Phoenix, N. Y. Postmasters 1830 - 1902

The Post Office was established Jan.29, 1830 with Seth W. Burke as postmaster. His successors were:

1841   Joshua M. Rice
1844   Joseph R. Brown
1848   Edward Baxter
1849   Joshua M. Rice
1853   Wilburn Hale
1855   Uziah Conger ( May 21)
1855   Andrew Baird ( Dec 14 )
1856   Francis David
1861   Joseph Hanchett
1869   Davis Conger
1871   C.E. Hutchinson
1874   H.A. Dygert
1885   Fred W. Alvord
1889   J.M. Williams
1895   Frank K. Avery
1898   A.P. Merriam
1902   A.P. Merriam (reappointed )

Source:  Grip’s Historical Souvenir of Phoenix and Vicinity, Series No 14, Published by The Seaman Press, Pulaski NY, 1902 – Transcribed, bbt2000

Many thanks to Berit Taggart for contributing this information.  Berit is researching the following names and would love to hear from anyone on them...Becker and Collison.  "Both families resided in Oswego county 
(Schroeppel Census 1860, 1865,1880 ) from the mid-1800's through early 1900's. Information has been slim so far, but I am undaunted!"

Back to Town of Schroeppel

 Return to the Oswego County homepage

Copyright © 2000 Berit Taggart / Laura Perkins
All Rights Reserved