THE TOWN OF ATTICA.
THE following list, showing the names of many of the pioneers of this town, and the date and location of their purchases, is taken from the records of the Holland Land Company:
Zerah Phelps, 1802, lots l-6, section 12;
Benjamin Porter, 1802, lots 7, 9 and 11, section 6;
Levi Porter, 1802, lots 8, 10 and 12, section 6;
Stephen Crow (from whom Crow creek was named), 1802, lots 2, 4 and 6, section 6;
Nathaniel Sprout, 1803, lots 9 and 11, section 8;
S. Crow and T. Adams 1803, lots 9-12, section 12;
Zerah Phelps, 1804, lots 4 to 6, section 16;
Amos Sprout, 1803, lot 12, section 8;
Nathaniel Sprout, jr., 1803, part of lots 10 and 19, section 7. and of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 11;
John Keen, 1805, part of lots 7 and 9, section 16;
Andrew McKlen, 1805, lot 8, section 8;
Charles Patterson, 1805, lots 1-3, section 16;
Stephen Crow, 1804 , part of lots 1, 3 and 5;
Abijah Nichols, 1804, part of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 4;
Dan Adams, 1805, lot 6, section 8;
Joshua B. Bearss, 1805, part of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 3;
Lemuel Whaley, 1805, part of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 3;
Joseph Munger, 1805, lots 1, 3 and 5, section 2;
Reynolds Whaley, 1805, part of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 3;
Zadoc Williams, 1804, part of lot 81, section 12;
Luther Stanhope, 1805, part of lots 2 and 4, section 11;
Justus Walbridge, 1805, lot 5, part of lot 3, section 15;
Elihu and David Beckwith, jr., 1806, lots 1 and 3, section 10, and parts of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 5;
Parmenio Adams, 1806, parts of lots 7, 8 and 11, section 10;
John Grant, 1806, parts of lots 7, 9 and 11, section 10;
Archibald Nelson, 1805, lot 1 and part of lot 3, section 15;
Daniel Gardner, 1804, lots 2, 4 and 6, section 4;
Joel Maxon, 1806, parts of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 14;
Nathaniel Eastman, 1805, lots 11-13, section 11;
Joseph Chaffee, 1806, lot 10, section 4;
Dudley Nichols, 1806, lots 8 and 12, section 4;
Nehemiah Osborn, 1805, lot 8, section 4;
William Osborn, 1806, lot 5, section 10;
Nancy Wood, 1805, part of lots 7, 9 and 11, section 5;
Jacob Wood, 1806, lot 7, section 11;
John Hassett, 1807, parts of lots 8 and 10, section 3;
Aaron Bailey, 1808, parts of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 6;
Jonathan Wallingsford, 1808, parts of lots 2, 4 and 6, section 6;
Isaac Adams, 1808, lots 1 and 3, section 9;
Charles L. Imus, 1806, lot 9. secton 11;
Thomas Whaley, 1805, parts of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 3;
Lemuel Whaley, 1608, lot 2, section 2;
Daniel Durkee, 1809, lot 12, section 10;
John Burley, 1806, parts of lots 4 and 6, section 10;
William Burlingame, 1806, parts of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 4;
Timothy Burt, 1808, lot 8, part of lot 10, section 2;
Samuel Mott, 1808, parts of lots 10 and 12, section 7;
David Fletcher and Frederick H. Swears, 1809, parts of lots 8 and 10, section 5;
Amos Muzzy, 1808, lot 9, section 4;
Zadoc Williams, 1808, lot 3, section 8;
Jesse Ditson, 1808, lot 11, section 4;
John Hubbard, 1808, lot 12 and part of lot 10, section 2;
Hanford Conger, 1809, lot 1, section 8;
John Crowl, 1807, parts of lots 8 and 10, section 5;
Elijah Childs, 1807, parts of lots 8 and 10, section 5;
Orator Holcomb, 1805, parts of lots 1, 3 and 5, section 6;
Eliphalet Hodges, 1808, lot 8, section 7;
Benjamin Potter, 1804, lot 10, section 8;
John M. Coughram, 1805, lot 2, section 15;
John Chapel, 1810, lot 4, section 2;
Adolphus Gardner, 1809. lot 6, section 2;
Ebenezer Humphrey, 1809, lot 11, section 9;
Reuben Beman, 1809, lot 7 section 13;
Nehemiah Baker, lots 3 and .5, section 13;
Nathaniel Eastman, 1807, lot 11 and part of lot 9, section 3;
Thomas O. Kelley and John Rogers, 1808, lot 7 and part of lot 9, section 3;
Joseph Chaffee, 1806, lot 12, section 3;
Sargent Jones, 1810, lot 11, section 2;
Hutchins Washburn, 1810, lot 9, section 2;
Amaziah Randall, 1810, lot 9, section 9.
In 1802 Zerah Phelps, wishing to better his condition and having heard much talk of the land flowing with milk and honey known all over the eastern States as the “Genesee country,” bade farewell to kindred and friends in the old “nutmeg State.” and pushed out for the headquarters of the Holland Land Company, whose office at that time was at Batavia. He was finally “booked,” “articled” and “deeded” a tract of land in what, nine years after, turned out to be the town of Attica. He was accompanied by Deacon Porter, Nathaniel Sprout, Isaac Townsend and Major P. Adams. With a major to command the movements and a deacon to look after the spiritual wants of the little band,they continuously and courageously advanced upon the dense forest that lay before them, and plunged into its very heart. They had to brave the dangers, endure the toil and suffer the hardships incident to pioneer life; but they were born of a stock inured to privations and educated in the school of devotion to principle.
July 25th, 1803, the household of Zerah Phelps rejoiced over the birth of the pioneer baby in their family, who was duly named Harriet Phelps.
The contracting parties to the first wedding in this town were Stephen Crow and Lucy Elwell. The first death in this town after it was first settled by Mr. Phelps was that of Thomas Mather, in the winter of 1803.
It was not long before the little band of first comers received accessions, for we find that in 1804 John Smith, John Richards, Steward Gardner, Daniel Gardner, Daniel Burbank, Nathaniel Sprout, jr., Eli Hayes, Daniel White, Zadoc Williams and Zadoc Whipple bought land in this township. Levi Nelson came in 1804 and settled on the farm now owned by William Nelson, south of Attica village.
The trials, hardships and privations of this colony were not as severe as those of the first, for they benefited by the experience and were sheltered by the cabins of their predecessors while they were building their own houses. Their furniture was of the most primitive kind, to say nothing of the log cabin without floor, door or windows, and the cracks between the logs of the house were unchinked, that the smoke might have a chance to circulate freely. The bedstead was made by driving four crotches in the ground in one corner of the mansion, with poles laid in for side pieces and smaller ones laid across to serve as a bedcord, and on top of them a few spruce boughs laid by way of matress. The table was made in another corner by boring two holes in the side of the house at the proper height, and driving into them sticks projecting enough to hold a sheet of bark. The dishes were wooden or pewter, and the old fashioned long handled frying-pan, the bake-kettle, a dinner-pot and a dish-kettle composed the whole kit of cooking utensils. The old broad fire-place, without chimney or jambs, served the triple purpose of cooking, heating and lighting, and the chairs were blocks or logs.
In 1805 the town received a fresh supply of New England bone and sinew, by the immigration of such families as those of Oliver Hodges, Clark Burlingame, Benjamin Powers, Eliphalet Hodges, Jacob Howe, John M. Coffin, Joseph Munger, Levi Stanhope, Patrick Alvord, Thomas Whaley, Nancy Wood, Samuel Smith, Nathaniel Eastman, Benjamin Nelson, Orator Holcomb, Stephen Crawford, Luther Stanhope, Simeon Porter, Benjamin Moulton, David Beckwith, Joseph Hopkins, Elijah Rice, Elihu Beckwith, Daniel Adams, Joel Bradnor, Francis Rodgers, John Kean, Joseph Munger, Nehemiah Osborn and Lemuel Whaley.
In 1806 Owen Cotton came in from Vermont, and in 1808 and 1809 he was followed by Asher Gardner, John Wilder, Asa Johnson, Joseph Wilder, William Vary and one Fuller.
Charles D. Beman, born in Williamstown, Mass., January 11th, 1797, also located in Attica in 1809, where he still resides. We are indebted to him for much valuable information. He was one of the soldiers of 1812 from this town; others were Abel Baker, Caleb Starkweather and Joel Boughton.
In 1811 Gaius B. Rich and Seymour Brainard came to this town, Brainard locating about three miles east of what is now the village of Attica. He bought his land of Daniel Burbank, and in 1820 built a grist-mill down the Tonawanda creek, a short distance from Attica. He was a farmer, as well as mill owner, and had at one time about twenty acres of wheat, which at that period was considered a very large acreage for this country. In the spring it had the appearance of having been winter killed, and he sowed it again, which resulted in a harvest of over eight hundred bushels of very nice wheat. When he commenced building his grist-mill wheat was worth $2.50 per bushel, but it was worth only about three shillings a bushel when he was ready for converting wheat into flour.
Location and Occupation of Early Settlers.
The farm now owned and occupied by Truman F. Baldwin, three miles east of Attica village, is the spot where Seymour Brainard finally located. He lived two and a half years in a log house a little further east, on the place now owned by Kriegelstein, and finally located on the Baldwin farm, where he lived until his death. He came from Old Haddam, Conn. His team consisted of two yoke of oxen and one horse, all hitched to an ox-cart of his own make. Upon the cart were piled all the goods and chattels possessed by Mr. B. The old cart body was made long, and above the wheels spread out to about ten feet wide. Over the whole was a top or cover, the bows made of saplings cut in the woods, and the covering of cotton cloth. In this “schooner” was loaded not only his furniture, but his family, which consisted of a wife and seven children, and the “spike team” was headed for the Genesee country, where cart and family finally arrived without the loss of a relic. It should not be forgotten that in the bottom of the load, among the blacksmith tools, for Brainard was a blacksmith, were stowed away four thousand dollars in cash, with which he made his purchases, cleared lands, built mills and distilleries, and, in short, became the “farmer princ ” of the region. It was nothing unusual for him to fatten from fifty to one hundred head of cattle annually for the Albany and New York markets, and this, too, before there was any means of transportation other than driving them on foot. He would feed them on “still slops,” as it was called, through the winter, and start them for market in the spring, after the grass was up enough to feed the drove along the way and keep them in good condition. Thus he managed, and amassed a fortune. He was a large land owner in this town, and as his children were married off they were each provided with a well stocked farm for a “start” in life. Although a blacksmith, Mr. Brainard never worked at his trade after coming to the town. After his distillery was in operation in 1816 he contracted with John Wilder, of Batavia, to deliver at his place ten thousand gallons of rye whiskey, at sixteen cents per gallon, which he made in one season. He built a grist-mill in 1820, on the Tonawanda creek, about a mile and a half below Attica. This was afterward known as the Blodgett mill, and in a few years was destroyed by fire. In 1824 he built a distillery on the farm now owned by Charles Kriegelstein.
Dudley Nichols located in the northeast part of the town in 1808, on the farm now owned and occupied by J. S. Kriegelstein. He was a stonemason by trade. He built a stone house, in which he lived for many years. The house has been taken down, and the stone used for other purposes.
Oliver Hodges, who settled here in 1805, was a farmer by occupation, and lived on the farm now owned by Armenius B. Scoville, a son-in-law of Mr. Hodges.
Parmenio Adams located on the place which Mrs. Mason now owns, in the village of Attica. He was a farmer. He was known as Major Adams, as he had been commissioned as major in the State militia of Connecticut. In 1824 he was elected to Congress over Isaac Wilson by one majority. The result greatly pleased his friends in the town, and a great jubilee was held to celebrate the event.
Orator Holcomb located in this town in 1805, on what is now the Vernal road. He was a millwright by trade, and worked for Mr. Brainard on his distilleries and mills.
Clark Burlingame located up Crow creek, near the center of the town. He was a carpenter by trade, and in 1813 built a frame barn for Seymour Brainard.
Asher Gardner located in 1808 about one mile south of the village, on the farm owned by Mr. Stocky.
Zadoc Williams located here in 1804, on the farm now owned by Hiram Cooley, northeast of the village. He was a farmer.
Deacon Porter was a farmer, and located here in 1802, near Attica Center.
Stewart Gardner located on his purchase near the east line of the town, at what was once the village of Vernal, and Daniel Gardner, who came here the same year, settled southwest of what is now the village of Attica.
Lemuel Whaley, who came in 1805, settled on the east line, near the northeast corner of the town.
Owen Cotton, who came in 1806, was a millwright by trade, and finally located three miles south of Attica, village, on the Tonawanda creek.
In 1809 a man by the name of Pierson located where Hiram Cooley now lives, and built a small tannery, which he carried on several years.
The first surveyor who resided in this town was Daniel Adams, who came here in 1805, and located a mile east of Attica village.
The pioneer lawyers in the village were Harvey Putnam, who came here in 1814, and soon afterward Moulton Farnham, who died but a few years ago.
The pioneer tavern was kept in a log house in 1810, on the corner about a mile east of the village of Attica, on the site now occupied by Spann & Andrews’s cheese factory. It was indeed a primitive affair. It did not even hang out the old pioneer sign, with the words “entertainment for man and beast.” Nevertheless, it was known as the place for the weary traveler to rest and refresh himself. Mine host Hezekiah Eastman did the honors of the establishment. The next hostelry was kept by John Wilder, on what is now Market street, in the village of Attica, and in 1808 Erastus Crosby purchased of Dyer Fitch his house on what is now the corner of Main and Exchange streets in the village, and opened what was termed in those days a first class tavern, in a little frame house. As the country was new and sparsely settled, these three taverns were quite sufficient for the accommodation of the traveling public and for what little town custom they received. The same year that Crosby opened his tavern he built a distillery near where William Wilder’s carpenter shop now stands, on Washington street.
In 1810 Hezekiah Eastman built a distillery on the cheese factory lot of Spann & Andrews, east of the village, which stood but a few years. Brainard’s distillery, built in 1815, is noticed in another place. There was also a distillery at Vernal, a small hamlet in the northeast corner of the town, in 1820; one in the gulf near the cemetery, in the west part of the village, another at Attica Center, another east of where Nelson Reynolds’s house now stands, in the village of Attica, one on the west side of the town, and another a little west of the present Attica cemetery grounds, all of which went to decay many years ago.
Hezekiah Eastman was not only landlord and distiller, but a physician as well, having quite a large practice for a new country.
His brother, Nathaniel Eastman, M. D., first settled south of Attica village, and in 1811 located on the farm now owned by Francis M. Wilson, east of the village. As this part of the Holland Purchase became more thickly settled other physicians came, and among the number were Dr. Park, who located at Vernal, and Drs. Crocker and Disbrow, near the Center. On the farm of Orlando Earl, on the north side of the village of Attica, is a sulphur spring, and as long ago as 1811 its waters were applied both externally and internally for the various ills that pioneer life was heir to. A rude building was erected over the spring, in one part of which was a room rudely fitted up for a shower bath. The waters of this spring have not been used for medical purposes for many years.
In 1806 Asa Johnson, John Wilder and Joseph Wilder located in the town, near what is now the village of Attica. They were all carpenters and millwrights, and were engaged in putting up the first mills and other frame buildings in the town. They built the first mills at Attica and Varysburg, and the distilleries throughout this region.
The first weaver here, Reynolds Whaley, came in 1805. He lived a short distance east of the village of Attica. The inhabitants furnished him the raw material, and he returned to them coverlids and blankets of the most approved pattern of the times.
In 1808 George Cooley, with his family, located in the northeast part of the town. Mrs. Cooley had in her younger days learned the tailoress’s trade. She soon became the neighborhood tailoress, and such “fits,” Ephraim Brainard, Esq., says he has never seen since and never experienced before. However well the clothes didn’t fit the boy had to “don” them, if his feelings did suffer martyrdom.
William Jenkins, a native of Massachusetts, was the pioneer saddler and harness maker in Attica. He worked here as early as 1816, and a few years ago he returned to Boston, Mass., where he died in January, 1879, aged eighty-four years.
At what is known on the map as “Vernal,” in the northeast part of the town, Allen and Cable built a distillery, tavern, store and dwelling as early as 1809, and for many years this was the business part of the town. Now the old well from which the settlers drew water is the only evidence of a once flourishing hamlet.
In 1810 there was a brick yard near the site now occupied by Vosburgh’s steam mills, on the east side of Attica village. Charles D. Beman, who now lives in the village, worked in the brick yard that year. The brick were made in the same way as at present; and in those early days but few were used, and those for chimneys only.
The oldest road in this town crossed it from Vernal, on the east line, to Attica village, and so on west to Bennington. It is known as the Buffalo and Moscow road; constitutes Main street in Attica, and is called the Bennington road west from Attica. There was also a road leading from near the Brainard settlement to Attica Center. The road leading up Tonawanda creek from Attica to Varysburg, in Sheldon, was in use as early as 1806. The one running up Crow creek to Attica Center was also one of the pioneer roads. At this early date, 1806, these roads had not been worked, and in most places were mere paths. The Bennington road, toward Buffalo, was followed by marked trees until after a mail route was established, about 1814. The first road laid out according to law was from Attica to Geneseo.
Political History and Statistics.
This town was formed from Sheldon, Genesee county, April 4th, 1811, and originally included the present town of Orangeville, which was taken off in 1816.
The following is a list of the supervisors of the town of Attica from 1812 to 1879, inclusive:
In 1812, John Hubbard;
1813,1814,1826, Thomas Cooley;
1818, Asa Johnson, jr.;
1816, 1817, Robert Earle;
1818, 1823, 1824. Thomas Cooley, jr.;
1819, 1820, Hanford Conger;
1821, 1822, 1837, George Cooley;
1825, 1838, David Scott;
1827, 18444, Charles Chaffey;
1829-31, 1845, 1846, Reuben Benham;
1832, 1834, Hosea B. Sprout;
1833, James Douglas;
1835, Ezra Bishop;
1836, 1839, John S. Billings;
1840, 1841, Oliver Hodges;
1842, 1843, 1847, Roswell Gardner;
1848, 1850, 1855, William Walbridge;
1851-53, William Powers;
1834, Newcomb Demary, jr.;
1856; William B. Goodwin;
1857, 1858, 1861-66, 1872, James H. Loomis;
1859, Lyman Brainard;
1860, 1861, William C. Smith;
1862, 1863, John B. Skinner (second)
1867, 1868, M. C. Bigelow;
1869-71, 1873-75, Charles B. Benedict;
1876, Augustus A. Smith;
1877, 1878, R. J. Rodgers;
1879, R. H. Farnham.
The following named persons have been town clerks from 1842 to 1879. The record previous to 1842 has been lost or destroyed:
In 1848, Noah Wells;
1843, 1845, 1848, 1856, Jirah A. Pember;
1844, Parmento N. Adams;
1846, 1847, Horace D. W. Gladding;
1849-51. Hiram T. Beman;
1852, 1853, Timothy Loomis;
1854, 1855, C. C. Pratt;
1857-59, John S. Putnam;
1860, John W. Colton;
1861, 1862, Edward R West;
1863, Charles Houghton;
1864, 1865, Edward D. Jones;
1865-68, William Ballsmith;
1869, 1870, 1878, Jacob Algier, Jr.;
1871, 1872, James H. Hill;
1873-75, George W. Reynolds;
1876, B. F. Ellison;
1877, 1879, J. D. Evans.
Attica has probably furnished its full share of the public men of this county, not only for home service, but in the legislative halls of the Slate and nation. The town has been represented in the Assembly by Gaius B. Rich, David Scott and Reuben Benhara; and in the Senate by Harvey Putnam for four years, and by Hon. James H. Loomis, the present State Senator. Of the citizens of Attica Parmenio Adams was a member of Congress in 1824, and Harvey Putnam, George G. Hoskins (elected lieutenant-governor in 1879), and (in the last Congress) Charles B. Benedict have held the same position. County judges from this town have been Robert Earll, A. S. Stevens and W. Riley Smith. The county has also selacted from this town for sheriffs John Wilder, Parmenio Adams and Newcomb Demary.
In 1875 the census reported 17,453 acres of improved land, and 4,191 acres woodland in Attica, the whole valued by the occupants at $1,191,145; farm buildings, $915,070; stock, $206,472; tools, $53,960, making a grand total of farm property in 1875 $2,366,647; there were 8,686 acres of pasture land in the town, and 5,270 acres of meadow land, which produced 7,192 tons of hay. The same year there were raised 6,811 bushels of barley, 2,828 of buckwheat, 16,440 of corn, 25,826 of oats, 3,852 of spring wheat, 7,881 of winter wheat, 29,049 of potatoes and 56,638 of apples. There were 28,765 pounds of maple sugar made that year. The clip of wool in 1875 was 13,857 pounds, from 2,118 sheep shorn. Pork made on farms amounted to 122,163 pounds.
The population of Attica at the State census of 1875 was larger than at any previous one, but the growth has not been uniform, as will be seen by the annexed returns: 1830, 2,485; 1835, 2,981; 1840, 2,709; 1845, 2,382; 1850, 2,363; 1855, 2,679; i860, 2,547; 1865, 2,367; 1870, 2,546; 1875, 3,057.
The assessment on the property of the New York, Lake Erie and Western Railroad Company in 1878 was $44,000, tax $199.09; Central assessment, $10,000, tax $45.25.
The first orchard in this town is the Steven’s orchard, in the village of Attica. , It was set out by Samuel Sexton, or Saxton, who came here as early as 1810 or 1811. Previous to that, orchards, as such, were unknown. From that time to the present there has been a pretty steady increase in fruit culture until, in 1875, the census showed 33,657 apple trees, besides large numbers of other fruit trees.
The Brainard Cemetery Association.
The Brainard Cemetery, in the northeast part of the town, contained originally one acre of land, and was bequeathed to the inhabitants of that part of the town for burial purposes by the late Seymour Brainard. For the better preservation of the grounds an association was formed October 11th, 1832, trustees elected, and a committee appointed to raise sixty dollars for building fence and improving the grounds. In this way the grounds were cared for until 1861, when Ephraim Brainard, John S. Kriegelstein and Lucius Austin were elected trustees, and Ephraim Brainard secretary and treasurer. The same condition of affairs continued until on October 19th, 1872, a public meeting was called, at which the Brainard Cemetery Association was formed, and the following persons were elected trustees: For three years, Ephraim Brainard, David Filkins; for two years, Charles Kriegelstein, Elbridge Austin; for one year, Robert Roberts, Jasper J. Brainard. On the 5th of the next month the following officers were elected: President, David Filkins; vice-president, Jasper J. Brainard; treasurer, Charles Kriegelstein; secretary, Ephraim Brainard.
The association subsequently purchased of Charles Austin one and a half acres of land on the east side of the old grounds, at an expense of about $250. Since then the grounds have been kept in a good state of preservation.
The following are the present trustees and officers of the association: Trustees, Jasper J. Brainard, Robert H. Roberts, Charles Kriegelstein, David Filkins, Elbridge Austin and Francis M.Wilson; president, David Filkins; treasurer, Francis M. Wilson; secretary, Ephraim Brainard.
Until the advent of cheese factories in this town, in 1866, when the Lindsay factory was built, dairying was considered of much less importance than at the present day, when there are five cheese factories, the smallest of which has a capacity for using the milk of three hundred and fifty cows.
The Andrews factory, three-quarters of a mile east of the village of Attica, was built in the spring of 1870. In 1878 it used the milk from six hundred and fifty cows, and made one hundred and fifty-eight thousand six hundred and fifty pounds of cheese.
The Attica Center factory is located at Attica Center, and in 1878 used the milk of three hundred and fifty cows.
The Town Line factory is located on the east line of the town, a little south of the Vernal road, and made cheese from the milk of two hundred and fifty cows in 1878.
The Madison factory is a mile west of the village of Attica, and in 1878 manufactured the milk of three hundred cows.
The Cowden factory, three miles south of Attica village up Tonawanda creek, made into cheese the milk from four hundred cows during the season of 1878.
It will be seen that in 1878 there was taken to factories the milk of one thousand nine hundred cows.
In 1875 there were ninety-one thousand seven hundred and thirty-six pounds of butter, and forty-seven thousand nine hundred and sixty-five pounds of cheese made in families, and five thousand one hundred and ninety-five gallons of milk sold in market. The average number of cows kept in this town in 1875 was one thousand eight hundred and seventy-eight.
Union Soldiers from Attica.
The first soldiers to enlist from this town for the suppression of the Rebellion were Nelson Updyke, April 18th, 1861; James Shipard, April 27th, 1861, and George Baars, May 13th, 1861. These men enlisted under the first call for three months, were discharged at the expiration of their time, and re-enlisted.
On the 9th of September, 1861, the following persons left this town to join a company of cavalry, which was organized at Pike by Captain Washington Wheeler, E. D. and R. N. Tolles, Merritt N. Chaffee, Luke S. Williams, William H. Niemann, Gardner L. Pratt, Horton Kimball, Hickson Fowler, W. H. Fowler and Nelson Updyke. So large a number of young men, so well known, leaving at one time, so early in the war, caused great interest, and a large concourse of citizens gathered at the railroad to see them off. Miss Nellie Disbrow, now Mrs. James O. Prescott, presented each of the volunteers with a bouquet on behalf of the scholars of the union school, and Merritt N. Chaffee responded on behalf of the volunters.
The company which they joined was known as Company F, 5th N. Y. cavalry, Colonel O. DeForrest This regiment served in the Army of the Potomac, and made for itself a very honorable record, Company F doing its full share in securing its good name and reputation.
Only five of the above named volunteers are now alive: – Edward D. Tolles and M. N. Chaffee, both first lieutenants when discharged; Gardner L. Pratt, Nelson Updyke and William H. Fowler.
Early in 1864 it was voted to pay a bounty of $300 to each volunteer who should be credited to Attica on the latest call for 200,000 men.
At a special town meeting held at Doty’s hall, in the village of Attica, July 16th, 1864, it was voted to pay a sum not exceeding four hundred dollars to any person who should volunteer for this town on any future call of the President for men.
At a special town meeting held August 19th, 1864, it was resolved that a town bounty of $400, over and above the county bounty, be paid to each person who furnished a substitute to be credited to Attica, under the latest call, and a like sum, not exceeding $400, to each person who should thereafter volunteer on that call, or be drafted and accepted, or furnish a substitute to be credited to the town; and that the town board be authorized to issue and dispose of bonds to raise money for such purpose.
The following list of the men from this town who volunteered and served in the Union armies during the Rebellion gives their regiments and companies, rank, if officers, and date of enlistment, when known. When another date immediately follows it is that of discharge.
160th Infantry Company G. – Nelson Alton, Sept. 5, 1862; 1864. Martin Alton, Sept 6, 1862. Junes W. Boyce, Aug. 29, 1862; died in hospital Aug. 6, 1864. Julius Baker, sergeant, Sept. 5, 1862; Not. 1, 1866. George Baker, Sept. 1, 1862; died Jan. 5, 1865. Gardner Cabel, Aug. 25 1862; remained in U. S. service. Jacob Conrad, Sept. 8. 1862; discharged with regiment. Casper Fluck, Sept. 5, 1862; Aug. 21 1863. O.D.C. Hammond, Aug. 26,1862; Nov. 1, 1865. D. Hanifen, Aug. 26, 1862; July 1,1865. Samuel Krtagelstein, sergeant, Sept. 26, 1862; died Apr. 5, 1865. Morris Kennedy, Sept. 6, 1862. Peter McGrath, Sept.5, 1862; died Mch.8, 1862. Philo Myers, Sept. 5, 1862; died Feb. 8, 1863. Samuel R. Merchant, Sept. 6, 1862; June 6, 1865. George Marley, sergeant, Aug. 30, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. Otto Miller, Aug. 30, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. Charles Nichols, corporal, Sept. 6, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. Edwin A. Nichols, Sept. 6, 1862; died Dec. 17, 1863. Franklin Nelson, Sept., 1862; died Mch. 21. 1868. Albert Nichols, 1862. George Pettouf, Sept. 6, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. David Bitter, Sept. 6, 1862; deserted Dec 1, 1862. Andrew J. Starks. Aug. 36. 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. John B. Smith, Sept. 5, 1862; died Sept. 13, 1868. Edwin F. Spink, musician, Aug. 8, 1862; Not. 1, 1865. Elon P. Spink, first lieutenant, Aug. 31, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. Valentine Stark, Sept. 6, 1862; June 4, 1865. Fayette Terry, corporal, Sept. 6, 1862: died in rebel prison Feb. 14, 1865. Nelson Underwood, wagoner, Aug. 80, 1862; May 14, 1865. Frederick Wadka, corporal, Aug. 30, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865. Isaac Williams, Sept. 6, 1862; died Apr. 10, 1864. George H. Wood, corporal, Aug. 28, 1862; died Aug. 28, 1862. Henry B. Walbridge, musician, Aug. 28, 1862; Nov. 1, 1865.
1st Dragoons Company C. – John H. Bradway, Aug. 8, 1862; Mch. 1, 1864. W. H. A. Godfrey, captain, Aug. 4, 1862; June 30, 1865. F. B. Godfrey, sergeant, Aug. 5, 1862; discharged with regiment. Charles J. Gardner, sergeant, Aug. 6, 1862; Apr. 11, 1865. Orange Gardner, wagoner, Aug. 9, 1862; June 30, 1865. Evan G. Griffith, farrier, Aug 4, 1862; June 30, 1865. Harvey I. Guile, Aug. 7, 1862; died May 18,1864. William H. Hedger, Aug. 19. 1862; June 30, 1866. John T. Knox, corporal. Aug. 6, 1862; Sept. 12, 1868. Frederick W. Knox, Aug. 3, 1868; died in Libby Prison, Feb. 23, 1864. Andrew J. Lorish, 2nd lieutenant, Aug. 5, 1862; June 30, 1868. Henry Matteson, sergeant, Aug. 6, 1862; June 30, 1865. Norman B. Martin. Aug. 11, 1862. Charles A. Maxon, Aug. 4, 1862, Darwin Nichols, Aug. 9, 1862; June 30, 1865. Irving Pratt, sergeant, Aug. 9, 1862; died May 28, 1864. Leverett H. Peck. Aug. 6, 1862; July 30, 1864. Willis Parker, Aug. 26, 1862; June 30, 1865. Gardner L. Pratt, Feb. 18, 1865; June 30, 1865. Douglas R Phelps, sergeant, Aug. ft, 1862; June 20, 1885. Peter Ruth, sergeant, Aug. 5, 1862; June 30, 1865. William Sangbush, Aug. 8, 1862; May 31, 1865. William Sangbush, Jr., Aug. 9, 1862; June 30, 1885. James Saunders, assistant surgeon, Aug., 1862. William Sannderaon, corporal, Aug. 5, 1862; June 30, 1865. Monroe A. Terry, sergeant, Aug. 5, 1862; died Oct. 21, 1864. C.S. Pettibone, Aug., 1862; discharged for disability. Jacob Sundrlcker, Aug. 4, 1862; died in Dec., 1862. R. P. Taylor, captain, organized the oompany; killed Jan. 30, 1863. Robert Van Volkenburgh, Sept.3, 1862; killed Jan. 30, 1888.
2nd Rifles. — Nelson T. Bent, Dec. 22,1863; Sept. 29, 1865. Jeremiah Brotherton, musician, Jan. 26,1864. Frederick Churnning, L, Dec. 24, 1863; discharged with regiment. Charles Grabe, C, Dec. 21,1863; supposed dead. Charles E. Gale, Feb. 15, 1864. Thomas Haley. Feb. 17, 1864. William L. Knox. C. Dee. 28, 1863: Apr. 7, 1865. Edward Lampman, L. musician. Dec. 26, 1863: discharged with regiment. Edward Launt. Dec. 24, 1863. Michael Martin. Jan. 11. 1864. Timothy Maroney, C, Dec. 8, 1863: discharged with regiment. Lewis mensing, L. Feb. 9, 1864. Albert Nichols, L. Dec. 21, 1863. James W. Phillips, Dec. 28. 1863. Thomas Rial, Dec 21, 1863. Francis Shandel, Jan 11. 1864. Stephen T. Sprague, Dec. 21, 1863. Hiram Weaver, Dec 21, 1863.
8th Heavy Artillery. – M. F. Buck. L, Dec. 7. 1863; June 29, 1865. Elias M. Doty. Dcc. 22. 1863. James Ellis and Lawrence Flynn. Dec. 21, 1863. Elwin Hooper, corporal, L: discharged with regiment. John heish, Dec. 21, 1863. George W. Kendall, L, Dec 7, 1863: discharged in 1864. Mort lingfield, Dec 22, 1863. Carl martin, Jan. 4, 1864. Henry McMay, Sept. 7, 1864. Henry Rush, Jan. 4, 1864. Luke White, G, Dec. 7, 1863: died at Andersonville, Ga.
14th U.S. Infantry. – Henry Blake. December 24, 1864. James Bennett, December 28, 1864. William Cook, December 23, 1864. Patrick Dolan and William Gage, December 27, 1864. Ferdinand Hoffman, December 26, 1864, December 21, 1864. James Leonard, December 21, 1864. Martin Pilgrim, D, May 1, 1861: discharged with regiment. James Roach, December 21, 1864. Peter Van Volkenburgh, D, May 8, 1861: May 17, 1863.
9th Cavalry. – George W Barrs, H, July 1, 1862: December 12, 1862. Walter Farnham. John J Gath, September 7, 1864. Howell Jones, corporal, September 20, 1861: killed October 11, 1863. Michael Mulcahay, September 15, 1864. John M Mader, H, September 7, 1864: July 13, 1865. Franklin Nelson, 1862. John T Phillips, A, September 23, 1864: discharged with regiment.
5th Cavalry. – Merritt N. Chaffee, F, Sept. 10, 1861. Gardner L. Pratt, Sept 12, 1861: June 18, 1862. Edward D. Tolles, first lieutenant, F, Sept 10, 1861: Oct 31, 1863. Nelson Updyke, F, Sept 10, 1861: Feb 23, 1863. Luke S. Williams, F. Bugler, Sept 10, 1861: Oct 14, 1864.
136th Infantry. – Joseph burke, Sept 7, 1864. Nelson Higley, Feb 13, 1864. Harvey melven, D, Sept 5, 1862: April 20, 1863. James L. Southard, Sept 8, 1864. Thomas Smith, Sept 7, 1864. John Walter, Sept 7, 1864. Hiram Weaver, 1862. Jacob Weber, Feb 15, 1864.
94th Infantry. – Frederick Bannerwait, Jan 4, 1864. Allen Brewer, first sergeant, H. Oct 17, 1861: Nov. 15, 1864.George a. Benson, h, Jan 15, 1862: Jan 14, 1865. Ira L. Egburry, H, Dec 1861. Noah B. Morse, Dec 15, 1861: died in 1863. Lorenzo Osborn, jan 9, 1862: Feb 18, 1865.
U.S. C T. – EdwardBlosgin, September 2, 1864. George Bowen (20th), January 9, 1864. Nathan Frazier (100th), August 18, 1864. James Johnson (26), February 18, 1864. William Jacobs (15th), December 22, 1864. Isaac Still (26) February 19, 1864. George Wilmer, September 9, 1864.
105th infantry. – Jeremiah Brotherton, E, musician. Benjamin Chaddock, A; died in hospital November 30, 1862. Solomon Eighmy, A, December 19, 1861; October 1863. U. N. Harmon, A, January 25, 1862: February 8, 1863. Albert Nichols, A, 1862. Homer and Riley Nichols, A.
8th Calvary. – space Henry H Jones, September 9, 1864. Frederick Pilgrim, October 5, 1861: remained in the service. William Stetsil, H, October 5, 1861. Augustus Stuby, H, October 5, 1861: November 14, 1864.
12th Infantry. – George W. Barrs, K, May 13, 1861: May 3, 1862. James Shepard, K, April 27, 1861: May 22, 1863. Timothy Tierney, May 1, 1861: May 11, 1863.
2nd Artillary. – William Miller, M, Dec 28, 1863: Sept 29, 1865. Joseph A. Sleeper, M, Dec 29, 1863: wounded June 3, 1864.
7th Infantry. – Benjamin Knapp, Sept 14, 1864. Charles Lent, Sept 9, 1864. Harvey McCormack, September 9, 1864. Lathrop Smith, Sept 15, 1864.
9th Heavy Artillery. – Arthur Z. godfre, musician, M, December 28, 1863: Oct 11, 1865. Henry Luth, Jan 4, 1864. Rial Newland, Dec 25, 1863.
18th Infantry. – John T. Pace and Emery F Prichard, Sept 7, 1864. John Williams, Sept 14, 1864.
3d Cavalry. – George Munson, Sept 5, 1864. Elijah Wilson, Sept 16, 1864.
Independent Company. – William Gould and Jerry Sullivan, Sept 14, 1864.
Miscellaneous. – Frederick Aspinwall, Aug 19, 1864. Henry Atkinson, Aug 22, 1864. John bridmer, July 16, 1864. John M. Bell, 115th infantry, Sept 10, 1864: went into the navy.Valentine Conners, Aug 26, 1864. Edgar F Doty. 13th heavy artillery, Sept 8, 1864. John M. Denton, seaman, Dec 28, 1864. George W. Eastman, musician, D. 16th, Feb 26, 1862: died May 14th 1862. John Edgell, Dec 11, 1863. Charles Flessarer and John P. George, Dec 24, 1864. Reuben B. Heacock, captain, E, 19th, July 1, 1862: killed May 18, 1864. George Henning, 10th cavalry. Daniel Hoon, July 1, 1864. Peter Hollender, Aug 3, 1864. Henry Hike, 64th infantry, A, Sept 5, 1864: May 30, 1865.John Johnson, July 13, 1864. Henry Jones, Aug 12, 1864. Benjamin M. Johnson, Jan 28, 1864. William Knox, G, 10th, nov., 1862: transferred to veteran reserve corps. James Sanbonke, Sept 7, 1864. Charles Melvin, sergeant, 18th, G, Aug 7, 1862:June 30 1865. Charles A. Over, July 22, 1864. John Offerman, Sept 6, 1864. James Quinn, Asahel Tobias, corporal, 179th infantry, C, Mch 24, 1864: killed April 2, 1865: Charles Thomas, Aug 27, 1864. Charles Thompson, Sept 2 ,1864. Martin Fietzer, Sept 6, 1864. Nelson Updike, 13th infantry, H, Apr 18, 1861; Aug 13, 1861. William A. Wilder, 1st N.J. cavalry, G, Dec 17, 1863: died in Andersonville, Ga. Charles Williams, July 1st 1864. Charles T. Whitcomb, clerk in the naval service: Dec 28, 1864.
Attica Center is a small hamlet near the center of the town, and about six miles from Attica village. It was settled about 1806 by Stephen Crow. It was once the business center of the town, but as railroads and canals drew the business in other directions, the Center began to decline. There was at that point a flourishing church, which has also had to succumb to the losses occasioned by a change of business center. There are at present a German Baptist church, supplied from other places, a cheese factory, a school-house, two blacksmith shops and six or eight dwellings.
Less than three-quarters of a century ago this place was known only as Phelps Settlement, for the reason that Zerah Phelps, of Connecticut, had purchased the land upon which the village now stands, and was the. first settler at this point. The most vivid imagination of the wisest denizen of the Phelps Settlement of 1802 could not have pictured the Attica of 1879; for then a dense wilderness covered the ground, inhabited only by wild beasts, and in the way of communications there was only a trail leading out to Batavia.
When Mr. Phelps settled here, in 1802, he cleared a spot of ground, and built a double log house on the site now occupied by Mrs. Maxon’s millinery shop, on the east side of Market street. In 1803 Mr. Phelps built a grist-mill at this place, which was not only the first one in the town but in^the county also. It stood on the east side of the creek, in the rear of where I. H. Tom’s blacksmith shop now stands. The mill dam was where it now is. The mill was run by an old fashioned undershot wheel, and the grinding was done with one run of ” rock stone.” Roswell Munger was the millwright who built the mill. This mill was burned in 1805, by a man who had worked for Mr. Phelps and for good reasons had been discharged. The saw-mill built at or about the same time stood on the west bank of the creek, in the rear of where Barross & Fay’s grist-mill now stands. In 1806 Mr. Phelps built another grist-mill, on the west side of the creek and north side of Main street, where S. A. Krauss & Sons’ and Smith & Bostwick’s brick blocks now stand, on Market street. o This mill was supplied with the same kind of stone as the former one, but with a tub wheel. In 1813 this mill was accidentally burnt, and rebuilt the same year by John Peabody, who then owned it. In 1818 it was again destroyed by fire, with about three thousand bushels of wheat The* miller, Abram Andrews, who slept in the mill, escaped by jumping from an upper window. The mill was then owned by Messrs. Wilder, Peabody & Thomas. It was rebuilt in 1819, and in 1827 an addition was made and the flouring facilities increased by Parmenio Adams, who then owned it. In 1847, when owned by David Scott, the establishment was again swept away by fire, and in 1848 the present brick mill was built by B. -R. Folsom, with all the modern improvements, making it a first class flouring and custom mill. It is now owned and operated by Barross & Fay.
The first blacksmith shop in the village, and probably in the town, was opened in 1805 by two brothers named Hossington. It stood on the south side of Main street, where R. Rykert’s paint shop now stands. The Hossingtons were succeeded by David Wright, who continued the business many years.
The first tannery in the village was built by # Elial Piersons, who, having sold the one on the Cooley farm east of the village, came here, and about 1810 built a tannery on the site now occupied by D. H. Pryor’s house, at the corner of Washington and Main streets. He sold out to Timothy Loomis in 1816. The first brick building in the village stood where R. J. Rodgers’s store now stands, on Market street.
The first store in the village was opened in 1806 by T. Carey, of Batavia, on the corner of Main and Exchange streets, where Dr. Davis’s brick house now stands. John Wilder owned the property, and sold it to a Mr. Fitch, and he to Erastus Crosby, who opened a tavern in 1808 or thereabouts. Soon after this Fitch opened a store on the site now occupied by C. W. Krauss, on the corner of Market and Bennington streets.
The old carding-mill that stood where Mrs. Pfcinder’s block on Market street now stands, was built in 1814 by Messrs. Fuller & Sabin, who carried on the business for quite a number of years.
The pioneer school-house was built, of logs, in 181 1, on the site now occupied by the bakery on Water street, just north of Main.
The first postmaster of the place was Gaius B. Rich. He was appointed in 1814. The office was kept in his store, on the site now occupied by Doty Brothers’ store, on the east side of Market street. The mail was received once a week from Batavia. It was carried at first by a man named Murphy, and subsequently by Hanford Conger. It was carried on horseback a number of years. At present the mails are received seven times a day, and from all parts of the world, requiring a horse and dray to convey the mail bags from the railroad depot to the post-office, a distance of about one-third of a mile. A. J. Lorish is the present postmaster, and the office occupies a whole floor in the Loomis block, on Main at the head of Market street.
The first brick store was built where R. J. Rodgers’s drug store now stands in 1827, by David Scott The stores south of the Scott building were built in 1830, by David Collins, Philip Smith, William Jenks and Harry Putnam. The block known as the Loomis block was built in 1833, by Owen Cotton.
The oldest brick dwelling house in the town stands on the corner of Market and Buffalo streets, in the village of Attica, and is now occupied by C. W. Krauss. It was built by Isaac Townsend, in 1827. On the site now occupied by Dr. O. Davis the first frame house in the town was erected, in 1808, by Joseph Wilder.
In 1828 Lewis Drake built a foundry on the west side of Market street east of Buffalo street. He sold it to Dix & Murphy, and Murphy sold to Jirah Chapman, who located where he now lives in 1832. Mr. Chapman conducted the foundry business until 1873, when he took the building down, and the site is now occupied by his garden.
The brick house on the corner of Buffalo and Market streets, now owned and occupied by C. W. Krauss, was built in 1828 by Isaac Townsend, who kept a tavern there for a number of years, and sold it to a man named Rice. Subsequently Gideon Tyrrel occupied it for a tavern till 1859.
In 1828 James Douglas built a threshing machine manufactory, on the site now occupied by Isaac Williams, on the west side of Market street east of Buffalo street.
In 1830 there was a wagon shop standing where Frederick Trammel’s furniture store now stands, on Main street. The business was carried on by Timothy Crosby, who also did a cabinet business in 1830, on the site now occupied by V. C. Barross’s residence, on Main street.
The pioneer boot and shoe store was opened in 181 2 by a Mr. Gray, on the site of the late American Hotel and of the present Loomis block.
Pioneer Singing School.
Among all the cares and trials of pioneer life the early settlers were not unmindful of the cultivation of their musical talent, and in 1805 the first singing school was started at Phelps Settlement, as it was then called. At first the pupils and teachers met at private houses, as there was no schoolhouse at the time; but finally a novel idea entered the mind of some one. There was standing between what is now Water street and the creek, near where Mrs. Kearney’s dwelling stood, a large, hollow buttonwood tree/about eight feet in diameter. This tree was felled, a section about thirty feet in length cut off, several appertures cut through for windows, seats arranged along the sides, and from this pioneer music hall the voices of the young folks echoed and re-echoed – to their satisfaction at least. The teacher was John Bogart, a Mohawk German. In after years his schoolroom was cut off the right length for a boat, split open, the ends planked up at right angles, and it was launched in the mill pond, and afforded the young folks many a pleasant boating excursion; but in a time of high water it got loose from its moorings, went over the dam and was broken to pieces and carried down stream by the raging Ton a wan da.
Within the brief space of thirty-five years from the time the first white settler located in this town the Village of Attica was incorporated. May 2nd, 1837, a charter was granted. We have no means of ascertaining the names of the first village officers, the date of their election, or, in fact, any of the officers’ names until within the last two or three years. As the population increased and the corporate bounds needed enlarging, a new charter, granting the *’ city fathers” greater power, was found necessary, and the present charter was granted by the Legislature January 22nd, 1853. The village officers consist of five trustees,’ with large powers, three assessors, a treasurer, constable and collector and village clerk. These are elected on the second Tuesday of March in each year. At the first meeting of the board of trustees subsequent to election they appoint one of their number to act as president of the board for the ensuing year. The village officers for 1879 are as follows: Trustees, A. A. Smith, I. O. Williams, I. E. Jefferson, I. H. Toms and M. C. Shea; assessors, Burley Smith, H. L. Doty and H. Spann; treasurer, G. T. Loomis; constable and collector, H. P. Gardner; clerk of the village, George B. Smith; president of the board of trustees, A. A. Smith. The territory of the corporation is an oblong in the northwest corner of the town, being two hundred and eighty rods north and south, and four hundred and fifty rods east and west
Railroad Communications – Repair Shops.
In 1843 the railroad was opened between Attica and Batavia. About the same year a charter was obtained, and work commenced on the “Buffalo and Attica .Railroad,* ‘ thirty-one miles long, which was finished in the spring of 1843, making the last link of a continuous line from Buffalo to Albany. Attica was made one of the principal stopping places, and continued so for many years.
The “Buffalo and New York City Railroad ” was chartered to run parallel with the Buffalo and Attica road between these two points, and then to Hornellsville. The links that made up the original New York Central were consolidated, and that portion between Buffalo and Attica sold to A. D. Patchin, who subsequently sold to the Buffalo and New York City Railroad Company, and that company was finally merged in the New York and Erie Railway Company. At the same time the New York Central main line was extended from Batavia to Buffalo, and the Batavia and Attica road retained as a branch, which is still in operation, the depot being removed from Exchange street to grounds near the railroad crossing on East Main street. The Erie soon obtained a charter and laid a track parallel with the Central from this place to Batavia, thus giving Attica the advantage of two roads from the north, of one of which this place is the terminus. Soon the Erie was completed from Buffalo to New York, thus placing Attica. on one ot the great trunk lines to the West.
There is a projected road surveyed through this village, known as the ” Tonawanda Valley and Lockport Railroad,” running from Arcade, where it connects with the Buffalo, Philadelphia and New York road to Lockport, thus adding to the already excellent railroad facilities of the village.
Besides the through trains, all of which stop here, there are several trains made up daily at this place for the various points north, east and south, making this perhaps the liveliest railroad village of its size in the State.
The machine and repair shop of the Erie gives regular employment to a large number of men. It is supplied with a steam engine that drives machinery for cutting screws and nuts of all desired sizes; planing and turning iron; drilling and punching, and doing other work pertaining to repairing bridges, track, locomotives and cars. There are in the shop about a dozen blast fires, and repairing ” track rail ” is one of the many specialties of this shop. Imperfect or worn parts are cut out, or cut off, and when too short two of these trimmed rails are welded together. The best of these ” reconstructed ” rails are used to replace worn or broken ones in the main track, and are as good as new. All that are unfit for use in any way are sent to the rolling-mill to be made over into new rails. Another large item is the “switch work,” and under this head come switch rods, switch guards and turning and signal apparatus, etc., for which the quantity of iron and the amount of labor required are immense.
In short, the Attica shop is the repair shop for the entire Buffalo division and its “branches, and all the rail repairs, the smith work, the track work, the bridge work, the frogs and guards, track tools for repairs, repairs of engines and cars are done at this place. The force employed in this shop is of a high mechanical order, and the wages paid range from $1.50 to $3.00 per day. The depot and freighthouse of the N. Y., L. E. & W. .Railroad is on the east side of Exchange street. The principal railroad men connected with this road residing at this place are Thomas D. Jones, foreman of the repair and machine shop; David Kirkpatrick, superintendent of the Buffalo division, from Buffalo to Hornellsville; George W. Wells, station agent; George B. Smith, ticket agent; Thomas Fitzgerald, superintendent of telegraph; Edwin Dearborn, night telegraph operator; L. P. Warren, keeper of railroad stores; P. J. Lynch, civil engineer, in charge of laying double track on the whole road; W. W. Dunbar, wood agent on the Buffalo and Rochester division; James R. Ogden, Rollo Benedict and Henry Shilling, railroad engineers, and J. O. Prescott, excursion condoctor between Philadelphia and New York.
Cemeteries- Attica Cemetery Association.
According to probable tradition, the oldest burial place in the town is that in the village of Attica, adjoining the south side of the lands of the Erie railway company, and on the east side of Exchange street. The first death in this town was that of Thomas Mather, in the winter of 1803, less than a year from the time that Zerah Phelps first came here. It is supposed that he came here with Phelps, but this is not known, and it is a mere supposition that he was buried in the old graveyard at Attica.
Soon after the ground at the village was set apart for burial purposes, one was opened at Attica Center, which is still used as such; another, also still used, about half way between Attica village and Attica Center, on Crow creek; and still another, which has been abandoned, on what was known as Cooley street. There were several family burial grounds, but most if not all of them have gone out of use, and the cemeteries cared for by associations organized under the State laws are the only ones used.
In the old grounds, in the rear of the Erie depot at Attica, may be found this epitaph:
DIED AUG. II, l8l8,
IN THE 23D YEAR OF HIS ACE.
Haik, wj g”7 fifcadi, Um totem toD
Spiki Um dtpanart of lb* tool;
It’s goo*, that’s all, wo kaow sot whore.
Or kow tho nbodted tool doth fort
It that ay
Bot God tloM, to whom it gooi;
To whoa doportod took return.
To takt thoir 4
At a meeting of the citizens of Attica held at Doty’s Hall, September 29th, 1868, for that purpose, the Attica Cemetery Association was organized. Trustees were chosen as follows: For one year – James H. Loomis, R. G. Bowen, R, J. Rodgers; for two years – L. Stanhope, J. S. Putnam, C. B. Benedict; for three years – A. Krauss, J. G. Doty, R. S. Stevens. The first Tuesday in October of each year was fixed upon as the time of holding annual meetings.
At a meeting of the trustees October 5th, 1868, the following officers were elected: President, James H. Loomis; vice-president, Andrew Krauss; secretary, J. S. Putnam; treasurer, C. B. Benedict.
At a meeting of the trustees in June, 1869, C. B. Benedict, J. H. Doty and J. H. Loomis were appointed a committee to buy land for cemetery purposes, and they contracted with Miss Samantha Gardner for her house and lot of about
* twelve acres, on High street within the limits of the corporation, for $3,500.
Previous to the deed being given the house was burned. The insurance, $1,000, was paid to Miss Gardner, leaving the association but $2,500 in debt, which was subsequently paid, and the grounds were laid out in lots of suitable size, with proper walks and roads, making this one of the most beautiful ” cities of the dead ” in Wyoming county.
* * * The following are the present officers: President, James G. Doty; vice-president, Andrew Krauss; treasurer, James H. Loomis; secretary, Ephraim Brainard. Trustees – James G. Doty, Andrew Krauss, James H. Loomis, Ephraim Brainard, O. S. Thomson, C. W. Krauss, William Wilder, Edward D: Tolles, A. A. Smith.
The following sums were subscribed toward the purchase and improvement of the cemetery grounds:
J. H. Loomis, R. S. Stearns and E. Bishop, each $200; A. Krauss, $150; C. W. Krauss, J. Belden, C. B. Benedict, G. Dorrance, J. S. Putnam, Mrs. D. A. Spink and C. Wilkie, each $100; J. Karcher R. G. Bowen, F. Traumell, M. E. Potter, J. G. Doty, J. Bane, A. G. Ellenwood, E. P. Spink, J. W. Vincent, R. Benham and William Powers, each $50; H Spann, Groat & Wilson, F. D. Wilcox, P. Brechsen, W. H. Hill, J. Chapman, E. F. Chaffee, R. Lemon, William M. Walbridge, E. C. Williams, William Walbridge, James Baker, O. Davis, James Dunbar, V. C. Barross, J. H. Backus, and E. H. Cotton, each $25; H. Palmer, William Wilder and George Benham, each $20; C. R. Baker, A. Ganter, W. F. Sanboro, H. P. Sanborn, T. Loomis and L. Pfender, each $15; William Ballsmith, N. Bogart, D Wilder, Wilbor Nelson, J. C. Gardner, L. W. Miles, T. M. Gladding, H. Keith, George Fouth, William Deckleman, F. C. Ballsmith, J. R. Williams, I. H. Toms, F. D. Andrews, C. S. Thomson, Charles King, J. M. Baldolf, F. Thorpe, A. J. Lorish, Isaac Toms, H. L. Doty, S. C. Archer, G. W. Reynolds, B Reynolds, Lawrence & Norton, M. Godfrey, D. H. Pryor, L. Barrs, William Nelson, F. R. Borross, J. H. Hill, A. Maxon and John Schuman, each $10; R. Newland, L. W. Moody and George Tubbs, each $5; total, $,2920.
No sooner had the sturdy New Englanders located in what is now the village of Attica, and got a preaching place establish, then they began to look for a place to build a schoolhouse. No other material being at hand, they built of logs, on what is now Water Street, a short distance from Main. The first school was taught here, in the summer of 1807, by Miss Sophia Williams. From that time to the present educational interests have continued to prosper.
In 1850 a Fine Brick Building Was Erected on Prospect Street for school purposes. The grounds contained one acre. The building was nearly square, two stories high, and contained three main departments with three recitation rooms. For twenty years it was sufficient for the demands of the village.
In the year 1870, at the time the present principle, Thomas B. Lovell, came, the proposition was discussed to enlarge the building. Hon. Robert S. Stevens, who was a student in this village in 1838 and 1839, offered a donation of $5000 to the district, if it would raise as much more, for the purpose of putting up a wing on the south side of the old building. This was gladly agreed to; and the building was finished according to contract in September 1872. During this year a large amount of apparatus was added to the institution.
This building proved insufficient for school purposes in the year 1874. Hon. R. S. Stevens generously offered $1100 to the district if it would raise sufficient money to build a wing on the North side similar to the one on the south side. This was done; thus adding to the architectural beauty, capacity and convenience of the structure, and making it worthy of the citizens of Attica, and an ornament to the village.
The Attica Union School and Academy was incorporated by the legislature in 1867, and received under the visitation of the regents of the University of New York. The school now numbers about four hundred pupils attending at one time. There are aboutseven hundred pupils of school-age residing in the district, of whom about five hundred and sixty attend during the year. There arethirty-one graduates of the institution. The present principle, Thomas B. Lovell, A. M., hasbeen in charge of the institution for nine years.
The Board of Education for the years 1878 in 1879 was as follows: Hon. James H Loomis, chairman; Edward D. Tolles, secretary; James G. Doty, Andrew Krauss, Nolan North and Warren S. Brown.
The school money apportioned to this town for 1879 was $2282.15, to be distributed among the 13 districts in this town; more than one half the amount was drawn by the Attica Village district.
The Press of Attica.
The publication of newspapers was commenced in the town in 1833 by David Scott, who began the publication in that year of the Attica Republican. The name was soon after changed to the Attica Republican and Genesee Advertiser. The paper was subsequently sold to E. A. Cooley, who became publisher, and the name was changed to the Attica Democrat. This paper was published until 1846.
In October, 1846, Mr. Abram Dinsmore commenced the publication of the Attica Telegraph and continued it about two years, when newspaper enterprise in this place was for a time abandoned.
April isl, 1848, R. W. Dibble and W. H. Civer commenced the publication of the Old Eighth Whig. At the end of six months Mr. Dibble retired from the concern and the name of the paper was changed to the Spirit of the Old Eighth by Mr. Civer, who conducted it until 1850, when this paper was also abandoned.
The next journal here was the Attica Atlas, published by Silas Folsomfrom January 1st, 185 1, until the spring of 1872, when the whole establishment was destroyed by fire, together with the American Hotel and a large number of dwellings. Mr. Folsom then retired from the business.
In June, 1872, Charles F. Meloy established the Attica Weekly News. He was succeeded in 1874 by C. L. Shepherd, who dropped the word Weekly from the heading, leaving the name Attica News, by which name it is now, in its seventh volume, published and edited by Addis E. Bishop. The paper is Republican in politics.
Number 1 of volume 1 of the Attica Argus was issued Saturday, April 7 th, 1877, by George A. Sanders, as editor and proprietor. He continued the publication until September, 1877, when he sold to S. Wilson Wade, of the Wyoming
County Times, and at the same time the editorial department was placed in charge of D. A, Denison. January 1st, 1878, Mr. Wade sold his interest to Messrs. Denison and Benham, and in July of the same year Mr. Denison purchased Mr. Benham’s interest in the paper, since which time he has been publisher and editor. Politically the paper is Democratic.
Banking in Attica.
Previous to 1838 the business men of Attica were obliged to go to Batavia or Buffalo on banking business. In that year Gaius B. Rich established the Bank of Attica in what is now a part of the Davis house, at the corner of Main and Exchange streets. It stood a little west of the main building, between that and J. D. Tumi’s. In 1841 he removed the business to Buffalo, where it is still known as the Bank of Attica.
In 1856 Lonidas Doty and Dean Richmond opened the Farmers’ Bank of Attica, and continued it till i860, when it was removed to Batavia. It was succeeded by Benedict & Doty as individual bankers. They were followed by G B. Benedict & Son, and later by the Attica National Bank.
In 1863 the First National Bank of Attica was organized, and closed business in 1865, being the first failure of a national bank in the United States.
Thomson & Loomis opened a bank in 1847, and were followed by J. H. Loomis & Son, who are now doing a banking business.
Tonawanda Valley Driving Park and Agricultural Association.
This association was organized in 1875, with a capital stock of $10,000, and its first fair was held in September of that year. The officers for 1875 were: President, L. R. Vincent; secretary, Edward Skinner; treasurer, Lewis Benedict. Directors – L. R. Vincent, J. J. Brainard, Ronald McLeod, F. M. Wilson, Andrew Krauss, Reuben Lemon, R. J. Rogers, A. A. Smith, Joseph W. Vincent and Lewis Benedict, Attica; Sanford Riddle, Alexander; Edward Madden, Varysburg; E. R. Yates and Richard Losee, Darien; J. W. Danley, Bennington.
The association bought fifty-three acres from J. J. Brainard and F. M. Wilson, at $100 per acre. The land is beautifully and centrally located on the south side of Main street, and is bounded on the west by the east line of the corporation of Attica, and on the south by the N. Y., L. E. and W. Railroad.
The association has expended a large amount of money to make the grounds the most attractive of their kind in western New York, On the south side, along the railroad, is a beautiful grove, suitable for holding picnics, camp meetings, or military encampments, with most excellent parade grounds in front. On the northeast side of the grove is an artificial lake, which has been made one of the principal attractions of the grounds. The trotting course, in the northwest part of the grounds, was constructed by Mr. O. Buell, of Rochester, and is about sixty feet wide, elliptical in form, and by a complete system of drainage is rendered dry, even during the rainy season. It is considered the finest halfmile course in the country.
On the east side of the track, occupying an elevated position, is the grand stand, one hundred and fifty feet in length, with a seating capacity for two thousand people, and directly under it is a dining hall, about forty by one hundred and fifty feet Horticultural Hall is near the center of the spacious grounds, and contains over ten thousand feet of available room.
Stables, one hundred and fifty feet in length, with a wide awning in front, extending the whole length, are provided for the accommodation of horses. They have all the modern improvements. There are also large and commodious sheds, containing pens for sheep and swine. Buildings ample for the exhibition of carriages, sleighs and agricultural implements occupy their proper place along the east side of the ground.
This fair ground in point of size, beauty of location, accessibility, extent and number of buildings and the substantial manner in which they are constructed, has no superior in the State. The total sum spent on it has been $16,300. The society was in debt January 1st, 1879, $4,000.
The officers for 1879 were: President, Edward Madden, Varysburg; vice-president, Sanford Riddle, Alexander; secretary, James G. Dorrance, Attica; treasurer, C. E. Loomis, Attica.. Directors – L. R. Vincent, J. J. Brainard, Ronald McLeod, F. M. Wilson, A. A. Smith, J. G. Dorrance, Dr. H. B. Miller and J. W. Vincent, Attica; Samuel Griswold and Sanford Riddle, Alexander; Edward Madden and Gad C. Parker, Sheldon; J. W.Danley, Bennington; Charles H. Brainard, Alexander.
Business of Attica in 1879.
With the advent of the village charter, railroads, telegraphs and other improvements of the age, there seemed to be infused new life and vitality, and Attica was fully embarked on the course of improvement and prosperity to which its present condition is due. Having read the earlier history of the village the reader will find interesting matter for comparison in the following summary of present business interests.
Vosburgh’s steam saw and planing mill, located in the eastern part of the village, south of Main street, was built in 1878. It is convenient for receiving logs and delivering lumber. It has a machine attached which finishes staves and heading ready for putting together. There is also a custom grist and flouring mill, receiving motive power from the same forty horse power engine. The saw-mill has a cutting capacity of 1,000 feet per hour, which was a full day’s work for Phelps’s mill, that stood in the village in 1803.
The Attica grist and flouring mill, built in 1848 by B. R. Folsom, and located on the south side~ of Main street at the west end of the bridge, is a five-story brick structure fortyfive by fifty feet. The present proprietors, Messrs. Barross & Fay, purchased the property in 1855, and put in improved machinery, and are maintaining the reputation of running one of the best custom mills on the Tonawanda creek, Mr. Barross being an experienced miller, and Mr. Fay an experienced millwright
There are nine hotels in the village, including the Wyoming, Exchange street, north of the railroad, built in 1878 by D. Filkins; Washburn House, corner of Main and Exchange streets, built in 1825 by Gaius B. Rich; the Berlin House, Exchange street, north of the railroad, built in 1877; the Western, opposite the Erie depot, built in 1835; and the Saint James, Market street, built in 1870.
There are two public halls, besides those used by secret societies – Lemon’s Hall, Main street, at the east end of the iron bridge, built in 1840 by one Lemon; and Loomis Hall, Market street, built in 1870 by Hon. J. H. Loomis. Williams Opera House, Exchange street, adjoining the Wyoming House, was built in 1879 by Charles Williams. The building is of brick, sixty-three by one hundred and ten feet, and contains two large stores and a livery stable, besides the Opera House. It has an elevation of sixty feet from the water table and seventy feet from the basement floor. The whole building is warmed by steam and furnished with all the modern improvements, costing over $15,000.
The machine shop owned by Earl Fay is run by the Attica mill water power. It is located in the rear of the Loomis block, on Main street, entrance from High street This shop is equipped for a variety of work, and is mostly devoted to repairing farm tools and machinery.
The lumber and coal dealers are John Belden, on Washington street, and George S. Drew, Exchange street. The blacksmithing business is carried on by I. H. Toms, on Main street; Isaac Toms, Water street, and Isaacs & Knapp, Exchange street. There are two carriage and sleigh manufacturing establishments here – Charles Morganstern’s, Water street, and that of Dauber Brothers, Main street.
The lawyers are A. J. Lorish and O. H. Hopkins, in the Loomis block, Main street, head of Market, and M. Trail and V. C. Peckham, Benedict block, corner of Main and Market streets.
The dentists are A. S. Cheeseman, over Rodgers’s drug store, on Market street, and J. Q. Bradt, Main street
Besides the Attica mills, there are two feed and flour stores – C. S. Thompson’s, on Water street, and Henry Seirk & Son’s, Main street, opposite Water.
The drug business is carried on by G. Dorrance & Son, east side, and R. J. Rogers and D. P. Steadman, west side of Market street The jewelry business is conducted by H. T. Bramer, Main street, and George Taylor, Exchange street; and the cabinet and furniture trade by Frederick Trummell, Main street, and H. Groat, in the Loomis block. There are twolarge hardware houses here – Loomis, Tolles & Co , Main street, head of Market, and Andrews & Ballsmith, Main street, east end of the iron bridge. The dealers in groceries exclusively are J. D. Evans and C. W. Krauss, west side, and M. C. Shea, east side of Market street; L. Sanderson and P. Breicheisen, Main street; Henry Spann and E. L. & G. D. Kenyon, Exchange street. Those dealing in dry goods exclusively are E. B. Wallace, H. L. Doty & Co., and Smith & Bostwick, all on the east side of Market street. The clothing houses are John Karcher’s, west side of Market street, and the Philadelphia Clothing House, by I. Whiteson, north side of Main street, west of bridge. Clothing and boots and shoes are sold by Andrew Krauss & Co.; and boots and shoes exclusively by Carl Ganter, Market street, H. Palmer and L. Balduf, Exchange street. A. Krauss & Co., east side of Market street, are wholesale boot and shoe manufacturers. Merchant tailoring is carried on by V. Decot, west side of Market street. The maible business is conducted by Julius Baur, east side of Market street; and wholesale liquor stores are kept by I. E: Jefferson, Exchange street, north of the railroad, and J.E. Noblett, Market street. The cigar manufacturers are Smith & Frey, Sanderson block, Market street, and H. L. Belott,
Exchange street. The Attica brewery was built in 1878 by R. H. Farnham, at the east end of Main street. It has a capacity of six thousand barrels of lager beer per annum. There are three meat markets – one on Market, one on Main, and one on Exchange street. There are two barber shops, four paint shops, one cooper shop, three dressmakers, four millinery stores, and various other trades usually carried on in a village of the size of Attica, which has about 2,500 inhabitants.
The resident physicians are Drs. J. A. Post, C. R. Seeley, W. B. Gifford, F. R. Barross, A. G. Ellenwood, S. C. Archer and Orin Davis, the last of whom has for many years resided on the corner of Main and Exchange streets.
Dr. Davis established his Health Institute in Attica in 1854. Its continued success during a quarter of a century has constituted an important item in the history of the village.
The bay trade is a large item of the business interests of this place. T. F. Wilson’s steam apparatus for cutting, pressing and baling hay, at the junction of Pearl with Genesee’ street, can cut, press and bale, and load into cars, a ton of hay in forty minutes. Thomas Cook’s hay barn is located near the junction of Main and Pearl streets, by the side of the Central railroad track. He makes a business of buying, packing and shipping hay, to supply the New York Central stock yard at Buffalo. His shipments at times amount to one hundred and fifty tons per month.
The cultivation of flowers and ornamental plants always marks an enlightened stage of civilization. Mrs. A. S. Stevens planted the first flower garden in Attica, many years ago, on Main street, nearly opposite the Presbyterian church, and it is to-day one of the loveliest places in the village. In the fall of 1876, her son, Mr. R. S. Stevens, built the Attica Green House, in the rear of the Erie depot, of which Mr. Frederick Snyder is the lessee. The location, sloping south, is well adapted to plant culture. The buildings and fixtures, exclusive of the plants, cost $3,000. Mr. Snyder has stocked the place with thousands of floral beauties, embracing over five hundred varieties, which include many rich and rare novelties and attractive old favorites. Mr. Snyder is at home in his vocation, and by his taste and skill lias built up one of the many paying institutions of Attica. There are many places in this village that might be mentioned for their floricultural beauty, and it is safe to say that there is no place of its size in the State that makes such a floral display as Attica.
THE CHURCHES OF ATTICA.
In a small log house owned by Simeon Williams, about one mile east of what is now Attica, was organized, August 2 1 st, 1806, the first Baptist church on the Holland Purchase, consisting of eight members, Deacon J. Tubbs acting as moderator, and S. Williams clerk.. January 30th, 1808, it was publicly recognized, with a membership of thirteen; Rev. Joel Butler, Deacon Reuben Osborn and Nathaniel Groves, of Sangersfield, N. Y., and Peter P. Roots, a missionary, sitting in council.
Its earliest meetings were held in dwellings, schoolhouses, barns, and sometimes in the fields, as they could best be accommodated, until 1837, when the society became
sufficiently prosperous to build a meeting-house, which was erected under the pastorate of Rev. Joel W. Nye; and in 1867, under the energetic labors of Rev. P. J. Williams, then pastor, was remodeled and thoroughly repaired.
This church first joined the Holland Purchase Association, and in 1811 Rev. Reuben Osborn and Deacon Jonas Osborn, the first delegates, were sent to represent it in that body, which met at Willink, Erie county. In 1831, by request, it was dismissed therefrom, and united the same year with the Genesee Baptist Association. Riley Munger and Jacob Wood were the first delegates to that body. The church seemed to prosper at times until 1845, when difficulties arose of such a character as to distract and divide its members, and on May 24th of that year a resolution was passed to disband.
On January 5th, 1846, through the energetic labors of Deacons William Chaffee, Thomas Beasley, Jacob Wood, James Dunbar and others, it was reorganized, and on the nth of February following was recognized by an ecclesiastical council.
The first received by baptism were Jacob Wood, Robert Carr and John Stone, February 14th, 1808. Rev. Joel Butler preached the first sermon.
In 1809 Rev. Reuben Osborn became the settled pastor, and continued his labors until 1813, when he died. From that time until 1835 tnerc wa * preaching a part of the time by Rev. Messrs. Hoxie, Case, Boomer, Herrick, Throop, B. Hill, Braroan, I. Brown and Samuel Jones. Under the labors of the latter many were converted, and large accessions made to the church.
From the autumn of 1835 Joel W. Nye was pastor until the fall of 1837, when Rev. Mr. Wilson was called, and settled as pastor one year. Rev. O. D. Taylor next filled the pulpit until 1842; Rev. Mr. Buck until April, 1843, and Rev. Mr. Pickett until September following. Then the pulpit until 1846 was only occasionally supplied. Elder D. Munger was pastor from April 4th, 1846, until 1848; Rev. B. Hill until October, 1849. Then for about one year the pulpit was partially supplied by Elders J. Blain, R. Morey and Reed. Then Rev. C. Miner was pastor until March, 1855, and Rev. C. H. Underbill until his death, July 15th, 1856. Rev. A. Wells next filled the pulpit until March, 1859, when he resigned.
For a short period thereafter the desk was very acceptably supplied by Rev. O. E. Mallory. In August, 1859, Rev. R. C. Palmer became pastor, and in May, 1860. Rev. A. Wade, who continued for one year. Rev. L. Davis remained until May, 1863. From this time until April, 1864, the pulpit was only occasionally supplied. Rev. C. H. James next became pastor; he left in October, 1866, and for about one year Rev. R. T. Smith preached. From October, 1867, Rev. P. J. Williams was pastor until April, 1869. Rev. I. W. Emery then preached two years, and was succeeded by Rev. M. P. Forbes; and he by Rev. B. T. Garfield, who died while here, lamented by all who knew him. Professor T. B. Love 11, of Attica, then supplied the pulpit until April, 1876, when Rev. A. Lindsay, the present pastor, was settled here.
The following is a list of the names of deacons and clerks, in their order:
Deacons – Simeon Williams, J. Tubb, Jonas Osborn, Willjam Osborn, Riley Munger, William Chaffee, David Van Slyke, Thomas Bea&lcy, Giles Pettibone, James Dunbar, H. C Wilbur and W. A. Pettibone; clerks- S. Williams, Benjamin Knapp, Jacob Wood, R. Munger, Dr. Walker, W. H. Andrews, Amos D. Munger, J. Hoxie, S. Ewell, Giles Pettibone, L. Austin, W. A. Pettibone and E. F. Chaffee, the present clerk.
This church is in a prosperous condition, with a membership of eighty.
The Sabbath-school connected with this church dates from the year 1832, when Deacon William Chaffee organized and conducted a Sabbath-school in the brick school-house three miles south of the village of Attica, in which vicinity many families connected with the Baptist church then resided. After a short time it was held in the Baptist meeting house in Attica, E. F. Chaffee, a son of Deacon Chaffee* was superintendent some years, under whose care the school prospered and increased. Prof. T. B. Lovel, who has been principal of the academy in Attica since 1869, has superintended the school successfully for the past five years. The average attendance of pupils ranges from eighty to one hundred, and the library contains over four hundred volumes.
A flourishing Sabbath-school is still carried on in the school-house where the Baptist church originated, conducted by Mr. E. F. Chaffee.
The Congregational, now Presbyterian, church in Attica was organized in 1807, by Rev. Royal Phelps, a nephew of Zerah Phelps, who settled in Attica in 1803. The church at that time consisted of five members, viz.: Mr. Green and wife, Stephen Crow and wife and Mrs. Zerah Phelps. A confession of faith and covenant were adopted, the form of which continued in use till a short time since. For the first ten years the church depended for preaching on occasional help from missionaries, or brief temporary supplies; while sometimes the presbytery sent men to minister. Among these were Rev. Dr. Wisner, of Lockport, and Rev. Mr. Crawford, of Leroy.
In 1817 commenced the first regular stated supply of the pulpit, by Rev. Solomon Hebard. He remained four years, and was followed by Rev. Mr. Page, who was a missionary, but served most of the time until 1823. In February of this year the society voted to unite with the presbytery, and appointed Deacon Solomon Kingsley delegate to the next semi-annual meeting. The design was merely to act with the presbytery under tHe plan of union. The resolution was carried into effect, and after this the records of the church were carried up and submitted to the presbytery.
On October 20th, 18 19, after due notice having been given two Sabbaths to the congregation accustomed to assemble at the village and at the school-house near John Hubbard’s, alternately, the society was formed, according to law, under the title of “First Congregational Society of Attica” The church was formed in 1807, the society in 1819. The first trustees elected were Orator Holcomb, Solomon Kingsley and Abner Chittenden.
Next in the service of the ministry appears the name of Rev. A. P. Brown, coming in December, 1822, and continuing to minister for several years – how many is uncertain.
To preserve the names of many of the residents at this time, and to show the spirit and customs of the period in a religious direction, we insert the following record, dated
February 22nd, 1823 – the first formal provision and subscription for the stated preaching of the gospel:
“We, the undersigned, inhabitants of the town of Attica and towns adjacent, promise to pay to the trustees of the first Congregational Society in the said town of Attiea the sums set to our names respectively, yearly for the term of three years from the commencement of the preaching of the gospel by the Rev. Amos P. Brown – being the consideration for said preaching one-half the time at the village of Attica; said sums to be paid one-fourth in cash and three-fourths in produce; provided also that after the first year any person shall have the privilege of withdrawing his name from said subscrlption on giving said trustees three months notice and paying all arrears.”
The subscribers and sums subscribed were as follows:
G. B. Rich, $20; David Scott, $15; Timothy Loomis, Parmenio Adams and Moses Disbrow, each $10: Abel Wilder and Owen Cotton, each $7; Harvey Putnam. Joseph Solomon, Abner Chittenden. John Newell, each $6; Laban Ainsworth, George Cooley, Ezra Bishop, Joshua Caugran, Isaac Anderson, N. K. Doty. Clark Hubbard, each $6; Hanford Conger. Charles Chaffey, William Jenkins, each $4; Reuben Patrick. George O. Gilbert, Solomon Kingsley, Moses H. Wethee, each $8; Raymood Peck, Allen Woodruff, Alden S. Stevens, Nathan Wight, Stephen Ellis, Lorio Hodges, Jeremiah Peck. Eliab Fernam, Herman Chittenden, Joseph Andrews, Thomas B Benedict, Simeon Williams, Timothy Crosby, Niles Randall. John C Mclay. Henry Warriner, William Bliton, Gardner Hawes Pardee Brainard, Ezekiel Woodruff, Thomas Elba, Robert Simonton, Jr., Jsmes Hlll. Willard Thomson, C. Wilkie, each $2; Orville Woodruff. Lyman Bugbee $1.50; Oliver Hodges. A. K., Daniel and Oliver C. Hubbard, Zadoc Williams, Alfred Hall, each $1.”
The undersigned agree to pay from November 1st, 1824, in the same way and manner as above mentioned:”
William Harden, $10: Samuel B. Hawes, $4; James B. Palmer. $2.50: David Andrews and Samuel Williams, Jr., each $2; Seymour Morton (one year, from Jan. 1. 1826). $1.50; Hiram Richard, Ira Earll. N. H. Rockwell, David Stevens, W. B. Seebert, W. B. Crosby, each $1; David Wright, Alexander Wright and Samuel H. Leonard, from January, 1826, each $1; Obadiah Fuller and Ellsha Wood, 50 cents, from November 1st, 1824.
A subscription paper dated September 1st, 1824, received the signatures below, of persons “desirous of having the Rev. Mr. Brown preach in the south part of the town of Attica one-half of the time for two years; meetings to be held one-fourth of the time at or near the school house in district No. 6, and one-fourth at or near the school-house in district No. 8:”
Adams Gibson, William Potter and Hawley Smith, each $1.50; John T. Sanborn. $5; William Tanner, Lyman Dayton, Seth Melvin, Levi Hebard, William Moses and Erastus Bennett, each $3; Daniel Cooley, Grove Cooley, Aaron Allen, Charles Wilder, Zenas Andrews, Godfrey Bailey, Artemus Wilder, David W. Bagiey, Asa Johnson, Jr., each $2: Nancy Sanborn, Thomas Wilder, Alfred Woodruff, Elisha Smith, Freeman Bailey, Moass McIntyre, Asa Wood, each $1.
The first report on the records as to the number of members in the church appears in 1827, when there were 52. In 1828 the first meeting-house was built. There is the following note in the records: “Be it remembered that the meeting-house was erected in the year of 1828 and 1829, at the cost of $3,000 [on the same spot on which the present house now stands], under the superintendence of Harvey Putnam, G. B. Rich and Owen Cotton, building committee. The house was finished in all its parts without the use of ardent spirits, it being the first successful experiment ever had in town for the great moral reform of temperance.”
The subscribers and sums contributed toward this church were as follows:
G. B. Rich, $800; O. Cotton, P. Adams, D. Scott, each $150: H. Putnam, T. Loomis, M. Dtabrow, W. Hayden, E. 8. Salisbury each $100; H. Confer, $75; A. P. Curtis, William Jenkins, A. Pember, G. Cooley, J. Caughran. C. Chaffey. A. Bishop, each $50; A. S. Stevens, S. Hubbard, N. K. Doty, each $30; W. B. Seebert, A. Wright, J. Circe, D. Wright, A. Chittenden, J. Anderson. J. Hills, D. Andrews, J. Newell, G. Hawes, A. Allen, each $25: F. Finney. N. Bennett, M. Farnham, J. Howe, each $10; A. Woodruff, $16; S. P. Morton, $15; A. Cooley, H. Bement, Walter Burlingame, D. Churchill. C. Clark. C. D. Beman, S. Williams, A. Achilles, G. F. Smith, E. Osborn, Willard Thompson, Ira Eastman, J. Adams, E. Conger, L. Washburne, H. B. Sprout, C. Cornwall, T. B. Benedict, J. M. Morton, T. Powers, T. Cogswell, each $10; one other, $12. Total $2873.
The builder’s contract was for $2,605, the cost of land $100, and we have recorded the following other charges: “Paid M. Hunt for stone and others for work, $166; O. Cotton’s bill, $20.”
In the ministry of the church next appears the name of Rev. Dexter Clary, who remained less than a year. Then Rev. Lemuel Brooks preached fifteen months, no less than forty-five being added to the church on profession of faith during this time. Then Rev. B. J. Lane ministered a little over a year; Rev. Hiland Hulburd less than a year, and after him the first minister installed as pastor, Rev. James B. Shaw, now of Rochester. He was with the session of the church December 4th, 1834. During his ministry, February 5th, 1835, it was resolved “that this church hereafter conduct its business, discipline and government according to the constitution of the Presbyterian Church in the United States.” After a full discussion in two meetings of the session, the vote was taken and decided in the affirmative, though the society continues to bear the name under which it was organized, “First Congregational Society of Attica.” The number in communion at this time was 152. Mr. Shaw continued to serve the church until February, 1839, making a term of four years.
Rev. J. B. Preston was next installed as pastor, and remained with this church five and a half years, until 1845. His ministry was a very successful one. Before he left there were 238 members, the largest number ever in connection with the church at one time, though many of these united with the church under the administration of Mr. Shaw. After Mr. Preston Rev. D. Chichester served less than a year, and Rev. Mr. Kidder a little over a year. From August, 1847, Rev. Charles Morgan served about three years.
In April, 1851, Rev. A. C. Raymond was installed pastor, and September 18th, 1852, Rev. George P. Falsom, who remained until 1859. Rev. Isaac Ely followed, serving less than a year. Rev. Alfred North was called in August, 1860, and remained until July, 1863. Rev. John Wicks commenced his labors February 14th, 1864, and is still the pastor (1879).
The building of the present meeting-house was commenced on the 3d of April, 1872, and it was dedicated April 10th, 1873. It was built by William Wilder, one of the trustees of the church. The total cost of building and furniture was $20,462. The whole amount except $975 was contributed by the members of the church and society. Of the whole cost of the church building $9,000 was contributed by Hon. Robert S. Stevens, of Attica.
The Sunday-school connected with this society was organized in 1820, by Rev. Solomon Hebard and Moses H. Wilder. The school has continued since, and is now in a most prosperous condition.
It has a membership of about 135, with an average attendance of 130. Edward D. Tolles is the superintendent
From the scanty records we have been able to consult, we learn that the first Methodist minister that found the first Methodist family that crossed the Genesee river as settlers was the Rev. James Mitchell, afterward Dr. Mitchell, of Philadelphia. To him must be ascribed the honor of being the first itinerant who traveled over the territory in which Attica lies. He came into this country in the year 1809. Attica was then a part of the Holland Purchase circuit Thejiame was changed in 1813 to Clarence circuit.
Inii8i9 Rev. Zachariah Paddock, still living, was appointed to the Attica circuit. He was present at the 25th anniversary of the dedication of the second church edifice in Attica, in 1878, and related many interesting reminiscences of that early time, which arc recorded in the history of Attica Methodism by the present pastor, Rev. W. C. Wilbor. He says: ” At that time (1819) there were but three or four little huts – you would hardly call them houses – and a school-house here.”
In 1823 the first Methodist Episcopal society in the town of Attica was incorporated. Asa Orcutt was preacher in charge. This interesting instrument of incorporation, now yellow and worn with age, declares that “at a meeting held for the purpose, in a school-house in the town of Attica and county of Genesee, on Wednesday, the 23d day of June, 1824, Tyler D. Featherly, Cyrus Steward and Charles L. Imus, discreet persons of said congregation, were duly elected trustees of the same congregation, to be denominated and known in law by the name of the trustees of the First Methodist Episcopal Society in Attica.” This being the first religious society organized in the town of the Methodist denomination, the Holland Company deeded to the trustees of the society fifty acres of land at Attica Center. The original deed, now in possession of J. E. Briggs, Esq., is a document of much interest
This primitive Methodist society erected a church and flourished for a time, but gradually its numbers decreased, and now not a single family or member of the church remains; the edifice has disappeared and the property has passed into other hands.
The year 1830 witnessed a great revival in Attica. Asa Abell, presiding elder, wrote to the Christian Advocate as follows: “In Attica, Buffalo district, early in the winter of this conference year, 1830, there was a gracious outpouring of the Divine spirit, resulting in the conversion of as many as seventy or eighty and perhaps one hundred persons. So that where there had previously been formed a small society of some twelve or fifteen, there were united in church fellowship upwards of eighty.”
The following year also saw large numbers added to the church. Rev. S. W. D. Chase was pastor, with Rev. James Durham colleague. As the result of this revival and increase, a fine brick church was erected, and also a parsonage. The church is still standing on Main street, beside the old school-house, and has been occupied for many years by the Society of the Free Will Baptists.
The early members of the church who united to form this society were George Adams and wife, Mrs. S. W. D. Chase, David Wright and wife, Childs and wife, Mrs. Goodell, Mrs. Jane Corlett, William Hayden, class leader, and wife.
Among the one hundred and fifty converts who joined the church at this time were Jireh Pember and wife, Nelson Beman and wife and Mrs. Stephen Ellis, all of whom are now living in Attica.
During the year 1834, with S. W. D. Chase as pastor for a second time, the society in the village was incorporated, having previously been connected with the church at Alexander. The original paper, now in possession of the trustees, certifies that William Hayden, James Hills and Augustus P. Curtis were duly elected trustees, and the society was to be known by the name and title of the Second Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Attica. This was recorded with the county clerk February 16th, 1835.
Owing to neglect of the trustees to secure the election of their successors, the society found it necessary to secure a new act of incorporation in the year 1837, with Rev. D. F. Parsons pastor. Stephen A. Knapp, Stephen Ellis, James Hills, Ezra Bishop and Jedediah K. Wood were elected trustees; and it was resolved that the society should be known as ” The First Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the Village of Attica.” This last act of incorporation was recorded June 27th, 1837. Under this organization the church now exists.
During 1837 the ground upon which the old brick church still stands was deeded to the society by David Scott and Maria his wife, in consideration of the sum of one dollar. The year 1852 was an important one for Methodism in Attica, as it witnessed the building of the present church edifice. It was dedicated to the worship of God on Thanksgiving day, 1853, with Charles Shelling as pastor and Dr. E. Thomas presiding elder. Rev. Moses Crow, D. D., preached the dedicatory sermon. The site upon which this church now stands, conceded by all to be the finest church location in town, was deeded to the trustees, Newcomb Demary and Aaron Colton, by Elias A. Kennedy and Lydia, his wife, and Thomas Corlett, for $200. This deed was executed December 2nd, 1851.
During the years 1864 and 1865 Rev. J. E. Bills was pastor, and through his efforts the bell which still calls 4he people t6 prayer was purchased and hung in the tower, at a cost of $413.
During the pastorate of Rev. J. O. Wilsea, in 1868, the pipe organ was purchased. Dr. Orin Davis, the present chorister, raised $750 (contributing a generous portion himself) toward the cost of it, which was $1,500.
The year 1869 brought a period of storms and darkness to the Methodist church in Attica. Difficulties arose between some of the members and the trustees, instigated by vicious and unprincipled men, which resulted in mob violence, which wrested the church from its rightful owners. The trustees quietly sought legal redress, and through five long years, at great private expense, contended for the right in the courts of justice. In 1875 their persevering endeavor was rewarded by the restoration of the church property to their bands, and the payment of $1,800 damages. Great credit is due these faithful guardians of a public trust, but for whose courage and persistency the cause of Methodism must have been entirely destroyed in Attica.
Rev. T. H. Perkins was pastor during the last of these dark days, and during his third year, 1875-6, after recovering possession of the property, the church was put in thorough repair, at a cost of $1,000, and beautified with new carpets throughout, orchestra chairs, new pulpit, kalsoroining and painting within and without.
This year also the Sanday-school was reorganized and placed in charge of the present superintendent, R. J. Rogers, a man of large experience and success in Sunday-school work. A new library, costing $425, was purchased. The centennial year saw Attica M. E. church enter upon brighter prospects and a new era of prosperity.
The present pastor of the church (1879) is Rev. William C. Wilbor. Under his administration the church enjoys increasing prosperity, and the membership has more than doubled in the three years of his pastorate. The society has just finished an elegant parsonage worth $2,500.
The church trustees at present are: A. H. Van Buren, Charles Adams, Stephen Ellis, A. J. Lorish, R. J. Rogers.
The following is a list of the pastors who have served the church from the beginning, with their years of service:
In 1809, James Mitchell; 1810, John Kimberlin, William Brown,;1811, Loring Grant, E. Metcalf, M. Pierce; 1812, R.M. Evarts; 1813, Elijah King, Ebenezer Doolittle; 1814, William Brown, Elijah Warren; 1815, James M. Harris; 1816, thomas McGee, Robert Minshall; 1817, William Jones, r. Aylesworth; 1818, Aurora Seager; 1819, Zachariah Paddock, Alba Beckwith; 1820, Zachariah Paddock, James H. Hall; 1821, James Gilmore, James Bennett; 1822, John Corsart; 1823, Asa Orcutt; 1824, A. Prindall, J.B. Roach; 1825, B. Williams, A. Prindall; 1826, J. Huestis, B. Williams; 1827, John corsart; 1828, C.V. Adgate; 1829, 1830, Micah Seager; 1831. S.W.D. Chase, James Durham; 1832, John H. Wallace; 1833, L.B. Casette, Reeder Smith; 1834, S.W.D. Chase; 1835, 1836. DeForrest Parsons, W. Cochran; 1837, David Nutten, C.S. Baker; 1838, S. A. Baker; 1839, Chauncey S. Baker; 1840, 1841. Alpha wrigth; 1842, ___ Taylor; 1843, 1844, Gershom Benedict; 1845, Henry ryan Smith; 1846, Allen P. ripley, D.D.; 1847, 1848, E.E. Chambers, D.D.; 1849, D.F. Parsons; 1850, C.M, Woodward; 1851, 1852, Charles Shelling; 1853, A.W. Luce; 1854, 1855, Jason g. Miller; 1856, A. Kendall; 1857, 1858, D.B. Worthington; 1859, 1860, J.H. Bayliss, D.D.; 1861, albert N. fisher; 1862, 1863, E.L. Newman; 1864, 1865, James E. Bills; 1866, R.L. Waite; 1867, F.E. Woods; 1868, J.O. Wilsea; 1869, R.W. Copeland, J. Watts, W.W. Riley; 1870, 1871, William Jennings; 1872, C.B. Sparrow; 1873-1875, J. H. Perkins; 1876-78, William C. Wilbor.
FREE WILL BAPTIST.
The Free Will Baptist society was among the early religious organizations of the village of Attica, but owing to the destruction of the early records of the church, through carelessness of the person having them in charge, we are unable to give anything, more than a mere mention of this organization.
The church edifice is on Main street, between Washington and Water streets, and is built of brick. The property was formerly owned by the Methodist society, and sold to this church when the Methodists erected their new edifice on Main street. The present pastor is Rev. Mr. Steele.
The Roman Catholic church of Attica was organized as a mission in 1856, and remains a mission, supplied from Batavia. The church building was erected in 1856, at a cost of $750.
At that time there were only about half a dozen members, among whom were Thomas O’Herin, Michael Cornwell, Patrick Conway, Dennis Shea and Daniel Hanefin. They were unable to complete the church, and the interior has been only recently finished. The building is of wood, of plain architectural design.
The priests serving here, in their order, have been Fathers O’Farrel, Brown, Cunningham, Donohoe, McGrath and McDonnel, the present pastor. The membership numbers two hundred. The church property is valued at $2,000. For the past two years V. Decot has been the trustee of the church property.
The Sunday-school connected with the church is under the superintendence of Father McDonnel, with Miss Mary J. McMahan and Miss Sophia Frey as teachers.
A ladies’ aid society was formed, which culminated in the formation of this society.
The first Universalist conference in this village was held in the German Lutheran church, on Washington street, February 9th and 10th, 1870. Revs. C. C. Dutton, R. G. Goodenough, S. Crane, G. P. Hubbard and _____ Hallcock officiated. There was no preaching from that time until March 27th, when Rev. F. S. Bacon preached for the society in Templars’ Hall. By a vote of the Templars, the Universalist society was denied the farther use of the hall, and services were held by Revs. F. S. Bacon and G. P. Hibbard in the Academy building until August 29th, when, by a vote of the authorities having charge of the school building, this society was again deprived of a place of worship. The society then hired Doty’s Hall, where services were held until W. B. Goodwin arranged a hall over his store, on Market street This the society fitted up at an expense of $400, and services were held regularly until the spring of 1878, when financial embarrasments of the principal supporters of the society caused a suspension of preaching for a time. The following are the names of the early members of the society: W. W. Dunbar and wife, Miss D. Dunbar, Mr. E. Jolles and wife, Mrs. W. S. Brown, Mr. V. C. Barross and wife, Mrs. E. C. Williams, Mrs. M. Munger, Mrs. O. Earll, Mrs. M. Earll, C. Morgan and wife, Miss E. Guile, Miss S. Guile, Mrs. L. Shepherd, Mrs. J. Washburn, L. Pratt, W. B. Goodwin, Mrs. L. Lovelace, J. W. Colton, C. McCord and wife, Mrs. J. Richardson, Mrs. Wadsworth, O. Davis and wife.
The society was incorporated in pursuance of action taken at a meeting in St. Paul’s church, March 21st, 1877, and named The Universalist Society of Attica.
The present officers are: Trustees – Alvin Starkey, William W. Dunbar and V. C. Barross; secretary and treasurer, Mrs. W. S. Brown; superintendent of Sunday-school, W. W. Dunbar. The society is now without stated preaching.
LODGES AND SOCIETIES.
Attica Lodge, No. 462, Free and Accepted Masons was instituted during the early part of the summer of 1858, and worked under dispensation for nearly or quite a year, when the present charter was granted, dated June 20th, 1859, with the following named persons constituting the charter members and original officers: Francis C. Cunningham, W. M.; Owen Cotton, S. W.; Henry Spann, J. W.; Jared D. Tuerrel, secretary; Roswell Gardner, treasurer; George Cooley, S. D.; Grove Cooley, J. D.; and Peter Cole, tyler.
At present there are in members, and the following named persons were officers for the year 1879: W. Benham, W. M.; H. S. Kriegelstein, S. W., A. S. Cheeseman, J. W.; Henry Spann, treasurer; Jacob Algier, secretary; J. A. Post, S. D.; John Griffith, J. D.; H. W. Pettibone, tyler. The regular meetings of Attica Lodge are held in Masonic Hall, Rogers’s block, Market street, on the first and third Wednesday evenings of each month.
Previous to the Morgan excitement, which began in 1826, there was a masonic lodge at this place, but we were unable to obtain either its number, the date of the charter or names of officers.
SAINT PAUL’S BENEVOLENT SOCIETY.
This society was organized June 5 th, 1862. The name denotes its object. The membership is composed entirely of Germans. Following is a list of the original members and officers: Matthew Balduff, George Becker, Frederick Derr, George Echtenacker, Johann Eller, Jacob Eller, George Herzog, Johann Klingenmeyer, George Mintz, Adam Rauhut, Frederick S chaffer, Christopher Schuster, George
Weihe, Johann Weis, Wilhelm Zoellner. Original officers: President, George Herzog; vice-president, Frederick Derr; secretary, George Weihe; treasurer, Matthew Balduff. The society is in a prosperous condition, although having but 29 members upon the rolls. Their hall is in the upper story of the Reynolds block, on Main street, and the regular meetings are held on the first and third Thursday evenings of each month. The officers for 1879 are: Michael Frey, president; Albert Rreimann, vice-president; Frederick Harder, recording secretary; Christian Duwel, financial secretary; Frederick Trummel, treasurer; Ludwig Rreimann, janitor; Henry Radder, Ludwig Dohse and Johann Reusch, trustees of the society.
Citizens’ Lodge, No. 309, I. O. of O. F. was instituted February 27th, 1872, by A. F. Lawrence, D. D. G. M., with the following charter members: David Kilpatrick, A. T. Godfrey, W. N. Barrows, L. B. Stanley, J. Godfrey, C. J. Gardner, I. O. Williams, G. B. Smith, E. H. Fillmore, M. A. Phelps and R. McCaw.
The following officers of the lodge were on the same evening installed: David Kirkpatrick, N. G.; C. J. Gardner, V. G.; L. B. Stanley, recording secretary; W. N. Barrows, P. secretary; A. T.Godfrey, treasurer; I.O.Williams, warder; G. B. Smith, conductor; R. McCaw, O. G.; E. Fay, I. G.; J. H. Loomis, R. S. N. G.; J. Godfrey, L. S. N. G.; H. Matteson, L. S. V. G.
The meetings of the lodge are held in Odd Fellows’ Hall, on Market street, on Tuesday evening of each week.
Since the institution of this lodge it has been the parent of two other lodges, viz., one at Varysburgh, in this county, and one at Darien, in Genesee county.
The following persons have served as noble grand of Citizens’ Lodge: David Kirkpatrick, C. J. Gardner, I. O. Williams, G. B. Smith, J. G. Dorrance, L. B. Stanley, H. Shilling, L. Chaddock, O. A. Clough, M. T. Hills and R. McCaw.
The following named persons were the officers for 1879: W. McNaught, N. G.; A. A. Ford, V. G.; B. Slater, recording secretary; I. O. Williams, P. secretary; J. G. Dorrance, treasurer; B. T. Ellison, warder; I. H. Toms, conductor; Lewis Chaddock, chaplain; G. B. Smith, R. S. N. G.; J. Q. Bradt, L. S. N. G.; J. V. Williams, R. S. V. G; J. D. Evans, L. S. V. G.; George Goodwin, R. S.S.; Samuel Conklin, R. McCaw, O. G.; M. T. Hills, L G.
The present membership numbers 67.
ANCIENT ORDER OF UNITED WORKMEN.
Attica Lodge, No. 7, A. O. U. W. – The Ancient Order of United Workmen was established in the village of Attica by the institution of Pioneer Lodge, No. 7, October 30th, 1873, by W. H. Comstock, D. S. M. W. of Northeast, Pennsylvania, with the following officers and members, viz.: L. B. Stanley, P. M. W.; Joseph Wilson, M. W.; John E. Neff, G. F.; John Rodgers, O.; Purdy Rodgers, G.; N. S. Salisbury, receiver; L. C Squires, recorder; Charles Toms, L W.; Dr. F. R. Barross, medical examiner, together with W. F. Sanborn and Thomas J. Noblett. The name of the lodge was subsequently changed from Pioneer to Attica. The regular meetings of the lodge are held on alternate Monday evenings, in D. O. H. Hall. This lodge has lost two members by death since its institution, viz., Joseph Wilson and Purdy Rodgcrs The officers for 1879 were: H. C. Webb, P. M. W.; Charles Morganstern, M. W.;’ Jacob Welker, G. F.; George Fauth, O.; L. C. Streby, recorder; J. G. Bostwick, F.; C. W. Krauss, receiver; J. Fowler, G.; J. Baur, I. W.; H. Hart, O. W.; Dr. W. B. Gifford, medical examiner.
At present the lodge has a membership of fifty-eight.
D. O. H.
Ewigkeit Lodge, No. 336, D. O. H. was organized by authority of the Grand Lodge of the State of New York, March 16th, 1874, with the following as the original members and officers: Philip Brecheisen, E. B.; Peter Schmidt, G. B.; William Ballsmith, U. B.; Frederick C. Ballsmith, Sekr.; C. W. Krauss, Schatzra.; A. Krauss, R. G. O. B.; Frederick Morganstern, L. G. O. B.; Jacob Dietrich, R. G. U. B.; Christian Harder, L. G. U. B.; Carl Morganstem, F.; Mathaeus Balduf, A.; Michael Baker, I. W.; Carl Sangbush, A. W. This society is an insurance association, similar to the United Workmen. Meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday evenings of each month, in Bostwick Hall, Market street. The present membership numbers thirty.
The officers for 1879 were as follows: Edward Volchens, E. B.; Paul Weber, O. B.; Christian Schroeder, U. B.; F. C. Ballsmith, Sekr.; Jacob Dietrich, R. F.; Charles W. Krauss, Schatzm.; Carl Morganstern, R. G. O. B.; John George, L. G. O. B.; Lewis Schroeder, R. G. U. B.; William Sangbush, L. G. U. B.; Theodore Weinholz, A.; Carl Sangbush, F.; Joseph Weber, I. W.; John Lang, A. W.
Jefferson’s Silver Cornet band.
The Jefferson Cornet Band was organized October 14th, 1876, with eighteen members, viz.: I. E. Jefferson, S. B. Benham, Frank Benham, J. E. Noblett, Michael Baker, Edwin Tanner, John Williams, Philip Balduf, H. T. Bramer, L. Shadbolt, Frank Roberts, Cassius Munger, John Salsbury, Frank Thomas, H. M. Norton, P. Lorish, Frederick Hagan, S. Ryckert. The regular meetings of the band are held on Friday evening of each week, in Music Hall, over Doty’s store, on Market street Their instruments are the most improved, costing the band association over $800. The officers of the band are as follows: Leader, E. S. Benham; musical director, I. E. Jefferson; president and financial agent, I. E. Jefferson; treasurer, L. Shadbolt; secretary, J. E. Noblett
EMPIRE ORDER OP MUTUAL AID.
Wyoming Lodge. No. 1. – This lodge was instituted April 10th, 1878, by George Sanborn, with the following charter members: H. C. Webb, W. F. Sanborn, O. H. Hopkins, William Balduf, J. G. Bostwick, George Fauth, C. Dauber, J. Welker, Otto Spann, Julius Post, M. D., C. Morganstern, J. F. Lorentz, I. H. Toms and A. Krauss.
At the first election the following, officers were chosen: I. H. Toms, P.; O. H. Hopkins, V. P.; William Balduf, R. S.; Jacob Welker, F. S.; C. Morganstern, T.; J. F. Lorentz, conductor; George Fauth, I. G.; C. Dauber, O. G.; H. C. Webb, chaplain.
This lodge was originally instituted as Wyoming Lodge,
No. 114, I. O. W. M., and chartered by the Grand Lodge of the State of Pennsylvania. July 10th, 1878, the Grand Lodge of this State was instituted, and December nth, 1878, this State was set off from Pennsylvania, paying the assessments for deaths in this State, and the name of the order changed to Empire Order of Mutual Aid. Wyoming became lodge number 1 of the new order. The lodge has twenty* members, no deaths having occurred in it since its organization. The following were the officers for 1879: L. C. Stuby, P.; Charles Morganstern, V. P.; William Balduf, R. S.; Ira H. Toms, F. S.; George Fauth, T.; J. Welker, chaplain; C. Dauber, I. and O. G.; T. Eastman, conductor.
CATHOLIC MUTUAL BENEFIT ASSOCIATION.
The C. M. B. A. of Attica was instituted April 9th, 1879. The following is the list of original and present officers of the association, as well as of charter members: President, V. Decot; first vice-president, J. J. Cummings; second, T. Cole; marshal, Dennis McMahon; guard, Patrick Slat trey; recording secretary, Thomas Fitzgerald; assistant secretary, B. Kieley; financial secretary, George B. Smith; treasurer, P. Hanifen; directors – Thomas Cole, Dennis and Daniel McMahon, J. J. Cummings, Timothy O’Neal; business committee – Patrick Murray, James Fitzgerald, Patrick Shehan; financial and auditing committee – J. McMahon, B. Kieley and P. Slattrey.
The meetings of the association are held on Wednesday evening of each week in Volcken’s Hall, on Main street
ATTICA FIRE DEPARTMENT.
WYOMING HOSE COMPANY NO. I.
This company was organized under the general laws as an independent volunteer company, with a charter dated July 26th, 1878, at which time the organization was fully completed, with the following officers and members: F. C Stevens, president; H. C. Walton, vice-president; C. T. McCord, secretary; L. C. Stuby, treasurer; J. R. Whitlock, foreman; J. E. Chase, first assistant; A. F. Blauvelt, second assistant; Richard Carrick and Michael Darby, pipemen; William -Smith, first assistant; A. H. Hills, second assistant; M. T. Hills, C. Whitman, Charles J. Morganstern, Byron H. Backus, John V. Barross, C E. Toms, Patrick Daly, William G. Colton, J. C. Williams and Charles McCarthy, privates; F. C. Stevens, L. C. Stuby and C. T. McCord were the trustees from July 26th, 1878, until January 1st, 1879.
The company was fully equipped for service, being furnished with a hose cart and nine hundred feet of hose, costing $1,160. The company is very finely uniformed, and its parlors on Market street fitted up in a style of elegance equal to any outside the large cities, with all the conveniences necessary for such an organization. The hose house is on the corner of Main and Water streets. The present number of members is 22.
The officers for 1879 were as follows: President, F. C Stevens; vice-president, H. C. Walton; secretary, C. T. McCord; financial secretary, George Goodwin; treasurer, L. C. Stuby; foreman, J. R. Whitlock; first assistant, J. E. Chase; second assistant, D. A. Dennison: pipemen, Richard Carrick and Michael Darby; first and second assistant pipemen, William Smith and A. H. Hills; trustees- one year, William G. Cotton; two years, M. T. Hills; three years, C. Whitman.
RESCUE ENGINE COMPANY NO. I.
This company was organized March 6th,. 1878, with the following named members: E. P. Foss, John G. Herzog, Earl Fay, John Corry, V. Decot, J. F. Lorentz, John Scott, Michael Dauber, G. Wolf, A. G. Krauss, Frederick Balduf, Jacob Dietrich, John Timra, George Mentz, jr., H. P. Gardner, Adam Walter, George Snyder, Bartel Weaver, John J. Cummings, Jacob Algeir, jr., Charles Sinclair, Jacob Taylor, Philip Balduf, R. R. Rykert, James Ryan, John M. Leary, John M. Brecheisen, Jacob Hamling, John Torpy, Thomas Isaacs, W. W. Reynolds, E. Volchens, Paul Glor, Frederick Hagan, Michael Baker, James Weaver, George Goodwin and H. Snyder.
The following were the officers elected at the organization of the company: President, E. S. Foss; vice-president, John J. Cummings; secretary, John G. Herzog; treasurer, Jacob Algeir. jr.; foreman, Earl Fay; 1st assistant foreman, Charles Sinclair; 2nd assistant foreman, John Corry.
This is a volunteer company, fully uniformed and equipped for service. Its ” machine ” was made by Rumsey, of Seneca Falls, and cost $600. The engine house is on Water street.
The number of members is forty, and the officers are: Foreman, Earl Fay; 1st assistant foreman, John Corry; and assistant foreman, E. Volchens; president, E. S. Foss; vicepresident, V. Decot; treasurer, J. Algeir, jr.; secretary, A. G. Krauss.
HOOK AND LADDER COMPANY NO. I.
This company was organized September 13th, 1877, and on the 20th of the same month a constitution and by-laws were adopted.
The original members were: Samuel Daly, F. D. Pryor, William Parker, B. F. Ellison, Carl Ganter, J. G. Bostwick, I. Whiteson, H. T. Bramer, T. D. Jones, M. J. Balliette, Lewis Benedict, T. R. Andrews, J. E. Noblett, E. B. Wallis, Harry Hall, J. E. Briggs, Paul Ganter, Otto Spann, A. E. Bishop, A. McClelfctn, John Williams, T. Fitzgerald, A. A. Ford, J. B. Reed, J. D. Evans.
The first officers were: Harry Hall, foreman; T. D. Jones, first assistant foreman; M. J. Balliette, second assistant-foreman; Lewis Benedict, president; T. R, Andrews, vice-president; F. D. Pryor, second vice-president; B. F. Ellison, secretary; J. G. Bostwick, treasurer; T. D. Jones, T. R. Andrews and Lewis Benedict, trustees.
This is a volunteer company. Their apparatus has the latest improvements, and cost $650. The carriage-house and parlors of the company are on the corner of Main and Water streets. The number of members is 34. The officers last elected are: Foreman, T. D. Jones; first assistant foreman, J. E. Noblett; second assistant foreman, M. J. Balliette; president, E. B. Skinner; first vice-president, Frank Ellison; second vice-president, William Parker; secretary, V. E. Peckham; financial secretary, J. G. Bostwick; treasurer, J.V. Williams; trustees – Dr. A. S. Cheeseman,T. R. Andrews, Lewis Benedict.
Mrs. Newton H. Adams was born in Bennington September 14, 1842, and Mary Dr. Newton H. Adams, a surgeon in the U.S. Navy, then of North Java, October 17, 1860.
Elbridge Austin was born in Attica in 1837. He has always been a farmer. In 1858 he rented his father’s farm, and in 1860 that where he now lives, and bought it in 1863. He was married in 1858 to birth, daughter of David and Roxie Filkins, of Attica, who died in 1873. In 1877 he married Kitty, daughter of Isaac Phelps, of LeRoy, Genesee County.
Benjamin F Barnett was born in Kendall, Orleans County, in 1832 in 1867 he married Sylvia Dody, of Attica, of which place he has been a resident since 1840. He is a farmer and an extensive breeder of Merino sheep.
Volney C. Barross was born in Lynden, N.Y., in 1811. His father, Calvin Barross, was a native of Massachusetts. He came to Genesee County in 1805, settling in Bushville, where he carded the first woll and dressed The First Flax on the Holland Purchase. Mr. Barross learned the clothiers trade, and worked at it till 1845, when he engaged in the milling business at Lynden. In 1855 he came to Attica, and continued in the same occupation. He married Elvira Richards, daughter of the first judge of Wyoming County; she died in 1852. Mr. Barross’s present wife was Ann, daughter of William Lock, of Attica.
Charles L Beman was born in Attica February 10, 1827. He enlisted August 20, 1861, in Company C 1st Regiment California cavalry volunteers, and served until discharged on the Rio Grande, in New Mexico, September 7, 1864. He was long a well known railroad man; is now a farmer.
John Belden was born in Alexander N.Y., in 1819, and came to Attica in 1850, establishing himself in the lumber and coal business in 1857, under the firm name of J. Belden & Co. previous to that time he was in the grocery trade. He has served as US Deputy assessor. His father, Kellogg Belden, was a native of Connecticut. His mother’s maiden name was McNeil.
Hon. C. B. Benedict was born in an account in 1828 he was five years a member of the County Board of Supervisors; was elected to the 45th Congress in 1874; was a member of the Democratic State committee in 1875, and was a presidential elector on the Democratic ticket in 1876. He read law, and was admitted to the bar in 1856. In 1860 he engaged in the banking business, in which he continues. His son Louis was made a member of the firm of C. B. Benedict & Son in 1874.
George Benham was born July 24, 1811 in Cheshire Conn., And came to Attica in September 1815. He is a well-known farmer and has served as assessor and commissioner of highways. He was married November 19, 1842 Eliza Ann Bentley, of Attica, in October 12, 1873, two Ellen H Spink, of Orangeville.
A. E. Bishop was born in 1850 in Warsaw, and came from there to Attica in 1875. December 1st of that year he established the Attica News. His father, Benjamin Bishop, the native of New Hampshire, was a settler of Warsaw in 1824. His mother, whose maiden name was Lydia Wakefield, was a native of the County.
J. Q. Bradt was born in Genesee County in 1847. He began the practice of dentistry in Buffalo, where for seven years he was a manufacturer of dental materials. In 1877 he established himself in his profession in Attica. His father, Isaac Bradt, and his mother, formerly Miss Becker, were both natives of Schenectady.
Ephraim Brainard was born February 9, 1812 at Attica. He is a farmer, and has served as justice of the peace, and school commissioner and superintendent. He married Sophia right, of Middlebury, February 19, 1839.
Jasper J Brainard was born in Attica November 21, 1836. He was married January 29, 1868, to Marion M Page of Middlebury. He is a farmer and an extensive breeder of American Merino sheep.
Philip Brecheisen was born March 20, 1833 in Lembach Unter Elsass (then France), Germany, and came to Attica in 1847, where he is proprietor of the grocery and crockery store. April 17, 1855, he married Barbara Baker, of Sheldon.
Rufus Briggs was born in Tivoli, Columbia County, December 19, 1820. October 3, 1844, he entered the US Marine Corps, and was discharged October 3, 1848. He had previously served from June 5, 1839 to June 5, 1844, and the second US dragoons. In 1849 he married Caroline Stevens of Attica. He is a carpenter and joiner by trade.
Joseph H Button, Son of Joseph and Selena Button, was born in Sheldon February 14, 1843, and came to Attica in 1849. Joseph Button was born in Montague Mass., April 10, 1806, and died in Attica, N. Y., May 6, 1879, aged seventy-three years. His early life was spent in the New England cotton factories, where his parents found employment. After his marriage with Selena Adams, April 23, 1836, he came to Western New York and settled in Sheldon. Soon afterward his parents with their entire family followed, and found homes in the vicinity. For the last 30 years of his life his home was in Attica. Selena Adams button That was born in the town of Brookfield, Mass period, November 23, 1809, and died in Attica N.Y., October 25, 1878, aged nearly sixty-nine years. She descended from Puritan stock, and was one of the Adams family that gave the United States two Presidents. Mr. and Mrs. Button were married at Brookfield Mass period, April 23, 1826.
A.S. Cheeseman was born in Shelby, N.Y., in 1839. He learned dentistry with Dr. Homer Belding, of Medina, and began to practice in 1860 at East Aurora, Erie couunty. He removed to Angola, and from there to Attica in 1876. He married Miss Emily Edwards, of Aurora. His father, John Cheeseman, was a native of Schoharie county. His mother’s maiden name was Sherwood.
Mrs. Moses P. Cogswell was born in Buffalo October 14th, 1839, and was married to her deceased husband, then of Brockport, N.Y., October 14th, 1858, and came to Attica in 1864. Mr. Cogswell was killed in the Ashtabula disaster, December 29th, 1876.
Patience Collins was born at Exeter, Otsego county, September 28th, 1805 and married Lewis Collins, of Middlebury, June 17th, 1829. She came to Attica in 1867, and is engaged in farming.
Hiram Cooley was born in Paris, Oneida county, October 28th, 1808, and came from there to Attica February 28th, 1811. Mr. Cooley is a farmer; he was one of the directors of the Buffalo & New York Railroad, and acted as a commissioner in settling for the right of way for that road. His first wife, Mrs. E.A. Cooley, was born September 4th, 1811, and died May 16th, 1836. Mrs. Amy H. Housford, who became his second wife, was born February 13th, 1815, and died November 11th, 1878.
Orin Davis, Sen., proprietor and physician of Davis’s Health Institute, Attica, was born in York, Livingston county, June 26th, 1823, and was married August 16th, 1843, to Miss Ruth Edson Goddard, of Mt. Morris, Livingston county. He was formerly editor of the Eclectic Medical and Surgical Journal, Rochester, N.Y., and professor in the Central Medical College at that place. He came to Attica in 1854.
Val Decot was born in Lorraine, France, and was married may 29th, 1873, to Annie E. Clark, of Batavia, Genesee county. He came October 2nd, 1876, from Huntsville, Alabama, to Attica, where he is engaged in business as a merchant tailor.
D. A. Denison was born at Dodge’s Creek, N.Y., in 1850. He came to Attica from Cattaraugus county in 1877, and took charge of the Argus, afterward purchasing the interest of the former proprietor. His father, William A. Denison, was a native of Erie county, as was his mother, whose maiden name was hicks. Mr. Denison married Miss Emma D. King, a native of Attica.
James G Dorrance was born in Attica in 1844, and has since resided there. The drug business of Dorrance & Son was established by Gardner Dorrance in 1843, when he first came to Wyoming County. James G Dorrance was admitted to the firm in 1868. Mr. Dorrance, sen., who was a native of Windsor, Mass., died in Attica in 1874. His wife, whose maiden name was Lee, was a native of Connecticut.
Benjamin F Doty was born in Bennington, Genesee County, May 17, 1828, and Mary Louise Innes, of Batavia, in 1852. He is a clothier.
George S jury was born November 26, 1831, at Ossipee, N.H., and came to Attica, where he is well known as a cold dealer, from Wakefield N.Y., in 1860 December 31, 1862, he married Eveleen A. Churchill, of Attica.
A G Ellenwood, M.D., was born July 1, 1824, at Clinton, Oneida County. He entered the medical college at Geneva, N.Y. In 1847, Buffalo Medical College in 1848, graduating from that institution the same year. March 15, 1855, he married Alotta Maria Bass, of Randolph Mass., and came from Pembroke to Attica in 1862.
Moulton G Farnham was born August 30, 1829, at Attica. His father, of the same name, was a native of Shaftesbury, Vt., one of the early settlers at Attica. His mother was formerly of Canton, Conn., and her maiden name was Humphries. Mr. Farnham is extensively engaged in brewing. November 7, 1861, he married Jennie M Foster of Antwerp, N.Y.
R. H. Farnham, a brother of the above named, and like him a Brewer (their business having been established in 1878), was also born in Attica, in 1827. He served as justice of the peace in 1855 – 56.
Michael Frey, florist, was born September 29, 1831, in Baden Germany, his native town being Doggengan. He married Kate Kromer, of Koppal, Baden, February 17, 1855, and came to Attica from Connecticut in 1856.
George Fullington was born in Fulton, Schoharie County, April 23, 1828. He enlisted in the “band of pioneers,” the 104th Regiment, 28th brigade, N.Y., infantry, September 1, 1845, but was not called into active service during the Mexican war. He is a farmer and carpenter enjoying her. March 9, 1851, he married Deborah M Jillson, of Attica, where he has resided since December 7 of the previous year. Jeremiah and Lydia Jillson, parents of Mrs. Fullington, were born in Albany County, May 22, 1804 and April 2, 1803, respectively, and died February 2, 1872 and April 11, 1861.
Adolphus Gardner, son of Adolphus and Mehitable Gardner, was born in Attica February 12, 1827; lived at home until he was 20; voted on the Erie Canal 1849-53; went to California in 1854, and remained there twenty years, and returned to Attica in 1873 and purchase the farm where he lives.
Henry P Gardener, Deputy Sheriff of Wyoming County, was born August 15, 1851, in this town, and married Cora a Perry, of Linden, N.Y. December 4, 1872.
Frederick Glor was born December 6, 1843 at Orangeville, and came to Attica in 1850, where he has been engaged is a Carpenter and Joiner. December 31, 1865, he married Caroline Broadbrooks, of Attica. Both are members of the German Lutheran Church.
Evan G Griffith was born November 4, 1836, in Steuben, Oneida County, and came to Attica March 1, 1850. August 4, 1862, he enlisted in Company C, 1st N.Y. Dragoons, under Capt. Taylor, and served until discharged, July 14, 1865. March 20, 1866, he married Harriet C Smith, of Attica. He is a farmer.
Carl Gunter was born in Burrentahl, Germany, September 3, 1848, and came to America with his parents in 1850. After remaining in New York six months they removed to Bennington, and from there to Attica in 1851. Mr. Andrew Gunter, father of Carl, is dead. The latter is engaged in boot and shoe trading. January 7, 1849, he married Joanna R. Shea of Attica
Jacob Haenling was born June 22, 1810, in Bavaria, and was married June 14, 1836 to Rosina Eisenrish, of Weisenburg, France, who died July 9, 1868. He came to America, in 1850 purchased a mill at Varysburg, which was carried away by a flood in 1851. He subsequently removed to Attica, where he is a hotel keeper.
Martin T Hill was born in Buffalo in 1848. He came to Attica in 1858. He is a well-known photographer.
Oliver Hodges, Esq., who died on the 19th day of June 1878, came as early as 1805, in company with his parents, when he was only seven years old, to the town of Attica. His father, Eliphalet Hodges, located on the farm where his grandson, Garey, now resides, and the land has always remained in the title of his father since the decease of his grandparents. When Oliver Hodges came to this town there were only a few pioneer settlers, who had raised three or four log cabins. Hardly any clearings had been made, nor any better roads laid out and footpaths through the woods, between the settlers dwellings. He assisted in clearing the land to which he was heir, became accustomed a hard labor, and identified himself with the growth in business prosperity of the town. When eleven years of age he carried the mail regularly between Attica and Batavia, making the journey on horseback, sometimes requiring his horse to leap over the trees that had fallen across his pathway. He was at home on horseback from childhood. In the days when men were arrested and imprisoned for debt he was Constable and collector of this town, and his duties if not always pleasant, or at least full of excitement. His business habits were such that he was repeatedly appointed deputy sheriff of Genesee County in this part of Wyoming along to Genesee. The older inhabitants can recollect the capture of the notorious counterfeiter Law, of his being brought to trial in the murderous assault he made in the courtroom upon an accomplice, Topliff, who testified against him. It is believed he would’ve accomplished his purpose if he had not been forcibly prevented. Mr. Hodges and Rue Nelson walked from Brierfield, Mass., to Attica in eight days, a pretty good illustration of the active habits of the young men in those times. Afterward Mr. Hodges used to draw dry goods and groceries from Albany to Attica for $3.25 per hundred. He took a reasonable amount of interest in town politics, and was a Whig until the organization of the Republican Party. He was considered a man of excellent judgment, a good citizen, a kind neighbor and pleasant in his social relations.
Mrs. Oliver Hodges was born in Middlebury in 1818, and married Oliver Hodges, of Attica, in October 1851. Mr. Hodges died June 19, 1878, and was buried in the Attica Cemetery. He has held the offices of deputy sheriff and supervisor.
Norman L Knox was born January 25, 1820, at East Granby, Conn., and was married March 18, 1840, to Lucinda Childs, of Pembroke N.Y., where he had removed from Connecticut in August 1839. He has been a resident of Attica since 1844. He is a farmer and by trade a cooper. At the age of nineteen he was elected lieutenant of a militia company of East Granby, Conn.
Andrew Krauss was born October 22, 1829, at Altilussheim, Baden, Germany, and came from his native land in 1849 to Attica, where he is engaged in the sale of clothing, boots and shoes, hats and caps and gentlemen’s furnishing goods generally. September 2, 1851, he married Magdalena Foote, formerly of Postdorf, Alsace, France.
Carnie V. Lindsay, son of Kiliab and Eleanor Linsay, was born in Attica November 24, 1831, on the farm where he lives; remained at home until twenty-two; taught school three years; in 1854 bought a sawmill in the southwest part of the town; in 1861 moved the family homestead and work the farm on shares; in 1865 built a cheese factory, and managed it four years; in 1869 but the homestead. He married Lovica, daughter of Henry and Lydia Smith of Middlebury, March 20, 1859.
Kiliab Lindsay was born in Warren County New York abbreviated, April 30, 1783; settled in Attica in 1822, and died July 16, 1875, at the age of eighty-nine. He was married January 15, 1807 two Eleanor Loop, who died April 15, 1869, at the age of eighty-two. Martin Lindsay, son of the above and brother of Carnie V Lindsay, was born in Warren County, March 3, 1821. He is a farmer and has held the office of the assessor. He married Lovina Smith, daughter of Henry and Lydia Smith, of Middlebury, January 31, 1844.
William Lindsay, brother of Carnie and Martin, was born in Attica January 16, 1823; lived at home until he was twenty-six; in 1849 removed to Genesee County; in 1856 bought the farm where he has since lived, and was married to Harriet, daughter of Alpheus and Lydia Holcomb, of Java in 1859.
John M Leary was born March 27, 1852 in Bennington, Vt. He lived in Massachusetts, and came from Northampton, in that state, to Attica in 1875. He is a painter and paper hanger, and is connected with Reserve Engine Company, No. 1. He was married January 5, 1879, Sophia a King, of Attica.
Hon. J. H. Loomis was born in Attica in 1823. His father, and his mother, whose maiden name was Collar, were natives of Connecticut. They came to Attica in 1816. The former died in 1841, the latter in 1823, while the subject of this sketch was an infant. Hon. J. H. Loomis established himself in the banking business in Attica in 1867. He has served as the town assessor, and was elected State Senator in 1877.
Juliana Lubba was born in France October 28, 1820, and married Frederick Lubba, of Batavia, Genesee County, October 29, 1859, she came to Attica in 1855 and is engaged in farming.
Captain Edwin S McIntyre was born in Elba, Genesee County, where his father was a pioneer, in 1816, and removed with his parents to Attica in 1825. He subsequently lived in Carrie Ville and Alexander, Genesee County, and returned to Attica in 1860, in which year he married Mrs. Marietta Royce, widow of Harmon Royce, of Alexander. He is a farmer and the owner of eighty-six acres. He was appointed captain of militia by Governor Washington Hunt, and held the office five years. He is a painter by trade. His father, Captain Moses C McIntyre, was born in Charlton, Mass., and died in Attica at the age of seventy-two, in 1861.
Mrs. Eliza B McLeod was born March 4, 1817, in Williamsville, Erie County, and married Ronald McLeod, of St. Lawrence County. She removed to Attica from Mackinaw in 1871, and is engaged in farming.
George Mintz, hotel keeper, was born in Attica April 6, 1853, and Mary Kate and Schafer, of that place, January 8, 1880. He is the proprietor of a bakery.
George D Miller was born in Wallkill, orange County, October 28, 1823, and came to Attica in 1852. He is been roadmaster on the Buffalo division of the N.Y., L.E. and W.R.R. ten years, and has served as commissioner of highways three years. He married Mary a Wilson, of Attica, September 3, 1874.
David (son of Henry and Elinor) Nesbitt was born in gains, Orleans County, in 1834, and soon afterward removed with his parents to Attica. He was married in 1862 to James E, daughter of Asher and Ann Kinney, of Warsaw. Mr. Nesbitt is a farmer and dairyman.
Henry Nesbitt, father of David Nesbitt, was born in County Cavan, Ireland, in 1803. He came to America in 1820, worked by the month in Washington County for a time, and remained there till 1830; removed to gains, Orleans County. In 1834 he located in Attica, where he has since lived. In 1831 he married Miss Elinor Smith, of Washington County, who died in 1862. In 1865 he married Miss Sally Underwood, of Attica, his present life. Mr. Nesbitt has always been frugal and industrious. Two of his sons are graduates of the Buffalo Medical College.
A. E. Nichols, son of Edwin A. and Mary R. Nichols, was born in Attica October 17, 1851. Edwin a Nichols was born in Attica July 10, 1833. September 6, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, 160th Regiment N.Y. volunteers, and died at University Hospital, New Orleans, La., December 17, 1863 Mrs. Nichols was born in Wheatland, Monroe County, September 5, 1831.
John E. Noblett was born in Hackettstown, Ireland, February 26, 1847. In October, 1868, he came to Attica, where he has been engaged in business as a liquor dealer and builder, and is held the offices of collector, police constable and excise commissioner. He was married December 8, 1869, to Anna C Kaiser, of Attica.
Noah North was born at Alexander, Genesee County, June 27, 1809. June 6, 1841, he married Ann C. Williams; she died June 12, 1872. January 19, 1876, Mr. North married Caroline Gibson. Both of these ladies were residents of Darien, Genesee County. From that place Mr. North Kane, May 24, 1869, to Attica, where he has been employed as farmer, manufacturer of lumber, painter and teacher, and has served on the board of education. He was justice of the peace in Darien ten years.
Seymour Norton was born March 11 1785, and Southerton, Hartford County, Conn. In 1810 he married Miss Anna Clark, and soon afterward removed to Greene County. In 1812 he visited western New York, and settled in Bennington in 1814. In 1854 he came to Attica and resided with his daughter, Miss M. A. Norton, until his death May 6, 1874. His wife died in 1857.
Owen Owens was born December 25, 1827, in Wales. He came to Attica from Utica in 1852. He was married March 2, 1860, to Mary Meredith, a native of North Wales. Is a farmer.
Henry Palmer was born March 16, 1811, at Maryland, Otsego County. He was married June 1, 1831, to Marcia McKnight, the Batavia, Genesee County, and again in February 1857, to Abigail Hendrick, of Henrietta, Monroe County. He came to Attica in 1833, and is a boot and shoe maker.
John Porter was born in County Cavan, Ireland, August 14, 1828. April 11, 1852, he married Mary Scally, of Butternuts, Otsego County. He is a farmer. He came to Atticus from Thompkins, Delaware County, in 1862.
Mrs. Harriet Prime was born August 8, 1819, at Paris, of Oneida County, and came to Attica in 1824, June 14, 1846, she married Joseph Prime, who lived near Philadelphia, Pa.
Nelson Reynolds was born May 19, 1814, in Bethany, Genesee County. He became a resident of Attica in 1856, and has served three years as assessor and five years as highway commissioner. He married Harriet Wales, of Attica, May 23, 1842.
Aaron Richardson was born in Cheshire, Brookshire County, Mass., August 15, 1804. October 18, 1827, he married Deidamia C. Whipple, of his native place. In 1834 he removed, with his family, the Trenton, Oneida County, and from there to Attica in 1848. He is a Carpenter enjoy nearby trade, and has served as assessor one term. His father and mother, Rufus and Waily Richardson, were born in Massachusetts, where the former died.
R. J. Rogers was born in Lime, Conn., in 1829. Ezekiel Rogers, his father, and his mother, whose maiden name was Mary Beckwith, were both natives of Connecticut. Mr. Rogers embarked in the drug trade in Lewiston, Niagara County, in 1850; from there he removed to Niles, Mich., and from Niles to Attica in 1860. He married a daughter of a set of Bishop, M. D., of Oneida County. He has been master of his masonic lodge.
James Sanborn, son of Warren and Amanda Sanborn, was born in Attica, March 23, 1850. In 1850 he enlisted at Buffalo in Company G, 8th regiment, U.S. infantry, and joined his regiment in New York that fall and remained there one year; he went to Chicago and from there at the end of six months to Fort Russell, Wyoming Territory, thence to Utah and Arizona. He was promoted to the rank of corporal and afterward to that of sergeant and was honorably discharged a Camp Lowell, Arizona, in 1876. He is now engaged in railroading.
Warren F Sanborn was born in Attica in 1831, and was married to Miss Ellen Norton, of Linden, Genesee County, in 1859. He was a member of the state militia, and was early in the war of the rebellion, going to Harrisburg, Pa., in 1861. His father, Warren Sanford, was a native of New Hampshire, who came to Wyoming County when a small boy, with his parents, locating in Attica. He was married in 1832 miss Amanda M Eastman. He worked at the Cooper’s trade until 1840, and from that date until 1875, the year of his death, he was engaged in the grocery business.
Mrs. Maryette Scoville was born September 27, 1825 it Attica. She married Armenius the. Scoville, of that place, December 10, 1846.
Whitney S. Scoville, son of Ebenezer and Abigail Scoville, was born in Attica in 1818, and married Elizabeth Chambers in 1851. She was a native of Scotland, and came to America in 1842. Mr. Scoville has always lived in the town until the spring of 1879, accepting seven years spent in Wheatland, Monroe County. He commenced life of poor Boyd, but perseverance and industry has accumulated a handsome property, and is now one of the most extensive farmers in the town.
Mrs. Hannah Sheldon, widow of Horace Sheldon, of Attica, who died in 1865, was born in Coshocton County, O., in 1832, and was married in 1859; she had one son. She came to the state from Indiana in 1852, and is making and dealing in all kinds of hair work, puffs, curls and switches.
Henry Sierk was born in Holstein, Germany, December 27, 1823, and married Elsabe Oldschwager, of His Native Pl., February eighth 1853, and during the same year came to Attica. He is a farmer, miller and dealer in flour and feed.
A. A.. Smith was born in Manchester, Mass., July 17, 1839, and has been a resident of Attica since the spring of 1866. He served as supervisor of the town of Attica in 1876, and is president of the village board of trustees 1877 – 79. He was married September 10, 1867, to Mary K. Kelham.
Harry W. Smith was born October 9, 1817, and Attica, and married Eliza Austin, of that place, in the spring of 1847. Mr. Smith is a farmer. He has served as commissioner of highways. Mrs. Smith was born January 17, 1826, and died October 18, 1862. Elisha Smith, Harry W. Smith’s father, was born March 24, 1787, contained Attica in 1813. He died June 19, 1869. His wife Amy B Smith, was born February 3, 1793, and died November 12, 1865. They were married November 10, 1816.
Luther Stanhope, drayman and expressman and mail messenger, was born at Attica June 10, 1810, and married Sibyl Davis, of Attica, October 20, 1831.
Mrs. Wallonia Richards Garretsee Tanner was born in Milton, Saratoga County, N.Y., March 17, 1797. She was married to ____ Garretsee, of Schenectady, the soldier of 1812, March 25, 1815, and to Captain William Tanner December 5, 1831, her first husband having died February 10, 1821. She came to Attica in 1830 from Selena, N.Y. Captain Tanner was a postmaster several years, and held other offices. He was an early settler in Orangeville, and came from there to Attica Center, where he died in 1863.
C. S. Thompson was born in LeRoy, Genesee County in 1823. At the age of the eleven he went to Lockport, Niagara County, and remained there until he was twenty; removed to Monroe County, and from there in 1846 to Attica. He was of the firm of Thompson & Loomis, bankers, and has been in the milling business since 1876. He married Sarah A., daughter of Isaac Fargo, of Stafford N.Y. His father, Hazel Thompson, a Scotsman by nativity, came early in life to America, and died in 1825.
Daniel Thomson was born in Trenton, Oneida County, March 31, 1810, was married January 29, 1837, to Achsah W. Burlingame, of his native town. They came to Attica in the fall of 1837. Mr. Thomson who is a gardener and manages a farm near the Centre, is a man noted for his benevolence, and as many benefactions, in which his life is participated. May 16, 1874, they deeded the house and lot, valued at $1400, to the Central Association, a benevolent society, for church extension, education and home and foreign missions; and on the 23rd of the same month Mrs. Thomson, with the consent of Mr. Thomson, gave the same Association $1000 to help endow a David Marks professorship in Hillsdale Michigan. On these amounts they are to receive interest during their natural lives.
Edward D. Tolles, hardware dealer at Attica, was born in Bennington February 20, 1841, and was married April 22, 1865, to Josephine E. Brainard, of Attica. During the Civil War he was first Lieut. of Company F. fifth N.Y. cavalry.
Frederick Trummel was born in Prussia August 16, 1834, and came to Attica where he is engaged in the manufacture and sale of furniture and coffins, from Buffalo in 1853. October 11, 1859, he married Kate Ganglaff, of Town Line, Erie County.
Alexander H. Van Buren, son of Bernard and Barbara would Van Buren, was born at South Trenton, Oneida County, N.Y., November 14, 1814. In childhood he was adopted by Ebenezer and Phebe Lewis, of Gorham, Ontario County, and he lived there most of the time till he was twenty-five. He then lived at Canandaigua five years and a half, in Aurora, Erie County, six months, in Wales, Erie County, three years, and in Orangeville until May 2, 1876, when he came to the village of Attica. At Gorham September 30, 1838, he married Nancy Wilson. She died at Attica July 30, 1875, and on 3 September 1876, Mr. Van Buren married Sarah E. Royce, of Attica, who was born in Moravia, N.Y., December 28, 1822. He has been a trustee of the M. E. church since the autumn of 1866, and president of the board.
William Walbridge, farmer was born in Attica in 1812, and married Lois Lindsey in 1833. In the military he has held all the offices 4th corporal to the lieutenant-colonel, and he has served seven years as supervisor, three years as Highway Commissioner and three years as assessor.
Charles Weber was born in Nassau, Germany, in 1817, and was married to Miss Catherine Hardt, of that place in 1842. They came to America in 1845, and located in Warsaw. Afterword they lived in Middlebury, and came to haddock in 1865. Mr. Weber, who spent 18 years of his life in the coal and iron mines of Germany, owns a fine farm of two hundred and sixty-one and a half acres, the result of frugality and industry.
William Wilder was born in Madison, N.Y., April 7, 1816; came from there to Attica in 1826, and is well known as a contractor and builder. January 26, 1841, he married Adeline M. Seeney, of Canandaigua.
J. O. Williams was born in Attica February 24, 1845, and is a Tanner by occupation. He was married to Emma E. Duty, of Attica’s, September 27, 1871. His served as justice of the peace, and three years as village trustee.
Lebanah Winchester was born it West Moreland, Chester County, N.Y., April 10, 1796. In 1802 he removed to Marcellus, Onondaga County, with his parents; in 1822 Batavia, Genesee County; to Orangeville, Genesee County, in 1825, and to Attica in 1847. In 1818 he was married to Miss E. Campbell, a native of Bainbridge, Chenango County, who, with her parents, was living in Marcellus. While a resident of Orangeville, Genesee County, Mr. Winchester served as Highway Commissioner two years, school Commissioner two years, justice of the peace sixteen years and supervisor two years; and he has been for two years assessor of the town of Attica.
SOURCE: History of Wyoming County, N.Y., with Illustrations, Biographical Sketches and Portraits of Some Pioneers and Prominent Residents; F. W. Beers & Co.; 1880