872, and later of the 6th Brigade N. G.; and was rendered supernumerary on account of the disbandment December 31, 1881. After his return from the war our subject engaged in the jewelry business until 1872, when he was appointed deputy city clerk, filling that position three years. In 1878 he became clerk of the Board of Health and Public Works, which position he now holds. August 25, 1869, he married Catharine H. Kerr of Oswego, who died in 1889. He married second Hattie W. Griswold, of Dansville, N. Y.
Tucker, Manfred M., was born in Albion, Oswego county, September 21, 1826, a son of Joseph, who died in Sandy Creek, aged eighty-nine. The latter married Sarah R. Merrell for his first wife, January 30, 1806, who died February 15, 1820; their children were Charles C., Sidney M., Julius C., Fidelia Emaline. He married for his second wife Elinor Stuyvesant, who died at Sandy Creek October 26, 1872; their children were Lewis M., Sarah Jane, Manfred M., Anna E., Harriet L., Mary F. and Sarah A. The father was a soldier in the war of 1812, and was a tanner and harness manufacturer. Manfred M. was educated at Pulaski, and learned his father’s trade, opening a shop and harness store at Sandy Creek in 1852, which he still conducts, it being the largest business of the kind in the county outside of Oswego; he keeps a large stock of trunks, hand bags, whips, robes, horse clothing, etc. October 17, 1854, he married Amarilla Woodruff, daughter of Wm. Woodruff of Sandy Creek. She died in 1863, leaving two children, Edmund W. and Fred E.; the latter was drowned at Point Peninsular November 28, 1886, in an effort to save the perishing crew of the wrecked vessel Comanche. In 1863 Mr. Tucker married second Cornelia K., daughter of Prosper and Filena Jellett Taylor of Mexico, and their children were Frank A. and Burton A., both living. Frank married Flora B. Newton and is a druggist at Sandy Creek. Burton is in business with his father and resides at home. Edmund Tucker married Emma Lucas of Three Mile Bay, Jefferson county. Mr. Tucker is an Odd Fellow.
Marsh, Homer P., M. D., was born in Granby, June 17, 1867, son of Edward C. Marsh, and grandson of Orsemus Marsh, who in 1830 removed from Greenfield, Mass., to Bowen’s Corners in Granby. In the social and public affairs of that locality the Marsh family have always taken a leading part. E. C. Marsh married Martha A. Preston in 1851. Their children are Mary O., Victor E., Frank E., and our subject. Another son, Willis B., died in 1884. Victor is in New York, manager of the Dexter Folder Co., recently removed from Fulton. Frank is a physician of Brooklyn, having practiced for ten years in Fulton with great success. Homer began the study of medicine with Drs. Lee and Marsh at Fulton and graduated from the University of the City of New York in 1891. After six months of travel for a New York chemical house, during which time he married Miss Bertha Paddock of Fulton, he began practicing here, where he already ranks high in his profession. One son, Robert P., was born April 25, 1893.
Worts, Mannister, of English ancestry, was born in London October 10, 1825, a son of Mannister C., who died in Toledo, O. The latter married Hannah Smythe, also born in England, who died aged seventy-two. Our subject was educated at Oswego, to which town he came at the age of nine years. After leaving school he learned the bakery business and when only sixteen had charge of his father’s bakery. This he continued until 1886, when he was succeeded by his son. Mr. Worts was elected supervisor in 1858, which he held seven years, being once chairman of the board. In 1868 he was elected county clerk for three years, and was fire commissioner four years. In 1886 he was appointed chief assessor, which position he held nine years. He is a member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows fraternities. He has been twice married since his first marriage in 1846, and has these children: Mannister C., born January 6, 1847, is in business in Oswego; Fred, born June 9, 1851, living in Toledo; George T., born April 19, 1853, resides in Leadville, Colo., where he is engaged in mining; Charles A., born October 10, 1858, lives in Rochester where he is engaged in book-keeping; Albert K., born January 1, 1860, succeeded his father in the bakery business; and Annie I., born November 27, 1868, who is a graduate of the Normal School class of 1892.
Powell, Elisha B., was born in Saratoga, September 1, 1848, a son of George B. and Eliza (Daniels) Powell, both now deceased. The father was sheriff of Saratoga county at the time of the war. Elisha B. was educated at Williams College and graduated in the class of 1869. He first engaged in the lumber business, but in 1876 began reading law with Hon. John C. Churchill, and was admitted to the bar in 1879. He began practice in Oswego, where he has ever since continued. He was city attorney in 1887 and 1888, and also superintendent of public warehouses and custom house 1877 to 1881. October 6, 1875, he married Addie M., daughter of Col. J. C. and Adeline F. (Gay) Wright, and their children are Joseph W., born February 15, 1877; George B., born March 8, 1879; and Grosvenor, born January 1, 1887, died August 23, 1890; Barclay, born December 17, 1893. Joseph W. is a student in Annapolis Naval Academy, class of 1897.
Hoff, Richard N., was born in Glen, Montgomery county, April 27, 1820, and was the youngest of eight children of Abram and Catherine Hoff. His father was a tanner, currier and farmer, but was killed when Richard was but two years old. After his death subject was brought up by an older sister, and at the age of fourteen learned the trade of miller in Amsterdam. In 1854 he became proprietor of a mill but in 1866 first became actively engaged in the business. In 1859 Mr. Hoff left Iowa where he had been at work, and went to California where he operated the Golden Gate Mill in San Francisco, also the James Lick Mill for six months. In 1864 Mr. Hoff returned to Iowa, locating for a time at Cedar Rapids, and then came to Erie county, N. Y., where he lived till 1866. He then bought a mill in Cayuga county, and about four years later (1870) bought the old mill and privilege where now stands his large custom flour mill in Fulton. In Meridian, N. Y., in 1853, Mr. Hoff married Mary Bradt, and they have one son by adoption, H. E. Hoff, now in Buffalo.
Curtis, Willard, traces his paternal ancestry to an old Massachusetts family, and his father was one of the first settlers in the town of Hannibal, where Willard was born October 2, 1829. His mother was Emily Wheeler, whose father, then of Vermont, was an officer in the Revolutionary war. Willard Curtis in early life engaged in the transportation of grain upon the canals, and continued that business until 1874, when he became a permanent resident of Fulton, and a police officer. He has been for a long time one of the Fulton Board of Health, and a village trustee. His wife was Lydia, daughter of the late Salem D. Rector of Fulton, and sister of Jerome Rector. Bell J. Curtis is their daughter by adoption.
Cain, Stephen, of Granby, was born in 1844 at the old homestead where he now lives. He is the son of Stephen Cain, who came here in 1820, making his way through the wilderness by “blazed” trees, and who reclaimed with his own axe the farm of seventy-five acres. Our subject is one of a family of twelve children. His first wife was Lovina Ostrander, of Cayuga county, and at her death in 1879 she left three children, Cora, Grace and Nettie. Cora married Jacob Dietrich of Granby, and Nettie married Ira Marlette, of Plainville, N. Y. His present wife is Mary, daughter of John Barlow of Granby, by whom he has one daughter, Jessie, born in 1881.
Crockford, William H., was born at Phoenix, November 29, 1848. Thomas and Jane Crockford came from Somersetshire, England, in 1847, settling first at Phoenix, and came to Granby a year later. They had three children, William being the elder of two sons. Thomas, the younger, is now a traveling salesman in the West, and Mary, the only daughter, married David Thomas of Lysander. In 1884 William purchased the farm where he now resides, and which his industry and skill in horticulture has caused to appreciate largely, both in value and appearance. He married in 1872 Sarah Pierce of Potsdam, St. Lawrence county, and their children are Carrie, Nellie, Charles, George and William. Nellie is now the wife of Willis Lapham.
Crockett, Samuel James, M. D., son of Hugh and Margaret (Boyd) Crockett, and grandson of James and Elizabeth (Galbraith) Crockett, was born in Baltimore, Md., January 12, 1837. His father was an elder in the old Scotch church (Covenanter), and removed his family from Baltimore to Sterling, Cayuga county, N. Y., in 1838, mainly on account of his anti-slavery sentiments, which of course were not popular in a slave State. He was educated in the Red Creek Academy and Fairfield Collegiate Institute. In 1856 he went to Kentucky as a teacher, where he remained till December, 1861. He was a member of Clark County (Ky.) Home Guards, union, in 1861, and was present in the engagements at Mt. Sterling, Hazelgreen and Prestonburg (this was when Kentucky was neutral). While teaching in 1858 he began the study of medicine under the advice of Dr. B. De Witt, now of Oswego, pursuing his studies till November, 1862, when he enlisted in Troop A, First Regiment U. S. Cavalry (old First Dragoons), and while with them was present at all the battles of the Army of the Potomac from Fredericksburg to Petersburg, went with Sheridan to the Shenandoah Valley, was taken prisoner of war near Winchester August 17, 1864, and paroled in March, 1865. He was never wounded, but had six horses killed under him in action. He was, however, so broken down by the privations of prison life that he was never again fit for duty, and was discharged at Jackson Barracks, La., in December, 1865, having thirty-four battles endorsed and certified to on his papers of discharge. Returning home he resumed his studies of medicine and graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia in March, 1867. He first located in Oswego, remaining till 1872, when he removed to Sandy Creek. Though always an invalid he has managed to perform a fair share of professional work, has been U. S. examining surgeon for nearly twenty years, having been appointed in 1874, is a member of the Oswego County Medical Society, and the N. Y. State Central Medical Society. He has in his possession one of the last certificates of membership in the Society of the Army of the Potomac, signed by Gen. U. S. Grant, during his last illness; a complete set of medical and surgical History of the War of the Rebellion, and also so far as published, the official records of the Union and Confederate services. He has also the plans of battles, maps, etc., of the war. In June, 1872, Dr. Crockett married Frances C. Doolittle, and of their three sons but one, Robert Lewis, survives. The others, Robert L. and Hugh, died in infancy.
Clarke, Michael A., was born in Ireland, September 18, 1846, son of Patrick and Mary (Riley) Clarke. The father was born in Ireland, as well as the mother, and both died in New York city, the father at the age of seventy and the mother in her sixty-eighth year. Michael came to America when two years old, settling in Pulaski. When eight years old he removed to Oswego, where he attended school. After this began to learn the shoemaker’s trade, but leaving this, he worked as journeyman for Dunn, Hart & Co., for three years. He then opened a shop at 98 E. Bridge st., which he still continues, doing all kinds of repairing, and makes a specialty of odd shoes for cripples. He served in the State militia for thirteen years, and also acted as inspector of elections. He was also a fireman for six years.
Clarke, J. H., was born in Oswego, May 25, 1848. After sailing three years, he spent a year in Kingsford’s packing room. He then spent sixteen years on the railroad. He was next engaged in the grocery business at Hornellsville. After this he took up farming, and makes a specialty of thoroughbred trotting stock, being the first man to bring the Wikes breed into Oswego county. His father, Roland B. Clarke, is one of the old settlers and is eighty-one years old. The mother of Roland B. lived to be one hundred and fourteen years old. Mr. J. H. Clarke’s mother was Isabella (Collins) Clarke.
Chase, E. H., was born in Minetto, May 2, 1860. He was educated at the Cazenovia Seminary from which he graduated in 1887. He taught school for two years and then embarked in the general merchandise business in Minetto. In 1891 he married Addie Brown of Mexico. Mr. Chase’s father was John Chase, his mother was Amelia Grautier. Mr. John Chase is postmaster at Minetto.
Curtis, Ira C., better known as Dr. Curtis, was born in Hannibal, April 12, 1849, and was the son of Ira and Amelia A. (Ormsby) Curtis. Both parents still live in Hannibal. Our subject graduated from the academy at Hannibal and at the age of eighteen began the study of medicine with Dr. John Wiltsie, and later with Dr. E. H. Boyd and continued his study for two years, but never became a practicing physician. He afterward studied dentistry and graduated from the Albany Dental College in 1872. Dr. Curtis at once began the practice of his profession at Fulton and has since been a resident of the village. His professional life has been very successful. He is interested in church and Sunday school work, having a class of fifteen or twenty young men under his charge, also being a trustee of the Presbyterian church. October 19, 1874, he married Laura H. Allen, then of Atkinson, Ill., but formerly of Hannibal.
Curtis, Darwin P., born at Auburn, N. Y., December 19, 1818, has lived an active life, most of which has been spent in Granby. His paternal grandfather was Philip Van Courtlandt, not only a prominent figure in the Revolution, but at one time a large owner in this immediate vicinity, and it is upon a remnant of that estate that our subject now resides. Darwin Curtis is the son of Artemas Curtis who located in Granby in 1819. He was one of the organizers of the town and was its first clerk. Darwin married in 1847 Sarah Miller of Oswego Falls, by whom he had three children, two died in infancy, and Eugene, born January 8, 1849. He married Frances Mead of Fulton and now operates the homestead farm. Mr. Curtis has but recently secured an authentic copy of the somewhat famous painting, representing Washington’s farewell to his officers, with General Van Courtlandt in the foreground.
Caldwell, Henry M., M. D., of Pulaski, was born in Oswego county June 25, 1841, was educated in the common schools, and read law with Dr. Leonard. He then took a course of study in Burlington, Vt., and graduated in Buffalo in 1866. In 1861 he enlisted in the 8th Mich. Vols. and received an honourable discharge in 1863. He was steward in the hospital during his term of service. Returning home after the war he graduated, and began practice in Florence, coming to Pulaski in 1872. Dr. Caldwell is a Mason, a member of the G. A. R., and has served as medical appraiser of the Department of New York, also served on the staff of commander-in-chief several times.
Cole, James A., was born in Hannibal July 29, 1828, but has resided in the town of Oswego since he was a year and a half old. He has been forty-seven years on his present place. In 1849 he married Sarah E. Foster, and they have two children, Chauncey J. and Mary E., now Mrs. James Young of Oswego city. Mr. Cole’s father was Jeremiah Cole, and his mother Betsey E. Cole. In August, 1864, Mr. Cole enlisted in the 184th Regiment, Co. C, and served until the close of the war.
Clapp, Byron G., who for many years has been identified with educational interests in Oswego county, and to whom is due much of the honor of having made the schools of Fulton take high standing among the free schools of the State, was born in Onondaga county May 30, 1838, son of Thomas J. and Almira (Rose) Clapp, his father being originally a shoemaker, later a merchant and finally a farmer in Hastings. Byron was brought up on a farm and educated in Mexico Academy under Dr. French, now dean of Syracuse University. He also attended the Syracuse University. Professor Clapp was four years principal of the school at Hannibal, fifteen years in a similar position at Phoenix, followed by a term of three years as school commissioner in the second district of Oswego county. In 1886 Prof. Clapp was called to the charge of the free school of Fulton. Reorganization was necessary, and in due time accomplished and the result of his labours in the village schools have placed them second in rank in the State. November 29, 1867, he married Mary, daughter of William Dickinson of Bernhard’s Bay, by whom he has had four children, two of whom, Harriet B. and Raymond G., are now living.
Carley, Levi Birdsley, was born in the town of Hastings October 4, 1835, son of George L. and Anna Carley. He was educated in Hastings, and then went to work on his father’s farm, and also assisted in the mill until he came to Parish in the fall of 1860. Mr. Carley’s father cleared the homestead farm, where his son has resided for thirty-four years. Mr. Carley was married May 1, 1859, to Fannie Marie Veeder. They had three children, one died in infancy, two others are Cora A., married to Irving Parsons of Mexico, and Carrie M., married to Fred Cusick, residing in Parish. Mr. Carley has been elected assessor of the town two terms. He is a brother of William Carley, one of the oldest and most prominent merchants in Oswego county.
Crosby, Solomon H., was born in Parish October 15, 1838, son of William and Nancy (Hakes) Crosby. William Crosby was one of the earliest settlers in Parish. Subject was educated in Schroeppel, Parish and Onondaga county. He began work on a farm, then went to boating and rapidly rose to the position of engineer, which he left to conduct his farm of 250 acres, which is under a fine state of cultivation. He married Celia A. Nutting, and has five children, Frank C., Kittie L., Hartie, Harley and Rex.
Cross, Nelson, of Palermo, was born September 8, 1831, son of Richard Cross. The grandfather, Henry Cross, came to this country with Bergon and settled in Saratoga county, and was a mason by trade. Richard Cross married a daughter of Aaron Hickok of Saratoga county, and their children were Nelson, Sarah A., A. Henry, Andrew J., Esther Jane and Charles. Sarah A. and Esther Jane are deceased. The maternal grandfather, Aaron Hickok, was a native of Saratoga county. Our subject has always followed farming, and now has 160 acres, also has a dairy. He married Cylindy G. Keith, then a widow, daughter of Ransford Loomis, and they have one adopted daughter, Flora E. Subject was educated in the district schools.
Coville, Oscar, Palermo, was born May 9, 1839. His father, Nelson, was born in 1810. He came to Onondaga county in 1844 and married Annis Sabing, by whom he had these children: Luther (deceased), Edgar, Oscar, Franklin, Marion, George, Hiram, Wallace, and Francis and Celestia (deceased). He has been a resident of Oswego county about ten years. His first work in life was making salt barrels, which he followed fifteen years, then took up farming and at present has a fine farm and dairy. He was educated in the district schools of Onondaga county, and married in 1858 Sarah Clark. Their children are Willis, Franklin, and Harriet. He is a member of the Baptist church, and also of the Grange.
Cheever, William M., a representative of one of the oldest New Haven families, was born in 1844 and has always resided on the old homestead. He belonged to the Huntington Guards seven years and to the Oswego Guards seven years. William M., the grandfather, came from Oneida county to New Haven in 1828, built and operated a saw mill, was a large land owner and died in 1843 aged seventy. Charles S., father of our subject, was the youngest of ten children, was born in 1818, lived on the old homestead, and died in 1884. His wife, Urcilla (Legg) Cheever, died in 1889. They had three children, William M., Charlotte L., now Mrs. Gilbert Larkins of Scriba, and Susan M., now Mrs. Jerome Derosia of New Haven.
Cronan, Mrs. Emma (Potter), was born in West Monroe, daughter of George and Miley (Eldred) Potter, who were among the earliest settlers of West Monroe. Mrs. Cronan was educated in West Monroe and Constantia, where she married Henry Cronan, then lived in West Monroe several years, and from there moved to Parish where her husband conducted a large farm. Mr. Cronan died June 8, 1892. He was noted for his energy and industry. His death placed the management of one of the largest farms in the county entirely in the hands of his widow, who has ably conducted it ever since. Her farm is remarkable for its fine dairy products. She has one daughter, Ida May, who married George Avery and has two children, Floy Estelle and Sadie May.
Connell, F. P., senior member of the firm of Connell & Patterson, Fulton, doing a large and growing business in dry goods, carpets, and kindred lines, was born at Pulaski in 1852, and acquired a commercial education at Watertown. His first business association was with Francis Bacon in Fulton, continuing until the establishment of his own house in 1888. Mr. Connell is a business man of the best modern type, and has still found time to take among the Masons, in the M. E. Church, and in social circles, a foremost place. His first wife, M. L. Fuller of Oswego, died in 1888, leaving one son, a jeweler at Potsdam, N. Y. The present Mrs. Connell was Myra Myers of Potsdam.
Corbit, James, born in County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1857, is
the son of James Corbit, also born in Ireland, where he died. Subject
was educated in Ireland and came to the United States when seventeen years
of age. He came to Pulaski, where he engaged in farming. November
20, 1885, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Hamilton and Susan Caldwell,
and their children were Alice Louise, born December 18, 1886; and Anna
Belle, born April 8, 1888. The mother of subject was Jane Frances
Corbit, who came to America and died in Oswego county in 1886, at the home
of her son.
Copyright © May 26, 2007Jane Ellis, Transcriber