• Cross, Gilbert L., was
born November 9, 1850, in Pulaski, a son of Charles H., who was born in
New England and died in Pulaski, aged seventy-five. The latter married
Melissa ——, who was born in Oswego and died in Pulaski, aged sixty-three,
Their children were Frank, Albert Gilbert L., Sylvia, Martha, of whom the
latter two survive. Charles H. was a civil engineer and speculator. Gilbert.
L. married Sophia Knapp, March 14, 1871 a daughter of Arville and Lovica
Knapp of Jefferson
county. He died January 3, 1890,
at Pulaski, His widow was born in Jefferson county January 8, 1853. Her
grandfather was Henry Knapp of Vermont, who died in Jefferson county aged
eighty-eight. Her father, Arville, way born in Jefferson county, and died
in Pulaski aged sixty-one. He married Lovica Sheldon, who died in Pulaski
aged sixty-six, and their only child was Mrs. Cross, who occupies the property
in Pulaski where her parents both died.
• Carl, Elmer E. of Irish ancestry,
was born in Onondaga county December 6, 1860. The grandfather, Edward,
was born in Ireland, and died here aged eighty-five years. The father,
John, was born in Ireland and died in New York aged fifty-nine years. He
married Amanda Purdy, born in Dutchess county, and their children were
John. Albert, Elmer E., Arthur, Ella, Eliza and Frank, of whom Eliza, Frank
and Arthur are deceased. The father was an extensive dealer in stock. Subject
was educated in Onondaga county, is a farmer and teamster, In 1880 he bought
the farm known
as the Wheelock farm, and since
then has conducted general farming and dairying. In 1890 he embarked in
the agricultural implement business, which he has since pushed with vigor
and is the principal dealer in the town; also deals in fertilizers. He
married, June 28, 1885, Allie Atkinson of Oswego county, daughter of John
and Mary (Varoh) Atkinson, and they have one son, Howard, born March 20,
1892. When a young man Mr. Carl spent four years in the Indian Territory
herding cattle. He is a Mason and an Odd Fellow.
• Chamberlain, George Fremont, son
of George and Harriet Chamberlain, was born in Oswego county June 12, 1861.
His grandfather, Benjamin, was born in Massachusetts and died in Jefferson
county, N.Y. His father, George, was born in Massachusetts and died in
Oswego county, aged fifty-two, and his mother, Harriet, was born in Jefferson
county, and died in Oswego county, aged fifty years. Their children were
Addie, Hattie, Mettie, Frank, George F. and Emma. Frank died aged thirteen.
Our subject was educated in the common schools and Pulaski Academy. He
took up cheese making, and then farming, which he still follows, He married
Irene Sharp in August, 1890. She is a native of Richland and a daughter
of Norman Sharp. The children of our subject are Frank, Paul and Olga May.
• Cushman, George, was born in Hesse-Darnstadt,
Germany, in 1831, son of Henry Cushman of the same place, whose father
was Nicholas Cushman of Altie, Germany. Henry, the father of George, was
a farmer. His wife was Amelia Reiter, and children were Amelia and George.
The latter received a liberal education, is a man well versed iu history,
both ancient and modern. While in Germany he learned the cooper’s trade,
came to the United States in 1852, coining direct to Liverpool, where
he followed his trade nine years,
then came to Hastings where lie purchased a small farm, and by his industry
and economy soon owned seventy acres. In 1800 he married Christine Ott
of Germany, and their children are Amelia, wife of Henry Mace of Palermo;
Mrs. Julia Markharo of New Haven; Mrs. Charlotte Baldwin of Hastings; Louise;
and Emma, who is now teaching school.
• Cobel, Charles Henry, was born
in Hastings June 26, 1804, son of John E. Cobel, born in 1884, a native
of Strasburg, Germany. He is one of six children, and came to America in
1854. He has always been a farmer, and now resides in Hastings on his farm.
He was in the Union army three years. His wife is Catharine Schuler, a
native of Germany, and their children are Oscar, John, Julia, wife of Ernest
Querran of Syracuse, Charles H., Wallace and Edward. Subject is a prosperous
young man, and at the age of twenty-one came on the farm he now owns of
10 acres. He makes
a specialty of dairying. In 1890
he married Minnie, daughter of Philip Waterbury of Hastings. He has served
as commissioner of highways.
• Courbat, Alexis J., was born in
Switzerland near the French border in August, 1840, son of Anthony Courbat
of same place, a weaver by trade. He came to the United States with his
family in 1815 and settled on the farm in West Monroe where his wife, Margaret
(Purgey) Courbat, now resides. Their children were Alexis,
Joseph, John M., and Mrs. Mary Piquett of Mallory. Subject has always been
a farmer, came to Hastings in 1865, and settled on his present farm of
170 acres. In 1801 he married Eliza, daughter of Francis Germain, born
on the farm where she now resides. Their children are Frank,
born in 1803; Otis, born in 1870; and Emma, born in 1880, Mr. Courbat is
a member of Mexico Grange, and his wife and daughter are members of the
Hastings Grange. Joseph Prongey, subject’s grandfather, fought under Napoleon
and was with him at Moscow.
• Chapman, Lorenzo, was born in Oneida
county August 1, 1851, a son of Leander, who came to this county when Lorenzo
was about fifteen, and settled in South Richland, coming to Albion about
twenty-five years ago. He married Calista Smith of Herkimer county, and
they had three children, Willard, Estella, and Lorenzo. The latter has
followed fanning and now owns a place of eighty-eight acres, most of which
is under high cultivation. Ho married Susan G., daughter of John and Angeline
Allen, and they have had six children, Cora C., John, Mamie, Charles W.,
Julia and. A. Jennie, of whom John is deceased.
• Clark, Thomas, was born in Oneida
county July 4, 1842. His parents, Charles and Mary dark, came from Ireland
in 183S and settled in Oneida county where the father worked at his trade
as stone cutter on public works until his death in 1843. They had five
children, Michael, Mary A., Bridget, Hannah and Thomas. The latter spent
his life in farming. He enlisted in the 110th N. Y. Volunteers August 6,
1862, and served three years. October 3, 1869, he married Martha J. Black,
who was born in Nova Scotia. Mr. dark owns a farm of ninety acres. He is
a member of Bentley Post 265 G. A. R.
• Carleton, H. M., was born in Camden,
Oneida county, August 26, 1844. James W., the father, was a native of Ireland’,
but of English parentage. He married Jane Davis, who was of Welsh parentage.
They were the parents of eight children. H. M. has spent most of his life
in farming. He enlisted in 1864 in the 15th N. Y. Engineers and served
until the close of the war. After his return he worked at the carpenter’s
and builder’s trade for a number of years. In 1867 he married Frances Spink
of Orwell. They have two sons, Herbert, agent at the depot; and Chas H.,
who works in the store. Mr. Carleton is a member of the Masonic fraternity,
Pulaski Lodge 415, and is also a member of the G. A. R.
• Clemens, Jacob, great-grandfather
of Martin Van B., came from Germany long before the Revolution, and served
in that war. Afterwards he bought a farm in Schuyler, Oneida county, on
which his son Jacob and grandson Peter, father of our subject were born.
The family moved to Steuben when Peter was a lad of twelve in 1833. Peter
married Ruby Ann Blazier. In 1851 he moved to Osceola, Lewis county, his
father, Jacob second, coming a little later. Jacob died in 1858, and Peter
in August, 1884. Peter’s wife died in 1888. They had these children: Martin,
Evalida, Mrs. Roland D. Fox; George W-, Mary, Mrs. Isaac Stedman; Augusta,
Adams; Viola, Mrs. John Nash; Johnson
R., Josephine and Martha, deceased.Martin was born at Steuben in 1838,
and came to Osceola at the age of thirteen, where he was reared. In 1856
he married Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel Warren, one of Redfield’s earliest
settlers. He moved to Redfield in 1863, and bought a farm of 355 acres.
Later he sold 150 acres of this, and still owns the remainder. In 1893
he moved into the village to take the post-office, to which he was appointed
in August He has held the office of assessor for nineteen consecutive years
1889, and that of supervisor one
term since. He has these children: Alice M., Mrs. James Hogau, living on
Mr. Clemens’s farm; Alberta 0., Mrs. George Craugh of Redfield, and George
E., who married Ada Thomas of Orwell.
• Cooper, Prof. James F. for many
years a successful and prominent teacher at Fulton and vicinity, was born
at Saratoga, August 23, 1830. His parents, Jervis and Doanda (Moody) Cooper,
were of the typical Quaker sect, and were farmers. They had seven children.
Jervis Cooper died in 1885 at the age of seventy-seven. His widow now lives
with an only daughter in Michigan. James moved with his parents to Hannibal
in 1843, and while a student at Falley Seminary, decided upon teaching
as his life work. He has taught in Oswego Falls and Fulton for twenty-eight
successive terms. When a youth he also learned the trade of carpenter and
millwright which he has practiced to some extent. In 1857 he married Nancy
Wakely, then of Hannibal, but of Connecticut birth. An only son, Samuel,
died in 1862. Mr. Cooper is widely known as a teacher of vocal music and
excels as a choir leader. He enlisted in Co. D, 147th N. Y. S. Vols., and
served for one year. He now holds the position of village assessor.
• Cole, John H., the well-known and
popular proprietor of the Welden House at Constantia, was born in Germany
November 22, 1850, son of Edward Kohl, a native of the same place, who
was the eighth of twenty-one living children of Edward and Mary Kohl of
Germany, the latter living until she was 106 years of age. Edward, sr.,
was a farmer and grocery man in Hesse-Cassel, Germany. Edward, the father
of our subject, was a tanner, and came to the United States in 1851 direct
to Salina. In 1858 he came to Coustantia village, where he spent the remainder
of his life working
at his trade. His wife was Mary
Rinish and their children were John H., Edward Sophia, Frederick and Gustavus,
of whom John H. and Gustavus are the only ones now living. Subject began
life at thirteen and for twenty years followed the canal, and became owner
of and conducted several boats of his own. From 1879 to 1881 he was engaged
in the liquor business in Buffalo, from 1881 to 1882 ran a steamboat on
Oneida Lake, when he engaged in the hotel business in Constantia. In 1891
he erected the Welden House in Constantia, which on account of its convenient
attractive location has become a
popular resort for pleasure seekers. In connection with his hotel he keeps
a horse and boat livery. In 1883 he married Libbie daughter of Adam Miller
of Sylvan Beach, Oneida county, and they have three children: Mary, Fred
and Bessie. Mr. Cole has served as collector, town clerk and constable,
and is now overseer of the poor.
• Corse, F. Dudley, was born at Buck's
Bridge, town of Potsdam, St. Lawrence county, September 16, 1859, the elder
of two children of Albert E. and Ellen (Spencer) Corse, his sister, Miss
Ellen A. Corse being preceptress of Ives Seminary at Antwerp, N. Y. The
father, Rev. Albert E. Corse, was born in the town of Sandy Creek, May
25, 1829, the eldest son of Ezra and Narcissa Corse, who were among the
early settlers of the town. The family is descended from James Corse, who
settled in Deertield, Mass., where he died -a 1696. Ezra Corse, a great-great-grandson
of James, was born in Wilmington, Vermont, September 23, 1803. In his seventeenth
year he settled in what is now the town of Sandy Creek. In 1826 he was
united in marriage with Narcissa Pierce, daughter of John Pierce of the
same place, and they have since resided in the same neighborhood On January
1, 189S, they celebrated the sixty-ninth anniversary of their marriage,
with their children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren, at the advanced
ages of ninety-one and eighty-five years respectively. Mr. Corse served
as justice of the peace several years, and in the days of the Military
Training was captain of an Artillery Company. Rev. Albert E. Corse was
educated at Mexico Academy and Falley Seminary. He taught at Clayton and
in the Gouverneur, N. Y. Wesleyan Seminary, and entered the Black River
(now the Northern New York) Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church
in 1857, serving the following appointments: Lisbon, Buck's Bridge, Hermon,
Fort Covington, Malone, South Canton, presiding elder of Oswego and Herkimer
districts, Central Square, Belleville, Mansville, and Earlville. In 1868
he was delegate to the General Conference of his church. He was editor
of the Ilion Citizen from 1877 to 1881, and is now superannuated, residing
at Lacona, N. Y. In 1858 he married Ellen, daughter of Dwight Spencer,
of Lisbon, the mother of his children, who died in Oswego in 1872. In 1874
he married Mrs. Caroline G. Ostrander, daughter of Gilbert Green of Mohawk.
The subject of this sketch was educated in the public
schools of Oswego and Ilion, graduating
from the Ilion Academy in 1880 and from Syracuse University in 1884, receiving
the degree of A. B., and in 1887 that of A. M. He became publisher of the
Sandy Creek News in 1885, an eight-page local paper largely read in eastern
Oswego and southern Jefferson counties, in fact no local paper in the county,
outside the city of Oswego enjoys a larger circulation. In 1888 Mr. Corse
married Ella B., daughter of John L. and Martha A. Nichols of Sandy Creek.
Mr. Corse is president of the village, has served as member and secretary
of the Board of Education for the past six years, is a member of the fire
department, and of the official Board of the M. E. Church.
• Springsteen, Arthur H., was born
in Lewis county June 30, 1865, a son of Savillian and Luvan Springsteen,
who removed to Orwell and there kept the hotel until it burned in 1888.
Arthur H. resided with his parents until December 27, 1888, when he married-
Julia M. Thompson of Orwell, who is a graduate of Adams Collegiate Institute
at Adams, and is a fine musician. Mr. and Mrs. Springsteen removed to Dexter
soon after their marriage, where they-conducted the Underwood House. In
1892 they took the Pulaski House, which is the principal hotel in Pulaski,
built up a thriving business. Mr.
Springsteen may well be termed a first-class hotel man, as his success
in the business proves. He is a musician of considerable skill, playing
on the cornet and several other instruments, and at times has been connected
with local bands and orchestras.
• Rigley, J. W., supervisor of Granby,
was born at Palermo, Oswego county, May 24, 1856. His father, Israel Rigley,
is a retired farmer, and the younger son, Samuel, now conducts the homestead
farm at Palermo. Joshua was educated at Falley Seminary, and was for some
years engaged in the manufacture of cheese and butter in Palermo. In 1885
he came to Oswego Falls, and deals largely in produce, making a specialty
of the shipment of potatoes to New York and Philadelphia. August 7, 1888,
he married Frances L., daughter of Charles Wood of Grand Rapids, Mich.,
and a niece of Samuel "Wood of Oswego Falls. They have one daughter, Gladys,
born July 15, 1892. Mr. Rigley has been four times in succession elected
supervisor, a fact without precedent in the political annals of Granby.
• Rogers, Charles K., builder and.
contractor at Oswego Falls, was born in Granby April 15, 1852. His parents
were Michael and Dorleska Rogers, whose residence in Oswego county dates
from 1820. Our subject is one of nine children, and is now sole representative
of the family in the county. At twenty-four years of age he began life
as a foreman of a mill, and in 1885 erected the mill at Fourth and Pine
streets, equipping it with the best modern machinery for turning, planing,
etc. Mrs. Rogers was Emeline, daughter of E. D. Chapman of Granby. They
were married December 29, 1881, and have three children: Ethel E., born
January 23, 1882; C. Lean, born May 15. 1884; and Manly C., born June 26,
1891. Mr. Rogers was president of the village in 1893, is a member of various
charitable organizations, and is now master of Lodge No. 347 A. 0. U. W.
• Reynolds, Jackson, was born April
10, 1816. His father, EH, was one of the early settlers in this town, having
come about 1835, and. the original possession of 100 acres is still owned
by our subject. Mr. Reynolds is one of the highly respected citizens of
Granby. In 1840 he married Charlotte Hewitt by whom he had two children,
both deceased. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Reynolds was a major under
Washington in the Revolution. He erected the second farm house in Saratoga
county where Charlotte was born in 1813. Mr. Reynolds is a citizen who
stands among the best element of Granby, as a representative of its best
• Russell, S. A., M. D. of Fulton,
was born at Fredonia, N. Y., in 1850. His father, the late Stephen Russell,
for most of his life operated a large machine shop at Fredonia, and in
his later years retired to a farm near that village. An Odd Fellow of high
degree, he was well known and highly esteemed throughout that section.
Dr. Russell's medical studies began at Fredonia under the late Dr. S. F.
Moore with whom he remained two years, then entered the University of Buffalo
from which, he graduated in 1871, the late Millard Fillmore of that city
attaching his signature to the diploma as chancellor of the university.
After practicing for a time in Buffalo, Dr. Russell opened an office
in Toronto, Ont., and during his
practice of ten years there, also purchased and operated a large woolen
mill. In 1893 he came to Fulton where he has a large and increasing patronage.
Dr. Russell's treatment of chronic inebriety by original and versatile
methods has brought him high encomiums. His wife is Helena, daughter of
Prof. James Hackett, a surgeon of high repute at Toronto. His only son,
N. Gorham Russell, M. D., now resident physician to the penitentiary at
., Buffalo, contemplates association with his father at Fulton.
• Roberts, Elizabeth, daughter of
John Van Buren of Fulton, was born in Van Buren and in 1834 married Morgan
Roberts. He was born in Cazenovia and was the son of Eliakim Roberts, a
druggist and dry goods merchant of that place. Anne Boleyn Roberts, the
mother of Morgan, was the first white woman among the settlers at Cazenovia.
Morgan Roberts came to Fulton about 1832, being then twenty-one years old,
and became associated in the mercantile business with the late Ahmon Tucker
and afterward with Churchill Tucker. A son and daughter were born to them,
Morgan and Anna E., both deceased. M--'. Roberts was at one time sheriff.
• Ryan, James, was born in Ireland
December 16, 1826, a grandson of Edmund of that country, who died- at the
advanced age of 101 years. The father of our subject, Edmund, was also
born in Ireland, dying in Canada aged sixty, and the mother, Catharine
Stone, died aged eighty-four. Our subject came to America at the age of
six, settling with his parents in Quebec, and learned shoemaking, finishing
his trade at Ogdensburg. In 1861 he enlisted in the 15th Penna. Inf., served
three years, and re enlisted in Battery A, oth Artillery, serving till
1864. He was at Malvern Hill,
Lookout Mountain, Antietam, White
Oak Swamp, Savage Station, etc. He was wounded at Suffolk. He is
a member of the G. A. R. After the war he returned home and worked at his
trade of shoemaking until 1869, when he opened a store at his present stand,
employing about fifteen men and carrying a general line and doing a good
trade. September 32, 1864, he married Esther Rodigan, of Oswego, who died
July S, 1889.
• Rockwood, Harmon P. His father,
the late Rufus Harmon Rockwood, was born large part of the land where his
son now resides with his widowed mother. Rufus Rockwood was a man of sterling
character and highly esteemed among the sturdy men of early days. He served
as assessor and commissioner of highways. In 1850, December 31, he married
Susan Austin, one of an old Connecticut family, who bore him one son, Harmon
P., born December 2, 1864.
• Robinson, Chas. A, was born in
the town of Oswego April 7, 1860. He has followed farming all his life.
In 1884 he married Nellie May Marshall. They have two children, Morgan
and Jessie. Charles A- and Isaac Earle Robinson constitute the firm of
Robinson Bros., farmers, who own one hundred and fifty-eight acres of fine
land in Oswego. Their parents were Tompkins Robinson and Matilda (Fallett)
• Root, H. W., a contractor and builder
of Fulton, was born in 1849 at Mohawk, Herkimer county. His father, the
late Winthrop Root, was a millwright at that place and in his later years
at Fulton, where he died in 1892 at the age of sixty nine years.
Henry Root was for a number of years connected with the Remington armory
at Ilion, and is a practical mechanic of much experience and skill. In
1872 he married Roselptha Witherell, of Fulton. They have one daughter,
October 8, 1878.
• Rowlee, A. B., than whose family
none in Volney are more widely known and universally respected, was born
here September 30, 1846. His father, the late Seymour Rowlee, was also
born here. His mother was Jeannette Dunsmore. Mr. A. B. Rowlee was for
a period of twelve years engaged in the lumber trade, with a saw mill at
Redneld in this county, and later purchased a farm devoted to dairy products
and small fruits. He is a veteran of the Civil war, having been a volunteer
in Co A, of the famous old 184th Regiment. Needless to say that his sympathies
are with the Republican party, to whose principles he is a devoted adherent.
While a resident of Redfield he was town collector of taxes. December 18,
1867, he married Amanda, daughter of Freeman Skeel, of Fulton. They became
the parents of four children, Charles, Melvin, Grace and Gertrude. The
elder son, Charles, is a very successful teacher of youth.
• Spencer, Charles L., was born in
Herkimer county in 1822, and came to Volney when six years old with his
parents, Russell and Penelope S. (Phelps) Spencer, natives of Connecticut-
He was reared on a farm, learned the carpenter's trade, and in 1861 enlisted
in Co. H, 24th N. Y. Vols., as first duty sergeant. He was in the first
battle of Bull Run, first at Fredericksburg. Antietam and South Washington.
After the war he returned home, and in 1865 married Harriet (Simmons) Alien,
who died in 1894 leaving one child, Maud L., wife of Charles Townsend,
Mr. Spencer was constable of the town several years.
• Schroeppel, Albert W., the youngest
of eight children, was born in 1844 in Schroeppel, and is a son of Henry
W. and Anna (Knapp) Schroeppel, natives of New York and Vermont. The paternal
grandfather, George Casper, came from Germany, established a large tea
trade and afterward became a banker in New York, a member of the firm of
Scriba, Schroeppel & Storman. At the time of George Schroeppel's demise
in 1829 he owned 365 lots in the central part of New York, 40,000 acres
of the Scriba patent. He had three children, Henry W. (our subject's father);
who married. Dr. Richard Pennell;
and Mary Hannah, who married John H. Henman, who was mayor of Utica at
one time. Our subject's parents died on the old homestead in Schroeppel,
he in 1858 aged fifty-nine, and she in 1886 aged eighty-six. Albert W.
owns the old homestead, but resides in Syracuse. In 186o he married Mary,
daughter of C. C. Warner, and has two children, Clara Louise and Albert.
• Shears, W. H., was born in Schoharie
county in 1827, son of Henry and Hannah Shears, who came to Onondaga county
when subject was ten years of age. The father died in Onondaga county in
1842, and the mother in Wisconsin in 1882. They had these children: John
J., of Richmond, Va.; Albert A. and. Ira, who reside in the State of Washington
; Martha also resides in Washington; Eliza A., who resides in Iowa; Katie
of South Dakota, and our subject. In 1847 Mr. Shears married Mary A. Hollenbeck,
a native of Albany county, and located on his present farm in Schroeppel.
• Stone, G. H., was born in Scriba
March 13, 1824. He has always been a farmer except five years spent in
sailing on the lakes. In 1849 he married Laura, daughter of Daniel Hall,
and they have one son, Dwight D. Mr. Stone's father was Erastus Stone,
and his mother Alma Everts of Guilford, Conn. His father came to Oswego
county from Greene county in 1804. His grandfather was Hiel Stone.
• Sheldon, John A., was born. in
Oswego June 10, 1843, and has been a farmer all his life except one year
spent in the cooper trade and eight years on the Erie Canal boating. In
1875 he married Mary F. Bartlett, and they have four children, John Paul,
Maud May, Mabel June and Nora Belle- Mr. Sheldon's father was Paul Sheldon
of Sheldon's Hill, Rensselaer county. His mother was Charlotte (Filkins)
Sheldon. His grandfather was Paul Sheldon. Mr. Sheldon's father was a carpenter
trade, and died October 31, 1877.
• Stowell, Oscar, was born in Scriba
April 6, 1843, and was a boatman on the Erie and Oswego Canals until 1881,
when his father died and he took charge of the farm. His father was Shubal
W. Stowell, and his mother Dolly (Spencer) Stowell. His grandfather
was Ozni Stowell. Shubal Stowell's children are Merrick, George, Oscar
and Martha, the latter one of the most successful teachers in the county,
having taught twenty-nine years.
• Searles, William B., one of the
assessors for New Haven, was born in Herkimer county in 1827, came to Oswego
county when ten years of age and married Anna Douglas. He has followed
farming in a number of towns of the county, and in 1891 moved to present
place near New Haven village. His children are Cora A., Ella and Georgia.
• Stacy, Henry A., son of Henry and
Caroline (Kettles) Stacy, was born in New Haven in 1828. He was reared
on the farm where he was born, and in 1848 married Amanda Ballinger, a
native of Herkimer county, farmed a few years, traveled several years through
New Jersey, Pennsylvania and the South and then located on the old home
place for ten years, finally moving to his present farm near New Haven
village on the Mexico road. He has two children. Henry Addison and Ward.
parents were natives of Vermont
and Oneida county, came to New Haven where they died in 1862 and t838,
aged sixty-one and thirty-three respectively.
• Snow, Lucian, son of Daniel and
Betsey (Witter) Snow, was born in 1838 at the old homestead in New Haven,
and is one of five children; Cyrus, of Mexico; Julia, residing on the homestead;
Lucian; Chandler, of Cleveland, Ohio; and George, who was drowned in Lake
Superior in 1874 while captain of the schooner Corsair. Mr. Snow married
in 1870 Martha Bort of Jefferson county. He is an extensive dealer in cattle
in addition to his farming interests, and served one term as supervisor.
Leander Snow, the grandfather of Lucian, came from Madison county to New
Haven in 1805, locating on the farm which has since been in possession
of the family. Daniel Snow was born in 1803 and died in 1881. His wife
was a. native of Madison county, and died in 1885 aged eighty-one.
• Stevens, Frank V., supervisor of
New Haven, was elected in 1892, served two years and was re-elected in
1894. He is a native of New Haven, was born in 1859. and was assessor for
six years prior to 1893. He married in 1889 Almedia Parker of Mexico, and
has one child, Grace. He was in the mercantile trade from 1871 to 1877,
and for three years in the Salmon Creek Life Saving Station.
• Spencer, Daniel, was born at Brighton,
Canada, in 1835, and at the age of twenty came to New Haven and followed
sailing on the lakes twenty-two years, being master of a number of vessels.
He is at present engaged in farming, has a farm of 110 acres, and makes
a specialty of dairying. In 1874 he married Ruth Jerrett, daughter of Richard
Jerrett, who located on the farm now owned and occupied by Mr. Spencer
in 1804. Their children are Richard J., Anna, Daniel and Hazelton.
• Gardner, James, was born in Montgomery
county May 12, 1827, son of Adam and Margaret (Dillenback) Gardner. His
father was one of the oldest settlers of Montgomery county. James was seven
years old when his father removed to Oneida county. From there they moved
to Williamstown, assisting his father on the farm during that period, then
moved to Rome, then returned to Williamstown and from there came to Parish
in 1860. The farm upon which James resides is his wife's homestead; he
married her in 1860. She was Elizabeth Jacobson. Mr. Gardner owns the stock
and conducts the farm. Mr. Gardner and his wife have brought up three
adopted children, who are now married
and living in their own homes. The oldest, Frederick, lives in Parish.
The next is Anna Davey, married to George Jacobson, and Kaliska Jacobson
married to William Cylyca.
• Goodwin, George H., attorney of
Mexico, is a native of the place, born in 1835. He graduated from the Mexico
Military Academy in 1851, and is a graduate of the Albany Law School, class
of 1856. He has resided at different times in Albany, Syracuse and California.
He has been president of the village of Mexico, and supervisor of the town.
He married Adelaide E. (Webb) Alfred in 1863, who died the following year.
• Hall, Llewellyn T., is a native
of Oswego, where he "was born in 1845. His father, Daniel M., was a native
of Norway, Herkimer county, a cooper by trade. His mother was Roxy Himes.
They went to Oswego about 1839, but now live in Mexico. Llewellyn came
to Boylston in 1878, settling on his present farm in the center of the
town. He was living in Mexico in 1862, and enlisted there in the 147th
Regiment, was with his regiment all through until in one of the battles
of the Wilderness, in
May, he was wounded. He was taken
a prisoner to Lynchburg and then to Libby Prison in Richmond, was kept
a prisoner five months, and finally discharged in March, 1865. He married
in 1869 Mary O'Rafferty, who died the following spring. His second wife
was Sarah A., daughter of Lorenzo Borden, and their children are Andrew
E., George E., Bertha, Frank, James and Clarence. He owns a farm of twenty-four
acres. One brother, Herbert S., lives with him; another, Andrew, lives
in Albion, Orleans county; James died in 1888, aged twenty-five years.
Colon S., eldest brother, enlisted in 1862 in the 147th, afterward in the
l6th Inft. and the 9th Cavalry, regular army. He died in 1877 aged thirty,
after fifteen years' continuous service, and only twelve days before his
term would expire.
• Harding, Curtiss, was born in Palermo
October 31, 1832, a son of Beriah C., a native of Madison county, born
in 1800, who was a son of Theodore and Betsey (Clapp) Harding, natives
of Massachusetts. Theodore came to Palermo soon after the war of 1812,
where he and his wife spent their last days. Beriah also spent his life
in Palermo. His wife was Polly, daughter of Harlow Johnson, born at Pompey
Hill, Onondaga county, in September, 1802. She was at the home of Dr. Tibballs
at Manlius, who was captain of a company of militia at the time they received
to march to Oswego; and by request
of the captain she visited the house of Henry Seymour, father of ex-governor
Horatio Seymour, and borrowed his sword for the captain. Their children
are Betsey J., Riley T., Jane N., Curtiss, Henry and Frank. He died in
1869, and she in July, 1892, aged ninety-two. Curtis has devoted his time
chiefly to farming. From 1857 to 1877 he resided in Herkimer and Otsego
counties, returning to Palermo and Volney, and in 1884 to West Monroe and
purchased his present farm. He is now serving his third term as assessor.
In 1856 he married
Cornelia, daughter of Cyrus Alford
of Cedarville, Herkimer county, and their children are Dr. C. P., D.D.S
of Cleveland, who graduated from the Baltimore College of Dental Surgery,
class of '88; and Beriah C., who resides at home.
• Haynes, Edward A., was born in
England in 1821, is the twentieth of twenty-one children of Elijah and
Jane Haynes of England. Subject at thirteen enlisted in the Black Horse
Cavalry of England, as trumpeter, stationed at Dover. In 1843 he was sent
to China, and served in the China tea war. He returned to England in 1844,
and in October of the same year he and four comrades deserted and shipped
on The vessel as sailors for America. They landed in Quebec where he learned
the mason's trade, which business he has since followed. In 1855 he came
to Franklin county, and in 1867 to Constantia. In 1861 he enlisted in Co-
H, 14th N. Y. Inft., and in 1863 the regiment was consolidated into the
98th. He served until the close of the war, was wounded, five times, and
participated in the battles of Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, Cold Harbor, Richmond,
Petersburg, Gettysburg, and was at Lee's surrender. He served as constable
in Franklin county and is now filling the same office in Constantia. In
1852 he married Catharine O'Neil of Ireland, by whom he had fourteen children,
seven of whom are living. She died in 1866, and in 1867 he married Maria
Loveland of Granby, by whom he also had fourteen children, seven of whom
are living. Mr. Haynes is a member of Lewis Post G. A. R., and he and wife
are members of the Ladies Temperance Society and members of the M. E. Church.
• Hall, George, was born in Constantia
October 23, 1844, a son of Joshua D., born in Brookfield, Madison county,
in July, 1806. He was one of nine children of Anan Hall of Madison county,
a farmer who came to North Constantia in 1824 and settled on a farm, and
eight years later sent for his family. He helped make some of the first
roads in the town. Joshua always followed the vocation of a farmer, and
spent his last days in Constantia. His wife was Emetine, daughter of Stephen
Harrington, a prominent man of Constantia, and their children were George,
Mrs. Harriet Willis of Constantia, Charles, Stephen, Luman and Mrs. Sarah
Everson of Amboy. Our subject began for himself as a lumberman, later followed
farming, and now lives on a farm of sixty-nine acres which he purchased
in 1869, adjoining his father's homestead. He is an enterprising man and
well liked by all. In 1860 he married Jane, daughter of Noble Dunham of
Amboy, who was a pioneer in that town.
• Hadley, Albert, was born in Sandy
Creek on the farm he now owns, July 31, 1818, a son of Simon and Nabby
(Wilder) Hadley, the former a native of Brattleboro, Vt., born in 1806,
who came to this locality when the place was a forest. He worked two summers,
returning winters to Vermont, and the next summer settled on the farm our
subject now owns, where he lived and died. He was a prosperous farmer,
and took a leading part in the affairs of his town, having been one of
the first road commissioners of the town, poormaster, etc. His death occurred
February 35, 1844. Albert was educated in the public schools, and has always
followed farming, now owning the old homestead of 180 acres, and he keeps
a dairy of twenty-one cows. He has served as justice, excise commissioner,
etc., and has been twice married. His first wife was Elizabeth Flower,
whom he married in 1845. Their children were Emma, Eva, and Edmund (deceased).
Emma married Albert Stevens of Sandy Creek, who has adopted the child of
her sister Eva, who is deceased. The latter
married Andrew J. Sprague. Mrs.
Hadley died December 1, 1857, and he married second Maria Wart, by whom
he had three children: Nellie, who died aged three years; Simon J., who
married Alta Sprague, and has one child, Ruth; and Frank M., who married
Nellie Baker, and has one child, Mark. Mrs. Hadley died December 30. 1892.
• Hawes, Clinton W., was born in
Hannibal and settled on the farm where he now lives in 1884. He married
Grace M. Hawks of this town, a daughter of Cyrus Hawks, a native of this
town. The family were among the early settlers of Hannibal. Mr. and Mrs.
Clinton W. Hawes have three children: Carrol, Kenneth and Philip, all residing
at home. Subject has a farm of 171 acres.
• Hadley, Jason D., was born in Sandy
Creek, May 3, 1820, one of four children born to Elias and Sarah (Duncan)
Hadley, both natives of Vermont, who came to Sandy Creek about 1819 and
settled in the wilderness. Mrs. Hadley died in 1829, and by a second marriage
to Speedy Wilder, three children were born. The grandparents, Jesse and
Abigail (Wilder) Hadley, came here from Vermont in 1817. Elias Hadley was
a successful farmer, and left 269 acres of land at his death, September
12, 1877. He was a liberal contributor to the M. E; Church in the erection
he was one of the chief promoters.
Jason D. was reared to farm work, which he has followed all his life, having
now seventy-five acres of land upon which he has erected a fine residence.
He has also a large village lot in Sandy Creek. In 1846 Mr. Hadley married
Eudora Woodard, daughter of Charles and Chloe (Lashure) Woodard, who came
from Hoosac to this locality. Mr. and Mrs. Hadley have had
three daughters: Gertrude, widow of Byron Alien, who died October 16,1885,
leaving two children, Edith who resides in Syracuse, and J. Roy who resides
at home with our
subject; Jetteen, the second child
of Jason D., is the wife of E. Williams of Sandy Creek; and Carrie the
third child, is the wife of W. G. Lindsey of Syracuse, who had two daughters,
Beulah, who died aged five, and Margaret Irene.
• Hughes, James F., was born in Florence,
Oneida county, in 1859, and in 1869 came to Williamstown with his father,
Michael Hughes, who came from Ireland. Mr. Hughes is a farmer and for the
past five years has been one of the assessors of the town. He married Anna,
daughter of Michael Tigh, and they have one son, Edward.
• Hamlin, Nathan, was born in Fulton
county, October 26, 1844. Eleazer Hamlin, his father, was born in Danbury,
Conn., but came to New York State when quite young and located in Fulton
county. He was a farmer. He married Christina Baker of Fulton county, by
whom he had eleven children. Nathan's life has been spent mostly in the
lumber business. He enlisted in Co. P, 153d N. Y. Vols., under Col. McLaughlin,
and served for one year. July 19, 1865, he married Mrs. Sarah Eaton, a
widow with two children, Albert and Julia Eaton. They had two children,
W. and Ellen M. ' Mr. Hamlin is
excise commissioner. He is a member of Bentley Post G. A. R. No. 263.
• Hess, Philip, son of Frederick
and Catherine (Fellows) Hess, was born in Hastings, Oswego county, where
his grandfather, John Hess, was one of the early settlers. At three years
of age Mr. Hess with his father went to West Monroe where he lived until
the age of twenty-seven, when he married, July 5, 1865, Jane A., daughter
of James Reed of Albion, and shortly after moved to Parish where he was
engaged in lumbering four years, when he removed to Amboy where he has
since kept a hotel; being also largely engaged in farming and hop growing.
Mr. Hess has always been
prominently identified with the
political interests of the town, holding the office of supervisor in 1876.
Their children were Rebecca, who died November 19, 1871, and Mary E.
• Hisington, Amos, was born in Hastings
in 1824, son of Ariel, a native of Vermont, whose father was Isaac Hisington
of English ancestry. He was a Revolutionary soldier, and died aged ninety.
Ariel was a farmer, came to Hastings in 1820, lived on one farm sixty years,
and died aged seventy-five. His wife was Amanda Rice, by whom he had seven
children: Amos, Caroline. Martha, Minerva, dark, Clarissa and Dexter. Subject
taught school and clerked during his younger days. In 1854 he settled on
a farm. From 1859 to 1860 he was engaged in the mercantile pursuits in
Central Square, later returned to farming. From 1865 to 1868 he was engaged
in the oil business in Pennsylvania. He married Mary Colton of Central
Square in 1855, by whom he had one child, William B. His second wife is
Mary A., born in 1833, daughter of George W. Smith, a native of Hastings,
born in 1809. He was justice of the peace many years, superintendent of
the county poorhouse and overseer
of the poor. They had one son, Fred
• Hawthorne, Robert W., was born
in Schroeppel on the farm where he now resides. in 1850. He is a son of
Robert and Mary (Young) Hawthorne, residents of Fulton. who are natives
of Ireland and Herkimer counties respectively, and the father is a cousin
of Nathaniel Hawthorne- At the age of twelve the father shipped as seaman
on a vessel, and after making several trips on the Atlantic, located at
Oswego. He died in Michigan, and when nineteen years of age he came to
Oswego county, residing at Oswego until 1888, when he came to New Haven
and bought the Major Cole farm of 130 acres. In 1862 he married Margaret
Hancock, and they have one daughter, Nettie M., now Mrs. Noah Marian of
Fulton. His present wife was Nellie N. Jacobs.
• Hosford, Ira S., is a native of
Massachusetts, born in 1833, and in 1842 came to his present home in Mexico
with his parents, Noah and Cordelia (Packard) Hosford, After about fifteen
years the parents spent a number of years in Ohio and Illinois and then
returned to Mexico, where they died. Stephen, the paternal grandfather
of Ira S., was in the Revolutionary war. Ira S. married in 1856 Julia Green.
Mr. Hosford raises and deals in stock, has a herd of Holderress cattle,
a flock of American Oxford sheep, and is a progressive farmer and dairyman.
• Halsey, Grove, commissioner of
the town of Mexico, was born in 1848, son of Harmon and Sarah (Groves)
Halsey, natives of Oneida county and old residents of the town of Mexico.
In 1893 our subject was elected commissioner for one year, and then re-elected
for two years. He married in 1872 Rose L. Place, and they have two children,
Frank and Carl.
• House, Abraham T., was born January
27, 1834, in Parish, son of Andrew and Betsey (Scribar) House. Andrew House
came from Otsego county to Parish when this section of the country was
all woods. He first built a log house, and after a few years moved to a
frame residence which he had. constructed. He had eight brothers and three
sisters, all of whom settled in Parish. Subject of sketch had
seven brothers and two sisters, all residents of Parish. He is the oldest
of these seven
brothers, was educated in Parish,
afterward taught school several terms and then purchased a farm. He married
in 1857 Louisa "While, and their children are Menzo, Josephine, Cora, Mamie,
William, Andrew and Louis. Mr. House's family ranks among the oldest and
best in the county. His farm is under a high state of cultivation, and
he raises a remarkable hop crop.
• Harter, J. W., was born October
15, 1831, in Herkimer county, son of Isaac and Mary (Snell) Harter, who
moved to Parish in the spring of 1836, where they first inhabited a log
cabin. In one year they removed to the village where they resided till
their death. Mr. Harter was educated in Mexico and taught school a while.
At the age of sixteen he began the undertaking business, which he has conducted
forty-seven years; and in addition to this business owns and operates three
farms. In 1857 he married Mary E. Ludington, by whom he has had six children,
five now living:
Franklin L., William B., Archibald
G., Judson G., and Blanche E. Franklin L. is practicing medicine in Syracuse;
William B. is in business in Parish; Archibald G. is employed in a wholesale
house in Syracuse; Judson G. is at home, and Blanche E. has just graduated
and is living at home. Mr. Harter was postmaster of Parish under
Grant's administration, and his son, William B., was postmaster under Harrison's
• Hakes, Richard, was born in Herkimer
county March 9, 1820, son of John Hakes and Catharine (Nash) Hakes. He
was educated in Oneida county, received a full academic education and became
proficient in the higher mathematics, taught school for twenty years in
Oneida, Herkimer and Oswego counties, and moved to Parish March 12, 1853.
He gave up teaching, has since followed farming, and has lived on his present
farm twenty-nine years. He married Minerva M- Mack, by whom he has had
eight children, seven of whom are still living: Montrose, Harriet, Lucius,
Catharine, Solomon and Ellie. Rollin
R. Hakes died January 36, 1894. Solomon is practicing in Pennsylvania;
Lucius is in business in Syracuse. All of the children have received the
best educational advantages. Mr. Hakes was pool-master and is at present
postmaster at Wrightson, which position he was appointed to under Cleveland's
• Hill, John H., was born in Granby
October 11, 1835. When he was ten years old his father, the late A. K.
Hill, removed to Volney, being engaged in farming. His wife was Maria Briggs.
John H. learned the cooper's trade and has followed it for many years.
For about eight years he was employed at steam dredging at various points
in the South and West. In April, 1888, he married Margaret Robertson of
Amherst Island, Ont. Their children are Cecil H., John R., Maria, and Hester
• Hudson, Orville, was born at Ira,
Cayuga county, May 8, 1844, son of the late Abram and Elizabeth Hudson.
Orville is now the sole living representative of the family in Oswego county.
Abram Hudson was born in Lysander, Onondaga county, and died in 1886 aged
seventy-six years, Orville Hudson married, April 1, 1865, Jennie Taylor
of Hartford, Conn., and their children are Charles, born in 1866; William,
born in 1869; Emma, born in 1870; and Mary, born in 1872. Charles
married Hattie, daughter of William
H. Tompkins of Oswego Falls; William has a clerical position in the R.
W. & 0 freight office at Syracuse: Emma is the wife of Jay Dann of
Granby and has one daughter, Ethel; Mary is the wife of Nathan Rogers of
Hannibal and has one son, Orlo.
• Hanna, Andrew, of Fulton, has been
engaged in business here for about half a century. His eighty-four years
sit upon him very lightly, and his reminiscences of earlier days are full
of interest. He was born in Albany county in 1810. His father, Thomas,
was of Irish birth, liberally educated, and filled the position of professor
of penmanship at William and Mary College. Andrew was early thrown upon
his own resources, and learned the tailor's trade in Albany, supplementing
education by diligent home study,
and finally established himself in Utica, N. Y., as a custom tailor. He
came to Fulton in 1848, and has since conducted a retail clothing business
on First street. He married in Albany in 1831 Hannah Swan, by whom he had
six children; Mary Eliza, George, Lucy, Andrew, Cherrie and Edward. The
three daughters and the younger son are deceased. Andrew is a merchant
in Chicago, and George is associated with his father in the Fulton store.
has served as justice, village trustee
and member of the Board of Education.
• Hutchins, Mary K., was born in
Burlington, Otsego county, N. Y., November 28, 1848. Her parents were natives
of this State. Her maternal grandparents were of New England origin, her
grandfather having been a soldier of the Revolution. Her father and three
of his brothers were Baptist clergymen. After the death of her father,
which occurred in her early childhood, her mother came to Mexico, where
she grew up and was educated. She was one of the three members of the first
graduating class of Mexico Academy. After teaching a few terms she began
the study of med-
icine, studying with Dr. George
P. Johnson of Mexico and with Dr. Scarlett Dixon of Philadelphia, Pa. After
taking a three years' course in the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania
she received the degree of M. D. in March, 1874. Soon after her graduation
she became a member of the Oswego County Medical Society and located in
Oswego, where she has since been engaged in the general practice of medicine.
• Howard, W, B, His father, the late
Ransom Howard, M. D., was born in Windsor. Mass., in 1798, son of John
Howard, whose ancestry traces directly to the Mayflower of 1620. Ransom,
by the inherent force of his own genius and energy, paved his way to success,
devoting himself with assiduity to medicine and the languages. He was twenty-seven
years old when he began the practice of medicine at Volney Centre, in which
be gained much renown and success. In 1823 he married Eliza Johnson, who
became the mother of four children, Silence, Elizabeth, William B.,
and Ransom. Dr. Howard's health
proved inadequate to withstand the severe ex-actions of his large practice,
and in 1843 he was obliged to abandon the healing art, nevertheless continuing
his own indefatigable self-improvement and devoting himself to the education
and advancement of his children. His life was full of character, and his
death in 1864 was regretted as a poignant personal loss by the community
which had profited by his labors and example. His only son now living is
William Burr Howard, who inherits most of the traits of character which
were factors in Dr.
Howard's career, and has also become
a citizen of much social and political prominence. Mr. Howard's wife is
Lucy M. Hinman, and his children are Libbie, Ozander, Benton, Burr, and
Mira. His principal business is the operation of a large and productive
dairy farm of three hundred acres. Twice he has been nominated for the
Assembly by the Democratic party, has been elected commissioner of schools
and acceptably represented the town of Volney in the county legislature.
• Hyde, Porter W., was born in Fulton
August 12, 1825, son of Lyman Hyde, a prominent lumberman and builder of
the older time. At that time the transportation of lumber was an important
industry. For nearly twenty years Porter Hyde acted as superintendent of
a towing company at this point, and at a later time as superintendent of
the canal. A contractor and builder, he has done much to advance the material
interests of the locality, besides service of many years as trustee of
the village, excise commissioner, etc. His wife, who is deceased, was Mary,
daughter of John Boardman late sheriff of Albion, Orleans county.
• Hydron, James Henry, a grandson
of Peter Hydron and a son of Philip, was born in St. Lawrence county January
10, 1847, the family being of High Dutch and Yankee parentage. The occupation
of the father was that of engineer on ocean steamers, and later he worked
at his trade in the engine works at Troy. After this he went to St. Lawrence
county and bought the farm on which James was born. He came to Albion in
1856 and here he run a saw mill. Both father and son enlisted
in Co. G, 81st N. Y. Vols., in 1861.
The father was discharged in 1862 on account of sickness. The son served
three years, being discharged in December, 1864. He fought in the battle
of Fair Oaks as well as other engagements, receiving a bullet wound in
the head, which however did not prove serious. He married Sarah A. Pilkington
December 18, 1872. They had two children, Emma, deceased and Ashworth.
Mr. Hydron is village trustee of Sand Bank, also a member of Bentley Post
G. A. R.
• Huffstater, Lafayette, was born
in Boylston August 26, 1849, a son of David and Mary Ann (Lilly) Huffstater,
natives of Boylston. The paternal grandfather, George Huffstater, was born
in Herkimer county, but came to the town of Boylston prior to 1812, being
one of the pioneers of the town. He was in the war of 1812. The maternal
grandparents were natives of Canada, and came to the United States during
the war of 1812. David Huffstater has always followed farming, and is now
in possession of the Huffstater homestead in Boylston. Mrs. Huffstater
died in October, 1890. Our
subject was reared on the farm and
educated in the common and select schools at Boylston. He has always been
a farmer and now has 111 acres in Sandy Creek where he carries on general
farming and dairying. In 1874 he married Arvilla, daughter of Perry and
Alvira Bartlett, both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Huffstater have had one son
and three daughters; Annie, who died aged two years; Addie, Arthur and
Arlie at home. Mr. Huffstater is a member of Sandy Creek Grange No. 127.
• Hollis. Malcolm L., of Pulaski,
was born in Orwell July 22, 1841, a son of William and Margaret (Riena)
Hollis, the former now living, and the latter having died in Orwell. Our
subject was educated in Orwell and Pulaski, and in 1861 enlisted in the
24th N. Y. Vols., serving in the Army of the Potomac. He was in the second
battle of Bull Run where he was wounded, but served till the expiration
of his service. Returning to Pulaski he engaged, in the mercantile business,
which he still continues. He has held the office of president of the village,
as well as filling various other
positions of public trust. In 1871
he married Esther E. Bentley, and their children are Harriet, who is a
teacher in the High School, Howard, and Norman.
• Johnson, James A., attorney of
Mexico, was born in Oswego county in 1827, and except thirteen years in
Illinois has always been a citizen of this county. He was admitted to the
bar from the Albany Law School, and practiced in Mexico till 1865, then
after three years in Illinois as stated above, resumed his practice in
Mexico. He is an active temperance advocate. He has three children, Addie
E., George W. and Charles "W. His wife was Mary H. Webb, a native of Mexico.
• Irish, Jonathan, was born in Otsego
county, November 25, 1825, son of John and Betsey Irish, who were among
the earliest settlers in Otsego county. Jonathan went to school in Otsego
county and in Parish, worked at farming, teaming and boating, until he
was twenty-five years old, then bought a farm of his own and conducted
it ever since. During this period Mr. Irish employed many men in his lumber
and manufacturing business. Mr. Irish has the reputation of having done
much for the township of Parish. He was school superintendent, and has
been supervisor of the township for four years. He married in 1851 Nancy
Gardner, by whom he bad eight children, only two of whom are living, Judson
Irish, and Mrs. Villeta De Garmo.
• Irish, Judd, was born in Parish
January 9, 1856, son of Jonathan and Nancy Irish, was educated in Parish,
and at the academy in Pulaski, then worked on his father's farm. The farm
was cleared by his father and has been in the family for over fifty years,
then bought a farm of his own which he has conducted over ten years. It
is under good cultivation and he raises grain, produce, etc., and also
live stock. He married Nettie Green in 1877 by whom he had five children:
Mabel, Jonathan, Bessie, James and. Charles.
• Johnson, Greene, is a son of John
Johnson, who lived in Whitestown, Oneida county. Mr. Johnson, after running
a cheese factory in Florence several years, came to Williamstown in 1891
and bought the factory which he now runs. He has two sons, Henry T. and
• Jones, David S., was born in Rodman,
Jefferson county, June 20, 1822, son of David and Polly Jones. The father
was originally from Wales, deserting the English army to come to this country.
His first work in this country was shoemaking, in which business he employed
several hands. He married Polly Rodman, a widow with one child. Their children
were Mary Jane and David S. The latter has spent his life in lumbering
and farming. In 1847 he married Mary McNett of Albion, who
is a descendant of one of the oldest
families in the county. They had seven children, Anna, Francis, Rose, Mary,
Ada, Flora, and one other who died in infancy.
• Jamieson, Fred, was born in 1851,
son of John, grandson of John, and great-grandson of John, who lived in
Glasgow, Scotland. The father was one of the prominent men in the early
days in Amboy. He died in 1887, leaving five sons, the oldest being Fred,
who owns the old homestead and is a farmer. His wife is Pauline, daughter
of Charles Le Clair of Parish, and they have four daughters, Arabella Lillie,
Emma and Captola.
• Jewell, Benjamin, was born in the
town of Richland January 3, 1840, son of Albert and Mary (Cox) Jewell.
The father came from New Hampshire and the mother from Maine. They came
to this State in 1836 and settled in the town of Richland, Oswego county.
He was a farmer and school teacher, teaching for twelve winters. He came
to Albion about fifty years ago and was considered one of the foremost
men in school matters and was for many years school commissioner. He was
the father of four children: Joseph, Malania, Hosea, and Benjamin, all
living in Oswego county. The
latter at the age of fourteen started
in for himself, and at present has acquired a great amount of property,
and owns a saw mill which has a capacity of 300,000 feet per year. He received
his education from the district schools and has continued adding to his
store of knowledge, and is to -day considered a well educated man. He married
first in 1875 Minerva Dunlap, of Washington county. His second wife was
Elizabeth Rockfellow of Richland. He has held the office of overseer of
• 'Jones, John K., of Welsh ancestry,
was born in Pulaski April 18, 1834, a son of John, born in Otsego county,
who died in this county aged ninety. The latter married Betsey Way of Madison
county, who died aged ninety-two. Their children were Clea, Chauncey, John
K., George W., Charles, Lucy and Adalaide, of whom Lucy, Chauncey and Adalaide
are deceased. The father was a soldier in the war of 1813. John K- was
educated in Pulaski and has been variously engaged as a farmer, blacksmith
and sailor. His father settled in Richland in 1808, started blacksmithing,
in which business he was the first here, and our subject now owns the forge
used by his father. John K. married, June 7, 1856, Pamelia Phillips of
Illinois, who died in 1860. In 1863 he married Susan Camphell of Richland,
a daughter of Archibald and Fannie (Curds) Campbell. She died in 1888.
Mr. Campbell was a soldier in the war of 1812. The children of our subject
are Floyd, who was killed by the cars; Frank, and Nora. Frank is a farmer;
Nora married William B. Young.
• Jones, Elbridge, located on his
present farm in New Haven in 1868, moving from the town of Richland where
he was born in 1838. He is a son of Pliny H., son of Pliny Jones, one of
the pioneers of Oswego county. In 1867 he married Frances D., a daughter
of Avery Q. Griffin, one of Richland's pioneers. Mr. Jones was in the 184th.
Regiment, serving as sergeant one year. He has two sons, Avery and Floyd
children of his first wife. His present wife was Etta Johnson, a native
• Jones, John E., of the town of
Mexico, was born in Richlandinl834. He has lived in Oswego county all his
life except four years spent in California. In 1863 he married Ellen L.,
daughter of Col. John Douglass, one of the pioneer settlers of Oswego county,
who was in the war of 1812. They had these children: Etha and Ella (twins),
who died at three years of age, and Hattie, wife of John M. Avery. His
wife died, and he married second Jane R. Tiffany, by whom he has two children,
Frank and Katie. Mr. Jones has been town assessor for the past eighteen
• Daggett, Captain Henry J., was
born at Boston in 1826, and came to Oswego county when ten years old with
his parents, Henry and Mary. Beginning when eighteen years of age, Mr.
Daggett followed the lakes for twenty-five years, and during that time
owned a number of vessels, both passenger and freight and sail and steam.
For the past ten years he has been engaged in farming, dairying, milling
and lumbering. He married in I860 Frances L. Holly. Captain Daggett: was
a member of the Assembly in 1875, and chairman of the Beard of Supervisors
in 1876; is also prominent in
• Day, Joseph, enterprising meat
dealer and stock buyer, was born in Vermont in 1842, came to Mexico in
1879, and since 1886 has been engaged in his present business. He has a
well arranged building near the Boyd House, and has the best facilities
for keeping fresh meats. He keeps a large supply of ice of his own cutting.
When a child he lived a few years in Oneida county, also in Jefferson,
and in 1862 enlisted in, the 10th N. Y. Heavy Artillery, but was discharged
for disability after serving ten months.
• Dyke, Almon, farmer, dairyman and
capitalist of Texas, town of Mexico, was born in Mexico in 1846, reared
on a farm and married in 1886 Charlotte Wilson, who died in 1878 leaving
two children, George A., a resident of Pulaski, and Kittle, now Mrs. Milton
Lamphier of Mexico. His present wife. Nancy Jane Dyke, is a native of Michigan,
by whom he has two children, Ella May and Eva Belle. Mr. Dyke's father,
Sardis, was a son of Rufus Dyke. and came from Herkimer county, locating
in Mexico in 1838. He was born in Herkimer county in 1813, and died in
the town of Mexico near Texas in 1890, His wife was Catherine La Bort,
was born in, 1817 at Boonville, N. Y., of French descent, and resides with
her son in Texas.
• Distin, John "W., was horn in Connecticut
in 1813, of English ancestry. When twenty-four years old he came to Volney
and bought one hundred acres of land, where he now lives. In 1839 he married
Mrs. Harriet Markham, daughter of Rev. Thomas Hubbard, also of English
descent. Their children are Harriet E., Josephine A., and John W., who
first married in 1869, Libbie Kellogg of Volney. She died in 1874, leaving
one daughter, Rhoda. The second Mrs. Distin was a daughter of
Solomon Van Walkburgh of Volney,
who is also dead. In 1864 Mr. Distin enlisted in Co. A, 184th Regiment
N. Y. Vols., and served until the close of the war under Gen. Sheridan.
Mr. Distin is a man of sterling character and a representative citizen.
He has justice of the peace for twelve years.
• Dutcher, Benjamin P., was born
in Cayuga, December 17, 1820, and came to Oswego county in 1830. He made
barrels for some years and has since followed farming exclusively. He has
been twice married, first to Hulda Randall, who died leaving six children,
De Los, Sherman C., Herbert W., Mrs. Emma Mack, Mrs. Mary Fulmer and Bertha.
His present wife was Louise Bradway. Mr. Dutcher's father was Ruloff Dutcher,
and his mother Emma (Warren) Dutcher.
• Davis, Edward, was born in Hannibal
March 11, 1856. His parents, Henry and Jane Davis, lifelong and much respected
citizens of Granby, have now retired to a pleasant home in the village
of Oswego Falls. Of their five children but two sons survive, Edward and
William. Edward married, March 16, 1879, Annie, daughter of the late Thomas
and Annie Cooper of Pulaski, Iowa. Their children are Libbie, born March
22, 1880; Lillie, born February 7, 1883; Herbert, born April 22, 1885;
Pearlie, born May 21. 1888; and
Ernest, born June 17, 1890. Mr. Davis inherited his large real estate from
his uncle, John W. Gale, for whom be began work as an employee by the month.
Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the M. E. Church at Bowen's Corners,
and of the order of Patrons of Husbandry.
• Davis, David, was born in Lysander,
Onondaga county, January 5, 1837, the younger of the two sons now living
of the late Simeon and Elizabeth Davis, who reared a family of eight. Simeon
Davis died in I860 aged sixty-eight, and his wife five years later. David
is now engaged, in farming in Granby, but is best known in the village
of Fulton, as the proprietor for many years of the Woodruff House, September
10, 1859, he married Lucy J , daughter of Perry Blakeman of South Granby,
and they have one daughter, Carlista,
who married Edward Perry and has three children, Erd, Frederick and Ethel.
• Dexter, Jonathan, Dexterville.
His father, Rodman Dexter, after whom the hamlet was named, was of old
Connecticut stock, and settled here about 1820. His wife was Elizabeth
Tallman, and of her twelve children seven are now living. Rodman during
his life filled many official positions in town affairs. He died in 1874
and his wife in 1881. Jonathan was born September 10, 1830. When twenty-one
he took charge of a steam saw mill near here, and after seven years in
that business traveled widely through the far West working at his trade
of stone mason, etc., being also familiar with other mechanical trades.
In 1894 he returned and purchased the old farm. He married first at Fulton
in 1844 Rosette Cunningham, by whom he had ten children. Five are deceased,
the others are Lillie, Alice, Jennie, Charles and Jesse. His wife died
in 1889. and two years later Mr. Dexter married Nellie Guyle of Fulton,
who has one son, Jonathan, jr., born July 18, 1892.
• Dominick, Madison, born at Cicero,
Onondaga county, June 28, 1846, is a son of Adam, who in 1868 purchased
120 acres, the nucleus of the present homestead, 500 acres here and in
Michigan being now owned by our subject. Beside these large farming' interests
he deals in real estate and live stock. In 1886 he married Myrtie E. Snow
of Syracuse, and their children are Mabel, born June 12, 1888; Inez, born
December 25, 1890; Leiah, born March 14. 18!}4. The family is of French
ancestry. Adam, the father, died at the age of seventy-three in 1888, and
his wife still survives.
• Dexter, William, was born in London,
England, where he was apprenticed, to a retail butcher when twelve years
old. He came to America in 1857 and soon after to Fulton. In his business
life he has been upright and. honorable and his charities have been numerous
and unostentatious. Mr. Dexter died. March 28, 1892, aged. seventy-four
years. His widow, Isabella, is a daughter of William Clutterbuck of Oswego
Falls. They had two daughters, Florence and Bessie, and three sons who
died in infancy.
• Dunn, James, of Irish ancestry,
was born in Ireland, December 25 1842, a grandson of Samuel, and. a son
of George Dunn and his wife Mary Griffin, both of whom died in Ireland.
James came to America at the age of twenty-three and settled in Oswego.
He learned milling in the old-country, and began in the timber business
here. He then kept a grocery five years, and in 1889 started a shoe store
at No. 8 East Bridge street, which he still keeps, carrying a general line
of footwear and doing a large trade in both city and country, also having
a large boating trade. He does a cash business, and. carries a first class
stock of goods, which he handles on a small margin. February 9, 1870, he
married Nora, daughter of Michael and Catharine (Leonard) Clary of Oswego,
and their children are George, born December 21, 1871; William J., born
November 29, 1878; Mary, who died in infancy; Catharine, also died in infancy;
George, a book keeper in city employ. Mr. Dunn has for the past nine years
been a member of the Board of Charity, and served as alderman one year,
• Jones, I. L., M. D., was born in
Oneida county, September 30, 1832. He selected medicine as the study of
his life, and graduated from the medical department of Buffalo University
in 1864, and in 1868 he came to Minetto, where he has practiced ever since.
In 1857 he married May J. Porter, and they have one daughter living, Mrs.
Mary Seymour, and one son, deceased. On June 1, 1894, Dr. Jones admitted
Dr. Hallers as a partner. Dr. Jones was past master at Minetto seventeen
years, and was supervisor three terms.
• Jones, C. T., Oswego Falls, established
a wholesale bottling plant in 1887 on First street in that village. He
has built up a large trade in temperance drinks, supplying Fulton and other
villages within a radius of fifteen miles. Using only the best and purest
extracts, and with water from the famous "Great Bear Spring" as a basis,
his output is justly celebrated for healthful and pleasing qualities. Some
of his well known brands are cream soda, orange phosphate, birch, sarsaparilla,
ginger ale, and the famous " Jersey Lily" lemon sour. Mr. Jones was born
in Somersetshire, England, forty-two years ago, came to America in 1868,
and four years later became a citizen of Oswego Falls, where he is justly
esteemed as a business man of energy and probity. His wife, Sarah A. Martin,
was also a native of Somersetshire, by whom he has one son, Charles F.,
born August 15, 1884.
• Johnson, Howard M., was born in
1857 in Oswego county, and. for the past fifteen years has resided on his
present place near Wellwood. He married in 1878 Carrie Hamilton, by whom
he has one child, Ethel. John Johnson, the father, is a native of Otsego
county and lives in Palermo.
• Kiblin, Stewart I., of New England,
ancestry, was born in Jefferson county May 12, 1855, a grandson of John,
who died in that county aged seventy years. The father, Stillman, was born
in Vermont and came to New York State when six years of age, dying in Jefferson
county aged. eighty-nine. He married Eliza——, and their children were Emily,
Lodenia, Stewart I., Fisher, Helen, Lodenia dying March 28, 1894. The grandfather
was a soldier in the war of 1812. Our subject was educated in the common
schools, and in 1861 enlisted in the 10th N. Y. Heavy Artillery, serving
in Army of the Potomac and was discharged at the close of the war. January
15, 1870, he married Velona, daughter of Gilbert and Eunice Fitch of Sandy
Creek. The grandfather Pitch was also a soldier of 1812. They had one child,
Burton S. Kiblin, born December 10, 1871, who lives at home with his parents.
Mrs. Kiblin was one of five children, all deceased but two, Livinia and
• King, William J., was born in Volney
in 1856 and is a son of William and Henrietta (Greenwood) King, natives
of England, who came to America soon after their marriage, locating in
Volney. They are now residents of Schroeppel. William J. is a farmer and
dealer in live stock and poultry. He married in 1879 Eliza Dale, who died
in 1889, leaving one daughter, Henrietta, He afterward married Carrie Wheelhouse.
• Knowlton, J. H., was born in Palermo
September 28, 1829. His father, Thaxton, was born in 1803, and was killed
at the age of thirty-three by a tree falling on him. The mother of our
subject was Elizabeth Knowlton. The life of our subject has been spent
mostly in Palermo- In his early life he taught school, then took up farming
in which he has always been successful. He has been assessor six years,
and is a member of the M. E. church. He was educated in the academy in
Livingston county. Subject married, September 20, 1840, Elizabeth Akroyd,
and their children are Leslie, Esther, Emma, Clara and Elizabeth. His second
wife was Maria Druce and their children were Edwin, Allace and Wendall.
• Le Clair Frank P., is one of Boylston's
enterprising young men, owner and conductor of a cheese factory, which
business he began when fourteen years old. He was born in the town of Mexico
in 1857, son of Charles Le Clair. Charles Le Clair was born in Mexico in
1822 and is one of five sons of Frederick Le Clair, who was born in France.
The latter came to America in 1830 and settled in the town of Mexico where
he cleared a farm. He was a soldier in the French army. Charles, the father,
left the farm in 1871 and engaged in the general merchandise business in
the village of Parish, where he is still in active business. He is a member
of the Masonic order. His wife was Catherine Parrot, who was born in France.
She died in 1870. Their children are Charles, jr., Louisa, Mary, Pauline,
Frank, Edward, Emma and Ida J. Since the age of nineteen our subject has
taken exclusive charge of a factory at Loomis Corners in the town of Palermo.
In 1883 he came to Boylston and established himself in business Here he
has been actively engaged in the manufacture of a fine grade cheese. His
goods are always in demand and command the highest market price. Since
1890 he has manufactured quantities of butter. He is an extensive reader
and a well informed man. In March, 1881, he married Anna, daughter of George
and Catherine (Moore) Lewis of Amboy. Their children are Leanna C. and
Franklin G., Lindsey. Asa, was born in Sandy Creek March 9, 1824,
a son of Robert and Hannah (Skellton)
Lindsey, early settlers of Sandy Creek, the father of Robert, Stephen,
having been one of the very first to settle here, coming into the wilderness
where he cleared a home, and lived and died aged eighty-four years. He
was a soldier under General Washington all through the Revolution, being
eight years away from home in the service. He had three brothers killed
in that war, he himself not being hurt. Robert, father of our subject,
was a farmer in this town, where he always resided. Asa was reared on the
farm, and has always followed this vocation, now owning 150 acres which
is devoted to general farming and dairying. He has taken an active interest
in local affairs, and has served as road commissioner. Mr. Lindsey married
Polly Hilliker, daughter of Job and Sally (Finch) Hilliker of Sandy Creek,
and they have had three children Ophelia, wife of L. Reynolds; Frelove,
wife of Orin Sage, who has two children; and Charles W., an engineer of
Oswego, who married Jennie Cox.
• Lownsbury, Charles E., M. D., was
born in Onondaga county December 26,1860. His grandfather, Ezra F., born
in Dutchess county, died in New York aged ninety-one; his father, Charles
P., was born in Onondaga county where he died aged fifty-five. The latter
married Emogene Olds, our subject being their only child. The grandfather
was in the war of 1812, and the father was in the Civil war, being first
sergeant. He was a Mason and physician. Charles A. was educated in Onondaga
Academy, graduating from the class of 1880, and afterwards attended Syracuse
University. He read medicine with his father and graduated from the New
York Medical College, New York city, class of 1882. He taught mathematics
in Onondaga Academy for two years, and attended the New York Homeopathic
College. He first practiced in Morrisania and afterward in Syracuse. He
came to Lacona in 1887, where he has since practiced. In 1893 he was appointed
secretary of the Pension Board of this county, and he is a Mason, an Odd
Fellow and a member of the K. 0. T. M. June 13, 1882, he married Fannie
L. Pettit, daughter of Thomas and Marietta (Slow) Pettit, their children
being Charles V., born August 10, 1888, and Dana Louise, born December
• Lynch, John K., was born in Jefferson
county November 11, 1844. His father, Matthew, was born in Ireland, and
died in this town aged fifty-six. He married \Hannah Kennedy, also a native
of Ireland, who died here aged eighty-two. The great-grandfather of our
subject commanded a company as captain in the Serspill army, during the
siege of Limerick, Ireland. John K. was educated in Oswego, and at the
age of twenty he started a retail grocery store on Seneca street, which
he conducted nine years, then started in the produce business, being largely
in building up the strawberry industry.
In 1882 he started the wholesale liquor business with Mr. Mitchell, on
West First street, remaining until 1892, when they dissolved, and Mr. Lynch
started at 101 East First street, where he now continues, carrying a general
line of domestic and imported liquors, at wholesale exclusively, being
general agents for Schlitz's Milwaukee Lager. January 6, 1870, Mr. Lynch
married Ellen Wynne, daughter of Robert and Ann (Harty) Wynne of this city,
and they have had these children: Mary T., born January 27, 1871; Ellen,
born June 7, 1872, died February 22. 1876; Anna J., born March 9, 1874;
James W., born October 27, 1875; John K., born September 27, 1877; Mathew
J., born November 6. 1879; Ellen born December 26, 1881; Robert M., born
June 3, 1882; Clara J., born June 22, 1885; Francis, born December 3 1886.
Mary and Anna are graduates of St. Joseph's Convent, Binghamton.
• King, Mrs. Catharine C., proprietor
of the Lakeside House, a first-class and popular summer hotel of Constantia,
was born in Germany in 1848, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Loupshier)
Ackerman. Mr. Ackerman came to the United States in. 1840, returned to
Germany and in 1848 brought his family to America. In 1850 he came to Salina,
where he engaged in the salt works. They reared four children: Catherine,
Mary, Elizabeth and Daniel. In 1856 he went to Virginia where he was interested
in the salt manufacture, and died in 1865. The mother and children returned
to Syracuse, where the former died. in 1877. Our subject married in January,
1872, Christian C. King", a native of Syracuse, born in 1850, a son of
George and Mary (Lupp) King, natives of Germany.
His father was a carpenter. Mr.
King was a barber in early years in Oneida. From 1879 to 1881
he conducted the Lake View House
at North Bay. In 1881 he came to Constantia and purchased
the Lakeside House, which he conducted
until his death in 1893. He was a member of the Masonic order and highly
esteemed. They reared four children: Daniel C., Mary, Jessie and Walter
Since her husband's demise Mrs. King has assumed full charge of the hotel,
assisted by her son and daughter. She is an energetic businesswoman, and
thoroughly adapted to be the hostess of the strictly first-class hotel
which she conducts. She is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Syracuse.
• Kendrick, Joseph L., was born in
Yarmouth, Mass., January 1, 1847, a son of Benjamin C., who was a seaman
from nine years of age until his death in 1882 aged sixty-five years. His
wife was Julia Evens, and their children were Calvin S., Harriet, Julia
H., Benjamin C., Joshua, May H. and Gertrude A. Our subject began for himself
as a seaman on the Atlantic when fourteen years of age, and in July, 1863,
enlisted in Co. E, 43d Regiment Mass. Inft., serving thirteen months, during
which time he was in the battles of Kingston, Goldsborough and Whitehall,
N. C. Upon his return from the war he went on board a merchantman and remained
four years. During a terrible storm while at sea the rigging was all washed
away from the ship, and he with the crew lashed themselves to the ship
and were tossed about for eight days without food or water. In 1868 he
came to Constantia and thence to Michigan. Two years later he returned
and purchased his present farm. Mr. Kendrick has served as inspector several
terms, school tax collector six years, and other minor offices. He is a
member of Lewis Post, G. A. R. In October, 1869, he married Sally
Ann, daughter of Ebenezer Phillips.
She was a school teacher in Constantia for several years. They have one
child, Arthur Reed, born in 1879.
• Kingsford. Hon. William E., of
English ancestry, was born in Oswego January 2, 1859 a son of Henry Kingsford,
born in England, who died in Oswego aged forty-eight, and of Sarah Aldridge,
also a native of England, who died here aged sixty-three. Henry was a manufacturer,
and a member of the Masonic fraternity. William E. was educated in the
public schools, and did clerical work in the starch factory, then was appointed
superintendent of the gas company, which position he still holds A meeting
was held in April, 1853, at the office of Luther Wright, to organize a
gas industry, and Mr. Wright was elected president. S. P. Ludlow was made
secretary, and the directors were D. 0. Littlejohn, O. J. Harmon, H. D.
Ludlow; the company was formed and §65,000 in stock was taken by the
members of the board, and in 1852 the contract for building the works was
let, in December of that year gas was turned into the mains, and has never
been stopped up to the present time. The output at first was about 6,000
feet per day. They now have twenty-one miles of pipe, with a gas meter
capacity of 40,000 feet, and they run 800 meters. In 1884 they put in a
plant to manufacture electric light for commercial purposes, running seventy-five
arc lights and 1,000 incandescent lights. The stock is held chiefly in
Oswego and Philadelphia, and the present officers are James Dowdle, president,
John Mott, vice-president and treasurer, R. D. Post, secretary, and W.
E. Kingsford, superintendent. The directors are Thompson Kingsford, Theodore
Irwin, H. B. McCaffrey, H. S. Wright, H. G. Ludlow.
• Keyes, Clarence C., was born in
Otsego, N. Y., October 28, 1846, and first engaged in hotel keeping with
his father, keeping the Sherwood House in Utica in 1863, also the St. James
and the American- In 1869 he kept the St. James in Orton, N. Y., and was
head clerk in the American Hotel at Richfield Springs till 1870. In 1871
he conducted the Empire House at Cooperstown, but was burned out. In 1868
he kept a restaurant in New York city, corner of Fulton and Broadway, and
for the next three years was commercial salesman. He had charge of the
Exposition Hotel during the
Centennial at Philadelphia, the
house having 325 rooms. He was then on the road as salesman six years,
and later conducted a hotel in Ohio. In 1886 he conducted the Ludlow House
in Monroe, and in 1888 the Kendrick House at Mt. Clemens, Mich. In 1889
he took the Stanwix Hall at Rome and conducted same for the next four years.
March 13, 1894, he took the Lake Shore Hotel in Oswego, which he still
operates. Mr. Keyes has had a varied career. He has taken houses in a run-down
condition and built them up and
has traveled extensively. He is a member of the Royal Arcanum, K. P., and
is serving on the finance committee of the grand, lodge. October 35, 1871,
he married Julia H. Tyier of Skaneateles, who died in 1881, and he married
second Viola Beadle, November 16, 1887. His children by his first marriage
are Bessie G., and Harriet E. M., the latter an accomplished musician.
The Lake Shore House caters to commercial trade, is situated near both
stations, and has seventy-eight rooms, the capacity of the hotel being
300. Four generations of the
family have kept hotel, for a period
extending over 100 years.
• King, Stephen, jr., was born in
Quebec, Canada, October 16, 1849, a son of Stephen and Mary (Lambert) King,
both natives of Canada, and both now living. The grandfather, Stephen,
was a guide in the employ of the Hudson Bay Fur Company. Stephen, jr.,
was educated in the common schools of Oswego, and first clerked in a hardware
store, then in a book store, and at the age of fifteen began learning the
shoemaker's trade. He next went to Ohio in the employ of the L. S. &
M. S- Railroad Co. as brakeman, remaining two years, then engaged as baggageman
on the Oswego & Syracuse railroad. In 1874 he started a repair shop,
which has grown to the present retail store, now situated at No. 40 West
Bridge street, with a branch store at 375 West Third street. They carry
a general line of footwear, and do a large business in repairing, catering
largely also to the country trade. December °8, 1873, he married Louise,
daughter of Benjamin and Caroline (Davidson) Bird, and their children are
Mary, born November 7, 1873; Louise, born April 23, 1875; Albert, born
March 8, 1877; Frederick, born July 23, 1879, died October 16, 1881; Ella,
4, 1880; Harry, born June 4. 1884;
Jessie, born January 4, 1886; Cyril, born February 2, 1888; Irene, born
February 18, 1890.
• Kelsey, Martin, was born in Springfield.
Mass., October 33. 1819, the only son of Martin and Lydia Kelsey, who also
reared two daughters who are now deceased. The elder Kelsey, a blacksmith
by trade, settled at West Granby as early as 3828. The business life of
Martin Kelsey, jr., began at Fulton where he learned the cooper's trade.
In 1808 he purchased the saw mill at Woodruff's Corners and is still engaged
in that business, having added a grist mill to the original plant. Mr.
Kelsey's first wire was Eunice Farnham of Fulton, who at her death left
three children: Mary,
Alfred and Eliza. His second wife
was Sarah Alien, also deceased, by whom he had these children: Fred, Alice
and Carrie, who married in 1892 William Gates who is now engaged in business
at Phoenix, his wife remaining at the old home to care for her aged father.
• Kehoe, Miles, was born in Ireland
in 1837, a son of Michael, born in Ireland and died in Oswego. Our subject
came to America at the age of fourteen and settled in Oswego, where he
completed his education. He first engaged in the lumber business, in which
be was foreman fourteen years, then opened a wholesale liquor store at
First and Bridge streets. He moved later, and finally settled in 1875 at
51 East Bridge street, where he now continues both wholesale and retail
business. He is
sole agent for Smith's Philadelphia
ale, Niagara Falls lager, A. Kellar Bourbon, and the Zeno, Monogram, and
Tippecanoe whiskies. He is also interested in real estate. July 6, 1864,
he married Catharine, daughter of John Aikens of Oswego, and their children
are Ann (deceased), John, Frank, Miles (deceased), James (deceased) and
• Kehoe, William J., was born in
Oswego, February 16, 1868, son of Thomas and Margaret (Ratigan) Kehoe,
who were of Irish descent. The mother was born and died in Oswego. The
father was born in Utica, and is still living at the age of sixty- five.
The father was in the Civil war as first lieutenant, Co. I, 110th Vol.
Infantry. William was educated in Oswego and graduated from St. Paul's
parochial school. He first assisted his father in the meat business, and
then was taken into the firm with him, where he remained for three years.
He then assumed full charge of the business, operating it for four years.
After this he went to Chicago and opened up the meat business, remaining
there for one year. Returning to Oswego he purchased the drug store corner
E. Second and Bridge streets, which he still operates, carrying one of
the largest stocks in the county. It is also the oldest drug store in the
county. He is a member of the Mutual Order Hibernian Society.
• Kenyon, Seymour, was born in 1844,
and has always resided in Oswego county. He married in 1866 Nettie Ross,
who died in 1889. He afterward married Delia Ostrum, and has two children,
Erick and Kittie May. Mr. Kenyon is one of four children of Daniel and
Jerusha Ann (Crandall) Kenyon, natives of Washington and Oswego counties.
Daniel was born in 1810, came to Mexico with his father, John, in 1814,
and died in 1889. Our subject's mother died in 1893.
• Livingston, Allan C., was the son
of John Livingston, who was born in Scotland and at an early day came to
this country and built the noted New York Mills near Utica. Allan, our
subject, educated himself at Clinton and afterward graduated from the Albany
College. He had worked in the cotton mills and had learned the trade of
machinist. In 1849 he came to Fulton where he afterward practiced medicine.
He died May 17, 1877. His first wife was Helen Gridley, who bore him two
children. His second wife, whom he married in 1856, was Ordelia French.
They had five children: Frederick H., Caroline E-, who married F. H. Platt,
Kate C. and Helen G., both deceased, and William S. of New York city. Dr.
Livingston served twenty months in the army as surgeon of the 110th regiment.
He served as supervisor at Volney and also as postmaster at Fulton. Oliver
French came from Massachusetts to Volney when sixteen years old. He was
identified with the best interests of the town and was highly respected
by all. He married Sophronia Burdick, who bore him five children, two of
whom grew to maturity, Ordelia E., who married Dr. Allan C. Livingston,
and Frances H.
• Lewis, Maxon, was born in Watertown
December 16, 1832. He has always been a farmer, and at the age of twenty-two
went to Rhode Island where he remained three years. He then came to the
town of Oswego, where he has since lived. In 1853 he married Sarah McCoy,
and they have three children: Ulysses G., Mrs. Earl Robinson and Mrs. L.
A. Stevenson. Ulysses G. Lewis was born September 25 1854, and in 1874
married Frank Miller. They have one son, Fred. Maxon Lewis's father was
Simeon Lewis of Rhode Island, and his mother Arabella (Burrows) Lewis,
• Lee, Charles M., was born in Minisink,
Orange county, May 1, 1825, son of Daniel and Sarah (Aber) Lee. He was
reared on a farm, received an academic education, and also attended Hamilton
College one year. Failing eyesight compelled him to eave college, and soon
afterward he came to Fulton where he began reading medicine with his uncle,
Dr. M. Lindley Lee. Here he also attended Falley Seminary later the Albany
Medical College, but was graduated from Geneva Medical College with the
class of 1850. Dr. Lee began his practice at Phoenix in 1850 and about
ten years later located permanently at Fulton, where he is still engaged
in professional work, associated with his son, Dr. Charles R. Lee. Subject
was formerly a partner of Dr. Livingston. In 1850 Dr. Lee married Elizabeth
P. Hotchkins, by whom he has had four children: Kittie, wife of J. T. Sheridan
of Toronto; Charles R., Sarah Elizabeth and Bertha, all of Fulton. Mrs.
Lee died May 24, 1893. Dr. Lee has been for many years an active and successful
practitioner in this county, and one who has always stood high in the profession.
He has been president of the County Medical Society, and frequently a delegate
to the State Society.
• Long, David D., was born in Oswego
June 23, 1857. He first learned the trade of a confectioner and after working
four years bought the shop of his employer, remaining in it for two years.
He then moved to the Arcade building on Bridge street, where he remained
thirteen years. He then opened a wholesale grocery and confectionery store
at Alexandria Bay, which he still conducts. In 1883 he married Emma Chatterton,
by whom he has five children. . Mr. Long is a self-made man,
starting in a poor boy, he has property
to-day estimated at $60,000.
• Long, John, was born in Prance
December 15, 1839, son of John and Rosalie Long. He was educated in France,
learned the trade of machinist in Paris, and worked at his trade there
until he came to the United States. Soon after arriving here he volunteered
in the late Civil war and went to the front with the 38th Ohio Volunteers.
At the expiration of his term of enlistment he re-enlisted in the 97th
N. Y. Inft., and served till the close of the war. He was in the battle
of the Wilderness, where he wounded and taken, prisoner; also participated
in some of the principal battles and numerous skirmishes. After the close
of the war he went to Oswego and worked at his trade for twenty years.
He then located on a farm which he purchased in Parish, where he has built
a shop and in connection with conducting his farm, pays a great deal of
attention to special work on machinery. Remarried Rosie Laplaine, and has
five children, John, Louie, Rosie, Delphine and Leida.
• Lewis, Emmett, was born in Amboy,
Oswego county, February 6, 184o, son of George W. and Sallie M. Lewis.
His father moved to Amboy when it was a wilderness, containing more wolves
than anything else. Emmett was the youngest of six children, was educated
in Amboy, then worked at farming and lumbering, and was deputy sheriff
of Oswego county, serving four terms, a length of service it is believed
that has not been equaled in the county. After completing his fourth term
he opened a store in Parish, where he conducts a business in drugs, paints,
oils, etc. He married in 1880 E. J. House, and has two daughters, Florence
• Le Claire, Charles, was born in
Mexico, Oswego county, July 38, 1829. His father and mother came from France
and settled in Mexico in 1828. Subject was educated in the common schools
of Colosse, and passed his early days working on his father's farm in that
place. He married Catharine Parot in 1850, continuing farming until 1871,
when he went into the mercantile business in partnership with Sleighton
& Slawson of Parish, constituting the firm of Sleighton, Slawson &
Le Claire, which continued in business three years. Mr. Le Claire then
returned to farming and in
the spring of 1883 went into business
with Frank Butler as Le Claire & Butler, which has been in business
ever since, and is known as one of the substantial business concerns of
• Letts, Mrs. Elsie Maria, was born
in Parish at the family homestead, daughter of Francis and Hannah Minckler.
Her father died in 1888, and the stepmother is living with her at the homestead.
She was educated in Parish, Mexico and Pulaski and married in 1879 Lewis
Klock who died two years later. She was married second to David Letts in
1882. He was a merchant in the village, and served in the army. Mrs. Letts
has one son, Mack Milton Letts, in his eleventh year. She superintends
and conducts the old- homestead farm, keeping it thoroughly cultivated.
• Loomis R. E., was born in Wyoming
county in 1844 and came to Oswego county with his parents in 1858. They
located one year in New Haven, then moved to Palermo where the father,
Elias B., died in 1862. The family afterward returned, to New Haven, where
the mother, Mary E., died. Mr. Loomis served in Co. I, 184th Regiment,
one year, and in 1874 married Phoebe Druce, a native of New Haven. They
have two children, Claude W. and Atta Mary.
• Lynch, William W., was born in
the town of Cicero September 29,1829, son of John Lvnch, a native of Brewerton,
born in 1806, son of Joshua Lynch, farmer. John was one of six children,
a cooper, boatman and farmer. In 1847 he left his home and went west, since
which time he has never been heard from. His wife was Harriet, daughter
of Jonathan and Thursa (dark) Gillett of Connecticut, and their children
are Mrs. Esther J. Caldwell, William W., Edwin, James Orrin, Lawrence and
Frances. Subject followed the cooper's trade for many years, came to Hastings,
in 1869, and purchased his present farm. Since 1884 he has paid special
attention to the tobacco
crop. In 1851 he married Almira,
daughter of Daniel and Abigail Kincaid of Manlius, and their children are
Charles, Mrs. Zada P., widow of Frank Palmer, and Mrs. Laura Chesbro of
Colorado. His mother died at his home in 1892, aged eighty-seven.
• La Prairie, Joseph, was born at
Montreal in 1834. He is one of a family of fourteen children, of whom ten
obtained maturity, born to Francis and Julia (Blair) La Prairie. Francis
was born near Montreal, of French ancestry, and was one of the founders
of the French church there. In 1847 the family removed to Oswego.
Joseph was employed as a custodian of boats in transit and at New York
city. In 187T he formed a copartnership with J. H. Merton at Fulton in
the grocery trade.
In 1884 he engaged in the transportation
of lumber on the canals, and five years later established his present business,
wholesale liquors and cigars, in Fulton. ln 1861 he married Lydia A. Barrett,
• Morton, William, was born May 19,
1837, in Morristown, St. Lawrence county, a son of Solomon, born in Burlington,
Vt., in 1806. The latter was a merchant and hotel keeper, and was a member
of the State militia. He married Charlotte ––––, and their children were
Liva, born in 1823; Edna A., born in 1824; Julietta, born in 1826; Mary
M., born in 1828; Andrew, born in 1831; Eliza, born in 1834; William, as
above ; Melissa, born in 1839, and Alonzo, born in 1841. Of these four
are deceased. William was educated in Richland and was engaged in sailing
on the lakes. He then
engaged in the fish business on
Lake Ontario. He next commenced the hotel business, keeping the Morton
House at Selkirk, which is the finest hotel in the place. In 1856 he married
Ar villa Wright, daughter of Joseph and Emma Wright, of Selkirk, whose
parents came from Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. Morton have these children: Dennis,
born January 6, 1858; Alonzo, born August 11, 1861; William, jr., born
May 23, 1868, all of whom are living. Dennis married Mary Courtville. He
served in the life saving station, and is now a sailor. Alonzo is a farmer
and lives with his parents. William, jr., married Mary Park. and has been
in the life saving service for some time, but is now in the fish business.
• Morgan, Milton T., was born in
Herkimer county February 12, 1838, a grandson of Ebenezer, who died aged
seventy years; and a son of Newton A., born in Herkimer county where he
died aged fifty-six. He married Harriet Filler, who died in Wisconsin aged
seventy-two. Their children were Lucien, Theresa, Henry C., Newton,
Eliza J., Milton T., and Franklin D., of whom Lucien is deceased. The father
was an Odd Fellow and was postmaster. Our subject was educated in Herkimer
county and moved to Oswego county in 1865, where he bought the Emery Cole
which he still conducts. December
18, 1859, he married Mary C., daughter of James and Catharine (Lyon) Smith,
and their children are Arthur, born August 28, 1860, who married Amelia
Montondo and has one son, James and Lulu, born December 14, 1865, who died
October 5, 1881.
• Murray, Charles, of Canada ancestry,
was born in Oswego county August 15, 1863, son of Charles, born in Canada,
who died in Oswego county aged fifty-five. Their children were Louis, Josephine,
Mary, Charles, Carrie, Libbie and James. The father was a soldier in the
Rebellion and was wounded in the battle of Appomatox. Subject was educated
at Fulton, is a farmer and manufacturer of Whitney's woven wire fences,
being sole proprietor of same in Oswego county. He married in 1883 Josephine,
daughter of Austin and Sophia (Furney) Martin of Oswego Falls, and
their children are Charles A., Annie
R., Eva May, Walter L. Moore, James L., of Irish ancestry, was born in
Oswego county December 20, 1860. His grandfather was James, who died here
aged sixty-five; and his father was Michael, also of this county, who married
Gertie Watkins, both now living, and their children are James L. and Warren.
The grandfather was a soldier in the war of
1812. Our subject was educated in
the common schools, and his first occupation was as drug clerk. He then
read medicine with Dr. Bennett of Mexico, after which he attended lectures
in New York city and received his degree from the New York University,
class of 1887. He settled in Holmesville and engaged in the practice of
medicine, where he has built up an extensive practice though still a young
man. August 81, 1887, he married Ella A., daughter of William B. and Ann
(Douglass) Searles, and their children are May Belle, Anna A., J. James,
• McMahon, Thomas, was born in Ireland
in 1826, son of John and Bridget McMahon, and is the eldest of six children.
The family started for the United States in 3836, but after nineteen days
out met with a serious wreck of the coast of Newfound and, and lost all
their personal property and effects. After a furious stormy day their boat
was towed back to Ireland. ' Three months later they ventured a second
time and after a sail of thirteen weeks landed in New York and came direct
to Salina. At twelve years of age Mr. McMahon began work to assist in the
support of the family, and spent some time for the State on the canal.
Later he came to Hastings and purchased a portion of his present farm,
and for twenty-five years was interested heavily in the wood business,
owned the boats on which he shipped his wood, and furnished large quantities
to salt works in Syracuse and other parties. During the war times he furnished
many horses for the government. In 1848 he married Jane, daughter of Moses
and Mary (Hardin) Marvin of Hastings, and they had thirteen
children, seven of whom grew to
maturity: Frank, Eugene, John, Jane, Mrs. Ellen O'Riley, Mary Estell and
Thomas. In 1881 Mrs. McMahon, John and Jane died of fever. Mr. McMahon
was one of the first members of the Central Square Grange.
• Merriam, A. P., the present supervisor
of Schroeppel, was born in Onondaga county in 1853, son of Alien and Jane
S. (Gillett) Merriam, natives of Delaware and Onondaga counties, now residents
of Palermo. Our subject married Emogene Auringer in 187o. In 1876 he learned
the cheesemaking trade, which he has since followed, He is the owner of
the Phoenix factory No. 1 and manufactures over a ton of cheese per day,
being the largest in the county. He came to Phoenix in 1876, and
has one sou, Alien W. He is a member
of the firm of H. D. Merriam & Bro.., clothiers, and has been supervisor
• May, Charles A., son of Erastus
and Elizabeth (Hoban) May, was born in 1853 in New Haven. He resides on
a farm and devotes most of his time to agricultural pursuits, but is also
a mason by trade. He married in 1889 Emma Hubbell, a native of New Haven.
His father was born in New Haven, married in Michigan, was a cooper and
stave manufacturer, and died in 1869. Alanson May, the grandfather of subject,
was of English parentage and located in New Haven at an early day. He was
in the war of 1812.
• McDonald, B. S., was born in Livingston
county, N. Y., in 1855, and when seven years old came to Oswego county
with his parents, B. S. and Carmilla (Severance) McDonald, locating in
New Haven. In 1892 he married Jennie Boothe, by whom he has one daughter,
• McQueen, Oscar, was born June 14.
1841, son of Ephraim, who was born March 1, 1798. The father had an interest
in a saw mill, but farming was his principal business. The family were
of Scotch ancestry, the grandfather coming to this country when five years
of age with his parents. They settled near New York city, then moved to
Montgomery county, where they died. Subject enlisted in Co. P, 147th N.
Y. Inft. August 23, 1862, served until February 6, 1863, and was honorably
discharged on account of sickness. He married, November 27, 1871, Harriet
and they have a son and daughter,
Fred E. and Clara J., both school teachers. Our subject is a member of
the Hiram Sherman Q. A. R. Post, No. 434.
• McQueen, James, was born November
5, 1836, is a farmer and is looked upon as a master of that business. He
has quite a dairy in connection with his farm, of which he makes a specialty.
He married March 28, 1872, Mary E. Preston, and they have two children,
Howard and Jane. Subject has been assessor and health officer, which position
he is still filling.
• Morton, Daniel, was born in Mexico
in 1844, reared on a farm and served three years in the 81st N. Y. Vols.,
losing an arm while on picket duty at Northwest Landing, Va. He has been
constable of the town for the past thirteen years. He married in 1864 Mrs.
Kate Morton, who immigrated from Germany in 1854 when twelve years old.
They have one child, Dora E. Subject's father, Gad W., was born in 1800,
and died in 1883, after living all his life in Mexico. His wife, Eliza
Wing, died in 1880. Gad W. Morton, the grandfather of our subject, was
born in Connecticut, came to Mexico and located where the village of Mexico
now stands, where he lived and died. He was one of the earliest settlers.
• Minckler, David S., was born in
Richland in 1840, and in 1862 married Elizabeth Markham, a native of Jefferson
county, who came to Oswego county when four years old. Her parents were
William and. Beulah (Tyier) Markham, her mother being a native of Mexico
and daughter of Asa Tyier, one of Mexico's earliest settlers. Mr. Minckler
lives on his wife's old home place, and they have four children: Lula,
now Mrs. Albert Vaughn, Gates, Charles and Claude, Philip Minckler, the
born in Columbia county in 1803,
moved to Montgomery county in youth and there married Laura Alien, and
moved to Oswego county about 1830. They died in Richland in 1885.and 1879
• Myers, Alexander, of Mexico was
born in 1820 in Onondaga county. He married in 1841 Amanda Dennis, daughter
of Benjamin Dennis, a native of Vermont, and has lived on his present place
near Arthur since 1848. They have had ten children, eight surviving. B.
F. Myers, son of Alexander and Amanda Myers, was born in Mexico in 1847,
married in 1873 Lucia E. Gates, a native of Oswego county, who died in
1879 leaving one child, Ida E. Mr. Alexander afterward married
daughter of Horace Kilbourn. He
has been Arthur's postmaster for the past fourteen years. Jacob Myers,
father of Alexander, was a captain in the war of 1812, was born in Onondaga
county and died in Mexico in 1860. Henry Myers, the grandfather of Alexander,
was a native of Onondaga county, and came to Hastings, Oswego county, about
1832, where he lived to be over ninety years of age. His wife died in Mexico
in 1848, aged 103 years.
• Maury, Oliver B., is a native of
Oswego county, born in 1848, and in 1872 married Ella A. Calkins. In 1864
he enlisted in the 184th Regiment, Co. G, and is now serving his third
term as inspector of elections. His father, Ephraim D., was born in Oswego
county in 1827, and was a descendant of one of the brothers who came from
Wales and settled in Rhode Island. His first wife, the mother of Oliver
B., was Helen Peckham, a native of Madison county, who died in 1885, leaving
• Manning, John W., was born March
30, 1850, in Williamstown, son of Christopher and Betsey Manning, who moved
to West Amboy when subject was one year old, He was educated in West Amboy,
started in by working on his father's farm, then bought a farm of his own
and went to Pennsylvania. Thirteen years ago Mr. Manning moved to Parish,
lived four years on the Philip Hess farm, then worked his present
farm two years on shares, and then purchased it. His farm consists of 174
acres in a fine state of cultivation, and he has a reputation as a progressive
farmer second to none in the county, his butter being especially noted.
He married Mary Parish, and has three children, Dewitt C., Willie A. and
• Matthews, Virgil L., was born June
4, 1844, in Parish, son of John F. and Malona (Fairchild) Matthews, the
former being an early settler of Parish. Subject was educated in Mexico,
and went to California in 1856. He returned in 1859 and engaged in farming,
which he continued until the war, when he enlisted in Co. A, 2d N. Y. Heavy
Artillery, served one year and was discharged on account of disability.
He owns a house and lot in Parish, and receives a soldier's pension for
services in the army. He married Louisa French, by whom he has two children,
Ida M. and Dow.
• Mattison, Hampton L., was born
in this county, July 16, 1831, a son of Solomon (of Vermont) and Lydia
(Hines) Mattison (born in Rhode Island), both now deceased. The grandfather,
Caleb, was a soldier in the Revolution, and the father in the war of 1812.
Hampton L. was educated in Oswego county, and first engaged in the meat
business, which he conducted fifteen years. He has also been a commercial
traveler, and a general speculator. He started the first fruit evaporating
plant in the county. In 1886 he started a coal yard, which he still conducts,
being agent for the Scranton
coal and the principal retailer
in the city. Mr. Mattison has taken a prominent part in local politics,
has served as city assessor, and was candidate for mayor in 1893. April
17, 1859, he married Janet, daughter of Willard and Lucy (Sanderson) Loomis,
and they have had two children, Kate A., who married Prof. George B. Stephens,
D. D.; and Mary, who married Frank Woodsworth, a lawyer of Minneapolis,
J. H., was born in Fulton, town of Volney, Oswego county, April 7, 1833.
His parents moved to Oswego city when he was an infant. He learned the
trade of cooper and followed it successfully for many years. In 1877 he
began farming. which he has since pursued. He married Ellen Keenskern,
and they have two children, Ella, now Mrs. Frank Carrier, and Edna, now
Mrs. Charles Carrier. Mr. Murdock was alderman for the 6th ward, Oswego
city, for four years. His father was Irwin R. Murdock, and his mother Sally
• Murphy, M. L., one of the most
popular young men of Oswego Falls, was born at Chippewa, Ontario, November
25, 1864. He is the youngest son of the late Michael Murphy. When. one
year of age he came to Oswego Falls, and before the attainment of his majority
had learned the plumber's trade, which he practiced for twelve years. In
1893 Mr. Murphy served as secretary of the Board of Health, and in March,
1894, was elected clerk of the town of Granby, being the first incumbent
of that office elected to a two year term.
• Marsh, C. Fred, justice of the
peace since 1889, is by heredity, education and character peculiarly fitted
for so responsible a position among his fellow men. His father was the
late I. W. Marsh, who was born at Amherst, Mass., in 1826 and came with
his father, Orsemus Marsh, to Bowen's Corners in 1829 and during his residence
of more than half a century here became largely identified with public
affairs. He was commissioner of schools, Justice and supervisor, holding
each of these positions for long terms of years. His children are E. J.
Marsh, the well-known physician; C. Fred and Isaac Ernest, now in business
at Picton, Ontario. His widow, Marietta, now sixty-six years of age, survives
him. C. Fred acquired the basis of his education at Falley Seminary. His
wife is Eliza, daughter of James Fort of Granby, and they have one daughter,
Millie A., born July 1, 1878.
• Mason, D. E., proprietor of the
Fulton Woodenware Works, began his business career as an employee of a
mercantile house at Dryden, Tompkins county, N. Y., at which place he was
born in 1842, the son of a farmer. In 1866 he began the manufacture of
woodenware at Fulton, making a specialty of butter packages. During twenty-eight
years of steady growth the business has attained substantial proportions,
and by close personal attention and square dealing, Mr. Mason has gained
an enviable reputation. The capacity of the plant in butter tubs alone
is now five hundred per day. An appropriate adjunct of the business is
the Diamond Excelsior Works, producing a carload per week and controlling
a large trade throughout Central New York. This factory is operated by
Geo. E. Mason, the elder son, by whom it was established in 1892. Mr. Mason's
younger son, Bert E., a graduate of Fulton Academy, is associated with
his father as bookkeeper and stenographer. In 1863 Mr. Mason married Miss
Amelia C. Watson of Dryden, N. Y., whose father, George E. Watson, is also
a manufacturer of the same line of goods at that place.
• Merton, John H., was born October
10. 1837, and was the son of James Merton. The father came from Sussex
county, England, and settled in Lysander. His wife was Jane White, by whom
he had eight children, four of whom are now living. He moved to Volney
in 1840 and died at that place. When only eight years old John Merton began
work on the canal. He afterward run a boat and still later owned several
of them. In 1870 he bought and conducted a canal grocery at the Basin,
from which place in 1892 he moved
to the village. Mr. Merton has been a successful business man and now enjoys
a full share of the public confidence. He has held the offices of town
collector and village president. In 1859 he married Adeline Jewett, by
whom he had three children.
• Moore, Robert L., was born in Oswego,
August 18, 1850, and is a dealer in carpets, rugs, mattings, oilcloths,
teats, flags, lace window curtains, portieres, shades, bedding, shelf hardware,
and a full line of house furnishing goods. His father, Thomas, was born
in Ireland, and died in this county and city, aged sixty-four. He married
Mary Cochran who died here aged sixty-seven. Thomas was a Presbyterian
minister. Robert L. was educated in the public schools, and graduated from
the commercial college. He kept books twelve years, then engaged in the
above business, which he has continued successfully. In 1874 he married
Hattie Fayette of Oswego, daughter of John B. and Margaret Colon. Our subject
is an Odd Fellow, and a member of the Episcopal church.
• Morrow, James, born in Auburn in
1842, came to Fulton at twelve years of age without advantages save a meagre
schooling, and no capital except indomitable industry. He worked as a farmer
until twenty years of age, then went into the grocery of Gage & Hancock
where he remained, for five years. In 1864 he enlisted in the 184th N.
Y. Vols. Co. A, and served with credit until the close of hostilities.
In 1882 Mr. Morrow went into business on his own account as a grocer in
the Lewis House Block, and has achieved a substantial success. His wife
is Medora C., whose father, the late Robert Anderson, was long a prominent
merchant at Oswego. Mrs. Morrow is the youngest of three daughters. Mr.
Andersen. in 1836 purchased a tract of land at Fifth and Utica streets,
Oswego, which has appreciated largely in value. But he is remembered less
for his business sagacity and success than for his many unostentatious
charities and quiet benevolence.
• Malcolm, William G., jr., was born
in the city of Oswego June 2, 1857, and was educated in the schools here.
He held positions in the Ontario National and the Second National Banks
for a period of fourteen years, and was then in the drug business for eleven
years. For four years he followed contracting and recently has been living
on his farm in the town of Oswego. In, 1887 he married Anna Mannering.
They have two children, Hilda and Winifred S. Mr. Malcolm's father was
S. Malcolm, who was a lake captain,
and the oldest at the time of his death in Oswego county. His mother was
Emma (Lawrence) Malcolm.
• Merry, Addison D., attorney, is
a native of Schroeppel, born in I860 and graduated from Cornell, class
of '1880; studied law with Judge Avery, admitted to the bar in 1883, and
has since been a member of the firm of Avery & Merry. In 1880 he married
Carrie E., daughter of Albert T. Vickery and has three children, George
Harold, Albert E. and Carrie L. He is president of the Phoenix Bank, secretary
of the Phoenix Knife Co., vice-president of the Phoenix Hot Water Heater
Co., and was assistant district attorney from 1891 to 1894.
• Mead, Sheldon B., was born in Fulton
January 3, 1850, and is the son of Washburn and Adelia A. (Schureldt) Mead.
The father came from Greene county about 1840 and engaged for a time in
the furniture business. After thirty years' residence in this locality
he moved to Rockford, 111., where he now lives. Sheldon was educated. at
Falley Seminary, and afterwards was engaged in mechanical work for about
ten years. He then read law in the office of Judge Tyier and was admitted
to the bar in 1879. He remained in Judge Tyier's office about three years,
then practiced alone until 1884, when the firm of Mead & Strannahan
was formed, but in 1891 Mr. Mead withdrew from the firm and has since practiced
alone. In the fall of 1884 he was elected district attorney. On October
15, 1873, Sheldon married Mary L. Hewitt of Granby. They have one child,
• Morey, Orlo B., was born in Sandy
Creek September 24, 1870, the only child of Joel and Persis A. (White)
Morey, the former a native of Sandy Creek, born October 21, 1833, and the
latter born in 1850. The father of Joel was Isaac Morey, a native of Rensselaer
county, born February 8, 1805, who married Mary A. Seeber of Madison county,
born in 1811. The father of Isaac was Moses, a native of Vermont, born
in 1776, who was a soldier in the war of 1812. The latter came to Sandy
Creek in 1818 and settled on the farm now owned by subject, where he died
in 1866. Isaac Morey
came to this town at the age of
thirteen and died here March 17. 1880, and his wife in 1883. Joel Morey
was reared on the farm and educated in the Belleville and Pulaski Academies,
having always followed farming. In 1865 he married Persis A. White, by
whom he had one child, Orlo B. Mrs. Morey died September 30, 1889. Our
subject was educated in the common schools, is a farmer and owns forty-two
acres of land. November 16, 1890, he married Jennie C., daughter of Stephen
De Cory of Oswego county, and they have one daughter, Zeila M. The Morey
family is of Scotch descent and Orlo B. represents the eighth generation
• Morey, Jacob H., was born in Sandy
Creek, June 28, 1841, a son of Isaac and Mary A. (Seaber) Morey. Subject
was reared on the old homestead which he now owns, and educated in the
common schools. He owns seventy acres and follows general farming. He is
a strong temperance advocate. In 1863 he married Eliza P. Young, a native
of Sandy Creek and daughter of Hiram Young, one of the early settlers of
the town. Subject and wife have one daughter, the wife of George Staplin
of Ellisburg, and they have two sons, George M. and William R. Subject
and wife are members of the M. E. church, and Mr. Staplin and wife are
•Morse Brothers, Israel and Albert,
well-known popular and influential merchants of Cleveland village, are
natives of Oneida county, sons of Albert Morse, who was born in 1808. He
is a son of Samuel Morse, a Connecticut farmer. His father came to the
United States on the Mayflower. Albert, sr., was a mason by trade, came
to Constantia in 1825 and later engaged in the mercantile business in Cleveland,
which he conducted successfully until his death in 1890. He was a well-known
and active politician, having filled most of the important offices of the
town. He was at one time candidate for Assembly. His wife was Sarah Curtis
of Camden. She died in 1874, and their children were Joel, Israel, Phoebe,
Albert, Wallace, Clarissa and Henry. He was succeeded in business by his
son Israel, who from early boyhood had assisted his father in the store.
Israel was a charter member of the Masonic lodge, which was organized in
the village and was appointed by the M. W. G. M. of the State, as worshipful
master of the lodge for the first year. He has the honor of being elected
and re-elected for twenty-five consecutive years. Upon his retiring from
the office his brother Masons presented him with an elegant gold headed
cane in honor of the efficient duties performed, Albert learned the glass
cutter's trade when a young man. In 1870 he purchased the Globe Hotel of
Cleveland which he conducted until 1878, when he entered into partnership
with his brother Israel. He is very popular in politics, has served as
Justice of the peace twelve years, and is elected to serve another term
of four years. He has served as deputy, and in many of the village official
capacities. In the spring he was appointed postmaster of the Cleveland
post-office. In 1869 he was married to Anna, daughter of T. J. Cole, a
prominent man and boat builder of Vienna, Oneida county. They have two
children, Harry A. and Lillian. He is a member of the Masonic lodge, of
which he was at one time treasurer.